# Reply Brief — Torres v. Commissioner of Correction of Massachusetts

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1641%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 1017

## Text

\ % )
Q FILED
fa NOV 5 - 1998
§
=> No. 98-0504 OFFICE OF THE CLERK
~— —_———_—_—_—_———_—- . —$-— SUPREME COURT, U.S.
gt IN THE

ae Y Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1998

VICTOR TORRES, ET AL.,
Petitioners,
v.

COMMISSIONER OF CORRECTION, Er AL.,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT FOR
THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

REPLY TO BRIEF IN OP°OSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF Cex RTIORARI

JOHN REINSTEIN Scott P. LEwis

American Civil Liberties Counsel of Record
Union of Massachusetts LAURIE S. GILL

99 Chauncy Street Lori B. SILVER

Boston, MA 02111 PALMER & DODGE LLP

(617) 482-3170 One Beacon Street

Boston, MA 02108
(617) 573-0100

Counsel for Petitioners

November 4, 1998

Ce _
oe ——

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I. THE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT’S
DECISION IS FINAL FOR PURPOSES
OF REVIEW BY CERTIORARI. ..........cccceecseeoeee 2
A. The Judgment At Issue Is Final
And Not Subject To Further
Review In State Court. .............cccc0c0. 3
B. The Petitioners Will Not Have
Any Opportunity To Press Their
Eighth Amendment Claims If
Certiorari Is Denied...............cc.cc0000.. 3

Il. THIS CASE PRESENTS ISSUES WORTHY OF

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:
Canton v. Harris, 489 U.S. 378 (1989) 0... 5n
Commonwealth v. Clark,

8 Mass. L. Rptr. 97 (April 6, 1998) .......... 2n
Farmer v. Brennan, 511 U.S. 825 (1994)... 6

Gibbs Ford, Inc. v. United Truck Leasing
Corporation, 399 Mass. 8,

502 N.B26 SUR LLP GT) sivistineisntsiisccikenss 3
Helling v. McKinney, 509 U.S. 25 (1993) .......... 4,5
Lewis v. Casey, 518 U.S. 343 (1996) «0... Sn
Market Street R. Co. v. Railroad Comm'n of Cal.,

S04 US. FAB GPS) ociniciointaeian 2
Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396 (1974) ......... 5
Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987) .......ccccsecccseees 5

Statutes and Rules:
BO UES TA | stukinwhcaibiaieian eta ASR 2

Mass. R. Ca¥. 2. S60) sceniccoanniineanidnnens 3

~ No. 98-0504

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

VICTOR TORRES, ET At.,
Petitioners,
v.

COMMISSIONER OF CORRECTION, ET AL.,
Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT FOR
THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

REPLY TO BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

In their oppesition to the petition for certiorari, the
respondents misrepresent the procedural posture of this
petition for review in an effort to convince the Court that it
does not have jurisdiction to review this case. The Court’s
examination of the merits of the petition should not be
obscured by the respondents’ smokescreens. The Supreme
Judicial Court’s misguided decision in this case represents a

2

final judgment that this Court has both jurisdiction and
reason to review. !

I. THE SUPREME JUDICIAL COURT’S DECISION IS FINAL
FOR PURPOSES OF REVIEW BY CERTIORARI.

The decision of the Supreme Judicial Court (“S.J.C.”)
is a final decision within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. § 1257.
Section 1257 allows this Court to review “[flinal judgments
or decrees rendered by the highest court of a State in which a
decision could be had . . . where any title, right, privilege or
immunity is specially set up or claimed under the
Constitution.” For purposes of this statute, a final judgment
is one that is not subject to further review or correction in
any other state tribunal and represents “the final word of a
final court.” Market Street R. Co. v. Railroad Comm’n of
Cal., 324 U.S. 548, 551 (1945).

The respondents attempt to confuse this Court by describing as a

“related lawsuit” an entirely inapposite Massachusetts trial court
decision. The uncontroverted record in the Supreme Judicial Court
showed that the decision in Commonwealth v. Clark, 8 Mass. L. Rptr. 97,
102 (April 6, 1998), was on motions to dismiss pending criminal
indictments by prisoners who claimed that a disciplinary sentence to the
DDU as a result of prison misconduct would bar a later criminal
prosecution for the same misconduct on the basis of double jeopardy. No
party presented (or could have presented) in their criminal prosecutions
claims under the Eighth Amendment that the conditions of confinement
in the DDU are themselves unconstitutional. The Department of
Correction did not argue, and the Supreme Judicial Court did not hold,
that the trial court decision in Clark should have any impact on the
disposition of this case.

—— - 2. a7.

3

A. The Judgment At Issue Is Final And Not
Subject To Further Review In State Court.

There is no question under Massachusetts law that a
judgment entered under Mass. R. Civ. P. 54(b), like a
judgment entered under the parallel provision of the Federal
Rules, is a final judgment for all purposes and, as such, was
subject to review on appeal by the Supreme Judicial Court.
See Gibbs Ford, Inc. v. United Truck Leasing Corporation,
399 Mass. 8, 11, 502 N.E.2d 508, 510 (1987). As
respondents concede (at 1 n.1), the trial court made the
specific determinations required by Rule 54(b), and directed
the entry of final judgment with regard to the claims asserted
in Count I that respondents violated the Eighth Amendment
by deliberately creating an environment of sensory
deprivation that they knew was likely to cause harm to DDU
inmates. App. A84-85. The respondents have never
contended that the state’s highest court lacked jurisdiction to
hear the appeal or that further review of the S.J.C’s decision
is available in a state tribunal.

