# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Volkema v. Michigan

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1534%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 1040

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

(1) FILED

= 98 888 SEP 2-199
“"ORICE OF THE CLERK

In the

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1997

—G-~

RUSSELL H. VOLKEMA and LOIS J. VOLKEMA,
Petitioners,
Vv.

STATE OF MICHIGAN; DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES, and ROLAND HARMES, Director of
Department of Natural Resources,

Respondents.

sa.
vv

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Court of Appeals of the State of Michigan

sa
bf

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

a
“vr

R S. RADFORD
Counsel of Record
Pacific Legal Foundation
2151 River Plaza Drive,

Suite 305

Sacramento, California 95833
Telephone: .(916) 641-8888
Facsimile: (916) 920-3444

Counsel for Petitioners

QUESTION PRESENTED

When the government puts a discrete, aici viable
6-acre parcel of land to public use for wetlands preservation,
thereby depriving the owners of all economically beneficial use
of their property, may the government avoid the constitutional
requirement of just compensation merely because the 6-acre
segment is included within a larger, 24.6-acre tract?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ae ee Ca ks be otis bpd da 40am ee i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED .................. Vv
ION > aston bahia sip alildaiene dues Wid Gertie’ ]
BR Ee ry a ee een I
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
Pe ae MNES Se xs nae eS eae Oa sea dab eaas l
SEA PREECE GAN SEU MAGNO 6 is ce Ee We ei ica ees cus 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ......... 6
1. THIS CASE INVOLVES AN IMPORTANT

QUESTION OF FEDERAL CONSTITU-

TIONAL LAW LEFT OPEN BY LUCAS v.

SOUTH CAROLINA COASTAL COUNCIL

THAT MUST BE RESOLVED BY THIS

A GPRIWES 0 w.0cka Gk a Dba eR eC AA 45485 6’ 6

A. When the Government Deprives an Owner
of All Beneficial Use of a Discrete,
Independently Viable Segment of Real
Property, Lucas’ Per Se Takings Rule
SOUT CP UI i i ise oa bh bce ocean 9

1. When the State Asserts and Exercises
Complete Dominion over a Discrete,
Well-Defined Segment of Land, Lucas”
Categorical Takings Rule Should Be
SUE Sk vee eh ech awake 10

2. A Categorical Taking Should Be Found
When Regulations Destroy All Bene-
ficial Use of What Was Previously an
Independently Viable Segment of Real

ili
Page

3. A Consistent Application of the
Takings Clause Should Not
Countenance the Complete
Extinguishment of an Owner’s
Reasonable Investment-Backed
Expectations Merely Because Other
Property Segments Are Also Owned ..... 13

4. The Rationale for Finding a Compen-
sable Partial Taking Is Strengthened
Where, as Here, There Is No Nexus
Between the Regulatory Burden Placed
on the Segment Taken and the Owner’s
Use of the Remainder of the Tract ....... 14

5. The Complete Usurpation of an
Owner's Rights to the Use of a
Discrete Segment of Real Property Is
Qualitatively Different from a Mere
Reduction in the Value of a Larger
Parcel of Which it Is a Part, and Should
Not Be Analyzed Under the Same Rule
og ar ee ae 15

B. When the Government Requires that a
Discrete Segment of Private Property Must
Be Used for a Public Purpose, Compensa-
tion Should Be Required Under Lucas ....... 17

iv
Page

ll. THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH
OPINIONS OF THE OREGON SUPREME
COURT AND THE UNITED STATES
COURTS OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH
AND FEDERAL CIRCUITS IN THEIR
TREATMENT OF TAKINGS CLAIMS
BROUGHT UNDER THE FIFTH
FEE hihi toe nent viake a's ee se ots 20

A. The Oregon Supreme Court Has Found a
Taking Where Environmental Regulations
Required that a Discrete Segment of a
Larger Tract Be Used for Endangered
RE EOS 20

B. The Opinion Below Conflicts with the
Federal Circuit’s Decision in Loveladies
BP RCs Pec Eek Lee kk ccc eww 22

C. The Decision Below Conflicts with the
Ninth Circuit’s Decision in American

et ye te eee 26

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Page
Cases
American Savings and Loan Association v.

County of Marin, 653 F.2d 364

Er og Ca He yg 0 dois « 23-25, 27
Boise Cascade Corporation v. Board of Forestry,

eR MS: ee ee ree 20-21, 27
Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994) .......... 14
Fifth Avenue Corp. v. Washington County,

ee ee PPP CC IN Gt sok ict cco e ees 24
Hadacheck v. Sebastian, 239 U.S. 394(1915) ......... 16
Kaiser Development Co. v. City and County of

Honolulu, 649 F. Supp. 926 (D. Haw. 1986),

aff'd, 898 F.2d 112 (9th Cir. 1990)................ 25
Keystone Bituminous Coal Association v.

DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470 (1987) ............ 15, 19
Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV

em A ts a 10, 17, 26
Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v. United States,

28 F.3d 1171 (Fed. Cir. 1994) .............. 22-23, 27
Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council,

A Te. a eae 3-9, 11-16, 26-27
Nectow v. Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183 (1928) ........ 24-25
Nollan v. California Coastal Commission,

on kc es 6 14

Penn Central Transportation Corp. v. City of
New York, 438 U.S. 104 (19738) ......... 4-5, 11, 13, 16

vi

Page
Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon,
Oe Er ID tea Goa bie ww CRORES ed eas 19
Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co..,
Pe rte Wo awe eames cases 15

Volkema v. Department of Natural Resources,
See es Be EE Wein ch cones panes nes l

United States Constitution

aren AMM a os as as eek ek ess passim
Michigan Constitution
Art. 4, § 52 see eee ee eee eee eee eee ees 18
Statutes
BO US Se: GRO oo es we Ree e he Oi xedlokhs ces k l
MICH. COMP. LAWS ANN. Chap. 324 § 30323 .......... 18
Rules
RR 8 RE ere a nee l
Miscellaneous

Richard A. Epstein, Takings: Private Property
and the Power of Eminent Domain (1985) ......... 7-8

John E. Fee, Comment, Unearthing the
Denominator in Regulatory Takings Claims,
61.0. COL b. Ra Sere ree? iis edacsess.. 11-12

Ann T. Kadlecek, Note, The Effect of Lucas v.
South Carolina Coastal Council on the Law of
Regulatory Takings, 68 Wash. L. Rev. 415
I Ue ey ea ae 13

Vii

Page
Marc R. Lisker, Regulatory Takings and the “|
| Denominator Problem, 27 Rutgers L. J. 663
SN C5950 + el WANE BEDE by sv vcs cece se 7

Roger Pilon, Property Rights, Takings, and a Free
Society, in Public Choice and Constitutional

Economics 151 (J. Gwartney & R. Wagner eds,
EE era's ibpaab mul cena inde Seleky sa de 10

Jed Rubenfeld, Usings, 102 Yale L.J. 1077 (1993) ...

]

Petitioners Russell H. Volkema and Lois J. Volkema
respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review the ——__
judgment and opinion of the Michigan Court of Appeals, entered
in the above-entitled proceeding on October 20, 1995.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Court of Appeals of the State of
Michigan is reported as Volkema v. Department of Natural
Resources, 542 N.W. 2d 282 (1995), and is reproduced—as—
Appendix (App.) B. The final judgment of the Michigan Court
of Claims is unreported and is reproduced as Appendix C. Page

references are to the versions in the appendices.
JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Court of Appeals of the State of
Michigan which is the subject of this petition was filed and
entered on October 20, 1995. App. B. The order of the
Michigan Supreme Court denying Petitioners’ application for
leave to appeal was entered on June 9, 1998. App. A. The
Michigan Court of Appeals considered and decided the question
of whether the state’s denial of all economically beneficial use
of an approximately six-acre segment of Petitioners’ land com-
prised an uncompensated regulatory taking of Petitioners’
property in violation of the Fifth Amendment to the United
States Constitution. This petition for writ of certiorari has been
timely filed in accordance with Rule 13.1 of the Rules of this
Court. This Court has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to
28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in pertinent part, “private property [shall not] be taken x:
for public use, without just compensation.”

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Russell and Lois Volkema (Volkemas) own 24.6 acres of
commercial property in Kentwood, Michigan.' This land was
originally part of a larger parcel the Volkemas had been
progressively developing since they acquired the property in
1963.2 The Volkemas made extensive investments in infra-
structure over the years, and the property has an assessed value
in excess of $20,000 per acre.’ The property is zoned commer-
cial and is situated in a prime commercial development area.*

Seventeen years after the Volkemas acquired and began
developing their property, the State of Michigan adopted the
Wetland Protection Act.° Under authority of this Act, the
Michigan Department of Natura! Resources classified 4.3 acres
of the Volkemas’ property as wetlands.°

In 1991, the Volkemas proceeded with plans to complete
development of their 24.6 acres as a water park, in conjunction
with such a park already operating on a contiguous 10-acre
parcel. This final stage of development would require filling the
4.3 acres of wetlands. When the Volkemas applied to the
Michigan Department of Natural Resources (MDNR) for the
necessary permits, however, their applications were denied.’

' App. B-1.
2 Id.

* App. F-1-2.
* App. D-1.
> App. B-2.
® Id.

” App. F-2.

3

The effect of MDNR’s denial was to require the 4.3 acres
to be used exclusively for wetlands preservation. The denial
deprived the Volkemas of all economically beneficial use of the
irregularly shaped 4.3-acre parcel. In order to square off the
boundaries of the preservation area, a surrounding 1.4 acres of
the Volkemas’ land was also rendered useless to them.*

In response to this loss of all productive use of approxi-
mately six acres of commercial property, the Volkemas sued
MDNR in the Michigan Court of Claims for a regulatory taking
of their property. Relying on this Court’s holding in Lucas v.
South Carolina Coastal Council,’ the Volkemas argued that the
uncompensated denial of all economically viable use of a
discrete, well-defined six-acre segment of their property com-
prised a categorical violation of the Takings Clause.'° The
federal question now being brought to this Court was first raised
in Petitioners’ complaint,'’ and was forcefully urged at each step
of the proceedings in the trial court and court of appeals.’*

Just as the trial court in Lucas found the property in that
case to be rendered “valueless” by the Beachfront Management
Act," the trial court below found that MDNR’s wetlands classi-
fication and permit denial ieft the affected segment of the

® App. D-1.
® 505 U.S. 1003 (1992).
” App. D-2-3.

