# Opposition Brief — Walker v. Texas, 119 S. Ct. 865 (1999) (No. 98-350)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1499%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1999

## Text

FILED

. NOV 19 Bys
No. 98-350 7
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
IN THE SUPREME COURT, U.S.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1998

WILLIAM E. WALKER, M.D.,
Petitioner,
v.
THE STATE OF TEXAS,
Respondent.

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari To The
United States Court of Appeals For The Fifth Circuit

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
WALKER’S PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DAN MORALES
Attorney General of Texas

JORGE VEGA
First Assistant Attorney General

DAVID A. TALBOT, JR.
Deputy Attorney General for Litigation

TONI HUNTER
Chief, General Litigation Division

ANTOINETTE HUNTER
RONALD R. DEL VENTO
CHRISTOPHER JOHNSEN
MARK BROWNING

Assistant Attorneys General
P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2548
(512) 463-2120

Counsel for Respondent

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Was removal by counter-defendant proper under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1441(c)?

Did the Court of Appeals view the summary judgment
evidence in the light most favorable to the non-movant?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .............. i
ey Pb fe foe 3s) ey wEeyreee Pere gE rc ee ii
TABLE GP AUTHRIRE ls so 5 805 oi iisks cs. iii
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .............. 1
STATICS CO Se GA feo c i ck ci sub cies taneeeee 2
ARGUMENTS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ......... 7
I. Removal by Counter-Defendant Low Was
Proper Under 28 U.S.C. § 1441(c). ......... 7
Wan ROROVE PIOGET «. 6 iccrccas esses swipes 9
Il. The Court of Appeals Viewed the Disputed

Evidence in the Light Most Favorable to
the Non-Movant When it Affirmed the
District Court’s Grant of Qualified

Immunity .. 0... cece cece tee ee eees 16

Walker’s Substantive Due Process Claims ..... Pee |
Walker’s Equal Protection Claims ............... 20

LA ES 9 be haces ca O8 Ae seb aE teens eee 21

APPENDIX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Aldens, Inc. v. Packel, 524 F.2d 38, (3 Cir. 1975) ......... 8

American Fire & Casualty Co. v. Finn, 341 U.S. 6,

eM EOD se vs viv vo os ccicn nc 6, 10, 11
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242,

Te ME OU ens os ss oo os eG 16
Bender v. Williamsport Area School Dist., 475 U.S.

ee ee Oe BP ee 8
Berger v. Reynolds Metals Co., 39 F.R.D. 313

tees LESS SES SSS ta a a 8
Carl Heck Engineers, Inc. v. Lafourche Parish

Police Jury, 622 F.2d 133 (Sth Cir. 1980) .......... 11-14
Caterpillar, Inc. v. Lewis, 519 U.S. 61,

ME NEG TSE as en 6
Channell v. Citicorp. National Services, Inc.,

CT Ot, BD ee 12
Crawford-El v. Britton_U.S. _, 118 S.Ct. 1584 (1998) ..... 17

Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. v. La Rambla
Shopping Center, Inc., 791 F.2d 215 (1" Cir. 1986) ....... 8

First Federal Savings and Loan Assoc. of Boston
v. Greenwald, 591 F.2d 417 (1" Cir. 1979) ............ 15

iv

Ford Motor Credit Co. v. Aaron-Lincoln
Mercury, Inc., 563 F.Supp. 1108 (N.D. Tl. 1983) ....... 14

Franchise Tax Bd. of the State of California v.
Constr. Laborers Vacation Trust for Southern Cal.,

463 U.S. 1, 103 S.Ct. 2841 (1983) .............. 9, 13, 15
Gentry v. Smith, 487 F.2d 571, 579 (5™ Cir. 1973) ........ 12
Green v. McKaskle, 788 F.2d 1116 (5" Cir. 1986) ........ 20
Grubbs v. General Electric Credit Corp.,

405 U.S. 699, 702, 92 S.Ct. 1344 (1972) ............... 6
Gully v. First Nat. Bank in Meridian,

S98 UB. POR as es DOCH Cisse AeA 9,15
Hafer v. Melo, 502 U.S. 21, 112 S.Ct. 358 (1991) ......... 8

Harlow vy. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 102 S.Ct.

BEET ROPE 5 Eb oa es C5 EL lee A Ee Reece 16
Heller v. Doe, 509 U.S. 312, 113 S.Ct. 2637 (1993) ....... 11
Hercules Incorp. v. Dynamic Export Corp.,

FE A CECT Be SUPER Sei e i ikea sce he iets ox 12
Iglesias v. Mutual Life Insurance Company

of New York, 156 F.3d 237 (1" Cir. 1998) ............. 12
Johnson v. Rodriguez, 110 F.3d 299 (5 Cir. 1997) ....... 20

Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159, 105 S.Ct. 3099 (1985) .. 8

Vv

Kersey v. Shipley, 673 F.2d 730 (4th Cir. 1982),

cert. denied, 459 U.S. 836, 103 S.Ct. 80 (1982) ......

Lesnick v. Public Indus. Corp., 144 F.2d 968

oa a cs hob By nn AER TIPS OPE CEE ES

Levitt v. University of Texas at El Paso,

759 F.2d 1224 (Sth Cir. i) RS Pee ee ee eee
Lewis v. Windsor Door, 926 F.2d 729 (8" Cir. 1991) ...

Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335, 106 S. Ct. 1092 (1986) .

Matsushita Electrical Industrial Co. v. Zenith

Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 106 S.Ct. 1348 (1986) ...

Mongo Band of Mission Indians y. Calif. State
Bd. of Equalization, 858 F.2d 1376 (9" Cir. 1988),

cert. denied, 488 U.S. 1006, 109 S.Ct. 787 $3). | eee

Newman-Green, Inc. y. Alfonzo-Larrain,

490 U.S. 826, 109 S.Ct. 2218 Sey Se Pee

Pioche Mines Consol., Inc. v. F idelity-Philadelphia
Trust Co., 206 F.2d 336 (9" Cir. 1953), cert. denied,

346 U.S. 899, 74 S.Ct. 225 (1953) ................

Radio Shack Franchise Dept., A Division of Tandy

Corp. v. Williams, 804 F.Supp. 151 (D. Kan. 1992) . . .

