# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Aetna Life Insurance v. Ace

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1386%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 525 U.S. 930

## Text

‘ Surens Court, 0.8.
’ PILED

~ BB 2Soavea 1998

No. 97-

Be eae
In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

AETNA LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,
Petitioner,
v.
SHERRIE ACE,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PHILIP ALLEN LACOVARA

ANTHONY M. SHOLTY Counsel of Record

BETHANN B. CHAPMAN ANDREW L. FREY

Faulkner Banfield JOHN J. SULLIVAN

302 Gold Street Mayer, Brown & Platt

Juneau, AK 99801 2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N. W.

(907) 586-2210 Washington, DC 20006
(202) 463-2000

Counsel for Petitioner

Stall atest sto ah chee aaa

Neve Pletcas g SrNS ell

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In reviewing a district court’s decision to grant a new trial,
the Ninth Circuit applies a “stringent standard” — which the
Seventh Circuit has expressly rejected — under which it will not
permit the trial court to exercise its discretion to grant a new trial
based on the weakness of the evidence, unless the verdict is
against the “great weight” of the evidence or is “seriously
erroneous,” and the Ninth Circuit accords minimal deference to
that determination. In this case, which involves a $16.5 million
punitive damage verdict based on the alleged “bad faith” denial
of insurance benefits worth $27,000, the trial court granted a new
trial on punitive damages, but the Ninth Circuit, applying its
“stringent standard,” reversed.

1. Does the Ninth Circuit’s “stringent” rule for new trial
orders based on evidentiary weakness —

which (a) prohibits trial judges from awarding new trials
unless the verdict is against the “great” weight of the
evidence, (b) subjects such orders to a standard of review
more “stringent” than “abuse of discretion,” and (c) squarely
conflicts with the broader discretion allowed in other circuits

— create an unauthorized barrier to relief from problematic
verdicts and excessively intrude on trial judges’ discretion to
grant new trials?

2. Because this Court has held that the Due Process Clause
requires searching post-verdict judicial review of punitive damage
verdicts, should the Court also require appellate courts to extend
the maximum deference possible under the “abuse-of-discretion”
standard, when the trial judge concludes that a punitive award is
unwarranted, dubious, or excessive, and orders a new trial?

3. When a court of appeals concludes that a trial judge did
not make sufficiently specific findings under Fed. R. Civ. P.
50(c)(1) explaining the grant of a “conditional” new trial, should
the proper practice be for the appellate court to remand for more
detailed findings rather that to reverse the new trial decision
outright and reinstate the original verdict?

(I)

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Petitioner Aetna Life Insurance Company states that its parent
companies and non-wholly owned subsidiaries consist of:

Aetna Inc. (parent)
Aetna U.S. Healthcare, Inc. (parent)
Aetna Chile Seguros Generales S.A. (a Chilean corporation)

Administradora de Fondos de Pensiones Santa Maria, S.A.
(a Chilean corporation)

Aetna Capital L.L.C.
Amerin Corporation
Fianzas Monterrey, S.A. (a Mexican corporation)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
tos ge oo By so sy 1 2 RRR er me I
AP ATR POIOEER 8 ka a we CERN RUNS Oe ii
RAE PE PAU RUREEID ie wie ee tee eee iv
NS oe ky aw a o's Wb As bee wk as 2
SER a Rag I Sa a Ea ae Repeat 2
FPEUERAL RULES INVOLVED ..... 0. cc ccccsees 3
RAAT he Wh 8 3G Ch OWS ORR. c s BEES Cs 4

A. Aetna’s Evaluation of Ace’s Claim For Benefits .. 4
B. The Trial, Verdict, And Post-Verdict Motions ... 6
C. Te Neen Croun 8 Decision... ww tt 9

I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S ERRONEOUS STAN-
DARDS FOR GRANTING AND REVIEWING NEW
TRIAL ORDERS BASED ON THE SUFFICIENCY
OF THE EVIDENCE CONFLICTS WITH DECI-
SIONS OF THIS COURT AND OTHER CIRCUIT
St RE RS SD ee ee ea Grane 14

II. DUE PROCESS REQUIRES SPECIAL DEFERENCE
ON APPEAL TO ORDERS GRANTING NEW TRI-
ALS ON PUNITIVE DAMAGE VERDICTS ..... 24

Ill. IF FINDINGS ARE INSUFFICIENT UNDER RULE
50(c)1) TO EXPLAIN THE GRANT OF A NEW
TRIAL, THE PROPER PROCEDURE IS TO RE-
MAND FOR ADDITIONAL FINDINGS, NOT TO
SRE RURMRIEES: 36.45 Bin 8 0 Fo wien eee 27

SE 6 cGN0 Fw BOR bw 08 4.8 98 6 ee ae ak 30

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page(s)

Cases:
Allied Chemical Corp. v. Daiflon, Inc.,

ee a No ck ap ew po 9 ce 14
Binder v. Long Island Lighting Co., 57 F.3d 193

PRN MEE Oe oe yk we 5 15
Books v. Chater, 91 F.3d 972 (7th Cir. 1996) ....... 28

Browning-Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc. v.

Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. 257 (1989) . . . 14, 25-26

Byrd v. Blue Ridge Rural Electric Cooperative,

Pe See ME EE Se ky wack ais t Aw ce ks 14, 17

Calderon v. Thompson, US. .

RAED. Ae, MOE ks oe ek ca 20
Carter vy. DecisionOne Corp., 122 F.3d 997

Seen REE oo ns AS Oh ov owe ee ee 16
Carter v. Fenner, 136 F.3d 1000 (Sth Cir. 1998) ...... 16
Chizmar v. Mackie, 896 P.2d 196 (Alaska 1995) ...... 12
Collazo-Santiago v. Toyota Motor Corp.,

No. 97-1365, 1998 U.S. App. LEXIS

Se Cae ee, SOY TE i i ee eee 19
Cooter & Gell v. Hartmax Corp., 496 U.S. 384

(RUPUE: ok a Nee Wie ke EK Pilea At trial, Dr. McEvoy stated that he referred to the release as
“trial” because “[i]t alerts the insurer and the employer and the
patient . . . that [returning to work} may not work.”

4a

| B. Ace’s Application for Long-Term Disability Benefits

| Ace contacted Aetna and requested a long-term disability

| benefits application because her short-term disability benefits
had expired early in September 1992. Aetna representatives
advised her that although her policy required her to be “under
the care of a physician,” the physician need not be a
specialist. Accordingly, Ace had Dr. Kiessling, her long-time
family physician, complete Aetna’s Attending Physician’s
Statement (“Statement”). On the form, he diagnosed Ace as
suffering from “severe degenerative joint disease,” stated that
her condition had retrogressed, noted that she experienced
“frequent swelling” and “constant pain,” and rated her to be
between 30-50% and 50-70% physically disabled.* Aetna
received Ace’s application, along with the Statement and Dr.
McEvoy’s July work release, on October 12, 1992.

On October 20, Aetna returned the Statement to Ace for
signature by the physician and asked her to submit a physical
capacities evaluation form, which had been prepared by a
physical therapist in July. Ace submitted these forms and
queried Aetna several times about the status of her claim,
indicating her urgent need.

C. Aetna’s First Denial

On November 17, Aetna denied Ace’s claim. In the
denial letter, Stephen Elliott (“Elliott”), Aetna’s account
specialist, informed Ace that [iJn order to be eligible for
Long-term Disability Benefits, you must be totally disabled to
the extent that you are unable to work at any gainful

* Aetna’s form characterized 30-50% disabled as “Class III . . .
capable of light work,” and 50-70% disabled as “Class IV . . .
capable of . . . sedentary activity.”

* The form indicated that Ace could not work an eight-hour day

but predicted that her condition would improve in four to six
weeks.

;

| ee mn ERT Ne Re ea NEE

Sa

occupation due to bodily injury or illness. He noted that
according to the Statement — the most current medical
evidence on file — Ace was capable of continuing her
employment as a loan examiner because she could perform
clerical, sedentary work. Therefore, he wrote, “we cannot
consider you as being totally disabled from performing the
duties of any gainful occupation as required by the policy,”
and denied her request for benefits.

Neither Elliott nor any other Aetna employee investigated
Ace’s claim other than to review the material sent by Ace.
Elliott did have the material reviewed by Dr. John Galvin, an
Aetna medical consultant, who reported that Ace had not
established that she had a long-term disability. But Elliott did
not contact Ace’s medical care providers or obtain additional
medical records, though Ace had signed a release. In
determining the physical nature of Ace’s occupation, Elliott
relied entirely on Aetna’s Physical Demands Analysis
worksheet, ignored the more complete description that was
attached,® and did not contact Ace or her supervisor to
discuss her job’s physical requirements.

The “unable to work at any gainful employment” phrase
in Elliott’s letter is drawn from Aetna’s policy. In his
deposition, Elliott testified he understood Aetna’s policy to
require Ace to be “totally disabled from any gainful
employment” and “unable to do . . . any work,” though he
added that he would have denied her application even if he
believed that Ace could only have worked half-time. Elliott’s
supervisor, Bryan Southall (“Southall”), testified, however,
that he knew Aetna could not apply the “unable to work at
any gainful employment” language literally, and that Aetna

® Aetna’s physical demands analysis work sheet described her
position as 100% office-based. Ace’s supervisor ‘iad attached a
more complete description, explaining that Ace’s position required
her to engage in rigorous travel to remote communities.

6a

did not apply it literally in Ace’s case.’ Both he and Elliott
testified Aetna applied a “reasonableness” test in evaluating
| disability.* Aetna conceded at trial, however, that no one
from Aetna ever told Ace that the policy was not being
interpreted and applied literally.” Ace testified she had called
Aetna several times, but no one would clarify the term
“disabled” or suggest specific documents she should send.
Based on what she had been told in the letter, she would have
to be totally disabled to be eligible for benefits; she knew
that her condition was not that bad but also that it did not
permit her to perform her job.

D. Ace’s Request for Reconsideration

Ace responded to Aetna’s denial by writing a short letter
requesting reconsideration."° She enclosed a longer letter
| from Dr. Kiessling, dated November 30, explaining why Ace
| should be considered totally disabled. Dr. Kiessling’s letter

? Both parties agree that insurers cannot lawfully apply this
standard literally. See Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Orr, 205 Ark. 566,
169 S.W.2d 651, 654 (1943); Erreca v. Western States Life Ins.
Co., 19 Cal.2d 388, 121 P.2d 689 (1942).

