# Reply Brief — Pooh Bah Enterprises, Inc. v. City of Chicago (No. 06-1614)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_0566%3A6

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

No. ¢ > |

Supreme Court of the Gunited States

POOH BAH ENTERPRISES, INC., ef al.,
Petitioners.

Vv.

CITY OF CHICAGO, ef al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari te the
Supreme Court of Hlinois

REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONERS

MICHAEL A. ABRAMSON ROBERT CORN-REVERE
ARNSTEIN & LEHR LLP (Counsel: of Record)

120 South Riverside Plaza DAVIS WRIGHT TREMAINE LLP
Suite 1200 1919 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Chicago, Minois 60606 Washington, D.C. 20006

(312) 876-7155 ~ (202) 973-4225

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
PPE OP. FA TET MES eens cccssececsccsccseccesscorsccssesorece li
Be IIE Soria bibbeessscrcescsvenienstcenccesinsencpensesnecees 1

I. STRICT VERSUS INTERMEDIATE
III cciclasricicsiaseycinsésssinsusbubevaanisieceassocceses 1
Il. THE CITY’S EVIDENTIARY BURDEN ........ 6
Bake EPR Ge CPUS FIRS vscecscsoscncssscsccscvenenonee 9
I Sai da sdasehabachoaneneconbousceaceossvscesens 10

(i)

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
44 Liquormart, Inc. v. Rhode Island, 517 U.S.
SG I is inciiniecstsssshinccintcnaiiantaibibSibeisinsiasankens 4,5
181 South Inc. v. Fischer, 454 F.3d 228 (3d Cir.
AN eine aii nicssechitinicniabeidesideieeniaccebiietn Riandincescen 4

Abilene Retail #30, Inc. v. Bd. of Conan’ ee
F.3d _, No. 05-3473, 2007 WL 1982130

(10th Cir. UE Fs et rtinsinishiastcnnabessececninaincen 8
Ben’s Bar, Inc. v. Village of Somerset, 316 F.3d
FOI BRE sisisetncarstsnscanteersimessatinniones’s ae

City of Erie v. Pap’s A.M., 529 U.S. 277 (2000)... 1,4
City of Los Angeles v. Alameda Books, Inc., 535

CFF eR isccissinkinhiticessitnlgacenciagincamecantnd passim
City of Renton v. Playtime Theatres, Inc., 475

TF ene Se cain vtbsnacipinaiivscirnadiiineinsiaunoanwchiemensions ee
Daytona Grand, Inc. v. City of Daytona Beach,

490 F.3d 860 (11th Cir. 2007) ........... eee eee 8
Encore Videos, Inc. v. City of San Antonio, 330

Fe Fie et lc BIST cisseniencccocscensinnanoesonecosen 5,8
Fantasy Ranch Inc. v. City of Arlington, 459 F.3d

FI Cs BRED ssiscecnscomncsinadniaasoncdangiiwnnnacniose 8
Flanigan’s Enters., Inc. v. Fulton County, 242

FB Sae Fe FE Gae, BOOED cienannesnscescsovicsnndssencensie 8
G&V Lounge, Inc. v. Michigan Liquor Control

Comm’n, 23 F.3d 1071 (6th Cir. 1994) ............. 5
G.M. Enters., Inc. v. Town of St. Joseph, 350

FB lw BOD inrtaaiinicsecictbstiinsapntionense 5
Giovani Carandola, Lid. v. Bason, 303 F.3d 507

UL. GSES ERS Serr avean ee eceress te oie 5,8
Grand Faloon Tavern, Inc. v. Wicker, 670 F.2d

pail 4 Ri ° . Reenter cera ae 5
Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976)................ 2
Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S. 87 (1974)...... 3
Heideman v. South Salt Lake City, 348 F.3d 1182

