# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Crosthwait Equipment Co. v. John Deere Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_0475%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1993
- **Citation:** 510 U.S. 991

## Text

Bupreme Court, U.S,
f: . FITLED
P f LP A.
_ SEP 24 1993
GFFICE OF THE
No. 1— CLERK
IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

CROSTHWAIT EQUIPMENT COMPANY, INC..
A. CURTIS CROSTHWAIT, JR., ALLEN
E. CROSTHWAIT and RUTH CROSTHWAIT,
Petitioners,
VERSUS
JOHN DEERE COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

OF COUNSEL:

JIM WAIDE

WAIDE LAW OFFICE
POST OFFICE BOX 1357
TUPELO, MS 38802
601/842-7324

(Counsel of Record)

JOHN P. FOX
ATTORNEY AT LAW
POST OFFICE BOX 167
HOUSTON, MS 3885!
601/456-4201

Attorneys for Petitioners

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is the United States Constitution's Seventh Amendment
right to trial by jury violated when the district judge balances the
evidence of non-movant and movant to determine whether to
grant judgment as a matter of law?

2. In determining whether to grant a judgment as a matter of
law, should the district judge balance all the evidence, or should
the district judge determine whether any evidence supports the

verdict?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
CPG SEIE FC URTNIG sivivniisecesssninccctacsetscisrrasarsaeee 1
RON BAe A IE os vcccicssuccertseroracsacuunamaaeeeeeanee ll
SANE OE PINION vse cinceeiirsiersivionictreinpceiatiane lil
NIE TIOW scnccssictrerisxcasostninesdamnrieebacsadnia eae l
PUNO osc covasccssinssscteinsesesseiedieeaeniceanianeae ae l
Constitutional Provision Involved ............ccccscccscccesesseseececeeeees ]-2
SUNSTONE OE TIRE G8 svc ccisnccancssonantsiccnistuabnectueneasaaee 2

Argument

BY WEIGHING ALL OF THE EVIDENCE AND
DECIDING THAT THE EVIDENCE OF JOHN DEERE
WAS MORE CREDIBLE AND OUTWEIGHED THAT OF
PETITIONERS, THE FIFTH CIRCUIT DENIED
PETITIONERS' CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT OF TRIAL
BY JURY. INSTEAD OF WEIGHING ALL OF THE
EVIDENCE, THE FIFTH CIRCUIT SHOULD HAVE
UTILIZED THE TEST ADOPTED BY THE EIGHTH
CIRCUIT, AND CONSIDERED ONLY WHETHER THERE
WAS ANY EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT THE VERDICT. . 7

SRN IIN : vcccrinssisaeizesccnsnsintienpuaarecensteniaie een 13
Appendix A (Fifth Circuit Opinion) ...............ceccrcrsssneseresseseoees 14
Appendix B (Order Denying Petition for Rehearing).............. 21

ill.
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Boeing v. Shipman, 411 F. 2d 365 (Sth Cir. 1989)......2,8,9,10,11
Casko v. Elgin, Joilet and Eastern Ry. Co., 361 F. 2d 748, 749
hol io ince seagusecncnsteiuesienauneoeaieereeseunes 1]

Caudill v. Farmland Industries, Inc., 919 F. 2d 83, 86 (8th Cir.
ec sdeseubenseduncenmienin 1]

Crosthwait Equipment Co. v. John Deere Co.. 992 F. 2d 525
(Sth Cir. 1993)

i aeiallldneabidenagatetbberennineeniesedekéuneunieeresoed passim
Kingston v. McGrath, 232 F. 2d 495 (9th Cir. 1956) ................. 1]
Lyons v. J. C. Penney Co., 316 F. 2d 753 (7th Cir. 1963)......... 1]

Simpson v. Skelly Oil Co., 371 F. 2d 563 (8th Cir. 1967) ....10,11

Spray-Rite Service Corp. v. Monsanto Co., 684 F. 2d 1226
ST acide cs ccruencamensnenesnvnsasnsniennverseeibinenis 14,15

Venture Technology, Inc. v. National Fuel
Gas Distribution Corp., 459 U.S. 1007, 74 L. Ed. 2d 398,
nl aaa ca cecanccennnuurtchernesoctueceniseversesesses 10,14

United States Constitution Amendment Seven................. passim

Bagalay, Directed Verdicts and Right to Trial by Jury in Federal
Courts, 42 Tex. L. Rev. 1053, 1061 (1964)................scsseee 14

lV.
2B W. Barrow & Holtzoff, Sec. 1075, at 399-400...... 13, 14

43 Law and Contemporary Problems at .............00.. 12,13

1
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE U?tsi fED STATES

CROSTHWAIT EQUIPMENT COMPANY, INC.,
A CURTIS CROSTHWAIT, JR., ALLEN E.
| CROSTHWAIT and RUTH CROSTHWAIT,
Petitioners,
VERSUS
JOHN DEERE COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

OPINION BELOW
The Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fifth Circuit is reported at 992 F. 2d 525 (Sth Cir. 1993). It is
attached as an Appendix.
JURISDICTION
| This Court has jurisdiction to review the decision of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered on

June 4, 1993, with Petition for Rehearing denied June 30, 1993.

