# Opinion — Texas & Pacific R. Co. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_0378%3A16

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opinion
- **Published:** January 1, 1933
- **Citation:** 289 U.S. 627

## Text

ponte =: . : ee ee (RD

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

No. 1.—OcToser Term, 1932.

Texas & Pacifie Railway Company, et

dk Seiiinain Appeal from the District

Court of the United

US.
: , : States for the Southern
United States of America, Interstate Te
. : 7-4 District of Texas.
Commerce Commission, et al. J

[May 29, 1933. ]

Mr. Justice Roperts delivered the opinion of the Court.

The Galveston Commercial Association complained to the Inter-
state Commerce Commission that carload commodity rates on im-
port, export and coastwise traffic between a portion of western
classification territory and Galveston were unreasonable, and their
relationship with those to and from Houston, Texas City, Beaumont,
Port Arthur, and Orange, Texas, and New Orleans, La., was un-
duly prejudicial to Galveston.! The claim of unreasonableness
was abandoned, as was also the assertion of discrimination in
favor of the other Texas ports. The latter intervened and prayed
the same relief as might be accorded Galveston in respect of rate
relationship with New Orleans. The issue was therefore nar-
rowed to one of prejudice to them and preference of New Orleans.
Railroads serving the Texas ports and various shippers and com-
mercial bodies intervened in support of the complaint; interests
connected with the port of New Orleans and shippers intervened
in opposition. -

The Commission found that export and import rates on fourteen
commodities from or to points © Arkansas, Texas, Oklahoma,
southern Kansas, and Louisiana west of the Mississippi River,
were unduly prejudicial to Galveston and unduly preferential of
New Orleans. In all instances where the distance to Galveston
is less than the distance to New Orleans by not over one hundred

1The complaint also attaeked rates to and from a portion of the State of
Iilinois and the port of Mobile, Ala. The Commission, however, did not deal
with these, and the averments of the complaint in this respect are immaterial
to the decision of the ease.

2 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

miles it permitted equal rates; but for differences in distance ex.
ceeding one hundred miles it prescribed certain named minimum
differentials in favor of Galveston.*

On rehearing the prior decision was modified by including the
other Texas ports with Galveston in the finding of undue pre-
judice; substituting a twenty-five per cent. difference in distance
for the 100-mile basis; exempting from the scope of the order
rates to or from points on the Texas & Pacific and the Louisiana
Railroad & Navigation Company ;* exempting rates on petroleum
and its products; and making certain other changes not here ma-
terial.*

The proceeding was later reopened for the purpose of deciding
whether the Texas & Pacifie and the L. R. & N. should continue to
be exempted. The Commission reversed its previous finding and
included them within its orders.’ Both carriers filed bills in the
District Court to enjoin the enforcement of all the orders except
in so far as the second exempted them from the finding of prefer-
ence and prejudice. The cases were consolidated, and upon final
hearing before three judges the bills were dismissed.” The plain-
tiffs, Texas & Pacific and L. R. & N., and also the State of Louisi-
ana, the New Orleans Traffic Bureau and other intervenors ap-
pealed.

The Texas ports are served by some half dozen lines which either
themselves or through their connections reach the areas of origin
or destination embraced in the Commission's order. Generally
speaking their routes trend north rather than east of Galveston.
The Southern Pacific is the only carrier serving both Galveston
and New Orleans. Texas is also connected with New Orleans by
the Gulf Coast Lines, by the Texas & Pacific, extending east from
E] Paso through Dallas and Fort Worth to Shreveport, La., and

2100 1. CC. 110,

"The Louisiana Railroad & Navigation Company was at the time of the

earlier hearings operated under a single ownership with the Louisiana Rail-
way and Navigation Company of Texas; and the two are referred to by the
Commission as the L. R. & N. System. Prior to the institution of suit in the
court below both lines were acquired by the Louisiana & Arkansas Railway
Company. The latter joined with the other two as plaintiffs in the District
Court. In the opinion the System will for convenience be called the L. R. & N.

“128 17. ©; ©; 340.

5160 I. C. C. 345.

642 F. (2d) 281.

Pine

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al. 3

thence southeast to New Orleans, and by the L. R. & N., which con-
nects eastern Texas and western Louisiana with that port. Sev-
eral other lines extend between New Orleans and western Louisi-
ana, Arkansas, Kansas, and Oklahoma.

With minor and immaterial exceptions the carriers serving the
Texas ports and New Orleans have for many years equalized the
import and export commodity ecar-load rates between the terri-
tory embraced in the Commission’s orders and Galveston and New
Orleans. The gravamen of the complaint is that in many instances
the distance to New Orleans is so much greater than that to the
Texas ports, and the increased haul so important a part of the
service rendered, that this factor should be reflected in a fixed
differential in rates. The Commission’s order prescribing dif-
ferentials is challenged only in so far as it compels the Texas &
Pacifie and the L. R. & N. to establish rates to New Orleans higher
by the amount of the fixed differentials than those charged be-
tween the same interior points and the Texas ports. Inasmuch as
the assertion of unreasonableness was withdrawn and the Com-
mission made no finding that the Galveston rates were unreason-
able, the prohibitions of Section 1 of the Act to regulate ecom-
merece, as amended, are not involved.* The evidence failed to show
that the rates of the Texas & Pacific and the L. R. & N. on export
and import shipments to and from New Orleans were not compen-
satory. The Commission refused to find that they were so low
as to cast a burden on other traffic. There was therefore no basis
for an order fixing minimum reasonable rates under Section 15 (1)
of the Act.© The parties agree that authority for the order must
be found in Section 3 (1), which is:

“Tt shall be unlawful for any common earrier . . . to make
or give any undue or unreasonable preference or advantage to any
particular person, company, firm, corporation, or locality, or any
particular description of traffic, in any respect whatsoever, or to
subject any particular person, company, firm, corporation, or lo-
vality, or any particular description of traffic, to any undue or un-
reasonable prejudice or disadvantage in any respect whatsoever.’”®

The appellants contend that in the circumstances disclosed the
ports as such are not localities preferred or prejudiced, but that

7U. S. C. Tit. 49, See. 1.
8sU. S. C. Tit. 49, § 15 (1).
9U. 8. C. Tit. 49, § 3 (1).

=

i

a
&
2

™,

EES ia Sat

CE ae ee On ee eee ea a

+ Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

if they may be so denominated the Texas & Pacific and the L. R. &
N. can not be held responsible for any undue prejudice to the Texas
ports, since they do not reach those ports with their own lines or
control the rates to or from them. They also assert that the orders
violate Article I, Section 9, of the Constitution, which prohibits
any regulation of commerce giving preference to ports of one State
over those of another; are without support in the evidence, and ar-
bitrary.

The cause has been twice argued; it was first presented at the
October Term, 1931, and on account of the importance of the ques-
tions involved a reargument was ordered and was had at the Oc-
tober Term, 1932.°° Statement of certain facts and settled prin-
ciples will tend to clarify and define the issues presented.

The traffic with which we are concerned does not move on
through bills of lading, but the movement is, nevertheless, from
points of origin to a foreign or coastal destination, or vice versa,
and is, therefore, essentially through transportation. Compare
Binderup v. Pathe Exchange, 263 U. S. 291, 309. As the Com-
mission said in this case, ‘‘A port is neither the destination nor
the origin of traffic passing through it. It levies toll on the traftie,
in substantially the same manner as do common carriers, in its
charges for the use of its facilities in the transfer of traffie between
the rail and water carriers’’. Although the shipper in the first
instance consigns the commodity to the port and a separate con-
tract is made for ocean carriage, the through rate none the less
consists of the rail rate to the port, plus the ocean freight, whieh
is the same from all Gulf ports.

1%*This cause is restored to the docket for reargument upon all questions
involved, and the attention of counsel is invited to the question whether the
respective relations of the Louisiana ports and the Texas ports to the export,
import, and coastwise traffie affected, and to the rates condemned, by the
orders in controversy are such that the Louisiana ports may be regarded as
localities unduly or unreasonably preferred by such rates within the sense
and meaning of sections 3(1) and 15 (1) of the interstate ecommerce act and
that the Texas ports may be regarded as localities unduly or unreasonably
prejudiced by such rates within the sense and meaning of the same sections.’’
Journal, October Term, 1931, p. 342.

11The evidence shows that the regular steamship lines make the same rates
to foreign destinations from all Gulf ports. Tramp steamers occasionally
eut the conventional rate, but this may happen at any port, and the oppor-
tunity to obtain such a reduced rate does not depend upon the choice of port
through which shipment shall be made.

gl t — - F z hae TRIE Me, SPSS

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al. 5

The choice of route is determined solely by the rail rates from
or to the ports. If these are equalized the shipper has an option ;
but if they are disparate the route through the port taking the
higher rate is necessarily excluded. A very slight differential
in the rail rate, in some instances as little as a fraction of a cent
per hundred pounds, will divert the traffic through the port so ad-
yantaged. The application of a distance scale to the rail rate auto-
matically precludes shipment through the more distant port.

