# Reply Brief — ITC Limited v. Punchgini, Inc., 128 S. Ct. 288 (2007) (No. 06-1722)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1137%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

FILED

(4) ashlee
i
EOF | Tie os

t+ ‘

i OFF

No. 06-1722 | sures : eis 4
Bu the
Supreme Court of the Anited States
ITC LIMITED,
Petitioner,
¥.

PUNCHGINI, INC., RAJA JHANJEE,
PARAGNESH DESAI, VICKY VIJ, DHANDU RAM,
MAHENDRA SINGH, BACHAN RAWAT,

BUKHARA GRILL II, INC.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

PETITIONER'S REPLY BRIEF

Ethan Horwitz

Counsel of Record
Jill Wasserman
Charles A. Panncll, Ill
Sarah QO. Jorgensen
KING & SPALDING LLP
1185 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10036-4003
(212) 556-2100
Counsel for Petitioner

August 21, 2007

Becker Gallagher - Cincinnati, OH - Washington, D.C. - 800.890.5001

i
RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6, Petitioner states
that ITC Limited (“ITC”)! has no parent corporation and no
publicly-held company owns 10% or more of its stock.

' This case was originally brought by ITC Limited and ITC Hotels
Limited. In 2005, ITC Hotels Limited was dissolved and made a
part of ITC Limited. Accordingly, ITC Limited is the only
petitioner

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

py) Gt fey |. a ria er aaa arena ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

REPLY TO RESPONDENTS' REASONS FOR
ope fee 8 1 8, rar

A.

THE NINTH CIRCUIT DECISION WAS
GROUNDED IN THE LANHAM ACT ........

. A DECISION BY THIS COURT WOULD BE CASE

SS ib hala tn gece al a ya Wik Ao mene

. RESPONDENTS MISCONTRUE- THE

WELL-KNOWN MARKS DOCTRINE ........

1. The Well-Known Marks Doctrine Has Long Been
A Feature of United States Trademark Law .. .

2. The Lanham Act has Incorporated Treaty
Provisions Adopting the Well-Known Marks
RA ipsink rit anihink AAPA SEAL ce ee

. RESPONDENTS’ PREDICTIONS OF DIRE

CONSEQUENCES HIGHLIGHT THE NEED TO
RESOLVE THIS CONPLICT NOW ..........

tg BE Nag eg a Sy ok a dave Re

x ee ee oe ow Be ee Oe 6 eS Re

WN

il
TABLE OF CITATIONS

FEDERAL CASES

Brennan’s, Inc. v. Brennan’s Restaurant, L.L.C.,
ae ee ee at ED a b's. eo a A ace we eee 6

De Beers LV Trademark Ltd. v. DeBeers Diamond Syndicate
Inc., No. 04-4099,
2005 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 9307
Caer .2hce SU AD. ke ee ee eee

Empresa Cubana del Tabaco v. Culbro Corp.,
aoe ae Oe Cee SS Se oe ae

Grupo Gigante v. Dallo & Co.,
391 F.3d 1088 (9th Cir. 2004)...........

Hanover Star Milling Co. v. Metcalf,
tyes IE PEO 66-8 nk bie ka ee ee

Maruti.Com v. Maruti Udyog Lid.,
447 F.Supp.2d 494 (D. Md. 2006) ............

Mattel, Inc. v. MCA Records,
296 F.3d G94 (th Car. 2002) 2 ww ww ee

Two Pesos, Inc. v. Taco Cabana, Inc..,
er Ba PU kw ew ee ee te ee

United Drug Co. v. Theodore Rectanus Co..,
PA PUOD ss oe NS ew ees

iV
FEDERAL STATUTES AND LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

15 U.S.C. §§ 1125, 1126 (Lanham Act, §§ 43, 44) . passim

S. Rep. No. 79-1333 (1946) reprinted in 1946 U.S.C.C.A.N.
eR RPS S Fy AS Kako G Be ee ee 2

OTHER AUTHORITIES
The Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial

Property, as revised at Stockholm, July 14, 1967 21 U.S.T.
Seats eet EE kos oe Ooo be ee Ae ees 7

