# Opposition Brief — Beverly Health & Rehabilitation Services, Inc. v. Kobell

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1629%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 1121

## Text

Supreme Court, US,
FILED

DEC 22 1998

No. 98-492 OFFICE OF THE CLERS :

So eet

Jn the Supreme Court of the Ginited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

BEVERLY HEALTH AND REHABILITATION
SERVICES, INC., ET AL., PETITIONERS

GERALD KOBELL, REGIONAL DIRECTOR FOR REGION SIX
OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENT
IN OPPOSITION

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217
FREDERICK L. FEINSTEIN
General Counsel
LINDA SHER
Associate General Counsel
NORTON J. COME
Deputy Associate General
Counsel
JOHN EMAD ARBAB
Attorney
National Labor Relations Board
Washington, D.C. 20570

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court of appeals erred in summarily
affirming the district court’s determination that the
Regional Director of the National Labor Relations
Board was entitled to interim injunctive relief, pur-
suant to Section 10(j) of the National Labor Relations
Act, 29 U.S.C. 160(j), pending the Board’s disposition of
an administrative complaint against petitioners.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I a AS loo l
ee, ESR SII STEEN Pre ee RO lek a RCO l
ARNO RNGET AER NC er ae aces OS 2
ng GEER ANTES SERS RDN ey Tee OE a ele i)
oe cite a BRACES ARR EE GER ce OEE OREO MRT 22
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Arlook v. S. Lichtenberg & Co., 952 F.2d 367 (11th
Lk. BATE SONS SS 2a coe SEN ee ee cg 10, 11
Asseo v. Pan Am. Grain Co., 805 F.2d 23 (1st Cir.
IIIT sliieiaaldsiig aces nrlitiienhiticcasabtesa laesadsdncccaellnus winsieacinasaneco, 16
Bio-Medical Applications, Inc., 240 N.L.R.B. 432
NN Mabie tdala caetdiad cect aderesbicciemnisisconiatsescscscsasicces 6, 15, 18, 20
Boire v. Pilot Freight Carriers, Inc., 515 F.2d 1185
(5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 426 U.S. 934 (1976) ........... 10, 11
Bricklayers & Allied C "raftsmen, Local 40 (Lake
Shore Hosp.), 252 N.L.R.B. 252 (1980) ..cccccccceccssssscsesoseeoes 6
Brownlow v. Schwartz, 261 U.S. 216 (1923) ...................... 13
California Nurses Ass'n (City of Hope Nat'l Med.
aig, MAM Reka Mb Eh, WO CIM) Savicscssccsecsscacesonsncesnesazsoasesco.e 6, 21
Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense
reece? Lh SOT tsGee) 17
Danielson v. Joint Bd. of Coat Garment Workers’
Union, 494 F.2d 1230 (2d Cir. 1974) coeccccccccccccccccoccccocoseee. 10, 17
Eisenberg v. Lenape Prods., Inc., 781 F.2d 999
SES ERTS RDA SI nee ee 12
Fleischut v. Nixon Detroit Diesel, Inc., 859 F.2d 26
I ca aia cei ie sacaracaascesssanees 11
Frye v. Specialty Envelope, Inc., 10 F.3d 1221 (6th
WISI SERS ROR ee it a Ie a 10, 11
Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321 (1944) c.ccccccccscssccssseesece 12
Holly Farms Corp. v. NLRB, 517 U.S. 392 (1996) .......... 19

(IID)

IV

Cases—Continued: Page

Kaynard v. Mego Corp., 633 F.2d 1026 (2d Cir.

SNOT sickieocedsssindacchinnscencenlicbanionibieaiegas aavemieaemnatiniancsecannes 11
Kinney v. Pioneer Press, 881 F.2d 485 (7th Cir.

SUMED sasistichicas tv ccesecaanbliveccckasteicn dei aeaebetinhapeisdeaeaaicepiadinbipaiabiinles 11,17
Kobell v. Suburban Lines, Inc., 731 F.2d 1076 (8d

CEP SIIIGD icciicnsicsistepsiahsssidegisiechieedinenieleiidoanleibitadaeitebinsihohaen 5, 10, 11, 12
Lewis v. New Orleans Clerks & Checkers, 724 F.2d

e.g) Ee AB | ORRREE RTE are aiamme Peromer es 15
Local No. 8-6, Oil Workers Int'l Union v. Missouri,

RE Ae se CE eiciidincsiadasis ented ehcnlg tate tbhipintopanians 13
Mastro Plastics Corp. v. NLRB, 350 U.S. 270

£2: > SARIN Se sccee Set ah BI GH R E ae esone e 20
McLeod v. General Elec. Co., 385 U.S. 538

CIEE cscbshseinslescunclicadikdmensaeitasnationctiatilaacscasigaaiianinidiantiathediontind 14
Miller v. California Pac. Med. Ctr., 19 F.3d 449

CERRa SAN, ROD casicecicatcieeinths acai ieee capiashccnintiness 12, 16, 21
NLRB vy. Auciello Iron Works, Inc., 60 F.3d 24

(1st Cir. 1995), aff’d, 517 U.S. 781 (1996) ..........sccseccesecenees 21
NLRB vy. Electro-Voice, Inc., 83 F.3d 1559 (7th Cir.

1996), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 683 (1997) eee ceeeeeees 12, 16

NLRB vy. Washington Heights-West Harlem-Inwood
Mental Health Council, Inc., 897 F.2d 1238 (2d Cir.

LIDS secieits iciennninentnvennninneyciiapieaanianiniaraediniaesiinicaaptinanssiainn 19
Pascarell v. Vibra Screw Inc., 904 F.2d 874 (3d

Zar. SEEE? secncsmiinuinipieniensitiniadieeadnisniedialaainiianidiiapnibeaianiiaaees 4,5
Pye v. Sullivan Bros. Printers, Inc., 38 F.3d 58

(Zak Cab. SDE) seviicecnssives icikaai ese aduplaiaiieaslesidsienialasailnindeishaseaeie 16
Rivera-Vega v. Conagra, Inc., 70 F.3d 153 (1st Cir.

CUO? vsnvisicheacsnvennmipiianthiiantaiacengumeaticomnialtienbeoninapnineiaaisinions 10, 11-12
Silverman v. Major League Baseball Player Rela-

tions Comm., Inc., 67 F.3d 1054 (2d Cir. 1995) ........... 11, 21
Tom Doherty Assocs., Inc. v. Saban Entertain-

ment, Inc., 60 F.3d 27 (2d Cir. 1995) ........cc.cccccccssossssscessees 16

University of Texas v. Camenisch, 451 U.S. 390
CRIDIED : ssinseitisinicinieniestovebiaisisdnddheciacacetaciahtaaeishansapalbemadoheatianisegien tba 13, 21

Cases—Continued: Page
Weinberger v. Romero-Barcelo, 456 U.S. 305 (1982) ...... 12
Statutes:
Federal Water Pollution Control Act, 33 U.S.C.
BUEE We NE: SididhaslscivnieseiitichaaiatioaNasuniin cae Fhe 12
National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. 151 et MOO. scchascios 2
Be rae SURI E vinnilcicsncictonusaiensuieeiegnidein eects a 3
Br I a SE? to binwsichtestasaateeaic encima aicge tase 3
et SFE: AND sicidiciabs sal cditacinafesrtecebestiab binds anionic cons 2
ck akg. | | Snir biet ecal era Reni, Mee eee 3, 4, 10
Miscellaneous:
Black’s Law Dictionary (5th €d. 1979) cocccccccccccsececseesesessesseee 18
H.R. Rep. No. 1051, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974) -.cccccccccseseeees 20

S. Rep. No. 766, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974) c.ccccccccsseseesseseseee 20

Ee —— pees ee — Sates Pe ae - to 4 . asi a a = es eee ae

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1998

No. 98-492

BEVERLY HEALTH AND REHABILITATION
SERVICES, INC., ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.

GERALD KOBELL, REGIONAL DIRECTOR FOR REGION SIX
OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE FEDERAL RESPONDENT
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The judgment order of the court of appeals (Pet. App.
B5-B7) is unpublished, but the judgment is noted at 142
F.3d 428 (Table). The opinion of the district court (Pet.
App. C24-C47) is reported at 987 F. Supp. 409. An
earlier opinion of the district court (Pet. App. C10-C23)
is unreported.

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

February 18, 1998. A petition for rehearing was denied
on July 2, 1998. Pet. App. B3-B4. The petition for a

(1)

2

writ of certiorari was filed on September 23, 1998. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. Petitioners Beverly Health and Rehabilitation
Services, Inc. and Beverly Enterprises-Pennsylvania,
Ine. operate twenty nursing homes in Pennsylvania.
Pet. 1; Pet. App. C11.’ The employees at those facilities
are represented by locals of the Service Employees
International Union (Union). Pet. App. C25 n.1. After
the collective-bargaining agreements covering the
facilities expired on November 30, 1995, petitioners and
the union began negotiating new agreements; the em-
ployees continued to work as negotiations proceeded.
Id. at C11.

The Union later filed unfair labor practice charges
against petitioners with the National Labor Relations
Board (Board). In particular, the Union alleged that,
after the collective-bargaining agreements expired,
petitioners (among other things) unilaterally changed
the employees’ terms and conditions of employment in
violation of the National Labor Relations Act (Act), 29
U.S.C. 151 et seq. Pet. App. C11-C12. On March 15,
1996, the Union gave petitioners written notice, pur-
suant to Section 8(g) of the Act, 29 U.S.C. 158(g),® that

1 Each of the twenty facilities is also named as a petitioner
before this Court. Pet. iii, 1. For purposes of this case, petitioners
are treated collectively as a single employer. Pet. App. C10-C11,
C44.