Long prior to the passage of the Act to regulate commerce the
railroads, recognizing this situation, and desiring to hold to their
own lines the traffic running to ports which they serve, equalized
rates through the ports reached by their own lines with those main-
tained by their rivals to other ports, or established differentials
in favor of their own ports in order to retain a portion of the
competitive export business. And a carrier serving two ports has
for like reason fixed an equal or lower rate to the more distant of
the two, solely to meet the competition of rivals who reached it
by more direct routes. These practices have not been indulged
either to aid or to harm a port as such, but solely to obtain or
retain business for the carrier’s own line.2* With the abstract
fairness of such adjustment neither the Commission nor the courts
have any concern. This is not to say, however, that the rates pro-
mulgated are beyond the Commission’s jurisdiction. While that
body has no control over the ocean rate, it has power to compel a
reasonable charge for the rail haul. Compare Armour Packing Co.
v. United States, 153 Fed. 1; News Syndicate Co. v. New York Cen-
tral R. R., 275 U.S. 179, 186-72° As the carriers are in competi-
tion for the business they may, within tne zone of reasonableness,’*
prescribed by the statute, adjust their rates so as to obtain or retain
the desired traffic for their own lines. Interstate Commerce Comm.
v. Alabama Midland Ry. Co., 74 Fed. 715, 723-4; 168 U. 8S. 144,

12New York Produce Exchange v. B. & O. R. Co., 7 I. C. C. 612; In re
Differential Rates, 11 I. C. C. 13.

13In Chamber of Commerce of New York v. N. Y. C. & H. R. R. Co., 24 I. C.
C. 55, 74, the Commission said: ‘‘We have no jurisdiction of the ocean rates
and must deal with this question as though the ports were destinations instead
of gateways.’’

14Since 1887 Section 1 has forbidden that an export or import rate be un-
reasonably high; and since the Transportation Act, 1920, the Commission has
been charged to see that the rate be not so low as to render the receipts of
the business unremunerative.

6 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

172-3; Skinner & Eddy Corp. v. United States, 249 U.S. 557, 564;
United States v. Illinois Central R. R., 263 U.S. 515, 522.

The theory of the Act is that the carriers in initiating rates may
adjust them to competitive conditions, and that such action does
not amount to undue discrimination; Teras & Pacific Ry. Co. y,
Interstate Commerce Commission, 162 U. 8S. 197. There the
charging of rates on import traffic moving from a port on through
bills of lading, much lower than those fixed for domestic trans-
portation was held not to amount as matter of law to diserimina-
tion forbidden by Section 3. The carrier showed, in justification
of the lower rates on import traffic, that unless these were per-
mitted water and rail-and-water competition would divert the
traffic away from the port of New Orleans and the carrier’s
lines extending from that port. Since that decision it has been
recognized that export and import shipments, although not made
on through bills, might lawfully be transported at rates below those
charged for domestic traffic between the same points.’® The same
purpose not to stifle competition justifies relief under Section 4
from the prohibition against charging the same or less for a longer
than for a shorter haul. Interstate Commerce Comm. v. Baltimore
& Ohio R. R. Co., 145 U.S. 263, 276; Interstate Commerce Comm.
v. Alabama Midland Ry. Co., 168 U.S. 144, 164; Louisville & N. R.
Co. v. Behlmer, 175 U. S. 648, 671; Intermountain Rate Cases, 234
U.S. 476, 483-485. And relief under the Fourth Section has been
granted on this ground in respect of export and import rates.
Export and Import Rates, 169 I. C. C. 13.

While the carriers may, therefore, meet competition by equaliz-
ing rates or maintaining differentials both to interior points and
to ports, they may not adjust their rates with the motive of in-
juring or aiding a shipper, a particular kind of traffic, or a locality,
for so to do is to depart from the transportation standard, con-
formity to which the Act contemplates, and substitute others whieh
are prohibited. A tariff published for the purpose of destroying a
market or building up one, of diverting traffic from a particular
place to the injury of that place, or in aid of some other, is unlaw-
ful; and obviously, what the carrier may not lawfully do, the Com-
mission may not compel. Souwihern Pac. Co. v. Interstate Commerce

15New Orleans Board of Trade v. Illinois Cent. R. Co., 23 I. C. C. 465;
In re Import and Domestic Rates, 36 I. C. C. 389; In re Import and Domestic
Rates—Clay, 39 I. C. C. 132.

2% As OPT EATN

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United Stotes et al. 7

Comm., 219 U.S. 433, 444; Interstate Commerce Comm. v. Diffen-
baugh, 222 U.S. 42, 46; Ellis v. Interstate Commerce Comm., 237
U. 8. 434, 445; United States v. Illinois Central R. R., 263 U.S.
515, 524; Atchison T. & S. F. Ry. v. Interstate Commerce Comm.,
190 Fed. 591; Anchor Coal Co. v. United States, 25 F. (2d) 462,
471.'°

1. In the light of the facts exhibited by the record and the prin-
ciples underlying the Act, are ports, in respect of export, import
and coastwise traffic, localities susceptible of undue preference or
prejudice within the meaning of Section 3? The purpose of See-
tions 2, 3 and 4, as exhibited by committee reports and explained
by those in charge of the bill in Congress, was to prevent unjust
discrimination resulting from existing practices. Similar com-
modities were, without reason or excuse, carried at different rates.
Shippers similarly situated were put on unequal terms. Pro-
ducers and consumers at points of origin and destination were pre-
judiced by unequal treatment in the matter of rates or service.
Obviously localities of origin or destination might also be pre-
judiced by undue discrimination. One of the most prevalent and
reprehensible practices at which the Act was aimed was the charg-
ing of a less or an equal rate for a longer haul upon the same line
or route. The Act was passed for the protection of those who pay
or bear the rates. The standards it establishes are transportation
standards, not criteria of general welfare. The word ‘‘localities’’,
therefore, has its proper office as denoting the origin or destination
of traffic and the shipping, producing, and consuming areas affected
by rates and practices of carriers. The phrase was, however, not
intended to cover a junction, a way station, a gateway, or a port,
as respects traffic passing through it.

Considered as points of origin or destination any or all of these
are localities within the purview of the section. All of them may,
moreover, though not considered as localities served, be involved
in acts of discrimination. The situation here presented furnishes
a close analogy to proportional rates or combination rates, and
with respect to either of these the charge on shipments through
a given gateway or port may discriminate against traffic passing

16The Commission has recognized the same principle. Ashland Fire Brick
Co. v. Southern Ry. Co., 22 I. ©. C, 115, 121; Chamber of Commerce of New
York v. N. Y. C. & H. R. R. Co., 24 I. C. C. 55, 63, 70, 75; Maritime Assn. of
Boston, &e. v. Ann Arbor R. Co., 95 I. C. C. 539, 565.

nace

-

8 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et ai.

through another so as to deprive a shipper of his right of choice
of route through either.’ In such case, however, the discrimi.
nation operates upon the shipper, not upon the port. There are
through rates, proportional rates, and combination rates, appli-
eable to traffic routed through river crossings and gateways. It
seems too plain for argument that the Commission has no au-
thority, upon « showing by a gateway that under an existing tariff
too much traffic passes through another, or too little through it, to
readjust the rates and prescribe differentials so as to divert traffic
through the complaining gateway. The interests and industries of
a gateway are not entitled thus to obtain a benefit reflected from
additional traffic which would be diverted by such action of the
Commission. We perceive no difference in principle as to export
or import traffic routed through ports.

The legislative history of the Act demonstrates that Congress
did not intend to forbid the equalization of export or import rates
by lines serving several ports in order to meet competition. These
rates, it was said, were not to be proportioned to the respective
distances between inland origins or destinations and the ports."
Both equalizations and differentials had for some time been main-

Mobile Chamber of Commerce v. Mobile & Ohio R. R. Co., 32 IT. C. @,
272; Astoria v. Spokane, Portland & Seattle Ry. Co., 38 I. C. C. 16.

1sSee the explanation of Senator Cullom, chairman of the Committee having
charge of the original bill, Cong. Ree., 49th Cong., Ist Sess., Vol. 17, Part 4,
pp. 3471, 3472. House proceedings, Cong. Ree., Vol. 17, Part 7, pp. 7277,
7294, 7298. And see the Report of the Committee of the Senate, Report No,
46, 49th Cong., Ist Sess., p. 57, referring to the investigation by a committee
of the British Parliament:

‘*Other important conclusions were reached by the Committee as follows:

‘¢ «That a system of equal mileage rates, or charges in proportion to dis-
tanee, was inexpedient and impracticable for the following reasons:

‘**(a) It would prevent railway companies from lowering their fares and
rates, so as to compete with traffie by sea, by canal, or by a shorter or other-
wise cheaper railway, and would thus deprive the publie of the benefit of com-
petition, and the company of a legitimate souree of profit.

‘**In short, to impose equal mileage on companies would be to deprive
the publie of the benefit of much of the competition which now exists, or has
existed, to raise the charges on the publie in many cases where the companies
now find it to their interest to lower them, and to perpetuate monopolies in
carriage, trade, and manufacture in favor of those rates and places which are
nearest or least expensive where the varying charges of the companies now
create competition.’ ’’

0 ANITA, ED

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al. 9

tained in the rates to various Atlantic ports. Congress was
aware of this, and had no intention of interfering with the main-
tenance of these rate adjustments.

