# Opposition Brief — Stavropoulos v. Firestone

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1390%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 976

## Text

i #9 ‘
/ ss j Supre:,
j the ¢ “ka
i t ry )

No. 04-1099 | MAR
jot 1 8 2005

| j
: OFFICE OF THE Cy I

1 CLERK |

In The ee
Supreme Court of the Anited States

*

CAROL STAVROPOULOS,

Petitioner,
v.

EVAN FIRESTONE, ET AL.,
Respondents.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Eleventh Circuit

¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENTS

¢

THURBERT E. BAKER
Georgia Attorney General

DENNIS R. DUNN

Georgia Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record

Please serve:

DENNIS R. DUNN

Deputy Attorney General
Georgia Department of Law
40 Capitol Square, S.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30334-1300
(404) 656-5614

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

i?

Whether the current case law across the various circuits is
consistent with this Court’s previous decisions and pro-
vides the necessary flexibility to address claims of “ad-
verse employment actions” under the facts of individual
cases?

2.

Whether any action identified by Petitioner rises to the
level of adverse employment action in analysis of a First
Amendment retaliation claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 or
under Title VII?

3.

Whether lowering the standard for what constitutes
adverse employment action would effectively eviscerate
the defense of qualified immunity, as virtually all govern-
ment decisions and actions could be adverse actions under
“clearly established” law?

ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..............:ssccccccessssssssssesecees i
TABLE OF CONTENTS ........ Siageekiiaapabaniseasaeritaaeebies ii
TABLE OF AU Rei riee Wii xxsdonersccancsssdeonsensnesdeossanseenses iii
STATEMENT OF THE CASE \Q.u..... cc cccscssssssesreeeceeeeees 1
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT...................004. 8

I. Current case law across the various circuits is
consistent with this Court’s previous decisions
and provides the necessary flexibility to ad-
dress claims of “adverse employment actions”
under the facts of individual cases.................... 8

II. No action identified by Petitioner rises to the
level of adverse employment action in analysis
of a First Amendment retaliation claim under
42 U.S.C. § 1983 or under Title VII................... 13

III. Lowering the standard for what constitutes
adverse employment action would effectively
eviscerate the defense of qualified immunity,
as virtually all government decisions and ac-
tions could be adverse actions under “clearly
eatabriatedl” MiGP .....::csisscmenesencsieinsssnataisdbiosebadeasss 17

CONCLUSION .......<::s:sisuissiiesctasalseieaaiaaaansmaiaanailaidas 19

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635 (1987) .........0... 17, 18
Awabdy v. City of Adelanto, 368 F.3d 1062 (9th Cir.

SII dias esaaiibdbde tActhieinlasislias bhansadandualadetasshsepgnassilsundadaveasaites 14
Benningfield v. City of Houston, 157 F.3d 369 (5th

Ree EEC R EST aS oe 15
Brennan v. Norton, 350 F.3d 399 (3d Cir. 2003)......... 11, 12
Cole v. Me. Sch. Admin. Dist. No. 1, 350 F. Supp. 2d

I eae lial alid adele saeedgtines 9
Coszalter v. City of Salem, 320 F.3d 968 (9th Cir.

Ea RESET TSE DP RE SE aan 14
DeGuiseppe v. Palermo, 68 F.3d 187 (7th Cir. 1995)......... 16
Elder v. Holloway, 510 U.S. 510 (1994) .0..... cece 18
Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347 (1976) ....csscssssssssssssssssssecseseee 9
Graham v. Connor, 490 U.S. 386 (1986) ..........ccccceeeeeeeeee 18
Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982)............000... 17, 18
Lytle v. Carl, 382 F.3d 978 (9th Cir. 2004) .....0.....c cece 14
Nunez v. City of Los Angeles, 147 F.3d 867 (9th Cir.

SII cactihaiaiahsdetdia casa abbdhdies hada snidaaeemantiihicibedmbbigateidbunescamsnces 15
Phillips v. Bowen, 276 F.3d 103 (2d Cir. 2002)........... 13, 17
Ray v. Henderson, 217 F.3d 1234 (9th Cir. 2000)................ 9
Rutan v. Republican Party, 497 U.S. 62 (1990)......... passim
Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194 (2001)...................cccccccoeceeee 18
Snyder v. Nolen, 380 F.3d 279 (7th Cir. 2004) ............ 18, 19

Speigla v. Hull, 371 F.3d 928 (7th Cir. 2004)..............0000.. 16

1V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Suarez Corp. Industries v. McGraw, 202 F.3d 676

