# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Goodwill v. Texas A&M University Medical School

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1679%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 872

## Text

App. 4

I. Case Background

Derrick Goodwill, an African-American male and
former student at the Texas A&M College of Medicine
(“College of Medicine”), filed this suit against the College
of Medicine and three members of its faculty, alleging that
he was wrongfully dismissed from its medical program in
violation of 42 U.S.C. § 1981 (“Section 1981”), 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983 (“Section 1983”), Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of
1964 (“Title VI”), the Americans with Disabilities Act
(“ADA”), and Texas state law.’

Plaintiff initially enrolled in the College of Medicine in
1996.* During Plaintiff’s first two years of course work
there, he satisfied all academic requirements.‘ His aca-
demic troubles began during his third year of medical
school, in which he was required to take part in several
clinical clerkships. After passing his first clerkship, he
began his second clerkship, in Pediatrics, on August 17,
1998.° During that clerkship, Plaintiff noticed that he felt
overly fatigued during the daytime and would often fall
asleep during classroom lectures.’ After undergoing tests,
Plaintiff was told he either had narcolepsy or sleep depri-
vation syndrome.’ His pulmonologist recommended that,

* Plaintiff asserts claims under state law for civil conspiracy,
breach of fiduciary duty, and intentional infliction of emotional distress.

* Affidavit of Kathleen M. Fallon, M.D., Docket Entry No. 56,
Exhibit A (“Fallon Aff.”) J 3.

* Id. {9 5-7.
* Id. {4% 9-10.

* Affidavit of Derrick Goodwill, Docket Entry 58, Exhibit 41
(“Goodwill Aff.”) at 3.

” See Fallon Memorandum to File dated August 26, 1998, Docket
Entry No. 58, Exhibit 21.

App. 5

for the next three weeks, Plaintiff get at least eight hours
of sleep per night.’ Plaintiff requested, and was subse-
quently granted, a leave of absence to resolve his medical
problems.”

After an approximately three-week leave of absence,
Plaintiff returned to the program and began the Internal
Medicine clerkship under the supervision of Ben Green
(“Green”), the clerkship coordinator.” The Internal Medi-
cine clinic is divided into six weeks of inpatient medicine
and six weeks of outpatient medicine.” Plaintiff failed the
inpatient portion.”

At a January 14, 1999, meeting held by the Student
Promotions Committee (“SPC”), Green proposed a reme-
diation plan requiring Plaintiff to retake the inpatient
portion of the clerkship.” The SPC accepted the plan and
placed Plaintiff on academic probation.“ In a letter dated
January 19, 1999, Kathleen Williams (“Fallon”’), the
Assistant Dean of Student Affairs, notified Plaintiff of the
SPC’s decision and explained, “While on probation, any
further failures may result in dismissal from medical

* Id.

* Letter from Fallon to Michael Friedland, M.D., Vice-President for
Health Affairs and Dean of Medivine, dated September 7, 1998, Docket
Entry No. 58, Exhibit 20.

” Fallon Aff. J 13.
ll Id. ae
" Td.

” Id.; Affidavit of Ben Green, M.D., Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit
C. (“Green Aff.”) { 4.

* Green Aff. 7 4.
“ Defendant Williams is now known as Kathleen Fallon.

App. 6

school.”* Plaintiff appealed his failing grade, complaining
that his clinical evaluators neither gave him feedback nor
told him he was in danger of failing the inpatient rota-
tion.” After investigating Plaintiff’s claims, Green con-
firmed that Plaintiff had not been given sufficient
feedback and agreed to change his grade from an “F” to
an “IP” (or “in progress”) while Plaintiff retook the inpa-
tient portion.” Nonetheless, Plaintiff remained on aca-
_ demic probation.”

Plaintiff passed his next clerkship, in General Sur-
gery.” Even so, his instructors noted deficiencies in Plain-
tiff’s ability to solve problems and reason in the clinical
setting.” Therefore, the SPC imposed an additional re-
quirement that Plaintiff complete an acting internship in
General Surgery during his fourth year.” Plaintiff passed
his next clerkship, in Psychiatry.”

After completing his Psychiatry clerkship, Plaintiff
began the Family Medicine clerkship, which ran from May
10, 1999, through June 18, 1999.” In a letter dated July
18, 1999, Fallon notified Plaintiff that he had failed the
Family Medicine clerkship and explained that members of

* Letter from Fallon to Plaintiff dated January 19, 1999, Docket
Entry No. 23, Exhibit C-2.

* Green Aff. 7 5.
* Id. 1 6.

* Id. J 7.

* Fallon Aff. ¥ 15.

* Td.; see also Plaintiff’s Surgery Clerkship Grade Form, Docket
Entry No. 56, Exhibit A-3. —

* Fallon Aff. 9 15.
* Id. J 16.
* Id. 4 17.

App. 7

the SPC had expressed their concern about his difficulty
solving problems and reasoning in the clinical setting.”
Fallon also explained to Plaintiff that, pursuant to the
remediation plan approved by the SPC, he was required to
retake the Family Medicine clerkship and also undergo
psychometric testing.” Fallon warned Plaintiff that “any
further failures, while on probation, could result in expul-
sion.”

On June 28, 1999, Plaintiff began his Pediatrics
clerkship, which had been delayed by his leave of ab-
sence.” He completed the clerkship on August 6, 1999, but
did not receive a passing grade.~ The Pediatrics depart-
ment recommended a six-weeks remediation.” The SPC
rejected this recommendation and, instead, voted to
recommend to Roderick McCallum (“McCallum”), the
Interim Dean of the College of Medicine, that Plaintiff be
dismissed from the medical school for academic deficien-
cies.” McCallum accepted the SPC’s recommendation and
notified Plaintiff of his decision.” Plaintiff then appealed
his failing grades from the Family Medicine and Pediatrics
clerkships.” McCallum granted Plaintiff the right to

* Letter from Fallon to Plaintiff dated July 8, 1999, Docket Entry
No. 56, Exhibit A-7.

-

™ Id.

* Fallon Aff. { 18.
* Id. J 20.

” Id. { 22.

” Affidavit of Roderick E. McCallum, Ph.D., Docket Entry No. 56,
Exhibit B (“McCallum Aff.”) ¥ 3.

* Id. ¥ 4; Letter from McCallum to Plaintiff dated September 9,
1999, Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit B-1.

* McCallum Aff. { 8.

App. 8

appeal and appointed two separate committees to consider
the appeals.“ Both committees upheld the failing grades
and McCallum affirmed the decisions.*

In a letter dated January 10, 2000, McCallum de-
clined to grant Plaintiff an appeal of his dismissal from
the school.” McCallum wrote to Plaintiff, “After discussion
with faculty and careful consideration, I feel that the
issues you raised were addressed at the two grade appeal
hearings or represent a misunderstanding of school policy
on your part.”

Plaintiff filed this lawsuit on January 10, 2002.“ He
amended his complaint on May 24, 2002.° On July 30,
2002, the Defendants moved for summary judgment on all
of Plaintiff’s claims except his Title VI claim against the
College of Medicine and his ADA claim against McCallum.”
The undersigned magistrate judge recommended the motion
be granted in part and denied in part, and the district court
subsequently adopted this recommendation.“ The result

* Id. ¥{ 8-9; Letter from McCallum to Plaintiff dated November 9,
1999, Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit B-4.

* McCallum Aff. 49; Letters from McCallum to Plaintiff dated
November 24, 1999, Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit B-5.

* Letter from McCallum to Plaintiff dated January 10, 2000,
Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit B-7.

* Id.

* Plaintiff’s Original Complaint, Docket Entry No.1. -

* Plaintiff’s Amended Original Complaint, Docket Entry No. 20
(“Amended Complaint”).

“ Defendants’ Motion for Partial Summary Judgment, Docket
Entry No. 23.

“' Memorandum, Recommendation and Order, Docket Entry No. 33
(“MRO”); Order Adopting Magistrate Judge’s Memorandum and
Recommendation, Docket Entry No. 35.

