# Opposition Brief — R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co. v. Engle (No. 06-1545)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_0499%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

p (©) FILED
No. 06-1545 : AUG 5 2007
SUPREME COURSE EK
Sn The eg

Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

R.J. REYNOLDS TOBACCO CO., et ai.,

Petitioners,

V.

HOWARD A. ENGLE, M.D., et al.,

Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Supreme Court Of Florida

¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

SUSAN ROSENBLATT

Counsel of Record

STANLEY M. ROSENBLATT
STANLEY M. ROSENBLATT, P.A.
66 W. Flagler St., 12th Floor
Miami, Florida 33130

(305) 374-6131

Counsel for Respondents

—— ae

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

bo

RESTATEMENT OF
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Should the Court exercise certiorari jurisdiction to
determine the preclusionary effect of Engle findings
in putative class members’ cases that have not been
adjudicated or even filed?

Should the Court exerci.e certiorari jurisdiction to
determine federal preemption issues that cannot
change the outcome of the case where the class repre-
sentatives’ judgments are supported by specific jury
findings of pre-July 1, 1969 negligence, and where the
Court will need to examine the two-year evidentiary
record to determine issues that were not adequately
presented or preserved in the Florida Supreme Court?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

RESTATEMENT OF QUESTIONS PRESENTED....... i
TABELIE OR COUNT nc cssesscssecinetcnnvsscinesccssncnscs ii
TABLE OF AUVEORIT TIS ais. nscsnes scssnvsbsensssssearseinns iv
I aoiceineennviccsnnnanincpacnon 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........sossssscosssssoveesseesvoese 4
I. BRIEF PROCEDURAL HISTORY.........0.:::-:+ 4

IJ. THE PETITION OMITTED ESSENTIAL FACTS
BEARING DIRECTLY ON THE QUESTIONS ;
F ECA icdibsnnnasienotcéngeaioamnpiasnenpcenbnnaharacesnkee 7

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION................ 10

I. THE COURT SHOULD NOT ADDRESS PETI-
TIONERS' HYPOTHETICAL DUE PROCESS

” I acti ea 10

B. There Has Been No Possible Deprivaticn
Of Petitioners’ Due Process Rights ............. 12

C. Due Process Issues Have Not Been Ade-
QUMRDEY PEGUT IO isiincnisiscrracsesnsyvrisiscsnviseinins 13

1

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page

II. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED ON
THE PREEMPTION ISSUES BECAUSE
THEY WERE NOT ADEQUATELY PRE-
SENTED IN THE STATE SUPREME COURT;
THEY REST ON CLAIMS OF IMPROPER
ADMISSION OF EVIDENCE WHICH ARE
BOTH FACTUALLY AND LEGALLY WITH-
OUT MERIT; AND THE ULTIMATE OUT-
COME OF THE CASE WILL NOT BE
AFFECTED BECAUSE THE JUDGMENTS
ARE SUPPORTED BY SPECIFIC JURY
FINDINGS OF PRE-JULY 1, 1969 NEGLI-
2, 7. i -paihahaneh omen atthe ee ew Wire PS faneR oman wn ob Teer 18

A. Petitioners Did Not Adequately Present
And Preserve Preemption Before The Flor-
SN EINE RII ods costs ocrnccsnanardamaaned 18

B. The Claims of Improper Admission Of
Evidence Do Not Present An Appropriate

Question For Review In This Court............ 22
C. Key Factual Premises Upon Which Pre-

emption Claims Are Based Are False.......... 24
D. There Is No Conflict Warranting a Reex-

armination CE CiDOllONe 5... ccs cnscesevsgeceeotocaiesss 27

CARTE A CaN caes ccacileninean senses Lda miwiacs viusscbanacm ei ceive 30

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
| Page

CASES
Adams v. Robertson, |

Ei h prvc sas sd vincssay cecnnpiovncbiodiawadneenans 3, 4, 18
Anderson v. State,

Ge Oe AOE LUM, BODOG)... ccneeseversnscsvcccnvevecenvorvevunious 20
Beck v. Washington,

ea I I iis cisacsivcnsiscenaindsurnnnnennsennnsivasmamalces 19, 29
California v. Rooney, ,

cha ics dntcananvarcosenaincniushacvoueuiaeuala 2, 11
Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., .

a aici hcscici satiate pacindneecha shaban passim
Coleman v. Thompson,

501 U.S. 722 (1991)............. aldesaielbieaasimigicaieicieiah 3, 12
De Sollar v. Hanscome,

NE occ siaiuneyudcticeneognicpnanaiogeiancabacpeelanl 15
Donald v. State,

ee te BOT ii vise vnhscnssscnnecivecasesensansecsvensings 20
Duest v. Dugger, |

RE CIO vscnsiisiciseccvvisesevanenapesnentouenscecken 4, 19, 29
Dusenberry v. U.S.,

Nn a SN oi cass ovassanipocoahavancanaahdasenemasedeietene 11
E.F. Hutton v. Sussman,

504 So.2d 1372 (Fla. 3d DCA.1987) ............ccccosssvocesesees 16
Emich Motors Corp. v. General Motors Corp.,

eae MP CINE vtdiotnsisicacbnccadcansnceyicsanccncshenieaeapta neieeas 15

Exxon Co., U.S.A. v. Sofec, Inc.,
ee a a Oe PE A cith ensniisscunvnchventacsentsnoeniyauatiecbomniel 24

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

Exxon Corp. v. Eagerton,

asta wits as cus peeabanneanainepenes 18
F-C.C. v. Pacifica Foundation,

a a nits os iginyti dakgiunsnnantoapivaspacatede 232
Farina v. State,

re EE Ee WE TR, SIGE) «0 cus icecanvceve novesnensssevensnesasesvass 20
Fayerweather v. Ritch,

I cscs secs ssdoves a ccavecanacsvs 13,15
Federal Election Com’n v.

Wisconsin Right to Life, Inc.,

a eR Ce SOE Fisch casa chee binaeeks as sdveasnsesscnstaveeredis 30
Flores v. Allstate Ins. Co.,

ee ee FI CON. OD vsviiiins éavscnnnnsisseeavenseaconsenvectaceses 13
Fuller v. Oregon,

Rete MP OED vic hrs vbncpunisanarsennivinecsanyses veneviveveinpsiverints 18
Gasoline Prods. Co. v. Champlin Refining Co.,

Ee ES aay isis. j cadcbadedinsxtanvds vvalinsvuenvedgians 10
Gasperini v. Center for Humanities, Inc.,

I ois van laubauaacecaveucvcbawekubaaaakesbind 10
Goodman vu. Lukens Steel Co.,

ANE NIN sa sas vanes cdntoanskdesvaendvdss seems ebinne de 24
Grannis v. Ordean,

ee SEE FBR cos sscvabdcninbsighid ban elit isdaxepswashaeids abineeee 12
Hanover Shoe, Inc. v. United Shoe Machinery Corp.,

Rae NN UN sooo ca csicikss das std dakiiivanndcbavida yabsuvbanepiaase 15
Hansberry v. Lee,

ee NED oe ics cs sevegcs deddeneddeeieenesenuieaonsenves 13
J.T.A. Factors, Inc. v. Philcon Services, Inc.,

ee TH Ae ht LP 1M, Oe LCA BOE) ws cevcsevsnsconssensrsnnxesion 16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Johnson v. De Grandy,

RI a a nisi selina Uastabanspslinalonan nin 12
Jones v. State,

I BAF OU, OD wa nneisetcnis sss giasessesscnesnesnsaioven 19
Lawrence v. Chater,

Be ne I I asc cicceeecsibanscbardopegieancsuinanatiiinn skaog a
Marrese v. AmeMcan Academy of Orthopaedic

Surgeons,

Re ae a venticasin hats civpcgcernnbeniinnaetainesieadenean 12
Matsushita Electrical Industrial Co., Ltd. v. Epstein,

Pe eater Me CRD oscidieiseicestsien dict sasccainerakisadeabnisseicinn 12
Mathews v. Eldridge,

Ne ee ON ich cs sevvinnska ciscenebncissdeyaisionieunsiiasivnathiinn bai 12
McKee v. State,

450 So.2d 563 (Fla. 3d DCA 1984)... eesseesereeeees 14
Mullane v. Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co.,
SD IEDs NO AAD) wnsepnsivacsesvensonsivaisnavesnsonsseescsenensunesecses 11
N.L.R.B. v. Hendricks County Rural Elec.