This Court has jurisdiction to review by a Writ of Certiorar!
under 28 USC Section 1254.
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED
The constitutional provision involved is United States

Constituuon Amendment Seven, which says:

"In suits at common law, where the value in controversy

shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by jury shall

be preserved, and no fact tried by a jury shall be otherwise

reexamined in any Court of the United States than according

to the rules of the common law."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners, former franchisees of the John Deere Company,
obtained a $3.4 million jury verdict against John Deere
Company for acting in bad faith in terminating their franchise.
The district court, applying Boeing Co. v. Shipman, 411 F. 2d
365 (Sth Cir. 1969), determined that under "all the evidence" the
facts pointed ''so strongly and overwhelmingly" in favor of John

Deere, that judgment as a matter of law should be entered in

John Deere's favor. The United States Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit agreed. 992 F. 2d 525 (Sth Cir. 1993). Because the

WwW

Fifth Circuit's permitting the trial court to weigh all the
evidence, instead of determining whether any evidence
supported the verdict, 1s inconsistent with the practice in other
circuits, Petitioners request review.

This suit was filed on June 7, 1990 by Petitioners, franchisees
of John Deere in Houston, Mississippi since 1955. R., Vol. 1,
pp. 1-45. The Complaint alleges that John Deere breached the
franchise contract by terminating their dealership because
Petitioners had invaded the assigned territories of other John
Deere franchisees. R., Vol. 5, pp. 1149-1157. Respondent
answered, claiming that the franchise was actually terminated
because of Petitioners' fraud. R., Vol. 5, pp. 1158- 1195. The
district court determined that Mississippi law implies a "duty of
good faith and fair dealing" and that terminating Petitioners
because they had invaded the territory of other dealers by
charging lower prices would violate this duty. Memorandum

Opinion, R., Vol. 10 pp. 2173-2174. Accordingly, the trial court

determined that a jury should decide the issue of the reason for

the termination. In words of the trial court:

"In short, if the jury finds that John Deere terminated the
dealership because of the falsifications and not because of an
unlawful motive, then Plaintiff's breach of contract

naturally will fail because John Deere clearly had the
contractual right to terminate when Crosthwait Equipment
falsified documents it had tendered to Deere. However, if
the jury finds that John Deere terminated the dealership
because of an unlawful motive, such would likely constitute
a breach of the duty of good faith and fair dealing. See OMP
v. Security Pacific Business Finance Inc., 716 F. Supp.

239, 249 (N.D. Miss. 1988)."

Memorandum Opinion, R., Vol. 10, pp. 2173-2174.

A two week trial then commenced to determine the factual
issue of the reasons for Petitioners’ termination. John Deere
introduced much evidence that it justifiably terminated the
dealership because the Petitioners had submitted numerous
financing contracts containing false statements as to the amount
of down payments, identity of equipment taken as a trade in, and
a changed serial number on a tractor. Tr. 850, 1953, 1519-20

1821, 1823-24, 1845-52, 1470-75, 1478-80, 1482-91, 1491-99,

1649-50, 1667-69, 1685-86. John Deere claimed it had

discovered the fraudulent practices in a 1990 audit, which it
conducted after it had begun receiving information that
Petitioners were submitting false or misleading documents. Tr.
495-497, 507-509. According to John Deere, the chief source of
the information of fraud was Toby Dexter, a former business
partner of Allen Crosthwait Tr. 883-885, 1818-1829.

On the other hand, according to Petitioners’ proof, the audit's
disclosure of "fraudulent" practices was not the real reason for
the termination. Indeed, the audit itself was begun, not because
of Dexter's complaints, but because of competitors’ complaints
that Petitioners were invading their territories and cutting prices.
Tr., 76-78. Petitioners’ strongest proof was an internal John

Deere memorandum, which read, in part:

Besides the financial risk involved with staying in business
with a Known lying thief, what they are doing to our
surrounding J.D. Dealers, goes directly against our 'Best
Dealer in Town' campaign. They are destroying dealer
margins, wrecking havoc with customer relations and

committing grievous business infractions. Not only will they
never become the best dealer for us in Houston, Mississipp1,

they did not deserve the further opportunity to do so.
Trying to force guidelines on them will only prolong the
eventual cure, which is to stop doing business with them...."

6.

"One such topic was the 'word' on the street that he
(Crosthwait) had a Lamar Johnson in his employ who was
selling equipment out of Batesville, Mississippi for him at
prices approaching the low volume...."

Plaintiff's Exhibit |.

Further, Don Holcomb, one of the members of the John
Deere committee who voted to terminate Petitioners' franchise,
admitted that, in making his termination vote, he relied, at least
in part, upon the concern with "dealer relations". Tr., 371-372.

Petitioners also attacked Deere's evidence that the
termination was the result of complaints by former partner, Toby
Dexter. Al Steinback, a Deere agent, admitted that the reason
for the audit was complaints from other dealers about
Crosthwait, not Dexter's complaints. Tr. 76-77, 88. In fact,
Dexter's complaints, including his complaints about a switched
serial number, had been known for two years before the "audit".
Tr., 495-496, 477, 481, 892-893. Petitioners’ claim that their
"fraud" was not the real reason for the termination was
supported by evidence that John Deere had never terminated a

dealer for such a reason, Tr. 559, and that John Deere was aware

of numerous other dealers who had committed equally serious

4ransgressions, such as inflated down payments, and
misrepresented trade-ins. Tr., 526-527, 410, 1784. Fa..ure of
dealers to accurately reflect down payments had become so
common that John Deere actually had a box on its printed
repossession form to indicate whether the down payment had
been made. Tr., 1455, 1456.