2 In relevant part, Section 8(g) provides: “A labor organization
before engaging in any strike * * * at any health care institution
shall, not less than ten days prior to such action, netify the
institution in writing * * * of that intention. * * * The notice
shall state the date and time that such action will commence. The

3

it intended to commence an unfair labor practice strike
at fifteen of the facilities on March 29, 1996, at 7:00 a.m.
Pet. App. C12.

A strike did not begin, however, on March 29, 1996.
Rather, on March 27, the Union notified petitioners in
writing that it planned to delay the commencement of
the strike by 71 hours, from March 29 at 7:00 a.m. to
April 1 at 6:00 a.m. Pet. App. C12, C28. Petitioners ad-
vised the Union that, in their view, the Union’s exten-
sion notice “failed to fulfill the literal statutory require-
ments set forth in §8(g),” and that they “would consider
unlawful any strike held pursuant to the seventy-one
hour extension notice.” Jd. at C13. The Union com-
menced a strike at the fifteen facilities on April 1 in any
event. /bid. The strike concluded on April 4, when the
employees made petitioners an unconditional offer to
return to work; petitioners, however, refused to rein-
state many of the former strikers. Jd. at C28-C29; see
also id. at C13. The Union therefore filed further unfair
labor practice charges with the Board in which they
challenged petitioners’ refusal to reinstate the former
strikers.

2. a. Acting on the Union’s charges, the Board’s
Genera! Counsel issued a consolidated administrative
complaint against petitioners on June 19, 1996. Pet.
App. C14. The administrative complaint alleged,
among other things, that petitioners violated Section
8(a)(1) and (3) of the Act, 29 U.S.C. 158(a)(1) and (3), by
failing to reinstate about 450 employees at the con-
clusion of the strike. App. A, infra, 2a-3a. On July 8,
1996, the Board’s Regional Director filed a petition in
federal district court under Section 10(j) of the Act, 29

notice, once given, may be extended by the written agreement of
both parties.” 29 U.S.C. 158(g).

4

U.S.C. 160(j), which authorizes the Board to seek, and
district courts to grant, such preliminary and interim
injunctive relief as is “just and proper.”* Pet. App. C14.
Among other things, the Regional Director requested
that the district court order petitioners to reinstate all
employees who had unconditionally offered to return to
work at the conclusion of the strike, pending the
Board’s adjudication of the unfair labor practice com-
plaint. Jd. at C11, C14-C15. One week later, on July 15,
1996, a hearing on the administrative complaint com-
menced before an administrative law judge (ALJ).
App. A, infra, la.

b. On April 4, 1997, the district court granted the
Regional Director’s request for an interim injunction
under Section 10(j). Pet. App. C24-C47; see also id. at
C10-C23 (earlier unreported decision). The court ex-
plained that “[t]he temporary relief available under
§10(j) requires a determination by the district court of
‘whether there is reasonable cause to believe that an
unfair labor practice has occurred and whether an
injunction would be just and proper.’” Pet. App. C33
(quoting Pascarell v. Vibra Screw Inc., 904 F.2d 874,
877 (3d Cir. 1990)) (internal quotation marks and foot-
note omitted). “Reasonable cause,” the court noted,
requires “a substantial, non-frivolous, legal theory, im-
plicit or explicit, in the Board’s argument,” and, “taking

3 In relevant part, Section 10(j) provides: “The Board shall
have power, upon issuance of a complaint * * * charging that any
person has engaged in or is engaging in an unfair labor practice, to
petition any United States district court, within any district
wherein the unfair labor practice in question is alleged to have
occurred * * *, for appropriate temporary relief or restraining
order. Upon the filing of any such petition the court * * * shall
have jurisdiction to grant to the Board such temporary relief or
restraining order as it deems just and proper.” 29 U.S.C. 160()).

5

the facts favorably to the Board * * * sufficient
evidence to support that theory.” Pet. App. C17
(quoting Vibra Screw, 904 F.2d at 882). To determine
whether interim injunctive relief is “just and proper,”
the court further noted, “[t]he focus * * * is * * *
‘on the unusual likelihood . . . of ultimate remedial
failure’” of a Board order, absent an injunction. Pet.
App. C36 (quoting Kobell v. Suburban Lines, Inc., 731
F.2d 1076, 1091 n.26 (8d Cir. 1984)).

The court concluded that the Regional Director had
satisfied the “reasonable cause” requirement for in-
terim injunctive relief under Section 10(j). Pet. App.
C19-C23, C34-C36. In particular, the court found that
the Regional Director had “present{ed] evidence that
would support not only the elements of the unfair labor
practices prior to the strike, but also that the strike was
in protest of the alleged unfair labor practices.” Jd. at
C35-C36. Under settled law, the court noted, “unfair
labor practice strikers * * * are entitled to immediate
reinstatement upon making an unconditional offer to
return to work.” Jd. at C21 n.3.

In making its “reasonable cause” finding, the court
rejected petitioners’ contention that, because “the
notice extending the strike date for 71 hours was issued
unilaterally” rather than with petitioners’ agreement,
the ensuing strike was not protected by the Act. Pet.
App. C15-C16. Instead, the court concluded that “the
Board’s legal theory that the April 1, 1996 strike com-
plied with the notice requirements of §8(g) [is] sub-
stantial and nonfrivolous.” Jd. at C34. In response to
petitioners’ contention that Section 8(g) bars extensions
of strike notices except by written agreement between
the parties, the court explained that (under long-
standing Board precedent) written agreement is not
the e«wclusive mechanism for extending strike notices.

6

Instead, the Board repeatedly had held that a union can
unilaterally extend strike notices for a short time (7.e.,
less than 72 hours), so long as the union also provides at
least 12 hours of advance notice to the employer. Jd. at
C19-C20 (citing Bio-Medical Applications, Inc., 240
N.L.R.B. 432 (1979)).* The district court saw no reason
why the Board’s construction of Section 8(g) should not
be given deference, given the Board’s expertise and the
strong support for its construction in Section 8(g)’s
legislative history. See Pet. App. D56 (“I believe that
[the Board is] entitled to deference because of the
special expertise that they have and because also * * *
the legislative history was entitled to some deference
there as well.”).

The court also concluded that the Regional Director
had satisfied the “just and proper” requirement for
interim injunctive relief under Section 10(j). Pet. App.
C36-C42, C44-C45. The Regional Director had pre-
sented “sufficient evidence to demonstrate that, with-
out the issuance of an injunction, the Board’s ultimate
remedial powers may be frustrated.” Jd. at C41. Peti-

* In Bio-Medical, the Board held that the language of Section
8(g) “does not expressly provide that a written agreement of the
parties is the exclusive manner of extending an initial strike date,”
and that such a “restrictive interpretation” would be “clearly con-
trary to the expressed intent of Congress as revealed in the legis-
lative history of Section 8(g).” 240 N.L.R.B. at 434. The Board
held that a union may extend “the time set forth in the initial 10-
day notice for the commencement of a strike by unilateral noti-
fication to the employer, at least in circumstances in which post-
ponement of the strike is between 12 and 72 hours of the time set
forth in that initial notice and where there is at least 12 hours
advance notice given to the employer of the postponement.” Jd. at
435. See also Bricklayers & Allied Craftsmen, Local 40 (Lake
Shore Hosp.), 252 N.L.R.B. 252, 253 (1980); California Nurses
Ass’n (City of Hope Nat'l Med. Ctr.), 315 N.L.R.B. 468, 468 (1994).

— ———

7

tioners’ alleged unfair labor practices, the court ex-
plained, had been “sélectively geared to destroy or at
least impede the communication network among
[UJnion members”; the alleged violations “tended to
* * * impede whatever collective bargaining has oc-
curred”; and, “{iJn the absence of full reinstatement, the
communication network of the [Union] at some of the
facilities may be nonexistent when final adjudication by
the Board is issued.” Jd. at C41-C42, C45.

Accordingly, the district court issued a Section 10(j)
interim injunction requiring petitioners to “offer full
reinstatement to all employees who engaged in the
unfair labor practice strike which began on April 1,
1996, said reinstatement to be to their former positions
of employment * * * displacing, if necessary, any
employees hired to replace said employees.” Pet. App.
C46. The court specified that the order would “expire
six months from the date of its issuance,” i.e., on Octo-
ber 4, 1997, but provided that the Regional Director
could seek extensions as appropriate. Jd. at C46-C47.

3. Petitioners appealed. On February 18, 1998, the
court of appeals summarily affirmed the district court’s
issuance of the Section 10(j) injunction. Pet. App. B5-
B7.

a. While the appeal was pending, on June 28, 1997,
petitioners and the Union entered into new collective-
bargaining agreements covering the employees at peti-
tioners’ facilities. The new contracts contain a pro-
vision entitled “Reinstatement Agreement,” which
states:

Notwithstanding the pending litigation relating to
the 1996 strike, or the term of this Agreement, the
Employer agrees to complete the reinstatement of
all strikers to their former positions prior to the

8

strike, as required by the 10(j) injunction, regard-
less of the outcome of this litigation.

C.A. Supp. App. 1, 10 (reproduced at App. B, infra,
23a).°

b. On November 26, 1997—after the new collective
bargaining agreements were signed, but before the
appeal was decided—the ALJ assigned to the admin-
istrative proceedings instituted against petitioners
issued his decision. App. A, infra, la-18a. The ALJ
found that petitioners had committed “numerous and
diverse unfair labor practices before the strike,” and
that “the strike was to protest those unfair labor prac-
tices.” Jd. at'7a. The ALJ thus concluded that peti-
tioners “had an obligation under the Act immediately to
reinstate the strikers to their former positions upon
their unconditional offer to return to work,” and that
“their failure to do so constitutes an additional unfair
labor practice.” bid. (footnotes omitted).