App. 9

was that the court granted summary judgment in the
Defendants’ favor on Plaintiff’s Section 1981 and Section
1983 claims, Title VI claim against the individual Defen-
dants, and state law claims against the College of Medi-
cine.” The motion was denied as to Plaintiff’s ADA claim
and state law claims against the individual Defendants.“
Additionally, the court lifted the existing stay on discovery
to give Plaintiff an opportunity to ascertain information
relevant to his remaining causes of action.“

Thus, Plaintiff has several claims pending: a Title VI
claim asserted against the College of Medicine, ADA
claims against the Defendants, and state law claims
against the individual Defendants.

On April 5, 2004, per court order, Defendants moved
for summary judgment on these remaining claims.“
Plaintiff responded in kind and also moved to strike
portions of Defendants’ summary judgment evidence.” The
court now considers both motions.

II. Motion to Strike

Plaintiff moves to strike part of Defendants’ summary
judgment evidence. He first argues that the affidavits
of Fallon, McCallum, and Green contain inadmissible

“ MRO at 34.
* Id.
nae

“ Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgment With Brief in
Support, Docket Entry No. 56 (“Motion for Summary Judgment”).

“ Brief in Support. of and Response to Defendants’ Motion for
Summary Judgment and Motion to Strike, Docket Entry No. 58
(“Plaintiff’s Response” and “Motion to Strike”).

App. 10

hearsay, statements not made on personal knowledge,
legal conclusions, expert opinions without proper founda-
tion, and statements that violate the best evidence rule.”
As an initial matter, the court notes that Plaintiff raised
some of these same objections earlier, as part of his re-
sponse to Defendants’ motion for partial summary judg- -
ment. The court overruled those objections then and finds
no reason to deviate from that determination now. Thus, to
the extent Plaintiff merely repeats the same objections he
made previously, those objections are OVERRULED.

With that said, the court recognizes that many of
Plaintiff’s objections to statements contained in the
affidavits are dissimilar to those he raised previously. The
court has considered the new objections and finds them
largely devoid of merit. However, the court does find merit
with Plaintiff’s objection to statements made by Fallon,
McCallum, and Green in their affidavits that Plaintiff was
afforded full “due process” in connection with his dis-
missal. To the extent these statements are legal conclu-
sions, the court agrees they should be stricken from the
record. These particular objections are, therefore, SUS-
TAINED. All other objections to the these affidavits are
OVERRULED. Plaintiff also objects to certain exhibits
attached to the affidavits.” The court finds no merit to

“ Plaintiff incorrectly cites the Best Evidence Rule as Federal Rule
of Evidence 106. In actuality, this rule is found in Federal Rule of
Evidence 1002, which requires production of the original writing to
prove the contents of that writing.

“ Plaintiff makes three objections to the exhibits. First, he objects
to Exhibit A-9 (the report of Louis A. Gamine, Ph.D., setting forth the
results of Plaintiff’s psychometric testing) on the grounds that its
disclosure violates the physician-patient privilege. This objection is
without merit. Here, the relevance of Dr. Gamino’s report is confined to
the issue of whether Plaintiff possessed a disability, i.e., it — only

(Continued on following page)

App. 11

these objections and, therefore, they are OVERRULED.
Accordingly, Plaintiff’s motion should be GRANTED IN
PART and DENIED IN PART.”

Ill. Summary Judgment Standard

The standards for sunmmary judgment under federal
law are well established. Summary judgment is warranted
only when the evidence before the court fails to raise any
genuine issues of material fact and the movant is entitled to
judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); Celotex
Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986). A dispute is

be relevant to Plaintiff’s federal ADA claim. It is well-settled, however,
that no physician-patient privilege exists under federal law. Gilbreath
v. Guadalupe Hosp. Found., Inc., 5 F.3d 785, 791 (5th Cir. 1993). Thus,
although a physician-patient privilege does exist under Texas law, see
Texas Rule of Evidence 509, that privilege is irrelevant in this instance
because state law is not implicated.

Next, Plaintiff objects to Exhibits D-2 and D-3 (the June 1997 and
June 1998 Student Handbooks) because they are incomplete, and to
Exhibits D-2, D-3, D-4, and D-5 (Student Handbooks from June 1997
through December 1999) because they are irrelevant. This objection is
overruled as well. First, the court finds that Defendants were under no
obligation to submit the entire text of each Student Handbook. Under
the rule of optional completeness stated in Federal Rule of Evidence
106, if Plaintiff believed the omitted pages were material, he had the
option to supplement the record with those pages. Second, the court is
hard-pressed to understand how the Student Handbooks could be
considered irrelevant. They set out the applicable procedures and
guidelines for grading, remediation, leaves of absence, grade appeals,
academic probation, and academic dismissal, all issues that are
relevant to the claims in this lawsuit.

Finally, Plaintiff objects to “any hearsay contained within the
documents” attached to the affidavits of Fallon and McCallum. This
vague and generalized objection simply does not merit consideration by
the court.

“ The specific objections the court will sustain are: In (in part), 1s,
2a, 2f, and 6 (in part, as it pertains to ¥ 9 of Dr. Green’s Affidavit).

App. 12

“genuine” if the evidence would permit a reasonable jury
to return a verdict in favor of the nonmoving party. Ander-
son v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986); TIG
Ins. Co. v. Sedgwick James of Washington, 276 F.3d 754,
759 (5th Cir. 2002). A fact is “material” if the relevant
substantive law identifies it as one that might reasonably
affect the outcome of the case. Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. at
248; Ameristar Jet Charter, Inc. v. Signal Composites, Inc.,
271 F.3d 624, 626 (5th Cir. 2001).

The movant must inform the court of the basis for a
grant of summary judgment by identifying relevant
excerpts from pleadings, depositions, answers to inter-
rogatories, admissions, and affidavits on file, that demon-
strate the absence of genuine issues of material fact. Fed.
R. Civ. P. 56(c); Celotex Corp., 477 U.S. at 323; Topalian v.
Ehrman, 954 F.2d 1125, 1131 (5th Cir. 1992). If the moving
party satisfies its burden, the adverse party must go
beyond the pleadings and produce competent evidence
which demonstrates that genuine issues of material fact
exist that must be resolved by a trier of fact. Fed. R. Civ. P.
56(e); Celotex, 477 U.S. at 324. The adverse party, how-
ever, must show more than “some metaphysical doubt as
to the material facts” to withstand summary judgment.
Meinecke v. H & R Block of Houston, 66 F.3d 77, 81 (5th
Cir. 1995). Conclusory statements, speculation, and
unsubstantiated assertions are not sufficient to raise
material fact issues for trial. TJG Ins., 276 F.3d at 759.
When deciding whether the evidence creates a genuine
issue of material fact, the court resolves all doubts and
draws all justifiable inferences in favor of the party
opposing the motion. Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. at 255;
Fierros v. Tex. Dep’t of Health, 274 F.3d 187, 190 (5th Cir.
2001).

App. 13

IV. Legal Analysis
A. Title VI

Plaintiff asserts a claim against the College of Medi-
cine under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42
U.S.C. § 2000d, which prohibits racial discrimination in
the administration of federally funded programs. In its
motion for summary judgment, the College of Medicine
contends it is entitled to summary judgment on this claim
because Plaintiff is unable to demonstrate that his race
was a motivating factor in the decision to dismiss him
from the medical school.

Title VI provides: “No person in the United States
shall, on the ground of race, color, or national origin, be
excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or

be subjected to discrimination under any program or _

activity receiving Federal financial assistance.” 42 U.S.C.
§ 2000d. Therefore, to prevail on a Title VI claim, a plain-
tiff must show that the defendant: (1) received funding
from the federal government; and (2) engaged in inten-
tional discrimination on the basis of race, color, or national
origin. 42 U.S.C. § 2000d; see also Alexander v. Sandoval,
532 U.S. 275, 280 (2001). Here, the first prong is satisfied,
as it is undisputed that the College of Medicine receives
federal financial assistance and is, therefore, subject to
Title VI’s prohibition against discrimination.” Thus, the
critical inquiry is whether the College of Medicine inten-
tionally discriminated against Plaintiff on the basis of his
race, color, or national origin.

” Motion for Summary Judgment at 13.

