# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Hernandez v. Kmart Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_0506%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 992

## Text

No.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

TONI DECOSSAF HERNANDEZ,

Petitioner

a versus

KMART CORPORATION, et a/.,

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

John E. Ruiz, Jr.

Attorney for Petitioners

127 S. Roman Street

P.O. Box 791180

New Orleans, LA 70179-1180
Tel.: [504] 482-0113

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Trial Court erred and abused its
discretion when it denied petitioner's motion for leave to
amend her complaint (which was originally filed in State
~ court and removed to Federal court by the defendant
ccrporation) to add as a defer. dant the non-diverse store
manager and the non-diverse corporation that was the
owner and/or operator of the K-Mart store in Chalmette.
Louisiana, when Louisiana law had only recently been
Clarified to provide that a store manager could be held
liable for unreasonably dangerous conditions upon store
premises and federal district courts had consistently
construed petitions naming store managers as defen-
dants to be a fraudulent joinder to avoid diversity juris-
diction of the federal courts, thus denying the plaintiffs
the benefit of the State forum they had selected when

they initiated their claim?

2. Whether the Trial Court erred and denied peti-
tioner a fair trial when it refused to instruct the jury
according to Louisiana Jaw that causation of an injury
may be established upon the basis of proof of a plain-
tiffs good health before an accident and proof of injuries
that could possibly have been caused by an accident of
the type aileged by the plaintiff?

3. Whether the Trial Court erred in excluding the
testimony o1 safety experts concerning the unlikelinood
that a store patron would have seen the clear, small
puddle of bubbie bath on a mottled green flecked tile
floor while shopping, and in denying petitioner's motion
for alternative post-verdict relief from the jury's determi-
nation that petitioner was 25% responsibie for her inju-
ries (either upon a motion for a judgment non obstante
veredicto or a motion for a new trial), when there was no
evidence before the Trial Court upon which a valid

determination of comparative fault could have been

-jl- =

made under Louisiana iaw--the substantive law the
Federal District Court was bound to apply in this case
arising under its diversity jurisdiction?

4. Whether the Trial Court erred in denying such
post-verdict relief to Mr. Hernandez on his loss of
consortium claim when he and Mrs. Hernandez testified.
without contradiction, about the nature and extent of their
pre-accident marital activities and the substantial differ-

ences produced by Mrs. Hernandez's Injuries?

-ili-

LIST OF ALL PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties to the proceedings below were Toni
Decossaf Hernandez and Sherman Hernandez, plaintiffs,
and K-Mart Corporation, defendant. Piaintiff also sought
to add as parties defendant two non-diverse parties.
viz., K-Mart #3387, Inc., a Louisiana corporation that is
a subsidiary of defendant K-Mart Corporation, and John
Galloway, the store manager, both of whom have an
interest in the outcome of this Court's decision of this

Case.

-iv-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented

List of All » = cies

Table of Authorities

Petition

Opinions Below

Jurisdiction

Statutes and Rules Involved
Statement of the Case

Basis for Federal Jurisdiction
Reasons for Granting the Writ

(1) Refusal to permit diversity-destroying
amendment and remand to State court

(2) Refusal to instruct in accordance with
Louisiana law

(3) Exclusion of relevant expert opinion

(4) Denial of loss of consortium claim

Conclusion

Certificate of Service

Table of Contents (continued) Page
APPENDIX:
App. A - Fifth Circuit's opinion A-1
App. B - Minute Entry of 1/3/92 denying motion

for leave to file diversity-destroying

amendment of State complaint A-9

App. C - Order and Reasons denying post-verdict
relief A-13

App. D - Order denying petition for rehearing A-25
App. E - Excerpts of Statutes and Rules InvoivedA-27
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES:

Barney v. Latham, 103 U.S. 205, 26 L.Ed. 514
(1881) 29

Bergeron v. K-Mart Corp., 540 So.2d 406
(La.App. 1 Cir. 1989) 40

Bonnette v. K-Mart, Inc., 502 So.2d 202
(La.App. 3 Cir. 1987) 40

Canter v. Koehring Co., 283 So.2d 716
(La.1973) 25, 26, 28

Cash v. Charter Marketing Co., 607 So.2d 1036
(La.App. 3 Cir. 1992) 40

-Vvl-

Table of Authorities (continued) Page

Chicago, B. & Q. R. Co. v. Willard, 220 U.S. 413,

31 S.Ct. 460, 55 L.Ed. 521 (1911) 31
Chicago, R.I. & P.R. Co. v. Schwyhart, 227 U.S.

184, 33 S.Ct. 250, 57 L.Ed. 473 (1912) 31
Chicago, R.|. & P.R. Co. v. Whiteaker, 239 U.S. 421,

36 S.Ct. 152, 60 L.Ed. 360 (1915) 31
Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc.,

__ US. , 113 S.Ct. 2786, 125 L.Ed.2d 469

(1993) 41, 42

Elder v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 751 F.Supp. 639
(E.D.La.1990) 12, 27

Finley v. Bass, 478 So.2d 608 (La.Ap. 2 Cir. 1985) 43

Foman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178, 83 S.Ct. 227,
9 L.Ed.2d 222 (1962) 29

Freeman v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 775 F.Supp. 208
(W.D.La.1991) 12, 27

Guaranty Trust Co. v. York, 326 U.S. 99, 65 S.Ct.
1464, 89 L.Ed. 2079, 160 A.L.R. 1231 (1945) 34

Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460, 85 S.Ct. 1136,
14 L.Ed.2d 8 (1965) 34

Hensgens v. Deere & Co., 833 F.2d 1179 (5 Cir.
1987), cert. den., 493 U.S. 851, 110 S.Ct. 150,
107 L.Ed.2d 108 (1989) 30, 31, 32, 33

-vVli-

Table of Authorities (continued) Page
Holmes v. Great A & P Tea Co: 587 So.2d 750
(La.App. 4 Cir. 1991), writ den., 592 So.2d 412
(1A.1992) 12, 24, 25, 27, 28, 32
Housley v. Cerise, 579 So.2d 973 (La.1991) 13, 34
International Primate Protection League v. Ad-
ministrators of Tulane Educational Fund,
500 U.S. , 111 $.Ct. 1700, 114 L.Ed.2d
134 (1991) 22
Peralta v. Schwegmann Bros. Giant Supermarkets,
Inc., 406 So.2d 720 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1981), writ
den., 410 So.2d 762 (La.1982)__ 40

Perez v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 608 So.2d 1006
(La.1992) 39

Warner v. Great A & P Tea Co., 583 So.2d 61
(La.App. 2 Cir. 1991) 42, 43

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND RULES PROVI-
SIONS CITED:

United States Constitution:

Seventh Amendment 21
United States Code:

28 U.S.C. §1254(1) 3

28 U.S.C. §1332(a)(1) 3, 19

-vilil-

Table of Authorities (continued)
28 U.S.C. §1441 ef Seq.
28 U.S.C. §1441(a)
28 U.S.C. §1447(c)
28 U.S.C. §1447(e)
Supreme Court Rules:
Rule 10.1(a), Supreme Court Rules
Rule 10.1(c), Supreme Court Rules
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:
Rule 15(a), F.R.C.P.
Federal Rules of Evidence:
Rule 401, F.R.Evid.
Rule 701, F.R.Evid.
Rule 702, F.R.Evid.
Rule 704, F.R.Evid.
Louisiana Constitution of 1974:

Art. 5, §5(C), La.Const.1974

Art. 5, §10(B), La.Const.1974

Page

33,

w

44

42

1 2g

21

21

Table of Authorities (continued) Page
Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950:

La.R.S. 9:2800.6 3, 22, 23, 24, 25, 27, 28

No.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

TON! DECOSSAF HERNANDEZ,
Petitioner

versus

K-MART CORPORATION, et ai.,

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment and opinion of the United

i

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered in
this action on May 19, 1993.
OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (Appendix A,
p-A-1 through A-8, post) is unreported. That unreported
opinion is referenced in a "Table of Decisions Without
Reported Opinions" appearing at 993 F.2d 1543 (Table).
The Trial Court's Minute Entry, dated January 3, 1992
and entered on January 7, 1992, denying petitioners’
motion for leave to amend their complaint to add non-
diverse parties and to remand this case to the State
court from which it had been removed, is unreported. It
is annexed hereto as "Appendix B," p. A-9, et seq., post.
Also unreported is the Trial Court's written Order and
Reasons denying petitioners’ alternative motions for
post-verdict relief, which was entered in these proceed-
ings on April 16, 1992. It is annexed hereto as "Appen-

dix C," p. A-13, et seq., post.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Court of Appeals was entered
on May 19, 1993. (Appendix A, post) A timely petition
for rehearing was filed on June 14, 1993. On June 25,
1993, the Court below denied petitioner's petition for
rehearing without considering the supplement thereto.
(Appendix D, p. A-25, post) This petition is filed within
ninety days of the date of the order denying petitioner's
petition for rehearing.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked by peti-
tioner pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

The statutes and rules with which this case is
involved are set forth in Appendix E, pp. A-26 ef seq.,
post. They are: 28 U.S.C. §§1332(a), 1441(a), 1447(c)
and 1447(e); Rules 701 and 702, F.R.Evid.; Rule 15(a),

F.R.C.P.; and La.R.S. 9:2800.6--all as construed in the

a

™

applicable jurisprudence of the United States and the
State of Louisiana.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On July 26, 1989, Toni Hernandez was shopping

in a K-Mart store’ in Chalmette, Louisiana. In the
section of the store where health and beauty aids were |
displayed for sale, Mrs. Hernandez was looking at
merchandise. She then turned away from the shelves
and started to walk down the aisle. She stepped into a
small, clear puddle of Sesame Street Bubble Bath. Her
foot slipped and she fell, but she was caught by her
husband before she hit the floor. She twisted her back
and her ankle.

