# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Shafer v. Board of Regents

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1482%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 948

## Text

. Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

98 331 AUG 2 11998

No.
DFFICE OF THE CLERK

In the United States Supreme Court
OcTOBER TERM, 1997

NATHANIEL SHAFER, M.D.,
Petitioner,
ts
THE BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE DIVISION, THIRD DEPARTMENT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

IRVING ANOLIK
Attorney for Petitioner
225 Broadway—Suite 1902
New York, New York 10007
(212) 732-3050
Counsel of Record

And A Member Of

The Bar Of This Court

Virgil Mountain, Inc. (212) 779-4046 (L4449)

x

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the Petitioner’s rights to due process of law and
equal protection of law under the Fourteenth Amendment
of the United States Constitution were violated when the
Court below held that it was proper to have removed and
replaced two of the three panel members of the disciplinary
panel who heard the complaint against the Petitioner,
notwithstanding the clear wording of §230(10)(f) of the
Public Health Law which forbids the replacement of more
than one panel member of such a disciplinary hearing
panel?

Whether the Petitioner’s rights to due process of law and
equal protection of law were violated by virtue of the fact
that the Court below held that notwithstanding §6510 of
the State Education Law and §230(10)(d) of the Public
Health Law which requires that fifteen days notice must be
given to a Doctor in connection with disciplinary charges,
that it was nonetheless perfectly alright that less than
fifteen days notice of such amended charges were given to
Dr. Shafer herein despite the clear language of these
Statutes?

. Whether the rights of the Petitioner herein were violated by

virtue of the fact that more than four and a quarter years of
unexplained delay occurred between the incident giving
rise to the disciplinary charges herein and the filing and
notifying of the Petitioner herein of such charges, during
which hiatus the Petitioner lost contact with essential
witnesses, documents and files had disappeared and
memories had grown dim, all to the prejudice of the
Petitioner?

. Whether in view of the fact that this Court held in the case

of In Re Ruffolo, 390 US 544, 88 S.Ct. 1222, reh denied

391 US 961, that disciplinary proceedings such as those
herein are “quasi-criminal in nature”, were the rights of
Petitioner violated by the unexplained hiatus of four and a
quarter years which occurred between the incident that
allegedly gave rise to the complaint and the notification of
the Petitioner of such complaint by filing charges, a
violation of the due process and Sixth Amendment rights
of the Petitioner to speedy justice?

. Since only one member of the three member disciplinary
panel which were the fact finders on Petitioner’s case
actually heard all of the evidence and saw the only witness
who testified against Shafer, Nurse Graham, and in view
of the fact that the panel that was sitting at the time Nurse
Graham testified, even went into executive session during
which time no minutes were taken at all, and in further
view of the fact that two of the three pane! members that
heard Nurse Graham were removed and replaced by two
new members later on in the proceedings, whether the
Petitioner’s rights to a fair hearing were violated under the
due process and equal protection clauses of the Fourteenth
Amendment of the United States Constitution, since the
panel members constituted what is tantamount to a “jury”
and no juror can be replaced at a “trial” unless he or she
actually saw and heard ali of the evidence and witnesses?

. Whether the refusal of the administrative law judge to
enforce “so ordered” subpoenae served by Petitioner upon
the OPMC thus preventing him from obtaining essential
evidence for his defense, violated his Fourteenth
Amendment’s due process and equal protection rights?

THE PARTIES

The parties are those listed in the caption of this petition.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
SOUR: OR PONE aierins iain bine vi
Jurisdictional Statment for this Court.......................00. ix
Constitutional and Statutory Authorities ........................ x
RINE IO ood cuts upc ny sexscceantis acces sckars sia sedars ces xi
ae aE Be Senn pie 97S Wgtee RRA e 1

Point I:

THE SOLE SUBSTANTIVE WITNESS AGAINST
THE PETITIONER AT HIS DISCIPLINARY
HEARING WAS NURSE CATHERINE
GRAHAM. THERE WERE APPARENTLY SOME
DISPUTES BETWEEN DR. SHAFER AND
NURSE GRAHAM. PATIENT CARE AND
TREATMENT WERE NOT INVOLVED. ONLY
ONE MEMBER OF THE DISCIPLINARY PANEL
THAT FINALLY RENDERED A DECISION IN
THIS CASE ACTUALLY HEARD NURSE
GRAHAM. THE TWO OTHER SUBSTITUTE
MEMBERS NEVER SAW OR HEARD HER AND
INDEED COULD NOT EVEN REVIEW
EVERYTHING THAT OCCURRED DURING
THAT PERIOD OF TIME BECAUSE OF THE
FACT THAT THE THEN EXISTING PANEL
WENT INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION WHERE NO
MINUTES WERE TAKEN. SOME OF THE
MINUTES WHERE NURSE GRAHAM
TESTIFIED WERE AVAILABLE FOR REVIEW
BUT OF COURSE INFLECTIONS, THE

COUNTENANCE OF THE WITNESS AND SO
FORTH COULD NOT BE REVIEWED. THE
MATTER WAS THEN REFERRED ON A
PETITION TO SUPREME COURT JUSTICE,
NEW YORK COUNTY, FRANCIS PECORA
WHO WAS TOTALLY SHOCKED AND
NONPLUSED BY WHAT HAD OCCURRED.
ALL THE MINUTES THAT EXISTED AT THAT
TIME WERE TURNED OVER TO JUSTICE
PECORA BECAUSE OF THE FACT THAT THE
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL MEDICAL
CONDUCT (OPMC) STATED THAT THEIR
CASE WAS OVER AND HAD BEEN FULLY
FURIE C ETD pssia nus svisevkaussokuaskeetideiecanensuniasutehen 8

Point II:

A DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDING SUCH AS THE
ONE AT BAR IS A “QUASI-CRIMINAL
PROCEDURE” AND IT IS THEREFORE
COMPARABLE TO A CRIMINAL RATHER
THAN CIVIL PROCEEDING. THE HEARING
BEFORE THE ADMINISTRATIVE JUDGE WHO
REFUSED TO ENFORCE THE SUBPOENAE
THAT HE HAD “SO-ORDERED” AND THE
FAILURE TO GRANT THE STATUTORY 15 OR
20 DAY NOTICE OF HEARING, COUPLED
WITH THB? FAILURE TO SUPPLY NEEDED
MATERIAL FOR THE DEFENSE VIOLATED
STATE AS WELL AS FEDERALLY PROTECTED
RIGHTS. THIS, COUPLED WITH THE 4 1/4
YEARS UN-EXCUSED DELAY ON BRINGING
CHARGES, VIOLATED DR. SHAFER’S DUE
PROCESS RIGHTS. JUSTICE PECORA’S
VETERMINATION TO DISMISS THE CASE
ALTOGETHER, WE SUBMIT, WAS SOUND......... 13

ii

Point III:

WE HAVE ALREADY ADVERTED CONCISELY
IN THE FOREGOING PASSAGES OF THIS
BRIEF THAT JURISDICTIONALLY THE
PROCEEDINGS AGAINST DR. SHAFER ARE
SERIOUSLY FLAWED IN’ BLATANT
VIOLATION OF THE RULES AND STATUTES
PERTAINING TO HEARINGS BEFORE THE
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL MEDICAL
| CONDUCT BY VIRTUE OF THE FACT THAT
TWO OF ONLY THREE MEMBERS OF THE
HEARING PANEL WERE REPLACED DURING
THE PROCEEDINGS, OVER OBJECTION OF
THE PETITIONER, IN VIOLATION OF SECTION
230(10)(f) OF THE PUBLIC HEALTH LAW.
FURTHERMORE, THE JURISDICTIONAL
ASPECTS OF THIS CASE WERE ALSO
| VIOLATED BY VIRTUE OF THE FACT THAT IN
VIOLATION SECTION 6510(d) OF THE STATE
| EDUCATION LAW AND SECTION 230(10)(d) OF
THE PUBLIC HEALTH LAW LESS THAN 15
DAYS NOTICE WAS GIVEN TO THE
PETITIONER WHEN AMENDED CHARGES
WERE SERVED UPON HIM DURING THE
PROGRESS OF THE HEARING. THIS WAS
ALSO OVER OBJECTION OF THE PETITIONER.
ACCORDINGLY WE MAINTAIN THAT EVEN
JURISDICTIONALLY, THE PROCEEDINGS
WERE IN VIOLATION OF STATUTES, RULES
AND WHAT WE PERCEIVED AS DUE PROCESS

a a ve ea oUt

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Appendix A:
Statement of Charges Dated March 27, 1987............ Al
Appendix B:

Amended Statement of Charges Dated May 12,
ROE SF osea ics cxsack peceeugpccauday cekeUustadgachctereeeoheckeus A4

Appendix C:

Memorandum Decision of the Supreme Court of
the State of New York, County of New York
(Justice Francis N. Pecora) Dated January 29,
RW ick obs ssn pene tn asdirasindal Seiaaanes ibenksinnbaes ends A6

Appendix D:

Decision and Order of the Appellate Division,
First Department, Dated June 8, 1993, with
PI PE ID cnn cdc ci tiigtha ce luisive ceccchv chases dueseines All

Appendix E:

Report of Regents Review Committee Dated
FOOT BAe AOI Keecnbbasiensstanrchicis ten iecepbensiecen Al5

Appendix F:

Vote and Order No. 15551 of the University of
the State of New York Dated March 13, 1996,
with Report of Regents Review Committee Dated
February 19, 1996 (Appendix E), Cover Letter
dated March 16, 1996, and a Copy of Rule
24.7(b) of the Rules of the Board of Regents........... A23

iv

rr

PDT MIN a

ANS Teel Re

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Appendix G:

Memorandum & Judgment of the Supreme Court
of the State of New York—Appellate Division,
Third Department, Dated October 16, 1997............. A28

Appendix H:

Decision and Order on Motion of the Supreme
Court of the State of New York—Appellate
Division, Third Department, Dated January 27,
Re hc aissde iain Od Ee SIRs pa ga hs Nao ee npn A33

Appendix I:

Decision and Order on Motion of the Supreme
Court of the State of New York—Appellate
Division, Third Department, Dated May 28,
PRs asda ph ebraa kh < cides ownphs cadiinbs adanbecaamabcers ov A34

Appendix J:
PEE SN, RWW BGS IO) oi vinci acc ccenssincisidecdacs A35
Appendix K:

N.Y. Public Health Law $§230(10)(d) and (f)......... A36

| |

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Cases Cited:
Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 85 S.Ct. 1187,
REDE WG te ae COIN tack dnc esaubn Wee tnensnatedhe 16
Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535, 91 S.Ct. 1586, 29
Rca PUR LET EDs ss ives concccdsnunamnivapaeuenenccdneess 14
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 573, 92
S.Ct. 2701, 2707, 33 L.Ed.2d 548 (1972)............. 16
Dillingham v. United States, 423 U.S. 64, 96 S.Ct.
2 | RRR RR Reni ane Seine nee te one tae Ranoooen 10
Doggett v. United States, 505 U.S. 647, 112 S.Ct.
2686 CIPO aK GIA Acie iss 10
IN RE Fisher, 179 F.2d 361, 369 (7th Cir. 1950)
cert. denied, sub. nom Kerner v. Fisher, 340
SF ahs. teen FE ees, ee, Ce iisebineiisarivenmnesevatids 15
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 90 S.Ct. 1011,
BS LR Bel AIF Otitis 14
Grannis v. Ordean, 234 U.S. 385, 34 S.Ct. 779,
Peay Ae Bek Re CRD Ea cisanpninkacatsccucsvasecestes 16
Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S. 474, 492, 496- 97, 79
S.Ct. 1400, 1411, 1413, 3 L.Ed.2d 1377
CRE san niie inthis casi iapedin nda deaenadaseneeshretakcascen 16
Gross v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565, 95 S.Ct. 729, 42
SAA He ET PEEE Secon nods tukdeahisAbabsinenacapenssaeis 14
Johnson v. Avery, 393 U.S. 483, 490 n.11, 89
ks FE, Fe ec EE Ce eicicnccmnatidicinccaseins 15

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Cited:

Joint Anti-Fascist Comm. V. McGrath, 341 U.S.

423, 71 BCA. DE. LBe. BET RIGS) cnc es cvceesesseeeiees 15
Kivitz v. SEC, 475 F.2d 956 (D.C. Cir. 1973) .............. 16
Klopfer v. North Carolina, 386 U.S. 213, 87 S.Ct.

GBS (1967) occvnniscccecivecasiscuveckdebasescasseews anders 10
IN RE Los Angeles County Pioneer Society, 217

F.2d 190 (9th Cir. 1954).......cccccccsccsserssesesesseres 16
Mann v. United States, 304 F.2d 394, 396, 397

(D.C. Cit. 1962) .....cccrcrscescsseccnvecesennsecneseceness 11
Moore v. Arizona, 414 U.S. 25, 94 S.Ct. 188

(TDD) a sccsncinssnscvennseninsoseuessegavensieshesaceaveseass 10
Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 481, 92 S.Ct.

2593, 2600, 33 L.Ed.2d 484 (1972) ...............eeeee 14
Nickens v. United States, 323 F.2d 807 (D.C. Cir.

TOES) wi svcvsscnvaniicsnchcskcacivesisisevcesessonentveveveeses 12
People v. Prosser, 309 N.Y. 353, 130 N.E.2d 891

(Q9SS) vcvevasenescncsnescchinanspearen causes cheugesive dcacence 9
Pollard v. United States, 352 U.S. 354, 361-62

ODDS aca vsvinsccvcnasesanscevavsancascuntensvansavcvnceesse> 11
Regina v. Robbins, 1 Cox C.C. 114..........cceeeeeeseseeeees 10

IN RE Ruffolo, 390 US 544, 88 S.Ct. 1222, reh
denied 391 US 961, 88 S.Ct. 1833 (1968)... 12, 13, 16

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases Cited:
EX PARTE Secombe, 60 U.S. (19 How.) 9, 13

PRUNE insure du icnscbon tates ickinbilelinkinducisaebessentaves 15
Strunk v. United States, 412 U.S. 434, 93 S.Ct.

EA SF Seti k Gescensincciccdacbeiisbivinnenaninaheiwe 10
Taylor v. United States, 238 F.2d 259 (D.C. Cir.

po SUCRE Tomy TUT Syn POL ENTE Lely nay eet 11-12
United States v. Provoo, 350 U.S. 857 (1955)........... 11-12
United States v. Lustman, 258 F.2d 476.............ccceeeeee: 12
Willner v. Committee on Character and Fitness, 373

U.S. 96, 102 S.Ct. 175, 1179-1180, 19

ETB Oe ZC IDGSD ccissk nt icedsdicecsdyea ca vous 14-15, 16
Wisconsin v. Constartinuau, 400 U.S. 433, 437, 91

SOX. S07, 510, 27 Lie SES CAITA). eciivesecccins 16
Statutes Cited:
N.Y. Public Health Law §230(10)(d).................4 x, 6, 18
N.Y. Public Health Law §230(10)(f) .......e+eeseseeee- x, 3,17
N.Y. Education Law §6510(d)..................00.. x, 4, 6, 18
United States Constitution, Sixth Amendment................ 12
United States Constitution, Fourteenth

pt. IDES RR Eee ac CIE Ne RE ix, x, 2, 4, 18

viii

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT
FOR THIS COURT

Jurisdiction for this Court is predicated upon issues
affecting the due process and equal protection clauses of the
Fourteenth Amendment of the United States Constitution.

A petition for rehearing was made to the Appellate
Division of the Supreme Court, the State of New York, Third
Department and was denied on May 28, 1998.

ix

tN

Les)

CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY AUTHORITIES

. United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment, due

process and equal protection clauses thereof.

Section 230(10)(d) of the Public Health Law of the State
of New York.

Section 230(10)(f) of the Public Health Law of the State of
New York.

. Section 6510(d) of the State Education Law of the State of
New York.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the Supreme Court of the State of New
York, Appellate Division, Third Judicial Department, the
decisions of Mr. Justice Francis Pecora of the Supreme Court
of the State of New York, County of New York, the decision
of the Board of Regents of the State of New York and the
memorandum decisions of the New York Supreme Court,
Appellate Division, Third Judicial Department, denying leave
to appeal to the Court of Appeals and denying a rehearing are
also included in the appendix of this petition.

xi

No.

In the United States Supreme Court

OcToBeER TERM, 1997

| NATHANIEL SHAFER, M_.D.,
| Petitioner,
-V.-

THE BOARD OF REGENTS
OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF
NEW YORK—APPELLATE DIVISION,
THIRD JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioner, Nathaniel Shafer, M.D., has petitioned this
Court to review the determination of the Supreme Court of the
State of New York, Appellate Division, Third Judicial
Department, which Court had affirmed the determination of
the Board of Regents of the State of New York, which had
sustained, in turn, the determination of the Office of
Professional Medical Conduct (OPMC) only in part, to the
extent that the Petitioner was not suspended from practice,

was not put on probation but was fined $10,000 for an alleged
dereliction in his record keeping.

The care and treatment of patients was not involved, since
there was no allegation that any patient suffered from lack of
proper care or treatment.

The Board of Regents in essence found that the Petitioner
had failed to “maintain records that accurately reflect the
evaluation and treatment of Patients “A” and “B” in that the
progress notes of these patients are almost identical and do not
accurately reflect the condition of those patients on January
21, 22, 23, and 24, 1983; and the Respondent [Petitioner] is
not guilty of the remaining specifications and charges.”

The reason we are petitioning this Court is because we
maintain that the Petitioner’s rights under the Fourteenth
Amendment of the United States Constitution concerning due
process of law and equal protection of laws was violated by
the determination of the Respondent and the Appellate
Division of the Supreme Court of the State of New York,
third Judicial Department.

We base that upon the fact that the charges against the
Petitioner, at the time of the filing of the Article 78 Proceeding
in the Appellate Division, Third Judicial Department were
about fourteen years old and that for over four and a quarter
years following the alleged misconduct on the part of the
Petitioner herein, he was kept in the dark and was completely
unaware that any investigation of his conduct was being
conducted. He was totally ignorant of those charges until the
charges were finally served upon him after over four and a
quarter years following their alleged commission.

It is extremely significant that no suggestion was ever
made that any patient had ever received improper care and
attention!

The Petitioner has been a well respected medical doctor
practicing in the State of New York for over four decades. His
credentials are impeccable. No complaint against him was ever
filed before or after the instant one.

In addition to the unusual and we believe unconstitutional
delay in bringing the charges against him, the Petitioner was
also denied equal protection of the laws because of the fact that
pursuant to §230(10)(f) of the Public Health Law of the State
of New York, Shafer was denied a panel hearing before the
OPMC, which should have consisted of three members but in
essence turned out to be only one member.

The reason we say that, is that the original three member
panel, was disbanded when two of its members, for whatever
reason, left and no longer served as part of the hearing panel.
Before they left however, the only substantive witness against
Dr. Shafer, Nurse Graham, had testified and the panel at that
time had gone into executive session where no minutes were
taken.

Subsequent to that two new panels were added to make the
panel of three, but they could only read the minutes that were
available.

The statute however, namely §230(10)(f) of the Public
Health Law specifically declares that only one member of a
panel, hearing a disciplinary proceeding against a doctor can
be substituted. In this case two members of the hearing panel
were substituted over the objections of the Petitioner. _

Furthermore, the Petitioner maintains that his rights were
further violated in contradiction of the Fourteenth Amendment
of the United States Constitution because §6510 of the State
Education Law of the State of New York was violated when
amended charges against him were served upon him during
the progress of the hearing, without giving him the statutorily
mandated fifteen days notice. To this the Petitioner also
objected.

The record shows Petitioner was allowed only about five
minutes to review the amended charges and presumably the
panel of the OPMC conducting the hearing had about the same
time to review them.

Furthermore, to exacerbate the situation, the administrative
law judge who presided at the hearing before the OPMC
refused to enforce subpoenae signed by him and served upon
the OPMC which refused to produce certain important
records. The administrative law judge refused to in anyway
enforce those subpoenae. Yet the administrative law judge
insisted that the Petitioner proceed with the hearing.

In this context, a hearing and hearings were conducted on
May 14, June 4, and August 10, 1987.

From that point, this matter was brought before Justice
Pecora of ihe Supreme Court, New York County, as a result
of Court-ordered stays involving an Article 78 petition on
August 17, 1987, the first of several motions addressed to the
Petitioner’s desire to obtain various records including the
Petitioner’s personnel file pursuant to the Administrative
Judge’s subpoenae. His decision and opinion as a matter of
fact, impelled Justice Pecora to characterize what followed “as
games of ‘cat and mouse’ where in the records ordered to be
supplied were in effect, were only partially supplied.” On
February 21, 1990, Supreme Court of the State of New York

ordered and directed, that its orders were to be complied with
immediately.

Again the OPMC was instructed and directed to turn over
to Petitioner’s attorney and documents, minutes, and/or
memoranda which would aid the Petitioner in his defense.

