# Reply Brief — Philadelphia Housing Authority Authority v. Henderson (No. 06-1507)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_0464%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2007

## Text

FILED
ANG 6 - 2007
- mm M4 VaR, U.S. er
IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

PHILADELPHIA HOUSING AUTHORITY,
Petitioner,
V.

VANESSA HENDERSON, e/ ai.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

REPLY TO BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

ALAN C. KESSLER *

SUSAN J. FRENCH

VIRGINIA LYNN HOGBEN

WOLF, BLOCK, SCHORR AND
SOLIS-COHEN LLP

1650 Arch Street, 22nd Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19103-2097

(215) 977-2000

Counsel for Petitioner
* Counsel of Record Philadelphia Housing Authority

August 6, 2007

OBES? PETE TEIN
WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. = (202) 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20002

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AU Tier ikcssttnasiiwantixsiserssicseecsisoees

I.

II.

IT].

Respondents’ Assertion And The Third
Circuit’s Ruling That Consent Decrees Regu-
lating State Agencies Can Continue “Indefi-
nitely,” Without Any Federal Constitutional
Or Statutory Need, Violate This Court’s
Decision In Frew vy. Hawkins And The
Fundamental Principles Of Federalism .............

Respondents’ Claim That The Conflicting
Eleventh Circuit Decision In Hodge Is No
Longer The Law Misinterprets This Court’s
Decision In Rufo And Demonstrates The Need
For Further Clarification By This Court............

Respondents’ Claim That Rufo Requires A
Showing Of An “Onerous” Burden Mischar-
acterizes This Court’s Standards In Rufo For
Modification Of Consent Decrees.............c0e

CONCL USICIIN \scssssevins ances Aniganepaibiorennminasevecess

(1)

ll

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Board of Education v. Dowell, 498 U.S. 237
Gig g 2 Reece na SORRHEIF UNIT PS ore U URANO 4

Brown vy. Philadelphia Housing Authority, 350
BF Dek SF CR a, SD avi ait ap in chatanslinsnstnnces
Frew v. Hawkins, 540 U.S. 431 (2004)................ regs The
Hodge v. Department of Housing & Urban
Development, 862 F.2d 859 (11th Cir. 1989)... . 5,6
Lynch v. Sessions, 942 F. Supp. 1419-(N.D. Ala.

6
New York v. United States, 505 U.S. 144 (1992)... 3, 4
Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362 (1976) .............ccccee 7
Rufo v. Inmates of Sulfolk County Jail, 502 U.S.

ey + REUTER MIR LR SE tetera OED ey
CONSTITUTION
Shite Apes g UII. TR dxcccadicincducweinnacreinecuisaeinniasubi 4
REGULATIONS
49 Fed. Reg. 12215 (March 29, 1984)... 7
MISCELLANEOUS

Ross Sandler & David Schoenbrod, Democracy
by Decree: What Happens When Courts Run
Government (Yale Univ. Press 2003)................ 3,4, 5

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 06-1507

PHILADELPHIA HOUSING AUTHORITY,
Petitioner,
V.

VANESSA HENDERSON, ef ai.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Third Circuit

REPLY TO BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondents argue in their Brief in Opposition that certio-
rari should not be granted because the Third Circuit’s ruling
was allegedly correct in that this Court’s precedents can
require federal courts to keep consent decrees regulating state
and local governments in place “indefinitely” (Br. in Opp. at
6) for decades, even where the decree is no longer needed
to protect any federal constitutional or statutory rights. That
respondents and the Third Circuit can misread this Court’s
existing precedents this way demonstrates the seriousness of
the issue here and the need for review and clarification by this
Court.

2

I. Respondents’ Assertion And The Third Circuit’s
Ruling That Consent Decrees Regulating State
Agencies Can Continue “Indefinitely,” Without
Any Federal Constitutional Or Statutory Need,
Violate This Court’s Decision In Frew v. Hawkins
And The Fundamental Principles Of Federalism

Respondents argue that the Third Circuit’s ruling in this
case iS consistent with this Court’s decision in Frew v.
Hawkins, 540 U.S. 431 (2004), because in Frew this Court
required that consent decrees remain in effect until “the
objects of the decree have been attained.” (Br. in Opp. at 5)
(emphasis omitted) (quoting Frew). Respondents contend
that a federal district court may properly be required to
continue to enforce the Consent Decree against a'state agency
“indefinitely,” twenty years after all federal due process need
for the decree ceased to exist, because under paragraph 13 of
the Consent Decree, the “objects of the decree” were alleg-
edly “to provide Tenants with . . . additional benefits indefi-
nitely” (Br. in Opp. at 6) and to provide specific “enduring
protections.” (Br. in Opp. at 2) (emphasis omitted).

