# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — CSX Transportation, Inc. v. Fritsch

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1405%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 516 U.S. 1171

## Text

Supreme Court of the Anited

OFFICE

States

OCTOBER TERM, 1995

CSX TRANSPORTATION, INC., and
MONROE COUNTY, INDIANA,

Petitioners,

JANET FRITSCH, ef al.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the District of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CHARLES M. ROSENBERGER
CSX TRANSPORTATION,
500 Water Street, J150
Jacksonville, Florida 32202
(303) 298-5700

Counsel for CSX
Transportation, Inc.,
Petitioner

Of Counsel:

WILLIAM STEGER

Monroe County Attorneys
Courthouse, Room 220
Bloomington, Indiana 47404
(812) 333-3573

December 18, 1995

INC.

CHARLES H. MONTANGE
Counsel of Record

426 NW 162nd Street
Seattle, Washington 98177
(206) 546-1936

Counsel for Monroe County,
Petitioner

too. Sere.

a

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. 1-800-347-8208

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a party may successfully petition for
judicial review of an agency refusal to reopen an
administratively final decision, when the motion to reopen is
predicated upon allegations of material error,
notwithstanding this Court’s holding to the contrary in
Interstate Commerce Commission v. Brotherhood of
Locomotive Engineers, 482 U.S. 270 (1987).

2. Whether the rule (declared in Brotherhood of
Locomotive Engineers) requiring that judicial review be
sought within 60 days of final agency action, as provided in
28 U.S.C. § 2344, is subject to an enormous loophole where
a member of the public claims that the only notice he
received was the customary Federal Register notice, which
is the same kind of notice on which federal agencies
otherwise rely to trigger rights of participation and review.

3. Whether ICC’s construction of the Revised
Interstate Commerce Act as authorizing it to retain
jurisdiction over a rail corridor for the 180 days provided in
a post-abandonment public use condition issued pursuant to
49 U.S.C. § 10906 is now incorrect, notwithstanding
reliance by the parties on that consistently held, judicially
supported construction.

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING
PER SUPREME COURT RULES 14.1(B) & 29.1

Parties-respondent before the court of appeals were
Monroe County (a lega: ~ubdivision of the State of Indiana),
CSX Transportation Inc., Monroe County Parks and
Recreation Department (an agency of Monroe County), and
the Interstate Commerce Commission. Rails to Trails
Conservancy was an amicus curiae on the side of the parties-
respondent.

Parties-petitioner before the court of appeals were
Janet Fritsch, Norman & Mary Lee Deckard, John L.
Edgeworth, Franklin A. Andrew, Carol A. Daniels, Dennis
Clark, Jack and Deanna Waterford, William & Rose
Wampler, Delma & Anna Turner, Devin & Nikii McKamey,
Brenda Flynn, Walter C. and Sara J. Anstead, Victor Oolitic
Stone Company, Inc. and Indian Creek Land Company, Inc.

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.1, CSX
Transportation, Inc. provides the following disclosure:

CSX Transportation, Inc. is a wholly owned
subsidiary of CSX Corporation, which has shares outstanding
in the hands of the public. CSX Transportation, Inc. has the
following affiliated companies which have shares outstanding
in the hands of the public: Allegheny and Western Railway
Company, The Baltimore and Cumberland Valley Rail Road
Extension Company, The Central Railroad Company of
South Carolina, The Cincinnati Inter-Terminal Railroad

ill

Company, The Cleveland Terminal & Valley Railroad
Company, Dayton and Michigan Railroad Company, and
The Home Avenue Railroad Company.

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .........c22ee000. i
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ............ ii
TA Oe CEG i Pe et eee iv
pp Fin 8 i re ee ree vi
CP RIOT ne or0846 ih ow & aE ele es 2
ee ee es re eee 2
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED......... 2
PEPE 6 SKN TRE eee eo 3
A. Statutory and Regulatory Framework........... 4
B. Peoopetine Datees 0 BU 6 occ eee ek ce wees 8
C. Proceedings Before the Court of Appeals ....... 11
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ...... 12

I. The Court of Appeals’ Jurisdictional Holding
Conflicts with this Court’s Decision in
Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers (BLE)
and with Numerous Decisions Upholding the
Adequacy of Federal Register Notice in the
Context of Federal Administrative
a ore ee ee ee 12

A. The Jurisdictional Holding Conflicts
Ws KS Ba re hes cc Per: 12

B. _ The Jurisdictional Ruling Confounds
Reliance on Federal Register Notice
and Directly Conflicts with Friends of
SO NE oo Sos oa os BERR 14

C. The Jurisdictional Issue Is Important . . . . 18

I. The Court of Appeals’ Substantive
Re-interpretation of ICC Jurisdiction Is
Inconsistent with this Court’s
Construction in Hayfield Northern,
Inconsistent with Consistent Past Agency

Practice, and Eviscerates §10906.......... 19
CERAM Sh koe keel a 26
Appendix A (decision below)................. la
Appendix B (order denying rehearing)............ 16a
Appendix C (ICC decision served 2/16/93)......... 18a
Appendix D (ICC decision served 2). ne cape 21a
Appendix E (ICC decision served MUMS. sds vk 25a
Appendix F (ICC decision served po, 28a
Appendix G (Motion to Reconsider atICC)......... 37a

Appendix H (ICC decision served wees . Seu 4la

vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES PAGE

Chevron v. NRDC,
Bie fA ee 21

Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co. v. Kalo Brick & Tile Co.,
460 U3. SERIE) cs 6c dh eweees buneen 5, 20

CMC Real Estate Corp. v. ICC,
807 F.2d 1025 (D.C. Cir. 1986) ......... 15, 18, 23

Colorado v. United States,
273 U.S. SS a Dee oases 20, 21

Consolidated Rail Corp. v. ICC,
rR YY Foe | eee ry 20

EEOC v. Associated Dry Goods Corp.,
449 UB. BO CSSD 0 0 0 SSS OSE ES 21

Federal Crop Insurance Corp. v. Merrill,
392 U.S. SP Gee oc eve ce tetesseceseateee 15

Friends of Sierra Railroad v. ICC,
881 F.2d 663 (9th Cir. 1989),
cert. denied sub nom. Tuolumne Park and
Recreation District v. ICC,
466 Ui: SE oC baw es so Ree e eet passim

Glosemeyer v. Missouri-K-T R.R.,
685 F. Supp. 1108 (E.D. Mo. 1988),
aff'd, 879 F.2d 316 (8th Cir. 1989),
cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1003 (1990). ........... 25

vii

Guam v. United States,
744 F.2d 699 (9th Cir. 1984)................ 15

Hayfield Northern R.R. v. Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co..,
pn I arte ina eo hou wa 4, 20, 21

Illinois Commerce Commission v. ICC,
848 F.2d 1246 (D.C. Cir. 1988),
cert. denied, 488 U.S. 1004 (1989) _.......... 6, 15

Interstate Commerce Commission v. Brotherhood of
Locomotive Engineers,
es SI os, co 0:'c'n on picld wick passim

Mr. Sprout, Inc. v. U.S.,
Pree CRP RC NOR: b.5' 0's 00 6 Sab on ORR 21

National Labor Relations Board v. Bell Aerospace,
te Ee! Ne oe 21

North Alabama Express v. United States,
585 F.2d 783 (Sth Cir. 1978) ............... 15

Pennsylvania PUC v. U.S.,
812 F.2d 8 (D.C. Cir. 1987) ............... 21

Preseault v. ICC,
es ES oc 0x a wla a Seed oedh bees 6

Reed v. Meserve,
487 F.2d 646 (Ist Cir. 1973)................ 20

Viii

Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. NRDC,
eer re er 21

ADMINISTRATIVE CASES

Burlington Northern RR Co. -- Abandonment
Exemption -- in Fall River and Custer
Counties, SD, AB-6 (Sub-no. 293X),
es is a ek a Byers SS 20

Burlington Northern RR Co. -- Abandonment --
Fremont & Kenmore, King County, WA,
Se es ND obs c-d io ccc eae a wee ews 23

Burlington Northern RR Co. -- Abandonment --
Fremont & Kenmore, King County, WA,
ICC Fin. Dkt. 26638, served April 14, 1973 ...... 23

Illinois Central Gulf RR Co. -- Abandonment --
in DeWitt and Piatt Counties, AB-43

(Sub-no. 134), served Jan.4, 1989 ............ 20
Supplemental Trails Act Procedures,

CER Ae Oe ess i ae bee EOS 7
STATUTES

National Trails System Act

isn Oe ee ev becele BA ce ie passim

PAGE
Administrative Orders Review Act (Hobbs Act)
Pe Se. ok, ite. bu eS a hhc 8
oe Vane ES PAE HE 8, 13, 19
Federal Register and Code of Federal Regulations
I cil sto gt, ake ey cnt 15
Revised Interstate Commerce Act,
ed 5h ooh 6 Cokes kde 8
Rg ee sian ag wh ae 6, 15
ng sk o wld Wa eas a wg 5
IG os so so a a do ae 2 wn wee 5
RE eke vas ceace ceeds passim
REGULATIONS
Interstate Commerce Regulations
a TE fet) Sy CE 7
Le 8 lS» a ana 6, 7, 17
ee et OS SE Re Re ee eee 7
k,n ee 7
seth Ea en 9
ee a i ME i he 5 ks oad Dinvacak passim

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

H. Rep. No. 104-311 (Nov. 6, 1995) ............ 5

S. Rep. No. 104-176 (Nov. 21, 1995)

S. 1879, reprinted in Railroads -- 1975 -- Part 2,
Hearings before the Senate Comm. on Commerce,

94th Cong., Ist Sess. (1975) .....

RULES

Be ee i 5 bss. as ee 08
ee FS eee ere

No. 95-___

In The
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1995

CSX TRANSPORTATION, INC. and
MONROE COUNTY, INDIANA,

Petitioners,

JANET FRITSCH, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR
THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CSX Transportation, Inc. and Monroe County,
Indiana, intervenor-respondents below, respectively petition
for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit
in this case.

2
OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 59
F.3d 248 (D.C. Cir. 1995), and is reproduced as Appendix
(App.) la-13a. The order denying rehearing (App. 16a) is
unreported. The initial order of the Interstate Commerce
Commission (ICC) issuing a Notice of Exemption (App. 18a-
20a) was published in the Federal Register on February 16,
1993. By decision served March 22, 1993 (App. 41a), ICC
issued a public use condition pursuant to 49 U.S.C. § 10906.
By decision served September 27, 1993 (App. 21a - 24a),
ICC issued a Notice of Interim Trail Use ("NITU"). By
decision served October 20, 1993 (App. 25a - 27a), ICC
denied various protests to the NITU. By decision served
March 22, 1994 (App. 28a - 36a), ICC denied further
reconsideration.

JURISDICTION

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit
entered its judgment on July 18, 1995, and denied a timely
rehearing request on September 18, 1995. The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

28 U.S.C. § 2344 provides, in relevant part, that
"{o]n entry of a final order ..., [the ICC] shall promptly give
notice thereof by service or publication in accordance with
its rules. Any party aggrieved by the final order may,
within 60 days after its entry, file a petition to review the
order in the court of appeals wherein venue lies. ..."

3
49 U.S.C. § 10906 provides, in relevant part, that

{w]hen [the ICC authorizes abandonment or
discontinuance], the Commission shall find further
whether the rail properties that are involved in the
proposed abandonment or discontinuance are suitable
for use for public purposes, including highways,
other forms of mass transportation, conservation,
energy production or transmission, or recreation. If
the Commission finds that the rail properties
proposed to be abandoned are suitable for public
purposes, the properties may be sold, leased,
exchanged, or otherwise disposed of only under
conditions provided in the order of the Commission.
The conditions may include a prohibition on any such
disposal for a period of not more than 180 days after
the effective date of the order, unless the properties
have first been offered, on reasonable terms, for sale
for public purposes.

STATEMENT

In its decision below, the U.S. Court of Appeals for
the D.C. Circuit claimed jurisdiction over an ICC refusal to
reopen a final administrative proceeding where the motion to
reopen was based on grounds of "material error." The court
of appeals decision thus conflicts directly with JCC v.
Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, 482 U.S. 270 (1987),
in which this Court held that the courts of appeal lack
jurisdiction over such refusals to reopen.