Instead of complying, John J. O’ Grady from the Attorney
General’s office sent a letter to Justice Pecora declaring:

Since the Health Department has rested its
direct case on August 10, 1987, Dr. Doe
[Shafer] has complete discovery of all the
evidence and all the testimony against him. He
needs no Bill of Particulars. He has the Health
Department’s entire case. Your [Justice Pecora]
direction for a Bill of Particulars is
unnecessary...there is nothing further for the
Health Department to do to comply with your
order.

The foregoing therefore indicates that the Office of
Professional Medical Conduct and the Attorney General of the
State of New York, speaking on its behalf, assured Justice
Pecora that the case against Dr. Shafer had been concluded.

The audacity of Mr. O’ Grady’s statement can be
characterized only as contemptuous since the statements are
untrue and in result declined to follow and obey the orders of
Justice Pecora requiring them to provide a Bill of Particulars.

As a matter of fact it was the OPMC which invited Justice
Pecora to review the minutes it supplied to him of the hearing
on the grounds that the case had been completed so far as they
were concerned and based upon that completed case, Justice

Pecora issued his scathing decision and opinion dismissing the
charges in toto against Dr. Shafer.

We also ask this Court to note that the Adminis irative Law
Judge presiding at the hearing before the panel which was
trying Dr. Shafer, in many cases totally ignored the OPMC’s
disobedience of orders of the Administrative Judge and in
many cases the OPMC refused to obey his subpoenae. We
maintain this was a denial of due process of law.

Added to this was the fact that the charges were amended
two days before the commencement of the hearing which
rendered it jurisdictionally improper and was both
unconstitutional and a mockery of justice. Twenty days notice
of charges is mandatory before any hearing can be commenced
and this therefore denied Petitioner his rights to a fair hearing.
(See, §230(10)(d) of the Public Health Law, and §6510(d) of
the State Education Law).

To exacerbate the denial of due process and a fair hearing,
we ask this Court to note the Administrative Judge presiding at
the hearing of Dr. Shafer refused to even impose any
sanctions on the OPMC for ignoring or disobeying the
subpoenae, and his orders.

For the convenience and assistance of this Court, we have
annexed an appendix which includes the decision and opinion
of Honorable Francis Pecora, Justice of the Supreme Court,
New York County, who had dismissed the complaint and
proceedings against Dr. Shafer, but because of jurisdictional
questions the Appellate Division, First Department remanded
the matter on the grounds the hearing was incomplete. The
opinion however, of Justice Pecora we believe is of
substantial significance and may be of help to this tribunal.

We might also point out from the stand point of denial of a
fair hearing and of due process of law on the part of the
OPMC that during the hearings and before any determination
had been made as a result of those hearings, the OPMC
disseminated scurrilous and inaccurate information to the
media indicating that Dr. Shafer had been guilty of
professional misconduct whereas in truth no determination had
been made because the hearings were still in esse. As part of
the addendum in the lower court we annexed a headline that
appeared in the New York Daily News that was extremely
hurtful to Dr. Shafer’s practice and constituted further denial
of due process of law under the circumstances. We of course
are also annexing a copy of the Appellate Division First
Department determination that it could not exercise jurisdiction
because the hearing had not concluded. The foregoing
exhibits, namely the decision of the Appellate Division First
Department and the outrageous publicity disseminated by the
Office of Professional Medical Conduct are all taken form the
record on appeal that was submitted by the OPMC and the
Attorney General to the Appellate Division First Department.

POINT I

THE SOLE SUBSTANTIVE WITNESS AGAINST
THE PETITIONER AT HIS DISCIPLINARY
HEARING WAS NURSE CATHERINE GRAHAM.
THERE WERE APPARENTLY SOME DISPUTES
BETWEEN DR. SHAFER AND NURSE GRAHAM.
PATIENT CARE AND TREATMENT WERE NOT
INVOLVED. ONLY ONE MEMBER OF THE
DISCIPLINARY PANEL THAT FINALLY
RENDERED A DECISION IN THIS CASE
ACTUALLY HEARD NURSE GRAHAM. THE
TWO OTHER SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS NEVER
SAW OR HEARD HER AND INDEED COULD NOT
EVEN REVIEW EVERYTHING THAT OCCURRED
DURING THAT PERIOD OF TIME BECAUSE OF
THE FACT THAT THE THEN EXISTING PANEL
WENT INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION WHERE NO
MINUTES WERE TAKEN. SOME OF THE
MINUTES WHERE NURSE GRAHAM TESTIFIED
WERE AVAILABLE FOR REVIEW BUT OF
COURSE INFLECTIONS, THE COUNTENANCE
OF THE WITNESS AND SO FORTH COULD NOT
BE REVIEWED. THE MATTER WAS THEN
REFERRED ON A PETITION TO SUPREME
COURT JUSTICE, NEW YORK COUNTY,
FRANCIS PECORA WHO WAS TOTALLY
SHOCKED AND NONPLUSED BY WHAT HAD
OCCURRED. ALL THE MINUTES THAT
EXISTED AT THAT TIME WERE TURNED OVER
TO JUSTICE PECORA BECAUSE OF THE FACT
THAT THE OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL
MEDICAL CONDUCT (OPMC) STATED THAT
THEIR CASE WAS OVER AND HAD BEEN
FULLY PRESENTED.

Justice Pecora after carefully reviewing the entire record
that existed at that time, and noting the over four and one
quarter years that had elapsed between the alleged commission
of the violation and the notification of the Petitioner that a
complaint had been lodged was otherwise so shocked by the
inadequacy and unfairness of the proceedings that he
dismissed the complaint inter alia:

The purported case against Petitioner is based
on innuendo, improper opinion evidence,
improper expert opinion based upon
supposition, and not on the facts and evidence,
improper curtailment of cross examination,
improper admission and/or exclusion of
evidence or rulings which were
incomprehensible to this Court. In short there
was no actual proof of any wrongdoing by the
Petitioner.

The Court of Appeals in the case of People v. Prosser,
309 N.Y. 353, 130 N.E.2d 891 (1955), made it abundantly
clear that inordinate delay [laches] depriving a Defendant of
his statutory right to speedy justice depends upon
circumstances of each particular case. The Court of Appeals
added, however, the burden is on the state and not on the
Defendant, to see that he is brought to trial and his mere failure
to take action cannot be treated as a waiver of a statutory right
to speedy justice.

We would point out that the Petitioner is not the one who
caused the delay here. His frustration in not getting the items
which were ordered and subpoenaed did not contribute to
delay because of the fact it constituted a contempt of Court
committed by the OPMC in refusing to obey these subpoenae
and these orders.

Furthermore, keeping the Petitioner in the dark completely
for 4 1/4 years after the incidents despite the fact that the
investigation commenced in 1983, was unconscionable and
unconstitutional particularly since Dr. Shafer was not notified
until 1987 of the existence of the complaints.

The time for action on the part of the OPMC began when
the incidents occurred, not four years later. (See Dillingham v.
United States, 423 U.S. 64, 96 S.Ct. 303 (1975).

Furthermore, where there has been a denial of speedy
justice, the Supreme Court of the United States has held that
dismissal is the onl, remedy under those circumstances
(Strunk v. United States, 412 U.S. 434, 93 S.Ct. 2260
(1973).

While prejudice has c early been shown in this case, we
should point out that prejudice to the Petitioner is only one
factor and is not necessarily the only factor (Moore vy.
Arizona, 414 U.S. 25, 94 S.Ct. 188 (1973). See also,
Doggett v. United States, 505 U.S. 647, 112 S.Ct. 2686
(1992).

In Klopfer v. North Carolina, 386 U.S. 213, 87 S.Ct.
988 (1967), the speedy trial requirement of the United States
Constitution is binding upon the state.

In 1844, an English Judge dealing with a problem similar
to that presented herein but involving less delay, opined very
aptly (Regina v. Robbins, 1 Cox C.C. 114):

I ought not to allow the case to go further. It is
monstrous to put a man on trial after such a
lapse of time. How can he account for his
conduct so far back?...If the charge be not
preferred for a year or more, how can he clear

10

|
|
|

ee ee

himself? No man’s life would be safe if such a
prosecution were permitted. It would be very
unjust to put him on his trial.

See 5 Stan. L.Rev 95, 104, (1952) “Justice overdue-
speedy trial for the pre-trial Defendant.”

In Mann v. United States, 304 F.2d 394, 396, 397 (D.C.
Cir. 1962), the Court of Appeals similarly noted:

Indeed, a suspect may be at a special
disadvantage when complaint or indictment or
arrest, is purposefully delayed. With no
knowledge that the criminal charges are to be
brought against them. An innocent man has no
reason to fix in his memory the happenings on
the day of the alleged crime.

Moreover, there is no way a suspect can compel or insist
that the government commence a prosecution; nor can a
Defendant determine when or if the government may decide to
prosecute. The “Sword of Damocles” may hang for the whole
period of limitations!

In Pollard v. United States, 352 U.S. 354, 361-62
(1957), the Supreme Court not only equated “purposeful”
delays with the “oppressive” ones forbidden by the Sixth
Amendment, but also interpreted United States v. Provoo, 350
U.S. 857 (1955), as condemning delay “caused by the
deliberate act of the-Governnient.”

It is apparent from Pollard v. United States, supra, 352
U.S. at 361, that the Supreme Court indicates that even an
indictment within the limitation period may come too late to
Square with the Sixth Amendment. [See Mann v. United
States, supra, 304 F.2d at 396-397, n. 4; Taylor v. United

: 11

States, 238 F.2d 259 (D.C. Cir. 1956); Nickens v. United
States, 323 F.2d 807 (D.C. Cir. 1963); United States v.
Provoo, supta.] See 18 U.S.C. §3282. This is a quasi-
criminal case. (See Jn Re Ruffalo, supra, 390 U.S. 544).

This Court has plenary power to review the actions below.

In United States v. Lustman, 258 F.2d 476, that Court
considered the affect of a very prolonged delay from the point
of view whether “prejudice” need be shown. At 258 F.2d
477, 478, that Court declared:

...A showing of prejudice is not required when
a criminal defendant is asserting a
constitutional night.

[Citing cases]. Continuing that Court
explained:

Thus we assume that the un-excused delay of
approximately four years was an undue delay
within the meaning of the Sixth Amendment
even though Appellant has not shown that it
prejudiced him in the prosecution of this
defense.

Of course, herein there was great prejudice.