The ALJ rejected petitioners’ contention that, be-
cause “the Union’s action in extending the [strike]
deadline was taken unilaterally * * * the subsequent
3-day strike commencing on April 1 was unlawful.”
App. A, infra, 4a. Instead, he concluded that the
Union’s extension of the strike date was proper under
Bio-Medical, supra, where the Board “adopt{ed] the 72-

° The parties provided that the new contracts would become
effective as to two particular bargaining units (the service and
maintenance unit at Grandview Healthcare and the unit of licensed
practical nurses at Mt. Lebanon Manor Convalescent Center) in
the event that the Union prevailed on charges that petitioners un-
lawfully withdrew recognition from the Union as the representa-
tive of those employees. App. B, infra, 21a-22a. In the summer of
1997, the Regional Director issued administrative complaints
against petitioners, based in part on those charges. The complaints
are presently pending before an ALJ.

9

hour window and 12-hour advance notice rule as a
parameter for allowing [unilateral] extensions of strike
times previously announced in notices issued under
Section 8(g).” App. A, infra, 5a; see also id. at 4a. The
ALJ therefore ordered petitioners, among other things,
“to offer immediate reinstatement to their former jobs
to all employees who went on strike on April 1 * * *
and to make them * * * whole for any loss of wages
and other benefits.” Jd. at 8a.

On February 6, 1998, petitioners filed exceptions to
the ALJ’s decision with the Board. Petitioners’ excep-
tions are currently pending before the Board.

ce. During the pendency of the appeal, the Regional
Director twice sought and obtained extensions of the
interim relief entered by the district court under
Section 10). App. C, infra, 24a-25a; App. D, infra, 26a-
27a. After the second extension, the interim injunction
was set to expire on May 4, 1998. Following the ALJ’s
issuance of his decision, the court of appeals’ affirmance
of the district court order, and petitioners’ and the
Union’s agreements for reinstatement of striking
workers, the Regional Director decided not to seek any
further extension of the Section 10(j) interim injunction.
Accordingly, on May 4, 1998, the injunction
automatically expired, App. D, infra, 27a, and peti-
tioners are no longer subject to its requirements.

ARGUMENT

Petitioners seek review of the court of appeals’ order
summarily affirming the district court’s issuance of a
Section 10(j) injunction. In particular, petitioners argue
that courts of appeals have articulated different
standards for determining whether such Section 10(j)
injunctions should issue. See Pet. 6. But petitioners’
challenge to the propriety of the district court’s deci-

10

sion to issue an injunction in this case, and to the appro-
priateness of the standard that court employed, is
largely academic and potentially moot. Moreover, be-
cause the interim injunction would have been proper
under any standard, this case is not an appropriate
vehicle for resolving the alleged conflict identified by
petitioners. Accordingly, the petition for certiorari
should be denied.

1. Section 10(j) of the National Labor Relations Act,
29 U.S.C. 160(j), “authorizes the NLRB to seek, and the
United States district courts to grant, interim relief
pending the NLRB’s resolution of unfair labor prac-
tices.” Rivera-Vega v. Conagra, Inc., 70 F.3d 153, 158
(1st Cir. 1995). As petitioners point out, the courts of
appeals have adopted somewhat different approaches to
the determination of whether the Regional Director is
entitled to a Section 10(j) injunction. Most courts
(including the Third Circuit) follow a two-step inquiry.
First, they determine whether the Regional Director
has demonstrated “reasonable cause” to believe that
the party against whom relief is sought has violated the
Act; proof of “reasonable cause,” the courts generally
agree, includes a showing that the Regional Director’s
legal theories are “substantial and not frivolous.”®

6 See Kobell v. Suburban Lines, 731 F.2d 1076, 1084 (3d Cir.
1984); Frye v. Specialty Envelope, Inc., 10 F.3d 1221, 1225 (6th Cir.
1993) (per curiam); Arlook v. S. Lichtenberg & Co., 952 F.2d 367,
371 (11th Cir. 1992); Boire v. Pilot Freight Carriers, Inc., 515 F.2d
1185, 1188-1189 (5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 426 U.S. 934 (1976).
Cf. Danielson v. Joint Bd. of Coat Garment Workers’ Union, 494
F.2d 1230, 1244-1245 (2d Cir. 1974) (although district court’s “duty
of scrutiny” is not limited to determining whether Regional
Director’s claim is “insubstantial and frivolous,” nonetheless, “on
an issue of law, the district court should be hospitable to the views
of the General Counsel » »wever novel”).

11

Second, the courts ask whether the Regional Director
has shown that an injunction would be “just and
proper” under the circumstances.’ In making the “just
and proper” inquiry, courts often ask (as the Third
Circuit does) “whether the failure to grant interim
injunctive relief would be likely to prevent the Board
* * * from effectively exercising its ultimate remedial
powers.” Some courts also require an inquiry into the
traditional equitable factors governing the issuance of
preliminary relief.’

Two courts of appeals have adopted a different
verbal formula. They ask only whether relief is “just
and proper,” and do so by “evaluat{ing] the propriety of
the [Regional] Director’s request with an eye toward
the traditional equitable principles that normally guide
such an inquiry,” Kinney v. Pioneer Press, 881 F.2d
485, 490 (7th Cir. 1989), 7.e., the Regional Director’s
“likelihood of success on the merits,” “the potential for
irreparable injury in the absence of relief,” whether
“such injury outweighs any harm preliminary injunc-
tive relief would inflict on the employer” and whether
“preliminary relief is in the public interest,” Conagra,

7 See, e.g., Silverman v. Major League Baseball Player Rela-
tions Comm., Inc., 67 F.3d 1054, 1059 (2d Cir. 1995); Suburban
Lines, 731 F.2d at 1079; Specialty Envelope, 10 F.3d at 1224-1225;
S. Lichtenberg & Co., 952 F.2d at 372; Pilot Freight Carriers, 515
F.2d at 1188-1189.

8 Suburban Lines, 731 F.2d at 1091-1092. See also S. Lichten-
berg & Co., 952 F.2d at 372; Fleischut v. Nixon Detroit Diesel, Inc.,
859 F.2d 26, 30 (6th Cir. 1988).

® See Conagra, 70 F.3d at 164; Kaynard v. Mego Corp., 633
F.2d 1026, 1033 (2d Cir. 1980). Cf. Pilot Freight Carriers, 515 F.2d
at 1192-1193 (“though traditional rules of equity may not control
the proper scope of §10(j) relief, some measure of equitable princi-
ples come into play”)

12

70 F.3d at 164.” Although that formulation differs from
the two-part “reasonable cause” and “just and proper”
approach used by other courts, in practice the same
result is often reached under either test.

2. Notwithstanding the different verbal formulae
used by various appellate courts,” this case does not
present a suitable vehicle for resolving any conflict that

0 See also NLRB v. Electro-Voice, Inc., 83 F.3d 1559, 1566-1567
(7th Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 683 (1997); Miller v.
California Pac. Med. Ctr., 19 F.3d 449, 456-461 (9th Cir. 1994) (en
banc).

| Although we agree that the courts of appeals have used dif-
ferent verbal formulae, we do not agree with petitioners’ further
contention (Pet. 14-19) that the two-step framework used by the
district court in this case is inconsistent with Weinberger v.
Romero-Barcelo, 456 U.S. 305 (1982), and Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321
U.S. 321 (1944). In Romero-Barcelo, this Court concluded that the
Federal Water Pollution Control Act, 33 U.S.C. 1251 et seq., does
not “requir[e] a district court to issue an injunction for any and all
statutory violations”; rather, the Court construed the statute “‘in
favor of that interpretation which affords a full opportunity for
equity courts to treat enforcement proceedings . . . in accordance
with their traditional practices, as conditioned by the necessities of
the public interest which Congress has sought to protect.’” 456
U.S. at 320 (quoting Hecht Co., 321 U.S. at 330). In Hecht Co., the
Court reached a similar conclusion with respect to a federal emer-
gency price control statute. See 321 U.S. at 328-330 (“A grant of
jurisidiction to issue compliance orders hardly suggests an ab-
solute duty to do so under any and all circumstances.”). Consistent
with those holdings, the two-step framework applied by the dis-
trict court does not require issuance of an injunction under Section
10(j) “for any and all statutory violations.” Romero-Barcelo, 456
U.S. at 320. To the contrary, federal courts may deny interim
relief if it is not “just and proper,” such as where the Board cannot
show that the absence of interim injunctive relief could potentially
jeopardize its ability to offer a full and effective remedy for the
violation. See, e.g., Eisenberg v. Lenape Prods., Inc., 781 F.2d 999,
1004-1005 (3d Cir. 1986); Suburban Lines, 731 F.2d at 1092-1094.

13

may exist. As an initial matter, the dispute petitioners
seek to put before the Court is largely academic and
potentially moot for two independent reasons.

First, on May 4, 1998, roughly ten weeks after the
court of appeals issued its judgment order, the Section
10(j) interim injunction about which petitioners com-
plain expired, and petitioners ceased to be subject to its
terms. See p. 9, supra; App. D, infra, 27a. This Court
has repeatedly recognized that, once an interim injunc-
tion expires, any appeal challenging its issuance be-
comes moot:

The decision we are asked to review upheld only the
validity of an injunction, an injunction that expired
by its own terms [long ago]. Any judgment of ours
at this late date “would be wholly ineffectual for
want of a subject matter on which it could operate.
An affirmance would ostensibly require something
to be done which has already taken place. A
reversal would ostensibly avoid an event which had
already passed beyond recall. One would be as vain
as the other. To adjudicate a cause which no longer
exists is a proceeding which this Court uniformly
has declined to entertain.”

Local No. 8-6, Oil Workers Int'l Union v. Missouri, 361
U.S. 363, 371 (1960) (quoting Brownlow v. Schwartz,
261 U.S. 216, 217-218 (1923)); see also University of
Texas v. Camenisch, 451 U.S. 390, 398 (1981) (appeal
challenging standard under which preliminary injunc-
tion was issued is moot where the injunction had been
“fully and irrevocably carried out”).