Appellees say, however, that the Commission has always treated
ports as localities within the meaning of Section 3, and exercised
the power to abate discrimination by prescribing differentials in
export rates. They add that though the Act has been several times
amended, this section has been retained in its original form and
Congress has thus sanctioned the Commission’s interpretation.
Where a statutory body has assumed a power plainly not granted,
no amount of such interpretation is bi: ding upon the courts. In-
terstate Commerce Comm. v. v. N. O. & T. P. Ry. Co., 167 U.S.
479, 510. This we think is the situation here presented, for, as we
have said, the word localities is used with reference to places of
origin and destination; its employment is not intended to permit
the Commission, in its discretion, to favor or hamper a community
having no such relation to the service of transportation.

Morevore we do not find that any such settled construction had
been adopted or that Congress intended to sanction it. With few
end oecasional exceptions the Commission has not until a recent
date essayed to prescribe differentials in export rates. Prior to the
Hepbarn Amendment in 1906, port differentials were considered in
three cases.’ In the first certain carriers applied for leave to
equalize their export rates to Boston with those charged to New
York. The petitions were dismissed on the ground that the Com-
mission should not authorize what the carriers might lawfully do
without permission. In the second, a New York trade association
complained that the maintenance of differentials in export rates
to Philadelphia and Baltimore voluntarily established by the ear-
riers worked undue prejudice against New York. The Commis-
sion found they did not result in undue prejudice; though it
treated the ports as localities which would be entitled to relief
under a proper showing. In the third case shippers and ear-
riers serving north Atlantic ports submitted to the Commission the
question of the fairness of the current differentials, and that body
acted merely as an arbitrator and not in its official capacity.

The legislative history of the Hepburn amendment discloses a
clear intent not to confer power to circumscribe the adjustment

WExport Trade of Boston, 1 1, C. C, 24 (1887); New York Produce Ex-
change v. B. & O. R. Co., 7 1, ©, ©, 612 (1898); In the Matter of Differential
Rates, 11 I, C. C. 13 (1905).

MEGS 08 oe

10 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

of export and import rates by the carriers to meet competition.”
The expressions used disclose no thought that the Commission had
held the contrary.”*

Between the dates of the Hepburn amendment and the Trans.
portation Act, 1920, the Commission had before it two cases rele.
vant to the power to prescribe port differentials.** In the first the
Commission recognized its lack of power to deal with the relation.
ship of the rates.2* In the second the complaint was that Astoria

*0Cong. Ree., 59th Cong., Ist Sess., Vol. 40, Part 2, pp. 1777, 1788; Part 3,
Ppp. 2084, 2085, 2086, 2247, 2248; Part 4, p. 3792; Part 5, p. 4111; Part 7, p,
6683. Representative Mann, a member of the committee, said, 1m explaining the
purposes of the bill before the House (Cong. Ree., Vol. 40, Part 3, p. 2247);

oe

We do not give them the power to say whieh port shall be built
up, which city shall be preferred; we leave open the competitive forces of
the railways. The old bills which we had sought to stifle competition; we
leave competition in foree. The railroads running south, west of the Missis-
sippi, and the railroads running east, north of the Ohio, will have to fight out
the question as to whieh road shall carry the grain for export abroad.’?’

And again: ‘‘It will not give the Commission the power to determine dif-
ferentials, the power to say whether grain from the Northwest shall be shipped
for export by way of the Gulf ports or the no:th Atlantic ports, the power to
destroy the law of competition . . .’’,

There is much more to the same effect.

*1Report No. 591, 59th Cong., Ist Sess., p. 3: ‘As but little complaint
has been made to the committee concerning classification, it was not deemed
wise at this time to suggest new legislation upon that subject. So, too, with
the question of the relation of rates. The committee has not deemed it wise
at this time to suggest new legislation to change existing law upon that sub-
ject. It is one of very great importanece—interesting, however, as a rule—to
certain particular communities rather than to the publie at large. It involves
conflicts between towns and cities rather than the publie generally, and it
relates more to the building up of certain local interests of a local nature
rather than to the interests of the people of the whole country.’’

22Chamber of Commerce of N. Y. v. N. Y. C. & H. R. R. Co., 24 I. C. C. 55;
Astoria v. S. P. & S. Ry. Co., 38 I. C. C. 16.

23It snid (24 1. C. C. Th): ‘eo, . . the Boston interests join in the
contention that the railroads should se adjust their rates as to insure move-
ment of a certain or substantial part of the traffic through those ports.
Neither the carriers nor the Commission has any right to undertake to so ap-
portion the traffic between rival ports or cities’? . . . ‘* . . . the
‘Pennsylvania and the Baltimore & Ohio have the lawful right to. maintain
lower rates to and from Baltimore and Philadelphia than they eontempor-
aneously maintain to and from New York. They would probably also have
the right to make these rates the same to and from all of those ports if they

Po DE SUR aI

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al. 11

was prejudiced by exaction of higher export rates from origin ter-
ritory than those to Seattle and Tacoma. Though the haul to As-
toria was longer, the Commission required equalization. The Com-
mission in this case asserted its authority to deal with export rate
relationship solely in the interests of the affected ports. Whether
the order made was within the competence of that body or not, the
important fact is that it did not prescribe differentials, but in the
interest of competition opened the three ports to export shipment
on equal terms.**

We think that at the date of the passage of the Transportation
Aet, no such administrative practice had been established as to
require the conclusion that in failing to amend Section 3 the Con-
gress approved any asserted power to adjust export and import
rates in the interests of the ports alone.

It remains to determine whether since 1920 there has been such
a uniform and repeated assertion of this authority as would con-
strain us to adopt the principle. The instances in which the Com-
mission has considered export and import traffic fall into several
classes: First, where shippers’ complaints concerning port dif-
ferentials established by carriers were dismissed,*° or were found
justified and prejudice ordered removed ;** secondly, where, on
shippers’ complaint against differentials, equalization of rates was
ordered ;*? thirdly, where on complaint by a port differentials vol-
untarily established by the carriers were aliered.** These are not
relevant to the present controversy. In two decisions rendered
prior to the instant one the Commission, on complaint of port in-
terests, exercised the supposed power to compel the establishment
of differentials as between ports.*® But we are not persuaded

chose to do so. The Boston lines have an undoubted right to make such rates
to and froin Boston as their interests demand, subject only to the limitations
that the rates must be reasonable’’; ,

“Compare, however, Galveston Commercial Assn, v. A. & S. Ry. Co., 109
I. 'C. ©, 134,126,

“Cotton and Cotton Linters to Pacific Coast Ports, 69 I. C. C. 735; Sugar
Cases, 1922, 81 I. C. C, 448.

“Canned Goods, Iron & Steel from Gulf Ports, 91 TI. C. C. 623.

“Inland Empire Shippers League v. Direetor General, 59 I. C. C. 321,

28Maritime Assn. v. Ann Arbor R. Co., 95 I. C. C. 539; 126 I. C. C. 199.

“Coffee from Galveston and other Gulf Ports, —8 I. C. C. 716; 64 1. C. C,
26; Charleston Traffic Bureau v. Alabama G, 8. R. Co., 89 I. C. C. 501. Ina
number of other cases the Commission has indicated a belief that it possessed
such authority.

NIT NI BE Kw

12 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

these rulings form a body of administrative action sufficient to
overthrow the evident purpose of Section 3.

We conclude that ports as such are not localities with respect to
export and import traffic routed through them, susceptible of un-
due preference or prejudice within the intent of the Act.

While the Commission’s jurisdiction of port rate relation was
fully argued, the appellees seek to support the orders under the
power to abate discrimination between persons and shippers. The
argument is based upon averments of the complaint as to preju-
dice of persons at Galveston. There is, however, no allegation
that shippers or consignees in the interior, are prejudiced or pre-
ferred by the equalization of the New Orleans rates with those to
the Texas ports, and the Commission made no finding of preference
or prejudice of shippers or consignees, or localities of origin and
destination.*° It compared at great length the facilities of the
ports, their volume of traffic, the relative growth of their export
and import business, their respective steamship facilities, and
reached the conclusion that though relative distance is not con-
elusive and competitive conditions are to be regarded, the Texas
ports are entitled to an advantage in rate consequent upon the
shorter haul to and from the interior territory. The Commis-
sion’s three reports abound with statements that a differential in
favor of the Texas ports will divert traffic running to New Orleans
and send it through the Texas ports. Petroleum is one of the
commodities as to which complaint was made. There is no trans-
portation difference discoverable in the record between this traffic
and that of the other freights affected by the order. But the Com-
mission concluded that New Orleans was not receiving more than
its fair share of this business, and that a differential advantage
would be of little benefit to the Texas ports by diverting this com-
modity to them, and therefore refused to make any order respect-
ing the rates on petroleum and its products.*' It has since, ap-
parently upon similar considerations, refused to prescribe differen-
tials in the rates on blackstrap molasses.** The actual basis of the

30In a dissenting opinion Commissioner Hall said (128 I. C. C. 399): ‘In
deciding this strife between Texas ports and Louisiana ports, confined as it is
to import, export, and coastwise rates, the producers and shippers who pay
those rates scem to have been lost from sight.’’