12

a ee npg ot 1

POINT II

A DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDING SUCH AS THE
ONE AT BAR IS A “QUASI-CRIMINAL PROCED-
URE” AND IT IS THEREFORE COMPARABLE TO
A CRIMINAL RATHER THAN CIVIL PROCEED-
ING. THE HEARING BEFORE THE ADMINI-
STRATIVE JUDGE WHO REFUSED TO ENFORCE
THE SUBPOENAE THAT HE HAD <«SO-
ORDERED” AND THE FAILURE TO GRANT THE
STATUTORY 15 OR 20 DAY NOTICE OF HEAR-
ING, COUPLED WITH THE FAILURE TO SUP-
PLY NEEDED MATERIAL FOR THE DEFENSE
VIOLATED STATE AS WELL AS FEDERALLY
PROTECTED RIGHTS. THIS, COUPLED WITH
THE 4 1/4 YEARS UN-EXCUSED DELAY ON
BRINGING CHARGES, VIOLATED DR. SHA-
FER’S DUE PROCESS RIGHTS. JUSTICE
PECORA’S DETERMINATION TO DISMISS THE
CASE ALTOGETHER, WE SUBMIT, WAS
SOUND.

A disciplinary proceeding, whether it involves lawyers or
doctors, is similar and the laws pertaining thereto are similar.
The rights which devolve upon a person who becomes a
subject of a disciplinary proceeding must be scrupulously
protected.

A determination of suspension or disbarment form
practice, capable of destroying a physician’s reputation and
livelihood is a devastating sanction. For this reason the
Supreme Court of the United States has characterized this type
of proceeding as being “of a quasi-criminal nature”. (See, Jn
re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544, 551, 88 S.Ct. 1222, 1226, reh.
denied 391 U.S. 961, 88 S.Ct. 1833 (1968).

13

[I]n our Country a court’s disciplinary
proceeding against a member of its bar
[physician] is comparable to criminal rather
than a civil proceeding...[I}t cannot be disputed
that for most attorneys the license to practice
law represents their livelihood, loss of which
may be a greater punishment than a monetary
fine. See Bradley v. Fisher, 80 U.S. [13
Wall.] 335, 355, 20 L.Ed. 646 (1872);
Spevack v. Klein, 385 U.S. 511, 516, 87
S.Ct. 625, 17 L.Bd.2d 374 (1967).
Furthermore, disciplinary measures against an
attorney, while posing a threat of incarceration
only in cases of contempt, may threaten
another serious punishment—loss of
professional reputation. The stigma of such a
loss can harm the lawyer in his community and
in his client relations as well as adversely affect
his ability to carry out his professional
functions... (Emphasis is supplied.)

When an individual is faced with a criminal prosecution,
strict adherence to the full panoply of due process protection is
guaranteed. U.S. Const. Amends VI, XIV. In other
situations, the importance of the right as well as the need of
the state for summary procedures to carry out particular public
policies have been balanced in determining which procedural
protection must apply. See, e.g., Gross v. Lopez, 419 U.S.
565, 95 S.Ct. 729, 42 L.Ed.2d 725 (1975) (suspension of
students); Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 481, 92 S.Ct.
2593, 2600, 33 L.Ed.2d 484 (1972) (revocation of parole);
Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535, 91 S.Ct. 1586, 29 L.Ed.2d 90
(1971) (suspension of driver’s license); Goldberg v. Kelly,
397 U.S. 254, 90 S.Ct. 1011, 25 L.Ed.2d 287 (1970)
(termination of relief payment); Willner v. Committee on
Character and Fitness, 373 U.S. 96, 102 S.Ct. 175, 1179-

14

a ania
‘ i

1180, 19 L.Ed.2d 224 (1963) (exclusion from bar); Joint
Anti-Fascist Comm. V. McGrath, 341 U.S. 123, 71 S.Ct. 95
L.Ed. 817 (1951) (listing of “subversive organization”).

In Johnson v. Avery, 393 U.S. 483, 490 n.11, 89 S.Ct.
747, 751 n. 11 (1969) the Supreme Court of the United States
cautioned:

The power of the States to control the practice
of law [medicine] cannot be exercised so as to
abrogate federally protected rights.

See also, Ex Parte Secombe, 60 U.S. (19 How.) 9, 13
(1856); In Re Fisher, 179 F.2d 361, 369 (7th Cir. 1950) cert.
denied, sub. nom Kerner v. Fisher, 340 U.S. 825, 71 S.Ct.
59 (1950).

Justice Pecora found that the Petitioner was denied even
the fundamental right to have his subpoenae enforced, and
because of the delay involved, could not even find the
patients, secretary or other witnesses, with few exceptions,
that he had a right to confront and/or cross examine. Thus for
all intents and purposes, the Petitioner really had only an
illusionary opportunity to be heard. He did not know most of
the evidence upon which the complaint was based; he could
not examine the patients who were allegedly involved; he
could not find his secretary who he then employed four and
one half years earlier and a fair amount of “evidence” had been
lost or destroyed by the OPMC. On top of that, the OPMC
refused to turn over subpoenaed material despite the
Administrative Judge’s “so-ordered” endorsements. They only
gave him two days’ notice of amended charges and directed
that he proceed with only five minutes of preparation, and in
essence the hearing was a mockery of justice.

15

“The fundamental requisite of due process is the
opportunity to be heard.” Grannis v. Ordean, 234 U.S. 385,
34 S.Ct. 779, 783, 58 L.Ed. 1363 (1914). Particularly when
a person’s good name, integrity, reputation or honor is at
stake because of government action, a full and fair hearing
should include, at the very least, notice of the charges or
complaint, disclosure of the evidence supporting the charges,
and an opportunity to be heard and to confront and cross
examine witnesses. See, e.g. Board of Regents v. Roth, 408
U.S. 564, 573, 92 S.Ct. 2701, 2707, 33 L.Ed.2d 548
(1972); Wisconsin v. Constantinuau, 400 U.S. 433, 437, 91
S.Ct. 507, 510, 27 L.Ed.2d 515 (1971); Willner v. Comm.
on Character & Fitness, 373 U.S. 96, 103, 83 S.Ct. 1175,
1180, 10 L.Ed.2d 224 (1963); Greene v. McElroy, 360 U.S.
474, 492, 496- 97, 79 S.Ct. 1400, 1411, 1413, 3 L.Ed.2d
1377 (1959).

It follows that in any disciplinary proceeding, due process
requires a reasonable opportunity to present a defense to the
trier. See, e.g. In Re Ruffolo, 390 U.S. 544, 88 S.Ct. 1222,
20 L.Ed.2d 117, reh. denied, 391 U.S. 961, 88 S.Ct. 1833,
20 L.Ed.2d 874 (1967); Kivitz v. SEC, 475 F.2d 956 (D.C.
Cir. 1973); In Re Los Angeles County Pioneer Society, 217
F.2d 190 (9th Cir. 1954). The hearing “must be granted....in
a meaningful manner.” Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545,
85 S.Ct. 1187, 1191, 14 L.Ed.2 62 (1965).

In the foregoing it is therefore obvious that the full
panoply of constitutional rights that appertain to «ven criminal
proceedings had to be provided to the Petitioner herein by the
administrative judge but were not.”

See Appendix C to this Petition, Justice Pecora’s opinion
dismissing the charges against Petitioner.

16

POINT III

WE HAVE ALREADY ADVERTED CONCISELY IN
THE FOREGOING PASSAGES OF THIS BRIEF
THAT JURISDICTIONALLY THE PROCEEDINGS
AGAINST DR. SHAFER ARE SERIOUSLY
FLAWED IN BLATANT VIOLATION OF THE
RULES AND STATUTES PERTAINING TO
HEARINGS BEFORE THE OFFICE OF PROFES-
SIONAL MEDICAL CONDUCT BY VIRTUE OF
THE FACT THAT TWO OF ONLY THREE :
MEMBERS OF THE HEARING PANEL WERE
REPLACED DURING THE PROCEEDINGS, OVER
OBJECTION OF THE PETITIONER, IN VIOLA-
TION OF SECTION 230(10)(f) OF THE PUBLIC
HEALTH LAW. FURTHERMORE, THE JURiS-
DICTIONAL ASPECTS OF THIS CASE WERE
ALSO VIOLATED BY VIRTUE OF THE FACT
THAT IN VIOLATION SECTION 6510(d) OF THE
STATE EDUCATION LAW AND SECTION
230(10)(d) OF THE PUBLIC HEALTH LAW LESS
THAN 15 DAYS NOTICE WAS GIVEN TO THE
PETITIONER WHEN AMENDED CHARGES
WERE SERVED UPON HIM DURING THE
PROGRESS OF THE HEARING. THIS WAS ALSO
OVER OBJECTION OF THE PETITIONER.
ACCORDINGLY WE MAINTAIN THAT EVEN
JURISDICTIONALLY, THE PROCEEDINGS
WERE IN VIOLATION OF STATUTES, RULES
AND WHAT WE PERCEIVED AS DUE PROCESS
OF LAW.

Ee eee

We have already set forth the fact that pursuant to statute,
namely Section 230(10)(f) of the Public Health Law, during
the progress of this kind of disciplinary hearing of a
physician, only one member of a panel can be replaced over

17

the objection of the Petitioner in the event of death or other
incapacity. The panel consisted of only three (3) members.

In the case at bar, however, over objection of the
Petitioner, two members of the panel were replaced and
consequently we maintain that this deprived the hearing panel
of jurisdiction.

This was most important because of the fact that the only
substantive witness for the OPMC was Nurse Catherine
Graham, who testified early in these proceedings, albeit
several years after the incidents about which she testified
having occurred.

Since two members of the hearing panel that finally
decided this case had been replaced over objection of the
Petitioner, we maintain that this was a clear violation of the
Public Health Law, which we just cited, and violated equal
protection under the Fourteenth Amendment.

In addition to the foregoing, the Petitioner was served with
amended charges during the progress of the hearing, a fact to
which we have already adverted early in this brief with less
than statutorily required 15 days of notification. This violated
§230(10)(d) of the Public Health Law, and §6510(d) of the
State Education Law, which requires at least 15 days before
any notice charges can be preferred against a physician. Thus
we maintain that the OPMC never obtained proper jurisdiction
over this case. This also violated the Fourteenth Amendment.

18

CONCLUSION

The petition should be granted and the charges against the
Petitioner should be dismissed.

Dated: New York, New York
August 20, 1998

Respectfully submitted,
IRVING ANOLIK

Attorney for Petitioner

225 Broadway—Suite 1902
New York, New York 10007
(212) 732-3050

Counsel of Record and

A Member of The Bar
Of This Court |

19

APPENDIX A
Statement of Charges Dated March 27, 1987

STATE OF NEW YORK : DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
STATE BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL

MEDICAL CONDUCT
IN THE MATTER STATEMENT
OF OF
NATHANIEL SHAFER, M.D. CHARGES

The State Board for Professional Medical Conduct alleges
as follows:

1. NATHANIEL SHAFER, M.D., hereinafter referred to
as the Respondent, was authorized to engage in the practice of
medicine in the State of New York on August 31, 1955 by the
issuance of license number 076953 by the State Education
Department.

