# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — McSally v. Rumsfeld

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1649%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 1002

## Text

Supreme Court of the Write Sitertes ;

MARTHA MCSALLY, LT. COL.,

et babe tic Petitioner,

—_—_ Y.—_—_

DONALD H. RUMSFELD,

SECRETARY OF DEFENSE,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Thomas S. Neuberger Randall M. Shaheen
Stephen J. Neuberger ARNOLD & PORTER
THE NEUBERGER FIRM 555 Twelfth Street, N.W.
Two East Seventh Street Washington, DC 20004
Suite 302 (202) 942-5734
Wilmington, DE 19801
(302) 655-0582 John W. Whitehead
THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE

Cousel of Record for 1440 Sachem Place
Petitioner Charlottesville, VA 22906

~~ (434) 978-3888

Co-Counsel for Petitioner

pe seein eee rere ee al
LANTAGNE LEGAL PRINTING
801 East Main Street Suite 100 Richmond, Virginia 23219 (800) 847-0477

QUESTION PRESENTED

May a plaintiff in a §1983 civil rights action challenging a
military policy that required servicewomen to wear an
abaya, an Islamic religious head covering, as a violation of
servicewomen’s religious freedom, recover reasonable
attorneys’ fees and costs pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1988, where,
as a direct result of plaintiff's lawsuit, Congress enacted
legislation forcing an otherwise unyielding executive agency
to involuntarily revoke an illegal policy?

=¥ ; “* vay we : Yr cr 7" ae

\
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

All parties to the proceedings before the United
States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit
and the United States District Court for the District of
Columbia are listed in the caption to this Petition.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTION PRESENTED

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

ae Re ativesisesiaasescashiesaigcnsiiics chdeonsissebucnsbaoasokuokilelsnakaodebcsaaieae 29

APPENDIX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

- CASES

Barrios v. Cal. Interscholastic Federation,
277 F.3d 1128 (9th Cir. 2002)

Buckhannon Board and Care Home, Inc. v. West Virginia
Department of Health and Human Resources,

932 U.S. 598 (2001)

Hanrahan v. Hampton, 446 U.S. 754 (1980)

McSally v. Rumsfeld,
_ 2005 U.S. App. LEXIS 5679 (D.C. Cir. April 8, 2005)

Newman v. Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc.,
390 U.S. 400 (1968)

Oil, Chemical and Atomic Workers Union v.
Department of Energy, 288 F.3d 452 (D.C. Cir. 2002)

Palmetto Properties, Inc. v. County of Dupage,
375 F.3d 542 (7th Cir. 2004)

Roberson v. Giuliani, 346 F.3d 75 (2nd Cir. 2003)

Smalbein v. City of Daytona Beach,
353 F.3d 901 (11th Cir. 2003)

Smyth v. Rivero, 282 F.3d 268 (4th Cir. 2002)

Truesdell v. Philadelphia Housing Authonity,
290 F.3d 159 (3d Cir. 2002)

Tyler v. O'Neil, 2004 WL. 2297148 (3rd Cir. 2004)

42 U.S.C. §1988

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)
HR 4714

H. R. Rep. 94-1558

Joint Defense Authorization Bill, H.R. 4546

S. Rep. 94-1011 (1976)

The National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal
Year 2003, Pub. L. No. 107-314, § 563
(Dec. 2, 2002) 2, 20, 23, 29

OPINIONS BELOW

The judgment for which review is sought is reported
in electronic form as McSally v. Rumsfeld, 2005 U.S. App.
LEXIS 5679 (D.C. Cir. April 8, 2005), and is set forth in the
Apperidix beginning at A-1. The judgment of the United
States District Court for the District of Columbia is not
reported and is set forth in the Appendix beginning at A-3.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment and opinion of the United States
District Court for the District of Columbia, which is the
subject of the instant Petition, was entered on April 8, 2005.
This Court has jurisdiction to review that judgment
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Civil Rights Attorney’s Fees Awards Act of
1976, 42 U.S.C. § 1988 (1976) provides in its relevant part:

(b) ATTORNEY'S FEES- In any action or
proceeding to enforce a provision of
sections 1981, 1981a, 1982, 1983, 1985, and
1986 of this title, title IX of Public Law 92-
318 [20 US.C.A. § 1681 et seq], the
Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993
[42 US.C.A. § 2000bb et seq.], the Religious
Land Use and Institutionalized Persons Act
of 2000 [42 U.S.C.A. § 2000cc et seq.], title VI
of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 [42 U.S.C.A. §
2000d et seq.], or section 13981 of this title,

the court, in its discretion, may allow the
prevailing party, other than the United
States, a reasonable attorney's fee as part of
the costs, except that in any action brought
against a judicial officer for an act or
omission taken in such officer's judicial
capacity such officer shall not be held liable
for any costs, including attorney's fees,
unless such action was clearly in excess of
such officer's jurisdiction.

The National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal
Year 2003, Pub.L. No. 107-314, § 563 (Dec. 2, 2002) provides:

WEAR OF ABAYAS BY FEMALE
MEMBERS OF THE ARMED FORCES IN
SAUDI ARABIA

(a) PROHIBITION RELATING TO WEAR
OF ABAYAS- No member of the Armed
Forces having authority over a member of
the Armed Forces and no officer or
employee of the United States having
authority over a member of the Armed
Forces may require or encourage that
member to wear the abaya garment or any
part of the abaya garment while the
member is in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
pursuant to a permanent change of station
or orders for temporary duty.
(b) INSTRUCTION- (1) The Secretary of
Defense shall provide each female member
of the Armed Forces ordered to a
permanent change of station or temporary
_ duty in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia with
instruction regarding the prohibition in
subsection (a). Such instruction shall be

provided immediately upon or not more
than 48 hours prior to the arrival of the
member at a United States military
installation within the Kingdom of Saudi
Arabia. The instruction shall be presented
orally and in writing. The written
instruction shall include the full text of this
section. (2) In carrying out paragraph (1),
the Secretary shall act through the
Commander in Chief, United States Central
Command and Joint Task Force Southwest
Asia, and the commanders of the Army,
Navy, Air Force, and Marine Corps
components of the United States Central
Command and Joint Task Force Southwest
Asia.

(c) PROHIBITION ON USE OF FUNDS
FOR PROCUREMENT OF ABAYAS- Funds
appropriated or otherwise made available ~
to the Department of Defense may not be
used to procure abayas for regular or
routine issuance to members of the Armed
Forces serving in the Kingdom of Saudi
Arabia or for any personnel of contractors
accompanying the Armed Forces in the
Kingdom of Saudi Arabia in the
performance of contracts entered into by the
United States with such contractors

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This petition presents a novel question of exceptional
importance arising from the Supreme Court's holding in
Buckhannon Board and Care Home, Inc. v. West Virginia

Department of Health and Human Resources, 532 US. 598
(2001): whether a plaintiff in a §1983 civil rights action can
recover reasonable attorney's fees and costs pursuant to 42
U.S.C. §1988, where as a direct result of plaintiff's lawsuit,
Congress drafted and passed legislation, forcing an
otherwise unyielding executive agency to involuntarily
revoke an illegal policy?

The District Court reluctantly answered no and
professed itself bound by this Court's ruling in Buckhannon
(A-4). The United States Court of Appeais for the District of
Columbia Circuit summarily affirmed that decision (A-1),
and in io doing disregarded the purpose and overarching
aims of Buckhannon. The Court of Appeals instead applied
an interpretation of Buckhannon of unprecedented breadth,
imposing a rule born of a factually specific circumstance to
the case at bar which is wholly distinguishable on the facts.
As a result, the Court of Appeals inappropriately applied
Buckhannon’s bar on the award of attorney’s fees to plaintiffs
whose claims for fees arise under the “catalyst theory”! to a
plaintiff whose claim does not.

' The “catalyst theory” has historically been used to provide relief under
The Civil Rights Attorney's Fees Award Act of 1976 and is based on the
argument that the plaintiff is a “prevailing party” if it achieves a
voluntary change in the defendant's behavior. See Buckhannon, 532 US. at
601. This theory was contemplated by Congress during the drafting of
the Act, but has since been overruled by the Supreme Court. See H.R
Rep. 94-1558, at 7 (stating:

A ‘prevailing’ party should not be penalized for seeking
an out-of-court settlement, thus helping to lessen
docket congestion. Similarly, after a complaint is filed,
a defendant might voluntarily cease the unlawful
practice. A court should still award fees even though it
might conclude, as a matter of equity, that no formal
relief; such as an injunction, is needed.

(emphasis added) (citations omitted)); but see Buckhannon, 532
US. at 600 (holding that a plaintiff who has not secured

Lt. Col. McSally’s claim is distinguishable from the
claim in Buckhannon for a number of reasons. First, the
Department of Defense (“DoD”) did not change its own
policy. On the contrary, the DoD fought for seven years to
maintain the policy, despite the policy’s obvious
infringement on First Amendment free speech and blatant
gender discrimination. Second, Lt. Col. McSally’s case was
rendered moot by a third party, not by the defendant.
Third, whereas in Buckhannon the change in defendant's
behavior was voluntary (i.e., the West Virginia legislature
willingly altered its own flawed law), in this case, the
United States Congress intervened to bring an end to the
DoD’s unconstitutional policies, a full seven years after the
DoD first ignored Lt. Col. McSally’s pleas. These
distinguishing facts, inter alia, clearly remove McSally v.
Rumsfeld from the narrow confines of Buckhannon.