RI i anctscnsnicnsnemnindiniiccanietcnun 11, 12, 13, 14, 15
Thaddeus-X v. Blatter, 175 F.3d. 379 (6th Cir. 1999)... 12, 18
Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S. 603 €1999)..............ccccccecseee sees 17
STATUTES
Ae as Se I csbiisinicasiepiesirasinabate dncicheauaniapianiglhbacadancuel passim
se EE a ninicacinsinnicednnsaabanbaebassienetaniadantusscusmnsesanans 8
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 ............ ee. 8,9
OTHER AUTHORITIES

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
Compliance Manual (May 1998)................ccccceeceeeeeeeeees 10

1

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
ON BEHALF OF RESPONDENTS

Respondents adopt and incorporate by reference
herein the following portions of the Petition for a Writ of
Certiorari: Parties to the Proceedings Below, Opinions
Below, Statement of Jurisdiction, and Relevant Statutory
Provisions.

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

While the opinion of the court below adequately
relates the facts involved in this matter, the Respondents
believe that it would be beneficial to further elaborate on
those facts to demonstrate that the Petitioner suffered no
adverse employment action which could serve as a basis
for her claims.

Petitioner’s employment at UGA, 1993-94

Petitioner was employed by Respondent Board of
Regents as an assistant professor in the University of
Georgia’s School of Art beginning the 1993-94 academic
year. (Pet. App. 2a). The director of the School of Art at the
time was Respondent Firestone. Jd. Petitioner was as-
signed to teach in the art education area, whose chairper-
son at the time was Respondent Nix. Respondent Squires
was a peer-level faculty member with Petitioner. (Resp.
Firestone, et al., C.A. Br. 3).

Tenure-track faculty members at UGA who have not
attained tenure are employed pursuant to one-year annual
contracts, and each year the senior faculty vote on

2

whether to offer a new contract for the next academic year.
(Pet. App. 2a).

Petitioner experienced depression and anxiety for a
number of years, beginning during her first year in Athens
(1993-94), before the occurrence of any of the events about
which she complained in this lawsuit. (Record 100: 23-28).
Her problems with depression began when she “had a
marital situation.” (Record 100: 26). She has been treated
over the years with Zoloft, Diazepam, Wellbutrin, Prozac,
Ambien and Klonopin. (Record 100: 23-28). During the
spring quarter of 1997, Petitioner took medical leave
because of migraine headaches, and she then became
addicted to narcotics. (Record 100: 75-81, 114-115; Record
119: 16-19).

The computer art search, 1994-95

As noted below, during the 1994-95 academic year, Dr.
Firestone appointed Petitioner and five others to serve on
a search committee charged with conducting a national
search to hire a computer artist. (Pet. App. 2a). Petitioner
ultimately disagreed with how she thought that search
committee operated and the conclusion it reached. Jd.

After the search committee voted to hire a candidate
different from the one Petitioner desired, Petitioner “had a
tantrum.” (Resp. Firestone, et al., C.A. Br. 4). According to
committee member Ed Lambert, she was “extremely,
extremely upset.” [ ... She] “physically got up from the
desk and was shaking her fists at us.... She was very
violent. [She was] right in your face yelling.” (Record 123:
23-24). According to committee member Lanny Webb,
Petitioner became very upset and hysterical. He “remem-
ber[s] papers were in the air and her voice was raised. She

was very upset....” Webb testified, “I was very disap-
pointed that Dr. Stavropoulos had used her position . . . to
retaliate against another colleague [Kaufman] who (sic)
she had a disagreement with.” She questioned the honesty
and integrity of the committee members who voted for
Kaufman. (Record 129: 17-19; Record 129 ex. 2; Pet. App.
2a).

Notwithstanding the Petitioner’s position, as outlined
in a minority opinion report prepared by a colleague,
Petitioner did not say anything of substance to the full
faculty, nor did she speak during a meeting with the
Associate Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, to
discuss the computer art hiring process. (Resp. Firestone,
et al., C.A. Br. 4).

Subsequently, Respondent Firestone issued a memo-
randum dated March 27, 1995, to Petitioner and her
colleague, stating in its entirety,

In regard to your March 24, 1995 memo [the
“minority report” to Dean Anderson, Record 111
ex. 16], please recognize that search committee
recommendations are advisory to the faculty. The
faculty can accept or reject the recommenda-
tion(s) of the committee. In the case of the com-
puter art position, the faculty subscribed to the
search committee’s majority recommendation
(four of six members).

