# Amicus Curiae Brief — Farmer-Paellman v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp (Nos. 06-1533, 06-1534)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_0488%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

: ae SO es andl Se
\ (D FILED
No. 06-1533 | JUN 2.0 2007

~f OFFICE OF THE Cierny:
| SUPREME COURT He

In The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

+

DEADRIA FARMER-PAELLMANN on behalf
of herself and other similarly situated persons
of African-American slave descent and
the class she represents,

Petitioners,
Vv.

BROWN & WILLIAMSON TOBACCO
CORPORATION, et al.,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Seventh Circuit

¢

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE OF
CAUCASIANS UNITED FOR
REPARATIONS AND EMANCIPATION
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

-

CRAIG ALAN WEBSTER

Georgia State Bar No. 744950
Counsel for CURE as Amicus Curiae
1770 Indian Trail Road

Suite 200

Norcross, Georgia 30093
678-775-6064

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

COCKE LAW BRIEF PRINTING, CO) Soa) 22° 8964
OR CALL COLEROT t02 342-2841

III.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

A. THE COURTS BELOW HAVE HANDED

PETITIONERS A “DOUBLE STANDARD”
OF JURISPRUDENCE IN DISMISSING
THEIR CLAIMS WITH PREJUDICE ON
THE DEFENSE OF STATUTE OF LIMI-
TAT RPE Go atnbackbababansteninvies sessnceysecscceseescosess

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION
PRESENTS A WHOLLY INADEQUATE
ANALYSIS OF THE APPLICABLE
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONG................:00005

1. Inaction Risks Forever Denying Legal
Pa tar rttts cnccxseciscsscce veces

2. Statute of Limitations serves no public
interest in this matter ..................:cssseee

3. Respondents are not disadvantaged......

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION
DENIES STATES’ RIGHTS TO PROVIDE
REMEDY FOR CONFISCATED WAGES
AND ILLEGAL ENRICHMENT.................

TV. COORG Ear eeretiecus canahhupdeanabneastirasnsnsnnssccccrescose.

Page
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE...............00045 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. .............ccccseseeseeeee 3
PEUFU IT ase peAHAAAAAAURAse Naasivsnnvenseoseeensoces 4

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Bomba v. W.L. Belvidere, Inc., 579 F.2d 1067 (7th
CI: ITED issvsniccuieeicinvanddsansnciesacoonigeibenaabccslasmuesacnes 11
Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954)........ 6, 8
Canton Lutheran Church v. Sovik, Mathre, Sathrum
& Quanbeck, 507 F. Supp. 873 (D.S.D. 1981)................ ll
Civil Rights Cases, 109 U.S. 3 (1883)............cccccccccssssssreeee 7
Griffin v. Breckenridge, 403 U.S. 88 (1971)................00e0008 8
Hill v. Fordham, 186 Ga. App. 354, 367 S.E.2d 128
RII Bs scasess caveschuiapaseeltbtciihiacsncniakidaanadagaetaalstlenbadieatectasaasdats 11
Holmberg. v. Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392 (1946)............000088 10
Jones v. Mayer Co., 392 U.S. 409 (1968).................... 7, 8,15
McClendon v. Georgia Kaolin Co., 782 F. Supp.
1548 (M.D. Ga. 1992), summary judgment den.,
813 F. Supp. 834 (M.D. Ga. 1992), motion den.,
822 F.Supp. 1580 (M.D. Ga. 1993), summary
judgment den., 837 F.Supp. 1231 (M.D. Ga.
1993), motion granted, 841 F. Supp. 415 (M.D.
Ga. 1994) and motion granted, habeas corpus
den., 837 F. Supp. 940 (C.D. Ill. 1993)...............cessesees 10
Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896)... eeeeeeeees 7
Reitman v. Mulkey, 387 U.S. 369 (1967) 00... cesses seee eens 6
Smith v. Allwright, 321 U.S. 649 (1944)... eens 6
Terry v. Adams, 345 U.S. 461 (1953) ............cccccccssssssssssenenes 6

STATUTE
RE Sas. Ete OF OR ikik nde see sean 6

lil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

www.rsgincorp.com

OTHER AUTHORITIES

SECS SHEAR EH SHHEESEE HEH SHHTEHSHESESEOHHETHE HEHEHE SEE HH SHE SEEES

BRIEF OF CAUCASIANS UNITED FOR
REPARATIONS AND EMANCIPATION AS
AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

This amicus curiae’ brief is submitted on behalf of the
Caucasians United for Reparations and Emancipation.

I. INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE

CURE and its members have an interest in this case
because the onus of slavery has been, and continues to be,
upon the white citizens who have benefited from slavery
and its lingering effects. For as long as we white citizens,
as a class, continue to receive benefits from slavery and
receive the advantage and privilege attributed to us by
Jim Crow segregation and the racial discrimination and
racial prejudice which endure to this day, we will be
denied equality with the slave descendants.

Caucasians United for Reparations and Emancipation
defines itself in its Statement of Beliefs, as “an organiza-
tion of white Americans, (who) express our deep remorse
for the ongoing wrongs committed by our people against
Black men, women and children in the United States and
throughout the Diaspora who are descendants of enslaved
Africans.” CURE is a non-profit membership organization
organized under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue
Code representing over 120 members from cwenty plus

' Counsel for both the Petitioner and Respondents have consented
to the filing of this bnef on behalf of CURE. The correspondence
regarding CURE’s requests for consent have been filed in the office of
the Clerk. Counsel for neither party took any part in drafting this brief
in whole or in part. No person or entity, other than the Amicus Curiae,
its members, or its counsel made a monetary contmbution to the
preparation and submission of this brief.

states across the United States, as well as supporters in
Canada and the United Kingdom. Of its four publicly
named officers, two have family histories rooted in Ten-
nessee and Virginia and a third, although a transplant
from South Dakota, has resided for most of her life in
Georgia. Although CURE seeks to unite an international
constituency in support of its cause, its roots and the roots
of its leadership are in those states (Georgia, Tennessee
and Virginia) in which the institution of slavery was at
one time legally sanctioned in every way.

The CURE “Statement of Beliefs” goes on to say as
well: “We state that full and complete reparations must be
paid not only for slavery and the atrocities that flowed
from slavery, but for the ongoing effects of slavery that
exist today.” This document mourns those losses that can
never be repaired, expresses appreciation for the work of
past abolitionists, finds that “the U.S. Government is
obligated to provide financial and other support,” identi-
fies the wealth of “the white American aristocracy that
directly benefited from slavery” as an appropriate source
for the capitol resources necessary to meaningful repara-
tions for the crimes against humanity practiced in this
country’s past and finally “express(es) remorse for all
crimes committed in the name of white supremacy and we
pray for justice to be done in the United States of America
and around the earth.”

Since 1992, CURE members have been active in
supporting the broad movement for reparative justice. We
decry the obstacles to equitable personal and collective
relationships with slave descendants due to the fact that
justice has been denied slave descendants and we are the
beneficiaries of the denial. We decry the economic, social
and cultural privileges that slavery and our history since

3

have given us, thus preventing equity that we so desire.
We decry the unwillingness of corporations to lift the onus
of slavery from us by disgorging the profits they earned by
financing and owning slaves.

The advocacy and research work done by CURE are
germane to this case. CURE submits this brief to illustrate
the impact of the Seventh Circuit’s decision on those who
understand the need to repair the damage left by our
nation’s institutional commitment to slavery and other
manifestations of the ideology of white supremacy. Certio-
rari review is necessary to correct the Seventh Circuit’s
erroneous finding that an evidentiary hearing was not
required on the question of whether the statute of limita-
tions ought to be tolled in this matter.

Given the ramifications of this case or the future of
healing and reparative justice for the citizens of the
United States, Caucasians United for Reparations and
Emancipation is grateful to both Petitioner and Respon-
dents for their consent for the filing of this brief amicus
curiae in support of Petitioner.

Il. SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The lower courts have handed the Petitioners a
“double standard” of jurisprudence by expecting them to
have acted with extreme diligence in pursuing their claims
when it took over one and a half century for our judicial
system to even recognize their right to bring a civil action
against private companies. Furthermore, the lower court’s
decision presents a wholly inadequate analysis of the
applicable statute of limitations by failing to identify
which statute applies, when it began to run and whether
any tolling of the statute is permitted or required by the

4

facts of this case. The lower court’s conclusion that stat-
utes of limitation cannot be tolled for over one hundred
and fifty years is not only without any support, but is also
inconsistent with state law. Finally, the decisions of the
lower courts violate the state and local sovereignties’ right
to enact meaningful laws to redress damages stemming
from the immoral and illegal act of slavery.