The D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals has not been alone
in its misinterpretation of Buckiannon. There is discord

among the circuits regarding the appropriate interpretation
and application of Buckhannon. See Palmetto Props., Inc. v.
County of Dupage, 375 F.3d 542, 551 (7% Cir. 2004) (plaintiff
was entitled to attorney’s fees where no final judgment
entered because county involuntarily changed its policy
after adverse ruling on a summary judgment motion); Tyler
v. O'Neil, 2004 WL 2297148 (3rd Cir. 2004) (defining
“prevailing party” to apply to a plaintiff when “some of the
benefit sought” by the litigation is achieved whether
judicially obtained or not); Smalbein v. City of Daytona Beach,
353 F.3d 901, 907 (11th Cir. 2003) (holding that a final
judgment or consent decree is not an exhaustive list of
possibilities that could satisfy the prevailing party

judgment on the merits, but has caused a voluntary change in
defendant's behavior, is not a prevailing party (emphasis
added)).

standard); Truesdell v. Philadelphia Hous. Auth. 290 F.3d 159,
164 (3d Cir. 2002); but see Smyth v. Rivero, 282 F.3d 268, 284
(4th Cir. 2002) (holding an injunction granted to plaintiff did
not suffice to meet prevailing party standard under
Buckhannon). The holding of Buckhannon has been used in
various and often contradictory manners.

Review by this Court is required to resolve the
uncertainty created by these conflicting decisions. The
federal courts are divided over the appropriate
interpretation and application of a case of great importance.
The practical implications for civil rights plaintiffs
nationwide are grave should the reading of Buckhannon by
the D.C. Circuit be allowed to stand. The D.C. Circuit's
decision fundamentally misconstrues Buckhannon and
threatens to abrogate The Civil Rights Attorney’s Fees
Awards Act of 1976 as Congress intended it. See H.R. Rep.
94-1558 (1976); see also S. Rep. 94-1011 (1976).

1. The Abaya Policy. Female military personnel
stationed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia have been subject
to certain dress and conduct regulations since as early as
1995. These regulations were issued under the authority of
the Commander of the 363rd Air Expeditionary Wing-and
designated as 363 AEW INSTRUCTION 36-103 and were
punishable under Article 92 of the Uniform Code of Military
Justice. AEW Instruction 36-103. This policy applied solely
to female members of the United States military stationed in
the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and governed, inter alia, their
off-base conduct and attire. See 363 Air Expeditionary Wing
Instruction 36-103, Colonel R.H. Haseloff, United States Air
Force, at 3.12.31 (Aug. 7, 2001) [hereinafter, AEW
Instruction 36-103]. The policy was published as a formal
Air Force instruction and ordered in paragraphs 3.12.3 and
3.12.3.1: “[w]omen will... Wear an abaya. The head cover
or scarf will be carried at all times and immediately worn if
host nation people request it. Units should purchase abayas

through contracting using AF Form 9 procedures.” Id. at
3.12.3, 3.12.3.1. The regulations specifically required that all
female supervisors wear an abaya when traveling off-base.

Moreover, the Instruction instituted a policy
requiring that each woman have at least one male escort
when traveling off-base, without consideration of rank or
the order’s adverse impact on her ability to perform her
duties, and dictated that no servicewoman drive a vehicle.
Id. at 3.12.3.5, 4.4. Women were likewise required to, “[r]ide
in the rear seat when there were more than two people
traveling in the vehicle.” Id. at 3.12.3.4. The Abaya Policy
and the various discriminatory instructions set forth in
AEW Instruction 36-103 were implemented without regard
to the religious beliefs of the servicewomen, their impact on
the ability of the women to perform their jobs, comfort in
the oppressive Saudi heat, the denigrating effect on women
in general, and without sound rationale.

An abaya is a religious garment characteristically
worn by Muslim women in obedience to the Prophet's reply
to A’isha as recorded in the Koran. The Prophet ordained:
“When a woman reaches puberty no part of her body
should remain uncovered except her face and the hand to
the wrist joint.” (A-12). The abaya is religious in nature and
was unconstitutionally forced upon the women of the U. S.
military by the DoD. Wearing the abaya is an outward
expression of belief in the Muslim faith. It is symbolic
speech and was forced upon the women of the United States
military by the DoD.

The Abaya Policy applied only to female members of
the United States armed services in the Kingdom of Saudi
Arabia (A-13). No other woman employed by the United
States government was required to wear the abaya while in
Saudi Arabia, on or off of a military base. For example,
female employees of the U.S. State Department were not

required to wear the abaya, nor were civilian contractors or
women working in Saudi Arabia for any of the United
States’ various agencies and departments. The Abaya Policy
was in effect in no other Islamic country. Likewise, the
instructions prohibiting females from both leaving base
unescorted and driving a vehicle applied only to
servicewomen in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The Abaya
Policy was unique to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, despite
the fact that Saudi law did not require foreign women to
wear the abaya.

2. Factual Background. Lt. Col. Martha McSally is the
highest ranking female fighter pilot in the United States Air
Force. She is 38 years old and a graduate of the United
States Air Force Academy, where she ranked 25th in a class
of 1050 (A-10). Upon graduation, Lt. Col. McSally began a
stellar career serving her nation and was promoted to the
rank of Major two years ahead of her class, an honor
reserved for the top three percent of eligible officers. In
1994, Lt. Col. McSally was awarded a fighter assignment to
Kuwait and earned the distinguished honor of becoming the
first American woman to fly a combat mission when she
flew a sortie into Iraq in an effort to enforce the no-fly zone.
Lt. Col. McSally impressively has flown more than 100
combat hours in Iraq on two separate deployments to
Kuwait. (A-11). Lt. Col. McSally is a devout Christian (A-
15). She is a member of her military base’s non-
denominational Chapel and has led the women’s Bible
study, choir, most Chapel religious services and base prayer —
breakfasts.

It was in 1995 that Lt. Col. McSally first encountered
the DoD’s Abaya Policy. While in a Kuwaiti theater, she
noticed a small poster geared toward enlisted women,
which depicted the appropriate manner of dress while off-
base in Saudi Arabia. Intrigued, she obtained a formal copy ~
of the policy from the Joint Task Force-Southwest Asia

Headquarters (A-13). It was only then that Lt. Col. McSally
learned that while the policy prescribed the abaya as off-
base attire for women, military men were forbidden from
wearing any type of local customary clothing. See AEW
Instruction. Spurred by the gender inequities inherent in
the Abaya Policy, as well as by her own discomfort as a
Christian woman with being made to wear a symbol of the
Muslim faith and publicly veil her true identity as a
Christian, Lt. Col. McSally began her seven-year crusade to
change the policy (A-14).

Sometime after Lt. Col. McSally’s first encounter
with the Abaya Policy, then-Secretary of Defense William
Perry visited Lt. Col. McSally’s base in Kuwait. Lt. Col.
McSally approached the Secretary and inquired about the
policy. She asked him, “Sir, you just came from Saudi
Arabia. In your discussions, I was wondering if there was
any consideration to treating female American soldiers
serving in that country with a little more dignity?” (A-14)
During the following year, Lt. Col. McSally followed up the

chain of command to ascertain whether any action had
come of her raising the issue. None had.

In 1997, Lt. Col. McSally addressed the Defense
Advisory Committee on Women -in~ the Services
(DACOWITS). She was asked about her experiences as a
fighter pilot, and she mentioned the Abaya Policy.
DACOWITS was completely unaware of the policy's
existence. Over the next several years, Lt. Col. McSally
performed an increasing amount of research into the Abaya
Policy and, in 1999, assumed a position on Capitol Hill as a
legislative fellow. During this time, and until her departure
in 2000, Lt. Col. McSally discussed the policy with
congressional staffers, resulting in an inquiry into the policy
by a Congressman on the International Affairs Committee.
He informed Lt. Col. McSally that the policy was not one of
the United States State Department, as she had been led to

believe, but was rather the sole creation of the DoD. In
actuality, the State Department prohibited female
employees from wearing the abaya while on duty because
doing so was contrary to their role as representatives of the
United States government (A-14, 15).

Lt. Col. McSally immediately called the office of the
Secretary of Defense and described the findings of the
Congressman’s inquiry. The DoD responded by defending
the policy, stating that it was an important part of respecting
the host nation. In 2000, Major General Victor Renuart,
Commander of the Joint Task Force South West Asia (JTF-
SWA Commander), approached Lt. Col. McSally about his
consideration of her for assignment in Saudi Arabia. She
expressed her displeasure with the way servicewomen were
treated in Saudi Arabia and informed the Major General
that, if chosen for the position, as a Christian her personal
religious conviction would prevent her from wearing the
Muslim abaya and that she would continue to oppose the
policy. She stated that she would never put on the garment
and described her efforts over the previous five years to
change the policy. Major General Renuart initially told her
that there was little he could do with regard to the policy.
But upon Lt. Col. McSally informing him that the only place
the policy appeared in writing was in a local regulation
signed by him, he led her to believe that if assigned to Saudi
Arabia she could work from within to change the policy (A-
16).

Over the following year, Lt. Col. McSally continued
her efforts to change the Muslim Abaya Policy. She had
lunch with Secretary Whit Peters, then-Secretary of the Air
Force, and discussed the policy with him (A-16).
Additionally, upon receiving information notifying her that
the Abaya Policy was readily being enforced in Saudi
Arabia, Lt. Col. McSally wrote the JTF-SWA Commander in
anticipation of her deployment to Saudi Arabia and

reminded him of their earlier conversation and her personal
conviction. In response, Lt. Col. McSally received two
emails, one from the colonel chief of staff and another from
the judge advocate, instructing her that wearing the abaya
was an order which she would follow or suffer the
consequences of disobedience (A-17).

Upon her arrival in Saudi Arabia, Lt. Col. McSally
was met at the airport with an abaya and was forced to wear
it in compliance with the order. She then set about to
change the policy from within as planned. Approximately
one year into her tour of duty, Lt. Col. McSally met with her
new commander, Major General Renuart, as well as his
colonel judge advocate general and colonel chief of staff.
During the meeting, she was criticized for her stance against
the policy and was informed that the policy would not
change (A-18).

