# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's, London v. Indiana Gas Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1424%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 931

## Text

ie. % ecm

98 271 AvG} 11998

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
~-

October Term, 1997

CERTAIN UNDERWRITERS AT LLOYD’S, LONDON and
CERTAIN LONDON MARKET INSURANCE COMPANIES,

Petitioners,
vs.

INDIANA GAS COMPANY, INC., RICHMOND GAS
CORPORATION d/b/a INDIANA GAS COMPANY, INC. and
TERRE HAUTE GAS CORPORATION d/b/a INDIANA GAS
COMPANY, INC., et al.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

THOMAS J. QUINN
STEPHEN T. ROBERTS
MARY ANN D’AMATO
Counsel of Record
STEVEN A. ACCINELLI

Penne MENDES & MOUNT, LLP
DAVID L. SHAPIRO 750 Seventh Avenue
1575 Massachusetts Avenue New York, NY 10019
Cambridge, MA 02138 (212) 261-8000
Attorneys for Petitioners
147585 (800) 274-3321 * (800) 359-6859

COUNSEL PRESS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a court may consider, for purposes of determining
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1332, only the citizenship of the
Active Underwriter of a Lloyd’s Syndicate, or whether the
citizenship of every defendant Underwriter must be considered;

2. Whether, for purposes of determining jurisdiction under
28 U.S.C. § 1332, the Active Underwriter of a Lloyd’s Syndicate
may be designated as a Representative of the other Names of his
or her Syndicate pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 23.2.

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
AND RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

In addition to the parties named in the caption, the Home
Insurance Company, Ranger Insurance Company, St. Paul Fire &
Marine Insurance Company and St. Paul Surplus Lines Insurance
Company were parties before the court of appeals.

Certain London Market Insurance Companies appear as

follows:
1. Accident & Casualty Insurance Company of Winterthur
2. Alba General Insurance Company, Ltd.
3. Allianz International Insurance Company, Ltd.
4. Anglo French Insurance Company, Ltd.
5. Argonaut Northwest Insurance Company
6. Anglo Saxon Insurance Association, Ltd.
7. Assicurazioni D’ Italia
8. Assurances Generales de France (UK) [ART
9. Baloise Fire Insurance Company, Ltd.

10. LaBelgique Industrielle

11. Bishopsgate Insurance Company, Ltd.

12. British Aviation Insurance Company, Ltd

13. British Merchants’ Insurance Company, Ltd.

14. British Northwestern Insurance Company, Ltd.

15. British Reserve Insurance Company, Ltd.

16. City General Insurance Company

17. CNA Reinsurance of London, Ltd., now known as CNA
International Reinsurance Company, Ltd.

18. Continental Insurance Company, Ltd.

19. Comphania Imperio Lisbon

20. Delta Lloyd Non-Life Insurance Co.

21. Dominion Insurance Company, Ltd.

22. Economic Insurance Company, Ltd.

23. Edinburgh Assurance Company, Ltd.

Se tne Pan

ii

. Elders Insurance Company, Ltd.
. European General Reinsurance Company, Ltd.

Ennia (United Kingdom)

. Excess Insurance Company, Ltd.
. Fidelidade Insurance Company also known as Fidelidade

Grupo Segurador

. FM Insurance Company, Ltd.

Assicurazioni Generali di Trieste e Venezia

. Groupe Josi per Thilly Re, Belgium

. Guildhall Insurance Company Ltd.

. Helvetia Accident Swiss Insurance Company
. Highlands Insurance Company, Ltd.

. Home & Overseas Insurance Co. Ltd.

. Iron Trades Mutual Insurance Company, Ltd.

(Now known as Iron Trades Insurance Corp. Ltd.)

. The Insurance Corporation of Ireland
. INSCO, Ltd.

Insurance Company of North America (United Kingdom),
Ltd. (Aviation account)

. International Surplus Lines Insurance Company

. Lincoln Insurance Company, Ltd.

. Lloyd Italico Assicurazioni

. London & Edinburgh General Insurance Company, Ltd.
. London & Hull Maritime Insurance Company, Ltd.

. Mercantile & General Reinsurance Company plc.

. Minster Insurance Company, Ltd., now known as GAN

Insurance Company, Ltd.

. National Casualty Company

. National Casualty Company of America, Ltd.
. National Security Fire and Casualty Company
. Ned Lloyd Non Life

. Norwich Trust Aviation Account

. New India Assurance Company, Ltd.

. Odyssey Re London, Ltd.

. Prudential Assurance Company, Ltd.

55.
56.
57.
58.
39.
60.
61.
62.
63.
64.
65.
66.
67.
68.
69.
70.
was
72.
73.
74.
75.
76.
77.
78.
79.
80.
81.
82.
83.
84.

iv

Reasseguradura Nacional de Venezuela

Reliance Fire & Accident Insurance Corporation, Ltd.
LaReunion Francaise

River Thames Insurance Company, Ltd.

Road Transport & General Insurance Company, Ltd.
Royal Scottish Insurance Company, Ltd.

Royale Belge per Thilly Re, Belgium

Scottish Lion Insurance Company, Ltd.

Southern Insurance Company

St. Katherine Insurance Company Ltd.

Storebrand Insurance Company (United Kingdom), Ltd.
Stronghold Insurance Company, Ltd.

Swiss National Insurance Company, Ltd.

Switzerland General Insurance Company (UK), Ltd.
Swiss Union General Insurance Company, Ltd.
Taisho Marine & Fire Insurance Company (UK), Ltd.
Terra Nova Insurance Company, Ltd.

Threadneedle Insurance Company, Ltd.

Trent Insurance Company, Ltd.

Turegum Insurance Company, Ltd.

Ulster Marine Insurance Company, Ltd.
Unionamerica Insurance Company Ltd.

Unione Assurances de Paris

Utility Services Insurance Company (USICO)
Vanguard Insurance Company, Ltd.

Victory Insurance Company, Ltd.

Westminster Aviation Insurance Group

World Auxiliary Insurance Corporation, Ltd.

World Marine and General Insurance Company, Ltd.
Yasuda Fire & Marine Insurance Company (U.K.), Ltd.

Petitioners’ full Rule 29.6 Statement is attached as a
lodging and submitted herewith.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
I I og os Se eae a ae wy sawed i
Parties to the Proceeding and Rule 29.6 Statement ... ii
pe |. hey eres trey Mere aes eae V
Beene OR TOG BNO oak eens venvcccs vi
CO SO errr e rer eee re eee ee I
ROMANE OE -SUPLUIRIOROONE ius vie vis conn ans hesaevewwe l
Statutory Provision and Rule Involved ............. I
a a Re Ae oe ore) ae yr ee 3
ac, IN 5 6 oo os be SOR kk kates a 2h oa 3
B. Proceedings in the District Court ........... 4
C. Proceedings in the Court of Appeals ........ 8
peasons for Granting Ge WHit 3. 6c ec ences 1]
I. The Petition Should Be Granted To Resolve The
Circuit Conflict Regarding The Application Of
The Diversity Requirement To Lloyd’s
SEN NEIIINES — hecan avec ease sick te tere wes 12

Il. The Petition Should Be Granted Because The
Court Below Did Not Apply The Real Party To
The Controversy Test Articulated By This Court
ae ee I NS a soe wast hawk oh a0 14

vi

Table of Cited Authorities

A. The Petition Should Be Granted
Because The Court Below Failed To
Properly Consider The Active Underwriters’
Representative Status. .............0....

B. The Petition Should Be Granted So This
Court May Clanfy The Standard For Use Of
Fol, 3. Soe ee a ce eka

Conchisiom cs cs ccok cee RE ws bbe okie aes
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES
Cases Cited:

Advani Enters., Inc. v. Underwriters at Lloyds, 140 F.3d
1S7 (2d Cin. TOR cinta ces ca ews ke as ks

Aetna Cas. & Surety Co. v. Iso-Tex Inc., 75 F.3d 216,
(S* Cin. 1996) cca cae ae i ah hea

Carden v. Arkoma Assocs., 494 U.S. 185 (1990)
00 tk a0 0s Se eee eee 1G. 33: 34,- 45,

Certain Underwriters of Lloyd's and Companies v.
General Accident Ins. Co. of America, 909 F.2d 228
(7? Cin, 199GE Soe Sars Seas ee ow ck es

SDS. Ree 1, 10, 12, ¥3, 14, 15, 17, 18, 39, 20
International Bhd. of Boilermakers v. Local Lodge D354,
Ber Pie: Ce Ta CO, I ei ei ieee ncuas 19
John Hayter Underwriting Agency Ltd. v. R.B.H.S.
Agencies, [1977] 2 Lloyd’s Rep. 105 (C.A. 1976)
Ve Suphican dea eka a WS Wee awe Oko oan oe 15

K. Bell & Assocs. v. Lloyd’s Underwriters, 1998 W.L.
2IAF Che SS ha bec aenk i ee 12

ix

Table of Cited Authorities

Page
Landoil-Resources Corp. v. Alexander & Alexander
Servs., Inc., 918 F.2d 1039 (2d Cir. 1990)
pe ase ee BE OTAS CAN OAR PEN aS eee banka 18
Logan vy. Lloyd’s Underwriters, 888 F.2d 1391 (6" Cir.
SEE e040 G SEES KNS RT AE OER Oe a he CewKs 18
Lowsley-Williams v. North River Ins. Co., 884 F. Supp.
EERE, Fas SEE FAS Oe aes eke oo ees aa 4,9
Massey v. State Farm Lloyds Ins. Co., 993 F. Supp. 568
SAAR Me EEE OS re Oe Vee bea Cee a bee es 23
Mitcheson v. Harris, 955 F.2d 235 (4" Cir. 1992) .... 18
National Am. Ins. Co. v. Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's,
pngon, 93 1.36 3Z9 (9? Cie. 1996) oo cc cas 18

Navarro Savings Ass'n v. Lee, 446 U.S. 458 (1980)
ih hl ae Row he enkin bas 10, 13; 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 24

Northbrook Excess and Surplus Ins. Co. v. Medical
Malpractice Joint Underwriting Ass'n of Mass., 900

ee Oe eee 22
Putnam Resources v. Patzman, 958 F.2d 448 (i* Cir.
Ne a Sr a ed ig 17

Quinn-L. Aetna Cas. & Surety Co. v. Iso-Tex. Inc., 75
Se Ee CN Ga BN ss Feed So kkes ae Sek bas 23

Table of Cited Authorities

Page
Real Asset Mgmt., Inc. v. Lloyd's of London, 61 F.3d
Ree Ce Re SE AG Rose ch eed ANE ER AERO KS 18
Roby v. Corp. of Lloyd's, 796 F. Supp. 103 (S.D.N.Y.
1992), aff'd on other grounds, 996 F.2d 1353 (2d
Cir. 1993), cert. den., 510 U.S. 945 (1993) ....... 17
Royal Ins. Co. of America v. Quinn-L Capital Corp., 3
F.3d 877 (S" Cir. 1993), cert. den., 511 U.S. 1032
ER GR: Gis ae K Vem un ewes Shaw ene come ar ekenks 23
Sadat v. Mertes, 615 F.2d 1176, 1182 (7" Cir. 1980)
. 4
pecs ead aad Mar a AO PR Bh

17a
Appendix B

Indiana Department of Environmental Management (IDEM) in an
enforcement action relating to the Shelbyville site. Purportedly
Indiana Gas timely notified its insurers (some of the defendant
insurers in this action) but those insurers failed and refused to
indemnify Indiana Gas.

A separate enforcement action was instituted against Indiana
Gas by IDEM, this time relating to groundwater contamination at
a former manufactured gas plant (MPG) at Lafayette. Indiana
Gas defended the enforcement action and conducted remedial
activities in compliance with orders issued by IDEM. Once again,
after notifying the insurers, the insurers refused to defend the action
or indemnify Indiana Gas in accordance with their policies.

Subsequent to those actions, Indiana Gas conducted a
preliminary assessment/site investigation at former MGP sites in
Marion, Bedford, Greencastle, Huntington, Seymour, Terre Haute
and Richmond. Those investigations were completed in March of
1995 revealing contamination at each of the seven sites.' At least
with respect to the Richmond, Terre Haute, Bedford and
Greencastle sites, the level of contamination exceeds regulatory
standards which could require further response or remediation. In
November of 1992, Indiana Gas notified St. Paul, Aetna, Home
and the London Market Insurers of the potential loss at the Marion,
Bedford, Greencastle, Huntington, Seymour, Terre Haute and
Richmond former MGP sites. In that correspondence, Indiana Gas
requested that the defendants agree to reimburse Indiana Gas for
all costs incurred in connection with the investigation of the MGP
sites together with the cost of any remediation of any potential
property damage pertaining to the sites. The insurers refused to
acknowledge their coverage for these potential costs.

1. It would appear that defendants’ own expert agreed that those
sites were in fact contaminated.

18a
Appendix B

Plaintiffs filed suit in this Court on April 14, 1995. Count I
alleges that “[d]efendants have failed to honor their contractual
obligation: to (1) defend Indiana Gas; (2) pay in full the defense
costs and expenses of Indiana Gas; and/or (3) indemnify Indiana
Gas for damages and/or expenses and/or its losses and obligations
with respect to the claims alleged. . .” (complaint § 95 & 98) in
the Shelbyville and Lafayette actions.” In Count 2, plaintiffs seek
a declaratory judgment that the insurers have failed in their duty to
defend and indemnify with respect to not only the Shelbyville and
Lafayette sites but also the Bedford, Greencastle, Richmond,
Huntington, Marion, Seymour, and Terre Haute sites.

At the time of the filing of the complaint, no third party
(including the IDEM or the Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA)) had made any claim, issued any order, or filed any action
against Indiana Gas regarding the Bedford, Greencastle,
Huntington, Marion, Seymour, Terre Haute or Richmond MGPs.
Nor had any claim or administrative orders been threatened
regarding any of these seven sites.