Membership Corp.,

A acs sak casacnsyacnaberesanavuonioenntoanincharas 24
Nike, Inc. v. Kasky,

ie i cis sin sinidcconicdvnsoniiannvbeaiiebiinee 1, 2, 11
R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co. v. Engle, |

672 So.2d 39 (Fla. 3d DCA 1996)...........ceceeesesesees 4, 7,16
Randolph v. State,

BBS FIG. e BOG1 CPIM. BOGS) visi ncncsccvvsscisecssssssccvvssecesosecons 20
Richards v. Jefferson County,

a IE ea th caies in us ae nse caideadcisenconannncotcenitinel 13

Vu

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Russell v. Place,

OG EYE MI (EBT) vic iicccinsskccinissnieadcncignietecseamiansadaee 15
S & S Toyota Inc. v. Kirby,

649 So.2d 916 (Pia. Sti DCA 1905) ..n.oiiciccvcedsccccasssoncesaue 16
Sag Harbour Marine, Inc. v. Fickett,

484 So.2d 1250 (Fla. 1st DCA 1986) .......:....0...0s00000s 19, 29
Salcedo v. Asociacion Cubana, Inc.,

SOS SO.20 TOAST CER Sek TIA FEED a vscccaseccansnisvacanmeaveans 14
Sealfon v. U.S.,

Rae A a eae A RD dein sap nbecaninican thank esacameeaaoeee 15
South Central Bell Telephone Co. v. Alabama,

SB ES, FS Co aciascGcnn cotisendazeatiandoe eee 13
Standard Jury-Civil Cases (No. 98.1),

FET COE Cr i Firion ins ccdetessicenanca casas 13
U.S. v. Johnston,

FI Fre. ht LO) vvvviiccoscncevgassndeuck renevuateuceeb eerie: 24
U.S. v. Lovasco,

BS Re Ce NECA) ivcachcvtacssesixecnsi octave eee 11
U.S. vu. Marion,

BIFE AS A FAT Pivntectivetnnviocinninnierenneaeaee 10
U.S. v. Ogando,

BGS Fee POS (ee Ce A) eosvcsriisctddccsteGiacneee 16
U.S. v. Valenzuela-Bernal,

REE CPs. I CA) assessed see 11-
Whitman v. Castlewood Intl Corp.,

seus Se. Se GES (Ee, BO is oasis aceon 16

sve v. Escondido,
SO te ee Po ee ee 18

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Youngblood v. West Virginia,

assis usnsesnvannvnapsuhanosasconyedosvenennies 30
STATUTES
NN cao cocacacscnesensecosucssusvecosonsenectason 3, 19
elec issicssaicissansipncanassncavonassensvanes 12,18
ha saisvdvinsnsducéovsiounennvasesvenssoosesoe 19
ino sa becsadanasnnspiendssonscanssorveavsinivens 7
MISCELLANEOUS
i .ssspnovecansovsecsnovacoonsoetens 10...
ROBERT L. STERN ET AL., SUPREME COURT PRACTICE

sick ba psitveahsdoniosoxssesreonesvapensyevevsensenassn 28

INTRODUCTION

Petitioners, the domestic tobacco industry, arrive from the
Florida Supreme Court after successfully challenging the
class-wide punitive damages judgment and the compensatory
damages judgment of class representative Frank Amodeo.
Now petitioners ask this Court to completely erase all traces
of the thirteen-year Florida class action that considered the
conduct of petitioners and adjudicated the compensatory
damages claims of class representatives Mary Farnan and
Ralph Della Vecchia, as Personal Representative of the Estate
of Angie Della Vecchia. The petition urges this Court to
abandon deeply rooted precedent by entertaining petitioners’
future hypothetical due process claims now and by imposing
an absoluie preemption bar that would grant immunity to
tobacco companies for their misconduct.’

The questions raised in the petition are not certwor-
thy for multiple reasons. Petitioners ask the Court to
intervene in future lawsuits to prohibit trial courts from
using certain Phase I findings for the benefit of class
members, impermissibly seeking an advisory opinion.
Petitioners’ due process concerns are premature and not
ripe for review. Nike, Inc. v. Kasky, 539 U.S. 634, 658
(2003). Significantly, petitioners do not challenge the
Florida Supreme Court’s decision to give preclusive effect
to the Phase I findings with respect to addiction and the
generic causation of 23 diseases. Pet. at 7-8, n.3. Rather,
they only challenge Phase I findings of ultimate fact as to
theories of liability. Although the Florida Supreme Court
has spoken on the preclusion issue at the urging of peti-
tioners, no court has yet to apply the findings. This Court
should not prejudge whether certain class-wide findings
are to be given preclusive effect in future actions, none of
which have been tried, and most not even filed. because it

‘ By seeking to vacate the two class representatives’ judgments
based on federal preemption, judgments supported in part by specific
jury findings of negligence before July 1. 1969 ‘App. 200a-204a,
T.50355-56), petitioners effectively demand absolute :mmunity from
hability for their wrongdoing.

2

would require the “premature adjudication of novel consti-
tutional questions.” Nike, Inc., 539 U.S. at 658.”

The only final judgment here is one in favor of two class
representatives who recovered compensatory damages in a
trial court judgment entered in November, 2000.° This court
reviews judgments, not statements in opinions. California v.
Rooney, 483 U.S. 307, 311 (1987). Where statements or
discussions in an opinion raise constitutional questions,
“[t]hat admonition has special force ... for it is our settled
practice to avoid the unnecessary decision of such issues.”
FC.C. v. Pacifica Foundation, 438 U.S. 726, 734-35 (1978).
Petitioners concede that no due process issues are presented
by the two compensatory damages awards: “The preclusion
ruling, which is the subject of the due process challenge, has
no effect on those two individuals.” Pet. at 1-2. Petitioners’
due process assertions relate only to the preclusionary effect
of certain Phase I findings in future litigation brought by
potential class members. “[F]Jederal courts have never been
empowered to issue advisory opinions.” Pacifica Foundation,
438 U.S. at 735. As discussed infra the due process issue has
not been adequately preserved.

* Petitioners essentially argue that there may be a due process
violation if a class member files a lawsuit raising the same claims as in
Engle, and if the class member relies in part on certain class-wide
findings, and if the trial judge gives preclusionary effect to one or more
of the findings, and if the class member prevails on the remaining
issues, including causation, affirmative defenses and damages, and if
the Engle findings played a decisive role in obtaining the verdict, and if
judgment is entered in favor of the class member. “There are ... too
many ‘ifs’ in that proposition to make our review appropriate at this
stage.” California v. Rooney, 483 U.S. 307, 312-13 (1987). }

* Petitioners suggest the “possibility” that Farnan and Della
Vecchia, the two class representatives, “may elect to seek punitive
damages on remand.” Pet. at 1. Class representatives Farnan and Della
Vecchia will} not be seeking punitive damages. They are in failing health
and waive any claims for punitive damages. They only seek to recover
their full compensatory damage verdicts with interest pursuant to the
November, 2009 final judgment that was reinstated by the Florida
Supreme Court.

The decision of the Florida Supreme Court which
provided petitioners full relief from the $145 billion class-
wide punitive damages verdict and several class-wide
findings, came after thirteen years of litigation, multiple
appeals and a two-year jury trial with 157 witnesses,
hardly a prototype for a denial of due process of law.

Petitioners assert that “the verdicts, both class-wide and
in favor of |[Farnan and Della Vecchia] ... were barred by
federal preemption” (Pet. at 1), despite specific jury findings
of negligence occurring prior to July 1, 1969 (App. 200a-204a;
T.50385-86), the effective date of the preemption clause of the
Public Health Cigarette Smoking Act of 1969, 15 U.S.C.
§1334(b) [*1969 Act”]. The preemption issue is not ripe for
review as to class members whose cases have not yet been
adjudicated or even filed. As to Farnan and Della Vecchia,
who started smoking and became addicted years before July
1, 1969, preemption does not apply, at a minimum, to the
pre-1969 jury findings and claims that are not barred as a
matter of law. Thus, nothing the Court can decide on the
preemption question can affect the judgments of Farnan and
Della Vecchia, rendering the matter clearly uncertworthy.
Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722, 730 (1991).

Certiorari is also inappropriate where a consideration
of petitioners’ evidentiary-based objections would require a
fact-intensive review of the 60,000 page evidentiary record.
As for petitioners’ objection to the jury instruction on pre-
emption in Phase I, that instruction (as well as the preemp-
tion instruction given in Phase II]-A), was a proper recitation
of the law. In contrast, petitioners’ proposed instruction was
a misstatement of preemption law. Nor have the objections
been properly preserved and presented. See Adams v.
Robertson, 520 U.S. 83, 86 (1997). Petitioners complain that
the Florida Supreme Court did not address preemption | Pet.
at 29), an issue petitioners relegated to a passing sentence in
their fifty-page brief on the merits in the state supreme
court: a sentence that did not even cite Cipollune,’ the

* Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc.. 505 U.S 504 11992).

4

principal case on which petitioners now rely. The issue was
not preserved for review. Adams, 520 U.S. at 86; Duest uv.
Dugger, 555 So.2d 849, 851-52 (1990).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners’ Statement contains numerous factual
errors, omits essential facts, and distorts the history of
this complex state class action litigation and key aspects of
the decision of the Florida Supreme Court.

I. BRIEF PROCEDURAL HISTORY

The Engle class action was filed in May, 1994 and was
certified as a nationwide class of sick smokers and their
survivors. The Florida district court of appeal affirmed
class certification in 1996 but limited the class to Floridi-
ans. “Although certain individual issues will have to be
tried as to each class member, principally the issue of
damages, the basic issues of liability common to all mem-
bers of the class will clearly predominate over the individ-
ual issues.” R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co. v. Engle, 672 So.2d
39, 41 (Fla. 3d DCA 1996). Notice was disseminated by
publication throughout Florida in 1997, informing Floridi-
ans of the litigation and the common issues trial, and
providing class members with the ability to opt-out to
avoid being bound by the common findings.