EE al SIG seis aiken icensschiotemsaasacicgnctveenectecn 5

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Illusions-Dallas Private Club, Inc. v. Steen, 482
Fe Ee NE is cininncvenitintnianinckemenesn 4,5,8
Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. 188 (1977)......... A
Peek-a-Boo Lounge of Bradenton, Inc. v. Mana-
tee County, 337 F.3d 1251 (11th Cir. 2003)...... 8
Perry v. Sinderman, 408 U.S. 593 (1972).............. 5
R.V.S., LLC v. City of Rockford, 361 F.3d 402
PU: ND ip cents cacrincnctdensaiiavornissecinnicticcasen 5,8
Ranch House, Inc. v. Amerson, 238 F.3d 1273
ESE ReRG SUED cudivestncchcanssclevpeoansdickevsathoemsccbuentuecee 5
Schultz v. City of Cumberland, 228 F.3d 831 (7th
A. POD ais icnk-scscisdaanaledinibucsdouneseeaniioxesn cease 5
Steiner v. County Comm'rs of Caroline County,
490 F.Supp.2d 617 (D. Md. 2007)..................... 8

Top Flight, Inc. v. City of Inkster, No. 06-12399,
2007 WL 643897 (E.D. Mich. Feb. 26, 2007)... 7
Ward v. Rock Against Racism, 491 U.S. 781

STATUTE, RULE, AND ORDINANCE

Municipal Code of Chicago, § 4-60-140(d)
ics hinsincntcsntbadennsiiadiesaiadavennbalseatdennstaetisteees passim

OTHER

Bryant Paul, Daniel Linz, and Bradley J. Shafer,
Government Regulation of “Adult” Businesses
Through Zoning and Anti-Nudity Ordinances:
Debunking the Legal Myth of Negative
Secondary Effects, 6 COMM. LAW & POLICY
Fane CN FIN Fiestas cancencecceptanarntcnn cothisiaseceias 7

ae a9
air Sate. 5
ead 3

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Daniel Linz, Mike Yao, and Sahara Byrne, Test-
ing Supreme Court Assumptions in California
v. LaRue: Is There Justification for Prohibit-
ing Sexually Explicit Messages in Establish-
ments That Sell Liquor?, 7 COMM. L. REV. 23,
ST ia ittiiniuicein nications

INTRODUCTION

The City of Chicago’s Opposition (“Opp.”) well illustrates
the doctrinal confusion that has divided the lower courts
in seeking to determine whether a regulation of sexually
oriented entertainment is content neutral, and, if so, how to
apply the evidentiary burdens necessary to justify the regu-
lation. Like the Illinois Supreme Court below, the City sim-
ply assumes that intermediate scrutiny is the correct standard
of review because the ordinance at issue regulates sexually
oriented entertainment without regard to content neutrality.
The City also erroneously contends that it has fulfilled its
“light” evidentiary burden notwithstanding the trial court’s
finding that “the record [is] devoid of any proof of the
existence of or even the possibility of potentially harmful sec-
ondary effects” (App. 147), and despite the fact that Peti-
tioners were not permitted to complete their case. The
Opposition blithely overlooks a growing split among the
circuit courts on each of these issues, and thus highlights why
review by this Court is warranted.

I. STRICT VERSUS INTERMEDIATE SCRUTINY

1. The City does not question the settled law that strict
scrutiny must be applied when regulation of expressive
conduct is content-based unless the government can establish
a neutral purpose. Petition for Certiorari (“Pet.”) at 11-13.
See City of Los Angeles v. Alameda Books, Inc., 535 U.S.
425, 434 (2002); City of Erie v. Pap’s A.M., 529 U.S. 277,
289 (2000); City of Renton v. Playtime Theatres, Inc., 475
U.S. 41, 46-47 (1986). However, it argues that the court
below properly applied intermediate scrutiny after it found
that the “only motivation” for Chicago Municipal Code § 4-
60-140(d) (“Coverage Ordinance”) was as a content neutral
regulation of “negative secondary effects.” Opp. at 13-14.
What is missing from the City’s analysis is any evidence of
legislative purpose for.the ordinance at issue in this case.
However, “a city must advance some basis to show that its

2

regulation has the purpose and effect of suppressing second-
ary effects.” Alameda Books, 535 U.S. at 449 (Kennedy, J.,
concurring).’