4

The D.C. Circuit sought to avoid this direct conflict
with JCC v. Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, by
asserting an exception to the doctrine of repose where the
person seeking to reopen allegedly failed to receive actual
notice of the contested order, despite the fact that all
individuals and entities received constructive notice of the
administrative proceeding in the Federal Register (as well as
newspaper notice) and declined to become parties. This
aspect of the decision conflicts directly with the Ninth
Circuit’s decision in Friends of Sierra Railroad v. ICC, 881
F.2d 663 (9th Cir. 1989), cert. denied sub nom., Tuolumne
Park and Recreation District v. ICC, 493 U.S. 1093 (1990).
In Friends of Sierra Railroad, the Ninth Circuit held that
Federal Register notice of an ICC rail abandonment
proceeding is sufficient and binds the world, such that
judicial review based on material error is foreclosed pursuant
to ICC v. Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, unless the
petition is filed within 60 days of the final order for which
review is sought.

On the merits, the D.C. Circuit determined that,
because the railroad had "abandoned" the line during the
period in which a post-abandonment "public use condition"
was in effect, ICC lacked jurisdiction to issue an order
preserving the line for future rail service through
railbanking/interim trail use, pursuant to Section 8(d) of the
National Trails System Act, 16 U.S.C. § 1247(d). This
aspect of the panel’s decision directly conflicts with this
Court’s determination that ICC retains jurisdiction, where,
as here, ICC "attaches postabandonment conditions" to its
certificate of abandonment. Hayfield Northern R.R. v.
Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co., 467 U.S. 622, 633 (1984).

5

The relevant statutes and the proceedings below will
be summarized insofar as germane to these issues.

A. Statutory and Regulatory Framework

ICC has exclusive and plenary authority over
discontinuance of service on, or abandonment of, freight
railroad lines under the Revised Interstate Commerce Act.
See 49 U.S.C. § 10903-04.' ICC administers numerous
statutes bearing on post-abandonment authorization relief.
For example, under 49 U.S.C. § 10905, ICC is authorized
to compel transfer of lines authorized for abandonment for
continued rail use. Under 49 U.S.C. § 10906, ICC must
determine if a line authorized for abandonment is suitable for
alternative public uses, and, if so, that statute expressly
authorizes ICC to establish "public use conditions" for up to
180 days post-abandonment in order to foster such use.
Further, under section 8(d) of the National Trails System
Act, 16 U.S.C. § 1247(d), ICC is required to issue an order
authorizing interim trail use rather than abandonment of a

' See also Colorado v. United States, 271 U.S. 153 (1926);
Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co. v. Kalo Brick & Tile Co., 450 U.S. 311
(1981). As this Petition for Certiorari is written, legislation is pending
in a House-Senate Conference Committee to abolish the ICC. The
House and Senate versions of the legislation both preserve exclusive
and plenary federal authority over freight rail abandonments, basically
transferring ICC’s jurisdiction in this regard to a new agency within
the U.S. Department of Transportation. See House Report 104-311
(Nov. 6, 1995); Senate Report 104-176 (Nov. 21, 1995). Rail
abandonment regulation with regard to all issues presented in this
Petition is thus expected to continue largely unchanged except for the
name of the agency.

6

corridor where a railroad and a third party reach an
agreement to preserve the corridor for possible future rail
reactivation ("railbanking").”

49 U.S.C. § 10505 authorizes ICC to grant
exemptions from aspects of its regulation. Pursuant to §
10505, ICC adopted a special regulation, published at 49
C.F.R. § 1152.50, governing abandonments of rail lines
which have not been used for local traffic for at least two
years. Under § 1152.50, a carrier seeking abandonment
authority files a "notice of exemption" with the ICC, with
service on specified officials, including state and local
officials. ICC automatically publishes the "notice" in the
Federal Register twenty days later. The Federal Register
notice authorizes the abandonment, subject to motions for
reconsideration, and to subsequent imposition of
environmental, historic preservation, public use conditions,
railbanking/trail use conditions and so forth. Notice of
decisions imposing such conditions is served on all parties to
the proceeding pursuant to 49 C.F.R. § 1150.52(d)(5).’

ICC’s "environmental" regulations also require local
newspaper notice of "exempt" abandonments under 49

2 The constitutionality of 16 U.S.C. § 1247(d) as implemented by
ICC was affirmed by this Court in Preseault v. ICC, 494 U.S. 1
(1990).

> ICC’s two-year out of service class exemption regulation (49
C.F.R. § 1152.50), was upheld, including in terms of sufficiency of
notice, in /llinois Commerce Commission v. ICC, 848 F.2d 1246
(D.C. Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 1004 (1989).

7

C.F.R. § 1152.50. See 49 C.F.R. §1105.12.4 The
newspaper notice is found in an Appendix to §1105.12.
That notice explains how interested individuals can file and
serve comments, and provides information in the event of
questions relating to the proceeding.

Under ICC procedures, ICC will revoke the "notice
of exempt abandonment" and instead issue a "Notice of
Interim Trail Use" ("NITU") under 16 U.S.C. § 1247(d)
when a railroad consents to negotiate a trail use/railbanking
agreement with a qualified party. ICC’s regulations indicate
that the agency will entertain late-filed requests for trail
use/railbanking, or late decisions by the railroad to consent
to the issuance of trail use/railbanking order, so long as the
Commission possesses jurisdiction to do so. See
Supplemental Trails Act Procedures, 4 1.C.C.2d 152, 158
(1987).

Under ICC regulations, motions or petitions to
reconsider a decision must be filed no later than 20 days
from a final order.* Barring a timely motion for

* General environmental statutes such as the National
Environmental Policy Act, 42 U.S.C. § 4321, et seq., and section 106
of the National Historic Preservation Act, 16 U.S.C. § 470f, are
applicable to rail abandonment proceedings, including “exempt” rail
abandonment proceedings.

* Under 49 C.F.R. § 1011.2(a)(7) (made applicable pursuant to
49 C.F.R. § 1152.25(e)(1)(iv)), parties seeking further review of
decisions issuing NITU’s must appeal or move within ten days of
service. To the extent § 1011.2(a)(7) is not applicable, ICC’s more
general reconsideration provision, 49 C.F.R. § 1115.3(e), applies.
This provision affords parties 20 days in which to seek further review

8

reconsideration, an order is final. ICC is authorized to
reconsider its decisions, and to reopen a proceeding, under
49 U.S.C. § 10327(g).

Judicial review of ICC final orders is governed by 28
U.S.C. § 2321 and the Hobbs Act, codified at 28 U.S.C. §§
2341, et seq. As germane here, 28 U.S.C. § 2344 provides
that an aggrieved part must file a petition for review of an
ICC final order within 60 days of service or publication of
the order as provided in ICC rules.

B. Proceeding before the ICC

Because the railroad line at issue here had not been
employed for local traffic for more than two years, CSX
Transportation, Inc. (CSX) filed a "notice of exemption"
pursuant to 49 C.F.R. § 1152.50 for authority to abandon
approximately 22.5 miles of rail corridor (Milepost Q-222.5
near Bloomington to Milepost Q-245.0 at Bedford) in
Monroe and Lawrence Counties. The notice was served on
all parties for whom service was required under ICC
regulations. ICC issued a Notice of Exemption, which was
published in the Federal Register on February 16, 1993.
App. 18a. The notice was effective 30 days later (i.e., on
March 18, 1993), but ICC specifically retained jurisdiction
to modify the order in response to timely requests for a
public use condition or trail use/railbanking orders. Jd.

Monroe County timely sought issuance of "interim
trail use/railbanking" order pursuant to 16 U.S.C. § 1247(d)

of an ICC order.

9

and 49 C.F.R. § 1152.29, as well as a public use condition
barring disposal of property interests (other than rail and
ties) in the corridor pending negotiations for acquisition of
the corridor for public use. CSX initially opposed issuance
of a interim trail use condition. However, pursuant to an
order served March 22, 1993, ICC imposed a 180-day public
use condition under 49 U.S.C. § 10906. App. 4la.

While the public use condition was in effect, CSX
advised ICC by letter filed March 29, 1993 that it had
exercised abandonment authority on March 19, 1993. The
parties then began negotiations for the transfer of the
corridor during the interval of the public use condition.
Prior to expiration of the 180-day public use condition, CSX
moved ICC to reopen the proceeding in order to issue a
Notice of Interim Trail Use (NITU) in lieu of a certificate of
abandonment, pursuant to 16 U.S.C. § 1247(d). CSX
served all parties to the proceeding. No party responded,
except Monroe County, which filed a letter supporting the
issuance of a NITU. Both CSX and Monroe County argued
that ICC retained jurisdiction to act by reason of the public
use condition.

By decision served September 27, 1993, ICC
reopened the proceeding to issue a NITU, allowing the
parties sixty days to negotiate a railbanking agreement for
the 11.64 mile segment of the line in Monroe County. App.
2la. The Commission expressly found that it retained
jurisdiction to issue the NITU by reason of the public use
condition, notwithstanding CSX’s letter filed March 29
indicating a March 19 abandonment. ICC explained that
"CSX [Transportation] legally could not fully abandon the

10

line until expiration of the 180-day public use condition and
the [railroad’s} March 29 letter-filing was, in effect,
notification that it had discontinued operations." App. 23a.
During the 60-day NITU negotiation period, CSX and
Monroe County completed negotiations and railbanked the
11.64-mile corridor.

Under ICC regulations, the agency will serve a
"notice or decision on all parties ... if use of [a notice of
exempt abandonment] is made subject to environmental,
energy, historic preservation, public use and/or interim trial
use and rail banking conditions.” 49 C.F.R. §
1152.50(d)(5). According to ICC records, 98 parties or
representatives of parties accordingly received service by
U.S. Mail of the September 27, 1993 decision issuing the
NITU.

Several members of the public, including Victor
Oolitic Stone Company (one of the petitioners below)
immediately filed letter-protests. However, these letters
were not served on the railroad and otherwise failed to meet
requirements for timely motions of reconsideration. ICC
served an order on October 20, 1993 treating the letter
protests as correspondence. App. 25a.

On November 8, 1993, over 40 days after the
September 27, 1993 order issuing the NITU, Victor Oolitic
Stone Company, et al., filed and served a “Motion to
Reconsider Decision and Notice of Interim Trail Use or
Abandonment.” App. 37a. ICC denied the “motion to
reconsider" by a decision served March 22, 1994. App.
28a. The Commission expressly found that it had

11

jurisdiction, explaining that it retained jurisdiction over the
corridor until the completion of all post-abandonment
conditions, quoting its earlier decision. App. 34a.

Victor Oolitic Stone Company and Janet Fritsch, et
al., then petitioned for review of the March 22, 1994,
refusal to reopen the proceeding in the D.C. Circuit.

C. Proceedings Before the Court of Appeals

Arguing that Victor Oolitic Stone Company and Ms.
Fritsch, et al. were seeking review of a denial of a motion
to reopen for material error, CSX and Monroe County
contended that the court of appeals lacked jurisdiction over
the appeal pursuant to JCC v. Brotherhood of Locomotive
Engineers, 482 U.S. 270 (1987), and Friends of Sierra
Railroad v. ICC, 881 F.2d 663 (9th Cir. 1989), cert. denied
sub nom., Tuolumne Park and Recreation District v. ICC,
493 U.S. 1093 (1990). ICC also joined in that contention at
oral argument. The court of appeals, while recognizing that
the question "may be a close one,” nonetheless found that it
had appellate jurisdiction. App. 9a.

Turning to the merits, ICC, CSX and Monroe County
all contended ICC retained jurisdiction to impose the NITU.
The court of appeals recognized that ICC imposed a public
use condition for the express purpose of preserving
jurisdiction to keep the corridor intact. In the words of the
court of appeals, the Commission

"did impose a public use condition under section
10906 purporting to stay the disposition of property

12

for 180 days .... The Commission imposed this
condition to attempt to allow [Monroe County] and
CSX time to negotiate...."

App. 4a. The court of appeals ruled, however, that ICC
cannot rely on § 10906 to retain jurisdiction over a corridor
post-abandonment.