® Both Elliott and Southall testified they determined disability
based on whether an applicant was capable of earning a monthly
amount equal to her disability benefits. Ace’s benefits equaled
70% of her salary; thus, under their reasonableness test, Ace
should have received benefits if she was incapable of working at
least 70% of the time at her current job.

* Aetna’s practice was to quote only the language of the policy
and not to inform claimants of the legal requirements governing
interpretation of the policy or of informal reasonableness guidelines
used in evaluating applications.

'© Elliott’s November 17 letter had informed Ace that she could
appeal his denial but did not specify particular documents or
information to send that would be helpful.

ene nE Rn eee neers

Ta

noted that Ace’s condition had worsened since his earlier
Statement, that she now needed “nearly continuous[ ]
traction” to obtain any pain relief, that she had received
epidural injections for her back pain, that she could not sit for
prolonged periods of time, and that she was unable to
perform clerical work. He reclassified her as a “Class V
disability,” which Aetna’s form describes as “severe
functional capacity; incapable of minimal (sedentary)
activity.”

E. Aetna’s Response to the Request for Reconsideration

On December 11, Elliott responded to Ace’s request.
His letter stated that the information submitted by Ace had
been reviewed oy Aetna’s medical consultant who had advised
that “there is no objective medical evidence . . . to support
your contention that you are unable to work at any gainful
occupation.” It reiterated that to receive benefits “you must
be totally disabled . . . from working at any gainful
occupation.” The letter advised Ace that for Aetna to review
her file, Ace would have to have her physicians “furnish . .
. Objective medical evidence to support [her] contention [of
total disability].” Aetna’s policy neither contains nor defines
the term “objective medical evidence,” and it did not inform
Ace what would qualify as objective medical evidence; _ its
claim handling guidelines, moreover, instruct analysts to
consider subjective complaints of pain even in the absence of
objective medical findings."

Southall testified that he was uncertain whether Ace’s
documents contained objective medical evidence and that he
would not be surprised if a claimant did not know whether a

'' Aetna’s Proper Claim Handling Guidelines instruct claim
analysts to “[cjonsider subjective complaints of the claimant as well
as objective evidence” and give as an example “[a] disability
claimant [who] genuinely appears to be in pain, although there are
no objective medical findings.”

8a

physician’s letter constituted objective or subjective evidence.
He stated that what he wanted to see was Dr. Kiessling’s
chart notes, reports of examinations, and x-rays, but he never
asked Ace or Dr. Kiessling to supply these materials.

Aetna’s medical consultant, Dr. Galvin, again reviewed
Ace’s file and concluded there was no medical evidence to
support Dr. Kiessling’s opinion that Ace was in the Class V
| disability category. At trial, however, he conceded that Dr.
Kiessling’s letter contained objective medical evidence and
that he was unable to ascertain from Ace’s file whether she
was disabled.

| F. Ace’s Response to Aetna’s Second Response

Although Aetna’s December 11 letter did not state that
the claim had again been denied, it was the functional
equivalent of a denial. When Ace received this letter, she
had been without income since her short-term disability

| benefits expired in September and had begun to sell her

| personal property. She consulted a lawyer, Francine Harbour

| (“Harbour”), who wrote to Aetna on Ace’s behalf “to
facilitate the review process in this matter.” Harbour’s letter
stated that Ace believed she already had furnished objective
medical evidence but would submit additional information to
“clarify any misunderstanding.” To that end she requested
that Aetna send to her “the pertinent claim adjustment
guidelines that [Aetna] relied on in reaching [the] denial
determination” and certain other material. She asked Aetna
to provide the documents prior to her sending additional
information, so that she could ensure that her submission was
complete.

| Southall responded to Harbour’s request on January 28,
| 1993, stating, “There are no claim adjustment guidelines
| which we follow.” During discovery, however, Aetna

produced its “Proper Claim Handling Guidelines” contained

ill eal

9a

in its Methods and Procedures Manual,” and at trial Aetna’s
director of disability claims testified that the guidelines are
mandatory for its claim analysts to follow.

G. Ace’s Renewed Request for Reconsideration

On February 12, 1993, Harbour submitted an additional
packet of materials to Aetna enclosing another Attending
Physician Statement prepared by Dr. Kiessling on January 7,
1993, which rated Ace as a Class V disability, a letter by Dr.
Kiessling summarizing the objective medical evidence upon
which he based his opinion and explaining why Dr.
McEvoy’s July release should not carry dispositive weight,’
and a physical capacities evaluation (“PCE”) completed
January 28, 1993. The PCE stated that Ace was capable of
sitting, standing or walking for less than an hour each during
the day.

Harbour’s cover letter explained Ace’s fragile physical,
emotional and economic position and advised Aetna that
unless it accepted Ace’s application by March 1, Ace would
file suit. By February 1993, Ace had been forced to sell
much of her personal property and her home. She sent her
eldest son to live with another family and she lived in her car
from late February through early April.

H. Aetna’s Response

Southall called Harbour on February 24, 1993, and left
a phone message the content of which was disputed at trial.
It may have confirmed that the denial of the claim stood or it
may have been a request for an independent medical

' See note 11, supra.

'3 In his letter, Dr. Kiessling stated that, “Dr. McEvoy’s release
ignored the slower than anticipated healing and associated pain of
the osteotomy procedure . . . as well as the critically complicating
feature of her low back pain.”

ee

10a

examination (“IME”). In any event, after receiving the
additiona! materials, Dr. Galvin and Southall had concluded
that there was insufficient information to support a finding
that Ace was disabled. Dr. Galvin considered Dr. Kiessling’s
letter as being of “no value” because of its tone, and asserted
that he “{did] not accept Dr. K’s opinion, he is not a
specialist and we are not providing a social benefit service.”
Southall testified that he discounted Dr. Kiessling’s letter
because it was unaccompanied by Dr. Kiessling’s chart notes,
examination results or other materials. Neither Southall nor
Dr. Galvin contacted Dr. Kiessling to discuss his letter or to
ask him to submit materials to support his conclusions.

I. Aetna’s Demand for an Independent Medical Examination

On March 4 Aetna wrote Ace a letter, directing her to
appear before a designated physician for an IME on April 5,
1993. On advice of counsel, Ace refused to appear. On
March 15, Aetna wrote to Harbour, reaffirming its decision
to deny the claim on the basis of Ace’s failure to produce
proof of “[tJotal disability [which] is the inability to work at
any gainful occupation due to sickness or injury.” Ace then
retained litigation counsel who attempted, unsuccessfully, to
reschedule the IME.

J. End of Ace’s Disability

On April 8, 1993, Ace’s previously-scheduled knee
surgery was performed. Dr. Zorn successfully replaced
Ace’s knee. Within two months, Ace was walking without
crutches and returned to work. Her disability ended June 1,
1993.

DISCUSSION
1. Judgment as a Matter of Law—Punitive Damages

Judgment as a matter of law is appropriate only when the
evidence, “viewed in the light most favorable to the
nonmoving party,” could not reasonably support the verdict.

lla

Amarel v. Connell, 102 F.3d 1494, 1517-18 (9th Cir.1997),
(as amended). We review the grant of a motion for judgment
as a matter of law de novo. Id. at 1517.

To support punitive damages under Alaska law, a
plaintiff must prove by clear and convincing evidence that the
wrongdoer’s conduct “was outrageous, such as acts done with
malice or bad motives or reckless indifference to the interests
of another person.” Alaska Stat. § 09.17.020;'* State Farm
Fire & Cas. Co. v. Nicholson, 777 P.2d 1152, 1158 (Alaska
1989) (quoting Sturm, Ruger & Co. v. Day, 594 P.2d 38, 46
(Alaska 1979), modified on reh’g, 615 P.2d 621 (Alaska
1980), overruled on other grounds by Dura Corp. v. Harned,
703 P.2d 396 (Alaska 1985)). Alaska courts will overturn a
punitive damage award only if consideration of the record as
a whole leaves them with a firm conviction of error and the
need to intervene to prevent a miscarriage of justice. Alaskan
Village, Inc. v. Smalley, 720 P.2d 945, 948 (Alaska 1986).

The district court concluded that no reasonable jury could
find by clear and convincing evidence that Aetna acted with
malice, bad motives or reckless indifference. After
determining that the evidence did not support a finding of
malice or bad motive, the court held that the evidence did not
clearly and convincingly support a finding of reckless
disregard, stating: A jury could find that by requiring the
insured to marshall [sic] all the information, especially after
Dr. Kiessling’s second opinion was communicated, it is more
likely than not that Aetna acted with enough disregard for
Ace’s interest to represent bad faith sufficient to breach the
contract . . . but the evidence cannot support a finding that
Aetna’s disregard for Ace’s interest was clearly and
convincingly reckless to the point that Aetna should be
punished. Plainly put, there is nothing outrageous about

'* The statute was amended in August 1997 to make minor
textual changes not significant to the decision of this case.

a — = —

ee SS eee Ce eS ee ee ie eee eee ee Se ee ee oe een ee a AS aig ta

12a

relying on the opinion of the most knowledgeable physician,
Dr. McEvoy, to the exclusion of what little contrary
indication of Ace’s condition had emerged prior to asking for
an IME, the one procedure that could be expected to clear up
any uncertainty.

In ruling that while Aetna acted “with enough disregard
for Ace’s interest to represent bad faith” but not “clearly and
convincingly reckless[ly],” the district court ignored
significant and undisputed evidence. Focusing only on Aetna’s
“requiring the insured to marshall all the information” and
“relying on the opinion of the most knowledgeable
physician,” the court failed to take into account substantial
evidence’ from which a jury could reasonably have found,
clearly and convincingly, that Aetna acted with reckless
indifference to Ace’s interests."° That evidence, which is
summarized in the preceding part of this opinion and is
undisputed, includes the following conduct by Aetna: (1)
basing denial of the claim on an illegal standard for benefit
eligibility;'” (2) failing to inform the claimant of the standard
actually used by Aetna in evaluating disability claims;'* (3)

'S The court also failed to take into account that Aetna had
effectively twice denied the application before it asked for the IME;
had it wished to “clear up any uncertainty,” it would presumably
have asked for the examination before it decided whether to grant
or deny the application.