Application of Law

As indicated at the outset, St. Paul and others have filed a
motion to dismiss the declaratory judgment claim as it relates to
the Richmond site because this Court lacks subject matter
jurisdiction. In its joinder of that motion, Aetna and others contend
the same with respect to the Bedford, Greencastle, Huntington,
Marion, Seymour and Terre Haute sites. Because this court is of
the view that there is no case or controversy with respect to those
sites, the motion to dismiss will be granted.

2. Indiana Gas alleges in the complaint that it has spent in excess of
three million dollars relating to the remedial activities at the Lafayette
site and in excess of two million dollars on the Shelbyville site.

19a

Appendix B

“ “The judicial power does not extend to abstract questions.’ ”
Public Serv. Comm’n v. Wycoff Co., 344 U.S. 237, 242, 73 S.Ct.
236, 239, 97 L.Ed. 291 (1952) (quoting Ashwander v. Tennessee
Valley Auth., 297 U.S. 288, 324, 56 S.Ct. 466, 472, 80 L.Ed. 688
(1936)). Rather, federal courts can only resolve actual “cases”
and “controversies.” U.S. Const. art. III, § 2. The existence of a
case or controversy is a prerequisite to all federal actions, including
those for injunctive and declaratory relief. Skelly Oil Co. v. Phillips
Petroleum, 339 U.S. 667, 671-72, 70 S.Ct. 876, 878-79, 94 L.Ed.
1194 (1950). Consonant with Article III, the Declaratory Judgment
Act provides that “[i]n a case of actual controversy within its
jurisdiction . . . any Court in the United States, upon the filing of
an appropriate pleading may declare the rights and other legal
relations of any interested party seeking such a declaration.” 28
U.S.C. § 2201(a).

“[A] justiciable controversy is ... distinguished from a
difference or dispute of a hypothetical or abstract character; [or]
from one that is academic or moot.” Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Haworth,
300 U.S. 227, 240-41, 57 S.Ct. 461, 464, 81 L.Ed. 617 (1937).
“The controversy must be definite and concrete, touching the legal
relations of parties having adverse legal interests.” Id. To determine
whether there is a “controversy,” the court must “look to the state
of affairs as of the filing of the complaint; a justiciable controversy
must have existed at that time.” International Harvester v. Deere
& Co., 623 F.2d 1207, 1210 (7th Cir. 1980).

“At first blush, the existence vel non of an actual controversy
would not appear to lend itself to discretionary disposition. Either
there is an actual controversy or there is not.” Certain Underwriters
at Lloyd’s v. St. Joe Minerals Corp., 90 F.3d 671, 675 (2nd
Cir.1996). “ ‘The difference between an abstract question and a
‘controversy’ contemplated by the Declaratory Judgment Act is

20a

Appendix B

necessarily one of degree, and it would be difficult, if it would be
possible, to fashion a precise test for determining in every case
whether there is such a controversy.’ ” Id. (quoting, Maryland
Casualty Co. v. Pacific Coal & Oil Co., 312 U.S. 270, 273, 61
S.Ct. 510, 512, 85 L.Ed. 826 (1941)).

The notion that the difference between an abstract question
and a controversy is one of degree, and that it is not possible to
fashion a precise test distinguishing between the two, can be seen
in cases such as this where an insured seeks a declaratory judgment
against its insurer relating to remedial actions or clean up costs at
a contaminated site. In the present matter, defendants, relying
primarily upon the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit’s decision in Atlanta Gas & Light v. Aetna, 68 F.3d 409
(11th Cir.1995) and the Eighth Circuit’s decision in Gopher Oil
Company v. Bunker, 84 F.3d 1047 (8th Cir. 1996) contend that this
case is not justiciable. The plaintiffs, on the other hand, place heavy
reliance on the United States Court of Appeals for the Third
Circuit’s decision in Riehl v. Travelers Insurance Co., 772 F.2d 19
(3rd 1985) and the Eighth Circuit’s opinion in Aetna Casualty and
Surety Co. v. General Dynamics Corp., 968 F.2d 707 (8th Cir.1992)
for the opposite proposition. Those decisions, which appear to arrive
at seemingly divergent results, however, are reconcilable when
the facts presented are closely examined. Moreover, when the
facts presented here are compared with those in the above-cited
decisions, it is clear that this case is more akin to Atlanta Gas and
Gopher Oil than it is to Riehl and General Dynamics.

In Atlanta Gas, the insured brought an action for declaratory
judgment asking the court to determine that the insurer had a duty
to defend and indemnify it for cleanup costs at its manufactured
gas plants. On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the

RRA ite Ciena islan. ch Ae

21a
Appendix B

Eleventh Circuit determined, sua sponte, that there was no justiciable
controversy writing:

The district court made no determination that a
justiciable controversy existed when the complaint was
filed; the record would not support such a finding. Not
only had the insurers not yet received the notice, no
one knew exactly what had to be cleaned up, or how
much the cleanup would cost. While it is not necessary
to know each of these factors with certainty in order
to seek declaratory relief, when AGL filed its
complaint, it was not clear that state and federal
environmental agencies would ever require cleanups
at any of AGL’s former MPG sites. The record
demonstrates that the regulatory climate was evolving
when AGL filed its suit: what actions would be required
by regulators was uncertain. At the time the complaint
was filed, GEPD had concluded that AGL’s Georgia
site posed no threat to public health, and FDER had
recommended only ‘additional site screening’ at the
Sanford, Florida site. No then-owner of an MGP site
had called upon AGL to reimburse them for cleanup
costs or to clean up wastes itself. No lawsuits had
been filed against AGL, either by owners of former
MGP sites or by adjacent property owners. With so
many material facts dependent upon future
contingencies, it would be impossible to resolve all the
issues relative to the timeliness of notice ina way that
would do justice to the parties.

Id. 68 F.3d at 415. Similarly, in Gopher Oil, the United States Court
of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit upheld the dismissal of claims
seeking declaratory judgment of potential liabilities of two parties
with respect to environmental cleanup costs at a site since there

22a

Appendix B

were “[n]Jo facts [to] indicate an immediate threat of either MERLA
[Minnesota Environmental Response & Liability Act] or tort
liability.” Id. 84 F.3d at 1051. Thus, in both Atlanta Gas and Gopher
Oil, there was no controversy within the meaning of Article III.

Conversely, a justiciable controversy relating to the costs of
cleaning up contaminated sites was found to exist in both Riehl
and General Dynamics. In Riehl, an insured brought an action
seeking a declaration that certain insurance policies covered
expenses of cleaning up a toxic dump site. Although the insured
had received notice from the EPA that he was a responsible party
under the Comprehensive Environmental Response Compensation
Liability Act (CERCLA) and as such would be assessed the
expense of cleaning up the site, as of the time of filing of suit no
legal proceedings had been instituted against him by either the
Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Resources or the EPA.
In holding that the matter was justiciable, the United States Court
of Appeals for the Third Circuit wrote:

In order for a case to be justiciable, the salient facts
must be real, not hypothetical. Our review of
justiciability is plenary. The problem of justiciability is
especially troublesome in a declaratory judgment action,
where the court may be asked to decide a case based
on events that have not yet and may not occur....
Where, however, the essential facts establishing a right
to relief, including declaratory relief, have already
occurred, the case is justiciable. . . .

From the summary judgment record before us, it
appears that all relevant events have already occurred,
and the case thus appears justiciable. The dumping of
the wastes and the leaching off the property of these |
chemicals have apparently already transpired. . . .

a eaeemeaatitiiinimiaiaaiiaiiaiiaaiiaaiidiiiaiaalal

23a

Appendix B

The only events which have yet to occur are the
expenditures of the funds by Riehl for clean-up and
the entry of judgment imposing liability on Riehl for the
toxic waste damage. However, neither immediate
liability for damages, nor a liquidation to the extent of
an insurer’s indemnification obligation is necessary in
this Circuit to establish a justiciable controversy. In
ACand$S v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., 666 F.2d
819 (3rd Cir.1981), this court found justiciable the
question of liability insurance coverage for exposure
to asbestos even though not all of the carriers against
whom declaratory relief was sought were as yet
implicated by an actual suit against the insured.

Since all relevant events appear from the record to
have occurred, we hold that this case is ripe for
adjudication.

Id. 772 F.2d at 22-23 (footnote omitted). Similarly, in General
Dynamics Corp., an insurer brought an action against its insured
seeking declaratory relief as to its obligation to defend and
indemnify the insured in connection with claims involving
environmental pollution. At issue were sixteen sites, however, the
district court held that with respect to four of those sites the case
Was not ripe since no suit had been filed nor any settlement achieved
at the four sites. In reversing that aspect of the district court’s
decision, the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit
wrote:

Aetna also contends that the district court erred by
holding that because no suits had yet been filed nor
any settlements reached with respect to four of the
sixteen sites, Aetna’s declaratory judgment action was
not ripe for adjudication as to those sites.

24a

Appendix B

Aetna argues that since General Dynamics had made
a clear demand for payment of defense and indemnity
costs with respect to each of the four sites and because
Aetna disputed those demands, there is a live justiciable
controversy between the parties sufficient to invoke
the jurisdiction of the district court. ... General
Dynamics does not address this issue on appeal;
apparently it concedes that the district court’s decision
was in error. We agree with Aetna that a live justiciable
controversy exists between the parties and hold that
Aetna’s suit is ripe with respect to the four sites.

Id., 968 F.2d at 711 (citation omitted).

In the present matter, this case is similar to both Atlanta Gas*
and Gopher Oil in that at the time the suit was filed no third party
had made any claim or filed any litigation regarding the sites in
issue; neither the state environmental agency nor the EPA had
issued any notice or order or threatened any claim regarding those
sites; and it is not clear whether either the state or federal
government would ever require a clean-up since no notices, orders,
claims, litigation or directives have been issued regarding the sites.
Those factual similarities between Atlanta Gas and Gopher Oil
also make this case dissimilar from the decisions in Riehl and
General Dynamics because in Riehl plaintiff had “received notice
that the EPA would commence clean-up of the site, and that all

3. Indeed save for the fact that the plaintiff in Atlanta Gas failed to
give notice to its insurer until at the time of filing suit, this case is virtually
identical to Atlanta Gas. While this failure to give notice was a factor in
the court’s determination that the case was not justiciable, it was but one
factor. Most tellingly, however, was the fact that “it was not clear that
state or federal environmental agencies would ever require clean ups at
any of AGC’s former MGP sites.” 68 F.3d at 415.

© Pty art be oy cata ie

25a

Appendix B

expenses of clean-up would be assessed against Riehl as a
‘responsible party’ under the comprehensive Environmental
Response Compensation Liability Act of 1980 (‘CERCLA’), 42
U.S.C. § 9607(a),"* 772 F.2d at 21, and in General Dynamics, of
the sixteen sites at issue, the insured had been “served with lawsuits
concerning environmental contamination at seven sites and with
letters from federal and state environmental protection agencies
or from private parties demanding that it clean up environmental
wastes at nine other sites.” 968 F.2d at 709. Here, no such lawsuits
have been filed nor have demands been made that the Richmond,
Bedford, Greencastle, Huntington, Marion, Seymour and Terre
Haute sites be clean up or remediated. As such, there is no
controversy with respect to those sites and accordingly no justiciable
issue is presented to the Court.

In arriving at the foregoing conclusion, this Court is not
unmindful of the Seventh Circuit’s decision in Bankers Trust Co.
v. Old Republic Ins. Co., 959 F.2d 677, 681 (7th Cir. 1992) and its
language to the effect that “Article III requires only a probabilistic
injury” — which present plaintiff claims to be “dispositive.” (Ans.Br.
p. 10). Rather than being “dispositive,” this Court is of the view
that that case is distinguishable.

There, the insured had in fact been sued by a third party before

4. On November 20, 1995, Timothy R. Johnson of the IDEM sent a
letter to Indiana Gas which indicates that IDEM is “assessing” all former
manufactured gas plants in Indiana. That letter, however, does not create
a case or controversy for two reasons. First, it does not give any orders
or directives to Indiana Gas to remediate or further investi gate its former
manufactured gas plants. Rather, it merely requests general information
about former manufactured gas plant properties. Second, the letter has
no bearing on this case since it was sent over seven months after this
lawsuit was filed and, as indicated previously, justiciability is evaluated
based on the state of affairs at the time of the filing of the complaint.

26a

Appendix B

the declaratory judgment action regarding coverage was brought
and the only remaining questions were whether the insured would
win or lose the suit and the amount of the judgment. While
indicating that cases such as Wooten v. Loshbough, 951 F.2d
768, 769 (7th Cir.1991) had spoken in terms of “probabilistic
injury,” the court in Bankers Trust indicated that “this doesn’t
mean that any probability, however slight, is enough to permit a
suit to be maintained 1n federal court. We are dealing with matters
of degree.” 959 F.2d at 681.° Since the insured’s liability (or the
possibility that judgment would be less than the coverage amount)
was a contingency which did not take the case out of Article III's

grant of jurisdiction, the mere possibility that the declaratory relief

requested may be rendered moot by the proceedings below was
simply a factor relevant to the district court’s exercise of equitable
discretion to grant or withhold declaratory relief.

Here, unlike Bankers Trust, but like Atlanta Gas, there has
been no suit filed against the plaintiffs and no indication or notice
that that will occur with respect to the sites in question. At present,
the controversy alleged in plaintiffs’ complaint for declaratory
judgment relating to those sites is nothing more than hypothetical:
if a government agency issues an order or notice; or if an agency

requires plaintiffs to take some action with regard to the sites; or if

a third party makes a claim; or if a third party files litigation against
plaintiffs based on contaminants at those sites; or if plaintiffs incur
costs to clean up the sites, there may be coverage for those currently
non-existent claims, orders, directives or costs. Such are now mere
possibilities, not probabilities, and accordingly the motion to dismiss
must be granted.