Regents of Univ. of Mich. v. Ewing,

474 U.S. 214, 106 S.Ct. 507 RRP s oasac anes he,

Shamrock Oil & Gas Corp. v. Sheets,

313 U.S. 100, 61 S.Ct. 868 (1941) ................

13,14

17, 19

vi

Siegert v. Gilley, 500 U.S. 226, 111 S.Ct. 1789 (1991) ..... 16
State of Texas v. Walker, 142 F.3, 813

had & | RR sa ee ge ear ene emer 12-14,19, 20
Thomas v. Shelton, 740 F.2d 478 (7" Cir. 1984) ....... 13, 14
United Artists Corp. v. Masterpiece Productions, Inc.,

ris @ ue Gok, os A... s ers Peer cer ee 12
Weiss v. Anker, 421 F.Supp. 1040 (E.D.N.Y. 1976) ....... 18
West v. Aurora City, 6 Wall. 139, 18 L.Ed. 819 (1867)..... 10
Will v. Michigan Dept. of State Police,

eg eh Re RG Re ys el ae ee oar 8
Wong v. Bacon, 445 F.Supp. 1177 (N.D. Cal. 1977) ....... 15
Woods v. Johnson, 75 F.3d 1017 (5" Cir. 1996),

cert. denied, . US... 175.02: ISO CIS9G) i wes 20
Rules
Ee OD XS Br tener Ae eer wie SO A 12
Pe CR SAS NSCS Oa Bs Calchs FAS ERS FUN UN 12
I HONUD sais W's 0 08 6 095 EERNS oA aad ee 5 Pe >
POC sa 6s teas ab lode senawer ec iereaves 12, 18
pi A SS A | Peery aes eared Seg en tera oe 7

a PURE VAKA 6G AKER KAA N KEE ERRORS 7

Vii

Statutes

seybec csp Tigi ECO EEE OE OE POO Da a ES 9
Be NESE ORR eins fs ested Fiauees ioe nk 5, 19
BE CS SAMONG) woes cc ce 1911 U.S.C. § 523(a)(6)19
WOR MEE Sees dt ise vise kl ee 15
“eabbntecigtcns cng. EP TPR Oe CoG Te eet Ne ee 9
sept ene oy Long SEE EER OT Fo ee Tse 8
WEP ORO so oie aye og ee ee a 12
eee PND Ss ae a ie 4,10
We Seis © OOOO oo i ioe ec 2, 4, 6, 7, 9-11, 15
witlet 3. cs gicte heh CET URES DR TRE RET 4
RONNIE eis hess pis dkeeue es 15
28 U.S.C. § 1447(c) PORE WO EUNS OAS SURE CESS Coke Cea 6
Other Authorities

Wright, Miller, Kane, 6 Federal Practice and Procedure
Seduidtas hedinn abode, Ee Te Er ee ee 8, 12

aephtD weiter ss 4 dt tevettis PM fe
satel ta tS
Sor ee

No. 98-350

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1998

WILLIAM E. WALKER, M.D.,
Petitioner,

Vv

THE STATE OF TEXAS,
Respondent.

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari To The
United States Court of Appeals For The Fifth Circuit

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
WALKER’S PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

11 U.S.C. § 523
28 U.S.C. § 1331

28 U.S.C. § 1441(a)
28 U.S.C. § 1441(c)

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Dr. William Walker asks this Court to vacate a
judgment, affirmed by the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit,
dismissing his counterclaims against the individual members of
the Board of Regents of the University of Texas System, and the
President of the University of Texas Health Science Center at
Houston, M. David Low. He challenges the federal court’s
removal jurisdiction over this case, which was removed by the
counter-defendants pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1441(c). In the
alternative, he challenges the district court and the court of appeals
in their evaluation of the summary judgment evidence before
them. Because the court of appeals did not err in its opinion and
judgment, Respondents respectfully request that this Court deny
Walker’s petition for writ of certiorari.

Dr. Walker was a tenured cardiologist at the University of
Texas Health Science Center in Houston (UTHSC). As a
condition of his employment, he signed a contract with UTHSC in
which he joined the Medical Services, Research, and Development
Plan (MSRDP). This plan required him to remit any outside
professional fees he earned to UTHSC, which included appearance
fees for court appearances, depositions, and other legal
consultations. Walker earned significant fees while employed at
UTHSC, but he failed to remit any to the university. When
UTHSC learned of his and other faculty members’ non-
compliance with the MSRDP, it engaged in a survey of the
faculty’s outside earnings. Several faculty were found by UTHSC
to be in non-compliance and UTHSC entered into negotiations
with them to recover the funds. All faculty entered into sizeable
settlements with the University except Walker. Walker did offer
to remit approximately 5% of the fees UTHSC had estimated he
owed, but he refused to provide the University with an accounting
of his outside earnings. With no accounting verifying his
earnings, the University rejected his offer and started termination
proceedings. A UTHSC hearing tribunal found that Walker had

—————— a ee ae "?

3

violated the terms of the MSRDP, but that several faculty had
done so, and that there was some confusion about its terms, and
thus termination was improper. UTHSC rejected this
recommendation and presented Walker’s termination to a formal
meeting of the University of Texas Board of Regents. After a
hearing that included testimony from both the UTHSC and
Walker, the regents voted to terminate his employment.
See Memorandum and Order of the District Court, State of Texas’
Petition for Writ of Certiorari, Appendix at A2-A3 and A27-3 l.

Prior to the University’s informal actions to recover the
MSRDP funds from Walker, he filed for bankruptcy relief under
Chapter 7. It is undisputed that he never listed the University as
a creditor, and the University never filed a proof of claim.

The State of Texas, by and through the University of Texas
System Board of Regents in their official capacities and UTHSC,
filed an original petition in Harris County, Texas district court on
February 8, 1995. This petition sought an accounting of funds the
University believed Walker converted to his own use, in breach of
his employment contract. On August 10, 1995, Walker filed an
"Original Counter Claim and Third-Party Claim" against the
Board of Regents in both their official and individual capacities,
and UTHSC President M. David Low in both his individual and
official capacities.' Walker’s claims related to his allegations that
his constitutional right to due process was violated by the named

"Walker labeled President Low as the only third-party defendant in his
Original Counter Claim and Third-Party Claim, and labeled the Board of
Regents in their official and individual Capacities as counter-defendants.
The members of the Board of Regents in their individual capacities have no
authority to be and were not parties to the original action for conversion and
breach of contract. The Original Petition identified the plaintiff as: "Plaintiff
is the State of Texas acting through its agency the Board of Regents of the
University of Texas System, established pursuant to Tex. Educ. Code § 65.11,
and charged with the management of the University of Texas Health Science
Center at Houston." Original Petition at q 2.

eR

4

parties when they terminated him from his tenured faculty
position. On September 25, 1995, the Counter-Defendants
UTHSC and the Board of Regents, in their official capacities
moved the state court to sever the original action from Walker’s
Counterclaims and third-party claims.’ Those motions were never
ruled on by the Harris County district court before the removal
calendar elapsed. On September 29, 1995, this action was timely
removed pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1441(a), later amended to |
§ 1441(c).?

