# Amicus Curiae Brief — Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Stuart Circle Hospital Corp

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_0493%3A08

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 1003

## Text

4NUe VuvusV

MOTION ELED.

OCT 29 1203 sctiias
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

AETNA LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY and
AETNA HEALTH MANAGEMENT.
Petitioners.

Ve

STUART CIRCLE HOSPITAL CORPORATION,
Re sponde nt.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE
AND BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE

“THERESA L. SOROTA

LYNNE E. FRITTER

B. MICHAEL HERMAN

Health Insurance Association of
America

1025 Connecticut Ave., N.W

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 223-7822

ao oe &

ANNE MARIE WALSH

American Association of Preferred
Provider Associations

1101 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 429-5133

KELLI D. BACK

American Managed Care and
Review Association

1227 25th Street, N.W.

Suite 610

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 728-0506

Attorneys for Amici

“Counsel of Record

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

No. 93-510

AETNA LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY and
AETNA HEALTH MANAGEMENT,
Petitioners,
V.

STUART CIRCLE HoOsPITAL CORPORATION,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

MOTION OF THE HEALTH INSURANCE ASSOCIATION
OF AMERICA, AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF
PREFERRED PROVIDER ORGANIZATIONS, AND
AMERICAN MANAGED CARE AND REVIEW
ASSOCIATION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AMICUS
CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION

Pursuant to Rule 37.2 of the Rules of this Court,
amici, the Health Insurance Association of America
(“HIAA”’), Association of Preferred Provider Orga-
nizations (“‘AAPPO’’), and American Managed Care
and Review Association (““AMCRA”’), hereby move for
leave to file the attached brief amicus curiae.
Petitioner has granted but respondent has refused to

grant consent for amici to file a brief amicus curiae
in support of the petition.

Amici bring a unique and broad perspective to the
issue brought before this Court. ERISA preemption
and its relation to the Virginia “‘any willing provider’
statute affects most of our collective membership, in-
cluding large and small insurers and companies op-
erating preferred provider organizations (PPOs) which
are neither health care providers nor health insurance
carriers.

Amici can bring to this Court’s attention relevant
matters that could not be brought fully to the Court’s
attention by petitioner and that respondent is unlikely
to bring to the Court’s attention. In particular, amici
point out how the holding of the Fourth Circuit Court
of Appeals will, if allowed to stand, inhibit the ability
of employee welfare benefit plans to contain and con-
trol health care costs_through the use of managed
care networks.

Amici therefore respectfully request leave to file
the attached brief amicus curiae.

Respectfully submitted,
/s/ Theresa L. Sorota

*THERESA L. SOROTA

LYNNE E. FRITTER

B. MICHAEL HERMAN

Health Insurance Association of —
America

1025 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 223-7822

ANNE MARIE WALSH

American Association of Preferred
Provider Associations

1101 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 429-5133

KELLI D. BACK

American Managed Care and
Review Association

1227 25th Street, N.W.

Suite 610

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 728-0506

Attorneys for Amici

*Counsel of Record
October 29, 1993

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Ses Oe CPREIEE seinctinncckteitine eee l
SAB GOP AUTOR IIIS ~ cccexcecsceccscscsvnccscrecccsecescsse ll
SEVER Meeeme a OF THI AMIE ccnscvcccticcdctsiccsccdlecccle.. 1
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT. ..............000. by

A. The Fourth Circuit’s Decision Will Adversely
Affect Amici’s Members’ Ability to Contain
Escalating Health Care Costs .00.....ccccccecceese 6

B. The Fourth Circuit Failed to Apply the Ap-
propriate Precedent Articulated By This
Court in Royal Drug That the Selection of
Network Providers Is Not the ‘Business of
MENGE incensnconsecinitinnctaeee 10

C. Proliferation of “‘Any Willing Provider’ Leg-
islation Will Erode the Ability of Insurers
and Other Third Party Payors to Create Ef-
fective Managed Care Networks ............60.... 14

CONULATIIIT | yssainstsninsensreiudcesinbstnen eee 16

ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page

Group Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Royal Drug Co.,
440 U.S. 205 (1979), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1160

CRG cccecosesistisinniencemnestaueitaaaaeanee 6,11,12,13
Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S.

