# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bishop v. United States, 131 Ct. Cl. 820 (1955) (No. 98-53)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1220%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1955

## Text

AN TIES De
No._ Bg 53 yn 2.1998

OFF
In The CE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1997
+

MICHAEL C. GOLD,

Petitioner,
VS.

CITY OF MIAMI, a Florida municipal corporation;
CALVIN ROSS, Individually; RAFAEL SUAREZ,
Individually; JORGE PEREZ, Individually;
and WILLIAM CAMPBELL, Individually,

Respondents.

>

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eleventh Circuit

— 4
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
— ¢

James K. Green, Esq.

One Clearlake Centre,
Suite 1602

250 S. Australian Avenue

West Palm Beach, Florida
33401

(561) 659-2029

ANDREW H. Kayton, Esa.
American Civil Liberties
Union Foundation of

Florida, Inc.
3000 Biscayne Blvd.,
Suite 215
Miami, Florida 33137
(305) 576-2337

Joe. S. Perwin, Esa.
Counsel of Record
PODHURST, ORSECK,
JOSEFSBERG, EATON,
MeaApow, OuN &
PERWIN, P.A.
25 West Flagler Street,
Suite 800
Miami, Florida 33130
(305) 358-2800/
Fax (305) 358-2382

CHarLes M. Baron, Esa.

633 N.E. 167th Street,
Suite 1201

North Miami Beach,
Florida 33162

(305) 770-1410

Attorneys for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

In holding that the individual defendant police offi-
cers had qualified immunity from personal liability under
42 U.S.C. § 1983, for their concededly illegal arrest of
Plaintiff Michael Gold for criticizing them without caus-
ing or threatening a disturbance, whether the Court of
Appeals:

1) applied the wrong legal standard, in conflict with
the decisions of this Court, in its application of the
“clearly established” test of Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S.
800, 818 (1982); and

2) created conflict with the decisions of at least five
other Courts of Appeals on analogous facts.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI............ 1
CJSC ESE WRUAAGS «oo x's CAN RR a ENO SNe A RAS MA 1
FR ORA PON 6 5 vias ci vee eRe ee beh caer eees 1
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-
SER PEGD APE VR MAY AU? 8 bo Sonn cen dose wes eas nee 2
STATEMEN: OF THE CASE. ci 545s eee eee es 2
i. The Proceedings Beiow 5... is asses accewens 2
he, BE PONS 6s evakbaks bieie seks tes eee 4
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION....... 5
1. The Framework for Analysis................. 6
2. The Arrest of Michael Gold Violated His First
and Fourteenth Amendment Rights........... 8

3. The Court of Appeals Applied the Wrong Legal
Standard for Analyzing Qualified Immunity, by
Requiring that the Very Action in Question
Have Been Previously Held To Be Unlawful by
a State Court; and Its Holding Conflicts With
the Decisions of Several Other Circuit Courts of
PB io rns EN da Kall Se oe ea oe 12

soar Sang

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases
Adams v. St. Lucie County Sheriff's Dept., 998 F. 2d
CUE Pe een csc Ad cakhs pas scvavesciers 12

Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635 (1987) ....13, 14, 16
B.R. v. State, 657 So. 2d 1184 (Fla. lst DCA 1995).... 19

Bailey v. Andrews, 811 F. 2d 366 (7th Cir. 1987)...... 18
Bivens v. Six Unknown Federal Narcotics Agents, 403

ea ee cae Wee bk 4 hbo de 0 4 oa 16
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972)......... 18
Buffkins v. City of Omaha, 922 F. 2d 465 (8th Cir.

SR DE Ee a ra aa 17
Chaplinsky v. State of New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568

CRETE r Cer Kawa bWaulew wed eee wadeeiseeenres 8, 9
City of Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451 (1987) .......... 10
Clanton v. State, 357 So. 2d 455 (Fla. 2d DCA 1978) .... 19
County of Sacramento v. Lewis, __ U.S. ___ (1998)

OP ana d by 5 sb cde e Vow soe pee sey 6
D.C.E. v. State, 381 So. 2d 1097 (Fla. lst DCA 1979) .... 19
Davis v. Scherer, 468 U.S. 183 (1984)................. 18
Duran v. City of Douglas, 904 F. 2d 1372 (9th Cir.

EET IES enn re ane ae 18
Enlow v. Tishomingo County, 962 F. 2d 501 (5th Cir.

RE OR ISTE ER a rae 17
Gainor v. Rogers, 973 F. 2d 1379 (8th Cir. 1992)...... 17

Gonzales v. City of Belle Glade, 287 So. 2d 669 (Fla.
I RE SRG A 5 65 65h 4.0 KA tava 0 «os 046s ae cy 18

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Gooding v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518 (1972)............

Graham v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386 (1989)............
Guffey v. Wyatt, 18 F. 3d 869 (10th Cir. 1994).....

Hamilton v. Cannon, 80 F. 3d 1525 (11th Cir. 1996) ..
Harbin v. State, 358 So. 2d 856 (Fla. lst DCA 1978)...

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982) ..3, 4, 7,

Hunter v. Bryant, 592 U.S. 224 (1991). ........5.5.

Jenkins v. Talladega City Board of Education, 115 F.3d
821 (11th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, _ U.S. __, 118
Se GR SES, TO Ea Be ee at LA hocks veeees

Knox v. Southwest Airlines, 124 F. 3d 1103 (9th Cir.

eh oe a ee ee a ee ee ee ee ee Se ee ee oe a ae ee a fe

K.S. v. State, 697 So. 2d 1

hm

K.Y.E. v. State, 557 So. 2d 956 (Fla. lst DCA 1990) ....

L.A.T. v. State, 650 So. 2d 214 (Fla. 3d DCA 1995) ....

L.J.M. v. State, 541 So. 2d 1321 (Fla. lst DCA 1989) .
Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 408 U.S. 913 (1972) .

Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 415 U.S. 130 (1974) .

MacKinney v. Nielsen, 69 F. 3d 1002 (9th Cir. 1995)...

Miller v. State, 667 So. 2d 325 (Fla. lst DCA 1995) ..

Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472 U.S. 511 (1985) ........ ‘f

Morris v. State, 335 So. 2d 1 (Fla. 1976) ..........

75 (Fla. 3d DCA 1997)...

a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Norwell v. City of Cincinnati, 414 U.S. 14 (1973)....... 9
Phillips v. State, 314 So. 2d 619 (Fla. 4th DCA 1975) .... 19
Screws v. United States, 325 U.S. 91, 89 L. Ed. 1495,

65 S. Ct. 2031, 162 ALR 1330 (1945) ...........005;. 15
peegert ©. Gilley, S00 US. 226 (1991)... sos cSsna ne 6, 7
Spiller v. City of Texas City, Police Dept., 130 F. 3d

CN ie Sy 8 5 ak rao es a ca ce hain 17
State v. Saunders, 339 So. 2d 641 (Fla. 1976) ......... 18
Terminello v. City of Chicago, 331 U.S. 1 (1948)........ 8
United States v. Lanier, 520 U.S. __, 117 S. Ct. __,

BOO Rie A Ge As ba 65s ka eo ee Liat n ed 4, 14
Vela v. White, 703 F. 2d 147 (5th Cir. 1983).......... 18
White v. State, 330 So. 2d 3 (Fla. 1976) .............. 18

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

First Amendment, United States See tee
Cee Se ee En eee Pe eee Ee ere ee” a. Sor dee Mee | Se

Fourth Amendment, United States Constitution.... ae a

Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitu-

PG ci ss ous Sa a eG Rie te PP ON Se RT a 3 18
STATUTES
Re ee ads EE SEs eo hk ie PE EAE bk ed Ls 14, 15
ace NE co lec oon CRS w wh OR es a 1

Se Ss Te Es a oss ee A SSSR SES 2, 6, 14, 16

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of cer-
tiorari issue to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the district court, denying both the
plaintiff's and the individual officers’ motions for sum-
mary judgment on the issue of qualified immunity, is not
reported, and is reprinted in the appendix at App. 11. The
panel opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Eleventh Circuit is reported at 121 F. 3d 1442, and is
reprinted in the appendix at App. 1. The order of the
Court of Appeals denying rehearing en banc, with the
dissenting opinion of the Honorable Rosemary Barkett, is
reported at 138 F. 3d 886, and is reprinted in the appendix
at App. 14.

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals entered its judgment on Sep-
tember 17, 1997 (App. 1). The petitioner’s timely petition
for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc was
denied April 7, 1998 (App. 14). The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The First Amendment, United States Constitution,
provides in relevant part: “Congress shall make no law
. abridging the freedom of speech... . ”

The Fourth Amendment, United States Constitution,
provides in relevant part: “The right of the people to be
secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects,
against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be

7

violated. ...

The Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitu-
tion, provides in relevant part: “ .. . Nor shall any State
deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without

“7

due process of law. .

Section 1983, Title 42, United States Code, provides in
relevant part: “Every person who, under color of any
statute, ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any
State or territory or the District of Colombia, subjects, or
causes to be subjected, any citizen in the United States, or
other person within the jurisdiction thereof to the depri-
vation of any rights, privileges, or immunities secured by
the Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party
injured in an action at law, suit in equity, or other proper
proceeding for redress.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
1. The Proceedings Below.

This case concerns the viability of a § 1983 action for
the illegal arrest of Petitioner Michael Gola, a Florida

attorney, for loudly and profanely criticizing some Miami
police officers for failing to ticket a woman who had
parked illegally in a handicapped spot. Acknowledging
that Gold had been falsely arrested for disorderly con-
duct (App. 8), but without discussing his rights under the
First, Fourth and Fourteenth Amendments of the U.S.
Constitution, or any federal appellate decisions discuss-
ing them, the Court of Appeals held that the individual
arresting officers were entitled to qualified immunity
under the “clearly established” standard of Harlow v.
Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818 (1980), because, “[{a]t the time
[of the officers’ conduct], no cases clearly established that
[Gold’s] actions did not constitute legally proscribed dis-
orderly conduct” (App. 8). In support of that holding, the
Court of Appeals examined only Florida state-court deci-
sions defining disorderly conduct under Florida law
(App. 6-7). The court did not acknowledge or discuss any
decisions of this Court or of any other federal Court of
Appeal. Having exonerated the individual arresting offi-
cers, the Court of Appeals likewise immunized the
remaining individual defendant, Police Chief Calvin
Ross, on the same basis (App. 10).