IIJ. ARGUMENT

A. THE COURTS BELOW HAVE HANDED PE-
TITIONERS A “DOUBLE STANDARD” OF
JURISPRUDENCE IN DISMISSING THEIR
CLAIMS WITH PREJUDICE ON THE DE-
FENSE OF STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS.

In dismissing the Petitioner’s claims for replevin,
disgorgement of illegal profits, etc., the courts below have
unmercifully applied a traditional procedural defense to a
most untraditional case and, in so doing, have employed a
“double standard” of jurisprudence. In essence, the courts
below have said that because the Plaintiffs from the
Consolidated Complaint, as a representative group, have
taken so long to initiate thei. claims, they are forever time
barred from seeking civil redress from private corporations
for wrongs committed over one hundred years ago.

The message declared by the courts below is that the
former slaves themselves (and not their decedents) should
have asserted their own claims for themselves and that,
since they did not, too much time has passed to allow the
courts to perform their function of administering justice.
The District Court, in fact, stated that this case should
have been brought by the emancipated slaves no later
than 1865. The Seventh Circuit actually reasoned that,
since many of the named Respondents were located in the

North, the emancipated slaves should have sought refuge
in the protective venues of the northern courts.

The initial problem with the analysis employed by
both the District Court as well as the Seventh Circuit is
the classification in which the lower courts place the
nature of this case. Comparing this case to those of the
past involving claims made by the victims of the holocaust
and the treatment of Japanese-Americans during WWII,
the courts below have classified this case as yet another
attempt to provide redress to a group of victims “long since
dead” from a group of wrongdoers “long since dead.” The
conclusions of the courts below is that the controversy is
“too old” and “too remote” in time to allow an effective
resolution in a court of law. They defer, instead, to the
legislature to create methods of redress which are, in
effect, financed by society as a whole rather than any
identified wrongdoer.

This case is by no means comparable to the victims of
the holocaust or such. The wrongdoers named as defen-
dants in this case are not “long since dead” but are, in-
stead, living, thriving corporations that have survived and
flourished over the past one hundred and fifty years in
part on profits gained from the labor of slaves as well as
the financing, insuring and transportation of slaves. The
wrongdoers are very much alive today and have every
resource and record of their wrongdoings stored within the
very bowels of their corporate body.

The victims are, likewise, very much alive. The evils
of the enslavement of African-Americans, unlike any other
mistreatment of other groups across American history, did
not end with the abolition of slavery. For the past one
hundred and fifty years, African-Americans have been
fighting their way out of the trenches of racism that was

6

uniquely institutionalized in America with the advent
of slavery. Following President Lincoln’s Emancipation
Proclamation and the conclusion of the Civil War, African-
Americans, particularly in the South, were not restored to
equal citizenship rights with whites, much less to the basic
economic status that they would have realized had their
fathers, mothers, grandfathers and grandmothers been
free to receive an education, work for compensation and
build their economic futures for themselves and their
families just as had their white counterparts. Instead, for
over one hundred years following the legal abolition of
slavery, African-Americans, because of the wrongs inflicted
on the slaves that transcended to their children, grand-
children and great-grandchildren, were still denied the
right to an education (Brown v. Board of Education, 347
U.S. 483 (1954)), denied the right to vote (Smith v.
Allwright, 321 U.S. 649 (1944) and Terry v. Adams, 345
U.S. 461 (1953), as well as the Voting Rights Act of 1965 (42
U.S.C. § 1973, et seq.)), denied the right to rent or purchase
property (Reitman v. Mulkey, 387 U.S. 369 (1967)) and even
denied the right to sit at the front of a city bus.

The lower courts questioned any provable connection
between the acts of slavery and the damages sought by the
Petitioners in this case. The words of the Seventh Circuit
best illustrate the lower court’s miscomprehension of the
uniqueness of this claim:

. there is a fatal disconnect between the
victims and the plaintiffs. When a person is
wronged, he can seek redress, and if he wins, his
descendants may benefit, but the wrong to the
ancestor is not a wrong to the descendants.