'"' Complaint, Court of Claims Case No. 91-13914-CM, dated
October 29, 1991, at 4.

Brief of Plaintiffs/Appellants, Michigan Court of Appeals
No. 1598230, dated February 19, 1993, at 2.

8 505 U.S. at 1007.

4

Volkemas’ land “unusable.”'* However, the trial court held that
the relevant parcel for purposes of Fifth Amendment takings
analysis was not the 4.3 acres the state required to be utilized as
a wetlands preserve, nor the 6 acres that MDNR’s permit denial
had rendered unusable to the Volkemas, but the Volkemas’
entire 24.6-acre holding. The court analogized the denial of all
beneficial use of a discrete segment of the Volkemas’ property
to ordinary zoning setback requirements “that limit or prohibit
the ability of an owner to develop part of their property.”'°
Because the state “only” required one-fourth of the Volkemas”
total holdings to be used exclusively for wetlands preservation,
the court found no taking had occurred."*

The Michigan Court of Appeals affirmed. Citing to Lucas,
the appellate panel acknowledged that because of MDNR’s
actions the Volkemas had been “deprived of all the economically
beneficial use of their land.”'’ Nevertheless, the court below
found no taking had occurred. Referring to this Court’s opinion
in Penn Central Transportation Corp. v. City of New York,"* the
court of appeals affirmed that the relevant parcel for determining
takings liability consisted of the Volkemas” entire 24.6 acre
holding:

We conclude it would be contrary to the holding in
Penn Central to extract portions of a property and

* App. D-1.
'S App. D-3.
-

” App. B-4.

® 438 U.S. 104, 130 (1978).

5

examine those portions piecemeal when determining
the effect of a land-use regulation on the property.'°

In dissent, Judge Sawyer ‘pointed out a key distinction
between cases such as this one, in which regulations carve out
a discrete segment of land and press it into public use, and those
in which regulatory restrictions merely diminish the value of
some overall larger tract.

The effect of the Wetland Protection Act. . . and of
defendant's denial of a fill permit is to preclude
utterly the use of a portion of plaintiffs’ property.
Plaintiffs are not free to choose what portion of their
property to develop. Rather, the regulation allows
development of a specific portion of the property and
absolutely precludes the development of another
portion of the property.”°

Under these circumstances, where the state’s regulations
have themselves divided real property into independent, discrete
segments and pressed one of the newly defined parcels into
public service, a taking should be found “with respect to the
identifiable portion which cannot be used.””’

For purposes of applying Lucas’ categorical takings rule,
the dissent below recognized that it is not constitutionally
relevant whether the land owner possesses other holdings in
addition to what the state has converted to public use by
operation of its' regulations.

What is relevant is that the government has deter-
mined that a public purpose would be served by
denying the rightful owner of the property the use of

" App. B-8 n.7.
® App. B-12 (Sawyer, J., dissenting) (citation omitted).

2! App. B-13 (Sawyer, J., dissenting).

6

that property and requiring it to be used, or in this
case not used, in accordance with that public purpose.
While the government is permitted to do this, it must
compensate the property owner for putting the
property to public use. Our historical protection of
private property in the constitution allows no less.”

The Michigan Supreme Court held the Volkemas’
application for leave to appeal in abeyance for 14 months, finally
denying it on June 9, 1998.7". The Volkemas now file this
petition for writ of certiorari, hoping that this Court will take up
the important constitutional issue it left open in Lucas and
decide whether a categorical violation of the Takings Clause
occurs where a discrete, well-defined segment of real property
is carved out and devoted exclusively to public use by operation
of environmental or other land use regulations.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION
I

THIS CASE INVOLVES AN IMPORTANT
QUESTION OF FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL
LAW LEFT OPEN BY LUCAS v. SOUTH
CAROLINA COASTAL COUNCIL THAT MUST
BE RESOLVED BY THIS COURT

In Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, this Court
declared that land use restrictions that deprive owners of all
economically beneficial use of their property trigger the
requirement for just compensation under the Takings Clause of
the Fifth Amendment.” The Lucas opinion candidly admitted,
however, that

7"

2 App. A.

* Lucas, 505 U.S. 1003.

7

the rhetorical force of our “deprivation of all econom-
ically feasible use” rule is greater than its precision,
since the rule does not make clear the “property
interest” against which the loss of value is to be
measured. When, for example, a regulation requires
a developer to leave 90% of a rural tract in its natural
State, it is unclear whether we would analyze the
situation as one in which the owner has been
deprived of all economically beneficial use of the
burdened portion of the tract, or as one in which the
owner has suffered a mere diminution in value of the
tract as a whole.”

The uncertainty surrounding this issue has imposed heavy costs
on property owners, as illustrated by the case at bar. Petitioners
respectfully submit that the time has come for this Court to
revisit the issue of partial categorical takings left open in Lucas.
in particular, Petitioners urge this Court to clarify that Lucas’
categorical takings rule comes into play whenever a discrete,
independently viable segment of real property is carved out of a
larger parcel and put to exclusively public use by operation of
State land use controls.

The so-called “denominator problem,” the task of deter-
mining the relevant parcel for Fifth Amendment takings claims,
is “[o]ne of the most troubling areas in current takings
jurisprudence.” The doctrinal importance of this issue has
been well summarized by Professor Epstein:

The protection afforded by the eminent domain
clause to each part of an endowment of private
property is equal to the protection it affords the
whole—no more and no less. No matter how the

> Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1016 n.7.

7° Marc R. Lisker, Regulatory Takings and the Denominator
Problem, 27 Rutgers L. J. 663, 725 (1996).

8

basic entitlements contained within the bundle of
ownership rights are divided and no matter how many
times the division takes place, all of the pieces
together, and each of them individually, fall within
the scope of the eminent domain clause.”’

In Lucas, this Court found the deprivation of all
economically viable use of David Lucas’ two beachfront lots
gave rise to a Categorical taking (barring a showing that the
Owner’s proposed property use was foreclosed by state common
law principles). Compensation was required because the
enactment of South Carolina’s Beachfront Management Act had
displaced the entirety of Mr. Lucas’ rights of dominion and
control over the use of his property. But the state would have
taken no less if Mr. Lucas had happened to own a third lot, on
which he could build. If Mr. Lucas had all along owned a third
parcel on the Isle of Palms, located inland of the “no-build” line
established by the Beachfront Management Act, would this have
altered the outcome of his case? There is no reason to believe
that fact would have been relevant to the takings analysis. As
Professor Epstein notes,

Prima facie, compensation must be paid for the land
taken no matter how much land the owner retains. . . .
In the case [where the state takes two acres of land
from a four-acre parcel], what is decisive is that
which is taken, not that which is retained. It matters
not if the claimant owns only the two acres taken or
the full four acres; the obligation to compensate is
constant in either case.”°

” Richard A. Epstein, Takings: Private Property and the Power of
Eminent Domain 57 (1985).

% 505 U.S. at 1029-31.

* Epstein, 7akings at 57-58.

9

There are doctrinally important reasons for this Court to
clarify that Lucas’ categorical rule applies to the taking of
discrete, independently viable parcels of real property, even
when these parcels comprise less than the totality of an owner’s
property holdings. Such a rule is especially compelling in cases
like the one at bar, where the government has imposed its own
preferred use of the property in place of the owners’ reasonable
investment-backed expectations. The state and federal courts are
in conflict on this important question of Fifth Amendment
interpretation, adding to the urgency of the need for this Court
to resolve this issue.

A. When the Government Deprives an Owner of All
Beneficial Use of a Discrete, Independently Viable
Segment of Real Property, Lucas’ Per Se Takings
Rule Should Be Triggered

There are compelling reasons for this Court to apply Lucas’
categorical takings rule to the regulatory deprivation of all
beneficial use of a discrete, independently viable segment of real
property. Deprivations such as those imposed by MDNR in the
case at bar entail the assertion of complete dominion and control
over real property by the state, for which compensation has
traditionally been required. The segment of property that has
been rendered unusable had independent economic viability
prior to application of the regulations at issue. The Voikemas
had formed concrete, reasonable, investment-backed expecta-
tions regarding their use of the property, which were completely
extinguished by MDNR’s actions. There was no essential nexus
between the state’s determination that the 6-acre segment must
be used exclusively for wetlands preservation and any burdens
arising from the Volkemas’ proposed use of their 24.6 acre tract.
Finally, the deprivation of all use of a discrete, independently
viable segment is qualitatively different from a mere reduction
in value of the larger tract and should not be analyzed under the
same rule of takings liability.

10

1. When the State Asserts and Exercises
Complete Dominion over a Discrete, Well-
Defined Segment of Land, Lucas’ Categorical
Takings Rule Should Be Triggered

Our takings jurisprudence rests in large measure on the
recognition that private property rights are inextricably linked
with individual liberty and autonomy.” As this Court has
recognized, property owners suffer a unique injury—regardless
of the scale of the government's intrusion—when they are
required by state action to “permit another to exercise complete
dominion” over a portion of their land.*' It is this complete loss
of dominion that is the gravamen of a categorical taking, regard-
less of whether the whole or only a part of the landowner’s
holdings are taken. .