On April 30, 1996, UTHSC, the Board of Regents, and
President Low filed a motion for partial summary judgment for
those claims brought against them by Walker. Approximately a
month later Walker moved for summary judgment on the
conversion and breach of contract disputes, claiming any monies
owed had been discharged in bankruptcy. The State of Texas,
through UTHSC, filed a response to Walker’s motion for summary
judgment, arguing that the interests were non-dischargeable under
11 U.S.C. § 523. On December 24, 1996, the district granted in
part, and denied in part, the pending motions for summary

7On the same day the third-party defendants (President Low in both
capacities and the Board of Regents in their individual capacities) moved to
strike Walker’s third-party claims as barred by the state district court’s
scheduling order.

>The parties filed their Rule 26(f) Joint Report with the district court on
March 18, 1996. In this Joint Report the UTHSC, the Board of Regents, and }
President Low all acknowledged that they had erred in their allegation of '
removal jurisdiction, and indicated that they had corrected this allegation by,
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1653, substituting 28 U.S.C. § 1441(c) for the original i
§ 1441(a) basis of jurisdiction. See Newman-Green, Inc. v. Alfonzo-Larrain, ’
490 U.S. 826, 830-32, 109 S.Ct. 2218, 2222 (1989). Their motion for leave to
file an amended notice of removal, alleging 28 U.S.C. § 1441(c) as the basis for
jurisdiction, was granted by the district court on March 29, 1996. In their Rule
26(f) Joint Report, Walker contested § 1441(c) jurisdiction, and indicated he
would file a motion to remand. He did not.

5

part, and denied in part, the pending motions for summary
judgment. The court dismissed several claims against UTHSC and
the regents and President Low in their official capacities pursuant
to the Eleventh Amendment, and granted summary judgment on
all constitutional claims against the regents and President Low in
their individual capacities based on qualified immunity. The court
also granted Walker’s motion for summary judgment on the
conversion claim, finding those interests had been discharged in
an earlier bankruptcy proceeding. Final judgment was entered on
December 30, 1996.

On January 29, 1997, UTHSC and Walker filed appeals.
The University appealed the district court’s finding on the
discharge in bankruptcy, while Walker appealed the dismissal of
his due process and equal protection claims pursuant to qualified
immunity. The Fifth Circuit affirmed the district court’s judgment
on the constitutional claims, finding that the summary judgment
evidence before it amply demonstrated that the officials exercised
professional judgment, and that it was objectively reasonable for
them to have acted as they did. The Fifth Circuit reversed and
remanded the discharge in bankruptcy issue, finding that there
were disputed questions of material fact precluding summary
judgment. In reaching that issue, the court of appeals found that
the Eleventh Amendment did not bar the bankruptcy court from
having discharged interests of the state.‘

The central question raised by Walker in his Petition is
whether the counter-defendants below could remove the federal

“The State of Texas has petitioned for writ of certiorari on this issue.

claims present in Walker’s counter-claims petition.* The Fifth
Circuit was correct in permitting removal by non-original-plaintiff
counter-defendant President Low. Section 1441 (c) does not
preclude such removals. Earlier versions of this provision which
limited removal to the "defendant or defendants" were amended by
Congress to delete that language. The counter-claims on which
removal was based meet the statutory requirements. Although the
court of appeals did not decide the issue, removal would have been
proper by the non-original-plaintiff counter-defendant regents in
their individual capacities as well. In fact, respondents can find no
authority for the argument that an original-plaintiff counter-
defendant is precluded from removing a claim pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1441(c) that is within the original jurisdiction of the
federal court.

‘Although Congress provided for the expedited, 30 day consideration of
procedural defects in removal, 28 U.S.C. § 1447(c), subject matter jurisdiction
can be raised at any time. Caterpillar, Inc. v. Lewis, 519 U.S. 61, _, 117 S.Ct.
467, 474-74 (1996)(citing American Fire & Casualty Co. v. Finn, 341 U.S. 6,
18, 71 S.Ct. 534, 542 (1951). Walker never filed a motion to remand, instead
waiting until the case was on appeal to object to the removal to federal court.

Longstanding decisions of this Court make clear . . . that where after

removal a case is tried on the merits without objection and the federal

court enters judgment, the issue in subsequent proceedings on appeal

is not whether the case was properly removed, but whether the federal

district court would have had original jurisdiction of the case had it

been filed in that court.

Caterpillar, Inc. v. Lewis, 519U.S >i, _,117S.Ct. 467, 474-75 (1996)(quoting
Grubbs v. General Electric Credit Corp., 405 U.S. 699, 702, 92 S.Ct. 1344,
1347 (1972)). However, neither Caterpillar nor Grubbs addressed the situation
before this Court: where original jurisdiction only arose in the defendant’s
counter-claims. Nonetheless, Walker cannot dispute that the district court
would have had original jurisdiction had his claims been filed in federal court.
Moreover, all the policy considerations this Court found “overwhelming” in
Caterpillar, “considerations of finality, efficiency, and economy", are present
in this action. 519 U.S. at _, 117 S.Ct. at 476. Walker has waived his
complaints about removal.

7

Walker’s argument is that only an original plaintiff can "join"
claims, and that only an original defendant can remove an action.
This argument does not withstand scrutiny. There is no basis to
force such a constricted view of "joinder" on the language of the
Statute. Walker’s counterclaims raise claims under the original
jurisdiction of the federal court. Respondents can locate no basis
in either Article III or § 1441(c) that precludes the federal district
court from exercising jurisdiction over this case. Moreover,
liberal joinder rules and public policy promoting the efficient
litigation of multiple and related claims support a less artificial
interpretation of the statute.

ARGUMENTS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. REMOVAL BY COUNTER-DEFENDANT LOW WAS PROPER
UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 1441(c).

As a preliminary matter, the nature of the parties should be
clarified. Walker labeled his petition as comprising counterclaims
and third-party claims, and this label has remained in the pleadings
of all parties, creating some confusion. None of Walker’s claims
seek indemnification or to transfer his liability for conversion to
another party. Instead, Walker seeks remedies for his termination,
both from the original plaintiffs as well as new parties. Although
the issue has not been briefed, it seems unlikely that the claims
against the university and the regents in their official Capacities are
compulsory counterclaims, and thus those claims were brought in
as permissive counterclaims pursuant to Tex.R.Civ.P. 97(b).
His claims against the regents in their individual Capacities and
President Low in both capacities, since they are new parties, must
have been brought in pursuant to Tex.R.Civ.P. 97(f), the state
counterpart to FED.R.Civ.P. 13¢h).