The class action came to trial in July, 1998 pursuant to a
trifurcated trial plan providing for “common issues of liabil-
ity and causation” to be tried in Phase I on behalf of the
class, followed by Phase IJ-A, the class representatives’
compensatory damages trial and Phase II-B, the class-wide
punitive damages trial. Class members would then proceed
(in Phase III) before different juries to determine remaining
issues and compensatory damages. R.31276-80. Petitioners
defended the common issues’ trial, calling 25 witnesses and
cross examining 61 witnesses called by the class during
Phase I. T.11135-34678. The twelve-page special interroga-
tory verdict form included questions regarding the generic
causation of 23 diseases associated with cigarette smoking, a
question on addiction, and a series of questions as to ultimate

o

factual issues presented under each theory of liability,
including differing time frames. The verdict form had over
240 questions, including subparts. App. 192a-206a. The jury,
which heard Phase I evidence for close to a full year, deliber-
ated for seven days and answered all the questions.’

During the Phase II-A trial, the same jury considered
claims of three class representatives, Mary Farnan, Frank
Amodeo and Angie Della Vecchia.’ The Phase IJI-A eighteen-
page single-spaced verdict form had 276 questions, including
sub-parts. The jury found in favor of the class representa-
tives on most issues, tempered by comparative fault. Farnan
was awarded $2,850,000, and the statutory beneficiaries of
Della Vecchia, a total of $4,023,000. T:50373-91. The trial
court’s Final Judgment and Omnibus Order of November,
2000 found that the jury’s verdicts were based on “an enor-
mous amount of evidence” and that “after sitting for two
years in trial, it is inconceivable that this jury ignored or
misconceived the evidence or the merits of the case.” App.
182a.

* Petitioners, citing various transcript pages, mischaracterize the
Phase 1 Engle trial as “sprawling proceedings,” where “respondents
purported to substantiate their neghgence and product defect claims by
referring to scores of different agarette types and brands marketed at
different times by different manufacturers.” Pet. at 15. But that evidence,
which was from peutioners’ agents and representatives, constituted largely
irrelevant testimony introduced by petuuoners to confound and obfuscate
» the issues. The hugatuion was focused on the petitioners’ methods of
addicting class members to cigarettes and keeping them addicted.

* Pettioners asserted that Farnan’s lung cancer was of a type ‘brun-
chivlalveolur caranoma) that had been fuund by the jury in Phase 1 not to be
caused from smoking, 7.385 12-27. According to petitioners. Della Vecchia’s lung
cancer that metastasized to her brain and caused her death, was actually scar
ussue unrelated to cigurette smoking. T.42730-37. Similarly. they argued that
Amodevs furvngeal cancer. that was diagnosed in 1987 and caused him to be
unable to eat or drink ansthing by mouth since that ume and wo receive all
nuunshment through a feeding tube, was caused by “wood dust.” T.38865-68.
The jury rejected those defenses. However the jury found that Frank Amodeo
knew or should have known that his throat cancer was caused from smoking
and that he was addicted to smoking pnor to May, 1990, precluding him from
recovery under Flonda’s statute of imitauons. The jury findings as to Amodeo
were upheld by the district court and the Flonda Supreme Court.

6

The Florida district court of appeal reversed the class
certification that it previously upheld, barred all punitive
damages claims, vacated the compensatory damage judg-
ments of the three class representatives, and reversed on
additional alternative grounds. App. 68a-126a. The Florida
Supreme Court quashed the district court’s misapplication of
res judicata with respect to its erroneous extinguishment
of punitive damages claims, reinstated class certification for
Phases I and II-A, ordered that the class be prospectively
decertified on remand for remaining class members’ issues,
reinstated two of the three compensatory damages awards
(against all petitioners except Liggett and Brooke (App. 43a)),
but vacated the class-wide punitive damages award.’ The
Florida Supreme Court wrote: “[A] review of the verdicts
reveals that each verdict reflected a careful and differentiated
analysis as to comparative fault and individual damages and
in no way justifies the Third District’s overall conclusion that
this was a runaway jury.” App. 39a. At the request of petition-
ers, the court also considered the future effect of the class-wide
Phase I liability findings, determining that certain findings
would not be given preclusive effect in class members’ future
actions, i.e., (i) fraud and misrepresentation, (ii) conspiracy to
commit fraud, (iii) intentional infliction of emotional distress
and (iv) entitlement to punitive damages.°

’ The decision analyzed the extended procedural history of Engle,
(noting that the district court in Engle IJ had misapplied Florida’s doctrine
of law of the case), explained the absence of choice of law issues where only
Florida law applies, and discussed the reasons why the court reinstated
class certification. App. 23a-33a. It is disingenuous for petitioners to
suggest that the Florida Supreme Court “concluded, with no analysis, that
the trial court did not abuse its discretien in certifying the class.” Pet. at 9-
10. It is also misleading for petitioners to state that the Florida Supreme
Court “recognized that class action treatment was inappropriate and
ordered the class decertified.” Pet. at 1-2. Rather, the court found that class
treatment was proper for completed Phases I and I-A but inappropriate for
future proceedings involving only individual issues.

* Petitioners (other than Liggett and Brooke) have never chal-
lenged the sufficiency of the evidence to support the Phase I or Phase
II-A findings in any appellate forum below; nor do they do so here.

il. THE PETITION OMITTED ESSENTIAL FACTS
BEARING DIRECTLY ON THE QUESTIONS
PRESENTED

Pursuant to U.S. Sup. Ct. Rule 15, the following
additional facts, the significance of which is explained
more fully infra, constitute further reasons for denying the
petition.

Due Process: Petitioners’ due process argument is
predicated on their objections to the Phase I special
interrogatory verdict form that they describe as too “gen-
eralized.” Pet. at 1. But a special iiterrogatory verdict
form was used, not a general verdict. It is also inaccurate
for petitioners to suggest that the trial court “adopted
respondents’ generalized [verdict] form.” Pet. at 7. As
discussed infra, petitioners had substantial input in
developing the verdict form that was used.

Contrary to their position here, petitioners had previously
proposed far more general questions for the Phase | verdict
form than the questions of ultimate fact contained in the
verdict form that was used. R.33722-33811. Although R.2J/.
Reynolds Tobacco Company represented to the trial court that
it was “incumbent upon all of us” to provide additional “enu-
merated” statements for a more detailed verdict form
(7.35954), petitioners never did so. Despite being repeatedly
requested to do so by the trial court, petitioners failed to
submit a feasible alternative verdict form. R.49258-72; 49296-
49322; T.35967-68. Petitioners also objected to a senes of
additional questions proposed by the class which were based
on allegations in the amended complaint. R.49258-72;
T.35967. Petitioners Brown & Williamson Tobacco and Ameri-
can Tobacco announced their preference for the verdict form
that was used as a “middle ground,” although they now
challenge it in their due process argument. 1.35969.

The petition portrays the preclusion ruling as an ex-
traordinary event, but when petitioners thought they would
prevail on the merits in Phase I, they repeatedly acknowl-
edged the preclusionary effect of the findings, proclaiming:
“lI|f the defendants win, we want as many people as possible

8

bound” (R.10708-10809 at 96) and if the jury answers “no...
then not a single Florida smoker can recover.” T.36007."

Preemption: In their brief on the merits before the
Supreme Court of Florida, petitioners included one sentence on
preemption, without a reference to Cipollone, not preserving
that issue for review. Here, petitioners’ preemption arguments
challenge all claims, but petitioners argued otherwise in the
trial court. There, petitioners sought only partial summary
judgment on preemption issues, asserting that limited portions
of certain claims were subject to federal preemption under
Cipollone and the 1969 Act. R.12960-63; 12974-13066. Their
pretrial motion was granted in part and allegations were
stricken from various counts, including the fraud and conspir-
acy claims, refuting petitioners’ argument here that “the
incantation of these words [fraud, conspiracy, etc.] sufficed to
defeat petitioners’ preemption defense.” Pet. at 24. Moreover,
until now, petitioners acknowledged that not all Engle claims
were preempted: “[T]here is no contention that ... [the 1969
Act] preempts express warranty or affirmative fraud, misrepre-
sentation, or conspiracy for affirmative fraud, misrepresenta-
tion” (T.48171, 48290); “Defendants have not tried to argue that
all of plaintiffs’ claims are preempted.” R.15243-51. Petitioners’
pre-trial motion for partial summary judgment did not seek to
preempt any allegations as to why smokers start to smoke,
including allegations of youth marketing, nor did they seek to

* Although they now attack the Phase I findings through their due
process argument, petitioners told the jury during Phase IJ-A that “Your
verdict is in. We accept it. It’s over with. It’s there forevermore” (T.38829) and
will “resonate forever” to enable “other class members, however many
thousands or hundreds of thousands it may be .. . [to] recover,” and “ensure
that all class members have a day in court.” T.38878, 38896-97. The petition
asserts that the “jury's findings provide no clue” as to petitioners’ misconduct
(Pet. at 16), but during the punitive damages phase their theme was each
defendant “has gotten the message,” (T.51366); we know what we did wrong
and we have changed and should not be punished. T.51072-73; 51085, 51253-
54; 51366; 57201; 57407; 57483; 57514; 57596. Dan Webb, lead counsel for
Philip Morris, argued that Philip Morris’ CEO ‘ss going to tell you he
understands your verdict very very well. He is not going to tell you he does
not know what your verdict means. He is not going to tell you that at all.”
T.51085.

