# Amicus Curiae Brief — General Motors Corp. v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_0173%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1932
- **Citation:** 286 U.S. 49

## Text

°

FILECOPY 5 |.

k

rr Foe’
__ Supreme Curt of the United Sintes-
No. mm... 1
GENERAL MOTORS ACC EPTANCE CORPORATION, a Corporation,
, a ; Interrenan and AppeRant,
6 : Ta.

UNITED, STATES OF AME RICA,
8 a Libelant and Appelice, ;
ONE (1) CHEVROLET SEDAN AUTOMOBILE, 7
Engine Number 1-247-061, .
8 al Respondent.

GENERAL MOTORS ACCEPTANCE CORPORATION, a Corporation.
Intervener and Appellant,

vie
UNITED STATES OF “AMERICA,
Libelant and Appeliee,
ONE (1) CHEAROLET COUPE & UTOMOBILE a,
Engine Number 113462.
os : Respondent.

: : ; +> *
GENERAL MOTORS ACCEPTANCE CORPORATION, a Corporation,
2 Interrener and —ͤ—
5 vs.
UNITED | STATES OF -AMERICA,
4 i Libelant. and Appellee,
ONE (1) CHEV ROLET ROADSTER AUTOMOBILE.
Engine Number 966-050, rat oe
e *s ates 9 Respondent,

ped *
2

HOWARD AUTOMOBILE COMPANY OF LOS ANGELES;
5 an Corporation, Pm Oh
. 5 . . . Intervener and, A ppellant,
— : f va a
„ UNITED STATES OF AME RICA,
N Libelaut and Appellee,
ONE ()* BUICK COUPE AUTOMOBILE,
Sigine Number 2-083-140,

Respondent.

*

BRIEF FOR AMICUS CURIAE.

882 | JOSEPH G. “MYERSON,
‘ ö New York City.
8 ‘ _- Amicus Curiae.

THE COURT PRESS, INC,

—

n rn PP AEA IM CN PT RNR IRN NIE he SEN can FT ae

INDEX.

: PAGE
Brief for Amicus Curiae: |
. T * 2
Questions Presented......... 5 e
Statutes Involveeewilwi .. q . 8

4 Statement of Facts. e . ä ——ðr e
= Argument: |

PoInT li in forfeiture of an auto-
mobile used for the™smuggling into and trans-
_ portation of intoxicating liquor within the United
States must be instituted under Section 26 of
the National Prohibition Act and may not be
maintained under the Customs Act (R. S 3061

3062) e e e el 2 2*2*2*ä bee 8
Pol Nr II: . > r
A—The basis of the alleged conflict between the |

“customs sections and the National Prohibition

Act is identical with the basis of the alleged
coun between the Revenue section and the
Nattonal Prohibition Aeũůtkt 2 16

B. No greater statutory relief is afforded an ag-
griéved claimant under the Customs sections.
than is afforded an aggrieved claimant under

‘ the Revenue sections J 16

Por IIIt. es

A-Seetion 26 Title II of the National Prohibi-
tion Act supersedes the forfeiture ‘provisions.
of Sections 3061-3062 of the revised statutes in
cases involving both the unlawful importation’ ;
and transportation of intoxicating liquor... 22

>?

4

g Pa
B— There has been no re-enactment of those pro-
visions of Sections 3061-3062 here involved... 22

CONOL USW. % ⁰ ee wm a a 26

TABLE OF CASES CITED:

Callahan v. United States, 576 decided April 11, 1932

(United States Daily, April 12, 1932) q . 2⁵

Davies Motor Company cited in Richbourg case.... 15

_ Heald v. District of Columbia, 254 U. S. 20 24
In re Crow Dog, 109 U. — penne os 25
Richbourg Motor Co. v. U. S., 281 U. S. 528........ .

9, 10, 13, 15, 18, 19, 24
U. S. v. Feld, 204 U. S. 142....... 1 24

United States v. One Ford Coupe Automobile, 272

A e ee 9,17, 24

AUTHORITIES CITED:

Section 239 Amended of the Judicial Code. 2

h/ on cccioeess . 26, 28

National Prohibition Act, Title II, See. 26, Chap. 85,

Act of @et: 28, 1931; 41 St. I. 305, 315; 27
U. S. C. A. Sec. 40 e Se eee l
8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 18, 16, 17, 21, 225 23, 24, 26, 27, 28

. . N — * 27
Tariff Act of 1922 Section 581. . 22, 23, 24
Tariff Act of 1930 (19 U. S. Code 1613, n: 2,418, 21, 24
Sections 613 and 618....... en ee ee 18, 23
Revised Statutes:
Sections 3061-3062, 19 U. S. C. A. 482-483.

4, 5, 8, 9, 10, 13, 15, 16, 22, 23, 24, 28
Seetion 3450 5 8, 9, 10, 13, 15, 18, 23, 24

iii

, PAGE
Willis Campbell Act, Nov. 23, 1921, C. 134, Sec. 5,

42 Stat. 293, 27 U. S. 1 ate 5, 10, 13, 23, 26

Revenue Act of 1928, ection _ ear 18, 19
Howard Lee McBain, Ruggles Professor of Constitu-

tional Law in Columbia University, Prohibition

Legal and Illegal”, MaeMillan, 1928........... 27
Prof. Edwin R. A. Seligman, MacVickar Professor

of Political Economy, Columbia University, on

“The Economics: of Installment Selling” Harper

& Bro. 1927..... j, ͤ K 28

8

—
— Bue,

Ap merry
ventas

Supreme Court of the Anited States
No. 574.

GENERAL MOTORS ACCEPTANCE CORPORATION, a Corporation,
* Intervener and Appellant,

vs.

_ UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Libelant and Appellee,

ONE (i) CHEVROLET SEDAN AUTOMOBILE,
Engine Number 1-247-061,
Respondent.

SS

GENERAL MOTORS ACCEPTANCE CORPORATION, a Corporation, -
Intervener and Appellant,

VVS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, y
Lidbelant and Appellee, .

ONE (1) CHEVROLET COUPE AUTOMOBILE, 8
Engine Number 113-462,
Pair: Respondent.

*

a

GENERAL MOTORS ACCEPTANCE CORPORATION, a Corporation,
Intervener and Appellant,
vs. g

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Libelant and Appellee,

on (1) HEVROLET ROADSTER AUTOMOBILE,
Engine Number 966-050.
° . 1 « Respondent.