App. 14

Whether Plaintiff can show intentional discrimination
in this instance is determined using the burden-shifting
scheme set forth by the Supreme Court in McDonnell
Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 93 (1973)." See Freeman
v. Fahey, 374 F.3d 663, 666 (8th Cir. 2004) (applying
McDonnell Douglas test to a Title VI claim); Bryant v.
Indep. Sch. Dist. No. I-38 of Garvin County, Okla., 334
F.3d 928, 929-30 (10th Cir. 2003) (same); Baldwin v. Univ.
of Tex. Med. Branch at Galveston, 945 F. Supp. 1022, 1031-
34 (S.D. Tex. 1996) (same). ;

Under the McDonnell Douglas analytical framework,
a plaintiff must first establish a prima facie case of dis-
crimination. Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Prods., Inc.,
530 U.S. 133, 142-43 (2000); Price v. Fed. Express Corp.,
283 F.3d 715, 720 (5th Cir. 2002). If the plaintiff succeeds
_ in doing so, a presumption of discrimination arises, and
the burden shifts to the defendant to produce a legitimate,
nondiscriminatory reason for its alleged discriminatory
action. Tex. Dep’t of Cmty. Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248,
254-56 (1981); Price, 238 F.3d at 720. If the defendant
satisfies its burden, the presumption of discrimination
disappears, and the plaintiff must then prove the defen-
dant’s proffered reason is not true but, rather, a mere
pretext for intentional discrimination. Reeves, 530 U.S. at
142-43; Price, 238 F.3d at 720.

* Plaintiff, citing Pryor v. NCAA, 288 F.3d 548 (3rd Cir. 2002),
contends that an altogether different burden-shifting analysis is
applicable to his Title VI claim. In Pryor, the plaintiff alleged that the
NCAA violated Title VI by adopting a policy with the intent of discrimi-
nating against black athletes. In the case at bar, Plaintiff does not
specify a particular policy that he believes the College of Medicine
enacted with discriminatory motives. As a result, the burden-shifting

— standard set out in Pryor is inapplicable.

App. 15

In the Title VII employment context, a plaintiff can
establish a prima facie case of discrimination by showing
that he: (1) is a member of a protected class; (2) was
qualified for his position; (3) was subjected to an adverse
employment action; and (4) was replaced by someone
outside the protected class, or, in the case of disparate
treatment, shows that similarly situated employees not
members of his protected class were treated more favora-
bly. Bryan v. McKinsey & Co., 375 F.3d 358, 360 (5th Cir.
2004); Okove v. Univ. of Tex. Houston Health Sci. Ctr:, 245
F.3d 507, 512 (5th Cir. 2001). However, as Plaintiff’s claim
arose out of the academic context setting and does not
concern employment, the elements of the prima facie case
must be altered to fit the factual situation at hand._See
Burdine, 450 U.S. at 254 n.6 (noting that the prima facie
model set forth in McDonnell Douglas is not inflexible and
may be tailored to fit the particular factual scenario). As
an African-American, Plaintiff falls within a class pro-
tected by Title VI. He was admitted to the College of
Medicine, studied in its medical program for over three
years, and was subjected to an adverse action, i.e., dis-
missal.

The court stops to note that only Plaintiff’s dismissal
is actionable. In the court’s view, Title VI’s protections do
‘not extend to redressing below average grades or being
placed on academic probation. Applying the Title VII
requirement of an “ultimate employment action” to the
academic setting, the court finds that Title VI's private
right of action only reaches those “ultimate academic
decisions” such as dismissal or suspension. Cf. Mattern v.
Eastman Kodak Co., 104 F.3d 702, 707 (5th Cir. 1997)
(only “ultimate employment decisions” qualify as adverse
employment actions to establish a prima facie case of

App. 16

discrimination or retaliation); Dollis v. Rubin, 77 F.3d 777,
781-82 (5th Cir. 1995) (“Title VII was designed to address
ultimate employment decisions, not to address every
decision made by employers that arguably might have
some tangential effect upon those ultimate decisions”).”

To make out his prima facie case, Plaintiff must also
adduce some amount of evidence that he was treated
differently than similarly situated medical students who
were not members of his protected group. See Okove v.
Univ. of Tex. Houston Health Sci. Ctr., 245 F.3d 507, 514
(5th Cir. 2001). To make this showing, Plaintiff alleges
that other medical students failed the entire first year of
medical school but were permitted to repeat.” Even if the
court were to consider the first and third years of medical
school to be academically comparable, which it does not,
Plaintiff has failed to allege these similarly situated
students were members of a different racial class. As such,
Plaintiff cannot satisfy the fourth element of his prima
facie case and his claim must fail.

However, even assuming Plaintiff had established a
prima facie case, he is still required to demonstrate that
the College of Medicine’s proffered explanation for dismiss-
ing him is false or merely a pretext for intentional dis-
crimination based on his race. See Reeves, 530 U.S. at 143.
The College of Medicine explains that Plaintiff was dis-
missed because he failed three separate clinical clerkships.

“In addition to his dismissal from the College of Medicine,
Plaintiff also complains about the two academic probationary periods
on which he was placed prior to his dismissal. The court will discuss
those two probationary periods for background purposes only.

“ Amended Complaint {{ 25, 32; Plaintiff’s Response at 16-17.

App. 17

To prove that this explanation is a pretext for racial
discrimination, Plaintiff contends that he was dismissed
only because the individuals who gave him failing grades
or participated in the dismissal proceedings were racially
biased.

Plaintiff first focuses his attention on the Internal
Medicine clerkship. He alleges that Lawrence Barenholtz,
M.D., one of several physicians who evaluated him, held a
bias against African-Americans.™ As evidence of such,
Plaintiff submits the affidavit of Jacqueline McClanahan,
a registered nurse who worked at the same hospital
location as Dr. Barenholtz.”* McClanahan testified that
Dr. Barenholtz picked on Plaintiff, attributed to him
mistakes made by white students, assigned him the most
difficult patients to work with, and, on one occasion, made
a racially offensive comment to Plaintiff. She further
testified that, in her opinion, Dr. Barenholtz had “a serious
racial bias against African-Americans,”” Plaintiff contends
that the actions taken by Dr. Barenholtz caused him to be
placed on probation and that “this probation drove every-
thing that happened after that.””

“ Plaintiff ’s Response at 24.
* Affidavit of Jacquelyn McClanahan, R.N., Docket Entry No. 58,
Exhibit 37 (“McClanahan Aff.”).

“ Id. | 4. With regard to the comment, McClanahan testified that
Dr. Barenholtz asked Plaintiff where he got his eye color. When
Plaintiff responded that he got it from his mother or father, Dr.
Barenholtz allegedly responded that he did not think so “because black
people did not have eyes like that.” Jd.

67 Id.
* Plaintiff ’s Response at 24.

App. 18

Much of the content of Ms. McClanahan’s testimony is
objectionable as hearsay, speculation or improper opinion
testimony and must be disregarded by the court as incom-
petent summary judgment evidence. However, irrespective
of whether Dr. Barenholtz held a racial bias; the evidence
shows that he did not give Plaintiff a failing grade in the
Internal Medicine clerkship. Like other evaluating physi-
cians, Dr. Barenholtz was required to fill out clinical
evaluation forms. Students were graded in five areas: (1)
data gathering, recording, and presentation; (2) medical
knowledge; (3) problem solving and clinical reasoning; (4)
interpersonal skills; and (5) professional attributes.” The
evaluator could choose from several terms to describe the
student’s”’ performance: outstanding, above expected,
expected, passable, and unsatisfactory.” The syllabus for
the clerkship provided that a student failed the clerkship
only if he received one or more marks of “unsatisfactory.”

On his clinical evaluation form, Dr. Barenholtz gave
Plaintiff four “passable” marks and one “expected” mark.”
He explained that Plaintiff had “trouble organizing his
thinking and focusing in on the problems,” “takes too long

* See Docket Entry No. 58, Exhibit 29 (clinical evaluation forms
for the Internal Medicine clerkship).

” Id. “Expected” meant the student’s performance was up to that
expected of a student at that stage of his education; “passable” meant
the student’s performance was less than expected, but not below that
required, at that stage of education; and “unsatisfactory” meant the
performance was inadequate and fell below that required. Id.