a. The City, like the court below, relies exclusively on
testimony about prostitution on Chicago’s Rush Street in
years past and to legislative findings for a 1993 zoning
ordinance, with which Pooh Bah has always complied, that
was adopted fifteen years after the Coverage Ordinance.
Opp. at 3-6, 13-14; App. 31-36. Neither that testimony nor
the purported “findings” speak to the motivations for enact-
ment of the 1978 Coverage Ordinance. As Justice Freeman
explained, the court below made a “clear and piain error” in
“incorrectly citing the legislative history and preambles of the
City’s 1993 adult use zoning ordinance as if that were the
legislative history and original city council intent.” App. 79
(Freeman, J., dissenting from denial of reh’g). The Opposi-
tion merely repeats that error.

b. The City’s reliance on “findings” made fifteen years
later to justify the 1978 Coverage Ordinance confirms that
this case implicates the deep split of authority on whether
post-enactment evidence can be used to show a content neu-
tral purpose. See Pet. at 17 (citing cases). The City expressly
acknowledges the circuit split. Opp. at 17. It says only that
“lawmekers could not have known to include a statement
articulating their secondary effects rationale” because the
Coverage Ordinance was enacted before Renton. Id. See also
id. at 16. Not only is this a frank admission that the City has
zero evidence of a content neutral purpose for the Coverage
Ordinance, it is no answer to the doctrinal question raised by
the instant Petition. The City’s excuse for why it lacks
evidence of legislative intent is irrelevant. It is settled that the
showing of a content neutral purpose, required by Renton and

' For purposes of this analysis, Justice Kennedy’s opinion may be
considered the holding of the Court. Marks v. United States, 430 U.S.
188, 193 (1977); Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 169 n.15 (1976).

3

its progeny, applies fully to this case even if that requirement
was articulated in later cases. See, e.g., Marks, 430 U.S. at
196-197; Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S. 87, 102 (1974).

c. The only contemporaneous legislative statement of
purpose for the 1978 Coverage Ordinance indicates that it
was intended to regulate content, i.e., to “control[ ] the form
of entertainment” in venues that serve alcohol. (App. 157.)
The City disputes that this statement demonstrates a content-
based purpose, yet admits as much by characterizing it as “a
generic description of the legislation included by the com-
mittee in its recommendation to the City Council.” Opp. at
17 n.9. Even if the City’s conclusion is accepted, this leaves
no record support for the City’s claim of content neutrality. ”

d. The City subsequently sought to fill this vacuum by
proffering various post-enactment theories of iegislative pur-
pose. However, the City abandoned various content neutral
justifications in the course of litigation. Pet. at 20-21. Sig-
nificantly, the City relied heavily on a content-related
justification for the Ordinance—that the effect on the patron
of combining alcohol and erotic dancing causes crime. App.
32, 38. The Court below agreed with the City and relied on
content-based justifications for the law—i.e., not secondary
effects, but rather direct effects on patrons of adult enter-
tainment. App. 37-40, 43. See also App. 68 (Freeman, J.,
dissenting from denial of reh’g) (the Court justified ordinance
based on “supposed effects of the regulated conduct on its
audience”). If this indeed was the City’s purpose, it should
have been subject to strict scrutiny. Pet. at 15-16.

2. The City’s argument that the ordinance regulates
alcohol sales—and not expression—is a red herring. Opp. at
8-14. Even where government claims to target the putative

? The City also admits that the [linois Supreme Court may have “mis-
conceived the legislative history,” but fails to grasp that this error leaves it
without any content neutral justification whatsoever for the Coverage
Ordinance. See Opp. at 17 n.9.