The regents in their individual capacities were not parties to
the original action in state court. In their official capacities, the
regents embody the state office they hold. "[T]Jhe real party in
interest in an official-capacity suit is the governmental entity and
not the named official ...." Hafer v. Melo, 502 U.S. 21, 25, 112
S.Ct. 358, 361 (1991); Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159, 165,
105 S.Ct. 3099, 3105 (1985). The distinction is more than a "mere
pleading device". Hafer, 502 U.S. at 27, 112 S.Ct. at 362 (quoting
Will v. Michigan Dept. of State Police, 491 U.S. 58, 71, 109 S.Ct.
2304, 2311 (1989)); see also Bender v. Williamsport Area School
Dist., 475 U.S. 534, 543 n.6, 106 S.Ct. 1326, 1332 n.6
(1986)(Actions of individual capacity defendants and official
capacity defendants "are generally treated as the transactions of
two different legal personages"); Mongo Band of Mission Indians
v. Calif. State Bd. of Equalization, 858 F.2d 1376, 1382 n. 5 (9®
Cir. 1988)(disregard the citizenship of individual board members
in determining diversity jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1335), cert.
denied, 488 U.S. 1006, 109 S.Ct. 787 (1989). Because the regents,
when they acted as plaintiffs, could only be acting in their official
capacities, they were not plaintiffs in their individual capacities
and had not appeared as such in the original action. President Low
was not a plaintiff in any capacity in the original state court action.

The authorities are divided as to whether Walker’s claims can
be "true" counterclaims. See Pioche Mines Consol., Inc. v.
Fidelity-Philadelphia Trust Co., 206 F.2d 336 (9 Cir. 1953), cert.
denied, 346 U.S. 899, 74 S.Ct. 225 (1953); Aldens, Inc. v. Packel,
524 F.2d 38, 50-51 (3 Cir. 1975); Federal Deposit Insurance
Corp. v. La Rambla Shopping Center, Inc., 791 F.2d 215, 220 (1*
Cir. 1986); Berger v. Reynolds Metals Co. , 39 F.R.D. 313, 314-15
(E.D.Penn. 1966). See also Wright, Miller, Kane, 6 Federal
Practice and Procedure § 1404 (West 1990). Nonetheless, except
for the effort by the University, the regents and President Low to
sever the original action against Walker from his counterclaim suit
and to strike his pleading as untimely as per the state district
court’s scheduling order, no objection was made to the form of the

9

pleadings denoting some parties or claims as counter-claim or
third-party in nature, and no objection as to process was made.

The counter-claims meet jurisdictional requirements for
permissive counterclaims. They "arise under" the F ourteenth
Amendment. 28 U.S.C. § 1331; Franchise Tax Bd of the State of
California v. Constr. Laborers Vacation Trust Sor Southern Cal.,

463 U.S. 1, 7-8, 103 S.Ct. 2841, 2845 ( 1983); Gully v. First Nat.

Bank in Meridian, 299 U.S. 109, 97, 57 S.Ct. 96, 97 (1936).

Was Removal Proper?

Respondents removed this action pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 1441(c). Section 1441(c) provides:

Whenever a separate and independent claim or cause of
action within the jurisdiction conferred by section 1331 of
this title is joined with one or more non-removable claims

or causes of action, the entire case may be removed and
the district court may determine all issues therein, or, in its
discretion, may remand all matters in which State law
predominates.°

Nothing in the language of § 1441(c) precludes a counter-
defendant from removing the entire case. Although this Court has
not addressed the ability of a counter-defendant to remove an
action pursuant to the current § 1441(c), it has addressed the issue
in a removal action by a counter-defendar* based upon diversity
jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 71, a precursor to § 1441(c).

*Section 1441(c) read as follows prior to the Judicial Improvements Act of
1990 [Pub. L. No. 101-650, 104 Stat. 5089}:

Whenever a separate and independent claim or cause of action, which
would be removable if sued upon alone, is joined with one or more
otherwise non-removable claims or causes of action, the entire case
may be removed and the district court may determine all issues
therein, or, in its discretion, may remand all matters not otherwise
within its original jurisdiction.

10

Shamrock Oil & Gas Corp. v. Sheets, 313 U.S. 100, 61 S.Ct. 868
(1941). The Shamrock Oil Court noted that Congress, in drafting
§ 71, had amended the statute to add the language requiring
removal by the "defendant or defendants" instead of by "either
party". The Court further noted that it had already held under an
earlier version of the statute that a "plaintiff, having submitted
himself to the jurisdiction of the state court, was not entitled to
avail himself of a right of removal conferred only on a defendant
who has not submitted himself to the jurisdiction" of the state
court. /d. at 106, 61 S.Ct. at 871 (citing West v. Aurora City, 6
Wall. 139, 18 L.Ed. 819 (1867)). The Shamrock Oil Court
determined that it was the clear intent of Congress to limit removal
under § 71 to the original defendant. /d. at 106-07, 61 S.Ct. at 871.
Surely Congress was just as clear in their intent when they added
the "defendant or defendants" language to § 1441(a) but deleted it
from the current version of § 1441(c).

Walker’s § 1983 claims are separate and independent of the
original accounting and conversion action. In American Fire &
Casualty Co. v. Finn, 341 U.S. 6, 71 S.Ct. 534 (1951), this Court
addressed the issue of what constituted a "separate and
independent" claim for purposes of § 1441(c). The Court
determined that "where there is a single wrong to plaintiff, for
which relief is sought, arising from an interlocked series of
transactions, there is no separate and independent claim or cause
of action under § 1441(c)". Jd. at 14, 71 S.Ct. at 540. Walker
appears to rely on American Casualty for the proposition that the
"single wrong to him - he lost his tenured faculty position" cannot
constitute the separate and independent claim necessary for
§ 144i(c). American Casualty found in pertinent part that:

[i]n making this determination we look to the plaintiff's

pleading, which controls . . . The single wrong for which

relief is sought is the failure to pay compensation for the
loss on the property. Liability lay among three parties, but

it was uncertain which one was responsible. Therefore, all

were joined as defendants in one petition.