Petitioners denied that any of the false entries were
intentional or made for the purpose of injuring John Deere. Tr.,
584-599. Petitioners gave a detailed description of each of the
discrepancies and refuted Deere's claims that fraud was involved
in any of them. Tr., 974-1047.

The jury accepted Petitioners’ view of the evidence, finding
John Deere had terminated the franchise for bad faith conduct --
cutting into dealer margins -- rather than for fraud. It returned a
verdict totaliing $3.4 million in damages against John Deere. R..,
Vol. 11, pp. 2442, 2443.

The District Judge, however, found that the evidence was so

overwhelming in favor of John Deere, that the verdict should be
set aside, and judgment entered for John Deere. The District

Court wrote:

"The Court is further of the opinion that the Crosthwait
Equipment Company, Inc.'s averments as to retaliation by John
Deere Company relative to its motivation concerning
Crosthwait's selling outside of its territory and cutting into other
dealer margins was not supported by the evidence in this case.
The Court does not believe that the notation in the Everett memo
that Crosthwait was ‘destroying other dealer margins’ raised a
jury issue that would support the Petitioners' theory of the case.
It is noted that the Boeing case specifically provides that a mere
scintilla of evidence will not suffice to make a jury issue.
Boeing, 411 F. 2d at 374. There must be a substantial conflict in
the evidence to constitute a jury issue. It 1s the opinion of this
court that the only logical construction of the evidence in the
case sub judice after a review of all of the evidence, is that the
falsification of the numerous credit documents was an act of
default and that the dealership was lawfully terminated by John
Deere Company."

Tr., 2496.

Relying on its authoritative decision iii v. Shipman,
411 F. 2d 365, 374-75 (Sth Cir. 1969), the Fifth Circuit agreed,
holding that considering "all the evidence", the jury should have

returned its verdict for John Deere, and affirming the District

Judge. 992 F. 2d at 525. The Crosthwaits petitioned the Fifth

| |

Circuit for rehearing, pointing to a number of factual errors in
the Fifth Circuit opinion, ranging from such matters as the
relationship between the parties, the chronological order of
events between the audit and the complaints by Dexter and the
Fifth Circuit's ignoring the evidence favoring Petitioners, while
emphasizing the evidence in John Deere's favor. Petitioners
argued that the net result of the Fifth Circuit's weighing the
conflicting testimony between Plaintiffs and Defendants, and the
Court's making its own causation determination was to deprive
Petitioners of their "constitutional right to a jury trial”.

On June 30, 1993, the Fifth Circuit denied the Petition for
Rehearing without opinion.

ARGUMENT

BY WEIGHING ALL OF THE EVIDENCE AND
DECIDING THAT THE EVIDENCE OF JOHN DEERE WAS
MORE CREDIBLE AND OUTWEIGHED THAT OF
PETITIONERS, THE FIFTH CIRCUIT DENIED
PETITIONERS' CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT OF TRIAL BY
JURY. INSTEAD OF WEIGHING ALL OF THE EVIDENCE,
THE FIFTH CIRCUIT SHOULD HAVE UTILIZED THE

TEST ADOPTED BY THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT, AND
CONSIDERED ONLY WHETHER THERE WAS ANY

10.
EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT THE VERDICT.

Applying its decision in Boeing v. Shipman, 411 F. 2d 365,
374-375 (Sth Cir. 1969), the Court of Appeals determined that
the jury should have ruled for John Deere on the grounds that
the "overwhelming" evidence was that "fraud", not a desire to
stifle competition, was the reason for the termination.

The Fifth Circuit's weighing of all the evidence, rather than
determining only whether any evidence supported the verdict, is
contrary to the rule in other Circuits. Dissenting from this
Court's denial of certiorari in Venture Technology, Inc. v.
National Fuel Gas Distribution Corp., 459 U.S. 1007, 74 L. Ed.
2d 398, 103 S. Ct. 362, Justice White describes the conflict in
the circuits:

"... [I]t is the Second Circuit's practice to examine all of the

evidence in a manner most favorable to the non-

moving party. This is also the position of at least the Fifth

and Seventh Circuits. Boeing v. Shipman, 411 F. 2d 365,

374-75 (Sth Cir. 1969); Panter v. Marshall Field & Co., 646

F. 2d 271, 281-282 (7th Cir. 1981). In the Eighth Circuit,

however, it appears thatonly evidence which supportsthe

verdict winner is to be considered. Simpson v. Skelly Oil

Co., 371 F. 2d 563 (8th Cir. 1967). The First and Third
Circuits follow a middle ground: the reviewing court may

11.

consider uncontradicted, unimpeached evidence from dis-
interested witnesses. Layne v. Vinzant, 657 F. 2d 468, 472
(Ist Cir. 1981); Inventive Music, Ltd. v. Cohen, 617 F. 2d 29,
33(3d Cir. 1980). Thus, the federal courts of appeals follow
three different approaches to determining whether evidence
is sufficient to create a jury issue."

The conflict between the circuits is demonstrated by many
cases in addition to those cited by Justice White. A recent
pronouncement from the Eighth Circuit on the issue, Caudill v.
Farmland Industries, Inc., 919 F. 2d 83, 86 (8th Cir. 1990),
contrasts with that of the Fifth Circuit:

"Generally, only evidence favoring the non-moving party

should be considered. Dace v. ACF Industries, Ind., 722 F.

