# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Doyle v. BellSouth Communications Systems, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1508%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 964

## Text

ee

(\) PIL aD
98 359 AVG 28 1098

OEEICE OF INE CLERK
Na .

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1997
*

BARNEY DOYLE, et al., and
JOSEPH CUNETTA, et al.,

Petitioners,

BELLSOUTH COMMUNICATIC N SYSTEMS, INC., and
BELLSOUTH TELECOMMUNICATIONS, INC.,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Sixth Circuit
¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
+

LAwRENCE R. METSCH ARTHUR W. TIFFORD
Counsel of Record ARTHUR W. TirrorD, P.A.
MetscH & Metscu, P.A. 1385 N.W. 15th Street
1385 N.W. 15th Street Miami, Florida 33125
Miami, Florida 33125 (305) 545-7822

(305) 545-6400 FAX: (305) 325-1825
FAX: (305) 545-7224 ts ti Pintoas
ARTHUR J. MORBURGER THomas & THOMAs,
Penthouse I Attorneys

155 South Miami Avenue 77 Adams Avenue
Miami, Florida 33130 Memphis, Tennessee
(305) 374-3373 38103-1709

FAX: (305) 358-1755 (901) 526-0000

FAX: (901) 526-0046

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Does § 2103 of the Employee Commuting Flexibility
Act of 1996 (which retroactively amended § 4(a) of the
Portal-to-Portal Pay Act of 1947 and extinguished Peti-
tioners’ claims against Respondents for travel-related
overtime compensation under § 7(a)(1) of the Fair Labor
Standards Act of 1938) violate the Takings and Due Pro-
cess Clauses of the Fifth Amendment to the United States
Constitution?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The following were parties to Case No. 97-5122, U.S.
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit:

Plaintiffs/Appellants Barney Doyle, et al.

Barney Doyle
Samuel J. Carroll
A.W. Bearden
David A. Boshell
DJ. Pollefeyt

J.P. Clark

Keith G. Wickerham
Michael L. Garretson

Plaintiffs/Appellants Joseph Cunetta, et al.

Joseph Cunetta

Eli Luis Lopez
James L. Moran
Orestes Ponce
George Rodriguez
Bob Blast

David E. Clark
Ken Devau

James M. Donahue
Sante Ferrante
MacArthur Gordon
Charles L. Hart, Il
Jorge Rodriguez
Juan M. Rodriguez
Bill O'Neill
Stewart Thompson
Gregory A. Waldon
Joel S. Goldman
David R. Waters

John A. Glancy
Edward M. McDonald
Vincent Alan Jones
Michelle B. Correll
Harry R. Booth
Richard G. Bean, Jr.
L. Seward

Ivan S. Roberts
Dean A. Penman
Robert M. Snyder
Claudio F. Carano
Vicki Danelutti
Kenneth C. Attis
John W. Lacey

John C. Orr

James H. Libby, III
Alan C. Bader
Pedro E. Ramirez
Wayne M. Mallinger

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS - Continued

Joseph C. Poland
Kenneth Messina
David L. Gregory
William F. Wellman
Yun H. Kong
Jeffrey M. Cason
Cecilia M. Bravo
Terry L. Foster

Neil L. Smith
Edward E. Eichhorn
Catherine L. Trotman
Robert L. Roberts
Robert J. Mohl
Larry E. Richards
Donald E. Eyler
Arthur P. Boothe
Daniel F. Cadicamo
David E. Clark
Solomon Tillman
Timothy J. Behm
Donald R. Amiott
Willie J. Wright
Richard J. Kuemerie
Ralph P. Bower, III
Arthur J. Scott
Thomas J. O’Connor
William A. Walsh
Neil J. Hampton
Edward J. Miles
Brian P. Scott
Thomas C. Lyons
Richard L. Carnes
Michael R. Herbig
John V. Niglio
Wade H. Fletcher, III

William M. Nitsch
Alan A. LaPorte
Steven L. Bullard
Michael A. Schoenberg
R.A. Kaputa

Cheryl B. Didonna
Anthony J. Mody
Robert M. Halsey
Teri L. Smith
Timothy J. Weber
Allan D. Saar
Andrew M. Dolan
Gary A. Schulteis
David C. Phillips
Peter J. McGinnis
Kim E. Cadden
Paul E. Carrico
Leigh E. Zimmerman
Gregory J. Henock
Richard Sharp

T.R. Dawson
Anthony J. Plastini
George R. Smith
Daniel V. Nieroda
Mark J. Babcock
Richard R. Dechert
Otis T. Keeve
Dennis D. Spitaleri
Sharon E. Corcell
Richard P. Neely
Samuel E. Genovese
Jerry L. Richardson
William J. Reynolds, II
Loren J. Ringler
Barry W. Motyka

iv

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS - Continued

Martin S. Priest Paul A. Messier
Richard L. Conner William L. Douglas
Eleanor C. Sloane Charles R. Apgar
Keith M. Belzeski Elaine M. Scott-Belzeski
Rogelio San Martin William J. Lawson
David E. Steele Brian Hunt
Andrew J. Wunder Ian B. Malloy
Philip E. Young Edward J. Mangan
Mike P. Retzler Janice A. Nauman
Duane F. Marshall Richard C. Cote
William E. Collins Ronald Gregory
William R. Dougherty J.J. Matthews
Alexander Sansone Melvin L. Scott
Thomas D. Lamberson Henry J. Norman
Robert J. Moore William D. Reed
Mark Van Wagner Robert H. Berger
Anne H. Delucca Craig V. Waring
Michael Minai William H. Baldwin, Jr.
Douglas R. Palmer Elizabeth R. Dore
D.K. Dore, Jr. John S. Tresize
Mark A. Praught Larry Clement
Stephen B. Finlan William A. Lewis
J.A. Dordo Wilfredo A. Perez
Stephen A. Fairbanks Victoria Ross
Douglas Gerry William Riling
Thomas Howard, Jr. Vincente Torres
Priscilla Attart Angel M. Rivera
Maureen Aughey Belinda B. Maynard
Reynaldo Koenfeld Chris Clendaniel
Lucas Rosado Hamehk Insaulgarat
W.D. Floyd Patrick L. Phifer
Joseph R. Rolier, Jr. Gabriel F. Eberle
Michael W. Albury Marrio Langisena
James E. Newman Richard J. Ferrin

Bobby O. Willis

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS - Continued

Respondents

BellSouth Communication Systems, Inc.
BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.

vi

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Ouestion: Papi sion. c 5k 5 os eek Oo 03s HE Ee i
Parties To The Proceedings 02... 0.0 cc cece ii
Fabio: 430 Cs 55 ee eae. vi
Tab ae: CIE Rm oes ms a eee eee ots Vii
OpimiOns DOW ban ecicy soc bean anes ae bos teens nies 1
Statement Of Jurisdiction ... é BARR ee, Cerne ee 1
Constitutional And Statutory Provisions Involved... 2
Statement Cr "Fat Tee os cs ea ee cha ces 5
Reasons For Granting The Writ.................... 17
COmURe 5 aa si ee ec oe ee a ok 21
Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Sixth Circuit, Filed April 3, 1998......... App. 1
Order of the United States District Court for the
Western District of Tennessee, Western Divi-
sion, Filed May 22, T1995 ..trict of Tennessee, Western Divi-
sion, Filed December 3, 1996 ...............- App. 16

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Baker v. GTE North Incorporated, 927 F. Supp. 1104
EE Rs Sin cehcccestn utah” eakgaavas tank 0aee 18
Baker v. GTE North Incorporated, 110 F.3d 28 (7th
Se... g SREP i ropereres cp erry a eee Pree 18
Calder v. Bull, 3 Dall. 386, 1 L. Ed. 648 (1798)....... 16
Eastern Enterprises v. Apfel, __ U.S. __, 118 S. Ct.
SRR a 656 vk F Sb RASS Span MONE 4 15, 16, 18, 19
Eastern Enterprises v. Chater, 110 F.3d 150 (1st Cir.
ee a cha ges CUR AUN ESAS rene HAR VR RS Ana BOS ees 15
Hoffman-La Roche, Inc. v. Sperling, 493 U.S. 165
en ee ues Oa b NA sd 4 en A eee Ee ee eS es Cows 8, 9
Johnson v. United States, 520 U.S. 461 (1997) ......... 19

Landgraf v. USI Film Products, 511 U.S. 244 (1994) .... 13
Ott v. Midland-Ross Corporation, 523 F.2d 1367 (6th

ee OE ee aly id i anew bao hk Abbas 05 8, 11
Partlow v. Jewish Orphans’ Home of Southern Califor-

was. SOs Foe vor teem Cit. 296)). oo. seci cc ee ees 8, 9
Sperling v. Hoffman-La Roche, Inc., 118 F.R.D. 392

Ss MERE eae 555s en As ORD WAR EO Re SAN ie deecses 9
United States v. Gaudin, 515 U.S. 506 (1995).......... 19
Walling v. Helmerich & Payne, Inc., 323 U.S. 37

POE Shc eV GeeWhi aces seh KeeKacbesW hes Sanne sipscis 17

U.S. ConstITUTION
Pe Be ee Oe AU PONE BORO) 5 ons cceescccencsenss 16

I i. ec ehewasdecs 2, 15, 16, 18, 19

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

STATUTES
Tithe 26, U5... BS SPO Frakes iii eA Geena 15
pi ge eR Ca es errr eee areas ee 2
pe th oe Neer ree oe 7
FUE tes Macaig Me RD hs & «on S bos se bo oe os VE tBAS 2
TeGhe 2, Waa, | PAP GON): «5 occa si ce ens di ecvsncees 3, 6
pc Be eR Rs re Sear eer eee pa 3, 6
Pe MS eee 8. RS Coes ore pepe 2,4
TREE By She BD in 0 kx eee bonds ene vce 7, 8, 11
SE Ee as Cia hae 0o oe ieee cn eriEN eee 11
Pusuic Laws
§§ 2101-2103, P.L. 104-188, 110 Stat. 1755, August

20, 1996 (The Employee Commuting Flexibility

PER TE SOM es nh Son h bss eim es ea aes ai & Dy be 2 1S
RULES
ee ek rrr ere reer Se 16
supreme Court Bile 20.400). ooo c'scie'socceno de opine cere 2
Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 38............. 13
Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 52(b) ........... 19

LeGcIsLATIVE History

House Report 104-585, 104th Congress, 2d Session
RGN FOS. ko okbn coke sahs see ceeamreinshcve 18

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners Barney Doyle, et al., and Joseph Cunetta,
et al. (“Petitioners”), respectfully request that a Writ of
Certiorari be issued to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in Case No.
97-5122.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Court of Appeals’ April 3, 1998, opinion in Case
No. 97-5122, which affirmed the District Court’s sum-
mary judgment (App. 1-3), has not been reported (see,
Table-142 F.3d 433), but can be found at 1998 WL 165149.