11

Id. at 14, 71 S.Ct. at 540. American Casualty was not a counter-
claim action; the Court’s focus was on the single wrong to the
party seeking relief, the original plaintiff. American Casualty does
not support Walker’s implicit contention that, in determining
whether the claims are separate and independent, this Court should
look to his complaint only and ignore the original action by the
original plaintiff, UTHSC. The original wrong forming the basis
of the initial state court suit was the alleged conversion of funds
belonging to UTHSC. Walker then sued over his termination.
Whether Walker’s due process rights were violated is answered by
reviewing the process he received, not the outcome of the process
(his termination), nor a derivative result of the process (the
litigation to recover the lost funds). E.g., Heller v. Doe, 509 U.S.
312, 332, 113 S.Ct. 2637, 2649 (1993).

Whether a third-party claim was "separate and independent"
was addressed by the Fifth Circuit in Carl Heck Engineers, Inc. v.
Lafourche Parish Police Jury, 622 F.2d 133 (Sth Cir. 1980), in
which the court made clear that the "a claim essentially seeking
indemnity should be considered separate and independent" from
the original complaint. Jd. at 136. That is, the analysis was not
artificially restricted to only the counter-plaintiff s complaint, but
compared the original request for relief to the third-party
indemnification requested relief.

This issue begins to resemble the one Walker presents in his
petition: whether the federal claims in his counter-claim petition
can be "joined" in the meaning of § 1441(c). Walker argues that
only the original plaintiff can "join" a claim, and that only the
original defendant can remove.’ This argument, of course,
elevates form over substance and has little authority in support.

"American Casualty does state that "the plaintiff's pleading . . . controls"
whether the multiple claims are separate and independent, 341 U.S. at 14, 71
S.Ct. at 540, but there was only one complaint in American Casualty.

ae 12

FED.R.CIv.P. 13(h) permits the "joinder" of additional parties as
defendants to counter-claims. Rule 13(h) has been construed
liberally to further the consolidation of related litigation into one
suit. Gentry v. Smith, 487 F.2d 571, 579-80 (5" Cir. 1973); United
Artists Corp. v. Masterpiece Productions, Inc., 221 F.2d 213, 217
(2nd Cir. 1955); Lesnick v. Public Indus. Corp., 144 F.2d 968, 973
(C.C.A.2 N.Y. 1944); Hercules Incorp. v. Dynamic Export Corp.,
71 F.R.D. 101, 105-06 (S.D. N.Y. 1976); Wright, Miller, Kane
§ 1434. Counter-claims seek affirmative relief. They are subject
to FED.R.Civ.P. 8, and subject to potential dismissal under
FED.R.CIv.P. 12 and 56. Until the adoption of 28 U.S.C. § 1367,
they required an independent basis for jurisdiction. Jglesias v.
Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York, 156 F.3d 237, 241
(1* Cir. 1998); Channell v. Citicorp. National Services, Inc., 89
F.3d 379, 384 (7™ Cir. 1996); Wright, Miller, Kane § 1422.

The Fifth Circuit held that although counter-defendants who
were the original plaintiffs could not remove an action because
such rationale would violate the well-pleaded complaint rule,
counter-defendants who were not original plaintiffs would not
violate the rule. State of Texas v. Walker, 142 F.3, 813, 816 (5"
Cir. 1998). The Fifth Circuit determined that President Low,
added in both his capacities as a counter-defendant by Walker,
could remove the entire case pursuant to the rationale of Carl Heck
Engineers v. Lafourche Parish Police Jury, 622 F.2d 133 (5™ Cir.
1980).* In Carl Heck Engineers the court of appeals found that
there was diversity between the third-party plaintiff and third-party
defendant, and that the third-party indemnification claim was
sufficiently separate and independent, and thus the case was
removable pursuant to § 1441(c). The Carl Heck Engineers court
discussed the authority to the contrary, which they characterized
as arguing either that the third-party claim was "merely incidental

*The court of appeals assumed without deciding that the regents in their
individual capacities were invalidated from removing because of their official
capacity plaintiff status in the original action. 142 F.3d at 816.

13

or ancillary to the main claim and is not a separable controversy"
or that it was "unjust" to allow a party the original plaintiff had not
sued to determine the forum for the plaintiff's case. 622 F.2d at
135. The Carl Heck Engineers court determined that, as long as
the third-party claim satisfied the separate and independent
requirement of the statute and contained the basis for federal court
jurisdiction, the action was removable. The Fifth Circuit in State
of Texas v. Walker extended this logic to non-original plaintiffs
such as President Low.’

Walker relies on Thomas v. Shelton, 740 F.2d 478 (7 Cir.
1984) and Lewis v. Windsor Door, 926 F.2d 729 (8" Cir. 1991), as
well as the opinions of some commentators. Walker Petition at 5.

Thomas was originally a tort action in Indiana state court.
Because the United States ultimately incurred the medical
expenses at issue, it sued the defendant tortfeasor as well, in
federal court, to recover its expenses. To avoid double liability,
the defendant interpleaded the United States in the original state
court action. The United States then removed the state court
action to federal court and consolidated it with its own action
against the defendant. The removing party in Thomas was a third-
party defendant, unlike the case before the Court. Furthermore,
unlike Walker, the third-party claims in Thomas were apparently
state law tort claims, not federal questions. The Thomas court
doubted that a third party defendant could ever remove under
§ 1441(c), because of the dependent nature of typical third-party
claims means those claims are not "independent" and thus cannot
be "joined" with the nonremovable claims of the original plaintiff.

*Respondents would suggest to the Court that allowing original-plaintiff
counter-defendants to remove would not violate the well-pleaded complaint
rule. The well-pleaded complaint rule addresses the search for federal
jurisdiction in the complaint and rules out establishing jurisdiction in the
defendant’s answer or in anticipated defenses. E.g., Franchise Tax Bd., 463
U.S. at 9-10, 103 S.Ct. at 2846. Nothing in the well-pleaded complaint rule
mandates that it’s locus is required to be on the original plaintiff's complaint.

14

Thomas, 740 F.2d at 486.'° Uf course, the Thomas court’s
observation regarding the faulty separate and independent nature
of third-party claims, even if true, is inapplicable to counter-
claims, which are not as constrained to issues of indemnity as
third-party claims are. The Thomas court’s concern over proper
"joinder" of claims is less clear, though it appears that the court
felt § 1441(c) required (in some unexplained and limited way) that
the third party-claims be joined with the nonremovable claim of
the original plaintiff. Jd. See also 1A Moore’s Federal Practice 4
0.167[10] (2™ ed. 1979)(cited in Carl Heck Engineers, 622 F.2d
at 135).