2d 374, 376 (8th Cir. 1983). As we stated in Dace, however,

‘[t}here may be particular situations in which the rules should

not be rigidly applied. If, for example, the moving party's
evidence is completely disinterested, uncontradicted, and
unimpeached..., some modification of the general rule may
be called for.""

Many other cases have also rejected the Fifth Circuit's "all of
the evidence" test in favor of the test which permits

consideration of whether any evidence supports the verdict.

See, for example, Casko v. Elgin,Joliet and Eastern Ry. Co., 361

F. 2d 748, 749 (7th Cir. 1966); Lyons v. J.C. Penney Co., 316 F.

12.

2d 753 (7th Cir. 1963); Simpson v. Skelly Oil Co., 371 F. 2d 563
(8th Cir 1967): Kingston v. McGrath, 232 F. 2d 495 (9th Cir.

1956). See also Judge Rivers' dissent in Boeing v. Shipman, 411
F. 2d 365, 381-82 (Sth Cir. 1961), arguing that consideration of

all the evidence is inconsistent with this Court's precedents.

The fundamental conflict on the proper standard is explained
in Johnston, "Jury Subordination Through Judicial Control", 43

Law and Contemporary Problems at 30-31:

"Although the cases articulate multiple standards for testing
the sufficiency of the evidence, for purposes of analysis, the
standards fall under two categories. The method of
application of the standard is far more important than the
language of the standard. The first category favors the jury
relative to the trial judge. It requires isolation and
identification of the facts on which the judge tests the
sufficiency of the evidence. It excludes any attempt at
weighing the evidence. The standard, in its simplest form is
whether ‘any evidence’ supports the verdict. A restatement of
the standard is that it considers only the facts favorable to the
verdict winner. According to Justice Black, it closely
approximates the standards of the common law demurrer to
the evidence. To the extent that it favors the jury, the any
evidence standards reflects the concerns that prompted the
adoption of the Seventh Amendment. The second category
favors the trial judge relative io the jury. It does not require
clear isolation and identification of the facts; rather, it views
the evidence pervasively and allows the trial judge to weigh
it. This standard instructs the trial judge to decide if there is

13.

substantial evidence to support the verdict or if the verdict
loser's evidence ‘overwhelmed’ the verdict winner's evidence.

Another distinction between the two categories 1s the
evidence from which the facts used to test sufficiency are
drawn. The any evidence standard most appropriately
addresses the evidence adduced in the chief aspects of the
Plaintiffs' case. If, at the close of its case, the Plaintiff has
any evidence which satisfies the standard, that evidence also
satisfies the standard at the close of the Defendant's case.
The any evidence standard then addresses whether Plaintiff
established a prima facie case. If a prima facie case is made,
the any evidence standard precludes a directed verdict at
both the close of the Plaintiff's case and the Defendant's case.
The overwhelming evidence standard most appropriately
addresses the evidence adduced by both the Plaintiff and the
Defendant. Even if the Plaintiff, at the close of the case, has
some evidence, that evidence may later be overwhelmed by
the Defendant's evidence."

Professor Johnston concludes that the "any evidence"

standard is most faithful to the Seventh Amendment:

"Even considering its impact on modern litigation, the
historical context and development of the constitutional
right to jury trial, which cannot be ignored entirely, favors
the any evidence standard. The any evidence standard
clearly favors the jury as the principal decision maker.

The Court's control over the jury by taking the case from the
jury or overturning a jury's verdict is reduced to a minimum
by the any evidence standard. The concern about 'run away'
juries is unrealistic in view of the other devices such as new
trials. In addition, the any evidence standard provides a
degree of certainty by requiring isolation and identification
of the facts to which the standard is applied. It permits the

14.

lawyers to predict reasonably the outcome of litigation

in order to plan strategy and tactics. It simply avoids

transferring the cloak of secrecy from the jury's

deliberations to the judge's decision-making. Thus, both
history and the modern litigative process suggest the any
evidence standard is the best remedy."

Other commentators who agree with Professor Johnston that
considering only non-movant's evidence 1s more consistent with
the Seventh Amendment are 2B W. Barrow & Holtzoff. Sec.
1075 at 399-400, and Bagalay, Directed Verdicts and the Right
to Trial in Federal Courts, 42 Tex. L. Rev. 1053, 1061 (1964).

In addition to the conflict between the circuits on the general
standards to apply in deciding whether to grant judgment as a
matter of law, there is also a conflict among the circuits in cases
with facts almost precisely like these. Justice White also
described this disagreement in his dissent in Venture Technology,

supra:

"(The Second Circuit] stated that ‘even where a termination
follows the receipt of complaints from wholesalers or
agents, there 1s no basis for inferring the existence of
concerted action absent some evidence of a tacit
understanding or agreement with them.’ Schwimmer, 677 F.
2d 946, 953 (2d Cir. 1982):.... This view of the evidence
necessary to create a jury question under the Sherman Act is

15.

shared by the Third Circuit.... The Seventh and Eighth
Circuits, however, clearly reject this position. Spray-Rite
Service Corp. v. Monsanto Co., 684 F. 2d 1226 (7th Cir.
1982): Battle v. Lubrizol Corp., 673 F. 2d 984 (8th Cir.
1982). Because illegal conspiracies can rarely be proved
through evidence of explicit agreement, but must usually be
established through inferences from the conduct of the
alleged conspirators, the disagreement in the Circuits in the
nature of proof required is especially significant."