This is a horrifying conclusion drawn by the lower court
as the wrongs committed to slaves are, by the resulting

racism, still wrongs committed even today on the descen-
dants. Moreover, this “doubt” expressed by the lower
courts in this case is completely contrary to the recogni-
tions made even by this honorable Court:

For this Court recognized long ago that, what-
ever else they (sections 1, 2 and 3 of the Civil
Rights Act of 1866) may have encompassed, the
badges and incidents of slavery — its “burdens
and disabilities” — included restraints upon
“those fundamental rights which are the essence
of civil freedom, namely, the same right .. . to in-
herit, purchase, lease, sell and convey property,
as is enjoyed by white citizens.” Civil Rights
Cases, 109 U.S. 3, 22. (fn). Just as the Black
Codes, enacted after the Civil War to restrict the
free exercise of those rights, were substitutes for
the slave system, so the exclusion of Negroes
from white communities became a substitute for
the Black Codes. And when racial discrimination
herds men into ghettos and makes their ability to
buy property turn on the color of their skin, then
it too is a relic of slavery. Jones v. Mayer Co., 392
U.S. 409 (1968).

The victims of past atrocities such as the holocaust did
not have to live under government sanctioned policies such
as the “separate but equal” doctrine for decades after
WWII. Even this honorable court, nearly fifty years after
the abolition of slavery, approved disparate racial treat-
ment and sanctioned the state’s police power to prevent
racial strife. Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537, 552 (1896).
And this remained the constitutional law of this country
for another fifty years until the 1950s when our society
began its movement to accountability for wrongdoings
committed over a century before. Nor can it be said that
the strife is anywhere concluded. Virtually every state in

8

this union has in recent years enacted “hate crime” legisla-
tion aimed at redressing the very seeds of racism that
were planted hundreds of years ago with the advent of
slavery. How then can we sanctimoniously suggest that
the current victims of slavery should have just “come to
the North” to file their lawsuits in the 1850s since venue
was proper in the North over many of the named defen-
dants?

It was not until 1968 that this honorable Court
recognized that Section 1982 of the Civil Rights Act
applied against private acts of racial discrimination. Jones
v. Mayer Co., 392 U.S. 409 (1968). Conspiracy among
private individuals to discriminate on the basis of race was
not recognized as actionable under Section 1985 until
1971. Griffin v. Breckenridge, 403 U.S. 88 (1971). While
society has, since the Brown decision in 1955, begun its
slow progress on its quest for equality, these named
corporate defendants have mever been held accountable
for the wrongs that they have committed against the
African-Americans who were enslaved or to the children,
grandchildren, great-grandchildren and even great-great-
grandchildren of those slaves who continue today to suffer
from that slavery.

The “badges and incidents of slavery” may be clearly
recognized by the human soul, but it has taken our system
of jurisprudence over one and a half centuries to respond
to the right of the victims of this horrible’ institution of
slavery to seek legal redress against the private individu-
als and corporations who only recently have made limited
admissions of wrongdoings. While there may be many
explanations for the incredibly slow process that our
system of jurisprudence has taken, it surely cannot be
denied that the most plausible explanation is that the
victims themselves have been severely incapacitated in

9

their ability to bring this action both because of the long
standing racism that followed the abolition of slavery as
well as the affirmative acts of deception by the named
Respondents themselves. To summarily dismiss this case
with prejudice on the premise that the original emanci-
pated slaves should have been diligent in the protection of
their legal rights is a “double standard” of jurisprudence
and justice to which this honorable Court should not
ascribe.

B. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION PRE-
SENTS A WHOLLY INADEQUATE ANALYSIS
OF THE APPLICABLE STATUTE OF LIMI-
TATIONS.

Petitioner has presented a compelling set of facts
regarding willful and intentional fraud by the Respon-
dents and have asked the Court for nothing more than an
evidentiary hearing to establish whether or not any
applicable statute of limitations should be tolled. The
lower courts have responded by simply stating that the
Petitioner’s claims are dismissed with prejudice on the
basis of “the statute of limitations.”

What is glaring about the rulings of the lower courts
is that the courts do not identify what statute of limitation
is being applied, when it began to run nor to what extent,
if any, the statute was tolled. As stated above, the District
Court actually stated that the claims had to have been
brought by 1865. The Circuit Court makes no mention
whatsoever of the specifics of which statute of limitations
actually bars the claims.

There is, of course, no federal statute of limitation
applicable to this case as even Section 1982 of the Civil

10

Rights Act has no stated period of limitation. In the
absence of a federal period of limitation, it is incumbent
upon the federal court to adopt the local law of limitation.
Holmberg v. Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392 (1946). The problem
is that this case involves claims originating out of several
states and the decisions of the lower courts do not identify
which statute of limitation is applied, let alone do they
address why one state’s period of limitation should be
selected over another’s nor when that period of limitation
would begin to run.