31See the Commission’s findings, 128 I. C. C. 366, 372, 374-376 and the
opinions of Commissioners MeManamy and Taylor, 128 I. C. C. 399.

82Blackstrap Molasses from Louisiana Points and Ports, 171 I. C. C. 583,
591.

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al. 13

decision is, moreover, avowed by the Commission. In the first
report it said:

‘‘We find that the present relationships of the assailed rates on
export, import, and coastwise traffie, . . . are unduly preju-
dicial to Galveston and unduly preferential of New Orleans’’ (100
I. C. C. 122).

In its second report it stated:

‘We find that the present parity of rates as between the Texas
and Louisiana ports . . . does not result in substantial injury
to the Texas perts in respect of petroleum and its products, but
does result In substantial injury to and prejudice against the Texas
ports in respect of the other commodities considered.’’

(128 I. C. C. 388).

And finally:

‘‘Upon further consideration we now find . . . that the
present relationships of the assailed carload rates on export, import
and coastwise traffic . . . are, and for the future will be, un-
duly prejudicial to Galveston and the other Texas ports taking the
same rates, and unduly preferential of New Orleans’’ (160 I. C. C.
399).

The action of the Commission cannot be justified upon any
theory that it was protecting shippers and consignees, who would
naturally desire all possible routes for foreign shipment. On the
contrary, the orders prohibited a practice born of competition, and
not proved to involve a loss of revenue to the appellants. The
plain purpose of the orders was to build up the Texas ports by
diverting export and import traffic to them. As we have shown,
Section 3 grants no such power.

2. The Commission’s action is challenged for another, and wholly
independent reason, which, if sustained, also requires a reversal of
the decree. By its second order the Commission excluded the Texas
& Pacific and the L. R. & N. from its findings of undue preference
and prejudice and exempted them from the requirement as to dif-
ferentials. The Texas & Pacific had been included by the first
order on the theory that it was part of the Missouri Pacific system
which served both New Orleans and the Texas ports. Upon re-
hearing the conclusion was that the line was independently oper-
ated. Exemption was thereupon granted both appellants pur-
suant to a rule which the Commission had consistently followed
since its organization: namely, that a carrier may not be held re-
sponsible for undue prejudice or preference unless both of the

LRG PME ALLE DE RIA ABRIL ALIAS we EO foe

14 ‘Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

localities affected are upon its lines, or it effectively participates

in the rates to both. In the final report these roads were denied
exemption under the belief that this court had held the principle
inapplicable in the circumstances here disclosed. The appellants
insist the rule is a reasonable one, consonant with the purposes of
the Act, and that our decisions have not narrowed it so as to ex-
clude this case from its scope.

The line of the Texas & Pacific in Texas is intersected at inter-
vals of about 40 miles by north-and-south lines directly or indi-
rectly serving the Texas ports. The population of these junction
points is over ten times as great as that of all other open stations
on this appellant's line in Texas, and the greater volume of export
and import traftie originates and terminates at the junctions.**
Thus the question is whether the Texas & Pacifie may continue
to participate in the handling of the traffie moving through the
ports to and from points on its own rails, on an equality of rates

i
Z
s
BI
=
-
4
:
q

with competing lines which extend to the Texas ports, or may be
forbidden so to do because it is a party with the competing ear-
riers to joint rates from stations on its own line to the Texas
ports. The same issue is presented with respect to the L. RL & N.
Neither of the appellants controls the rates to the Texas ports and
the Commission so finds.°* Though the Texas port lines ean re-
duce their rates to and from those ports without the eoneurrenee
of the New Orleans lines, no reductions can be made in those rates
by the New Orleans lines, even from or to their local stations,
without the coneurrence of one or more lines reaching the Texas
ports. Clearly the New Orleans carriers have no effective control
over the rates between their junction points and the Texas ports.
As respects local stations, their participation in joint rates with the
lines to Texas ports is required by Section 1 (4) of the Aet; but

23The conditions on the L. R. & N., while differing in fact from those af-
fecting the T. & P., present the same question and need not be separately
stated.

3sThe finding is: ‘‘The New Orleans carriers participate in a full line of
joint commodity rates to and from Gulf ports from and to both the junction
and local points on their lines. While, under the rules governing the south-
western carriers and their tariff-publishing agents, the New Orleans curriers
have the power to increase the rates from points served by them to the Texas
ports without concurrence of their connections, a reduction in such rates
would require the consent and concurrence of the participating Texas lines.’’
(160 I. C. C. 356.)

ee ee er ee ee ee

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al. 15

such rates may not be higher than reasonable maxima fixed by
national or state authority nor lower than the amount agreed to by
their connections to the Texas ports. The appellants insist that
their compulsory participation in rates to and from the Texas
ports has no legal significance, and the question remains whether
they in fact exercise effective control over those rates.

The elassical case of discrimination in rates is presented where
a single carrier serving two points approximately equidistant from
a common origin on the carrier’s line, exacts unequal rates for the
two hauls. Not only is the prejudice obvious, but equally so the
ability of the carrier to abate it by raising the rates to the point
enjoying the lower rates, or decreasing those to the point subject
to the higher charge. The principle comprehends, as well, in-
stances of joint rates where the same carriers participate in the
rates to both points.*° and where the originating (or delivering)
earriers are different. but the delivering (or originating) carriers
are the same.** So, too, a carrier may be responsible for preference
or prejudice where it participates in one of several through routes
between point of origin and the prejudiced destinations, although
its own line may reach only one or neither of the latter, St. Louis
S. W. Ry. v. United States, 245 U.S. 136, for the discrimination
is brought about by the disparity of rates, and the order requiring
its abatement necessarily runs against all the carriers parties to
them. If one or more of the railroads whose lines make up the
through route should refuse, upon an order to equalize rates, to
afford one of the others a proper division of the rate, the latter
may obtain redress from the Commission under Section 15 (6).
Where, however. a carrier whose lines reach, or which controls the
rate to, one of the destinations, is a party to a joint rate to the
other but cannot make or control the latter rate, or though it
were to withdraw as a party thereto, or to cancel the rate, the
discrimination would still continue—it cannot be held responsible,
nor can any order to remove the prejudice run against it.” This
rule has been consistently applied in respect of export and import

Southern Ry. Co. v. United States, 204 Fed. 465; Chicago, I. & L. Ry. vw.
United States, 270 U. S. 287; Rates on Grain Milled in Transit, 35 I. C. C. 27.

Lake Dock Coal Cases, 89 I. C. C. 170; Seneca Wire & Mfg. Co. v.
B. & O. R. Co., 112 I. C. C. 95.

*This doctrine has been *pplicd by the Commission in at least forty-five
eases, under varying circumstances containing one or more of the elements

aN,

<A IE ED BRM ie TY Eg VE

7 conn er aan
A cPLA RON ECAR LUE SAE TT BEN ees

i ita gf ¥ ‘ Peo ee pia
5 Rie RAB ih chattia Eitol oa CE AMEN 7

16 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

rates to the ports.** The reason for the doctrine is that preference
or prejudice can be found only by a comparison of two rates,
If these are the rate of one carrier to point A and that of
another to point B while a relationship of one to the other may be
determined neither the first nor the second carrier alone can be
held to have created the relation. Assuming that neither rate is
unreasonable, the one carrier cannot be compelled to alter its rate,
because the other’s is higher or lower for the same service. A
carrier or group of carriers must be the common source of the
discrimination—must effectively participate in both rates, if an
order for correction of the disparity is to run against it or them,
Where an order is made under section 3 an alternative must be
afforded.°? The offender or offenders may abate the diserimina-
tion by raising one rate, lowering the other, or altering both.
Compare American Express Co. v. Caldwell, 244 U. 8. 617, 624;
United States v. Penna. R. Co., 266 U.S. 191; Chicago I. & L. Ry.
Co. v. United States, 270 U.S. 287, 292; Minneapolis & St. L. R.
Co. v. Peorta & Pekin U. R. Co., 270 U.S. 580, 582. The situation
must be such that the carrier or carriers if given an option have an
actual alternative.

The principle has been approved in decisions of this court with
respect to practices, Interstate Commerce Comm. v. Diffenbaugh,
222 U.S. 42; Central Railroad of New Jersey v. United States, et

mentioned. It was first announced soon after the organization of the Com-
mission in Eau Claire Board of Trade v. C. M. & St. P. R. Co., 5 I. C. C. 264,
was elaborated in Ashland Fire Brick Co. v. Southern Ry. Co., 22 I. C. C. 115,
and has been referred to as the doctrine of the Ashland Fire Brick case since
that time. For a reference to some of the decisions applying the rule see the
dissenting opinion of Commissioner Porter in Duluth Chamber of Commerce 0.
C. & N. W. By. Co., 156 I. C. C. 156, 173.

ssChamber of Commerce of New York v. N. Y. C. & H. R. R. Co., 241.0. ¢.
55, 75; Molasses from Mobile, 28 I. C. C. 666, 669; Sugar Cases of 1922,
SLI. C. C. 448, 471; Valley Camp Coal Co. v. B. & O. R. R. Co., 88 I. C. C. 682,
686; Maritime Assn. of Boston v. Ann Arbor R. R. Co., 95 I. C. C. 539, 565,
572-3, 574, 575; Id., 126 1. C. C. 215; Lake Cargo Coal Rates, 1925, 101 I. ¢. ¢.
513, 545; Mobile Chamber of Commerce v. M. S. B. & P. R. Co., 129 I. C. C.
419, 422; Bananas from Gulf Ports, 140 I. C. C. 682 (Eastman, Commissioner,
concurring, at p. 684); Lake Charles Harbor & T. Dist. v. Brimstone 8. & C.
Co., 157 I. C. C. 720, 723.