‘© Because under Alaska law, the jury could award punitive
damages on evidence that Aetna acted with reckless indifference to
Ace’s interests, it is not necessary to address the court’s findings
with respect to malice and bad motives.

'7 See note 7, supra.

‘8 Alaska law requires the insurance company to provide a
reasonable explanation of the basis in the policy for denial of a
claim. Alaska Stat. §§ 21.36.125(1) and (14).

13a

fe‘ling to investigate the claim and to seek or request the
supporting information alleged to be missing; (4) failing to
assist the claimant in presenting her disability claim;'? (5)
relying on outdated prognoses of the claimant’s expected
recovery and disregarding recent reports of her actual
condition; (6) denying her claim based on an undefined
“requirement” not a term of her policy and contrary to
Aetna’s internal claim adjustment guidelines; (7) falsely
advising the claimant that Aetna had no claim adjustment
guidelines; and (8) making a last-minute demand for an IME
after having denied the claim.

In evaluating the sufficiency of the evidence, the district
court failed to consider it as a whole and to resolve all
inferences in favor of the jury’s verdict. See Continental Ore
Co. v. Union Carbide & Carbon Corp., 370 U.S. 690, 699,
82 S. Ct. 1404, 1410, 8 L.Ed.2d 777 (1962) (“In cases such
as this, plaintiffs should be given the full benefit of their
proof without tightly compartmentalizing the various factual
components and wiping the slate clean after scrutiny of
each.”). Viewing the evidence in the light most favorable to
the nonmoving party, we cannot say the evidence does not
reasonably support an award of punitive damages.”

'9 Alaska law requires n insurer upon receipt of notice of a
claim, promptly to provide t .c necessary claim forms, instructions
and assistance so that the .laimant is able to comply with all
reasonable requirements. Alaska Admin. Code tit. 3, § 26.040(a)(3)
(1997).

20 The two cases on which the district court relied, State Farm
Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Weiford, 831 P.2d 1264 (Alaska 1992), and
Nicholson, 777 P.2d 1152, are inapposite. Both involved
negotiations leading to disputes between the insured and the carrier
over the amount to be paid on the insured’s damage claim, the
court holding that the evidence did not support a finding of
“outrageous” conduct. Neither involved denial of coverage or
benefits or other misconduct by the carrier.

l4a

2. Conditional Grant of New Trial — Punitive
Damages

We have jurisdiction to review the conditional grant of a
new trial order under Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(c)(1). Air-Sea
Forwarders, Inc. v. Air Asia Co., 880 F.2d 176, 190 n. 15
(9th Cir.1989). The district court’s order stated in relevant
part:

In general the court agrees with the arguments advanced
by defendant and therefore grants the motion for a new
trial as to the claim for punitive damages such that if the
court of appeals should reverse this court’s decision on
the punitive damages claim there will be a new trial on
that claim.

Rule 50(c)(1) states that the court “shall specify the
grounds for granting the motion for the new trial.” The court
failed to do so here, at least explicitly, but it is a fair
inference that it granted a new trial for the same reasons for
which it granted judgment as a matter of law. The court’s
failure to rule on Aetna’s request for a remittitur or to base
its new trial order specifically on the magnitude of the
punitive damage award, as opposed to the fact of the award,
leads us to the conclusion that the new trial was granted on
the erroneous ground that the evidence was insufficient as a
matter of law. While our review of an order granting a new
trial is for abuse of discretion, “a stringent standard applies
when the motion is based on insufficiency of the evidence.”
EEOC v. Pape Lift, Inc., 115 F.3d 676, 680 (9th Cir. 1997)
(internal quotations omitted) (quoting Venegas v. Wagner, 831
F.2d 1514, 1519 (9th Cir.1987)). A district court may order
a new trial based on insufficient evidence only if it finds that
the jury’s verdict “is against the great weight of the evidence,
or it is quite At trial, Dr. McEvoy stated that he referred to the release as
“trial” because “[iJt alerts the insurer and the employer and the
patient . . . that [returning to work] may not work.”

28a

B. Ace’s Application for Long-Term Disability Benefits

Ace contacted Aetna and requested a long-term disability
benefits application because her short-term disability benefits
had expired early in September 1992. Aetna representatives
advised her that although her policy required her to be “under
the care of a physician,” the physician need not be a special-
ist. Accordingly, Ace had Dr. Kiessling, her long-time
family physician, complete Aetna’s Attending Physician’s
Statement (“Statement”). On the form, he diagnosed Ace as
suffering from “severe degenerative joint disease,” stated that
her condition had retrogressed, noted that she experienced
“frequent swelling” and “constant pain,” and rated her to be
between 30-50% and 50-70% physically disabled.* Aetna
received Ace’s application, along with the Statement and Dr.
McEvoy’s July work release, on October 12, 1992.

On October 20, Aetna returned the Statement to Ace for
signature by the physician and asked her to submit a physical
Capacities evaluation form, which had been prepared by a
physical therapist in July. Ace submitted these forms and
queried Aetna several times about the status of her claim,
indicating her urgent need.

C. Aetna’s First Denial

On November 17, Aetna denied Ace’s claim. In the
denial letter, Stephen Elliott (“Elliott”), Aetna’s account
specialist, informed Ace that

* Aetna’s form characterized 30-50% disabied as “Class III . . .
capable of light work,” and 50-70% disabled as “Class IV .. .
capable of . . . sedentary activity.”

* The form indicated that Ace could not work an eight-hour day
but predicted that her condition would improve in four to six
weeks.

29a

{ijn order to be eligible for Long-term Disability
Benefits, you must be totally disabled to the extent that
you are unable to work at any gainful occupation due to
bodily injury or illness.
He noted that according to the Statement — the most current
medical evidence on file — Ace was capable of continuing
her employment as a loan examiner because she could
perform clerical, sedentary work. Therefore, he wrote, “we
cannot consider you as being totally disabled from performing
the duties of any gainful occupation as required by the
policy,” and denied her request for benefits.

Neither Elliott nor any other Aetna employee investigated
Ace’s claim other than to review the material sent by Ace.
Elliott did have the material reviewed by Dr. John Galvin, an
Aetna medical consultant, who reported that Ace had not
established that she had a long-term disability. But Elliott did
not contact Ace’s medical care providers or obtain additional
medical records, though Ace had signed a release. In deter-
mining the physical nature of Ace’s occupation, Elliott relied
entirely on Aetna’s Physical Demands Analysis worksheet,
ignored the more complete description that was attached,° and
did not contact Ace or her supervisor to discuss her job’s
physical requirements.

The “unable to work at any gainful employment” phrase
in Elliott’s letter is drawn from Aetna’s policy. In his
deposition, Elliott testified he understood Aetna’s policy to
require Ace to be “totally disabled from any gainful
employment” and “unable to do . . . any work,” though he
added that he would have denied her application even if he
believed that Ace could only have worked half-time. Elliott’s

® Aetna’s physical demands analysis work sheet described her
position as 100% office-based. Ace’s supervisor had atiached a
more complete description, explaining that Ace’s position required
her to engage in rigorous travel to remote communities.

30a

’ supervisor, Bryan Southall (“Southall”), testified, however,
that he knew Aetna could not apply the “unable to work at
| any gainful employment” language literally, and that Aetna
| did not apply it literally in Ace’s case.’ Both he and Elliott
testified Aetna applied a “reasonableness” test in evaluating
disability.* Aetna conceded at trial, however, that no one
from Aetna ever told Ace that the policy was not being
interpreted and applied literally.” Ace testified she had called
Aetna several times, but no one would clarify the term
“disabled” or suggest specific documents she should send.
Based on what she had been told in the letter, she would have
to be totally disabled to be eligible for benefits; she knew that
her condition was not that bad but also that it did not permit
her to perform her job.

D. Ace’s Request for Reconsideration

Ace responded to Aetna’s denial by writing a short letter
requesting reconsideration."® She enclosed a longer letter

7 Both parties agree that insurers cannot lawfully apply this
standard literally. See Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Orr, 169 S.W.2d
651, 654 (Ark. 1943); Erreca v. Western States Life Ins. Co., 121
P.2d 689 (Cal. 1942).

8 Both Elliott and Southall testified they determined disability
based on whether an applicant was capable of earning a monthly
amount equal to her disability benefits. Ace’s benefits equaled
70% of her salary; thus, under their reasonableness test, Ace
should have received benefits if she was incapable of working at
least 70% of the time at her current job.

* Aetna’s practice was to quote only the language of the policy
and not to inform claimants of the legal requirements governing
interpretation of the policy or of informal reasonableness guidelines
used in evaluating applications.

© Efliott’s November 17 letter had informed Ace that she could
appeal his denial but, did not specify particular documents or

Bi asc a erent i a NR au ala oa ere Sec eas eae

3la

from Dr. Kiessling, dated November 30, explaining why Ace
should be considered totally disabled. Dr. Kiessling’s letter
noted that Ace’s condition had worsened since his earlier
Statement, that she now needed “nearly continuous[ ]
traction” to obtain any pain relief, that she had received
epidural injections for her back pain, that she could not sit for
prolonged periods of time, and that she was unable to
perform clerical work. He reclassified her as a “Class V
disability,” which Aetna’s form describes as “severe
functional capacity; incapable of minimal (sedentary)
activity.”

E. Aetna’s Response to the Request for Reconsideration

On December 11, Elliott responded to Ace’s request.
His letter stated that the information submitted by Ace had
been reviewed by Aetna’s medical consultant who had advised
that “there is no objective medical evidence . . . to support
your contention that you are unable to work at any gainful
occupation.” It reiterated that to receive benefits “you must
be totally disabled . . . from working at any gainful
occupation.” The letter advised Ace that for Aetna to review
her file, Ace would have to have her physicians “furnish . .
. Objective medical evidence to support [her] contention [of
total disability}.” Aetna’s policy neither contains nor defines
the term “objective medical evidence,” and it did not inform
Ace what would qualify as objective medical evidence; its
claim handling guidelines, moreover, instruct analysts to
consider subjective complaints of pain even in the absence of
objective medical findings."

information to send that would be helpful.