5. In its opimion, the court pointed out that many cases in the Seventh Circuit
have been read as indicating “that a suit to determine an insurer's obligation to
indemnify its insured is premature until the insured has been determined to be liable
to somebody,” 959 F.2d at 680 (collecting cases), and that “[o]ther circuits take a
more liberal view.” Id. The Court went on to note, however, that “our cases state a
general rule rather than an absolute one.” Id.

27a

Appendix B
Conclusion

On the basis of the foregoing, the “Motion to Dismiss Plaintiff's
Claims for Declaratory Judgment as to the Richmond Site for Lack
of Jurisdiction” filed July 10, 1996, by defendants St. Paul Fire &
Marine Insurance Company, St. Paul Surplus Lines Insurance
Company, Ranger Insurance Company, those London Market
insurers severally subscribing to policies of excess insurance in
favor or Richmond Gas Corporation, and Home Insurance Company
is GRANTED. Likewise, plaintiffs’ request for declaratory
judgments with respect to the manufactured gas plants at Bedford,
Greencastle, Huntington, Marion, Seymour and Terre Haute are
DISMISSED. Said dismissals are WITHOUT PREJUDICE.

SO ORDERED.

28a

Appendix B

INDIANA GAS COMPANY, INC., Richmond Gas Corporation
d/b/a Indiana Gas Company, Inc. and Terre Haute Gas
Corporation d/b/a Indiana Gas Company, Inc.,
Plaintiffs,

AETNA CASUALTY & SURETY COMPANY,
Connie Lee Insurance Company, Continental Casualty Company,
Continental Insurance Company, Greenwich Insurance
Company, Home Insurance Company, Certain Underwriters
at Lloyd’s, London and Certain London Market Insurance
Companies, North River Insurance Company, Ranger Insurance
Company, St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company, St. Paul
Surplus Lines Insurance Company and the
Travelers Company, Defendauts.

No. 1:95-CV-101.
United States District Court,
N.D. Indiana,
Fort Wayne Division.
Oct. 2, 1996.
+ * aa
MEMORANDUM OF DECISION AND ORDER

WILLIAM C. LEE, District Judge.

This matter is before the Court on defendant Ranger Insurance
Company’s July 10, 1996, “Motion for Partial Summary Judgment

29a

Appendix B

Concerning ‘Property Damage During the Policy Period,’ ” a
motion in which other defendants have joined. Plaintiffs responded
to that motion on July 31, 1996, to which Ranger Insurance replied
on August 9, 1996. For the following reasons, the motion for partial
summary judgment will be granted.

Factual Background

Ranger issued Comprehensive General Liability policies to
Richmond Gas Corporation for the period from 1975 to 1987 and
also issued an Excess Liability policy and Commercial Umbrella
Liability for the period 1975-1976. The Ranger policies, and those
of the defendants who have joined in the motion, all contained
language identical or substantially similar to the effect that the
insurers agreed “to pay on behalf of the insured all sums which the
insured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages because
of. . . property damage to which this insurance applies caused by
an occurrence.” “Occurrence” is then defined as “an accident,
including continuous or repeated exposure to conditions, which
results in property damage neither expected nor intended from the
standpoint of the insured.” In turn, “property damage” is defined
as “physical injury to or destruction of tangible property which
occurs during ti.e policy period.”

Indiana Gas has identified three potential sources of
contamination associated with the manufactured gas plants (MGP):
(1) land disposal of MGP waters; (2) manufactured gas plant
operations; and (3) decommissioning activities. There was
contamination at each of the sites in question from the time that
the contaminants first entered the groundwater and plaintiffs
maintain that that contamination continues to the present day.

The specific sources of groundwater contamination at each
site have been identified by Indiana Gas’s hydrogeology expert,

30a

Appendix B

Dr. Thomas Prickett. Dr. Prickett conducted a hyrodgeologic study
of groundwater flow and contaminant migration. According to him,
the study provided the “most certain indication as to when and
how [MGP] chemicals impacted the groundwater and migrated
off the MGP sites.”'

With respect to each of the sites which are at issue in the
presently pending motion for partial summary judgment, the
following is undisputed:

(1) The Seymour Site. An MGP was in operation from
1886 to 1931 and the plant was substantially
decommissioned prior to 1945. Dr. Prickett concluded
that the groundwater at the site was contaminated by
chemicals from the probable site sources by no later
than 1954, and that contamination was off-site by no
later than 1954.

(2) The Bedford Site. The MGP was in operation from
1900 to 1940 and substantially decommissioned prior
to 1945. Dr. Prickett concluded that the groundwater
at the site was contaminated by chemicals from the
probable site by no later than 1954 and that
contamination was off-site by no later than 1954.

(3) The Huntington Site. The MGP was in operation
from 1883 to 1926 and substantially decommissioned
by 1945. Dr. Prickett identifies the sole source of
groundwater contamination at the site as the
“dismantling of [a] holder and filling the base with MGP
materials about 1937.” Contaminants had entered the
groundwater and moved off-site in 1937.

|. To do this, Dr. Prickett focused on “the most widespread, fastest
moving and reoccurring chemicals at the site.”

5c i neat

3la

Appendix B

(4) The Lafayette Site. An MGP was in operation
from 1852 to 1937 and the plant substantially
decommissioned by 1945. Releases of hazardous
substances at the site resulted in off-site damage to
soil and/or groundwater no later than 1952.

(5) The Shelbyville Site. An MGP was in operation
from 1925 to 1946. Dr. Prickett concluded that the
groundwater at the site was contaminated by chemicals
from the probable site sources by no later than 1925

and that contaminants had moved off-site by no later
than 1940.

(6) The Richmond Site. An MGP was in operation
from 1855 to 1941. Dr. Prickett concluded that the
groundwater at the site was contaminated by chemicals
from the probable site sources by no later than 1914.

and that contaminants had moved off-site by no later
than 1919. el

(7) The Terre Haute Site. The MGP was in operation
from 1886 until the 1930s. Dr. Prickett concluded that
the groundwater at the site was contaminated by
chemicals from the probable site sources by no later
than 1899, and that contaminants had moved off-site
by no later than 1924.

Thus with respect to all of the foregoing sites, the groundwater
had become contaminated and the contaminants had begun to move
off-site by no later than the mid-1950s. There is, however, evidence
to suggest that the groundwater from the former MGPs is stil]
running into streams and rivers located near at least six of the
sites.

32a

Appendix B

Application of Law

As indicated at the outset, this matter is presently before the
Court on Ranger’s motion for partial summary judgment concerning
the issue of whether any property damage occurred during the
relevant policy periods, a motion in which several of the other
defendants have joined. After a review of the summary judgment
standards, the parties arguments will be addressed.

A. Summary Judgment Standards

Summary judgment is proper “if the pleadings, depositions,
answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with
the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any
material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment as
a matter of law.” Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c). However, Rule 56(c) is not a
requirement that the moving party negate his opponent’s claim.
Fitzpatrick v. Catholic Bishop of Chicago, 916 F.2d 1254, 1256
(7th Cir. 1990). Rule 56(c) mandates the entry of summary judgment,
after adequate time for discovery, against a party “who fails to
make a showing sufficient to establish the existence of an element
essential to that party’s case, and in which that party will bear the
burden of proof at trial.” Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317,
322, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552-53, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). The standard
for granting summary judgment mirrors the directed verdict
standard under Rule 50(a), which requires the court to grant a
directed verdict where there can be but one reasonable conclusion.
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 250, 106 S.Ct.
2505, 2511, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986). A scintilla of evidence in support
of the non-moving party’s position is not sufficient to successfully
oppose summary judgment; “there must be evidence on which the
jury could reasonably find for the plaintiff.” Id. at 252, 106 S.Ct. at
2512; Inre Matter of Wildman, 859 F.2d 553, 557 (7th Cir.1988);

ani

As ile
omar

ee

33a

Appendix B

Klein v. Ryan, 847 F.2d 368, 374 (7th Cir.1988); Valentine v. Joliet
Township High School District No. 204, 802 F.2d 981, 986 (7th
Cir. 1986). No genuine issue for trial exists “where the record as a
whole could not lead a rational trier of fact to find for the nonmoving
party.” Juarez v. Ameritech Mobile Communications, Inc., 957 F.2d
317, 322 (7th Cir.1992) (quoting Matsushita Electric Industrial Co.,
Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586, 106 S.Ct. 1348,
1356, 89 L.Ed.2d 538 (1986)).

Initially, Rule 56 requires the moving party to inform the court
of the basis for the motion, and to identify those portions of the
“pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admission
on file, together with the affidavits, if any, which demonstrate the
absence of a genuine issue of material fact.” C elotex, 477 U.S. at
323, 106 S.Ct. at 2553. The non-moving party may oppose the
motion with any of the evidentiary materials listed in Rule 56( c),
but reliance on the pleadings alone is not sufficient to withstand
summary judgment. Goka v. Bobbitt, 862 F.2d 646, 649 (7th
Cir.1988); Guenin v. Sendra Corp., 700 F.Supp. 973, 974
(N.D.Ind.1988); Posey v. Skyline Corp., 702 F.2d 102, 105 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 960, 104 S.Ct. 392, 78 L.Ed.2d 336
(1983). nie

So that the district court may readily determine whether there
are genuine issues of material fact, under Local Rule 56.1, the
moving party is obligated to file with the court a “Statement of
Material Facts” supported by appropriate citation to the record to
which the moving party contends there is no genuine issue. In
addition, the non-movant is obligated to file with the court a
“Statement of Genuine Issues” supported by appropriate citation
to the record all material facts to which the non-movant contends
there are exists a genuine issue necessary to be litigated. See

34a

Appendix B

Waldridge v. American Hoechst Corp. et al., 24 F.3d 918 (7th
Cir.1994). In ruling on a summary judgment motion the court accepts
as true the non-moving party’s evidence, draws all legitimate
inferences in favor of the non-moving party, and does not weigh
the evidence or the credibility of witnesses. Anderson, 477 U.S. at
249-51, 106 S.Ct. at 2511. However, “[i]t is a gratuitous cruelty to
parties and their witnesses to put them through the emotional ordeal
of a trial when the outcome is foreordained,” and in such cases
summary judgment is appropriate. Mason v. Continental Illinois
Nat’l Bank, 704 F.2d 361, 367 (7th Cir. 1983).

Irrelevant or unnecessary facts do not preclude summary
judgment even when they are in dispute because the issue of fact
must be genuine. Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c), (e). To establish a genuine
issue of fact, the non-moving party “must do more than simply
show that there is some metaphysical doubt as to the material
facts.” Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 586, 106 S.Ct. at 1356; First National
Bank of Cicero v. Lewco Securities Corp., 860 F.2d 1407, 1411
(7th Cir.1988). The non-moving party must come forward with
specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial. Id. A
summary judgment determination is essentially an inquiry as to
“whether the evidence presents a sufficient disagreement to require
submission to a jury or whether it is so one-sided that one party
must prevail as a matter of law.” Anderson, 477 U.S. at 251-52,
106 S.Ct. at 2512.

B. Property Damage During the Policy Period

“Under Indiana law, the interpretation of an insurance policy
presents a question of law to be decided by the court.” Cincinnati
Ins. v. Flanders Elec. Motor Service, 40 F.3d 146, 151 (7th Cir.1994)
(citing Tate v. Secura Ins., 587 N.E.2d 665, 668 (Ind. 1992). “The

35a

~ Sn 1 aie a

Appendix B

insured has the initial burden of proving coverage under an insurance
policy.” Flanders at 151 (citing Southbend Escan Corp. v. Federal
Ins. Co., 647 F.Supp. 962, 966 (N.D.Ind. 1986)). Here, there is no
dispute that plaintiffs’ right to coverage under the insurance
contracts is only “triggered” if there was property damage during
an insurer’s policy period.

“Trigger of coverage” has been defined as follows:

“ “[T] rigger of coverage’ has been used by insureds
and insurer alike to denote the circumstances that
activate the insurer’s defense and indemnity obligations
under the policy. The term ‘trigger of coverage’ should
not be misunderstood as a doctrine to be automatically
invoked by the court to conclusively establish coverage
in certain categories of cases, or under certain types
of policies. The word ‘trigger’ is not found in the CGL
policies themselves. . . . Instead, ‘trigger of coverage’
is a term of convenience used to describe that which,
under the specific terms of an insurance policy, must
happen in the policy period in order for the potential of
coverage to arise. The issue is largely one of timing —
what must take place within the policy’s effective dates
for the potential of coverage to be ‘triggered.’ ”

Montrose Chem. Corp. v. Admiral Ins. Co., 10 Cal.4th 645, 42
Cal.Rptr.2d 324, 327 n. 2, 913 P.2d 878, 881 n. 2 (1995). Four
principal theories regarding trigger of coverage have been
recognized:

If coverage is triggered at the time that personal injury
or property damage becomes known to the victim or

36a

Appendix B

property owner, the approach is identified as the
‘manifestation theory.’ If coverage is triggered when
real personal injury or actual property damage first
occurs, the approach is called the injury in fact theory.
If coverage is triggered when the first exposure to
injury- causing conditions occur then the court is said
to have chosen the ‘exposure theory.’ Finally, if
coverage is triggered in a manner such that insurance
policies in effect during different time periods all impose
a duty to indemnify, then the approach is labeled a
‘continuous’ or ‘multiple’ trigger theory.