*
_—

HOWARD | AUTOMOBILE COMPANY OF LOS ANGELES,
a Corporation;

_ Intervener and Appellant,
vs. .

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, g
TAbelant and Appellee,

ONE (1) BUICK COUPE AUTOMOBILE,
‘ Engine Number 2-083-140, ah

*

BRIEF FOR AMICUS CURIAE. pes.

This brief is filed by Joseph G. Myerson, New York City,
as Amicus Curide with the permission of the Court,
. February 23, 1932.

Opinions Below.

The cases are before the United States Supreme
Court on certificate of the United States Circuit Court
of Appeals from the Ninth Circuit under Section 239,
amended, of the Judiciary Code. No opinion was filed by
the District Court. —

*

Questions ‘Picanol.

The — as certified by the United States Cir-
‘ cuit Court of Appeals are as follows:

1. Does Section 26 of Title II of the National
Prohibition Aet repeal by implication and render
inoperative in liquor importation and transporta-
tion cases the forfeiture provisions of the- Customs
Laws, in so far as offending vehicles are concerned?
Or, putting the question in another form:

2. Do the mandatory provisions of Section 26
of the National Prohibition Act. apply when the
automobile has been seized while in the act. of
transporting intoxicating liquor across the border
and some distance into the United States?

73. May the government, in such a case, ignore
suck mandatory provisions, arrest the driver, and
elect to.forfeit the automobile under the customs
laws?

- 4 Is the reeord in the 1 case wherein
the driver pleaded. guilty of violating the customs
laws (Tariff Act of 1930) admissible in the sepa-
rate forfeiture proceedings wherein the intervener
is the only party appearing, for the purpose of
showing unlawful importation by the ene,

or for any other purpose? N

Statutes Involved.

National Prohibition Act, Title II, Sec. 26, Chap. 88,
Act Oct. 28, 1931; 41 Bt. L. 305, 315; 27 U. 8. C. A. Sec.
40. 5

Sec. 26. When the commissioner, his assistants, in-
spectors, or any officer of the law shall discover ahy
person in the act of transporting in violation of the law,
intoxicating liquors in any wagon, buggy, automobile,
water or air craft, or other vehicle, it shall be his duty
to seize any and all intoxicating liquors found therein
being transported contrary to law. Whenever intoxicat-
ing liquors transported. or possessed illegally shall be
seized by an officer he shall take possession of the vehicle
and team or automobile, boat, air or water craft, or any
other conveyance, and shall arrest any person in charge
thereof. Such officer shall at onve proceed ‘against the
person arrested under the provisions of this title in any
court having competent jurisdiction; but the said vehicle
or conveyance shall be returned to the owner upon execu-
tion by him of a good and valid bond, with sufficient
sureties, in a sum double the value of the property, which
said bond shall be approved by said officer and shall be
conditioned to return said property to the custody of.
said officer on the ‘day of the trial to abide the judgment
of the court. The court upon conviction of the person
so arrested shall order the liquor ‘destroyed, and unless
good cause to the contrary is shown by the owner, shall
order a sale by public auction of the property seized, and
the officer’ making the sale, after deducting the expenses
of keeping the property, the fee for the seizure, and the
cost of the same, shall pay all liens, according to their
_ priorities, which are established, by intervention or other-
wise, at said hearing or in any other proceeding brought

0

4

for said purpose, as being bona fide and as having been
ereated without the lienor having any notice that the
carrying vehicle was being used or was to be used for
illegal transportation of liquor, and shall pay the bal-
ance of the proceeds into the Treasury of the United
States as miscellaneous receipts. All liens against prop-

erty sold under the provisions of this section shal] be
transferred from the property to the proceeds of the sale
of the property. If, however, no one shall be found
claiming the team, vehicle, water or air craft, or automo-
bile, the taking of ‘the same, with a description thereof,
shall be advertised in some newspaper published in the
city or county where taken, or if there be no newspaper ©
published in such city or county, in a newspaper having
circulation in the county once a week for two weeks,
and by handbills posted in three public places near the
place of seizure, and if no claimant shall appear within
ten days after the last publication of the advertisement.
the property shall be sold and the proceeds after deduct-
ing the expenses and costs shall be paid into the Treasury
of the United nantes as miscellaneous receipts.

Revised Statutes, Sec. 3061- iene 19 U. 8. C. A.
482-483.

3061. Search of vehicles and persons.—Any of the
officers or persons ‘authorized to board or search vessels
may stop, search, and examine, as well without as within
their respective. districts, any vehicle, beast, or person, on
which or whom he or they shall suspect there is mer-
chandise which is subject to duty, or shall have been
introduced into the Uniteil States in any manner con-
trary to law, whether by the person in possession or
charge, or by, in, or upon such vehicle or beast or other-
wise, and to search any ‘trunk or envelope, wherever

5
found, in which he 1 may have a reasonable cause to suspect
there is merchandise which was imported contrary’ to
law; and if any such officer or other person so authorized
shall find any merchandise on or about any ‘such vehicle,
beast or person, or in any such trunk or envelope, which
he shall have’ reasonable cause to believe is subject to
duty, or to have been unlawfully introduced into the
United States, whether by the person in possession or

charge, or by, in, or upon sueh vehicle, beast, or other-
wise, he shall seize and secure the same for trial.

3062. Forfeitures. —Every such vehicle and beast, or
either, together with teams or other motive power used
in conveying, drawing, or propelling such vehicle or mer-
chandise, and all other appurtenances, including trunks,

envelopes, covers, and all means of concealment, and all
the equipage, trappings, and other appurtenances of such
beast, team or vehicle, shall be subject to seizure and for-
feiture. If any person who may be driving or conduct -
ing, or in charge of any such carriage or vehicle or beast,
or any person traveling, shall willfully refuse to stop and
allow search and examination to be made as herein pro-
vided, when required so to do by any authorized person,
he shall be punishable by a fine of not more than 51, 000.
„Hor less than te

.
* | Willis Campbell Act. Nov. 23, 1921, C. 134, ‘Bee. 5,

42 Stat. 223, 27 U. S. C. A. 8.

@

3. Effect on existing legislation—All laws in regard
to the manufacture and taxation of and traffic in in-
toxicating liquor, and all penalties for violations of such
laws that were in force on October 28, 1919, shall be find
continue in force, as to both beverage and ‘nonbeverage
liquor, except such provisions of such laws as are directly

6

2

in conflict with any n of this title; but if any
act is in violation of any of such laws and also of this
title, a convietion for such act or offense under one shall,
be a bar to — eyes waned the other.