9

preempt in whole or part the claims of breach of implied
warranty and express warranties. R.12974-13066.

Petitioners fail to disclose that the two compensatory
damages judgments are also supported by specific jury
findings in Phases I and II-A of negligence that occurred
before July 1, 1969 (App. 200a-204a; T.50385-86), findings
that are not subject to federal preemption. In support of
their evidence-based preemption argument, petitioners now
challenge evidence that was admitted in response to their
defenses of consumer expectations and awareness of the
risks of smoking. Although petitioners argue here that
such evidence is “functionally equivalent” to claims pre-
empted in Cipollone (Pet. at 20-24), they announced at the
beginning of the trial that “this case [is] about what people
knew about the health risks of smoking when they made
the choice to smoke,” (T.10950), and “Why [do] young
people smoke?” T.10956. “{T]he issues in this case [are]
whether smokers can quit [and] why smokers start smok-
ing.” 7.37410.

Although petitioners object to the Phase I jury instruc-
tions on preemption, which represented a combination of the
litigants’ submissions, class counsel twice offered to modify
the instruction: “I have volunteered to take out the language
they had a problem with,” (T.36285, 36152-53), but petition-
ers declined: “I don’t think a shortened instruction ... is an
appropriate way to go.” 1.36153. So the trial court gave the
longer combined instruction on preemption. T.37569-70. The
petition also ignores the more expansive Phase IJ-A preemp-
tion instruction given during the Farnan and Della Vecchia
trials that included the “neutralization” language petitioners
now mistakenly assert was lacking, wniting incorrectly:
“(T]he court gave an instruction that said nothing about
neutralization.” Pet. at 24, n.10 and 8-9.

10

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. THE COURT SHOULD NOT ADDRESS PETI-
TIONERS’ HYPOTHETICAL DUE PROCESS
CLAIMS

Petitioners concede that “[t]he preclusion ruling,
which is the subject of the due process challenge, has no
effect” on class representatives’ Farnan and Della Vecchia
who have a final judgment." Thus, the posited due process
issues apply only to purported class members in future cases
that have not yet been tried (or not filed). No absent class
member has a judgment that depends on the preclusion
ruling that petitioners challenge here. No court has yet to
even apply the findings. Moreover, petitioners concede that
preclusion is proper with respect to the general causation
and addiction findings. Thus, the question posed is not
whether the Phase I findings can or should be given preclu-
sive effect, but rather, whether giving preclusive effect to
certain findings may, in the future, implicate due process.

A. The Due Process Claim Is Not Ripe for Review

Petitioners’ claim of future due process violations. is
illusory and speculative. It is not tied to any class member
with a judgment, or even a determination of liability. App.
18a. Petitioners fail to demonstrate “actual prejudice”
because their “due process claims are speculative and
premature.” U.S. v. Marion, 404 U.S. 307, 325-26 (1971).
When considering a claim of a due process violation, “[t]he

‘° Where petitioners do not challenge the use of the Phase I findings in
the Phase I-A trials of Farnan and Della Vecchia before the same jury, it is
apparent that petitioners’ “extreme application of the doctrine of res judicata”
argument is a disguised Seventh Amendment re-examination argument,
which also explains petitioners’ reliance on Gasoline Prods. Co. v. Champlin
Refining Co., 283 U.S. 494 (1931), a re-examination decision. Pet. at 17. The
Florida Supreme Court found there was no violation of Article I, §22 of the
Florida Constitution, noting that the Seventh Amendment does not apply to
actions brought in state court. App. 3la-32a. See Gasperini v. Center for
Humanities, Inc., 518 U.S. 415, 432 (1996) (“The Seventh Amendment ...
governs proceedings in federal court, but not in state court.”).

11

criterion is not the possibility of conceivable injury.” Dusen.
berry v. U.S., 534 U.S. 161, 170-71 (2002), citing Mullane v.
Central Hanover Bank & Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, 318
(1950). In accord, U.S. v. Lovasco, 431 U.S. 783, 790 (1977)
(“Proof of prejudice is generally a necessary but not suffi-
cient element of a due process claim”); U.S. v. Valenzuela-
Bernal, 458 U.S. 858, 868-69 (1982) (same). If a lower
court ever upholds a specific verdict in favor of a plain-
tiffclass member, in which the preclusive effect of a
finding approved by the Florida Supreme Court is decisive,
petitioners may choose to seek review with respect to the
new judgment where all the facts are known.”

A writ of certiorari was dismissed as improvidently
granted in Nike, Inc., 539 U.S. at 667, 663, “[alfter receiving 34
briefs on the merits (including 31 amicus briefs) and hearing
oral argument.” “[T]his Court will not anticipate a question of
constitutional] law in advance of the necessity of deciding it... .
The novelty and importance of the constitutional questions
presented in this case provide good reason for adhering to that
rule.” Jd. That reasoning applies here since a review of the due
process and preemption issues that have been raised as to class
members requires “the study of a full factual record.” Nike, 339
U.S. at 664-65 (Stevens, J., concurring). The due process claims
(as well as the preemption claims as to putative class members)
are plainly premature and the Court should deny review for
that reason alone. See also California v. Rooney, 483 U.S. 307,
311-14 (1987) (refusing review where “too many ‘ifs” were
present and later review available if the “ifs” became reality).

* It is disingenuous fur petitioners tu suggest that “defendants
defenses would be reduced to a charade” were this Court to deny
ceruorart. Pet. at 4. Class members must still establish liability in
individual cases. Since the state supreme court decision, there have
been fewer than 100 cases filed. including the cases referenced in the
petition +Pet. at 18-19 and n.8), where petitioners have ruised 24
affirmative defenses, including federal preemption, and have also
challenged the preclusive effect of certain Engle Phase I findings.

12

Not everything contained within an opinion of the
state’s highest court is subject to review by certiorari.”
This Court reviews judgments, not statements in opinions.
Johnson v. De Grandy, 512 U.S. 997, 1003, n.5 (1994); FC.C.
v. Pacifica Foundation, 438 U.S. 726, 734-35 (1978) (the
admonition that the Court reviews judgments, not statements
in opinions, “has special force when the statements raise
constitutional questions, for it is our settled practice to avoid
the unnecessary decision of such issues.... Federal courts
have never been empowered to issue advisory opinions.”).

There is no extant judgment in favor of class members
or unnamed plaintiffs in future lawsuits. “When this Court
reviews the state court’s decision on direct review pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. §1257, it is reviewing the judgment; if resolution
of a federal question cannot affect the judgment, there is
nothing for the Court to do.” Coleman, 501 U.S. at 730. The
only individuals with judgments are respondents Farnan and
Della Vecchia. The petitioners concede that nothing this
Court could do vis a vis petitioners’ due process claim can
affect those judgments.

B. There Has Been No Possible Deprivation Of
Petitioners’ Due Process Rights

“The fundamental requisite of due process of law is the
opportunity to be heard.” Grannis v. Ordean, 234 U.S. 385,
394 (1914). See also Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 333
_ (1976). The cases relied upon by petitioners for their “extreme

* The Court noted in Matsushita Electrical Industrial Co., Ltd. v.
Epstein, 516 U.S. 367, 375 (1996) that “usually, a state court will not have
occasion to address the specific question [of] whether a state judgment has
issue or claim preclusive effect in a later action ... ”, ating Marvese v.
American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons, 470 U.S. 373, 381-82 (1985).
Although the district court opinion did not address the verdict forms or the
Phase I findings, petitioners challenged the verdict forms and findings in the
state supreme court, asking that court to hold that the “generalized verdict
... cannot be used to determine anyone's claims in Phase III (or in any
individual suit).” Brief on Merits at 21, 27-28. The court’s consideration of the
preclusive effect of the findings, at petitioners’ urging, does not change the
rule that this Court will not review premature and hypothetical issues.

13

application of the doctrine of res judicata” argument, raise due
process concerns when a litigant, who was no¢ a party to an
earlier proceeding, is nonetheless bound by the judgment. See
Richards v. Jefferson County, 517 U.S. 793, 797 (1996) Gudg-
ment in prior action is not binding on individuals who “neither
participated in, nor had the opportunity to participate in,”
prior case); South Central Bell Telephone Co. v. Alabama, 526
U.S. 160, 168 (1999) (plaintiffs in second case were strangers
to earlier litigation and judgment); Hansberry v. Lee, 311 U.S.
32, 40-46 (1940) (absent parties who had no notice or opportu-
nity to participate in prior litigation not bound where class
representatives had actual conflict with absent class members’
interests). Here, petitioners have fully defended through trial
and appeal and cannot claim any violation of the nght to be
heard.”