'' Aetna’s Proper Claim Handling Guidelines instruct claim
analysts to “[cJonsider subjective complaints of the claimant as well
as objective evidence” and give as an example “[a] disability
claimant [who] genuinely appears to be in pain, although there are
no objective medical findings.”

32a

Southall testified that he was uncertain whether Ace’s

) documents contained objective medical evidence and that he

| would not be surprised if a claimant did not know whether a

physician’s letter constituted objective or subjective evidence.

He stated that what he wanted to see was Dr. Kiessling’s

4 chart notes, reports of examinations, and x-rays, but he never
| asked Ace or Dr. Kiessling to supply these materials.

Aetna’s medical consultant, Dr. Galvin, again reviewed
Ace’s file and concluded there was no medical evidence to
| support Dr. Kiessling’s opinion that Ace was in the Class V
| disability category. At trial, however, he conceded that Dr.
| Kiessling’s letter contained objective medical evidence and
that he was unable to ascertain from Ace’s file whether she

was disabled.

F. Ace’s Response to Aetna’s Second Response

Although Aetna’s December 11 letter did not state that
the claim had again been denied, it was the functional
equivalent of a denial. When Ace received this letter, she
had been without income since her short-term disability
benefits expired in September and had begun to sell her
personal property. She consulted a lawyer, Francine Harbour
(“Harbour”), who wrote to Aetna on Ace’s behalf “to
facilitate the review process in this matter.” Harbour’s letter
stated that Ace believed she already had furnished objective
medical evidence but would submit additional information to
“clarify any misunderstanding.” To that end she requested
that Aetna send to her “the pertinent claim adjustment
guidelines that [Aetna] relied on in reaching [the] denial
determination” and certain other material. She asked Aetna
to provide the documents prior to her sending additional
information, so that she could ensure that her submission was
complete.

Southall responded to Harbour’s request on January 28,
1993, stating, “There are no claim adjustment guidelines
which we follow.” During discovery, however, Aetna pro-

|

;

;

ee

33a

duced its “Proper Claim Handling Guidelines” contained in
its Methods and Procedures Manual,” and at trial Aetna’s
director of disability claims testified that the guidelines are
mandatory for its claim analysts to follow.

G. Ace’s Renewed Request for Reconsideration

On February 12, 1993, Harbour submitted an additional
packet of materials to Aetna enclosing another Attending Phy-
sician Statement prepared by Dr. Kiessling on January 7,
1993, which rated Ace as a Class V disability, a letter by Dr.
Kiessling summarizing the objective medical evidence upon
which he based his opinion and explaining why Dr.
McEvoy’s July release should not carry dispositive weight,”
and a physical capacities evaluation (“PCE”) completed
January 28, 1993. The PCE stated that Ace was capable of

sitting, standing or walking for less than an hour each during
the day.

Harbour’s cover letter explained Ace’s fragile physical,
emotional and economic position and advised Aetna that
unless it accepted Ace’s application by March 1, Ace would
file suit. By February 1993, Ace had been forced to sell
much of her personal property and her home. She sent her
eldest son to live with another family and she lived in her car
from late February through early April.

H. Aetna’s Response

Southall called Harbour on February 24, 1993, and left
a phone message the content of which was disputed at trial.
It may have confirmed that the denial of the claim stood or it

'2 See note 11, supra.

'? In his letter, Dr. Kiessling stated that, “Dr. McEvoy’s release
ignored the slower than anticipated healing and associated pain of
the osteotomy procedure . . . as well as the critically complicating
feature of her low back pain.”

34a

may have been a request for an independent medical examina-
tion (“IME”). In any event, after receiving the additional
materials, Dr. Galvin and Southall had concluded that there
was insufficient information to support a finding that Ace was
| disabled. Dr. Galvin considered Dr. Kiessling’s letter as
| being of “no value” because of its tone, and asserted that he
| “[did] not accept Dr. K’s opinion, he is not a specialist and
a we are not providing a social benefit service.” Southall
| testified that he discounted Dr. Kiessling’s letter because it
a was unaccompanied by Dr. Kiessling’s chart notes,
examination results or other materials. Neither Southall nor
Dr. Galvin contacted Dr. Kiessling to discuss his letter or to
ask him to submit materials to support his conclusions.

| I. Aetna’s Demand for an Independent Medical Examination

On March 4 Aetna wrote Ace a letter, directing her to
appear before a designated physician for an IME on April 5,
1993. On advice of counsel, Ace refused to appear. On
March 15, Aetna wrote to Harbour, reaffirming its decision
to deny the claim on the basis of Ace’s failure to produce
proof of “[t]otal disability [which] is the inability to work at
any gainful occupation due to sickness or injury.” Ace then
retained litigation counsel who attempted, unsuccessfully, to
reschedule the IME.

J. End of Ace’s Disability

On April 8, 1993, Ace’s previously-scheduled knee
surgery was performed. Dr. Zorn successfully replaced
Ace’s knee. Within two months, Ace was walking without
crutches and returned to work. Her disability ended June 1,
1993.

| DISCUSSION
| 1. Judgment as a Matter of Law—Punitive Damages

Judgment as a matter of law is appropriate only when the
evidence, “viewed in the light most favorable to the nonmov-

|

35a

ing party,” could not reasonably support the verdict. Amarel
v. Connell, 102 F.3d 1494, 1517-18 (9th Cir. 1997), (as
amended). We review the grant of a motion for judgment as
a matter of law de novo. Id. at 1517.

To support punitive damages under Alaska law, a plain-
tiff must prove by clear and convincing evidence that the
wrongdoer’s conduct “was outrageous, such as acts done with
malice or bad motives or reckless indifference to the interests
of another person.” Alaska Stat. § 09.17.020;"* State Farm
Fire & Cas. Co. v. Nicholson, 777 P.2d 1152, 1158 (Alaska
1989) (quoting Sturm, Ruger & Co. v. Day, 594 P.2d 38, 46
(Alaska 1979), modified on reh’g, 615 P.2d 621 (Alaska
1980), overruled on other grounds by Dura Corp. v. Harned,
703 P.2d 396 (Alaska 1985)). Alaska courts will overturn a
punitive damage award only if consideration of the record as
a whole leaves them with a firm conviction of error and the
need to intervene to prevent a miscarriage of justice. Alaskan
Village, Inc. v. Smalley, 720 P.2d 945, 948 (Alaska 1986).

The district court concluded that no reasonable jury could
find by clear and convincing evidence that Aetna acted with
malice, bad motives or reckless indifference. After
determining that the evidence did not support a finding of
malice or bad motive, the court held that the evidence did not
clearly and convincingly support a finding of reckless
disregard, stating:

A jury could find that by requiring the insured to
marshall [sic] all the information, especially after Dr.
Kiessling’s second opinion was communicated, it is more
likely than not that Aetna acted with enough disregard for
Ace’s interest to represent bad faith sufficient to breach
the contract . . . but the evidence cannot support a
finding that Aetna’s disregard for Ace’s interest was

'* The statute was amended in August 1997 to make minor
textual changes not significant to the decision of this case.

364

clearly and convincingly reckless to the point that Aetna
should be punished. Plainly put, there is nothing
outrageous about relying on the opinion of the most
knowledgeable physician, Dr. McEvoy, to the exclusion
of what little contrary indication of Ace’s condition had
emerged prior to asking for an IME, the one procedure
| that could be expected to clear up any uncertainty.

In ruling that while Aetna acted “with enough disregard

for Ace’s interest to represent bad faith” but not “clearly and

| convincingly reckless[ly],” the district court ignored signifi-
| cant and undisputed evidence. Focusing only on Aetna’s
| “requiring the insured to marshall all the information” and
“relying on the opinion of the most knowledgeable

physician,” the court failed to take into account substantial

evidence’ from which a jury could reasonably have found,

clearly and convincingly, that Aetna acted with reckless indif-

ference to Ace’s interests.'° That evidence, which is summa-

rized in the preceding part of this opinion and is undisputed,

includes the following conduct by Aetna: (1) basing denial of

the claim on an illegal standard for benefit eligibility;'’ (2)

failing to inform the claimant of the standard actually used by

'S The court also failed to take into account that Aetna had
effectively twice denied the application before it asked for the IME;
had it wished to “clear up any uncertainty,” it would presumably
have asked for the examination before it decided whether to grant
or deny the application.

'© Because under Alaska law, the jury could award punitive
damages on evidence that Aetna acted with reckless indifference to
Ace’s interests, it is not necessary to address the court’s findings
with respect to malice and bad motives.

'7 See note 7, supra.

ee ee ee

37a

Aetna in evaluating disability claims;'* (3) failing to investi-
gate the claim and to seek or request the supporting informa-
tion alleged to be missing; (4) failing to assist the claimant in
presenting her disability claim;'® (5) relying on outdated
prognoses of the claimant’s expected recovery and
disregarding recent reports of her actual condition; (6)
denying her «laim based on an undefined “requirement” not
a term of her policy and contrary to Aetna’s internal claim
adjustment guidelines; (7) falsely advising the claimant that
Aetna had no claim adjustment guidelines; and (8) making a
last-minute demand for an IME after having denied the claim.

In evaluating the sufficiency of the evidence, the district
court failed to consider it as a whole and to resolve all
inferences in favor of the jury’s verdict. See Continental Ore
Co. v. Union Carbide & Carbon Corp., 370 U.S. 690, 699
(1962) (“In cases such as this, plaintiffs should be given the
full benefit of their proof without tightly compartmentalizing
the various factual components and wiping the slate clean
after scrutiny of each.”). Viewing the evidence in the light
most favorable to the nonmoving party, we cannot say the
evidence does not reasonably support an award of punitive
damages.”

'* Alaska law requires the insurance company to provide a
reasonable explanation of the basis in the policy for denial of a
claim. Aleska Stat. §§ 21.36.125(1) and (14).

'? Alaska law requires an insurer upon receipt of notice of a
claim, promptly to provide the necessary claim forms, instructions
and assistance so that the claimant is able to comply with all
reasonable requirements. Alaska Admin. Code tit. 3, §
26.040(a)(3) (1997).