In the present case, the State of Michigan has wholly eradi-
cated the Volkemas* autonomous decision-making authority over
six acres of their land, and supplanted it with its own. MDNR‘s
actions in classifying the Volkemas’ property as wetlands and
then denying the permits required to make any beneficial use of
the land cut through the Volkemas’ entire bundle of ownership
rights with respect to that segment. The land can now be used
only for the purpose the state has dictated—for wetlands
preservation.** It is the state’s exercise of complete dominion

® See, e.g., Roger Pilon, Property Rights, Takings, and a Free
Society, in Public Choice and Constitutional Economics 151, 176
(J. Gwartney & R. Wagner eds, 1988) (“property nghts are at the very
heart of a free society, serving to define the normative relationships
among its members and to enable those individuals to pursue their
various ends free from the interference of others”).

* Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419,
436 (1982).

© See App. B-4; App. D-2.

and control over this six-acre segment that triggers the require-
ment for just compensation under Lucas.

There is a qualitative difference between government
regulation that imposes some restriction on property use by
“adjusting the benefits and burdens of economic life”’** and the
unilateral exercise of total government control over a productive
parcel of private land. There simply is no greater governmental
intrusion into the realm of personal liberty and autonomy than
when the state confiscates all meaningful decision-making
authority in private land for the general public good.

2. A Categorical Taking Should Be Found When
Regulations Destroy All Beneficial Use of
What Was Previously an Independently Viabie
Segment of Real Property

One useful test of whether a taking has occurred is to
examine whether the segment of land pressed into public service
could, prior to the application of the regulations in question.
“have been put to at least one economically viable use.
independent of the surrounding land segments.”** This inquiry
looks to the uses to which the owner could have put the property
in the absence of the regulations to determine whether these uses
would have been economically viable in their own right. This
avoids bringing ordinary zoning setbacks and buffer zones under
the rubric of categorical takings:

The most obvious example . . . is the property
between the edge of a building and the street. In
most situations, this buffer zone would be of no
economic use to anyone except the owner of the
building, and the owner of the building typically
would have no economic use for it other than to plant

8 Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 124.

* John E. Fee, Comment, Unearthing the Denominator in Regulatory
Takings Claims, 61 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1534, 1557 (1994).

12

grass, expand the existing enterprise, or otherwise
add value to a larger segment of land. In such a case,
it would be inappropriate to consider the buffer zone
an independent parcel for regulatory taking purposes,
for it has no economic use in and of itself.*°

The trial court below mistakenly held that MDNR’s taking
of the Volkemas’ six acres was not different in kind from impos-
ing zoning setbacks or buffer zones.*° The court missed the
crucial distinction that such residual strips of land are not
ordinarily economically viable in their own right, and thus could
not fall within Lucas’ categorical takings rule.

Instead, the court should have examined the six acres of
wetlands “to see if it could have been put to at least one
economically viable use independent of the surrounding land
prior to the regulation.”*’ The record in this case indicates that
the segment in question consists of six acres of prime commer-
cial land in a rapidly developing area.“ This land had an
assessed value of some $120,000 in its natural condition,”*’ and
a 1991 market value in excess of $212,000 if properly graded
and filled.’ Because this six-acre segment would obviously
have independent economic viability but for the application of
MDNR’s regulations and permit denial, it should be subject to
Lucas’ categorical takings rule regardless of the remainder of the
Volkemas’ holdings.

* John E. Fee, Comment, at 1559.
* App. D-3.
* John E. Fee, Comment, at 1557.
*® App. D-1.
» App. F-2.

Stipulation of the parties, Michigan Court of Claims No. 91-13914-
CM.

i - ;

13

3. A Consistent Application of the Takings Clause
Should Not Countenance the Complete
Extinguishment of an Owner’s Reasonable
Investment-Backed Expectations Merely Because
Other Property Segments Are Also Owned

Applying Lucas to the type of taking at issue here would be
consistent with the well-recognized importance of protecting
reasonable, investment-backed expectations.*!

After Lucas . . . the Supreme Court may take the
position that the “economically viable use” test
should be applied to smaller portions of the owner’s
property. The Lucas Court dismissed Penn Central's
consideration of the owner’s other holdings in the
area as “unsupportable.” It suggested instead that the
appropriate unit should be determined by the owner's
expectations.”

The court below expressly found that the Volkemas “had an
investment-backed expectation in the property in question.’
The Volkemas had invested heavily over the years in construc-
ting and installing roadways, parking facilities, utilities, sewers,
and a retention pond for the benefit of the six-acre segment as

“! See, e.g., Penn Central, 438 U. S. at 124 (“the extent to which the
regulation has interfered with distinct investment-backed
expectations” an important consideration in determining takings
liability); Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1034 (“[w]here a taking is alleged from
regulations which deprive the property of all value, the test must be
whether the deprivation is contrary to reasonable, investment-backed
expectations”). .

“ Ann T. Kadlecek, Note, The Effect of Lucas v. South Carolina

Coastal Council on the Law of Regulatory Takings, 68 Wash. L. Rev.
415, 433 (1993) (footnote omitted).

© App. B-4 n.3.

14

well as the rest of their holdings.“* The Volkemas’ expectations
regarding the 6-acre segment were indistinguishable from their
expectations of developing the larger 24.6-acre parcel. When
MDNR carved out the six acres for dedication to a public use,
the Volkemas’ admittedly reasonable expectations with respect
to that independently viable segment were utterly extinguished.
This should be grounds for applying Lucas’ categorical takings
analysis to the loss of all beneficial use of a discrete segment of

real property.

4. The Rationale for Finding a Compensable Partial
Taking Is Strengthened Where, as Here, There Is
No Nexus Between the Regulatory Burden Placed
on the Segment Taken and the Owner’s Use of
the Remainder of the Tract

The trial court below likened MDNR’s permit denial to the
imposition of “set backs from property lines and other require-
ments that limit or prohibit the ability of an owner to develop
part of their property. These do not constitute a taking since it
is recognized that such rules are for the good of all.”*’ The
kernel of truth in the court’s reasoning is that such restrictions
do not constitute a taking because they are inextricably con-
nected to the owner’s proposed use of the remainder of the
property. In this Court’s takings parlance, setbacks and
comparable limitations bear an essential nexus“ to the
placement of buildings and other development activity occurring
on the surrounding property. Similarly, certain restrictions on
the use of part of a property may be necessitated by health and

“ App. F-1-2.

Fe

* App. D-3.

“ See Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374, 383 (1994); Nolian v.
California Coastal Commission, 483 U.S. 825, 837 (1987).

15

safety concerns arising from the owner’s use of the balance of
the estate.*”

No such nexus exists in the present case. Nothing in the
Volkemas’ proposed use of their 24 acres of land as a water park
would create a burden that could be mitigated by devoting 6
acres to wetlands preservation. The two uses of the Volkemas’
property are wholly unrelated. Because of this absence of nexus,
the trial court’s analogy to zoning setbacks fails. The state’s
determination that the Volkemas must devote their property to
wetlands preservation is wholly gratuitous, motivated solely by
the state’s desire to press private resources into public use
without the inconvenience of paying for them.

5. The Complete Usurpation of an Owner’s Rights
to the Use of a Discrete Segment of Real
Property Is Qualitatively Different from « Mere
Reduction in the Value of a Larger Parcel of
Which it Is a Part, and Should Not Be Analyzed
Under the Same Rule of Takings Liability

In Lucas, this Court referred to regulations that would not
be classified as takings because they resulted in a “mere dimin-
ution in value” of private land.“ Typically, these cases involve
regulatory restrictions that reduce the utility of the owner’s entire
holdings. Classic examples include Village of Euclid v. Ambler
Realty Co.“ (approximately 75% diminution in value due to

*” See Keystone Bituminous Coal Association v. DeBenedictis,
480 U.S. 470, 497-502 (1987) (law requiring some coal to be left in

pillars upheld in part on grounds that this restriction was necessary to
prevent subsidence that would otherwise be caused by owners’
extraction of remainder of coal).

* 505 U.S. at 1016 n.7.

® 272 US. 365, 384 (1926).

16

imposition of zoning ordinance); and Hadacheck v. Sebastian”
(92.5% diminution in value due to ordinance limiting operation
of brickyard to certain areas).

The court below characterized the State of Michigan's
«/imination of all beneficial use of the Volkemas’ property as
comprising just such a diminution in value, for which compen-
sation is not required.*' However, this case does not fit within
this Court's regulatory diminution decisions. In none of these
cases did the government attempt to carve out a discrete portion
of the owner's property and require it to be devoted to some
public use. The closest analogy would be the decision described
as “extreme and unsupportable” in Lucas—Penn Central
Transportation Co. v. City of New York. Yet Penn Central did
not involve the complete deprivation of beneficial use of any
portion of the subject property. The owners alleged a taking of
the air space over Grand Central Terminal,*’ but the record
established that they had not in fact been denied all use of this or
any other segment of their property holdings.™

Regulations that cause a general decrease in the value of an
owner's total holdings are properly subject to the multifacted
balancing test of Penn Central. Land-use restrictions of this
kind are qualitatively different from the complete deprivation of
beneficial use of a discrete, independently viable segment of real
property. Deprivations of the latter kind, as Judge Sawyer

* 239 U.S. 394, 405 (1915).
*! App. B-9.

* 438 U.S. 104.

* Jd. at 130.

* Jd. at 137.

® Jd. at 123.

17

pointed out in the dissent below,” should be viewed as
categorical takings under Lucas.

B. When the Government Requires that a
Discrete Segment of Private Property Must
Be Used for a Public Purpose, Compensation
Should Be Required Under Lucas

This Court has always exercised special vigilance to ensure
compliance with the Takings Clause when the state puts any
segment of private property to public use through regulatory
enactments or other actions.*’ In Loretto v. Teleprompter
Manhattan CATV Corp.,* this Court found a New York statute
to effect a taking because it required an apartment owner to
allow a cable television company to place cable equipment on
the roof of her building.’ Although usually classified as a
“physical invasion” case, Loretto is perhaps better characterized
as one in which the state dictated the specific use to which a part
of Mrs. Loretto’s property would have to be devoted. Because
the government required the property owner to devote a segment
of her property to providing a cable television installation, a
compensable taking was found even though this use was
imposed on no more than 1.5 cubic feet of space directly above
and on the roof of the building.