ICC, CSX and Monroe County sought rehearing and
rehearing in banc. This was denied on September 18, 1995.
App. 16a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. The Court of Appeals’ Jurisdictional
Holding Conflicts with This Court’s
Decision in Brotherhood of Locomotive
Engineers (BLE) and with the Numerous
Decisions Upholding the Adequacy of
Federal Register Notice in the Context of
Federal Administrative Proceedings

A. The Jurisdictional Holding Conflicts with BLE

In JCC v. Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, this
Court explained that the courts of appeals lack jurisdiction to
review agency refusals to reopen administratively final
decisions when the ground for reopening is a based on a
claim of material error. "[W]here no new data but only
‘material error’ has been put forward as the basis for
reopening, an appeal places before the courts precisely the
same substance that could have been brought there by appeal

in Pe ee Se ee ae

13

from the original order." 482 U.S. at 279. This Court
explained that allowing petitions for review of agency
refusals to reopen in those circumstances would be contrary
to the Hobbs Act’s 60-day limitation provision (28 U.S.C.
§ 2344) governing court of appeals jurisdiction to review
final orders. Jd. at 280.° Instead, courts may review
agency refusals to reopen only if the reopening was based on
"new evidence" or "changed circumstances." Jd. at 284.

In their "motion to reconsider" filed with the ICC on
November 8, 1993, Victor Oolitic Stone Company, Ms.
Fritsch, and the other petitioning parties asserted only that
ICC erred in issuing the September 27, 1993 NITU based on
their view that ICC lost jurisdiction over the corridor on
March 19, 1993. App. 38a-39a.’ Because the "motion to
reconsider" was filed over 40 days after the September 27
NITU, the motion was thus not timely under ICC rules.
Therefore, as the court of appeals correctly recognized, it
was an out-of-time motion to reopen. App. 8a. In its

® This Court added that "[i]t is irrelevant that the Commission’s
order refusing reconsideration discussed the merits of the [petitioners’]
claims at length. Where the Commission’s formal disposition is to
deny reconsideration, and where it makes no alteration in the
underlying order, we will not undertake an inquiry into whether
reconsideration ‘in fact’ has occurred....". 482 U.S. at 282.

’ The Victor Oolitic/Fritsch motion argued only that "CSX
abandoned its common carrier obligations in the railroad corridor on
or about March 19, 1993..." This was as clear an argument based on
“material error” as could be imagined, and involved neither new
evidence or changed circumstance. On its face, it alluded to the
condition of the line months before ICC’s decision of September 27,
1993.

14

decision served March 22, 1994, refusing to reconsider, ICC
reiterated without change its September 27, 1993 order
issuing the NITU; indeed, ICC quoted from this order.
App. 34a.

Thus, the ICC’s decision was in effect a refusal to re-
open a final administrative proceeding based on "material
error," appeals of which are governed by the rule of repose
in ICC v. Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. The court
of appeals decision accepting jurisdiction therefore squarely
conflicts with this Court’s ruling in JCC v. Brotherhood of
Locomotive Engineers. See also Friends of Sierra R.R. v.
ICC, 881 F.2d at 666 ("subsequent unsuccessful petition to
an agency to reopen cannot create a new final order giving
[the] court jurisdiction over an untimely petition for
review").

B. The Jurisdictional Ruling Confounds
Reliance on Federal Register Notice and
Directly Conflicts with Friends of Sierra
Railroad

To justify its failure to apply Brotherhood of
Locomotive Engineers below, the court of appeals suggested
that Victor Oolitic/Fritsch, et al., claimed not to be aware
that ICC had issued the Notice of Interim Trail Use via the
decision served September 27, 1993. The court of appeals
suggested that this alleged lack of notice constituted "new
evidence” justifying judicial review. App. 7a-8a.

The alleged "new evidence” was not "new" at all.
ICC complied, as did the railroad, with ali notice

15

requirements specified in ICC’s regulations (judicially
upheld*) governing notice in rail abandonment proceedings.
ICC had published notice of the proceeding in the Federal
Register. CSX had published newspaper notice and served
all required parties, not only with its original notice, but also
with its motion to reopen to publish the NITU. ICC served
notice of the NITU on 98 parties who had indicated an
interest in participating in the proceeding. Moreover, the
alleged "new evidence" regarding the insufficiency notice did
not bear on the merits of whether ICC had jurisdiction
below; it was presented merely as an excuse for late-filing.

Heretofore, Federal Register notice of federal agency
proceedings has been viewed as legally sufficient notice to
the world. See, e.g., 44 U.S.C. § 1507; Federal Crop
Insurance Corp. v. Merrill, 332 U.S. 380, 384-85 (1947)
(regulations binding "regardless of actual knowledge ... or
hardship resulting from innocent ignorance"); Government of
Guam v. United States, 744 F.2d 699, 701 (9th Cir. 1984);
Bennett v. Director, Office of Workers’ Compensation
Programs, 717 F.2d 1167, 1169 (7th Cir. 1983); North
Alabama Express, Inc. v. United States, 585 F.2d 783, 787
n.2 (Sth Cir. 1978). The D.C. Circuit decision is thus a
sharp departure from a plethora of past decisions, including
some of its own decisions in the railroad regulatory context.
See, e.g., CMC Real Estate Corp. v. ICC, 807 F.2d 1025,
1031-32 (D.C. Cir. 1986) (major purpose of Staggers Act
reforms is to eliminate prior notice and hearing
requirements; Federal Register notice is sufficient in
"exempt" cases under 49 U.S.C. § 10505).

* See Illinois Commerce Commission v. ICC, supra.

16

Moreover, the Ninth Circuit considered the
sufficiency of Federal Register notice in the context of an
identical 49 C.F.R. § 1152.50 rail abandonment proceeding.
In Friends of Sierra Railroad v. ICC, 881 F.2d 663 (9th Cir.
1989), cert. denied sub. nom. Tuolumne Park and Recreation
District v. ICC, 493 U.S. 1093 (1990), ICC authorized,
through publication in the Federal Register, an exempt
abandonment pursuant to 49 C.F.R. § 1152.50. After the
abandonment was completely effective, a local agency,
joined by an excursion rail group, petitioned ICC to reopen
the proceeding (after the time for petitions for
reconsideration had expired) on the basis of a variety of
errors. ICC denied reopening in an extensive decision, and
then declined reconsideration of that denial in a second
extensive decision. The local agency and excursion group
petitioned for judicial review, contending that lack of notice
excused their failure to seek review of the original ICC
decision. The agency and the excursion rail group both
claimed lack of actual notice of the ICC proceeding.

The Ninth Circuit observed that ICC not only had
provided all persons with notice whom its regulations
required to be notified, but also provided notice of the
proceeding in the Federal Register. "Publication in the
Federal Register," according to the Ninth Circuit,

"is legally sufficient notice to all interested or
affected parties regardless of actual knowledge or
hardship resulting from ignorance."

881 F.2d at 667-68. Because Federal Register notice "was
plainly sufficient to provide notice to all interested persons

17

of the abandonment proceeding" the Ninth Circuit held that
alleged lack of notice did not constitute any grounds to
overcome the principle of repose set forth in this Court’s
BLE decision. Id. at 668

In short, the Ninth Circuit holding is precisely the
opposite of the D.C. Circuit holding.

Since the decision in Friends of Sierra R.R. v. ICC,
ICC altered its regulations to provide for notice in addition
to that which existed at the time Friends was decided.
Under ICC’s amended regulations, notices of an exemption
proceeding are now published not only in the Federal
Register but also in local newspapers. See 49 C.F.R. §
1105.12.’ The public is told how it may participate in the
abandonment proceeding, and its comments are invited on
issues such as trail use.'°

* Section 1105.12 provides as follows:

"In every abandonment exemption case, the applicant shall
publish in a newspaper of general circulation in each county
in which the line is located and certify to the Commission that
it has done this by the date its notice of ... exemption is filed.
The notice shall alert the public to the proposed abandonment,
to available reuse alternatives, such as trail use and public
use, and to how it may participate in a Commission
proceeding. Sample newspaper notices are provided in the
Appendix to this section for guidance to the railroads.”

‘© The newspaper notice explains how to file and serve comments
(with addresses of the Commission and the railroad’s representative),
the topics to be addressed, and provides a telephone number to call at
the Commission for questions and assistance.

18

In addition, as provided in ICC’s applicable
regulations (e.g., 49 C.F.R. § 1150.50(d)(5), ICC served its
September 27 NITU decision on all persons who had
expressed any interest in the proceeding; namely, 98
individuals by U.S. Mail, the great majority of whom were
located in the Bloomington or Bedford areas. As a result,
the record demonstrates that the NITU was widely known,
and at least one of the Victor Oolitic/Fritsch, et al. parties
had actual notice of the September 27 NITU decision on the
very day it was served.'' In short, the court of appeals
erred not only as a matter of law, but as a matter of fact on
notice issues.

al The Jurisdictional Issue Is Important

This Court has already recognized the importance of
the question concerning the reviewability of agency denials
of petitions to reopen when this Court accepted for review
Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. The decision of the
court of appeals below effectively eviscerates the ruling in
that case. If the approach of the D.C. Circuit were now
adopted, virtually any member of the public could obtain
review of agency orders long final on any allegation of error
merely by filing a petition to reopen or reconsider, awaiting
denial, and then petitioning for judicial review based on
alleged inadequacy of Federal Register notice. This totally

'! A number of persons filed letters protesting the NITU on the
same day or shortly after its issuance. See App. 26a (discussing
filings). These filings illustrate that there was “widespread actual
public knowledge” of the NITU at the time of its issuance. See CMC
Real Estate Corp. v. ICC, 807 F.2d at 1925.

19

upsets the finality of agency decisions, and undercuts the
intent of Congress in adopting the 60-day time limitation on
judicial review of agency orders embodied in 28 U.S.C. §
2344.

Equally important, the D.C. Circuit decision below
casts doubt on federal agency reliance on Federal Register
notice of proceedings. Unless corrected, this will be highly
disruptive of agency procedures across the government. No
issue will be final, for interested individuals or entities can
either hang back for a "second bite" at the apple by not
responding to the initial Federal Register notice, or, if they
did participate, by shopping for an entity that did not
participate and prompt it to attack the otherwise final result
through a petition to reopen, based on the alleged inadequacy
of Federal Register notice.

Il. The Court of Appeals’ Substantive Re-
interpretation of ICC Jurisdiction Is
Inconsistent with this Court’s Construction
in Hayfield Northern, Inconsistent with
Consistent Past Agency Practice, and
Eviscerates § 10906

The court of appeals’ treatment of 49 U.S.C. § 10906
likewise conflicts with other decisions and is in error.
Unquestionably ICC’s jurisdiction terminates when a railroad
consummates an otherwise unconditioned abandonment

20

authorization.’ However, ICC enjoys broad power to
condition abandonments as the agency sees fit to safeguard
the public convenience and necessity." ICC has
consistently maintained that it retains jurisdiction when it
imposes appropriate post-abandonment conditions, such as
historic preservation conditions or public use conditions.'*
This Court, in discussing ICC jurisdiction, has explained that
although ICC jurisdiction ordinarily terminates upon
abandonment, that jurisdiction survives where ICC "attaches
postabandonment conditions." Hayfield Northern, 467 U.S
at 633. So long as ICC retains jurisdiction over a rail
corridor, it preempts state regulation to the contrary.
Chicago & N.W. T. Co. v. Kalo Brick & Tile Co., 450 U.S.
309 (1981); Colorado v. United States, 271 U.S. 311 (1926).

The court of appeals below recognized that ICC
"impose[d] a public use condition under section 10906
purporting to stay the disposition of property for 180 days
.... The Commission imposed this condition to attempt to
allow [Monroe County] and CSX time to negotiate...."
App. 4a. Unquestionably then, ICC imposed a condition
with the intent of retaining jurisdiction. The court of appeals

'2 E.g., Illinois Central Gulf Railroad Co. -- Abandonment -- in
Dewitt and Piatt Counties, AB-43 (Sub-no. 134), served Jan. 4, 1989
(no jurisdiction where unconditioned abandonment is consummated).

' E.g., Consolidated Rail Corp. v. ICC, 29 F.3d 706, 714 (D.C.
Cir. 1994); Reed v. Meserve, 487 F.2d 646, 649-50 (Ist Cir. 1973).

'* E.g., Burlington Northern Railroad Co. --- Abandonment
Exemption -- in Fall River and Custer Counties, SD, AB-6 (Sub-no.
293X), served Feb. 9, 1989.

