# Reply Brief — Oregon Public Utility Commission v. GTE Northwest Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1569%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 517 U.S. 1155

## Text

; Supreme Court, U.S.
2) FiLED

MAR 28 499;
No. 95-1143 a

—-———

Jn the Supreme Court
of the Gnited Statee

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

ERK

LSS,

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION
OF OREGON,
Petitioner,
v.

GTE NORTHWEST INCORPORATED,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Court of the
State of Oregon

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

THEODORE R. KULONGOSKI
Attorney General of Oregon
THOMAS A. BALMER
Deputy Attorney General
*VIRGINIA L. LINDER
Solicitor General
ROBERT M. ATKINSON
Assistant Attorney General
400 Justice Building
Salem, Oregon 97310
Phone: (503) 378-4402
Counsel for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
| ee rr oe |
ee ee eee Sie St Sik wea a eae ay aes 8

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Cases Cited
AFSCME Local 2623 v. Dept. of Corrections, 315 Or.
Fe a 4
Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972) ....... 4

Duquesne Light Co. v. Barasch, 488 U.S. 299 (1989)... 5,7
First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale

v. Los Angeles County, 482 U.S. 304 (1987) .... 1
Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458
I 3, 4, 5
Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986 A sa 4
San Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City of San Diego, 450
a l
Standard Oil Co. v. Johnson, 316 U.S. 481 (1942)...... 3
Three Affiliated Tribes v. Wold Engineering P.C., 467
RE NE ee ae ae 3
Webdb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith, 449
ee ie a a sae a oh 4
Statutory Provisions
as 5
ee ee eee 5
Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 759.100 - 759.115 .............. 5
Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 759.300 - 759.360 .............. 5

Other Authorities
a ee l

ill

REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 15.6, petitioner submits
this reply to the brief for respondent in opposition to the
petition for certiorari. Three of respondent GTE’s arguments
go beyond matters argued in the petition.

1. The Oregon Supreme Court held that as a matter of
state law, a state agency must have an express delegation of
condemnation authority to enact a valid regulation that
“takes” property in constitutional terms, even where that
taking is compensated. The court further concluded that the
PUC does not have that authority. Thus, the dispositive issue
was whether the PUC’s collocation rules in fact result in a
taking of property. The state court held that they do and
therefore invalidated the regulations.

GTE argues first that a federal question is not presented
because the remedy the Oregon Supreme Court adopted
(invalidation of the collocation rules) was dictated by state
law. In GTE’s view, that fact places the holding on the
underlying constitutional violation (which, for purposes of this
argument, GTE assumes to be federally based) beyond this
Court’s jurisdiction. Br. in Opp., 11.' That position makes
neither legal nor logical sense. The federal issue (whether the

' At one point in its argument, GTE suggests that to find a Fifth Amendment
violation, a state court must reach the question of whether any compensation is
adequate. Br. in Opp., 11. GTE cites no authority for that proposition. To the
contrary, this Court repeatedly has affirmed the prerogative of both state and
federal governments to abandon an offending regulation rather than to be forced
to pay compensation and thus permanently to purchase a “taken” property interest.
See, e.g., First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v. Los Angeles
County, 482 U.S. 304 (1987) (majority opinion); id., 482 U.S., at 335 (dissenting
opinion); San Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City of San Diego, 450 U.S. 621, 653,
n. 19 (1981) (Brennan, J. dissenting).

2

rules effect a taking) unquestionably is central to the disposi-
tion of the case, even though the particular remedy (invalida-
tion) is dictated by state law. It would be a remarkable
encroachment on this Court’s review of federal issues if a
state court could place its conclusion that the federal constitu-
tion has been violated beyond this Court’s reach simply by
granting a federally adequate remedy as a matter of state law.
Not surprisingly, this Court has never suggested such a
limitation on its authority. In any event, the short answer to
GTE’s position is that, at a minimum, the Oregon Supreme
Court’s disposition of the case is clearly interrelated with or
influenced by federal law principles. This Court therefore has
jurisdiction to review the federal question. See Three Affiliat-
ed Tribes v. Wold Engineering P.C., 467 U.S. 150, 152
(1984).

GTE attempts to cast a second jurisdictional cloud over
this case. GTE points to the Oregon Supreme Court’s
“assumption” that the analysis under the state and federal
constitutions is the same, arguing that the court “was resting
its takings analysis on the Oregon Constitution” and thus on
“adequate and independent state grounds.” Br. in Opp., 12.
What GTE fails to acknowledge is that, after assuming that
the two constitutional guarantees are the same, the state court
explicitly declined to decide the scope of the state guarantee.’