The full court subsequently denied rehearing en
banc, over a lengthy dissent by Judge Barkett, a former
Chief Justice of the Florida Supreme Court (App. 14-31).
Judge Barkett argued that the First Amendment protec-
tion of Mr. Gold’s remarks is unequivocally established in
this Court’s decisions, and those of every other federal
appellate court to address the issue; that under those

decisions, “no reasonable officer could possibly have
believed that Gold’s words were criminal” (App. 16); that

this Court has held expressly that the “clearly estab-
lished” standard of Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818
(1982), does not require a history of prior holdings on
identical facts, but only “fair warning” by any measure,
see United States v. Lanier, 520 U.S. __, 117 S. Ct. __, 137
L. Ed. 2d 432 (1997); and that the Florida state-court
decisions on the subject, if relevant, also satisfy the
“clearly established” standard (App. 21-29).!

2. The Facts.

The relevant facts are stated in the panel opinion,
which we quote below (App. 2-3):

The incident giving rise to Gold’s action
occurred on October 18, 1991. On that day, Gold
pulled into a congested bank parking lot so that
his passenger could use the bank’s automated
teller machine (ATM). While waiting for a park-
ing space to open up, Gold noticed a uniformed
police officer keeping watch over the area. He
also noticed a woman who did not appear to be
handicapped walk to her car parked in a hand-
icapped space, get in, and start to drive away.
Disturbed by this, Gold yelled to the officer,
“aren't you supposed to give them a ticket for
parking in a handicapped spot?” (R.2-91 at 28.)
The officer did not respond. Gold then found a
parking space, parked his car, walked toward
the ATM, and loudly remarked to no one in
particular, “Miami police don’t do shit.” (R.2-91
at 34.)

| The case then proceeded to trial against the City of Miami,
resulting in a verdict for Gold which is currently on appeal (see
App. 8 n. 6).

nT

Upon hearing Gold’s remark, a plainclothes
officer who had been standing in the ATM line
stated to the uniformed officer, “I think this
guys [sic] got a problem.” (R.2-91 at 36.) To this,
Gold replied, “I don’t have a problem. I’m just
saying that ‘Miami police don’t do shit.’ ”
(R.2-91 at 36.) A different plainclothes officer
then approached Gold and asked him for identi-
fication. After Gold produced his Florida
driver's license and Florida Bar membership
card, the officer headed toward the uniformed
officer’s patrol car to do a radio check on the
identification. The officer soon was joined by
the uniformed officer and the other plainclothes
officer.

Upon observing all of this, a couple in the
ATM line remarked, “I can’t believe they’re
doing this.” (R.2-91 at 40.) Gold talked to that
couple for a few minutes then approached the
three officers and asked them what was going
on. At that point, the officers arrested him for
“disorderly conduct” and asked him to put his
hands behind his back. Although Gold did so
without resistance, the officers later charged
him, along with the disorderly conduct charge,
with “resisting arrest without violence.”

¢

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Court of Appeals’ decision 1) violated the appro-
priate analytical framework by failing to address first the
constitutional underpinnings of the plaintiff’s claim; 2)
applied the wrong definition of “clearly established” by
insisting upon a controlling precedent on analogous facts
- a standard which this Court three times has found to be

inappropriate; and 3) erroneously declined to hold, under
the appropriate standard, thus creating conflict with five
other Courts of Appeals, that the officers’ arrest of
Michael Gold violated “clearly established” law. For all
three reasons, the conferral of immunity upon the indi-
vidual arresting officers was erroneous, as was the con-
ferral of immunity upon Defendant Police Chief Ross on
the same basis (see App. 10). Given the clear conflict v ith
the decisions of this Court and the other Courts of
Appeal, review by certiorari is appropriate.

1. The Framework for Analysis.

In its recent decision in County of Sacramento v. Lewis,
U.S. __ (1998) (1998 WL 259980, *4 n.5), this Court
‘reiterated the two-step analysis appropriate “in any
action under § 1983”: “[T]he first step is to identify the
exact contours of the underlying right said to have been
violated” — that is, “whether the plaintiff has alleged a
deprivation of a_constitutional right at all.” Accord,
Graham v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386, 394 (1989). That inquiry is
“la] necessary concomitant” to the second step - the
“determination of whether the constitutional right
asserted by the plaintiff is ‘clearly established’ at the time
the defendant acted. ... ” Siegert v. Gilley, 500 U.S. 226,
232 (1991), quoted in County of Sacramento v. Lewis, 1998
WL 259980, *4 n.5. The preliminary inquiry is necessary

because “even a finding of qualified immunity requires
some determination about the state of constitutional law

”?
.

at the time the officer acted”; and if the court eschews
that inquiry, “standards of official conduct would tend to
remain uncertain, to the detriment both of officials and
individuals.” Id. Therefore, “the better approach is to

determine the right before determining whether it was
previously established with clarity,” id. - that is, before
deciding whether the defendant is entitled to qualified
immunity because his conduct “does not violate clearly
established statutory or constitutional rights of which a
reasonable person would have known.” Harlow v.
Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818 (1982).2

In the instant case, as we have noted, the Court of
Appeals did not discuss the underlying constitutional
question, but merely found it “clear from the facts viewed
in the light most favorable to Gold that the officers did
not have actual probable cause to arrest Gold for disor-
derly conduct” (App. 8). “That said” (id.), the Court of
Appeals then held that the officers nevertheless were
entitled to a qualified immunity. In its analytical frame-
work, therefore, the Court of Appeals skipped a “neces-
sary concomitant to the determination” of the immunity
defense, Siegert v. Gilley, 500 U.S. 226, 232 (1991) - an
omission which alone should warrant reversal. In addi-
tion, as we note below, the Court of Appeals’ failure to
explore the underlying First Amendment doctrine was
the starting point of its erroneous application of the
“clearly established” standard for appraising the asserted
privilege, which application created conflict with at least
five other Courts of Appeal.

2 Both steps present questions of law for the court, Hunter v.
Bryant, 502 U.S. 224, 228 (1991); Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S.
800, 818 (1982), viewing the evidence in the light most favorable
to the plaintiff, Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472 U.S. 511, 528 (1985).

8

2. The Arrest of Michael Gold Violated His First
and Fourteenth Amendment Rights.

As Judge Barkett remarked in dissenting from the
Court of Appeals’ denial of en banc review, “Gold’s
speech is precisely the kind that lies at the core of the
First Amendment” (App. 16). As the panel opinion notes,
in the light most favorable to Gold, the evidence is that
he suggested to a police officer that a woman should be
ticketed for illegally parking in a handicapped spot; the
officer did not respond, and Mr. Gold said loudly that
“Miami police don’t do shit”; one officer remarked that
Gold appeared to have a problem; Gold answered: “I
don’t have a problem. I’m just saying that Miami police
don’t do shit”; another officer secured Gold’s driver's
license and Florida Bar membership card, and conducted
a radio check; Gold talked for a few minutes with a
nearby couple, and then approached the officers and
asked them what was happening; and the officers then
arrested him. The relevant decisions of this Court (before
the October, 1991 arrest in this case) leave no question
that Gold’s remarks were protected by the First and Four-
teenth Amendments, and that the arrest was unlawful.

After Chaplinsky v. State of New Hampshire, 315 U.S.
568, 572-74 (1941), allowing prohibition only of words
“which by their very utterance inflict injury or tend to

incite an immediate breach of the peace”; and Terminello
v. City of Chicago, 331 U.S. 1, 4-5 (1948), striking down a
statute which “permitted conviction” for speech which
“invited public dispute, or brought about a condition of
unrest,” on the ground that speech is “protected against

censorship or punishment, unless shown likely to pro-
duce a clear and present danger of a serious substantive
evil that rises far above public inconvenience, annoyance,
or unrest,” four more recent decisions unequivocally
establish the officers’ unlawful conduct. In Gooding v.
Wilson, 405 U.S. 518, 520, 522-23, 528 (1972), the Court
struck down a Georgia statute defining breach of the
peace to include “opprobrious words or abusive lan-
guage,” holding that mere “vulgar or offensive” language
does not satisfy the Chaplinsky standard of fighting
words, in the absence of any “likelihood that the person
addressed would make an immediate violent
response. ...” In Norwell v. City of Cincinnati, 414 U.S. 14,
16 (1973), in which “the petitioner was arrested and con-
victed merely because he verbally and negatively pro-
tested Officer Johnson’s treatment of him,” the judgment
was reversed for punishing “constitutionally protected
speech,” because, in the absence of “abusive language or
fighting words,” “one is not to be punished for non-
provocatively voicing his objection to what he obviously
felt was a highly questionable detention by a police offi-

””

cer.

In Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 415 U.S. 130, 132-34
(1974), the Court struck down a city ordinance making it
unlawful to “curse or revile or to use obscene or
opprobrious language toward or with reference to any
member of the city police,” as applied to the mother of an
arrest suspect who assertedly shouted profanities at the
officers, because “the proscription of the use of
opprobrious language, embraces words that do not by
their very utterance inflict injury or tend to incite an

10

immediate breach of the peace.” Id. at 133, quoting Good-
ing v. Wilson, 405 U.S. 518, 522 (1972).3 And in City of
Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451, 461-65 & n.11 (1987), the
Court struck down as overbroad a municipal ordinance
making it unlawful to “interrupt a police officer in the
performance of his or her duties,” as applied to a pro-
tester who assertedly shouted obscenities at police offi-
cers to distract them from arresting his friend:

[T]he First Amendment protects a significant
amount of verbal criticism and challenge
directed at police officers.

* * *

The Houston ordinance . . . is not limited to
fighting words nor even to obscene or
opprobrious language, but prohibits speech that
“in any manner .. . interrupt[s]” an officer. The
Constitution does not allow such speech to be
made a crime.'!/ The freedom of individuals
verbally to oppose or challenge police action
without thereby risking arrest is one of the prin-
cipal characteristics by which we distinguish a
free nation from a police state.