The vinyl tile flooring in that section of the store
was a mottled green color with green flecks in it. The

color of the floor made it difficult for a customer engaged

‘She was shopping in K-Mart #3387 in Chalmette,
Louisiana. K-Mart #3387, Inc. is a Louisiana corporate
subsidiary of K-Mart Corporation. The plaintiffs are
Louisiana citizens.

-4-

ee

in shopping to see a smail clear puddle of liquid on it.’
Despite the potential hazard from such slippery sub-
stances leaking on the floor, the store did not undertake
to place skid-resistant carpets, mats or other protective
devices upon the floor to absorb such spilled substanc-
es. Thus, the risk of a slip and fall hazard in that area
of the store was highly likely to be encountered by
customers. The store did not detail personnel to keep
vigilance in that area, consistent with the risks that were

likely to be encountered by its patrons. Rather, the

*Plaintiff listed two experts to testify before the jury
with regard to the nature and extent of the hazard
created by the deposit of a clear slippery substance
upon the tile floor as well as the unlikelihood that such
a substance would be seen by a customer who was
occupied with shopping. The Trial Court excluded that
evidence, contending that the jury did not need such
testimony. The error of the Trial Court's ruling on the
admissibility of their testimony is made a basis for this
petition because the jury found Mrs. Hernandez to have
been 25% responsible for the accident. The error of the
exclusion of that testimony is limited to the issue of
plaintiff's comparative negligence since the jury found K-
Mart to have been liable to the plaintiff and 75% respon-
sible for all of the injuries she sustained in the accident.

-5-

manager generally delegated to all employees the duty
of discovering and correcting such premises hazards
while they were incidentally performing their other duties
near such hazards.

Ms. Camille Hebert, a K-Mart employee who wit-
nessed Mrs. Hernandez's fall from a short distance
away, did not see the liquid on the floor before Mrs.
Hernandez slipped in it. When Mrs. Hernandez pointed
out to Ms. Hebert the small puddle of liquid on which she
had slipped, Ms. Hebert discovered even more of the
spilled liquid a few feet away from the place where Mrs.
Hernandez slipped. It was store policy that all of the
employees were charged with the responsibility of
observing such hazards when they were in the area and
when such hazards were thus discovered, either to clean
them up or to see that they were cleaned up before they
left the area. No one was assigned to inspect the aisles

regularly. No one did. Ms. Hebert's testimony that she

was in the area and did not see the substance on the
floor before Mrs. Hernandez’ fall shows the defective-
ness of K-Mart's method of delegating to everyone the
obligation of incidentally finding and correcting such
hazardous conditions without undertaking task-specific,
regularly scheduled inspections of the aisles for such
hazards.

On the date of the accident, Mrs. Hernandez was
taken to a local hospital emergency room where she was
examined. She then complained of pain in her low back
and left ankle. The emergency room physician ordered
plain x-rays and rendered palliative treatment. He
referred Mrs. Hernandez to an orthopedist for further
evaluation and treatment.

Mrs. Hernandez was treated by orthopedists for
approximately seven months for her low back condition,
which was diagnosed as a lumbar sprain. She was

treated with traction and medication for her back problem

——————————

during that period. After that problem became resolved
and Mrs. Hernandez continued to complain about
persistent ankle pain, Dr. McLaughlin ordered a CAT
scan and bone scan of her left ankle and foot. Those

examinations revealed the existence of a cyst in the

posterior portion of her left talus that communicated with

the subtalar joint. An x-ray taken on the date of the
accident had revealed a spot that could not be definitely
identified by plain x-ray techniques. That was the cyst.
Thus, the cyst clearly pre-existed the accident. But Mrs.
Hernandez had never had any ankle or foot symptoms
before the slip at the K-Mart store. The symptoms that
developed after she twisted her ankle persisted from the
time of her slip at the K-Mart store until after she was
operated on in February of 1990 to excise the cyst and
to insert a bone graft taken from her hip.

Dr. McLaughlin testified that an accident of the

type sustained by Mrs. Hernandez could change the

eo

Structures of a cyst and cause the onset of symptoms,
as she had experienced in this case. He observed that
the onset of symptoms at the time of her injury to her left
ankie showed a causal relationship between the accident
and the condition for which she required medical treat-
ment, viz., the symptoms caused by the aggravation of
the cyst. Even the defendant's expert orthopedic
surgeon, who was retained only to render testimony and
not treatment, testified that there was a 50-50 chance
that the slip and twisting of Mrs. Hernandez's ankle
aggravated the cyst and made it become symptomatic,
thus requiring the surgical treatment she was provided.

The parties stipulated that the medical bills

incurred by Mrs. Hernandez equalled $20,916.58.

Defendant K-Mart explicitly reserved its right to dispute,
and it vigorously disputed, the issue of the causal rela-

tionship between the injuries and/or conditions that were

treated and the slip by Mrs. Hernandez at its store. The

jury, however, awarded all of the stipulated medical
expenses to Mrs. Hernandez. Thus, the jury found that
all of those conditions were causally related to the
accident at K-Mart.

At the Pre-Trial Conference that was conducted
immediately before trial, plaintiffs’ counsel advised the
Trial Court of his intention to file a motion to remand this
removed case to the State Court on the basis that the
jurisdictional amount of $50,000, exclusive of interest
and cost, was not in controversy. Plaintiff was ordered
by the Trial Court to file a memorandum in support of
such a motion before trial. Plaintiff's counsel, after
researching the issue of remand based on the absence
of jurisdictional amount, moved for remand to State court
on the additional basis that plaintiffs snould be granted

leave to amend their petition to add two non-diverse

defendants against whom plaintiffs had viable claims

under Louisiana law. That amendment would have de-

-10-

a

stroyed complete diversity, and it would have required a
remand of this case pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1447(c and
e), as then recently amended. Plaintiff filed a motion for
leave to amend the petition and tendered a proposed
amending petition, incorrectly using the State Court
caption instead of the Federal Court caption. By Minute
Entry dated January 3, 1992 and entered on January 7,
1992, the Trial Court denied plaintiffs’ motion for leave to
amend their original petition and to remand this cause to
the State Court on the ground that plaintiffs sought to
amend their suit beyond the expiration of the delays
provided by the Court's Rule 16 Scheduling Order. That
ruling was made despite the plaintiffs’ demonstration that
the decision upon which they relied to establish the

viability of the State law claim against the store manager

had been decided by the Louisiana Supreme Court after

the said cutoff date® and that other federal courts in
Louisiana had declined to remand cases against store
managers to the State Courts before that decision.‘
That ruling was also made despite the showing by
plaintiffs that the discovery of the existence and identity
of the other non-diverse defendant, a Louisiana corpora-

tion named K-Mart #3387, Inc., had occurred only

As shown by the Trial Court's ruling on petitioners’
motion for leave to amend and to remand, the deadline
for amending the complaint after its removal to the
Federal courts was August 2, 1991. Appendix B, p. A-
10, post. The decision which clarified Louisiana law to
establish the existence of a cause of action against the
store manager was not rendered until after the expiration
of the amendment cutoff date. Holmes v. Great A. & P.
Tea Co., 587 So.2d 750 (La.App. 4 Cir. Sept. 26, 1991),
writ den., 592 So.2d 412 (La. Jan. 31, 1992).

*See, e.g., Elder v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 751
F.Supp. 639 (E.D.La.1990); Freeman v. Wal-Mart
Stores, Inc., 775 F.Supp. 208, 209 n. 1 (W.D.La.19971).
In Freeman, Senior Judge Hunter acknowledged that he
had recently refused to remand a case to State court
when a claim had been made against a non-diverse
store manager and that the analysis in Holmes v. Great
A &P Tea Co., supra, caused him to change his position
vis-a-vis the legitimacy of a claim made against a store
manager which would defeat federal diversity jurisdiction.

-12-

———— ee

recently and plaintiffs did not then know the full extent of
that defendant's duties that would make it liable for the
risks encountered by Mrs. Hernandez in the K-Mart store
#3387.