Insofar as the search and vote for appointment
followed The University of Georgia’s Guidelines
for Appointment, Promotion, and Tenure and
Dean Anderson’s “Guidelines for Recruitment of
Tenure-Track Faculty,” I am surprised that you
intend to press a minority position that is advi-
sory to begin with.

4

You should realize that your intended involve-
ment in the appointment process at this point is
unprecedented in the School of Art. However, it is
your prerogative to meet with the Dean or one of
his staff (Associate Dean John Morrow oversaw
this search), to which I have no objection.

(Pet. App. 3a; Record 111 ex. 17). The memorandum was
copied to the Dean and the Associate Dean of the School of
Art. Id. After investigating the matter, the Dean’s office
ultimately deferred to the School of Art and approved the
hiring of Kaufman. (Resp. Board of Regents C.A. Br. 6).

After the computer art search, according to Petitioner,
she “noticed [her] art education colleagues were treating
{her] differently. Nothing [she] could put [her] finger on,
just a little more distance.” (Record 100: 51-52).

1995 uneffectuated nonrenewal vote for 1996-97

In the spring of 1995, the senior faculty of the School
of Art voted not to renew Petitioner’s employment contract
for the 1996-97 academic year because of the faculty’s
perception that Petitioner refused to behave professionally
or to have collegial relationships with her colleagues.
(Pet. App. 3a, Resp. Board of Regents C.A. Br. 6-7). Peti-
tioner had questioned the honesty and integrity of her
colleagues on the computer art search committee and had
often alienated her colleagues in other ways such as
concluding a departmental retreat by verbally attacking
them; referring in a hostile manner to “an 800 or 900
pound gorilla in Art Education;” reading a lengthy poem at
a faculty meeting criticizing her colleagues; and provoking
a loud argument with a colleague in the hall. (Resp.
Firestone, et al., C.A. Br. 5.) Many of her colleagues and

|

NT |

+)

students (both male and female) memorialized the reasons
for their votes against and/or problems with Petitioner in
subsequent letters to Dr. Firestone. (Resp. Firestone, et al.,
C.A. Br. 5-6) (referred to by Petitioner as the “separate
personnel file,” Petition 14).

Despite the nonrenewal vote, Petitioner received a
new contract for 1996-97, and continued her employment
at the art school during the 1996-97 academic year, except
for the entire spring quarter, during which she took
medical leave. (Pet. App. 4a; Record 100: 75-81, 114-115).
The Dean and the Associate Dean had informed Firestone
and the School of Art that they could not support the non-
renewal vote for procedural reasons, because they could not
find sufficient evidence in the file to support the faculty’s
negative vote and they felt the faculty had not sufficiently
discussed the matter prior to the vote. (Pet. App. 4a).

Petitioner’s third-year review

At the end of a faculty member’s third year at the
University of Georgia, her colleagues conduct a third-year
review to assess the progress she has made toward earn-
ing tenure. (Pet. App. 4a; see also Pet. App. 4a n. 1).
Because of Petitioner’s concerns about the process, she
began to work closely in this regard with Dr. Hugh Rup-
persburg, the new Associate Dean of the School of Art.
(Record 100: 91).

Dean Ruppersburg offered written assurance to
Petitioner that a file of letters gathered by Respondent
Firestone the previous summer to support the 1995
nonrenewal decision would not be considered by the third-
year review committee; that she would have the opportu-
nity to respond to the third-year review committee’s report

6

in accordance with the University’s Guidelines for Ap-
pointment, Promotion, and Tenu;e; and that Firestone had
been instructed to make sure the third-year committee
would conduct itself accordingly. (Record 100: 90 exs. 1, 2).
‘Petitioner found the selection of the committee members,
three of the four of whom were women, to be acceptable.
(Resp. Firestone, et al., C.A. Br. 7; Record 100: 101).

During the third-year review process, some of the
members asked Petitioner about her medications and her
mental health. (Pet. App. 5a, €a; Record 100: 93-96).
Respondent Squires explained in a memvurandum the role
he felt that illness had played in the problems Petitioner
had had in the School of Art. (Resp. Board of Regents C.A.
Br. 11). Dr. Squires testified that his intent in creating the
memo was to help Petitioner by explaining possible rea-
sons for her non-collegial behavior. Jd.