* * *

3 In an earlier decision, Lewis v. City of New Orleans, 408 U.S.
913 (1972), the Court had vacated Mrs. Lewis’ original
conviction and remanded for reconsideration in light of
Gooding. Justice Powell’s concurrence opined that Mrs. Lewis’
language would have constituted fighting words if “addressed
by one citizen to another, face to face and in a hostile manner,”
“[bjut the situation may be different where such words are
addressed to a police officer trained to exercise a higher degree
of restraint than the average citizen.”

11

ay. . » LE some constitutionally unprotected
speech must go unpunished, that is a price
worth paying to preserve the vitality of the First
Amendment... .

... What a municipality may not do... and
what Houston has done in this case, is to
attempt to punish such conduct by broadly
criminalizing speech directed to an officer — in
this case, by authorizing the police to arrest a
person who in any manner verbally interrupts
an officer.

* * *

This Houston ordinance . . . is not narrowly
tailored to prohibit only disorderly conduct or
fighting words. . . . Although we appreciate the
difficulty of drafting precise laws, we have
repeatedly invalidated laws that provide the
police with unfettered discretion to arrest indi-
viduals for words or conduct that annoy or
offend them.

These decisions, none of them acknowledged or dis-
cussed by the Court of Appeals, clearly, unambiguously
and unequivocally declare the illegality of the defendant
officers’ arrest of Michael Gold, on the pretense that his
criticism of the officers constituted disorderly conduct.

12

3. The Court of Appeals Applied the Wrong Legal
Standard for Analyzing Quaiified Immunity, by
Requiring that the Very Action in Question
Have Been Previously Held To Be Unlawful by a
State Court; and Its Holding Conflicts With the
Decisions of Several Other Circuit Courts of
Appeal.

As we have noted, the Court of Appeals declared that
the plaintiff could satisfy the “clearly established” stan-
dard of Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818 (1982), only
by demonstrating that “[a]t the time [of the arrest],” the
extant cases “clearly established that [Gold’s] actions did
not constitute legally proscribed disorderly conduct”
(App. 8). This insistence upon virtually identical facts in
prior cases is found in earlier Eleventh Circuit decisions.*
At least, however, those earlier decisions examined the
prior hoidings of this Court and other federal appellate
courts. In the instant case, after insisting upon a factually-
analogous precedent, the Court of Appeals then exam-
ined only state-court decisions, concluded that they were
fact-specific and therefore equivocal, and held that the

4 See, e.g., Jenkins v. Talladega City Board of Education, 115
F. 3d 821, 826 (11th Cir. 1997) (en banc) (“In short, as conceded
by the plaintiffs, neither the Supreme Court nor any court in this
circuit nor the Alabama courts, on or before May 1, 1992, had
ever actually applied the test established in [New Jersey v. T.L.O.,
469 U.S. 325 (1975)] to define a reasonable (or unreasonable)
search in the context of facts materially similar to those of this
school search”), cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 118 S. Ct. 412, 139
L. Ed. 2d 315 (1997); Adams v. St. Lucie County Sheriff's Dept., 998
F. 2d 923 (11th Cir. 1993) (en banc), adopting dissenting opinion of
Edmondson, ]., in 962 F. 2d 1563, 1575 (11th Cir. 1992) (“The facts
need not be the same as the facts of the immediate case. But they
do need to be materially similar”).

13

officers were entitled to a qualified immunity. As Judge
Barkett, a former Chief Justice of the Florida Supreme
Court, demonstrated in her dissent from the denial of en
banc review, the Court of Appeals applied the wrong
definition of “clearly established”; erred in failing to
examine the decisions of this Court; and misconstrued
the Florida state-court decisions in any event.

a. Defining “Clearly Established.” First, this Court has
held explicitly that the “clearly established” standard
does not require a specific precedent based upon identi-
cal or analogous facts. To be sure, in refining previous
incarnations of the qualified-immunity doctrine to elimi-
nate subjective criteria in preference for the objective
“clearly established” test in Harlow v. Fitzgerald, the Court
declined to define that phrase, noting that “[a]s in Pro-
cunier v. Navarette, 434 US [555, 565 (1978)], we need not
define here the circumstances under which ‘the state of
the law’ should be ‘evaluated by reference to the opinions
of this Court, of the Courts of Appeals, or of the local
District Court.’ ” Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818,
819 n.32 (1982).

A few years later, however, in Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472
U.S. 511, 535 n.12 (1985), in the course of enforcing a
qualified immunity from liability for an illegal wiretap -
in light of the ambiguity of contemporaneous precedent
on the point — the Court emphasized that “[w]e do not
intend to suggest that an official is always immune from
liability or suit for a warrantless search merely because
the warrant requirement has never explicitly been held to
apply to a search conducted in identical circumstances.”
And two years later, in Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S.

14

635, 638, 640 (1987), after reiterating the rule that govern-
mental officials are immune “as long as their actions
could reasonably have been thought consistent with the
rights they are alleged to have violated,” the Court
added:

The contours of the right must be sufficiently
clear that a reasonable official would under-
stand that what he is doing violates that right.
This is not to say that an official action is pro-
tected by qualified immunity unless the very
action in question has previously been held
unlawful . . . but it is to say that in light of pre-
existing law the unlawfulness must be apparent.

Mitchell and Anderson leave no question that the
Court of Appeals erred in requiring an express precedent,
on analogous facts, as a condition of the “clearly estab-
lished” criterion. And if there were any doubt of that
point, as Judge Barkett noted in dissenting from en banc
denial (App. 16), it was resolved in United States v. Lanier,
520 US. __, Fi7 & Ct, tse a Se. 2a Se (1997), Sy
the Court’s application of the criminal analog of § 1983,
18 U.S.C. § 242, which the Court held to embrace the
identical standard of fair notice as § 1983. The Court of
Appeals in Lanier had held “that criminal liability may be
imposed under § 242 only if the constitutional right said
to have been violated is first identified in a decision of
[the Supreme] Court (not any other federal, or state
court), and only when the right has been held to apply in
‘a factual situation fundamentally similar to the one at
bar’” -— a standard which “[t]he Court of Appeals
regarded . . . ‘as substantially higher than the “clearly

established” standard used to judge qualified immunity’
in civil cases under [§ 1983].” 137 L. Ed. 2d at 440. In

i5

reversing, this Court held that the civil standard is identi-
cal to the criminal standard, and that neither requires a
pre-existing precedent on analogous facts, id. at 443-46:

[T]he touchstone is whether the statute, either
standing alone or as construed, made it reason-
ably clear at the relevant time that the defen-
dant’s conduct was criminal.

We applied this standard in Screws v. United
States, 325 US 91, 89 L Ed 1495, 65 S Ct 1031, 162
ALR 1330 (1945), which recognized . . . that this
constitutional difficulty [of fair warning] does
not arise when the accused is charged with vio-
lating a right which has been made specific
either by the express terms of the Constitution
or laws of the United States or by decisions
interpreting them.”

7 . *

Nor have our decisions demanded prece-
dents that applied the right at issue to a factual
situation that is “fundamentally similar” at the
level of specificity meant by the Sixth Circuit in
using that phrase. To the contrary, we have
upheld convictions under § 241 or § 242 despite
notable factual distinctions between the prece-
dents relied on and the cases then before the
Court, so long as the prior decisions gave rea-
sonable warning that the conduct then at issue
violated constitutional rights.

* * *

In the civil sphere . . . the object of the
“clearly established” immunity standard is not
different from that of “fair warning” as it relates
to law “made specific” for the purpose of val-
idly applying § 242. The fact that one has a civil

16

and the other a criminal law role is of no signifi-
cance; both serve the same objective. .. . To
require something clearer than “clearly estab-
lished” would, then, call for something beyond
“fair warning.”

...[G]eneral statements of the law are not
inherently incapable of giving fair and clear
warning, and in other instances a general consti- = _
tutional rule already identified in the decisional
law may apply with obvious clarity to the speci-
fic conduct in question, even though “the very |
action in question has [not] previously been
held unlawful,” Anderson [v. Creighton, 483 U.S. |
635, 640 (1987)]. As Judge Daughtery noted in
her dissenting opinion in this case, “ ‘[t]he eas-
iest cases don’t even arise. There has never
been . . . a section 1983 case accusing welfare
officials of selling foster children into slavery; it
does not follow that if such a case arose, the
officials would be immune from damages [or
criminal] liability.”” .. . In sum, as with civil |
liability under § 1983 or Bivens [v. Six Unknown
Federal Narcotics Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971)], all
that can usefully be said about criminal liability
under § 242 is that it may be imposed for depri-
vation of a constitutional right if, but only if, “in
the light of pre-existing law the unlawfulness
[under the Constitution is] apparent,” Anderson,
supra, at 640, 97 L Ed 2d 523, 107 S Ct 3034.
Where it is, the constitutional requirement of
fair warning is satisfied.

These decisions leave no question of the Court of
Appeals’ fundamental error — in this and its earlier deci-
sions, see supra note 4 —- in defining “clearly established”
in terms which this Court three times has expressly

———S_ aE

17

rejected. The impropriety of the test now employed in the
Eleventh Circuit alone warrants this Court’s review.

b. Michael Gold’s Constitutional Right Was Clearly
Established. Given that the Court of Appeals applied the
wrong standard, failing to examine any of the extant
decisions of this Court, it is not surprising that it erred in
failing to recognize that Mr. Gold’s First Amendment
rights were clearly established at the time of his unlawful
arrest. We refer the Court to the discussion of those
decisions at pp. 8-11, supra. Nor is it surprising that the
Court of Appeals’ decision expressly and directly con-
flicts with the decision of every other Court of Appeals-to
apply the “clearly established” test to a police officer’s
arrest. See, e.g., Spiller v. City of Texas City, Police Dept., 130
F. 3d 162 (Sth Cir. 1997) (no qualified immunity for arrest-
ing a motorist who told an off-duty policeman at a gas
station to “move his damn truck”); Knox v- Southwest
Airlines, 124 F. 3d 1103 (9th Cir. 1997) (verbal exchange at
airport; demand for officer’s name and badge number;
refusal to exit immediately after being ordered to do so);
MacKinney v. Nielsen, 69 F. 3d 1002 (9th Cir. 1995) (writing
with washable chalk on public sidewalk; failure to imme-
diately stop); Guffey v. Wyatt, 18 F. 3d 869 (10th Cir. 1994)
(arrest of referee at hotly-contested high school basketball
game); Gainor v. Rogers, 973 F. 2d 1379 (8th Cir. 1992)
(arrest of person walking through downtown carrying a
large cross and distributing leaflets); Enlow v. Tishomingo
County, 962 F. 2d 501, 509-10 (5th Cir. 1992) (on plaintiff's
version, inquiry whether the sheriff had a search warrant

or an arrest warrant; taking photographs of the officers);
Buffkins v. City of Omaha, 922 F. 2d 465 (8th Cir. 1990)

iii i 9

18

(calling police officer an “asshole”); Duran v. City of Doug-
las, 904 F. 2d 1372 (9th Cir. 1990) (obscene gestures and
yelling profanities); Bailey v. Andrews, 811 F. 2d 366 (7th
Cir. 1987) (telling officer “I want my damn dog” and “did
you shoot my dog?”); Vela v. White, 703 F. 2d 147 (5th Cir.
1983) (walking down the street; agitated questioning
about arrest). Every one of these decisions, on analogous
facts, conflicts with the Court of Appeals’ holding in the
instant case.