In the present case, the State of Michigan has imposed an
exclusive public use on 6 acres of the Volkemas’ property, as
opposed to the 1.5 cubic feet in Loretto. The courts below

* App. B-9-14 (Sawyer, J., dissenting).

*” See, e.g., Jed Rubenfeld, Usings, 102 Yale L.J. 1077, 1111-30
(1993).

* 458 U.S. 419.
® Id. at 435-40.

© See id. at 438 n.16.

18

treated MDNR’s actions as a mere restriction on the Volkemas*
use of their land, rather than the dedication of this six acres to an
exclusively public use.°' However, it is little more than semantic
game playing to argue that the state has not put the Volkemas’
property to use for wetlands preservation. As one commentator
has noted,

[w]etlands laws prohibiting all development not only
prevent harm, but also take over property in order to
exploit some of its use-values for state-dictated
service.™

Indeed, wetlands preservation is a well-recognized govern-
mental use of property. Land is commonly acquired by govern-
ment through eminent domain or comparable proceedings and
put to precisely the same use that the state has imposed on the
Volkemas’ property. The only difference is that in this case, the
State of Michigan chose not ‘o pay for what it took.’

Employing the Volkemas’ property for use in wetlands
preservation advances policy objectives of the State of Michigan
that can be (and are) equally well advanced by purchasing

* App. B-9; App. D-3.
© Jed Rubenfeld, Usings, 102 Yale L. J. at 1157.

*’ The conservation of natural resources is identified as a “paramount
public concern” under the Michigan Constitution, art. 4, § 52.
MDNR aggressively pursues this objective through such policies as
acquinng private wetlands through reversion to the state for non-
payment of taxes. See St. Clair Flats Management Plan (April, 1981).
The Wetland Protection Act itself provides for the public acquisition
of wetlands from private owners—but only if those owners first go to.
court and obtain a judgment against the state. MicH. Comp. Laws
ANN. Chap. 324 § 30323.

19

similar parcels of land throughout the state. The government
cannot reasonably protest that it only “uses” land for wetlands
preservation when it acquires title, whereas imposing this same
use On private land without compensation is really a “non-use.”

This case is not comparable to Keystone, where the govern-
ment gained no utility from requiring mine owners to forgo the
extraction of certain columns of coal. There, the columns were
required to alleviate legitimate public health and safety concerns
related to the owners’ use of the remainder of the property.
Here, in contrast, the use of land for wetlands preservation is an
independent policy objective of the State of Michigan, unrelated
to the Volkemas’ use of their property. This policy objective can
be pursued either by acquiring land for state management and
control, or by imposing state control to direct the use of privately
owned land, as has occurred here. In either case, employing
land exclusively for wetlands preservation is clearly a public use
of that property within the meaning of the Takings Clause.

It should be noted that the Volkemas have no cause to
dispute that wetlands preservation is a legitimate, or even laud-
able, governmental objective. That issue is not before the Court.
As Justice Holmes reminds us,

[t]he protection of private property in the Fifth
Amendment presupposes that it is wanted for public
use, but provides that it shall not be taken for such
use without compensation.

We are in danger of forgetting that a strong
public desire to improve the public condition is not
enough to warrant achieving the desire by a shorter
cut than the constitutional way of paying for the
change.”

“ Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon Co., 260 U.S. 393, 415-16
(1922).

20

THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH
OPINIONS OF THE OREGON SUPREME COURT
AND THE UNITED STATES COURTS OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH AND FEDERAL CIRCUITS IN
THEIR TREATMENT OF TAKINGS CLAIMS
BROUGHT UNDER THE FIFTH AMENDMENT

The importance of the constitutional question raised by this
case is underscored by the existence of deep conflicts on this
issue between the states and among the federal circuit courts of
appeals. Although the Volkemas’ Fifth Amendment takings
claim was denied by the Michigan courts, it would have been
upheld by the Oregon Supreme Court under that states interpre-
tation of the federal Constitution. Similarly, if the defendant had
been the United States instead of the State of Michigan, the
Volkemas would have prevailed in the Federal Circuit Court of
Appeals. Other states and circuits are hopelessly divided in their
treatment of federal takings claims based on the taking of
discrete, well-identified segments comprising less than the
entirety of a landowner’s holdings. The rights guaranteed to
citizens under our Constitution should not depend on the
particular state or federal jurisdiction in which they are asserted.
This Court should grant the petition to establish uniformity in the
treatment of partial takings claims brought under the Fifth
Amendment.

A. The Oregon Supreme Court Has Found a
Taking Where Environmental Regulations
Required that a Discrete Segment of a Larger
Tract Be Used for Endangered Species Habitat

In a case strikingly similar on its facts to the one at bar, the
Oregon Supreme Court arrived at precisely the opposite
conclusion from the court below on the proper application of
federal constitutional law. In Boise Cascade Corporation v.

21

Board of Forestry,® the state Board of Forestry denied an
application to harvest timber on a 64-acre tract to protect an
endangered species (the northern spotted owl) that had estab-
lished its habitat on the plaintiff's property. The board specified
an 8-acre segment that could be harvested subject to certain
conditions, thereby carving out a 56-acre segment that was
deprived of all economically viable use and forced into service
as species habitat.“ The property owner sued, alleging a Fifth
Amendment taking of the 56-acre segment.

The Oregon Supreme Court found that the plaintiff had
stated a claim for a taking by alleging “depriv[ation] . . . of the
only economically viable use of approximately 56 acres of
merchantable timber.”*’ The court emphasized that it considered
the regulated 56 acres to be the relevant parcel for its takings
analysis by denying a concurrent claim for a temporary taking of
the remainder of the 64-acre tract!™

By focusing its takings analysis on the discrete 56-acre
tract that the State of Oregon required to be used as owl habitat,
the Oregon Supreme Court (correctly) applied the Takings
Clause in a manner completely contrary to the doctrine of the
Michigan court below. It is antithetical to our constitutional
form of government that rights secured under the Fifth
Amendment should be protected in some states but not in others.
This petition should be granted so that this Court can establish
a uniform interpretation of the Takings Clause for categorical
takings of discrete segments of larger tracts of land.

© 935 P.2d 411 (Or. 1997).
© Jd. at 415.

®’ Jd. at 420 (citing complaint).

® Jd. at 420-21.

22

B. The Opinion Below Conflicts with the Federal

Circuit’s Decision in Loveladies Harbor

In Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v. United States,°’ landowners
brought a claim for the regulatory taking of a 12.5-acre segment
of a Sl-acre parcel. Originally, the 51 acres had been part of a
250-acre tract, most of which had already been developed and
sold.”” When the Army Corps of Engineers denied Loveladies
a federal permit needed to develop the 12.5 acres, instead
requiring the land to be used for wetlands preservation,
Loveladies brought suit against the federal government for just
compensation under the Takings Clause.

The Federal Circuit Court of Appeals was directly
confronted with the “denominator” issue. The government
contended that the relevant property for a takings analysis was
either Loveladies’ original 250-acre parcel or the 51 acres which
it still owned when the permit was denied.”' Loveladies argued
that the denominator of the takings fraction was the 12.5 acres
for which it had sought a permit.”

The court of appeals agreed with Loveladies, declining to
include the impact of the permit denial on the remaining 38.5
acres. The court concluded that “the relevant property for the
takings analysis is the 12.5 acres, for which the trial court found
the remaining value to be de minimis.” Consequently, the
court of appeals held Loveladies had been deprived of all
economically beneficial use of the “relevant parcel.” Thus the

® 28 F.3d 1171 (Fed. Cir. 1994)

” Id. at 1180.
" Id
2 Id. at 1181

™ Id.

23

permit denial was “effectively a total taking of the property
owners’ interest in these [12.5] acres.””

The Federal Circuit’s focus in Loveladies on the property
actually carved out for dedication to a public use by the
operation of land use regulations, rather than on the owners’
entire holdings, stands in stark contrast to the approach of the
Michigan courts in the present case. If the plaintiffs in
Loveladies Harbor had brought their takings claim against
MDNR in the Michigan courts, instead of against the Corps of
Engineers in the Court of Federal Claims, it is safe to conclude
they would have suffered the same fate as the Volkemas.”°

C. The Decision Below Conflicts with the Ninth

Circuit’s Decision in American Savings

In American Savings and Loan Association v. County
of Marin,” Marin County applied two different zoning classifi-
cations to two contiguous segments of a landowner’s property.
One 48-acre section called Strawberry Spit was zoned as urban
open space with a 5-acre minimum lot size. An adjacent 20-acre
section known as Strawberry Point was zoned to allow 4 multi-
residential units per acre.’ The point was worth some

™ Jd. at 1182 (emphasis added)

* The court below purported to distinguish Loveladies on the basis
that the property owners had executed deed restriction to the State of
New Jersey on the 38.5-acre segment. App B-5. However, this
misses the point that the Federal Circuit evaluated Loveladies’ takings
claim by examining the impact of the government’s action on the
12.5-acre segment it had carved out for wetlands preservation, rather
than evaluating the 51-acre parcel as an organic whole.

© 653 F.2d 364 (9th Cir. 1981).

” Id. at 367.

He

24

$2 million under this zoning arrangement.” Nevertheless the
owner sued, alleging a regulatory taking of the spit because of
the severe zoning restrictions on the 48-acre segment. The trial
court held that, since the spit and point were contiguous sections
of land under common ownership, the entire 68 acres comprised
the relevant parcel for purposes of determining takings liability.”

On appeal, the Ninth Circuit recognized that the issue
before it was “whether the challenged ordinance creates two
separate parcels for taking purposes by adopting different zoning
designations for each parcel.“ The court rejected as inappli-
cable cases where property was treated as a single unit for
takings purposes because in those cases “the entire subject
property was covered by a uniform restriction.”*' Instead, the
Ninth Circuit noted that this Court in Nectow v. Cambridge®
applied separate constitutional analysis to two contiguous
segments of property under common ownership that had been
subjected to different zoning.”