In this case, had the Court applied the standard of the

Seventh and Eighth Circuits, there would have been sufficient

evidence to make a jury verdict. Spray-Rite Service Corp. v.
Monsanto Co., 684 F. 2d 1226:

"We believe... that proof of termination following competitor
complaints is sufficient to support an inference of concerted
action. In Battle v. Lubrizol Corp., 673 F. 2d 984 (8th Cir.
1982), the Eighth Circuit declined to follow Sweeney, and
held ‘that proof of dealer's complaints to the manufacturer
about a competitor dealer's price cutting and the
manufacturer's action in response to such complaints would
be sufficient to raise an inference of concerted action.'...We

agree."
Here, Petitioners produced evidence that the termination was
preceded by competitor complaints. Had this case been tried in

the Eighth or Seventh Circuits, this would have been enough to

create a jury issue. The fact that there was actually an internal

16.

memorandum pointing to the competitor complaints about
"cutting dealer margins", in itself, would have insured that this
case survived a mouon for directed verdict in the Seventh or
Eighth Circuits. The fact that it would not survive such a
mouon in the Fifth Circuit highlights the conflict among the
circuits under facts such as these. The Fifth Circuit's finding
that the memorandum was only a "'scintilla" of evidence, and not

sufficient to create a jury issue underscores the Fifth Circuit's

view that a district judge may decide the weight to give

evidence.

lhe conflict between the circuits is clear and is based upon
fundamental differences between federal judges as to the
requirements of the Seventh Amendment. To resolve this
conflict, certiorar! should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JIM WAIDE

(Counsel of Record)
WAIDE LAW OFFICE
POST OFFICE BOX 1357
TUPELO, MS 38802
601/842-7324

JOHN P. FOX
ATTORNEY AT LAW
POST OFFICE BOX 167
HOUSTON, MS 3885!
601/456-4201

Attorneys for Petitioners

DATED: September 22, 1993

No.:

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

CROSTHWAIT EQUIPMENT COMPANY, INC..,
A. CURTIS CROSTHWAIT, JR., ALLEN
E. CROSTHWAIT and RUTH CROSTHWAIT,

Petitioners,
VERSUS
JOHN DEERE COMPANY,

Respondent.

APPENDIX A

OF COUNSEL

JIM WAIDE

WAIDE LAW OFFICE
POST OFFICE BOX 1357
TUPELO, MS 38802
601/842-7324

(Counsel of Record)

JOHN P. FOX
ATTORNEY AT LAW
POST OFFICE BOX 167
HOUSTON, MS 3885]
601/456-4201

Attorneys for Petitioners

19.

CROSTHWAIT EQUIPMENT CO..,
INC., et. al., Plaintiffs,
Crosthwait Equipment Company, Inc., A.
Curtis Crosthwait, Jr., and Ruth A.
Crosthwait, Plaintiffs- Counter Defendants
Appellants, Cross Appellees,

and

Allen E. Crosthwait, Plaintiff- Appellant,
PI

JOHN DEERE COMPANY,
et al., Defendants,

John Deere Company, Defendant- Counter
Claimant- Appellee, Cross Appellant.

No. 718]

United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit,

June 4, 1993

Agricultural equipment dealer brought action in state court
against equipment company for breach of contract, breach of
fiduciary duty, intentional infliction of emotional distress, and
intentional interference with contract. Company removed action
to federal court. Company counterclaimed for damages on
account balance due. The United States District Court for the
Northern District of Mississippi, Glen H. Davidson, J.. entered

20.

judgment as matter of law for company following jury verdict
for dealer, and denied company's motion for judgment as matter
of law on its counterclaim, Dealer appealed and company cross-
appealed. The Court of Appeals, Cobb, District Judge, sitting by
designation, held that: (1) company lawfully terminated
dealership agreement for submission of fraudulent sales and
credit contracts; (2) assuming that Mississippi franchise
cancellation statute applied, termination of agreement did not
violate 90- day notice provision of that statute: and (3) company
was entitled to recover damages.

Affirmed in part; reversed and remanded in part.

1. Federal Courts Key 765

Court of Appeals uses same standard of review that guided
trial court in its ruling on motion for judgment as matter of law.

2. Federal Civil Procedure Key 2609

In ruling on motion for judgment as matter of law, all
evidence with all reasonable inferences is considered in light
most favorable to party opposed to motion.

3. Federal Courts Key 765

In reviewing ruling on motion for judgment as matter of law,
if facts and inferences point so strongly and overwhelmingly in
favor of one party that Court of Appeals believes that reasonable
jurors could not arrive at contrary verdict, motion was properly
granted: if there is substantial evidence opposed to motion, that
is, evidence of such quality that reasonable and fair-minded
jurors in exercise of impartial judgment might have reached
different conclusions, motion should have been denied.

4. FraudKey 58 (1)

To prove fraud under Mississippi law, plaintiff has burden of

21.

showing by clear and convincing evidence that defendant
knowingly made false, material representations to plaintiff
which defendant intended to induce actin on part of plaintiff in
manner reasonably contemplated, that plaintiff did not know
falsity of defendant's representations, that plaintiff relied upon
truth of representations, that plaintiff had right to do so, and that
plaintiff suffered consequent and proximate injury.