During the trial, the Trial Court refused to instruct
the jury, according to Housley v. Cerise, 579 So.2d 973
(La.1991), as follows:

You may presume that Mrs. Hernandez’'s
injury resulted from her slip in K-Mart if you are
Satisfied that before the accident she was in good
health, but following the accident the symptoms of
her disabling condition appeared and continuously
manifested themselves afterward[,] providing that
the medical evidence shows that there was a
reasonable possibility of causal connection be-
tween the accident and the disabling condition.

There was evidence of the pre-existence of the cyst, but
there was also evidence that the cyst was asymptomatic
before the accident sued upon. There was evidence that
the cyst became symptomatic concurrently with the
occurrence of the twisting of Mrs. Hernandez's ankle and

that it persisted until surgically corrected by the excision

-|3-

of the cyst and transplantation of a bone graft from her
hip into the space left by the excision of the cyst.
Medical testimony showed that the accident, occurring
as the plaintiff described it, could produce changes in the
pre-existing cystic structure that could make the cyst
become symptomatic. Dr. McLaughlin testified that the
surgical treatment rendered for the cyst was made
necessary because of the symptoms that were historical-
ly related to the s!ip and twisting of plaintiffs ankle at the
K-Mart store. The objection to the denial of that request-
ed instruction was renewed in plaintiffs’ motion for post-
verdict relief, based upon the contention that the denial
of the requested instruction affected the jury's deter-
mination of quantum because of the circumstantial
nature of the proof of causation and the absence of
instructions upon the proof required to establish plaintiff's

claim.

-14-

Although there was no evidence that Mrs. Her-

nandez saw or would likely have seen the small, clear
puddle of slippery bubble bath without closely inspecting
the floor, the jury held her to have been 25% responsible
for the accident and her resulting injuries. Such a
finding imputed to her knowledge of the existence of a
hazard that she should have discovered, which is clearly
contrary to Louisiana law. Plaintiffs sought to offer
evidence from a safety expert that such a condition of
the store was unlikely to be discovered by a customer
without that person undertaking an "inspection" for that
purpose. The Trial Court excluded such testimony.
Accordingly, plaintiffs raised that issue in their post-
verdict motion. The Triai Court denied it, basing its
opinion upon its conclusion that plaintiffs contributory
negligence could have been found from the admitted

evidence.

-15-

Mr. and Mrs. Hernandez testified about the

frequency of their sexual relations before the accident
and the effect upon that aspect of their marriage that
was caused by Mrs. Hernandez's pain from the injuries
she sustained in the slip at K-Mart. That evidence was
uncontradicted. No factual basis was recited as a
potential basis for the jury's determination that Mr.
Hernandez was unentitled to compensation for his loss
of consortium resulting from his wife's injuries at K-Mart.
The judges of the Court of Appeals, apparently drawing
upon their own experiences concerning frequency of
marital relations, considered that the jury could have
found the uncontradicted testimony of the plaintiffs to be
incredible. Mr. Hernandez testified that he and Mrs.
Hernandez had sexual intercourse daily, sometimes as
often as twice daily. The Court said: "Given the fre-
quency of pre-accident sexual relations alleged by

Hernandez, the jury rightly could view his claim with

-16-

————————

some skepticism." (Appendix A, p. A7-A8, post.) The
Court below thus affirmed the jury's denial of Mr. Her-
nandez's claim for loss of consortium in the face of
uncontradicted evidence of such loss--a result that
clearly could not have happened under Louisiana law.
BASIS FOR FEDERAL JURISDICTION
Federal jurisdiction over these proceedings was
asserted by the defendants who filed a notice of removal
and removed this case from the Thirty-Fourth Judicial
District Court for the Parish of St. Bernard, State of
Louisiana, to the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana. Petitioners sought to

amend their original petition to add non-diverse parties
against whom they had viable State law claims. The
district court denied petitioners’ motion for leave to
amend their petition and to remand these proceedings to
the State court from which this suit was removed. The

Court did not rule on petitioners' motion to remand

-l7/]-

based upon the absence of the required amount in

controversy. The jury awarded damages to the petition-

er, Toni D. Hernandez, in the following amounts:

A.
. B.
C.
D

S.

Pain and suffering $10,000.00
Past medical expenses $20,916.58
Future medical expenses $ -0-

. Past loss of earnings $ 1,000.00
Loss of future earning capacity $ -0-

That award amounted to $31,916.58. The jury, however,

found Mrs. Hernandez to be comparatively negligent and

assigned 25% of the fauit for her injuries, damages and

losses to her own negligence. The district court accord-

ingly reduced the award to Mrs. Hernandez to $23,936.-

45. The jury determined that Mr. Hernandez was not

entitled to any remuneration for his loss of consortium

with his wife as a result of the injuries the jury found to

have been proven to be causally related to Mrs. Hernan-

dez's slip at the K-Mart store.

-18-

There is a legitimate issue whether the federal
courts had jurisdiction over these proceedings upon
removal of this case from the State courts. Jurisdiction
was asserted and exercised by the federal courts
pursuant to the removal statuies, 28 U.S.C. §1441 ef
seq., and the federal jurisdictional statute concerning the
diversity of citizenship among the parties, 28 U.S.C.
§1332.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Petitioners respectfully assert that there were
numerous errors in these proceedings which have
produced a result which is inconsistent with Louisiana
substantive law governing cases of this type. This
petition asserts as grounds for the exercise of this
Court's extraordinary power of supervision over the lower
courts only those issues we believe to merit this Court's
attention. The issues presented are (1) whether the trial

court abused its discretion and denied petitioners’ right

-19-

to sue a proper party defendant whose citizenship would
have destroyed the subject matter jurisdiction of the
federal court when it refused leave to amend the petition
to add such a defendant and require a remand of this
removed case; (2) whether the federal trial court, in this
diversity of citizenship jurisdictional case, improperly
denied plaintiffs the benefit of substantive Louisiana
precedent when it refused to instruct the jury upon the
sufficiency of proof of causation of damages under
Louisiana law, thus affecting the outcome of this trial by
denying the jury guidance which would have reduced the
likelinood of compromise by the jurors upon either the
issue of quantum of damages or victim fault; (3) whether
the trial court erred in excluding relevant expert opinion
testimony which would have provided the jury with
information which would have avoided a determination of

partial fault of the victim; and (4) whether the trial court

erred in denying Mr. Hernandez's motion for a new trial

-2?0-

on his claim for loss of consortium when the uncontra-
dicted evidence permitted no conclusion other than that

he had sustained such a loss.

(1) Refusal to permit diversity-destroying
amendment and remand to State court

Plaintiffs had a right to sue in the forum of their
choice, viz., the Louisiana courts in which errant jury
verdicts are corrected by the appellate courts under their
power to review questions of law or fact. See Art. 5,
§§5(C), 10(B), La.Const.1974. That appellate power
leads to greater uniformity in the application of Louisiana
law, and it also leads to greater predictability of the
outcome when determining in which forum one should
sue. The Seventh Amendment to the United States
Constitution prevents federal appellate courts from
undertaking such extensive review of jury verdicts.
Thus, the petitioners' choice of the Louisiana forum was
the exercise of a substantial right. Accord International

Primate Protection League v. Administrators of Tulane

-2?1-

Educational Fund, 500U.S.__, 111 S.Ct. 1700, 1704,
114 L.Ed.2d 134, 143 (1991).

Before this case was removed to federal court,
Louisiana law was not ciear that a store manager could
be held personally liable for unreasonably dangerous
conditions upon premises of his employer under the new
slip and fall law, La.R.S. 9:2800.6. In 1988, the Louisi-
ana legislature promulgated a statute which governed
slip and fall litigation upon merchants premises, provid-
ing:

A. A merchant owes a duty to persons who use
his premises to exercise reasonable care to keep his
aisles, passageways, and floors in a reasonably safe
condition. This duty includes a reasonable effort to
keep the premises free of any hazardous conditions
which reasonably might give rise to damage.

B. In a suit for damages by a person who has
suffered damages as a result of a hazardous condition
while on the merchant's premises, the person must
prove that the accident was caused by a hazardous
condition. The burden of proof then shifts to the
merchant to prove that he acted in a reasonably
prudent manner in exercising the duty of care he
owed to the person to keep the premises free of any
hazardous conditions.

-2?2?-

C. In exculpating himself from liability under this
Subsection, the merchant need not introduce the
testimony of every employee of the merchant or any
particular proportion thereof, but is only required to
introduce the testimony of any employee shown to
have actually created the hazardous condition and
those employees and management personnel whose
job responsibilities included inspection or clean-up of
the area where the accident giving rise to the damag-
es occurred.