2. Respondent is currently registered with the New York
State Education Department to practice medicine for the period
January 1, 1986 through December 31, 1988 at 10 East 58th
Street, New York, New York 10028.

| 3. Respondent is charged with professional misconduct
| within the purview of N.Y. Educ. Law §6509 (McKinney
1985) as set forth in the specifications.

FIRST SPECIFICATION

4. Respondent is charged with professional misconduct
by permitting, aiding or abetting an unlicensed person to

eee

Al

EE

ews

perform activities requiring a license within the meaning of
N.Y. Educ. Law §6509(7) (McKinney 1985), in that:

(i) Respondent, with his full knowledge and consent,
permitted and allowed an unlicensed person to assess
Patient A (patients denominated alphabetically are
identified in Appendix A) and to write progress notes
on the patient’s hospital chart, for the following dates:
January 20, 21, 22, 23, and 24, 1983, while Patient A
was hospitalized at St. Clare’s Hospital and Health
Center, New York, New York.

(ii) Respondent, with his full knowledge and consent
allowed an unlicensed person to assess Patient B and
to write progress notes on the patients’s [sic] hospital
chart, for the following dates: January 20, 21, 22, 23,
and 24, 1983, while Patient B was hospitalized at St.
Clare’s Hospital and Health Center, New York, New
York.

(iii) Respondent, with his full knowledge and consent
allowed an unlicensed person to assess Patient C and
to write progress notes on the patient’s hospital chart,
for the following dates: January 23 through January
26, 1983, while Patient C was hospitalized at St.
Clare’s Hospital and Health Center, New York, New
York.

SECOND SPECIFICATION

5. Respondent is charged with professional misconduct

within the meaning of N.Y. Educ. Law §6509(9) (McKinney
1985) in that he committed unprofessional conduct within the
meaning of 8 N.Y.C.R.R. 29.1(b)(10) in that Respondent
delegated professional responsibilities to a person when the
Respondent knew or had reason to know that such person was

A2

not qualified by training, by experience or by licensure, to
perform them, specifically:

Petitioner repeats each allegation of the First
Specification as set forth in paragraph 4(i), (ii), and
(iii) of this Statement of Charges.

THIRD SPECIFICATION

6. Respondent is charged with professional misconduct
within the meaning of N.Y. Educ. Law §$6509(2) (McKinney
1985) in that he practiced the profession fraudulently,
specifically:

(i) Respondent mage and/or caused to be made entries
in the hospital records of St. Clare’s Hospital and
Health Center which falsely represented the dates of
the visits and/or the patient’s condition and/or the
examination performed and/or by whom the
examinations were performed for patient A through F.

FOURTH SPECIFICATION

7. Respondent is charged with professional misconduct
within the meaning of N.Y. Educ. Law §6509(9) (McKinney
1985) in that he committed unprofessional conduct within the
meaning of 8 N.Y.C.R.R. 29.2(a)(3) in that he failed to
maintain records which accurately reflect the evaluation and
treatment of patients A through F.

DATED: Albany, New York
March 27, 1987
KATHLEEN M. TANNER
Director
Office of Professional
Medical Conduct

A3

APPENDIX B

Amended Statement of Charges
Dated May 12, 1987

STATE OF NEW YORK : DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
STATE BOARD FOR PROFESSIONAL

MEDICAL CONDUCT
AMENDED
IN THE MATTER STATEMENT
OF OF
NATHANIEL SHAFER, M.D. CHARGES

The State Board for Professional Medical Conduct alleges
as follows:

1. The State Board for Professional Medical Conduct
repeats and realleges each allegation contained within the
Statement of Charges dated March 27, 1987 and served on
Respondent Nathaniel Shafer, M.D. on April 22, 1987.

2. The State Board for Professional Medical Conduct
amends the Third Specification of the Statement of Charges,
paragraph six, to include the following:

(ii) Respondent submitted a bill for services
purportedly rendered to Patient A, to the medical
benefits carrier for said patient which bill falsely
represented that Respondent had conducted ten
follow-up hospital visits for Patient A at St.
Clare’s Hospital and Health Center between
January 21, 1983 and January 30, 1983.

DATED: Albany, New York
May 12, 1987

A4

ta ies i AONB RA ARPS ea Ae el A a lie oe fe Sao Ma!

OF GRC aa Sd tech? Mh stan SG i Sah PCA

/s/

KATHLEEN M. TANNER
Director

Office of Professional
Medical Conduct

APPENDIX C
Memorandum Decision of the Supreme Court of the
State of New York, County of New York, (Jusiice
Francis N. Pecora) Dated January 29, 1992

SUPREME COURT, NEW YORK COUNTY

LAS PART 52
JOHN DOE, M.D.,
Petitioner, Index No.
-against- 19953/87

ST. CLARE’S HOSPITAL AND HEALTH

CENTER and THE OFFICE OF

PROFESSIONAL MEDICAL CONDUCT,
Respondents.

FRANCIS N. PECORA, J.:

The petitioner, a physician, moves for dismissal of the
complaint brought by the Office of Professional Medical
Conduct (hereinafter “OPMC”) and/or to prohibit further
prosecution of the complaint on several grounds, some of
which will hereinafter be addressed.

The relevant facts are as follows: the petitioner, a Board
Certified Internist, is a physician licensed to practice in the
State of New York since 1955. He became associated with St.
Clare’s Hospital in New York City in 1982.

In the month of January, 1983, several alleged problems

presented themselves regarding the manner in which entries
were being made in the records of several patients at St.

A6

UOT ped gS ph

tiara

Wiesenthal ace ahit ae ibs cll MOA RAT se

ht aia cot

i
4
|
4
a
rd
3

Clare’s H[o]spital, apparently in violation of hospital
regulations. An internal investigation was commenced by
various persons and committees within the hospital, without
notice to the petitioner until some time after all the patients
whose records were involved, had been released from the
hospital.

In May, 1983, petitioner resigned his privileges at the
hospital.

On April 22, 1987, a period of four (4) years and three (3)
months from the time of the alleged acts of misconduct,
petitioner was served with a Notice of Hearing to be
conducted by the aforesaid OPMC on May 14, 1987. Attached
to the notice was a Statement of Charges containing four (4)
specifications. It is alleged that during this period in excess of
four (4) years, petitioner, unaware that a complaint had been
lodged against him by the hospital, did nothing to try to
protect himself against possible charges, such as securing
swom statements from the patients involved or from the
secretary who allegedly was permitted to “assess” patients and
who was and is now no longer in the petitioner’s employ and
cannot be located.

On May 12, 1987, two (2) days before the hearing, the
petitioner’s attorney was served with amended charges. The
Board accepted the amended charges and proceeded upon
these charges despite an obviously jurisdictional defect.
Objection to these amended charges was made by defense
counsel at the hearing, but same were accepted over his
obiection. A reading of the transcript indicates that the Board
took a five (5) minute recess to read these amended charges.
Presumably, the petitioner was afforded these very same five
(5) minutes to prepare his defenses to these additional charges.

On May 13, 1987, petitioner’s attorney, in an effort to
provide a defense as well as to engage in reasonable cross-
examination of witnesses produced by OPMC, served a
subpoena signed by the Administrative Judge providing for

A7

the production of various records. This subpoena apparently
was not honored and counsel for petitioner, despite a protest
to the Administrative Judge, was obliged to conduct his cross-
examination of the witnesses without benefit of the documents
deemed by him to be essential to conduct a meaningful cross-
examination.

A subsequent subpoena was signed on July 13, 1987
which also was not honored. In the interim, to the total
detriment and prejudice of the petitioner, the Administrative
Judge compelled the petitioner to proceed with the hearings,
which weze conducted on May 14, 1987, June 4, 1987, and
August 10, 1987.

From that point, this matter has been before this court as a
result of court-ordered stays commencing with a motion on
August 17, 1987, the first of several motions addressed to the
petitioner’s desire to obtain various records, including the
petitioner’s personnel file, pursuant to the Administrative
Judge’s subpoena. What followed was a series of what can
only be characterized as games of “cat and mouse” wherein the
records ordered to be [supplied] were in effect, only partially
supplied.

At a hearing held on February 21, 1990, this court made
several directions which were to be complied with immediately
by respondent. A formal order was signed directing a turning
over to petitioner’s attorney any documents, minutes, and/or
memoranda, which would aid the petitioner in his defense.

Throughout this time, this court did not understand the
charges made against the petitioner, and the explanation given
by respondent’s attorney was something less than
enlightening. This court, accordingly, directed respondent to
serve upon the petitioner’s attorney what it called a “bill of
particulars” wherein respondent was to supply the petitioner
with the basis for the charges being made.

In lieu of a bill of particulars, the court received a letter
dated March 1, 1990 from the Attorney General’s office,

signed by one John J. O’Grady, which contains the following
language:

“Since the Health Department has rested its
direct case on August 10, 1987, Dr. Doe has had
complete discovery of-all the evidence and all the
testimony against him. He needs no Bill of
Particulars. He has the Health Department’s entire
case. Your direction for a bill of particulars is
unnecessary.

Since the Health Department’s direct case has
been concluded, all the documentary evidence
against the doctor is already a matter of record.
There is nothing further for the Health Department
to do to comply with your order.”

: A complete copy of the minutes of the Administrative
| Hearing were supplied by the Attorney General, and, with the
4 [aforesaid] letter’s implicit suggestion to so do, this court
: “searched the record” to ascertain whether the respondent’s
‘ position re the bill of particulars was correct.

A reading of these minutes presented this court with a
dilemma. This court is fully aware that the hearing was not
completed, and that the court should not, under normal
| circumstances, interject itself into the administrative process
: until the petitioner exhausted his administrative remedies. Yet,
by the language of the letter, this court was invited to read the
: minutes wherein the entire case against the petitioner was
completed. Thus this court finds that the evidence presented
by the prosecutor is insufficient, as a matter of law, to support
the charges.

é

} The purported case against petitioner is based on

innuendo, improper opinion evidence, improper expert
opinions based on supposition, and, not on facts in evidence,

A9

improper curtailment of cross-examination, improper
admission and/or exclusion of evidence and rulings which
were incomprehensible to this court. In short, there was no
actual proof of any wrongdoing by the petitioner.