FE CRED) cetecsmsccescimmniaaenanae 5,11,13
Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41

CEDUTD cocecsssssissesesstinctommecaaamaiaa ssemnenmnbaniaabii 15
Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85

CEDIED cocesccsusssionssssonwesmanniaiaunianaaaeeel 11

Stuart Circle Hosp. Corp. v. Aetna Health Man-
agement; Aetna Life Ins. Co., 995 F.2d 500

CEU scerscerssvissorcersvetsaerneenieadghedd ee 3,12
Union Labor Life Ins. Co. v. Pireno, 458 U.S. 119
CRUE) sccscconcesccscsnceisssssbdéausmmoueaanaeaaaaaaaen 11
Statutes:
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974,
SU USL. GGG] OF BOG sccucssnrvoncecnsanainaen passim
SO U.BA. § TGC. scsciiccmusameneuaaeuee 10
McCarran-Ferguson Act, 15 U.S.C. §1011 et seq. . 1]
Alm. Code. 6 S7-46-3 (300 cccecicicrcencsstiataian 14
Ark. Stat. Ann. § 23-79-143 (1991) 00... eee 14
Cal. Ins. Code §10133 et 86. ...........-cccscssssseseseeees 9
Conn. Gen. Stat. § 38A-471 (1981) ........c ccc 14
Fla. Stat. § 408.706(10) (1993) oo... ee eee eee ee 14
Ga. Code Ann. § 33-30-4.3 (1991) .........ccc cc eeeceeeeeeee 14
Idaho Code § 41-1844 (1991) wo... eeeceeeeeeee 14
215 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. 5/370h (1993) .......0000000.. 14
Ind. Code Ann. § 27-8-11-3 (Burns 1992) ......0........ 14
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. 22:1214(15) (West 1992) ........ 14

ill

Table of Authorities Continued

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 58-51-58 (1993) .............ccccvcsverees
N.D. Cent. Code § 26.1-36-12.2 (1989) ....... iitelennas
S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 58-18-37 (1990) ...........
Utah Code Ann. § 31A-22-617 (1991) ...........ceeeeeee:
Va. Code § SE2BOGT (1GGR) cncecocscceccevsessssescesccessess
1993 Wash. Laws Chapter 492 .........ccccccccsseeeeeeeeees
W.Va. Code § 33-25A-31 (1991) ............cccsceeseeeeeeeees
Wis. Stat. Ann. § 628.36 (1991 & Supp. 1992) .....
Wyo. Stat. § 26-22-503 (1977) ........cscccseeseeeeeeeeereeees

Other Authorities:

Directory of Operational PPOs, SMG Marketing
Group Inc. (9th ed. 1993) ..........escserssrrererereees

Glenn A. Melnick, et al. The Growth and Effects of
Hospital Selective Contracting, Health Care
Manage Rev. (1989) .......ccccccccccrrsrrrrrrrersersessees

Health Care Benefits Survey 1992, A. Foster Hig-
gins & Co., Inc. (1992) .........cccccrcrrcersesserecores

Insurer-Sponsored Managed Health Care: 1990,
Health Insurance Association of America
CRIED cevcocedctacsantoussnnsernesenseasesseesenvanrevessenstnintins

Report to Health Insurance Association of America:
Cost Analysis of State Legislative Mandates on
Siz Managed Health Care Practices, 14-26
(Wyatt Co. 1991) .........ccccccccessoseescrrserrseorererseoee

Page

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

No. 93-510

AETNA LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY and
AETNA HEALTH MANAGEMENT,
Petitioners,
Ve

STUART CIRCLE HOSPITAL CORPORATION,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE
FOR THE HEALTH INSURANCE ASSOCIATION OF
AMERICA, AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF PREFERRED
PROVIDER ORGANIZATIONS, AND AMERICAN
MANAGED CARE AND REVIEW ASSOCIATION IN
SUPPORT OF THE PETITION

INTERESTS OF THE AMICI

The Health Insurance Association of America
(““HIAA’’), the American Association of Preferred
Provider Organizations (‘‘AAPPO’’), and the Ameri-
can Managed Care and Review Association

(“AMCRA’’) submit this amicus curiae brief in sup-
port of petitioners.'