Dow Chemical Co. v. Associated Indemnity Corp., 724 F.Supp.
474, 478 (E.D.Mich.1989) (citations omitted).*

Given that there are at least four approaches to determine
when coverage is “triggered,” courts have taken different views
as to when coverage attaches in the context of environmental
contamination cases. For example, just last year, in Montrose, supra,
the California Supreme Court determined that the proper approach
is the continuous injury trigger theory. Montrose, 42 Cal.Rptr.2d at
pp. 348-50, 913 P.2d at pp. 902-04; see also Chemical Leaman
Tank Lines, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., 89 F.3d 976,
994-95 (3rd Cir. 1996). Conversely, and also last year, the Minnesota
Supreme Court in SCSC Corp. v. Allied Mutual Insurance Co.,
536 N.W.2d 305, 318 (Minn.1995), employed the actual injury
theory in determining how to allocate damages resulting from a
spill which lead to continual leaching. See also, Armotek Industries
v. Employers Ins. of Wausau, 952 F.2d 756 (3rd Cir.1991).

2. The “continuous”’ or “multiple” trigger theory has also been
referred to as the “triple trigger theory” because it expresses the notion
that the injury occurs during each of three phases of environmental
contamination — exposure, exposure in residence and manifestation.

|
|

37a

Appendix B

In the present matter Indiana Gas, not surprisingly, argues
that the “multiple trigger” theory should apply here so that it can
seek coverage under policies which became effective long after
the manufactured gas plants had been decommissioned. In support
of that position, Indiana Gas points to Eli Lilly & Co. v. Hore Ins.
Co., 482 N.E.2d 467 (Ind.1985) as the controlling Indiana law.

In this Court’s view, Eli Lilly, a case involving DES, is not
dispositive in this environmental case. In Dana Corporation v.
Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co. et al., No. 49DO1-9301-CP-
0026 (Marion Super. Sept. 10, 1996), the Marion Superior Court
cogently indicated why Eli Lilly can be limited to its facts:

“[T]he Indiana cases addressing the trigger issue does
10t require the Court to adopt a continuous trigger in
this case. Eli Lilly & Co. v. Home Ins. Co., 482 N.E.2d
467 (Ind.1985), the principal authority relied on by
[plaintiff], adopted a continuous trigger in the context
of progressive, DES-related diseases. That case is
distinguishable, however. The Court in Eli Lilly found
that the relevant policy language was ambiguous as it
relates to DES claims — it was not clear whether the
initial in utero exposure to DES (which must have
caused some injury, since the exposure was not
repeated, and allegedly caused numerous diseases 20
years later) was the relevant injury for coverage
purposes, or whether the subsequent manifestation of

3. The decision in Dana was brought to this Court’s attention as an
attachment to a letter for counsel from London Market Insurers dated
September 16, 1996. Indiana Gas, ina letter to this Court dated September
19, 1996, addressed the issues raised in the Dana decision. Both letters
have been made a part of the record in this cause.

CO

38a

Appendix B

disease was the relevant injury. In the environmental
property damage context, however, there is no such
ambiguity — it is not a question of which injury counts,
but of when injury results. The Court in Eli Lilly did
not suggest that coverage was first triggered when a
doctor prescribed DES, or when a mother purchased
the drug. Instead, the trigger period began at the date
of the earliest actual injury.”

Id. at pp. 351-52, 913 P.2dat pp. 905-06 (italics in original); see
also Armotek supra at 763 (discussing the “unique character” of
the problem created by policy language in the context of diseases
with long latency periods as opposed to chemical contamination
cases). This Court agrees with the foregoing language in Dana.

Further support for this Court’s conclusion that Eli Lilly is not
dispositive in this action can be found in the Indiana Court of
Appeals post- Eli Lilly decision of Great Lakes Chemical Corp. v.
International Surplus Lines Ins. Co., 638 N.E.2d 847
(Ind.App.1994). There, the court addressed the trigger issue in
the context of a case involving the pesticide EDB. The court in
Great Lakes indicated that it agreed with the “general rule” that
“the time of the occurrence of an accident within the meaning of
an indemnity policy is not the time the wrongful act was committed
but the time when the complaining party was actually damaged.”
Id. at 854. Thus, on the facts before it, the court wrote that “the
general rule simply holds that the time when the EDB pesticides
were manufactured is not the time of the occurrence which triggers
coverage, but the trigger for coverage is the time when the
complaining party was damaged. Here, the City was damaged
when the EDB pesticides were applied to the soil and contaminated
the groundwater.” Id.

39a

Appendix B

Likewise here, the damage occurred when the property was
contaminated, an event which occurred long before any of the
relevant policies were issued. Indiana Gas’s own expert, Dr.
Prickett, admitted that the groundwater underlying each of the seven
sites was contaminated and had contaminated third party property
before the inception of the policies. No pollutants which could
have caused third party property damage were ever discharged
at the sites during any policy period because there were no MGP
operations during those periods (the plants had been
decommissioned) and Dr. Prickett has indicated that the sources
of contamination were in existence and had already contaminated
the groundwater and third party property before any policy period.
Thus, under Great Lakes, present defendants’ policies can not be
triggered because the third party damage occurred before any

policy period.

In reaching the foregoing conclusion that there was no property
damage which occurred during the policy period as required by
the policies, this Court is not unmindful of Indiana Gas’s argument
to the effect that there is evidence to Suggest that groundwater
from the former manufactured gas plants is running into bodies of
water which surround the sites. This, however, does not salvage
their claim.

In Inland Waters Pollution Control, Inc. v. National Union Fire
Insurance Co., 997 F.2d 172 (6th Cir.1991),* the United States
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit was presented with, and
rejected, a similar argument. There, drums containing liquid wastes
were crushed during the first two months of 198] allowing the
wastes to leak into the soil. An examination six years later by the

4. This decision was originally unpublished but was subsequently
published as an appendix to Inland Waters Pollution Control Inc. vy.
National Union Fire Ins. Co., 997 F.2d 172 (6th Cir.] 993).

40a

Appendix B

state department of natural resources revealed significant
contamination. The policyholder sued its insurer under a policy
which became effective some six months after the leak had
occurred arguing that “the definition of ‘occurrence’ in the policies
[was] broad enough to cover the damage to [the] property which
was continually occurring during the policy periods as
contaminants migrated through the soil and groundwater.” Id. p.
182. The policy at issue (similar to that here) provided that
coverage is triggered by property damage which occurred during
the policy period. With respect to the allegation of continual leakage
into the groundwater, the Sixth Circuit wrote:

Concerning damage to the groundwater, we hold that
the district court erred by granting summary judgment
because there is a genuine issue of material fact
regarding when the groundwater first became
contaminated. Although Inland Waters allowed liquid
waste to escape into the soil in January or February
1981, it cannot be determined from the present record
the length of time required for the contaminants to filter
through the soil and reach the groundwater. If evidence
establishes that the groundwater was first
contaminated after August 1981, there could be
coverage under the occurrence policy, and National
Union could be liable for breach of the duty to defend.
On the other hand, if evidence established that the
groundwater first became contaminated before
August 1981, there would be no coverage, and,
hence, no duty to defend. Accordingly, we reverse
and remand the case to the district court for resolution

4la

Appendix B

of the question of fact as to when the groundwater
first became contaminated.

Id. at p. 187 (italics added)

Here, there is no dispute that at all of the sites in question, the
contamination occurred and the groundwater was affected prior
to the policies at issue. While there still may be some continuing
effect on the groundwater, there is no evidence that any new
pollutants that could have damaged third party property were ever
added to the environment during any of the policies at issue. Cf.
Armotek supra 952 F.2d at 763 (regarding failure “to prove that
separable injury to property occurred after 1979 as the chromic
acid migrated underground”).

Conclusion

In light of the foregoing, defendant Ranger Insura*ce
Company’s July 10, 1996, “Motion for Partial Summary Judgment
Concerning ‘Property Damage During the Policy Period’” is
GRANTED. Summary Judgment is also entered on this issue in
favor of all defendants who have joined in that motion.

5. A similar result was reached in SCSC Corp. supra. There, the
actual injury to third party property occurred as a result of a 1977 spill.
Despite the “continual leaching of chemicals from the soil into the
groundwater,” the Minnesota Supreme Court reversed the trial court’s
application of a “multi-year vertical trigger” which would have triggered
ail policies on the risk during the leaching and found that only the policies
in effect in 1977 were liable. 536 N.W.2d at 318.

42a

Appendix B

INDIANA GAS COMPANY, INC., et al.,
Plaintiffs,

Vv.

AETNA CASUALTY & SURETY COMPANY, etal.,
Defendants.

Civil No. 1:95cv101.

United States District Court,
N.D. Indiana,
Fort Wayne Division.

Oct. 2, 1996.

* * *

ORDER
WILLIAM C. LEE, District Judge.

This matter is before the court on the defendants’ (London
Market Insurers) “Motion for Summary Judgment on All Policies
for Plaintiffs’ Failure to Establish a Fortuitous Accident or
Occurrence”, filed on July 10, 1996.' The parties completed briefing
the motion on August 9,1996.

—

1. Other defendants have joined defendant London Market Insurers’
motion for summary judgment.

43a

Appendix B

Summary Judgment

Summary judgment is proper “if the pleadings, depositions,
answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with
the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any
material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment
as a matter of law.” Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c). However, Rule 56(c) is
not a requirement that the moving party negate his opponent’s
claim. Fitzpatrick v. Catholic Bishop of Chicago, 916 F.2d 1254,
1256 (7th Cir.1990). Rule 56(c) mandates the entry of summary
judgment, after adequate time for discovery, against a nartv “who
fails to make a showing sufficient to establish the existence cfan
element essential to that party’s case, and in which that party will
bear the burden of proof at trial.” Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477
U.S. 317, 322, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986).
The standard for granting summary judgment mirrors the directed
verdict standard under Rule 50(a), which requires the court to
grant a directed verdict where there can be but one reasonable
conclusion. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 250,
106 S.Ct. 2505, 2511, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986). A scintilla of
evidence in support of the non-moving party’s position is not
sufficient to successfully oppose summary judgment; “there must
be evidence on which the jury could reasonably find for the
plaintiff.” Id. In Re Matter of Wildman, 859 F.2d 553, 557 (7th
Cir.1988); Klein v. Ryan, 847 F.2d 368, 374 (7th Cir. 1988);
Valentine v. Joliet Township High School District No. 204, 802
F.2d 981, 986 (7th Cir.1986). No genuine issue for trial exists
“where the record as a whole could not lead a rational trier of
fact to find for the nonmoving party.” Juarez v. Ameritech Mobiiz
Communications, Inc., 957 F.2d 317, 322 (7th Cir.1 992) (quoting
Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,
475 U.S. 574, 586, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 1355-56, 89 L.Ed.2d 538
(1986)).

44a

Appendix B

Initially, Rule 56 requires the moving party to inform the
court of the basis for the motion, and to identify those portions of
the “pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and
admission on file, together with the affidavits, if any,” which
demonstrate the absence of a genuine issue of material fact,
Celotex, 477 U.S. at 323, 106 S.Ct. at 2552-53. The non- moving
party may oppose the motion with any of the evidentiary materials
listed in Rule 56(c), but reliance on the pleadings alone is not
sufficient to withstand summary judgment. Goka v. Bobbitt, 862
F.2d 646, 649 (7th Cir.1988); Guenin v. Sendra Corp., 700
F.Supp. 973, 974 (N.D.Ind.1988); Posey v. Skyline Corp., 702
F.2d 102, 105 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 960, 104 S.Ct.
392, 78 L.Ed.2d 336 (1983).

So that the district court may readily determine whether
genuine issues of material fact exist, under Local Rule 56.1, the
movtng party is obligated to file with the court a “Statement of
Material Facts” supported by appropriate citation to the record to
which the moving party contends no genuine issues exist. In
addition, the non-movant is obligated to file with the court a
“Statement of Genuine Issues” supported by appropriate citation
to the record outlining all material facts to which the non-movant
contends exist that must be litigated. See, Waldridge v. American
Hoechst Corp. et al., 24 F.3d 918 (7th Cir. 1994). In ruling ona
summary judgment n motion the court accepts as true the non-moving
party’s evidence, draws all legitimate inferences in favor of the
non-moving party, and does not weigh the evidence or the credibility
of witnesses. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 249-251, 106 S.Ct. at 2511.
Furthermore, in determining the motion for summary judgment, the
court will assume that the facts as claimed and supported by
admissible evidence by the moving party are admitted to exist
without controversy, except to the extent that such facts are
controveried in the “Statement of Genuine Issues” filed in opposition
to the motion. L.R. 56.1

MMe eke oy

4Sa

Appendix B

Substantive law determines which facts are material; that is,
which facts might affect the outcome of the suit under the governing
law. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 248, 106 S.Ct. at 2510. Irrelevant or
unnecessary facts do not preclude summary judgment even when
they are in dispute. Id. The issue of fact must be genuine.
Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c), (e). To establish a genuine issue of fact, the
non-moving party “must do more than simply show that there is
some metaphysical doubt as to the material facts.” Matsushita,
475 U.S. at 586, 106 S.Ct. at 1355-56; First National Bank of
Cicero v. Lewco Securities Corp., 860 F.2d 1407, 1411 (7th
Cir.1988). The non-moving party must come forward with specific
facts showing that there is a genuin: issue for trial. Id. A summary
judgment determination is essentially an inquiry as to “whether the
evidence presents a sufficient disagreement to require submission
to a jury or whether it is so one-sided that one party must prevail
as a matter of law.” Anderson, 477 U.S. at 251-252, 106 S.Ct. at
2511. Finally, the court notes that, “[i]t is a gratuitous cruelty to
parties and their witnesses to put them through the emotional ordeal
of a trial when the outcome is foreordained” and in such cases
summary judgment is appropriate. Mason v. Continental Illinois
Nat’ Bank, 704 F.2d 361, 367 (7th Cir.1983).

Discussion

The plaintiffs, Indiana Gas Company, Inc., Richmond Gas
Corporationand Terre Haute Gas Corporation(collectively“Indiana
Gas”), commenced this action by filing a complaint for declaratory
judgment and breach of contract because of the refusal of the five
remaining defendant insurance companies to pay claims for third-
party property damage tendered to them by Indiana Gas under
comprehensive general liability insurance policies. According to
Indiana Gas, the underlying property damage arises out of the
historical gas manufacturing operations that took place at certain
properties now owned by Indiana Gas.