D. "Merchant" means one whose business is to
sell goods, foods, wares, or merchandise at a fixed
place of business. (Added by Acts 1988, No. 714, §1)

In the appellate court, respondent argues that no
“personal” duty was owed by the employees to store
patrons since La.R.S. 9:2800.6 imposed that duty only

upon the merchant. Respondent argued (Appellee's
Brief, p. 18):

In addition to defining the duty owed to the
premises user, this statute also provides for the
burden of proof and evidentiary requirements in suits
filed by customers. The duty to customers is owed
only by the merchant, which in this case is Kmart.
Although reference is made to employees of the
merchant with respect to evidentiary requirements,
nothing in the statute creates a personal duty on the
part of the merchant's employees. Furthermore,
defendant submits that the fact that the responsibilities
of the employees are discussed only with respect to

-23-

the evidentiary burdens of the merchant infers a
specific intention on the part of the legislature not to
create a personal duty on behalf of employees.
Plaintiffs had informed the district judge, when they
sought to amend their suit to add the store manager as
a defendant whose presence would destroy diversity of
citizenship between the plaintiffs and defendants, that
the Louisiana courts had only recently clarified Louisiana
law to establish that a store manager may be held liable
for a premises hazard under La.R.S. 9:2800.6. See
Holmes v. Great Atlantic & Pac. Tea Co., 587 So.2d 750
(La.App. 4 Cir. 1991), writ den., 592 So.2d 412
(La.1992). On appeal, the Court below wrote (Appendix
A, p. A-3, post):
Hernandez seeks to justify her delay in seeking the
amendment by claiming that a Louisiana appellate
decision clarified the law in this area, allowing her to
sue the manager. See Holmes v. Great Atlantic &
Pac. Tea Co., [supra]. We find this claim puzzling, as

that decision states that the law on this point has
been settled since 1973. See id. at 752.

-2?4-

That position was not puzzling to Louisiana practitioners,
many of whom had construed Louisiana law in the same
manner as had plaintiffs’ counsel, including the defense
counsel who continued to press that argument before the
Fifth Circuit despite the contrary holding of the Louisiana
Court of Appeal in Holmes. The respondents’ argument
in the Court below was almost identical to the rejected
position of the merchant in Holmes (587 So.2d at 752):

Bolling asserts that La.R.S. 9:2800.6(A) statutorily
provides that the exc/usive duty owed to a customer
injured on the merchant's premises is owed by the
merchant and not by the merchant's employees.
Bolling contends that since the responsibilities of the
employees are discussed only with respect to the
evidentiary burden of the merchant, this infers a
specific intention on the part of the legislature not to
create a personal duty on the part of employees.

This interpretation of R.S. 9:2800.6 is unfounded.
Although Section A defines the duty owed by the
merchant, the language of the statute in no way ,
creates an exclusive remedy that preempts claims
against the merchant's employees who may also be
at fault.

The 1973 case to which the Fifth Circuit referred is

Canter v. Koehring Co., 283 So.2d 716 (La.1973), which

“specifically approve[d]," 283 So.2d at 722, a line of
cases which established the following criteria for impos-
ing individual liability upon an employee when the

employer owed a duty to the injured person (283 So.2d

at 721):

1. The principal or employer owes a duty of care
to the third person (which in this sense includes a co-
employee), breach of which has caused the damage
for which recovery is sought.

2. This duty is delegated by the principal or
employer to the defendant.

3. The defendant officer, agent, or employee has
breached this duty through personal (as contrasted
with technical or vicarious) fault. The breach occurs
when the defendant has failed to discharge the
obligation with the degree of care required by ordinary
prudence under the same or similar circumstances --
whether such failure be due to malfeasance, misfeas-
ance, or nonfeasance, including when the failure
results from not acting upon actual knowledge of the
risk to others as well as from a lack of ordinary care
in discovering and avoiding such risk of harm which
has resulted from the breach of the duty.

4, Withregard to the personal (as contrasted with
technical or vicarious) fault, personal liability cannot
be imposed upon the officer, agent, or employee
simply because of his generai administrative respon-
sibility for performance of some function of the

-?6-

employment. He must have a personal duty to-
wards the injured plaintiff, breach of which specific-
ally has caused the plaintiff's damages. If the defen-
dant's general responsibility has been delegated
with due care to some responsible subordinate or
subordinates, he is not himself personally at fault
and liable for the negligent performance of this
responsibility, unless he personally knows or per-
sonally should know of its non-performance or mal-
performance and has nevertheless failed to cure the
risk of harm. (Emphasis added)

Based upon the view that §2800.6 imposed a duty
upon the merchant but not the employees who did not
cause the hazard, many federal courts in Louisiana have
generally treated claims against store managers as a
fraudulent joinder. See, e.g., Elder v. Wal-Mart Stores,
Inc., 751 F.Supp. 639 (E.D.La.1990); Freeman v. Wal-
Mart Stores, Inc., 775 F.Supp. 208, 209 n. 1 (W.D.La.
1991), to mention only the reported cases. There were
also a number of unreported cases to the same effect.
Under that interpretation of §2800.6, which the respon-

dent continued to urge after the opposite holding was

made by the Louisiana courts in Holmes, naming the

-2?]-

store manager (if his identity nad even been known then)
would have been met with a claim of fraudulent joinder.
It was only after Holmes was decided and the Louisiana
Supreme Court denied a petition for a writ of review that
the liability of a store manager for violation of the duties
imposed by La.R.S. 9:2800.6 upon his employer became
clear and that the holding of Canter v. Koehring Co.,
Supra, applied in a case brought under La.R.S. 9:2800.6.
It was only then that plaintiffs were justified in seeking to
amend their suit tu make the non-diverse store manager
a party defendant. Before trial they sought to do so but

were denied that opportunity by the district court.®

°Significantly, removal of a case from the State
courts may be undertaken even during the trial, except
in a criminal case, when the grounds for removal first
become known at that stage of the proceedings.
Consequently, it would be anomalous to deny a plaintiff
an opportunity to amend his pleadings to require remand
at that stage of the proceedings when discovery of the
yrounds for amendment and remand come to light only
after the cutoff date imposed by the Court for amending
the pleadings.

-28-

ee

Although Rule 15(a), F.R.C.P., mandates that
leave to amend a complaint "be freely given when justice
so requires," this Court's holding in Foman v. Davis, 371
U.S. 178, 182, 83 S.Ct. 227, 9 L.Ed.2d 222 (1962), has
led to the understanding that "the grant or denial of an
opportunity to amend is within the discretion of the
District Court." In 1988, Congress provided in 28 U.S.C.
§1447(e) for discretion on the part of federal district
courts in removed cases to permit amendment of a suit
to destroy diversity. In such cases where amendment
was permitted, Congress required that a removed case
be remanded to the State courts for further proceedings.
28 U.S.C. §1447(c, e). That required a departure from
the long line of cases, typified by Barney v. Latham, 103
U.S. 205, 26 L.Ed. 514 (1881), which hold that remova-
bility and entitlement to a remand of removed proceed-
ings are determined by the state of the pleadings at the

time of removal. Once there was no longer complete

-29-

diversity between the plaintiffs and defendants, federal
subject matter jurisdiction would have been lost.
In Hensgens v. Deere & Co., 833 F.2d 1179 (5
Cir. 1987), cert. den., 493 U.S. 851, 110 S.Ct. 150, 107
L.ed.2d 108 (1989), the Court held that it was not
necessary that a party be indispensable before a diversi-
ty-destroying amendment may be allowed to cause
remand of removed proceedings to State court. That
Court held that proper parties may be brought in by
amendment, even though the federal courts thereby lose
jurisdiction over the controversy. The Court established
certain criteria for the exercise by a district judge of the
discretion to determine whether to permit such an
amendment. Those criteria are (833 F.2d at 1182):
the extent to which the purpose of the amendment is
to defeat federal jurisdiction, whether plaintiff has
been dilatory in asking for amendment, whether

plaintiff will be significantly injured if amendment is not
allowed, and any other factors bearing on the equities.

-30-

————————

We respectfully submit that the Hensgens factor
inquiring into the motive to defeat federal diversity
jurisdiction is improper and inconsistent with this Court's
holdings upon the related issue of fraudulent joinder
which would prohibit removal in the first instance. The
joinder of a resident defendant for the purpose of
defeating removal jurisdiction is not improper where, by
the settled law of the state in which the action is brought,
the resident defendant is solidarily liable with the non-
resident defendant(s). Chicago, B. & Q. R. Co. v.
Willard, 220 U.S. 413, 31 S.Ct. 460, 55 L.Ed. 521
(1911); Chicago, R.!. & P.R. Co. v. Schwyhart, 227 U.S.
184, 33 S.Ct. 250, 57 L.Ed. 473 (1912); Chicago, R./. &
P.R. Co. v. Whiteaker, 239 U.S. 421, 36 S.Ct. 152, 60
L.Ed. 360 (1915). Thus, although it might have been
petitioners’ intention to provoke a remand by the joinder
of the resident store manager, we submit that it was

improper for that motivation to have been considered to

-3l-

ee

be grounds for denying his motion for leave to amend
his pleadings and to remand this cause to the State
courts from which it had been removed. As shown in
the district court, Holmes was not decided until after the
amendment cutoff date, hence it is contrary to justice to
bar petitioners from amending their complaint on that
basis. Petitioners were significantly injured in the
deprivation of their choice of forum with its attendant
benefit of appellate review of the facts and a predictable
legal result. Since amendment must be freely allowed
when it was in the interest of justice to permit it, and
since the refusal to allow petitioner to amend and
destroy the diversity jurisdiction of the trial court deprived
petitioners of viable claims against the resident defen-
dant store manager which were then countenanced
under Louisiana law as construed in Holmes, the second
Hensgens factor was clearly satisfied. The Trial Court

abused its discretion when it refused to permit the

-32-

amendment of this suit which would have returned this
case to the plaintiff's chosen forum.