The District Court’s May 22, 1995, order of consolida-
tion and tolling statute of limitations (App. 4-8) has not
been reported.

The District Court’s June 13, 1996, order denying
Respondents’ motions for reconsideration of the May 22,
1995, order (App. 9-15) has not been reported.

The District Court’s December 3, 1996, order granting
Respondents’ motions for summary judgment in Case
No. 94-2978-D (App. 16-29) has not been reported, but
can be found at 1995 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 18874.

S

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

On April 3, 1998, the U.S. Court of Appeals, Sixth
Circuit, in Case No. 97-5122, affirmed the District Court’s
judgment in Case No. 94-2978-D. Justice Stevens, on June

30, 1998, extended, until August 31, 1998, the time for
Petitioners to petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

Section 1254(1), Title 28, U.S. Code, confers jurisdic-
tion on this Court to review on a Writ of Certiorari the
judgment of the Court of Appeals in Case No. 97-5122.

In accordance with 28 U.S.C. § 2403(a) and Supreme
Court Rule 29.4(b), Petitioners have notified the Solicitor
General of the United States of their intention to chal-
lenge the constitutionality of § 2103 (the retroactivity
provision) of the Employee Commuting Flexibility Act of
1996 (“the Commuting Act”), PL. 104-188, 110 Stat. 1755,
approved August 20, 1996, which amended 29 U.S.C.
§ 254(a).

+

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution:

“No person shall be held to answer for a capital,
or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a pre-
sentment or indictment of a Grand Jury, except
in cases arising in the land or naval forces, or in
the Militia, when in actual service in time of War
or public danger; not shall any person be subject
for the same offence to be twice put in jeopardy
of life or limb; nor shall he be compelled in any
criminal case to be a witness against himself,
nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property,
without due process of law; nor shall private
property be taken for public use, without just
compensation.”

Section 7(a)(1) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as
amended (“the FLSA”), § 207(a)(1), Title 29, U.S. Code:

“Except as otherwise provided in this section,
no employer shall employ any of his employees
who in any workweek is engaged in commerce
or in the production of goods for commerce, or
is employed in an enterprise engaged in com-
merce or in the production of goods for com-
merce, for a workweek longer than forty hours
unless such employee receives compensation for
his employment in excess of the hours specified
at a rate not less than one and one-half times the
regular rate at which he is employed.”

Section 16(b) of the FLSA, 29 U.S.C. § 216(b):

“Damages; right of action; attorney’s fees and costs;
termination of right of action.

“Any employer who violates the provisions
of . . . section 207 of this title shall be liable to
the employee or employees affected in the
amount of . . . their unpaid overtime compensa-
tion . . . and in an additional equal amount as
liquidated damages . . . An action to recover the
liability prescribed . . . may be maintained
against any employer (including a public
agency) in any Federal or State Court of compe-
tent jurisdiction by any one or more employees
for and in behalf of himself or themselves and
other employees similarly situated. No
employee shall be a party plaintiff to any such
action unless he gives his consent in writing to
become such a party and such consent is filed in
the court in which such action is brought. The
court in such action shall, in addition to any
judgment awarded to the plaintiff or plaintiffs,

allow a reasonable attorney’s fee to be paid by
the defendant, and costs of the action... ”

Section 4(a) the Portal-to-Portal Pay Act of 1947 (“the
Portal Act”), § 254(a), Title 29, U.S. Code (prior to its
amendment by the Commuting Act):

“Activities not compensable. Except as pro-
vided in subsection (b), no employer shall be
subject to any liability or punishment under the
Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as
amended .. . , on account of the failure of such
employer to pay an employee . . . overtime
compensation, for or on account of any of the
following activities of such employee engaged
in on or after [May 14, 1947] -

(1) walking, riding, or traveling to and
from the actual place of performance of the
principal activity or activities which such
employee is employed to perform, and

(2) activities which are preliminary to or
postliminary to said principal activity or
activities, which occur either prior to the
time on any particular workday at which
such employee commences, or subsequent
to the time on any particular workday at
which he ceases, such principal activity or
activities.”

The Employee Commuting Flexibility Act of 1996 (“the Com-
muting Act”), §§ 2101-2103, PL. 104-188, 110 Stat. 1755,
1928, approved August 20, 1996:

“SEC.2101. SHORT TITLE.

“This section and sections 2102 and 2103 may be
cited as the ‘Employee Commuting Flexibility
Act of 1996’.

“SEC. 2102. PROPER COMPENSATION FOR
USE OF EMPLOYER VEHICLES.

“Section 4(a) of the Portal-to-Portal Act of 1947
(29 U.S.C. 254(a)) is amended by adding at the
end the following: ‘For purposes of this subsec-
tion, the use of an employer’s vehicle for travel
by an employee and activities performed by an
employee which are incidental to the use of such
vehicle for commuting shall not be considered
part of the employee's principal activities if the
use of such vehicle for travel is within the nor-
mal commuting area for the employer’s busi-
ness or establishment and the use of the
employer’s vehicle is subject to an agreement on
the part of the employer and the employee or
representative of such employee’.

“SEC.2103. EFFECTIVE DATE.

“The amendment made by section 2101 shall
take effect on the date of the enactment of this
Act and shall apply in determining the applica-
tion of section 4 of the Portal-to-Portal Act of
1947 to an employee in any civil action brought
before such date of enactment but pending on
such date.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent BellSouth Communication Systems, Inc.
(“BSCS”), is a wholly-owned subsidiary of BellSouth Cor-
poration, Atlanta, Georgia, which is publicly traded. At
all pertinent times, BSCS was engaged in the business of
providing “inside premises” telecommunications services
in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mis-
sissippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee.

Respondent BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc.
(“BST”), also a wholly-owned subsidiary of BellSouth
Corporation, was at all pertinent times engaged in the
business of providing “outside premises” or “network”
telecommunications services in the same nine (9) states.

Petitioner Barney Doyle, on November 23, 1994,
brought suit under §§ 7(a)(1) and 16(b) of the FSA, 29
U.S.C. §§ 207(a)(1) and 216(b), against BSCS in the U.S.
District Court, Western District of Tennessee, to recover
overtime compensation for himself and other similarly
situated BSCS employees who, between 1991 and 1994,
had participated in BSCS’s Motor Vehicle Usage Program
(“the MVUP”). That suit was assigned Civil Action
94-2978. In his complaint, Petitioner Doyle claimed that
participating BSCS field service technicians had been
engaged in a “principal activity” (for which overtime
compensation had been due) when each working day
they had driven their stocked (with supplies), specially
equipped BSCS-owned trucks from their respective
homes to their respective first job assignments and from
their respective final job assignments to their respective
homes, where the trucks had been kept overnight.!

Petitioners Joseph Cunetta, et al., on January 27,
1995, brought suit under §§ 7(a)(1) and 16(b) of the FLSA,
29 U.S.C. §§ 207(a)(1) and 216(b), against BST in the
General Jurisdiction Division, Eleventh Circuit Court of

! The “consents to join” Civil No. 94-2978 of Petitioners S.].
Carroll, A.W. Bearded and David A. Boswell were filed on May
5, 1995. On May 15, 1995, those of Petitioners D.J. Pollefeyt and
}.P. Clark were filed with the Clerk of the Tennessee District
Court.

Florida (Miami-Dade County, Florida), to recover over-
time compensation for themselves and other similarly
situated BST employees who, between 1991 and 1994, had
participated in BST’s Home Dispatch Program (“the
HDP”). That suit was assigned Case No. 95-1706 (CA 02).
On February 14, 1995, BST removed Case No. 95-1706
(CA 02) to the U.S. District Court, Southern District of
Florida, which assigned it Case No. 95-293-Civ-Atkins. In
their complaint, Petitioners Cunetta, et al., claimed that
participating BST field service technicians had been
engaged in a “principal activity” (for which overtime
compensation had been due) when each working day
they had driven their stocked (with supplies), specially
equipped BST-owned trucks from their respective homes
to their respective first job assignments and from their
respective final job assignments to their respective
homes, where the trucks had been kept overnight.

BST, on April 19, 1995, moved to transfer Case No.
95-293-Civ-Atkins to the Western District of Tennessee
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a). That motion was granted
on May 4, 1995. Thereafter, the Clerk of the Tennessee
District Court assigned Civil Action No. 95-2372 to the
transferred lawsuit.