In 2001, Lt. Col. McSally was ordered to the United
States to attend a conference. While in the United States, she
met with her previous commander to again discuss the
Abaya Policy. The meeting yielded no change in the Abaya
Policy, and Lt. Col. McSally returned to Saudi Arabia.
During her final months there, she delegated the majority of
her off-base duties to her male deputy so that she would not
have to leave the base and be subjected to the Abaya Policy
and AEW Instruction. Despite voicing her desire to not
“take a negative hit” in her leadership evaluation as a result
of her convictions, she was again chastised for her view and
efforts (A-18). In March of the same year, Lt. Col. McSally
consented to an interview with USA Today. The interview
was quickly published in the national newspaper, which
further angered her commanding General. Upon returning
to Saudi Arabia after the interview, she was again forced to
put on an abaya in the airport to wear during the car ride to
the base (A-18, 19). At the base, she was faced with a hostile
work environment. In April of 2001, Lt. Col. McSally met

with Major General Dylewski, the new JIF-SWA
Commander, and he informed her that he was conducting a
_ review of the policy (A-19).

In Saudi Arabia, Lt. Col. McSally was responsible for
Combat Search and Rescue. Lt. Col. McSally was a major
participant in a novel exercise the United States completed
with the Bahrainis, and this exercise sparked interest in the
Saudis in completing a similar exercise with United States
command in Saudi Arabia. Lt. Col. McSally’s colonel,
however, refused to allow her to brief the Saudis in
preparation for the exercise, stating that she would probably
offend them (A-19). It was also during this time that Lt. Col.
McSally began to receive negative oral and written
feedback. She was denied the opportunity to perform other
briefings, and her officer performance report was sub par.
In addition, her supervisor refused to recommend her for
squadron command. The absence of the command
recommendation in the report of an officer of Lt. Col.
McSally’s caliber was highly conspicuous and was certain to
negatively impact her promotion potential (A-20).

In August of 2001, the Air Operations Center was
moved from Eskan Village, Saudi Arabia to the Prince
Sultan Air Base in the same country. Lt. Col. McSally was
not able to lead the move of her cell to the new location
because, pursuant to the DoD’s policy regarding the
conduct of female military personnel, she was not allowed
to drive. She was instead forced to rely on her deputy to
maneuver the vehicle. Her inability to appropriately
perform her job was the final straw for Lt. Col. McSally. As
a result of the DoD’s discriminatory policy hindering her
ability to perform her duties and the six years of fruitlessly
rallying for change from within the military, Lt. Col.
McSally decided that litigation was the only viable means of
achieving a material change in the DoD’s policy (A-20).

3. Litigation and the Congressional Response. After
seven years of attempting to protect her religious freedom
and end blatant gender discrimination in the U.S. military
while attempting to shield herself from any career
damaging recourse, Lt. Col. McSally filed a complaint
December 3, 2001 alleging violation of her religious liberty
under the First Amendment and the Religious Freedom
Restoration Act and gender discrimination under the Due
Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment. In her prayer for
relief, Lt. Col. McSally sought an injunction restraining the
Secretary, and others under his chain of command, from
enforcing Instruction 1.12.3.1, a declaration that the
regulation was illegal, and an award of costs and reasonable
attorneys’ fees. She sought to effect through litigation the
policy change that the DoD had evaded for over half a
decade.

On February 27, 2002, the Secretary filed the
declaration of Major Gen. Gary R. Dylewski, the
Commander of the Joint-Task Force-Southwest Asia (JTF-
SWA). Major Gen. Dylewski stated that the Abaya Policy
had been modified after the start of Lt. Col. McSally’s
lawsuit. Under the new policy, females were no longer
required to wear the Muslim abaya or carry the abaya head
scarf when traveling off-base, but it was strongly
encouraged. Finally, Lt. Col. McSally had secured
conscientious objector status for herself as a religious
objector to the wearing of the abaya. With the subtle change
in military policy, she could now, under the Uniform Code
of Military Justice, legally refuse to wear the abaya.
However, this change in the conscientious objector status of
Lt. Col. McSally marked the full range of benefit derived
from the alteration of the military’s policy. The new policy
no longer required servicewomen tc wear the abaya but,
rather, “strongly encouraged” it. Yet, in the military
tradition, there was no practical difference between the new
and old policy. A required order and a “strongly

encouraged” directive, for a subordinate in the United States
armed forces, are identical in purpose and effect.

The following day, February 28, 2002, the Secretary
of Defense filed a Motion to Dismiss the Complaint, arguing
that the revised policy “strongly encourag[ing],” but not
mandating the wearing of the abaya when traveling off-
base, mooted Lt. Col. McSally’s claims. This question was
fully briefed by the parties and argued before the Court on
Apmil 24, 2002.

Lt. Col. McSally then filed an Amended Complaint
on May 3, 2002, claiming that the technical change in the
language of the Abaya Policy did not constitute a practical
change in the policy. Lt Col. McSally contended that in the
military, “strongly encourag{ing]” denoted an effective
requirement. She argued that “[t]he new regulation is the
same policy as before in its purpose and effect.”

Finally, on May 14, 2002, after seven years of
dedicated effort on the part of Lt. Col. McSally, the United
States House of Representatives unanimously approved HR
4714, which amended the pending Joint Defense
Authorization Bill, HR 4546. The amendment specifically
addressed the DoD’s Abaya Policy. The bill prohibited the
DoD from requiring or formally urging female military
personnel to wear the Muslim abaya and head scarf while
stationed in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. The bill also
proscribed the use of funds appropriated by Congress to the
DoD for the purchase of abayas to be issued to
servicewomen in Saudi Arabia. Three days later, the
Secretary of Defense renewed his motion to dismiss Lt. Col.
McSally’s Complaint. He again argued that the new policy,
which only “strongly encourag{ed]” the wearing of the
abaya, rendered Lt. Col. McSally’s claim moot. The motion
was again fully briefed and argued by both parties.

On June 24, 2002, the United States Senate approved
amendment S.S. 3969 by a vote of 93-0. The amendment
changed the Department of Defense Authorization Bill by
prohibiting the DoD from requiring or formally urging
servicewomen serving in Saudi Arabia to wear the abaya.
The amendment’s language tracked that of legislation
drafted by counsel for Lt. Col. McSally as part of their effort
to obtain relief from the Abaya Policy for her.

While the renewed Motion to Dismiss was pending,
the parties jointly filed a Rule 16.3 Joint Report to the Court
on July 31, 2002, stating that both houses of the United
States Congress had unanimously passed an amendment to
the pending Joint Defense Authorization Bill eliminating the
Abaya Policy. :

Then, on September 27, 2002, the district court
denied the Secretary’s Motion to Dismiss Lt. Col. McSally’s
claim, holding that although Congress had approved
language in the Department of Defense appropriation bill

which would prohibit the Abaya Policy, that legislation had
not yet been enacted. The district court determined that
until the legislation was enacted, Lt. Col. McSally’s claim
under the Religious Freedom Restoration Act could not be
dismissed because there was evidence on the record that the
DoD’s policy of. “strongly encourag[ing]” women to wear
the abaya when off-base in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
would still restrain the free exercise of religion. The court
also called upon the Secretary to brief his position on
attorney's fees once the RFRA claim was resolved (A-6).

On October 15, 2002, the Secretary of Defense filed
an Answer to the Amended Complaint. Soon thereafter, Lt.
Col. McSally was transferred back to Saudi Arabia in
preparation of the April 2003 war in Iraq, despite the
Secretary’s representations in an earlier mootness briefing

that she was not subject to ever being returned to the
Middle East.

On December 2, 2002, President Bush signed into
law the amended National Defense Authorization Act for
Fiscal Year 2003, which, in one of its most fought for
components, forbade the DoD requiring or urging United
States servicewomen to wear the Muslim abaya while off-
base in Saudi Arabia.

4. The Dismissal of McSally v. Rumsfeld and the
Petition for Fees. Beginning in the spring of 2003, Lt. Col.
McSally was in Saudi Arabia fighting the war on terror and
was unable to assist with her lawsuit. On July 31, 2003, she
submitted to the district court her response to an order to
show cause. In her response, she stated that the amendment
of the prior general order requiring that female service
members wear the Muslim abaya and the unanimous
enactment of the amended National Defense Authorization

Act for Fiscal Year 2003, both of which directly resulted
from her seven-year effort to convince the DoD to change its
policy and from the litigation, had resolved her claims.
Therefore, she affirmed that she was prepared to dismiss all
claims regarding the Abaya Policy, and both her counsel
and counsel for the Secretary filed a joint stipulation of
dismissal on April 24, 2004 (A-7).

Due to unforeseen health problems and confusion as
to whether a final order of judgment was entered, counsel
for Petitioner filed their petition for fees pursuant to 42
U.S.C. §1988 on June 21, 2004, 58 days after filing the joint
. Stipulation. The district court deemed the motion to be
timely and pointed out that Lt. Col. McSally was the reason
for “Congressional action that trumped the military’s half-
baked response to her suit.” (A-4). However, the district
court declined to grant the request for attorneys’ fees,
writing that the situation was indistinguishable from that in

Buckhannon (A-4). On April 8, 2005, the District of Columbia
Court of Appeals entered a per curiam order affirming the
District Court's judgment. It held that “the term ‘prevailing
party’ does not authorize an award of attorneys’ fees when
the plaintiff achieves the desired result through legislative -
not judicial - action.” (A-2).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This Court should grant review to resolve the
conflict among the courts of appeals over the definition of
“prevailing party” under the Civil Rights Attorney's Fees
Awards Act of 1976 and to make clear that Congress
intended that a plaintiff who secures a material and legally
enforceable change in the legal relationship between
plaintiff and defendant resulting from an involuntary
change in the defendant's behavior may recover reasonable
costs and attorney's fees under the Act. Resolution of these
fundamental issues is crucial to the administration of justice
and the fulfillment and furtherance of the purpose of the
1976 Act. See The Civil Rights Attorney’s Fees Award Act of
1976, 42 US.C. § 1988 (2005); see also H.R. Rep. 94-1558
(1976); S. Rep. 94-1011 (1976).