5. Contracts Key 217

Agricultural equipment company lawfully terminated
dealership agreement as dealer submitted fraudulent sales and
credit documents to equipment company: dealer's customers
needed favorable financial data before company would approve
credit they needed to finance purchases, dealer admitted that it
submitted documents to company which contained false credit
information which customers did not supply or create, company
relied on that false information and was, therefore, ignorant of
customers’ true creditworthiness, company suffered at least
$2,000 in damages and would have suffered more were it not for
honesty of customers, and dealership agreement gave company
right to cancel agreement for falsification of records, contracts,
or other documents.

6. Contracts Key 323(1)

Notation by agricultural equipment company employee on
interoffice memo was not sufficient to raise jury issue as to
whether company cancelled dealership agreement in retaliation
for dealer's selling outside its designated area, rather than for
falsification of sales and credit documents.

7. Damages Key 56
Torts Key 12

Under Mississippi law, agricultural equipment dealer could
not recover for intentional infliction of emotional distress or

22.

intentional interference with contract in connection with
equipment company's termination of dealership agreement as
company lawfully terminated agreement for falsification of sales
and credit documents.

8. Trade Regulation Key 871(3)

Even if relationship between agricultural equipment company
and its dealer was franchise relationship, company did not
violate 90- day notice provision of Mississippi franchise
cancellation statute in terminating dealership agreement;
company terminated dealer for having submitted fraudulent
sales and credit contracts and dealer was allowed by trial court
to continue day-to-day operations for 90 days after it was
notified that it was being terminated. Miss. Code 1972, § 75-24-
51(6).

9. Federal Civil Procedure Key 2341, 2603

Under Mississippi law, trial court erred in denying
agricultural equipment company's motion for judgment as matter
of law or new trial as to equipment dealer's liability for actual
damages arising from dealer's falsification of sales and credit
contracts: there was uncontradicted evidence of losses
sustained, trial court failed to distinguish between disputed and
undisputed debts, and specific amounts were question of fact.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Northern
District of Mississippi.

Before KING and EMILIO M. GARZA, Circuit Judges, and

23.
COBB), District Judge.

COBB, District Judge:

After a jury verdict was returned for the plaintiffs, the district
court granted defendant's motion for judgment as a matter of law
on the verdict and denied defendant's motion for judgment or a
new trial on its counterclaim for damages. Plaintiffs appeal;
defendants cross-appeal as to damages. For the reasons given
below, we AFFIRMthe district court's order granting defendant's
motion for judgment as a matter of law, and REVERSE and
REMAND for further proceedings as to damages.

Allen and Ruth Crosthwait, with their son A. Curtis
Crosthwait Junior, owned and operated Crosthwait Equipment
Co., Inc., (collectively, Crosthwait), an authorized John Deere
dealership selling agricultural and consumer products and
equipment. In 1988, John Deere Company, (Deere), received in
information indicating that Crosthwait had prepared and
submitted to Deere and its affiliate, Deere Credit Services, Inc.,
sales and credit documents containing material, false
representations. In March 1990, after numerous reports of
fraudulent activities, several Deere employees discussed the
need to investigate Crosthwait's business practices. This
resulted in a field audit of sales and credit documents prepared
by Crosthwait. The audit led John Deere to terminate
Crosthwait's dealership, based on fraudulent sales and credit
documents, and pursuant to its dealership agreements with
Crosthwait.

1. District Judge of the Eastern District of Texas, sitting by designation.

court granted defendant's motion for judgment as a matter of law on the verdict
and denied defendant's motion for judgment or a new trial on its counterclaim
for damages. Plaintiffs appeal: defendants cross-appeal as to damages. Forthe
reasons given below, we AFFIRM the district court's order granting
defendant's motion for judgment as a matter of law.and REVERSE and
REMAND for turther proceedings as to damages.

24.
Crosthwait filed suit in state court for breach of contract and
breach of fiduciary duty. Upon removal, the district court
ordered that Crosthwait could stay in business for ninety days
under Mississippi law.? During this period, Crosthwait
amended its petition to include intentional infliction of
emotional distress, alleging undue pressure to sign a closure
agreement to avoid litigation; and intentional interference with
prospective and existing contractual sales, in that Deere
removed certin tractors that Crosthwait had or could have sold
during the ninety-day period. Deere counterclaimed for
damages on the account balance due.

At trial, twenty-one former customers testified without
contradiction that numerous sales and credit documents bearing
their names and submitted to Deere or Deere Credit Services
contained falsifications regarding various transactions between
the dealership and them. Crosthwait inflated down payments,
incorrectly recorded purchase prices, and listed fictitious
equipment as trade-ins. Uncontroverted evidence indicated that
serial numbers were tampered with and in some instances
exchanged from one piece of equipment to another. Allen
Crosthwait himself testified that he submitted falsified sales and
credit documents to Deere and its affiliate.

Crosthwait argued that such practices had long been known
to Deere and, in fact, constituted standard practice in the
business that was not material enough to warrant cancellation of

his dealership.> He further claimed that Deere's audit was a

2. Miss. Code Ann. § 75-24-51 (6) (1072)

prospective and existing contractual sales, in that Deere

removed tractors that Crosthwait had or could have sold during the ninety-day
period. Deere counterclaimed for damages on the account balance due.

3. Crosthwait cites deposition testimony of several witnesses which claimed
that no other dealership had been cancelled for those reasons, a standard form
containing a box to indicate whether or not the purchase price was actually
made as represented, and the testimony of several employees that they were
aware that misrepresentations happened.