On May 22, 1995, the District Court issued an order
consolidating Civil Actions No. 94-2978 and 95-2372
under the former docket number. In that order, the Dis-
trict Court also stated:

“On May 17, 1995, an initial scheduling confer-
ence was held in case no. 94-2978. At the confer-
ence, plaintiffs’ counsel indicated that pursuant
to 29 U.S.C. § 255(a), a two year statute of lim-
itations period continues to run against any

potential plaintiff until that individual files suit
or ‘opts into’ the class maintaining the action.
Plaintiffs’ counsel also indicated that the two
year period limits damages to the unpaid wages
that have accrued two years prior to the time of
filing suit or ‘opting into’ the class.

“It further appears that there is a dispute as to
who is a proper member of the class. Until this
issue is resolved, the potential plaintiffs cannot
be notified nor can it be determined whether
they wish to ‘opt into’ this litigation. Therefore,
based on the above, the Court is faced with
potential plaintiffs who may or may not wish to
‘opt into’ this litigation and a statute of limita-
tions that continues to run against these poten-
tial plaintiffs, if any, limiting their damages, if
any.

“The Court clearly possesses the authority to
manage this action including authorization to
send notice to any potential plaintiffs and
approval of such notice. See, Hoffman-La Roche,
Inc. v. Sperling, 493 U.S. 165, 110 S. Ct. 482, 107
L. Ed. 2d 480 (1989). The Court also has the
authority to require the defendant employers to
identify all potential plaintiff class members
through discovery. Id. It further appears that the
two year statute of limitation, 29 U.S.C. § 255(a),
is a procedural limitation rather than substan-
tive. See, Partlow v. Jewish Orphans’ Home of
Southern Cal., 645 F.2d 757, 760 (9th Cir. 1981);
cf., Ott v. Midland-Ross Corporation, 523 F.2d
1367, 1370 (6th Cir. 1975).

“The ADEA incorporates the enforcement provi-
sions of the Fair Labor Standards Act, 52 Stat.
1060, as amended, 29 U.S.A., § 201, et seq. (1982

ed. And Supp. V). Hoffman-La Roche, Inc. v. Sper-
ling, 493 U.S. 165, 167, 110 S. Ct. 482, 485, 107 L.
Ed. 2d 480 (1989). The district court, in Hoffman-
La Roche, Inc. v. Sperling, 493 U.S. 165, 110 S. Ct.
482, 107 L. Ed. 2d 480 (1989), concluded the
statute of limitations governing ADEA claims
could be tolled by equitable considerations. See,
Sperling v. Hoffman-La Roche, Inc., 118 F.R.D. 392,
410 (1988). There, the Court found, although not
deciding the issue, that plaintiffs presented a
facially compelling case for equitable tolling, in
part, based on delay occasioned by the Court
issuing its ruling on the class membership issue.
Id. F.R.D. at 410-11.

“Based on the circumstances of this case and
upon review of the above case law, the Court
concludes that it should toll the statute of lim-
itations until the class membership issue is
resolved. The Court takes this action as a pre-
cautionary measure to avoid prejudice to those
potential plaintiffs who are not currently before
the Court. The Court also finds that the purpose
of the statute of limitation will not be frustrated
by the Court’s action as the statute is designed
to ensure fairness to defendants and to notify
them of claims that they must defend before the
claims grow stale. See, Partlow v. Jewish Orphans’
Home of Southern Cal., 645 F.2d 757 (9th Cir.
1981) (citation omitted). This ruling does not
preclude the Court from reviewing its decision
at a later time according to the facts and merits
as to each potential plaintiff/class member. See,
Sperling v. Hoffman-La Roche, Inc., 118 F.R.D. 392,
410-411 (1988). Tolling the statute of limitations
at this time will allow both sides to properly
address and brief the issue and permit the Court
to more carefully consider the issue.

10

“Accordingly, the statute of limitations as to all
potential plaintiffs in both these actions shall be
tolled from date of entry of this order until the
class membership issue has been determined
and each prospective plaintiff receives notice of
this litigation. The parties will be allowed to
brief this issue and the Court may modify,
expand and/or vacate this decision at a later
time.” (Footnote omitted)

The District Court, on June 12, 1996, entered an order
denying Respondents’ motions for reconsideration of that
portion of the May 22, 1995, order which had tolled the
statute of limitations. In its June 12, 1996, order, the
District Court observed:

“The plaintiffs have sought discovery of all
potential plaintiffs (i.e., similarly situated
employees) in the ..ine-state area where the
defendants do business. According to the plain-
tiffs, the class of potential plaintiffs includes all
BellSouth employees in the entire nine-state
region who participated in the home dispatch
program at any time during the three-year
period preceding November 23, 1994, when the
earlier of the two cases consolidated into the
present case was filed. The defendants have dis-
closed at least 25 names of employees similarly
situated to the plaintiffs.

“The defendants claim that they have made a
good faith effort to comply with their disclosure
requirements by producing lists of the names
and whereabouts of employees similarly situ-
ated to the plaintiffs, both in the Memphis area
and in the Miami area. The defendants state,
furthermore, that they are painstakingly trying
to respond to the plaintiffs’ discovery request as

11

quickly as possible. The defendants assert that
they have no central historical database indicat-
ing home dispatch status for individual
employees for the relevant time period, and that
BellSouth is attempting to compile this informa-
tion through a search of historical fleet mainte-
nance records. The defendants claim to have
nearly completed a list of approximately 5,000
employees in the nine-state area who may have
participated in the home dispatch program dur-
ing the relevant time period. The defendants
represent that they are willing to produce the
list when complete, subject to a protective order
and pending a determination by the court of
who is similarly situated.

* * *

“In the administration of an FLSA action, this
court clearly possesses the authority to require
of the defendants disclosure of the names and
addresses of potential class members. To date,
the defendants have failed to produce, to the
satisfaction of the court, the names and
addresses of potential class members who
should receive notice of the pending action.
Although 29 U.S.C. § 257 does not provide by its
plain language tolling of the limitations period
under § 255 of the same title, with regard to an
individual not specifically named as a party
plaintiff, in any instance other than the filing of
a consent to become a party plaintiff, ‘[i]t is well
established that equitable tolling is read into
every federal statute of limitation’. Ott v. Mid-
land-Ross Corp., 600 F.2d 24 (6th Cir. 1979).

“After a thorough review of the record and law,
the court finds that the equities warrant tolling
of the limitations period as to all potential

12

claimants until such time as the defendants
comply with the court’s order to produce the
names and addresses of all potential class mem-
bers. The court herein defines ‘potential class
members’ as any of the defendants’ present or
former employees, in the nine-state area . .. who
were non-salaried and non-management during
the relevant period and engaged in the defen-
dant’s program generally referred to as ‘home
dispatch’. The court will then decide who is, and
who is not, similarly situated. Furthermore, the
May 23, 1995 Order Tolling Statute Of Limita-
tions is subject to review according to each
potential plaintiff/class member’s facts and
merits, and subject to be modified, expanded or
vacated, in whole or in part, at any time by this
court.”

On June 12, 1996, the “consents to join” of 1,870
additional former participants in BST’s HDP were filed
with the Clerk of the District Court. The District Court at
no time:

(a) determined that BSCS and BST had
complied with its order to produce the names
and addresses of all potential class members;

(b) held that the individuals who had filed
“consents to join” were “similarly situated”; and

(c) approved a form of notice to potential
class members.

The Commuting Act was signed by the President on
August 20, 1996. BSCS, on September 19, 1996, moved for
summary judgment of dismissal on the ground that the
Commuting Act had retroactively amended the Portal Act
and extinguished Petitioners’ claims for travel-related

13

overtime compensation under the FLSA. BST filed a simi-
lar motion on September 24, 1996.2

One of the arguments advanced by Petitioners in
opposition to the BSCS and BST motions for summary
judgment was that, in the absence of explicit legislative
findings, the Commuting Act’s retroactivity provision,
§ 2103, violated Petitioners’ rights under the Fifth
Amendment's Due Process Clause. The District Court, on
December 3, 1996, rejected Petitioners’ Due Process
Clause challenge to the Commuting Act? and directed
entry of final summary judgment for BSCS and BST.

Petitioners appealed. In the absence of a single
reported decision declaring a federal statute unconstitu-
tional by reason of its retroactivity, and concerned that
sanctions could be imposed against them pursuant to
Rule 38, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure,‘

2 Neither BSCS nor BST moved for leave to file pleadings
invoking the Commuting Act.

3 The District Court stated:

“Finally, Plaintiffs contend that in the absence of
legislative findings, the due process clause bars the
retroactive application of the [Commuting] Act. The
court finds this argument to be contrary to well
settled law, and therefore without merit. Congress
has the power to enact legislation that has
retrospective application. Landgraf v. USI Film
Products, 511 U.S. 244 (1994).”

* Rule 38, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, is entitled
“Damages and Costs for Frivolous Appeals” and provides:

“If a court of appeals determines that an appeal is
frivolous, it may, after a separately filed motion or
notice from the court and reasonable opportunity to

14

Petitioners did not pursue their Due Process Clause chal-
lenge to § 2103 of the Commuting Act before the Sixth
Circuit. Instead, Petitioners contended that the District
Court had erroneously determined that the Respondents
had satisfied the Commuting Act’s “normal commuting
area for the employer’s business or establishment” crite-
rion.°

On April 3, 1998, the Court of Appeals affirmed the
District Court’s final summary judgment for BSCS and
BST. Judge Merritt’s opinion for the Sixth Circuit rea-
soned:

“Plaintiffs’ primary argument on appeal is that
the district court improperly interpreted the
requirement of the Employee Commuting Flex-
ibility Act that the plaintiffs’ commute be within
the ‘normal commuting area for the employer's
business’ if overtime compensation is to be

respond, award just damages and single or double
costs to the appellee.”