The Ninth Circuit also agreed with the Oregon Supreme
Court’s analysis in Fifth Avenue Corp. v. Washington County“
wherein that court “divided the property analytically into two

® Id. at 368.
® Id. at 367.
® Jd. at 370.
8! Id. at 369.
© 277 U.S. 183 (1928).

® 653 F. 2d at 370.

* 581 P.2d 50 (Or. 1978).

25

parcels” depending on whether they were zoned as developable
or not.®°

Most significantly, the American Savings court concluded
by holding that if the appellant can show that “the Spit and
Point have been, or would be, treated separately when its
development plans are submitted . . . [then] the spit must be

analyzed as a separate parcel for takings purposes.”

This holding clearly conflicts with the treatment of the
Volkemas’ takings claim by the court below. The Michigan
court refused to consider the 6-acre parcel, which had been
dedicated for use exclusively as a wetlands preserve, separately
from the contiguous 18 acres on which development could
occur.*’ Moreover, the court below did not find it significant
that the Volkemas had prepared a development plan embodying
their investment-backed expectations for their entire 24.6 acres,
and the government responded by treating the two segments of
property as different entities with respect to their development
potential.™

® 653 F.2d at 370.

*® Jd. at 372 (emphasis added). Accord, Kaiser Development Co. v.
City and County of Honolulu, 649 F. Supp. 926 (D. Haw. 1986),
aff'd, 898 F.2d 112 (9th Cir. 1990). In deciding to treat different
segments of a single legal property as separate parcels for purposes
of its takings analysis, the court cited as the “most important”
consideration the fact that “the City has treated Queen’s Beach separ-
ately for zoning and planning purposes. . . . In summary, under the
facts of this case, Queen’s Beach is to be considered a separate parcel
for the purposes of determining whether there has been a taking.”
649 F. Supp. at 947-48.

* App. B-7.

--

26

It places an unacceptable strain on our constitutional form
of government when rights guaranteed under the Fifth
Amendment are recognized and protected in some state and
federal jurisdictions but not in others. This Court should grant
the petition for certiorari to establish that Michigan citizens are
entitled to the same rights under the Takings Clause as property
owners who bring suit in the courts of the Ninth Circuit, or the
Federal Circuit, or the State of Oregon.

CONCLUSION

In Lucas, this Court established that a governmental
deprivation of all beneficial use of private land categorically
triggers the requirement of just compensation under the Takings
Clause.*” In Loretto and other decisions, this Court has also
applied a categorical takings rule to situations where the govern-
ment actually puts any discrete segment of private land to public
use, even if the affected property is only a small part of the
owner’s holdings.” This case stands at the intersection of these
two categorical rules. The State of Michigan has carved out a
discrete, well-defined segment of the Volkemas’ land and
required it to be put to public use as a wetlands preserve. In so
doing, the state has also deprived the Volkemas of all beneficial
use of this land, which previously had independent economic
viability. However, instead of triggering categorical takings
liability under either Lucas or Loretto, the court below found
that the state incurred no liability to compensate the Volkemas
for the six-acre parcel it had taken.”!

Other state and federal courts interpret the Fifth
Amendment differently on this question. The Volkemas would
have prevailed if their claim had been brought in Oregon under

® Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1019.

® E.g., Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S.
at 426.

” App. B-9.

27

Boise Cascade,” or in the Federal Circuit under Loveladies
Harbor,”’ or in the Ninth Circuit under American Savings.”

This Court should grant this petition so that it can address
the issue of categorical regulatory takings of less than the
entirety of a landowner’s holdings, an issue the Court raised but
left open in Lucas. The facts of this case provide an opportunity
for this Court to provide much needed guidance to the lower
federal and state courts and to establish a uniform base of
constitutional protection under the Fifth Amendment. The
Volkemas urge this Court to adopt the rule set forth by Judge
Sawyer in the dissent below:

nn re

[A] taking occurs where a regulation precludes the
use of an identifiable, discrete piece of property, even
if that property forms only a portion of a larger
parcel.”

For these reasons, Petitioners Russell and Lois Volkema
respectfully request that this Court grant the petition for writ of
certiorari.

DATED: September, 1998.

Respectfully submitted,

R S. RADFORD
Counsel of Record
Pacific Legal Foundatior
2151 River Plaza Drive,

Suite 305

Sacramento, California 95833
Telephone: (916) 641-8888
Facsimile: (916) 920-3444

Counsel for Petitioners

® 935 P.2d 411.
® 28 F. 3d 1171.
™ 653 F.2d 364.

® App. B-13 (Sawyer, J., dissenting).

ne

Appendix A-1

Filed 6/9/98
ORDER Michigan Supreme Court
Entered: June 9, 1998 Lansing, Michigan
RUSSELL H. VOLKEMA and
LOIS J. VOLKEMA, husband
and wife,
Plaintiffs-A ppellants/
Cross-Appellees,
Vv SC: 104723
COA: 159820
MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF LC: 91-13914

NATURAL RESOURCES,

Defendant-Appellee/
Cross-Appellant.

By order of April 29, 1997, the application for leave to
appeal was held in abeyance pending the decision in K&K
Construction, Inc. v. Michigan Dep't of Natural Resources,
(Docket No. 106712).

On order of the Court, the decision having been issued
on March 24, 1998, 456 Mich 570 (1998), the application is
again considered. The motions to file briefs amici curiae are
considered and they are GRANTED. The application is again
considered, and it is DENIED, because we are not persuaded
that the question presented should be reviewed by this Court.
The result reached by the Court of Appeals is correct pursuant
to this Court’s decision in K&K Construction, Inc., supra. The
Court of Appeals’ analysis, particularly its reliance on
Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v. United States, 28 F 3d 1171 (1994),
is disavowed insofar as it is inconsistent with this Court’s
decision in K&K Construction.

The application for leave to appeal as cross-appellant is
DENIED as moot.

Appendix A-2

1, CORBIN R. DAVIS, Clerk of the Michigan Supreme
Court, certify that the foregoing is a true and complete copy of
the order entered at the direction of the Court.

June 9_, 1998 /s/ Jacqueline B. McKinna
Deputy Clerk

Appendix B-1

Filed 10/20/95
STATE OF MICHIGAN
COURT OF APPEALS

Russell H. VOLKEMA and
Lois J. Volkema, husband No. 159820.
and wife, LC No. 91-013914-CM

Plaintiffs-Appellants/
Cross-Appellees,

A

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES,

Defendant-Appeliee/
Cross-Appellant,

and
Michigan Association of Realtors,

Amicus Curiae.

Before NEFF, P.J., and SAWYER and MARKEY, JJ.
Narr, &.J.

Plaintiffs appeal, and defendant cross appeals, from an
order of the circuit court denying plaintiffs relief with respect to
their inverse condemnation claim. We affirm.

I

Plaintiffs purchased approximately forty-five acres of
commercial property in Kentwood in 1963 and an additional
contiguous five-acre parcel in 1979. Plaintiffs made various
improvements to the property, sold parcels of the property, and
leased a ten-acre parcel to a water park operator. After the sales
and lease, 24.6 acres remained, which are the subject of the

Appendix B-2

present litigation. Plaintiffs sought to have the water park
developed on the remaining 24.6 acres in conjunction with the
leased ten acres. The water park has a plan that eventually calls
for the purchase of the property. However, the 24.6-acre parcel
includes some lowlands, which have been classified as protected
wetlands under the Wetland Protection Act, M.C.L. § 281.701
et seq., M.S.A. § 18.595(51) et seg., which was enacted in
1980. Defendant denied plaintiffs’ request for a permit to fill
4.3 acres of wetlands. Plaintiffs now seek compensation for the
six acres they claim are rendered useless by the denial of the fill
permit.

The trial court determined that the relevant parcel to
consider in determining whether there was a taking is the
remaining 24.6-acre parcel. The trial court determined that
because only approximately one-quarter of the property was
affected, there was no taking.

I]

On appeal, the parties present a number of arguments, all of
which essentially raise the same issue, namely, whether there

was a taking. Because we conclude there was none, we affirm
the trial court's decision.

A
]

It is now well-established under constitutional doctrine that
a taking of property requiring just compensation may occur if a
landowner’s property is either physically invaded or regulated
“too far.” See Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council,
505 U.S. 1003, 112 S.Ct. 2886, 120 L.Ed.2d 798 (1992).
Although the Supreme Court has declined to definitively state
what “too far” is, two circumstances exist in which
compensation is afforded the property owner without a case
specific inquiry. /d. at 1015, 112 S.Ct. at 2893.

Appendix B-3

The first category in which compensation is automatically
awarded is when the government physically invades a
landowner’s property. Jd. This case, however, does not present
such a circumstance, and thus any case law or arguments of the
parties based on a physical invasion of property are irrelevant to

this appeal.

The second distinct category in which compensation is
automatically awarded is where a regulation denies all economic-
ally beneficial or productive use of one’s land. /d. In other
words, the Fifth Amendment right to just compensation is
violated when a land-use regulation either (1) does not
substantially advance a legitimate state interest, or (2) denies a
landowner all economically viable use of his land in contraven-
tion of the property owner’s investment-backed expectations. '
Id. at 1016, 112 S.Ct. at 2894.

This is not to suggest that compensation is always awarded.
When a land-use regulation merely results in diminution in a
property's value, the property owner is not entitled to compensa-
tion. /d. at 1016, 112 S.Ct. at 2894. The justification for this
rule is often stated as being that:

Government hardly could go on if to some extent
values incident to property could not be diminished
without paying for every such change in the general
law.... [/d.]

2

After a review of the parties’ appeal and cross appeal, it is
apparent that neither party here is arguing that the land-use
regulation at issue does not substantially advance a legitimate
State interest. Accordingly, we express no opinion with regard

' An exception to this rule exists: a State government may always

regulate land pursuant to its common law regarding nuisances. /d.

Appendix B-4

to that matter and assume, for the purposes of this appeal, that
the regulation does advance a legitimate state interest.’