Another concern of the Thomas court was that allowing
removal of an action "the main part of which" was outside the
court’s jurisdiction would "enlarge federal jurisdiction at the
expense of state jurisdiction in a rather dramatic way." Thomas,
740 F.2d at 486. This federalism concern seems misplaced in
State of Texas v. Walker, as the $88 million dollar constitutional
counter-claims Walker brought against the regents and President
Low dwarf the original $90,000 action UTHSC brought in state
court. The Eighth Circuit has adopted the reasoning of Thomas.
Lewis v. Windsor Door Co., 926 F.2d 729 (8" Cir. 1991).""

Neither Thomas nor Lewis discuss the rationale that would
explain why it is proper to deny the counter-defendants who were
not original plaintiffs their choice of a federal forum to defend
themselves. Nor do they satisfactorily explain why it is unfair to

"The Thomas court acknowledges that the circuits and district courts are
in conflict on the ability of third-party defendants to remove pursuant to
§ 1441(c). Thomas, 740 F.2d at 486 (citing Ford Motor Credit Co. v. Aaron-
Lincoln Mercury, Inc., 563 F.Supp. 1108, 1110 nn.6 & 8 (N.D. Ill. 1983) for
a compilation of cases).

''At least one district court has applied Thomas to bar removal by counter-
defendants. Radio Shack Franchise Dept., A Division of Tandy Corp. v.
Williams, 804 F.Supp. 151 (D. Kan. 1992).

ON eh RS DET oe eee

15

allow the original plaintiff to remove a federal question counter-
claim.

Although it did not consider it, the Franchise Tax Bd. Court
did note in passing the possibility of the argument at hand.
The defendants below in Franchise Tax Bd. had filed a motion to
dismiss in the district court, and suggested to the Court that it be
considered as a counterclaim under the Employment Retirement
Income Security Act of 1974 [28 U.S.C. §§ 1001 ef seq.], and
"which might then provide an independent jurisdictional basis for
reaching the merits of the preemption issue in this case."
Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. at 22 n.24, 103 S.Ct. at 2853 n.24
(citing First Federal Savings and Loan Assoc. of Boston v.
Greenwald, 591 F.2d 417 (1* Cir. 1979), and Wong v. Bacon, 445
F.Supp. 1177, 1183-84 (N.D. Cal. 1977)).'? There is no indication
the Court accepted this invitation.

In summary, by treating Walker’s § 1983 counter-claims as
any other claim for relief in terms of removal jurisdiction under
§ 1441(c), federal courts would realize the "common-sense
accommodation of judgment to kaleidoscopic s:tuations which
characterizes the law in its treatment of causation . . . a selective
process which picks the substantial causes out of the web and lays
the other ones aside." Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. at 20-21, 103
S.Ct. 2852 (quoting Gully, 299 U.S. at 117-18, 57 S.Ct. 99-100)).

"In Greenwald, the defendant removed claims against it brought under
Massachusetts interest laws, arguing that its defense was primarily a question
of federal law. The First Circuit, noting that the removal, pursuant to
§ 1441(b), may have been improvident under Gully v. First National Bank, 299
U.S. 109, 57 S.Ct. 96 (1936), observed nonetheless that subsequent to removal
the defendants had filed a counterclaim pursuant to the Declaratory Judgment
Act, 28 U.S.C. §§ 2201, 2202, and that the district court "clearly had
jurisdiction over the associations’ separate declaratory judgment action". 591
F.2d at 423. In Wong, the district court found federal question jurisdiction
based upon the defendants’ counterclaims. However, the suit was commenced
in federal district court, so no removal question presented itself.

a a aS ST

16

Nothing in § 1441(c) precludes a counter-claim defendant from
exercising his right to a federal forum to defend federal claims.

II. THE COURT OF APPEALS VIEWED THE DISPUTED EVIDENCE
IN THE LIGHT MOST FAVORABLE TO THE NON-MOVANT
WHEN IT AFFIRMED THE DISTRICT COURT’S GRANT OF
QUALIFIED IMMUNITY

Walker asserts that the court of appeals (and, implicitly, the
district court) determined disputed questions of material fact in the
light most favorable to the movant, in contradiction to the well
known standards of this Court. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,
477 U.S. 242, 106 S.Ct. 2505 (1986); Matsushita Electrical
Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 106 S.Ct.
1348 (1986). Walker provides this Court with no support for this
conclusory allegation, which is contradicted by detailed factual
determinations made by the district court. See Memorandum and
Order of the District Court, State of Texas’ Petition for Writ of
Certiorari, Appendix at A27-A31.

Walker makes no contention in his Petition that the Fifth
Circuit misapplied either qualified immunity law or substantive
law. As public officials exercising discretionary functions, the
regents and President Low are shielded from suit and from liability
unless Walker can show that the constitutional rights the officials
are accused of violating were clearly established at the time of the
alleged offenses. Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 807, 102
S.Ct. 2727, 2732 (1982). The "touchstone" of this analysis is the
objective reasonableness of the officials’ conduct. Anderson v.
Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 637-41, 107 S.Ct. 3034, 3038-39 (1987).
The current analytical framework for qualified immunity requires
courts to determine, first, whether the plaintiff has a cognizable
claim for deprivation of liberty or property interests without due
process, and second, if so, whether that claim was clearly
established under federal constitutional law in at the time. Siegert

17

v. Gilley, 500 U.S. 226, 231-233, 111 S.Ct. 1789, 1793-1794
(1991). So long as public officials of reasonable competence
could differ on these issues, the defendants are immune from suit
and liability. Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335, 341, 106 S. Ct.
1092, 1096 (1986)."

It was undisputed that UTHSC determined that he owed the
MSRDP $98,350, which was the most of all the faculty found to
be in violation of the MSRDP agreement. See Memorandum and
Order of the District Court, State of Texas’ Petition for Writ of
Certiorari, Appendix at A27-A31. It was undisputed that the other
faculty cooperated with UTHSC and paid sizeable amounts to the
MSRDP almost immediately. Jd. It was undisputed that Walker
was the only one who retained counsel and engaged in contentious
negotiations with President Low. /d. It was undisputed that, even
after negotiations, Walker only offered to pay $5,000 of the
$98,350 estimate. Jd. It was also undisputed that Walker was the
only faculty member who resisted supplying UTHSC with an
accounting of his earnings. /d.

Walker’s Substantive Due P Clai

Walker argues that the Fifth Circuit inappropriately resolved
disputed facts regarding his substantive due process claims.
Walker complains that the regents and President Low acted in an
arbitrarily manner when they terminated him from his tenured
faculty position at UTHSC, in violation of the Fourteenth
Amendment’s protection from arbitrary and capricious state
action. Regents of Univ. of Mich. v. Ewing, 474 U.S. 214, 220-23,
106 S.Ct. 507, 511-12 (1985). However, as detailed supra, the
regents had plenty of evidence before them that would allow them
to exercise their discretion and still apply professional and

'This Court’s recent Crawford-El v. Britton decision is not applicable to
the qualified immunity analysis of the substantive due process and rational
basis equal protection claims in this case. _U.S._, 118 S.Ct. 1584 (1998).