5 The District Court found and concluded that:

“Next, the court must examine whether the use is
‘within the normal commuting area for the
employer’s business’. Pursuant to the CBA, home
dispatch participants’ commute to their first
assignment was limited to 35 miles . . . For trips above
35 miles, the CBA provided that home dispatch
employees would be paid a travel premium . . . Thus
from the pleadings, affidavits, and undisputed facts,
the court finds that the commute for home dispatch
employees would not be any longer than for non
home dispatch employees. Where the commute
exceeded the negotiated range, the contract provided
for a travel premium. Thus, the court finds that this
prong of the test has been satisfied.”

15

denied. Plaintiffs did not raise the present argu-
ment below, and defendants correctly contend
that the argument is waived. Counsel for plain-
tiffs candidly advised the court at oral argument
that new lawyers have ceme into the case and
have substantially changed the theory of their
case. If this court now adopted plaintiffs’ new
arguments, the court would have to remand to
the court below a new fact issue about the scope
of the ‘normal commuting area’ and new legal
issues concerning the burden of proof on this
question. These issues were not litigated in the
court below, and the parties agree that millions
of dollars in damages may ride on how these
issues are decided. This is not a class action, but
our determination of these new issues could
become a precedent binding thousands of
employees of the defendants. Under these cir-
cumstances we believe it unwise and inap-
propriate to consider plaintiffs’ new theory for
the first time on appeal.”

This Court, on June 25, 1998, issued its decision in
Case No. 97-42, Eastern Enterprises v. Apfel, _ U.S. __,
118 S. Ct. 2131, reversing Eastern Enterprises v. Chater, 110
F.3d 150 (1st Cir. 1997) (hereinafter referred to as “Eastern
Enterprises”). In an opinion written by Justice O’Connor
and joined by the Chief Justice and Justices Scalia and
Thomas, a plurality held that the Coal Industry Retiree
Health Benefit Act of 1992 (“the Coal Act”), P.L. 102-486,
Title XIX, Subtitle C, 106 Stat. 3036, codified as 26 U.S.C.
§§ 9701-9722 (1994 ed. and Supp. II), violated the Takings
Clause of the Fifth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution
because it had improperly placed “a severe, disproportio-
nate and extremely retroactive burden on Eastern.”
US. at -, 118 3S. Ct. at 2158.

16

Justice Thomas, ir a concurring opinion, expressed a
willingness to reconsider Calder v. Bull, 3 Dall. 386, 1 L.
Ed. 648 (1798), and to hold that the Ex Post Facto Clause
of the Constitution, Art. I, § 9, cl. 3, applies outside the
criminal context. ____~ U.S. at __, 118 S. Ct. at 2154.

Finally, Justice Kennedy, concurring in the judgment
and dissenting in part, concluded that the Coal Act was
invalid under the Fifth Amendment’s Due Process
Clause. ____ U.S. at __, 118 S. Ct. at 2154-2160.

Petitioners, on June 26, 1998, applied under Supreme
Court Rule 13.5 to Sixth Circuit Justice John Paul Stevens
for a 60 day extension of time in which to file a petition
for writ of certiorari directed to the Sixth Circuit’s deci-
sion in Case No. 97-5122. In that application, Petitioners
in pertinent part stated:

“7. The Court, on June 25, 1998, issued its deci-
sion in Eastern Enterprises v. Apfel, _. U.S. __
(Docket No. 97-42), holding unconstitutional the
retroactivity provisions of the Coal Industry
Retiree Health Benefit Act of 1992 (‘the Coal
Act’), 26 U.S.C. 9701-9722 (1994 ed. and Supp.
II). Petitioners believe that the rationale of the
Court’s decision in Eastern Enterprises, supra,
applies to and renders unconstitutional § 2103 of
P.L. 104-188. However, Petitioners will be unable
to prepare and file a petition for writ of cer-
tiorari advancing that argument by their July 1,
1998, deadline.”

Justice Stevens, on June 30, 1998, in Application A-9,
extended until August 31, 1998, the time within which
Petitioners may file a petition for writ of certiorari

17

directed to the Sixth Circuit’s decision in Case No.
97-5122.

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
a.

THIS COURT SHOULD PERMIT PETITIONERS TO
CHALLENGE THE CONSTITUTIONALITY OF § 2103
OF THE COMMUTING ACT.

In Walling v. Helmerich & Payne, Inc., 323 U.S. 37, 42
(1944), this Court stated:

“It is no answer that the artificial regular rate
was a product of contract or that it was in excess
of the statutory minimum. The [FLSA] clearly
contemplates the setting of the regular rate in a
bona fide manner through wage negotiations
between employer and employee, provided that
the statutory minimum is respected. But this
freedom of contract does not include the right to
compute the regular rate in a wholly unrealistic
and artificial manner so as to negate the statu-
tory purposes. Even when wages exceed the mini-
mum prescribed by Congress, the parties to the
contract must respect the statutory policy of requir-
ing the employer to pay one and one-half times the
regular hourly rate for all hours actually worked in
excess of 40. Any other conclusion in this case would
exalt ingenuity over reality and would open the door
to insidious disregard of the rights protected by the
[FLSA].” (Emphasis supplied)

In § 2102 of the Commuting Act, Congress modified the
foregoing principle. Congress’ directions (in § 2103) that

18

the Commuting Act be given retroactive effect® and that
pending claims for travel-based overtime compensation
under the FLSA be extinguished have posed three (3)
important questions under the Takings and Due Process
Clauses of the Fifth Amendment to the Constitution, as
interpreted in Eastern Enterprises:

First, has § 2103 of the Commuting Act forced a
considerable economic or financial burden upon those
whose claims for travel-based overtime compensation
have been extinguished?

Second, has § 2103 of the Commuting Act interfered
with the reasonable investment-backed expectations of
those whose claims for travel-based overtime compensa-
tion have been extinguished?

Third, does § 2103 of the Commuting Act implicate
fundamental principles of fairness underlying the Tak-
ings and Due Process Clauses of the Fifth Amendment to
the Constitution?

Eastern Enterprises stands as this Court's first invalida-
tion of federal legislation by reason of its retroactivity.

© In Baker v. GTE North Incorporated, 927 F. Supp. 1104 (N.D.
Ind. 1996), the District Court held that the participants in an
HDP identical to those of Respondents were entitled to travel-
related overtime compensation under the FLSA. As noted in
House Report 104-585, 104th Congress, 2d Session, May 20,
1996, in enacting the Commuting Act, Congress intended to
overrule that decision, which was reversed in Baker v. GTE North
Incorporated, 110 F.3d 28 (7th Cir. 1997). The Seventh Circuit held
that the Commuting Act was retroactive and had extinguished
the claimants’ entitlements to travel-related overtime
compensation under the FLSA.

ee —

19

Petitioners, in prosecuting their appeal to the Sixth Circuit,
could not have anticipated such a dramatic development
in this Court’s approach to the Takings and Due Process
Clauses of the Fifth Amendment to the Constitution.’

Prior to the expiration of their time in which to seek
review of the April 3, 1998, judgment of the Court of
Appeals, Petitioners (in their application to Justice
Stevens for an extension of time) signaled to this Court
their reliance upon the decision in Eastern Enterprises for
the proposition that § 2103 of the Commuting Act is
unconstitutional. Under these circumstances, Petitioners
should be permitted to challenge the constitutionality of
that statute.

Because this Court has established clear criteria in
Eastern Enterprises, Petitioners believe that the constitu-
tionality of § 2103 of the Commuting Act under the
Takings and Due Process Clauses of the Fifth Amendment
to the Constitution should be addressed, in the first
instance, by the Sixth Circuit.®

7 Analogously, in Johnson v. United States, 520 U.S. 461
(1997), this Court held that for purposes of Rule 52(b), Federal
Rules of Criminal Procedure, due to the intervening decision in
United States v. Gaudin, 515 U.S. 506 (1995), the District Court’s
failure to submit to the jury the issue of materiality in a perjury
prosecution constituted “plain error”, which was reviewable on
appeal notwithstanding the absence of a timely objection.

8 The Court of Appeals could, in its discretion, remand the
cause to the District Court for the entry of Eastern Enterprises-
based factual findings upon which Petitioners’ constitutional
claims would thereafter be evaluated.

20

Il.

BY GRANTING THE WRIT, THIS COURT WOULD
PRESERVE THE TRAVEL-BASED OVERTIME COM-
PENSATION CLAIMS OF THE AS YET UNIDEN-
TIFIED AND UN-NOTIFIED POTENTIAL MEMBERS
OF THE PLAINTIFF CLASS.

Between ten thousand (10,000) and twenty thousand
(20,000) current and former employees of BSCS and BST
participated in the MVUP and the HDP between 1991 and
1994. Of those, fewer than two thousand (2,000) have
filed “consents to join”. The remaining participants are as
yet unidentified and un-notified.

The result of the District Court’s entry of final sum-
mary judgment in favor of BSCS and BST was the nulli-
fication of its orders equitably tolling the FLSA’s statute
of limitations with respect to the travel-based overtime
compensation claims of the as yet unidentified and un-
notified potential members of the plaintiff class.

The Sixth Circuit purported to act in the interests of
those as yet unidentified and un-notified members of the
plaintiff class when it declined to consider Petitioners’
challenge to the District Court’s finding that the Com-
muting Act’s “normal commuting area for the employer’s
business” criterion had been satisfied. However, in so
ruling the Court of Appeals also permanently time-barred
the claims of those very persons.