Thus, the only question that must be answered here is
whether plaintiffs were denied all economically viable use of
their land. The answer to this question depends on what parcel
of land is used to compare plaintiffs’ before and after property
values.’ In other words, if we focus only on the six acres that
plaintiffs claim were rendered economically useless by the
Wetland Protection Act, then plaintiffs have established that they
were deprived of all the economically beneficial use of their
land. If, however, we use some larger parcel, say the 24.6-acres
that encompasses the six acres, or the fifty acres that previously
made up all of plaintiffs’ property, then all plaintiffs have
established is a mere diminution in value, and although they still
might be eligible to obtain compensation for the loss, they would
fall outside the categorical entitlement to such compensation.’
See Lucas, supra at 1019, n. 8, 112 S.Ct. at 2895.

? In presuming the validity of this enactment, we recognize that a
broad range of governmental purposes and regulations satisfy the
requirement that the laws must advance a legitimate state interest.
See Bevan v. Brandon Twp, 438 Mich. 385, 398, 475 N.W.2d 37,
modified 439 Mich 1202 (1991). We also note that the validity of
the Wetland Protection Act is presumed and that, on the basis of the
record below, plaintiffs have not met their burden of overcoming this
presumption. /d.

* The record demonstrates that plaintiffs had an investment-backed
expectation in the property in question.

* Although the Supreme Court’s opinion in Lucas settled some
aspects of takings law, it expressly declined to answer the question
before us today, i.e., which parcel should be used as a denominator in
regulatory takings causes of actions. /d. 505 U.S. at 1016, n. 7,
112 S.Ct. at 2894, n. 7. Thus, we must look elsewhere for the answer
to that question.

Shia teh ieee a cilie

Appendix B-5

We have found two cases to be instructive in making this
determination.

B
l

In Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v. United States, 28 F.3d 1171
(C.A.Fed.1994),° Loveladies originally owned 250 acres of land
adjacent to wetlands. In 1972, after Loveladies developed
approximately 199 acres, § 404 of the Clean Water Act,
33 U.S.C. § 1344, was enacted, and Loveladies was forced to
obtain a permit to fill in the remaining land in accordance with
their overall development plan. In the following years, New
Jersey, the state in which the land was located, and Loveladies
entered into negotiations to allow Loveladies to develop the
remaining fifty-one acres. Ultimately, Loveladies agreed to
essentially donate 38.5 acres to the state, in order to allow 12.5
acres to be filled and developed. The state accepted this plan.

Unfortunately for Loveladies, the permit process also
required obtaining approval from the Army Corps of Engineers.
Apparently the corps traditionally follows the state's
recommendation, and, although New Jersey had previously
granted the state permit, it recommended to the corps that it

deny the federal permit. The corps followed New Jersey's
recommendation. /d. at 1174.

Loveladies sued the United States, claiming that a
compensable regulatory taking had occurred because it was
denied all economically feasible use of the 12.5 acres of land.
The United States disagreed, arguing that Loveladies merely
suffered a diminution in its property's value, comparing the 12.5

$

The court’s opinion in Loveladies, in concise yet complete detail,
lays out the history of the law of regulatory takings and successfully
puts into perspective the effects of Lucas on the development of the
law in this area. The court in Loveladies then specifically addresses
the issue presented here and brings that issue into sharp, clear focus.

Appendix B-6

acres with either the original 250 acres, or the fifty-one acres
remaining after the 1972 amendment in the law. Thus, as here,
one of the main issues before the court was how much of
Loveladies’ land to use as a comparison to the affected parcel to
determine the extent of Loveladies’ loss. Otherwise stated, the
court in Loveladies was called on to determine the denominator
parcel.® /d. at 1179.

The court of appeals began its discussion by eschewing any
bright-line test to determine the denominator parcel and instead
held that a flexible approach designed to account for factual
nuances of each individual case should be used. Loveladies,
supra at 1181.

The court then examined the factual nuances of the case
before it and held that the 199 acres that had been developed
before the enactment of § 404 of the Clean Water Act should not
be considered as part of the denominator because no effort had
been made by the state to regulate that land. /d. The court then
determined that the 38.5 acres that had, in essence, been
dedicated to the state should not be part of the denominator
because it had no value to Loveladies. /d. Thus, the court was
left with the 12.5 acres of land affected by the corp’s permit
denial. Because the court found the remaining value to be so
small as to be useless, it concluded that Loveladies was denied
all economically viable use of the property, thus entitling it to
compensation under Lucas, supra.

® The court in Loveladies, cited Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n v.
DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470, 107 S.Ct. 1232, 94 L.Ed.2d 472 (1987),
in which the Court defined the “denominator parcel” in the following
manner:

Because our test for regulatory taking requires us to compare

the value that has been taken from the property with the value

that remains in the property, one of the critical questions is

determining how to define the unit of property ‘whose value is

to furnish the denominator of the fraction. Loveladies, supra
- at 1180 n. 13.

Appendix B-7

2

Here, employing a similar analysis, we conclude that the
denominator should not consist of the entire forty-five acres
originally owned by plaintiffs because approximately half of that
land already had been developed before the enactment of the
Wetland Protection Act.

Examining the remaining 24.6 acres, we see no reason to
exclude some eighteen acres of that land as part of the denomi-
nator in determining plaintiffs’ loss. This case is in stark
contrast with Loveladies, supra, to the extent the court in
Loveladies determined that only the affected 12.5 acres in
question had value to Loveladies. Here, the entire 24.6 acres is
admittedly of high value to the plaintiffs. In other words,
although plaintiffs lost the use of approximately six acres of the
remaining 24.6-acre parcei, the land, when viewed as a whole,
continues to have substantial value and may still be used in the
manner intended by plaintiffs, i.e., it may be developed for
commercial purposes.

Accordingly, the trial court properly concluded that
plaintiffs’ loss should be considered in light of the 24.6 acres,
not merely the affected six acres.

C

Bevan v. Brandon Twp., 438 Mich. 385, 475 N.W.2d 37,
modified 439 Mich 1202 (1991), also supports our conclusion
here. In Bevan, the plaintiffs owned two parcels of lakefront
property but were restricted by a zoning ordinance to being able
to develop only one house on the two parcels. Although the
plaintiffs argued that because of the restriction they were denied
all economically feasible use of one of the parcels, our Supreme
Court disagreed, holding that both of the parcels must be
examined as a whole to determine the plaintiffs’ loss. /d.
at 396-397, 475 N.W.2d 37.

Appendix B-8

The Court relied on two United States Supreme Court
opinions, Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n. v. DeBenedictis,
480 U.S. 470, 107 S.Ct. 1232, 94 L.Ed.2d 472 (1987), and Penn
Central Transportation Co. v. New York City, 438 U.S. 104,
98 S.Ct. 2646, 57 L.Ed.2d 631 (1978),’ to support its ultimate
conclusion that when determining whether a taking has occurred,
the “plaintiffs’ land, and the full bundle of property rights
associated with it, must be viewed in its entirety,” Bevan, supra
438 Mich. at 397, 475 N.W.2d 37.

D

Accordingly, on the basis of squarely applicable precedent
of the Supreme Courts of both the United States and Michigan,
we conclude that the trial court properly considered the panoply
of plaintiffs’ remaining property rights, rather than merely a
portion of those rights, in determining the extent of the Wetland
Protection Act’s effect on plaintiffs’ property. In other words.
the court correctly used the 24.6-acre parcel as the denominator
in determining the extent of plaintiffs” loss.

” With regard to Penn Central, the United States Supreme Court in
Lucas, supra, suggested that New York’s determination that all of
Penn Central’s holdings in the area could be used as the denominator
was unsupportable. The Court in Penn Central, however, did not rely
on that determination. Instead, the Court focused on the property in
question and the alleged total loss of airspace rights when it stated:

“Taking” jurisprudence does not divide a single parcel into
discrete segments and attempt to determine whether rights in
a particular segment have been entirely abrogated. [438 U.S.
at 130.]

Thus, while it may be argued that the extent of New York’s decision
in Penn Central was unsupportable, it cannot be gainsaid that the
Supreme Court approved the concept of viewing an affected property
as a whole. We conclude it would be contrary to the holding in Penn
Central to extract portions of a property and examine those portions
piecemeal when determining the effect of a land-use regulation on the

property.

Appendix B-9

E

We also conclude that the trial court did not err in
determining that plaintiffs were not entitled to compensation for
the diminution in the value of their property. See Lucas, supra
505 U.S. at 1019, 112 S.Ct. at 2895, n. 8. Plaintiffs have failed
to show that their property either is unsuitable for use because of
the Wetland Protection Act or is now unmarketable. Bevan,
supra 438 Mich. at 403, 475 N.W.2d 37. Indeed, as plaintiffs
acknowledge, their land, even as regulated, is still worth more
than $600,000, and the majority of it may still be developed for
commercial purposes. Accordingly, we find no error in this
aspect of the trial court’s conclusion.

Il

In sum, we conclude that the trial court properly determined
the extent of plaintiffs’ loss by considering how the land-use
regulation in question affected plaintiffs’ rights to their property
as a whole, rather than by examining the effect of the regulation
on only the affected six acres. Employing this analysis, we also
agree with the trial court that the mere diminution in the value of
plaintiff's property is not compensable.

Affirmed.

Pere

/s/ Janet T. Neff
/s/ Jane E. Markey

SAWYER, J (dissenting).
I respectfully dissent.

The majority correctly looks to the United States Supreme
Court’s decision in Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council,
505 U.S. 1003, 112 S.Ct. 2886, 120 L.Ed.2d 798 (1992), for
guidance. However, the majority fails to appreciate the ramifi-
cations of the Lucas decision.