C. Due Process Issues Have Not Been Ade-
quately Preserved

Under federal and Florida law, petitioners have not
adequately raised and preserved their due process argu-
ments that are predicated on their objections to the Phase
I special interrogatory verdict form.

The verdict form used was not a general verdict but rather
a special interrogatory verdict form pursuant to Florida law,
with multiple questions broken down by defendants under
different time frames, as requested by petitioners.'* The verdict
form that was used included changes requested by petitioners,

'* None of the cases rclied upon by peutioners lend support to their
due process argument. For example. in Faverweather v. Ritch, 195 US.
276. 307 ©1904), the Court held that an earlier judgment was properly
given res yudicata effect although there were no furmal or special findings
of fact. Thus. a true general verdict, without the Engle verdict form's
breakdown of legal issues und ulumute issues of fact, was nevertheless
given res yudicata effect through “an examinauon of the record.” /d. ut 307.

See Flores v. Allstate Ins. Co, 819 So.2d 740, 743 (Fla. 2002),
Standard Jury-Civtl Cases (No. 98.1), 711 So.2d 1 (Fla. 1998). It was
not a “generalized” verdict with “vague jury findings,” contrary to
petitioners’ mischaracterization. Pet. at 1, 3.

14

i.e., the inclusion of subcategories of diseases under the generic
causation question, deletion of references to causation in the
other questions, modification of the Florida standard jury
instruction for negligence, insertion of language in the express
warranty count and the adoptior of petitioners’ question on
entitlement to punitive damages. The verdict form represented
a compromise of the litigants’ positions. Petitioners now chal-
lenge questions they urged the trial court to adopt. For exam-
ple, in discussing the finding of negligence, petitioners now
state: “This finding is a cipher” (Pet. at 16), but petitioners
argued below that the same question was very meaningful
because “an adverse finding is very harmful to the defense...
where the question is exactly ho the trial plan says we're
supposed to be trying [and] . ’s not a happy event if that’s
decided against us. PPaoIe.d.

Petitioners have also been inconsistent with respect to the
common issues to be tried during the Phase I trial, taking
multiple varying positions, contrary to Florida law. See McKee
v. State, 450 So.2d 563, 564 (Fla. 3d DCA 1984); Salcedo v.
Asethacion Cubana, Inc., 368 So.2d 1337, 1338-40 (Fla. 3d DCA
1979). Petitioners first proposed the “more manageable issue”:
“Was it common knowledge among the class ... that smoking
carried significant health risks and that some people find
smoking difficult to stop?” R.2C712.” Then petitioners proposed
addressing only addiction issues: “[W]hat we ought to do is try
the issue of whether or not all the members of this class are
unable to quit smoking because they are addicted to nico-
tine. ... Because if the defendants win on those issues, we can
all go home.” R.13653-54. Petitioners subsequently submitted a
proposed verdict form with six general questions, including:
“Was the ‘Special Projects’ division of the Council for Tobacco
Research established for the purpose of concealing medical

* Petitioners argued below that the “common knowledge” issue was
“dispositive of the product defect claim .. . because if the product is not more
dangerous than expected by the ordinary consumer, it is not defective.” Jd.

15

rescarch under the misuse of the attorney-client privilege?
Yes __ No__” R.33772-33811."

In their reply brief before the district court, petitioners
acknowledged that “[a] generalized verdict form may be appro-
priate even in a bifurcated class action with separate juries, if the
pleadings and proof provide sufficient particularity to establish
precisely what the jury found to be unlawful.” Reply Brief at 32.
Petitioners now say the opposite: “The highly generalized and
decidedly ambiguous nature of these findings prevents any other
jury from applying them consistent with due process.” Pet. at
16."" Petitioners ultimately proposed a “blank-line” verdict
form with narrative questions where the jury would be
required to provide extensive identifying information about
specific scientific studies, including dates, times and locations,
as well as other evidentiary data; an overwhelming task for a
jury following a one-year trial with thousands of pages of
exhibits and testimony from 86 witnesses in Phase | alone.”

“ Petitioners’ proposed question addressed the conceulment of
medical research and is also inconsistent with petitioners’ argument
here that all concealment claims are preempted under Cipollone (Pet.
at 21-22), a position refuted by Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 530 and n.28.

“ But even if this were a general verdict form, which it is not. the
Court recognized in Emich Motors Corp. v. General Motors Corp., 340
‘U.S. 558. 569-72 11951) that a general verdict may be given preclusive
effect with “an examination of the record, including the pleadings, the
evidence submitted, the instructions under which the jury arrived at its
verdict. and any opinions of the court,” relying on Sealfon v. U.S., 332
U.S. 575. 578 +1948). In accord, Hanover Shoe, Inc. v. United Shoe
Machinery Corp.. 392 U.S. 481, 454-55 (1968) (general verdict in action
brought by U.S. under anti-trust luws was given preclusive effect in
subsequent private action for treble damages, relying on Emuch). Cases
cited by petitioners also hold that extrinsic evidence may be properly
considered when giving preciusive effect to a “general” verdict. See De
Sollar v. Hanscome, 158 U.S. 216. 221 41895), citing Ruesell v. Place, 94
U.S. 606, 608 (1876). See also Faxerweather, 195 U.S. at 307 ‘res
judicata effect after an “examination of the record”). Subsequent courts
may properly examine the record here, if further detail! is warranted.

“ The Second Circuit rejected a “blank-line” interrogatory verdict
form where there had been over 150 exhibits and 25 witnesses because
completing the verdict form would “require the jury to perform super

(Continued on following page)

16

In June, 1998, prior to the commencement of trial, the trial
judge advised petitioners that their proposed open-ended
verdict form was unacceptable.” Defense counsel tenta-
tively agreed to revise the verdict form so that the jury can
“choose” rather than fill-in-the-blanks (R.36273-76), but
defendants never did so.”

Petitioners also objected to a series of interrogatory
questions taken from allegations in the amended com-
plaint, to be answered “yes” or “no.” R.48404-17; T.35950-
51; T.35967-68. Petitioners declined the trial court’s
repeated invitation to revise the verdict form, saying that
it was not “defendants’ job” to prepare and submit an
acceptable form. T.36298-99.” The trial court responded:
“We are just going around in circles.” T.35971. In exercis-
ing his broad discretion, he utilized a special interrogatory
verdict form that was a combination of the litigants’

human acts of memory,” and “demand of the jury a recall] of Homeric
proportions.” U.S. v. Ogando, 968 F.2d 146, 148-49 (2d Cir. 1992).

The trial court stated that “You can go ad infinitum before you
get an answer to... Tdentify the scientific studies concealed by the
defendants and when such studies were concealed.’” R.36226-92 at 44-
45. “[Lleaving a question like that open-ended to a jury could have
results you can’t even think about.... [RJather than leave an open-
ended question, you can make a list of those studies which were either
proven or at least brought up. . . {aJnd pick off which one.” R.36318-19.

* Counsel for RJ. Reynolds Tobacco similarly said to the trial court

‘that it was “incumbent upon all of us” to make certain changes to the

verdict form for Phase I, including “enumerated” misstatements that the
jury would consider (T.35954). Petitioners never acted on that incumbency.

*" Petitioners were wrong. Florida law requires that a litigant who
objects to a verdict form present a reasonable alternative to preserve his
objection. See J.T:A. Factors, Inc. v. Philcon Services, Inc., 820 So.2d 367,
371-72 (Fla. 3d DCA 2002) (it was within the discretion of the trial court to
reject “J.7:A.’s more complex interrogatory verdict form”), S & S Toyota Inc.
uv. Kirby, 649 So.2d 916, 918 (Fla. 5th DCA 1995) (burden is on litigant that
requests a particular type of special verdict form to propose and offer a
form with the requisite findings); Whitman v. Castlewood Intl Corp., 383
So.2d 618, 619-20 (Fla. 1980) (same); E.F’ Hutton v. Sussman, 504 So.2d .
1372, 1373 (Fla. 3d DCA 1987) (“it was Hutton’s burden to offer special
verdict forms, which would have required the finding Hutton now com-
plains was lacking, and since it failed to do so, we find no error’).

17

proposals. R.48564-78; 35903-0535; 35987; 35994-36008;
35900-01; 35942; R.49075-49123. Brown & Williamson
Tobacco and American Tobacco preferred the special
interrogatory verdict form ultimately used, rather than
the more specific interrogatory questions prepared by the
Class, referring to the former as a preferable “middle
ground.” 1.35969. There was no error, and certainly no
preservation of arguable error of constitutional dimension.
Finally, the litigants always recognized that the Phase
I class-wide common issues verdict was intended to be
given preclusive effect in subsequent Phase III individual
trials pursuant to Engle J and the trial plan. Petitioners
told the jury in Phase JJ-A that every class member would
have a day in court because their Phase I findings were
“forevermore” and would “resonate forever.” T.38829-
38878, 38896-97. And up until the time the jury returned
its Phase I verdict, petitioners repeatedly acknowledged
and requested that all Floridians be bound by the Phase I
verdict and by the questions answered “No.” Defense
counsel argued during Phase | that if the jury answered
“No” to a particular question “then not a single Florida
smoker can recover.” 1.36007. Petitioners’ heads I win,
tails you lose concept of due process is unacceptable.
Moreover, it cannot be the basis for certiorari review.