This Court has never decided, especially since the
1988 amendments to 28 U.S.C. §1447, under what
circumstances a diversity-destroying amendment should
be permitted. The Hensgens test, which imposes
conditions which are contrary to a plaintiff's rights with
regard to the issue of removability in the first instance,
should not be regarded as a proper test of when such an
amendment should be allowed. This case presents a
recurring issue which will plague federal litigation until it
is resolved by this Honorable Court. This is thus a
proper case in which to grant review upon a writ of
certiorari. Rule 10.1(a, c), Supreme Court Rules.

2) Refusal to instruct in accordance with Louisi-
ana law

Federal courts sitting in a case arising under diversity
of citizenship jurisdiction or removal jurisdiction predicat-

ed upon the diversity of citizenship of the parties are

-33-

bound to follow the substantive law of the State in which
the claim arose. Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460, 465,
85 S.Ct. 1136, 14 L.Ed.2d 8 (1965). In determining
whether an issue is controlled by State law, the inquiry
is: “does it significantly affect the result of a litigation for
a federal court to disregard a law of a State that would
be controlling in an action upon the same claim by the
same parties in a State court?" Hanna v. Plumer, supra,
380 U.S. at 466, quoting Guaranty Trust Co. v. York,
326 U.S. 99, 109, 65 S.Ct. 1464, 89 L.Ed. 2079, 160
A.L.R. 1231 (1945).

In this case, the Court refused to inStruct the jury, in
accordance with Housley v. Cerise, 579 So.2d 973
(La.1991), that establishment of the issue of causation
could be based upon proof of plaintiffs previously
asymptomatic pre-existing condition, symptom onset
immediately following the incident for which reparation is

sought, and medical evidence that it was "reasonably

-34-

possible" for that mechanism of injury to have produced
that result. Without such an instruction defining the
burden of proof upon that issue, the jury was left to
apply the ordinary preponderance of evidence standard
without the benefit of this principle which relaxed the
burden in the above described scenario. The jury held
that K-Mart was liable for all of the plaintiffs injuries,
damages and losses, but it awarded the plaintiff a
pittance for the injuries she actually sustained. She had
suffered for several months with a lumbar sprain. She
had required substantial orthopedic surgery to relieve the
symptoms precipitated by the slip at the defendant's
store which activated a previously asymptomatic condi-
tion. That surgery entailed not only a procedure in the
site of the injury but another to remove a segment of
bone to use as a bone graft in the area of the primary
surgery. For all of that, the jury awarded only $10,000

in general damages.

-35-

i

The refusal to properly instruct the jury in accord-
ance with Louisiana decisions significantly affected the
result of this case, not on the issue of liability but the
issue of quantum. The only reasonable explanation for
the low award made by the jury in this case, especially
when compared with comparable cases in State court,
was that the jury compromised on the issue of damages
in order to reach a consensus on the issue of liability.
The trial court denied petitioners’ right to a fair trial when
it refused to properly instruct the jury. The Court below
thus sanctioned an impermissible departure from con-
trolling law which calls for this Court's intervention and
correction to produce a just result. Such a basis for the
exercise of this Court's jurisdiction is found in Rule
10.1(a), Supreme Court Rules.

3) Exclusion of Relevant Expert Opinion
This is a slip and fall case involving a clear,

viscous substance spilled upon a mottled green tile floor.

-36=

Plaintiffs sought to call a safety expert and a physicist to
establish the unreasonably dangerous nature of the
condition which caused Mrs. Hernandez to slip and twist
her ankle and back. The defendants, at a pre-trial
conference, informed the Court that it intended to file a
motion in /imine to suppress that expert testimony. The
trial court subsequently ruled that plaintiffs’ expert
witnesses’ testimony was inadmissible because the
subject upon which they would testify was obviously
correct. The safety experts were proffered to testify
regarding a number of things: the dangerousness of
such a condition, the unlikelihood a customer would
have seen and avoided the hazard while shopping, the
attractiveness to children of the packaging of the prod-
uct, the placement of the product within reach of small
children, and the ease with which such children could
open the bottles and spill their contents upon the tile

floor, thus creating a high risk of the hazard encountered

-37]-

by Mrs. Hernandez. The physicist was proffered to
testify regarding the scientific principles relative to
slipperiness of the substance and its hazardous nature
in combination with the coefficient of friction of the tile
floor on which the viscous substance was deposited.
That testimony had a tendency to make the existence of
some facts, and the non-existence of some others, that
were of consequence to the determination of the store's
fault and the absence of fault of the victim more proba-
ble or less probable, respectively, than could be shown
without the evidence. Rule 401, F.R.Evid. Thus, the
evidence was "relevant." /bid.

The evidence tended to show that the presence
of the liquid on the floor presented an unreasonably
dangerous hazard which should not have been permitted
to remain undiscovered in a merchant's store, especially
in the area where there were numerous products of that

nature placed on shelves for sale to customers, any one

-38-

or more of which could have been defective and leaking
or opened by a customer and leaking upon the floor.
Such expert evidence also tended to show that a
shopper would not have been comparatively negligent if
her activities diverted her attention from the floor and the
substance was not an obvious hazard. As previously
noted, the federal courts sitting in diversity must apply
Louisiana law. In the instant case, the Fifth Circuit
Clearly failed to do so when it failed to follow the Louisi-
ana Supreme Court's decision in Perez v. Wal-Mart
Stores, Inc., 608 So.2d 1006 (La.1992), which held that
a store customer should not be held liable for any
comparative fault at all unless there is some kind of
large or clearly visible obstruction or spill on the floor of
the store. As the evidence showed in this case, there
was no such spill. The bubble bath was a clear liquid
upon a green tile floor which was difficult to see in the

absence of an inspection for such substances. It is clear

-39-

sceneihhenieaenmennerniet ete

under Louisiana law that a customer of a store does not
have to undertake such an inspection in order to avoid
being held contributorily negligent. See, e.g., Peralta v.
Schwegmann Bros. Giant Supermarkets, Inc., 406 So.2d
720 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1981), wnt den., 410 So.2d 762
(La.1982). Moreover, Louisiana courts have consistently
held that a store customer had no fault in failing to see
a Clear liquid on a store floor. See, e.g., Bergeron v. K-
Mart Corp., 540 So.2d 406 (La.App. 1 Cir. 1989): Cash
v. Charter Marketing Co., 607 So.2d 1036 (La.App. 3
Cir. 1992): Bonnette v. K-Mart, Inc., 502 So.2d 202
(La.App. 3 Cir. 1987).

The Court excluded the evidence on the basis
that the conclusions were obvious and did not require
scientific evidence. That the testimony went to an
ultimate conclusion of fact may not be a basis for

excluding the evidence. Rule 704, F.R.Evid.

-40-

This Court, in the recent case of Daubert v.
Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., __ U.S. ,113
S.Ct. 2786, 125 L.Ed.2d 469 (1993), set forth guidelines
for determining when expert testimony is admissible
under Rule 702, F.R.Evid. In that case this Court held
that (113 S.Ct. at 2797):

The inquiry envisioned by Rule 702 is, we em-
phasize, a flexible one. Its overarching subject is the
scientific validity -- and thus the evidentiary relevance
and reliability -- of the principles that underlie a
proposed submission. The focus, of course, must be
solely on principles and methodology, not on the
conclusions that they generate.

The trial court in this case focused upon the conclusions,
rather than the principles and methodology, and exclud-
ed relevant evidence that would have assisted the trier
of fact in its determination of the issue of Mrs. Hernan-
dez's contributory negligence. Such evidence is offered
routinely in cases tried in Louisiana courts. Louisiana

has adopted a Code of Evidence which substantially

follows the Federal Rules of Evidence.

This Court, in Daubert, supra, 113 S.Ct. at 2798,
held that exclusion of relevant evidence was inappropri-
ate. This Court indicated that the method of dealing with
such evidence was, instead (ibid.):

Vigorous cross-examination, presentation of contrary
evidence, and careful instruction on the burden of
proof are the traditional and appropriate means of
attacking shaky but admissible evidence. See Rock
v. Arkansas, 483 U.S. 44, 61, 107 S.Ct. 2704, 97 L.
Ed.2d 37 (1987).

The decisions of the courts below are inconsistent
with this Court's holding in Daubert. Therefore, this is an
appropriate case for summary reversal and remand for
a new trial. See Rule 10.1(c), Supreme Court Rules.