When the State rested its case, a motion to dismiss was
made by petitioner’s counsel. The disposition of this motion
by the Administrative Officer was:

“At this point the motion to dismiss will not be
entertained pursuant to the general practice of the
Department that motions to dismiss at the end of the
Department’s case are not entertained.”

This court has an uneasy feeling about this disposition. If
such a rule does exist, it should be changed.

In any event, this court having been invited to “search the
record,” has done so, and now does what the Administrative
Officer should have done upon completion of the [state’s]
case, and that is, grant the motion.

Accordingly, petitioner’s motion to dismiss the complaint
brought by the Office of Professional Medical Conduct is
granted.

This constitutes the decision and judgment of this Court.
Dated: January 29, 1992

/s/

A10

BS hy ee ae ¥
ee art idle Se oe Be

PEE PP ELBE WAR 2 Ni hth EE Se en AD ee

APPENDIX D

Decision and Order of the Appellate Division,
First Department, Dated June 8, 1993,
with Notice of Entry

Sullivan, J.F., Carro, Ellerin, Rubin, JJ.
48662
John Doe, M.D.,
Petitioner-Respondent,

-against-

St. Clare’s Hospital and Health Center,
Respondent,

-and-

The Office of Professional Medical Conduct,
Respondent-Appellant.

Judgment, Supreme Court, New York County (Francis N.
Pecora, J.), entered February 20, 1992, which granted
petitioner’s CPLR article 78 petition and dismissed the
complaint in an administrative disciplinary proceeding brought
by the Office of Professional Medical Conduct, unanimously
reversed, on the law, without costs, the petition is dismissed,
and the matter is remanded to the administrative agency for
further proceedings.

In April 1987, charges of misconduct were served upon
the petitioner, a physician, by the Office of Professional
Medical Conduct (OPMC), a branch of the New York State
Department of Health. An administrative hearing on the
charges commenced on May 14, 1987. After presenting its
witnesses and exhibits, the OPMC prosecution rested its case
on August 10, 1987. On August 17, 1987, petitioner
commenced a CPLR article 78 proceeding in Supreme Court

All

seeking to compel compliance with certain subpoenas and
seeking a stay of further administrative proceedings pending
compliance. Litigation continued around this compliance
order, which was ultimately issued, until, in a decision dated
February 27, 1990, the IAS court found “A reading of the
specifications has convinced this court that the petitioner,
‘John Doe’ should be supplied with a bill of particulars of the
proof which will be used to prove the specifications in the
charge.” By letter dated March 1, 1990, OPMC reminded the
court that OPMC had rested its case in the administrative
proceeding against petitioner and that, accordingly, petitioner
had complete discovery of the case against him so that a bill of
particulars was unneeded. The court refused to modify its
order. On February 5, 1991, the petitioner served OPMC with
a demand for a bill of particulars, the response to which
incorporated the administrative record below.

On March 18, 1991, the petitioner moved to dismiss the
charges before the OPMC hearing board on the grounds of
“jurisdictional defects, laches and disregard for court orders.”
The IAS court, after reviewing the record of agency
proceedings to determine whether there was sufficient
compliance with its prior order to submit for a bill of
particulars, found the evidence presented to be insufficient as a
matter of law to support the charges against the petitioner and
dismissed those charges. OPMC here appeals that dismissal.

“It is hornbook law that one who objects to the act of an
administrative agency must exhaust available administrative
remedies before being permitted to litigate in a court of law.”
(Watergate II Apts. v Buffalo Sewer Auth., 46 NY2d 52, 57).
“The doctrine of exhaustion of administrative remedies
requires ‘litigants to address their complaints initially to
administrative tribunals, rather than to the courts, and * * * to
exhaust all possibilities of obtaining relief through
administrative channels before appealing to the courts’”.

Al2

(Young Men’s Christian Assn. v Rochester Pure Waters Dist.,
37 NY2d 371, 375 [citation omitted]; see also, Matter of
Cortlandt Nursing Home v Axelrod, 66 NY2d 169, 180, cert
denied 476 US 1115).

Thus, absent extraordinary circumstances, courts are
constrained not to interject themselves into ongoing
administrative proceedings until final resolution of those
proceedings before the agency. Here, the court erred in
dismissing the complaint against the petitioner prior to final
adjudication on an administrative level and, accordingly, the
judgment granting petitioner’s CPLR article 78 petition must
be reversed and the matter remanded to the Office of
Professional Medical Conduct for further proceedings.

THIS CONSTITUTES THE DECISION AND ORDER
OF THE SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE DIVISION,
FIRST DEPARTMENT

Entered: June 8, 1993

/s/
Clerk

Al3

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
APPELLATE DIVISION : FIRST DEPARTMENT

JOHN DOE, M.D.,

Petitioner-Respondent, 48662
-against-
ST. CLARE’S HOSPITAL NOTICE
and HEALTH CENTER, OF ENTRY
Respondent,
-and-

THE OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL MEDICAL
CONDUCT,
Respondent-Appellant.

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that the within is a true and
complete copy of a decision and order duly filed and entered in
the office of the Clerk of the Court, Supreme Court of the
State of New York, Appellate Division: First Department, on
June 8, 1993.

Dated: New York, New York
June 28, 1993

Yours, etc.,
ROBERT ABRAMS
Attorney General of the
State of New York
Attorney for Respondent-
Appellant
120 Broadway
New York, New York 10271
(212) 416-8579

Al4

APPENDIX E

Report of Regents Review Committee
Dated February 19, 1996

THE UNIVERSITY OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

IN THE MATTER

of the

Disciplinary Proceeding
against

NATHANIEL SHAFER

No. 15551
who is currently licensed to practice
as a physician in the State of New York.

REPORT OF THE REGENTS REVIEW COMMITTEE

NATHANIEL SHAFER, hereinafter referred to as
respondent, was licensed to practice as a physician in the State
of New York by the New York State Education Department.

The instant disciplinary proceeding was properly
commenced and on May 14, 1987, June 4, 1987, August 10,
1987, November 29, 1988, April 27, 1994, May 11, 1994,
May 12, 1994, June 2, 1994, and June 24, 1994, a hearing
was held before a hearing committee of the State Board for
Professional Medical Conduct. A copy of the statement of
charges and amended statement of charges are annexed heretw.
made a part hereof, and marked as Exhibit “A”.

The hearing Committee rendered a report of its findings,
conclusions, and recommendation, a copy of which is
annexed hereto, made a part hereof, and marked as Exhibit
ype

Al5

The hearing committee concluded that respondent was
guilty of subparagraph (i) of the third specification as to
Patient A, subparagraph (ii) of the third specification, and the
fourth specification as to Patients A and B, and was not guilty
of the remaining specifications and charges. The hearing
committee recommended that respondent be suspended for six
months, assessed a $20,000 penalty (calculated by fining
respondent $10,000 each for the third and fourth
specifications), and required to take a course in ethics.

The Commissioner of Health, by his designee,
recommended to the Board of Regents that the findings of fact
and conclusions of the hearing committee be accepted, the
recommendation of the hearing committee be modified, and
the respondent be censured and reprimanded, fined $20,000
as recommended by the hearing committee, and be required to
take a course on ethics related to medical practice. A copy of
the recommendation of the Commissioner of Health is
annexed hereto, made a part hereof, and marked as Exhibit
~~

On May 23, 1995, respondent appeared before us in
person and was represented by his attorneys, Orin E. Agri,
Esq. and Irving [Anolik], Esq., who presented oral argument
on behalf of respondent. Silvia Finkelstein, Esq., presented
oral argument on behalf of the Department of Health.

Petitioner’s recommendation as to the measure of
discipline to be imposed, should respondent be found guilty,
was that respondent’s license be suspended for six months
and respondent be fined $20,000 and required to take a course
in ethics.

Respondent’s recommendation as to the measure of
discipline to be iraposed, should respondent be found guilty,

Al6

(oo EEE EEE

was that any penalty should be limited to an admonition,
however, all charges should be dismissed.

We have considered the record transferred to us by the
Department of Health.

At oral argument before us, petitioner’s attorney asserted
that the hearing committee’s rationale for the penalty it
recommends is sound: and the rationale of the designee of the
Health Commissioner for the penalty he recommends is not
sound. Respondent’s attorney explained that if we do not
agree with his recommendation to dismiss all of the charges,
an “admonition” for respondent not to repeat his prior conduct
would be the maximum sanction warranted. Respondent’s
attorney contended that respondent was a “top notch citizen”
and “an honorable physician” with an unblemished record.

Respondent’s attorney indicated, at oral argument, that his
“primary argument” is that the substitution of two members of
the hearing committee was improper as a matter of law. We
disagree. Nothing in Public Health Law §230(10)(f) requires
the discontinuation of the hearing in the event of the
substitution of two members. Laverne v. Sobol, 149 A.D.2d
758 (3rd Dept. 1989); and Park v. Board of Regents of the
University of the State of New York, A.D.2d ___ (3rd
Dept. 1995). Respondent has not cited any authority to
support his assertion that an “illegal hearing” was conducted in
view of this substitution of hearing committee members.

We also reject respondent’s further assertion that the
hearing committee prematurely determined the issue of the
credibility of witnesses before the completion of the hearing.
We find such contention to be unsupported by the record.
Respondent has failed to demonstrate that he suffered any
actual harm or prejudice at the hearing or that the hearing

Al17

committee members were biased or prejudiced. See,
Nehorayoff v. Fernandez, 91 A.D.2d 833 (3rd Dept. 1993).

We agree with and accept the hearing commitie’s
assessments, shown on pages 13-15 of its report, as to the
credibility of Patient A, Lydia Hochberg, and respondent.

In our unanimous opinion, respondent is guilty, by a
preponderance of the evidence, of fraud as alleged in
subparagraph (ii) of the third specification to the extent
indicated hereinafter. As the hearing committee concluded,
respondent “knowingly, and with intent to deceive, submitted
a bill to the medical benefits carrier which falsely claimed that
he had made follow-up hospital visits to Patient A” on January
21, 1983 and January 22, 1983. Hearing Committee report
page 17. Accordingly, respondent, with fraudulent intent,
falsely represented, in the bill for services he submitted, that
he had conducted a total of ten follow-up hospital visits for
Patient A between January 21, 1983 and January 30, 1983
when respondent, as he knew, did not visit Patient A on
January 21, 1983 and January 22, 1983.