Only by granting the Writ of Certiorari could this
Court insure that the as yet unidentified and un-notified
members of the plaintiff class would not be time-barred
from challenging the constitutionality of § 2103 of the

ea Te Teen nem

21

Commuting Act and from prosecuting their claims for
travel-related overtime compensation under the FLSA.

+

CONCLUSION

This Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit (Case No.
97-5122) should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

LAWRENCE R. MeTscH
Counsel of Record

Metscu & Metscn, P.A.

1385 NW 15th Street

Miami, Florida 33125

(305) 545-6400

FAX: (305) 545-7224

ArTHUR W. TIFFORD
ArTHUR W. TirrorD, P.A.
1385 NW 15th Street
Miami, Florida 33125
(305) 545-7822

FAX: (305) 325-1825

ARTHUR J. MORBURGER
Penthouse I

155 South Miami Avenue
Miami, Florida 33130
(305) 374-3373

FAX: (305) 358-1755

Ira M. THomas

THomas & THOMAS, ATTORNEYS
77 Adams Avenue

Claridge House Apt. Building
Memphis, Tennessee 38103-1709
(901) 526-0000

FAX: (901) 526-0046

App. 1

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR PUBLICATION
No. 97-5122

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BARNEY DOYLE, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants, ON APPEAL FROM

THE UNITED STATES

V. DISTRICT COURT

BELLSOUTH ie Maso det a gp
MMUNICATIONS

po a peal TENNESSEE

SYSTEMS, INC., et al.,

Defendants-Appellees. (Filed Apr. 3, 1998)

tll i i i i i i

Before MERRITT, CLAY, Circuit Judges; and BELL, Dis-
trict Judge*

MERRITT, Circuit Judge. Plaintiffs seek overtime
compensation under the Fair Labor Standards Act for
commuting in company-owned vehicles between home
and work sites. Plaintiffs are a group of installation and
repair technicians for the phone company who participate
in a voluntary “home dispatch program” that allows
them to travel to their first job directly from home and
from their last job directly to home without going to an
“office” to receive their assignments.

Specifically, this appeal concerns statutory construc-
tion of the Employee Commuting Flexibility Act of 1996,

* The Honorable Robert Holmes Bell, District Judge, United
States District Court for the Western District of Michigan, sitting
by designation.

App. 2

which amended Section 4(a) of the Portal-to-Portal Act of
1947, 29 U.S.C. § 254. Section 254 now provides that “the
use of an employer’s vehicle for travel by an employ-
ee . . . shall not be considered part of the employee’s
principal activities if the use of such vehicle for travel is
within the normal commuting area for the employer’s
business. . . . ” The amendment was expressly made
applicable to pending cases. 29 U.S.C. § 254(a) (“no
employer shall be subject to liability under the Fair Labor
Standards Act . . . on account of any of the following
activities of such employee engaged in on or after May 14,
1947... .”). The district court granted summary judg-
ment for defendants on the plain language of the statute.

Plaintiffs’ primary argument on appeal is that the
district court improperly interpreted the requirement of
the Employee Commuting Flexibility Act that the plain-
tiffs’ commute be within the “normal commuting area for
the employer’s business” if overtime compensation is to
be denied. Plaintiffs did not raise the present argument
below, and defendants correctly contend that the argu-
ment is waived. Counsel for plaintiffs candidly advised
the court at oral argumnemt that new lawyers have come
into the case on appeal and have substantially changed
the theory of their case. If this court now adopted plain-
tiffs’ new arguments, the court would have to remand to
the court below a new fact issue about the scope of the
“normal commuting area” and new legal issues concern-
ing the burden of proof on this question. These issues
were not litigated in the court below, and the parties
agree that millions of dollars in damages may ride on
how these issues are decided. This is not a class action,
but our determination of these new issues could become

App. 3

a precedent binding thousands of employees of the
defendants. Under these circumstances we believe it
unwise and inappropriate to consider plaintiffs’ new the-
ory for the first time on appeal.

The failure to raise the issue below is fatal to plain-
tiffs’ appeal. In general, issues not presented to the dis-
trict court but raised for the first time on appeal are not
properly before the Court. Taft Broadcasting Corp. v. United
States, 929 F.2d 240, 243-45 (6th Cir. 1991); J.C. Wyckoff &
Assoc. v. Standard Fire Ins., 936 F.2d 1474, 1488 (6th Cir.
1991). In cases where there are unusual circumstances or
where the failure of this Court to address the issue would
result in a miscarriage of justice we may deviate from the
general rule. Taft, 929 F.2d at 245. This case presents no
such situation. Accordingly, we affirm the judgment of
the district court. -

App. 4

APPENDIX

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT FOR TENNESSEE
WESTERN DIVISION

BARNEY DOYLE, for and in ]
behalf of himself and other ]
employees similarly situated, ]
]
]
J

Plaintiff,
vs. Civil No.

BELLSOUTH COMMUNICATION! 94-2978-H/A
SYSTEMS, INC., a subsidiary of !

BELLSOUTH CORPORATION, !

d/b/a BELLSOUTH
TELECOMMUNICATIONS,

Defendants.

JOSEPH CUNETTA, et al.,
Plaintiffs,
vs.

BELLSOUTH
TELECOMMUNICATIONS, INC.,
d/b/a SOUTHERN BELL

TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH, !
Co., .

Defendant. ]

No.

]
J
J
J
J 95-2372-H/BRE
J

JOINT ORDER OF CONSOLIDATION AND
ORDER TOLLING STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS
(Filed May 22, 1995)

In accordance with Rule 42(a) of the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure, the Court concludes the above actions

App. 5

share common questions of law and fact and should be
consolidated for pretrial proceedings. It further appears
these actions may share the same or related corporate
entities as defendants. Accordingly, the Court hereby
CONSOLIDATES these cases for pretrial proceedings.
The Court may review this ruling at a later time should
circumstances warrant such action.

The parties are instructed to file all pleadings using
the lead case style of Doyle et al., v. BellSouth, et al., No.
94-2978, USDC (W.D.Tenn.). The parties should only use
the docket number for the Doyle case, No. 94-2978-H/A,
on all pleadings. The Clerk shall make the appropriate
changes to the docket sheets and see that all the attorneys
for both cases receive copies of any orders or action taken
in these cases. Out of town counsel may participate in
any pretrial scheduling conferences by telephone upon
request and where appropriate.

Tolling the Statute of Limitations

These cases involve a dispute over compensation
allegedly due plaintiffs for work done in excess of their
regularly scheduled forty hour work week. Plaintiffs and
others similarly situated employees of the defendants
claim they are entitled to compensation for the time spent
traveling to and from their residences to different work
locations using company vehicles under defendants’
“Motor Vehicle Usage Program” (“MVUP”). Plaintiffs
also seek compensation for time spent preparing to go on
these job sites and other activities. Plaintiffs filed this

App. 6

action pursuant to Section 16(b) of the Fair Labor Stan-
dards Act of 1938 (the “Act” or “FLSA”), 29 U.S.C.
§ 216(b) as amended.

On May 17, 1995, an initial scheduling conference
was held in case no. 94-2978. At the conference, plaintiffs’
counsel indicated that pursuant to, 29 U.S.C. § 255(a)!, a
two year statute of limitation period continues to run
against any potential plaintiff until that individual files
suit or “opts into” the class maintaining the action. Plain-
tiffs’ counsel also indicated that the two year period
limits damages to the unpaid wages that have accrued
two years prior to the time of filing suit or “opting into”
the class.

It further appears that there is a dispute as to who is
a proper member of the class. Until this issue is resolved,
the potential plaintiffs cannot be notified nor can it be
determined whether they wish to “opt into” this litiga-
tion. Therefore, based on the above, the Court is faced
with potential plaintiffs who may or may not wish to “opt
into” this litigation and a statute of limitations that con-
tinues to run against these potential plaintiffs, if any,
limiting their damages, if any.

The Court clearly possesses the authority to manage
this action including authorization to send notice to any
potential plaintiffs and approval of such notice. See,
Hoffmann-La Roche, Inc. v. Sperling, 493 U.S. 165, 110 S.Ct.

1 The Court assumes this section of the Act provides the
applicable statute of limitation period as neither the attorneys
or the Court have had the opportunity to brief or review this
issue. It is agreed upon that a two year statute of limitation
period is running against potential plaintiffs.

a

App. 7

482, 107 L.Ed.2d 480 (1989). The Court also has the
authority to require the defendant employers to identify
all potential plaintiff class members through discovery.
id. It further appears that the two year statute of limita-
tion, 29 U.S.C. § 255(a), is a procedural limitation rather
than substantive. See, Partlow v. Jewish Orphuns’ Home of
Souther [sic] Cal., 645 F.2d 757, 760 (9th Cir. 1981), cf., Ott
v. Midland-Ross Corporation, 523 F.2d 1367, 1370 (6th Cir.
1975).

The ADEA incorporates the enforcement provisions
of the Fair Labor Standards Act, 52 Stat. 1060, as
amended, 29 U.S.C. § 201 et seq. (1982 ed. and Supp. V).
Hoffmann-La Roche, Inc. v. Sperling, 493 U.S. 165, 167, 110
S.Ct. 482, 485, 107 L.Ed.2d 480 (1989). The district court,
in Hoffmann-La Roche, Inc. v. Sperling, 493 U.S. 165, 110
S.Ct. 482, 107 L.Ed.2d 480 (1989), concluded the statute of
limitations governing ADEA claims could be tolled by
equitable considerations. See, Sperling v. Hoffmann-La
Roche, Inc., 118 E.R.D. 392, 410 (1988). There, the Court
found, although not deciding the issue, that plaintiffs
presented a facially compelling case for equitable tolling,
in part, based on delay occasioned by the Court issuing
its ruling on the class membership issue. Id. ER.D. at
410-11.