(4) Denial of loss of consortium claim

Under Louisiana law, there are several compo-
nents to a claim for loss of consortium: (1) loss of love
and affection, (2) society and companionship, (3) sexual
relations, (4) the right of performance of marital services,

(5) the right of support from a spouse, (6) aid and

assistance, and (7) loss of felicity. Warner v. Great

-42?-

OO

Atlantic & Pac. Tea Co., 583 So.2d 61, 65 (La.App. 2
Cir. 1991). Proof of any of these elements is sufficient
for an award of loss of consortium. /bid. ; Finley v. Bass,
478 So.2d 608 (La.App. 2 Cir. 1985). In the instant
case, the jury made no award for Mr. Hernandez’s loss
of consortium, even though he established several of the
elements stated above and his and his wife's testimony
was not contradicted by the defendants. The Court of
Appeals, upon review of this issue, appeared to con-
Clude that the plaintiff's testimony concerning the fre-
quency of sexual relations before his wife's injury
somehow made the entirety of his testimony suspect.
The evidence which was offered at trial on this issue did
not suggest otherwise than that Mrs. Hernandez sus-
tained an injury (the jury compensated her for it) and that
her injury was painful and caused her to miss work (the
jury compensated her for both of those). Under Louisi-

ana law, there was no basis for refusing to award Mr.

-~43-

Hernandez a reasonable amount as compensation for
his losses attributable to the proven injury of his wife.

No reasonable jury could have concluded that the
plaintiff did not prove his claim for loss of consortium
under Louisiana law. Thus, the refusal to grant plaintiff
either a new trial or to render a judgment non obstante
veredicto in his favor on the issue of liability and order a
new trial on the issue of damages was an abuse of
discretion which denied plaintiff a fair trial.

No decision of this Court has decided when a
federal court must step in to prevent a miscarriage of
justice such as this one when the uncontradicted evi-
dence clearly establishes a party's claim and there is no
competent evidence to refute it. Therefore, this is also
an appropriate case in which this Court should exercise

its supervisory jurisdiction. Rule 10.1(a), Supreme Court

Rules.

-44-

CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, this Court should grant
a writ of certiorari and review the judgment and opinion
of the Court below, following which it should vacate the
judgments below and remand this Cause for a new trial
on the issue of damages and the comparative fault of

the plaintiff.

Respectfully submitted.

JOHN E. RUIZ, JR.

Attorney for Petitioners

127 S. Roman Street

P.O. Box 791180

New Orleans, LA 70179-1180
Tel.: [504] 482-0113

-45-

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
| certify that | have caused a copy of the forego-

ing to be served upon opposing counsel, by United
States Mail, first class postage prepaid, by mailing a
copy thereof to Rodney A. Seydel, Esq., Attorney for K-
Mart Corporation, at the following address this 23rd day
of September, 1993:

Rodney A. Seydel, Esq.

Attorney at Law

650 Poydras Street

Twenty-First Floor

New Orleans, LA 70130-6121
Tel.: [504] 523-1385

JOHN E. RUIZ, JR.
Attorney at Law

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 92-3478

TON! DECOSSAF HERNANDEZ,

Petitioner

Versus

K-MART CORPORATION. et al.,

Respondent

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Louisiana

(CA-90-2180 "I")

Before WISDOM. DAVIS, and SMITH. Circuit Judges.

Al

PER CURIAM:

This slip and fall case arose on July 26, 1989,
when Toni Hernandez slipped in a small puddle of
bubble bath or shampoo in a Chalmette, Louisiana K-
Mart store. Hernandez’ husband caught her before she
fell, but the slip injured her back and aggravated a
dormant cyst in her ankle. After a three-day trial, the
jury awarded damages of $31,916.58. After reviewing
the briefs and record, we conclude that no error occurred
and affirm the judgment.

I.

The district court established August 2, 1991, as

the deadline for amending the complaint. On December

30, 1991, eight days before trial, Hernandez sought to

‘Local Rule 47.5.1 provides: "The publication of
opinions that have no precedential value and merely
decide particular cases on the basis of well-settled
principles of law imposes needless expense on the
public and burdens on the legal profession." Pursuant
to that rule, the court has determined that this opinion
should not be published.

A2

————————

join the K-mart manager as an additional defendant -- a
joinder that would have destroyed diversity of citizenship
and deprived the district court of jurisdiction. We review
the district court's denial of Hernandez's motion for
abuse of discretion. Daves v. Payless Cashways, !nc.,
661 F.2d 1022, 1024 (5 Cir. Unit A Nov. 1981).

The district court did not abuse its discretion.
Hernandez seeks to justify her delay in seeking the
amendment by claiming that a Louisiana appellate
decision clarified the law in this area, allowing her to sue
the manager.- See Holmes v. Great Atlantic & Pac. Tea
Co., 587 So.2d 750 (La.App. 4 Cir. 1991), writ den., 592
So.2d 412 (La.1992). We find this claim puzzling, as
that decision states that the law on this point has been
settled since 1973. See id. at 752.

Simply because a court had held that joinder was
improper in another case involving this K-Mart, does not

mean that the law was confused. Rather, the court in

A3

the other case applied the settled law and concluded
that no liability could be imposed under that standard.
Even if the law were incorrectly applied in that other
case, Hernandez had no excuse for not attempting to
join the manager earlier.
II.

Next, snenainiliee argues that the district court
erred by failing to grant her motion for judgment as a
matter or law or for a new trial on the ground that the
evidence does not support a finding of comparative
negligence. The jury found Hernandez twenty-five
percent at fault. We must affirm the verdict unless the
evidence points so overwhelmingly in favor of one party
that a reasonable jury could not have arrived at the
verdict. Boeing Co. v. Shipman, 411 F.2d 365, 374 (5
Cir. 1969) (en banc).

Hernandez calls our attention to Doming v. K-Mart

Corp., 540 So.2d 400, 405 (LaApp. 1 Cir. 1989),

A4

affirming the trial court's granting of a judgment notwith-
standing the verdict on the issue of comparative negli-
gence. The trial court reduced the jury finding of forty
percent negligence to five percent. Here, however, the
record presents adequate evidence to support the
verdict. Hernandez had shopped at this store many
times and was familiar with the store’s layout. She
testified that at the time of the accident, she was looking
straight ahead, rather than down, and was not looking at
displays or merchandise. A reasonable jury could find
negligence from these facts.’
Ut.
Hernandez also argues that the jury verdict

undercompensated her for pain and suffering and

" We reject Hernandez's argument that the district

court abused its discretion in excluding the testimony of
her safety experts. The testimony offered by the experts
related to matters within the common knowledge of
typical people, thereby obviating the need for expert
analysis. Peters v. Five Star Marine Serv., 598 F.2d
448, 449 (5 Cir. 1990) (per curiam).

AS

a

disregarded evidence of her loss of earnings. We will
not disturb a jury finding on damages unless it is entirely
disproportionate to the injury sustained. Ca/derera v.
Eastern Airlines, 705 F.2d 778, 784 (5 Cir. 1983). We
do not believe that the award for pain and suffering was
So disproportionate as to justify a new trial, as the award
was approximately half as large as the damages for
medical expenses. This award is especially justified, as
Hernandez admitted on cross-examination that she had
reinjured her ankle when she fell off of her crutches.
Given that she had previously denied this injury, the jury
had reason to question her veracity.

Likewise, we cannot conclude that the jury's
award for loss of earnings was unreasonable. Hernan-
dez worked for her mother's accounting firm and testified
that she had missed thirty-nine weeks of work because
of the accident. Hernandez's mother testified, without

documentation, that just prior to the accident she had

A6é

decided to increase Hernandez's workload and respon-
sibilities substantially. We think a reasonable jury could
view this testimony with some skepticism. As a result.
we cannot disturb the jury's findings.

IV.

Finally, Hernandez asserts that the jury erred by
failing to award damages for loss of consortium.”
Hernandez's husband testified that he had sexual
relations with his wife once or twice per day, every day
before the accident, and that this dwindled to about once
per month after the accident. He testified that Hernan-
dez was bedridden for four months, yet she never told
her doctor. Given the frequency of pre-accident sexual

relations alleged by Hernandez, the jury rightly could

2 K-Mart Corporation argues that we do not have

jurisdiction over the loss of consortiim claim because
Hernandez's husband is not listed as a party on the
notice of appeal. Although the notice of appeal uses the
phrase “et a/.," we previously have held that “ef a/."
suffices to provide notice where there are only two
parties. Morales v. Pan Am. Life Ins. Co., 914 F.2d 83,
85 (5 Cir. 1990).

A?

view his claim with some skepticism. When combined
with the overall questionable nature of testimony on
other issues, the jury reasonably could choose not to .
believe Mr. Hernandez's testimony.