HIAA is a non-profit national trade organization
representing over 250 commercial health insurers that
provide health care coverage to over 65 million Amer-
icans. Many of HIAA’s member companies either own,
operate, or lease health maintenance organizations
(“‘HMOs’’), preferred provider organizations (‘“‘PPOs’’),
and other entities whose primary purpose is to pro-
vide health care services through a managed care
system. Approximately 50 percent of all HIAA mem-
bers offer at least one network-based managed care
product. Additionally, more than two-thirds of the to-
tal enrollment in commercial insurers’ managed care
plans are in PPOs. Insurer-Sponsored Managed Health
Care: 1990, Health Insurance Association of America
(1991). Other member insurers, primarily mid-sized
carriers, lease PPO networks from other insurers or

enter into joint venture agreements with independent
PPOs.

AAPPO is a non-profit national trade association
representing PPOs, exclusive provider organizations
(EPOs), and point of service (POS) plans, and their
partners in managed health care. The AAPPO’s 1,300
individual members represent 274 PPOs (more PPOs
than all other trade associations combined), 53 insur-
ers and more than 300 other organizations actively
involved in managed care. The AAPPO represents the
fastest growing health care delivery model, and its
membership comprises a significant portion of both
the delivery systems and recipients of health care in

‘This brief is being filed with the consent of petitioners and
by amici’s Motion for Leave to File as amicus curiae.

3

the United States. The organization’s activities in-
clude public and industry education, research, devel-
opment of industry standards, and advocacy.

AMCRA is a national trade association representing
over 500 managed care organizations providing health
care to more than 75 million Americans. AMCRA
represents the full spectrum of managed care orga-
nizations, including HMOs, independent practice as-
sociations (“IPAs’’), and PPOs. These organizations
provide Americans with a choice of health care plans
that emphasize the appropriate use of health care
facilities and services, resulting in the highest quality
of health care at an affordable price.

The ability of the members of HIAA, AAPPO, and
AMCRA [hereinafter amici] to offer cost efficient,
high quality preferred provider networks through em-
ployee welfare benefit plans is jeopardized by the de-
cision of the Fourth Circuit, which held that Virginia’s
“any willing provider” Statute, Virginia Code § 38.2-
3407, is saved from ERISA preemption as a law that
regulates the “business of insurance.” Stuart Cirele
Hosp. Corp. v. Aetna Health Management; Aetna Life
Ins. Co., 995 F.2d 500 (4th Cir. 1993). That statute
requires that PPO networks accept any provider of
health care services willing to meet the network’s
established criteria. Such a requirement strikes at the
heart of the principles of managed care.

PPOs, HMOs, and other variations of managed care
organizations are formed in order to deliver quality
health care to consumers at a reduced cost. Admin-
istrators of these alternative delivery systems, which
in many cases are not insurance companies, use se-
lective contracting to negotiate prices with a limited
number of providers. These “preferred” providers

typically deliver health care services to employee ben-
efit plan participants at a substantially lower rate
than non-network providers in exchange for increased
patient volume.

Increased patient volume makes it possible for the
provider to benefit by obtaining a larger share of the
market. The promise of increased market share allows
providers to predict the amount of business they will
have and improves economies of scale, both of which
maximize efficiency. ‘“‘Any willing provider”’ statutes
increase the number of health care providers in a
network, thereby reducing each provider’s total pa-
tient volume. This, in turn, reduces incentives for
providers to accept reduced fees or to cooperate with
utilization management mechanisms. Utilization man-
agement is the most significant method by which
PPOs, HMOs and other managed care entities control
health care costs and assess quality of care. Utiliza-
tion management and the information derived from
utilization management allow a PPO to credential and
recredential providers, monitor overutilization and
underutilization of health care services, and monitor
and assess the quality of care provided in the net-
work.

The limited number of participating providers in a
PPO or other network setting helps contain health
care costs, and plan participants realize cost savings
through the use of the network providers. For in-
stance, plan participants enrolled in a PPO plan may
use the preferred (or network) providers or go outside
the network to other physicians and hospitals for care.
However, there are strong financial incentives de-
signed to encourage patients to use the network prov-
iders. For example, the health care that participants

a

receive from preferred providers is often reimbursed
at 90 to 100 percent of reasonable and customary
charges. Health care obtained outside the network
may be reimbursed at 80 percent or less, resulting
in individuals paying more out of their own pockets.