21

held that ICC lacked authority to do so. This conflicts with
this Court’s recognition, since Colorado v. United States
decided in 1926, that ICC authority over abandonments is
plenary and preempts all state regulation to the contrary.
Furthermore, it flies in the face of this Court’s recognition
in Hayfield Northern that ICC retains jurisdiction where it
imposes conditions for that purpose.

On the merits, the D.C. Circuit erred. ICC has
consistently interpreted its authorizing statute to permit it to
retain jurisdiction over a rail corridor for the duration of any
conditions placed on an abandonment authorization
pertaining to that corridor. Under Chevron v. NRDC, 467
U.S. 837, 842-45 (1984), a federal agency enjoys broad
discretion in interpreting its statute. The question is only
whether ICC’s construction is "permissible." Further, a
court must defer to ICC’s construction of "terms of art” in
the administration of these statutes. Pennsylvania PUC v.
U.S., 812 F.2d 8, 12 (D.C. Cir. 1987). Deference is
especially due where, as here, the agency construction is
long-standing and the regulated industry has come to rely
upon it.'° The court of appeals below failed to give ICC’s
long-standing practice any deference, thus conflicting with
cases such as Chevron v. NRDC, supra, and Vermont Yankee
Nuclear Power Corp. v. NRDC, 435 U.S. 512, 543 (1978)

'S. NLRB v. Bell Aerospace, 416 U.S. 267, 274-75 (1974) (if the
construction is longstanding, it is considered more authoritative
because those who have had matters before the agency have come to
rely upon it); EEOC v. Associated Dry Goods Corp., 449 U.S. 590,
600 n.17 (1981) (similar). See also Mr. Sprout, Inc. v. U.S., 8 F.3d
118, 122 (2d Cir. 1993) (agency must explain in more detail a
departure from previous interpretation).

22

(courts not to engraft additional procedural requirements
absent compelling circumstances).

The court of appeals argued that nothing in § 10906
"explicitly or implicitly [] refers to the staying of an
abandonment during the 180-day period." The court of
appeals sets up a kind of straw man. ICC did not purport to
"stay" the abandonment in the sense of precluding the
railroad from stopping common carrier service and
commencing salvage operations. Instead, ICC uses
conditions to retain jurisdiction over a corridor further to
protect the public convenience and necessity.

The language of 49 U.S.C. § 10906 is broad enough
to contemplate an order which maintains ICC jurisdiction but
permits cessation of service. The statute expressly indicates
that the agency can bar transfer, lease, sale or any other
disposition of the property, and take action to ensure that the
property is made available for public use on "reasonable
terms."'® Clearly the language of § 10906 is sufficient to

'© In its decision below, the court of appeals claims that CSX only
owned easements in the line which reverted to adjacent landowners
upon abandonment. App. 2a, 9a. ICC did not consider the nature of
the property interests held by CSX in the corridor, and those interests
were not litigated before ICC or the court of appeals. The court of
appeals had no basis whatsoever to assume that CSX held the corridor
only by easement, or that any easements in this case “revert” upon
abandonment. Since these are state law issues rather than federal
issues, CSX and Monroe County have not petitioned this Court for
certiorari on this wholly unsupported aspect of the court of appeals’
decision. Nonetheless, CSX and Monroe County disagree with the
court of appeals unsupported statements in this regard. The issue is,
however, not germane to the issues here presented.

23

render "permissible" ICC’s construction that it retains
jurisdiction over a corridor for the duration of a public use
condition under § 10906 pertaining to the corridor.
Moreover, this construction is reasonable: a § 10906
"public use" condition is less burdensome to a railroad than
a full "stay" of an abandonment authorization, for the
railroad during the 180-day "public use condition" period
may cease service and commence salvage operations. In
addition to imposing less burden on the railroad, a § 10906
condition is no more burdensome to any other interested
entity than a full stay. ICC’s use of § 10906 is thus
consistent with Congress’ overall intent to loosen "the vise
grip of regulation" on the rail industry. CMC Real Estate
Corp. v. ICC, 807 F.2d 1025, 1031 (D.C. Cir. 1986).

ICC’s construction of the statute is also supported by
the legislative history of § 10906. Prior to adoption of §
10906, ICC took the position that the "public convenience
and necessity" standard for abandonments was broad enough
to permit the agency to condition abandonments so as to
permit preservation of corridors.'’ Cognizant of the

" For example, in the early 1970’s, Burlington Northern (BN)
sought to abandon a rail line in Seattle, which numerous local groups
sought to preserve as a trail. ICC issued an order barring BN from
transferring the line, for other than a public purpose, for a period
following the effective date of the abandonment. Burlington Northern
-- Abandonment -- Fremont & Kenmore, King County, WA, 342
I.C.C. 446 (1972). ICC subsequently amended the order to provide
for mandatory arbitration of terms and conditions of transfer.
Burlington Northern -- Abandonment-- Fremont & Kenmore, ICC Fin.
Dkt. 26638, served April 14, 1973 (unpublished). The line became
Seattle’s Burke-Gilman Trail.

24

popularity of this objective, Washington’s Senator Magnuson
and Indiana’s Senator Hartke proposed legislation to
encourage the conversion of otherwise to-be-abandoned
railroad rights-of-way to public trail use." ICC was
supportive, testifying that

The Commission has long taken the position that its
power ... to condition abandonment approvals
enables it to impose conditions designed to enhance
public uses of abandoned rail properties.'®

The Commission recommended a "more forceful
provision,"”’ specifically proposing legislation which

would go farther toward serving a valid public-
interest goal, and would in essence require the
Commission to take steps which are presently
discretionary .*!

Under the Commission’s language, which with further
strengthening became § 10906, ICC is required to issue
"terms and conditions" to foster public use for rail lines
suitable for those purposes. Those terms and conditions

'S S. 1879, reprinted in Railroads -- 1975 -- Part 2, Hearings
before the Senate Comm. on Commerce, 94th Cong., ist Sess. at 528-
33 (1975) ("1975 Hearings”).

'? 1975 Hearings, supra, at 687 (ICC Chairman Stafford).

1975 Hearings at 680.

2! 1975 Hearings at 679.

25

could include orders barring sales, leases, exchanges or other
dispositions of property in the corridor for up to 180 days
post-abandonment, unless the properties were first offered on
reasonable terms for public use.” In sum, the legislative
history clearly indicates an intent to supply ICC with
sufficient jurisdiction under 49 U.S.C. § 10906 to hold a
corridor intact for possible public use for 180 days post-
abandonment.

As Congress has eased rail abandonment procedures
since the mid-1970’s in order to foster more competitive
conditions within, and the economic viability of, the railroad
industry, Congress has recognized that more rail corridors
will be abandoned. Upon abandonment, these corridors are
frequently swiftly broken up, and once lost, are extremely
difficult to reassemble. Viewing rail corridors as national
assets, which may be needed again in the future, Congress
has equipped ICC with a number of means to foster
preservation of those facilities, where such can be
accomplished without unduly burdening the railroad industry.
49 U.S.C. § 10906 is one of the statutes which Congress has
adopted for this important purpose.”

After the court of appeals’ ruling below, it is difficult
to see what is left of 49 U.S.C. § 10906. Under the D.C.
Circuit ruling, once a railroad declares a line abandoned, a
§ 10906 public use condition is ineffective to preserve ICC

” 1975 Hearings at 679.

* See Glosemeyer v. Missouri-K-T R.R., 685 F. Supp. 1108,
1113-17 (E.D. Mo. 1988), aff'd, 879 F.2d 316, 318 (8th Cir. 1989),
cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1003 (1990).

26

urisdiction for any of the 180 day post-abandonment period

which the statute is applicable. The statute becomes a
jead letter, and ICC’s basic alternative to preserve re-use
mons is the heavy-handed step of "staying" the entire
abandonment. Hamstringing federal rail abandonment
regulation in this fashion makes no sense. The question is
important, and merits review by this Court.

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES M. ROSENBERGER CHARLES H. MONTANGE
CSX Transportation, Inc. 426 NW 162d St.
500 Water Street, J150 Seattle, WA 98177
Jacksonville, Florida 32202 Counsel for Monroe
Counsel for CSX County,
Transportation, Inc., Petitioner
Petitioner
Of counsel:

WILLIAM STEGER
Monroe County Attorneys
Courthouse, Room 220
Bloomington, IN 47404

December 18, 1995

ee ee Sil ae te
ER: See caer eet

APPENDIX

JR Ee tn PGS A a
« w ah A» : : ice, So sss

la

APPENDIX A
Gnited States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Argued May 11, 1995 Decided July 18, 1995

No. 94-1403

JANET FRITSCH, ET AL.,
PETITIONERS
vi
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION AND
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
RESPONDENTS

MONROE COUNTY, A LEGAL SUBDIVISION OF THE
STATE OF INDIANA, ET AL.,
INTERVENORS

On Petition for Review of an Order of the
Interstate Commerce Commission

Nels J. Ackerson argued the cause and filed the briefs for
petitioners. M. Roy Goldberg entered an appearance.

Evelyn G. Kitay, Attorney, Interstate Commerce Com-
mission argued the cause for respondents. Henri F. Rush,

Bills of costs must be filed within 14 days after entry of judgment.
The court looks with disfavor upon motions to file bills of costs out of
time.

a

2a

General Counsel, Louis Mackall, V, Attorney, and Jeffrey P,
Kehne, Attorney, United States Department of Justice, were
on the brief for respondents. J. Carol Williams, Attorney,
United States Department of Justice, entered an appearance
for respondents.

Charles H. Montange argued the cause for intervenors
and amicus curiae. With him on the joint brief was Charles
M. Rosenberger for intervenor CSX Transportation, Inc., and
Andrea Ferster for amicus curiae Rails to Trails Conser-
vancy.

Before SILBERMAN, SENTELLE, and HENDERSON, Circuit
Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge SENTELLE.

SENTELLE, Circuit Judge: Petitioners are various private
landowners who own in fee simple the land across which
CSX Transportation, Inc. (“CSX”) possessed an easement for
rail purposes. Petitioners challenge a decision of the Inter-
state Commerce Commission (“ICC” or “Commission”)
holding that CSX was legally unable to fully abandon its rail
line until expiration of a 180-day public use condition
attached to the Commission’s decision authorizing abandon-
ment, pursuant to 49 U.S.C. § 10906 (1994). During this
180-day period, CSX and the Monroe County Parks and
Recreation Department (“MCPRD”) had reached an agree-
ment where the MCPRD would acquire a portion of the rail
corridor for trail use under the Trails Act, 16 U.S.C.§ 1241
et seq. (1994). The Commission claimed that because CSX
was unable to abandon the rail line during that period, the
Commission retained jurisdiction to implement the Trails Act,
and that as a result, petitioners’ reversionary interest could

3a

not vest. We hold that section 10906 did not prevent CSX
from consummating abandonment, and thus the Commission
retained no jurisdiction to implement the Trails Act.

I. BACKGROUND

On January 25, 1993, CSX filed a Notice of Exemption
with the ICC, seeking authorization to abandon a rail line that
it once had operated between Bloomington and Bedford,
Indiana. The rail line had been out of service since 1987. The
proposed consummation date of the abandonment was March
19,1993. On February 1, 1993, pursuant to 49 U.S.C. §
10906, the MCPRD filed a request with the ICC for a public
use condition to give it additional time to negotiate for
acquisition of the rail line for trail purposes. Section 10906
imposes a waiting period on the railroad, preventing it from
selling or otherwise disposing of its private property while
offers are made to the railroad by those interested in making
public use of the property. Jd. The MCPRD also notified the
ICC of its intention to file a statement of willingness to
assume financial responsibility, as required by section 1247
of the Trails Act, 16 U.S.C. § 1247. In accordance with the
ICC’s procedures under 49 C.F.R. § 1152.50 (1994), the
Commission served a notice of exemption authorizing
abandonment on February 16, 1993, effective 30 days later.
The exemption provided that “{e]nvironmental, historic
preservation, public use, or trail use/rail banking conditions
will be imposed, where appropriate, in a subsequent
decision.”