LT. COL. MCSALLY IS A “PREVAILING
PARTY” UNDER THE CIVIL RIGHTS
ATTORNEY'S FEES AWARDS ACT OF
1976 AND IS ENTITLED TO
REASONABLE ATTORNEYS’ FEES AND
COSTS.

The Court of Appeals erred when it declared that Lt.
Col. Martha McSally was not a “prevailing party” for the
purposes of 42 U.S.C. § 1988 which authorizes, in the court's
discretion, fee-shifting in civil rights actions. The legislative
history of the Civil Rights Attorney's Fees Awards Act of

17

1976 demonstrates that Congress intended the phrase
“prevailing party” to encompass more than the clear victor
at the end of litigation or a party that had obtained a
favorable “final judgment following a full trial on the
merits.” See H.R. Rep. No. 94-1558, p. 7. Specifically,
“parties may be considered to have prevailed when they
vindicate rights. .. without formally obtaining relief.” Id.

Congress plainly intended a plaintiff such as Lt. Col.
McSally to be deemed a “prevailing party” because she took
on the role of a “private attorney general”? when she
challenged the DoD’s unconstitutional and discriminatory

* The theory of the “private attorney general” was considered by
Congress in the enactment of The Civil Rights Attorney's Fees Awards
Act of 1976. See S. Rep. 94-1101, at 3 (1976); H.R. Rep. 94-1558, at 6
(1976). The theory is not novel and is best articulated in Newman vy.
Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc., 390 U.S. 400, 402 (1968). The Senaie
Report utilizes the theory in its statement on the 1976 Act:

When a plaintiff brings an action under [Title II] he
cannot recover damages. If he obtains an injunction,
he does so not for himself alone, but also as a ‘private
attorney general,’ vindicating a policy that Congress
considered of the highest priority. If successful
plaintiffs were routinely forced to bear their own
attorneys’ fees, few aggrieved parties would be in a
position to advance the public interest by invoking the
injunctive powers of the Federal courts. Congress
therefore enacted the provision for counsel fees--* *
*(sic) to encourage individuals injured by racial
discrimination to seek judicial relief under Title II.
Newman v. Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc., 390 U.S.
400, 402 (1968).

S. Rep. 94-1101, at 3. The Report further states, “[t}he idea of
the ‘private attorney general’ is not a new one, nor are
attorneys’ fees a new remedy. Congress has commonly
authorized attorneys’ fees in laws under which ‘private attorney
general(sic]’ play a significant role in enforcing our policies.”
Id

Abaya Policy. Lt. Col. McSally “play[ed] a significant role in
enforcing [the] policies” of the United States and is,
therefore, well within the class of plaintiffs contemplated by
Congress when it scripted the 1976 Act. S. Rep. 94-1101, at
3. Her lawsuit resulted in landmark legislation in which
Congress forced an unwilling executive department to end
nearly a decade of illegal activity. Lt. Col. McSally satisfied
the requirements of the Act when her litigation caused a
legally enforceable involuntary change in the DoD policy
and resulted in a material change of the position of both Lt.
Col. McSally and the DoD. The Court of Appeals was in
error when it relied on Bucklannon, a _ factually
distinguishable case concerning a voluntary change in the
behavior of a defendant, to restrict the award of attorneys’
fees to Lt. Col. McSally.

A. Buckhannon is Factually
Distinguishable from the Instant
Action and Does Not Bar Lt. Co.
McSally from Recovering
Reasonable Attorneys’ Fees.

In Buckhannon, the Supreme Court determined that a
plaintiff who has failed to secure a judgment on the merits
or by a court-ordered consent decree, but has nonetheless
achieved the result desired by the lawsuit due to a voluntary
change in the defendant's behavior, is not a “prevailing
party.” See Bucklannon, 532 U.S. at 600. There, the plaintiffs
alleged that a requirement of a West Virginia statute
violated both the Fair Housing Amendments Act of 1988
(FHAA) and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990
(ADA). Apparently agreeing, the state legislature took steps
to remedy the challenged legislation. As a result of the
litigation, the West Virginia legislature enacted two bills
eliminating the offensive requirement. The West Virginia
legislature was motivated to act by the pending lawsuit and,

without instruction from the judiciary or state executive
branch, voluntarily changed the requirement. .

The Buckhannon Court held:

A defendant's voluntary change in conduct,
although perhaps accomplishing what the
plaintiff sought to achieve by the lawsuit,
lacks the necessary judicial imprimatur on
the change. Our precedents thus counsel
against holding that the term “prevailing
party” authorizes an award of attorney's
fees without corresponding alteration in the
legal relationship of parties.

Id. at 605 (first emphasis added). In so holding, this Court
specifically determined that a voluntary change did not rise to
the standard of conferring “prevailing party” status on a
plaintiff, but the decision is conspicuously silent regarding
involuntary changes in the behavior of the defendant. The

facts of Buckhannon did not present this issue, and this Court
did not address it.

Buckhannon is altogether distinguishable from the
case of Lt. Col. McSally, who had worked to no avail for
seven years to effectuate a change in the DoD’s Abaya
Policy. She protested the Abaya Policy and petitioned the
DoD for its formal revocation. Finally, after almost a full
decade of infringed constitutional rights, Congress enacted
legislation forcing the DoD to end its unconstitutional
practices. See Pub. L. No. 107-314, §563.

The facts of Buckhannon are simply not analogous to —
this action, and its holding is therefore inapplicable. Lt. Col.
McSally’s crusade to end a policy of religious and gender
discrimination in the United States Air Force came to a
successful close when the U.S. Congress, motivated to action

by her seven-year effort and ensuing litigation, forced an
unwilling DoD to abandon its denigrating policy. The DoD
did not voluntarily change the Muslim Abaya Policy--
Congress enacted legislation prohibiting it from continuing
the discriminatory imperative. Lt. Col. McSally’s lawsuit
was mooted when the legislative branch of the USS.
government, in an exercise of its lawmaking power, dictated
a policy change in an agency of the executive branch. The
policy change was not voluntary, but an example of
constitutional checks and balances. This situation is far
outside the scope of Buckhannon and cannot be judged by its
standard.

Understanding that Bucklannon _ specifically
overruled the “catalyst theory”--which “posits that a
plaintiff is a ‘prevailing party’ if it achieves the desired
result because the lawsuit brought about a voluntary change
in the defendant's conduct,” Buckliannon, 532 U.S. at 601
(emphasis added) --Petitioner does not assert the “catalyst

theory” in this case. Instead, Petitioner maintains that her
litigation was resolved when a third party, the US.
Congress, prohibited the DoD from further denigrating
female service members by way of its Abaya Policy. The
DoD did not voluntarily discontinue use of the policy as
would be necessary for an argument based on the “catalyst
theory”. Instead, Lt. Col McSally’s lawsuit caused an
intervening party to act with legal authority to force the
DoD to end its illegal activity.

The facts of this case present a novel question to the
Court, and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of
Columbia Circuit erred in affirming the dismissal of Lt. Col.
McSally’s fee petition based upon the decision of this Court
in Buckhannon.

Congress Intended that Plaintiffs
Situated Such as Lt. Col. McSally be
Awarded Attorneys’ Fees.

This Court held in Hanrahan v. Hampton, 446 U.S.
794, 756-57 (1980), that “[t]he legislative history cf the Civil
Rights Attorney’s Fees Awards Act of 1976 indicates that a
person may in some circumstances be a ‘prevailing party’
without having obtained a favorable ‘final judgment
following a full trial on the merits.” Hanrahan, 446 USS. at
796-57 (citing H.R. Rep. No. 94-1558, at 7; S. Rep. No. 94-
1011, at 5). Similarly, the U.S. House of Representatives
made clear its intent regarding the class of plaintiffs able to
be deemed a “prevailing party.” Representative Drinan, a
member of the House Judiciary Committee, wrote:

The phrase “prevailing party” is not intended
to be limited to the victor only after entry of a
final judgment following a full trial on the
merits. It would also include a litigant who
succeeds even if the case is concluded prior
to a full evidentiary hearing before a judge or

jury.

H.R. Rep. 94-1558, at 7. The Senate articulated an even
broader approach. It chose not to employ the language
“prevailing party” at all and required only that a plaintiff
succeed in the enforcement of his infringed rights. See S.
Rep. 94-1101, at 4. Senator Tunney of the Senate Judiciary
Committee wrote, “[a] party seeking to enforce the rights
protected by the statutes covered by S. 2278, if successful,
‘should ordinarily recover an attorney's fee unless special
circumstances would render such an award unjust.’” S.
Rep. 94-1101, at 4 (emphasis added) (quoting Newman v.
Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc., 390 U.S. 400, 402 (1968)).
Moreover, Senator Tunney cited the “private attorney
general” theory as the motivating factor for the legislation

and argued for a broad class of “prevailing” plaintiffs. See
id. He even authorized the award of fees pendite lite in the
appropriate circumstances. Id. at 5.

Lt. Col. McSally is clearly a plaintiff contemplated by
both houses in the drafting of The Civil Rights Attorney’s
Fees Awards Act of 1976. See H. R. Rep. 94-1558; S. Rep. 94-
1101. The House explicitly announced that in order to be
deemed a “prevailing party,” the litigant need not have
emerged victorious after a “full trial on the merits.” See H.R.
Rep. 94-1558, at 7. The report’s author further asserted that
the plaintiff could “prevail” for the purposes of the Act even
if the case was concluded before a “full evidentiary hearing
before a judge or jury.” Id. The instant action fits squarely
within the original intent of the Act.