Enforcement of Virginia's “any willing provider’
statute would effectively eliminate the ability of ami-
ci’s members to control health care costs by selec-
tively contracting with efficient, yet highly skilled
providers.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The major question that petitioners have presented
before this Court is whether Virginia’s ‘‘any willing
provider’”’ statute, Virginia Code § 38.2-3401, regu-
lates the ‘‘business of insurance” and therefore sur-
vives ERISA preemption. The Fourth Circuit held that
the ‘any willing provider” statute was not preempted
because it does regulate the “business of insurance.”
This holding effectively eliminates the ability of man-
aged care organizations to deliver quality health care
at a lower price. If provider networks become unlim-
ited, the cost of doing business for managed care
organizations will increase since it will either be im-
possible or considerably more expensive to impose ap-
propriate cost controls. In addition, the likelihood of
increased patient volume for individual health care
providers will no longer exist. Thus, providers will no
longer have a financial incentive to join PPOs at re-
duced fees.

In reaching its decision that the “any willing prov-
ider” statute regulates the “business of insurance,”
the Fourth Circuit improperly relied on Metropolitan
Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724 (1985),

concluding that ‘‘any willing provider’’ laws regulate
the ‘‘business of insurance.’”’ The Fourth Circuit should
instead have applied the standard articulated in Group
Life & Health Ins. Co. v. Royal Drug Co., Inc., 440
U.S. 205 (1979), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1160 (1985).

The Fourth Circuit’s misapplication of the Metro-
politan Life analysis is detrimental to amici’s mem-
bers, and accordingly, review by this Court is
necessary.

A. The Fourth Circuit’s decision will adversely affect
amici’s members’ ability to contain escalating
health care costs.

“Any willing provider’ statutes, such as the Vir-
ginia statute at issue here, mandate that managed
care organizations include in their networks any prov-
ider willing to meet the terms and conditions specified
by the organization. These laws inhibit the effective-
ness of alternate delivery systems, such as PPOs, by
causing the network to become too large and costly
to effectively administer. The inflated network will
incur more costs and supply fewer patients to each
participating health care provider; thus, diminishing
or eliminating the system’s overall cost savings.

One of the adverse consequences of “any willing
provider’ laws is the administrative difficulty of man-
aging the larger networks that result. Increasing the
number of provider applications per network requires
significant staff time to process and properly verify
the credentials of new applicants. New providers must
be trained in network procedures. In addition, larger
numbers of providers require additional monitoring by
the PPO. A 1991 study by the Wyatt Company com-
pared a simulated model of a larger network with

a baseline network. The baseline network was com-
posed of approximately 25.5 percent of the individual
health care providers and 44 percent of the hospitals
in the network service area. The study concluded that
if the number of network providers were increased
to 40 percent of the available providers and 60 per-
cent of the hospitals, there would be an 80.1 percent
increase in the amount of administrative costs over
the baseline network’s administrative costs. Report to
Health Insurance Association of America: Cost Anal-
ysis of State Legislative Mandates on Six Managed
Health Care Practices, 14-26 (Wyatt Co. 1991) fhere-
inafter Wyatt Study].

Another detrimental aspect of ‘‘any willing provi-
der’’ laws is the potential decrease in provider claims
savings. By expanding the percentage of providers in
the baseline model PPO, for example, the Wyatt Study
found that providers are less likely to grant as big
a discount as expected because each provider will have
fewer patients directed his or her way. The provider
will either deliver more services or give smaller dis-
counts in order to maintain his or her current level
of income (or, in the case of hospitals, their operating
margins). The Wyatt Study concludes that the pos-
sible outcome of an “any willing provider’ statute
could be an 8.8 percent loss in claims savings as
compared with the typical PPO. Wyatt Study, supra,
at 20.

The conclusions of the Wyatt Study demonstrate
that there is a point at which a PPO will be unable
to demonstrate any value to the community if it is
forced to accept more than a limited percentage of
available providers. In fact, 20 percent or more of
the hospitals and 40 percent or more of individual

providers will need to be excluded from the network
in order to serve the community as a cost effective
deliverer of health care services. Jd. at 23.