c. The Florida State-Law Decisions. This conclusion is
not forestalled by the Court of Appeals’ reference to the
extant Florida state-law decisions defining the behavior
which the Florida courts believe may permissibly be pun-
ished as disorderly conduct. At the outset, we are not
certain that state-court decisions should play any role in
advising police officers of the permissibility of their con-
duct under federal law. This Court has said only that
“[s]tate law may bear upon a claim under the Due Pro-
cess Clause when the property interests protected by the
Fourteenth Amendment are created by state law.” Davis v.
Scherer, 468 U.S. 183, 193 n.12 (1984), citing Board of
Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577 (1972). On a federal
question, “in the face of Supreme Court precedent articu-
lating substantive constitutional rights, the defendant's
claim that [state-court] cases somehow obscured other-
wise clearly established law is simply not persuasive.”
Guffey v. Wyatt, 18 F. 3d 869, 872 (10th Cir. 1994). And
even if Florida law could somehow obscure the unequiv-
ocal message of the federal decisions, as Judge Barkett
pointed out (App. 21-24), all of the Florida Supreme
Court decisions unambiguously parallel the First

19

Amendment protections accorded under federal law;5
any intermediate Florida appellate decisions are unavail-
able to disturb a state of the law otherwise “clearly estab-
lished”; in any event, all but one of the intermediate
appellate decisions in Florida unequivocally endorse the
federal and Florida Supreme Court rulings;”? and the sin-
gle intermediate decision cited by the Court of Appeals
was based on the finding that the defendant had deliber-
ately attempted “to incite the police officer and perhaps
others to violence.”® No such finding is available on the
record in this case. Therefore, to the extent that Florida
state-court decisions are relevant, no less than the federal
decisions, they “clearly establish” the officers’ constitu-
tional violation.

+

> See Morris v. State, 335 So. 2d 1 (Fla. 1976); State v.
Saunders, 339 So. 2d 641 (Fla. 1976); Gonzales v. City of Belle Glade,
287 So. 2d 669 (Fla. 1973). See also White v. State, 330 So. 2d 3, 5-7
(Fla. 1976).

© See Jenkins v. Talladega City Board of Education, 115 F. 3d
821, 826 n.4 (11th Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 118
S. Ct. 412, 139 L. Ed. 2d 315 (1997); Hamilton v. Cannon, 80 F. 3d
1525, 1532 n.7 (11th Cir. 1996).

7 See K.Y.E. v. State, 557 So. 2d 956 (Fla. Ist DCA 1990);
D.C.E. v. State, 381 So. 2d 1097 (Fla. lst DCA 1979); Harbin v.
State, 358 So. 2d 856 (Fla. 1st DCA 1978); Clanton v. State, 357 So.
2d 455 (Fla. 2d DCA 1978); Phillips v. State, 314 So. 2d 619 (Fla.
4th DCA 1975). These decisions all were on the books at the time
of the October, 1991 arrest in this case. As Judge Barkett pointed
out in dissent (App. 27 n.2), at least four subsequent
intermediate appellate decisions are consistent. See K.S. v. State,
697 So. 2d 1275 (Fla. 3d DCA 1997); Miller v. State, 667 So. 2d 325
(Fla. lst DCA 1995); B.R. v. State, 657 So. 2d 1184 (Fla. lst DCA
1995); L.A.T. v. State, 650 So. 2d 214 (Fla. 3d DCA 1995).

8 L.J.M. v. State, 541 So. 2d 1321, 1323 (Fla. lst DCA 1989).

Oe ee ee ee ee ee

20

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully submitted that the petition for writ
of certiorari should be granted.

JamMes K. Green, Esa.

One Clearlake Centre,
Suite 1602

250 S. Australian Avenue

West Palm Beach, Florida
33401

(561) 659-2029

ANpbreEwW H. Kayrton, Esa.
American Civil Liberties
Union Foundation of

Florida, Inc.
3000 Biscayne Blvd.,
Suite 215
Miami, Florida 33137
(305) 576-2337

Respectfully submitted,

Joe. S. Perwin, Esa.

Counsel of Record

PopHuRST, ORSECK,
JOSEFSBERG, EATON,
Meapow, OLIN &
Perwin, P.A.

25 West Flagler Street,
Suite 800

Miami, Florida 33130

(305) 358-2800/
Fax (305) 358-2382

CuHarwes M. Baron, Esa.

633 N.E. 167th Street,
Suite 1201

North Miami Beach,
Florida 33162

(305) 770-1410

Attorneys for Petitioner

Index to Appendix

ee NEN Sek was 0k 40 Ooo V ad bwk ia awecdod App.

District Court’s Order Denying Motions for Sum-

mary Judgment on Immunity Defense........ App.

AIRE A UE gee A NCD Re CTS ee igen a a eR App.

1]

14

App. i

APPENDIX
Michael C. GOLD, Plaintiff-Appellee,
v.

CITY OF MIAMI, a Florida Municipal
Corporation, Defendant,

Calvin Ross, individually, Rafael Suarez,
individually, Jorge Perez, individually,
William Campbell, Individually, Defend-
ants-Appellants.

No. 95-4996.

United States Court of Appeals,
Eleventh Circuit.

Sept. 17, 1997.

Kathryn C. Pecko, Asst. City Attorney, A. Quinn
Jones, III, Leon M. Firtel, Theresa L. Girten, Miami, FL
for Defendants-Appellants.

,

Charles M. Baron, North Miami Beach, FL, for Plain-
tiff-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida.

Before HATCHETT, Chief Judge, COX, Circuit Judge,
and MESKILL"*, Senior Circuit Judge.

PER CURIAM:

* Honorable Thomas J. Meskill, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge of
the Second Circuit, sitting by designation.

App. 2

Rafael Suarez, Jorge Perez, William Campbell, and
Calvin Ross appeal the district court’s denial of their
motion for summary judgment predicated on qualified
immunity in this civil rights action filed by Michael Gold.
For the reasons that follow, we reverse.

I. Facts!

The incident giving rise to Gold’s action occurred on
October 18, 1991. On that day, Gold pulled into a con-
gested banx parking lot so that his passenger could use
the bank’s automated teller machine (ATM). While wait-
ing for a parking space to open up, Gold noticed a
uniformed police officer keeping watch over the area. He
also noticed a woman who did not appear to be hand-
icapped walk to her car parked in a handicapped space,
get in, and start to drive away. Disturbed by this, Gold
yelled to the officer, “[aJren’t you supposed to give them
a ticket for parking in a handicapped spot?” (R.2-91 at
28.) The officer did not respond. Gold then found a
parking space, parked his car, walked toward the ATM,
and loudly remarked to no one in particular, “Miami
police don’t do shit.” (R.2-91 at 34.)

Upon hearing Gold’s remark, a plainclothes officer
who had been standing in the ATM line stated to the

! The district court’s order denying summary judgment did
not contain findings of fact. We therefore have no choice but to
glean the facts from the record.

The facts we state for the present purposes are construed in
the light most favorable to Gold. See Lancaster v. Monroe County,
Ala., 116 F.3d 1419, 1420 n. 1 (11th Cir. 1997); McKinney v. DeKalb
County, Ga., 997 F.2d 1440, 1442 (11th Cir. 1993).

App. 3

uniformed officer, “I think this guys [sic] got a problem.”
(R.2-91 at 36.) To this, Gold replied, “I don’t have a
problem. I’m just saying that ‘Miami [p]olice don’t do
shit.’ ” (R.2-91 at 36.) A different plainclothes officer who
had been standing next to the uniformed officer then
approached Gold and asked him for identification. After
Gold produced his Florida driver’s license and Florida
Bar membership card, the officer headed toward the uni-
formed officer’s patrol car to do a radio-check on the
identification. The officer soon was joined by the uni-
formed officer and the other plainclothes officer.

Upon observing all of this, a couple in the ATM line
remarked, “I can’t believe they’re doing this.” (R.2-91 at
40.) Gold talked to the. couple for a few minutes then
approached the three officers and asked them what was
going on. At that point, the officers arrested him for
“disorderly conduct” and asked him to put his hands
behind his back. Although Gold did so without resis-
tance, the officers later charged him, along with the disor-
derly conduct charge, with “resisting arrest without
violence.”

After handcuffing Gold, the uniformed officer
assisted Gold into the back of his patrol car. Some
moments later, Gold complained to him that the hand-
cuffs were applied so tightly that he was in pain. How-
ever, the uniformed officer did not loosen the handcuffs
until roughly twenty minutes after Gold complained.

II. Procedural History

Gold sued the three officers, Campbell, Perez, and
Suarez, under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, alleging that they (1)

App. 4

violated his First, Fourth, and Fourteenth Amendment
rights by falsely arresting him for disorderly conduct;
and (2) violated his Fourth Amendment rights by apply-
ing the handcuffs too tightly and leaving them that way
for an unreasonable amount of time. He also sued the
now-former Miami Police Chief, Calvin Ross, under
§ 1983, alleging that Ross violated his First, Fourth, and
Fourteenth Amendment rights by failing to train and
supervise subordinate officers regarding the constitu-
tional limitations of Florida’s disorderly conduct statute
and regarding the proper response to an arrestee’s hand-
cuff complaints.?