A aia Ns ots

reasoned judgment. Most facts were not in dispute. Walker’s
argument is that his "offer" to settle, his "defense" that his
bankruptcy erased most of his obligations to the MSRDP, and his
"defense" that his subsequent licensing as an attorney shielded his
professional earnings somehow created a question of material fact.
The regents, however, were addressing the relatively undisputed
situation that Walker alone was not forthcoming with information
nor a reasonable remittance. As the court of appeals determined,
Walker’s "defenses" were not clearly established, and reasonable
regents sitting in judgment could disagree as to their application
to Walker’s situation. The regents were not required by
FED.R.CIv.P. 56 to show that there were no disputed issues before
them when they considered Walker’s termination.

Walker also claims that the mere fact that an administrative
hearing tribunal at UTHSC had found in his favor created a fact
question that the regents acted arbitrarily when they proceeded to
terminate him nonetheless. UTHSC rejected the hearing tribunal’s
recommendation and put Walker’s termination on the agenda of
the board of regents. Memorandum and Order of the District
Court, State of Texas’ Petition for Writ of Certiorari, Appendix at
A31. The regents held a hearing, heard from both Walker and the
university, and, exercising their discretion, chose to agree with the
institution and terminated Walker. As long as Walker received the
process due under the Constitution, the clearly established law in
the Fifth Circuit that it is not actionable to cite any deviation by
the Board of Regents from the System’s own rules and
regulations. Levitt v. University of Texas at El Paso, 759 F.2d
1224, 1230-31 (Sth Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1034, 106
S.Ct. 599 (1985). Moreover, it is not per se a violation of the Due
Process Clause for the Regents to reject the findings and
recommendations of an advisory hearing tribunal. Kersey v.
Shipley, 673 F.2d 730, 733 (4th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S.
836, 103 S.Ct. 80 (1982); Weiss v. Anker, 421 F.Supp. 1040 |
(E.D.N.Y. 1976). Given the facts that were undisputed, supra,
Walker presents this Court with no reason to disturb the Fifth

19

Circuit’s determination that Walker’s case presented the regents
with a fact pattern that reasonable officials could disagree, and
thus qualified immunity was proper. State of Texas v. Walker, 142
F.3d at 819 (citing Malley, 475 U.S. at 341, 106 S.Ct. at 1096).

Walker also complained that the regents’ rejection of his
discharge in bankruptcy defenses must be arbitrary behavior.
State of Texas v. Walker, 142 F.3d at 819 n.6. Walker never listed
the State or UTHSC as a creditor in his bankruptcy, and the State
never participated in his proceeding. UTHSC then filed the
original action in state court for conversion and breach of conu act,
and Walker asserted his affirmative defense that whatever he owed
UTHSC had been discharged in bankruptcy. State of Texas v.
Walker, 142 F.3d at 820. UTHSC argued that his claims were
non-dischargeable under 11 U.S.C. § 523. The district court
granted Walker’s motion for summary judgment on this issue.

The Fifth Circuit held that, as the nature of the law regarding
his discharge claims was not clearly established, the UTHSC
officials were entitled to qualified immunity. The court of appeals
noted that "because the state was never notified of the bankruptcy
and never had the opportunity to file a timely claim, bankruptcy
law should ordinarily expressly protect the state’s claim from
being discharged." Jd. at 822 & n.16. Once the court of appeals
determined that the Eleventh Amendment did not prohibit the
bankruptcy court from discharging a debt owed the state, the
discharge could be raised by Walker as a defense to UTHSC’s
original state court action for conversion and breach of contract.
Id. at 820. The court determined that a fact question existed as to
whether Walker had engaged in "willful and malicious injury" as
defined by 11 U.S.C. § 523(a)(6). Walker does not appeal this
determination. The court of appeals also found that the state of the
law was sufficiently unclear regarding these defenses that a
reasonable official could have concluded that his obligations had
not been discharged. State of Texas v. Walker, 142 F.3d at 819 n.6.
The court of appeals addressed this issue extensively, Jd. at

20

823-24, and Walker does not brief this Court as to why the court
of appeals erred.

Walker’s Equal Protection Claims

Finally, Walker complains that the court of appeals improperly
determined fact questions in the movants’ favor regarding his
Equal Protection claims. Walker’s Petition at 9. Specifically,
Walker argues that the court of appeals (and, implicitly, the district
court) decided disputed questions of material facts regarding
whether he was similarly situated with other faculty at UTHSC."
Id. The district court determined, and it is undisputed, that Walker
is not a member of any protected class. Memorandum and Order
of the District Court, State of Texas’ Petition for Writ of
Certiorari, Appendix at A38 n.32. The district court dismissed this
claim on that basis, citing Woods v. Johnson, 75 F.3d 1017, 1036
(5" Cir. 1996), cert. denied, U.S._, 117 S.Ct. 150 (1996); and
Green v. McKaskle, 788 F.2d 1116, 1125 (5" Cir. 1986).
The Fifth Circuit affirmed, but on different grounds, determining
that the rational basis test was appropriate for Walker’s equal
protection claims. State of Texas v. Walker, 142 F.3d at 819
(citing Johnson v. Rodriguez, 110 F.3d 299, 306 (5" Cir. 1997)).
Based upon the undisputed facts before the district court, Walker
was so far removed from the other colleagues who were found to
be in violation of the MSRDP that he was simply not similarly
situated. It was not difficult to show that the regents and President
Low acted in an objectively reasonable manner when they
undertook to terminate Walker, and the district court and the court
of appeals properly found them to be entitled to qualified
immunity for this claim.

It is undisputed that he was the only medical school faculty member
terminated at that time for failure to reimburse UTHSC for monies withheld
from the MSRDP.

21

~ CONCLUSION

Removal of federal question counter-claims by counter-
defendants was proper in this case. The court of appeals did not
inappropriately resolved disputed issues of material fact. Walker’s
Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

DAN MORALES
Attorney General of Texas

JORGE VEGA
First Assistant Attorney General

DAVID A. TALBOT, JR.
Deputy Attorney General for Litigation

Bie ht.