It can be inferred from the Wyatt Study that se-
lective contracting by a PPO or other managed care
organization gives health care providers an incentive
to join a managed care network. In the absence of
“any willing provider’’ legislation, network providers
will experience lower administrative costs and higher
patient volumes, thereby fostering both competition
and cost savings. Should Virginia’s ‘‘any willing prov-
ider’”’ statute survive preemption by ERISA, providers
will no longer have incentives to become more effi-
cient and more competitive in the services they offer.
There will be too many health care providers in each
network, resulting in too few patients per provider
and the inability of providers to control costs through
economies of scale.

The higher administrative costs of dealing with
larger networks mandated by Virginia’s ‘‘any willing
provider’’ statute is likely to limit the availability of
PPOs in the Commonwealth. Thus, a direct conse-
quence of the Virginia law would be to limit con-
sumers’ ability to select alternative delivery systems
for health care services. Indeed, the Federal Trade
Commission (““FTC’’) has, on many occasions, con-
cluded that ‘‘any willing provider’”’ legislation inhibits
competition among providers by limiting providers’
incentive to compete in developing attractive or in-
novative proposals. See, e.g., Letter from Thomas B.
Carter, Director of the FTC, to John Smithee, Chair-
man of the Texas House Insurance Committee (May
18, 1993). The FTC has also issued opinions concern-
ing the anti-competitive nature of “any willing prov-

ider’’ laws to officials in six other states:
Massachusetts, Montana, New Hampshire, New Jer-
sey, Pennsylvania, and South Carolina.’

Moreover, the use of preferred provider networks
results in health care cost savings. For example, Cal-
ifornia was the first state to enact a selective con-
tracting law enabling the formation of PPOs. Cal. Ins.
Code § 10133 et seg. California leads the nation in the
adoption of provider networks; its biggest success in-
volves the use of hospital selective contracting. In
fact, California hospitals have experienced a marked
decrease in the rate at which their expenses have
increased since the enabling legislation was passed.
See Melnick, Zwanziger, and Verity-Guerra, The
Growth and Effects of Hospital Selective Contracting,
Health Care Manage Rev. (1989). Indeed, there has
been phenomenal growth of PPOs throughout the
country during the last decade. Aeeording to SMG
Marketing Group, there are now 1036 PPOs operating
or organized nationally, up from 978 in 1991. During

2 Other opinion letters include: Letter from Mary Lou Steptoe,
Acting Director of the FTC, to William F. Cass, Vice-Chairman
of the Massachusetts House Health Care Committee (June 15,
1993); Letter from Michael O. Wise, Acting Director of the FTC,
to Joseph P. Mazurek, Montana Attorney General (February 4,
1993); Letter from Michael O. Wise, Acting Director of the FTC,
to Paul J. Alfano, New Hampshire Senate Legal Counsel (March
17, 1992); Letter from Michael O. Wise, Acting Director of the
FTC, to E. Scott Garrett, Chairman of the New Jersey Assembly
Insurance Committee (March 29, 1993); Letter from Michael O.
Wise, Acting Director of the FTC, to Roger A. Madigan, Penn-
sylvania State Senator (April 19, 1993); and Letter from Michael
O. Wise, Acting Director of the FTC, to Thomas C. Alexander,
Chairman of the South Carolina House Labor, Commerce and
Industry Committee (May 10, 1993).

10

the same time period, the number of employees eli-
gible to enroll in PPOs increased more than 50 per-
cent, to almost 58 million lives. Since 1984, the growth
in the number of PPOs has averaged 40 percent an-
nually. Directory of Operational PPOs, SMG Market-
ing Group Inc. (9th ed. 1993).

Increasingly, employers are offering PPO plans to
their employees. A recent survey conducted by Foster
Higgins found that in 1992, 39 percent of employers
offered a PPO program, up from 31 percent in 1991,
even though this type of managed care has been gen-
erally available only since about 1983. Health Care
Benefits Survey 1992, A. Foster Higgins & Co., Inc.
(1992).