“ The syllabus for the Internal Medicine clerkship provided: “Any
unsatisfactory evaluation in even a single component of your clinical
evaluations will result in failure of the Clerkship.” (emphasis in
original). Docket Entry No. 58, Exhibit 2 at 14.

“ Dr. Barenholtz Clinical Evaluation Form, Docket Entry No. 58,
Exhibit 29.

App. 19

to get through an encounter,” and “has trouble in prioritiz-
ing the differential diagnosis.” He also indicated that
Plaintiff was not a strong candidate for a residency in
Internal Medicine.“ Even though Dr. Barenholtz’s com-
ments indicated that he believed Plaintiff to be a border-
line student, he nonetheless gave him a passing grade in
the clerkship. Plaintiff’s contention that Dr. Barenholtz’s
alleged racial bias was a causal factorin his dismissal is
simply not supported by the record.

Next, Plaintiff alleges that one of the evaluating
physicians in his Family Medicine clerkship, Michael
Kirkpatrick, M.D., held a racial bias against African-
Americans.” To substantiate this claim, Plaintiff submits
the affidavit of Cathy Falkner, a-former resident in Inter-
nal Medicine who worked with Dr. Kirkpatrick.” Falkner
testified that on the basis of her extensive interaction with
Dr. Kirkpatrick during her residency, she concluded that
he possessed a serious racial bias that made it “impossible
for him to adequately and fairly judge an African-
American.” She also stated that “it was common knowl-
edge among the medical staff that Dr. Kirkpatrick was
racially biased.” Most of Ms. Falkner’s testimony is
inadmissible and cannot be considered by the court as
competent summary judgment evidence. She is limited to
her personal observations, not her speculation concerning
Dr. Kirkpatrick’s personal motivations.

a.

~ oe

* Plaintiff’s Response at 25.

“ Affidavit of Cathy Falkner, Docket Entry No. 58, Exhibit 38.

* Id. J 3.

* Id. =

App. 20

Dr. Kirkpatrick filled out three clinical evaluation
forms during Plaintiff’s five-week long Family Medicine
clerkship. On the first clinical evaluation, Dr. Kirkpatrick
gave Plaintiff three “passable” marks and two marks of |
“unsatisfactory.” Like Dr. Barenholtz, Dr. Kirkpatrick
found that Plaintiff had problems with his medical know]-
edge and ability to solve problems in the clinical setting.
He explained on this form that Plaintiff “tries hard but
appears to have a poor fund of knowledge,” “is very unsure
when presenting,” and “has difficulty synthesizing patient
complaints into problems.””

On the second evaluation, Dr. Kirkpatrick gave
Plaintiff two “expected” marks, two “passable” marks, and
one “unsatisfactory” mark. Plaintiff received a higher
mark in each area tested, with the exception of “medical
knowledge.”” Dr. Kirkpatrick explained that Plaintiff had
shown some improvement in his ability to formulate
treatment plans, but still needed to improve his fund of
knowledge and basic clinical skills.” |

On his final evaluation form, Dr. Kirkpatrick gave
Plaintiff three marks of “passable” and two marks of
“unsatisfactory.” He noted that Plaintiff had disjointed
presentations, had difficulty processing patient remarks
into a working differential diagnosis, and still showed a

* Dr. Kirkpatrick Evaluation Form for May 12, 1999, through May
21, 1999, Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit A-6.

7

" Dr. Kirkpatrick Evaluation Form for May 24, 1999, through
June 4, 1999, Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit A-6.

” on

* Dr. Kirkpatrick Evaluation Form for June 7, 1999, through June
18, 1999, Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit A-6.

App. 21

weak fund of knowledge.“ He also commented that,
although Plaintiff had shown improvement in the final
week, he “was still below the level expected for [third year]
students in the latter part of the year.”” On the basis of
these evaluations, Dr. Kirkpatrick gave Plaintiff a failing
grade in the clerkship.

As with the prior clerkship, Plaintiff has failed to
raise a fact issue that Dr. Kirkpatrick’s alleged racial bias,
on which there is precious little competent evidence,
rather than Plaintiff’s below-standard performance, was
the cause of his dismissal. As the Supreme Court has
made clear, “there will be instances where, although the
plaintiff has established a prima facie case and set forth
sufficient evidence to reject the defendant’s explanation,
no rational factfinder could conclude that the action was
discriminatory.” Reeves, 530 U.S. at 148. This is one of
those instances. First, Dr. Kirkpatrick’s critiques of clini-
cal performance were corroborated by the other attending
physicians in the Family Medicine clerkship.” Plaintiff

™ Id.

=

** See Family Medicine Progress Report of Derrick Goodwill,
Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit A-6 (summarizing Plaintiff’s performance
in the Family Medicine clerkship and stating, “This report was dis-
cussed with all of the Senior Staff physicians who worked with Student
Doctor Goodwill, and they are in agreement with the grade. These
include Dr.’s Gerdes, Patel, Averitt, and O’Neal.”); Letter from Dr.
Michael O’Neal dated November 15, 1999, Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit
A-6 (stating that Plaintiff’s “integration of [patient] information, in
terms of a differential diagnosis, often proved difficult”); Letter from Dr.
Parita Patel dated November 5, 1999, Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit A-6
(stating that Plaintiff’s “history taking and case presentations were not
as detailed or as complete as one would expect from an average third
year student,” that “his physical examinations were cursory at best”

(Continued on following page)

App. 22

does not allege that these physicians held a bias against
African-Americans. Second, Plaintiff’s failing grade in the
Family Medicine clerkship did not result in his dismissal
from the College of Medicine. To the contrary, Plaintiff
remained on probation and was merely required to under-
take a second remediation.” Plaintiff was not dismissed
until he failed his third clerkship, in Pediatrics.

Plaintiff does not assert that his failing grade in
Pediatrics was a result of racial bias, but rather that
Defendant Fallon exhibited racial animus toward him
when he appealed his failing grade. He claims Fallon was
“harsh and rude,” “gave him bad information,” and “pre-
vented his representative, an African-American faculty
member, from participating in the appeals process.””
Plaintiff also submits the affidavit of Babu Paladagu, a
former medical student at the College of Medicine, who
opined that Fallon had “racial and ethnic biases.”” Pal-
adagu’s conclusory statement is inadmissible and cannot
be considered by the court. Even assuming that Fallon was
rude to Plaintiff or gave him wrong information regarding
the grade appeal process, this conduct does not provide
even a scintilla of evidence that Fallon orchestrated his
dismissal from the College of Medicine on the basis of his
race. Moreover, Plaintiff’s claim that Fallon prevented
him from having his representative, Haywood Robinson,

and that he argued with Dr. Patel about the necessity of performing a
particular examination).

” As with the prior clerkship rotation, the court does not consider
this probationary status to be actionable under Title VI because it was
not an ultimate academic decision.

* Plaintiff ’s Response at 25-26.

” Affidavit of Babu Paladagu, Docket Entry No. 58, Exhibit 39 3.

App. 23

M.D., in attendance at the grade appeal meetings, also-
fails to create a fact issue on this point.

Finally, Plaintiff asserts that Defendant McCallum
exhibited racial bias by upholding the SPC’s recommenda-
tion to dismiss him. Plaintiff’s unsubstantiated assertion
that McCallum discriminated against him is not supported
by any evidence in the record. To the contrary, the evi- ©
dence shows that McCallum took extra measures to ensure
that Plaintiff's voice was heard: he sent several written
letters to Plaintiff reminding him that he could appeal his
dismissal, excused the fact that Plaintiff’s appeal was
untimely, and considered the merits of Plaintiff’s appeal
before deciding it was without merit.”

In sum, even if the court were to find Plaintiff estab-
lished a prima facie case of discrimination, he fails to
prove the College of Medicine’s explanation is pretextual.
A rational trier of fact could not find that Plaintiff was
dismissed for any reason other than his continued below-
satisfactory performance after two probationary periods.
In reaching this conclusion, the court was especially
mindful of the Supreme Court’s instruction in Regents of
University of Michigan v. Ewing, 474 U.S. 214 (1985), that
courts should always be extremely hesitant to override the
judgment of an academic institution:

When judges are asked to review the substance
of a genuinely academic decision .. . they should
show great respect for the faculty's professional
judgment. Plainly, they may not override it
unless it is such a substantial departure from ac-
cepted academic norms as to demonstrate that

© McCallum Aff. {{ 10-11.