Statement of F nate,

—

The following Auen of facts is: quoted from the

a certificate of the ee States Circuit Court of 2

for the Ninth Circuit:

“On four different dates during July and Au-
gust 1930, the four a Ra gecgpnrned whose forfeiture
‘is an issue were se at ports of entry on the

* Mexican border, each vehicle having liquor con-

*

( eealed therein. Three of the cars were seized at
San_Ysidro, California, and the fourth at Calexico,
California. Each car was observed crossing the

-,* international. boundary line from Mexico and tray-

- eling some distance thereafter in the United States,

Hand in each instance the concealed liquor was
discovered at an official stopping place of the
United States Customs Service. The seizures
were effected By Customs officers.

. All four drivers of the cars were arrested.
Each was charged with violations of the Tariff
Act of 1930; namely, unlawfully importing liquor
into the United States, and knowingly concealing -
and facilitating the transportation of such liquor.
‘Each - indictment alleged failure to obtain a per-

mit, failure to pay duties, and failure to make
entry at the custom house. The four deféndants
entered pleas of guilty to the first. count, which
charged. importation, and were ‘sentenced by the
court. In each case, the 2 count was
dismissed.
A libel of information in rem was. filed. by the

A a.
—

2 United States Attorney against each ‘automobile, ;

claiming its forfeiture under the prévisions of
. Sections 3061 and 3062 of the Revised Statutes
(19 U. s. C. A. 482 and 483). In three’ of the

d.

7
cases the General Motors Acceptance. Cofporation .
intervened as owner of the attached automobiles, .
and in the other case the vehicle was claimed: by
the Howard; Automobile Company. All the inter-
veners set up proof of ownership, averred that
they were innocent of any illegal acts in which
the vehicles may have been involved, and prayed
the court to dismiss the libels, contending that the
government's sole remedy was under Section 26,
Title II, of the National Prohibition Aet (27 U. 8.
C. A. 40).

In each case, it was stipulated that the liquor
alleged to have been found in the automobile was
intoxicating in fact and fit for beverage purposes.
It was further stipulated, subject to the objection ~
by the libelant that such a purported defense was
incompetent, irrelevant and immaterial, that nei-
ther the seller nor the intervener had any notice
of, the illegal use, or intended illegal use, of the
automobile.

The government offered in evidence at the for-
feiture proceedings the judgment roll, consisting
of the indictmént and sentence, in the ‘criminal
cases, at which, as stated above, pleas of guilty
-had been entered. The intervener in each case ob-
jected to the introduction of this judgment roll,
on the ground that it was incompetent, irrelevant.
and immaterial; that no proper foundation had
been laid; that the roll was not binding upon the

intervener; and that it did not show that the in-
tervener was a party to the criminal action or had
notice of it. The objections were overruled and.
the records were admitted in evidence, to- “which
the respective interveners duly excepted.
. ‘Testimony of customs officers showed that. ‘the
four automobiles were driven across the interna-
tional boundary some. distance into the United
States before being searched and seized. |

The District Court entered decrees of for-
feiture in all four cases, finding that each auto-
mobile was engaged in ‘smuggling dutiable mer-
chandise into the United States in violation of the
customs law thereof.”

o*

| Argument.
POINT I.

Proceedings in forfeiture of an automobile used

for the smuggling into and transportation of intoxi-
cating liquor within the United States must be in-
_ stituted under Section 26 of the National Prohibition

Act and may not be maintained under the Customs

Act (R. S. 3061-3062).

For many years following the enactment of the Na-
tional Prohibition Act enforcement officers, in prosecut-
ing forfeiture of automobiles seized while transporting
intoxicating liquors, variously invoked Sections 3061,
3062 of the Revised Statutes, the Customs sections, Sec-
tion 3450 Revised Statutes, the Internal Revenue section,

and Section 26 of the National Prohibition Act referri ing
to transportation of intoxicating liquors.

It was urged upon the Government by representatives
of the automobile industry that the use of these sections

other than Section 26, was unfair and improper, and that

Congress by the enactment of the National Prohibition
Act intended that act to be the instrument of enforcing
the prohibition of traffic in intoxicating liquors. This
position was urged because the Customs and Revenue
sections make no provision for safeguarding the rights
of innocent lienors, whereas such rights are * ifically
respected under Section 26.

The Revenue Section, R. S. 3450 has been definitely
adjudicated. e The history of the litigation concerning

this section becomes important in the present case in

view of the close affinity between Sections 3450 and
3061-3062:

A
eee CCC ͤ˙n 1 EIS n * 7

9

Both were enacted as an aid to the collection of taxes,
_. the former, the revenue tax, the latter the customs; both
statutes were part of the same tax plan enacted by Con-
‘gress in July, 1866, R. S. 3450 on July 13, 1866, R. S.
- 3061-2 on July 18, 1866; both statutes provide for ab-
solute forfeiture; neither statute makes recognition of
the rights of innocent owners or lienors. Indeed it may
be said that R. S. 3061-3062 are the “3450” of the Cus-
toms Laws. 5

Following the enactment of the National Prohibition
Act, as already suggested, it was urged that R. S. 3450
had in effect been repealed. However, the United States
Supreme Court held in 1926 (United States v. One Ford
Coupe Automobile, 272 U. S. 321), that the section was
still in force and effect and could in a proper case be
invoked by the government. Representatives of the auto- ö
mobile industry thereupon urged the doctrine, accepting
the soundness of the Ford Coupé decision, that neverthe-
less where transportation of intoxicating liquors was
indicated, Section 26 of the Prohibition Aet may and:

_ that section alone must be employed in forfeiture pro-

coe.

This issue was finally squarely presented to the
United States Supreme Court in Richbourg Motor Co. v.

ae 281 U. 8. 528. In that case the Court. held that

pnts could not be maintained for forfeiture under
R. S. 3450 of an automobile discovered and seized while.
being used illegally to transport intoxicating liquor.