0 The two cases on which the district court relied, State Farm
Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Weiford, 831 P.2d 1264 (Alaska 1992), and
Nicholson, 777 P.2d 1152, are inapposite. Both involved
negotiations leading to disputes between the insured and the carrier

38a

2. Conditional Grant of New Trial — Punitive
Damages

We have jurisdiction to review the conditional grant of a
new trial order under Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(c)(1). Air-Sea For-
warders, Inc. v. Air Asia Co., 880 F.2d 176, 190 n. 15 (9th
Cir. 1989). The district court’s order stated in relevant part:

In general the court agrees with the arguments advanced
by defendant and therefore grants the motion for a new
trial as to the claim for punitive damages such that if the
court of appeals should reverse this court’s decision on
the punitive damages claim there will be a new trial on
that claim.

Rule 50(c)(1) states that the court “shall specify the
grounds for granting the motion for the new trial.” The court
failed to do so here, at least explicitly, but it is a fair
inference that it granted a new trial for the same reasons for
which it granted judgment as a matter of law. The court’s
failure to rule on Aetna’s request for a remittitur or to base
its new trial order specifically on the magnitude of the
punitive damage award, as opposed to the fact of the award,
leads us to the conclusion that the new trial was granted on
the erroneous ground that the evidence was insufficient as a
matter of law. While our review of an order granting a new
trial is for abuse of discretion, “a stringent standard applies
when the motion is based on insufficiency of the evidence.”
EEOC vy. Pape Lift, Inc., 115 F.3d 676, 680 (9th Cir. 1997)
(internal quotations omitted) (quoting Venegas v. Wagner, 831
F.2d 1514, 1519 (9th Cir. 1987). A district court may order

anew trial basec_on insufficient evidence only if it finds that.

the jury’s verdict “is against the great weight of the evidence,

over the amount to be paid on the insured’s damage claim, the
court holding that the evidence did not support a finding of
“outrageous” conduct. Neither involved denial of coverage or
benefits or other misconduct by the carrier.

39a

Or it is quite clear that the jury has reached a seriously
erroneous result.” Jd.; Roy v. Volkswagen of Am., Inc., 896
F.2d 1174 (9th Cir.), as arsended by 920 F.2d 618 (9th Cir.
1990). The court made no such finding and the record would
not support it.

Rule 50(c)(1) further provides that where “the motion for
a new trial has been conditionally granted and the judgment
is reversed on appeal, the new trial shall proceed unless the
appellate court has otherwise ordered.” The rule contemplates
that in a case such as this, we may give direction for further
proceedings. See 28 U.S.C. § 2106 (“any [ ] court of
appellate jurisdiction may . . . remand the cause and direct
the entry of such . . . order . . . as may be just under the
circumstances”).

While the evidence was sufficient as a matter of law to
support an award of punitive damages, whether the award
was excessive is a different issue.!

A punitive damage award is excessive if it is manifestly
unreasonable, resulting from passion or prejudice or
disregard of the rules of law. Relevant factors include
the compensatory damage amount, magnitude of the
offense, importance or the policy violated and the
defendant’s wealth.

Alaskan Village, 720 P.2d at 949; see also Sturm, Ruger &
Co., 594 P.2d at 48; Pluid v. B.K., 948 P.2d 981, 983
(Alaska 1997) (per curiam). No single factor is dispositive.
Sturm, Ruger & Co., 615 P.2d at 624 & n.3. The award must
also pass muster under federal due process analysis. BMW v.

~ Gore, U.S. __, 116 S. Ct. 1589, 1599-1604 (1996)

(identifying as «guideposts” that must be considered: (1)
“degree of reprehensibility of the defendant’s conduct”; (2)

* Aetna does not contend that the award was the product of
passion or prejudice.

40a

“ratio [of punitive damage award] to the actual harm inflicted
on the plaintiff”; and (3) “[c]omparing the punitive damage
award and the civil or criminal penalties that could be
imposed for comparable misconduct”).

Our review of the reported Alaska decisions leads us to
the conclusion that the punitive damage award was excessive.
Although not dispositive itself, the ratio of punitive-to-
compensatory damages — 130 to 1 — is much higher than
any ratio approved by Alaska state courts. Moreover, the
amount of punitive damages far exceeds the potential civil and
criminal penalties for Aetna’s actions.” The trend of reported
Alaska decisions (subject to some variation taking into
account unusual factual situations) reflects approval of
punitive damage awards on the order of two to three times the
amount of compensatory damages.” Taking all relevant
factors into account, we conclude that Alaska courts would
not approve an award in excess of three times compensatory

~ The maximum fine under the applicable provisions of the
Alaska criminal code is $500,000. Alaska Stat. §§ 11.46.600(a)(2),
12.55.035(c)(1)(A).

® See Pluid, 948 P.2d at 984, 986 (upholding jury’s 5-to-1 ratio
of punitive to compensatory damages); Day, 615 P.2d at 624
(remitting jury punitive damage award, resulting in a 3.6-to-1
ratio); Alaska Ins. Co. v. Movin’ On Constr. Inc., 718 P.2d 472,
475 (Alaska 1986) (upholding 3-to-1 ratio); Teamsters Local 959 v.
Wells, 749 P.2d 349, 361 n.26 (Alaska 1988) (upholding 2.54-to-1
ratio); Ben Lomond, Inc. v. Cambell, 691 P.2d 1042, 1048 (Alaska

_1984) (upholding 2.38-to-1 ratio); Alaskan Village, 720 P.2dat949

(upholding 2-to-1 ratio). Cf Cameron v. Beard, 864 P.2d 538,
551 (Alaska 1994) (upholding 70-to-1 and 45-to-1 ratios). In
Cameron, however, in addition to the $1,000 in compensatory
damages received from each of the two individual defendants, the
plaintiff also recovered $700,000 in actual damages from the State,
another defendant. Id. at 544. Thus, the overall ratio of punitive
to compensatory damages was 1-to-6.

4la

damages in this case. Following the lead of the Alaska
Supreme Court in Sturm, Ruger & Co., 615 P.2d at 624, we
will remand with directions to the district court to enter an
order denying a new trial on punitive damages conditioned on
Ace accepting a remittitur of punitive damages to $381,000.
See American Nat’l Bank & Trust v. Regional Transit Auth.
125 F.3d 420, 437 (7th Cir. 1997) (“We, like the district
court, certainly have the authority to grant a new trial or a
remittitur if the circumstances so warrant.”); Jn re Torcise,
116 F.3d 860, 869 (11th Cir. 1997) (remanding with
directions to enter remittitur in specified amount or, if
plaintiff does not accept, a new trial).

3. Denial of Aetna’s Motion for Judgment—Bad
Faith Liability

The district court’s denial of Aetna’s motion may be
reversed only if the evidence, construed in the light most
favorable to Ace, permits only one reasonable conclsion, and
that conclusion is contrary to that of the jury’s. Acosta v.
City & County of San Francisco, 83 F.3d 1143, 1145 (9th
Cir.), cert. denied sub nom., Yawczak v. Acosta, Sie | ef
__» 1178S. Ct. 514, 136 L. Ed. 2d 403 (1996). We review
de novo the denial of a motion for judgment as a matter of
law. Td.

To prove bad faith, a plaintiff must establish “the absence
of a reasonable basis for denying benefits of the policy and
the defendant’s knowledge or reckless disregard of the lack
of a reasonable basis for denying the claim.” Hillman v.
Nationwide Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 855 P.2d 1321, 1324 (Alaska
1993) (quoting Anderson v. Continental Ins. Co., 271

~N-W.2d 368, 376-77 (Wis. 1978)). As the foregoing

discussion shows, the court’s denial of judgment as a matter
of law is supported by the evidence that (1) Aetna did not
investigate Ace’s claim and shifted the burden of investigating

42a

entirely to her;** (2) Aetna did not gather any medical
records, contact Ace’s lawyers, or telephone Ace or her
employer to obtain evidence relevant to her claim; (3) Aetna
failed to disclose the standard it was obliged to use in
evaluating a disability claim; (4) Aetna failed to provide a
_ reasonable explanation for its denial of Ace’s claim; (5) Aetna
acted unreasonably in reviewing Ace’s records by relying on
outdated prognoses of her expected recovery and ignoring
more recent reports on her actual condition; (6) Aetna failed
to answer Ace’s questions and to tell her what documents to
submit in support of her claim; and (7) Aetna knew that Ace
suffered from a chronic condition that had been predicted to
deteriorate.

The foregoing discussion also disposes of Aetna’s appeal
from the denial of a new trial on its bad faith liability.

4. Denial of Aetna’s Motion for New Trial on the
Award of “Emotional Distress” Damages

Aetna appeals the denial of a new trial on the award of
“emotional distress” damages, asserting that the district court
erred by failing to instruct the jury that a plaintiff seeking
emotional distress damages must prove that her distress was
“severe” before any damages may be awarded. We review
the denial of a new trial for abuse of discretion. Wharf v.
Burlington N. R.R. Co., 60 F.3d 631, 637 (9th Cir. 1995).
We hold that the district court did not abuse its discretion in
denying Aetna’s motion for a new trial.

Under Alaska law, breach of the implied covenant of
good faith and fair dealing is actionable in tort against insur-

** Aetna’s claim handling guidelines instruct claims handlers to:
“Obtain all available pertinent facts, not just those that are
favorable to the company. Develop the claimant’s case as well as
the company’s. If he is being treated by different doctors, obtain
medical information from all of them.”

43a

ers. Nicholson, 777 P.2d 1152. Emotional distress is a cate-
gory of damages in a bad faith case but is not an element of
the claim. Alaska courts have never explicitly limited recov-
ery of emotional distress damages in bad faith insurance cases
to those instances where the plaintiff has shown “severe”
emotional distress. However, Aetna interprets Chizmar v.
Mackie, 896 P.2d 196 (Alaska 1995), a negligent infliction of
emotional distress case, as requiring plaintiffs seeking emo-
tional distress damages from any type of tort to prove that
their distress was “severe” before any damages may be
awarded.”