The officers eventually moved for summary judg-
ment on the basis of qualified immunity, and Gold moved
for partial summary judgment on the basis of liability.
The district court concluded that factual issues remained,
and, without explicitly conducting a qualified immunity
analysis, denied both motions. The officers appeal that
denial, raising one issue: whether the district court erred
in implicitly concluding that they violated clearly estab-
lished law.

2 Gold also asserted various state law claims against the
officers and against the City of Miami. Those claims are noi
involved in this appeal.

3 We review this legal issue de novo. See Post v. City of Fort
Lauderdale, 7 F.3d 1552, 1556 (11th Cir. 1993).

We reject Gold’s argument that we do not have jurisdiction
to decide this issue since the district court did not explicitly
conduct a qualified immunity analysis. Implicit in the district
court’s denial of summary judgment was a conclusion that the
defendants violated clearly established law. See Behrens v.
Peletier, . U.S. , 1 136 S.Ct. G34, 642, 133 L.Ed.2d 773
(1996); Foy v. Holston, 94 F.3d 1528, 1531 n. 3 (11th Cir. 1996).

App. 5

Ill. Discussion

Qualified immunity shields government officials per-
forming discretionary functions from civil litigation and
damage liability where “their conduct does not violate
clearly established statutory or constitutional rights of
which a reasonable person would have known.” Harlow v.
Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818, 102 S.Ct. 2727, 2738, 73
L.Ed.2d 396 (1982).4 Under this standard, a plaintiff must
show that “when the defendant acted, the law established
the contours of a right so clearly that a reasonable official
would have understood his acts were unlawful.” See Post
v. City of Fort Lauderdale, 7 F.3d 1552, 1557 (11th Cir. 1993).

A. False Arrest

We first determine whether the officers are entitled to
qualified immunity on Gold’s claim that the officers vio-
lated his First, Fourth, and Fourteenth Amendment rights
by falsely arresting him for disorderly conduct. In mak-
ing this determination, the central issue is whether, on
the date of Gold’s arrest, the officers had arguable proba-
ble cause to believe that Gold had committed the offense
of disorderly conduct. See Von Stein v. Brescher, 904 F.2d
572, 579 (11th Cir. 1990). The standard for arguable proba-
ble cause is “whether a reasonable officer in the same
circumstances and possessing the same knowledge as the
officer in question could have reasonably believed that
probable cause existed in the light of well-established
law.” See Eubanks v. Gerwen, 40 F.3d 1157, 1160 (11th Cir.

4 The parties do not dispute that the officers were acting
within their discretionary authority at all relevant times.

App. 6

1994). As we have emphasized before, arguable probable
cause is distinct from actual probable cause. See Post, 7
F.3d at 1559.

Florida statutory law defines disorderly conduct as
“acts [that] . . . are of a nature to corrupt the public
morals, or outrage the sense of public decency, or affect
the peace and quiet of persons who may witness them,
or... brawling or fighting, or . . . conduct [that] consti-
tute[s] a breach of the peace or disorderly conduct... . ”
See Fra. Stat. § 877.03 (1994). To avoid First Amendment
concerns in cases involving speech, the Florida Supreme
Court strictly limited the law to apply in such cases only
where the speech, by its very utterance, “ ‘inflict[s] injury
or tend[s] to incite an immediate breach of the peace...’ ”
See State v. Saunders, 339 So.2d 641, 644 (Fla.1976) (quot-
ing White v. State, 330 So.2d 3, 7 (Fla.1976)).°

Based on this limitation, the Florida Supreme Court
has reversed convictions for disorderly conduct where a
defendant merely directed profane language at police
officers in the presence of others, see Morris v. State, 335
So.2d 1, 2 (Fla.1976), and where defendants made threat-
ening comments to and voiced “intemperate expletives”
near police officers, see Gonzales v. City of Belle Glade, 287
So.2d 669, 670-71 (Fla.1973). In both cases, the court made
it clear that a person does not violate the disorderly

> The Florida Supreme Court held that the disorderly
conduct statute also could apply, without violating the First
Amendment, in speech cases where the speech is known to be
false and “creates a clear and present danger of bodily harm to
others,” such as shouts of fire in a crowded theater. See State v.
Saunders, 339 So.2d 641, 644 (Fla.1976).

App. 7

conduct law merely by annoying those around them or by
employing profane language to express outrage. How-
ever, the court also made it clear that violation of the
disorderly conduct law largely depends on the facts and
circumstances of each case, noting that “ ‘[i]t is the degree
of loudness, and the circumstances [under] which [the
speech is] uttered, [that] takes [it] out of the constitu-
tionally protected area.’ ” See Morris, 335 So.2d at 2 (quot-
ing White, 330 So.2d at 6).

The fact-intensive nature of the constitutional inquiry
accounts for the varying views in the Florida appellate
courts of what constitutes legally proscribed disorderly
conduct. In one case, a Florida appellate court affirmed
the disorderly conduct conviction of a juvenile who
directed profanities at a police officer in a loud voice and
in the presence of others. See L.J.M. v. State, 541 So.2d
1321, 1322-23 (Fla. lst DCA 1989). According to the court,
“li]f this country is to preserve in its citizens any sense of
discipline and respect for others in our society, the [First
[A]mendment simply cannot be construed to condone
this type of conduct.” See id. at 1323. In another case, the
same appellate court reversed a delinquency adjudication
based on disorderly conduct of a juvenile who leaned
from a car window and yelled unprovoked profanities at
nearby police officers. See D.C.E. v. State, 381 So.2d 1097,
1098-99 (Fla. lst DCA 1979).

Given that what constitutes legally proscribed disor-
derly conduct is subject to great subjective interpretation
of specific facts - for example, the words used, the tone
used, the decibels used, and the reaction of onlookers -
we are constrained to conclude that a reasonable officer
in the same circumstances and possessing the same

App. 8

knowledge as the officers in this case could have reason-
ably believed that probable cause existed to arrest Gold
for disorderly conduct. The evidence, viewed in the light
most favorable to Gold, reflects that Gold twice used
profanities in a loud voice, in a public place, and in the
presence of others. At the time, no cases clearly estab-
lished that those actions did not constitute legally pro-
scribed disorderly conduct.

We pause at this point to reemphasize that the argu-
able probable cause inquiry is distinct from the actual
probable cause inquiry. It is clear from the facts viewed in
the light most favorable to Gold that the officers did not
have actual probable cause to arrest Gold for disorderly
conduct.® That said, the officers nonetheless are entitled
to qualified immunity.” As the Supreme Court has stated,
“(t]he qualified immunity standard ‘gives ample room for
mistaken judgments’... .” See Hunter v. Bryant, 502 U.S.
224, 229, 112 S.Ct. 534, 537, 116 L.Ed.2d 589 (1991) (quot-
ing Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335, 341, 106 S.Ct. 1092, 1097,
89 L.Ed.2d 271 (1986)). “This accommodation for reason-
able error exists because ‘officials should not err always
on the side of caution’ because they fear being sued.” Id.;
502 U.S. at 229, 112 S.Ct. at 537 (quoting Davis v. Scherer,

6 In Gold’s case against the City of Miami, a jury in fact
found that the officers did not have probable cause to arrest
Gold for disorderly conduct. It rendered a verdict of $26,500.00
in favor of Gold.

7 Gold did not argue to the district court, and does not
argue on appeal, that the officers violated clearly established
law by falsely arresting him for resisting arrest without
violence. We therefore do not address that issue here.

Se Al ee SP TIE SNS oe a LAY W

App. 9

468 U.S. 183, 196, 104 S.Ct. 3012, 3020, 82 L.Ed.2d 139
(1984)).

B. Excessive Force

We next determine whether the officers are entitled
to qualified immunity on Gold’s claim that the officers
violated his Fourth Amer «. ont right to be free from
excessive force by applying the handcuffs too tightly and
by leaving them that way for an unreasonable amount of
time. Whether an officer used excessive force turns on a
number of factors, such as “the severity of the crime,
whether the suspect pose[d] an immediate threat, and
whether the suspect [was] resisting or fleeing. Use of
force must be judged on a case-by-case basis... . ” Post, 7
F.3d at 1559 (citation omitted). Because of this lack of a
bright-line standard, “qualified immunity applies unless
application of the standard would inevitably lead” a rea-
sonable officer in the defendant's position to conclude
that the force was unlawful. See id.

Here, the facts viewed in the light most favorable to
Gold show that Gold experienced pain from the hand-
cuffs for roughly twenty minutes and that Gold suffered
only skin abrasions for which he did not seek medical
treatment. The minor nature of this injury reflects that
minimal force was used to apply the handcuffs. Certainly,
these circumstances would not “inevitably lead” a rea-

sonable officer in the officers’ positions to conclude that
the force used to apply the handcuffs was unlawful.
Accordingly, the officers are entitled to qualified immu-
nity on Gold’s excessive force claim.

App. 10

C. Deliberate Indifference

Last, we determine whether now-former Police Chief
Ross is entitled to qualified immunity on Gold’s § 1983
claim that Ross violated his First, Fourth, and Fourteenth
Amendment rights by failing to train subordinate officers
regarding the constitutional limitations of Florida's disor-
derly conduct statute and regarding the proper response
to an arrestee’s handcuff complaints.

A supervisor will be denied qualified immunity from
a § 1983 claim where “a reasonable person in the super-
visor’s position would have known that his conduct
infringed the constitutional rights of the plaintiff and his
conduct was causally related to the constitutional viola-
tion committed by his subordinate.” McKinney, 997 F.2d
at 1443. Here, the facts viewed in the light most favorable
to Gold reflect that Ross gave no training to the officers
on the constitutional limitations of the disorderly conduct
statute or on the proper response to an arrestee’s hand-
cuff complaints. We are not convinced that a reasonable
person in Ross’s position would have known that such a
failure infringed on constitutional rights. Therefore, Ross
is entitled to qualified immunity on this claim.

IV. Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, we conclude that Sua-
rez, Perez, Campbeil, and Ross are entitled to qualified
immunity on each of Gold’s federal claims. Accordingly,
we reverse the district court’s denial of their motion for
summary judgment on those claims and remand to the
district court for further proceedings.