1996 ineffective nonrenewal vote for 1997-98

The third-year review committee presented its report
to a meeting of the faculty, at which the senior faculty
were to vote on whether to offer an employment contract
to Petitioner for the 1997-98 academic year. (Pet. App. 5a;
Resp. Board of Regents C.A. Br. 11-12, 13-14). The five-
page committee report concluded: “The committee agreed
that Dr. Stavropoulos is making good progress toward
achieving promotion and tenure in the area of research.
However, persistent and ongoing problems in the areas of
teaching and service are jeopardizing Dr. Stavropoulos’
progress towards promotion and tenure.” (Pet. App. 5a-6a;
Record 100 ex. 3).

The senior faculty voted not to offer Petitioner a contract
for 1997-98 due to “[rlepeated instances of unfortunate or

unprofessional behavior involving both students and
faculty [which] caused both to feel threatened and im-
pugned by Dr. Stavropoulos.” The third-year review
committee had noted that “public expressions of anger,
shouting, as well as berating and belittling colleagues has
created a difficult working environment.” (Pet. App. 5a-6a;
Resp. Board of Regents C.A. Br. 12-14; Record 100 ex. 3).
The committee had also cited Petitioner’s holding numer-
ous classes in her home rather than on campus and her
assigning “all ‘A’ grades (30+ students) for one full calen-
dar year (1995),” which called “into question positive
student course evaluations.” Also noted were Petitioner’s -
“inability to deal constructively with criticism from stu-
dents and colleagues,” as well as her resistance to learning
and following procedures, both of which resulted in inac-
curate guidance and advice to students. Id.

Petitioner’s grievance to Faculty Senate regarding
the 1996 nonrenewal vote

The 1996 nonrenewal vote was reversed by the Col-
lege of Arts and Sciences’ Faculty Senate Grievance Panel
pursuant to Petitioner’s formal grievance, as provided for
in the University policies and procedures for the College of
Arts and Sciences (Record 132 ex. BB), before the 1997-98
academic year commenced. (Pet. App. 6a; Resp. Board of
Regent C.A. Br. 12). An evidentiary hearing was con-
ducted, and Petitioner hired an attorney for her represen-
tation at it. (Record 100: 107-110 ex. 4). Despite the
problems identified in the third-year committee’s report,
Petitioner received a contract for the 1997-98 academic
year prior to the beginning of school. Petitioner was
employed for the 1997-98 academic year with no loss of
salary. (Pet. App. 6a; Resp. Board of Regents C.A. Br. 12).

Proceedings Below

Petitioner Carol Stavropoulos filed her Complaint in
the Middle District of Georgia, Athens Division, on Octo-
ber 20, 1997. She asserted claims against the Board of
Regents and three individual colleagues in the University
of Georgia School of Art under Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e, et seg.; and 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983 for alleged violation of free speech, among other
grounds. (Pet. App. la). The Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit affirmed the Orders of the district court
granting summary judgment on the Title VII retaliation
claims against individual Respondents Firestone, Squires
and Nix, in their official capacities, and Respondent Board
of Regents; and granting summary judgment to the indi-
viduals on Petitioner’s claims of retaliation under Title VII
and under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for violation of her First
Amendment right to free speech. (Pet. App. 18a).

,
-

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. Current case law across the various circuits
is consistent with this Court’s previous deci-
sions and provides the necessary flexibility to
address claims of “adverse employment ac-
tions” under the facts of individual cases.

This Court’s decision in Rutan v. Republican Party,
497 U.S. 62 (1990), clarified in necessarily broad terms the
standard for what kinds of employer conduct are action-
able in a First Amendment retaliation case brought under

9

42 U.S.C. § 1983.’ Rutan established that adverse em-
ployment action is not limited to terminations, but “extends
to promotion, transfer, recall [after layoff], and hiring
decisions based on party affiliation and support... .” 497
U.S. at 79. The Court noted that requiring the adverse
employment action to be equivalent to a dismissal was
unduly restrictive because it failed to recognize that there
were deprivations less harsh than dismissal that pres-
sured state employees and applicants to conform their
beliefs and associations to some state-selected orthodoxy.
Rutan, 497 U.S. at 75; see Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347,
356-357 (1976). This Court’s holding in Rutan was fol-
lowed by the Eleventh Circuit below and is consistent with
what Petitioner refers to as the “majority rule” of Circuits
1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10 and D.C., and the “minority rule” of
Circuits 5, 8 and 11.

The current “majority rule,” as characterized by the
Petitioner, is articulated in Cole v. Me. Sch. Admin. Dist.
No. 1, 350 F.Supp. 2d 143, 152 (D. Me. 2004), as the
“reasonably likely to deter” test: “an action is cognizable as
an adverse employment action if it is reasonably likely to
deter employees from engaging in protected activity[]”
(citing Ray v. Henderson, 217 F.3d 1234 (9th Cir. 2000)).’