It would seem, therefore, that the true inquiry in this
ease is whether the same reasons which impelled the
Supreme Court so to decide in respect of the Internal
Revenue section should not require a co-ordinate ruling

10

that the customs sections may not be employed in such

4 case.

7

_ That this is so becomes evident Vom attentive con-
sideration of the argument and decision in the . .
case. g
The fundamental basis of thie „ in the Rich-
bourg case, and of the decision, rested upon Section 5
of the Willis Campbell Act (27 U. S. C. A. 3) which
provides that all laws in regard to manufacture and
taxation of and traffic in intoxicating liquor and all pen-
alties for violation of such laws that were in. force on
October 28, 1919, shall be and continue in force as to
. beverage and nonbeverage liquor, except, such provisions
| of such laws as are directly in conflict with any pro-
vision of the National Prohibition Act. It was urged
and the Supreme Court in effect found that Section 26
of the Prohibition Act is in direct conflict with, and as
to a case involving violation of both, has repealed Section
3450. It is now submitted that Section 26 is in direct
conflict: with and as to a case involving a violation of

both has vitiated the provisions of R. S. 3061-62.
Analysis of the mandatory provisions of Section 26

indicates this direct conflict. The provisions of this sec- .

tion require: |

(a) That upon an officer discovering that intoxicat-
ing liquor is being illegally transported or illegally pos-
sessed it shall be his duty to

1. Take possession of the automobile.
2. Arrest the person in .charge thereof.

3. Proceed against the person arrested under
the provisions of the National Prohibition Act.

es

11

(b) That the Court, upon conviction of the person,
shall
1, Order the . destroyed.

2. Order the publie sale of the automobile, *
unless good cause to the contrary is ye by
the owner thereof. ;

(e) That the officer carrying out the order of sale
of the Court shall”

After e ln expenses provided
tor in the statute pay all liens according to their
priority, which are established by intervention or
otherwise: as being bond fide and existing in favor
of one who had. no notice of the — illegal
use of the vehicle.

In short,; the section is mandatory in its state
ment as to the duties and obligations of the ar-
resting officer and the Court whenever there shall

be discovered. a violation of Section 26. The ar-
resting officer, where violation of this section and
another statute are beth indicated, may not elect |
which remedy he shall pursue, the United States
Attorney may not so elect and the Court may
A not. Indeed there may be no. executive or judi-
_ (ial election, for as Mr. Justice Butler has pointed
“out in his dissenting opinion in the Ford Coupe
case, the law, that is, Section 20, lakes: the elec-
tion.

Absurd conclusions follow unless the word “shall”
as used in this section is accepted’ and construed in the

injunctive sense of “must”.

If the word “shall” as used in Section 26 were given
the discretionary interpretation urged by the govern-
ment we would have a statute providing that “when the
commissioner, his assistants, inspectors or any officer
of the law shall discover any person in the act of trans-

<

12

porting in violation of the law intoxicating liquors’ in
any wagon, automobile, water or air craft or other vehi-

cle, it may be his duty to seize any and all intoxicating
liquors found therein ree 1 contrary to
law.”

It is obvious that such an interpretation will not lie.
Indeed if the wording were “He shall seize”, instead of
it shall be his duty to seize”, the word “shall” would
require a mandatory interpretation. But the very use
of the term it shall be his duty to seize“, eliminates

any possible doubt as to whether Congress intended that

the provision should be mandatory.

The next. sentence of Section 26, if given a discre-

tionary construction, would require the following read-

ing: Whenever intoxicating liquors transported or

possessed illegally shall be seized by an officer he may
take possession of the vehicle and team or automobile,
boat, air or water craft or any other conveyance and
may arrest any person in charge thereof.”
This construction is illogical since it would permit
an officer discovering a violation. of the law to exercise

his discretion as to whether or not to arrest the person

unlawfully engaged.

. Reading further in Section 26 it becomes evident that
the very! next sentence requires beyond all. question, a
mandatory and not a discretionary construction of the
preceding sentence. For it assumes that the arrest shall

have been made, to-wit, “*.* * and shall arrest any per-

son in charge thereof. Sueh officer shall at once. proceed

against the person arrested under the provisions of this

title in any court having competent jurisdiction.” CAN
THIS. POSSIBLY MEAN THAT THE OFFICER MAY
AT ONCE PROCEED? OR THAD HE MAY PRO-
CEED UNDER SOME OTHER ‘STATUTE?

*

13

It is submitted that there is a direct conflict be-
tween Section 26. and Sections 3061-3062 by reason of the
fact that Section 26 in mandatory language requires that
proceedings must be brought under Section 26 whenever
violation of that section is discovered. Being mandatory’
the section precludes recourse to Sections 3061-3062 or
any other sections where a violation of both is.discovered,
thereby furnishing the direct ‘conflict referred to in the
Willis Campbell Act.

This identical argument was presented to the Supreme
Court in the Richbourg. case to sustain the proposition
that Section 26 was in direct conflict with, and in à case
involving a violation of both had repealed; Section 3450.
How was it received by the. Court? The opinion of the
Court recites:

“This language ‘of Section 26 is in form manda-
tory throughout. It is made the ‘duty’ of the
officer discovering any person in the act of trans-
porting liquor to Beize the liquor, when ‘he shall

take possession of the vehicle’ and ‘shall arrest
any person in charge’ of it. He ‘shall at once pro-
ceed against the person arrested under the provi-
sions of this title’. The vehicle ‘shall be returned
to the owner’ upon his giving bond. ‘The court
upon conviction of the person so arrested * * * .

shall order a sale by public auction of the property
weized’ and the officer making the sale ‘shall pay
all liens which are established * * as being
bona fide and as having been created without the
lienor having any notice that the carrying vehicle
was being used or was to be used for illegal trans-

portation of liquor * . It is plain that, when-
ever the vehicle seized by the arresting officers ‘is
discovered in use in the prohibited transportation,
literal compliance with these requirements would
compel ,the_forfei 6
consequent protection of the interests of. innocent

é

14

lienors, To that extent, Section 26, if interpreted
to exact such compliance, is in direct conflict with
the forfeiture provisions of Section 3450 and
supersedes them whenever any person within the
provisions of Section 26 is- discovered ‘in the act
of transporting * * * intoxicating liquors’ in
any * * * vehicle,’ which liquor is ‘removed * * *
deposited or concealed * * with intent to de-
fraud the United States’ of the tax. But the gov-
ernment contends that Section 26 is not to be read
thus literally; that it was not intended by its
mandatory phrases to do more than state generally
the duty resting on all law enforcement officers to
enforce the law, but which leaves them free, when
the same act or transaction constitutes an offense
under different statutes, to proceed under either
‘one. It is argued that Section 26 could not have
been intended to preclude district attorneys from
prosecuting violations of Section 3450 merely be-
- cause: they involve transportation, and it can no
less be taken to deprive them of their election to
forfeit the offending vehicle under either section.