On March 5, 1993, CSX requested additional time to
determine whether it would negotiate a trails-use agreement
in light of the substantial number of letters it received both

4a

for and against the trail. Local landowners opposing the
conversion of the rail line to trail use wrote the ICC, enclos-
ing copies of the deeds to their land and asserting CSX did
not own the land in fee simple, but rather only possessed
easements over the land for purposes of the rail line. Propo-
nents of the conversion also wrote the ICC, maintaining that
the imposition of a public use condition under section 10906
would prevent the extinguishment of the easements under
Indiana law. On March 16, 1993, CSX informed the Commis-
sion it had decided not to negotiate an agreement for conver-
sion.

On March 18, the Commission issued a decision permit-
ting the abandonment, while denying the MCPRD’s request
for interim trail use under section 1247 because the railroad
did not consent, as was required under the statute. However,
the Commission did impose a public use condition under
section 10906, purporting to stay the disposition of the prop-
erty for 180 days as an alternative to a section 1247 rails-to-
trails conversion. The Commission imposed this condition in
an attempt to allow MCPRD and CSX time to negotiate the
issue of conversion.

By letter dated March 23, CSX wrote to the ICC that it
had abandoned the line on March 19. On April 23, 1993,
CSX wrote to the ICC again, emphasizing the legal need for
CSX’s consent to a rails-to-trails conversion. CSX also
repeated that it had abandoned the line on March 19.

On September 10, 1993, MCPRD wrote to the ICC,
stating that CSX and MCPRD had reached an agreement to
the effect that MCPRD would acquire a portion of the rail

Sa

corridor for trail use.' On. September 14, the day the public
use condition expired, CSX filed a motion confirming
MCPRD’s position, and asked the Commission to reopen the
abandonment proceeding to issue a Notice of Interim Trail
Use under the Trails Act, 16 U.S.C. § 1247(d). CSX also
reaffirmed that it had abandoned the rail line on March 19.

The Commission issued a decision on September 23,
1993, agreeing to reopen the proceeding, and imposing the
condition for interim trail use. The Commission explained
that:

[CSX] legally could not fully abandon the line until
expiration of the 180-day public use condition and the
[CSX] March 29 letter-filing was, in effect, notifica-
tion that it had discontinued operations. . . . As there
is no evidence in the record of any intent to consum-
mate full abandonment, the Commission retains
jurisdiction to implement the Trails Act as requested
by [(CSX] and MCPRD.

On November 8, 1993, petitioner landowners filed a
motion to reconsider the Commission’s decision, which they
supplemented on December 8. Petitioners argued that CSX
abandoned its common carrier obligations on March 19,
1993, by virtue of filing a letter with the Commission,
discontinuing rail service, and removing all track materials
and communication equipment. Consequently, the Commis-
sion no longer possessed jurisdiction to impose a trail
condition.

' CSX received $90,000.00 for its change of heart.

6a

The Commission issued its decision on March 22, 1994,
denying reconsideration and affirming its prior decision that
it retained jurisdiction to impose a trails-use condition. Peti-
tioners subsequently filed a petition for review of this denial
of reconsideration with this court on May 19, 1994.

II. DISCUSSION

As a threshold issue, the intervenors” argue we lack juris-
diction to review this petition for review. Under 28 U.S.C. §
2344 (1994), a party seeking to challenge a final ICC order
must file a petition for review within 60 days of entry of that
order. The petition before us, filed May 19, 1994, is thus
untimely for purposes of judicial review of the September
1993 Commission decision. On November 8, 1993, however,
petitioners filed a “Motion to Reconsider Decision and Notice
of Interim Trail Use and Abandonment.” The Commission
denied this motion in a decision served March 22, 1994. This
petition for review is directed at that decision.

The Commission has established procedures for timely
reconsideration of decisions in rail abandonment proceedings.
Under 49 C.F.R. § 1115.3(e), a party has twenty days from
the service date of a decision to seek reconsideration. The
Commission also has discretion under section 1115.3(e) to
extend the twenty day period an additional twenty days. In the
proceedings below, petitioners did not seek reconsideration
within the twenty-day period nor the additional twenty-day
discretionary period. On November 8, petitioners did file
what they termed a motion for reconsideration. However, this

? The intervenors include, among others, CSX and MCPRD on
behalf of the ICC.

NET ER ST SO Fe OO abe La TENS ES

ES er ae ee SSO eS ae ee

7a

was Clearly outside the time established under the regulations.
Consequently, according to the intervenors, this motion

amounted to a motion to reopen an administratively final
decision.

The intervenors assert that this court’s jurisdiction to
review agency refusals to reopen administratively final deci-
sions is limited by ICC v. Brotherhood of Locomotive Eng’rs,
482 U.S. 270 (1987). They contend that, under Locomotive
Engineers, petitions for review of final agency action cannot
circumvent the sixty-day limitation by filing a motion to
reopen, and then petitioning for review of the motion’s
denial. They maintain that, under Locomotive Engineers,
judicial review of the merits of the original agency action is
not available where agency reconsideration was sought solely
for material error. See Locomotive Engineers, 482 U.S. at
281-82. Courts may only review a refusal to reopen if a party
sought reopening on the basis of new evidence or changed
circumstances. Jd. at 284.

Intervenors posit that the motion to reopen filed below
presented no changed circumstances or new evidence not
known or available when the September, 1993 decision was
issued. Petitioners’ motion for reconsideration alleged only
that the ICC erred in finding that it had jurisdiction to impose
a trails condition. According to intervenors, the Commission
had already addressed all issues presented by petitioners in its
September decision.

While we agree that, under Locomotive Engineers, a
refusal to reopen a proceeding for material error will not
support a petition to review the merits of the original agency
decision, we conclude that the Commission was in fact

8a

presented with new material accompanying the motion to
reopen.’ Specifically, petitioners asserted before the Com-
mission that they were denied the opportunity to submit
' protests, arguing that CSX’s request to reopen the proceeding
was made beyond the Commission’s procedural deadlines to
file protests, and that petitioners were unaware of the filing
of the CSX motion. Not only did the Commission not reject
» petitioners’ assertions of new matter, it in fact addressed
anew the merits of the September 23 determination as though
accepting the facial validity of petitioners’ claims and reject-
ing them only on the underlying merits. While it is true that
the Supreme Court held in Locomotive Engineers that the bare
fact that “the Commission’s order refusing reconsideration
discussed the merits of the [movants’] claims at length,” does
not render a denial of reconsideration reviewable on the
merits of the underlying decision, 482 U.S. at 280, it is also
true that Locomotive Engineers recognized the reviewability
of “refusals ‘based upon new evidence or changed circum-
stances’ rather than upon ‘material error.”’ /d. at 281
(citation to concurrence omitted).

We therefore interpret Locomotive Engineers as permit-
ting merits review of a refusal to reopen where the motion to
reopen was based on non-pretextual grounds of new matter or
changed circumstances, and not merely on material error in
the original agency decision. We do not read Locomotive
Engineers to hold or imply the absolute bar suggested by

> Intervenors make much of the distinction between motions for
reconsideration and motions to reopen administratively final decisions.
However, the Supreme Court in Locomotive Engineers did not base its
holding on any such distinction, and thus, neither do we.

a rrrenieieceiieiaiiaiiiidiaiiiiaiiaiiliiadia

9a

intervenors. If there were such an absolute bar, one can
conceive of a whole parade of horribles headed by a circum-
stance in which a party totally deprived of due process in an
original agency petition could never obtain review of the
merits although he never learned, actively or constructively,
of the proceedings to deprive him of his rights until after the
expiration of the sixty-day review period. Although the
question may be a close one, we conclude that the present
petition falls in the reviewable new-matter Category rather
than in the non-reviewable material-error category.

Turning to the merits, the ICC argues that the imposition
of a public use condition pursuant to section 10906 prevents
a railroad, which has received a decision authorizing
abandonment, from abandoning a line for 180 days. Specifi-
cally, the ICC maintains that CSX was unable to abandon its
line for 180 days, beginning March 18, 1993, the date the
ICC imposed the public use condition at issue. As a result,
CSX’s property rights could not revert to the private land-
owners who own the land across which the rail line was built
during that period. Thus, regardless of CSX’s actual intent to
abandon the line on March 19, 1993, CSX was legally bound
to wait the full 180 days. The ICC contends that because CSX
reached an agreement with Monroe County within the
180-day period concerning the conversion of part of the rail
line for trail use, CSX reversed its prior intent to abandon the
line. Consequently, the ICC could legally reopen the pro-
ceedings and issue a notice of interim trail use under Trails
Act section 1247(d), 16 U.S.C. § 1247(d).

We reject the ICC’s application of section 10906, and
hold that the imposition of a public use condition did not
prevent CSX from fully abandoning the rail line on March 19,

10a

1993. Section 10906, titled “Offering abandoned rail proper-
ties for sale for public purposes,” states:

When the Interstate Commerce Commission finds
under section 10903 of this title that the . . . public
convenience and necessity require or permit abandon-
ment or discontinuance, the Commission shall find
further whether the rail properties that are involved

. . are suitable for use for public purposes. . . . If
the Commission finds [such properties are so suit-
able], the properties may be sold, leased, exchanged,
or otherwise disposed of only under conditions pro-
vided in the order of the Commission. The conditions
may include a prohibition on any such disposal for a
period of not more than 180 days after the effective
date of the order, unless such properties have first
been offered, on reasonable terms, for sale for public
purposes.

49 U.S.C. § 10906 (emphasis added).* Nothing in this lan-
guage, explicitly or implicitly, refers to the staying of an
abandonment during the 180-day period. This section simply
States that pursuant to a 180-day public use condition, an
entity cannot dispose of its rail property during the 180-day
period unless the entity has first offered the property, upon
reasonable terms, for sale for public purposes. Notwith-

* In their brief, petitioners inexplicably rely on an outdated
version of this provision enacted in 1976, 49 U.S.C. § 1a(10), and
amended to its present form in 1978. While the specific language relied on
by petitioners is worded differently than in the current version, the
differences in language are irrelevant for the disposition of this case.
Nevertheless, we have higher expectations of counsel appearing before us.

eT Se Te

a eee ee ee

lla

standing such a sale, the statute prevents the disposition of
any assets remaining after abandonment during the 180-day
period. However, once a railroad consummates abandonment
of a bare easement, the railroad no longer possesses any
property interests to transfer. Such is the case here, where
CSX only possessed an easement on property belonging to
private landowners. Once CSX consummated abandonment,
CSX’s property interests reverted to the landowners. These
interests were thus extinguished as a matter of law. Certainly
neither section 10906 nor the Trails Act can create a new
property interest if abandonment has already occurred.

No doubt exists that abandonment had in fact occurred in
this case. No traffic had moved across the rail line since
1987. In January, 1993, CSX filed a notice of exemption with
the ICC, asserting “the proposed consummation date of the
abandonment is March 19, 1993.” On March 23, CSX
notified the Commission that it had in fact abandoned the line
on March 19, reiterating its position on both April 23 and
September 14, 1993. In addition, CSX had removed all track
materials as well as signal and communication lines and
poles.

The ICC has stated that its jurisdiction over a line termi-
nates when the line is completely abandoned, and “whether a
line is fully abandoned is a question of the carrier’s intent.”
Illinois Cent. Gulf R.R. Co.—Abandonment—in DeWitt and
Pratt Counties, IL, 5 1.C.C.2d 1054, 1061 (1988). In deter-
mining intent, the ICC asserted that it looked to whether
tariffs had been cancelled and operations had ceased. Jd.
CSX’s intent could not have been clearer in this case, based
on the letters it sent to the ICC, as well as its removal of
equipment.

12a

The ICC maintains, however, that Jllinois Cent. Gulf
R.R. is inapposite because that case involved the dismissal of
a petition seeking a trails-use condition when the railroad had
already consummated an unconditioned grant of abandonment
authority issued by the Commission. In contrast, the ICC
imposed a public use condition in the decision permitting
CSX to abandon the rail line in the case at bar. The ICC
relies on Preseault v. ICC for the proposition that its jurisdic-
tion over railroad property terminates only when an uncondi-
tioned abandonment has been consummated. 494 U.S. 1, 5-6
n.3 (1990).

We disagree. The Supreme Court in Presault only stated
that “[o]nce a carrier ‘abandons’ a rail line pursuant to
authority granted by the [ICC], the line is no longer part of
the national transportation system, and although the Commis-
sion is empowered to impose conditions on abandonments, ...
as a general proposition ICC jurisdiction terminates.” Jd. In
the present case, the Commission did not impose any condi-
tion on the abandonment by CSX as such that would prevent
‘the reversion of the property interest to the petitioners. The
only condition in the order reads as follows:

The exemption is subject to the condition that [CSX]
leave intact all bridges, culverts, and similar struc-
tures (but not track or track materials) for a period of
180 days unless the property is first offered, on
reasonable terms, for sale for public purposes.