That reasoning is contrary to both this Court’s ruling in
Frew and the basic principles of federalism. In Frew this
Court did not suggest that consent decrees may regulate state
and local government for decades, regardless of the absence
of any need for court regulation to protect any federal right,
simply because there was an alleged agreement to provide
additional benefits “indefinitely.” To the contrary, this Court
made clear in Frew that the “objects of the decree,” 540 U.S.
at 442, must be viewed in light of and limited by the federal
rights which the consent decree was designed to address.
This Court specifically held in Frew that:

“fijf not limited to reasonable and necessary imple-
mentations of federal law, remedies outlined in consent
decrees involving state officeholders may improperly

3

deprive future officials of their designated legislative
and executive powers.”

Frew, 540 U.S. at 441 (emphasis added).

The Consent Decree in this case is not unusual — it did not
stipulate to any duration, indefinite or definite. Indeed, the
district court judge who entered the Consent Decree found
that there was no agreement that the procedures it provided
would remain in place regardless of need or beyond a reason-
able time. (App. 66a-68a). The Third Circuit’s reasoning
that the federal court regulation must continue regardless of
need therefore is not limited to this particular decree. Rather,
such a rationale could be applied to justify continued and un-
necessary court interference with state agencies and officials
in countless situations.

Moreover, consent by officials of the Philadelphia Housing
Authority (“PHA”) holding office in 1982 cannot support
long-term regulation of their successor officials 20 years later
without any federal need. The limitations which the Constitu-
tion imposes on federal regulation of states and state agencies

cannot be wholly disregarded on the basis of consent. New
York v. United States, 505 U.S. 144, 181-83 (1992).

“{D]eparture from the constitutional plan cannot be
ratified by the ‘consent’ of state officials.

* * *

The interests of public officials . . . may not coincide
with the Constitution’s intergovernmental allocation of
authority.”

New York v. United States, 505 U.S. at 182-83. Future gov-
ernment policy is not a matter which can be freely contracted
away to private parties. See, e.g., Ross Sandler & David
Schoenbrod, Democracy by Decree: What Happens When
Courts Run Government 172-73 (Yale Univ. Press 2003).
“The principle that drives representative democracy is that
voters should have the power to pressure incumbents to

4

change policy or replace them with successors who will.” /d.
at 172.

Unchecked federal court regulation of state agencies also
violates the Tenth Amendment’s limitations, where, as here, a
federal agency has promulgated subsequent regulations that
provide protection from the same harms that the consent
decree was designed to address, e.g., protection of Section 8
recipients’ due process rights. “The Constitution’s division
of power among the three branches is violated where one
branch invades the territory of another, whether or not the
encroached-upon branch approves the encroachment.” New
York v. United States, 505 U.S. at 182. Thus, the sort of in-
terminable “indefinite” court regulation of state officials who
administer federally-regulated programs as advocated by the
Third Circuit and by the respondents in their brief offends the
Tenth Amendment as well as the principles of federalism.

The permissible “objects of the decree,” to protect federal
due process rights, were fully attained long ago. The district
court judge who originally entered this Consent Decree held
that in light of the subsequent federal regulations, which pro-
vided due process protections, there is no longer a need for a
court decree to protect any federal right. (App. 12a, 52a).
Neither the Third Circuit nor respondents have disputed this
fundamental fact. Accordingly, the judgment of the Third
Circuit, which requires continued federal judicial regulation
of a state agency “for the indefinite future,” is incompatible
with “the allocation of power within our federal system” and
must be reversed. Board of Education v. Dowell, 498 US.
237, 248, 249 (1991).

5

II. Respondents’ Claim That The Conflicting
Eleventh Circuit Decision In Hodge Is No Longer
The Law Misinterprets This Court’s Decision In
Rufo And Demonstrates The Need For Further
Clarification By This Court

Respondents make a brief one-sentence attempt to distin-
guish the Eleventh Circuit’s decision in Hodge v. Department
of Housing & Urban Development, 862 F.2d 859 (11th Cir.
1989), on facts irrelevant to the Hodge court’s reasoning.
Respondents point to nothing in the Hodge opinion that
turned on whether future superseding federal regulations were
unanticipated or that turned on the specific language of the
_ consent decree.

Recognizing that the Third Circuit’s decision here cannot
be reconciled with Hodge, respondents argue primarily that
there is no conflict because Hodge was decided before this
Court’s decision in Rufo v. Inmates of Sulfolk County Jail,
$02 U.S. 367 (1992), and is allegedly therefore no longer
good law. (Br. in Opp. at 11-13). That argument misreads
Rufo. In Rufo, this Court did not narrow the grounds for
modification which had existed under prior law; it broadened
the grounds for modification of consent decrees regulating
government agencies and made the standards more flexible.
502 U.S. at 378-83. This Court directed in Rufo that courts
“should exercise flexibility in considering requests for modi-
fication of an institutional reform consent decree.” 502 U.S.
at 383. The fact that Hodge predates Rufo therefore does not
diminish its validity.

Unfortunately, however, respondents’ misunderstanding and
cramped reading of Rufo is not unique. Language from Rufo
has been used by parties and the lower courts to require
lengthy hearings and erect hurdles to modification and vacatur
of outdated and unnecessary consent decrees. See generally,
e.g., Sandler & Schoenbrod, supra, at 174-78. That respon-
dents and the Third Circuit invoke Rufo to require a district

6

court to keep in place a now 25-year-old unnecessary consent
decree demonstrates the need for this Court to address this
problem.