“Undoubtedly, ‘shall’ is sometimes the equiva-
lent of ‘may’ when used in a statute prospectively.
affecting government action. See Railroad v.
Hect, 95 U. S. 168; West Wisconsin Ry. Co. v.
Foley, 94 U. S. 100, 103. The usual provisions of
eriminal statutes prescribed is not necessarily to
be taken, as against the government, to direct
prosecution under that rather than some other ap-
plicable statute.

“But the prescription im detail, by Section 26,
whenever transportation is involved, of successive
steps to be taken which, if followed, lead unavoid-
- ably to forfeiture under that section and no other,

with the important consequence of protecting the
interests of innocent third persons, suggests a defi-
nite purpose to make the protection effective by
bringing all ‘forfeitures in such cases under its
controlling provisions. If the purpose were the
more general one of imposing on ‘government of-
ficers. the general duty to procure the forfeiture
at their election, either under Section 26 or any
ae ae ;

15

other applicable statute, most of the requirements
‘of Section 26 might have been omitted. The end
sought could have been attained more easily by the
simple enactment, in the language of Section 3450,
that the offending vehicle ‘shall be forfeited’, sav-
ing the rights of innocent lienors if the proceeding

were had under Section 26.

And again ‘We think that Congress did not

take the precaution to enact the carefully chosen
language of Section 26 merely to impose general
duties on prosecuting officers, alre placed on
them by other sections of the Act, but that its pur-
pose was. to preclude the nullification of the pro-
tection which Section 26 has extended to innocent
third persons. (Italics ours.)

What the Supreme Court pronounced ia the Rich-
bourg case concerning the effect of the enactment of the
National Prohibition Act upon the Revenue LDR. 8.
3450) applies with equal force to its effect upon R. S.
3061-3062. Indeed the government recognized and urged
voth in its brief in the Richbourg case and in its argu-
ment before the Court that an adverse decision would
bar the use by the government of the customs sections in
Cases just such as are now under consideration. As a
matter of fact in the Davies Motor Company case, argued _
and decided with the Richbourg case, the facts of record,
showed that the liquor was amuggied.

In its brief submitted to this Court. in the case of
. Richbourg Motor Co. v. United States, No. 452 of the
- October, 1929 term, the Government took the position that
if that case was decided adversely to the Government,
it would follow that in a case involving transportation
the customs sections could: not be employed, or in other
words, that the theory advanced by the petitioner in the
Richbourg case relative to R. S. 3450 is equally appligable

16

to R. B. 3061-62. We quote trom the Goverament’s brief,
at page 23:

The construction of Section 26 as compulsory °
and exclusive in all cases where transportation is
involved will produce consequences which could

\: hardly have been intended * * * where a vehicle
is used to smuggle intoxicating liquor and is

\seized while transporting such liquor across an
international border, it may be forfeited only under
Section 26, although the offense of smuggling, en-
tailing a complete forfeiture under Sections 3061-62

S. (U. S. C. Title 19, Sections 481-483), has
* simultaneously committed. * * * In short,
where a vehicle or vesseh.is used in the illegal
transportation of liquor, the Government is pre-
cluded from securing a forféiture not only under
Section 3450 for tax evasion, but under any other
statute imposing a forfeiture for some other simul-

_ taneous offense, such as under the Customs or.

Navigation Laws, where the interests of innocent,
owners are not saved.” )

_ POINT 1.

A. The basis. of the alleged conflict between the
Customs sections and the National Prohibition Act
is identical with the basis of the alleged conflict. be-
tween the Revenue section and the National Pro-

0 hibition Act.

B. No greater r relief i altended an
‘aggrieved claimant under the Customs sections than
afforded an nee claimant under the Revenue

We “have seen that the basic conflict es the
Revenue Law and the Prohibition Law rests upon the
fact, first, that the Prohibition Law being 3

— a

17

precludes recourse to any other section, and second, and
more forcibly, the fact that the Revenue. section doe#
not save the rights of innocent parties whereas the Na-
tional Prohibition Act does. This conflict was very
clearly indicated by Mr. J ustice Stone in his concurring
opinion in the Ford Coupe case. Although what he
stated referred to the Revenue section, no violence would

be done to the force of his logie if his language were

adapted to refer to the Customs sections. Mr. -Justice
Stone said:

41 agree that the Willis Campbell Act requires
_ Section 3450 of the Revised Statutes and Section
“ 26. of the National Prohibition Act to be so con-
strued as to stand together in 80 far as they are
not in direct conflict... .
I agree also that there conceivably. may be a.
deposit or concealment of illicit liquor in an auto-
mobile with intent to defraud the United States
of the tax upon it, which is not transportation
within the meaning of Section 26, and to that
‘extent the. two sections are not in conflict: But
‘I cannot subscribe to those expressions in the
opinion which seem to suggest that the two sec-
tions are not in direct conflict in a case where
there is truneportation ,of liquor in a vehicle in
violation of the National Prohibition Law. with.
intent to deprive the United States of the tar.
In that case Section 26, it seems to me, plainly
directs that the seizure shall be made and proceed...
ings for the forfeiture of the seized vehicle had
under that section. In that event Section 26 saves
the interest of the innocent owner or lienor from
the ‘forfeiture required by Section 3450. It ap-
pears to me that the conflict in such a case is direct
and that Section 26 af its terms is een *
(Italies ours.) a

The Government has 1 taken this vais ot · the con-
fliet between the sections. In its brief in these cases

18
before the United States Cireuit Court of Appeals (un-
fortunately the Government's brief before this Court has
not been received at the present writing) it attempts to
show that this eonflict does not exist as between the
‘Prohibition and the Customs. Laws by endeavoring to
indicate that the rights in. seized - property of innocent
b parties are preserved and guarded under the Customs
Laws. We quote from page 10 of the Government's brief
before the United States Circuit. Court of Appeals.