46a

Appendix B

From the early 1800’s until natural gas became widely available
in the 1940’s and 1950's, gas for heating, lighting and cooking
was manufactured by superheating coal and, later, coal combined
with oil. During the manufactured gas era, more than 1,500 cities
and towns across the country had a town gas plant that
manufactured and stored gas until it was distributed directly to the
homes and businesses of the town through a pressurized
underground gas pipeline distribution system. The gas
manufacturing process created tar, as well as other residuals and
wastes, as a by-product. Unfortunately, the residuals, wastes and
by-products from the gas manufacturing process contained
hazardous constituents, such as benzene, which have been
discovered in the subsurface soil and groundwater at properties
where these manufactured gas plants (“MGPs”) were operated.
Nine such former MGP sites: Shelbyville, Lafayette, Bedford,
Greencastle, Huntington, Marion, Richmond, Seymour, and Terre
Haute, Indiana, are at issue in the claims for property damage
which underlie this lawsuit for insurance coverage.

Indiana Gas claims that it has incurred and will continue to
incur millions of dollars in liabilities as the result of state and federal
law requirements to respond to the property damage at and near
certain former MGP sites. According to Indiana Gas, damage to
groundwater beneath the former MGP sites from subsurface
leaching and migration began at most locations prior to 1955 and
continues to the present day.

In support of its motion for summary judgment, defendant
London Market Insurers (“LMI”) argues that the damages caused
by intentional acts are not covered by insurance under Indiana
law, as fortuity is inherent in every contract of insurance. LMI
takes the position that the “occurrences” or “accidents” which
Indiana Gas contends are covered under the policies are the

47a

Appendix B

continuing releases of hazardous substances which derived from
routine business operations and, thus, constitute intentional acts
rather than accidents. LMI argues that Indiana Gas mistakenly
focuses on the result of its intentional acts, by contending that
“occurrences” and “accidents” have taken place because of the
damages arising out of the deliberate and intentional acts associated
with the routine operations of MGPs.

LMI strongly contends that it must be shown that an “accident”
occurred before the inquiry focuses on the question of whether
any resultant damage was expected or intended, as required by
the relevant policies. LMI primarily relies on F idelity and Guar.
Ins. Underwriters, Inc. v. Everett I. Brown Co., L.P., 25 F.3d 484
(7th Cir.1994); Red Ball Leasing v. Hartford Accident & Idem.
Co., 915 F.2d 306 (7th Cir. 1990); and Transamerica Ins. Serv. v.
Kopko, 570 N.E.2d 1283 (Ind.1991). This case law clearly supports
LMI’s position.

In Brown, the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals expressly
acknowledged the distinction between the issue of whether an act
is an “accident”, and the issue of whether the damages arising
from that act are “expected or intended”. In reconciling two Indiana
appellate decisions with Red Ball Leasing, an earlier Seventh Circuit
opinion, the Court explained that:

At first glance, it may appear that Bolin [v. State Farm
Fire & Casualty Co., 557 N.E.2d 1084
(Ind.Ct.App.1990) ] and [Auto Owners Ins. Co. v.]
Stroud, [565 N.E.2d 1093 (Ind.Ct.App.1991) ], are
inconsistent with Red Ball Leasing. However, a more
exacting look reveals that these cases are not
inconsistent. In both Bolin and Stroud, the insurance
companies argued that there was no “occurrence”

48a

Appendix B

because the insured had “expected or intended” to
cause the injury in question. In Red Ball Leasing,
however, the insurance company did not argue that
the insured “expected or intended” to cause injury.
Rather, the insurance company contended that there
was no “occurrence” because Red Ball had engaged
in intentional conduct which was not an “accident”. In
essence, the Indiana courts have focused on different
terms in the definition of “occurrence” than we have.

Brown, 25 F.3d at 483. The Seventh Circuit then continued with
the following language:

Moreover, the Indiana Supreme Court recently held
that intentional conduct is not “accidental” and thus
not an “occurreace.” (Citing Transamerica Ins. Servs.
v. Kopko, 570 N.E.2d 1283 (Ind.1991)).

Id.

Red Ball Leasing, which was discussed in Brown, is an earlier
Seventh Circuit opinion which held that a volitional act is not an
“accident”. In Red Ball Leasing, a truck leasing company
repossessed leased trucks after an accounting system erroneously
indicated that lease payments had not been made on the trucks.
The lessee subsequently sued Red Ball Leasing for conversion,
breach of contract, aad interference with business opportunities.
Red Ball Leasing recuested that its insurance carrier represent it
in the action. The Seventh Circuit affirmed the district court’s grant
of summary judgment in favor of the insurer, concluding that: “Even
if the mistake in Red Ball’s accounting procedures triggered the
chain of events that ultimately led to the repossession, the decision
to take the trucks--an intentional act of Red Ball — is not an

49a

Appendix B

‘accident’ under the terms of the insurance policy.” 915 F.2d at
311-12.

The holding in Red Ball Leasing was reaffirmed in City of
Jasper, Ind. v. Employers Ins. of Wausau, 987 F.2d 453, 457 (7th
Cir. 1994): Sas

An “accident” for our purposes is defined as “an
unusual, unexpected, and unforeseen event.” Red Ball
Leasing, 915 F.2d at 309; 11 Couch, supra, § 44:288 at
433. The incident at issue does not satisfy this definition.
What happened here, stripped to its essentials, is that
an “action,” not an “accident”, of the City granted Mr.
Habig the right to build two duplexes on his land, to the
unhappiness of his neighbors who thereupon filed suit.
The action was taken purportedly in harmony with the
City’s zoning regulations, and Habig acted on that in
constructing the duplexes. Plainly, by the allegations
of the complaint itself, the City’s action was prompted
by its conclusion that it was authorized by the zoning
ordinance and quite as plainly after much litigation, the
Court of Appeals of Indiana concluded that it was not.
(Footnote omitted). But the City’s error and the fact
that the property damage could have been avoided does
not transform the intended action into an “accident”.
“A volitional act does not become an accident simply
because the insured’s negligence prompted the act.”
Red Ball Leasing, 915 F.2d at 311.

Red Ball Leasing was also followed by Judge McKinney of
the Southern District of Indiana in Allstate Ins. Co. v. Norris, 795
F.Supp. 272 (S.D.Ind.1992). In Norris, the insured shot a bystander
while attempting to “pin down” aa assailant. The insurer sou ghta

50a
Appendix B

declaration that the insured’s homeowner’s policy did not cover
the bystander’s injuries because the injuries were not the result
of an “accident”. The policy at issue in Norris provided that
“Allstate will pay damages which an insured person becomes
legally obligated to pay because of bodily injury or property
damage arising from an accident and covered by this part of the
policy.” (Emphasis added.)

After discussing the facts of Red Ball Leasing, Judge
McKinney stated:

Under the Red Ball analysis, Duane’s injuries here
c. arly diz not result from an accident, and therefore
are not covered under Norris’s policy. This result obtains
even if one assumes that Norris did not fire his gun at
anyone in particular, because it is undisputed that he
meant to fire his gun, and that he meant to fire it in the
direction of the house where Duane was standing.
Norris’s actions therefore were volitional, and clearly
not accidental, whether or not their consequences were
unforeseen. Thus, Duane’s injuries are not covered.

795 F.Supp. at 275.

Similarly, in Terre Haute First Nat’l Bank v. Pacific Employers
Insurance Co., 634 N.E.2d 1336, 1338 (Ind.App. 1993), the Indiana
Court of Appeals stated:

The Policy states simply that “‘[o]ccurrence’ means
an accident.” In the context of insurance coverage, an
accident means an unexpected happening without an
intention or design. National Mutual Insurance Co. v.
Eward (1987), Ind.App., 517 N.E.2d 95, 100. Elkins’

Sla
Appendix B

complaint alleged the Bank’s negligence and breach
of fiduciary duty in acting as his guardian. In other
words, the claim against the Bank arose from a
professional relationship and not from an accident. The
Bank’s purported professional negligence in acting as
Elkins’ guardian cannot be an accident in the plain and
ordinary meaning of that term.

Indiana Gas, however, has taken the position that the
“accident” for which it seeks coverage is the unexpected and
unintended centinuous migration of MGP by-productsand residuals
through tie seil and groundwater and the property damage that
has taken place as a result of that migration. In spite ox the strong
Seventh Circuit precedent discussed above, Indiana Gas relies on
Stillwell v. Brock Brothers Inc., 736 F.Supp. 201 (S.D.Ind.1990),
for the proposition that it is the damage and not the fortuitous act,
which constitutes an “accident”. In Stillwell, the plaintiff
homeowne1 3 had their house re-roofed by the defendant in May of
1987. The re-roofing was performed in a negligent manner, and
when the plaintiffs first turned on the gas furnace in their house in
October of 1987, they suffered personal injury from smoke and
fumes that became trapped in the house as a result of the negligent
re-roofing. Although the plaintiffs’ insurance policy had terminated
on August 10, 1987, they sought coverage under the policy. 736
F.Supp. at 204, 205. The district court granted summary judgment
in favor of the insurance company, finding that the term “accident”
was not ambiguous, and ruling that:

“[A}ecident” refers to the fruits of a negligent act, not
to the sowing of the seeds. It is consequence, not cause,
that constitutes an accident. Transamerica’s failure to
define “accident” within the policy does not render the
word ambiguous.

736 F.Supp. at 206.

52a

Appendix B

In reply to Indiana Gas’ reliance on Stillwell, LMI points out
that the district court in Stillwell did not have the benefit of the
Brown, Red Ball, or Kopko decisions. After careful consideration
of all the relevant case law, this court finds the case law supporting
LMI’s position (and discussed extensively supra ) to be the better
reasoned opinions. Clearly, an intentional act, even one that causes
damage, is simply not an accident, even though the damage itself
may have been unexpected or unintended.

Other states, including California, have recognized this
principle. For example, in IMCERA Group, Inc. v. Liberty Mutual
Insurance Co., 10 Mealy’s Litigation Reports — Insurance # 18
(Calif.Ct. of App.2d Dist. Div. 1) (March 12, 1996), review granted,
54 Cal.Rptr.2d 41, 917 P.2d 1164 the California Court of Appeals
held that:

Even if an “accident” under Liberty’s 1967-1971
policies can be a gradual (non-sudden) event, it
definitely cannot be an intentional act. (See Shell Oil
Co. [v. Winterthur Swiss Ins. Co., supra, 12 Cal.App.4th
[715] at pp. 748- 751 [15 Cal.Rptr.2d 815 (1993) ] ).
In this case, the trial court found that IMCERA
intentionally discharged pollutants onto the soil and that
“{a]ny accidents were purely incidental to normal
operation of any manufacturing plant and did not change
the picture of gradual pollution over time.”
Consequently, because the cause of the property
damage was intentional, not accidental, no coverage
or duty to indemnify existed under the policies. The
fact that some “incidental” accidents may have
contributed to the contamination does not change this
result. “[A] company which engages in systematic
pollution as a concomitant of its normal business

ate ae we Cees ae Tae

53a

Appendix B

practice cannot claim that such pollution was
‘accidental’ ”. (N.H. Ball Bearings v. Aetna Cas. and
Sur. Co. (1st Cir.1995) 43 F.3d 749, 754, discussing
Great Lakes Container v. National Union Fire Ins. (1st
Cir. 1984) 727 F.2d 30, 33; accord, Lumbermens Mut.
v. Belleville Industries (1st Cir.1991) 938 F.2d 1423,
1428-1430 [where manufacturer engaged in intentional,
continuous pattern of pollution as part of business
operation, occasional accident resulting in pollution did
not confer coverage under liability policy], cert. den.
502 U.S. 1073 [112 S.Ct. 969, 117 L.Ed.2d 134
(1992) }.)

IMCERA at 54-55 (footnotes omitted).

Moreover, the distinction between an “accident” or fortuity
(the act) and “damages” (the result) is inherent in every contract
of insurance. As stated by R.E. Keeton in Insurance Law:

A requirement that loss be accidental in some sense in
order to qualify as the occasion for liability of an insurer
is implicit, when not express, because of the very nature
of insurance.

R.E. Keeton, Insurance Law § 5.4(a), at 288 (1971), quoted in
Ostrager & Newman, Handbook on Insurance Coverage Disputes
§ 8.02(a], at 308 (8th ed. 1995). Thus, it is clear that it is imperative
for an “accident” to have occurred before the issue of whether
the damages resulting therefrom were expected or intended need
even be considered.

In the present case, Indiana Gas has not made any showing
that the acts causing the damages at issue were not intentional.

-S4a

Appendix B

Rather, Indiana Gas claims that there is no “intentional acts”
exclusion in the policies, and that at least one of the defendants
has acknowledged that its policies cover the unintended
consequences of intentional acts. Indiana Gas relies heavily on
Aetna’s ten-year old internal claims handling manual, which states
that:

[I]t is important to understand that intentional acts of
an insured may not be excluded. It is only when the
resulting bodily injury or property damage is expected
or intended from the standpoint of the insured that
coverage is excluded for failure to satisfy the
occurrence definition. This is a question of fact and
often involves a degree of uncertainty.

Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co., Commercial Technical Claim Manual,
§ F-1 at F-1-18 (June 1986).

In its reply brief, LMI first points out that Aetna’s claim manual
is not pertinent to the policies issued by any defendant other than
Aetna. Further, LMI argues that the language of the policies at
issue is clear and unambiguous and, thus, extrinsic evidence cannot
properly be considered by this court. This court agrees with LMI.