Lt. Col. McSally’s litigation concluded successfully
when the United States Congress, acting under Article I of
the Constitution, enacted legislation prohibiting the DoD
from exercising the Abaya Policy and terminating its ability
to use congressionally delegated funds to purchase abayas
for female service members. See Pub. L. No. 107-314, §563.
Through her seven-year effort, including the instant
litigation, Lt. Col. McSally’s First and Fifth Amendment
rights were fully vindicated, as were her rights under the
Religious Freedom Restoration Act. The trial judge wrote,

[i]t cannot be doubted or gainsaid that her

courageous action in challenging dress and

conduct regulations applicable only to

women serving in the military in Saudi

Arabia resulted first in a modification of

those regulations by the military and then

in Congressional action ferbidding-the DoD

from requiring or even formally urging

servicewomen stationed in Saudi Arabia to

wear the abaya.

(A-3). Due to Congress’ intervention as a direct result of her
efforts, Lt. Col. McSally was able to successfully conclude
her lawsuit, despite the absence of a full evidentiary hearing
_ before judge or jury. Notwithstanding the early termination
of her suit, the rights she fought for seven years to vindicate
were finally protected under legal imprimatur. Thus, she is
clearly a “prevailing party” within the terms of the Act.

Finally, it was the original intent of the Act's drafters
that it be read to secure fees for a broad group of plaintiffs.
The Senate Report focuses largely on making it easier for
plaintiffs to be awarded attorneys’ fees under the Act, not
harder.

THE COURT OF APPEALS MISCONSTRUED
BUCKHANNON,

In its summary affirmance of the dismissal of Lt. Col.
McSally’s petition, the Circuit Court paid special attention to
this Court's notation in Buckhannon that the term “prevailing
party” was a legal term of art used in numerous fee-shifting
statutes. (A-2). The Circuit Court specifically stated, “it is
clear here that appellant is not a ‘prevailing party’ as that
term has been construed. under the law of this circuit. In
particular, the term ‘prevailing party’ does not authorize an
award of attorney’s fees when the plaintiff achieves the
desired result through legislative—not judicial action.” (A-
2). However, in summarily affirming the decision of the
District Court, the Court of Appeals misconstrued and
broadly overstated this Court's holding in Buckhannon.

The Buckhannon Court invalidated the “catalyst
theory” because it determined that a voluntary change in
defendant's behavior does not carry with it a corresponding
alteration in the legal relationship of the parties.

Buckhannon, 532 U.S. at 605. Upon referring to the long line
of cases defining the boundaries of the fee-shifting statutes,
this Court wrote,

[t]hese decisions, taken together, establish
that enforceable judgments on the merits and
court-ordered decrees created the “material
alteration of the legal relationship of the
parties” necessary to permit an award of
attorney’s fees.

Buckhannon, 532 U.S. at 604. The focus in Buckhannon was
not on the type of action concluding the case, but on the
presence of a “material alteration of the legal relationship of
the parties.” Id. The Court supplied a non-exhaustive list of
examples including, but not limited to, a final judgment or
consent decree which would allow a plaintiff to be
considered the “prevailing party.” But the situations
enumerated by the Court were by way of example, and not
meant to provide an exhaustive list of circumstances under
which a plaintiff may recover attorney’s fees. The heart of
the Buckiannon holding is to require a legally enforceable
and material alteration in the position of the parties in order
for attorney’s fees to be recoverable. There are instances
other than those listed in Buckhannon that might satisfy this
requirement.

The Buckhannon Court did not attempt to, nor did it
profess to, render judgment on every possible situation that
might arise. Additionally, the non-exhaustive list the
Bucklunnon Court provided has been interpreted in various
ways. Instances other than a consent decree or an
enforceable judgment on the merits have been recognized as
sufficient by several other Circuit Courts. In Palmetto Props.,
Inc. v. County of DuPage, 375 F.3d 542 (7 Cir. 2004), the
court held that a county’s repeal of an adult use ordinance
was not voluntary for purposes of the Buckhannon case

where the repeal occurred after the court had ruled in favor
of the plaintiff on a summary judgment motion, although no
final judgment or order was entered on that ruling. The
Seventh Circuit held that a final judgment or order was not
required to make the plaintiff a prevailing party for
purposes of § 1988; the summary judgment ruling had
changed the legal relationship of the parties, and to
conclude that the plaintiff was not a prevailing party would
exalt form over substance. Id. at 551.

A legally enforceable settlement agreement was
deemed sufficient by the Third and Ninth Circuits.
Statements by both the Eleventh and Second Circuits
express the view that other possibilities beyond a final
judgment or consent decree could satisfy the prevailing
party standard. See Truesdell v. Philadelphia Housing Auth.,
290 F.3d 159, 164 (3rd Cir. 2002) (determining an enforceable
settlement agreement sufficient to entitle plaintiff to
“prevailing party” status); Barrios v. Cal. Interscholastic Fed’n,
277 F.3d 1128, 1137 (9th Cir. 2002) (differentiating between a
plaintiff serving as a “catalyst of policy change” and a party
to a legally enforceable settlement agreement who could sue
if the contract was breached); Smalbein v. City of Daytona
Beach, 353 F.3d 901, 907 (11th Cir. 2003) (holding that a final
judgment and consent decree did not exhaust the list of
occasions satisfying the “prevailing party” standard);
Roberson v. Giuliani, 346 F.3d 75, 83 (2nd Cir. 2003) (holding
same). Because of this, the D.C. Court of Appeals
fundamentally erred whe: it determined that, despite a
material and legally enforceable alteration in policy of the
DoD, Buckhannon barred the award of attorneys’ fees to Lt.
Col. McSally because the conclusion of her litigation did not
neatly fit into one of the two examples listed by the Court.3

> The dissent in Oil, Chemical and Atomic Workers Union v. Department
of Energy, 288 F.3d 452, 460 (D.C. Cir. 2002) fully addressed the facts
before the Buckhannon Court and the resultant holding of limited

The central holding of Buckhannon is that in order
for a plaintiff to meet the “prevailing party” standard
without a full trial on the merits, she must succeed in
achieving a legally enforceable and “material alteration of
the relationship of the parties.” Buckhannon, 532 U.S. at 604.
Lt. Col. McSally has met this standard.

Under Buckhannon, a voluntary change in
defendant's behavior does not make the plaintiff a
“prevailing party” because such a change, without judicial
or legislative ratification, is unenforceable. It has no legal
weight, and the defendant can easily reverse its position at
the dismissal of litigation. The plaintiff is no more legally
empowered at the end of the litigation than at its start.
However, an involuntary change forced upon the defendant
by an authority with legal power to do so clearly satisfies
the prevailing party standard.

The legislation passed by Congress has clearly
provided Lt. Col. McSally with legally enforceable recourse
should the DoD revert to its illegal policy. The material
alteration in the legal relationship between Lt. Col. McSally
and the DoD bears the mark of legislative imprimatur and
empowers her to judicially defend her victory should the
defendant once again implement the Abaya Policy.

The Court of Appeals thus erred in its construction
of Buckhannon. The change in DoD policy forced by the
legislation arising out of Lt. Col. McSally’s litigation
possesses the requisite legal imprimatur to confer on her the

application. See Oil Chemical and Atomic Workers Int'l Union, 288 F.3d
at 460 (dissenting on grounds that Buckhannon “makes clear that the
Court did not have the occasion to provide an exhaustive list of the
various forms of judicia! relief that the plaintiff must obtain in order to be
a ‘prevailing party.’ .. .") (Rogers, C.J., dissenting).

status of “prevailing party.” Whether the change is
legislative or judicial in nature is of little consequence under
the original intent of the 1976 Act. In both instances, there
would exist a “corresponding alteration in the legal
relationship” between Lt. Col McSally and the DoD. This is
all that is required by the Buckhannon decision. See
Buckhannon, 532 US. at 604 (stating that the reason
enforceable judgments on the merits and ordered consent
decrees confer “prevailing party” status on the plaintiff is
because they “create the ‘material alteration of the legal
relationship of the parties’ necessary to permit an award of
attorney’s fees” and that “precedents thus counsel against
holding that the term ‘prevailing party’ authorizes an award
of attorney’s fees without a corresponding alteration in the
legal relationship of the parties”).

If Lt. Col. McSally’s litigation had ended with the
DoD voluntarily agreeing to cease its illegal practices,
perhaps then the Court of Appeals’ decision would be an
accurate interpretation of Buckhannon and that case might

apply to the facts of this case. However, the termination of
the Abaya Policy was forced upon the DoD by Congress and
was thus not a voluntary action undertaken by the DoD. As
a result, the requisite alteration in the legal position of the
parties which can be enforced through legal means is
present. The Court of Appeals’ refusal to find that Lt. Col.
McSally is a prevailing party eligible for attorneys’ fees
under the Act is in error.

CONCLUSION

Buckhannon presented the question “whether [the
term ‘prevailing party’} includes a party that has failed to
secure a judgment on the merits or a court-ordered consent
decree, but has nonetheless achieved the desired result
because the lawsuit brought about a voluntary change in the
defendant's conduct.” /d. at 600 (emphasis added). There,
this Court specifically addressed and overturned the
“catalyst theory” which argues that a plaintiff is a
“prevailing party” for the purposes of the Civil Rights
Attorney's Fees Awards Act of 1976 if the plaintiff's lawsuit
brought about a voluntary change in the defendant's
conduct. /d. at 601. Bucklannon is factually dissimilar to the
instant action and did not address whether attorney’s fees
may be awarded by a court when the plaintiff's litigation
resulted in an involuntary change in the defendant's conduct
and a material alteration in the position of the parties.