Based on the circumstances of this case and upon
review of the above case law, the Court concludes it
should toll the statute of limitations until the class mem-
bership issue is resolved. The Court takes this action as a
precautionary measure to avoid prejudice to those poten-
tial plaintiffs who are not currently before the Court. The
Court also finds that the purpose of the statute of limita-
tion will not be frustrated by the Court's action as the

App. 8

statute is designed to ensure fairness to defendants and
to notify them of claims that they must defend before the
claims grow stale. See, Partlow v. Jewish Orphans’ Home of
Souther [sic] Cal., 645 F.2d 757 (9th Cir. 1981) (citation
omitted). This ruling does not preclude the Court from
reviewing its decision at a later time according to the
facts and merits as to each potential plaintiff/class mem-
ber. See, Sperling v. Hoffmann-La Roche, Inc., 118 F.R.D. 392,
410-11 (1988). Tolling the statute of limitations at this time
will allow both sides to properly address and brief the
issue and permit the Court to more carefully consider the
issue.

Accordingly, the statute of limitations as to all poten-
tial plaintiffs in both these actions shall be tolled from
date of entry of this order until the class membership
issue has been determined and each respective plaintiff
receives notice of this litigation. The parties will be
allowed to brief this issue and the Court may modify,
expand and/or vacate this decision at a later time.

IT IS SO ORDERED, this the 22 day of May, 1995.

/s/ Odell Horton
ODELL HORTON, JUDGE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

App. 9

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE
WESTERN DIVISION

BARNEY DOYLE,-et al.,
Plaintiffs,
Vs. No. 94-2978-D

BELLSOUTH COMMUNICATION
SYSTEMS, INC., a subsidiary of
BELLSOUTH CORPORATION,
d/b/a BELLSOUTH
TELECOMMUNICATIONS, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER ON DEFENDANTS’ MOTIONS FOR
RECONSIDERATION OF STATUTE OF
LIMITATIONS TOLLING ISSUE

(Filed Jun. 13, 1996)

Before the court are the motions of defendants
BellSouth Communication Systems, Inc. (BCS) and
BellSouth Telecommunications, Inc. (BST) (collectively,
“the defendants” or “BellSouth”), for reconsideration of
the court’s May 23, 1995 Joint Order Of Consolidation
And Order Tolling Statute Of Limitations.

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL POSTURE

This consolidated case involves a dispute over com-
pensation allegedly due the plaintiffs for time spent trav-
eling to and from their residences and different work

App. 10

locations in company vehicles under the defendants’
home dispatch program, as well as time spent preparing
to go on these job sites. The underlying action is brought
under section 16(b) [29 U.S.C. § 216(b)] of the Fair Labor
Standards Act of 1938, as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 201, et
seq., (FLSA).

The plaintiffs have sought discovery of all potential
plaintiffs (i.e., similarly situated employees) in the nine-
state area where the defendants do business.'! According
to the plaintiffs, the class of potential plaintiffs includes
all BellSouth employees in the entire nine-state region
who participated in the home dispatch program at any
time during the three-year period preceding November
23, 1994, when the earlier of the two cases consolidated
into the present case was filed. The defendants have
disclosed at least 25 names of employees similarly situ-
ated to the plaintiffs.

The defendants claim that they have made a good
faith effort to comply with their disclosure requirements
by producing lists of the names and whereabouts of
employees similarly situated to the plaintiffs, both in the
Memphis area and in the Miami area. The defendants
state, furthermore, that they are painstakingly trying to
respond to the plaintiffs’ discovery request as quickly as
possible. The defendants assert that they have no central
historical database indicating home dispatch status for
individual employees for the relevant time period, and
that BellSouth is attempting to compile this information

1 Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana,
Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee.

App. 11

through a search of historical fleet maintenance records.
The defendants claim to have nearly completed a list of
approximately 5,000 employees in the nine-state area who
may have participated in the home dispatch program
during the relevant time period. The defendants repre-
sent that they are willing to produce the list when com-
plete, subject to a protective order and pending a
determination by the court of who is similarly situated.

In its sua sponte Order, the court tolled the two year
statute of limitations under 29 U.S.C. § 255(a). In so
ruling, the court weighed the harm to the defendants in
tolling the statute of limitations against the harm which
would be occasioned upon the entire class of potential
plaintiffs should the statute of limitations be allowed to
run. The court found that, because the § 255(a) limitation
was fundamentally procedural rather than substantive in
nature, and because the defendants were not prejudiced
by the tolling in that they were on notice of the nature
and extent of the potential claims against them, tolling
the statute of limitations was warranted as an equitable,
precautionary measure to avoid prejudice to those poten-
tial plaintiffs who were not currently before the court,
until the class certification issue could be determined and
each potential plaintiff received notice of the pending
litigation was warranted. The court reserved the right to
review and modify or vacate its decision in light of the
parties’ briefs, the totality of facts and circumstances
surrounding this case, and the facts and merits of each
potential plaintiff/class member as these persons came to
be known.

App. 12

DISCUSSION

The court maintains that it clearly possesses the
authority to manage the action, including the power of
approval over any proposed notice and even the power to
send notice to any potential plaintiff. See Hoffman-La
Roche, Inc. v. Sperling, 493 U.S. 165, 110 S.Ct. 482, 107
L.Ed.2d 480 (1989). Sperling was [an] action brought
under the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of
1967, as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 621, et seq., (ADEA). Plain-
tiffs allegedly discharged or demoted on account of their
age attempted to “certify” a class under 29 U.S.C.
§ 216(b), as incorporated into the ADEA by 29 U.S.C.
§ 626(b). The district court held that it was not inconsis-
tent with the Congress’ restrictive intent behind the Por-
tal-to-Portal Act of 1947, 29 U.S.C. § 251, et seq., and
broad remedial intent behind the FLSA and the ADEA to
equitably toll the two-year statute of limitations in 29
U.S.C. § 255(a) or to send notice to putative class mem-
bers. Sperling v. Hoffman-La Roche, Inc., 118 F.R.D. 392,
410, aff'd 862 F.2d 439 (3rd Cir. 1988), aff'd, 493 U.S. 165
(1989), supra. On a certified interlocutory appeal, the
court of appeals stated that the notice issue “arises under
both the FLSA and the ADEA.” 862 F.2d at 444. The court
of appeals went on to posit that “there is no legal impedi-
ment to court authorized notice in an appropriate case.”
Id. at 447; see Braunstein v. Eastern Photographic Labs, 600
F.2d 335 (2nd Cir. 1978) (per curiam), cert. denied, 441 U.S.
944, 99 S.Ct. 2162, 60 L.Ed.2d 1046 (1979); see also United
States v. Cook, 795 F.2d 987 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The Supreme
Court went one step further than the court of appeals, to
state decisively that, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 83, district

App. 13

courts have a managerial responsibility to assure that
joinder of additional parties in representative or class
action is done in an efficient and proper way. 493 U.S. at
170-74. Furthermore, the Court opined that, because the
trial court is inevitably involved in cases where there are
numerous plaintiffs entering written consents, early judi-
cial intervention in case management (e.g., notice require-
ments) better defines the contours of the action and
thereby benefits the parties. Id. at 171-72. Important con-
siderations of benefit to the court include (1) avoiding a
multiplicity of duplicative suits, (2) promoting settling,
and (3) expediting the disposition of the action. Id. at 172.

The defendants argue that a later disposition of Sper-
ling by the Third Circuit Court of Appeals in 1994, at 24
F.3d 463, drawing a distinction between the opt-in provi-
sions of section 7 [29 U.S.C. § 257] of the Portal-to-Portal
Act and the opt-out provisions of Fed. R. Civ. P. 23
incorporated into class actions brought under Title VII, a
progenitor of ADEA, see Sperling, 24 F.3d at 470, should
persuade the court that legal tolling under the FLSA in a
non-ADEA action is contrary to Congressional intent. The
court is not so persuaded.

In its 1947 enactment of the Portal-to-Portal Act, the
Congress responded to the Supreme Court's decision in
Anderson v. Mount Clemens Pottery Co., 328 US. 680, 66
S.Ct. 487, 90 L.Ed. 1515 (1946). See 29 U.S.C. § 251 (Con-
gress included, within section 1 [29 U.S.C. § 251] of the
Portal-to-Portal Act, a statement of its findings and policy
regarding the perceived need for the act); see also Cook,
795 F.2d at 990-91. Courts have generally construed the
Congressional intent in the Portal-to-Portal Act as an
emergency measure meant to foreclose retroactively the

App. 14

thousands of FLSA suits filed in the wake of the Court’s
1946 Anderson decision, which decision the Congress
found to extend beyond the scope of legislative intent in
the 1938 passage of the FLSA. See 29 U.S.C. § 251; Sper-
ling, 493 U.S. at 173, 110 S.Ct. at 488; see also Cook, 795 F.2d
at 990-91.

The Cook decision is illustrative of the majority view
that, although the Congress intended the Portal-to-Portal
Act to eliminate champertous representative actions
brought under the FLSA following Anderson, the act does
not evidence any intention on the part of Congress to
curb courts’ authority to order production of names and
addresses of potential class members to facilitate notify-
ing them of a pending FLSA action. Cook, 795 F.2d at 991;
accord Sperling, 493 U.S. at 173, 110 S.Ct. at 488; Partlow v.
Jewish Orphans’ Home of Southern California, Inc., 645 F.2d
757 (9th Cir. 1981); Braunstein, 600 F.2d at 336.