Citing to Freeman v. Commonwealth Life Ins. Co., 149
Ind.App. 211,271 N.E.2d 177 (1971) and Weinand v. Johnson, 622
N.E.2d 1321 (Ind.App.1993), Indiana Gas argues that the Indiana
courts have found the term “accident” to be ambiguous. However,
as LMI notes, in Weinand, the Indiana court simply acknowledged
that in Indiana it is reversible error to instruct the jury that a plaintiff
may not recover if his damages are the result ofa “mere” or “pure”
accident. The Weinand court went on to state that “[s]uch
instructions are misleading because they suggest that a defendant

55a

Appendix B

is not liable for causing a ‘mere accident,’ even though the
defendant may have been negligent in causing the ‘accident.’”
622 N.E.2d at 1324-25. Clearly, Weinand is not applicable to the
present case.

Likewise, Freeman held that the term “accident” is ambiguous
to laypersons because the term is often used to describe events
caused by negligence and fault. Thus, with respect to a contract
of adhesion, “reasonable foreseeability” was held to not be the
proper test for determining whether the means by which an injury
or death was caused was “accidental”. 271 N.E.2d at 184. As the
present case does not involve a life insurance policy, Freeman has
little (ifany, -pplicability to the present case. Moreover, language
such as that used in the insurance contractsat issue here was held
to be unambiguous by the Indiana Supreme Court in Kopko, supra,
and also by the Stillwell court.

Indiana Gas has also relied on Eli Lilly Co. v. Home Ins. Co.,
482 N.E.2d 467 (Ind.1985), in support of its position that the term
“accident” is ambiguous. However, as LMI argues, the Eli Lilly
court did not consider whether the bodily injury in that case was
an “accident”. Thus, the court had no occasion to determine
whether the term “accident” was ambiguous. Rather, the Eli Lilly
court held that the determination of when the injury occurred for
purposes of the relevant policies was ambiguous, as at least two
possible time considerations, exposure and manifestation, were
relevant. As it was presumed that Eli Lilly did not intentionally
manufacture a product that would injure people, the sole issue was
which policies were required to respond to the claim, not whether
any policies would respond.

Indiana Gas also cites to Indiana Ins. Co. v. O.K. Transport,
Inc., 587 N.E.2d 129 (Ind.App.1992), for the proposition that “a

56a

Appendix B

split of authority among court decisions in construing a term in an
insurance policy demonstrates that the term is ambiguous as a
matter of law.” (Answer brief at p. 7). In O.K. Transport, the
court stated that “[b]ased on the policy language alone, we are
unable to conclude which result was intended by the parties. Both
interpretations strike us as reasonable.” 587 N.E.2d at 132. The
court then noted that other courts were fairly equally divided on
the issue, and then cited a sampling of cases “as examples
supporting the proposition that reasonably intelligent people can
differ” about the contract language at issue. Id. The O.K. Transport
court did not, as Indiana Gas argues, hold that the split of authority
conclusively demonstrated that the policy language was ambiguous.

Additionally, as LMI recognizes, this court has recently
rejected the approach advocated by Indiana Gas. In United Capitol
Ins. Co. v. Special Trucks, Inc., 918 F.Supp. 1250 (N.D.Ind.1996),
this court conducted a lengthy analysis of several terms in an
insurance policy. Only after first looking for Indiana precedent did
this court then search for decisions in other jurisdictions and
considered those cases pro and con to the parties’ respective
positions. Id. at 1255. This court did not first look to see whether
other courts were split on the issue and then mechanically rule in
favor of the policyholder. LMI suggests that, just as in United
Capitol, this court should first look to see whether any Seventh
Circuit precedent exists holding the “occurrence” definition to be
unambiguous as a matter of Indiana law.

In Red Ball Leasing, supra, 915 F.2d at 308-09, the Seventh
Circuit found language similar to the language at issue in the present
case to be clear and unambiguous. Later in Brown, 25 F.3d at 486-
87, the Seventh Circuit reaffirmed Red Ball Leasing, finding no
ambiguity in a policy defining an “occurrence” as “an accident. . .
which results in bodily injury or property damage. . . .”

‘Bezel

57a :

Appendix B

This court will follow Red Ball Leasing and Brown, and thus
finds the term “accident” to be clear and unambiguous. Therefore,
Indiana Gas’ citation to extrinsic evidence is improper, as extrinsic
evidence is inadmissible where no ambiguity exists in the contract.
City of Evansville v. Old State Util. Corp., 550 N.E.2d 1339, 1342
(Ind.App.1990).

Certain of LMI’s policies contain the following definition of
the term “occurrence”, in these words or in substantially similar

language:

The term “occurrence” whenever used herein shall
mean one happening or series of happenings, arising
out of or due to one event taking place during the term
of this contract.

LMI has taken the position that this wording requires that a
“causative event” take place during the policy period, regardless
of when any third party property damage takes place. In support
of this interpretation, LMI cites to Pacific Resources Inc. v.
Oswego Shipping Corporation, No. 81 CIV. 7971, 1984 WL 928
(S.D.N.Y. Sept. 26, 1984); Babcock & Wilcox Co. v. Arkwright-
Boston Mfg. Mutual Ins. Co., No. 5:91CV 0987 (E.D.Ohio, August
19, 1993), aff'd 53 F.3d 762 (6th Cir. 1995); and Public Service
Elec. & Gas Co. v. Certain Underwniters at Lloyd’s London, (“PSE
& G “) Civ. Action 88- 4811 (JCL) (D.N.J.1994).

In Pacific Resources, an insurance policy defined
“occurrence” as a “happening or series of happenings, arising out
of or due to one event taking place during the term of this policy.”
The issue involved coverage for the loss of a vessel which was
sold in 1975 by an entity which knew it to be unseaworthy. Cracks
developed in the vessel’s side plates during a voyage two years

58a

Appendix B

later, in 1977. An explosion resulted and the vessel sank. The district
court held that the policy applicable to the loss was the 1975 policy
which was in effect when the vessel was sold, rather than the
policy in effect when the vessel sank. The district court explained
that the policy was an “occurrence” policy rather than a “claims-
made” policy, and thus protected the insured from liability for any
act done while the policy was in effect. In contrast, a “claims
made” policy protects the insured against claims made during the
life of the policy. The district court then specifically held:

As discussed above, the “event” giving rise to the
plaintiffs’ loss was the sale of the vessel with the
alleged nondisclosures. The fact that the “happening”
which precipitated the claim occurred in 1977 when
the 1975 policy was no longer in effect does not prevent
plaintiff from recovering under the 1975 policy. The
liability arose out of an event which occurred in 1975
when the policy was in effect.

Pacific Resources, 1984 WL 928 at *4.

In Babcock & Wilcox, as in Pacific Resources and the case
at bar, the term “occurrence” was defined to mean “any happening
or series of happenings, arising out of or due to one event taking
place during the term of this contract. . . .” The plaintiff/insured
claimed that the definition of “occurrence” did not require that the
event which was the cause of the personal injury to occur during
the policy term, but rather, the policy required that the happening
(the injury) occur during the policy period. The Babcock & Wilcox
court discussed this policy language, and the plaintiff/insured’s
interpretation thereof, as follows:

Broken into its components, the definition of
occurrence has four relevant parts: “[1] any happening

Se

Fa i a tad

59a

Appendix B

or series of happenings, [2] arising out of or due to [3]
one event [4] taking place during the term of this
contract.” Plaintiff's analysis focusses primarily upon
the first and third portions of the definition.

Such an interpretation requires the court to ignore the
plain import of the sentence; it would have this court
apply a phrase at the end of the sentence to a phrase
at the beginning of the sentence without regard to any
of the material which lies between. Given the fact that
the temporal restriction follows the term “event” and
is contained in an independent phrase separated from
the description of happening by a comma, the plain
meaning of the sentence is that the event, not the
happening, must occur during the term of the contract.

Id. at 27. This portion of the district court’s opinion was adopted
by the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals. See 53 F.3d at 766.

Finally, in PSE & G, the New Jersey District Court had before
it an action involving a declaratory judgment for alleged liability
arising out of historic manufactured gas operations. The policies
at issue defined the term “occurrence” to mean “one happening or
series of happening arising out of or caused by one event taking
place during the term of this contract.” This language is identical
to the language in the present case, as well as the language in
Babcock & Wilcox and Pacific Resources, except the defining
phrase does not have a comma after the word “happening”.
Nevertheless, the court followed Babcock & Wilcox and Pacific
Resources, stating that:

The Court is satisfied that, absent the comma, the
definition of “occurrence” in the 1975-79 policies

60a

Appendix B

should be interpreted the same as the corresponding
definitions in Pacific Resources and Babcock &
Wilcox, to require that the “event” take place during
the policy period. Further, the Court finds that the
“event” alluded to in the policy definition refers to
the contamination itself, such as a leak or spill, and
not to any subsequent leaching or migration of
contaminants. Rather, under the definition leaching
or migration would qualify as the “happening or series
of happenings arising out of ... [the] event.”
Therefore, the Court holds that the 1975-79 policies
may be triggered only if Public Service is able to
present evidence that an “event” as described in the
policy definition of “occurrence,” occurred during
the policy period.

Id. at 12-13.

Indiana Gas argues that the “occurrence” definition in the
policies at issue is ambiguous and must be construed in favor of
Indiana Gas. Indiana Gas cites to Northern Shipping Co. v.
Arkwright Boston Manufacturers Mutual Insurance Company, 617
F.Supp. 136, 138 (E.D.Pa.1985), in support of its argument.
However, in Northern Shipping, the district court did not rule that
the “occurrence” language was ambiguous. Rather, the district
court simply applied the language as it was written in the policy to
the facts of the case before it. Indiana Gas also cites to Commercial
Union Ins. v. Pittsburgh Corning Corp., 553 F.Supp. 425, 434 n. 23
(E.D.Pa.1981). The Commercial Union court simply stated, without
discussion, that “the policy is unclear on whether the ‘occurrence’
or the ‘injury’ must occur during the policy period. This ambiguity
also must be construed in the insured’s favor.” This court first
notes that in Northern Shipping, the court did not follow its own

6la

Appendix B

decision in Commercial Union. Thus, this court finds Commercial
Union to be of little value. Additionally, a decision relied upon by
Indiana Gas in support of its argument that the “causative event”
need not take place during the policy period, Washington Natural
Gas Co. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., No. 91-2-13506-1
(Wash.Super.Ct., King Cty. Sept. 23, 1993), reported in Mealey’s
Lit.Rep.: Insurance, Vol. 7, Iss. 44 (Sept. 28, 1993) at p. 5, Sec. F.,
involved the exact same policy language as is present in the case
at bar. The Washington Natural Gas court stated:

The Stone & Webster policies contained language that
may properly be portrayed as verbose or even
redundant, but it is not language which is either
ambiguous or in need of strained rules of construction.

Id. at 8. This court agrees that the language in the policy is not
ambiguous.’

LMI acknowledges that the Washington Natural Gas court
held that an “event” could be a “process” and “[a]s long as the
process is continuous and is taking place during some or all of the
term of the contract, it is covered.” Id. However, LMI urges this
court to follow the reasoning set forth in Babcock & Wilcox and
PSE & G.

2. On August 9, 1996, LMI filed a motion to strike Exhibit 16 to
Indiana Gas’ answer brief. Exhibit 16 consists of the trial testimony of
Leslie R. Dew in a 1990 California state court action. Indiana Gas submitted
the exhibit in support of its argument that the “occurrence” language
was ambiguous. LMI objects to Exhibit 16 for several reasons, including
the reason that extrinsic evidence is not admissible to show ambiguity in
a contract. As this court has found that the case law does not support
Indiana Gas’ argument that the language is ambiguous, and did not rely
on Exhibit 16, LMI’s motion to strike is moot.

62a

Appendix B

This court agrees that the cases cited by LMI are the better
reasoned opinions. Interpreting the “occurrence” language to
provide coverage for “any happening . . . taking place during the
term of this contract” would, as the Babcock & Wilcox court
expressly recognized, ignore the plain meaning of the sentence by
ignoring the restrictive “arising out of or due to one event” language.
Thus, this court holds that the plain meaning of the language, when
read as a complete sentence as intended, is to require that the
“event” and not the “happening” take place during the term of the
contract. As it is undisputed that some of the LMI policies at issue
were not in effect during the time the MGP’s were in operation, it
is clear that summary judgment should be granted with respect to
these policies.

Conclusion

For all of the foregoing reasons, summary judgment is hereby
GRANTED in favor of LMI (and the joining defendants) with
respect to the policies affected by this court’s rulings as set forth
in this order. Further, LMI’s motion to strike Exhibit 16 to Indiana
Gas’ brief is hereby deemed MOOT.

63a

Appendix B

INDIANA GAS COMPANY, INC., et al.,
Plaintiffs,

V.

AETNA CASUALTY & SURETY COMPANY, etal.,
Defendants.

Civil No. 1:95cv101.

United States District Court,
N.D. Indiana,
Fort Wayne Division.

Oct. 2, 1996.

* * *

ORDER
WILLIAM C. LEE, District Judge.

This matter is before the court on a “Motion for Partial
Summary Judgment on the Pollution Exclusion” filed by the Home
Insurance Company (“Home”) on July 10, 1996.' Also before the
court is “London Market Insurers’ Motion for Summary Judgment
on all Policies Containing the London Market Pollution Exclusion”,
which was also filed on July 10, 1996. The parties completed briefing
the motions on August 9, 1996.