* Specifically, the Oregon Supreme Court stated:

Loretto was decided under the federal constitution. GTE offers no
separate analysis under the state constitution. Accordingly, we assume,
without deciding, that the analysis is the same under Article 1, section
18, of the Oregon Constitution, and the Takings Clause of the Fifth
Amendment of the Constitution of the United States.

Pet. Cert. App-11. n. 6 (emphasis added).

3

The state court then proceeded to examine the issue exclusive-
ly under this Court’s Fifth Amendment takings jurisprudence
and concluded by holding: “The challenged collocation rules
effect a taking under Loretto [v. Teleprompter Manhatian
CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982)].” Pet. Cert. App-11 -
App-22.?

That the judgment below turns on the state court’s
interpretation of federal constitutional principles could not be
more explicit. Even if that conclusion were in doubt, howev-
er, the state court’s resolution of the case, as we have already
argued, is so interrelated with and influenced by federal law
principles as to give this Court jurisdiction. See Three
Affiliated Tribes v. Wold Engineering P.C., 467 U.S., at 152.
At a minimum, the Oregon Supreme Court’s opinion must be
understood as finding federal law persuasive and adopting
Fifth Amendment principles into the court’s interpretation of
the state constitution.* In that circumstance, this Court has
authority to pass on the federal question incorporated in the
state law pronouncement, and if necessary, to remand the
case to the state court for reconsideration. Standard Oil Co.
v. Johnson, 316 U.S. 481, 485 (1942). GTE’s efforts to cast

*> GTE also points to a sentence early in the opinion, in which the court
outlined the order in which it would address the issues in the case, and identified
as the first question “whether the PUC has authority to promulgate rules that effect
a taking within the meaning of the Oregon Constitution.” Pet. Cert. App-8. Given
the state court’s later analysis of the merits of the takings question, the court's
reference to the state constitution, rather than the federal, in that introductory
portion of its opinion appears purely inadvertent. In any event, that isolated
statement cannot supersede the court’s actual analysis and holding, which plainly
are dependent on the court’s interpretation of federal law.

* GTE all but concedes as much. Br. in Opp., 11 (“The Oregon Supreme

Court did, of course, look to cases such as Loretto, Florida Power, and Yee,
which interpret the U.S. Constitution * * * ”).

4

the Oregon Supreme Court judgment as one that turns on an
“adequate and independent state ground” is wholly without
merit.

2. In the petition, the PUC has urged that the per se rule
announced in Loretto cannot apply in the public utility context
because GTE lacks significant aspects of the private property
interests at issue in Loretto and its progeny. Pet. Cert. 12-19.
In response, GTE argues that this Court cannot resolve that
question because the factual record is inadequate. More
specifically, GTE asserts that the particular record in this case
contains no factual evidence to establish that, in return for its
monopoly status, GTE agreed to surrender any of the “tradi-
tional incidents of private ownership” of its network. Br. in
Opp., 20.° That answer misses the mark for two interrelated
reasons.

First, GTE’s utility property interests present a question
of law, not of fact. Under the Just Compensation Clause, as
under the Due Process Clause, property rights flow from state
law. Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986, 1001
(1984); Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith, 449
U.S. 155, 161 (1980); Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S.
564, 577 (1972). The PUC does not claim that it entered into
some agreement, formal or informal, with GTE. Rather, the
State of Oregon enacted laws to govern the provision of

* Because of its procedural posture, this case has no factual record. GTE
brought its challenge to the collocation rules under an Oregon law that permits a
facial challenge to an administrative rule to be brought directly in the Oregon
Court of Appeals without creation of a factual record either in the agency enacting
the rule or in a trial court. Or. Rev. Stat. § 183.400; AFSCME Local 2623 v.
Dept. of Corrections, 315 Or. 74, 79, 843 P.2d 409 (1992) (“judicial review under
ORS 183.400 is limited to the face of the rule”).

ee

5

public utility services. GTE entered the utility business and is
bound by those laws.°

Second, GTE’s argument focuses on the wrong “incidents
of ownership.” GTE claims that it may incur debt upon its
property and must pay taxes upon it. Br. in Opp., 20. Those
assertions are only partly true (see n. 7, infra), and they are
wholly irrelevant. The question here is whether the PUC’s
collocation rules fit within the Loretto analysis. The proper
inquiry is whether, under pre-existing Oregon law, GTE
could claim the incidents of property ownership identified as
significant in that case—the exclusive right to “possess, use
and dispose” of the property. 458 U.S., at 435. The disposi-
tive answer is that GTE may only possess property with the
State’s approval, must use its property as state law directs,
and may only dispose of its property on terms and conditions
dictated by the State.’ These commonplace limitations on
utilities have caused this Court to acknowledge that the
“partly public, partly private status” of utilities creates unique
takings questions, Duquesne Light Co. v. Barasch, 488 U.S.
299, 307 (1989), a uniqueness GTE doggedly ignores. The
question is not one that turns on factual proofs, but rather on
the legal incidents of utility property ownership as established

* Thus, although the PUC disputes GTE’s contention that it no longer
maintains a significant monopoly, that question is ultimately irrelevant.

” Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 759.100 through 759.115 (telecommunications utility must
have PUC approval for expenditures for major contracts for purchase of
equipment); Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 759.300 through 759.360 (PUC has power over
issuance of securities, funds raised may be spent only under the terms of the order
approving issuance); Or. Rev. Stat. § 759.580 (PUC may direct utility to extend
service to unserved areas); Or. Rev. Stat. § 759.375 (telecommunications utility
may not sell, lease, assign, mortgage, encumber, or otherwise dispose of utility
property without PUC approval).

6

by state law. The Court’s review of that question is in no way
hampered by the lack of a factual record in this case.

3. As a final argument, GTE claims that the Telecommu-
nications Act of 1996 renders the Oregon Supreme Court’s
decision “somewhere between totally insignificant and entirely
moot.” Br. in Opp., 25. GTE’s point is less than clear, and
GTE makes little effort to develop it.

GTE’s mootness argument may be related to its effort,
elsewhere in its brief, to shift the Court’s attention away from
the federal issue presented and to obscure it with the state law
question of whether the Oregon legislature has delegated the
PUC the authority necessary to effect a taking through
regulation. GTE’s claim may be: (1) the Oregon Supreme
Court invalidated the collocation rules because it concluded
that they effect a taking and that the PUC lacks authority to
encroach on property interests in that way; (2) the Telecom-
munications Act of 1996 provides the PUC with the authority
it previously lacked; (3) ergo, the collocation rule is no
longer invalid and the case is moot.

The PUC’s authority or lack of authority to order colloca-
tion is not, however, the question presented by the petition.
If the PUC’s only concern were with the invalidation of its
rules, it could seek express eminent domain authority from
the Oregon Legislature, as GTE points out. Br. in Opp., 9.
The existence of the authority to order physical collocation,
whether that authority springs from state or federal law,
merely spares the rules from the particular disposition that the
Oregon Supreme Court ordered. The essential conclusion—
that the rules effect a taking—remains in place. That conclu-
sion is profoundly important to government in its role as

7

utility regulator. GTE carefully reserves a claim that “the
compensation scheme would not assure just compensation, ”
Br. in Opp., 24, thus signalling that it is prepared to insist
that as a condition of collocation, the States and the federal
government are required to individually value and compensate
every access requirement that involves a physical encroach-
ment on utility property. That approach departs radically from
this Court’s unique public utility takings jurisprudence, which
holds that regulatory action takes utility property only when
the overall rate of return authorized by the rates it orders is
unreasonable in terms of the utility’s investment. Duquesne
Light, supra. So long as the Oregon Supreme Court’s
underlying takings conclusion remains in place, the question
remains vital.

Rather than moot this case, the Telecommunications Act
of 1996 serves to elevate its importance. Interconnectivity in
the telecommunications industry generally, and physical
collocation requirements in particular, now stand as a national
mandate adopted not only by the Federal Communications
Commission and individual States, but by Congress itself.
State collocation rules, like Oregon’s, complement that policy
and effectuate access and interconnectivity in those regulatory
areas for which the States retain authority. The issue present-
ed thus is more vital, not less so, in light of the new federal
act. GTE nearly concedes as much, with its recognition that
takings challenges will assuredly be raised in response to the
federal collocation mandate, and that the issue promises to
generate litigation in the federal courts. Br. in Opp., 25. GTE
invites the Court to await that litigation. Jbid. The issue is
squarely presented in this case, however. GTE’s invitation to

8

delay will accomplish nothing more than to chill the regulato-
ry environment in Oregon and perhaps elsewhere, while
assuring that national policy for the technologically fast-paced
field of telecommunications is tied up in litigation for the
indefinite future. That result may be in GTE’s self-interest,
but it is does not serve any sound policy of prudence or
judicial economy.
CONCLUSION

The Court should grant the petition and issue a writ of
certiorari to review the judgment and opinion of the Oregon
Supreme Court.

Respectfully submitted,

THEODORE R. KULONGOSKI
Attorney General of Oregon
THOMAS A. BALMER
Deputy Attorney General
VIRGINIA L. LINDER
Solicitor General
ROBERT M. ATKINSON
Assistant Attorney General
Counsel for Petitioner

March 29, 1996

Shar
seeahyy
ft -e

ae

2s i
ene

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1569%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