App. 24

the person or committee responsible did not ac-
tually exercise professional judgment.

Id. at 225; see also Bd. of Curators of Univ. of Mo. v.
Horowitz, 435 U.S. 78, 96 n.6 (1978) (Powell, J., concur-
ring) (“University faculties must have the widest range of
discretion in making judgments as to the academic per-
formance of students and their entitlement to promotion
or graduation.”); Ku v. Tennessee, 322 F.3d 431 (6th Cir.
2003) (applying deferential standards in favor of academic
institutions to a Section 1983 discrimination claim); Wynne
v. Tufts Univ. Sch. of Med., 932 F.2d 19 (1st Cir. 1991)
(same result in a Rehabilitation Act case); Hankins v.
Temple Univ., 829 F.2d 437 (3rd Cir. 1987) (Title VII case).

Although the court accepts that Plaintiff truly believes
he was discriminated against by the College of Medicine
and some of its faculty members, Plaintiff’s subjective
perception of discrimination cannot defeat summary
judgment. See Lawrence v. Univ. of Tex. Med. Branch at
Galveston, 163 F.3d 309, 313 (5th Cir. 1999). Instead, the
undisputed evidence shows that Plaintiff exhibited insuffi-
cient skills in the clinical setting over an extended period
of time, consistently was graded poorly by numerous
faculty members in the skill areas of medical knowledge,
problem solving and clinical reasoning, and’ failed to
comply with the terms of his academic probation. The
court finds no reason, from the evidence before it, to
question the College of Medicine’s decision to dismiss
Plaintiff. Accordingly, Defendants’ motion for summary
judgment should be granted on Plaintiff’s Title VI claim.

B. Americans with Disabilities Act

Plaintiff next asserts a claim under the ADA for
disability-based discrimination. More specifically, he

; App. 25

argues that Defendants treated him differently than other
students who did not have his disability and failed to
reasonably accommodate his disability. Defendants con-
tend that Plaintiff has no actionable claim because he does
not have a “disability” within the meaning of the ADA.

Plaintiff’s claim arises under Title II of the ADA, 42
U.S.C. §§ 12131-12165, which prohibits discrimination on
the basis of disability in public services, programs, and
activities.” Title II provides that “no qualified individual
with a disability shall, by reason of such disability, be
excluded from participation in or be denied the benefits of
the services, programs or activities of a public entity, or be
subjected to discrimination by any such entity.” Id.
§ 12132.

As with Title VI, the court utilizes the familiar
McDonnell Douglas burden-shifting framework to analyze
Plaintiff’s ADA claim. See Gowesky v. Singing River Hosp.
Sys., 321 F.3d 503, 511 (5th Cir. 2003); Seaman v. CSPH,
Inc., 179 F.3d 297, 300 (5th Cir. 1999). To make out a
prima facie case of discrimination under Title II of the

“ Plaintiff incorrectly frames his claim for relief as one arising
under Title I of the ADA. The ADA “forbids discrimination in three
major areas of public life: employment, which is covered by Title I of the
statute; public services, programs, and activities, which are the subject
of Title II; and public accommodations, which are covered by Title III.”
Tennessee v. Lane, 124 S.Ct. 1978, 1984 (2004). Plaintiff does not
maintain he has an employment relationship with the College of
Medicine. As a result, Title I does not govern his claim. Instead, Title II
is applicable because the College of Medicine is a division of the Texas
A&M University System, which, in turn, is a “public entity” that
provides public programs and activities. See 42 U.S.C. § 12131(1XB)
(defining public entity to include a state agency); Texas A&M Univ. v.
Bishop, 105 S.W.3d 646, 652 (Tex. App. — Houston [14th Dist.] 2002,
pet. granted) (noting that Texas A&M University is a state agency).

App. 26

ADA, Plaintiff must demonstrate: (1) he is a qualified
individual within the meaning of the ADA; (2) he was
excluded from participation in, or denied benefits of,
services, programs, or activities for which Defendants are
responsible, or otherwise was discriminated against by
Defendants; and (3) that such exclusion, denial of benefits,
or discrimination was by reason of his disability. Light-
bourn v. County of El Paso, Tex., 118 F.3d 421, 428 (5th
Cir. 1997); see also Melton v. Dallas Area Rapid Transit,
326 F. Supp. 2d 767, 771 (N.D. Tex. 2003).

Defendants challenge Plaintiff’s ability to prove the
first element, i.e., that he is entitled to protection under
the ADA as a “qualified individual with a disability.” See
42 U.S.C. § 12132. The statute defines such an individual
as one “with a disability who ... meets the essential
eligibility requirements for the receipt of services or the
participation in programs or activities provided by a public
entity.” Id. § 12131(2). Defendants contend that Plaintiff
cannot meet this definition because he does not have a
disability. ;

“As a threshold requirement in an ADA claim, the
plaintiff must, of course, establish that he has a disability.”
Waldrip v. Gen. Elec. Co., 325 F.3d 652, 654 (5th Cir. 2003)
(quoting Rogers v. Intl Marine Terminals, Inc., 87 F.3d
755, 758 (5th Cir. 1996)). Title Il’s implementing regula-
tions define “disability” as “a physical or mental impair-
ment that substantially limits one or more of the major life
activities of such individual; a record of such an impair-
ment; or being regarded as having such an impairment.”

App. 27

28 C.ER. § 35.104.” As the regulation makes clear, merely
having an impairment does not make a claimant disabled
under the ADA. See Toyota Motor Mfg., Ky., Inc. v. Wil-
liams, 534 U.S. 184, 195 (2002). Instead, the claimant
must also show that the impairment places a substantial
limitation on at least one major life activity. Id. “Major life
activities” are those that are of “central importance to
daily life.” Id. at 197. Specific examples include “caring for
one’s self, performing manual tasks, walking, seeing,
hearing, speaking, breathing, learning, and working.” 28
C.F.R. § 35.104.

The parties do not dispute that Plaintiff was evalu-
ated for sleep apnea while he was a student at the Medical
School and that sleep apnea is a physical impairment. The
critical issue is whether the sleep apnea substantially
limited any of his major life activities. To make this
showing, Plaintiff must adduce “evidence that the extent
of the limitation in terms of [his] own experience ... is
substantial.” Albertson’s, Inc. v. Kirkingburg, 527 U.S. 555
(1999). °

~ Although the Title II regulations do not contain a
definition of the term “substantially limits,” regulations
promulgated by the EEOC to effectuate Title I of the ADA
afford significant guidance. According to the EEOC regula-
tions, the term “substantially limits” means: (1) unable to

” A “physical impairment” is defined as-“[a]ny physiological
disorder or condition, ... affecting one or more of the following body
systems: Neurological, musculoskeletal, special sense organs, respira-
tory (including speech organs), cardiovascular, reproductive, digestive,
genitourinary, hemic and lymphatic, skin, and endocrine.” 28 C.F.R.
§ 35.104. A “mental impairment” is “[aJny mental or psychological
disorder. ...” Id.

App. 28

perform a major life activity that the average person in the
general population can perform; or (2) significantly re-
stricted as to the condition, manner, or duration under
which an individual can perform a particular major life
activity as compared to the condition, manner, or duration
under which the average person in the general population
can perform that same major life activity. 29 C.F.R.
§ 1630.2(j) (1) (i)-(ii). The regulations set forth several
factors a court should consider when determining whether
an individual is substantially limited in a major life
activity: the nature and severity of the impairment; the
duration or expected duration of the impairment; and the
permanent or long term impact, or the expected perma-
nent or long term impact of or resulting from the impair-
ment. Id. § 1630.2(j) (2) (i)-(iii).

Plaintiff asserts that his sleep apnea substantially
limited his ability to sleep and, consequently, concentrate
and learn while he was a medical student.” For purposes
of this opinion, the court assumes that each of these
functions is a “major life activity” as contemplated by the
ADA. See Heisler v. Metro. Council, 339 F.3d 622, 628 (8th
Cir. 2003) (holding that sleeping and concentrating are
major life activities); Swanson v. Univ. of Cincinnati, 268
F.3d 307, 316 (6th Cir. 2001) (sleeping); 28 C.F.R. § 35.104
(learning). Thus, the court mut determine whether Plain-
tiff’'s sleep apnea substantially limited his a to
perform any of these activities.