As such, Buckhannon does not bar an award of
attorneys’ fees to Lt. Col. Martha McSally. Over the
objections of the Secretary of Defense, and in response to Lt.
Col. McSally’s seven-year efforts, the U.S. Congress
unanimously acted to vindicate Lt. Col. McSally’s rights by
enacting a law prohibiting the DoD’s illegal and
discriminatory Abaya Policy. See Pub. L. No. 107-314, §563.
In doing so, Congress forced the DoD to involuntarily
change its policy. This in turn provided Lt. Col. McSally
with an enforceable legal decree and materially changed her
legal relationship with the DoD. All requirements for an
award of attorneys’ fees under 42 U.S.C. § 1988, therefore,
have been satisfied.

For the foregoing reasons, petitioner prays that a
writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas S. Neuberger
Stephen J. Neuberger

THE NEUBERGER FIRM

Two East Seventh Street
Suite 302

Wilmington, DE 19801

(302) 655-0582

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

Randal M. Shaheen
ARNOLD & PORTER

555 Twelfth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 942-5734

John W. Whitehead

THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE
1440 Sachem Place
Charlottesville, VA 22906
(434) 978-3888

Co-Counsel for Petitioner

Supreme Court of the Anited States

MARTHA MCSALLY, LT. COL.,

Petitioner,

DONALD H. RUMSFELD,
SECRETARY OF DEFENSE,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the
District of Columbia Circuit

APPENDIX

Thomas S. Neuberger
Stephen J. Neuberger
THE NEUBERGER FIRM
Two East Seventh Street
Suite 302

Wilmington, DE 19801
(302) 655-0582

Cousel of Record for
Petitioner

Randall M. Shaheen
ARNOLD & PORTER

555 Twelfth Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 942-5734

John W. Whitehead

THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE
1440 Sachem Place
Charlottesville, VA 22906
(434) 978-3888

Co-Counsel for Petitioner

LANTACNE LEGAL PRINTING
801 East Main Street Suite 100 Richmond. Virginia 23219 (800) 847-0477

APPENDIX TO THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals
for the District of Columbia, filed April 8, 2004,
No. 04-5303

Memorandum Order of the United States
District Court for the District of Columbia,
entered July 23, 2004

Memorandum Order of the United States
District Court for the District of Columbia,
entered July 27, 2002

Stipulation of Dismissal entered April 20, 2004

Affidavit of Martha E. McSally filed March 26, 2002....

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Filed April 8, 2005
No. 04-5303

Martha McSally, Lt. Col.,
Appellant

V.-

Donald H. Rumsfeld, Secretary of Defense,
Appellee

Before: EDWARDS, HENDERSON, and RANDOLPH,
Circuit Judges.

ORDER

Upon consideration of the motion for summary
affirmance, the opposition thereto, and the reply, it is

ORDERED that the motion be granted and the District
Court's judgment filed July 23, 2004, denying appellant's
request for an award of attorneys’ fees and costs, be
affirmed. The merits of the parties' positions are so clear as
to warrant summary action. See Taxpayers Watchdog, Inc. v.
Stanley, 260 U.S. App. D.C. 334, 819 F.2d 294, 297 (D.C. Cir.
1987) (per curiam).

The issue in this case is whether appellant is entitled to
an award of attorneys’ fees under the Civil Rights Attorney's
Fees Awards Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1988, which authorizes a fee
award to the "prevailing party." We hold that she is not.

In Buckhannon Board & Care Home, Inc. v. West Virginia
Dep't of Health & Human Resources, 532 U.S. 598, 149 L. Ed. 2d

855, 121 S. Ct. 1835 (2001), which involved the fee-shifting
provisions of the Fair Housing Amendments Act and the
Americans with Disabilities Act, the Supreme Court noted that
the term "prevailing party" is a "legal term of art" used in
numerous [*2] federal statutes, including § 1988, and the
Court has "interpreted these fee-shifting provisions
consistently." 532 U.S. at 603 & n.4. Joining several other
circuits that have considered the question, we hold that
Buckhannon applies to the definition of "prevailing party"
under the Civil Rights Attorney's Fees Awards Act. See, e.g.,
Richardson v. Miller, 279 F.3d 1, 4-5 (1st Cir. 2002); N.Y. State
Fed'n of Taxi Drivers, Inc. v. Westchester County Taxi &
Limousine Comm'n, 272 F.3d 154, 158 (2d Cir. 2001) (per
curiam).

On the record here, it is clear that appellant is not a
“prevailing party" as that term has been construed under the
law of this circuit. See Thomas v. Nat'l Sci. Found., 356 U.S.
App. D.C. 222, 330 F.3d 486, 492-94 (D.C. Cir. 2003). In
particular, the term "prevailing party" does not authorize an

award of attorneys' fees when the plaintiff achieves the
desired result through legislative - not judicial - action. See
Buckhannon, 532 U.S. at 601, 604-06.

The Clerk is directed to publish this order pursuant to
D.C. Circuit Rule 36. The Clerk is further directed to
withhold issuance [*3] of the mandate herein until seven
days after resolution of any timely petition for rehearing or
petition for rehearing en banc. See Fed. R. App. P. 41(b); D.C.
Cir. Rule 41.

Per Curiam
FOR THE COURT:
Mark J. Langer, Clerk

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

MARTHA MCSALLY,
Plaintiff,
Vv. : Civil Action No.
: 01-2481 (JR)
DONALD RUMSFELD, Secretary of :
Defense, :

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM ORDER

Plaintiff, Lt. Col. Martha McSally, moves pursuant to
Rule 54(d)(2)(C) for an order granting her an award of
reasonable attorneys’ fees and costs as a “prevailing party”
pursuant to 42 US.C. § 1988. It cannot be doubted or
gainsaid that her courageous action in challenging dress and
conduct regulations applicable only to women serving in the
military in Saudi Arabia resulted first in a modification of
those regulations by the military and then in Congressional
action forbidding the Defense Department from requiring or
even formally urging servicewomen stationed in Saudi
Arabia to wear the abaya.

These things happened in late 2002, and this case has
languished since then because of stalled negotiations over
whether and to what extent plaintiff's counsel should be
compensated for their efforts in prosecuting this case.
Apparently those discussions came to naught. On April 20,
2004, the parties stipulated that the case would be dismissed
pursuant to Rule 41(a)(1)(ii) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure, and plaintiff thereafter filed the instant motion
for attorneys’ fees.

The defendant. resists the motion on the ground,
first, that it is untimely. That objection is overruled. The
deadline imposed by Rule 54(d)(2)(B) is “[fourteen] days
after entry of udgment,” but no “judgment” was ever
entered in this case. Even if the fourteen days runs from the
date of voluntary dismissal, the rule provides adjustment of
the deadline by “order of the court,” which this
memorandum shall be deemed to be.

Defendant's second ground for opposing the motion
for attorneys’ fees, unfortunately for plaintiff’s counsel, is
dispositive. It relies upon Buckhannon Bd. & Care Home,
Inc. v. W. Va. Dep't of Health & Res., 532 U.S. 598 (2001),
which, as defendant correctly points out, instructs that a
party must obtain a judicially ordered “material alteration of
the legal relationship of the parties” before it may be
considered a prevailing party under a statute that permits
an award of attorneys fees to a prevailing party. Id. at 604
(quoting Tex. State Teachers Ass’n v. Garland Indep. Sch.
Dist, 489 U.S. 782, 792-93 (1989)). Plaintiff was
unquestionably the “catalyst” for defendant's adjustment of
the regulations and then for Congressional action that
trumped the military’s half-baked response to her suit. It
would be correct, indeed, to say that she was not only the
catalyst, but also the most active ingredient. Nevertheless,
plaintiff has not shown a way to distinguish or circumvent
the rule of Buckhannon, and none occurs to this Court. The
motion [40] must be, and it hereby is, denied.

JAMES ROBERTSON
United States District Judge

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

MARTHA MCSALLY,

Plaintiff,

: Civil Action No.
: 01-2481 (UR)

DONALD H. RUMSFELD, Secretary :
Of Defense, :

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM ORDER

After reviewing the parties’ briefs on defendant's
renewed motion to dismiss, and after considering matters
presented to the Court in a telephone conference on July 30,
2002, it appears that only three issues remain in dispute. The
first is whether the defendant's new policy of encouraging
(but not requiring) women to wear the abaya in Saudi Arabia
moots the plaintiff's claim under the Religious Freedom
Restoration Act. The second is whether plaintiff should be
permitted to pursue her retaliation claim. The third is
attorneys’ fees.

The first question appears poised for resolution by
Congress, in that the latest version of the National Defense
Authorization Act for fiscal year 2003, S. 2514, would
prohibit the Armed Forces from requiring and from
encouraging the wearing of the abaya, and would prohibit
any adverse action, formal or informal, against any member
of the Armed Forces for choosing not to wear it in Saudi
Arabia. § 554. It does not appear that that has been finally
enacted into law, however, and the presence in the record of

the affidavit of a general officer - - to the effect that
“strongly encourage” may not be the equivalent of
“require” but nevertheless restrains the free exercise of
religion - - makes it impossible for me to dismiss plaintiff's
RFRA claim as a matter of law.

The second question, relating to plaintiff's
retaliation claim, is one that the parties say would be easily
resolved if this case could be settled. Unfortunately, it
appears that the third question, attorneys’ fees, has made
settlement impossible. The government's attorneys fee
position, based on Buckhannon Board & Care Home, Inc. v.
West Virginia Dep't. of Health Res., 532 U.S. 598 (2001),
needs to be briefed and argued. As long as plaintiff's RFRA
claim is unresolved, however, the attorneys’ fee question is
premature. It is accordingly

ORDERED that defendant's motion to dismiss [17]
is denied.

JAMES ROBERTSON
United States District Judge

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

MARTHA MCSALLY

Plaintiff,

)

)

)

) Civil Action No.
Vv. ) 01-2481 (JR)

)

)

)

)

)

DONALD H. RUMSFELD,

Defendant.

STIPULATION OF DISMISSAL

Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 41 (a)(1)(ii), the parties
hereby stipulate to dismissal of this action with prejudice,
except as to attorney fees and costs.