The judgment of the district court is AFFIRMED.

ess —_—_ —_ —

A8

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA
MINUTE ENTRY
JANUARY 3, 1992
MENTZ, J.
TONI DECOSSAS HERNANDEZ, ET ACIVIL ACTION
VERSUS NO. 90-2180
KMART CORPORATION SECTION "I" (1)
Before the court is the plaintiff Toni Hernandez's
Motion to Amend Complaint and to Remand to State
Court. After reviewing the motion, memoranda of
counsel, the record, and the law, the court denies the
motion.
The plaintiff seeks to amend the complaint and
add two non-diverse defendants, and to have the case
remanded to state court. In determining whether to

allow the amendment, the court must carefully balance

the equities. Hensgens v. Deere & Co., 833 F.2d 1179,

AY

1182 (5 Cir. 1987). In this case, the court finds that the
equities weigh in favor of denying the amendment.
First, the court notes that the deadline for
ameridments to the complaint was August 2, 1991.
Plaintiff asserts that she recently discovered the state
court decision, Holmes v. Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea
Co., 587 So.2d 750 (4 Cir. 1991), which provides for a
cause of action against the store manager. However,
this recent case does not explain the plaintiff's failure to
join K-Mart #3387, a Louisiana corporation, as a defen-
dant. The plaintiff asserts that she is still attempting to
find out the extent to which K-Mart #3387 is involved in
the subject K-Mart store. The time for discovery has
already ceased, and there is no excuse for failing to join
this non-diverse defendant prior to the eve of trial.
Second, that this case has already been contin-
ued twice upon motion of the plaintiff. At the pre-trial

conference, the plaintiff indicated that she might file a

Al10

motion to remand based upon the jurisdictional amount.
The court indicated that it did not think such a motion
would be successful, but that the court would consider
such a motion if the parties could present appropriate
authority therefor. Instead, the plaintiff has filed a
motion to remand on different grounds. The court finds
that the interests of justice require that this case proceed
to trial.

The court does not find that the plaintiff will be
significantly injured by denial of the amendment. While
it will deprive the plaintiff of a possible claim against the
store manager, the plaintiff still has a claim against the
K-Mart Corporation. When weighed against the preju-
dice to the defendants of yet another delay, the court
finds that amendment is unwarranted.

Finally, the plaintiff has not provided the court with
an amended complaint which would allow removal. The

amended complaint attached to plaintiffs motion has a

All

state court caption, thus the plaintiff has not even
presented an amended complaint which applies to this
action.

The plaintiff has had ample opportunity to amend
the complaint, and the court finds that it would be
inappropriate to amend the complaint and remand the
case on the eve of trial. The court denies the motion.

Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that the plaintiff Toni Hernan-

dez's Motion to Amend Complaint and to Remand to

State Court is DENIED.

APPENDIX C
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA
TONI DECOSSAS HERNANDEZ, ET ACIVIL ACTION
VERSUS NO. 90-2180
KMART CORPORATION SECTION "I" (1)

ORDER AND REASONS

Mentz, J.

Before the Court is the Motion for Judgment as a
Matter of Law, or for Judgment Notwithstanding the
Verdict, or Alternatively for a New Trial, filed by the
plaintiffs, Toni Decossas Hernandez and Sherman
Hernandez. Finding that the jury verdict and judgment
in this matter are well-supported by the evidence and the
law, the Court DENIES the motion.

The piaintiffs' claims arise from injuries sustained
by Toni Hernandez when she slipped on some Sesame

Street Bubble Bath which was on the floor at the K-Mart

Al3

ed

store in Chalmette, Louisiana. This matter was tried in
January, 1992, and the jury returned a verdict in favor of
the plaintiffs. Damages were awarded of $20,916.58 for
past medicals, $10,000 pain and suffering, $1,000 past
wage loss, and no damages for future medicals, future
loss of wages, or Sherman Hernandez's loss of consor-
tium. In addition, the jury assigned 25% contributory
negligence to the plaintiff, Toni Hernandez.

The plaintiffs complain that a number of this
Court's evidentiary rulings, and some allegedly inflam-
matory remarks by defense counsel, caused the jury to
improperly assess contributory negligence against the
plaintiff, Toni Hernandez, and to award low amounts in
damages. The plaintiffs ask this Court either to grant
judgment as a matter of law reversing the jury's deter-
mination that Toni was contributorily negligent, or to
grant a new trial. The Court notes that many of plaintiffs’

complaints contained in this motion cannot be remedied

Al4

by this Court with a judgment as a matter of law. The
Court cannot assess particular amounts of damages or
percentages of fault, as these are findings of fact not

matters of /aw.

Rule 50(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

provides:

(1) If during a trial by jury a party has been
fully heard with respect to an issue and there is
no legally sufficient evidentiary basis for a rea-
sonable jury to have found for that party with
respect to that issue, the court may grant a
motion for judgment as a matter of law against
that party on any claim * * * which cannot under
the controlling law be maintained without a fav-
orable finding on that issue.

(2) Motions for judgment as a matter of law
may be made at any time before the submission
of the case to the jury. Such a motion shall
specify the judgment sought and the law and the
facts on which the moving party is entitled to the
judgment.

Pursuant to Rule 50(b), a party who has made a motion
for judgment as a matter of law which was not granted

may renew such motion by filing and service not later

than ten days after the entry of the judgment.

Al5

The piaimifts' argument regarding the jury's finding
of contributory negligence appears to be that if the
plaintiffs had been allowed to present their safety experts
and rebuttal witness regarding K-Mart's liability, the jury
would have come to a different conclusion. The crux of
this argument is not that based upon the evidence
presented at trial the plaintiffs are legally entitled to a
judgment that Toni Hernandez was not contributorily
negligent, but that, if other evidence was presented at
trial, the jury would have found that Toni Hernandez was
not contributorily negligent. The plaintiffs’ burden under
Rule 50(a)(1), however, is to demonstrate that there is
"no legally sufficient evidentiary basis" for a reasonable
jury to find that Toni Hernandez was contributorily
negligent." This the plaintiffs have not done; they have
relied upon "facts" which were excluded from evidence
rather than the facts in evidence. The Court finds that

the jury's verdict that Toni Hernandez was 25% contribu-

Al6

torily negligent was supported by the evidence at trial.
A Motion for Judgment as a Matter of Law is an inappro-
priate vehicle for challenging a Court's evidentiary
rulings.

The plaintiffs have moved in the alternative for a
new trial pursuant to Rule 59 of the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure. A new trial may be granted under Rule
59 if "the verdict is against the great weight of the
evidence, the damages awarded are excessive, the trial
was unfair, or prejudicial error was committed in its
course.” Smith v. Transworld Drilling Co., 773 F.2d 610,
613 (5 Cir. 1985) (footnotes omitted). The plaintiffs’
argument in favor of the motion for new trial is that a
number of the Court's rulings either rendered the pro-
ceedings unfair, or amounted to prejudicial error.

The plaintiffs complain of the following: (1) the
Court's order prohibiting the testimony of plaintiffs’ safety

experts; (2) the Court's order prohibiting plaintiffs' expert,

Al?

Wilfred Gallardo, from testifying under Rule 406 of the
Federal Rules of Evidence regarding his observations of
unclean conditions at the K-Mart store on dates other
than the date of the accident: (3) the Court's order
prohibiting Teddy Lenaris from testifying as a rebuttal
witness; (4) the defendant's failure to produce a sample
floor tile, as per the Court's order of December 20, 1991.
(5) defense counsel's allegedly inflammatory remarks
during closing arguments on various other subjects,
including Toni Hernandez's truthfulness about subse-
quent injuries, the extent of her loss of future earnings,
and the loss of consortium claim; and (6) the Court's
failure to give plaintiffs requested jury instruction re-
garding medical causation. The Court finds that none of
these asserted "errors" rendered the proceedings unfair,
or constituted prejudicial error.

First, the Court order prohibiting the testimony of

plaintiffs safety experts was proper. This case invoived

Al18

a slip on bubble bath; the jury needed no expert testi-
mony in order to understand that bubble bath is slip-
pery.' Expert testimony was also not necessary to help
the jury understand that a clear liquid might be difficult
to see given the color of the tile.* Finally, expert testimo-
ny is not necessary for the jury to understand and
evaluate the clean-up procedures in place at the store.
The plaintiffs further allege that the defendant's motion
in limine should not have been granted because the
defendants did not list it as a contemplated motion in the
Pre-Trial Order. The Court's Minute Entry following the

Pre-Trial Conference, however, indicates that the

" The plaintiffs argument that an expert was neces-
sary to explain to the jury that the tile surface had a low
“coefficient of friction" is without merit; there was no
dispute that the bubble bath on the floor caused the slip.

* The plaintiffs also complain of the defendant's

failure to provide the plaintiffs with a sample tile. The
Court finds that the failure to produce the tile did not
amount to prejudicial error. The plaintiff produced
photographs which demonstrated the color of the tile.
The Court also notes that the plaintiffs did not at any
time prior to tria! attempt to compel production of the tile.

Al9

defendant informed the Court at the conference of its
intent to file a motion to strike plaintiffs’ expert's [sic].°
Therefore, the plaintiffs’ argument that the motion was
untimely is wholly without merit.