* A further example of petitioners’ one-sided view of the class
action was their urging an expansive notice program to ensure that all
absent class members would be bound by the Phase I verdict: “If the
defendants win, we want as many people as possible bound,” “We expect
to win the case. When we win the case, | want to be able to say, ‘You're
bound by it... ] want them bound’.” "[W]hen defendants prevail in this
case, the ubsent class members will be bound.” R.10804; 9509

oo

18

II. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED ON THE
PREEMPTION ISSUES BECAUSE THEY WERE
NOT ADEQUATELY PRESENTED IN THE
STATE SUPREME COURT; THEY REST ON
CLAIMS OF IMPROPER ADMISSION OF EVI-
DENCE WHICH ARE BOTH FACTUALLY AND
LEGALLY WITHOUT MERIT; AND THE ULTI-
MATE OUTCOME OF THE CASE WILL NOT BE
AFFECTED BECAUSE THE JUDGMENTS ARE
SUPPORTED BY SPECIFIC JURY FINDINGS
OF PRE-JULY 1, 1969 NEGLIGENCE. i

A. Petitioners Did Not Adequately Present
and Preserve Preemption Before The Flor-
ida Supreme Court

Petitioners seek review of their preemption issue, but
the preliminary question is whether preemption was ade-
quately preserved and presented to the state supreme court.
“(W]e have adhered to the rule in reviewing state court
judgments under 28 U.S.C. §1257 that we will not consider a
petitioner’s federal claim unless it was either addressed by,
or properly presented to, the state court that rendered the
decision we have been asked to review.” Adams v. Robertson,
520 U.S. 83, 86 (1997), citing Yee v. Escondido, 503 U.S. 519,
533 (1992). Where “the highest state court has failed to pass
upon a federal question, it will be assumed that the omission
was due for want of proper presentation.” Exxon Corp. v.
Eagerton, 462 U.S. 176, 181 n.3 (1983), citing Fuller v.
Oregon, 417 U.S. 40, 50 n.11 (1974). Although acknowledging
that the Florida Supreme Court did not address the issue of
preemption, other than with a “fleeting reference” (Pet. at 10,
n.4), petitioners say they properly addressed the issue in
their brief on the merits before the Florida Supreme Court
(Pet. at 11, n.6), and that the “failure to address the preemp-
tion issue does not render this case unworthy of review.” Pet.
at 29. Petitioners do not disclose that their “briefing” on

19

preemption consisted of a single sentence in a 50 page

brief.”

On page 49 of their brief on the merits, petitioners
limited their preemption argument to this sentence as
part of a paragraph and footnote that raised nine other
issues: “For example the trial court improperly allowed
plaintiffs to assert claims preempted by federal law.” That
does not preserve the point. See Beck v. Washington, 369
U.S. 541, 553 (1962) and Sag Harbour Marine, Inc. v.
Fickett, 484 So.2d 1250, 1256 (Fla. lst DCA 1986). Under
Florida law, an issue is not preserved for review by referencing
arguments made in other briefs or pleadings. Duest v. Dugger,
555 So.2d 849, 852 (Fla. 1990) (“Merely making reference to
arguments below without further elucidation does not suffice
to preserve issues, and these claims are deemed to have been
waived.”).” U.S. Sup. Ct. Rule 14/g\i) requires that petition-
ers seeking review in cases from state courts specify:

* Perhaps petitioners were reluctant to argue their federal preemp-

tion issue before the state supreme court because during the Phase I mal,
petitioners’ CEOs and witnesses testified that the federally mandated
warnings on cigarettes were not true (T.14222-23; 15301, 193822-23, 19901),
that science does not know the cause of lung cancer and cigarette smoking
has not been proven to be a hazard with respect to lung cancer (T.28216;
28138) that smoking is not addictive — it is as addictive as eating “gummy
bears” or “carrots,” and that anvone can quit smoking. 7.14223, 14765;
14750; 15790-92: 20797-98; 21407-08. Petitioners asserted dumng Phase |
that smoking does not cause disease and that the Surgeons General and
their Reports were wrong. T.14218-19; 15293-94; 20392-93, 20562.
* It is presumptuous for petitioners to sugyest that the Florida Supreme
Court “abdicated its responsibiiues by affirming judgments contrary to the
federal consutution and statutes without addressing those claims” ‘Pet. at 29),
when the preemption cdaum was not properly raised before that court. Moreover,
the Flonda Supreme Court did mention preemption in a sentence explaining,
consistent with Cipollone and the 1969 Act, that “[ajlthough compliance with the
federal warnings preempted anv claim bused on failure to warn, it did not
elinunate the other causes of achon that the jury had to consider in Phase 1.”
‘Emphasis supplied.) App. 38a. That Ctpollone and the 1969 Act do not
preempt all claums is clearly a correct statement of the law.

* The Florida Supreme Court has repeatedly held that issues are
waived and not properly preserved if presented as a “conclusory
urgument.” See Jones v. State, 928 So.2d 1175, 1182 (Fla. 2006) ‘other
(Continued on following page)

20

The stage of the proceedings, both in the court of
first instance and in the appellate court, when
the federal questions sought to be reviewed were
raised; the method or manner of raising them
and the way in which they were passed on by
those courts; and pertinent quotations of specific
portions of the record ... so as to show that the
federal question was timely and properly raised
and that this Court has jurisdiction to review the
judgments on a writ of certiorari.

Petitioners do not even attempt to make that showing
with respect to their evidence-based preemption issues.
Pet. at 21-23. They have not demonstrated that the evidence
was not properly admitted on non-preempted grounds, to
counteract petitioners’ defenses of consumer expectations,
consumer awareness and why smokers start smoking.

Petitioners erroneously state that the Florida district court
of appeal “did not address petitioners’. .. Labeling Act preemp-
tion.” Pet. at 3, 29. But the issue was addressed by that court in
connection with petitioners’ jury nullification argument (App.
106a-107a and n.35). On that point, the Florida Supreme Court
disagreed, finding that “[T]hese arguments were not an at-
tempt to tell the jury to ignore the law.” App. 39a.”

claims present merely conclusory arguments insufficient to state an issue”);
Anderson v. State, 822 So.2d 1261, 1268 (Fla. 2002) (“Anderson failed to
brief and explain what the alleged cumulative errors are, and what their
impact is on this case. Thus, the claim is waived.”), Randolph v. State, 853
So.2d 1051, 1063, n.12 (Fla. 2003) (“References to arguments below without
further elucidation does not suffice to preserve issues and these claims are
deemed to have been waived.”); Farina v. State, 937 So.2d 612, 617 (Fla.
2006) (“Claim 6 (cumulative errors deprived Anthony of a fair trial) ©
presents a conclusory argument insufficient to state an issue.”); Donald v.
State, 952 So.2d 484, 489 (Fla. 2007) (“We reject several other claims that
present merely conclusory arguments insufficient to state an issue.”).

** Because the Florida district court of appeal did not reverse on
the preemption issues, although it did address one aspect of petitioners’
preemption arguments, petitioners now contend that the district court
showed a “manifest disregard ... for federal preemption ... [and]
acquiesced in the subversion of controlling federal law.” Pet. at 29. But
it is more likely that the district court found petitioners’ fact-bound

(Continued on following page)

Petitioners object to the instruction on preemption, but
their argument here has not been properly presented or
preserved. Petitioners assert that “the court gave an instruc-
tion that said nothing about neutralization” (Pet. at 24,
n.10), but the relevant preemption instruction given in
connection with the trials of Farnan and Della Vecchia’s
claims, stated in part: “Federal Law ... preempts any claim
that cigarette advertising and promotion neutralized the
federally mandated warnings after July 1, 1969.” T.50252-54.
The jury instructions on preemption that were given at
petitioners’ request during Phases I and II-A were a combi-
nation of the parties’ submissions. Class counsel had twice
offered to modify the language in their proposed “failure to
warn” instruction, “I have volunteered to take out the
language they had a problem with,” (T.36285), but petition-
ers declined the offer, rejecting the “shortened instruction.”
7.36153. Petitioners’ proposed preemption instruction in the
common-issues trial (App. 190a-19la) was highly argumen-
tative and erroneously suggested that all claims against
tobacco companies are barred after July 1, 1969, contrary to
Cipollone. See T.36148-36155; 36279. Petitioners’ proposed
instruction refused to acknowledge that certain post-July 1,
1969 evidence was properly admitted on non-preempted
grounds (i.e. relevant to consumer expectations, consumer
awareness and why smokers start to smoke), and sought to
erroneously instruct the jury, without limitation, “to ignore
any such claims or suggestions or evidence.” App. 191a.

evidentiary and jury instruction preemption arguments to be without
merit, particularly where the jury's specific pre-July 1, 1969 findings of
neghgence, at a minimum, are not preempted and those negligence
findings alone fully support the verdicts and judgments. App. 200a-
204a. T.50385-86. Moreover. the intermediate appellate court's reasons
for not addressing the preemption issucs in more detail is not relevant
to any issue before this Court.