. “In dealing with the Customs Laws, therefore, =

, if it may bé demonstrated that the rights in seized
property of such innocent persons are preserved
and guarded by the law the basis of the conflict
is removed, and if there be no conflict the two
sets of laws may then stand side by sfde available
for use as desired by 5 prosecuting officers under
- the facts.“

We agree with that hypothesis. 1
The Government's brief then goes on to veint out that

under Sections 613. and 618 of the Tariff Act of 1930

(19, V. 8. Code 1613, 1618) an innocent owner or lienor
may apply to the Secretary of the Treasury for remission ar
or mitigation of the forfeiture and argues that this right —
‘ to petition for remission or mitigation pregerves the
rights of the innocent owners and lienors and therefore
dissipates.the apparent conflict. However, that the right |
to petition the Secretary of the Treasury for remission -
or mitigation removes the conflict does not appear to be
‘the view of this Court, for the identical sections, 613
and 618 of the Tariff Act are available to an innocent
owner or lienor whose property has been forfeited under
the Revenue Section 3450, involved in the Richbourg
case, just as.they are available to one affected by the
Customs forfeiture sections. Section 709 of the Revenue

N 1 *
F RE ELEY PP OIE SE ASIN, PSE TO Dib CEPR NMS IANS YN TINE, IZ BE IT BREET BN SAGE EN ORIN AMG de

Sash

_ Act of 1928 provides “The provisions of law ‘applicable
to the remission or mitigation under the Customs Laws’
shall apply to forfeitures incurred or alleged to have

been incurred before or after May 29, 1928; under the.

00
ws

Internal Revenue Laws”.
Surely if this Court was not of the opinion when it
decided the Richbourg case that these remission sections
preserved the rights of innocent owners and lienors no
good. reason appears why a different * or
a construction should now - made. oy Ok
It is not difficuit to understand that the right to
petition the Secretary of the Treasury or the Attorney
General affords only poor and inadequate protection, if -
any, to the aggrieved innocent lienholder or owner. In
an important contribution to the law of. forfeitures, a
practising attorney of long * with forfeiture
cases has observed:

The Tariff Act provides for the remission or
mitigation of forfeitures incurred without willful —
negligence or intention on, the part of ‘the owner
or lienholder to violate the law. Act June 17,

1930, c. 497, 46 Stat. 757, Sec. 618, 19 U. S. C. A.
See. 1618; Prohibition Reorganization Act. May
27, 1930, e. 342, Sec. 1, 46 Stat. 427, 27 U. S. C. A.
101- 108. This proyision has been extendéd to the
Internal. Revenue Act. May 29, 1928, e. 852, Sec.
709, 45 Stat. 882, 26 U. 8. C. A. Sec. 2709. The
procedure is a petition addressed to the proper
member of the Cabinet: The Secretary of the
Treasury, The Secretary of Commerce, or the At-

torney General as the case may be.
The purpose is, obviously, that of pro-
- tecting the interests of innocent persons.’ Treasury
Decision 35, July 12, 1928.

However beautiful may be the theory, experi-
ences demonstrates that the purported protection

2 . 5 —

20

is valueless. Effective operation of administrative.

remission under modern conditions is impossible.
During four and one-half years of contact with
‘forfeiture cases, the author has seen the claims
of innocent petitioners repeatedly stricken down.
It is this situation which necessitates this note.

“Obviously no cabinet officer can give to each
petition for remission adequate personal considera-
_tion, yet personal judgment is mandatory and the
discretion is non-delegable. United States ex rel.
Heller v. Mellon, 40 Fed. (2d) 808 (D. C. App.
1930). The adjudication cannot. be reviewed by
any court. General. Finance Co. of Louisiana v.

United States, 45 Fed. (2d) 380 (C. C. A. 5th,

1930).

Even if the. official, neglecting national issues,
personally considered “each petition, he could not
grant adequate relief. He is limited to the peti-
tion and affidavits filed by the claimant and the

reports of his own officials, which are apparently.

in all cases presumed to be true. Although the
remission statute grants the Administrative official
the right to ‘have testimony taken, the right is
seldom if ever used. Sitting as a trial court, he
has no evidence to act on and is responsible to
no appellate jurisdiction!

The petitioner has no right to face those who
accuse him of negligence or connivance—facts

has any justification for refusing the petition.
The petitioner has no right to cross examine those
who accuse him. Having filed his petition, he
must wait in silence for the decision from Wash-
ington. What reports are sent to the eapital he
never knows.

Another practical impediment to remission has
received scant attention. By the Act of Mar. 3,

that must be found before the Cabinet member

1925, c. 438, Sec. 2, 43 Stat. 1116, 19 U. S. C. A.

523, as amended May 27, 1930, e. 342 „Sub- Sec. 9,

10; Stat. 430, 27 U. S. . A. 42, it is provided

that any vehicle forfeited through Court for viola-
tion of the Prohibition, Internal Revenue or Cus-

21

toms Acts may, upon application of the head of
the department for which the seizure was made,
be transferred by the Court to the federal officials
for use in the enforcement services. By the same
act it is provided that in case of summary for-

feiture, such a transfer may be made by ‘the

head of the department himself. ;

Witness the party becoming judge in his own
case—a condition contrary to the fundamentals
of- our jurisprudence. Faced with a petition for
remission and a request from his subordinates for
a transfer of the car; the .Cabinet official must
find himself in an embarrassing situation. In
such. a case it is much simpler to. refuse the

‘petition ofa stranger than to refuse the applica-.

tion. of a subordinate for an instrument. that,
without cost, will increasé the effectiveness of en-

forcement.

It is provided that the court, in court for-
feitures, may transfer the automobile, but it is
interesting to note that the innocent owner or
lienor has no right to oppose such an order and
insist on the questionable right of salvaging some
part of his loss by buying the car on auction sale.
The Alert, 24 Fed. (2d) 239. :

To all practical intents, therefore, ee is no
effective protection of the innocent under these

acts“ (McDonald, Automobile Forfeitures, Texas

Law Review, February, 1932).

“Section 26 of the National Prohibition Act permits
the aggrieved innocent owner or lienor to present his
claim before the Court. Until the Congress sees fit to
amend the Tariff Act to give an innocent lienor or owner
that same right it cannot be said that the dubious ad-
ministrative relief of mitigation or remission “by grace”
is a saving of the claimant’s rights equivalent to the
protection afforded him by the Prohibition Act so as to
eliminate the conflict.