*°This is not true of an order pursuant to Section 15 (1), prescribing maxi-
mum or minimum or maximum and minimum rates; but the present orders
were not issued under that section.

el s son A ee, eee eer

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al. 17

al., 257 U. S. 247, and rates, East Tenn. V. & G. Ry. Co. v. Inter-
state Commerce Comm., 181 U. S. 1; Penn Refining Co. v. Western
N.Y. & P. R. R. Co., 208 U. 8. 208, 221.

In the Central Railroad case it was said (p 259): ‘‘But par-
ticipation merely in joint rates does not make connecting carriers
partners. They can be held jointly and severally responsible for
unjust discrimination only if each carrier has participated in some
way in that which causes the unjust discrimination; as where a
lower joint rate is given to one locality than to another similarly
situated. (Citing eases.) If this were not so, the legality or ille-
gality of a carrier’s practice would depend, not on its own act, but
on the acts of its connecting carriers. . . . What Congress
sought to prevent by that section [3], as originally enacted, was not
differences between localities in transportation rates, facilities and
privileges, but unjust discrimination between them by the same
earrier or earriers.’’ While this language was used with respect
to circumstances differing from those here disclosed, it applies to
the situation of appellants, who are by the Commission’s order
held responsible for what is not and cannot be the result of their
own acts,—the level of the rates to the Texas ports.

In the East Tennessee case the court said (p. 18):

‘The prohibition of the third section, when that section is con-
sidered in its proper relation, is directed against unjust discrimi-
nation or undue preference arising from the voluntary and wrong-
ful act of the carriers complained of as having given undue prefer-
ence, and does not relate to acts the result of conditions wholly
beyond the control of such carriers.”’

The appellees contend, however, and the Commission concluded
that in later eases the court has held the principle inappli-
cable in circumstances so like those here exhibited that it
should not control our decision in the instant case. One of these
is St. Louis S. W. Ry. Co. v. United States, 245 U. 8. 136, cited for
the proposition that the Commission has power to prevent car-
riers which participate in rates from blanket territory from dis-
criminating against a particular destination, although one of them
does not with its own lines reach such destination, but bills through
traffic to it over connecting lines. The order there under review
was for the establishment of a reasonable joint rate, or in the al-
ternative new through routes with joint rates, under Section 15
of the Act, and was held by this court to be primarily an order

PAY

Se get RENT

a SAK AS

MOTE Fe . PEGE CEASA OE OS

18 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

under that section, and not under Section 3. The statement with
respect to the possibility of unjust discrimination by all the par-
ticipating carriers, even though the rails of some did not reach the
locality prejudiced, is clearly sound, but is beside the point here
in issue; for in that ease no question as to the control of the rate
to both points by any carrier affected by the order was raised or
decided.

Chicago, I. & L. Ry. Co. v. United States, 270 U. S. 287, is relied
upon because of the statement in the opinion that ‘‘ Wherever dis-
crimination is, in fact, practiced, an order to remove it may issue;
and the order may extend to every carrier who participates in
inflicting the injury’’. This was said with respect to a mandate
to three carriers serving Michigan City, each of which had refused
to enter into interchange arrangements with an electric railroad.
Their lines did not connect directly with the electric line, but re-
quired for interchange the service of an intermediate switching
carrier. The order of the Commission was held proper because
each defendant railroad was solely responsible for the prejudice
resulting from its own refusal to maintain interchange arrange-
ments with the electric line, and for the preference of maintaining
such arrangements with other carriers at Michigan City. Each
could, without reference to the conduct of any other, correct the
unjust discrimination which it individually practiced. The very
question here is whether the New Orleans lines in fact control the
rates to the Texas ports and the Commission has answered it in the
negative. .

Principal reliance is placed upon United States v. Illinois Cen-
tral R. R., and Wyoming Ry. Co. v. United States, 263 U.S. 515.
In the first it appeared that the Illinois Central equalized rates on
lumber to certain destinations from all its main and branch line
points in blanket origin territory, and from points on certain inde-
pendent short lines within the blanket area, but refused to extend
similar blanket rates to producing points on the Fernwood & Gulf,
an independent short line serving the same area. The Illinois Cen-
tral’s excuse was that it could not afford to shrink its earnings by
larger divisions to the Fernwood & Gulf. The complaint before
the Commission was against both carriers and the Commission
required that both should abate the unjust discrimination.”

“Swift Lumber Co. v. F. & G. R. R. Co., 61 I. C. C. 485.

MR ayers Tek

a

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al. 19

In the second case it was shown that the Burlington published
a blanket rate on lumber to destinations on a portion of its main
ine and to points located on its branch lines, but refused to join
jn an equal rate to a point on an independent branch line con-
nected with the blanketed portion of the main line. The service
to the latter point at the higher combination rate was less than
was rendered to points on the Burlington’s branch lines. The
Commission ordered both carriers to abolish the undue preference
and prejudice.**

It will be noted that in the one case the Illinois Central and in
the other the Burlington made the one rate and was a party to the
other. Not only so, but in each case the trunk line carrier con-
trolled the joint or combination rate to or from the prejudiced lo-
eality. Quite clearly the independent line could not equalize that
rate with the one in foree to the preferred locality without the con-
eurrence of the trunk line. Both railroads joined in the bill to en-
join enforcement of the order in the J/imois Central ease, but only

the independent carrier filed the | n the Burlington ease.

The appellees insist that as t rders ran against the inde-
pendent road as well as the * ind this court refused to
set them aside, it necessar fT] that a carrier may be liable
for unjust discrimination by** - ts mere participation in
one of the rates whether or s that rate. The argu-
ment ignores the substance ar ‘the decision. The trunk line
controlled both rates, and by its action alone could the disparity
be corrected. But the short line was a party to one of the rates

which created the illegal relation; and was therefore properly
joined in the order. Compare Virginian Ry. Co. v. United States,
272 U. S. 658, 665. The fact, however, that the order included the
short line is entirely insignificant on the question whether the
same carrier in fact controlled both rates and was, in fact, respon-
sible for the undue preference and prejudice. The contention of
the short line that it did not participate in the discrimination be-
eause it did not join in the lower rates to the preferred locality
maintained by the Illinois Central, and could not, therefore, by its
own act, remove the discrimination, was properly overruled. As
said by the court, that carrier, in joining the Illinois Central in
establishing the prejudicial through rate, was as much a party to
the discrimination as if it had also joined in the lower rates to the

41Pioneer Lumber Co. v. Director General, 64 I. C. C. 485.

=

20 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

other points alleged to be unduly preferred. If Fernwood & Gulf
eould not persuade the Illinois Central to join in a new non-dis-
criminatory rate and accord it a proper division, it had a plain
remedy under Section 15 of the Act. To make the decision a
precedent for the instant case it would have to be found that the
New Orleans carriers effectively controlled both the rates to New
Orleans and those to the Texas ports. If they did, obviously an
order might run not only against the New Orleans carriers but
against their connections to the Texas ports, albeit the latter did
not control those rates.

We find nothing in any of the decisions which renders inappli-
eable the principle upon which the Commission has acted, with
the approval of this court, for more than forty years in the ad-
ministration of Section 3, and conclude that the New Orleans
lines could not properly be held guilty of unjust discrimination
against the Texas ports in the absence of a finding of effective
participation it the rates to them.

3. The conclusions announcec render it unnecessary to con-
sider the other questions pressed by the appellants.

The judgment must be reversed and the cause remanded to the
District Court for further proceedings in conformity with this
opinion.

It is so ordered.

A true copy.
Test:

Clerk, Supreme Court, U. 8.

PRO

i A ¢ ate i . : ME AEE TNS TIE EM ITY ST

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

No. 1.—OctToBer TERM, 1932.

Texas & Pacific Railway Company, et
al., Appellants,
vs.
United States of America, Interstate
Commerce Commission, et al.

Appeal from the District
Court of the United
States for the Southern
District of Texas.

[May 29, 1933.]

Mr. Justice STONE, dissenting.

The Interstate Commerce Commission, acting under § 3 (1)
and §15 (1), of the Interstate Commerce Act, 24 Stat. 379, as
amended by Transportation Act, 1920, 41 Stat. 456, after ex-
tensive investigation, has found that the rates of rail carriers
on commodities moving in import, export and coastwise trans-
portation from or to points in Texas, Oklahoma and Southern
Kansas, and in Louisiane west of the Mississippi River were unduly
prejudicial to Galveston and other Texas gulf ports and unduly
preferential of New Orleans. Its order, framed to restrict, but
not to remove entirely the discrimination, sustained by the District
Court of three judges below, is now held void and set aside by this
Court. I think that the order is within the competency of the
Commission, is supported by the evidence, and should in all re-
spects be upheld.