Joint Recommendation Concerning Provisions on_ the
Protection of Well-Known Marks, World Intellectual Property
Organization (2000), Art. 2(3)(1) ..........-... 8 n.5

l

REPLY TO RESPONDENTS’ REASONS
FOR DENYING THE PETITION

Respondents admit there is a circuit split on whether a
foreign mark not used in the United States is nevertheless
entitled to protection against unfair competition if the mark is
well-known in the United States. See e.g., Brief in
Opposition (“Opp.”) at 4. And they agree that resolution of
this tssue has significant impact on United States business and
both domestic and international trademark law. See e.g., id.
at 24-25. These facts support a grant of certiorari.

Respondents’ primary objections to a grant of certiorari
are that the Second Circuit is right, and that ultimately they
will win on the facts at trial. But neither of these arguments
-- even if they are correct -- is a persuasive reason to deny
certiorari. Moreover, Respondents misconstrue the well-
known marks doctrine and its impact on domestic and
international trademark policies and protection.

A. THE NINTH CIRCUIT DECISION WAS
GROUNDED IN THE LANHAM ACT

The Ninth Circuit recognized a foreign well-known marks
doctrine. The Second Circuit did not. While Respondents
admit there is a Circuit split, they try to minimize its
significance by claiming that the Ninth Circuit did not base its
decision on the Lanham Act, but purely on public policy,
whereas the Second Circuit based its rejection of the well-
known marks doctrine on a “restricted” interpretation of § 44
of the Lanham Act. Opp. at 22-23. Yet, the fact that the
Ninth Circuit’s reasoning differed from that of the Second
Circuit highlights, rather than lessens, the split between
circuits.

2

Furthermore, Respondents’ description of the Ninth
Circuit’s decision is not a fair reading of that decision. In
recognizing the well-known marks doctrine, the Ninth Circuit
looked to key principles embodicd in the Lanham Act: the
territoriality principle and protection against consumer
confusion. See Grupo Gigante v. Dallo & Co., 391 F.3d
1088, 1094 (9th Cir. 2004); Petition for Writ of Certiorari
(“Pet.”) at 17-18 (discussing Grupo Gigante).

As Respondents admit, these principles -- like the well-
known marks doctrine itself -- are implicit in the Lanham Act,
and are derived from common law. See Opp. at 8; Pet. at 8-
9. The Lanham Act codified these common law principles.
See S. Rep. No. 79-1333 (1946) reprinted in 1946
U.S.C.C.A.N. 1274, 1274 (“The purpose of this bill is to
place all matters relating to trade-marks in one statute and to
eliminate judicial obscurity...”). Thus, the Ninth Circuit’s
reasoning did not reference express language in the Lanham
Act, but instead looked to case law to conclude that
territoriality is not absolute. It then applied these principles
to the claim of a foreign mark holder, who, like ITC, sought
relief under the Lanham Act.’

B. A DECISION BY THIS COURT WOULD BE CASE
DISPOSITIVE

Respondents argue this Court should not grant certiorari
because any decision would not be dispositive. Opp. at 6-7.
They imply that the Second Circuit held that ITC had

> The Ninth Circuit did not find it necessary to refer to international
treaties to determine the existence of a well-known marks doctrine,
since it concluded that the doctrine was already encompassed in the
Lanham Act. Grupo Gigante, 391 F.3d at 1099.