We do not sustain subparagraph (i) of the third
specification. The hearing committee did not render ary
conclusion or findings establishing respondent’s intent with
respect to the hospital record for Patient A and for Patient B
and, in spite thereof, the hearing committee sustained the fraud
charges regarding Patient A, but not regarding Patient B. In
both cases, the hearing committee found that respondent’s
progress notes for Patients A and B on certain dates are
practically or almost identical and concluded that respondent
was guilty of the record-keeping charge alleged in the fourth
specification to the extent it relates to Patients A and B.
Although we agree with the hearing committee’s conclusions
finding respondent guilty of the fourth specification to the
extent it relates to Patients A and B, the mere fact that such

Als

records were not accurately maintained does not establish the
elements needed to prove fraud regarding the patients’ hospital
records. Adler v. Bureau of Professional Medical Conduct,
State of New York, Department of Health, __ A.D.2d wae
622 N.Y.S.2d 609 (3rd Dept. 1995); and Amarnick v. Sobol,
173 A.D.2D 914 (3rd Dept. 1991).

With respect to the issue of penalty, we disagree with
respondent’s characterization that the misconduct we have
determined is “minor”. An “admonition”, which is not a
penalty enumerated in Education Law §6511, is, in our
unanimous opinion, not warranted under these circumstances.
Also not warranted as a penalty in this matter, is a Censure
and Reprimand or a suspension of licensure.

In recommending a penalty to be imposed upon
respondent, we have considered the entire record in this
matter.

Respondent’s professional misconduct was committed
over four and one-half years before petitioner issued its
statement of charges. Other than the relevant January 1983
incidents, petitioner has not shown any misconduct by
respondent in his forty years of practice, including the eight
years after these hearings began.

The charges brought against respondent included various
allegations which have not been sustained by the hearing
committee, designee of the Commissioner of Health, or us.
Thus, respondent is not guilty of any permitting, aiding or
abetting an unlicensed person to assess a patient and write
progress notes (first specification); or any delegating of
professional responsibilities to a person whom respondent
knew or had reason to know was not qualified to perform
them (second specification). Respondent is also not guilty of
any fraud or record-keeping charges as to Patients C, D, E,

Al9

and F. Regarding all of the patients referred to in the charges,
including the only patient who was the subject of the hearing
committee’s and designee’s conclusion of fraud, respondent
was found not guilty, at all levels of review, of the allegations
that respondent made and/or caused to be made entries in the
hospital records which falsely represented “the examination
performed and/or by whom the examinations were
performed”. Moreover, the penalty to be imposed herein may
not consider and is not based upon the allegations which we
do not sustain in subparagraph (i) of the third specification.

We unanimously disagree with the recommendation to fine
respondent $10,000 each on the third and fourth
specifications, for a total fine of $20,000. We do not find a
$20,000 fine based upon two consecutive $10,000 fines to be
appropriate under the circumstances. Inasmuch as fraud (the
third specification) is only established regarding Patient A, the
maximum $10,000 fine permitted by law for the fraud
committed by respondent is warranted in view of respondent’s
conduct of knowingly and with the intent to deceive the
medical benefits carrier submitting for reimbursement a bill
which makes false claims. On the other hand, no fraud was
sustained regarding Patient B and no improper motive by
respondent was found regarding the record-keeping charges
suStained in the fourth specification. In our opinion, an
additional maximum $10,000 fine is not warranted to be
imposed upon respondent based upon respondent’s guilt as to
the fourth specification. Accordingly. we recommend that,
under the circumstances, respondent be fined $10,000
concurrently on each of the third and fourth specifications, for
a total fine of $10,000.

We note that respondent’s attorney claimed, and
petitioner’s attorney did not dispute the claim, that respondent
recently received an award for his humanitarian work for the
homeless. We further note that no rationale was set forth by

A20

Se ee ali

either the hearing committee or the designee of the
Commissioner of Health for imposing a $20,000 fine or for
recommending consecutive fines. The designee did mention,
however, that given the respondent’s age, the time that has
passed, and the misconduct by respondent, a six month actual
suspension would “serve no purpose”.

We unanimously recommend the following to the Board of

Regents:

Es

The hearing committee’s findings of fact be accepted and
the recommendation of the designee of the Commissioner
of Health as to the hearing committee’s findings of fact be

accepted;

. The following additional finding of fact, referrable to

Patient A, be accepted:

14A Respondent knowingly and with the intent to deceive
Patient A’s medical benefits carrier submitted such
false bill to the medical benefits carrier.

. The hearing committee’s conclusions and the conclusions

of the designee of the Commissioner of Health be
accepted, except the conclusion of each as to subparagraph
(i) of the third specification not be accepted;

. Respondent is guilty, by a preponderance of the evidence,

of fraud involving respondent knowingly, and with intent
to deceive, submitting a bill for services he purportedly
rendered to Patient A, which falsely claimed that he had
conducted ten follow-up hospital visits for Patient A
between January 21, 1983 and January 30, 1983 when
respondent, as he knew, did not visit Patient A on January
21, 1983 and January 22, 1983 (subparagraph (ii) of the
third specification); and unprofessional conduct pursuant

A21

to 8 N.Y.C.R.R. §29.2(a)(3) involving respondent failing
to maintain records which accurately reflect the evaluation
and treatment of Patients A and B in that the progress
notes for these patients are practically or almost identical
and do not accurately reflect the condition of those patients
on January 21, 22, 23 and 24 1983; and respondent is not
guilty of the remaining specifications and charges;

5. The recommendations of the hearing committee and
designee of the Commissioner of Health as to the measure
of discipline be modified; and

6. Respondent be fined $10,000 upon each specification of
the charges of which respondent has been found guilty,
said fine to be imposed concurrently and to total $10,000,
and to be paid by certified check to the order of the New
York State Education Department and mailed to the
Executive Director, Office of Professional Discipline, One
Park Avenue - Sixth Floor, New York, New York 10016
within four months after the effective date of the service of
the order to be issued in this matter.

EMLYN I. GRIFFITH

JANE M. BOLIN

JOHN T. MCKENNAN

/s/

{Emlyn I. Griffith] Chairperson

Dated: 2/19/96

APPENDIX F

Vote and Order No. 15551 of the University of the
State of New York Dated March 13, 1996, with
Report of Regents Review Committee Dated
February 19, 1996 (printed herein as Appendix E),
Cover Letter dated March 16, 1996, and a Copy of
Rule 24.7(b) of the Rules of the Board of Regents

THE UNIVERSITY OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK

IN THE MATTER
OF
NATHANIEL SHAFER
(Physician)

DUPLICATE ORIGINAL VOTE AND ORDER NO. 15551

Upon the report of the Regents Review Committee, a copy
of which is made a part hereof, the record herein, under
Calendar No. 15551, and in accordance with the provisions of
Title VIII of the Education Law, it was

VOTED (March 13, 1996): That, in the matter of
NATHANIEL SHAFER, respondent, the recommendation of
the Regents Review Committee be accepted as follows:

1. The hearing committee’s findings of fact be accepted and
the recommendation of the designee of the Commissioner
of Health as to the hearing committee’s findings of fact be

accepted;

2. The following additional finding of fact, referrable to
Patient A, be accepted:

14A Respondent knowingly and with the intent to deceive
Patient A’s medical benefits carrier submitted such
false bill to the medical benefits carrier.

. The hearing committee’s conclusions and the conclusions
of the designee of the Commissioner of Health be
accepted, except the conclusion of each as to subparagraph
(i) of the third specification not be accepted;

. Respondent is guilty, by a preponderance of the evidence,
of fraud involving respondent knowingly, and with intent
to deceive, submitting a bill for services he purportedly
rendered to Patient A, which falsely claimed that he had
conducted ten follow-up hospital visits for Patient A
between January 21, 1983 and January 30, 1983 when
respondent, as he knew, did not visit Patient A on January
21, 1983 and January 22, 1983 (subparagraph (ii) of the
third specification); and unprofessional conduct pursuant
to 8 N.Y.C.R.R. §29.2(a)(3) involving respondent failing
to maintain records which accurately reflect the evaluation
and treatment of Patients A and B in that the progress
notes for these patients are practically or almost identical
and do not accurately reflect the condition of those patients
on January 21, 22, 23 and 24 1983; and respondent is not
guilty of the remaining specifications and charges;

. The recommendations of the hearing committee and
designee of the Commissioner of Health as to the measure
of discipline be modified; and

. Respondent be fined $10,000 upon each specification of
the charges of which respondent has been found guilty,
said fine to be imposed concurrently and to total $10,000,
and to be paid by certified check to the order of the New
York State Education Department and mailed to the
Executive Director, Office of Professional Discipline, One

A24

Park Avenue - Sixth Floor, New York, New York 10016
within four months after the effective date of the service of
the order to be issued in this matter;

and that the Acting Associate Commissioner for the
Professions be empowered to execute, for and on behalf of the
Board of Regents, all orders necessary to carry out the terms
of this vote;
and it is

ORDERED: That, pursuant to the above vote of the Board
of Regents, said vote and the provisions thereof are hereby
adopted and SO ORDERED, and it is further

ORDERED that this order shall take effect as of the date of
the personal service of this order upon the respondent or five
days after mailing by certified mail.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I,
Johanna Duncan-Poitier, Acting
Associate Commissioner for the
Professions, for and on behalf of
the State Education Department
and the Board of Regents, do
hereunto set my hand, at the City
_ of Albany, this 13th day of
March, 1996.
/s/
JOHANNA DUNCAN-POITIER
ACTING ASSOCIATE

COMMISSIONER FOR
THE PROFESSIONS

The State Education Department/The University of the State of
New York/Albany, N.Y. 12234

Office of Professional Discipline
One Park Avenue, New York, New York 10016-5802

March 15, 1996
Nathaniel Shafer, Physician
10 Easit 85th Street
New York, New York 10028
Re: License No. 076953
Dear Dr. Shafer:

Enclosed please find Order No. 15551. This Order goes
into efifect five (5) days after the date of this letter.

If the penalty imposed by the Order in your case is a
revocation or a surrender of your license, you must deliver
your license and registration to this Department within ten (10)
days aifter the date of this letter. Your penalty goes into effect
five (5) days after the date of this letter even if you fail to meet
the time requirement of delivering your license and registration
to this Department.

If the penalty imposed by the Order in your case is a
revocation or a surrender of your license, you may, pursuant
to Rule 24.7(b) of the Rules of the Board of Regents, a copy
of which is attached, apply for restoration of your license after
one year has elapsed from the effective date of the Order and
the penalty; but said application is not granted automatically.