* More precisely, he contends that the sleep apnea prevented him
from “attaining REM level of sleep” and, thus, caused him to experience
the effects of severe sleep deprivation, such as an inability to concen-
trate and learn while at school. Plaintiff's Response at 30. He also
avers that the medication he took to control the problem caused him to
“drift off at unexpected times.” Jd.

App. 29

Plaintiff first contends the sleep apnea substantially
limited his ability to sleep. The evidence in the record does
not support this contention. Plaintiff testified in his
affidavit that, at the beginning of his Pediatrics clerkship,
he became aware that he was not functioning normally.”
Specifically, he had a low energy level and “excessive
somnolence” during the daytime.” He sought help from
Fallon, who subsequently referred him to Dr. Perez-
Guerra, a pulmonologist.” During his evaluation, Dr.
Perez-Guerra asked Plaintiff about his sleep patterns.
Plaintiff replied that he only slept about four hours each
weekday night because he had to study late at night.” Dr.
Perez-Guerra suggested to Plaintiff that he sleep more
during the weekdays and leave a larger portion of his
studying for the weekends.” Plaintiff rejected this idea,
telling Dr. Perez-Guerra it was not a viable option because
his weekends were spent taking care of “personal matters
not related to school,” such as “cleaning my house, clean-
ing my clothes and folding them, and various other essen-
tial matters that required time to complete.” He explained
to Dr. Perez-Guerra that, although he “did do substantial
[school] work on the weekends,” he could not allocate
additional time to this task.”

On August 28, 1998, Fallon noted in a memorandum
that she had spoken with Dr. Perez-Guerra, and that he

“ Goodwill Aff. at 3.
"2

oe

" Id. at 5.

* Id.

” Id.

” Id.

App. 30

told her Plaintiff had either no sleep apnea or only a
trivial amount of sleep apnea.” He also informed her that
Plaintiff probably had narcolepsy and that his differential
diagnosis at that point would be sleep deprivation syn-
drome.” Dr. Perez-Guerra recommended that Plaintiff
sleep seven to eight hours per night for the next three
weeks and then undergo a follow-up sleep study.” If
abnormal at that time, he would be treated for narco-
lepsy.” In a memorandum to her file, Fallon wrote, “In
light of this finding, I feel very strongly that Mr. Goodwill
should be encouraged to take a leave of absence to evalu-
ate these medical problems.” Later that same day, Fallon
suggested to Plaintiff in person that he take a medical
leave of absence to help him overcome his problem.”

In early September 1998, Plaintiff was granted a
medical leave of absence so that he could resolve his
medical problem. On September 23, 1998, after the three
weeks of strict rest prescribed by Dr. Perez-Guerra, Plain-
tiff submitted a request to return to his clinical studies.”
Fallon met with him Plaintiff to discuss his return as well
as the results of his sleep study.” According to Fallon,

* Fallon Memorandum to File dated August 26, 1998, Docket
Entry No. 58, Exhibit 21; see also Deposition of Derrick Goodwill,
Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit E (“Goodwill Depo.”) at 36:16-17.

™ Fallon Memorandum to File dated August 26, 1998, Docket
Entry No. 58, Exhibit 21.

* Id.
“ Id.
an,

* Fallon Memorandum to File dated August 28, 1998, Docket
Entry No. 58, Exhibit 20.

” Fallon Aff. { 12.
* Id.

App. 31

Plaintiff’s sleep study did not show narcolepsy, but rather
was consistent with sleep deprivation syndrome.” She
recommended to Plaintiff that he alter his sleep habits so
he could sleep for longer periods of time during weekday
nights. Plaintiff again rejected the idea, explaining that
he had to study late on weekday nights because he took
care of personal business on weekends.” Despite Plain-
tiff’s intransigence on this point, Fallon testified that
“[blecause Mr. Goodwill stated that he was feeling much
better rested, and because his physician confirmed he was
doing much better, I cleared him to return to his stud-
i es.”

With the above evidence in mind, the court finds
Plaintiff has failed to show that sleep apnea substantially
limited his ability to sleep. First, the evidence reveals that
Plaintiff had, at most, only a trivial amount of sleep
apnea. Indeed, Dr. Perez-Guerra, his treating physician,
did not pursue a diagnosis of sleep apnea, and instead
focused on narcolepsy and sleep deprivation syndrome as
possible causes of Plaintiff’s problem of falling asleep
during the daytime.

Second, Plaintiff has not shown he was unable to sleep
or was otherwise significantly restricted in the condition,
manner, or duration of his ability to sleep as compared to
the average person in the general population. Cf. Pack v.
Kmart Corp., 166 F.3d 1300, 1306 (10th Cir. 1999) (“While

wt
100 Id.
103 Id.

® Id. Plaintiff confirmed that his condition improved after he
began to get more sleep. Goodwill Dope. at 39:14-19.

App. 32

the evidence showed Pack had episodes of sleep disruption
and/or waking without feeling rested during 1994 and
January 1995, there is no indication that her sleep prob-
lems were severe, long term, or had a permanent impact”).
Instead, Plaintiff’s failure to get enough sleep was of his
own doing; he readily admitted that he chose to study late
into the night, thus sacrificing sleep, rather than set aside
more time to study on the weekend. The evidence also
reveals that Plaintiff experienced his-problem only over a
short period of time. Indeed, once Plaintiff was able to
sleep for eight hours per night over a period of three
weeks, his alleged sleep difficulty and concomitant day-
time exhaustion apparently disappeared. Moreover, there
is also a dearth of evidence that the sleep apnea had a
long-term impact on Plaintiff’s health or ability to func-
tion. Once he returned from his leave of absence, Plaintiff
resumed his clerkship rotations without any further
problems. Plaintiff testified that he never even took any
medication for a sleeping disorder.” Instead, Dr. Perez-
Guerra merely told him to continue taking his asthma
medication, to get an adequate amount of sleep, and to
lose some weight.”

Plaintiff next claims his sleep apnea substantially
limited his ability to concentrate and learn as a medical
student. Again, Plaintiff has failed to produce any evi-
dence of such. The only thing Plaintiff has shown is that
he chose to stay up late at night studying and that this
resulted in feeling tired during the day. Although the
record indicates Plaintiff often feli asleep during his

*® See Goodwill Depo. at 34:3-4.
™ Td. at 35:15-19.

App. 33

lectures and clinical rotations, he offers nothing more than
speculation that sleep apnea caused the problem. This, of
course, is not sufficient to withstand summary judgment.
TIG Ins., 276 F.3d at 759 (stating that unsubstantiated
assertions are not enough to raise a material fact issue for
trial). Consequently, he has not made the requisite show-
ing that he had a disability, i.e, that a physical or mental
impairment substantially limited his ability to concentrate
or learn as compared to the general population.

However, even if Plaintiff did not have an impairment
that substantially limited one or more major life activities,
he may still be entitled to protection under the ADA if he
was “regarded as having such an-impairment.” 28 C.F.R.
§ 35.104. “A plaintiff has a ‘regarded as’ disability if he (1)
has an impairment that is not substantially limiting but
which the employer perceives as substantially limiting, (2)
has an impairment that is substantially limiting only
because of the attitudes of others, or (3) has no impair-
ment but is perceived by the employer as having a sub-
stantially limiting impairment.” Waldrip, 235 F.3d at 657.

Plaintiff invokes the third option, contending that
even if he did not have an impairment that substantially
limited a major life activity, Defendants perceived him as
having one.” In support of this contention, he claims that
upon observing his symptoms and being told of his disabil-
ity, Defendants treated him differently from others who
did not have the disability, and also failed to reasonably
accommodate him. There is no support in the record for
either contention. First, Plaintiff has not provided any
competent summary judgment evidence that Defendants

** Plaintiff's Response at 27-28.

App. 34

treated other medical students more favorably. With
nothing more than Plaintiff’s mere speculation about
Defendants’ intent, no fact issue can be raised on this
point.