The current “minority rule” was set forth by the
Eleventh Circuit below in the case sub judice as follows:

* Although the Petition refers to “actionable retaliation” in § 1983
cases, the specific issues before the Court are whether any employer
conduct towards Petitioner satisfies the retaliatory adverse employ-
ment action requirements of a 42 U.S.C. § 1983 prima facie case under
the First Amendment, and a Title VII prima facie case. The two claims
are treated together in this Brief.

? Cole, 350 F.Supp. 2d at 152 n. 13.

10

A public employer retaliates when he takes an
adverse employment action that is likely to chill
the exercise of constitutionally protected speech.

ural

While it is true that a claimant must show a
chilling effect on her protected speech, she must
also show that this effect resulted from an ad-
verse employment action. To be considered an
adverse employment action in a First Amend-
ment retaliation case, the complained-of action
must involve an important condition of employ-
ment.

Pet. App. 12a, 13a (citations omitted).

As recognized by the Eleventh Circuit, this Court’s
holding in Rutan, however, does not mean that any em-
ployer conduct likely to chill an employee’s exercise of
constitutionally protected speech is actionable, nor does it
impose an unnecessarily high standard for showing
adverse action. Instead, the standard imposed by Rutan is
fact-specific, flexible and appropriate to First Amendment
employment cases, which place special focus on the rela-
‘ionship between governmental employer and employee
and their regular interactions and communications.”
Employment cases take form in an arena from which both
parties draw important and distinct benefits, both mate-
rial and intangible. To omit the “employment” aspect from

* The three examples of what does and does not constitute adverse
employment action in the section of the EEOC Compliance Manual
cited in the Petition illustrate the significance of the relationship
between employer and employee and the culture of the workplace in the
“adverse employment action” analysis. U.S. Equal Employment
Opportunity Comm’n Compliance Manual, § 8 at 14 (May 1998).

11

the adverse employment action requirement, reducing it to
any action by a public employer that has some chilling
effect on protected speech ignores the realities of the
workplace, its opportunities and its pitfalls.

The flexible standard of Rutan, applied by all judicial
Circuits, accommodates the myriad situations and circum-
stances that may or may not constitute adverse employ-
ment action. This flexible standard does not represent a
split in the determinations of the various circuit courts of
appeals, but, as recognized by the Third Circuit in Bren-
nan v. Norton, 350 F.3d 399, 419 (3d Cir. 2003):

“Determining whether a plaintiff’s First
Amendment rights were adversely affected by re-
taliatory conduct is a fact intensive inquiry focus-
ing on the status of the speaker, the status of the
retaliator, the relationship between the speaker
and the retaliator, and the nature of the retaliatory
acts.” Suarez Corp. Industries v. McGraw, 202 F.3d
676, 686 (4th Cir. 2000) (emphasis added). Conse-
quently, “to properly balance these interests, courts
have required that the nature of the retaliatory
acts committed by a public employer - be more
than de minimis or trivial.” Id. A public employer
“adversely affects an employee’s First Amend-
ment rights when it refuses to rehire an em-
ployee because of the exercise of those rights or
when it makes decisions, which relate to promo-
tion, transfer, recall and hiring, based on the exer-
cise of an employee’s First Amendment rights.” Jd.
(Citations and internal quotations omitted). “On
the other hand, courts have declined to find that an
employer’s actions have adversely affected an em-
ployee’s exercise of his First Amendment rights
where the employer’s alleged retaliatory acts

12

were criticism, false accusations, or verbal rep-
rimands.” Jd. (citations omitted).

Brennan, 350 F.3d at 419. The Third Circuit’s decision
highlights the harmony between the various circuits by
acknowledging the variety of circumstances to which the
standard for adverse employment action properly applies.
The scope of application of the Rutan standard in all
circuits attests to its flexibility, which should be main-
tained by denying certiorari in the case sub judice.