Very truly yours,
DANIEL J. KELLEHER
Director of Investigations
By:

GUSTAVE MARTINE

A26

24.7 Review in other cases. The committee on the
professions shall review and submit it recommendation to the
Board of Regents for final determinations in the following
cases:

(b) petitions for restoration of professional license which
has been revoked or surrendered pursuant to Education Law,
section 6510 or 6510-a. At least one year shall have elapsed
from the date of service of the order of revocation, acceptance
of surrender, or denial of a prior application for restoration or
reinstatement by vote of the Board of Regents, for the
acceptance by the department of a petition to the Board of
Regents for restoration of a license or certificate, except that a
period of time during which the license was suspended during
the dependency of the discipline proceeding may reduce the
one-year waiting period. This section shall not apply to
restoration of licenses which have been temporarily
surrendered pursuant to Education Law, section 6510-b, or
Public Health Law, section 230(13).

(1) Materials submitted in response to the Committee on
the Professions’ recommendation to the Board of Regents
shall be filed no later that 15 days following the postmarked
date of the written notification of the decision or
recommendation of the Committee on the Professions.

(2) If an applicant has failed to remain current with
developments in the profession, and a substantial question is
presented as to the applicant’s current fitness to enter into
active practice of the profession, the Board of Regents may
require that the applicant take and obtain satisfactory grades on
a proficiency examination satisfactory to the department prior
to the issuance of a license or limited permit.

A27

APPENDIX G

Memorandum & Judgment of the Supreme Court of
the State of New York—Appellate Division,
Third Department, Dated October 16, 1997

Supreme Court—Appellate Division
Third Judicial Department

Decided and Entered: October 16, 1997 76677

In the Matter of NATHANIEL
SHAFER, MEMORANDUM
AND JUDGMENT
Petitioner,
Vv

BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE STATE
OF NEW YORK,

Respondent.

Calendar Date: September 3, 1997

Before: Cardona, P.J., Mikoll, Mercure, Casey and
Yesawich Jr., JJ.

Irving Anolik, New York City, for petitioner.
Dennis C. Vacco, Attorney-General (Lyssa M. Sampson of
counsel), New York City, for respondent.

Mercure, J.

Proceeding pursuant to CPLR article 78 (initiated in this
court pursuant to Public Health Law § 230-c[5]) to review a

A28

determination of respondent which fined petitioner for
professional misconduct in practicing medicine.

Petitioner is a physician licensed to practice medicine in
New York. In this CPLR article 78 proceeding, he challenges
respondent’s determination finding him guilty of (1) fraud in
submitting a bill falsely claiming that he conducted 10 follow-
up hospital visits with patient A between January 21, 1983
and January 30, 1983 when, in fact, respondent did not visit
patient A on January 21, 1983 and January 22, 1983, and (2)
unprofessional conduct pursuant to 8 NYCRR 29.2(a)(3) for
failing to maintain records which accurately reflected the
evaluation and treatment of patient A and patient B, in that
each patient’s daily progress notes for the period from January
21, 1983 through January 24, 1983 were nearly identical to
one another and did not accurately reflect the condition of the
patient, and imposing concurrent fines of $10,000. We are not
persuaded by petitioner’s assertions of error and, accordingly,
confirm the challenged disposition and dismiss the petition.

As a threshold matter, we disagree with petitioner’s
contention that the substitution of two members of the Hearing
Committee of the State Board for Professional Medical
Conduct during the pendency of the hearings on the charges
against him deprived respondent of jurisdiction. We do not
construe the provision of Public Health Law § 230(10)(f) that
“fa] hearing which has been initiated shall not be discontinued
because of the death or incapacity to serve of one member of
the hearing committee” (emphasis supplied) as requiring
discontinuation of the hearing in the event of the death or
incapacity of more than one member. To the contrary, in
Matter of Laverne v. Sobol (149 AD2d 758, 760, lv denied 74
NY2d 610) this court interpreted the very same language, then
contained in Education Law § 6510(3)(c), as permitting the
replacement of two members of a hearing panel (accord,
Matter of Briggs v Board of Regents of Univ. of State of

A29

N.Y., 188 AD2d 836, 837, lv denied 81 NY2d 708). The
more appropriate inquiry is whether the substitute committee
members “ha[d] read and considered evidence and transcripts
of the prior proceedings” (Public Health Law § 230[10][f])
and made an informed decision on all of the hearing evidence
(see, Matter of Taub v. Pirnie, 3 NY2d 188, 194-195; Matter
of Briggs v. Board of Regents of Univ. of State of N.Y.,
supra, at 837), requirements that the record shows to have
been satisfied in this case.

Next, we reject petitioner’s attack on the sufficiency of the
evidence to support the finding that petitioner did not visit
patient A on January 21, 1983 or January 22, 1983. Catherine
Graham, the head nurse on patient A’s floor at the time of his
hospitalization, testified that she first saw patient A on January
22, 1983, at which time she talked with hint and asked him
whether he was experiencing any headache, dizziness,
numbness or pain. According to Graham, patient A “appeared
kind of healthy for somebody in the hospital” and denied any
of those symptoms. Graham saw patient A the following day
and he continued to deny any problems. When she examined
his chart to determine petitioner’s plans for the patient, she
discovered that there had been no physician’s progress notes
from the time of patient A’s January 20, 1983 admission.
Later that day, however, Graham found that progress notes
had been entered for four different dates, but the notes were
unsigned and there was no patient name on the top of the chart
to indicate that it was the correct chart. Graham asked patient
A if his doctor had been in to see him that day, and patient A
responded that his doctor had not seen him since the day he
was admitted.

Yet later on January 23, 1983, an unfamiliar woman asked
Graham for patient A’s chart. When asked to identify herself
the woman stated that she was petitioner’s “assistant”, and
upon inquiry by Graham acknowledged that she had entered

A30

the unsigned progress notes in patient A’s chart. Graham then
challenged the woman’s authority, indicating that she should
not be looking at patient A’s records, and demanded the return
of the chart. Within five minutes, petitioner appeared at the
nurses’ station and explained that the woman was his assistant
and that she had seen and assessed patient A. Petitioner then
signed the progress notes, made additional written notations
and changed the date of the fourth entry from January 24,
1983 to January 23, 1983. Graham noted that the progress
notes for each of the four days were “very, very similar” and
the documentation of headaches, dizziness, drowsiness and
pain directly contradicted patient A’s denials of the very same
symptoms. Graham promptly notified her supervisor of the
foregoing occurrences, wrote a memo to the assistant director
of nursing and also advised the quality assurance department.

This court’s review is, of course, limited to the question of
whether respondent’s determination was arbitrary and
capricious, affected by an error of law or an abuse of
discretion; as such, “our inquiry is whether the administrative
determination has a rational basis supported by fact” (Matter of
Brown v. New York State Dept. of Health, __AD2d __,
___, 652 NYS2d 860, 862, lv denied 89 NY2d 814). In
making this inquiry, we will not decide credibility issues,
resolution of which are solely within the province of the
administrative fact finder (see, id., at 862). Clearly, Graham’s
testimony provided sufficient evidentiary support for the
finding that petitioner did not see patient A on January 21,
1983 and January 22, 1983, a fact that is unaffected by the
existence of contrary testimony by petitioner, Lydia Hochberg
(the individual! identified as petitioner’s assistant) and even by
patient A, all of whom the Hearing Committee specifically
determined were not credible witnesses (see, id.; Matter of
Adler v. Bureau of Professional Med. Conduct, State of New
York, Dept. of Health, 211 AD2d 990).

Petitioner’s remaining contentions are found to be either
lacking in merit or unsupported by the record.

Cardona, P.J., Mikoll, Casey and Yesawich Jr., JJ.,
concur.

ADJUDGED that the determination is confirmed, without
costs, and petition dismissed.

ENTER:

/s/
Michael J. Novack
Clerk of the Court

A32

APPENDIX H

Decision and Order on Motion
of the Supreme Court of the State of New York
Appellate Division, Third Department,
Dated January 27, 1998

Supreme Court—Appellate Division

Third Judicial Department

Decided and Entered: January 27, 1998 Case #: 76677
In the Matter of NATHANIEL DECISION
SHAFER, AND ORDER

Petitioner, ON MOTION

Vv

BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE
STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent.

Motion for permission to appeal to the Court of Appeals.

Upon the papers filed in support of the motion, and the
papers filed in opposition thereto, it is

ORDERED that the motion is denied, without costs.

CARDONA, P.J., MIKOLL, MERCURE AND YESAWICH
JR., JJ., concur.

ENTER:

/s/
Michael J. Novack
Clerk of the Court

A33

APPENDIX I

Decision and Order on Motion of the Supreme
Court of the State of New York—Appellate
Division, Third Department, Dated May 28, 1998

Supreme Court—Appellate Division

Third Judicial Department

Decided and Entered: May 28, 1998 Case #: 76677
In the Matter of NATHANIEL DECISION
SHAFER, AND ORDER

Petitioner, ON MOTION

Vv

BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE
STATE OF NEW YORK,

Respondent.

Motion for rehearing and reargument.

Upon the papers filed in support of the motion and the
papers filed in opposition thereto, it is

ORDERED that the motion is denied, without costs.

CARDONA, P.J., MIKOLL, MERCURE AND YESAWICH
JR., JJ., concur.
ENTER:

/s/
Michael J. Novack
Clerk of the Court

APPENDIX J
New York State Education Law §6510(d)

Service of charges and of notice of hearing. A copy of the
charges and notice of any hearing pursuant to subdivision two
or three of this section shail be served on the licensee
personally by the department at least fifteen days before the
hearing. If personal service cannot be made after due diligence
and such fact is certified under oath, a copy of the charges and
the notice of hearing shall be served by certified mail, return
receipt requested to the licensee’s last known address by the
department at least twenty days before the hearing.

A35

APPENDIX K

New York State Public Health Law
§§230(10)(d) and (f)

(d) Service of charges and of notice of hearing. A copy of the
charges and the notice of the hearing shall be served on the
licensee personally by the board at least twenty days before the
hearing. If personal service cannot be made after due diligence
and such fact is certified under oath, a copy of the charges and
the notice of hearing shall be served by registered or certified
mail to the licensee’s last known address by the board at least
fifteen days before the hearing.

(f) Conduct of hearing. The evidence in support of the charges
shall be presented by an attorney. The licensee shall have the
rights required to be stated in the notice of hearing
(subparagraph (c) of this subdivision). The committee shall
not be bound by the rules of evidence, but its conclusion shall
be based on a preponderance of the evidence. A hearing which
has been initiated shall not be discontinued because of the
death or incapacity to serve of one member of the hearing
committee. In the event of a member’s death or incapacity to
serve on the committee, a member shall be appointed
immediately by the chairman of the board. The member shall
affirm in writing that he has read and considered evidence and
transcripts of the prior proceedings.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1482%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