3

insufficient evidence to create a genuine issue of fact on
whether its mark is well-known. See Opp. at 2-3, 6 (citing
the District Court holding). To be sure, the District Court
found ITC had insufficient evidence of secondary meaning.
Pet. App. at 88a. But, the District Court took a novel
approach to secondary meaning,’ and the Second Circuit did
not affirm on this basis. Instead, after reviewing the record
de novo and noting the evidence supporting ITC’s claim, see
Pet. App. A at 6a-7a, it reached the issue of the well-known
marks doctrine -- presumably because it concluded ITC’s
evidence was sufficient to survive summary judgment,
requiring it to reach the issue. Cf. Empresa Cubana del
Tabaco v. Culbro Corp., 399 F.3d 462, 471 (2d Cir. 2005)
(“We do not reach the question of whether to recognize the
famous marks doctrine because... [Plaintiff's] acquisition
rights ... is barred by the embargo”). Thus, a decision by this
Court in ITC’s favor will result in a reversal of the decisions
below. Whether Respondents ultimately prevail at trial is
irrelevant to whether certiorari is appropriate, and improperly
asks this Court to engage in fact finding.

On the same grounds, Respondents suggest this Court wait
for another case. Opp. at 7. But two of the circuits most
concerned with international trade -- the Second and the Ninth
-- have now ruled directly on this issue. And Respondents in
fact note that a number of other circuits have indicated
positions either on the well-known marks doctrine directly or
indirectly on the principle of territoriality. See Opp. at 7-8,
23; Pet. at 20-21 (citing cases that recognize but do not apply
the doctrine).

> The District Court considered only use of the mark outside the
United States. Pet. App. at 91-95. ITC disagrees with the District
Court’s reasoning and decision regarding secondary meaning.

4

Moreover, that the Second Circuit has, in Respondents’
eyes, gotten it right is not a sound reason to deny certiorari,
particularly given the enormity of the issues at stake.
Respondents’ concern for the significant impact of this
decision only highlights the need to resolve this issue
promptly. There may not be many more opportunities to
resolve these conflicting decisions before other countries set
policies causing domestic trademark holders doing business
abroad to be harmed. Thus, the Court should act now to
resolve this circuit split.

C. RESPONDENTS MISCONTRUE THE WELL-
KNOWN MARKS DOCTRINE

Respondents would have this Court believe that ITC seeks
to create “ex nihilo a new paradigm,” one that would
represent a drastic departure from current trademark law.
Opp. at 5. This is simply not the case. United States
trademark law has long contained a form of the well-known
marks doctrine. And that doctrine, to the extent not codified
in the Lanham Act ab initio, was incorporated into the Act
through later amendments intended to implement the United
States’ treaty obligations, most notably through § 44. Formal
recognition of the doctrine by this Court is not a drastic
departure -- if a departure at all -- from existing law.

More important, these points go to the merits of the claim
and are essentially irrelevant to whether certiorari should be
granted. The admitted circuit split and the undeniable
significance of the issue support certiorari.

Respondents assert that the lack of express statutory
language denoting a well-known marks exception bars its
recognition. But, the well-known marks doctrine is
incorporated in the Lanham Act in two ways. First, it flows

5

from the notion, first established at common law, that a
trademark may be protected where it is known as well as
where it is used. Second, it is a critical provision in both the
Paris Convention and TRIPs, each of which is effectuated by
the Lanham Act.

1. The Well-Known Marks Doctrine Has Long Been A
Feature of United States Trademark Law

Respondents rely on the Second Circuit’s rigid and
absolutist view of territoriality. But, as they are forced to
admit, Opp. at 8, the territoriality principle itself is not in the
Lanham Act’s express language. Respondents nevertheless
claim that territoriality can be presumed because of its long
standing in the common law, whereas they claim the well-
known marks doctrine cannot be so presumed, because,
according to Respondents, there is no pre-Lanham Act
common law support. /d.

But this assertion misreads both the common law and
ITC’s argument.* Before the adoption of the Lanham Act,
this Court discussed the exception to the territoriality principle
for well-known marks. See Hanover Star Milling Co. vy.
Metcalf, 240 U.S. 403, 415-16 (1916) (holding that protection
of a trademark follows where it has been used “or its meaning
has become known,” with the goal of protecting against
palming off and unfair competition); United Drug Co. v.
Theodore Rectanus Co., 248 U.S. 90, 97-100 (1918)(same).

* Respondents claim that, according to ITC, the common law “did
not require marks be used at all.” Opp. at 11-12. This is
incorrect, as a careful reading of ITC’s Petition shows.