Second, on June 28, 1997, petitioners and the Union
negotiated a “Reinstatement Agreement” which re-
quires petitioners to reinstate striking employees—
under the same terms as the Section 10(j) injunction—

14

regardless of the outcome of this litigation. See pp. 7-8.
supra; App. B, infra, 23a (agreement providing that
petitioners will restore “all strikers to their former
positions prior to the strike, as required by the 10(j)
injunction, regardless of the outcome of this litigation”).
That agreement renders the current dispute over the
propriety of the preliminary injunction largely aca-
demic. And it renders further review inappropriate, as
this Court recognized in McLeod v. General Elec. Co.,
385 U.S. 533 (1967) (per curiam). There, as here, the
union and the employer had entered into a new collec-
tive bargaining agreement after the preliminary injunc-
tion had been issued. /d. at 535. There, this Court held
that the new agreement was an intervening event that
rendered further review of the Section 10(j) injunction
inappropriate. See ibid. (“We do not think it appropri-
ate, however, to decide * * * the proper construction
of §10(j)” because “the company and [the union] agreed
upon a three-year collective bargaining agreement to
replace the expired contract.”). The new collective bar-
gaining agreements in this case likewise render further
review inappropriate here.”

3. Even apart from the potential problem of moot-
ness and the academic nature of the dispute, this case
does not present an appropriate vehicle for articulating
a standard to govern issuance of preiiminary relief
under Section 10(j), as the injunction in this case would
have been proper under any standard. Cf. General

In General Electric, this Court vacated the court of appeals’
judgment and remanded the case to the district court to “deter-
mine in the first instance the effect of this supervening event [7.e.,
the new contract] upon the appropriateness of injunctive relief.”
385 U.S. at 535. Here, no remand is required because the injunc-
tion has expired, and the Regional Director has not sought further
interim relief.

15

Elec., 385 U.S. at 535 (“The controversy over the
proper standard for [Section 10(j)] injunctive relief is
immaterial if such relief is now improper whichever
standard is applied.”).

As discussed above, see pp. 4-7, 10-11, swpra, the
district court applied a two-step analytical framework.
As part of the first step, the court concluded that the
Regional Director had shown “reasonable cause” to
believe a violation had occurred because, among other
things, the Regional Director had articulated a
“substantial and non-frivolous” legal theory in support
of his contention that the Union’s 71-hour extension of
the original strike date was consistent with Section
&(g). See Pet. App. C15-C16, C19-C20, C23, C34.
Indeed, that theory was a direct application of the
Board’s long-standing decision in Bio-Medical
Applications, 240 N.L.R.B. 432 (1979), under which “a
union’s unilateral extension of a strike date within a 12
to 72 hour period does not constitute an unfair labor
practice.” Pet. App. C19-C20. The court’s ruling was
correct. See Lewis v. New Orleans Clerks & Checkers,
724 F.2d 1109, 1116 (5th Cir. 1984) (court “cannot deem
the Regional Director’s legal theory insubstantial or
frivolous” where based on applicable Board precedent).

a. Nonetheless, petitioners argue that, “lilf the
District Court had been free to apply the four-part test
that it customarily would use for injunction cases, the
District Court plainly would have concluded that the
Board’s legal theory was not likely to prevail on the
merits,” and therefore would have declined to issue a
Section 10(j) injunction in this case. See Pet. 12. That
contention lacks merit.

As an initial matter, the “likelihood of success on the
merits” factor as it has been applied in this context does
not materially differ from the “substantial and non-

16

frivolous” inquiry made by the district court in this |
case. See, e.g., NLRB vy. Electro-Voice, Inc., 83 F.3d |
1559, 1568 (7th Cir. 1996) (“some likelihood of succeed-
ing on the merits” means “a better than negligible
chance of winning”) (internal quotation marks omitted),
cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 683 (1997); Miller v. California
Pac. Med. Ctr., 19 F.3d 449, 460 (9th Cir. 1994) (en banc)
(Board “can make a threshold showing of likelihood of
success by producing * * * an arguable legal
theory”). Petitioners are thus incorrect to assert that

——

1S Pye v. Sullivan Bros. Printers, Inc., 38 F.3d 58 (1st Cir. 1994)
(Pet. 10 n.5) is not apposite here. In Sullivan Brothers, the court
stated that “[w]hen * * * the interim relief sought by the Board
is essentially the final relief sought, the likelihood of success should
be strong.” 38 F.3d at 638 (internal quotation marks omitted). In
this case, however, the interim relief ordered by the district court
(reinstatement of the strikers) is not essentially the final relief
sought by the General Counsel in the Board proceeding. See App.
A, infra, 13a, 17a (ALJ’s order requires petitioners, among other
things, not only to reinstate the strikers, but also to “make them
whole * * * for any loss of earnings and other benefits”; to
rescind “all unilateral actions * * * found to have been effected in
violation of collective bargaining obligations”; and “[to] make any
employee adversely affected by those actions * * * whole for any
loss of earnings and other benefits”). Moreover, the use of a
“heightened standard” in preliminary injunction cases “must be
supplemented by a further requirement that the effect of the
order, once complied with, cannot be undone.” Tom Doherty
Assocs., Inc. v. Saban Entertainment, Inc., 60 F.3d 27, 35 (2d Cir.
1995). The First Circuit itself has recognized that a Section 10Q)
reinstatement order does not have such an effect. See Asseo v.
Pan Am. Grain Co., 805 F.2d 23, 28 (1986) (employer’s “burden” of
interim reinstatement “will only last until the Board’s final
determination”).

OO

17

looking to the Board’s “likelihood of success on the
merits” would have altered the result in this case."

To the extent petitioners argue that the district court
concluded otherwise and ruled that the Regional Direc-
tor in fact was not likely to succeed, see Pet. 11-12,
petitioners misread the district court. As explained
above, the Board has consistently read Section 8(g) as
permitting strike notices to be extended not only by
mutual agreement of the parties, but also by unions
acting unilaterally so long as the extension is brief (less
than 72 hours) and sufficient notice is given. See pp. 5-6
& n.4, 8-9, supra; see also pp. 18-20, infra. Relying on
the district court’s assertion (made from the bench) that
it would not itself have read Section 8(g) that way in
the first instance, petitioners argue that the district
court was unwilling to accept the Board’s theory as a
likely candidate for success. See Pet. 11 (quoting Pet.
App. D56). But the district court’s further discussion
reveals that, even if the district court might have
interpreted Section 8(g) differently absent guidance
from the Board, it nonetheless recognized that (under
Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Naturai Resources Defense
Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984)) the Board’s interpre-
tation is entitled to deference and must be upheld so

'* Moreover, the “likelihood of success on the merits” inquiry
has been described as an evaluation of “the probability that the
General Counsel will succeed in convincing the NLRB that
someone has in fact violated the labor laws.” Pioneer Press, 881
F.2d at 491 (emphasis added). On that view, it is clear that the
Regional Director was entitled to a Section 10(j) injunction in this
case, for his legal theory in respect to the Section 8(g) issue was
based on a direct application of long-standing Board precedent. Cf.
Danielson, 494 F.2d at 1244 (describing inquiry as whether there is
“some significant possibility that the Board will enter an enforce-
able order”).

18

long as it constitutes a permissible construction of the
statute; and the district court further noted that the
Board’s construction was strongly supported by Section
&(g)’s legislative history. Pet. App. D56 (“I believe that
[the Board is] entitled to deference because of the
special expertise that they have and because also * * *
the legislative history was entitled to some deference
there as well.”). Thus, far from demonstrating that the
district court believed the Board’s construction of
Section 8(g) to be an unlikely candidate for success, that
court’s comments reveal its unwillingness to overturn
the Board’s permissible construction of the statute.

b. For similar reasons, petitioners’ assertion (Pet.
19) that the Regional Director’s legal theory was
“sroundless”—and thus an improper basis for an in-
junction under any standard—is incorrect. According
to petitioners, Section 8(g) cannot be permissibly con-
strued as permitting unilateral extensions under any
circumstances because “Congress specifically mandated
in Section 8(g) that any extension of a strike notice be
done through the written agreement of both parties.”
Pet. 20.

Petitioners’ construction of Section 8(g) rests on the
mistaken premise that the mechanism for extending
strike notices given by Section 8(g)—joint agreement
—is exclusive. The statute nowhere declares that to be
the case. See Bio-Medical, 240 N.L.R.B. at 434 (“{Tyhe
cited language does not expressly provide that a
written agreement of the parties is the exclusive
manner of extending an initial strike date.”). Instead,
Section 8(g) merely provides that “(t]he notice, once
given, may be extended by the written agreement of
both parties.” The word “may” expresses “ability, com-
petency, liberty, permission, [or] possibility.” Black’s
Law Dictionary 883 (5th ed. 1979). It does not nec-

19

essarily exclude the possibility that the notice may be
extended by other means as well. Thus, petitioners do
not ask that Section 8(g) be read as written, but rather
ask that it be rewritten to declare that “the notice, once
given, may be extended, but only by the written agree-
ment of both parties.” Even if that is a plausible
construction of Section 8(g), it is not an inevitable one;
consequently, it cannot displace the Board’s contrary
interpretation. See Holly Farms Corp. v. NLRB, 517
U.S. 392, 401 (1996) (rejecting employer’s “plain lan-
guage” argument that offered “a plausible, but not an
inevitable, construction” of statute).’° Indeed, imposing
such a restrictive construction on Section 8(g)—and
thus constricting by implication the conditions under
which employees may strike—would be particularly
inappropriate given the principle that “any limitation
on the employees’ right to strike against [unfair labor
practices] * * * must be * * * explicit and clear.”