Nothing in the condition recites a limitation on the ability
of CSX to effect an abandonment. On March 23, when CSX
announced by letter to the Commission that it had “abandoned
this line of railroad effective March 19, 1993,” there was no

13a

condition that prevented it from doing so. The Commission
offers no other reason why this case falls outside the general
rule of terminated jurisdiction stated in Presault. And we hold
that it had no jurisdiction to undo the abandonment and
impose conditions thereon. Because we so hold, we need not
decide whether Indiana State property law would dictate that
a Change of use in an easement would constitute an additional
taking of the property of the fee owner, nor whether such
additional taking would be compensable under the Fifth
Amendment to the United States Constitution. See Preseault
494 U.S. at 4 (“[E]ven if the rails-to-trails statute gives rise
to a taking, compensation is available to petitioners under the
Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1491(a)(1) (1982 ed.)”). Those
questions are left for another day. Sufficient unto this day is
the decision that the easement holder had abandoned its
interest and the fee owners prevailed.

Ill. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we conclude that we have
jurisdiction to review the ICC’s decision. We further con-
clude that the ICC was without power to undo the abandon-
ment of the CSX line; that the abandonment had worked a
reversion of interest to the fee simple; and that the petition for
review is therefore allowed and the decision of the Com-
mission reversed.

It is so ordered.

l4a

Gnited States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 94-1403

Janet Fritsch, et al.,
Petitioners

V.

Interstate Commerce Commission and
United States of America,
Respondents

Monroe County, a legal subdivision
of the State of Indiana, et al.,
Intervenors

MANDATE
Pursuant to the provisions of Fed. R. App. Pro. 49(a).
ISSUED: 9/26/95
“BY: /s/_ E. Brown, Deputy Clerk

Before: SILBERMAN, SENTELLE and HENDERSON, Circuit
Judges. ~

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the petition for review
of an order of the Interstate Commerce Commission and was
argued by counsel. On consideration thereof, it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED, by the Court, that the
petition for review is granted, in accordance with the opinion
of the court filed herein this date.

15a

FOR THE COURT:

Mark J. Langer, Clerk
By: /s/ Robert A. Bonner
Robert A. Bonner

Deputy Clerk

Date: July 18, 1995
Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge Sentelle.

16a

APPENDIX B
Gnited States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

September Term, 1995
No. 94-1403
Filed Sep 18 1995

Janet Fritsch, et al.,
Petitioners,
v.
United States of America
and Interstate Commerce Commission,
Respondents

BEFORE: Silberman, Sentelle and Henderson, Circuit
Judges.

ORDER

Upon consideration of the petitions for rehearing of
respondents and intervenors, it is

ORDERED that the petitions be denied.
Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

Mark J. Langer, Clerk

By: /s/ Robert A. Bonner
Robert A. Bonner
Deputy Clerk

17a

Gnited States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

September Term, 1995
No. 94-1403
Filed Sep 18 1995

Janet Fritsch, et al.,
Petitioners,
v.
United States of America
and Interstate Commerce Commission,
Respondents

BEFORE: Edwards, Chief Judge, Wald, Silberman,
Buckley, Williams, Ginsburg, Sentelle, Henderson,
Randolph, Rogers, and Tatel, Circuit Judges

ORDER
Upon consideration of the Suggestions for Rehearing Jn
Banc of respondents and intervenors, and the absence of a
request by any member of the court for a vote, it is

ORDERED that the suggestions be denied.
Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

Mark J. Langer, Clerk

By: /s/ Robert A. Bonner
Robert A. Bonner
Deputy Clerk

18a

APPENDIX C

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION
NOTICE OF EXEMPTION
[Docket No. AB-55 (Sub-No. 455X)]
CSX TRANSPORTATION, INC.—
ABANDONMENT EXEMPTION—
IN MONROE AND LAWRENCE COUNTIES, IN

Service Date: February 16, 1993

CSX Transportation, Inc. (CSXT) has filed a notice of
exemption under 49 CFR 1152 Subpart F—Exempt
Abandonment to abandon its approximately 22.5-mile rail line
between milepost Q-222.5 at Bloomington and milepost
Q-245.0 at Bedford, in Monroe and Lawrence Counties, IN.

CSXT has certified that: (1) no local traffic has moved
over the line for at least 2 years; (2) there is no overhead
traffic on the line; (3) no formal complaint filed by a user of
rail service on the line (or by a State or local government
entity acting on behalf of such user) regarding cessation of
service over the line either is pending with the Commission
or with any U.S. District Court or has been decided in favor
of the complainant within the 2-year period. CSXT also has
certified that the requirement at 49 CFR 1152.50(d)(1) (notice
to government agencies) has been met.

As a condition to this exemption, any employee adversely
affected by the abandonment shall be protected under Oregon
Short line R. Co.—Abandonment—Goshen, 360 1.C.C. 91
(1979). To address whether this condition adequately protects
affected employees, a petition for partial revocation under 49
U.S.C. 10505(d) must be filed.

19a

Provided no formal expression of intent to file an offer of
financial assistance (OFA) has been received, this exemption
will be effective on March 18, 1993, unless Stayed pending
reconsideration. Petitions to stay that do not involve
environmental issues,' formal expressions of intent to file an
OFA under 49 CFR 1152.27 (c)(2),? and trail use/rail banking
requests under 49 CFR 1152.29° must be filed by February
26, 1993. Petitions to reopen or requests for public use
conditions under 49 CFR 1152.28 must be filed by March 8,
1993, with:

Office of the Secretary
Case Control Branch

Interstate Commerce Commission
Washington, DC 20423

' A stay will be issued routinely by the Commission in those
proceedings where an informed decision on environmental issues (whether
raised by a party or by the Commission’s Section of Energy and
Environment in its independent investigation) cannot be made before the
effective date of the notice of exemption. See exemption of Out-of-Service
Rail Lines, 5 1.C.C. 2d 377 (1989). Any entity seeking a stay involving
environmental concerns is encouraged to filed its request as soon as
possible in order to permit this Commission to review and act on the
request before the effective date of this exemption.

> See Exempt. of Rail Abandonment-Offers of Finan. Assist., 4
1.C.C. 2d 164 (1987).

> The Commission will accept a late-filed trail use request as
long as it retains jurisdiction to do so.

20a

A copy of any pleading filed with the Commission should
be sent to applicant’s representative:

Charles M. Rosenberger
500 Water Street J150
Jacksonville, FL 32202

If the notice of exemption contains false or misleading
information, the exemption is void ab initio.

Applicant has filed an environmental report which
addresses the abandonment’s effects, if any, on the
environmental and historic resources. The Section of Energy
and Environment (SEE) will issue an environmental
assessment (EA) by February 19, 1993. Interested persons
may obtain a copy of the EA by writing to SEE (Room 3219,
Interstate Commerce Commission, Washington, DC 20423)
or by calling Elaine Kaiser, Chief of SEE, at (202) 927-6248.
Comments on environmental and historic preservation matters
must be filed within 15 days after the EA is available to the
public.

Environmental, historic preservation, public use, or trail
use/rail banking conditions will be imposed, where
appropriate, in a subsequent decision.

Decided: February 1, 1993

By the Commission, David M. Konschnik, Director,
Office of Proceedings.

Sidney L. Strickland, Jr.
(SEAL) Secretary

2la

APPENDIX D

INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION

DECISION AND NOTICE OF INTERIM TRAIL USE
OR ABANDONMENT

[Docket No. AB-55 (Sub-No. 455X)]

CSX TRANSPORTATION, INC.—
ABANDONMENT EXEMPTION—
IN MONROE AND LAWRENCE COUNTIES, IN

Decided: September 23, 1993
Service Date: September 27, 1993

CSX Transportation, Inc. (CSXT), filed a verified notice
under 49 CFR 1152 Subpart F-Exempt Abandonments to
abandon a 22.5-mile rail line between milepost Q-222.5 at
Bloomington and milepost Q-245.0 at Bedford, in Monroe
and Lawrence Counties, IN. A notice of exemption was
served and published in the Federal Register (58 FR 8635-36)
on February 16, 1993. The exemption became effective
March 18, 1993.

On February 3, 1993, the Monroe County Parks and
Recreation Department (MCPRD) filed a request for a public
use condition under 49 U.S.C. 10906 and 49 CFR 1152.28
covering the entire involved line. On February 12, 1993,
MCPRD filed a request for interim trail use/rail banking
under 16 U.S.C. 1247(d) and 49 CFR 1152.29, including a
statement of willingness to assume financial responsibility ,
again for the entire line. By letter filed March 17, 1993,
CSXT declined to negotiate a trail use agreement.

22a

As an alternative to interim trail use under the National
Trails System Act (Trails Act), the right-of-way may be
acquired for public use as a trail under 49 U.S.C. 10906.
The Trails Act is interpreted as being strictly voluntary on the
part of the abandoning railroad. Because CSXT had declined
to negotiate a trail use agreement and MCPRD had made the
requisite showing for a public use condition, by decision
served March 22, 1993, the Commission denied the trail use
request but imposed a 180-day public use condition on the
entire line.

By letter filed March 29, 1993, CSXT informed the
Commission that the involved line had been “abandoned”
effective March 19, 1993—1 day after the exemption became
effective.

By motion filed September 14, 1993, CSXT requested
that this proceeding be reopened and that the Commission
issue a notice of interim trail use (NITU), not to exceed 60
days, for that segment of rail corridor in Monroe County.
CSXT assertedly has been negotiating with MCPRD under the
public use condition for the sale of that segment. On
September 14, 1993, MCPRD submitted a letter supporting
the CSXT motion.

The Commission retains jurisdiction to implement the
Trails Act so long as the abandonment has not been
consummated and the abandoning railroad is willing to
negotiate. Here, the only issue is whether CSXT
consummated the abandonment. On March 29, 1993, when
CSXT filed its letter notifying the Commission that it had
abandoned the line on March 19, 1993, CSXT was, by its
own admission, negotiating with MCPRD under the public

23a

use condition. In any event, CSXT legally could not fully
abandon the line until expiration of the 180-day public use
condition and the CSXT March 29 letter-filing was, in effect,
notification that it had discontinued operations. Docket No.
AB-174 (Sub-No. 2X), The Central Vermont Railway,
Inc.—Abandonment Exemption—In Franklin County, VT (not
printed), served October 18, 1990. As there is no evidence
in the record of any intent to consummate full abandonment,
the Commission retains jurisdiction to implement the Trails
Act as requested by CSXT and MCPRD.

Accordingly, the proceeding will be reopened and the
notice of exemption modified to the extent necessary to
implement interim trail use/rail banking on the 11.64-mile
segment of line between milepost Q-222.5 at Bloomington
and milepost Q-234.14 at Monroe/Lawrence County Line.
The parties may negotiate an agreement during the 60-day
period prescribed below.

It is ordered:
1. This proceeding is reopened.

2. The notice of exemption published in the Federal
Register on February 16, 1993, exempting the abandonment
of the above-described rail line, is modified to the extent
necessary to implement interim trail use/rail banking on that
11.64-mile segment between milepost Q-222.5 at
Bloomington and milepost Q-234.14 at Monroe/Lawrence
County Line.

3. CSXT may discontinue service, cancel tariffs for the
line on not less than 10 days’ notice to the Commission, and
Salvage track and related materials consistent with interim
trail use/rail banking after the effective date of this decision

24a

and notice. Tariff cancellations must refer to this decision
and notice by date and doc!et number.

4. If an interim traii use/rail banking agreement is
reached, it must require the trail user to assume, for the term
of the agreement, full responsibility for management of, any
liability arising out of the transfer or use of (unless the user
is immune from liability, in which case it need only
indemnify the railroad against any potential liability), and the
payment of any taxes imposed on the right-of-way.

5. Interim trail use/rail banking is subject to the future
restoration of rail service.

6. If the user intends to terminate trail use, it must send
the Commission a copy of this decision and notice and request
that it be vacated on a specified date.