22

B. The Claims Of Improper Admission Of Evi-
dence Do Not Present An Appropriate
Question For Review In This Court

Although nearly silent on the matter of preemption before
the state supreme court, petitioners now challenge “the ver-
dicts, both class-wide and in favor of two individual respon-
dents” (Pet. at 1), on the basis of selected trial evidentiary
rulings and a jury instruction. But petitioners ignore the fact
that the jury also found them liable on pre-1969 failure to warn
claims that are not subject to preemption. App. 200a-204a.
They engage in selective and partial recitation of certain
evidence admitted at trial, while ignoring the context and the
record as a whole, violating basic appellate and evidentiary
principles, including the discretion of Florida state court judges
in determining the admissibility of evidence. Petitioners do not
limit their challenges here to the judgments of Farnan and
Della Vecchia, arguing that absent class members’ future
hypothetical claims should also be preempted, without any
information about those claims including whether the claim-
ants started smoking before or after July 1, 1969.

Essentially, petitioners seek to undermine all of the
claims, including future claims, by equating snippets of —
evidence during a two-year trial to the limited claims in
Cipollone that this Court found preempted (e.g. failure to
warn post-July 1, 1969 and neutralization of federally
mandated warnings). But federal preemption under
Cipollone and the 1969 Act relates to the preemption of
claims, not evidence. “[W]e must look to each of petitioners’
common-law claims to determine whether it is in fact pre-
empted.” (Emphasis supplied). Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 523.”

* Preemption issues are ordinarily raised and determined prior to
trial. Here, the trial court entered a partial summary judgment finding
that certain allegations under various claims were preempted. Signifi-
cantly, in their February, 1997 motion seeking only partial summary
judgment, petitioners did not assert that any claims in their entirety
were preempted, but only paragraphs or subparagraphs within limited
claims, representing approximately 20% of the 154 paragraphs in the
amended class action complaint. R.12960-63; 12974-13066. Petitioners did not
seek to preempt the allegations in the complaint relevant to their defenses of

(Continued on following page)

23

And even as to those snippets of challenged evidence,
petitioners do not attempt to demonstrate that (a) a proper
objection was made in the record for each item, (b) the
admission of the evidence raised preemption problems, (c)
the evidence was not admissible on some other basis that
did not raise preemption issues, and (d) the evidence was
not merely cumulative of properly admitted evidence, so
that any error is rendered harmless.

Petitioners challenge evidence that was admitted in
response to petitioners’ “awareness” and “consumer
expectations” defenses; evidence that was addressed by
petitioners beginning in their opening statements: “What
this case is about [is] what people knew about the health
risks of smoking when they made the choice to smoke,”
(T.10950); “Why [do] young people smoke?” (T.10956);
“What people knew?” (T.10957).” Cipollone and the 1969
Act were never intended to strip claimants of their ability
to refute and respond to petitioners’ consumer awareness
and consumer expectations defenses.

consumer awareness and why smokers start to smoke, including allegations of
marketing to vouth (R.12974-13066, paragraphs 43(kkXIXnnXzz), 73, 80, 110,
119), and did not challenge certain claims at all (e.g., breach of implied
warranty and express warranty). R.12974-13066. Petitioners do not challenge
the order granting partial summary judgment here.

“ During opening statements, defense counsel also addressed the
issue of whether cigarettes are defective, arguing that the jury will be
asked to determine “whether or not the average consumer was aware of the
risks of smoking, [the] health risks.” 11070-71. During opening statements
in Phase IJ-A “awareness” issues were once again center-stage (T.38777):
“Information regarding the health risks associated with smoking were
available to Mrs. Farnan virtually from the time she began to smoke
throughout all of the intervening vears” (T.38779), “Mrs. Farnan was aware
of the msks of smoking throughout all of the time that she smoked”
‘T.38825), “You're going to find out what two individual people knew about
whether smoking was risky or not” (T.38878); “[Wjhy both of these folks
began smoking.” 1.38900. In discussing the Phase II-A verdict form during
closing arguments in the compensatory damages trial of Farnan and Della
Vecchia, defense counsel said to the jury: “Awareness evidence applies to a
whole bunch of different questions that vou're going to be asked” (T.37275-
76), and “the issues in this case [are! whether smokers can quit Jand] why
smokers started smoking.” 7.37410.

24

Because petitioners’ preemption argument is predi-
cated on the admission of evidence at. trial and therefore
fact-specific, this Court would need to examine the eviden-
tiary record in order to make factual determinations on
disputed points.” That use of certiorari is unavailing. See
Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 482 U.S. 656, 664 (1987)
(“we are not inclined to examine the record for ourselves
absent some extraordinary reason for undertaking this
task”); Exxon Co., U.S.A. v. Sofec, Inc., 517 U.S. 830, 841
(1996) (Court would not undertake to review “lengthy and
complex record . . . reached after a 3-week trial”); N.L.R.B.
v. Hendricks County Rural Elec. Membership Corp., 454
U.S. 170, 177 (1981) (certiorari was improvidently granted
where the Supreme Court is “presented primarily with a
question of fact which does not merit Court review”); U.S.
v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925) (“we do not grant
certiorari to review evidence and discuss specific facts.”).

C. Key Factual Premises Upon Which The
Preemption Claims Are Based Are False

Petitioners argue that. “{rlespondents’ claims are func-
tionally equivalent to those held preempted in Cipollone,”
(Pet. at 20) and then misstate the Engle evidence and theories
of liability in order to support their erroneous premise. Con-
trary to petitioners’ contentions, respondents never asserted
that “post-1969 advertising and promotions should have
included additional, or more clearly stated warnings,” (Pet. at
21) or that “petitioners’ marketing activities ... undermined
or ‘neutralized’ the federal warning labels.” Pet. at 22. Why
people smoke and why they started smoking were issues
raised by petitioners in connection with consumer expecta-
tion and awareness defenses.”

* For example, pre-July 1, 1969 tobacco advertisements were

"properly admitted under the viable pre-1969 failure to warn claims and
post-July 1, 1969 advertisements were properly admitted that contained
false information, pursuant to Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 524, 528-29.

® In addition to raising defenses that opened the door to limited
testimony about smoking initiation, including youth marketing, during
(Continued on following page)

ae

25

Petitioners state that there was “testimony concerning a
presentation focusing on 65-70 different tobacco advertise-
ments, including an ad for Camel cigarettes, Chesterfields,
and Virginia Slims,” referring to T.12879-82. Pet. at 6, n.1.
But they are referring to voir dire examination, not testi-
mony before the jury. Moreover, the “presentation” was
excluded by the trial court. T.12894-95. Thomas L. Petty,
M.D., a pulmonologist who collected old tobacco advertise-
ments as a hobby, had a presentation of tobacco ads from the
1930s, 40s and 50s, years before the federally mandated
warnings, that he made at medical schools. T.12867, 12875.
He was permitted to only identify his old ads, without
making his presentation or expressing any opinions regard-
ing the tobacco advertisements, and identified approximately
six ads, not 65-70. T.12945-49, 12951.

Petitioners also erroneously state: “Witnesses testified
that petitioners failed to warn smokers that nicotine was
addictive. T.12020-27; T.13479-80.” Pet. at 21. The first
reference (T.12020-27) is to a side-bar conference, outside
the presence of the jury, during the testimony of Dr. Neal
Benowitz, a nicotine specialist who never testified that
petitioners failed to warn smokers that nicotine was
addictive. Instead, it was counsel for petitioners who
expressed his belief that a particular tobacco internal
document offered into evidence during Benowitz’ testi-
mony was intended “to show that the defendants sup-
pressed, concealed or otherwise should have warned about
the contents cf this document.” T.12020. But the document
was offered to demonstrate petitioners’ knowledge of the
addictiveness of nicotine in 1972, since petitioners denied

Phase I Philip Morris conducted a $100 million national television
adverusing campaign with “[. Vo commerciais.. directed at saying peer
pressure is why kids smoke.” T.17§85; 16727, 16258. The class was
powerless to stop the Philip Morris advertising campaign (7.17113;
17832-3585), or Brown & Williamson Tobacco’s website that was launched
during Phase I and also addressed “marketing to youth and Brown &
Williamson’s youth responsibility program,” as well as other Engle
issues. R.46923-46996. Now petitioners argue that references to vouth
marketing are preempted. ‘Pet. at 23, n.9).

26.

at trial that nicotine was addictive. T.12020-21. The class
did not raise any failure to warn claims post-July 1, 1969.
Nor did Dr. Michael Siegel testify that “petitioners failed
to warn smokers that nicotine was addictive.” T.13479-80.
Pet. at 21. Dr. Siegel testified as to scientific information
that was not shared with the public health community.
His testimony did not address warnings. T.13480.”