15 NLRB v. Washington Heights-West Harlem-Inwood Mental
Health Council, Inc., 897 F.2d 1238 (2d Cir. 1990), discussed by
petitioners at Pet. 26-29, has little bearing on the instant case. As
petitioners acknowledge (Pet. 28), the court there “found it
unnecessary * * * to directly rule on the Board’s construction” of
Section 8(g). See 897 F.2d at 1246-1247 (finding ineffective union’s
attempt to unilaterally extend strike date because it was not “in
written form” and, in any event, “did not provide twelve-hour
supplementary notice of the time of day that the strike would
begin”). Nor is there “significan{ce]” (Pet. 28) to that court’s dis-
cussion of whether certain types of unfair labor practice strikes are
exempt from Section 8(g). The court expressly declined to resolve
that issue, see 897 F.2d at 1248, and, in any event, the Regional
Director did not rely on such a theory in seeking Section 10()) relief
against petitioners in this case.

20

Mastro Plastics Corp. v. NLRB, 350 U.S. 270, 287
(1956).’°

Moreover, the legislative history of Section 8(g) con-
firms the correctness of the Board’s longstanding con-
struction. Both the Senate and House Reports accom-
panying the bills that became Section 8(g) made it clear
that it was not Congress’s intention that unions “be
required to commence a strike or picketing at the
precise time specified in the notice.” S. Rep. No. 766,
93d Cong., 2d Sess. 4 (1974); H.R. Rep. No. 1051, 93d
Cong., 2d Sess. 5 (1974). To the contrary, the House
and Senate Reports expressly indicate that it would be
permissible for a union to delay its strike by up to 72
hours, so long as “12 hours notice [is] given of the actual
time for commencement of the action.” S. Rep. No. 766,
supra, at 4; H.R. Rep. No. 1051, supra, at 5; see also
Bio-Medical, 240 N.L.R.B. at 484-435 (citing and
quoting additional legislative materials). Petitioners
nowhere dispute that these legislative materials
support the Board’s construction; nor do they offer a
persuasive reason for rejecting the Board’s construc-

6 In addition, because a strike that does not comply with Sec-
tion 8(g) “deprive[s] the strikers of their status as employees,”
Bio-Medical, 240 N.L.R.B. at 435-436, it is reasonable for the
Board to construe the statute in a fashion that avoids such an “un-
warrantedly harsh result,” id. at 436, absent a contrary statutory
directive.

” Petitioners do argue that the Board should not have consulted
the legislative history because Section 8(g) itself is unambiguous
with respect to extensions of strike dates. See Pet. 23. However,
as shown in the text above, see pp. 18-19, swpra, Section 8(g) by no
means declares that agreement of the parties is the exclusive
method for extending a strike notice. And where the statutory
language has an element of ambiguity, an agency’s “consideration
of relevant legislative history” is proper. Mastro Plastics Corp.,
359 U.S. at 287.

21

tiow, and adopting one that directly conflicts with Sec-
tioi 8(g)’s legislative history.”

ec. Besides, the correctness of the Board’s construc-
tion of Section 8(g) is not properly before this Court.
Where a court passes on a Section 10(j) injunction, the
question is not whether the Board has correctly con-
strued the statute that Congress directed it to adminis-
ter; that question may be determined only on review
of the Board’s final orders. Instead, the question is
whether the Board’s construction is sufficiently plausi-
ble to support interim relief. California Pac. Med. Ctr.,
19 F.3d at 460; see also Silverman v. Major League
Baseball Player Relations Comm., Inc., 67 F.3d 1054,
1059 (2d Cir. 1995) (question is whether Board’s legal
theory is “fatally flawed”); Pet. App. C22-C23; 29
U.S.C. 160(e) and (f); NLRB v. Auciello Iron Works,
Inc., 60 F.3d 24 (1st Cir. 1995), aff'd, 517 U.S. 781 (1996).
For that reason, this Court has in the past expressly
declined to reach the merits of a case on review of a
preliminary injunction. See Camenisch, 451 U.S. at
394-398. Here, there can be no doubt that the Board's
reading of Section 8(g)—given the deference owed to
the Board, and the legislative history’s strong support

18 Petitioners’ further suggestion (Pet. 22) that the Board’s in-
terpretation of Section 8(g) renders the statutory language
“completely superfluous” and “meaningless” is wide of the mark.
The Board’s construction fully preserves mutual written agree-
ment as the basic method by which an initial strike date may be
extended; it merely affords an additional mechanism through
which the strike date may be extended, but only for a very short
period (up to 72 hours) and only when there is sufficient notice to
the employer. If the union desires an extension in excess of 72
hours, it must either obtain the employer’s written consent or, if
consent is withheld, issue a new 10-day strike notice. See
California Nurses Ass’n, 315 N.L.R.B. at 468.

22

for the Board’s construction—more than meets the
threshold requirement of sufficient plausibility.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

SETH P. WAXMAN
Solicitor General

FREDERICK L. FEINSTEIN

General Counsel
LINDA SHER

Associate General Counsel
NORTON J. COME

Deputy Associate General

Counsel
JOHN EMAD ARBAB

Attorney

National Labor Relations Board

DECEMBER 1998

APPENDIX A

[Excerpts from decision of Administrative Law
Judge]

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
BEFORE THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
DIVISION OF JUDGES

CASE 6-CA-27873, ET AL.

BEVERLY HEALTH AND REHABILITATION SERVICES,
INC., ITS OPERATING REGIONAL OFFICES, WHOLLY
OWNED SUBSIDIARIES AND INDIVIDUAL FACILITIES AND
EACH OF THEM, AND/OR ITS WHOLLY OWNED
SUBSIDIARY BEVERLY ENTERPRISES—
PENNSYLVANIA, INC., D/B/A BEVERLY MANOR OF
MONROEVILLE, ET AL.

AND

DISTRICT 1199P, SERVICE EMPLOYEES
INTERNATIONAL UNION, AFL-CIO, CLC, ETAL.

DECISION

Statement of the Case

Robert T. Wallace, Administrative Law Judge:
These cases were tried at 6 locations in Pennsylvania
(Scranton, Franklin, Harrisburg, Pittsburgh, Johns-
town and Reading) on 20 days between July 15, 1996
and May 6, 1997.

(la)

2a

The original charge was filed on February 13, 1996}
by District 1199P, Service Employees International
Union, AFL-CIO, CLC. Thereafter numerous addi-
tional charges? were filed by that union and by two
other SEIU affiliated unions (Local 585 and Local 668).
A Consolidated Complaint against the captioned Re-
spondents issued on May 9 and this was succeeded on
June 19 by an Amended Consolidated Complaint, and
the latter was amended up to and through conclusion of
hearings.°

At issue is whether Respondents violated Sections
8(a)(1), (83) and (5) of the National Labor Relations Act
by unilaterally changing terms and conditions of em-
ployment, by: refusing the Unions’ information re-
quests, refusing to bargain over specific issues, delay-
ing grievance processing, and by-passing the Locals and
dealing directly with employees. Also, there are num-
erous allegations of coercive and discriminatory conduct

1 All dates are in 1996 unless otherwise indicated.

2 6—CA-28061, 28073, 27874, 28046, 28075, 28049, 28074, 27876,
28013, 28050, 27877, 28014, 28015, 27878, 28020, 28054, 27879,
28019, 28047, 27880, 28023, 28045, 27881, 28024, 28057, 27882,
28025, 28052, 27883, 28026, 28051, 27884, 28058, 28076, 27889,
28012, 28059, 27890, 28048, 27891, 27892, 28060, 28077, 27893,
28079, 27894, 28053 and 28081.

3 In its brief General Counsel seeks further to amend the com-
plaint to delete paragraph G6 and to include 4 additional charges.
Respondents opposed the latter. The requested deletion is
granted. Inclusion of additional charges is denied. No adequate
reason is advanced as to why inclusion was not sought before close
of the hearing. Failure to do so precluded Respondents from
responding either at trial or on brief. In any event, procedural
fairness would require reopening for that purpose and I see no
compelling need for the attendant delay in disposition of these
proceedings. United Artists Theater, 277 NLRB 115, 130 (19835).

3a

in violation of Section 8(a)(1) and (3) of the Act, include-
ing failing promptly to reinstate approximately 450
employees who engaged in a three day strike beginning
on April 1.

* * * * *

VII. Sufficiency of Strike Notices Under Section 8&(g)

Section 8(g) was added to the Act in 1974 as part of
the Nonprofit Hospital Amendments that extended
coverage to include health care institutions. It pro-
vides, inter alia, that a union must give 10 days written
notice of a strike against such institutions. The 10-day
notice, according to Congressional Committees sponsor-
ing the legislations,®* was intended to give them suffi-
cient advance notice of a strike or picketing to permit
timely arrangements for continuity of patient care.

In this case, the Unions on March 14 and 15 sent to
administrators of 15 of the involved nursing homes®
and the Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service
notices advising that a strike would occur at those
facilities on March 29. It is conceded that those notices
fully comply with Section 8(g).

On March 27, however, other letters were sent to the
same addressees advising that the Unions had ex-
tended the strike deadline by 72 hours, from 7:00 a.m.
March 29 to 6:00 a.m. Monday, April 1. Respondents
contend that the extension of the strike notices does not
comply with “clear and unambiguous language” in the

63'S. Rept 93-766, 98d Cong., 2d Sess. at 4; H. Rept. 93-1051, 93d
Cong., 2d Sess. at 5.

6 Monroeville, Clarion, Fayette, Franklin, Haida, Meadville,
Meyersdale, Mt. Lebanon, Murray, Richland, William Penn, Read-
ing, Lancaster, Caledonia and Carpenter.

4a

concluding sentence of Section 8(g), to wit: “The notice,
once given, may be extended by the written agreement
of both parties.” Since, admittedly, the Unions’ action in
extending the deadline was taken unilaterally, Respon-
dent’s argue that the subsequent 3-day strike com-
mencing on April 1 was unlawful and, consequently,
that they were under no constraint to take back the
approximate 450 employees who participated—even
assuming the strike was in protest against unfair labor
practices.