The consequences of allowing the decision of the
Fourth Circuit to stand would be increased health
care costs to Virginia consumers. This Court should
not allow states to erect roadblocks to attempts by
responsible ERISA plan sponsors to contain health
care costs. |

B. The Fourth Circuit failed to apply the appropriate
precedent articulated by this Court in Royal Drug
that the selection of network providers is not the
“business of insurance.”’

Section 514(a) of the Employee Retirement Income
Security Act of 1974 (““ERISA’’), 29 U.S.C. § 1001 et
seq., explicitly provides that, subject to certain ex-
ceptions, ERISA preempts all state laws that relate
to employee welfare benefit plans. One of the excep-
tions embodied in ERISA is the insurance savings
clause which saves from preemption any state law
regulating insurance. 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b). This Court
has adopted a two-step inquiry to determine whether

11

a law regulates insurance v/ithin the meaning of the
savings clause. First, a court must make a “‘common-
sense’ determination as to whether the law regulates
the “‘business of insurance.’’ Metropolitan Life, 471
U.S. at 739 (quoting Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.,
463 U.S. 85, 97 (1983)). Second, the court must con-
sider the three criteria which this Court has estab-
lished to determine whether the ‘‘business of
insurance’ is exempt from federal antitrust regulation
under the McCarran-Ferguson Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1011
et seq.; Union Labor Life Ins. Co. v. Pireno, 458 U.S.
119 (1982).

The three criteria set forth in Pireno are: (1)
whether the practice has the effect of transferring or
spreading a policyholder’s risk; (2) whether the laws
regulate any practice that is an integral part of the
policy relationship between the insurer and the in-
sured; and (3) whether the laws are limited to entities
within the insurance industry. Union Labor Life, 458
U.S. at 129.

In Royal Drug, a Blue Shield plan entered into a
contract with pharmacists, whereby the pharmacists
were to provide prescription drugs to the insurer’s
policyholders for a $2 charge, and the insurer would
reimburse the pharmacists at cost. Royal Drug, 440
U.S. at 209. Applying the three Pireno criteria, this
Court held that these arrangements did not involve
the spreading or transfer of risk. The court reasoned
that the risk involved was the insurer’s obligation to
reimburse drug costs to its insureds. The insurer had
already assumed that risk in its insurance contracts.
The arrangement with the pharmacists did not trans-
fer or spread that risk but merely affected the in-
surer’s cost of satisfying its obligations on a risk it

had already assumed. Jd. at 213. This court, there-
fore, held that the arrangements were not the ‘‘busi-
ness of insurance.”’ Jd. at 214.

The same reasoning applies here. The petitioner’s
PPO arrangements are contracts between Aetna and
the health care professionals providing the services.
They do not involve the underwriting of the insured’s
risk; all the risks assumed in the insurance policies
are covered. The PPO arrangement merely establishes
a network of providers which the insured may select
when seeking treatment. As this court held in Royal
Drug, contracts between a provider and an insurer
or other entity do not constitute the ‘‘business of
insurance’ but rather the “‘business of insurance com-
panies.’’® Jd. at 217.

The Fourth Circuit distinguished the nature of the
network in this case from that in Royal Drug, indi-
cating that the provider network in Royal Drug was
not a restricted network. Stuart Circle, 995 F.2d at
504. As pointed out in Aetna’s petition, the very fact
that pharmacies were unwilling to meet the terms of
the Blue Shield contract made the network a re-
stricted one. Brief for Petitioner at 20. Moreover, this
Court made clear in Royal Drug that the open access
of pharmacies to the pharmacy agreements was ir-
relevant to its decision. The result would be the same,
the Court explained, if ‘‘an insurance company en-
tered into a contract with a large retail drug chain
whereby its policyholders could obtain drugs under

* However, it is important to note that many PPOs are es-
tablished and operated by entities that are not insurance com-
panies; and therefore, such provider contracts would not even
constitute the ‘‘business of insurance companies.”

— sic

13

their policies only from stores operated by this chain.”
Royal Drug, 440 U.S. at 215. Such an arrangement,
this Court concluded, is not the ‘‘business of insur-
ance.’’* Jd.