B. The Petitioners Will Not Have Any
Opportunity To Press Their Eighth
Amendment Claims If Certiorari Is Denied.

In affirming the trial court’s judgment, the S.J.C.
categorically rejected the petitioners’ claims under the
Eighth Amendment that the conditions of confinement in the
DDU pose an intolerable risk of serious psychological harm.
App. A4-6. The S.J.C. did not differentiate in any way
between “systemic” or “individual” proof or preserve the
rights of any of the petitioners to pursue injunctive or
declaratory relief on these critical claims. Given the S.J.C.’s
decision that, as a matter of law, the risk of psychological
harm created by the conditions of DDU confinement does

4

not violate the Eighth Amendment, the trial court would
never entertain claims by individual petitioners that they are
entitled to Eighth Amendment relief from the intolerable
conditions of confinement in the DDU or that the operation
of the DDU must be altered to meet constitutional
requirements. The respondents would surely argue that any
Eighth Amendment claims of that kind are barred by the
S.J.C.’s decision. This Court should not indulge the
respondents’ attempt to place petitioners in the untenable
position of being unable to obtain review now because of
misplaced finality concerns and later being unable to obtain
review after all other claims are tried because the time in
which to seek review of the S.J.C.’s decision has lapsed.

Il. THIS CASE PRESENTS ISSUES WORTHY OF REVIEW.

The S.J.C.’s decision is in direct conflict with Helling
v. McKinney, 509 U.S. 25 (1993), which held that factual
disputes about whether prison conditions pose a substantial
risk of serious harm must be resolved before a court can
determine as a matter of law whether Eighth Amendment
rights have been violated. See Pet. at 10-11. The
respondents’ argument that the Eighth Amendment approach
to individual claims articulated in Helling somehow does not
apply to systemic claims is not supported by any reasoned
analysis or precedent.”

2

The respondents’ characterization of the petitioners’ claims as a
“facial,” rather than “as-applied,” attack on the DDU, like their purported
distinction between “individual” and “systemic” claims, is meaningless
because petitioners challenge the conditions under which they are
actually confined.

5

In Helling, the Court reversed the dismissal of a
claim involving exposure to second-hand tobacco smoke
because it found that it was “premature” to rule as a matter
of law that the risk of harm was not sufficiently grave to
implicate a “serious medical need” or that forced exposure to
second-hand smoke is consistent with “current standards of
decency.” Jd. at 34. The essence of Helling is that the
magnitude of the risk must be resolved as a matter of fact
before a court can properly judge as a matter of law whether
it can be tolerated under the Eighth Amendment. This
fundamental principle has nothing to do with whether claims
are asserted on an individual or systemic basis.’ In the face
of petitioners’ expert testimony underscoring the gravity of
the risk presented by long-term confinement in the DDU, the
S.J.C.’s determination that the risk of psychological harm
posed by DDU conditions did not, as a matter of law, violate
the Eighth Amendment cannot be reconciled with the
holding in Helling.

Neither Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987), nor
Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396 (1974), involved Eighth
Amendment claims. There is no basis for the respondents’

’ Neither Lewis v. Casey, 518 U.S. 343 (1996), nor Canton v.
Harris, 489 U.S. 378 (1989), suggests, much less holds, that the Helling
standard does not apply to Eighth Amendment claims seeking
prospective injunctive relief to prevent harm from occurring as a result of
intolerable conditions of confinement. Lewis merely stands for the
proposition that the scope of injunctive relief should be tailored to the
extent of the established violation. Canton deals with the standards for
imposing liability on a municipality for inadequate training of police
officers. This case does not involve negligent administration of an
otherwise sound prison program. The Eighth Amendment claim here
challenges the intentionally punitive conditions of confinement in the
DDU.

6

assertion that the problems of dealing with difficult prisoners
somehow immunize their administration of the DDU from
meaningful review under the Eighth Amendment. Farmer v.
Brennan, 511 U.S. 825 (1994), reaffirms that al] inmates
have a right to seek relief under the Eighth Amendment
when their conditions of confinement pose an intolerable risk
of serious harm. The S.J.C.’s decision — that a court can
determine, as a matter of law, that the risk to inmates in
“supermax” prisons is acceptable without ever considering
their proof that serious psychological harm has been and will
continue to be caused by their conditions of confinement —
presents an issue of national importance that should be
reviewed b; this Court.

CONCLUSION

For all the reasons offered here and in the petition, a
writ of certiorari should issue.

Respectfully submitted,
JOHN REINSTEIN Scott P. LEwis
American Civil Liberties Counsel of Record
Union of Massachusetts LAURIE S. GILL
99 Ciauncy Street Lori B. SILVER
Boston, MA 02111 PALMER & DODGE LLP
(617) 482-3170 One Beacon Street
Boston, MA 02108
(617) 573-0100
Counsel for Petitioners

November 4, 1998

J 2a gh gaa RN Ne hess eis Oke? Poke” aaa ee
Sree et artaaies SAD RRs ete Van ¥ ==: ;
inate eee ewe op AS tee ie : 4 F

oo
‘ ey Ox

“et
ae
dy
fl
on
it)
{
in
*
N

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1641%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