That precise issue was presented and resolved in the
“Bio-Medical” case, Greater New Orleans Artificial
Kidney Center. 240 NLRB 482 (1979). There the
Board, after citing the following language in the Con-
gressional Committee Reports:®

It is not the intention of the Committee that a labor
organization shall be required to commence a strike
or picketing at the precise time specified in the
notice; on the other hand, it would be inconsistent
with the Committee’s intent if a labor organization
failed to act within a reasonable time after the time
specified in the notice. Thus, it would be unrea-
sonable, in the Committee’s judgment, if a strike or
picketing commenced more than 72 hours after the
time specified in the notice. In addition, since the
purpose of the notice is to give a health care
institution advance notice of the actual commence-
ment of a strike or picketing, if a labor organization
does not strike at the time specified in the notice, at
least 12 hours notice should be given of the actual
time for commencement of the action .. .

6 Ibid, fn. 63.

5a

went on to adopt the 72-hour window and 12-hour ad-
vance notice rule as a parameter for allowing exten-
sions of strike times previously announced in notices
issued under Section 8(g). In this regard, it held that
the rule established a reasonable “substantial compli-
ance” standard needed to avoid an application of Sec-
tion 8(g) that would produce “an unwarrantedly harsh
result [i.e. depriving strikers of protected status] not
intended by the Congress.”

The Bio-Medical precedent has been uniformly fol-
lowed by the Board since 1979. District 1199-E Na-
tional Union of Hospital and Health Care Employees
(Federal Hill Nursing Center, Inc.), 243 NLRB 23
(1979); Bricklayers & Allied Craftsmen, (Lake Shore
Hospital), 252 NLRB 252 (1980); Nurses Ana (City of
Hope), 315 NLRB 468 (1994).

In light of the clear and eonsistent precedent set by
Bio-Medical and its progeny, any change of inter-
pretation in this area is matter for Board determina-
tion; and Respondents’ recourse is at that level. Jowa
Beef Packers, supra. Applying existing policy, I find
that the extensions of the strike notices satisfied the
requirements of Section 8(g).

VIII. Nature of the Strike

At each of the 15 homes that experienced a strike,
issuance of the strike notice and the decision to strike
were put to separate votes at meetings conducted by
the Union representatives. At these meetings, the
Union representatives enumerated the various per-
ceived unfair labor practices at the facility, and in many
cases, apprised the members of similar unfair labor
practices occurring at other facilities as well. The
Union representatives clearly informed the bargaining

6a

unit members that the vote was being undertaken to
protest Respondents’ unfair labor practices. It was
made clear to members that the strike was not in
furtherance of the Unions’ demands in contract negotia-
tions. The testimony of the Union representatives
conducting the meetings at each facility as well as the
testimony of corroborating employee witnesses attend-
ing meetings at each facility is consistent and credible.
It clearly establishes that the employees voted to strike
in protest against persistent and numerous unfair labor
practices which, on this record are shown to have
occurred at each of the 15 facilities.

Further, in addition to striking over Respondent’s
unfair labor practices in their own facilities, the employ-
ees struck in sympathy over unfair labor practices at
the 5 other facilities operated by Respondents. That
aspect of the strike is also protected under the Act. C.
K. Smith & Co., Inc., 227 NLRB 1061, 1072 (1977),
enf’d. 569 F.2d 162, 165-166 (1st Cir. 1977).

Respondents were well aware the strikers were
protesting unfair labor practices. In their notices, the
Unions characterized the strike as an unfair labor
practice strike; and through picket signs and public
statements, the Unions and striking employees amply
conveyed that they were engaged in an unfair labor
practice strike.*6

66 The local Unions had supported a “Dignity” campaign that
made general contract demands for all nursing home workers in
Pennsylvania, including those employed at Respondent facilities as
well as other facilities owned by entities unrelated to Respondent.
Literature and T-shirts supporting the Dignity campaign had the
logo “one contract, one fight.” The fact that some Union members
wore such T-shirts to Union meetings or even on the picket line,

ee

" an > Eeeors
il lait ald in te els

Ta

It is well settled that a strike is considered to be an
unfair labor practice strike as long as one of its objec-
tives is to protest unfair labor practices. Kosher Plaza
Supermarket, 313 NLRB 74, 88 (1993); R & H Coal Co.,
309 NLRB 28 (1992); Northern Wire Corp., 291 NLRB
727, fn. 4 (1988), enfd. 887 F.2d 1313 (7th Cir. 1989).
This being the case, the fact that frustration over the
slow progress of contract negotiations may have played
a part in the strike vote lacks significance.

Having established that that Respondent committed
the numerous and diverse unfair labor practices before
the strike and, further, that the strike was to protest
those unfair labor practices, it follows that Respondents
had an obligation under the Act immediately to rein-
State the strikers to their former positions upon their
unconditional offer to return to work®’ and that their
failure to do so constitutes an additional unfair labor
practice.66 Teledyne Still-Man, 298 NLRB 982, 985

albeit under coats, jackets and rain gear, does not transform what
was clearly an unfair labor practice strike into an economic strike.

*’ Respondents stipulated there was an unconditional offer to
return to work on behalf of every striker. (Tr. 221)

68 At the conclusion of the strike, about 350 former strikers
were completely denied reinstatement and an additional 100 were
not reinstated to their former positions at 15 facilities based upon
Respondents’ claim that it had a right to and did permanently
replace the strikers. After the strike, Respondent continued to
reinstate former strikers only as positions became available, with-
out regard to placing them in their former classification, depart-
ment, number of hours or shift. Typically, a former striker was
first offered reinstatement as a casual (on call) or part-time
employee and only later, if at all, offered a full-time position. As
casual or part-time employees, many former strikers lost their
health insurance and other contractual benefits. In January 1997,
11 months after the three day strike, 66 former strikers still had
not been offered reinstatement in any capacity and 237 former

8a

(1990); American Gypsum Co., 285 NLRB 100 (1987).
It is a violation of Section 8(a)(3) of the Act to fail to
reinstate such strikers. Radio Electric Service Co., 278
NLRB 531, 535 (1986). See also NLRB v. Cast Optics
Corp., 458 F.2d 398, 407-408 (8rd Cir.), cert. denied 409
U.S. 850 (1972); Grondorf, Field, Black & Co., 318
NLRB 996 (1995); Orit Corp., 294 NLRB 695, 699
(1989); Accurate Die Casting Co., 292 NLRB 284 (1989).

* *£ *£ K

Remedy

Having found that the named Respondents have
engaged in unfair labor practices, I find that they must
be ordered to cease and desist and to take certain
affirmative action designed to effectuate the policies of
the Act.

* * * *

Among other things, BHRI and BE-P will be ordered
to offer immediate reinstatement to their former jobs
ali employees who went on strike on April 1 as well as
employees (Sharon Proper, Diane McNulty and Sara
Sharbaugh) found to have been discriminatorily dis-
charged, and to make them and other employees found
to have been wrongfully suspended (Connie Kollar) or
otherwise deprived of income, whole for any loss of
wages and other benefits, computed on a quarterly
basis from date of discharge to date of proper offer of
reinstatement, less any net interim earnings, as pre-
scribed in F. W. Woolworth Co., 90 NLRB 289 (1950),

strikers who were not reinstated to the positions they held before
the strike. In addition, other former strikers were offered rein-
statement to positions that were not their former positions and
which were, for various reasons, unacceptable.

9a

plus interest as computed in New Horizons for the
Retarded, 283 NLRB 1173 (1987).

Because of the Respondents’ wide-ranging and per-
sistent misconduct, demonstrating a general disregard
for the employees’ fundamental rights, I find it neces-
sary to issue a broad Order requiring them to cease and
desist from infringing in any other manner on rights
guaranteed employees by Section 7 of the Act. Hick-
mott Foods, 242 NLRB 1357 (1979).

Disposition

On these findings of fact and conclusions of law and
on the entire record, I issue the following two re-
commended Orders®?

ORDER
(BE-P)

Respondent Beverly Enterprises—Pennsylvania, Inc.
(BE-P), of Leesburg, Virginia, its officers, agents,
successors, and assigns, at the following nursing homes
in Pennsylvania: Beverly Manor of Monroeville, Clarion
Care Center, Fayette Health Care (Uniontown),
Franklin Care Center (Waynesburg), Grandview
Health Care (Oil City), Haida Manor (Hastings), Mead-
ville Care Center, Meyersdale Manor, Richland Manor
(Johnstown), Beverly Manor of Reading (Mt./Penn),
Caledonia Manor (Fayettsville), Camp Hill Care Cen-
ter, Carpenter Care Center (Tunkhannock), York Ter-
race Nursing Center (Pottsville), shall:

69 If no exceptions are filed as provided by Sec. 102.46 of the
Board’s Rules and Regulations, the findings, conclusions, and re-
commended Order shall, as provided in Sec. 102.48 of the Rules, be
adopted by the Board and all objections to them shall be deemed
waived for all purposes.

10a

1. Cease and desist from

(a) Failing to reinstate unfair labor practice strikers
immediately upon receipt of their unconditional offer to
return to work.

(b) Ceasing to allow union representatives access to
the above facilities as required under provisions of a
collective bargaining agreement.

(c) Ceasing to allow posting of union-related notices
on bulletin boards in those facilities as required under
provisions of a collective bargaining agreement.

(d) Adopting a health insurance plan for employees
without affording to their bargaining representative
adequate prior notice and opportunity for bargaining.

(e) Reducing employees’ hours of work and
overtime opportunities without affording to their
bargaining representative adequate prior notice and
opportunity for bargaining.

(d) Laying off employees without affording to their
bargaining representative adequate prior notice and
opportunity for bargaining.

(e) Eliminating unit positions and assigning unit
work to non-unit employees without affording to their
bargaining representative adequate prior notice and
opportunity for bargaining.