7. If an agreement for interim trail use/rail banking is
reached by the 60th day after service of this decision and
notice, interim trail use may be implemented. If no
agreement is reached by the 60th day, CSXT may fully
abandon the line.

8. This decision is effective on its service date. -

By the Commission, David M. Konschnik, Director,
Office of Proceedings.

Sidney L. Strickland, Jr.
(SEAL) Secretary

25a

APPENDIX E
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION
DECISION
[Docket No. AB-55 (Sub-No. 455X)]

CSX TRANSPORTATION, INC.—
ABANDONMENT EXEMPTION—
IN MONROE AND LAWRENCE CGUNTIES, IN

Decided: October 15, 1993
Service Date: October 20, 1993

CSX Transportation, Inc. (CSXT), filed a notice for an
exemption under 49 CFR 1152 Subpart F—Exempt Abandon-
ments to abandon its 22.5-mile rail line between milepost
Q-222.5 at Bloomington and milepost Q-245.0 at Bedford,
in Monroe and Lawrence Counties, IN. A notice of exemp-
tion was served and published in the Federal Register on
February 16, 1993 (58 FR 8635-36). The exemption became
effective March 18, 1993.

By decision served March 22, 1993, the Director of the
Office of Proceedings, in disposing of requests made by the
Monroe County Parks and Recreation Department (MCPRD),
denied a request for issuance of a notice of interim trail use
(NITU) because CSXT had declined to negotiate a trail use
agreement, but granted a request for the imposition of a _
public use condition. The public use condition expired on
September 14, 1993 (the 180th day after the effective date of
the exemption).

By motion filed September 14, 1993, CSXT requested
that this proceeding be reopened and that the Commission
issue, under 16 U.S.C. 1247(d) (Trails Act), an NITU for the

26a

section of the rail corridor in Monroe County. On September
14, 1993, MCPRD submitted a letter supporting the CSXT
motion. By decision and notice of interim trails use or
abandonment, dated September 23, 1993, and served Septem-
ber 27, 1993, the Director of the Office of Proceedings,
reopened the proceeding and modified the exemption to the
extent necessary to implement interim trail use/rail banking
on that segment of the involved line within Monroe County.

By substantially identical letters dated September 26, 27,
28, or 29, 1993, each styled “Protest for Reasons of Public
Safety,” and tendered for filing at the Commission by
facsimile (FAX) transmission and/or the United States Postal
Service on dates extending from September 27, 1993, through
October 5, 1993, various firms' concerned with the quarrying
and fabrication of limestone in the vicinity of the involved
right-of-way, express opposition to the NITU. None of the
letter-protests includes a certificate showing simultaneous
service upon all parties to the proceeding (see 49 CFR
1104.12) or states in detail the respects in which the proceed-
ing involves material error, new evidence, or substantially
changed circumstances, or includes a request that the Com-
mission make such a determination (see 49 CFR 1115.4).

Because the letter-protests did not comply with the
requirements of 49 CFR 1104.12, they wili be treated as
correspondence in this docket. It should be noted, however,
that substantively the “protests” appear to have little merit. In

' Victor Oolitic Stone Co; Independent Limestone Company;
B.G. Hoadley Quarries Inc.; Moon Freight Lines, Inc.; Fluck Limestone
Co., Inc.; Reed Quarries, Inc.; Indiana Limestone Institute of America,
Inc.; and the Star Stone Co., Inc.

27a

Finance Docket No. 30724 (Sub-No. 1), Wisconsin and
Calumet Railroad Company. Inc.—Notice of Interim Trail Use
and Termination of Modified Certificate (not printed), served
September 29, 1993, the Commission recently emphasized
that its authority under the Trails Act is very limited because
the trails use program is voluntary and consensual between
the railroad and the trails user. The Commission’s jurisdiction
is essentially ministerial and its discretion extends to deter-
mining only whether the Trails Act has been properly invoked
and the trails user’s statutory requirements regarding rail
banking and the trail user’s assumption of managerial respon-
sibility have been met. Jd.

The procedural irregularity noted, the failure to supply a
copy of the protest to the railroad is sufficient to warrant this
treatment of the letter-protests, rather than disposition of
them on the merits. Any attempt to refile the letters as
pleadings should be in compliance with the rules with respect
to petitions to reopen and service of pleadings.

It is ordered:

1. The letter-protests tendered for filing in this proceed-
ing by Victor Oolitic Stone Co.; Independent Limestone
Company; B.G. Hoadley Quarries Inc.; Moon Freight Lines,
Inc.; Fluck Limestone Co., Inc.; Reed Quarries, Inc.; Indiana
Limestone Institute of America, Inc.; and the Star Stone (2.,
Inc., are accepted as correspondence.

2. This decision is effective on its service date.
By the Commission, Sidney L. Strickland, Jr., Secretary.

Sidney L. Strickland, Jr.
(SEAL) Secretary

28a

APPENDIX F
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION
DECISION
[Docket No. AB-55 (Sub-No. 455X)]

CSX TRANSPORTATION, INC.—
ABANDONMENT EXEMPTION—
IN MONROE AND LAWRENCE COUNTIES, IN

Decided: March 14, 1994
Service Date: March 22, 1994

CSX Transportation, Inc. (CSXT), filed a notice for an
exemption under 49 CFR 1152 Subpart F—Exempt Abandon-
ments to abandon its 22.5—mile rail line between milepost
Q-222.5 at Bloomington and milepost Q—245.0 at Bedford, in
Monroe and Lawrence Counties, IN. A notice of exemption
was served and published in the Federal Register on February
16, 1993 (58 FR 8635-36). The exemption became effective
March 18, 1993.

By decision served March 22, 1993, the Acting Director of
the Office of Proceedings, in disposing of requests made by the
Monroe County Parks and Recreation Department (MCPRD),
denied a request for issuance of a notice of interim trail use
(NITU) under the National Trails System Act (Trails Act), 16
U.S.C. 1247(d), and 49 CFR 1152.29 because CSXT had
declined to negotiate a trail use agreement, but granted a
request for the imposition of a public use condition under 49
U.S.C. 10906. The public use condition expired on September

29a

14, 1993 (the 180th day after the effective date of the exemp-
tion.)!

By motion filed September 14, 1993, (CSXT motion)
CSXT requested that this proceeding be reopened and that the
Commission issue under the Trails Act a NITU for the
segment of the rail corridor in Monroe County. On Septem-
ber 14, 1993, MCPRD filed a letter supporting the CSXT
motion.* By decision and notice of interim trail use or
abandonment, dated September 23, 1993, and served
September 27, 1993, (September 27 decision), the Director of
the Office of Proceedings reopened the proceeding and
modified the exemption to the extent necessary to implement
interim trail use/rail banking on that segment of the involved
line within Monroe County.

By substartially identical letters dated September 26, 27,
28, or 29, 194. , each styled “Protest for Reasons of Public
Safety,” various firms,’ concerned with the quarrying and

' The decision imposing the public use condition was actually
decided on March 18, 1993, the day the exemption was to become
effective, thus making the exemption subject to the condition from the
outset.

> The filings on September 14 were by facsimile (FAX)
transmission. The originals were filed subsequently with the Commission.
See the notice in Acceptance of Mail Via FAX (not printed), served and
published December 22, 1989 (54 FR 52857), which provides that FAX
transmission may be used for a Commission filing when submission is
required on short notice.

* Victor Oolitic Stone Co; Independent Limestone Company;
B.G. Hoadley Quarries Inc.; Moon Freight Lines, Inc.; Fluck Limestone
Co., Inc.; Reed Quarries, Inc.; Indiana Limestone Institute of America,

30a

fabrication of limestone in the vicinity of the involved right-
of-way, expressed opposition to the NITU. By decision
served October 20, 1993 (October 20 decision), the Secretary
indicated that the letter-protests would not be considered on
the merits because they did not comply with the requirements
of 49 CFR 1104.12, and indicated they would be treated as
correspondence.

On November 8, 1993, Victor Oolitic Stone Company,
Inc., and a number of other named members of a purported
“class” of owners of property adjacent to the rail corridor in
Monroe County (Property Owners or petitioners) filed a
motion to reconsider the September 27 decision. Petitioners
assert that they have been denied the opportunity to submit
their protests before the Commission, arguing that CSXT’s
request to reopen the proceeding and the execution of the
purchase Offer/Contract were performed outside the Com-
mission’s procedural deadlines to file protests and that
petitioners were unaware of the filing of the CSXT motion.
Petitioners assert further that they object to the transfer of the
right-of-way until MCPRD complies with Federal, state, and
local land use regulations. They contend that CSX abandoned
its common carrier obligations in the railroad corridor on or
about March 19, 1993, by virtue of filing a letter with the
Commission, discontinuing rail service, and subsequently re-

Inc.; and the Star Stone Co., Inc., were the firms identified in the
decision, but other firms filed similar letters. The tendered filings were
made both by FAX and the United States Postal Service and duplications
were involved.

3la

moving all trackage, other track materials, and signal and
communication lines and poles.‘

On November 12, 1993, MCPRD filed a pleading in
Opposition to Property Owners’ motion for reconsideration.
According to MCPRD, petitioners offer no grounds for
reconsideration but instead present a general restatement of
alleged facts already presented to the Commission and to the
parties. In responding to Property Owners’ assertion that
they have been denied an opportunity to submit protests
before the Commission, MCPRD cites the October 20
decision which indicates the possibility of refiling the letters
as protests. In response to petitioners’ opposition to the
transfer of the right-of-way, MCPRD asserts that the transfer
is under the authority of and in full compliance with the
NITU. MCPRD asserts further that petitioners’ concern with
compliance with Federal, state, and local land use regulations
is misplaced. It states that petitioners do not identify any
particular regulations and cites Missouri-Kansas-Texas
Railroad—Abandonment—in St. Charles, Warren, Montgom-
ery, Callaway, Boone, Howard, Cooper and Pettis Counties,
MC, Docket No. AB-102 (Sub-No. 13) (ICC served Feb. 19,
1991), in which the Commission denied a motion to reopen
and indicated that allegations of failure to comply with local
or state requirements could be addressed to relevant local or
states authorities. _MCPRD argues also that Property
Owners’s motion was not timely filed as required by 49 CFR

* As noted in the September 27 decision, by letter filed March 29,
1993, CSXT informed the Commission that the involved line had been
“abandoned” effective March 19, 1993—1 day after the exemption became
effective.

32a

1115.3, because more than 20 days had elapsed after service
of the September 27 decision.

On November 19, 1993, CSXT filed its reply to the
motion for reconsideration. In response to petitioners’
assertion that CSXT’s request to reopen the proceeding and
the execution of the purchase Offer/Contract were performed
outside the Commission’s procedural deadlines to file
protests, CSXT cites Burlington Northern Railroad Com-
pany—Abandonment Exemption—Rail River and Custer
Counties, SD, Docket No. AB-6 (Sub-No. 293X) (ICC
served Feb. 9, 1989), asserting that the Commission has
always held that it will accept late-filed Trails Act requests as
long as it retains jurisdiction to do so.°

On December 9, 1993, counsel for Property Owners
(Counsel) filed “supplemental authority to the motion to
reconsider.” This pleading focuses on the jurisdictional issue
and asserts that the Commission did not retain jurisdiction
because full abandonment had been consummated and because
the September 27 decision came after the public use condition
had expired, and should thus be voided. Counsel argues that,
as no agreement was reached within the 180-day period,
CSXT had full abandonment authority.

On December 15, 1993, MCPRD filed a motion to strike
the supplemental authority pleading as contrary to Commis-
sion rules at 49 CFR 1104.13(c) disallowing a reply to a

> In response to petitioners’ concern about being unaware of the
filing of the CSXT motion, CSXT asserts that it did in fact serve the
motion on all parties of record.

33a

reply.° MCPRD argues nonetheless that a public use condi-
tion was timely requested and duly imposed by the Com-
mission. It asserts further that, during the course of the
public use condition, CSXT and MCPRD negotiated a trail
use and railbanking agreement and then timely requested the
Commission to issue a NITU, an action for which, argues
MCPRD, the Commission retained jurisdiction. In addition
to its motion to strike, MCPRD included a report on the
status of the railbanked facility. It stated that it had assumed
management and other responsibilities for the corridor, that
a railbanking agreement with CSX had been implemented
under the NITU, and that MCPRD had received a grant of
approximately $1 million from the Federal government’s
Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act’s “enhance-
ments program” to construct a trail facility on the Monroe
County portion of the corridor.