REVERSED and REMANDED.

ee

App. 11

United States District Court
Southern District of Florida

MICHAEL C, GOLD, Case No. 92-1673-CIV-KEHOE
Plaintiff,

vs. ORDER ON

P MOTIONS FOR
CITY OF MIAMI, a Florida
Municipal corporation; eo
CALVIN ROSS, J
individually; RAFAEL (Filed Jul. 17, 1995)
SUAREZ, individually;
JORGE PEREZ,
individually; and
WILLIAM CAMBELL,
individually,

Defendants.

THIS CAUSE came before the Court upon the Defen-
dants’ motion [Docket No. 77] for a summary judgment
and upon the Plaintiffs’ motion [Docket No. 87] and
amended motion [Docket No. 96] for a partial summary
judgment on the issue of the liability of each Defendant.

After a review of the motions, responses replies and
the supplemental filings, it is

ORDERED AND ADJUGED that (1) the Defendants’
motion [Docket No. 77] for a summary judgment is
DENIED’ and (2) the Plaintiff’s motion [Docket No. 87]
and amended motion [Docket No. 96] for a partial sum-
mary judgment on the issue of the liability of each Defen-
dant are DENIED.2

' The Defendants’ motion [Docket No. 89] for oral
argument on their motion for summary judgment is DENIED.

° Except for a corrected minor typographical error and the
numbering of paragraphs, the plaintiffs’ motion [Docket No. 87]

App. 12

As the United States Supreme Court has established
in Celotex Corporation v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 106 S.Ct.
2548, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986), the initial burden in a motion
for summary judgment falls on the moving party to
establish “ ... the basis for [the] motion, . . . identifying
those portions of the pleadings, depositions, answers to
interrogatories and admissions on file, together with affi-
davits, if any, which it believes demonstrate the absence
of a genuine issue of material fact.” U.S. v. Four Parcels of
Real Property, 941 F.2d 1428, 1437 (11th Cir. 1991), quoting
from Celotex, supra. In determining whether the movant
has satisfied this burden, the Court is also required to
view the evidence and all factual inferences arising there-
from in the light most favorable to the non-moving party,
and “[i]f reasonable minds might differ on the inferences
arising from undisputed facts, then the court should deny
summary judgment.” Augusta Iron and Steel Work, Inc. v.
Employers Insurance of Wausau, 835 F.2d 855, 856 (11th Cir.
1982).

The Court acknowledges that in the present motions
for summary judgment, each side has presented argu-
ments on various aspects of the case, in which they apply
sound legal reasoning to essentially undisputed tacts and
display a high level of pretrial advocacy. But, it is also
apparent to the Court that even where the facts are not in
dispute, there still remains a lingering array of disputed
“factual inferences arising therefrom” that cannot be
resolved by motions of summary judgment.$

and amended motion [Docket No. 96] for a partial summary
judgment are identical.

3 Disputed “factual inferences” arise, inter alia, in
connection with the facts surrounding the detention of the

OOO

* App. 13

Consequently, the Court FINDS, and so CON-
CLUDES, that the present motions are deficient in this
respect and, accordingly, the motion of the Defendants
for a summary judgment and the motion and amended
motion of the Plaintiff for a partial summary judgment on
the issue of the liability of the Defendants cannot be
sustained.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at Miami, Flor-
ida, this 17th day of July, 1995.

/s/ James W. Kehoe
JAMES W. KEHOE
SENIOR UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies furnished to:
Charles M. Baron, Esq.
Leon M. Firtel, Esq.

Plaintiff by Defendants Suarez and Perez, the transfer of the
Plaintiff to Defendant Campbell, the arrest and handcuffing of
the Plaintiff, the delay by Defendant Campbell in loosening the
Plaintiff's handcuffs after being informed that they were too
tight. Disputed “factual inferences” also arise, inter alia, in
connection with the facts surrounding the question of the
individual Defendants’ qualified immunity, the Defendant
City’s departmental policy concerning “disturbing the peace”
and “fighting words” as reflected in the Department's officer
training and post-training programs, etc.

App. 14

Michael C. GOLD, Plaintiff-Appellee,
v.

CITY OF MIAMI, a Florida Municipal
Corporation, Defendant,

Calvin Ross, individually, Rafael Suarez, indi-
vidually, Jorge Perez, individually, William
Campbell, individually, Defendants-Appel-
lants.

No. 95-4996.

United States Court of Appeals,
Eleventh Circuit.

April 7, 1998.

Kathryn C. Pecko, Leon M. Firtel, Assts. City Attys.,
Miami, FL, for Defendants-Appellants.

Charles M. Baron, North Miami Beach, FL, for Plain-
tiff-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida (No. 92-1673-CIV-JWK),
James W. Kehoe, Judge.

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING
(Opinion Sept. 17, 1997, 11th Cir, 121 F.3d 1442).

Before HATCHETT, Chief Judge, and TJOFLAT,
ANDERSON, EDMONDSON, COX, BIRCH, DUBINA,
BLACK, CARNES, BARKETT, HULL and MARCUS, Cir-
cuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

The Court having been polled at the request of one of
the members of the Court and a majority of the Circuit

App. 15

Judges who are in regular active service not having voted
in favor of it (Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Pro-
cedure; Eleventh Circuit Rule 35-5), rehearing en banc is
DENIED.

BARKETT, Circuit Judge, dissenting: —

[ respectfully dissent from the court’s denial of
rehearing en banc. In this case, the panel held that the
police officers who arrested Gold for disorderly conduct
based solely on his comments to them were entitled to
qualified immunity on Gold’s false arrest claim. Despite
the Supreme Court’s holding in City of Houston v. Hill, 482
U.S. 451, 107 S.Ct. 2502, 96 L.Ed.2d 398 (1987), that the
First Amendment fully protects speech critical of police
officers and a wealth of Florida Supreme Court precedent
declining to apply the Florida disorderly conduct statute
in factually similar circumstances to avoid conflict with
the First Amendment, the panel held that Gold’s First
Amendment rights were not clearly established, and that
the officers had arguable probable cause to believe that
Gold’s speech, standing alone, violated Florida’s disor-
derly conduct statute. The panel’s conclusion that the
officers had arguable probable cause to make an arrest in
this case contravenes this overwhelming body of caselaw.
Accordingly, we should rehear this case en banc.

The disorderly conduct for which Gold was arrested
consisted of Gold yelling from his car to a police officer,
“aren't you supposed to give them a ticket for parking in
a handicapped spot,” upon seeing a woman who did not
appear to be disabled walk to her car in a handicapped
space and drive away. When the police did nothing, Gold

App. 16

loudly remarked to no one in particular, “Miami
police don’t do shit.”

Upon hearing Gold’s remarks, a plainclothes
officer who had been standing in the ATM line
stated to the uniformed officer, “I think this
guys [sic] got a problem.” To this Gold replied,
“I don’t have a problem. I’m just saying that
Miami police don’t do shit.”

Gold v. City of Miami, 121 F.3d 1442, 1444 (11th Cir.1997).
Under binding United States Supreme Court and Florida
Supreme Court precedent existing at the time of Gold’s
arrest, no reasonable officer could possibly have believed
that Gold’s words were criminal. Gold’s speech is pre-
cisely the kind that lies at the core of the First Amend-
ment. There is nothing in the facts of this case even
remotely to suggest that Gold’s speech could be con-
strued as falling within the very narrow category of fight-
ing words or any other category of constitutionally
proscribable speech. Accordingly, the officers in this case
were not entitled to qualified immunity.

Disregarding these applicable precedents, the court’s
opinion found that Gold had not shown a violation of
clearly established law, effectively holding that the law in
a particular area is not clearly established for qualified
immunity purposes, unless the plaintiff can point to a
prior case involving identical facts. The panel’s opinion
emphasizes that, at the time of Gold’s arrest, “no cases
clearly established that [Gold’s] actions did not constitute
legally proscribed disorderly conduct.” Gold, 121 F.3d at
1446. As the Supreme Court made explicitly clear in
United States v. Lanier, __ U.S. __, 117 S.Ct. 1219, 137

iG

‘elect Naive “geasin ale ell

Bites

App. 17

L.Ed.2d 432 (1997), such “fundamental similar[ity]” of
underlying facts is not required to establish a violation of

_ Clearly established law. The purpose of qualified immu-

nity, the Lanier Court explained, is simply ts give govern-
ment officials “fair warning” that their conduct violates
federal constitutional or statutory rights. Comparing the
“clearly established” concept in qualified immunity to the
“fair warning” standard for a conviction under 18 U.S.C.
§§ 241 and 242, the Court observed:

In the civil sphere, we have explained that qual-
ified immunity seeks to ensure that defendants
“reasonably can anticipate when their conduct
may give rise to liability,” by attaching liability
only if “[t]he contours of the right [violated are]
sufficiently clear that a reasonable official would
understand that what he is doing violates that
right”. . . . [Both [the “clearly established” test
and the “fair warning” standard] serve the same
objective, and in effect the qualified immunity
test is simply the adaptation of the fair warning
standard to give officials (and, ultimately, gov-
ernments) the same protection from civil lia-
bility and its consequences that individuals have
traditionally possessed in the face of vague
criminal statutes. To require something clearer
than “clearly established” would, then, call for
something beyond “fair warning.”

Id. at __, 117 S.Ct. at 1227 (citations omitted).

The Court held that even under the standards neces-
sary to support a criminal conviction, precedents involv-
ing “fundamentally similar” facts are not necessary to
give state officials fair warning that their conduct contra-
venes constitutional rights:

App. 18

Nor have our decisions demanded precedents
that applied the right at issue to a factual situa-
tion that is “fundamentally similar”. . . . To the
contrary, we have upheld convictions under
§ 241 or § 242 despite notable factual distinc-
tions between the precedents relied on and the
cases then before the Court, so long as the prior
decisions gave reasonable warning that the con-
duct then at issue violated constitutional rights.

Id. Moreover, the Court recognized that some legal con-
cepts are sufficiently clear that any reasonable person
would know when his or her actions would violate those
concepts:

[G]leneral statements of the law are not inher-
ently incapable of giving fair and clear warning,
and ...a general constitutional rule already
identified in the decisional law may apply with
obvious clarity to the specific conduct in ques-
tion, even though “the very action in question
has [not] previously been held unlawful.” As
Judge Daughtrey noted in her dissenting opin-
ion in this case, “ ‘[t]he easiest cases don’t even
arise. There has never been . . . a section 1983
case accusing welfare officials of selling foster
children into slavery; it does not follow that if
such a case arose, the officials would be immune
from damages [or criminal] liability.’ ”

Id. at __- — __, 117 S.Ct. at 1227-28 (citations omitted).