4

secondary effects of adult entertainment, there can be no
pretense it is not regulating speech but only liquor licensing.
See Pap’s A.M., 529 U.S. at 294-95 (allowing “States ... to
regulate secondary effects” necessarily involves “intrusions
on expression”) (discussing, inter alia, Ward v. Rock Against
Racism, 491 U.S. 781 (1989)). Since 44 Liguormart, Inc. v.
Rhode Island, 517 U.S. 484 (1996), and certainly since Pap’s
A.M., there can be no serious claim that regulating exotic
dancing in liquor-serving venues “do[es] not restrict expres-
sion,” as the City argues here. Opp. at 10 n.6. In Jllusions-
Dallas Private Club, Inc. v. Steen, 482 F.3d 299, 306-07 (Sth
Cir. 2007) the Fifth Circuit cataloged the Third, Fourth, Sixth,
Seventh, and Eleventh Circuit cases that concluded that 44
Liquormart “requires that alcohol regulations of [sexually
oriented businesses] be analyzed in light of the First Amend-
ment.” Precedent from six Circuits shows that it is hardly just
“two cases. . .in which a restriction on sexually explicit
dancing at liquor-licensed establishments” was analyzed
under the First Amendment, as the City claims. °

Using license revocation as the means of punishment does
not change the fact that the activity being punished is speech.
Here, the City maintains that Pooh Bah may keep its liquor
license and avoid punishment if it alters the type of speech it
provides. But a “state actor cannot constitutionally condition
the receipt of a benefit, such as a liquor license or an enter-
tainment permit, on an agreement to refrain from exercising

3 See Opp. at 13. 44 Liquormart sounded the death knell for the argu-
ment that the Twenty-First Amendment provides a separate basis for
regulating speech. 517 U.S. at 516. It also is clear that the Alameda
Books analysis applies to adult entertainment regulation imposed through
alcohol license limitations. See Illusions-Dallas, 482 F.3d at 306-07. The
City’s reliance on pre-44 Liguormart cases is unavailing, Opp. at 9, 10-11
& n.7, as is its citation of 18] South Inc. v. Fischer, 454 F.3d 228, 233 (3d
Cir. 2006) (Third Circuit expressly declined to base its holding on the
argument that a regulation is constitutional where a state prohibits alcohol
sales in “inappropriate locations”).

5

one’s constitutional rights, especially one’s right to free
expression.” G&V Lounge, Inc. v. Michigan Liquor Control
Comm’n, 23 F.3d 1071 (6th Cir. 1994) (citing, inter alia,
Perry v. Sinderman, 408 U.S. 593, 597 (1972)). See 44
Liquormart, 517 U.S. at 513 (“Even though government is
under no obligation to provide . . . a particular benefit,” such
as “cho[osing] to license . . . liquor” purveyors, “it does not
follow that conferral of the benefit may be conditioned on the
surrender of a constitutional right.”).

3. The City’s claim that no circuit conflict exists regard-
ing the nature of the government’s burden to show a content
neutral purpose is plainly wrong. Opp. at 15. It ignores the
cases cited in the Petition which held that courts cannot
“simply assume that the legislature’s purpose was to combat
the negative impact on health, safety, and welfare,” e.g.,
Ranch House, Inc. v. Amerson, 238 F.3d 1273, 1282-83 (11th
Cir. 2001); R.V.S., LLC v. City of Rockford, 361 F.3d 402,
408 (7th Cir. 2004); see also G.M. Enters., Inc. v. Town of St.
Joseph, 350 F.3d 631, 638 (7th Cir. 2003); Schultz v. City of
Cumberland, 228 F.3d 831, 844 (7th Cir. 2000), as distin-
guished from cases presuming content neutrality “even with-
out a legislative record to suggest a purpose unrelated to
speech.” E.g., Illusions-Dallas, 482 F.3d at 309 (Sth Cir.
2007); Ben’s Bar, Inc. v. Village of Somerset, 316 F.3d 702,
712 (7th Cir. 2003); Heideman v. South Salt Lake City, 348
F.3d 1182, 1195 (10th Cir. 2003); Encore Videos, Inc. v. City
of San Antonio, 330 F.3d 288, 292 (Sth Cir. 2003); Grand
Faloon Tavern, Inc. v. Wicker, 670 F.2d 943, 947 (11th Cir.
1982); see also Giovani Carandola, Ltd. v. Bason, 303 F.3d
507, 514 (4th Cir. 2002). The cases show a significant
amount of confusion on this key threshold question not only
between different circuits, but among different panels of the
same circuit. Accordingly, clarification by this Court is ur-
gently needed.