Stated generally, the discrimination complained of is the main-
tenance of rates by the rail carriers which give no recognition to
the proximity of Galveston and other Texas ports to the interior
points involved. The rates thus deprive the Texas ports of the
natural advantage of their geographical position over that of a
rival port, New Orleans; and as the commercial advantages of New
Orleans exceed those of the Texas ports, the rates result in the
diversion of traffic to the former from territory normally tributary
to the latter. The Commission found that although the length of
haul from the interior shipping points to the Texas ports is less
than that to New Orleans, the difference varying from 162 to 213

2 Terxas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

miles from typical points,’ the carriers have long maintained the
same, and in u.any instances substantially lower rates to New Or.
leans. In territory nearer to New Orleans than to the Texas ports,
the lesser service has, on the other hand, been given recognition by
correspondingly lower rates. The Commission has found, and y
is not questioned, that transportation costs and conditions through.
out the southwest territory are substantially the same; that the
rates established by the carriers disregard generally and materially
the amounts and costs of service; that the discrimination has de
prived and will continue to deprive the Texas ports of the natural
advantage of their more favorable geographical position, and has
resulted and will continue to result in building up the port of New
Orleans to their detriment and at their expense. The order as.
sailed seeks to curtail this discrimination and the injury whieh it
inflicts. It leaves undisturbed the lower rates in force to New
Orleans from points nearer that city than Galveston and permits
parity of rates where the distance to New Orleans does not exceed
that to Galveston by more than 25°7, but for differences in distance
exceeding 25% it has named minimum differentials under the rates
maintained to New Orleans.

In holding that the Commission is without power to make the
order, the Court does not deny that a discrimination which is pro-
duced by charging equal rates for unequal service is prohibited by
the statute as much as one resulting from unequal rates for equal
service. Compare The Shreveport Case, 234 U. S. 342, 346. Nor
does the Court consider material, in this respect, the findings of
the Commission that the rates to Texas ports and New Orleans are
both reasonable to shippers, in that the former are not too high, or
the latter so low as to cast a burden on other traffic. For it is not
denied that the Commission may remove a discrimination effected
by rates which are within the zone of reasonableness if the dis-
crimination is one forbidden by §3 (1) of the Act. American
Express Co. v. Caldwell, 244 U. 8S. 617; United States vy. Illinois
Central Ry. Co., 263 U.S. 515, 524. It is not suggested that a
discrimination effected by reasonable rates may not result in gross
injury to the locality discriminated against; and the opinion does

1The distances range from 162 miles from typical points in southern Kansas
and 174 miles from typical points in Oklahoma to 213 miles from typical
points in northern Texas. Waco is 233, Dallas 291, and Fort Worth 308 miles
nearer Galveston than New Orleans.

ie

Teras & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al. 3

not question the correctness of the findings here that such injury
is inflicted on the Texas ports by the prohibited rates. The issue
is thus narrowed to two questions, first, whether the acts of Con-
gress waving broad powers to the Commission to remove discrimina-
tions resulting in undue or unreasonable prejudice to a ‘‘locality’’,

, bave conferred any power on the Commission to curtail an unduly
prejudicial diserimination against a port, and second, whether, as-
suming that the Commission has such power, it mev order the re-
moval of the discrimination by the appellant carriers who par-
ticipate in the discriminatory rates, although their rails reach only
New Orleans, and not the Texas ports.

First. The Court holds that this power is lacking because the
locality injured by the discrimination, a port, is neither the origin
nor the ultimate destination of the traffic involved, but a gateway
through which it passes, albeit it is arrested there pending its
transshipment upon a new and independent contract for ocean
transportation. It is said that a gateway is not a ‘‘locality’’ within
the meaning of the Act because it was never intended that the
statute should forbid discrimination against localities which are
not points of origin or ultimate destination, however unreasonable
and unjust the discrimination may be.

The words of the statute neither state nor suggest such an excep-
tion.

Section 3 (1) of the Interstate Commerce Act declares:

“that it shall be unlawful for any common earrier . . . to
make or give any undue or unreasonable preference or advantage
to any particnlar person, company, firm, corporation or locality,
or any particular description of traffic, in any respect whatsoever,
or to subject any particular person, company, firm, corporation or
locality, or any particular description of traffie to any undue or
unreasonable prejudice or disadvantage in any respect whatsoever.’”’
Section 15 (1) gives to the Commission plenary power to remove
any such ‘‘unjustly discriminatory or unduly preferential’’ indi-
vidual or joint rate, by ordering the carrier or carriers to cease
and desist from the violation, and by prescribing a just and rea-
sonable individual or joint rate to be observed by the carrier or
carriers concerned. On its face the prohibition of any undue and
unreasonable prejudice to ‘‘any particular loeality’’, ‘‘in any re-
spect whatsoever’’, would seem so plainly to include a port as to
leave no room for construction. Compare United States v. Shreve-

EAR Re EG RANE asada : ‘

SARS aCe tie ine;

state seth Werke od

4 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

port Grain & Elevator Co., 287 U.S. 77; Crooks v. Harrelson, 282
U. S. 55; Van Camp & Sons v. American Can Co., 278 U.S. 245,
253.

I can find nothing in the purpose or history of the statute which
suggests that it means any less than it says. This Court has often
declared that the purpose of the all-embracing language of the
statute was to suppress every form of unreasonable discrimina-
tion which it was within the power of Congress to condemn. Mer-
chants Warehouse Co. v. United States, 2838 U.S. 501, 512; Lowis-
ville &@ Nashville R. R. Co. v. United States, 282 U. 8S. 740, 749-
750; The Shreveport Case, supra, 356; Louisville & Nashville
R. R. Co. v. Moitley, 219 U.S. 467. It has said that discrimination
was the principal thing aimed at and ‘‘the purpose of Congress
was to cut up by the roots every form of discrimination, favoritism
and inequality’’. Louisville & Nashville R. R. Co. v. Mottley,
supra, 478.

Statutory language so unambiguous and a purpose so compre-
hensive do not readily yield to the conclusion that a locality which
is a port is not a ‘‘locality’’ within the meaning of the Aet.
The bare fact that a port is a gateway and not the ultimate
destination of the traffic, does not support that conclusion, for
the commercial interests of a port, always of great magnitude,
may suffer the same destruction from discriminatory rates as do
shippers or other industrial interests at points of origin or desti-
nation. <A rate structure which diverts from one port to another
a portion of the ocean-borne traffic, which would otherwise natur-
ally pass through the former, sufficient to destroy the business of
banks, marine insurance companies, freight forwarders, freight and
ship brokers, stevedores, tonnage companies, pilots, dry docks,
ship supply and bunker coal merchants, customs brokers, ex-
port and import commission houses, centered there, would seem to
have an effect upon the commerce and general welfare of the
country of precisely the kind which the aet was intended to pro-
hibit and the Commission empowered to prevent. So the Com-
mission has concluded in a series of eases dealing with discrimi-
nation against ports, going back to the first years of its existence.
See NV. Y. Produce Exch. v. B. & 0. BR. R. Co., 7 I. C. C. 612,
658, 660; In re Export and Domestic Rates, 8 I. C. C. 214; In
re Differential Rates, 11 1. C. C. 13; Chamber of Commerce of N.
Y. v. New York Central, 24 1. C. ©. 55, 27 I. C. C. 238; Astoria v.

Py eae

SEO 2 Ie RI IPL RABI TEI NES “¥ PA Fe AL PS Aas CURT AR, ay

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al. 5

8. P.& 8. R. Co., 38 1. C.. C. 16; In re Import Rates, 24 I. C. C. 78;
New York Harbor Case, 47 I. C. C. 643; Mobile Chamber of Com-
merce V. Mobile & O. R. Co., 57 I. C. C. 554; Coffee from Galveston
and other Gulf Ports, 58 I. C. C. 716; 64 I. C. C. 26; Charleston
Trafic Bureau v. Ala. & G. 8S. R. Co., 89 1. C. C. 501; Maritime
Assn., Chamber of Commerce, Boston v. Ann Arbor R. Co., 95
I. C. C. 589; Oswego v. B. & O. R. Co., 151 I. C. C. 717.

This administrative practice and construction cannot be dismissed
with the observation that where ‘‘a statutory body has assumed a
power plainly not granted no amount of such interpretation is
binding upon the court’’, for the question obviously is whether or
not a power was granted which the language of the statute plainly
embraces and which certainly was not plainly denied. In de-
termining that question when the meaning of the statute is doubt-
ful on its face, we have often said that administrative construe-
tion is of persuasive force, see United States v. Chicago, North
Shore & Milwaukee R. R. Co., 288 U. S. 1; N. Y., N. H. &
H. R. R. Co. v. Interstate Commerce Commission, 200 U. 8S. 361,
401, particularly where, as here, the statute has been frequently
amended and the provision relied upon retained in _ identical
form. Compare Brewster v. Gage, 280 U. S. 327, 336; National
Lead Co. v. United States, 252 U. 8. 140, 147. This construction
certainly cannot be summarily disregarded in favor of another
which departs both from the plain meaning of the words and from
the policy which has hitherto been thought to have inspired their
use. /

To support such a departure it is said that as the railroads,
before the enactment of the statute, had in some instances at-
tempted to equalize competing ports by setting up a rate structure
which did not conform wholly to the carrier service involved, and
as Congress, in the Interstate Commerce Act evinced no intention
to prevent competition for business between rail carriers, it could
not have intended by this legislation forbidding discrimination
prejudicial to localities to forbid discriminations between rival
ports, however unreasonable and injurious.