1. Other defendants have joined Home’s motion for summary
judgment.

64a

Appendix B

Summary Judgment

Summary judgment is proper “if the pleadings, depositions,
answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with
the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any
material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment as
a matter of law.” Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c). However, Rule 56(c) is nota
requirement that the moving party negate his opponent’s claim.
Fitzpatrick v. Catholic Bishop of Chicago, 916 F.2d 1254, 1256
(7th Cir.1990). Rule 56(c) mandates the entry of summary judgment,
after adequate time for discovery, against a party “who fails to
make a showing sufficient to establish the existence of an element
essential to that party’s case, and in which that party will bear the
burden of proof at trial.” Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317,
322, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). The standard
for granting summary judgment mirrors the directed verdict
standard under Rule 50(a), which requires the court to grant a
directed verdict where there can be but one reasonable conclusion.
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 250, 106 S.Ct.
2505, 2511, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986). A scintilla of evidence in support
of the non-moving party’s position is not sufficient to successfully
oppose summary judgment; “there must be evidence on which the
jury could reasonably find for the plaintiff.” Id. In Re Matter of
Wildman, 859 F.2d 553, 557 (7th Cir.1988); Klein v. Ryan, 847 F.2d
368, 374 (7th Cir. 1988); Valentine v. Joliet Township High School
District No. 204, 802 F.2d 981, 986 (7th Cir.1986). No genuine
issue for trial exists “where the record as a whole could not lead a
rational trier of fact to find for the nonmoving party.” Juarez v.
Ameritech Mobile Communications, Inc., 957 F.2d 317, 322 (7th
Cir. 1992) (quoting Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. v. Zenith
Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 1355-56, 89
L.Ed.2d 538 (1986)).

65a

Appendix B

Initially, Rule 56 requires the moving party to inform the court
of the basis for the motion, and to identify those portions of the
“pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admission
on file, together with the affidavits, if any, which demonstrate the
absence of a genuine issue of material fact,” Celotex, 477 US. at
323, 106 S.Ct. at 2552-53. The non- moving party may oppose the
motion with any of the evidentiary materials listed in Rule 56(c),
but reliance on the pleadings alone is not sufficient to withstand
summary judgment. Goka v. Bobbitt, 862 F.2d 646, 649 (7th
Cir.1988); Guenin v. Sendra Corp., 700 F.Supp. 973, 974
(N.D.Ind.1988); Posey v. Skyline Corp., 702 F.2d 102, 105 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 960, 104 S.Ct. 392, 78 L.Ed.2d 336
(1983).

So that the district court may readily determine whether
genuine issues of material fact exist, under Local Rule 56.1, the
moving party is obligated to file with the court a “Statement of
Material Facts” supported by appropriate citation to the record to
which the moving party contends no genuine issues exist. In
addition, the non-movant is obligated to file with the court a
“Statement of Genuine Issues” supported by appropriate citation
to the record outlining all material facts to which the non-movant
contends exist that must be litigated. See, Waldridge v. American
Hoechst Corp. et al., 24 F.3d 918 (7th Cir.1994). In ruling on a
summary judgment motion the court accepts as true the non-moving
party’s evidence, draws all legitimate inferences in favor of the
non-moving party, and does not weigh the evidence or the credibility
of witnesses. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 249-251, 106 S.Ct. at 2511.
Furthermore, in determining the motion for summary judgment, the
court will assume that the facts as claimed and supported by
admissible evidence by the moving party are admitted to exist
without centroversy, except to the extent that such facts are
controverted in the “Statement of Genuine Issues” filed in
opposition to the motion. L.R. 56.1

66a

Appendix B

Subsiantive law determines which facts are material; that is,
which facts might affect the outcome of the suit under the governing
law. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 248, 106 S.Ct. at 2510. Irrelevant or
unnecessary facts do not preclude summary judgment even when
they are in dispute. Id. The issue of fact must be genuine.
Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c), (e). To establish a genuine issue of fact, the
non-moving party “must do more than simply show that there is
some metaphysical doubt as to the material facts.” Matsushita,
475 U.S. at 586, 106 S.Ct. at 1356; First National Bank of Cicero
v. Lewco Securities Corp., 860 F.2d 1407, 1411 (7th Cir.1988).
The non-moving party must come forward with specific facts
showing that there is a genuine issue for trial. Id. A summary
judgment determination is essentially an inquiry as to “whether the
evidence presents a sufficient disagreement to require submission
to a jury or whether it is so one-sided that one party must prevail
as a matter of law.” Anderson, 477 U.S. at 251-252, 106 S.Ct. at
2512. Finally, the court notes that, “[i]t is a gratuitous cruelty to
parties and their witnesses to put them through the emotional ordeal
of a trial when the outcome is foreordained” and in such cases
summary judgment is appropriate. Mason v. Continental Illinois
Nat’! Bank, 704 F.2d 361, 367 (7th Cir. 1983).

Discussion

The plaintiffs, Indiana Gas Company, Inc., Richmond Gas
Corporationand Terre Haute Gas Corporation(collectively“Indiana
Gas”), commenced this action by filing a complaint for declaratory
judgment and breach of contract because of the refusal of the five
remaining defendant insurance companies to pay claims for third-
party property damage tendered to them by Indiana Gas under
comprehensive general liability insurance policies. According to
Indiana Gas, the underlying property damage arises out of the
historical gas manufacturing operations that took place at certain
properties now owned by Indiana Gas.

67a

Appendix B

From the early 1800's until natural gas became widely available
in the 1940’s and 1950's, gas for heating, lighting and cooking was
manufactured by superheating coal and, later, coal combined with
oil. During the manufactured gas era, more than 1,500 cities and
towns across the country had a town gas plant that manufactured
and stored gas until it was distributed directly to the homes and
businesses of the town through a pressurized underground gas
pipeline distributionsystem. The gas manufacturing process created
tar, as well as other residuals and wastes, as a by-product.
Unfortunately, the residuals, wastes and by-products from the gas
manufacturing process contained hazardous constituents, such as
benzene, which have been discovered in the subsurface soil and
groundwater at properties where these manufactured gas plants
(“MGPs”) were operated. Nine such former MGP sites: Shelbyville,
Lafayette, Bedford, Greencastle, Huntington, Marion, Richmond,
Seymour, and Terre Haute, Indiana, are at issue in the Claims for
property damage which underlie this lawsuit for insurance
coverage.

Indiana Gas claims that it has incurred and will continue to
incur millions of dollars in liabilities as the result of state and federal
law requirements to respond to the property damage at and near
certain former MGP sites. According to Indiana Gas, damage to
groundwater beneath the former MGP sites from subsurface
leaching and migration began at most locations prior to 1955 and
continues to the present day.

HOME’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT
ON THE POLLUTION EXCLUSION

In support of its motion for summary judgment, Home argues
that Indiana Gas is not entitled to coverage under any insurance
policy that excludes coverage for pollution absent a “sudden and

68a

Appendix B

accidental” discharge, dispeisal, escape or release of pollutants.
Specifically, the language of the pollution exclusion at issue in this
motion reads as follows:

[T]his policy does not apply to bodily injury or property
damage arising out of the discharge, dispersal, release
or escape of smoke, vapors, soot, fumes, acids, alkalis,
toxic chemicals, liquids or gases, waste materials or
other irritants, contaminants orpollutants into or upon
land, the atmosphere or any water course or body of
water; but this exclusion does not apply if such
discharge, dispersal, release or escape is sudden and
accidental.

Coverage under the policies at issue depends in
the first instance on whether the underlying claims are
for a discharge or release of pollutants and therefore
subject to the pollution exclusion. If the exclusion
applies, then coverage depends entirely on whether the
“sudden and accidental” exception to the exclusion also
applies.

Home first argues that Indiana Gas’ claims are based on a release
of pollutants, and thus fit within the exclusion. Indiana Gas, however,
claims that the term “pollutant” is ambiguous. Indiana Gas further
claims that Home bears the burden of establishing that MGP by-
products were understood by the parties to be “pollutants” within
the meaning of the exclusion at the time the policies containing
such exclusions were issued.

Indiana Gas relies on American States Ins. Co. v. Kiger, 662
N.E.2d 945 (Ind.1996), in support of its position that the term
“pollutant” is ambiguous and should thus be construed against the

69a

Appendix B

insurer. In Kiger, the insured owned a gasoline service station.
which was the source of an underground gasoline leak. The
insurance policy at issue contained a pollution exclusion clause
and defined “pollutants” as:

any solid, liquid gaseous or thermal irritant or
contaminant, including smoke, vapor, soot, fumes, acids,
alkalis, chemicals and waste. Waste includes materials
to be recycled, reconditioned or reclaimed.

Id. at 948. The Kiger court stated that:

Clearly, this clause cannot be read literally as it would
negate virtually all coverage. For example, if a visitor
slips on a grease spill then, since grease is a “chemical”
there would be no insurance coverage. Accordingly,
this clause requires interpretation.... We are
particularly troubled by the interpretation offered by
American States, as it makes it appear that Kiger was
sold a policy that provided no coverage for a iarge
segment of the gas station’s business operations. . . .
In any event, since the term “pollutant” does not
obviously include gasoline and, accordingly is
ambiguous, we once again must construe the language
against the insurer who drafted it. Appellant claims
that in common parlance gasoline is sometimes referred
to as a pollutant. That may be correct, but the ambiguity
remains. If a garage policy is intended to exclude
coverage for damage caused by the leakage of gasoline,
the language of the contract must be explicit.

Id. at 948-49.

70a

Appendix B

Indiana Gas argues that like Kiger, the instant case involves
releases of substances thet are not explicitly listed in the pollution
exclusion and that obviously were not considered by Indiana Gas
to be “pollutants” until recentiy when contamination was discovered
at the sites. Although the exact harmful chemical substances that
were released into the environment are not listed in the pollution
exclusion clause, the clause does clearly state that damages arising
out of the discharge, etc. of “waste materials” are not covered by
the policy. It is clear to this court that the substances which Indiana
Gas and its predecessors placed into the environment were “waste
products”.

Although Indiana Gas attempts to characterize the waste
products as “by-products”, some of which were marketable in some
form, it is clear that even if some of the waste products were
eventually marketable, a huge amount of waste products were
simply dumped on the ground or buried in pits. Indiana Gas’ own
experts have testified that such methods of disposing wastes were
accepted practices in the first half of this century, and were not
associated with potential human health risks. (Report of Dr. Barbara
Beck at 6-1; Report of Dr. Richard T. Dewling at 6-7). Clearly,
Indiana Gas would not have gone to the expense of procuring
extensive reports from two expert witnesses regarding the disposal
of waste products if Indiana Gas had not disposed of any such
waste products. Thus, as the policies at issue exclude damages
arising from “waste products”, the exclusion has been triggered.

Home next argues that Indiana Gas’ claims are not within the
“sudden and accidental” exception to the pollution exclusion. The
parties dispute the burden of proof on this issue. Home
acknowledges that under Indiana law, insurers bear the burden of
proving the applicability of a policy exclusion. However, Home
argues that the burden of proof for an exceptionto a policy exclusion

Tla

Appendix B

rests with the insured. The positions of both parties are supported
by numerous cases, yet the Indiana courts have not spoken on this
issue.

The courts in the Seventh Circuit also have not spoken on this
precise issue. However, in Gulf Insurance Company v. Tilley, 280
F.Supp. 60 (N.D.Ind.1967), aff d, 393 F.2d 119 (7th Cir.1968), this
court held that a blanket exclusion and the exception thereto must
be construed together to give meaning to the entire paragraph of
the exclusion. 280 F.Supp. at 64. In the present case, this court
holds that the most consistent way to allocate the burden of proof
is to follow the traditional distinction between coverage clauses
and exclusionary clauses. Because the “sudden and accidental”
exception is part of an exclusionary clause, the insurer bears the
burden of proving not only that the property damage at issue resulted
from the discharge of pollutants, but also that the discharge was
neither sudden nor accidental. See New Castle County v. Hartford
Acc. and Indem. Co., 933 F.2d 1162, 1182 (3rd Cir.1991).

The next issue before the court is whether the pollution
exclusion is inapplicable due to Indiana Gas’ alleged lack of
knowledge or expectation about the polluting characteristics of the
discharge or release. Home has taken the position that if the
substances discharged or released into the environment were in
fact wastes or pollutants, the pollution exclusion applies without
regard to Indiana Gas’ awareness of whether the discharges were
hazardous, or whether Indiana Gas was even the party who
discharged the pollutants. Indiana Gas, however, argues that it did
not believe (and had no reason to believe) that it was releasing
pollutants into the environment, and the pollution exclusion should
not apply for that reason. Indiana Gas also argues that it did not
operate gas plants at five of the sites in this case, but acquired
those sites only after MGP operations had ceased and, thus, did

72a

Appendix B

not discharge or release any by-products or pollutants at those
five sites.

The plain language of the pollution exclusion provides that
the policy does not apply to damage arising out of the discharge
of pollutants, unless such discharge is sudden and accidental. It
seems completely clear that the only exception to the pollution
exclusion is in the case of sudden and accidental discharges. There
is simply no exception for intentional discharges that cause
unexpected or unintended damages. This reading of the pollution
exclusion is supported by ample case law. See e.g., St. Paul Fire
& Marine Ins. Co. v. Warwick Dyeing Corp., 26 F.3d 1195, 1200
(1st Cir. 1994); New Castle County v. Hartford Accident & Indem.
Co., 970 F.2d 1267, 1272 (3d Cir. 1992); Independent Petrochemical
Corp. v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co., 842 F.Supp. 575, 584-85
(D.D.C.1994, aff'd sub nom. Charter Oil Co. v. American
Employers’ Ins. Co., 69 F.3d 1160 (D.C.Cir.1995); Remington Arms
Co. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 810 F.Supp. 1406, 1411 (D.Del.1992);
Bureau of Engraving v. Federal Ins. Co., 793 F.Supp. 209, 212
(D.Minn.1992), aff'd, 5 F.3d 1175, 1177-78 (8th Cir.1993);
Independent Petrochemical Corp. v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co.,
781 F.Supp. 9, 17 (D.D.C.1991), aff?'d, 995 F.2d 305
(D.C.Cir. 1993).