1. Plaintiff further states that although not yet official
she understands that she is about to receive a prestigious

assignment and therefore no longer desires to pursue her
retaliation claim.

ys Defendant further states that dismissal is otherwise
warranted.

Respectfully Submitted,
/s/Randal M. Shaheen by CLW
Randal M. Shaheen, Esq.

D.C. Bar No. 409292

ARNOLD & PORTER LLP

555 Twelfth Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 942-5000

Thomas Stephen Neuberger, Esq.
Delaware Bar No. 243

Thomas S. Neuberger, P.A.
Attorney and Counsellor at Law
Two East Seventh Street, Suite 302

Wilmington, Delaware 19801-3707

Tel: 302-655-0582

(Cooperating Attorney for the Rutherford
Institute)

Counsel for Plaintiff

Lt. Col. Martha McSally

/s/Caroline Lewis Wolverton
PETER D. KEISLER

Assistant Attorney General
ROSCOE C. HOWARD, JR.

United States Attorney for the District of
Columbia

VINCENT M. GARVEY

Deputy Branch Director

Caroline Lewis Wolverton, Esq.
Ronald Wiltsie, Esq.

United States Department of Justice

Civil Division

P.O. Box 883

Washington, D.C. 20044

Counsel for Defendant Donald H. Rumsfeld

Dated: April 20, 2004

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

MARTHA MCSALLY
Plaintiff,

Vv.

DONALD H. RUMSFELD
Secretary of Defense

Defendant.

AFFIDAVIT OF MARTHA E. MCSALLY

Martha e. McSally, being duly sworn, deposes and states:

1. My name is Martha E. McSally. I am an active duty
United States Air Force Officer serving in the grade of
lieutenant colonel. 1 am currently assigned to the 612%
Combat Operations Squadron at Davis Monthan Air Force
Base, Arizona. I am the flight commander for the Air
Operations Center (AOC) Flight within that squadron.

2. I was commissioned in 1988 after completing four
years at the United States Air Force Academy. I graduated
25'" in my class of 1050, earning Distinguished Graduate
honors and a full scholarship to Harvard University’s John
F. Kennedy School of Government. I attended Harvard full
time for two years as a lieutenant, and was awarded a
masters of public policy with a concentration in
international security in 1990. While studying at Harvard, |
served as an intern at NATO politica! Headquarters in

Brussels, Belgium for two summers, where | earned an Air
Force Achievement Medal for my contributions to NATO
nuclear and conventional arms control issues and future
NATO strategy in the post Cold War era. During my
second year at Harvard, I served seven to ten days a month
as the youngest action officer in the Joint Staff of the
Pentagon. There I contributed to work on the United States
positions for the Conventional Forces in Europe Treaty
negotiations between NATO and the Warsaw Pact.

3. I attended pilot training in 1990-1991, and chose an
assignment as a T-37 instructor pilot upon graduation.

4. In 1994, I earned a fighter assignment and became a
combat ready A-10 pilot. I deployed to Kuwait and was the
first woman in America to fly a combat mission when I flew
my fist sortie into Iraq to support the no-fly zone
enforcement. I flew one hundred combat hours in Iraq on
two separate deployments to Kuwait.

~ 3 In 1997, I was handpicked to become an A-10
instructor pilot. Also in that year, I was selected for
promotion to major two years before my peers, a distinction
given to fewer than three percent eligible.

6. In 1999, I was selected as one of only fourteen active
duty Air Force personnel for a legislative fellowship on
Capitol Hill. I served as a defense and foreign affairs
advisor to a United States senator for one year.

Fe During 1999, I was promoted to the rank of
lieutenant colonel two years early, putting me four years
ahead of my peers, a rare endorsement reserved for future
leaders.

8. In 2000, I was assigned on a remote tour to Saudi
Arabia to become the Director of the Joint Search and

Rescue Center (JRSC), which resides in the Air Operations
Center (AOC). The AOC is the large command control
center used to run all air operations in the Middle East. I
was responsible for planning, training, preparing, and
directing execution of missions to rescue downed airman or
injured ground personnel in the Middle Eastern theater.
This responsibility initially focused on Iraq, but expanded to
Afghanistan after September 11, 2001. Although the normal
remote tour ends at twelve months, I volunteered to stay in
Saudi Arabia an extra month for the mission in Afghanistan.
I have over 1900 hours of flying time and a senior pilot
rating.

9. I am currently challenging four military regulations
in this case, all set forth in 363 AEW Instruction 36-103,
entitled Off-Base Travel Program:

Paragraph 1.12.3.1: all servicewomen to wear an
abaya and carry an abaya headscarf, putting it on when

requested by local nationals;

Paragraph 1.12.3.4: all servicewomen to ride in the
back seat of vehicles;

Paragraph 1.12.3.5: all servicewomen to be
accompanied by a male companion; and

Paragraph 4.4: no servicewomen permitted to
operate a vehicle except in an emergency.

10. The wearing of the abaya by women is a tenet of the
Islamic faith. The abaya is a mode of dress imposed upon
Saudi women solely for religious reasons under provisions
of the Koran which, by text and tradition, requires women
to wear a head covering and an overgarment. It is based, at
least in part, upon the Prophet's reply to A’isha: “When a
woman reaches puberty no part of her body should remain
uncovered except her face and the hand up w the wrist
joint.” Other customs addressed in the challenged

regulations are similarly dictated by principles of the
Islamic faith.

11. These regulations apply only to female military
personnel. They do not apply to the wives of military
personnel stationed in Saudi Arabia. They do not apply to
non-military females who visit military installations in
Saudi Arabia. They do not apply to other federal
employees, such as diplomats or other employees stationed
at the United States embassy. Nor do the restrictions on
dress apply to servicemen stationed in Saudi Arabia. In
fact, males are specifically prohibited from wearing Islamic
dress.

12. In 1995, on my initial deployment to Kuwait, I first
learned of the policy that required servicewomen to wear
the abaya and abaya headscarf when off the installation in
Riyadh. I saw a picture in a theater newspaper of a young
enlisted woman wearing the abaya and a caption stating

this modeled the proper wear of the religious clothing when
off base.

13. I obtained a copy of the policy from the Joint Task
Force-Southwest Asia Headquarters. The policy was a part
of a regulation proscribing dress and personal appearance.
It was then that I learned that while women are ordered to
wear the Muslim clothing, men were forbidden from
wearing local customary clothing. I was told by the Joint
Task Force-Southwest Asia Headquarters that the policy
had been in effect for a long time, for host nation
sensitivities, and that is was a State Department issue that
the military could do nothing about. In this and other
conversations, no one ever used the term “force protection”
or mentioned safety from assault or prevention of terrorist
attacks as a reasoning for the policy. Its purpose was to
respect the culture of the host nation.

14. I have made many attempts over the past seven
years to bring about a change to these policies. My attempts
to address the abaya policy began in 1995, five years before
I was transferred to Saudi Arabia.

15. I first raised the issue with then Secretary of Defense,
William Perry. Secretary Perry visited our base in Kuwait.
I told my commander I would like to bring the issue up. |
asked Secretary Perry this question: “Sir, you just came
from Saudi Arabia. In your discussions, | was wondering if
there was any consideration to treating female American
soldiers serving in that country with a little bit more
dignity?” I followed up the chain of command in the next
year to see if anyone was taking a serious look at the issue.
I was told they were not, and were simply trying to make
the controversy go away.

16. In 1997, I addressed the issue with the Defense
Advisory Committee on Women in the Services
(DACOWTTS) when I was asked to talk to them about my

experiences as one of the first female fighter pilots. 1
informed them of the abaya policy. They were unaware
that our female troops were forced to wear the Muslim
clothing.

17. Over the next few years, I did more research on the
policy. I discovered that the abaya was not mandatory for
our troops during Desert Storm. Servicewomen were
driving, sitting in the front seat, and wearing American
clothes or uniform. So the policy came into being sometime
between 1992 and 1994.

18. From November of 1999 to November of 2000, I
served on Capitol Hill as a legislative fellow. I talked to
many congressional staffers about the policy. All of them
were unaware of these policies. A congressman on the
International Affairs Committee did an inquiry to the State

Department on the policy. They informed him that it was
not their policy, but a Department of Defense policy.
Additionally, they informed him that they forbid women
from the State Department from wearing the abaya whileon
official duty, since they are representing the United States
government.

19. With this new information, I called the Office of the
Secretary of Defense and eventually talked to Alina
Romanowski, a Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for
the Middle East. I asked her about the policy.- She
defended it as being an important part of respecting the
host nation. Her explanation of the policy offered no
discussion about terrorist attack prevention or force
protection. | asked if she was forced to wear an abaya when
she traveled there. She said no, but she chose to put one on
a few times when she went shopping. I expressed how
humiliating it was for our female troops to be ordered to
wear it amongst their male peers, superiors, and
subordinates in western clothes or military uniform. She
told me that perhaps she would feel different about it if she
was stationed over there instead of just visiting, and
suggested a need to review the policy.

20. In the summer of 2000, I discussed my research and
conviction with the Joint Task Force-Southwest Asia
Commander (JTF-SWA Commander), Major General Victor
Renuart, as he was considering me for assignment to Saudi
Arabia. Over ninety-percent of the 5000 people serving in
Saudi Arabia have ninety-day deployments. Key leadership
positions are filled with people assigned on a remote one-
year tour. Although a great job opportunity, I was
immediately concerned about the way servicewomen are
treated in Saudi Arabia. As a Christiar, it was my personal
conviction that I could never put on the Muslim garment. |
told JTF-SWA Commander and informed him of my five
plus year attempt to influence a change in the abaya policy.