Under Lanier’s fair warning standard, the police offi-
cers are not entitled to qualified immunity in this case.
First, at the time of Gold’s arrest, the Supreme Court had
specifically held that speech critical of police officers is
constitutionally protected. Second, as the panel opinion
recognizes, the Florida Supreme Court had specifically

dy lt a aed LY Sills ac

ves a Ahab lS nepali C5 Sasa

App. 19

reversed, as violative of the First Amendment, disorderly
conduct convictions of defendants who had not only used
expletives, but also made threatening comments to police
officers —- conduct far more egregious than Gold’s. Finally,
every other circuit that has addressed the issue of quali-
fied immunity in a situation similar to that present here
has had no trouble concluding that a police officer is not
entitled to qualified immunity in these circumstances.

Supreme Court Precedent.

The court’s opinion in this case wholly ignores the
First Amendment's protection of speech critical of the
police, failing even to mention the United States Supreme
Court’s governing precedent in this area. In City of
Houston v. Hill, 482 U.S. 451, 107 S.Ct. 2502, 96 L.Ed.2d
398 (1987), the Supreme Court held that “the First
Amendment protects a significant amount of verbal criti-
cism and challenge directed at police officers.” Id. at 461,
107 S.Ct. at 2509. Applying this principle, the Court
invalidated a Houston ordinance making it illegal to
interrupt an officer in any manner, reasoning that “[t]he
Constitution does not allow such speech to be made a
crime. The freedom of individuals verbally to oppose or
challenge police action without thereby risking arrest is
one of the principal characteristics by which we distin-
guish a free nation from a police state.” Id. at 462-63, 107
S.Ct. at 2510 (footnote omitted). The Court made clear
that the First Amendment does not permit states to “pro-
vide the police with unfettered discretion to arrest indi-
viduals for words or conduct that annoy or offend them.”
Id. at 465, 107 S.Ct. at 2511-12; see also Norwell v. City of
Cincinnati, 414 U.S. 14, 16, 94 S.Ct. 187, 188, 38 L.Ed.2d

App. 20

170 (1973) (overturning conviction under disorderly con-
duct statute where “petitioner was arrested and con-
victed merely because he verbally and negatively
protested Officer Johnson’s treatment of him”).

To be sure, the Court in Hill noted that “the freedom
verbally to challenge police action is not without limits,”
Hill, 482 U.S. at 463 n. 12, 107 S.Ct. at 2510 n. 12, recogniz-
ing that “ ‘fighting words’ which ‘by their very utterance
inflict injury or tend to incite an immediate breach of the
peace’ are not constitutionally protected.” Id. (quoting
Chaplinsky v. New Hampshire, 315 U.S. 568, 572, 62 S.Ct.
766, 769, 86 L.Ed. 1031 (1942)). However, the fighting
words doctrine has a narrower application where, as
here, an individual’s speech offends a police officer. See
Hill, 482 U.S. at 462, 107 S.Ct. at 2510. As we have
previously recognized, a police officer, “by virtue of his
profession or training|[, is] expected to absorb a certain
amount of abuse without retaliating. ...” Lamar v. Banks,
684 F.2d 714, 718 n. 13 (11th Cir.1982); see also Lewis v. City
of New Orleans, 415 U.S. 130, 135, 94 S.Ct. 970, 973, 39
L.Ed.2d 214 (1974) (Powell, J., concurring) (“[A] properly
trained officer may reasonably be expected to ‘exercise a
higher degree of restraint’ than the average citizen, and
thus be less likely to respond belligerently to ‘fighting
words.’ ”) (quoting Lewis v. City of New Orleans,
408 U.S. 913, 913, 92 S.Ct. 2499, 2499, 33 L.Ed.2d 321
(1972) (Powell, J., concurring)). As the Supreme Court
observed in Hill, “ ‘[s]peech is often provocative and
challenging. . . . [But it] is nevertheless protected against
censorship or punishment, unless shown likely to pro-
duce a clear and present danger of a serious substantive evil
that rises far above public inconvenience, annoyance, or

App. 21

unrest.’ ” Hill, 482 U.S. at 461, 107 S.Ct. at 2509 (quoting
Terminiello v. City of Chicago, 337 U.S. 1, 4, 69 S.Ct. 894,
895-96, 93 L.Ed. 1131 (1949) (emphasis added)); accord
Monroe v. State Court of Fulton County, 739 F.2d 568, 575
(11th Cir.1984) (“A function of free speech is to invite
dispute.”); Sweatt v. Bailey, 876 F.Supp. 1571, 1580
(M.D.Ala.1995) (“[C]Jalling a law enforcement officer ‘an
ass’ within his earshot in the 1990’s should not provoke a
violent reaction and therefore does not fall within the
‘fighting words’ doctrine.”).

Florida Law

Consistent with these established First Amendment
principles, Florida law protects the right of individuals to
criticize the conduct of police officers, even using
unpleasant and offensive words. Indeed, as the panel
explicitly recognized, the Florida Supreme Court, in a
series of cases involving speech critical of the police, has
“made it clear that a person does not violate the disor-
derly conduct law merely by annoying those around
[him] or by employing profane language to express out-
rage.” Gold, 121 F.3d at 1445. Gold’s actions fit squarely
within this principle.

In State v. Saunders, 339 So.2d 641 (Fla.1976), the
Florida Supreme Court held that Florida’s disorderly con-
duct statute must be construed in light of the First
Amendment and narrowed the reach of the statute to
render it constitutional. The Saunders court construed the
disorderly conduct statute

so that it shall hereafter only apply either to
words which “by their very utterance . . . inflict

App. 22

injury or tend to incite an immediate breach of
the peace,” or to words, known to be false,
reporting some physical hazard in circum-
stances where such a report creates a clear and
present danger of bodily harm to others. We
construe the statute so that no words except
“fighting words” or words like shouts of “fire”
in a crowded theatre fall within its proscription,
in order to avoid the constitutional problem of
overbreadth, and “the danger that a citizen will
be punished as a criminal for exercising his
right of free speech.” With these two exceptions,
Section 877.03 should not be read to proscribe
the use of language in any fashion whatsoever.

Id. at 644 (citations omitted).

The Florida Supreme Court’s cases construing the
disorderly conduct statute in circumstances similar to
those presented in this case, decided both before and
after Saunders, clearly establish that the officers in this
case could not have reasonably believed that they had
probable cause to arrest Gold for criticizing the police. As
the panel’s opinion again recognizes, in Morris v. State,
335 So.2d 1 (Fla.1976), the Florida Supreme Court
reversed a conviction for “disorderly conduct where a
defendant merely directed profane language at police
officers in the presence of others,” Gold, 121 F.3d at 1445 -
precisely what Gold did here. Likewise, in Gonzales v. City
of Belle Glade, 287 So.2d 669 (Fla.1973), the Florida
Supreme Court overturned two disorderly conduct con-
victions, finding that the defendants’ threatening com-
ments to police officers and use of an “intemperate
expletive or two” were insufficient to sustain the convic-
tions. “In neither case was there any evidence that the

App. 23

actions of any of the appellants were more than annoying
to those around them, and a violation . . . requires more
than the creation of a mere annoyance.” Id. at 670; see also
White v. State, 330 So.2d 3, 5 (Fla.1976) (“The statute must
not be construed to limit the use of a socially impermissi-
ble word merely as a tool of communication.”).

Indeed, in White, the Florida Supreme Court
expressly recognized that “protected speech may provoke
violent dissent,” but found that such disagreement was
not a basis for criminally punishing speech. Id. at 6. To
permit the imposition of criminal sanctions merely
because an individual’s words “may have offended the
sensibilities of [a police officer] and others who heard
them” would be inconsistent with the core principle of
the First Amendment: “the right vigorously to advance a
minority opinion even though that opinion may anger
| others and arouse forceful disagreement.” Id. (discussing
Hess v. Indiana, 414 U.S. 105, 94 S.Ct. 326, 38 L.Ed.2d 303
: (1973)). The White court drew a distinction between
“mere words, used as a tool of communication,” which
are protected “even though they may not be acceptable in
certain strata of society,” and the use of words to “invade
the rights of others to pursue their lawful activities.” Id.
; at 7. Finding the latter to be unprotected, the court found
that the defendant could be convicted for screaming at
the top of his lungs for several minutes at a police station,
disturbing the other people at the station and impeding
: their work. Thus, White’s words were not punished
because they were offensive, but because “by their very
| decibel count, [those words] did invade the right of
others to pursue their lawful activities.” Id. at 6. Indeed,
White’s “conduct would have been equally disorderly

ey

App. 24

had he merely recited ‘Mary Had a Little Lamb’ in the
same tone and under similar circumstances.” Id. at 7.

Ignoring its context in White, the panel pointed to the
language in White that “ ‘[i]t is the degree of loudness,
and the circumstances [under] which [the speech is]
uttered, [that] takes [it] out of the constitutionally pro-
tected area,’ ” Gold, 121 F.3d at 1445 (citations omitted), to
suggest that because of the “fact-intensive nature of the
[First Amendment] inquiry,” id. at 1446, the officers did
not have fair warning that their arrest of Gold was uncon-
stitutional. This completely misses the mark. It is true
that the First Amendment inquiry in this case is a fact-
specific one, requiring us to determine whether the police
officers could reasonably have believed that Gold’s words
““‘inflictled] injury or tend[ed] to incite an immediate
breach of the peace’... . ” Saunders, 339 So.2d at 644
(quoting White, 330 So.2d at 7). While there will undoubt-
edly be some situations in which the facts will legit-
imately give the police arguable probable cause to believe
that an individual’s speech meets this standard, we are
not faced with such a situation here. The panel does not
even attempt to demonstrate that a police officer could
reasonably have believed that Gold’s speech constituted —
fighting words or any other category of proscribable
speech. Nor could it. Here there was no crowd to incite;
there were no persons disturbed by Gold’s speech. There
were only police officers who heard unpleasant criticism
and two bystanders concerned about the police’s treat-
ment of Gold.! At best, the evidence showed that Gold’s

1 As described in the panel opinion, the only evidence that
Gold’s comment had any effect whatsoever on anyone other

App. 25

statements attracted the attention of the two bystanders,
but this does not suffice to give the officers arguable
probable cause. At worst, and clearly the most likely
scenario, the evidence suggests that the officers arrested
Gold to retaliate against him for his criticism of their
performance - a blatant violation of the First Amendment
principles set forth in Hill. We may not shirk our obliga-
tion to consider whether any facts exist to support argu-
able probable cause simply because the governing
standard is a fact-specific one. Cf. Smith v. Mattox, 127
F.3d 1416, 1419 (11th Cir.1997) (analyzing “multifactored
case-by-case balancing test” in concluding that officer's
use of force “was so far beyond the hazy border between
excessive and acceptable force that Mattox had to know
that he was violating the Constitution”).