The port differentials and equalizations maintained prior to the
passage of the original act, in order to secure a fair distribution of
traffic among the Atlantic ports and the carriers serving them were
very different in quality and prejudicial effect upon the localities
concerned from the rate structure resulting in the discrimination

Cea ath ‘al

PAWS ah FPR

6 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. Umited States et al.

disclosed here.*. The existence of those equalizations before 1887
and the fact that in some instances since that date they have
been regarded as innocuous even by the Commission itself, can
hardly lend support to the supposition that the statute was not
intended to forbid destructive discriminations in that form as well
as in any other. The argument seems to be that the statute cannot
be deemed to forbid unjust discriminations against ports since if
it did all rates to competing ports not measured by mileage or car-
rier “ervice would be forbidden whether unjust or not. With equal
plausibility it was argued that because competition between car-
riers was an established practice before the enactment of § 3 and
is not forbidden by the Act, no discrimination induced by carrier
competition was forbidden. But that construction was rejected
by this Court, Wight v. United States, 167 U. 8S. 512, 517; United
States v. Illinois Central R. R. Co., supra; Merchants Warehouse
Co. v. United States, supra, for the same reason that the present
construction should be rejected—that although carrier competition
was not destroyed by the Interstate Commerce Act, it was limited
by the prohibition of §3 of those discriminations which, in the
light of all the cireumstances, are found to be undue or unreason-
able.

The statute does not purport to prohibit all discriminations. It
reaches only those against either localities or shippers which result
in prejudice which is ‘‘undue or unreasonable’’. Cf. Nashville,
C. & St. L. Ry. v. Tennessee, 262 U. 8. 318, 322. Hence, in de-
termining whether a discrimination involved in a port equalization
is ‘‘undue or unreasonable’’, competition is a factor which may not
be ignored (see Interstate Commerce Commission v. Alabama Mid-
land Ry., 168 U.S. 144, 170) the Commission is not to leave out of
account either past history or practical experience, or the effect
of the discrimination on the ports concerned. But even though

2Differentials were adopted by voluntary agreement of the carriers to elimi-
nate competitive rate wars, ruinous to the railroads, and to the localities con-
cerned. Their effect was to preserve rather than to destroy a fair distribution
of the traffic from the west to the Atlantic Seaboard. See John B. Daish,
Atlantic Port Differentials (1918); Preferential Transportation Rates, Re-
port of the United States Tariff Commission, 1922, p. 279; ef. Commissioner
Prouty, In the Matter of Differential Rates, 11 I. C. C. 13, 61 ff. and the briefs
in the same case reprinted in the appendix to the hearings on the Hepburn
Amendment before the Senate Committee on Interstate Commerce (1905), Vol.
V, p. 407.

aa oe P&L a TT

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United Staies et al. 7

the exigencies of competition may be entitled to greater considera-
tion in a case of discrimination between ports than in one of dis-
crimination between shippers, the weight which is given to it and
to the other relevant facts, in determining whether the discrimi-
nation is so unjust as to be forbidden, does not go to the Commis-
sion’s power but to the propriety of its exercise. United States v.
Illinois Central R. R. Co., supra, 525; Interstate Commerce Com-
mission V. Alabama Midland Ry., supra. That the Commission so
conceives its powers and function in considering a rate adjustment
equalizing ports, is apparent from its statement of the problem in
the present case:

‘Such an adjustment necessarily disregards distance and com-
mercial instead of natural advantages control. We have consist-
ently refused to condemn such an adjustment where it is shown to
serve the best interests of the public, but where, as here, it builds
up one port at the expense of another equally favored by natural
advantages from the origin territory here considered, a line must
be found beyond which distance may not be disregarded.’’

This language of the Commission appears to me to suggest the
only reasonable interpretation of the statute consonant with its
language, its history and its background. The statute does not
command or the Commission’s order direct that the rates shall be
measured exclusively by mileage or carrier service; carrier com-
petition for business passing through gateways or elsewhere is not
forbidden, but when the discrimination goes so far beyond the line
of reasonableness as to result in the commercial destruction of a
locality, the Commission may declare it ‘‘undue or unreasonable’’
- and, therefore, forbidden by the statute, whether aimed at ports or
points of shipment or destination. Nothing that this Court has
ever said is inconsistent with this conclusion. The legislative his-
tory of the statute seems to support, rather than to deny it.

Close scrutiny of the legislative history of the original act and
of the Hepburn Amendment fails to disclose any intention to ex-
cept from the forbidden discriminations against localities, undue
or unreasonable discriminations against ports. Senator Cullom,
who was in charge of the earlier bill, made no reference to the
present question in his explanatory statement,® cited in the opinion

SWith respect to §3 Senator Cullom said: ‘‘The third section .. . con-
tains a general prohibition of every variety of unjust discrimination. The
section covers two subjects. The first paragraph prohibits the giving of any

0

ROMY

ase eS

ML A ALE OT a SKS wiitiAd iat ste

eek

A Sledatin eau be

’ 20 Pe theres

Lal RIERA EAI DOG AERDIE AE LG EIB PRG nt

8 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

of the Court,‘ and none is to be found in the House proceedings
to which reference is also made.* Senator Cullom emphasized the
fact that the discriminations forbidden included those against lo-
calities and nowhere suggested any exceptions. Mention in the
Report of the Senate Committee of the investigation of a committee
of the British Parliament and the quotation of its conclusions,*
are without significance here. Those conclusions were not endorsed

undue or unreasonable preference to any particular person or locality, or any
particular description of traffic, in any respect whatever, and declares such
a preference unlawful. . . . This covers in general terms, though by no means
so completely, the provision of section 2 as to discriminations against persons,
but goes further and includes discriminations against localities or particular
descriptions of traffic. The language adopted in this paragraph is substantially
that of the English statute on the subject which has been repeatedly con-
strued by the English courts, so that its meaning has already been judicially
established . . .’’ (Cong. Ree., 49th Cong., Ist Sess., vol. 17, p. 3472). It
may not be without significance that the English antecedents of § 3, The Rail-
way and Canal Traffic Act of 1854 (17 & 18 Viet., e. 31, §2) and the Act
of 1873, amending it (36 & 37 Vict., ¢. 48, §11) failed to include preference
of localities.

See also Senator Cullom’s final answer to Senator Hoar’s question whether
the effect of § 4 of the proposed act, prohibiting the charging of more for a
shorter than a longer distance over the same line under substantially similar
conditions, would not eliminate port differentials, then in existence, favoring
Boston: ‘‘ ... if we are going to regulate these corporations at all, if we
are going to stop unjust discriminations and the secret rebates by which towns
are built up and towns are destroyed, by which individuals are destroyed and
individuals are built up, we must have something in the bill which will mean
something, or else we might as well lay the bill on the table and go at other
business’’. (Cong. Ree., 49th Cong., 2d Sess., vol. 18, pp. 485, 486.) Compare
his statement in discussing the conference report: ‘‘It has been said over
and over again here that the railroad companies would build up one man and
crush another; that their policy has been to destroy one locality or city and
build up another. Here we have undertaken to so regulate them as to pre-
vent them from doing those things so far as we can de so.’’ (Cong. Ree.,
49th Cong., 2d Sess., vol. 18, p. 660.)

4See the opinion of the Court, note 18.

5See Cong. Rec., 49th Cong., Ist Sess., vol. 17, pp. 7277, 7294, 7298.

6Report No. 46, 49th Cong., Ist Sess., p. 57. Compare the Committee’s
statement of the fundamental theory and purpose of the bill (p. 215): ‘‘The
provisions of the bill are based upon the theory that the paramount evil
chargeable against the operation of the transportation systems of the United
States as now conducted is unjust discrimination between persons, places,
commodities, or particular descriptions of traffic. The underlying purpose and
aim of the measure is the prevention of thes discriminations. . . .’’

ee AOE S Dee FRETS er

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al. 9

by the Senate Committee and did not deal with undue diserimina-
tions produced by railroad competition. It is true that in the de-
bates in Congress on the Hepburn Amendment it was pointed out
in several instances that the bill did not confer on the Commission
the general power to fix differentials to ports or to any other points,”
but it was also pointed out that *‘ Section 3 of the original act applies
just the same. We have not undertaken to amend, limit, or extend
Section 3. Whatever is unjust and discriminatory under Section
3 is unjust under the provisions of this bill and such will be pro-
hibited . . .’ Moreover the basis for this want of power to
fix differentials was not that a port is not a “‘locality’’ within the
meaning of § 3, but that differential rates on different roads ean-
not be fully controlled without the fixing of a minimum rate.®
And it was recognized in the decisions of this Court prior to the
enactment of Transportation Act, 1920, conferring the power to fix

see nouvel

*See Cong. Ree., 59th Cong., Ist Sess., vol. 40, pp. 1788, 2084-5, 2247, 2248,
3792, 6683.

*For the full quotation, see note 9, infra.