In the administration of an FLSA action, this court
clearly possesses the authority to require of the defen-
dants disclosure of the names and addresses of potential
class members. To date, the defendants have failed to
produce, to the satisfaction of the court, the names and
addresses of potential class members who should receive
notice of the pending action. Although 29 U.S.C. § 257
does not provide by its plain language tolling of the
limitations period under § 255 of the same title, with
regard to an individual not specifically named as a party
plaintiff, in any instance other than the filing of a consent
to become a party plaintiff, “[i]t is well established that
equitable tolling is read into every federal statute of
limitation.” Ott v. Midland-Ross Corp., 600 F.2d 24 (6th Cir.
1979).

App. 15

CONCLUSION

After a thorough review of the record and law, the
court finds that the equities warrant tolling of the limita-
tions period as to all potential claimants until such time
as the defendants comply with the court’s order to pro-
duce the names and addresses of all potential class mem-
bers. The court herein defines “potential class members”
as any of the defendants’ present or former employees, in
the nine-state area, supra note 1, who were non-salaried
and non-management during the relevant period and
engaged in the defendant’s program generally referred to
as “home dispatch”. The court will then decide who is,
and who is not, similarly situated. Furthermore, the May
23, 1995 Order Tolling Statute Of Limitations is subject to
review according to each potential plaintiff/class mem-
ber’s facts and merits, and subject to be modified,
expanded or vacated, in whole or in part, at any time by
this court.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 12th day of June, 1996.

/s/ Bernice Bouie Donald
BERNICE BOUIE DONALD
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 16

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE
WESTERN DIVISION

BARNEY DOYLE, et al.,

and Case No. 94-2978-D
JOSEPH CUNETTA, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

BELLSOUTH COMMUNICATIONS SYSTEMS,
INC., a subsidiary of BELLSOUTH
CORPORATION d/b/a BELLSOUTH
TELECOMMUNICATIONS,

and

BELLSOUTH TELECOMMUNICATIONS, INC.
d/b/a SOUTHERN BELL TELEPHONE
AND TELEGRAPH COMPANY,

Defendants.

ORDER ON DEFENDANTS’ BELLSOUTH
COMMUNICATION SYSTEMS, INC. AND
BELLSOUTH TELECOMMUNICATIONS, INC.;
MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

(Filed Dec. 3, 1996)

Before the court are motions for Summary Judgment
under Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c) filed by Defendants BeilSouth
Communications systems, Inc., (“BSC”) and BellSouth
Telecommunications, Inc. (“BST”) alleging that Plaintiffs’

App. 17

claims are barred by the Employee Commuting Flexibility
Act of 1996.

The basic facts for purposes of this motion are undis-
puted and are set forth in Defendants’ memorandum. The
court accepts those as true for purposes of this motion.

STATEMENT OF UNDISPUTED MATERIAL FACT S

Plaintiffs are BST or BSC employees who borrowed
BST or BSC vehicles to commute to work. Plaintiffs who
participated in this “home dispatch” program allege that
the time they spent commuting from home to work and
from work to home in the company owned vehicle consti-
tuted compensable hours worked. (Complaint.)

Plaintiffs borrowed these vehicles pursuant to an
agreement reached in 1984 between the Communications
Workers of America (“CWA”) and BST. (Article 9.07, pp.
154 ff. of the Collective Bargaining Agreement (“CBA”);
excerpts from CBA attached as Exhibit 1)). This agree-
ment specified that participants in the home dispatch
program would not be paid for the drive between their
residence and their work locations. (CBA Article 9.07 F, p.
158).

Pursuant to the CBA, the home dispatch participants’
commute to their first assignment was limited to a maxi-
mum of 35 miles. (CBA Article 9.07 C.1 and 9.07 E, pp.
155, 157). This distance was negotiated to ensure that
home dispatch participants would not have to drive fur-
ther than non-home dispatch Participants. (Affidavit of
Ronald Fairbanks, { 13, attached as Exhibit 2). The CBA
also allowed the union and BST and BSC to negotiate a

App. 18

shorter maximum commute if warranted by urban con-
gestion or natural barriers. Id., (CBA Article 9.07 E. 1, 2,
pp. 157-58). Furthermore, a computer program was uti-
lized which gave home dispatch participants a first and
last assignment as close as possible to their home. (Fair-
banks Aff., { 13). As a result, home dispatch participants’
commutes were within the normal distances driven by
the BST employees who did not elect to borrow company
vehicles to commute from their homes to work and work
to home. Id.

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Summary Judgment pursuant to Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure 56 is appropriate “if the pleadings, depo-
sitions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on
file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is
no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the
moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.”
Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). The party moving for summary
judgment “bears the burden of clearly and convincingly
establishing the nonexistence of any genuine issue of
material fact, and the evidence as well as all inferences
therefrom must be read in a light most favorable to the
party opposing the motion.” Kochins v. Linden-Alimark,
Inc., 799 F.2d 1128, 1133 (6th Cir. 1986). The burden on the
party moving for summary judgment may be discharged
by pointing out that there is an absence of evidence to
support the nonmovinbg party’s case.” Kauffman v. Allied
Signal, Inc., Autolite Div., 970 F.2d 178, 182 (6th Cir.), cert.
denied, 113 S.Ct. 831 (1992) (the moving party need not

App. 19

support its motion with affidavits or other similar mate-
rials “negating” the opponent's claim) (citing Celotex
Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 324 (1986)).

When confronted with a properly supported motion
for summary judgment, the nonmoving party must set
forth specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue
for trial. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248
(1986). A genuine issue for trial exists if the evidence is
such that a reasonable trier of fact could return a verdict
for the nonmoving party. Id. The party opposing the
motion must “do more than simply show that there is
some meta-physical doubt as to the material facts.” Mat-
sushita Electrical Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475
U.S. 574, 586 (1986). In short, the nonmoving party may
not oppose a properly supported motion for summary
judgment by mere reliance on the pleadings. Celotex, 477
U.S. at 324. “[I]n the ‘new era’ of summary judgments
that has evolved from the holdings of the Supreme Court
in Anderson, Celotex and Matsushita, trial courts have been
afforded considerably more discretion in evaluating the
weight of the nonmoving party’s evidence.” Cox v. Ken-
tucky Dep't of Trans., 53 F.3d 146, 150 (6th Cir. 1995). “If
the record taken in its entirety could not convince a
rational trier of fact to return a verdict in favor of the
nonmoving party, the motion must be granted. Id.

This case arose because of a determination or opinion
by the Department of Labor (“DOL”) that commuting
time for an employee is compensable. (August 5, 1994
DOL letter).

On August 2, 1996, Congress passed the Employee
Commuting Flexibility Act of 1996 (“The Act”), which

App. 20

was signed into law and became effective August 20,
1996. The Act amended Section 4(a) of the Portal-to-
Portal Act, 29 U.S.C. § 254. Section 254(a) makes clear that
commuting in an employer owned vehicle does not create
compensable time.

Specifically the Act provides:

Section 4(a) of the Portal-to-Portal Act of 1947
(29 U.S.C. 254(a)) is amended by adding at the
end the following: “For purposes of this subsec-
tion, the use of an employer’s vehicle for travel
by an employee and activities performed by an
employee which are incidental to the use of such
vehicle for commuting shall not be considered
part of the employee's principal activities if the
use of such vehicle for travel is within the nor-
mal commuting area for the employer’s busi-
ness or establishment and the use of the
employer’s vehicle is subject to an agreement on
the part of the employer and the employee or
representative of such employee.”

Congress expressly made the Act applicable to exis-
ting or pending cases, and thus retroactive. The instant
action was filed November 23, 1994, and is unequivocally
covered in time by the legislation.

The Act provides two criteria: (1) the use of [the
emy'.»yer’s] vehicle must be within the normal commut-
ing area for the employer’s business or establishment,
and (2) the use must be subject to an agreement on the
part of the employer and employee or representative of
the employer.

At all times relevant to the events in question, a
Collective Bargaining Agreement (“CBA”) was in effect

App. 21

between Plaintiffs and Defendants, and the CWA was the
duly authorized bargaining agent for the Plaintiffs’
claims. (Ex. 2, Defendants’ Memorandum of Law). The
subject activity, the home dispatch program, was covered
by the Collective Bargaining Agreement.

As a part of the 1992 CBA, Defendants implemented
a motor vehicle usage prograr. which was described with
particularity at Section 9.07 of tte CBA, and governed by
the CBA.

The motor vehicle usage or home dispatch program
was negotiated with the CWA in 1984. The program was
subsequently implemented at various intervals in dis-
tricts across the region. (Fairbank’s Affidavit { 3).

Thus, the requirement that the use be subject to an
agreement on the part of the employer/employee is satis-
fied.

Next, the court must examine whether the use is
“within the normal commuting area for the employer’s
business.” Pursuant to the CBA, home dispatch partici-
pants’ commute to their first assignment was limited to
35 miles. (CBA Art. 9.07 C.1 and 9.07 E; Fairbanks Affi-
davit { 13) For trips above 34 miles, the CBA provided
that home dispatch employees would be paid a travel
premium (Fairbank’s Affidavit { 13), and Ex 2 to BSC’s
motion for Summary Judgment. Thus from the pleadings,
affidavits, and undisputed facts, the court finds that the
commute for home dispatch employees would not be any
longer than for non home dispatch employees. Where the
commute exceeded the negotiated range, the contract
provided for a travel premium. Thus, the court finds that
this prong of the test has been satisfied.