Aetna’s reliance on Chizmar is misplaced. The
requirement that the damages be “severe” is an element of the
underlying torts of negligent and intentional infliction of
emotional distress, but not of the tort of breach of the duty of
good faith and fair dealing by an insurer to an insured.
Chizmar, 896 P.2d at 204 (negligent infliction); Cameron v.
Beard, 864 P.2d 538, 548 (Alaska 1993) (intentional
infliction). Aetna contends that the elements of the two torts,
intentional infliction of emotional distress and bad faith

*> Aetna also relies on Hillman, 855 P.2d. at 1324. Hillman
cites a Wisconsin case, Anderson, 271 N.W.2d at 376-77, which
required severe emotional distress, but uses the case to explain the
objective and subjective elements of bad faith. The Hillman court
did not address the severity of the emotional distress damages that
must be proved or cite to the Anderson court’s discussion of this
issue. The fact that the court relied on one portion of the Anderson
opinion does not support the claim that it also adopted other parts
of the opinion.

© Under Alaska law, a claim for intentional infliction of
emotional distress has three elements: (1) the defendant’s conduct
is extreme and outrageous; (2) the conduct is intentional or
reckless; and (3) the conduct causes severe emotional distress.
Bishop v. Municipality of Anchorage, 899 P.2d 149, 155 (Alaska
1995) (citing King v. Brooks, 788 P.2d 707, 711 (Alaska 1990)).

44a

breach, are so similar that any attempt to distinguish them
would b artificial. The argument overlooks the fact that
Alaska courts have treated intentional infliction of emotional
distress and bad faith breach cases differently. For instance,
under Alaska law, a plaintiff cannot sustain a claim for
intentional infliction of emotional distress unless the
defendant’s conduct rises to the level of outrageousness,
which would warrant a punitive damage award. Hawks v.
Department of Pub. Safety, 908 P.2d 1013, 1015 (Alaska
1995) (citing Richardson v. Fairbanks N. Star Borough, 705
P.2d 454, 456 (Alaska 1985)). However, a plaintiff may
successfully bring a bad faith breach claim and recover
compensatory damages where the evidence was insufficient to
support an award of punitive damages because it did not show
that the insurer’s actions were outrageous or reckless.
Nicholson, 777 P.2d at 1158; Weiford, 831 P.2d at 1267.

Moreover, the policy considerations for requiring severity
to be shown do not support applying the requirement to bad
faith insurance cases. As the court said in Chizmar, “The
basic assumption underlying the traditional rule is that
emotional distress without physical injury is relatively trivial
and easily feigned.” Chizmar, 896 P.2d at 201. In contrast,
when an insurance company wrongly refuses to honor its
obligations, emotional distress is a natural and believable
response. Insureds bargained and paid for the security and
peace of mind of knowing that reimbursement and financial
support will be provided in the event that a misfortune
occurs. As insurance payments often serve as a safety net for
the insured, Aetna’s refusal to cover Ace’s injury is
foreseeably egregious.

___ The fact that the Alaska courts-have applied_the-tort-of
bad faith breach only to insurance contracts between the
insurer and the insured further demonstrates that these policy
considerations do not come into play. See Nicholson, 777
P.2d at 1157. By allowing insureds to bring the action in
tort, Alaska courts have relieved plaintiffs of the obligation of

45a

bringing a separate tort claim for negligent or intentional
infliction of emotional distress. However, unlike a plaintiff
in an insurance case, a plaintiff bringing a claim for bad faith
breach of an employment contract would have to indepen-
dently establish the tort of negligent or intentional infliction
of emotional distress to recover emotional distress damages.
See, e.g., ARCO Alaska, Inc. v. Akers, 753 P.2d 1150, 1153-
54 (Alaska 1988) (no independent tort for breach of good
faith and fair dealing in an employment contract).

CONCLUSION

We AFFIRM the denial of Aetna’s motions for judgment
as a maiter of law on bad faith liability, for a new trial on
bad faith liability and for a new trial on emotional distress
damages. We REVERSE the grant of judgment as a matter
of law on punitive damages and we VACATE the conditional
grant of a new trial on punitive damages. We REMAND
with direction to enter an order denying Aetna’s motion for
new trial on punitive damages on condition that Ace accepts
a remittitur of punitive damages to $381,000.

FLETCHER, Circuit Judge, Dissenting:

I respectfully dissent from that portion of the opinion that
would have our court dictate the amount of punitive damages
for the purposes of remittitur. The majority picks a multiple
of 3 out of the air, stating only that we are “taking all
relevant factors into account . . .” Majority at 2268.

The Alaska Supreme Court has recently stated that “[t}he

ratio between compensatory and punitive damages is merely

a-factor-to-be taken into account and we have never laid out
a definitive permissible ratio.” Pluid v. B.K., 982 P.2d 981,
985 (Alaska 1997). The issue is one of state law. We should
not imperially delegate to ourselves the decision as to what
that ratio should be. When reviewing an award of punitive
da®ages, Alaska courts look to a number of factors to

46a

determine what is “manifestly unreasonable.” Jd. at 984.
“Relevant factors include the compensatory damage amount,
magnitude of the offense, importance of the policy violated,
and the defendant’s wealth.” Jd. If we had an adequate record
and, in fact, could and did review the relevant factors, we
could determine what is too much, but certainly not what is
enough.

The majority pays only lipservice to the Alaska Supreme
Court’s determination that the facts, and not the ratio, drive
the results of a review of punitive damages. The majority
notes that the jury awarded a 130-1 ratio of punitive to
compensatory damages and that Alaska typically approves “of
punitive damage awards on the order of two to three times the
amount of compensatory damages.” Majority at 2267-68.
Waving its judicial wand and invoking the incantation —
[t]aking all relevant factors into account,” the majority
divines the proper award of damages to be three to one. Jd.

The majority has engaged in no meaningful analysis. It
does not even attempt to compare the facts of this case with
those of other cases where different multipliers were
approved. Were it our business to set maximums, the facts
of this case would support a much higher award. The three
discretionary factors outlined by Pluid, would support a much
higher multiple. First, as to the “magnitude of the offense,”
we need only look to the harm caused to Ace, harm that her
insurance was intended to avoid. She lost everything she had,
including her home; she had to live in her car; and she had
to send her child away because she couldn’t care for him.
Next, with respect to the “importance of the policy violated,”
Aetna’s wrongful and bad faith refusal to cover Ace
implicated a much broader company policy of wrongfully
denying coverage to many who met the definition of
“disabled,” exhibiting a callous breach of trust owed to their
insureds at a time when they are most vulnerable. Finally,
the “defendant’s wealth,” is estimated at 1.7 billion dollars
and the evidence presented demonstrates that Aetna’s assets

47a

would not be sufficiently diminished by the punitive damages
award set by the majority. Punitive damages by definition
are to be adequate in amount to punish the offender.

All of these factors weigh heavily in favor of a
substantial award to Ace. In Pluid, a sexual battery case, the
Alaska Supreme Court affirmed a 5-1 ratio of punitive
damages to compensatory damages. Id. at 984. I see nothing
in the opinion that suggests that the Alaska Supreme Court
found this ratio to be high or even near the limit that would
be acceptable. Certainly nothing in Pluid suggests that a 3-1
ratio represents a “standard.” Indeed, there is strikingly little
evidence of Alaska courts disturbing jury awards at all. Of
the cases cited by the majority, the Alaska courts disturbed
the jury’s punitive damages award in only two, Alaska Ins.
Co. v. Movin’ On Constr. Inc., 718 P.2d 472, 475 (Alaska
1986) (reducing punitives damages proportionally to a
reduction of compensatory damages because it appeared that
the jury had set punitives itself by using a 3 to 1 ratio); and
Sturm, Ruger & Co. v. Day, 615 P.2d 621, 624 (Alaska
1980) (on rehearing increasing a cap it had previously set on
the punitive damages from $250,000 to $500,000).

In Sturm, Ruger & Co., the Alaska Supreme Court was
dealing with its own law under the facts presented in that
case. If we compare the facts of Sturm, Ruger & Co. to our
facts, this case involves more egregious facts, a more
important relationship — that of the insured to the insurer,
and a greater likelihood of reoccurrence. Even so the Alaska
Court set a ratio significantly higher in Sturm, Ruger & Co.
than the majority sets here. Of the other cases cited by the
majority, not only were the awards left undisturbed but the
underlying facts and public policy concerns appear to have
been less compelling than those before us. Moreover, in a
later case, the Alaska Supreme Court denied a request to fix
the amount of punitive damages at the appellate level. It
explained that Sturm, Ruger & Co. was a case where “[i]t
was only after an extensive trial record was established that

48a

the appellate court reduced the award of punitive damages.”
Pletnikoff v. Johnson, 765 P.2d 973, 978 (Alaska 1988). It
went on to state, as did the court in Pluid, that “[w]e have
noted on numerous occasions that the factors to consider in
awarding punitive damages are the amount of compensatory
damages and, more importantly, the magnitude and flagrancy
of the offense, the importance of the policy violated, and the
wealth of the defendant.” Jd. at 978-79. As a federal
appellate court, we have no business setting the amount of the
remittitur in this case. The majority ignores the fact that a
raotion is pending before the district court to grant a
remittitur. It should be ruled upon by the district court in the
first instance where a proper record can be made.

49a
APPENDIX D

MINUTES OF THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ALASKA

Case No. J94-0018 CV (JWS)

SHERRIE ACE
V.

AETNA LIFE INSURANCE Co.

THE HONORABLE JOHN W. SEDWICK
Deputy Clerk, Pam Richter
Official Recorder,
APPEARANCES: for Plaintiff: —-----
for Defendant: -----
PROCEEDINGS: ORDER FROM CHAMBERS
[Filed September 9, 1996]

The court has considered the motion for new trial at docket
228 and the opposition thereto. In general the court agrees
with the arguments advanced by defendant and therefore
grants the motion for a new trial as to the claim for punitive
damages such that if the court of appeals should reverse this
court’s decision on the punitive damages claim there will be
a new trial on that claim.

The question of whether there should be a new trial on the
underlying tort claim for compensatory damages is a closer
question. The court resolves that issue in favor of plaintiff.

5Ca

The motion at docket 228 is GRANTED IN PART AND
DENIED IN PART as set forth above.

ENTERED AT JUDGE’S DIRECTION
INITIALS: _prr_
DATE: September 9, 1996 Deputy Clerk

Sla
APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF ALASKA

Case No. J94-018 CV (JWS)

SHERRIE ACE, PLAINTIFF,
vs.