The court also claims that there are “varying views in
the Florida appellate courts of what constitutes legally
proscribed disorderly conduct.” Gold, 121 F.3d at 1446.
But there are no “varying views” in the Florida Supreme
Court - the only state court relevant for qualified immu-
nity purposes. See Jenkins v. Talladega City Bd. of Educ., 115
F.3d 821, 826 n. 4 (11th Cir.) (en banc) (qualified immu-
nity analysis looks to “decisions of the U.S. Supreme
Court, Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals, [and] the high-
est court of the state where the case arose”), cert. denied,
__ US. __, 118 S.Ct. 412, 139 L.Ed.2d 315 (1997); Ham-
ilton v. Cannon, 80 F.3d 1525, 1532 n. 7 (11th Cir.1996)

than the arresting officers was that a couple waiting in line,
observing the police’s treatment of Gold, stated, “I can’t believe
they’re doing this.” There was also evidence that the couple
spoke with Gold for several minutes.

|

App. 26

(same). Assuming, arguendo, that the opinions of the
intermediate state appellate courts are relevant here, they,
likewise, cannot fairly be characterized as expressing
“varying views.” The principles set forth by the Florida
Supreme Court in Saunders, Gonzales, White, and Morris
have regularly been applied by Florida appellate courts
to overturn convictions based on facts similar to those
here. The panel ignores this long line of cases in which
the courts have refused to apply the Florida disorderly
conduct statute to speech critical of the police, citing
instead only a single case to support its position, the
decision in L.J.M. v. State, 541 So.2d 1321 (Fla. lst DCA
1989). As explained below, however, L.J.M. is wholly
inapposite here. ;

At the time of Gold’s arrest, there were no fewer than
five precedents from the state district appellate courts
that made clear that Gold’s arrest violated clearly estab-
lished law. For example, in Harbin v. State, 358 So.2d 856
(Fla. lst DCA 1978), a woman was arrested for directly
cursing a Deputy Sheriff who had been sent to accom-
pany her husband to the couple’s trailer while he picked
up his clothes after a domestic dispute. She contended
that her “mere words” were not sufficient to justify a
disorderly conduct arrest under the latest Florida
Supreme Court decisions. Quoting from Saunders, White
and Morris, the district court of appeals agreed, finding
that Harbin’s speech did not constitute fighting words
under the Florida precedents:

The focus of our inquiry here, then, must
revolve around whether appellant’s admittedly
profane words tended to “incite an immediate
breach of the peace.” . . . [T]he most that can be

App. 27

said about appellant's epithets is that they were
offensive to the deputy who made the arrest and
perhaps an object of curiosity to the neighbor
who opened her window.

Id. at 857. Likewise, in K.Y.E. v. State, 557 So.2d 956 (Fla.
Ist DCA 1990), a Florida appellate court overturned
defendant's disorderly conduct conviction for continually
singing “fuck the police” in public. The court found “no
evidence” that the singing “evoked a response tending to
inflict injury or incite an immediate breach of the peace.”
Id. at 957. Defendant’s singing, “while annoying and
offensive to the arresting officer, at best contributed to
attracting a group of curious onlookers, but . . . did not
breach the peace.” Id. See also D.C.E. v. State, 381 So.2d
1097, 1099 (Fla. lst DCA 1979) (holding a minor who
shouted “f ___ pigs” three times at police officers from
the window of his car at a busy intersection did not
violate disorderly conduct ordinance); Clanton v. State,
357 So.2d 455, 456-57 (Fla. 2d DCA 1978) (holding that
man who loudly yelled at a police officer who opened his
passenger door that he “had no damn right to open the
door” did not violate disorderly conduct statute); Phillips
v. State, 314 So.2d 619, 621-22 (Fla. 4th DCA 1975) (hold-
ing that an officer lacked probable cause to arrest a man
who said “F__ you” to a police officer).2 These cases

2 Florida cases decided after the date of Gold’s arrest
confirm that Gold’s arrest was contrary to clearly established
Florida law. See K.S. v. State, 697 So.2d 1275, 1276 (Fla. 3d DCA
1997) (reversing disorderly conduct conviction where
defendant's loud protests of police conduct “were not directed
at the crowd but were instead a coarse expression of frustration
at what K.S. perceived was an unjust accusation”); Miller ¢

App. 28

make clear that the officers could not have reasonably
believed that they had probable cause to arrest Gold
since, as discussed above, his words, though offensive to
the police, did not incite an immediate breach of the
peace, but simply attracted the attention of two curious
bystanders.

L.J.M. does not counsel a different conclusion. In
L.].M., two officers were standing at the side of the street
talking to a group of people when the defendant directly
approached them and addressed certain remarks to them
concerning his arrest the night before on theft charges.
Defendant’s statements were loud and rude, and “every-
body was watching him as he yelled at [one of the police
officers].” The officer tried to ignore the remarks, saying
“[w]e’ll see you in court.” Instead of desisting in front of
the crowd, defendant shouted to the officer, “Man, you
pussy-assed mother fucker.” At that point, he was
arrested~by the officer, who characterized his words as
“disruptive.” In affirming the conviction, the court found
that, in the totality of these circumstances, “it was well
within the discretion of the judge below, sitting as the
trier of fact, to find that appellant uttered the above-

State, 667 So.2d 325, 328 (Fla. lst DCA 1995) (“Pursuant to
Saunders and its progeny, . . . there must be evidence of
something more than loud or profane language or a belligerent
attitude.”); B.R. v. State, 657 So.2d 1184, 1185 (Fla. lst DCA 1995)
(“Although B.R.’s language was frustrating and annoying to the
officer, there was no evidence that her screaming was of such a
nature as to incite anyone in the area to an immediate breach of
the peace.”); L.A.T. v. State, 650 So.2d 214, 217-18 (Fla. 3d DCA
1995) (holding a “ ‘fighting words’ finding . . . constitutionally
unjustified as a matter of law” where “words neither themselves
urged the crowd to respond nor actually had that effect”).

————eeE—__e

App. 29

quoted words with an intent to incite the police officer
and perhaps others to violence.” L.J.M., 541 So.2d at 1323.
L.J.M. has no applicability in this case; there is no evi-
dence in this record that would permit an officer to
reasonably conclude that Gold’s statements were
intended to incite the police officers or anyone else to
violence. Unlike in L.J.M., Gold did not directly approach
the police and had not been arrested the night before by
these officers; the police officers could not possibly have
believed that Gold would lash out at them in violence or
that he was attempting to incite them or any other
bystanders to violence. To the extent that the panel con-
strued L.J.M. to permit criminal liability where an indi-
vidual is simply critical of police conduct, even when the
expression includes a profane word uttered in a loud
voice in the presence of others, that conclusion is in error,
and, as shown above, in conflict, not only with federal
constitutional principles of free speech, but with the clear
law of Florida.

Not surprisingly, the panel’s decision in this case also
conflicts with the decisions of every other Circuit to
address a police officer’s entitlement to qualified immu-
nity for arresting an individual for using abusive lan-
guage. For example, in Duran v. City of Douglas, 904 F.2d
1372 (9th Cir.1990), the Ninth Circuit held that a police
officer was not entitled to qualified immunity for stop-
ping an individual after he insulted the officer. In words
that apply equally here, Judge Kozinski explained that
plaintiff’s insult “represented an expression of disap-
proval towards a police officer with whom he just had a

- run-in. As such, it fell squarely within the protective

A i hd a

App. 30

umbrella of the First Amendment and any action to pun-
ish or deter such speech . . . is categorically prohibited by

x the Constitution.” Id. at 1378. Nor could the officers com-
plain that these First Amendment principles were not
clearly established.

[Gjoverment officials in general, and police offi-
cers in particular, may not exercise their author-
ity for personal motives, particularly in
response to real or perceived slights to their
dignity. .. . Whether or not officer Aguilar was
aware of the fine points of First Amendment
law, to the extent he is found to have detained
Duran as punishment for the latter’s insults, we
hold that he ought to have known that he was
exercising his authority in violation of well-
established constitutional rights.

Id.; see also Knox v. Southwest Airlines, 124 F.3d 1103, 1109
(9th Cir.1997); Mackinney v. Nielsen, 69 F.3d 1002, 1007 (9th
Cir.1995). See also Spiller v. City of Texas City, Police Dep't,
130 F.3d 162, 166 (5th Cir.1997) (holding that police officer
was not entitled to a dismissal based on qualified immu-
nity for arresting motorist who told the officer to “move
his damn truck”); Guffey v. Wyatt, 18 F.3d 869, 871 (10th
Cir.1994) (denying qualified immunity to an officer who
arrested a referee at a hotly contested high school basket-
ball game after the referee refused the officer’s order to
call more fouls); Enlow v. Tishomingo County, 962 F.2d 501,
509-10 (5th Cir.1992) (upholding denial of qualified
immunity to a police officer based on Hill but remanding
for resolution of factual disputes); Buffkins v. City of
Omaha, 922 F.2d 465, 472 & n. 16 (8th Cir.1990) (denying
qualified immunity where woman called police officer an
“asshole”); Bailey v. Andrews, 811 F.2d 366, 371 (7th

——

App. 31

Cir.1987) (denying qualified immunity to officer who
arrested plaintiff for stating “I want my damn dog” and
“did you shoot my dog?”).

For all the foregoing reasons, I believe that this case
should be reheard en banc.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1220%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