6

Thus, as ITC explained in its Petition, this long-standing
case law allows a mark used in one area to be protected in a
distant area where the mark is known but not used. See Pet.
at 8-9; Grupo Gigante, 319 F.3d at 1097; Brennan's, Inc. v.
Brennan’s Restaurant, L.L.C., 360 F.3d 125, 134 (2d Cir.
2004) (a “geographically remote mark” may be protected in
a distant market where there is evidence of reputation).
Where a mark is already known, even if it is not used, there
is the potential for consumer confusion and unfair competition
from similar marks. See Pet. at 8-9; De Beers LV Trademark
Ltd. v. DeBeers Diamond Syndicate Inc. , No. 04-4099, 2005
U.S. Dist. LEXIS 9307, at *25 (S.D.N.Y. May 18, 2005)
(noting that the well-known marks doctrine is a warranted
application of the Lanham Act because “avoidance of
consumer confusion is the ultimate end of all trademark law”)
(citation omitted).

Realizing that they cannot entirely avoid the impact of the
case law, Respondents assert that it is “a long leap” to apply
the same principle internationally. Opp. at 9. But that is
exactly what sections 44(b) and (h) require, even under
Respondents’ reading: national treatment for foreign mark
holders. See Opp. at 19-20. Thus, the international corollary
to Hanover is that a trademark that is used outside the United
States and is well-known in the United States, is entitled to
protection. A foreign mark holder, like a domestic mark
holder, may show either use or fame to establish a protectible
right. See DeBeers, No. 04-4099, 2005 U.S. Dist. LEXIS
9307, at *25-*26; cf. Maruti.Com v. Maruti Udyog Lid. , 447
F.Supp.2d 494, 500 (D. Md. 2006) (no trademark rights in
United States where mark was well-known in India, but
neither used nor well-known in the United States). To deny
such protection to foreign mark holders would be to deny
them protection provided to domestic trademark holders, in
violation of the Act.

7

Respondents also assert that, under the territoriality
principle, use in the United States is an “absolute
prerequisite” to United States trademark rights. Opp. at 7,
12. ITC does not contest that, as a general matter, use is
required to obtain trademark rights in the United States. But
the territoriality principle is not mandated by statutory
language and is not “absolute.” The cases on which
Respondents rely do not stand for this proposition. See e.g.,
Two Pesos, Inc. v. Taco Cabana, Inc., 505 U.S. 763 (1992).
Two Pesos did not involve a foreign mark, nor the well-
known marks doctrine. In fact, in its holding, the Court
relied on the Lanham Act’s purpose to protect against
consumer confusion and unfair competition. /d. at 767-68.

2. The Lanham Act has Incorporated Treaty Provisions
Adopting the Well-Known Marks Doctrine

While Respondents acknowledge that sections 44(b) and
(h) “certainly aim to give cffect to the provisions of
international treaties,” they maintain that the Lanham Act
does not expressly incorporate the relevant treaty provisions.
Opp. at 21. And, Respondents argue that (a) the Paris
Convention and TRIPs do not require signatory nations to
adopt well-known foreign marks protection; (b) the treaties
are not self-executing, and (c) Congress has not implemented
ihe Weaties. Opp. at 15-16. Whether the treaties require
adoption of well-known marks protection (which they do)?

> There is no indication in the language of the treaties that their
protections are optional. See Paris Convention, Art. 6bis (“The
countries of the Union undertake, ex officio if their legislation so
permits, or at the request of an interested party, .... These
provisions shall also apply... .”). And Respondents’ references
to debate on this topic (Opp. at 15) have been superseded by the
2000 WIPO Guidelines, which make clear that states must protect

8

and whether they are self-executing are beside the point. The
United States has chosen to adopt and implement the
protections of the Paris Convention and TRIPs through the
Lanham Act. See Pet. at 9-16.