AETNA LIFE INSURANCE CO., DEFENDANT.

(Motion for Judgment, as
Matter of Law — Docket 214)

[Filed: July 2, 1996]

ORDER FROM CHAMBERS

MOTION PRESENTED

Plaintiff Sherrie Ace (“Ace”) applied for disability
benefits pursuant to an insurance policy issued by Aetna Life
Insurance Company (“Aetna”) . Aetna denied the ap,lication,
and Ace sued, alleging that Aetna denied her _‘aim in bad
faith, and seeking compensatory and punitive damages. A
jury trial was conducted in Juneau, Alaska, from May 20,
1996 through May 30, 1996. Upon conclusion of plaintiff’s
case, Aetna moved for judgment as a matter of law, which
the court denied. At the close of all the evidence, Aetna
again moved for judgment as a matter of law, pursuant to
Fed. R. Civ. P. 50. The court took the motion under
advisement. The case was submitted to the jury, which
returned a verdict for Ace awarding compensatory damages
of $127,009 and punitive damages of $16,500,000. Aetna
renewed its motion and the court invited further briefing.

52a

Defendant’s memorandum was filed at docket 214 and
plaintiff's memorandum was filed at docket 216. No party
has requested additional oral argument, and it would not be
of material aid to the court.

This order also addresses plaintiff's motion at Docket
212, which requests that prejudgment interest begin to accrue
on March 3, 1993.

DISCUSSION
1. Jurisdiction; Governing Law

This court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1332. The
applicable substantive law in this diversity action is the law
Alaska. The Home Indemnity Co. v. Lane Powell Moss and
Miller, 43 F.3d 1322, 1325 (9th Cir. 1995).

2. Rule 50 Standard

Judgment as a matter of law is proper if the only
reasonable conclusion supported by the evidence presented at
trial would require judgment for the moving party; it is not
proper where there is substantial evidence to support a
judgment for the non-moving party. Evidence must be
considered in the light most favorable to the non-moving
party. E.g., Morgan v. Woessner, 997 F.2d 1244, 1252 (9th
Cir. 1993).

3. Insurance Bad Faith and Punitive Damages

The Alaska Supreme Court recognized a cause of action
in tort for bad faith handling of a first party insurance claim
in State Farm Fire & Casualty Company v. Nicholson, 777 P.
2d 1152 (Alaska 1989). The Alaska court explained that the
tort cause of action arises from a breach of the covenant of
good faith and fair dealing implied in the insurance contract.
The court chose to allow a cause of action in tort for conduct
which in other contexts would give rise only to a claim for
breach of contract in recognition of the adhesionary nature of
insurance contracts and to afford an adequate remedy to

53a

insureds who would not be able to recover consequential
damages on a contract cause of action. Nicholson, 777 P.2d
at 1155-57. Noting that, as a tort cause of action, an
insurance bad faith claim could support an award for punitive
damages, the Nicholson court cautioned that such a cause of
action cannot support an award of punitive damages unless
the plaintiff can prove that the insurer engaged in conduct
which was “outrageous, such as acts done with malice or bad
motives or reckless indifference to the interests of another.”
777 P.2d at 1158 (quoting Sturm, Ruger & Co. v. Day, 594
P.2d 38, 46 (Alaska 1979), overruled on other grounds, Dura
Corp. v. Harned, 703 P.2d 396 (Alaska 1985)).

In Nicholson, and again in State Farm Mutual Auto. Ins.
Co. v. Weiford, 831 P.2d 1264 (Alaska 1992), the Alaska
Supreme Court made it clear that there are circumstances
under which the evidence may be sufficient to present a jury
question on a bad faith claim, but insufficient to support a
claim for punitive damages. In both cases, the Alaska court
found wanting evidence of the outrageous conduct required to
warrant punishment.

In addition to the need to establish truly outrageous
behavior, under Alaska law, a plaintiff has a higher burden
of proof for the recovery of punitive damages than for the
recovery of compensatory damages. To recover punitive
damages, a plaintiff must prove the elements of her case by
clear and convincing evidence. AS 09.17.020. This
legislative recognition of the “narrow limits in which punitive
damages should be allowed”, Weiford, 831 P.2d at 1266 n.
2, is a corollary to the Alaska Supreme Court’s admonition
that punitive damages, “are not favored in law” and “are to
be allowed only with caution and within narrow limits.”
Weiford, 831 P.2d at 1266 (quoting Alaska Placer Co. v. Lee,
553 P.2d 54, 61 (Alaska 1976)).

The facts in Nicholson were summarized by the Alaska
court as follows:

54a

In February, 1983 a water main. . . broke. The water
main . . . ran (underground] beside the Nicholson house
and other houses. . . . The escaping water caused the soil
underneath the house to erode and settle. More than a
year later, on March 27, 1984, the Nicholsons first
contacted State Farm to report the loss. On April 6,
1984 Vere Hotchkiss, claims adjuster for State Farm,
made an initial on-premise inspection, and returned again
on April 11, 1984 with an engineer to conduct another
inspection. Relying on the . . . engineering report which
stated two possibilities for the loss i.e. water alone or
permafrost and earth settling, State Farm denied coverage
on April 22, 1984, because its policy contained an
exclusion for [the second possibility]. Furthermore the
. . . report recommended that the Nicholson house be
observed during the winter of 1984-1985 to determine if
any more settling would occur. Another consulting
engineering report agreed... ..

In the meantime State Farm agreed to cover the
Nicholson’s next door neighbor for the same loss. On
June 14, 1984 State Farm now agreed to extend coverage
to the Nicholsons for their loss and requested them to
obtain property appraisals. On August 15, 1984 a
general contractor . . . declined to give a repair estimate
to the Nicholsons until a soil survey was performed
{which was done during the 1984-85 winter]. During
this time the Nicholsons experienced electrical and
structural problems in their house. They were upset with
the delay in fixing their house.

On May 29, 1985, a new State Farm adjuster [directed
the Nicholsons to contact Pac-Rim Construction Services
for an estimate on repair or replacement of the house.]
The Pac Rim report was issued on June 14, 1985 [with
estimates] well in excess of the policy limits of
$113,264.

55a

State Farm then obtained an appraisal of the property [in
the amount of] $98,200, and offered to pay that amount
plus additional reimbursement for repair or replacement
costs up to the policy limits. The offer was made on
October 9, 1985. The Nicholsons rejected this offer and
filed suit... .

777 P.2d at 1153-54. In the October 9, 1985 letter, State
Farm also required the Nicholsons to complete a sworn
statement of loss within 60 days. Jd., 777 P.2d at 1154 n. 1.

The Nicholson case was tried to a jury which returned a
verdict awarding compensatory damages and punitive
damages.' At trial:

State Farm offered testimony from several witnesses that
the adjustment of this claim was highly unusual, difficult,
and complex. The Nicholsons offered testimony from
Robert Lowe, as an expert independent claim adjuster,
that State Farm’s delay in deciding coverage and
settlement of the claim was unreasonable and outrageous.

777 P.2d at 1154. Recognizing that State Farm’s wrongful
acts constituted a tort, the Nicholson court then addressed the
sufficiency of the evidence to support an award of punitive
damages. The court had no trouble concluding that it did not.
“Based upon the factual scenario [set out at length above] we
conclude that there was insufficient evidence as a matter of
law to support a finding of outrageous conduct or a gross
deviation from an acceptable standard of reasonable conduct
in order to sustain an award of punitive damages.” 777 P.2d
at 1158.

In State Farm Mutual Auto. Ins. Co. v. Weiford, 831
P.2d 1264 (Alaska 1992), the Alaska court again examined

' In State Farm Fire & Casualty Co. v. Nicholson, 777 P.2d

F452 (Alaska 1989), the jury awarded $107,500 in compensatory
damages and $7,500 in punitive damages.

56a

the sufficiency of evidence presented in a bad faith case
where a jury had awarded both compensatory and punitive
damages.* The court found that the evidence was sufficient
to present a jury question on the bad faith claim, but
insufficient to support a claim for punitive damages. Linda
Weiford was injured in an automobile accident in August of
1984. She attempted to collect benefits under her uninsured
motorist policy issued by State Farm. In October, 1984, she
was diagnosed with a cervical strain. She initially demanded
$17,500 and State Farm initially offered $3,408. After
further negotiations, State Farm offered $5,000, and Weiford
progressively reduced her demand until it was $10,000. In
July 1986, Weiford was diagnosed with a nerve root injury at
the seventh cervical vertebra, which injury the physician
thought was attributable to the auto accident. Weiford then
demanded the $25,000 policy limit and State Farm offered
$7,500. Further negotiations brought State Farm up to
$12,500, while Weiford reduced her demand to $18,500.
Anticipating arbitration, State Farm requested that Weiford
undergo an independent medical exam (“IME”). She agreed,
and the IME confirmed the nerve root injury. State Farm
then offered $17,500, which was countered by Weiford at
$21,000. Prior to the arbitration, State Farm increased its
offer to $20,000, but that was rejected. The arbitration
resulted in an award to Weiford of $22,000, which State
Farm paid. Weiford then sued for bad faith in the handling
of her claim.

On appeal, Weiford argued that the award of punitive
damages was justified because State Farm had adopted a
“tough stance” policy on claim payments in 1984 and 1985
which led State Farm adjusters to make unreasonably low
offers to Weiford. Weiford also pointed to a State Farm

2 In State Farm Mutual Auto. Ins. Co. v. Weiford, 831 P.2d 1264
(Alaska 1992), the jury awarded $18,007.50 in compensatory
damages and $1,200,000 in punitive damages.

57a

supervisor’s note that indicated that State Farm should not
exceed $20,000 in its offers to Weiford prior to arbitration,
because with a policy limit of only $25,000, the insured
would have more to lose at arbitration than the insurer.