6

Il, THE CITY’S EVIDENTIARY BURDEN

1. The City entirely misses the point of the second issue
presented in the Petition. The petitioners seek clarification by
this Court of the government’s burden of proof where the
litigants have cast doubt on the city’s evidence and theories,
and where the trial court has found that the record lacks any
proof of potentially harmful secondary effects. (App. 147).
The City argues that it need only show that it “reasonably
believed” the Coverage Ordinance would help combat sec-
ondary effects, and that petitioners “do not even attempt to
identify a conflict with respect to the second question [pre-
sented in the Petition].” Opp. at 18-26. This assertion ignores
a significant split among the circuit courts as to the appropriate
evidentiary burden and advocates the absurd position that local
governments need offer no tangible evidence other than their
beliefs about possible secondary effects.

a. In Alameda Books, this Court explained that, in order
to show a regulation furthers a substantial government inter-
est under intermediate scrutiny, the government must show a
connection between the speech regulated and undesirable
secondary effects. Alameda Books, 535 U.S. at 434-38.
Although the City correctly notes that it may seek to satisfy
this burden by relying on any evidence that is “reasonably
believed to be relevant” to this inquiry, id. at 438, it utterly
ignored the rest of the Court’s holding: “If plaintiffs succeed
in casting doubt on a municipality’s rationale . . . the burden
shifts back to the municipality to supplement the record with
evidence renewing support for a theory that justifies its
ordinance.” Jd. at 439. See also id. at 453 (Kennedy, J.,
concurring) (“If these assumptions can be proved unsound at
trial, then the ordinance might not withstand intermediate
scrutiny.”). In such a case, it simply will not do for the gov-
ernment to assert, contrary to the evidence, that it neverthe-
less was persuaded by its own asserted secondary effects
rationale and that it has no burden to support its conclusion
beyond its own “reasonable belief.” The City’s suggestion

7

that once doubt is cast on the government’s rationale, its bur-
den. to respond is de minimis would render meaningless this
Court’s insistence that governments not rely on “shoddy data”
to avoid strict scrutiny when regulating adult entertainment.

b. That is precisely what happened in this case. After
hearing all the evidence and assessing the credibility of the
City’s witnesses, the trial court found the City had failed to
show “even the possibility of potentially harmful secondary
effects.” (App. 147.) Although Pooh Bah was able to present
some evidence, if it had been allowed to complete its case after
the Illinois Supreme Court’s reversal of the trial court ruling, it
would have been able to introduce expert testimony as well as
published studies on the absence of secondary effects in these
kinds of venues, thus further demonstrating the shoddy nature
of the City’s data.* The Illinois Supreme Court’s failure to
remand for further evidence contravenes Alameda Books,
where this Court remanded for further proceedings. 535 U.S.
at 432-33, 343. See also Section III, infra.

2. Although Alameda Books requires a process by which
petitioners may challenge the government’s asserted rationale
and shift the evidentiary burden back to the municipality, the
lower courts have been greatly divided in ascertaining and
applying these burdens. E.g., Top Flight, Inc. v. City of
Inkster, No. 06-12399, 2007 WL 643897, at *9 (E.D. Mich.
Feb. 26, 2007) (“Stating the precise parameters of a munic-

* See, e.g., Daniel Linz, Mike Yao, and Sahara Bye, Testing Supreme
Court Assumptions in California v. LaRue: Is There Justification for
Prohibiting Sexually Explicit Messages in Establishments That Sell
Liquor?, 7 COMM. L. REV. 23, 44 (2007) (“Results from previous studies
and the results from the present study suggest either no relationship or
even a negative relationship between the presence of alcohol serving adult
entertainment establishments and adverse secondary effects in the form of
sex related crime activity.”); Bryant Paul, Daniel Linz, and Bradley J.
Shafer, Government Regulation of “Adult” Businesses Through Zoning
and Anti-Nudity Ordinances: Debunking the Legal Myth of Negative
Secondary Effects, 6 COMM. LAW & POLICY 355 (Spring 2001).