Indiana Gas again relies on Kiger in support of its
interpretation. In Kiger, the Indiana Supreme Court was called
upon to determine whether the phrase “sudden and accidental”
was ambiguous. The Court stated:

If one considers the insurance industry’s own
interpretation of the contractual language, it becomes
clear that there exists a lack of clarity (footnote
omitted). The ambiguous phrase “sudden and

73a

Appendix B

accidental” was first added to insurance policies in the
early 1970’s, in response to a plethora of claims for
damage caused by polluting industries. The industry
claimed that its addition was a mere clarification. The
drafters said that coverage for pollution may not be
provided in most cases under present policies because
the damages could be said to be expected and intended
and thus would be excluded by the definition of
occurrence, and, therefore, the adoption of an exclusion
could be said to be a clarification, but a necessary one
in order to avoid any question of intent.

Minutes of the Industrial Rating Board General Liability |
Governing Committee (March 17, 1970) (emphasis
added) (quoted in Harwood et al., The “Frivolity” of
Policyholder Gradual Pollution Discharge Claims, 5
Mealey’s Ins.Lit.Rpts. No. 40 (August 1991)). Jn other
words, the adding of the “sudden and accidental”
language is nothing more than a “clarification”
which made explicit the fact that the insurance did
not cover those acts which are expected or intended.

662 N.E.2d at 947-48 (emphasis added).

Although Indiana Gas cites to Kiger and points out that the
Indiana Supreme Court relied on the “Minutes of the Insurance
Rating Board” (incorrectly referred to in Kiger as the “Industrial
Rating Board”), it is clear that Kiger does not support Indiana
Gas’ argument that its alleged lack of knowledge of the polluting
characteristics of its wastes is relevant. Clearly, even after
examining the “Minutes” the Indiana Supreme Court stated that
the “clarification” made explicit the fact that the insurance did not
cover those acts which are expected or intended. The Indiana

74a

Appendix B

Supreme Court did not focus on the word “damages” and did not
hold that the damages resulting from an insured’s intentional acts
must be expected and/or intended. Nor is it likely that the Indiana
Supreme Court would ever hold, as Indiana Gas suggests, “that
the intent of the exclusion is to exclude only damage resulting from
the insured’s intentional discharge of a known pollutant.” (Response
brief at 15). Rather, it is clear that the focus is on the act of
discharging wastes and pollutants and not on the damage caused
by that act.

Likewise, there is no wording in the policies which suggests
that the discharge must have been an act of the insured. The policy
does not provide, as it easily could have, that the pollution exclusion
does not apply to discharges that are “sudden and accidental from
the standpoint of the insured.” See, e.g., Independent Petrochemical
Corp. v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co., 842 F.Supp. 575, 585 n. 15
(D.D.C.1994) (exception for “sudden happenings” not expected
or intended “from the standpoint of the insured”), aff'd sub nom.
Charter Oil Co. v. American Employers’ Ins. Co., 69 F.3d 1160
(D.C.Cir.1995). The exception to the pollution exclusion is only
for discharges that are “sudden and accidental”, without regard to
the identity of the discharger. Quaker State Minit-Lubev. Fireman’s
Fund Ins. Co., 52 F.3d 1522, 1530-31 (10th Cir.1995); St. Paul Fire
& Marine Ins. Co. vy. Warwick Dyeing Corp., 26 F.3d 1195, 1201-
03 (ist Cir.1994); Northern Ins. Co. v. Aardvark Assocs., Inc.,
942 F.2d 189, 194 (3rd Cir.1991); Park-Ohio Indus., Inc. v. Home
Indemnity Co., 975 F.2d 1215, 1222 (6th Cir.1992); United States
Fidelity & Guar. Co. v. George W. Whitesides Co., 932 F.2d 1169,
1170-71 (6th Cir.1991).

Indiana Gas has directed this court to numerous decisions in
which the courts have relied on the drafting history of the exclusion
to conclude that it excludes only the insured’s intentional discharge

75a

Appendix B

of known pollutants. See, e.g., Morton International, Inc. v. General
Accident Insurance Co., 134 N.J. 1,629 A.2d 831 (1993); United
States Fidelity & Guar. Co. v. Specialty CoatingsCo., 180 Ill. App.3d
378, 129 Ill.Dec. 306, 535 N.E.2d 1071 (1989); Buckeye Union
Ins. Co. v. Liberty Solvents & Chems. Co., 17 Ohio App.3d 127,
477 N.E.2d 1227 (1984). Home strongly objects to the holdings of
these cases and argues that the “regulatory estoppel” theory
adopted by those courts was expressly rejected by the Kiger Court
which stated: “We are not adopting this understanding under a
doctrine of ‘regulatory estoppel’ or any other theory.” 662 N.E.2d
at 948.

Generally, “regulatory estoppel” decisions are criticized for
rewriting the terms of insurance contracts. Landis v. American
Interinsurance Exch., 542 N.E.2d 1351, 1353 (Ind.App.1989);
Mutual Sec. Life Ins. Co. v. Fidelity & Deposit Co. of Md., 659
N.E.2d 1096 (Ind.App.1995); Cincinnati Ins. Co. v. Mallon, 409
N.E.2d 1100, 1103 (Ind. App.1980).See also, Carrier Corp. v. Home
Ins. Co., No. CV-88-352393-8 (Conn.Super.Ct. Oct. 31, 1994);
E.I. duPont de Nemours & Co. v. Admiral Ins. Co., 1995 WL
562256 1995 Del.Super. LEXIS 398 (Del.Super.Ct. Aug. 23, 1995).
As this court is prohibited from rewriting the terms of the contracts
at issue, this court is precluded from adding the condition that the
pollution exclusion does not apply to discharges that are sudden
and accidental “from the standpoint of the insured.” Clearly, the
pollution exclusion in the contracts at issue applies unless the
discharge is “sudden and accidental”; there is no other exception
to the pollution exclusion.

Indiana Gas next shifts the focus of its argument to the issue
of when has a “discharge” occurred. Indiana Gas claims that, at
least with respect to the Shelbyville site, the wastes were placed
in containmentpits and were not simply dumped on the land. Indiana

76a

Appendix B

Gas argues that the leakage from these containment pits was
“sudden and accidental”, and thus the exception to the pollution
exclusion applies. Indiana Gas cites to Patz v. St. Paul Fire &
Marine Ins. Co., 15 F.3d 699 (7th Cir.1994), in support of its
argument. In Patz, the plaintiffs (who manufactured and painted
farm equipment) encountered the problem of how to dispose of
wastes generated as a by-product of painting. One of the wastes
was water contaminated by phosphate. The plaintiffs’ consultants
suggested that the plaintiffs dig an open pit for the water. The
idea, well accepted in the waste-disposai community at the time
(early 1970s), was that the water would evaporate, leaving a deposit
of phosphate solids that would rest at the bottom of the pit and
could be easily removed and used as fertilizer. Because the soil
where the pit was to be dug was highly compacted clay soil the
water was expected to evaporate before it could permeate the
soil, and so the soil beneath the pit would not be contaminated.
The plaintiffs discontinued use of the pit in 1980 and filled it in the
following year. However, in 1986 the Wisconsin Department of
Natural Resources conducted an environmental audit which
discovered groundwater contamination from the pit. The plaintiffs
spent a substantial amount cleaning up the property, and sought to
recover this amount from their insurance company.

When the insurance company invoked the pollution exclusion,
the plaintiffs argued that the “sudden and accidental” exception
applied and that coverage was appropriate. Under controlling
Wisconsin law, the phrase “sudden and accidental” means
“unintended and unexpected”. Just v. Land Reclamation, Ltd., 155
Wis.2d 737, 456 N.W.2d 570 (1990). Further, pursuant to Just, the
proper reading of the pollution exclusion clause is to distinguish
between an intentional act not intended to discharge wastes into
the environment and an intentional discharge. Applying Just to the
facts before it, the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals held in Patz

77a

Appendix B

that since the plaintiffs’ evaporation pit was a containmentstructure,
despite its lack of artificial materials, the discharge was the leakage
from that structure, which leakage was “sudden and accidental in
the special sense of unintended and unexpected.” 15 F.3d at 704.
As “the only discharges were the unintended and unexpected
consequences of the defective containers in which the pollutants
had been placed”, the exception to the pollution exclusion was
triggered and the Seventh Circuit affirmed the district court’s
decision in favor of the plaintiffs.

Home strongly contends that the holding in Patz is not relevant
to the present case. Home first points out that the pollution exclusion
refers to discharges “into or upon land,” not the subsequent
migration that causes third- party damage. See, e.g., Broderick
Invest. Co. v. Hartford Accident & Indem. Co., 954 F.2d 601,
607-08 (10th Cir.) (“[W]hether BIC intended the waste to seep
into the groundwater and cause damage after the initial discharges
into the land .. . is irrelevant.”); Protective Nat’! Ins. Co. v. City
of Woodhaven, 476 N. W.2d 374, 377 (“It is clear that the discharge,
dispersal, release, or escape to which both the exclusion and the
exception refer is the initial discharge, dispersal, release, or escape
into the atmosphere and not the subsequent migration.”)

With respect to Indiana Gas’ claim that the wastes were
disposed of in clay bottomed pits, a natural containment structure,
Home contends that the record in this case establishes that the
MGP wastes were simply dumped into or upon the land. Indiana
Gas’ own witness testified that “tars were placed on and in the
ground regularly at gas plants.” (Stegner Dep. at 177-78). Home
further argues that even if Patz is applicable to the present case,
Indiana Gas has pointed to the testimony of just one witness (Car!
Kinder), who testified about just one of the nine sites at issue, who

78a

Appendix B

said that he believed that there was clay beneath the disposal pits
at the Shelbyville site. Home points out that K inder also testified
that the discharges into the pits were done before his involvement
with the Shelbyville site, and thus Kinder’s belief that the clay
bottom of the pits prevented migration of the wastes is irrelevant,
and is also inadmissible hearsay (as he did not personally know
whether the pits had clay bottoms).

This court finds Indiana Gas’ reliance on Patz to be misplaced.
It is clear that Patz was decided under Wisconsin law, and the
Seventh Circuit was bound by the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s
decision in Just. Indiana Gas has not cited to any case from the
Indiana Supreme Court that is analogous to Just. Moreover, it is
apparent that the Seventh Circuit was not overly impressed with
the Just decision, as the Court stated: “We cannot, of course,
overrule Just, but we are not obliged to place the broadest possible
interpretation on the decision.” 15 F.3d at 704-05. It is also clear
that it was the practice at the MGP plants to dump the wastes onto
the land, even though some waste may have been dumped into
pits. The court further notes that even though Kinder testified that
he believed that the pits had clay bottoms, there is no evidence
whatsoever that the sides of the pits were made of clay. Thus,
even if wastes were placed into clay bottomed pits, the waste
would necessarily touch the sides of the pits, which were
presumably made of soil. As the waste was placed “upon the land”
even when it was placed in pits, the waste was “discharged” at
the time it was placed in the pits.

Indiana Gas also claims that Patz is relevant because the MGP
wastes “suddenly and accidentally” escaped into the soil and
groundwater from various man-made containment structures, e.g.,
gas holders, oil tanks, tar separators, purifiers and storage tanks.
Indiana Gas cites to the Prickett Report in support of its claims.
However, as Home notes, the Prickett Report merely identifies

79a

Appendix B

areas of soil contamination that are possible sources of groundwater
contamination. The Report does not offer an opinion as to how the
soil became contaminated, and does not discuss the issue of releases
from “man-made” structures.

As the only evidence of record shows that the discharges,
etc., were not “sudden and accidental”, this court rules that the
exception to the pollution exclusion is not applicable. Further, as
the pollution exclusion in the policies at issue in this motion is
applicable in the instant case, summary judgment will be granted
in favor of Home (and all joining defendants) on this issue.

LONDON MARKET INSURERS’ MOTION FOR
SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON ALL POLICIES CONTAINING
THE LONDON MARKET POLLUTION EXCLUSION

The LMI pollution exclusion (NMA 1685) reads as follows:
This insurance does not cover any liability for:

(1) Personal Injury or Bodily Injury or loss of,
damage to, or loss of use of property directly or
indirectly caused by seepage, pollution or
contamination, provided always that this paragraph (1)
shall not apply to liability for Personal Injury or Bodily
Injury or loss of or physical damage to or destruction
of tangible property, or loss of use of such property
damaged or destroyed, where such seepage, pollution
or contamination is caused by a sudden, unintended
and unexpected happening during the period of this
Insurance.

(2) The cost of removing, nullifying or cleaning-
up seeping, polluting or contaminating substances unless

80a

Appendix B

the seepage, pollution or contamination is caused by a
sudden, unintended and unexpected happening during
the period of this Insurance.

(3) Fines, penalties, punitive or exemplary
damages.

This Clause shall not extend this Insurance to cover
any liability which would not have been covered under
| this Insurance had this Clause not been attached.

) In support of its motion for summary judgment, LMI argues
that its pollution exclusion is clear and unambiguous and should be
enforced according to its terms. Specifically, LMI addresses the
: decision in American States Ins. Co. v. Kiger, 662 N.E.2d 945
| (Ind. 1996), and argues that the decision does not require this court
to find that the exclusion is ambiguous. LMI argues that the Kiger
court did not construe the wording of its pollution exclusion, which
potentially permits coverage for pollution arising out of happenings
in the policy period which are “sudden, unintended and unexpected”.
LMI acknowledges that the Indiana Supreme Court found the
phrase “sudden and accidental” to be ambiguous. 662 N.E.2d at
) 948. However, LMI argues that Kiger is distinguishable on two
) grounds.
)

First LMI argues that it is not a domestic insurer and was not
a member of the Insurance Rating Board (incorrectly referred to
in Kiger as the “Industrial Rating Board”), the minutes of which
were cited by the Kiger Court to support its conclusion that the
phrase “sudden and accidental” was ambiguous. Secondly, LMI
argues that a construction of “sudden” as meaning “unexpected”
would render its pollution exclusion meaningless. That is, the clause
would read: “unexpected, unintended and unexpected”.

8la

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1424%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