21. Major General Victor Renuart initially told me there
was little he could do about the abaya and related policies. |
informed him that the only place that the policy appears in
writing is a local regulation signed by him. I informed him
that the State Department did not mandate the abaya. |
informed him that military spouses were not required to
wear it. I told him I thought it was wrong and it needed to
be changed. I told him if he chose me for the job, it was my
personal conviction for religious reasons to never wear the
outfit. I told him | would continue to urge him to change
the policy, and would not leave the base for leisure until it
changed.

22. Major General Victor Renuart brought me to the
assignment and led me to believe I could possibly influence
a change to the policy from the inside. I was unaware of
whether my job would require me to leave the base, or how
extensively the policy was applied, but I asked him to
respect my conviction. He said, “Yes, come on over, I like
your straightforward nature, and maybe we can get this

policy changed.” I was relieved that I would not have to
wear the abaya to do my job, and believing I could finally
impact a change to the policy from the inside.

23. Shortly thereafter, I asked then Secretary of the Air
Force, Whit Peters, about the policy at a lunch. He was
unaware that the State Department and military policies
were inconsistent. I followed up with a three-page
memorandum sent to him through my chain of command.
We had subsequent discussions where he said he was doing
what he could to address the issue. This attempt to change
the policy was also unsuccessful.

24. Three day prior to my departure to Saudi Arabia, I
received an e-mail from a chaplain friend deployed to
Prince Sultan Air Base. (The Air Operations Center was
initially located at Eskan Village. In August of 2001, we

moved to Prince Sultan Air Base.) Eskan Village does not
have .a runway, so all troops stationed there fly into Prince
Sultan Air Base, and travel by car to Eskan Village. My
friend was very aware of my long-standing conviction on
this issue and was troubled by it himself. He warned me
that I was required to wear the abaya and sit in the back
seat of the car as soon as J got off the plane for the ride to
Eskan Village. I e-mailed over to the Chief of Staff for the
JTF-SWA Commander, reminding him of my earlier
conversation with the General and my personal conviction I
asked him to respect.

25. Two day prior to my departure, I received a
response from the colonel chief of staff and a separate
response from the judge advocate. Both e-mails stated that
wearing the abaya was an order, and that I would follow it
or suffer the punishment for disobeying an ord..r. The USS
Cole attack had just occurred, and for the /sst time, the
abaya policy was connected to safety in their defense of it.

They told me I would not want to endanger the lives of the
enlisted troops driving me over my “crusade.”

26. I landed at Prince Sultan Air Base in the middle of
the night. We were briefed that, due to Saudi customs,
women needed to sit in the back seat of the vehicle and
wear the abaya. I followed the order.

27. Subsequently, I sent Major General Renuart a point
paper recommending an immediate modification of the
policy. Now that I had practical data, I recommended he
make the abaya not mandatory while traveling in a vehicle
between Prince Sultan Air Base and Eskan Village, traveling
to and from the international airport, and traveling to the
Saudi Air Force Headquarters for official business. In that
case, women were forced to wear the abaya over their
military uniform.

28. In December 2000, one month into my twelve-month
tour, | met with my new commander, Major General
Renuart. Major General Renuart brought his colonel judge
advocate general and colonel chief of staff in the room. In
that meeting, I_was criticized about my feelings on this
policy. I was told that the policy would not change. The
general said he thought the cost outweighed the gain and
that he could not change the policy without higher-level
government support.

29. In January 2001, the general ordered me to go back
to the United States for a conference. While in the United
States, I met with my previous commander who had
encouraged me to wear the abaya and try to change the
policy from within the military chain of command. He gave
no indication that he had done anything since our last
meeting, and made general comments about continuing to
pursue it. {[ went back to Saudi, and wore the abaya
through the airport and in the back seat of the car again.

30. I spent another two months in Saudi with no hope
for change. My supervisor began challenging me on my
decisions to delegate off-base duties to my male deputy. He
told me it was a “leadership” issue for me to not go. I
explained it was not right to put me in a position to take a
negative hit on my leadership because of my conviction. He
refused to see the merits of my argument. He criticized me
for my views on the issue. He stated that the issue was not
about American values; the issue was about following an
order.

a1. In March 2001, while in the United States, I was
interviewed by a reporter for USA Today. The reporter
heard about my story on this issue form people on Capitol
Hill. After this interview, | was informed by the colonel
that the general was very angry with me. I responded that I
informed my chain of command as required. The article

came out on the front page of USA Today three weeks later,
the day I was flying back to Saudi.

ae. I was greeted at the airport by my supervisor and
another lieutenant colonel. He handed me a bag with abaya
and abaya headscarf in it and ordered me to put it on. I did
so. From that point on, my work environment was hostile.
The next morning, I was severely criticized by the colonel
for the interview and my stand against the policies at issue.

33. On April 26, 2001, I met with Major General Gary
Dylewski, the new JTF-SWA Commander. He stated he
was conducting a review of the policy.

34. In Saudi Arabia, I was responsible for Combat
Search and Rescue. After we conducted an unprecedented
exercise with the Bahrainis, the Saudis became interested in
exercising with us for the first time. The colonel refused to
let me give the briefing, stating that I would probably
offend them.

35. I was then scheduled for my periodic formal
feedback session with my supervisor. This session was the
first time I had received negative oral and written feedback.
My loyalty was questioned and my professionalism and
leadership were severely criticized.

36. Soon thereafter, Saudi officers were scheduled to
tour the Air Operations Center. Each division director was
responsible for standing in their area and briefing their
responsibilities. I was told by my supervisor that I could
not do the briefing. Instead, my male deputy was told to
give the briefing. I challenged this decision. On the
outside, the military spokespeople were saying I was not
being punished since I did nothing wrong. Ultimately, the
decision was reversed and | was allowed to conduct the
briefing.

a: In August 2001, my. official officer performance
report was due. The Air Force has certain unwritten rules
for the language that must appear in these reports to
advance to higher ranks. For example, in the case of a
lieutenant colonel, the last line of a superior’s comments
must recommend the individual for squadron command. If
that command recommendation is missing, it will have a
negative impact on advancement, especially for an officer
promoted four years ahead of her peers. My supervisor
refused to use the word command anywhere in his
comments. He told me via e-mail that he left it out
specifically because of my choices about the abaya policy
addressed in my feedback session.

38. Also that August, the Air Operations Center was
moved from Eskan Village to Prince Sultan Air Base. All
other directors in similar positions led the effort for their
people in the move by driving on several trips at night to
move equipment while conducting combat operations in the
day. !.c:ld not lead my cell in this move since I could not
drive, and had to rely on my deputy. Moreover, I declined
the option of making several tips with my troops while
riding in the back wearing an abaya. As a result of this
move, I decided that litigation was the only viable means of
changing the policy after six-and-a-half years of trying other
means. | told my chain of command I would file a lawsuit
two weeks later to give fair notice.

39. Two weeks later was the week of September 11,
2001. 1 delayed filing due to the nation’s tragedy. I focused
on my mission for the war the next four months, never
leaving the base. We freed the Afghan people from the
oppression of the Taliban. We watched the women
shedding their abaya-like burqa as a symbol of their new
freedom. It was ironic that the female American troops that
freed them were still subjected to similar oppression while
serving in Saudi.

40. As a practical matter, the tour of duty in Saudi
Arabia is a ninety-day deployment. Over ninety-percent of
the people assigned in Saudi Arabia are temporary duty,
while fewer than ten-percent are there on a permanent
change of station. In the military, two different phrases are
used to characterize the type of duty in different locations.
A move to a new base is referred to using the term
“permanent change of station.” A move involving a short
duty to another base is called a “temporary duty.”
Temporary duty is usually 179 days or less, while a
permanent change of station can be for 180 days or more.
However, a permanent change of station does not
necessarily mean a permanent reassignment to the new
base. Service people are generally stationed in Saudi for a
fixed twelve month tour as a permanent change of station.

41. I am now stationed in Tucson, Arizona as a
permanent change of station. However, I will have another
permanent change of station in the next one-to-three years.

I expect that I will go on several temporary duty
assignments during my Tucson tour.

42. It is highly likely that I will be sent on a temporary
duty back to the Air Operations Center (AOC) in Saudi
Arabia during this assignment. I am in a squadron where
war time tasking is to be a deployable AOC. Therefore, our
personnel are rotating over to the AOC at Prince Sultan Air
Base, due to the unique skills and training we possess to fill
AOC positions. Recently, a short-notice tasking came to our
squadron for a lieutenant colonel with fighter experience. |
was one of three people eligible. I could have volunteered
to return to Saudi Arabia. However, another person
volunteered to go. Due to the fact that all air operations in
the Middle East are run from the AOC, we are told to “have
our bags packed” and be ready for similar taskings in the
near future.

43. In January of 2002, the Department of Defense
decided to change the abaya policy from mandatory to
“strongly encouraged.” The back seat and male escort
“policies were changed from mandatory to “recommended.”
These changes are superficial wording changes instead of a
substantive change that truly treats our people equally and
does not coerce women to wear the abaya. The military is a
unique culture where lines of authority must be respected
and guidance must be unambiguous. Commanders tell the
troops what to do and what not to do in very clear
language. -Four-star generals do not “encourage;” they
order. If they do “strongly encourage,” it is simply an order
using different terminology. This wording change allows
them to attempt to avoid legal oversight, while still coercing
female troops to wear the abaya. | have asked hundreds of
people of all ranks in uniform what they interpret “strongly
encouraged” to mean. Every single person said that it is a
veiled order. Even if a person disagrees with the wearing of
the abaya, they are disobeying the commander’s guidance if
they do not do what is “strongly encouraged.”

44. Loyalty up the chain of command is a tenet of the
military. If a policy is communicated by your superiors,
you are responsible for supporting that policy to your
subordinates. If I go back over to Saudi, I have the
obligation to “strongly encourage” those women below me
in the chain of command to wear the abaya. If I do not wear
it and encourage it, I will be vulnerable to further
retaliation.

I signed this affidavit on 23__day of March, 2002.

Martha E. McSally

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1649%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