ipality’s burden to support its asserted secondary effects is
difficult . . . due to the splintered nature of the leading
Supreme Court opinions in this area of law.”). Some courts
require the government’s rationale to be rebutted by clear and
convincing evidence, although this Court has never spoken to
that question. Compare Giovani Carandola, 303 F.3d at
516; Steiner v. County Comm'rs of Caroline County, 490
F.Supp.2d 617, 625 (D. Md. 2007), with, e.g., Peek-a-Boo
Lounge of Bradenton, Inc. v. Manatee County, 337 F.3d
1251, 1271-72 (11th Cir. 2003) (substantial and unanswered
factual challenges are sufficient to cast doubt on government
rationale). Others have reached sharply divergent conclu-
sions about the government’s evidentiary burden. Compare
Rockford, 361 F.3d at 411-13 (government failed to cite
sufficient evidence of connection between adult entertainment
and secondary effects); Encore Videos, 330 F.3d at 294-95
(same); Flanigan’s Enters., Inc. v. Fulton County, 242 F.3d
976, 985 (11th Cir. 2001) (court may not “presume the evi-
dence needed” to show secondary effects); [/lusions-Dallas,
482 F.3d at 313 (striking down ordinance on “record [ ]
completely devoid of any evidence that a secondary effects
problem exists”), with Fantasy Ranch Inc. v. City of Arling-
ton, 459 F.3d 546, 560-61 (Sth Cir. 2006) (even where plain-
tiffs’ expert’s report showed that “no arrests at strip clubs had
occurred for prostitution, drugs, or assault,” plaintiffs failed
to cast doubt on government’s secondary effects rationale).

This is not, as the City attempts to frame it, a situation in
which some local governments have provided sufficient
evidence to support their regulations while others have not.
Opp. at 22-23. Rather, the different outcomes have resulted
from the lack of clear guidance from this Court as to the
respective burdens of proof. Even in the brief time since the
Petition was filed, further dissension among the Circuits
emerged. Compare Daytona Grand, Inc. v. City of Daytona
Beach, 490 F.3d 860, 874-85 (11th Cir. 2007) (finding City
carried its burden to show secondary effects despite

significant expert testimony to the contrary), with Abilene
Retail #30, Inc. v. Bd. of Comm'rs, __ F.3d _, No. 05-3473,
2007 WL 1982130, at *9 (10th Cir. July 10, 2007) (in
attempting to meet initial burden, government may not “rely
on the existing body of prepackaged secondary effects
studies” but instead must “show[ ] that the evidence . . . relied
[on] is germane to their local experience”); id at *13-17
(Ebel, J., concurring) (disagreeing with majority that
government met its initial burden but stating that plaintiff cast
sufficient doubt on government’s secondary effects rationale).
This continuing confusion cries out for review by this Court.

lil. LACK OF DUE PROCESS

The City declined to address the merits of the due process
question presented in the Petition based on its erroneous
claim that the issue had been waived and its mistaken view
that it is not a distinct issue. It is wrong on both counts.

1. The claim that Pooh Bah waived the due process issue
is absurd. It was the Illinois Supreme Court’s refusal to allow
further evidence of the First Amendment issues on remand
that created the due process problem. See Pet. at 22. Pdéoh
Bah thus could not have “failed to forward a due process
argument in their [sic] appeal to the Illinois Supreme Court,”
Opp. at 26, because the due process violation had not yet
occurred. Pooh Bah briefed the due process violation on
rehearing before the state high court. See App. 65 (Freeman,
J., dissenting from denial of reh’g) (“in [the] rehearing
petition ... this court’s opinion .. . violates the “constitu-
tional required procedures for intermediate scrutiny * * *
resulting in a denial of due process””) (ellipses added, aster-
isks original). Petitioners also continue to press the issue
before this Court. The issue has not been waived.