(f) Requiring employees to work overtime and, for
some, eliminating opportunities for voluntary overtime
without affording to their bargaining representative
adequate prior notice and opportunity for bargaining.

7
i
S
*
%
om
&
3
Cs
as
ve.

lla

(g) Failing to give employees’ bargaining rep-
resentatives adequate prior notice and opportunity for
bargaining before changing contractual terms and
conditions of employment, including: work schedules
and advance posting requirements with respect there-
to, absentee policies, the period required for doctor
certification of absences for illness, rules relative to
vacation scheduling and duration, and job descriptions.

(h) Failing to honor union bargaining requests.

(i) Bypassing appropriate union representative
and dealing directly with unit employees.

) Failing to comply with union requests for in-
formation relevant and necessary for collective bar-
gaining.

(k) Failing to process grievances in a timely man-
ner.

(1) Engaging in and threatening unlawful surveil-
lance of employees’ union activities.

(m) Threatening employees with discipline and dis-
charge for supporting unions and for complaining about
working conditions.

(n) Threatening to grant wage increases to replace-
ment workers in the event of a strike.

(0) Soliciting and impliedly promising to remedy
employee grievances.

(p) Disparaging employees from engaging in the
protected concerted action of protesting perceived

12a

unfair working conditions by calling them “assholes and
fucking idiots.”

(q) Prohibiting employees from leaving union lit-
erature in the breakroom and prematurely removing it
therefrom and from selling union insignia at offduty
times in the breakroom.

(r) Suspending employee Connie Kollar for urging
other employees to support the union.

(s) Changing the job description of unionized
Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs) without affording to
their bargaining representative adequate prior notice
and opportunity for bargaining, and for discriminatory
reasons.

(t) Refusing to respond to an information request
of the union relative to the changes in LPN status and
refusing to bargain and dealing directly with LPNs
about the changes.

(u) Changing LPN work and vacation schedules
without affording to their bargaining representative
adequate prior notice and opportunity for bargaining.

(v) Refusing to allow a duly selected employee
union representative to attend an [sic] a labor-manage-
ment meeting.

(w) Reducing the working hours of employee
Beverly Higbee for engaging in union activities.

(x) Discharging LPNs Sharon Proper, Diane
McNulty and Sara Sharbaugh for actively supporting
unionization and to deter others from doing so.

RT

13a

(y) In any other manner interfering with, restrain-
ing, or coercing employees in the exercise of the rights
guaranteed them by Section 7 of the Act.

2. Take the following affirmative action necessary to
effectuate the policies of the Act.

(a) Within 14 days from the date of this Order
offer full reinstatement to their former jobs Sharon
Proper, Diane McNulty and Sara Sharbaugh as well as
all employees who participated in the unfair labor
practice strike which commenced on April 1, 1996
without prejudice to their seniority or any other rights
or privileges previously enjoyed; and make them whole,
with interest, for any loss of earnings and other benefits
suffered as a result of the discrimination against them
in the manner set forth in the Remedy section of the
decision.

(b) On request, rescind all unilateral actions here
found to have been effected in violation of collective
bargaining obligations and make any employee ad-
versely affected by those actions, or by unlawful dis-
criminations, whole for any loss of earnings and other
benefits suffered as a result thereof in the manner set
forth in the Remedy section of the decision.

(c) Within 14 days from the date of this Order,
remove from its files any reference to the unlawful
discharges and the suspension of Connie Kollar and
within 3 days thereafter notify the employees in writing
that this has been done and that the discharges/
suspension will not be used against them in any way.

(d) Preserve and, within 14 days of a request,
make available to the Board or its agents for examina-

l4a

tion and copying, all payroll records, social security
payment records, timecards, personnel records and
reports, and all other records necessary to analyze the
amount =f backpay due under the terms of this Order.

(e) Within 14 days after service by the Region,
post at the nursing homes named above copies of the
attached notice marked “Appendix.””° Copies of the
notice, on forms provided by the Regional Director for
Region 6, after being signed by the Respondent’s
authorized representative, shall be posted by the
Respondent immediately upon receipt and maintained
for 60 consecutive days in conspicuous places including
all places where notices to employees are customarily
posted. Reasonable steps shall be taken by the Respon-
dent to ensure that the notices are not altered, defaced,
or covered by any other material.

(f) | Within 21 days after service by the Region, file
with the Regional Director a sworn certification of a
responsible official on a form provided by the Region
attesting to the steps that the Respondent has taken to
comply.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the consolidated
complaint is dismissed insofar as it alleges violations of
the Act not specifically found in relation to this Respon-
dent

If this Order is enforced by a Judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals, the words in the notice reading “POSTED BY
ORDER OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD”
shall read “POSTED PURSUANT TO A JUDGMENT OF THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS ENFORCING AN
ORDER OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD.”

SE ee ee RR REE TT eM ye

15a-

Issues concerning whether remedies should extend
to any or all of the interrelated Beverly companies, in-
cluding Respondents BHRI and BE-P, because of
asserted common responsibility for the unfair labor
practices, are hereby severed and reserved for resolu-
tion by me in a separate supplemental proceeding.

ORDER
(BHRI)

Respondent Beverly Health and Rehabilitation Ser-
vices, Inc. (BHRI), of Ft. Smith, Arkansas, its officers,
agents, successors, and assigns, at the following nursing
homes in Pennsylvania: Mt. Lebanon Manor, Murray
Manor (Murrysville), William Penn (Lewistown), Bev-
erly Manor of Lancaster, Blue Ridge Haven Convale-
scent Center (Camp Hill), and Stroud Manor (Strouds-
burg), shall:

1. Cease and desist from

(a) Failing to reinstate unfair labor practice
strikers immediately upon receipt of their unconditional
offer to return to work.

(b) Ceasing to allow union representatives access to
the above facilities as required under provisions of a
collective bargaining agreement.

(c) Ceasing to allow posting of union-related
notices on bulletin boards in those facilities as required
under provisions of a collective bargaining agreement.

(d) Laying off employees without affording to their
bargaining representative adequate prior notice and
opportunity for bargaining.

16a

(e) Reducing employees’ hours of work and over-
time opportunities without affording to their bargain-
ing representative adequate prior notice and opportu-
nity for bargaining.

(f) Requiring employees to return home and
retrieve their identification badges before permitting
them to work without affording to their bargaining
representative adequate prior notice and opportunity
for bargaining.

(g) Eliminating unit positions and assigning unit
work to non-unit employees without affording to their
bargaining representative adequate prior notice and
opportunity for bargaining.

(h) Engaging in unlawful surveillance of employees’
union activities.

(i) Changing the break schedule of union sup-
porters to inhibit their ability to engage in union
related activities at the facilities.

(j) Coercively soliciting employees to resign from
union membership, interrogating them about their
willingness to strike, and threatening them with re-
duced hours if they did so.

(k) Reducing employees’ hours to discourage them
from continuing to support the union.

(1) In any other manner interfering with, restrain-
ing, or coercing employees in the exercise of the rights
guaranteed them by Section 7 of the Act.

2. Take the following affirmative action necessary
to effectuate the policies of the Act.

17a

(a) Within 14 days from the date of this Order offer
all employees who participated in the unfair labor prac-
tice strike which commenced on April 1, 1996 full rein-
statement to their former jobs without prejudice to
their seniority or any rights or privileges previously
enjoyed; and make them whole, with interest, for any
loss of earnings and other benefits suffered as a result
of the unlawful discrimination against them in the
manner set forth in the remedy section of the decision.

(b) On request, rescind all unilateral actions here
found to have been effected in violation of collective
bargaining obligations and make any employee ad-
versely affected by those actions, or by unlawful dis-
criminations, whole for any loss of earnings and other
benefits suffered as a result thereof in the manner set
forth in the Remedy section of the decision.

(c) Preserve and, within 14 days of a request, make
available to the Board or its agents for examination and
copying, all payroll records, social security payment
records, timecards, personnel records and reports, and
all other records necessary to analyze the amount of
backpay due under the terms of this Order.

(d) Within 14 days after service by the Region, post
at the nursing homes named above copies of the
attached notice marked “Appendix.”7! Copies of the
notice, on forms provided by the Regional Director for
Region 6, after being signed by the Respondent’s

" If this Order is enforced by a Judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals, the words in the notice reading “POSTED BY
ORDER OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD”
shall read “POSTED PURSUANT TO A JUDGMENT OF THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS ENFORCING AN
ORDER OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD.”

18a

authorized representative, shall be posted by the
Respondent immediately upon receipt and maintained
for 60 consecutive days in conspicuous places including
all places where notices to employees are customarily
posted. Reasonable steps shall be taken by the Re-
spondent to ensure that the notices are not altered,
defaced, or covered by any other material.

(f) Within 21 days after service by the Region, file
with the Regional Director a sworn certification of a
responsible official en a form provided by the Region
attesting to the steps that the Respondent has taken to
comply.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the consolidated
complaint is dismissed insofar as it alleges violations of
the Act not specifically found in relation to this Respon-
dent

Issues concerning whether remedies should extend
to any or all of the interrelated Beverly companies, in-
cluding Respondents BHRI and BE-P, because of
asserted common responsibility for the unfair labor
practices, are hereby severed and reserved for resolu-
tion by me in a separate supplemental proceeding.

Dated, Washington, D.C. November 26, 1997

/s/ ROBERT T. WALLACE

ROBERT T. WALLACE
Administrative Law Judge

19a

APPENDIX B

[Excerpts from Court of Appeals Supplemental
Appendix]

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Docket Nos. 97-3200 AND 97-3357

GERALD KOBELL, REGIONAL DIRECTOR FOR REGION
SIX OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD FOR
AND ON BEHALF OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS

BOARD, APPELLEE/CROSS-APPELLANT

VS.