Appendix B-10

In Lucas, the Supreme Court reiterated the rule that where
regulation denies all economically beneficial or productive use
of land, a taking occurs and the owner is entitled to
compensation. /d. at 1015, 112 S.Ct. at 2893. The Lucas Court
found a taking where a state statute prohibited building on the
plaintiff's beach-front property. The instant dispute involves the
question raised, but not directly answered, in Lucas, namely,
whether all the economic use of all of plaintiffs’ property must
be deprived by the regulation before there is a taking or whether
it is sufficient that a portion of plaintiffs’ parcel is denied all of
its beneficial use because of the taking.’ The Court commented
on this question in Lucas, id. at 1016, n. 7, 112 S.Ct. at 2894,
n.7:

Regrettably, the rhetorical force of our “deprivation of
all economically feasible use” rule is greater than its
precision, since the rule does not make clear the
“property interest” against which the loss of value is to
be measured. When, for example, a regulation
requires a developer to leave 90% of a rural tract in its
natural state, it is unclear whether we would analyze
the situation as one in which the owner has been
deprived of all economically beneficial use of the
burdened portion of the tract, or as one in which the
owner has suffered a mere diminution in value of the
tract as a whole. (For an extreme--and, we think,
unsupportable—view of the relevant calculus, see Penn
Central Transportation Co. v. New York Cit,
42 NY2d 324, 333-334; 366 NE2d 1271, 1276-1277
(1977), aff'd 438 US 104 [98 S.Ct. 2646, 57 L.Ed.2d

' This appears to be the basis of the dispute between the parties
conceming whether the remaining 24.6-acre parcel should be
considered or whether the original fifty-acre parcel should be
considered in analyzing whether there was a taking. However, it is
not relevant which of those two parcels is viewed. Rather, the focus
is on the 4.6-acre parcel that forms the subject of the regulation.

Appendix B-1]

631] (1978), where the state court examined the
diminution in a particular parcel’s value produced by
a municipal ordinance in light of total value of the
taking claimant’s other holdings in the vicinity.)
Unsurprisingly, this uncertainty regarding the
composition of the denominator in our “deprivation”
fraction has produced inconsistent pronouncements by
the Court.

While the Supreme Court was able to avoid the question in
Lucas because it was undisputed that Lucas was denied the
beneficial use of all of his property by the regulatory taking, that
question cannot be avoided in the case at bar. If either the
remaining 24.6-acre parcel or the original fifty-acre parcel is
viewed as a whole, then it is clear that plaintiffs have not been
denied all economic use of their property because the property
is usable with the exception of approximately 4.3 to 6 acres of
wetlands and surrounding area. On the other hand, if we focus
on the wetland parcel itself, plaintiffs are denied the economic
use of that property inasmuch as the denial of the fill permit
precludes them from developing and making use of that parcel.

In reaching its decision, the majority finds support in
Bevan v. Brandon Twp, 438 Mich. 385, 475 N.W.2d 37 (1991).
In Bevan, our Supreme Court concluded that there was no taking
where a zoning ordinance had the effect of allowing the property
owner to build only one house on two contiguous lots.? Our
Supreme Court concluded that in determining whether a taking
existed, the property must be viewed as a whole. /d. at 397,
475 N.W.2d 37. However, I do not believe that Bevan is
controlling for two reasons.

2 The reason for the restriction was that the property was accessible
only by an easement that was twenty feet wide while a zoning
ordinance required a road with a night of way of sixty-six feet in width
if it was servicing two or more houses.

Appendix B-12

First, the Michigan Supreme Court’s decision in Bevan was
rendered before the United States Supreme Court’s decision in
Lucas. Accordingly, there is a question whether Bevan remains
good law. The viability of the decision in Bevan, moreover, is
additionally questionable because of Bevan's strong reliance on
the United States Supreme Court’s decision in Penn Central.
supra. Indeed, the Michigan Supreme Court directly cites Penn
Central in support of the proposition that the property must be
viewed as a whole. However, when the United States Supreme
Court decided Lucas the following year, it disavowed that view
expressed in Penn Central, declaring that view to be “extreme”
and “unsupportable.” 505 U.S. 1016, n. 7, 112 S.Ct. at 2894,
A

Moreover, even if we were to defer to the Supreme Court
to address the question of the continuing viability of Bevan in
light of Lucas, 1 do not believe that Bevan is relevant to the
disposition of the case at bar. In Bevan, the property owner was
not denied the beneficial use of all of his property, or even a
portion of his property. Rather, he merely was restricted with
respect to the extent to which he could use and develop the
property. That is, unlike the case at bar, the property owner in
Bevan could build a single-family detached house, the intended
use of the lots, anywhere he wanted on either of the lots
involved. He merely was precluded from building two houses,
one on each lot, as he had intended. Therefore, the property
owner was able to use all of his property, though not in the
manner he desired. In the case at bar, however, the property
owner enjoys no such freedom. The effect of the Wetland
Protection Act, M.C.L. § 281.701 et seg., M.S.A. § 18.595(51)
et seq., and of defendant’s denial of a fill permit is to preclude
utterly the use of a portion of plaintiffs’ property. Plaintiffs are
not free to choose what portion of their property to develop.
Rather, the regulation allows development of a specific portion
of the property and absolutely precludes the development of
another portion of the property.

Appendix B-13

The majority’s strong reliance on Loveladies Harbor,
Inc. v. United States, 28 F.3d 1171 (C.A.Fed.1994), is
somewhat mystifying inasmuch as that court ruled in favor of
the property owner. Ultimately, like Lucas, it avoided a clear
determination on partial takings, concluding that a full taking
had occurred. Loveladies, supra at 1182.

In sum, where there is a mere restriction on the extent of
use of property, as was the case in Bevan, there is no taking.
However, where a property owner is prohibited from making use
of his property, or even a portion of the property, then there is a
taking with respect to the identifiable portion which cannot be
used. In short, in light of the strong historical protection of
private property in this country and the constitutional mandate
that the government may put private property to public use only
after compensating the owner of that property, | believe that the
question posed in Lucas is best answered by concluding that a
taking occurs where a regulation precludes the use of an
identifiable, discreet piece of property, even if that property
forms only a portion of a larger parcel. I do not find it relevant
how large a portion of property the owner possesses. What is
relevant is that the government has determined that a public
purpose would be served by denying the rightful owner of the
property the use of that property and requiring it to be used, or
in this case not used, in accordance with that public purpose.
While the government is permitted to do this, it must compen-
sate the property owner for putting the property to public use.
Our historical protection of private property in the constitution
allows no less.”

* It should be noted that the conclusion that there is a taking does
not necessarily compel the conclusion that there must always be
compensation. Compensation is, of course, required for the value
taken. If the property is utterly worthless, then there is no value taken
and no need for compensation. Similarly, if the cost of filling the
property and rehabilitating it to the point that it can be developed

(continued...)

Appendix B-14

For the above reasons, | would conclude that the trial court
erred in determining that there was no taking. Rather, the trial
‘court should have determined that a taking occurred by the
denial of the fill permit under the Wetland Protection Act and
should have proceeded to determine the amount, if any, of
compensation due plaintiffs.

/s/ David H. Sawyer

3

(...continued )

would exceed the value of the property once it is rehabilitated, then
nothing of value is taken. However, we are not called upon in this
appeal to address the issue of the amount of compensation, rather
only whether there was a taking. I would conclude that there was a
taking, but leave it for the trial court to determine the amount, if any,
of compensation that is due.

Appendix C- |

Filed 12/23/92

STATE OF MICHIGAN
IN THE COURT OF CLAIMS

RUSSELL H. VOLKEMA and
LOIS J. VOLKEMA, husband
and wife,

Plaintiffs,

Vv File No. 91-13914-CM
HONORABLE

STATE OF MICHIGAN; THE WILLIAM E. COLLETTE

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL

RESOURCES, and ROLAND

HARMES, Director of the

Department of Natural Resources,

Defendants.

JUDGMENT

At a session of court, held in Lansing,
Michigan on _December 23 , 199.2 .

This action was commenced with the filing of a
Complaint on October 29, 1991. In an Opinion and Order dated
June 18, 1992, the court denied plaintiffs’ Motion for Summary
Judgment or Alternative Partial Summary Disposition. In an
Opinion and Order dated September 29, 1992, the court denied
plaintiffs’ Second Motion for Summary Judgment or Partial
Summary Disposition, denied defendants’ Motion for Summary
Disposition as to Count I and granted Defendants’ Motion for
Summary Disposition as to Count IJ. Trial was held on
November 9, 1992. In an Opinion and Order dated
December 10, 1992, the court determined that defendants’
denial of a permit pursuant to the Goemaere-Anderson Wetland

Appendix C- 2

Protection Act did not constitute an unconstitutional taking of
plaintiffs’ property.

WHEREFORE, for reasons set forth in this court’s
Opinion and Orders dated June 18, September 29, and
November 9, 1992,

IT IS ORDERED, judgement of no cause of action is
entered in defendants’ favor.

/s/ William E. Collette
William E. Collette
Circuit Judge

Approved for entry
pursuant to MRC 2.602(B\(2)

/s/ Russell H. Volkema
Russell H. Volkema
Attorney for Plaintiffs

/s/ Kevin T. Smith
Kevin T. Smnh
Assistant Attorney General
Attorney for Defendants

Appendix D-1

Filed 12/10/92

STATE OF MICHIGAN
IN THE COURT OF CLAIMS

RUSSELL H. VOLKEMA and
LOIS J. VOLKEMA, husband
and wife,

Plaintiffs, File No. 91-13914-CM
v. Hon. William E. Collette
OPINION AND ORDER

STATE OF MICHIGAN, THE
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES, and ROLAND
HARMES, Director of Department
of Natural Resources,

Defendants.

FACTS

Russell H. Volkema and Louise T. Volkema are the
owners of a 24.6 acre parcel of property located in the City of
Kentwood, Kent County, Michigan. This parcel is zoned
commercial and runs along 28th Street, a prime commercial
development area.

A 4.6 acre piece of the property has been determined to
be a protected wetland under the Goemaere-Anderson Wetland
Protection Act. MCLA Section 281.701, et seg. In order to
“square off” the boundaries of the protected property, another
1.4 acres of Plaintiffs’ property is also unusable.