25.

sham, the actual value of financed equipment was sufficient to
provide Deere Credit complete security despite
misrepresentations of value, and Deere's action in cancelling its
dealership was actually in retaliation for selling outside his
misrepresentations of value, and Deere's action in cancelling its
dealership was actually in retaliation for selling outside his
designated sales area.

After a jury returned a verdict in favor of Crosthwait, the
district court granted Deere's motion for judgment as a matter of
law as to these claims, but denied its motion for judgment as a
matter of law or a new trial on Deere's counterclaim.

II.

Crosthwait contends on appeal that, under Mississippi law,
there was insufficient evidence showing deliberate
misrepresentation of material facts and actual damages: and
there was sufficient evidence of improper motive on Deere's part
in terminating the dealership to constitute an affirmative defense
to fraud.

[1-3] We use the same standard of review that guided the trial
court in its ruling for judgment as a matter of law. Normand v.
Research Institute of America, Inc., 927 F. 2d 857, 859 (Sth Cir.
1991) (quoting Boeing Co. v. Shipman, 411 F. 2d 365, 374-75
(Sth Cir 1969)(en banc)). All the evidence with all reasonable
inferences is considered in the light most favorable to the party
opposed to the motion. If the facts and the inferences point so
strongly and overwhelmingly in favor of one party that we
believe reasonable jurors could not arrive at a contrary verdict,
then the motion was properly granted. If there is substantial
evidence opposed to the motion - that is, evidence of such
quality and weight that reasonable and fair minded jurors in the
exercise Of impartial judgment might reach different conclusions
- then the motion should have been denied. /d.

26.
A.

[4] To prove fraud under Mississippi law, Deere has the
burden of showing by clear and convincing evidence that

Crosthwait:

|. knowingly made;

2. false:
3. material:

4. misrepresentations to Deere or Deere Credit:
5. which Crosthwait intended to induce action on the part of
Deere or Deere Credit in the manner reasonably

contemplated;

6. that Deere or Deere Credit did not know the falsity of
Crosthwait's representations;

7. that Deere or Deere Credit relied upon the truth of the
representations;

8. that it had the right to do so; and
9. that it suffered consequent and proximate injury.
See Vogel v. American Warranty Home Services Corp., 695 F.2d

877 (Sth Cir. 1983); Beck Enterprises, Inc. v. Hester, 512 So.
2d 672, 675 (Miss. 1987).

(S] The record below provides overwhelming evidence that
the sales and credit documents prepared by Crosthwait on its
customers' behalf for submission to Deere contained false
information which the customers did not supply or create, which
were deliberate and material and upon which Deere

ais

2/.

detrimentally relied.

Crosthwait customers needed favorable financial data before
Deere Credit Services would approve the credit they needed to
finance purchases. This credit allowed Crosthwait to sell its
equipment to customers: and, in turn, a portion of the credit
funds would be released to Crosthwait as an incentive to place a
borrower with Deere Credit Services.

Allen Crosthwait admitted he personally submitted documents
to Deere which he knew contained false information. Because
Deere relied on these misrepresentations in the course of their
sales and credit transactions, these misrepresentations were
material. Mr. Al Berzett, manager of Agricultural Finance
for Deere Credit Services, testified that the credit information, as
supplied by the dealers, helped Deere Credit Services determine
whether it would give credit for the purchase. Thus, when the
dealer gives this information, it intends to induce reliance and a
particular action on the part of Deere and Deere Credit as a
consequence of these misrepresentations. Since these
representations were false, Deere Credit was not in a position to
make an informed decision as to the credit-worthiness of its
applications, and was therefore ignorant of the applicants’ true
credit worthiness. The trial court found that, as a result of these
misrepresentations, Deere suffered at least $2000 in damages:
and, were it not for the honesty of Crosthwait's customers,
would have suffered more.

Deere cancelled Crosthwait's dealership under the terms of its
agreements with Crosthwait. The "John Deere Agricultural
Dealer Agreement" (Agricultural Agreement) and the "John
Deere Consumer Products Dealer Agreement" (Consumer
Agreement) gave Deere the right to cancel its dealership
appointment with Crosthwait by giving notice "at any time"
upon default by Crosthwait, defined, inter alia, as "[t}he
falsification of records, contracts reports or any other documents
which the Dealer has submitted to the Company, its affiliates or

EO

28.
assignees". Consumer Agreement $§ 3(c), 10(a); Agricultural
Agreement, § 2(d).

The terms of the agreements are clear and unambiguous. As
the trial court properly gave the language of the agreements its
plain meaning and construction, Continental Cas. Co. v. Hester,
360 So. 2d 695, 696 (Miss. 1978), it correctly concluded that
Deere lawfully ended Crosthwait's dealership.

B.

[6] At oral argument, Crosthwait introduced the novel idea
that "bad faith” on the part of Deere in terminating Crosthwait's
dealership constituted an affirmative defense under Mississippi
law. This argument is predicated on a showing that Deere
cancelled Crosthwait's dealership in retaliation for its selling
outside its designated area. The trial court found that the
evidence offered, a notation by a Deere employee on an inter-
office memo, was not enough to raise a jury issue under the
standard set in Boeing, supra. Applying the same standard, we
agree.

Il.

{7} Having held that the trial court was correct in finding that
Deere lawfully terminated Crosthwait's dealership pursuant to its
contract under Mississippi law, it follows that Crosthwait is not
entitled under that law to an award for emotional distress,
Fuselier, Ott and McKee, P.A. v. Moeller, 507 So. 2d 63, 69
(Miss. 1987) (contractual right to terminate precludes award |
absent malice): or for intentional interference with new and used
sales, Johnson v. Warnaco, Inc., 426 F. Supp. 44, 47 (S.D. Miss.
1976) (exercise of "privileged" right interfering with contract is
not wrongful).