PRE re

30 ONES PN MYLO AR AN TET i BIE ITS

POINT III.

A. Section 26 Title II of the National Prohibi-
tion Act supersedes the forfeiture provisions of Sec-
tions 3061-3062 of the revised statutes in cases in-
volving both the unlawful importation and trans- |
portation of intoxicating liquor.

B. .There has been no reenactment of laine
provisions of Sections 3061-3062 here involved. „

Section 3062 shite provides for forfeiture” of the
vehicle unlawfully engaged. a

modified was partially reenacted as Section 581 of Ahe
Tariff Act of 1922, as follows:

“Officers of the customs or of the Cogét Guard,
and agents or other persons authorxed by the
Secretary of the Treasury, or appoisfted for that

purpose in writing by a collector may at any time
go on board of any vessel or vehle at any place
in the United States or within four leagues of the
coast of the United States, Without as well as
within their respective disjficts, to examine the
manifest and to inspect, arch, and examine the
vessel or vehicle, and eyéry part thereof, ahd any
person, trunk, or pacage on board, and -to this
end ‘to hail and stop such vessel or vehicle, if
under’ way, and us all necessary force to compel
eompliance, and Af it shall appear that any breach
or violation of/the laws of the United States has
been commiffed, whereby or in consequence of
‘which such vessel - or vehicle, or the merchandise,
or any part thereof, on board of or imported by
Such vessel or vehicle is liable to forfeiture, it shall
be the duty of n officer to make seizure of the

?

engaged in pase 3 or violation.“

*
e

mn GON LAM RE TIAN I HF RSE Sy DION eee EER TG AG: BONO MAW

23

. —

Section 3061 as it still appears as Section 482 of 19
U. S. C. A. set forth at page 4 of this brief, was not
reenacted, nor was any part of 3062 reenacted in either
the Tariff Act of 1922 or 1930. In other words the see-
tions under which these particular libels are brought re-
mained in force only by virtue of their original enact-
ment prior to the National Prohibition Act and are
therefore statutes which were “in force“ within the mean-
ing of the Willis Campbell Act.
It is true, as the government will undoubtedly point
out, that other sections may be found in the Tariff Law
affecting importation, but these cases are concerned spe-
cifically with Sections 3061-3062, never reenacted. 0

Indeed, if there had been a reenactment of these par-
ticular sections they would not supersede the Prohibition f
section. Such result might have followed if instead of
enacting new general Tariff laws, Congress had singled
out these particular sections for amendatory legislation.
It might even have followed if Congress enacting a new
general Tariff Law had made substantial changes in the
forfeiture sections, That is not, however, the case. af

Between the time of the enactment of the Willis
Campbell Act in 1921 and the Tariff Act of 1922, Re-
vised Statutes, Sections 3061-2 were statutes “in force”
within the mganing of the Willis Campbell Act. They
occupied the same relative position to Section 26 of the
Prohibition Act as did Sectfon 3450, for all were sections
enacted prior to 1919 and all contained provisions which
‘were subsequently to be held in conflict with Section 26.

The mere restatement or reenactment of these provi-

aa sions would not have changed the position which Sections

3061-3062 occupied relative to Section 26 of the Prohibi-
tion Act, because the identical sections “in force” before

the adoption of the 1922 act would hsye continued. “in
force” after such adoption. To assume that the mere
“restatement of these sections already “in force” would
have changed the position which ‘these sections occupied
relative to Section 26, we must reach the conclusion that
Sections 3061-2 if reenacted would be open to different
| construction from 3061-2 already in force. That conclu-
sion would not lie, for it has been repeatedly held that
the reenactment in the same or substantially the same
terms of a statute which has received a judicial construc--
tion, amounts to a legal adoption of such a construction
(Heald v. District of Columbia, 254 U. S. 20; 9. 8. v.
Feld, 204 U. S. 142). :
A4s far as its effect upon forfeiture procedure is con-
cerned, the reenactment of these sections would be nega-
_ tive and superfluous; because even if there had been no
Tariff: Act of 1922 and no Tariff Act of 1930, the old pro-
visions 3061 and 3062 would continue “in force” just as
does 3450.and would be available to the government in
all cases except those involving transportation of intoxi-
eating liquor“ It will be remembered: that in the Ford
. Coupe case the petitioners had contended that the enact-
ment of the Prohibition Law had in effect repealed See-
tion 3450. If that cohtention had been sustained then a
reenactment of Section 3450 would have been necessary
before that section could have been invoked in a case not
involving transportation. That is clear from the lan-
guage of Mr. Justice Stone in the Ford Coupe case as
well as in the Richbourg case where the mandatory lan-
guage of Section 26 is so carefully analyzed and where
such importance is given to it. ;
So „it is with the Customs sections, no reenactment was
necessary to preserve those sections to.the use of the
government in a case not involving transportation; the

25

reenactment would not make the sections available to the
government in a case which does involve transportation.

It is, of course, a well established doctrine. that a
-later statute, general in its terms and not expressly |
repealing a prior statute, will not ordinarily affect the
special provisions of such earlier statute In re Crow
i Dog, 109 U. 8. 536).

This doctrine was urged by the petitioner 11 Callahan
v. United States, 576, decided April 11, 1932 (United
States Daily, April 12, 1932) by this Court. The follow-
ing is quoted from the opinion of the Court: Lae

“we are asked to hold that one who violates
the Prohibition Act by importing liquor may not
be indicted, tried and sentenced under the Tariff
Aet which makes the importation of ‘any mer-
chandise contrary to law’ a criminal offense. The
phrase ‘contrary to law’ as used in, a later act
is unqualified, and taken in its natural méaning
signifies ‘contrary to any law’, and hence con-
trary to the earlier Prohibition Act, so that a
violation of that Act would be an offense within
the other. * * *

The petitioner urges that the National Prohibi-
tion Act deals specifically with ‘intoxicating liquor,
prohibits its importation and provides a penalty
therefor ; whereas the Tariff. Act is concerned with

- a wholly separate subject, and the penal section
593-b aimed at unlawful importation should. not
be construed as repealing | the earlier special

statute.