Appendix D-2

This Court has previously addressed several issues in this
lawsuit in two opinions on file. Those two opinions are
incorporated herein.

OPINION

In view of this Court’s previous rulings, the only issue
remaining to be determined is whether the application of the
Wetland Protection Act to Plaintiff's property has destroyed the
economic value of Plaintiffs’ property or interfered unreasonably
with Plaintiffs’ investment-backed expectations. Loveladies
Harbor, Inc. v. US, 31 ERC 1848 (1990).

During the trial, it was shown that the 4.6 acre wetland is
confined to one side of the property. Commercial development
has occurred in a portion of the balance of the property by the
construction of a parking lot and such development is planned
and feasible for the balance of the non-wetland areas of the
parcel. The testimony demonstrated that the non-wetlands have
a commercial value of $35,000 to $40,000 per acre. Plaintiffs
have argued that the wetlands have a negative impact on the
other property because of the taxes paid on them, because
mosquitos breed there, and because they are unsightly. This
Court notes that property taxes on lands determined to be
wetlands are to be reduced accordingly to reflect the obvious
impact on value. Further, mosquitos breed all over the state of
Michigan and wetlands, while unsightly to some, have an
intrinsic beauty in the eyes of other beholders. In this Court's
opinion, where the balance of this parcel has a value in excess of
$600,000, it cannot be said that the economic impact is such as
to constitute a taking.

During argument in this case, Plaintiffs continued to rely
on the theory that, since they are prohibited from any commer-
cial development of the six-acre area, a taking has occurred.
They contend this Court must ignore the value of the balance of

e
=

Appendix D-3

the property. In support of this view, Plaintiffs have cited
Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 112 S Ct 2886
(1992).

However, Lucas is distinguishable on its facts. There the
regulation prohibited amy use or development of the entire parcel
of property owned by the plaintiff. Here, only a quarter of the
total parcel is restricted and the balance has a value in excess of
$600,000. As this Court has noted before, zoning regulations
often require set backs from property lines and other require-
ments that limit or prohibit the ability of an owner to develop
part of their property. These do not constitute a taking since it
is recognized that such rules are for the good of all. Only where
the regulation amounts to a confiscation or a total denial of use
does it constitute a taking. In this case, most of the economic
value of the 24.6 acre parcel remains. This Court finds for the
Defendants.

Defendants shall prepare and file an appropriate order.

Dated _ 12/10/92 /s/ William E. Collette
William E. Collette, Circuit Judge

Appendix E-1

Filed 9/29/92
STATE OF MICHIGAN
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT
FOR THE COUNTY OF INGHAM

RUSSELL H. VOLKEMA and
LOIS J. VOLKEMA, husband
and wife,

Plaintiffs, File No. 91-13914-CM

Vv Hon. William E. Collette
OPINION AND ORDER

STATE OF MICHIGAN, THE
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES, and ROLAND
HARMES, Director of Department
of Natural Resources,

Defendants.

This matter is before the Court on Plaintiffs’ Second
Motion for Summary Judgment, or Partial Summary Disposition
and Defendants’ Motion for Summary Disposition, both based
on MCR 2.116(C\(10). This Court, having read the motions,
responses, briefs, and related filings, having heard oral argument
of the parties, and being fully advised in the premises, makes the
following determinations:

FACTS

The Court incorporates herein the facts set forth in its
Opinion and Order dated June 18, 1992.

In its June 18, 1992, Opinion and Order, the Court held

that for purposes of the taking analysis, the whole of the parcel
is determined to be 24.6 acres. Subsequently, the parties filed

cross-motions for summary disposition.

1
:
:
4
4

ewe, arian

&
$
&
n
:
%
4
a.

Appendix E-2

Even though the Court has previously determined that
for purposes of a taking analysis the whole of the parcel is
determined to be 24.6 acres, Plaintiffs’ motion argues once again
that the Defendants’ actions have affected a taking of the six
acres. Plaintiffs further argue that the six acres of wetland
carries with it a heavy property tax burden which gives the entire
24.6 acre parcel a negative value. As evidence of its negative
value, Plaintiffs attach tax bills and the Affidavit of Carl Fink,
President of a general partner of a limited partnership, which
owns the water park adjacent to the 24.6 acres of Plaintiffs”
property. The Affidavit states that the partnership has an interest
in purchasing the 24.6 acreage except for the wetland acreage,
and further states that the property tax on the wetland acreage
creates a negative value on the entire 24.6 acres.

Defendant argues that Plaintiffs have not lost any
compensable property right as a result of the denial, that there is
no taking because regulation of the wetland is a valid exercise of
the state’s police power, and that the permit denial does not
involve an actual invasion of Plaintiffs’ property, does not deny
Plaintiffs all economically beneficial or productive use of their
property, and does not go so far in restricting Plaintiffs’ use as
to constitute a taking. Defendant further argues that the Uniform
Condemnation Procedures Act is not applicable to inverse
condemnation or takings claims.

DISCUSSION

Plaintiffs continue to argue that this Court should only
consider the six acres for purposes of the taking analysis.
Plaintiffs argue that the Court should follow Loveladies Harbor,
Inc. v. US, 15 Cl Ct 381 (1988). This issue was previously
decided in the Court’s Opinion and Order dated June 18, 1992,
wherein the Court determined that 24.6 acres was the proper
consideration for the taking analysis. This Court notes that in
Loveladies Harbor, Inc., supra, the reason the court defined the
whole parcel as 12.5 acres and not 51 acres is because some of
that property was not contiguous, and because the possibility of

Appendix E-3

obtaining a permit for the remaining property was an
impossibility. Therefore, it also was almost certainly as equally
valueless as the 12.5 acres, making any inquiry into the
regulations’ economic impact and its interference with reason-
able investment backed expectations on the 51 acres, a fruitless
endeavor.

Having laid that issue to rest, the Court can address the
core issue in these motions: Whether there is a genuine issue of
material fact as to whether or not there has been a taking. This
court determines that there remain genuine issues of material
fact to be determined at trial.

As noted in this Court’s earlier opinion, the Supreme
Court has characterized the taking analysis as one where ad hoc,
factual inquires into the circumstances of each case must be
made. Penn Central Transportation Co v. New York, 438 US
104, 130-131; 98 S Ct 2646; 57 L Ed 2d 631 (1978).

The Court agrees with Plaintiffs that Loveladies
Harbor, Inc. v. US, 31 ERC 1848 (1990) set forth the applicable
law. The Court in Loveladies recognized that Courts look to
several issues in determining whether a taking has occurred.

First, a taking can occur where the imposition
of a government regulation fails to substan-
tially advance a legitimate governmental
interest... Second, a taking can occur where
the imposition of a governmental regulation
has the effect of depriving the owner’s land of
all economic value. (citations omitted).

Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v. US, 15 Cl Ct 381 (1988). The first
issue is not challenged in this case. In order to analyze the
second issue, whether a government regulation has deprived an
owner of the economic value of his land, three factors have been
utilized:

1) the character of the governmental action;

Appendix E-4

2) the economic impact of the regulation on the
claimant,

and

3) the extent to which the regulation has interfered with
reasonable investment-backed expectations.

Loveladies, supra, at 391, citing Keystone Bituminous Coal
Ass'n v. DeBenedictis, 480 US 470, 495; 107 S Ct 1232, 1247;
94 L Ed 2d 472 (1987).

In the first factor, the court must determine whether the
act closely parallels an act of eminent domain. The central
inquiry is “whether the act is equivalent to the physical invasion
or destruction of substantial rights held in the property.”
Loveladies Harbor, Inc. , supra. As in Loveladies, the Plaintiffs
have not been directly hindered in their rights to possess,
dispose, and exclude others. Therefore, as in Loveladies, this
Court finds that this case is not the equivalent of any destruction
or intrusion attendant with an act of eminent domain.

In order to properly evaluate the second and third
factors, the court must compare the value of property before and
after the regulation’s interference. This involves comparing the
differing fair market values of the property. Loveladies, supra
at 391.

The only evidence provided by Plaintiff of the fair
market value of the property after the regulation is Mr. Fink’s
Affidavit. The Affidavit, however, states that the general
partners of Water Park of Michigan Limited Partnership wish to
purchase the property and that the wetiand area has a negative
value effect on the total parcel. This is not sufficient evidence
of fair market value. Defendants provide absolutely no evidence
of fair market value. As such, this Court is unable to properly
determine the economic impact of the regulation, if any, and its
interference with reasonable investment-backed expectations, if
any. Therefore, based upon the foregoing, Plaintiffs’ Motion for

Appendix E-5

Summary Disposition is denied, and Defendants’ Motion for
Summary Disposition, as it applies to these issues, is also
denied.

Defendants also argue that Plaintiffs should not be
compensated because the regulation prevents a harmful use and
that Plaintiffs should not be compensated because there is a valid
application of the State’s police power. The Supreme Court
rejected these arguments in Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon,
260 US 393; 43 S Ct 158; 67 L Ed 2d 322 (1922), and more
recently in Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, _ US _:
112 S Ct 2886; LEd2d__ (1992). Therefore, Defendants’
Motion for Summary Disposition on these issues is denied.

Finally, Defendants argue that the Uniform Condemna-
tion Act, MCL 213.50, has no application to inverse
condemnation actions, and therefore Count II of Plaintiffs’
Complaint should be dismissed. The Court agrees. The law is
well settled that the Act is not applicable to inverse condem-
nation proceedings. Jack Loeks Theatres, Inc. v. City of
Kentwood, 189 Mich App 603, 616 (1992) lv den, 439 Mich 962
(1992).

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that
Plaintiffs’ Motion for Summary Disposition is DENIED, and
Defendants’ Motion for Summary Disposition is DENIED as to
Count I and GRANTED as to Count II.

Dated: _Sept 29. 1992 /s/ William E. Collette

William E. Collette
Circuit Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1534%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