Respondents argue that there was no legislation “aimed
directly” at TRIPs Article 16(2), and therefore it was not
implemented. Opp. at 18. But, as ITC explained, Congress
adopted legislation to implement the treaty protections in full.
See Pet. at 11-16.° To the extent Article 16(2) was not
addressed directly in such legislation, it was because Congress
concluded that the protection at issue was already covered by
the Act, and in this case by the Act’s enactment of the Paris
Convention through § 44. See id. at 12-15. Respondents fail
to address this extensive evidence of Congressional intent and
argue instead that the well-known marks doctrine will give
foreigners an unfair advantage over United States trademark
owners. But in making this argument, Respondents ignore
§ 44(i), which grants United States citizens the same rights as
foreign owners of marks under § 44. See id. at 20.

well-known marks without use. See Joint Recommendation
Concerning Provisions on the Protection of Well-Known Marks,
World Intellectual Property Organization (2000), Art. 2(3)()
(members “shall not require . . . that the mark has been used in
. . . the Member state”).

* As they do elsewhere, Respondents again mistakenly accuse ITC
of inaccuracy. In discussing the phrase “in addition to the rights to
which any owner of a mark is otherwise entitled” in § 44(b), they
allege that ITC “incorrectly suggests that the phrase was added
alone in the 1962 amendment,” rather than the entire section being
amended. Opp. at 19, n. 13. But ITC in fact stated: “This section
[44] of the Lanham Act was amended in 1962 . . . One such
amendment was to change the last sentence . . .” Pet. at 15, n.5.

9

Lastly, Respondents suggest that certiorari should not be
granted because Petitioner waived any claim for unfair
competition brought pursuant to section 44(h). Opp. at 20.
This is a red herring. Petitioner’s cause of action is pursuant
to section 43(a), which protects against anyone who causes
consumer confusion. Sections 44(b) and (h) confirm that
foreigners may bring a cause of action pursuant to section
43(a) -- as Respondents admit. Opp. at 10. There is no
requirement that a separate claim be filed under section 44.
See Mattel, Inc. v. MCA Records, 296 F.3d 894, 907 (9th
Cir. 2002).

D. RESPONDENTS’ PREDICTIONS OF DIRE
CONSEQUENCES HIGHLIGHT THE NEED TO
RESOLVE THIS CONFLICT NOW

Respondents claim a well-known foreign marks exception
will have dire consequences. Specifically, it would leave
United States businesses without constructive notice of a
foreign entity’s claim to United States rights in a mark, force
United States businesses to conduct global trademark
clearances, and allow foreign mark holders to “warehouse”
marks with no incentive to register in the United States. Opp.
at 24-25. Respondents’ predictions, to the extent they hold
water, only serve to show that this Court should grant
certiorari and resolve the circuit conflict.

But these asserted objections all ignore that the mark must
be well known in the United States before the being entitled
to trademark protection. Thus, a United States business
would have notice of a well-known mark in its industry --
€.2., a jewelry store owner has probably heard of DeBeers,
a cigar manufacturer has probably heard of Cohiba, and a
grocery store 50 miles from the Mexican border has probably
heard of Grupo Gigante. By the same token, unwieldy

10

“global” clearances are not necessary where the issue is
marks that are well-known. And foreign mark holders still
have an incentive to file United States trademark applications:
clear priority of trademark rights, without the need to prove
renown in a particular market.

On the other hand, no United States business should be
entitled to appropriate a well-known mark to confuse
consumers and gain an unfair competitive edge. See Grupo
Gigante, 391 F.3d at 1094. Even the Second Circuit in fact
acknowledged that a “persuasive policy argument” supports
the well-known marks doctrine. Pet. App. at 49a.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, Petitioner respectfully requests that
the petition for writ of certiorari be granted.

This 21“ day of August, 2007.
Respectfully Submitted,
KING & SPALDING LLP

Ethan Horwitz
Counsel of Record
Jill Wasserman
Charles A. Pannell, Il
Sarah O. Jorgensen
1185 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10036-4003
(212) 556-2100

Counsel for Petitioner

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_1137%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