IV.

[8] Crosthwait claims that, as Deere terminated its dealership
without notice, it was entitled to damages under the Mississippi

29.
Franchise Cancellation Statute. Miss. Code Ann. § 75-24-51(6)
(1972). While it is arguable that John Deere and Crosthwait
qualify as franchisor/franchisee under the statute,4 ninety-day
notice prior to termination is not required when fraud is the basis

of termination.»

The evidence is clear in showing that Crosthwait was terminated
by Deere for having submitted fraudulent sales and credit
contracts to Deere and Deere Credit. In addition, Crosthwait
was allowed by the trial court, in deference to Mississippi law,
to continue its day-to-day operations for ninety days after it was
notified by Deere that it was being terminated as a dealer. In
sum, even if the relationship between the parties was that of
franchisor/franchisee, Deere did not violate the ninety-day

Statute.

4. "'Franchise' means an arrangement for a definite or indefinite period in
which a person for a consideration grants to another person a license to use a
trade name, trademark, service mark, or related characteristic, and in which
there is a community of interest in the marketing of goods or services at
wholesale, retail, by lease, agreement, or otherwise." Miss. Code Ann. § 75-
24-51(6) (1972). Consideration is the only element in the definition of
"tranchise” that may not be clearly met. Mississippi does not necessarily
require any sort of "payments" as consideration for a franchise. Some
commentators indicate that any good consideration is equivalent to a
"tranchise fee" under Mississippi law. Kennet H. Slade, Applicability of
Franchise and Business Opportunity Laws to Distribution and Licensing
Agreements. 15 Am.Intell.Prop.L.J. | (1987).

5. "No person who has granted a franchise to another person shall cancel or
otherwise terminate any such franchise agreement without notifying such
person of the cancellation, termination, or failure to renew in writing at least
ninety (90) days in advance of the cancellation, termination, or failure to
renew, except that when... fraud... of the franchise... is the basis of grounds of
cancellation or termination, the ninety-day notice shail not be required." Miss.
Code Ann. § 74-24-53 (1972).

ee _|

30.
V.
[9] We agree with Deere that the trial court incorrectly
denied its motion for judgment as a matter of law or a new trial
as to Crosthwait's liability to Deere for actual damages,

attorney's fees, and costs.

Disputes relative to the specific amounts that may be owed to
Deere, noted by the court below, do not negate uncontradicted
evidence of losses sustained. Ruth Crosthwait, Crosthwait's
bookkeeper, testified that Crosthwait received a statement in
1990 indicating that it owed Deere $624, 914, but that she
unilaterally decided not to pay. This debt is undisputed and falls
within Mississippi's definition of "account stated." Hamilton v.
Miller, 217 Miss. 316, 64 So. 2d 147, 149 (1953).©

Since the trial court did not distinguish between disputed and
undisputed debts, and as specific amounts constitute a question
of fact, we REVERSE and REMAND this portion of the case for

a reconsideration of the debts owed to Deere.

The action of the district court in granting judgment for Deere
is AFFIRMED; the action of the district court in failing to grant
Deere judgment as a matter of law on its counterclaim for
Crosthwait's liability is REVERSED and the issue is
REMANDED for trial.

6. "An account stated may be defined, broadly, as an agreement between the
parties to an account based upon prior transactions between them, with respect
to the correctness of the separate items composing the account, and the
balance, if any, in favor of one or the other.... [A}n account stated properly
exists only where accounts have been examined and the balance admitted as
the true balance between the parties."

31.
NO.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

CROSTHWAIT EQUIPMENT COMPANY, INC.,
A. CURTIS CROSTHWAIT, JR., ALLEN
E. CROSTHWAIT and RUTH CROSTHWAIT,

Petitioners,

VERSUS
JOHN DEERE COMPANY,

Respondent.

APPENDIX B

OF COUNSEL:

JIM WAIDE

WAIDE LAW OFFICE
POST OFFICE BOX 1357
TUPELO, MS 38802
601/842-7324

(Counsel of Record)

JOHN P. FOX
ATTORNEY AT LAW
POST OFFICE BOX 167
HOUSTON, MS 3885!
601/456-4201

Attorneys for Petitioners

32.
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

NO. 92-7181]

CROSTHWAIT EQUIPMENT CO., INC., ET AL.,
Plaintiffs,

CROSTHWAIT EQUIPMENT CO., INC.,
A. CURTIS CROSTHWAIT, JR. and RUTH A. CROSTHWAIT,

Plaintiffs-Counter Defendants-
Appellants-Cross Appellees,

and
ALLEN E. CROSTHWAIT,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus
JOHN DEERE COMPANY, ET AL.,
Defendants,
JOHN DEERE COMPANY,

Defendant-Counter Claimant-
Appellee-Cross Appellant.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the
Northern District of Mississippi

(June 30, 1993)

Before KING and EMILiO M. GARZA, Circuit Judges and
COBB’, District Judge.

PER CURIAM:
(T IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing filed in
above entitled and numbered cause be and the same is hereby

denied.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

United States Circuit Judge

*District Judge of the Eastern District of Texas, sitting by
designation.

REHG- 4

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386009_0475%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