* This argument overlooks the fact the National oe

; Prohibition Act prescribed no special penalty for
importation and violation of its provisions. Sec-
tion 26, of: Title II, an omnibus section fixing
N penalties for violations tor which no special pen-
alty is prescribed, is the only one under which
punishment could be imposed for illegal trans-

portation. .The language used is sufficiently broad

20

to inelude specific penalties fixed in other sections

of the statute and also such as might be imposed
„by separate legislation. The Tariff Act, a later
statute, fixes a. definite penalty for one of the

* violations grouped in the penal section of the
earlier act. In this respect it superseded the gen-

eral provisions of the prior statute embracing ©

the same statute.“

It any analogy is to be dr awn between the Callahan
“case and the instant case, is it not that inasmuch as
‘Section 26 of the National Prohibition Act is concerned

.

with a specific unlawful act, that is, transportation, and 7

fully prescribes the procedure for forfeiture in a case
involving transportation, ‘the reenactment of the Customs
sections, which do not specificalky conéern themselves
with transportation offenses, unassociated with unlawful
importation, would be subject,to the rule above referred
to—that the later general statute should not be con-
strued as repea g the earlier special statute.

However, speculation on the possible. effect’ of the
reenactment of the section under which these libels are

brought is perhaps unprofitable since there was no such

reenactment.

C onclusion.

eee The position. set forth in. this brief is supported not
alone by precedent and statute but by logic and by the
dictates of fairness and justice. It is supported by stat-

ute in that the forfeiture provisions of the Customs Law

being inconsistent with the provisions of the National

Prohibition Act are declared by the Willis Campbell Act

to have been superseded by the latter. It is supported by
logic in that it is unreasonable to assume that the fon-

gress enacting a Prohibition Act in 1919 should have in-
tended that a provision deliberately included in that Act

1
1

27 *

be discarded for enforcement purposes in tavor of a pro-
vision of an Act of 1866, the ¢urrent use of which is se
obyiously designed to accomplish the general intent of
the discarded seetion, while at the same time making
nugatory and unavailable those provisions of that section
which protect innocent lien ‘holders. The Prohibition
Act was designed 30 correct an evil and was never in-
tended to be the instrument with which to visit for-
teitures and penalties upon innocent persons. It is sup
ported by fairness and justice since the drastic ‘nemedy
ot the Customs Law is directed not alone against the
transgressor, but against the innocent lienor, whose rights
are 80 clearly intended to be guarded by the National
Prohibition Act.

Justice, for ewample, can nay countenance the con-
fiscation of an automobile and the forfeit#e of the prop-

erty of an innocent lienor and the abandonment of an;

criminal prosecution of the actual offender. Yet such
cases are frequent. y

he frequent practice of 8 is to secure
forfeiture under the tax law in advance of bringing a

criminal prosecution, if any.” Howard Lee McBain,

Ruggles Professor of Constitutional Law in Columbia
University. * Legal and Illegal,” Macmillan
1928. g 4

It is, we believe, a fair assumption that the conditions
surrounding the initial.enactment of the forfeiture pro-
visions of the Customs Law: were so different from those
surrounding the passage of the Prohibition Act that this
Court is justified in taking judicial notice of the differing
conditions. The commercial and banking contacts in the
period of 1866 were direct and simple and it is fairly
inferable that vendors, vendees ‘and mortgagees had op-
portunity to have reasonable notice of their respective

8

&
28

purposes and intentions. We are now in a totally differ-
ent age, in which-such parties know nothing of each other
and in most transactions do not even meet. Commercial
and banking transactions. are impersonally conducted,
in fact cannot be conducted in any other manner. Trade,
commerce and banking must be facilitated with rapid and
intelligent service. This is fundamentally the age of.
transportation—the motor age. The mass production of
motors and its complement, mass consumption, required
the creation of coordinated banking facilities for con-
sumers, as the majority of motors are sold on credit with
supporting liens on the motors so sold ( see Prof. Edwin
R. A. Seligman, MacVickar Professor of Political Econ-
_ omy, Columbia University, on “The Economics of Install-
ment Selling“ Harper & Bro. 1927), Great banking in-
stitutions have arisen specializing in this type of credit.
Subtract the credit sales of motors and this great industry
would shrink in volume. to its great damage and that of
related and supporting industries. The framers of the
Prohibition Act in drafting Section 26 must have had in
mind the equitable protection of the banking institutions
which in good faith, lawful purpose and innocence. of con-
ntving at infractions of law, finance motor lien paper to
the extent of billions of dollars per annum. What good
purpose can be subserved by visiting losses upon them by
invoking the operation of a statute whose harshhess was
80 obviously intended to be negatived by the terms of
Section, 267,
It may be pertinent to indicate to this Court that
those who have suffered from the promiscuous use of the
. Customs Sections, bankers and automobile . merchants,
haye no quarrel with the National Prohibition Act nor
with its strict enforcement. They neither condone the
offenses against it nor approve or support the offender.

n *

29 a ie
Great care is employed to finance only sound risks and to
prevent automobiles from coming into possession of boot-
leggers, rum runners ‘and other improper persons.:

These forfeiture proceedings have resulted from those 8
instances where, notwithstanding the care exereised to
prevent it, cars have been purchased, generally through
subterfuge, by those unlawfully engaged or those ‘who’
purchase with Intent of lawful use and later determine to
engage in illegal acts.

Your Amicus, speaking for the automobile merchants
and the special banking corporations which are interested,
respectfully submits that justice cannot give countenance
to permitting. the resurrection of an ancient statutory
provision for the. harsh ee AP of a modern statute
to the injury of innocent persons whose rights that mod-
ern statute itself jealously preserves.

“The damnable character of the ‘bootlegger’s’.
business should not close aur eyes to the mischief
which will surely follow any attempt to destroy it

a by unwarranted methods. ‘To press forward to
a great principle by breaking through every other
great principle that stands in the way of its estab-
lishment; * * * in short, to procure an eminent
good by means that are unlawful, is as little con-
sonant to private morality as to public justice’ ”
(Mr. Justice McReynolds, dissenting in Carroll v.
United States, 267 U. S. 132, at seed

It is respectfully submitted that questions 1 and
2 should be answered “Yes” and that question 3
should be answered “No”

Respectfully submitted,

JOSEPH G. MYERSON,
Amicus curiae.

a ee ee N * *

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386008_0173%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