App. 22

Plaintiffs contend that notwithstanding the legisla-
tion, there exists genuine issues of material fact such that
Summary Judgment would be improper. Specifically,
Plaintiffs aver that an issue exists as to whether the
Plaintiffs used company vehicles for a purpose other than
for travel which was integral and indispensable to their
principal activities and which benefitted BSC and BST.
Plaintiffs postulate:

[t]he plain meaning of the 1996 amendment to
the Portal Act is that an employee who uses an
employer’s vehicle solely “for travel” is not enti-
tled to compensation therefor under the Fair
Labor Standards Act. By inference, however, an
employee who uses an employer’s vehicle “for
travel” and for another purpose “integral and
indispensable” to his or her “principal activity”
which benefits his or her employer is entitled to
receive [overtime] compensation under the Fair
Labor Standards Act for his or her performance
of the latter function.

(Plaintiff’s Response to Defendants’ Summary Judgment
motion).

Plaintiffs argue that there exists a genuine issue of
material fact whether Plaintiffs, as participants in the BSC
and BST Home Dispatch Programs, satisfied the “another
purpose” criterion when they transported tools and
equipment in company vehicles to and from the work
sites designated by BSC and BST.

A fundamental rule of statutory construction is
where a statute is clear and unambiguous on its face, the
court should not resort to legislative intent. The wording
of the subject Act is clear and unambiguous in that it

App. 23

provides “the use of an employee’s vehicle for travel by
an employee and activities . .. which are incidental to the
use of such vehicle for commuting shall not be consid-
ered part of the employer’s principle activities . . . ” The
home dispatch policy and the CBA’s “defined” use is
consistent with the language of the Act. Plaintiff has not
provided any affidavits, or other statements to evince a
use contrary to that described in the CBA and contem-
plated by the Act.

In the fact of a properly supported motion for Sum-
mary Judgment, the non-moving party may not simply
rely on the pleadings or conclusionary statements. Celotex
v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 324. The non-moving party must
set forth specific facts showing that there is a genuine
issue for trial. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242,
248 (1986).

Plaintiffs have sought to create a issue by construing
the language of the Act such that a heightened require-
ment is produced. However, having attempted to recast
the statute, Plaintiffs have failed to set forth any facts,
properly supported, on which a reasonable trier of fact
could find for Plaintiffs. Thus, the court finds that Plain-
tiffs have failed to show the existence of a genuine issue
of material fact.

Next, Plaintiffs argue there exists a genuine issue of
material fact whether plaintiffs were “commuting” while
they participated in the BSC and BST Home Dispatch
Programs. To support this position, Plaintiffs state that
prior to its amendment in 1996, § 4(a) of the Portal Act, 29
U.S.C. § 254(a), introduced, but did not define, that term.
Plaintiffs contend that the term “commuting”, as used in

App. 24

the amended § 4(a) of the Portal Act, 29 U.S.C. § 254(a),
does not apply to their daily travels in BSC and BST
vehicles from their homes to their first work sites and
from their last work sites to their homes because their
first and last work sites varied from day-to-day.

In construing the statute, words and phrases should
be given their ordinary meaning based on custom and
usage. The word commute is to, inter alia, “travel back
and forth regularly or frequently.” Webster's Third New
International Dictionary (3d ed. 1981). Thus, the fact that a
different synonym may have been sued in the Portal-to-
Portal Act does not negate the meaning of the Act. Thus,
no genuine issue of fact is created as to whether Plaintiffs
were in fact engage [sic] in commuting.

Next, Plaintiffs argue that there exists a genuine issue
of material fact whether plaintiffs were engaged in a
“principal activity” when they received their daily first
job assignments from BSC and BST by electronic means
“off the clock” also known as “commute time.”

Plaintiffs have produced no facts to support this
proposition. The affidavits of Max Logan, Ronald Fair-
banks, and the undisputed facts show that the activity
described by Plaintiffs as “commute time” is incidental to
the Plaintiffs use of the employer’s vehicle for commut-
ing. Plaintiffs cite and rely on Baker v. GTE North, Inc., 927
F. Supp. 1104 (N.D. Ind. 1966), however, the facts in Baker
v. GTE are distinguishable from the case at bar. Moreover,
Congress in enacting the subject litigation, overruled
Baker v. GTE, In Baker, the court found:

that the plaintiff electricians’ pre-shift activities,
including the filling out time sheets, checking

App. 25

job locations, cleaning out and loading their
trucks with the necessary materials, fueling the
trucks, and picking up the electrical plans for
the day’s jobs, were within the broad range of
“principal activities” performed at their
employer’s behest and for the benefit of the
business.” These activities would have been
compensable had they been performed during
the course of the workday.”

927 F. Supp. at 1112.

The objective proof as set forth in defense affidavits
militates against such a finding.

If a technician did not wish to borrow his BST
[or BSC] vehicle for commuting, he was
required to leave his vehicle overnight at a BST
{or BSC] marshaling yard. He would drive his
personal car to the yard in the morning, where
he would pick up his portable computer termi-
nal (with the first assignment) and his truck. His
compensable work time began at this point, He
would then proceed through the work day, peri-
odically receiving new assignment on his com-
puter. At the end of the day, he would drive his
truck back to the yard, where his compensable
work day ended. He would then commute home
in his personal car.

An employee who elected to borrow his BST [or
BSC] vehicle under the home dispatch program
parked his BST [or BSC] vehicle at home. He
received his first assignment at home on a porta-
ble computer — a process which took at most a
minute or two, and which on many computers
was completely automated and took no time at
all. He made no report to BST or [BSC]; he merely
received the location of his first work site for the day.

App. 26

He traveled to the first assignment in the bor-
rowed truck. His compensable work time star-
ted when he reached his first work site. He then
proceeded through his day like any other tech-
nician. His compensable time ended as he left
his last work site to drive the truck home.
(Emphasis added)

Home dispatch employees in almost all
instances drove ordinary mini-vans, vans, and
pickups. The BST [or BSC] vehicles’ complement
of options was similar to that which one might
find on any ordinary mini-van, or pickup. BST’s
[and BSC’s] vehicles had automatic transmis-
sions, power steering, power brakes, radios,
etc. ...

During the periods at issue in this lawsuit, home
dispatch had no duties related to the BST [or
BSC] vehicle while they were at home or during
the drive to/from work. They were expressly
instructed not to wash the truck, fuel the truck,
service the truck, inspect the truck, etc., at home
or during their commute. These tasks only were
to be performed during the work day while the
employee was on the clock.

The nature of the tools which each BST [and
BSC] vehicle carried varied with the driver’s job
duties. Some trucks carried ladders and wire, as
well as having built-in drawers for storage of
small parts. However, other trucks carried much
less. None of the tools or supplies which any
home dispatch employee carried made during
the BST [or BSC] vehicle in any way more diffi-
cult than the vehicle would have been without
the tools and supplies. None of the hand tools or
supplies required any attention or maintenance

App. 27

from the driver while the driver was commuting
to and from work.

** *

By agreement with the union, home dispatch
employees’ commute from home to their first
assignment or from their last assignment was
less than 35 miles. For trips above 35 miles, the
union contract specified that home dispatch
employees would be paid a travel premium. In
congested urban areas, the union had the option
to negotiate a shorter distance which would trig-
ger the travel premium. Furthermore, BST [and
BSC] programmed its job-assignment computer
to each home dispatch employee a first and last
job which was a [sic] close as possible to his
home. It was BST’s [and BSC] experience that by
virtue of this computer program, home dispatch
employees’ commutes were shorter than non-
home dispatch employees’ commutes to and
from the marshaling yards. BST’s [and BSC’s]
reason for this computer program was prag-
matic; it wanted to minimize the mileage on the
borrowed trucks.

Employees who borrowed a BST or [BSC] truck
were asked not to carry alcohol in the truck and
not to carry unauthorized passengers. The rea-
son for this was to minimize BST’s [and BSC’s]
additional liability exposure by virtue of letting
its employees borrow BST [or BSC] trucks for
commuting.

BST [nor BSC] employees were not required to
wear any sort of uniform during the period at
issue in this suit, either during the work day or
during their commute. BST [and BSC] subsi-
dized the purchase of work shirts for
employees, and many employees wore these

Se

App. 28

shirts. However, wearing these shirts was at
each employee's discretion, and many chose not
to wear them.

(Affidavit of Ronald Fairbanks); See also, Affidavit of
Max Logan.

Based on the foregoing affidavits, the court finds that
Plaintiffs did not engage in any compensable activity
incidental to their use of the employer’s vehicle. Thus,
there exists no genuine issue of material fact as to this
point.

Finally, Plaintiffs contend that in the absence of legis-
lative findings, the due process clause bars the retroactive
application of the Act. The court finds this argument to
be contrary to well settled law, and therfore without
merit. Congress has the power to enact legislation that
has retrospective application. Landgraf v. USI Film Prod-
ucts, 511 U.S. 244, 114 S.Ct. 1483, 128 L.Ed. 2d 229 (1994).

Where the temporal effect of a statute is manifest on
its face, there is no need to resort to judicial default rules
for determining retroactive effect, and the inquiry ends.
Lockheed v. Spink, 116 S.Ct. 1783 (1996). When Congress
includes a provision that specifically addresses the tem-
poral effect of the statute, that provision trumps any
inferences that may be drawn. Id. Congress stated
unequivocally that the Act applied to litigation pending
at the time of the legislation.

App. 29

CONCLUSION

Based on all the foregoing, there exists no genuine
issue as to any material fact such that defendants BSC
and BST are entitled to judgment as a matter of law. The
Clerk is ordered to enter judgment this 3rd day of Decem-
ber 1996.

/s/ Bernice B. Donald
BERNICE B. DONALD
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1508%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