As in Nicholson, the Alaska court let the compensatory
damage award stand but found the evidence insufficient to
support an award of punitive damages. The court wrote: “In
our view, while there is some evidence which would justify
a finding that State Farm was acting in bad faith, none of the
evidence shows conduct that may fairly be categorized as
outrageous.” 831 P.2d 1261. Addressing Weiford’s claim
about the unreasonably low initial offers, the court noted the
following:

Given [plaintiff's expert’s] testimony, the $5,000 offer
might support a fact finder’s conclusion that State Farm
was guilty of bad faith. However, because of Weiford’s
high level of physical activity, the absence of definitive
medical test results in 1985 and the fact that Weiford’s
physicians evidently believed that her injury would be
self resolving, even this conclusion is fairly debatable.
The evidence will not reasonably support the further
conclusion that this offer was so low as to be outrageous.

831 P.2d at 1268 (footnote omitted).
4. Evidence In The Case At Bar

In their memoranda, the parties have set forth in
considerable detail the evidence which was presented to the
jury. Most of the evidence is listed or described at Docket
214 pp. 8-20, 22-27, 34-38, 42 and Docket 216 pp. 15-19,
23-26. A comparison of the parties, briefing discloses a
considerable disagreement over the conclusions which may be
drawn from the evidence presented, but no disagreement over
what evidence was presented to the jury. The parties have
adequately set forth the evidence presented, making it
unnecessary to repeat it here.

58a

5. Sufficiency of Evidence

Viewed in the light most favorable to Ace, this court
concludes that a reasonable jury could have concluded that
Aetna breached its obligation to deal fairly and in good faith
with Ace in the processing of her claim for disability benefits,
but that no reasonable jury could find that there was clear and
convincing evidence that Aetna’s conduct was outrageous.

Aetna had an obligation to investigate Ace’s claim.
However, up to the point at which Aetna made arrangements
for the IME, rather than initiate inquiries of its own, Aetna
relied upon Ace to present information to it. Aetna persisted
in this approach even after it had reason to know that Ace’s
family doctor, Dr. Kiessling, held the opinion that Ace was
disabled. While it is true that Dr. Kiessling had earlier
opined that Ace’s condition was substantially better, and it is
also true that Dr. Kiessling did an abysmal job of explaining
why his opinion had changed, Aetna nevertheless was alerted
to the fact that one physician believed that Ace’s condition
had deteriorated to the point that she was disabled. Further,
Dr. Kiessling’s second opinion was the most recent opinion
available to Aetna. Aetna also knew from the medical
records that Ace’s initial leg injury produced major damage
and a chronic orthopedic condition which had already
required several surgeries and was expected to require a
complete replacement of her injured knee. On the other
hand, Aetna also had received the opinion of Dr. Richard
McEvoy (“Dr. McEvoy”), the orthopedic physician most
familiar with Ace’s condition, indicating that she could go
back to work.

Although it is a close question, particularly in light of the
fact that where an insurer has an objectively reasonable basis
for denying a claim the denial does not constitute bad faith,’

> Hillman v. Nationwide mutual Fire Ins. Co., 758 P.2d 1248
(Alaska 1988) .

59a

this court concludes that when all the evidence is viewed in
the light most favorable to Ace, a reasonable jury could have
found that Aetna acted in bad faith by not promptly making
some affirmative inquiry after receiving Dr. Kiessling’s
second opinion. It bears emphasis that Ace was making a
Claim for disability in circumstances where the insurer had
reason to know she suffered from a chronic condition that had
been predicted to deteriorate. For the company to have
continued to demand that Ace bring additional evidence to it
in such circumstances could reasonably be viewed as unfair
disregard for Ace’s interest under the insurance contract.

The punitive damages issue must be evaluated in light of
the Alaska court’s holdings in Nicholson and Weiford. These
cases underscore the fact that evidence of bad faith violation
of the insurance contract is not enough to warrant imposition
of punitive damages. The Alaska court requires proof of
outrageous behavior. Moreover, the proof must be clear and
convincing. With the examples provided by Nicholson and
Weiford in mind, an examination of the evidence in the case
at bar discloses inadequate support for the proposition that
Aetna’s conduct was clearly and convincingly “outrageous,”
represented “malice” toward Ace, was caused by “bad
motives” or displayed a “reckless disregard” for Ace’s
interest.

There is no direct evidence that Aetna acted with malice
toward Ace or from bad motives. Of course, such conditions
may also be proved indirectly by inference from other
evidence, Alyeska Pipeline Service Co. v. O’Kelley, 645 P.2d
767, 774 (Alaska 1982). Ace urges that evidence of bad
motives or malice will be found in the fact that Aetna quoted
the policy language respecting “any gainful occupation” in
correspondence with Ace, rather than offering an explanation
that the policy language could not be taken literally.

The “any gainful occupation” language quoted was the
language actually used in a contract entered by Ace’s

60a

employer, the State of Alaska. The language was not
language inserted into a policy presented to an individual
insured on a take it or leave it basis. The language was
contained in a contract between Aetna and a state
government. The language was not actually employed by
Aetna to deny benefits to Ace. Ace’s qualification for
disability benefits turned upon whether she was able to go
back to work at her own job. That this was the central issue
was Clearly known by all the Aetna personnel involved in
handling the claim. Whatever might be said about quoting
back the “any gainful occupation” language in some other
context, it is unreasonable to conclude that on the facts here
it shows any malice toward Ace.

Ace argues that quoting back the “any gainful
occupation” language also shows a bad motive: by quoting
back a standard far higher than the law would allow Aetna to
enforce literally, Aetna discourages claimants and bolsters its
own bottom line. On the other hand, the evidence shows that
Aetna uses the language in very few disability contracts and
does not employ it literally. Significantly, there is no
evidence in the record that Ace’s hypothesis is viable. Ace
was certainly not discouraged. Nor is there evidence that the
language has discouraged anybody else. All Ace offered to
support the viability of the hypothesis was the opinion of her
expert, Barbara Paul. However, Ms. Paul offered no basis
for her opinion. She had no relevant knowledge at all about
claims experience under the State of Alaska insurance
program in which Ace was enrolled, nor could she cite
evidence from any other source to support her opinion. On
the other hand, there was uncontradicted testimony from
Steve Elliott and Bryan Southall, who currently are engaged
in processing disability claims under both the rare “any
gainful occupation” standard and more common modern
formulations, that they have observed no difference in the
behavior of insureds. There was also uncontradicted

6la

testimony from Aetna’s expert, Burt Bernstein, that Ms.
Paul’s opinion is not supported by the literature.

Even if one were to disregard all of the evidence on this
point completely except Ms. Paul’s speculation, her opinion
is simply not clear and convincing evidence of a bad motive.
It is a substantial reach from the hypothesis that accurately
quoting back the “any gainful occupation” contract language
in today’s heavily lawyered society would possibly discourage
disabled insureds from pursuing their rights to the conclusion
that the possibility is considered a reality by Aetna such that
a bad motive may be inferred. The vastly more reasonable
inference is that in order to avoid claims against it based upon
alleged misrepresentation by its claims processors, Aetna is
careful to require such personnel to refer to the contract
language in correspondence with claimants.

The manner in which Ace’s claim was actually handled
in terms of the information available to Aetna at each step in
the process cannot support an inference of malice or bad
motives. At all times, Aetna had knowledge of Dr.
McEvoy’s opinion which, given his role in Ace’s care, was
never persuasively contradicted by any other information.
Moreover, the lay claims personnel referred the medical
information to a qualified physician, Dr. Galvin, for review.
He found no basis for concluding Ace was disabled. Despite
Dr. Galvin’s opinion, Aetna did make arrangements for an
IME. Surprisingly, Ace declined the IME.

The evidence does not clearly and convincingly support
the proposition that Aetna acted in “reckless disregard” for
Ace’s interest. A jury could find that by requiring the
insured to marshall [sic] all the information, especially after
Dr. Kiessling’s second opinion was communicated, it is more
likely than not that Aetna acted with enough disregard for
Ace’s interest to represent bad faith sufficient to breach the
contract (and simultaneously give rise to the tort claim), but
the same evidence cannot support a finding that Aetna’s

62a

disregard for Ace’s interest was clearly and convincingly
reckless to the point that Aetna should be punished. Plainly
put, there is nothing outrageous about relying on the opinion
of the most knowledgeable physician, Dr. McEvoy, to the
exclusion of what little contrary indication of Ace’s condition
had emerged prior to asking for an IME, the one procedure
that could be expected to clear up any uncertainty.

The court has carefully reviewed the evidence and
considered the other arguments advanced by the parties. The
court finds no merit in Aetna’s arguments that an award of
compensatory damages cannot be supported by the evidence.
A reasonable jury could find for Ace on that issue.
Similarly, the court finds no merit in Ace’s arguments that an
award of punitive damages is supported by clear and
convincing evidence. A reasonable jury could not find for
Ace on that issue.

6. Prejudgment Interest

Under Alaska law prejudgment interest begins to accrue
on the date that process is served or that written notice of a
claim is given to the defendant, and such written notice must
be adequate to advise a “prudent person” that a claim will be
made. AS 09.30.070(b). Here, there is no dispute that
Francine Harbour’s letter of March 3, 1993, was an adequate
written notice, but Aetna argues it was vitiated by Roger
DuBrock’s indication that Ace would go ahead with the IME.
DuBrock did not tell Aetna that Ace would not follow up on
Harbour’s threatened lawsuit.

The decision in Himschoot v. Shanley, 908 P.2d 1035,
1042 (Alaska 1996) suggests that a trial court should look to
all the circumstances in deciding what a prudent person would
believe. Here, the circumstances are that after a clear written
notice that suit would be filed, there was a temporary
indication that additional information (the IME) would be
provided, there was no withdrawal of the threat of suit, and
the lawsuit eventually was filed. The court agrees with the

63a

observation of Ace’s counsel: “The test is what a prudent
person would believe; not what an optimistic person would
believe.” Docket 217 at p. 2. Therefore, prejudgment interest
began to accrue on March 3, 1993.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons and to the extent set forth above, the
motion for judgment as a matter of law by Aetna is
GRANTED IN PART and DENIED IN PART. The motion
at docket 212 is GRANTED.

The Clerk is directed to enter judgment for Ace for
compensatory damages only in the amount of $127,009 and
to provide for prejudgment interest at the State of Alaska
statutory rate of 10.5 percent per annum from March 3, 1993
to the date judgment is entered.

DATED this 2nd day of July, 1996, at Anchorage,
Alaska.

/s/ John W. wick

JOHN W. SEDWICK
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1386%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