ANTOINETTE HUNTER
Chief, General Litigation Division
State Bar 10295900

RONALD R. DEL VENTO
Chief, Bankruptcy & Collections Division

CHRISTOPHER JOHNSEN
MARK BROWNING
Assistant Attorneys General

P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711-2548
(512) 463-2120

Counsel for Respondent

APPENDIX

ep itn

ik
aa

oy
Sean

Ma
a ett
=

Al

TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE

RULE 97. COUNTERCLAIM AND CROSS-CLAIM

(b) Permissive Counterclaims. A pleading may state as a
counterclaim any claim against an opposing party whether or not
arising out of the transaction or occurrence that is the subject
matter of the opposing party’s claim.

(f) Additional Parties. Persons other than those made parties
to the original action may be made parties to a third party action,
counterclaim or cross-claim in accordance with the provisions of
Rules 38, 39 and 40.

RULE 38. THIRD-PARTY PRACTICE

(a) When Defendant May Bring in Third Party. At any
time after commencement of the action a defending party, as a
third-party plaintiff, may cause a citation and petition to be served
upon a person not a party to the action who is or may be liable to
him or to the plaintiff for all or part of the plaintiff's claim against
him. The third-party plaintiff need not obtain leave to make the
service if he files the third-party petition not later than thirty (30)
days after he serves his original answer. Otherwise, he must
obtain leave on motion upon notice to all parties to the action.
The person served, hereinafter called the third-party defendant,
shall make his defenses to the third-party plaintiff's claim under
the rules applicable to the defendant, and his counterclaims against
the third-party plaintiff and cross-claims against other third-party
defendants as provided in Rule 97. The third-party defendant may
assert against the plaintiff any defenses which the third-party
plaintiff has to the plaintiff's claim. The third-party defendant
may also assert any claim against the plaintiff arising out of the
transaction or occurrence that is the subject matter of the

A2

plaintiff’ s claim against the third-party plaintiff. The plaintiff may
assert any claim against the third-party defendant arising cut of the
transaction or occurrence that is the subject matter of the
plaintiff's claim against the third-party plaintiff, and the third-
party defendant thereupon shall assert his defenses and his
counterclaims and cross-claims. Any party may move to strike the
third-party claim, or for its severance or separate trial. A third-
party defendant may proceed under this rule against any person
not a party to the action who is or who may be liable to him or to
the third-party plaintiff for all or part of the claim made in the
action against the third-party defendant.

(b) When Plaintiff May Bring in Third Party. When a
counterclaim is asserted against a plaintiff, he may cause a third
party to be brought in under circumstances which under this rule
would entitle a defendant to do so.

(c) This rule shall not be applied, in tort cases, so as to permit
the joinder of a liability or indemnity insurance company, unless
such company is by statute or contract liable to the person injured
or damaged.

(d) This rule shall not be applied so as to violate any venue
statute, as venue would exist absent this rule.

RuLE 39. JOINDER OF PERSONS NEEDED FOR JUST
ADJUDICATION

(a) Persons te Be Joined if Feasible. A person who is
subject to service of process shall be joined as a party in the action
if (1) in his absence complete relief cannot be accorded among
those already parties, or (2) he claims an interest relating to the
subject of the action and is so situated that the disposition of the
action in his absence may (1) as a practical matter impair or
impede his ability to protect that interest or (ii) leave any of the
persons already parties subject to a substantial risk of incurring

A3

double, multiple, or otherwise inconsistent obligations by reason
of his claimed interest. If he has not been so joined, the court shall
order that he be made a party. If he should join as a plaintiff but
refuses to do so, he may be made a defendant, or, in a proper case,
an involuntary plaintiff.

(b) Determination by Court Whenever Joinder Not
Feasible. Ifa person as described in subdivision (a)(1)-(2) hereof
cannot be made a party, the court shall determine whether in
equity and good conscience the action should proceed among the
parties before it, or should be dismissed, the absent person being
thus regarded as indispensable. The factors to be considered by
the court include: first, to what extent a judgment rendered in the
person’s absence might be prejudicial to him or those already
parties; second, the extent to which, by protective provisions in the
judgment, by the shaping of relief, or other measures, the
prejudice can be lessened or avoided; third, whether a judgment
rendered in the person’s absence will be adequate; fourth, whether
the plaintiff will have an adequate remedy if the action is
dismissed for non-joinder.

(c) Pleading Reasons for Nonjoinder. A pleading asserting
a claim for relief shall state the names, if known to the pleader, of
any persons as described in subdivision (a)(1)-(2) hereof who are
not joined, and the reasons why they are not joined.

(d) Exception of Class Actions. This rule is subject to the
provisions of Rule 42.

RULE 40. PERMISSIVE JOINDER OF PARTIES

(a) Permissive Joinder. Ail persons may join in one action
as plaintiffs if they assert any right to relief j«.ntly, severally, or in
the alternative in respect of or arising out of the same transaction,
occurrence, or series of transactions or occurrences and if any
question of law or fact common to all of them will arise in the

A4

action. All persons may be joined in one action as defendants if
there is asserted against them jointly, severally, or in the
alternative any right to relief in respect of or arising out cf the
same transaction, occurrence, or series of transac*ions or
occurrences and if any question of law or fact common to all of
them will arise in the action. A plaintiff or defendant need not be
interested in obtaining or defending against all other relief
demanded. Judgment may be given for one or more of the
plaintiffs according to their respective rights to relief, and against
one or more defendants according to their respective liabilities.

(b) Separate Trials. The court may make such orders as will
prevent a party from being embarrassed, delayed, or put to
eynense by the inclusion of a party against whom he asserts no
claim and who asserts no claim against him, and may order
seyarate trials or make other orders to prevent delay or prejudice.

UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED
TITLE 11 BANKRUPTCY

§ 523. EXCEPTIONS TO DISCHARGE

(a) A discharge under section 717, 1141,, 1228(a), 1228(b), or
1328(b) of this title does not discharge an individual debtor from
any debt -

(3) neither listed nor scheduled under section 521(1) of
this title, with the name, if known to the debtor, of the
creditor to whom such debt is owed, in time to
permit --

(A) If such debt is not of a kind specified in paragraph
(2), (4), or (6) of this subsection, timely filing of a
proof of claim, unless such creditor had notice or
actual knowledge of the case in time for such
timely filing; or

(B) if such debt is of a kind specified in paragraph (2),
(4), or (6) of this subsection, timely filing of a

A5

proof of claim and timely request for a
determination of dischargeability of such debt
under one of such paragraphs, unless such creditor
had notice or actual knowledge of the case in time
for such timely filing and request;

(6) for willful and malicious injury by the debtor to
another entity or to the property of another entity.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1499%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