DISCUSSION AND CONCLUSIONS

There are two issues to be considered in disposing of this
motion for reconsideration. First, we must determine if we
had jurisdiction to issue the NITU at the time of the Septem-
ber 27 decision. If we determine that we retained jurisdic-
tion, we must then ascertain the extent of our involvement
under the Trails Act.

®* MCPRD also challenges the pleading on other grounds,
including the identity of the “Class of Adjacent Property Owners”
represented by counsel, arguing that the Commission has never approved,
identified, or certified any “class” in this proceeding. In the interests of
a more complete discussion of the issues raised in opposition, we will not
strike the supplemental pleading but consider it in light of MCPRD’s
response to it.

34a

As noted in the September 27 decision, which addressed
the exact jurisdictional issue raised by petitioners, the
Commission did, and continues to, retain jurisdiction to
implement the jurisdiction over an abandonment until all
conditions on the abandonment have expired. The public use
condition had expired neither when CSXT assertedly
abandoned the line on March 19, 1993, nor when it filed its
letter with the Commission on March 29, 1993, notifying the
Commission of its March 19, 1993 abandonment. Thus, the
Commission retained jurisdiction over the line. As the
September 27 decision stated:

The Commission retains jurisdiction to implement
the Trails Act so ling as the abandonment has not been
consummated and that abandoning railroad is willing
to negotiate. Here, the only issue is whether CSXT
consummated the abandonment. On March 29, 1993,
when CSXT filed its letter notifying the Commission
that it had abandoned the line on March 19, 1993,
CSXT was, by its own admission, negotiating with
MCPRD under the public use condition. In any
event, CSXT legally could not fully abandon the line
until expiration of the 180~—day public use condition
and the CSXT March 29 letter-filing was, in effect,
notification that it had discontinued operations.
Docket No. AB-174 (Sub-No. 2X), The Central
Vermont Railway, Inc.—Abandonment Exemption—In
Franklin County, VT (not printed), served October 18,
1990. As there is no evidence in the record of any
intent to consummate full abandonment, the Commis-

35a

sion retains jurisdiction to implement the Trails Act as
requested by CSXT and MCPRD.

September 27 decision, 1.

Next, we must consider the extent of our role under the
Trails Act. As we stated in the October 20 decision, our
authority under the Trails Act is very limited. The decision
stated:

[T]he trails use program is voluntary and consensual
between the railroad and the trails user. The Com-
mission’s jurisdiction is essentially ministerial and its
discretion extends to determining only whether the
Trails Act has been properly invoked and the trails
user’s statutory requirements regarding rail banking
and the trail user’s assumption of managerial responsi-
bility have been met.[’]

October 20 decision, 1-2.

A review of the record in light both previous decisions in
this proceeding and of Commission precedent, leads to a
conclusion that the September 27 decision properly invoked
Commission jurisdiction under the Trails Act. Accordingly,
we deny petitioners’ motion to reconsider.

It is ordered:

1. The motion to reconsider the decision and notice of
interim trail use or abandonment is denied.

2. This decision is effective on March 22, 1994.

’ Citing Wisconsin and Calumet Railroad Company, Inc.—Notice
of Interim Trails use and Termination of Modified Certificate, Finance
Docket No. 30724 (Sub-No. 1) (ICC served Sept. 29, 1993).

36a

By the Commission, Chairman McDonald, Vice Chair-
man Phillips, Commissioners Simmons and Philbin

/s/ Sidney L. Strickland, Jr.
Sidney L. Strickland, Jr.
(SEAL) Secretary

‘7 37a

APPENDIX G

BEFORE THE
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION

DOCKET NO. AB-55 (SUB. NO. 455X)

CSX TRANSPORTATION, INC.
ABANDONMENT EXEMPTION
IN MONROE AND LAWRENCE COUNTIES, INDIANA

MOTION TO RECONSIDER DECISION AND NOTICE
OF INTERIM TRAIL USE OR ABANDONMENT

Petitioners, Victor Oolitic Stone Company, Inc., Norman
& Mary Lee Deckard, Franklin A. Andrew, Carol A.
Daniels, Dennis Clark, Jack & Deanna Waterford, William
& Rose Wampler, Indian Creek Land Company, Inc., Delmer
& Anna Turner, Devin & Nikki McKarney, Brenda Flynn,
John L. Edgeworth, Jane Fritsch, and all others similarly
situated, by counsel, as members of a Class of property
owners adjacent to the CSX rail corridor in Monroe County,
Indiana, request the Commission to reconsider its Decision
and Notice of Interim Trail Use or Abana: ment, issued
September 23, 1993 (Service Date: September 27, 1993) and
in support of this request state as follows:

(1) CSX, through its predecessors in interest acquired a
right of way in Monroe County, Indiana from members of the
Class and\or their predecessors in interest for the purpose of
operating a railroad corridor. The right of way is legally
described as follows:

Being that portion of CSX Transportation’s corridor
in Monroe County, Indiana beginning at milepost
222.5 or valuation station 11746+00 on seller’s

38a

valuation map 242, sheet 11, about 300 feet north of
the centerline of County Club Road in Bloomington,
Monroe County, Indiana, extending southward about
11.64 miles to milepost 234.14 or valuation station
12360+67 on seller’s valuation map 242, sheet 14, at
the Monroe/Lawrence County line. The corridor or
premises varies in width but is generally 66 feet wide
and includes approximately 18 bridges, and structures,
ballast, bridge ties but excludes all trackage, other
track material and signal and communication lines and
poles which will be removed by seller. The premise
contains about 123.501 acres as generally shown on
seller’s valuation maps 242, sheets 11, 12, S-12A and
14, and 247, sheets 1-3 inclusive and incorporated
herein by refererice.

Generally referred to as “the railroad corridor”.

(2) CSX filed a Notice of Exemption to abandon the
railroad corridor before the Interstate Commerce Commission
(“ICC”) on January 25, 1993. The Notice of Exemption
became effective on March 18, 1993.

(3) The Monroe County Parks & Recreation Department
(“MCPRD”) submitted a request for issuance of a Notice of
Interim Trail Use (“NITU”) on February 1, 1993 and a
Statement of Willingness to Assume Financial Responsibility
on February 9, 1993. This Commission denied the MCPRD
request for the interim trail use on March 22, 1993; a public
use condition was granted instead which expired on Septem-
ber 18, 1993.

(4) CSX abandoned its common carrier obligations in the
railroad corridor on or about March 19, 1993 by virtue of the

39a

action filed with the ICC combined with its discontinuance of
rail service and subsequent removal of all trackage, other than
track materials and signal & communication lines and poles.

(5) CSX filed its Motion to Reopen Proceeding on
September 14, 1993, resulting in an ICC decision allowing
interim trail use for a period of sixty (60) days, during which
an agreement could be negotiated between CSX and MCPRD
to establish and maintain a recreational trail on the abandoned
railroad corridor.

(6) A Purchase Offer/Contract was entered into by CSX,
as Seller, and MCPRD, as Buyer, which purports to transfer
the right of way, invoking the National Trails Act [16 U.S.C.
1247(d)].

(7) The procedural posture of this proceeding has
effectively denied the Class of adjacent property owners the
opportunity to submit their protests before this Commission.
CSX’s request to reopen the proceeding before this Commis-
sion and the execution of the Purchase Offer/Contract were
performed well outside the Commission’s procedural dead-
lines to file protests and, despite due diligence, were only
recently discovered by the Class of adjacent property owners.

(8) The Class of adjacent property owners objects to the
transfer of the right of way until such time as MCPRD is able
to demonstrate compliance with federal, state and local land
use regulations.

WHEREFORE, the Class of adjacent property owners
requests that this Commission reconsider its Decision and
Notice of Interim Trail Use or Abandonment, and allow the
protests to be presented pursuant to 49 C.F.R. 1152.20.

40a

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Paul J. Watts
Paul J. Watts (#1137-60)

/s/ Thomas E. Densford _
Thomas E. Densford (#13955-64)

Attorneys for the Class of Adjacent
Property Owners

4la

APPENDIX H
INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION
[Docket No. AB-55 (Sub-No. 455X)]

CSX TRANSPORTATION, INC.—
ABANDONMENT EXEMPTION—
IN MONROE AND LAWRENCE COUNTIES, IN

Decided: March 18, 1993
Service Date: March 22, 1993

CSX Transportation, Inc. (CSXT), filed a notice for an
exemption under 49 CFR 1152 Subpart F—Exempt Abandon-
ments tc abandon its 22.5-mile rail line between milepost
Q—222.5 at Bloomington and milepost Q—245.0 at Bedford,
in Monroe and Lawrence Counties, IN. A notice of exemp-
tion was served and published in the Federal Register on
February 16, 1993 (58 CFR 8635-36). The exemption is
scheduled to become effective March 18, 1993

The Commission’s Section of Energy and Environment
has issued an environmental assessment indicating that the
right-of-way may be suitable for other public use following
abandonment. On February 3, 1993, the Monroe County
Parks and Recreation Department (MCPRD) tendered
comments on environmental issues. These comments
embraced a request for a public use condition under 49 CFR
1152.28 and also indicated that a statement of willingness to
assume financial responsibility in support of a request for a
notice of interim trail use (NITU) would be filed later. That
statement was filed February 12, 1993. Numerous public
comments supporting and opposing the use of the right-of-
way as a trail have been received by the Commission.

42a

By letter dated March 17, 1993, CSXT declined to enter
into an interim trail use agreement. Therefore, since 49
U.S.C. 1247(d) permits only voluntary interim trail use, the
Commission cannot issue a NITU in this proceeding. See
Rail Abandonment— Use of Rights-of-Way as Trails, 2 1.C.C.
2d 591 (1986) (Trails).

As an alternative to interim trail use under the National
Trails System Act, the right-of-way may be acquired for
public use as a trail under 49 U.S.C. 10906. See Trails, 2
I.C.C. 2d at 609. To justify a public use condition a party
must show: (1) the condition sought; (2) the public impor-
tance of the condition; (3) the period of time for which the
condition would be effective; and (4) justification for im-
position of the time period. See 49 CFR 1152.28(a)(2).

MCPRD has satisfied these requirements and, therefore,
a 180-day public use condition will be imposed in its usual
form. While it appears that CSXT may have only an ease-
ment interest in substantial portions of the right-of-way and
be unable to sell such an interest for a nonrail use, in Trails
the Commission recognized that the right-of-ways subject to
public use conditions might include easements as well as
property owned by the railroad. The Commission, stated:

Section 10906 permit the Commission to order a
railroad not to dispose of rail property it owns for up
to 180 days after the effective date of a decision
authorizing abandonment, unless the properties have
been offered, on reasonable terms, for sale for public
purposes. Since railroads are free to accept or decline
interim trail use proposals and public use offers, there
is no practical basis for refusing to permit prospective

43a

interim trail users to invoke the public use statute
when the right-of-way includes easement property
and property owned by the carrier. Id.

One further matter requires comment. MCPRD
recognizes that the Commission ordinarily restricts disposition
only with respect to roadbed materials, bridges, culverts, and
real estate, and allows removal of track and track materials
when the proposed acquisition is for a trail or other nonrail
related public use. Here MCPRD seeks some additional
unspecified condition on salvage because MCPRD’s ability to
have control over removal of track and ties would assertedly
minimize disruption to the roadbed and thus reduCe the
expense of rendering the roadbed suitable for trails use.
MCPRD has not adequately justified the imposition of a
nonroutine condition prohibiting removal of track and track
materials and the public use condition will be imposed in its
usual form allowing removal of such materials.

As conditioned, this action will not significantly affect
either the quality of the human environment or conservation
of energy resources.

It is ordered
1. This proceeding is reopened.

2. The request for issuance of a notice of interim trail
use is denied.

3. The exemption is subject to the condition that CSXT
leave intact all bridges, culverts, and similar struc-
tures (but not track or track materials) for a period
of 180 days unless the property is first offered, on
reasonable terms, for sale for public purposes.

44a
4. The request for a public use condition in all other
respects is denied.
5. This decision is effective on its service date.

By the Commission, Joseph H. Dettmar, Acting Director,
Office of Proceedings.

Sidney L. Strickland, Jr.
(SEAL) Secretary

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1405%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