In any event, the issue is whether there is a conflict be-
tween the circuits. Courts in the Eleventh Circuit hold that
Hodge remains valid precedent after Rufo on the precise issue
here, subsequent enactment or promulgation of hearing pro-
cedures as a ground for vacatur of a due process consent
decree. See, e.g., Lynch v. Sessions, 942 F. Supp. 1419,
1426-27 (N.D. Ala. 1996). Thus, the conflict exists regard-
less of the merit or lack of merit in respondents’ contentions.

III. Respondents’ Claim That Rufo Requires A Show-
ing Of An “Onerous” Burden Mischaracterizes
This Court’s Standards In Rufo For Modification
Of Consent Decrees

Respondents’ final contention is that the Third Circuit cor-
rectly required the Consent Decree to remain in effect be-
cause Rufo allegedly requires that a state agency seeking
modification of a consent decree show that post-decree events
“have made it ‘substantially more onerous’ for it to comply
with the Decree.” (Br. in Opp. at 14) (quoting Rufo). That
argument again misstates this Court’s holding in Ru/o.

In Rufo, this Court did not hold that a showing of sub-
stantial burden or expense is required before a government
agency can obtain modification of a consent decree. Rather,
this Court held that modification is warranted where there is a
significant change in law or factual circumstances. Rufo, 502
U.S. at 384. This Court held in Rufo that modification should
be granted where a significant change in law has occurred
which alters the appropriateness of the decree, regardless of
whether there is any claim of burden. Rufo, 502 U.S. at 388.

Respondent’s attempt to characterize the expenses the de-
cree imposes on PHA as innocuous or “weightless” (Br. in.
Opp. at 14-16) is, moreover, inaccurate. Requiring a govern-

7

ment agency to divert limited resources to pay persons who do
not contest that they were properly terminated from the pro-
gram is not harmless or insignificant. The restrictions the Con-
sent Decree imposes on the persons who can serve as hearing
officers were specifically found by the United States Depart-
ment of Housing and Urban Development to be “detrimental to
the Section 8 participants.” 49 Fed. Reg. 12215, 12229-30
(March 29, 1984). Indeed, respondents’ minimizing of the im-
pact of the consent decree directly contradicts their argument
that the “additional benefits” provided by the decree are of suf-
ficient importance to justify requiring court regulation of a gov-
ernment agency to continue indefinitely decade after decade.

Most importantly, however, the harm to the public interest
from unnecessary long-term regulation of government agen-
cies by consent decree cannot be measured solely by burden
and expense of a particular decree. A consent decree regulat-
ing government officials intrudes on the ability of the respon-
sible officials to make decisions on how best to allocate
limited resources in the management of government programs
and interferes with the fundamental federal structure set by
the Constitution. Frew, 540 U.S. at 442 (consent decrees
regulating government officials interfere with the ability of
“officials, both appointed and elected, to bring new insights
and solutions to problems allocating revenue and resources”);
Rufo, 502 U.S. at 381 (consent decrees regulating government
officials “reach beyond the parties involved directly in the
suit and impact on the public’s right to sound and efficient
operation of its institutions”) (quoting Health v. DeCourcy,
888 F.2d 1105 (6th Cir. 1989); see also Rizzo v. Goode, 423
U.S. 362, 379-80 (1976). The fact that the program here, the
Section 8 housing program, is a federal program does not
change this. The program at issue in Frew was likewise a
federal program, and this Court held in Frew that where state
officials “administer a significant federal program, principles
of federalism require that state officials with front-line re-

8

sponsibility for administering the program be given latitude
and substantial discretion.” 540 U.S. at 442.

The judge who originally entered this decree returned to
PHA’s officials discretion over due process hearings for Section
8 housing program participants. The Third Circuit violated this
Court’s dictates in reversing the lower court’s decision and in
taking administration of this aspect of the Section 8 program
_ away from PHA’s current officials, officials who have no
history of violating participants’ due process rights. At the same
time, PHA is not bound by court or respondents’ oversight in
administering due process hearings for conventional public hous
ing participants, as the decree that once governed such hearings
was ordered vacated by a different panel of the Third Circuit
that included Justice Alito. See Brown v. Philadelphia Housing
Authority, 350 F.3d 338 (3d Cir. 2003). The absurdity of the
Third Circuit’s direction of “indefinite” court interference with
half of PHA’s operations, while permitting PHA’s officials to
exercise their discretion with respect to the other half on the
same subject matter, cries out for action by this Court.

CONCLUSION

The petition for Writ of Certiorari should be granted and
the judgment of the Court of Appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

ALAN C. KESSLER *

SUSAN J. FRENCH

VIRGINIA LYNN HOGBEN

WOLF, BLOCK, SCHORR AND
SOLIS-COHEN LLP

1650 Arch Street, 22nd Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19103-2097

(215) 977-2000

Counsel for Petitioner
* Counsel of Record Philadelphia Housing Authority

August 6, 2007

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_0464%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