Second, it is plain that Defendants accommodated
Plaintiff in a reasonable manner after suspecting that he
may have had a medical problem that affected his clinical
performance. After Plaintiff complained to Fallon about
feeling fatigued, she took the affirmative step of referring
him to Dr. Perez-Guerra for a consultation. When Dr.
Perez-Guerra recommended that Plaintiff get eight hours
of sleep per night for three straight weeks, Fallon wrote
Michael L. Friedland, M.D., Vice-President for Health
Affairs and Dean of Medicine, requesting that Plaintiff be
given a medical leave of absence to help him resolve the

existing problem. In her memorandum to Dr. Friedland,
Fallon stated:

While academic difficulty is not a reason per se
for a leave of absence, there is a strong possibil-
ity that his difficulties could be related to a
medical condition and this needs to be more
clearly defined. In addition, it would be ex-
tremely difficult to assure increased rest while
working on a difficult clinical clerkship.

The Office of Student Affairs is very supportive of
Mr. Goodwill’s request for a medical leave of ab-
sence for up to one year. Mr. Goodwill obviously
desires to return to his clinical duties as quickly
as possible, which we would also support as long

** Memorandum from Fallon-to Friedland, Docket Entry No. 58,
Exhibit 20.

App. 35 =

[as] he has been cleared by his physician to do
so.

After the three-week test period was completed and Dr.
Perez-Guerra cleared Plaintiff to resume his clinical
studies at the College of Medicine, Fallon immediately
reinstated him.”

In addition to the utter lack of evidence that Fallon
failed to accommodate Plaintiff, there is no evidence
demonstrating that the College of Medicine failed in this
responsibility.” Indeed, Plaintiff admitted that he never
specifically asked the College of Medicine to provide him
with any accommodations upon his return to the medical
school.” The Student Handbook clearly required him to do
so.” Plaintiff’s claim that Defendants failed to reasonably
accommodate him is not supported in the record.

In conclusion, the court finds that Plaintiff cannot
make out a prima facie case of disability discrimination
because he has not come forth with any evidence showing
he had a “disability” within the meaning of Title II of the
ADA. As a result, Defendants’ motion for summary judg-
ment should be granted on Plaintiff’s ADA claim.

wage |
™ Fallon Aff. J 12.

Plaintiff has not shown any evidence that Defendants Green or
McCallum were even aware of his medical problem, much less that they
failed to reasonably accommodate his condition.

“° Goodwill Depo. at 38:24-39:5.

‘* See June 1998 Student Handbook, Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit
D-3 at 11 (“If the candidate does require accommodation, the accommo-
dation must be specifically stated in writing.”).

App. 36

C. State Law Claims Against the Individual De-
fendants

Plaintiff next asserts state law claims against the
individual Defendants for intentional infliction of emo-
tional distress, civil conspiracy, and breach of fiduciary
duty. Green, Fallon, and McCallum seek official immunity
from these claims.

Under Texas law, government officials are granted
immunity from claims that arise from (1) the performance
of discretionary duties (2) within the scope of their author-
ity (3) provided the actions are taken in good faith. Univ.
of Houston. v. Clark, 38 S.W.3d 578, 580 (Tex. 2000);
Kassen v. Hatlev, 887 S.W.2d 4, 9 (Tex. 1994); City of
Lancaster v. Chambers, 883 S.W.2d 650, 653 (Tex. 1994).
To obtain summary judgment on this ground, the Defen-
dants must prove conclusively each element of the af-
firmative defense. Clark, 38 S.W.3d at 580.

An action taken by a public official is “discretionary” if
it requires personal deliberation, decision, and judgment;
conversely, an action that only requires an official to obey
orders or perform a duty over which he has no choice is
ministerial. Chambers, 883 S.W.2d at 653-54. A public
official acts “within the scope of his authority” if he dis-
charges the duties generally assigned to him. Jd. at 658.
With regard to the third element, the court measures good
faith against a standard of objective reasonableness
without regard to the official’s subjective state of mind. Id.
at 656. The critical issue is “whether a reasonably prudent
official, under similar circumstances, could have believed
that his conduct was justified based on the information he
possessed when the conduct occurred.” Ballantyne v.
Champion Builders, Inc., 2004 WL 1533950, No. 02-0260,

App. 37

at *9 (Tex. July 9, 2004); see also Clark, 38 S.W.3d at 584;
Chambers, 883 S.W.2d at 656.

1. Green

The evidence in the record shows Green developed a
remediation plan after Plaintiff failed the Internal Medi-
cine clerkship and also changed Plaintiff’s grade from an
“F” to an “IP” after he determined Plaintiff was not given
sufficient feedback from his preceptors during the clerk-
ship. These actions required Green to exercise discretion
in determining what course of action to take regarding
Plaintiff’s academic status. Further, Green took these
actions within the scope of his authority as clerkship
coordinator of the Internal Medicine clerkship and faculty
member of the College of Medicine.”

With regard to the third element, the court finds that
Green acted in good faith when he required Plaintiff to
retake the clerkship. Pursuant to school policy, if a student
fails a clerkship, the department determines whether
remediation is appropriate and then makes a recommen-
dation to the SPC."* Green clearly abided by this policy by
- presenting a remediation plan to the SPC that called for
Plaintiff to retake the inpatient portion of the clerkship.
Given that Plaintiff did not exhibit the skills necessary to

™ See Affidavit of Jacob Benjamin Green III, M.D., Docket Entry
No. 56, Exhibit G 9 2 (“All actions I took related to assessing the
academic performance and progress of Plaintiff Derrick Goodwill were
taken in my capacity as a faculty member of the Texas A&M University
College of Medicine and the Texas A&M University System Health
Science Center College of Medicine.”).

“8 June 1998 Student Handbook, Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit D-3
at 14.

App. 38

pass the Internal Medicine clerkship, Green’s action was
clearly justified under the circumstances and was, there-
fore, taken in good faith.

Plaintiff also claims that Green acted in bad faith
when by initially refusing to change Plaintiff’s grade.
Plaintiff claims that he informed Green of the procedural
defect in his grade in November 1998, and that Green
refused to change the grade at this time, submitted a
grade of “F” to the SPC, and changed the grade to “IP”
only after the SPC placed him on probation.'* Notwith-
standing Plaintiff’s subjective belief that Green acted in
bad faith by not changing his grade quicker, the court
believes he met the requisite standard for showing good
faith. The evidence indicates that, in reaching a decision to
fail Plaintiff, Green relied on the clinical evaluations of the
attending physicians in the clerkship. It also shows that
Green told Plaintiff to voice his complaints with these
physicians. The court believes that a reasonably prudent
official in the same situation could have believed this
action was justified under the circumstances.”

2. Fallon

Plaintiff alleges Fallon mishandled his grade appeal
process by disallowing him to have his chosen representa-
tive present during grade appeal proceedings, refusing to

™ Goodwill Aff. at.8-9.

™* Moreover, the record shows that Green did investigate Plain-
tiffs claim that he did not receive adequate feedback. Green Aff. 7 5-6.
Green determined the claim had merit and, accordingly, changed
Plaintiff's grade from an “F” to an “IP” because he felt Plaintiff “de-
served the chance to complete the inpatient rotation again with proper
guidance.” Id. { 6.

App. 39

hear witnesses on his behalf, neglecting to investigate the
actions of his preceptors that caused him to receive failing
grades in two clerkships, and providing false information
about him to the SPC.” The court finds that Fallon used
discretion in discharging her duties as Assistant Dean of
Student Affairs. The evidence in the record indicates she
used judgment in advising Plaintiff to take a medical leave
of absence and counseling Plaintiff about the grade appeal
process. With regard to the second element, Fallon stated
in her affidavit that all actions regarding Plaintiff were
taken in her official capacity as a faculty member of the
College of Medicine.

With regard to the final element, the court is per-
suaded that Fallon took all actions regarding Plaintiff in
good faith. The record shows that she followed school
policy in connection with the grade appeals proceedings.
Contrary to Plaintiff’s exhortations, Fallon was not
required to advocate on his be at the meetings; in-
stead, her role was merely that of a counselor. Nor was
Fallon under an obligation to allow Plaintiff to bring a
representative to the meetings, as Plaintiff suggests. In
sum, the court finds that a rational official in Fallon’s
position, who had knowledge of the applicable school
policies, could believe that these actions were justified.