When the Fourth Circuit disregarded the holding
in Royal Drug, it purported to apply the ‘common
sense’ approach to determine whether a law regu-
lates the ‘‘business of insurance.’’ The common sense
approach requires the Court to ask whether the stat-
ute in question addresses matters typically within the
purview of state insurance regulations, such as the
solvency of an insurance company, the sale and ad-
vertising of insurance, and the content of the insur-
ance policies. Metropolitan Life, 471 U.S. at 742.
Metropolitan Life involved a Massachusetts mandated
benefit law which required insurers to provide cov-
erage for the treatment of mental illness. This Court
held that the mandate regulated the ‘“‘business of in-
surance’ under ERISA because the law affected how
and to what extent treatment was to be covered un-
der an insurance policy. Jd. The Virginia statute at
issue in this case is distinguishable from the mental
illness mandate in Metropolitan Life. Unlike the Mas-
sachusetts statute at issue there, the Virginia statute
does not dictate coverages that insurers must include
in their insurance or health care contracts. In fact,
it involves a completely separate document from the
insurance or health care contract and does not change
the obligation of the insurer or managed care orga-
nization to provide benefits to its insureds or sub-
scribers.

‘ This issue is more fully discussed in Petitioner’s Petition for
Wnit of Certiorari at page 21.

14

C. Proliferation of ‘‘any willing provider’’ legislation
will erode the ability of insurers and other third
party payors to create effective managed care net-
works.

Many states have passed anti-managed care legis-
lation. For example, eight states have enacted “any
willing provider’ legislation which is substantially
similar to the Virginia law.® In addition, nine states
have enacted ‘‘any willing pharmacy” legislation, re-
quiring pharmacy networks to accept any pharmacist
willing to meet the terms and conditions of the net-
work contract.® This proliferation of ‘‘any willing
provider”’ legislation inhibits insurers and other third-
party payors from developing effective managed care
systems. Moreover, the increasing number of ‘‘any
willing provider’ laws enacted by the states compels
companies which do business in multiple jurisdictions
to comply with the requirements of varying laws, re-
sulting in exactly the type of patchwork administra-

* The eight states and the “any willing provider’’statutes they
have enacted are: Georgia, Ga. Code Ann. § 33-30-4.3 (1991);
Illinois, 215 Ill. Comp. Stat. Ann. 5/370h (1993); Indiana, Ind.
Code Ann. § 27-8-11-3 (Burns 1992); South Dakota, S.D. Codified
Laws Ann. § 58-18-37 (1990); Utah, Utah Code Ann. § 31A-22-
617 (1991); Washington, 1993 Wash. Laws Chapter 492; West
Virginia, W.Va. Code § 33-25A-31 (1991); and Wyoming, Wyo.
Stat. § 26-22-503 (1977).

*The nine states and the ‘any willing pharmacy” statutes
they have enacted are: Alabama, Ala. Code § 27-45-3 (1988);
Arkansas, Ark. Stat. Ann. § 23-79-143 (1991); Connecticut, Conn.
Gen. Stat. §38A-471 (1981); Florida, Fla. Stat. § 408.706(10)
(1993); Idaho, Idaho Code § 41-1844 (1991); Louisiana, La. Rev.
Stat. Ann. 22:1214(15) (West 1992); North Carolina, N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 58-51-58 (1993); North Dakota, N.D. Cent. Code § 26.1-
36-12.2 (1989); and Wisconsin, Wis. Stat. Ann. § 628.36 (1991
& Supp. 1992).

15

tive scheme which Congress intended to avoid in
enacting ERISA. Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481
U.S. 41 (1987). Finally, it should be noted that in
enacting these ‘‘any willing provider” laws, states are
attempting to regulate indirectly that which they
clearly cannot regulate directly—employee welfare
benefit plans.

na

16

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons and for the additional rea-
sons advanced in the Petition, the Court should grant
the Petition for Writ of Certiorari and set the case
for plenary review.

Respectfully submitted,

*THERESA L. SOROTA

LYNNE E. FRITTER

B. MICHAEL HERMAN

Health Insurance Association of
America

1025 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 223-7822

ANNE MARIE WALSH

American Association of Preferred
Provider Associations

1101 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 429-5133

KELLI D. BACK

American Managed Care and
Review Association

1227 25th Street, N.W.

Suite 610

Washington, D.C. 20037

(202) 728-0506

Attorneys for Amici

*Counsel of Record
October 29, 1993

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_0493%3A08. Public record. Not legal advice.