Rather than addressing these specific questions, the
lower courts chose to jump directly to the issue of tolling of
the period of limitation on the basis of fraud alleged by the
Petitioners. Again, the lower courts do not identify what
state concept of fraud is to be applied. The state law
applied, however, is critical to a just resolution of this
issue. In Georgia, for example, where a defendant is
accused of concealing material facts, no other independent
fraudulent act is required to toll the statute and the
defendant’s continued silence is treated as a continuation
of the original act of fraud. McClendon v. Georgia Kaolin
Co., 782 F.Supp. 1548 (M.D. Ga. 1992), summary judg-
ment den., 813 F. Supp. 834 (M.D. Ga. 1992), motion den.,
822 F. Supp. 1580 (M.D. Ga. 1993), summary judgment
den., 837 F. Supp. 1231 (M.D. Ga. 1993), motion granted,
841 F. Supp. 415 (M.D. Ga. 1994) and motion granted,
habeas corpus den., 837 F. Supp. 940 (C.D. Ill. 1993). If
Georgia law were applied to the only facts of record which
evidence concealed facts by, at least, J.P. Morgan Chase,
then the statute of limitation as to that Respondent may
well have been tolled until the disclosure of 2004. Thus,
the question that was before the lower courts and which
should have been answered is whether or not material

11

facts were known by the Respondents, concealed by the
Respondents and whether or not the Respondents contin-
ued their silence. All of these are pivotal issues in answer-
ing the question of whether or not fraud by the
Respondents would serve to toll the statute of limitations.
None of them are addressed at all by the lower courts.

The essence of the lower courts’ rulings, unfortunately,
is the general conclusion that, even if facts exist which
support some tolling, the statute of limitations cannot be
tolled for over a hundred and fifty years. No logic is given
by either of the lower courts and absolutely no state
citation is offered in support of this conclusion. Under
Georgia law, the lower courts would be absolutely incorrect
in their conclusion as the appellate courts of Georgia have
ruled that the sun never sets on fraud when it comes to the
tolling of the statute of limitations. Hill v. Fordham, 186
Ga. App. 354, 367 S.E.2d 128 (1988). Similar principles are
supported by the Courts in Canton Lutheran Church uv.
Sovik, Mathre, Sathrum & Quanbeck, 507 F. Supp. 873
(D.S.D. 1981); Bomba v. W.L. Belvidere, Inc., 579 F.2d 1067
(7th Cir. 1978).

1. Inaction Risks Forever Denying Leyal
Recourse

The record below and the Petitioner’s Brief for Certio-
rari as well as the website of the Restitution Study Group
(www.rsgincorp.com) recount the painstaking political
work and research efforts necessary to make available the
factual basis for the complaint below. The Petitioner’s
Brief to this Court makes clear that care was taken by
Plaintiffs to bring their action within two years of piecing
together the evidentiary chain which fingers Respondents

12

as culpable for their illegal involvement in the slave
industry.

If the statute of limitations cannot be tolled in this
case, brought to bar in a timely manner after the revela-
tion of the facts asserted by the original Consolidated
Complaint, then they will forever be barred on similar
grounds. For this Court to deny this Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari at this junction will serve to forever close off a
legal recourse for the grievous wrongs which all agree
constituted the institution of slavery in this nation.

The District Court below argues that the stain of
slavery has been adequately repaired by the sacrifices
made during the Civil War and the Congressional action in
the wake of that war to amend the U.S. Constitution and
to enact Civil Rights laws. An honest assessment of the
state of race relations in the United States shows the
inadequacy of such measures if they were truly intended
for that purpose.

But until the evidence linking the criminal behaviors
of the Respondent corporations was revealed in the 2004
disclosures of J.P. Morgan Chase, the post-Civil War
Congressional actions alone were not sufficient to permit
this case to be made.

2. Statute of Limitations serves no public
interest in this matter

Statute of Limitations serve an important public
interest by protecting a Defendant from having to defend
an ancient action for which all the evidence and the
witnesses are gone. A Statute of Limitations protects
defendants from being convicted by the lapse of time.

13

But in this matter, a statute of limitations serves no
public interest. There is no factual dispute as to the
involvement of the Respondent Corporations in financing
slavery and, sometimes, in owning slaves. The complaints
below are largely based on the admissions of corporations
based on a search by those corporations of their own
_archives.