Having been denied the opportunity to present the
testimony of their experts, the plaintiffs sought to have
their expert, Wilfred Gallardo, testify regarding his
personal observations of conditions at the K-Mart. The
plaintiffs sought such testimony pursuant to Rule 406 of
the Federal Rules of Evidence as evidence of K-Mart's
habit of failing to clean spills. Gallardo did not observe
conditions in the store on the day of the accident,
therefore the only relevance of his proposed testimony
would have to be on the issue of habit. However,
Gallardo's visits to the store were not sufficiently fre-

quent as to be reliable evidence of habit, therefore, the

> "The defendant contemplates filing a motion to

strike plaintiffs expert witnesses. Such motion should
be filed not later than December 30, 1991 at 5:00
p.m." See Minute Entry, December 23, 1991.

A20

—— EE

evidence was properly excluded.

_ The plaintiffs’ complaint regarding the Court's
refusal to allow Teddy Lenaris from testifying as a
rebuttal witness is also without merit. The plaintiffs
sought to use Lenaris as a rebuttal witness to testify that
K-Mart employees did not actually follow the clean-up
and safety practices which they testified to. Lenaris was
not listed as a witness in the Pre-Trial Order. The
Court's standard scheduling order requires that parties
list all witnesses, except “rebuttal witnesses _ __ when
necessity cannot be reasonably be [sic] anticipated" for
their use. Attorney's [sic] should be careful in failing to
list a witness who is really part of their case-in-chief
See Morgan v. Commercial Union, 606 F.2d 554 (5 Cir.
1979). The Court disallowed Lenaris’ testimony because
he was really part of plaintiffs' case-in-chief. In addition,
the Court does not agree with plaintiffs’ argument that

his use could not be reasonably anticipated. The

A21

———

plaintiffs assert that the testimony of the K-Mart employ-
ees far exceeded their deposition testimony with respect
to clean-up practices at the store. The Court notes, for
example, that Brenda Doucet testified in her deposition
regarding clean-up training and practices numerous
times. See Plaintiffs’ Memorandum in Support, Ex. B,
pp. 12, 18, 20, 35-36, 41. Where the issue at trial was
the reasonableness of K-Mart's clean-up practices, the
plaintiffs would have been remiss if they had not antici-
pated that the store employees would testify that they
were always on the look out for unsafe conditions.

The Court also notes that the testimony of the
expert witnesses and Lenaris would have been relevant
only to the issue of K-Mart's liability, an issue which the
ary determined in the plaintiffs’ favor. The plaintiffs go
on to argue that because this evidence was not present-
ed regarding liability, the jury rendered a verdict on

damages which was too low. The plaintiffs here confuse

A22

the issues of liability and damages. The burden is on
the plaintiffs to prove the amount of their damages
caused by the accident.* Once the jury determined that
K-Mart was liable for the accident, the issue of damages
is a separate inquiry. The plaintiffs have not pointed out
in this motion, any specific evidence, which was pre-
sented to the jury, which would warrant a larger award
for damages.

As to plaintiffs’ complaints regarding allegedly
inflammatory statements made in closing arguments, the

Court points out that such statements were just that --

* The plaintiffs also argue that because the Court

did not give their requested instruction on medical
causation, see Housley v. Cerise, 579 So.2d 973 (La.
1991), the jury award for pain and suffering was too low,
and the jury failed to award damages for future medicals.
The plaintiffs do not cite, however, what evidence would
have supported an award of future medicals. The Court
finds that from the evidence presented at trial, the jury
could easily concluded [sic] that Toni Hernandez would
incur no future medical expenses as a result of her
accident at K-Mart. The damage awards in this case
result, not from improper rulings by the Court, but from
a failure of the plaintiffs to present sufficient evidence to
warrant a greater award.

A23

argument. The Court properly instructed the jury that
staiements made by counsel are not evidence, and that
the jury is free to disregard the arguments of counsel.
It is certainly proper for counsel, during argument, to
point out any inconsistencies in tne testimony. The
Court does not find that any of the alleged statements in
the closing arguments was [sic] unduly prejudicial.

For the foregoing reasons, the Court finds that a
new trial in this matter is unwarranted.

Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that

(1) the Motion for Judgment as a Matter of Law,
or for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict, or Alterna-
tively for a New Trial filed by plaintiffs Toni Decossas
Hernandez and Sherman Hernandez is DENIED; and

(2) the hearing on the motion set for April 22,
1992 is CANCELED.

[Dated and signed by the Trial Judge on 4/13/92].

A24

APPENDIX D

IN-THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 92-3478

TON! DECOSSAF HERNANDEZ,

Petitioner

versus

K-MART CORPORATION, et a/.,

Respondent

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Louisiana

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING
(June 25, 1993)

Before WISDOM, DAVIS, and SMITH, Circuit Judges.

A25

PER CURIAM:
IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing filed in
above entitled and numbered cause be and the same is

hereby denied.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

J. Smith
United States Circuit Judge

A26

APPENDIX E
EXCERPTS OF STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

Section 1332(a)(1) of Title 28 of the United States

Code provides:

(a) The district courts shall have original jurisdic-
tion of all civil actions where the matter in controversy
exceeds the sum or value of $50,000, exclusive of
interest and costs, and is between--

(1) citizens of different States:

eee *

Section 1441(a) of Title 28 of the United States

Code provides:

(a) Except as otherwise expressly provided by
Act of Congress, any civil action brought in a State
court of which the district courts of the United States
have original jurisdiction, may be removed by the
defendant or the defendants, to the district court of the
United States for the district and division embracing
the place where such action is pending. For purposes
of removal under this chapter, the citizenship of
defendants sued under fictitious names shall be
disregarded.

A27

Subsections (c) and (e) of 28 U.S.C. §1447
provide:

(c) A motion to remand the case on the basis of
any defect in removal procedure must be made within
30 days after the filing of the notice of removal under
section 1446(a). If at any time before final judgment
it appears that the district court lacks subject matter
jurisdiction, the case shall be remanded. An order
remanding the case may require payment of just costs
and any actual expenses, including attorney fees,
incurred as a result of the removal. A certified copy
of the order of remand shall be mailed by the clerk to
the clerk of the State court. The State court may
thereupon proceed with such action.

~_* & &

(e) If after removal the plaintiff seeks to join
additiona! defendants whose joinder would destroy
subject matter jurisdiction, the court may deny joinder,
or permit joinder and remand the action to the State
court.

Rule 701, Federal Rules of Evidence, provides:

lf the witness is not testifying as an expert, the
witness’ testimony in the form of opinions or inferenc-
es is limited to those opinions or inferences which are
(a) rationally based on the perception of the witness
and (b) helpful to a clear understanding of the witness’
testimony or the determination of a fact in issue.

A28

Rule 702, Federal Rules of Evidence, provides:

If scientific, technical, or other specialized knowl-
edge will assist the trier of fact to understand the
evidence or to determine a fact in issue, a witness
qualified as an expert by knowledge, skill, experience,
training, or education, may testify thereto in the form
of an opinion or otherwise.

Rule 15(a), Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

provides:

(a) Amendments. A party may amend the
party's pleading once as a matter of course at any
time before a responsive pleading is served or, if the
pleading is one to which no responsive pleading is
permitted and the action has not been placed upon
the trial calendar, the party may so amend it at any
time within 20 days after it is served. Otherwise, a
party may amend the party's pleading only by leave of
court or by written consent of the adverse party; and
leave shall be freely given when justice so requires.
A party shall plead in response to an amended
pleading within the time remaining for response to the
original pleading or within 10 days after service of the
amended pleading, whichever period may be the
longer, unless the court otherwise orders.

Section 2800.6 of Title 9 of the Louisiana Revised
Statutes of 1950, as amended, provided at the time rele-

vant to this action:

A29

A. Amerchant owes a duty to persons who use
his premises to exercise reasonable care to keep his
aisles, passageways, and floors in a reasonably safe
condition. This duty includes a reasonable effort to
keep the premises free of any hazardous conditions
which reasonably might give rise to damage.

B. In a suit for damages by a person who has
suffered damages as a result of a hazardous condition
while on the merchant's premises, the person must
prove that the accident was caused by a hazardous
condition. The burden of proof then shifts to the
merchant to prove that he acted in a reasonably
prudent manner in exercising the duty of care he
owed to the person to keep the premises free of any
hazardous conditions.

C. In exculpating himself from liability under this
Subsection, the merchant need not introduce the
testimony of every employee of the merchant or any
particular proportion thereof, but is only required to
introduce the testimony of any employee shown to
have actually created the hazardous condition and
those employees and management personnel whose
job responsibilities included inspection or clean-up of
the area where the accident giving rise to the damag-
es occurred.

D. "Merchant" means one whose business is to

sell goods, foods, wares, or merchandise at a fixed
place of business. (Added by Acts 1988, No. 714, §1)

A30

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_0506%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