*Compare the statement of Mr. Stevens, a member of the House Committee:
‘‘My people are just as much interested that there should not be any undue
control of differential rates. . . . But it is just as clear to us and to the whole
committee that there is no such power in this bill. . . . The situation presented
by the bill and the reasons why differentials are not covered are very simple.
Under this bill the Commission would have authority to fix what, in its judg-
ment, would be a just, reasonable, and fairly remunerative rate or rates as
the maximum to be charged. It would have no authority to fix an absolute
rate, Which must be observed by the carrier, and no authority to fix a minimum
rate, below which the carrier eannot go; and a preferential ean not be con-
trolled without there is authority to control absolutely both legs of the differ-
ential. In this ease the Commission eannot control either. It must fix a rate
which shall be just and reasonable and fairly remunerative as the maximum
to be charged. This leaves the carrier to charge anything it pleases below the
maximum. And sinee there is no power to fix any absolute rate and no mini-
mum rate, there is no power in the Commission to control the relation of rates,
and so no power to control the differential.’’ Mr. Olmsted then asked whether
‘‘under this bill the railroads may make as many unjust discriminations as
they please and the Commission would be powerless to correct them’’. Mr.
Stevens answered: ‘*Oh, no; . . . Seetion 3 of the original act applies just
the same. We have not undertaken to amend, limit, or extend section 3. What-
ever is unjust and discriminatory under section 3 is unjust under the provisions
of this bill, and such will be prohibited; but we will not allow the making of
4 minimum or absolute rate, which is the only adequate way of controlling a
differential’’. Cong. Ree., vol. 40, p. 2085. It does not appear that Mr.
Mann's statement ( Cong. Ree., vol. 40, p. 2247) quoted by the Court (note 20)

po , : —

i
é
3
4

Baw

— PUEAGEE DEL Fiala OT Ha Re ae PP SEP

10 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

minimum rates, that unjust discriminations produced by the re-
lation of rates charged or participated in by the same carrier might
be forbidden by the Commission by lowering the higher rate, (com-
pare St. Louis 8. W. Ry. Co. v. United States, 245 U.S. 136, 144)
or by an order which left the carrier free to raise or continue the
lower rate; ‘*the compulsion being that if the low rate is retained
the rate applicable to the lecality or article discriminated against
must be reduced’’. Skinner & Eddy Corp. v. United States, 249
U.S. 557, 566.

Second. The Court also holds that even if a port is a ‘‘ locality”
within the meaning of the statute, and prejudicial diserimina-

was intended te have any different meaning. Indeed his reference to ports
and to ‘‘cities’’ would seem to indicate that he did not believe that ports
were in any different position with reference to differentials than points of
origin or destination. See also Cong. Ree., vol. 40, p. 3792, and compare the
remarks of Senator Lodge, Cong. Rec., vol. 40, p. 4111, which indicate, if any-
thing, his belief that the differentials between Boston and other Atlantic ports
Were within the control of the Commission. ’* F

It was also pointed out that relative rates on different roads were not within. .
the control of the Commission. In discussing differentials, Senator Raynor
pointed out that the provisions of the bill ‘‘are limited to discriminations upon
the same roads. The words ‘unjustly diseriminatory’ or ‘unduly preferential’
or ‘prejudicial’ apply to rates and regulations and practices upon the same
road, because there can be no such thing as an unjust discrimination or an
undue preference between different roads supplying different territory and
terminating at different points. . . . If one road charges an unreasonable rate
or a discriminating rate, that would surely not justify the Commission’s ad-
justing the rate between this road and some other road that has no connection
with it by law or privity of contract... .?" (Cong. Ree., vol. 40, p. 6683.)
Read in the light of this statement, there is nothing to support the conclusion
of the Court in the other statement of Senator Raynor referred to in the
opinion (note 20) that there is no ‘‘power Whatever in the Commission to
adjust clative rates and strike the proper proportions between them. The
ports of the United States, therefore, are not within the jurisdiction of the
Hepburn Act. If there is a differential between different ports upon different
lines of railroads, there is no provision in this measure that invests the Com-
mission with the right to change it. It has a perfect right, of course, where
discrimivation exists upon the same line, as if a rate to an inland point com-
pared wih a rate to a terminal point is unreasonable or unjustly diserimin-
atory, to preseribe 4 maximum rate; but it has no right to bring competitive
roads struggling for competitive markets within its jurisdiction, and I deny
in its entirety the proposition that the Commission could by any exercise of
its power, direc, or inferential, take away from any railroad its right to
charge its own rates, unless the rate is unreasonable or unduly preferential or.
discriminatory upon its own line’’. (Cong. Ree., vol. 40, p. 3792.)

Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al. 11

tions against it are forbidden, still the Commission is without
power to order the Texas & Pacific R. R. Co. and the Louisiana
Railroad & Navigation Company to remove the discrimination.
Both these lines reach New Orleans with their own rails and both
participate in through rates and a full line of joint rates between
local and junction points on their own lines and the Texas ports.
They thus control the rate to New Orleans and are parties to rates
to the Texas ports and to the prejudicial discrimination. Never-
theless, it is said that the Commission is without power to make an
order removing the discrimination which does not afford to the ear-
riers an alternative method of removing it, either by lowering the
rates to the Texas ports or raising those to New Orleans, and that
the present order does not afford such an alternative because of the
appellants’ inability to control the rates to the Texas ports.

The Commission may, in directing the removal of a discrimin-
atory rate or practice, not otherwise objectionable, allow to the
carrier a choice of methods of removing the discrimination by the
modification of one rate or practice or the other. By the present
order the two carriers are left free to remove the discrimination
by raising the New Orleans rate which they control, or by enter-
ing into lower joint or through rates with the connecting carriers
to the Texas ports—a latitude which may serve the interest of the
earriers better than would an order specifically directing them to
raise the New Orleans rates. Beyond question these roads ean re-
move the discrimination by raising the New Orleans rates and it
neither appears, nor is it argued, that they cannot remove it by
lowering the rates to the Texas ports by agreement with their eon-
necting carriers or, in default of agreement, by reducing their own
division and securing a corresponding reduction of the joint rate
on application to the Commission under § 15 (6). See St. Louis
Southwestern R. R. Co. v. United States, 245 U.S. 136, 139, note 2:
compare United States v. Illinois Central R. R. Co., supra, 521.

But the statute does not compel the Commission to afford
such an alternative or permit an offending carrier to avoid its
salutary provisions merely for the reason that, although partici-
pating in both the offending rates, it ean with certainty control
only one. It is true that in cases arising before the enactment of
Transportation Act, 1920, by which power was given to the Com-
mission to fix a minimum rate, it could not remove a diserimina-
tion by preseribing a minimum rate to one of the competing loeali-
ties. But it could remove the discrimination by imposing a

lower maximum rate, even though a joint rate participated in by

12 Texas & Pacific Ry. Co. et al. vs. United States et al.

the carrier whose rails did not reach the locality discriminated
against, (compare St. Louis Southwestern Ry. Co. v. United States,
supra) or, as already mentioned, i+ could leave the carriers free to
remove the discrimination by raising one or lowering the other.
See American Express Co. v. Caldwell, supra, 624; United States
v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 266 U. S. 191. And now that the
Commission has power under § 15 (1) to fix a minimum rate it may
equally command the removal of the discrimination by directing a
rate to be raised, just as where the carrier maintains diserimina-
tory practices the Commission may direct the modification of one
and not the other, and is not bound to allow the carrier a choice.
Merchants Warehouse Co. v. United States, supra, 513; New York,
New Haven & Hartford R. R. v. Interstate Commerce Commis-
ston, supra, 404. The fact that the Commission has given to the
earrier an option to remove the discrimination by arrangement
with the connecting carriers, through which the traffie reaches the
Texas ports, does not afford to the carrier any ground for com-
plaint or impair the power of the Commission to make the order.

The situation here appears to be identical with that presented
to this Court in United States v. Illinois Central R. R. Co., supra,
and in St. Louis Southwestern Ry. Co. v. United States, supra. In
both cases the carriers’ rails reached one of the competing points
only through its connections. In the first the order leaving the
earrier free to remove the discrimination by raising one rate or
lowering the other, and in the second an order requiring the ear-
rier to remove the discrimination by establishing a lower joint rate
with its connections, was upheld by this Court. In St. Louis &
Southwestern Ry. Co. v. United States, this Court said, page 144:

**Carriers insist also that the order is void on the ground
that, since their ‘rails do not reach Paducah, they cannot be
guilty of discrimination against that city’. They, however, bill
traffic via Cairo or Memphis through to Paducah in connection
with the Illinois Central, thus reaching Paducah, although not on
their own rails. And, thereby, they become effective instruments
of discrimination. Localities require protection as much from com-
binations of connecting carriers as from single carriers whose ‘rails’
reach them. Clearly the power of Congress and of the Commis-
sion to prevent interstate carriers from practicing discrimination
against a particular locality is not confined to those whose rails
enter it.”’

The judgment should be affirmed.

The Cuter Justice, Mr. Justice Branpms and Mr. Justice Car-
pozo concur in this opinion.

PO aT = Pe. aoe FO See sat oe " ae
-

raion ay Gt

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_0378%3A16. Public record. Not legal advice.