38. McCallum

Plaintiff alleges that McCallum wrongfully denied
him a due process hearing and appeal of the decisions
upholding his failing clerkship grades, acquiesced in the

“* Id. J 28.
™ Fallon Aff. { 33.

App. 40

wrongful actions of Green and Fallon, generally failed to
follow school policy, and appointed or permitted Fallon to
appoint individuals to the SPC whose conduct formed the
basis of his complaint."” As with Green and Fallon, the
court easily concludes that McCallum’s actions concerning
Plaintiff were discretionary and within the scope of his
authority as Interim Dean of the College of Medicine. The
evidence reveals McCallum used judgment in permitting
Plaintiff additional time to appeal his failing grades and
dismissal, granting Plaintiff a right to appeal his grades,
affirming the appeals committees’ decisions upholding
those grades, and upholding the SPC’s recommendation
that Plaintiff be dismissed for academic reasons.” As to
the second element, McCallum testified that all actions he
took relating to Plaintiff were in his official capacity as a
member of the College of Medicine faculty.”

Finally, the evidence shows that all of McCallum’s
actions were taken in good faith. His action in affirming
Plaintiff’s failing grades was based on a review of the
clinical evaluations, which revealed Plaintiff had severe
shortcomings in the clinical setting. Further, nothing in
the record indicates that Plaintiff informed McCallum that
he believed he was given failing grades due to discrimina-
tery animus. With nothing more to go on beside the clini-
cal evaluations, it is clear McCallum’s actions in upholding |
the grades was justified.

™ Id. J 30.
McCallum Aff. ¥{ 3, 8-9, 11.

” Affidavit of Roderick E. McCallum, Ph.D., Docket Entry No. 56,
Exhibit F.

2 App. 41

The court reaches the same conclusion as _ to
McCallum’s action in affirming the SPC’s recommendation
of dismissal. In his letter to McCallum requesting an
appeal of his dismissal, Plaintiff alleged that a fundamen-
tal misrepresentation of official policy was evident and
that significant procedural defects took place in the
appeals proceedings.’ McCallum determined that Plain-
tiff’s claims did not have merit and, accordingly, dismissed
him from the College of Medicine. Again, McCallum based
his decision on the fact that Plaintiff failed two clerkships
while on academic probation. Under school policy, this was
sufficient for dismissal.” The court finds that a rational
official who possessed the same information about Plain-
tiff’s performance in the clerkships could easily come to
the conclusion that dismissal was the appropriate course
of action. Thus, McCallum actions in this regard were
taken in good faith.

The individual Defendants have each proven their
affirmative defense of official immunity. Thus, Defendants’
motion for summary judgment should be granted on
Plaintiff ’s state law claims.

V. Conclusion

For the reasons set forth above, the court RECOM-
MENDS that Plaintiff’s Motion to Strike be GRANTED
IN PART and DENIED IN PART and that Defendants’
Motion for Summary Judgment be GRANTED.

™ Letter Appealing Dismissal dated December 9, 1999, Docl=t
Entry No. 56, Exhibit D-6.

% June 1998 Student Handbook, Docket Entry No. 56, Exhibit D-3
at 15.

App. 42

The Clerk shall send copies of this Memorandum and
Recommendation to the respective parties, who have ten
- days from the receipt thereof to file written objections
thereto pursuant to General Order 2002-13. Failure to file
written objections within this time period shall bar an
aggrieved party from attacking the factual findings and
legal conclusions on appeal.

The original of any written objections shall be filed
with the United States District Clerk, PO. Box 61010,
Houston, Texas, 77208. Copies of such objections shall be
mailed to opposing parties and to the chambers of the
undersigned, 515 Rusk, Suite 7019, Houston, Texas,
77002.

SIGNED at Houston, Texas, this 29th day of October,
2004.

Is/ N ohnson
NANCY K. JOHNSON
UNITED STATES
MAGISTRATE JUDGE

App. 43

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION

DERRICK GOODWILL,
Plaintiff,

v CIVIL NO. H-02-0088

TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY
MEDICAL SCHOOL,
RODERICK E. MCCALLUM,
KATHLEEN WILLIAMS,
BEN GREEN and JOHN DOE,

Defendants.

Or OO? OP 1 1) 6) 4)
‘

FINAL JUDGMENT
(Filed Nov. 24, 2004)

In conformity with the Order Adopting Magistrate
Judge’s Memorandum and Recommendation signed on
November 24, 2004, it is hereby ADJUDGED that Plain-
tiff take nothing against the Defendants.

Ali relief not granted herein is DENIED. The parties
shall bear their own costs.

THIS IS A FINAL JUDGMENT.

The Clerk will provide a copy of this judgment to all
counsel.

App. 44

SIGNED this 24th day of November, 2004, in Hous-
ton, Texas.

/s/ Sim Lake
SIM LAKE
UNITED STATES
DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 45

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 04-20987

DERRICK GOODWILL,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
versus

TEXAS A & M UNIVERSITY MEDICAL SCHOOL,
RODERICK E. MCCALLUM, KATHLEEN
WILLIAMS, BEN GREEN, and JOHN DOE,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Southern District of Texas
USDC no. 4:02-CV-88

(ON PETITION FOR REHEARING)
(Filed Apr. 8, 2005)
Before WIENER, STEWART, and DENNIS, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing is
DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ [Illegi ible]
UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

App. 46

FRAP 3. APPEAL AS OF
RIGHT - HOW TAKEN

* a *
(c) Contents of the Notice of Appeal.
(1) The notice of appeal must:

(A) specify the party or parties taking the appeal by
naming each one in the caption or body of the notice, but
an attorney representing more than one party may de-
scribe those parties with such terms as “all plaintiffs,” “the
defendants,” “the plaintiffs A, B et al.,” or “all defendants

except X”;

(B) designate the judgment, order, or part thereof
being appealed; and

(C) name the court to which the appeal is taken.

* * *

FRAP 4. APPEAL AS OF
RIGHT - WHEN TAKEN

(a) Appeal in a Civil Case.
(1) Time for Filing a Notice of Appeal.

(A) In a civil case, except as provided in Rules
4(a)(1)(B), 4(a)(4), and 4(c), the notice of appeal required
by Rule 3 must be filed with the district clerk within 30
days after the judgment or order appealed from is entered. -

* * *

(2) Filing Before Entry of Judgment. A notice of
appeal filed after the court announces a decision or order —

App. 47

but before the entry of the judgment or order — is treated
as filed on the date of and after the entry.

* * *

App. 48

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
HOUSTON DIVISION |

DERRICK GOODWILL
Plaintiff
Vv

TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY
MEDICAL SCHOOL,
RODERICK E, MCCALLUM,
KATHLEEN WILLIAMS,
BEN GREEN, AND

JOHN DOE

Defendants

CIVIL ACTION
NO. H-02-0088

MO WM OO? Or rN

PLAINTIFF’S NOTICE OF APPEAL
(Filed Nov. 26, 2004)

Plaintiff, Derrick Goodwill, serves notice that he wishes to

appeal the Court’s Judgment on Defendants’ Motion for
Summary Judgment in the above-referenced cause,
entered October 29, 2004. Plaintiff hereby appeals to the
United States Court of Appeals for the 5th Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,
Law Offices of Gary L. Bledsoe & Associates

By: /s/ Gary L. Bledsoe
Gary L. Bledsoe
State Bar No.: 02476500
316 West 12th Street, Suite 307
Austin, Texas 78701
Telephone:-(512) 322-9992
Facsimile: (512) 322-0840

App. 49

Certificate of Service

I hereby certify that a true and correct copy of the at-
tached document has been sent this day via First Class
U.S. mail to opposing counsel at the address indicated

below.

Peter Plotts, Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Attorney General

General Litigation Division

P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station

Austin, Texas 78711-2548

November 22, 2004

/s/ Walter C. Muse, Jr.
Walter C. Muse, Jr.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1679%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