Petitioners inaccurately assert that “one of respondents’
experts testified that the use of ‘healthy and vigorous’ people
in tobacco advertising minimized the impact of the warnings
on smokers and potential smokers, including minors,” citing
T.17265; 11377-78; 17210. Pet. at 22. The transcript refer-
ences are to the testimony of Dr. Jeffrey Arnett and former
U.S. Surgeon General Julius Richmond, M.D. Dr. Arnett’s
testimony responded to “Why do young people smoke?” the
question posed in petitioners’ opening statements (T.10956,
11063), and refuted petitioners’ assertions that advertising
does not cause children or anyone to start smoking but.
rather only impacts smokers’ decisions to switch brands.
T.16227-29; 16233; 18465; 20301; 20933. Dr. Arnett testified
that cigarette advertising influences non-smoking adolescent
smoking initiation (T.17210, 17264-65), but he never testified
about warnings or their impact on youth or anyone else. Nor
did Dr. Richmond testify about warnings. Pet. at 22. He
testified on redirect examination that certain advertisements
influence smoking initiation by youth, a subject introduced
by petitioners through cross examination about whether peer
pressure results in the initiation of smoking. T.11376-78.

Petitioners erroneously assert that class counsel
“expressly invited the jury to disregard the law.” Pet. at 6.
But the Florida Supreme Court found otherwise: “These
arguments were not an attempt to tell the jury to ignore

* Several of petitioners’ references are to arguments of counsel
outside the presence of the jury, not evidence (T.10480, 16871-81; Pet.
at 23), or to argument of counsel where no objections were raised.
(T.16900; Pet. at 23), (7.36371; Pet. at 26), (T.40247-51; Pet. at 22),
(T.36436; Pet. at 23). In all instances, the evidence challenged by
petitioners was admissible on non-preempted grounds.

27

the law.” (Emphasis supplied). App. 39a. “Context is
crucial.” App. 35a. The petitioners describe the trial court
judge as acting in a contemptuous fashion with “manifest
disregard ... for federa] preemption.” Pet. at 8, 29. Peti-
tioners fail to disclose that in each referenced instance
where Judge Kaye expressed disagreement and frustra-
tion with preemption, he nevertheless ruled in favor of the
petitioners, sustaining objections and instructing the jury _/
to disregard the evidence or testimony (T.16626-27~
27879). Petitioners state: “When petitioners objected, the
court expressed contempt for the very idea of federal
preemption, saying that it ‘[bJoils my blood and boggles my
mind,’” referring to T.16621-22. Pet. at 8. What actually
happened is that Judge Kaye commented, outside the
presence of the jury, that the application of preemption
prevented important advances in science from being
shared with the public, and then defense counsel, Richard
Kirby said: “It boils your blood, I can tell.” To which Judge
Kaye responded: “Boils my blood and boggles my mind.”
Mr. Kirby responded: “I know it does and I appreciate your
personal feeling about it.” T.16622. Although the trial
judge was fru:trated by petitioners’ platitude: “That’s
what preemption does,” he nevertheless repeatedly sus-
tained petitioners’ objections on preemption and granted
their requests for curative instructions. T.27878-79; 27886.
Thus, the petitioners have offered a misleading presenta-
tion of the colloquy and ignore the fact that Judge Kaye
adhered to preemption principles and Cipollone, even
when he believed they were contrary to public health
interests.”

“ Compare Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 544, Blackmun, J., Kennedy and
Souter, J.J., concurring in part and dissenting in part: “By finding
federal preemption of certain state common-law damages claims, the
decision today eliminates a critical component of the States’ traditional
ability to protect the health and safety of their citizens.”

28

D. There Is No Conflict Warranting A Reex-
amination Of Cipollone

Petitioners suggest that there is a conflict among
courts that requires this Court’s attention and its re-
examination of Cipollone. There is no conflict where
petitioners concede that the Florida Supreme Court’s
“fleeting reference to preemption” (Pet. at 10, n.4), “fail[ed]
to address the preemption issue.” Pet. at 29. The requisite
“real or intolerable conflict on the same matter of law or
fact,” ROBERT L. STERN ET AL., SUPREME COURT PRACTICE
at p.225 (8th ed. 2002) is not present. Petitioners assert:
“This Court’s review is needed to resolve the conflict as to
whether characterizing failure-to-warn and neutralization
claims as fraudulent conduct claims defeats preemption.”
Pet. at 24. But the Florida courts, below, did not render
any preemption decisions based on how a claim was
labeled. For example, addressing an objection to evidence
class counsel described as “false advertising [where] ...
there’s no preemption,” (T.2786), the trial court found that
under Cipollone “it leans more toward neutralization,” and
sustained the objection. T.27877-79. The order granting
petitioners’ motion for partial summary judgment on
preemption determined that allegations contained within
claims for fraud, conspiracy, negligence and strict liability,
were preempted. R.12960-63; 12974-13066. Nor was the
labeling of a claim dispositive in determining preemption
issues in any of the post-Cipollone cases cited in the
petition and Appendix G.”

Farnan and Della Vecchia started smoking and were
addicted to cigarettes prior to July 1, 1969 and are subject
to essentially no preemption defenses as to their claims that

* Petitioners have expanded their petition with an eight page
single-spaced “Appendix G” containing a list of 45 post-Cipollone smokers’
decisions, captioned: Post-Cipollone Decisions Addressing Preemption of
“Concealment” and “Neutralization” Claims, with a description of each case
prepared by petitioners App. 207a-214a “Counsel should of course be
sensitive not to include material [in the appendix] that may be perceived as
ex attempt to avoid the court's page limits.” STERN supra at 609.

20

arose before the 1969 law went into effect (e.g. pre-1969
failure to warn claims), and on those pre-1969 claims, alone,
their judgments must be affirmed. Thus, as to the jury
findings of pre-1969 negligence (App. 200a-204a; T.50385-86)
nothing the Court can determine with respect to the preemp-
tion issue can affect Farnan and Della Vecchia’s judgments,
rendering this matter particularly uncertworthy and an
inappropriate vehicle for asserting conflict. In contrast to
other class members whose cases have not been adjudicated,
the final judgments of Farnan and Della Vecchia are also
supported by the fraud and conspiracy findings in Phases I
and II-A that the jury found were a legal cause of damage or
death to the two class representatives. The Florida Supreme
Court's determination that the Phase | fraud and conspiracy
counts are not to be given preclusive effect in future claims of
putative class members, has no impact on the class represen-
tatives’ final judgments that were reinstated by the court.
The fraud and conspiracy counts provide additional non-
preempted claims in support of the two verdicts and judg-
ments. See Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 530-31 and n.28.

Petitioners argue that because of the “massive”
number (700,000) of Florida’s victims (Pet. at 1, 2, 5), and
the magnitude of petitioners’ “wrongdoing |and} miscon-
duct occurring over more than five decades,” (Pet. at 5),
“immediate review is both necessary and efficient [to save
petitioners from] ... vears of delay and expense.” Pet. at
19. After litigating for over thirteen years, petitioners
know that the longer they are able to delay these proceed-
ings, the fewer lawsuits petitioners will ultimately face
due to the tragically high attrition rate of sick smokers,
particularly with a class cut-off date of over one-decade
ago, of November 21, 1996. App. 41a. Petitioners’ alterna-
tive request for a “GVR” (Pet. at 30), is unwarranted and
would serve no purpose other than to further protract the
litigation where absent class members have waited more
than thirteen years for relief.”

“ A GVR was never intended to grant petitioners a second appeal
on preemption, «an issue they did not adequately raise and preserve
‘Continued on following page)

30

After thirteen years of protracted litigation, with over
a dozen appellate proceedings in state and federal courts,
a two-year trial that was subject to full appellate review,
in which petitioners largely prevailed on appeal, and
where legal notice has been disseminated by publication
throughout Florida in 1997 and 2007, “enough is enough.”

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,

SUSAN ROSENBLATT

_ Counsel of Record
STANLEY M. ROSENBLATT
STANLEY M. ROSENBLATT, P.A.
66 W. Flagler St., 12th Floor
Miami, Florida 33130
(305) 374-6131
Counsel for Respondents

before the state supreme court under federal and Florida law. Beck, 369
U.S. at 553; Duest, 555 So.2d at 852; Sag Harbour, 484 So.2d at 1256.
Nor is a GVR appropriate where preemption was addressed by the
district court and also addressed in a sentence by the Florida Supreme
Court, commensurate with petitioners’ fleeting reference to that issue
in one sentence on page forty-nine of a fifty-page brief. And a GVR
makes no sense at all in a case where there are specific pre-July 1, 1969
jury findings of negligence supporting the two judgments so that any
consideration of preemption could not change the ultimate outcome.
The cases cited by petitioners are inapposite. See Lawrence v. Chater,
516 U.S. 163, 174-75 (1996) (GVR would give Court of Appeals opportu-
nity to consider “new interpretation of the Social Security Act”),
Youngblood v. West Virginia, 126 S.Ct. 2188, 2190 (2006) (“Youngblood
clearly presented a federal constitutional Brady claim to the State
Supreme Court [and] ... the dissenting Justices discerned the signifi-
cance of the issue raised”) (emphasis supplied).

* Federal Election Com’n v. Wisconsin Right Tb Life, Inc., 127 S.Ct.
§52, 2672 (2007).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_0499%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