Surely they do not now assert that there are circum-
stances not available now in the historic record which
somehow ameliorates their responsibility for their actions
or those of their predecessor corporations. Surely they do
not assert that the ill-gotten gains, the fruit of their
involvement in the immoral slave trade are somehow
washed clean of those past actions by the passage of time.

The question is not whether these corporations en-
gaged in the behavior they are accused of. They have
already acknowledged that in fact they were. The question
before the Courts now is to what extent are the assets now
enjoyed by these Respondents the result of their participa-
tion in the crimes against humanity which the slave trade
represents.

3. Respondents are not disadvantaged

This case does not hinge on whether they participated
in the slave trade, as their participation has already been
acknowledged by officers for the Respondent corporations
in public filings, statements and documents. The Respon-
dents are not disadvantaged by tolling the statute, and the
statute therefore serves no public purpose in this matter.

The Respondents are not disadvantaged. They still
have access to all they need. They have paid money to

o

14

maintain their corporate archives over the years. If the
Respondents are not damaged, then the statute of limita-
tions doesn’t serve the public interest. They are no worse
off in being able to defend themselves than they were one
hundred years ago.

C. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION DE-
NIES STATES’ RIGHTS TO PROVIDE REM-
EDY FOR CONFISCATED WAGES AND
ILLEGAL ENRICHMENT.

Elected state Assemblies in their wisdom have en-
acted statutes in California, Illinois and Iowa to require
public disclosure of past corporate involvement with the
institution of slavery as a condition of offering insurance
products to consumers in those states. In their collective
wisdom, the elected governing municipal bodies of Berke-
ley, Los Angeles, Oakland, Richmond and San Francisco
California; Chicago, Illinois; Detroit and Wayne, Michigan;
Cleveland, Ohio and Philadelphia, Pennsylvania have
enacted ordinances requiring disclosures by corporations
of their past involvement in the slave industry for contrac-
tors doing business with the City. Amicus Curiae here calls
to the attention of the Court the research found at www.
rsgincorp.com which is too voluminous to include within
the page limitations of this brief.

This action arises as a result of very recent voluntary
disclosures made by the Respondent Corporations in
compliance with state statutes and municipal ordinances
requiring these disclosures as a condition of licensing and
public contracts. These state laws and local ordinances
were enacted to force disclosure that had been withheld by
corporations directly involved in the slave industry over
one hundred and fifty years ago.

15

There can be only one conclusion drawn from the
enactment of these state and local laws: It is the intent of
those sovereignties to bring to justice wrongdoings com-
mitted by living, thriving corporations which were in-
volved in the slave industry. If the decisions of the lower
courts are upheld, then the obvious result is to deprive
these state and local governments any real meaning to
their quest. In short, if these decisions stand without
review, then the valiant acts of these local governments
will be stripped of any meaningful purpose.

In defending the constitutionality of the 1866 Civil
Rights Act, Senator Trumbull of Illinois said:

... the trumpet of freedom that we have been
blowing throughout the land has given an ‘uncer-
tain sound,’ and the promised freedom is a delu-
sion....I have no doubt that ... we may destroy
all these discriminations in civil rights against
the black man; and if we cannot, our constitu-
tional (thirteenth) amendment amounts to noth-
ing. Cong. Globe, 39th Cong., 1st Sess. 322 (cited
in) Jones v. Mayer Co. 392 U.S. 409.

The decisions of the lower courts in this case have
rendered the enactments of the state and local govern-
ments a “trumpet with an uncertain sound” thus depriving
those sovereignties of their constitutional mght to redress
these historic wrongdoings.

Nor should it be concluded that compliance with these
voluntary disclosure laws shields Respondents from
culpability for their previous wrongdoings. These corpora-
tions could have as easily chosen to refrain from seeking
business with those state and municipal governments
which found it to be sound public policy to require such
disclosure. By so doing they could have perpetuated their

16

fraud, which can only be resolved by the disgorgement of
their ill-gotten gains.

Iv. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be GRANTED.

This 20th day of June, 2007.

Respectfully submitted,

CRAIG ALAN WEBSTER

Georgia State Bar No. 744950
Counsel for CURE as Amicus Curiae
1770 Indian Trail Road

Suite 200

Norcross, Georgia 30093
678-775-6064

Attorney for Amicus Curiae

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_0488%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