2. Contrary to the City’s contention that due process
“questions have no significance outside this case,” Opp. at 26,
this procedural question goes to the heart of Alameda Books’
burden shifting process. Alameda Books makes clear that,

10

when a challenger raises questions about the asserted ra-
tionale by showing data and/or reasoning flaws, the City faces
a “burden [that] shifts back to [it] to supplement the record
with evidence renewing support. . . that justifies its ordi-
nance.” 535 U.S. at 439. See id. at 453 (Kennedy, J., con-
_ curring). Due process requires that affected businesses must
have a chance to “cast doubt” on the government’s rationale
for regulating adult entertainment. Jd. at 438-39. In this case,
however, Pooh Bah was not afforded a “full and fair
opportunity” to make this showing, Opp. at 26, because the
trial court interrupted Pooh Bah’s case—to conclude the trial
by holding the City did not meet its initial burden—before
Pooh Bah could finish presenting evidence. Pet. at 4, 22.
This Court must clarify what evidentiary procedures are re
quired in these circumstances.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should grant the
petition for writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,
MICHAEL A. ABRAMSON ROBERT CORN-REVERE
ARNSTEIN & LEHR LLP (Counsel of Record)
120 South Riverside Plaza DAVIS WRIGHT TREMAINE LLP
Suite 1200 1919 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Chicago, Illinois 60606 Washington. D.C. 20006
(312) 876-7155 (202) 973-4225

DAVID A. EPSTEIN
DAVDD A. EPSTEIN, LTD.
30 North LaSalle Street
Suite 2900

Chicago, Illinois 60602
(312) 553-1479

Counsel for Petitioners

FIUZd

| Ad, 2A ZOOF
me No. 06-1641
IN THE |
Supreme Court of the Buited States
JUAN C. ESPINOSA, et ux.,
Petitioners,

Vv.

UNION COUNTY, NEW JERSEY, et al.,
Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
Unitep States Court or APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF

=—S ——————

Tuomas D. Supa, Jr.
384 Starling Drive
Bozeman, MT 59718
(406) 599-8649

Counsel for Petitioners

4800) 278-8928 + B00) 359.6859

1

The Respondents did not address the simple and
undisputed bases for the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

First, it was “undisputed” that Petitioner had a
constitutionally protected “property interest in his job” as a
jail guard at all times including when the Respondents
ordered him to return to the jail. (App. 16a) (The
Respondents’ reliance on Gilbert v. Homar, 520 U.S. 924
(1997), provides no support for the lower Court’s sua sponte
conclusion that the Petitioner had a “weak” constitutional
interest in his job.)

Second, it is undisputed that the Respondents admitted
that the Petitioner “would be unable to return to work” in
the jail and the lower Court took as true Petitioner’s assertion
that he “could not return to work.” (App. 23a, 27a.) (The
Petitioner was the first guard to break the Blue Wall of
Silence. Also, the Petitioner was the only guard who tried to
help the abused detainees, identified by the detainees as
having tried to help them, praised as courageous in writing
by the Prosecutor for his voluntary testimony, and permitted
to leave the jail for safety reasons.)

Third, it was undisputed that Petitioner repeatedly
pleaded for comparable alternative employment outside the
jail and the Respondents never made ‘any efforts to find
alternative employment although they freely admitted that
such positions were available.

Fourth, it is undisputed that the Petitioner now holds a
nontenured position with a lower rank, earns less than half
his prior salary, and will lose in excess of a million dollars
through his retirement given his reduced salary, loss of
benefits and pension, and overtime pay.

2

It is respectfully submitted that the termination of
Petitioner’s tenured employment for not returning to the jail
was unlawful, and inherently discourages any law
enforcement officer from voluntarily, and truthfully, testifying
against a fellow officer in the future.

CONCLUSION

Petitioner respectfully requests that the Supreme Court
grant review of this matter.

Respectfully. submitted,

Tuomas D. SHEA, Jr.
384 Starling Drive
Bozeman, MT ‘59718
(406) 599-8649

Counsel for Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_0566%3A6. Public record. Not legal advice.