BEVERLY HEALTH AND REHABILITATION SERVICES,
INC., ITS OPERATING REGIONAL OFFICES, WHOLLY
OWNED SUBSIDIARIES AND INDIVIDUAL FACILITIES
AND EACH OF THEM, AND/OR ITS WHOLLY-OWNED
SUBSIDIARY BEVERLY E\NTERPRISES-PENNSYLVANIA,
INC.; D/B/A BEVERLY MANOR OF MONROEVILLE, D/B/A
CLARION CARE CENTER, D/B/A FAYETTE HEALTH
CARE CENTER, D/B/A FRANKLIN CARE CENTER, D/B/A
GRANDVIEW HEALTH CARE, D/B/A HAIDA MANOR,
D/B/A MEADVILLE CARE CENTER, D/B/A MEYERSDALE
MANOR, D/B/A MT. LEBANON CONVALESCENT CENTER,
D/B/A MURRAY MANOR, D/B/A RICHLAND MANOR, D/B/A
WILLIAM PENN NURSING CENTER, D/B/A BEVERLY
MANOR OF READING, 2/B/A BEVERLY MANOR OF
LANCASTER, D/B/A BLUE RIDGE HAVEN
CONVALESCENT CENTER WEST, D/B/A CALEDONIA
MANOR, D/B/A CAMP HILL CARE CENTER, D/B/A
CARPENTER CARE CENTER, D/B/A STROUD MANOR
D/B/A YORK TERRACE NURSING CENTER,
APPELLANTS/CROSS-APPELLEES

Ce ee Se Or es

a iain

b

PL Saad kalestacchalsh Bt Secu aashie wa aiepaela

- tp es ies

20a

APPEAL FROM THE MEMORANDUM AND ORDER
ISSUED APRIL 14, 1997 BY THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF
PENNSYLVANIA IN CASE NO. 96-1280

SUPPLEMENTAL APPENDIX
LITTLER, MENDELSON, P.C.
WARREN M. DAVISON
THOMAS P. DOWD

World Trade Center, Suite 1653
Baltimore, Maryland 21202-3905
(410) 528-9545

STIPULATION

Counsel for Appellants/Cross-Appellees’ and counsel
for Appellee/Cross-Appellant hereby enter into the
following Stipulation regarding the documents in
Supplemental Appendix pages SA.4-64:

1. On or about June 28, 1997, Appellants in Docket
Nos. 97-8200 and 97-3357, entered into collective
bargaining agreements with the respective unions who

1 Counsel for the parties in this litigation differ as to whether
Beverly Health and Rehabilitation Services, Inc. et al. should be
identified as a single entity (Appellant/Cross-Appellee) or as a
collection of separate entities (Appellants/Cross-Appellees). For
purposes of this Stipulation, Beverly Health and Rehabilitation
Services, Inc. et al. will be referred to Appellants/Cross-Appellees,
but counsel for the parties agree that this designation is being
made in this Stipulation solely for convenience and does not con-
stitute a waiver by either party of its arguments regarding single
employer status or the correct designation of Beverly Health and
Rehabilitation Services, Inc. et al. in connection with this Appeal
and Cross-Appeal.

6 NS SLE OES ER ie ot Bs) SBE Lica

2la

represented units of employees at those facilities
involved in this case, except for Grandview Healthcare
and the LPN unit at Mt. Lebanon Manor Convalescent
Center.

Ro ee: a oe

5. The document entitled Attachment #8 identified at
Supplemental Appendix page SA.64 is a true and
correct copy of an Agreement entered into between the
Appellants in this litigation and the respective unions
who represent units of employees at the facilities
covered by this appeal. This Agreement provides that
the Grandview Healthcare facility and the LPN unit at
Mt. Lebanon Manor Convalescent Center facilities will
have similar contract terms as set forth in the
Agreement if the unions prevail in the pending Na-
tional Labor Relations Board proceedings. In those
pending proceedings, Appellant withdrew recognition
from the unions representing the service and main-
tenance employees at Grandview Healthcare and repre-
senting the LPN unit at Mt. Lebanon Manor Convales-
cent Center.

22a

IT ISSO STIPULATED.

/s/

JUDITH KATZ by TPD
Ellen Farrell

Judith Katz

Margaret Luke

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
1099 14th Street, NW

Washington, D.C. 20570-0001

Counsel for Appellee/Cross-Appellant

/s/ WARREN M. DAVISON

WARREN M. DAVISON
LITTLER MENDELSON

A Professional Corporation
World Trade Center, Suite 1653
Baltimore, Maryland 21202-3005
(410) 528-9545

Counsel for Appellants/Cross-Appellees

Dated: August 15, 1997

t
x
4
#

23a
peo eee ey

REINSTATEMENT AGREEMENT

Notwithstanding the pending litigation relating to the
1996 strike, or the term of this Agreement, the Em-
ployer agrees to complete the reinstatement of all
strikers to their former positions prior to the strike, as
required by the 10(j) injunction, regardless of the
outcome of this litigation. Accordingly, these indivi-
duals will be restored to the status of regular em-
ployees within their respective bargaining units for all
employment purposes. Entitlement to backpay, senior-
ity accrual, or reimbursement for any expenses caused
by a loss of benefit coverage during the period between
the end of the strike and their reinstatement shall be
determined through the pending litigation. If em-
ployees returning to work request different positions
from their former position prior to the strike, granting
such request shall not be considered a violation of this
section.

For the Employer For the Union

Date Date

24a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF
PENNSYLVANIA

Civil No. 96-1280

CSRALD KOBELL, REGIONAL DIRECTOR FOR
REGION SIX OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS
BOARD FOR AND ON BEHALF OF THE NATIONAL
LABOR RELATIONS BOARD, PETITIONER

v.

BEVERLY HEALTH AND REHABILITATION SERVICES,
INC., ITS OPERATING REGIONAL OFFICES, WHOLLY
OWNED SUBSIDIARIES AND INDIVIDUAL FACILITIES
AND EACH OF THEM, AND/OR ITS WHOLLY-OWNED
SUBSIDIARY BEVERLY ENTERPRISES-PENNSYLVANIA,
INC.; D/B/A BEVERLY MANOR OF MONROEVILLE; D/B/A
CLARION CARE CENTER; D/B/A FAYETTE HEALTH
CARE CENTER; D/B/A FRANKLIN CARE CENTER; D/B/A
GRANDVIEW HEALTH CARE; D/B/A HAIDA MANOR;
p/B/A MEADVILLE CARE CENTER; D/B/A/ MEYERSDALE
MANOR; D/B/A/ MT. LEBANON CONVALESCENT CENTER;
pD/B/A MURRAY MANOR; D/B/A RICHLAND MANOR; D/B/A
WILLIAM PENN NURSING CENTER; D/B/A BEVERLY
MANOR OF READING; D/B/A BEVERLY MANOR OF
LANCASTER; D/B/A BLUE RIDGE HAVEN
CONVALESCENT CENTER WEST; D/B/A CALEDONIA
MANOR; D/B/A CAMP HILL CARE CENTER; D/B/A
CARPENTER CARE CENTER; D/B/A STROUD MANOR;
p/B/A YORK TERRACE NURSING CENTER; RESPONDENT

Consent Order Extending Injunction

AND NOW, this 3d day of October, 1997, upon
consideration of Petitioner’s amended motion to extend
injunction and Beverly Health and Rehabilitation
Services, Inc., et al.’s consent thereto, it is hereby
ORDERED that the motion is granted and the
injunction is extended for a period of 60 days from
October 4, 1997 and will expire on December 4, 1997,
subject to the right of Petitioner to move to extend it as
set forth in the order granting the injunction.

/s/ D. BROOKS SMITH
D. BROOKS SMITH
United States District
Judge

26a
APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF
PENNSYLVANIA

Civil No. 96-1280

GERALD KOBELL, REGIONAL DIRECTOR FOR
REGION SIX OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS
BOARD FOR AND ON BEHALF OF THE NATIONAL
LABOR RELATIONS BOARD, PETITIONER

Vv.

BEVERLY HEALTH AND REHABILITATION SERVICES,
INC., ITS OPERATING REGIONAL OFFICES, WHOLLY
OWNED SUBSIDIARIES AND INDIVIDUAL FACILITIES
AND EACH OF THEM, AND/OR ITS WHOLLY-OWNED
SUBSIDIARY BEVERLY ENTERPRISES-PENNSYLVANIA,
INC.; D/B/A BEVERLY MANOR OF MONROEVILLE; D/B/A
CLARION CARE CENTER; D/B/A FAYETTE HEALTH
CARE CENTER; D/B/A FRANKLIN CARE CENTER; D/B/A
GRANDVIEW HEALTH CARE; D/B/A HAIDA MANOR;
D/B/A MEADVILLE CARE CENTER; D/B/A/ MEYERSDALE
MANOR; D/B/A/ MT. LEBANON CONVALESCENT CENTER;
D/B/A MURRAY MANOR; D/B/A RICHLAND MANOR; D/B/A
WILLIAM PENN NURSING CENTER; D/B/A BEVERLY
MANOR OF READING; D/B/A BEVERLY MANOR OF
LANCASTER; D/B/A BLUE RIDGE HAVEN
CONVALESCENT CENTER WEST; D/B/A CALEDONIA
_ MANOR; D/B/A CAMP HILL CARE CENTER; D/B/A
CARPENTER CARE CENTER; D/B/A STROUD MANOR;
D/B/A YORK TERRACE NURSING CENTER; RESPONDENT

27a

nt Or F er Extending Injunction

AND NOW, this 2nd day of December, 1997, upon
consideration of Petitioner’s motion to ‘urther extend
injunction, it appearing that there is good cause for the
extension, it is hereby ORDERED that the motion is
granted and the injunction is further extended for a
period of six months from December 4, 1997 and will
expire on May 4, 1998, subject to the right of Petitioner
to move to extend it as set forth in the order granting
the injunction.

/s/ D. BROOKS SMITH

D. BROOKS SMITH
United States District
Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1629%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