Determination of what constitutes adverse employ-
ment action under First Amendment retaliation and Title
VII retaliation analyses must occur on a case-by-case basis
in all but the most obvious cases. A ruling from this Court
that adverse employer actions are to include any or every
transfer, minor disciplinary action, memorandum and
other correspondence, investigation and administrative
decision, even if it was never effectuated, would be a
disservice to Circuit and District Courts across the coun-
try, which are regularly presented fact patterns involving
innumerable complexities of the collective American
workplace, and in which the exercise of judicial discretion
is both necessary and appropriate. A strictly uniform
approach to what constitutes adverse employment action
for purposes of First Amendment and Title VII analysis is
inappropriate and unnecessary. Where factors such as
factually nuanced circumstances, workplace culture,
personalities and intent are involved, “one-size-fits-all”
does not fit. “The definition of adverse action is not static
across contexts[,]” Suarez Corp. Indus. v. McGraw, 202 j
F.3d at 686 (citing Thaddeus-X v. Blatter, 175 F.3d 379,
398 (6th Cir. 1999)), nor should it be.

SS Ul

13

II. No action identified by Petitioner rises to the
level of adverse employment action in analysis
of a First Amendment retaliation claim under
42 U.S.C. § 1983 or under Title VII.

Petitioner argues that five employer actions were
retaliatory adverse employment actions which can serve as
the basis of her claims. As demonstrated correctly by the
opinion below, none of the five accounts of alleged adverse
action constitutes a retaliatory adverse action under even
the most liberal interpretation of the Rutan standard.

The first employer action is Dr. Firestone’s “letter” to
colleagues Bradley Tindall and Petitioner in response to
previous correspondence from them notifying the admini-
stration that they were filing a “minority report” concern-
ing the computer art search. (Record 111 exs. 16, 17). Dr.
Firestone’s memorandum addresses only the procedural
irregularity of hiring committee members communicating
up the chain of command after their advisory role was
fulfilled. (Record 111 ex. 17). It is simply a factual commu-
nication from supervisor to employee. There is no objective
chilling effect on further expressions of protected speech.
See Phillips v. Bowen, 276 F.3d 103, 109 (2d Cir. 2002).

Characterization of the memorandum by Petitioner as
being retaliatory adverse employment action renders
virtually any written guidance, advice or transfer of
information from supervisor to employee actionable. See
Suarez Corp., 202 F.3d at 687. That clearly is not a stan-
dard embraced by this Court or any of the various circuits.

The second alleged retaliatory adverse employment
action is what Petitioner labels the “internal investigation”
conducted by Dr. Firestone to support the 1995 vote not
to renew Petitioner’s annual contract for the 1996-97

14

academic year. Because Respondents never notified
Petitioner of the nonrenewal, and the nonrenewal was
never put into effect, the “investigation” in itself was not
related to anything even resembling an adverse action. See
Lytle v. Carl, 382 F.3d 978, 987 (9th Cir. 2004) (holding
investigation, together with ultimate denial of paid sick
leave, subject to review as adverse action.)

The third alleged retaliatory adverse employment
action was Dr. Squires’s “false accusations” of mental
illness. The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals has recognized
false accusations to be actionable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983
only when in combination with more substantial adverse
action and causally linked to protected speech. See
Awabdy v. City of Adelanto, 368 F.3d 1062, 1071 (9th Cir.
2004) (holding that false accusations and other wrongful,
concerted conduct intended to institute an unfounded
criminal charge, were sufficient to state a claim under
§ 1983 for violation of his First Amendment rights);
Coszalter v. City of Salem, 320 F.3d 968, 976-977 (9th Cir.
2003) (applying the “reasonably likely to deter [protected
speech]” test to hold that a reprimand containing a false
allegation, taken together with a criminal investigation,
repeated and ongoing harassment and humiliation, a ten-
day suspension from work, and other employer actions
were adverse employment actions).

Other Courts of Appeals hold that employer speech
such as false accusations are only actionable when they
include “a threat, coercion, or intimidation intimating that
punishment, sanction, or adverse regulatory action will
imminently follow.” Suarez Corp., 202 F.3d at 687. Other-
wise, “such speech does not adversely affect a citizen’s
First Amendment rights, even if defamatory.” Jd.; see 202
F.3d at 687-688 for additional citations and quotations in

15

accord); Benningfield v. City of Houston, 157 F.3d 369, 376-
377 (5th Cir. 1998) (holding that employees “falsely ac-
cused” of criminal wrongdoing and “verbally reprimanded”
by their employer failed to allege adverse employment
actions sufficient to constitute retaliation), cert. denied,
526 U.S. 1065 (1999) (cited in Suarez Corp., 202 F.3d at
686); Nunez v. City of Los Angeles, 147 F.3d 867, 875 (9th
Cir. 1998) (“It would be the height of irony, indeed, if mere
speech, in response to speech, could constitute a First
Amendment violation.”)

The fourth alleged, retaliatory adverse employment
action was Petitioner’s performance evaluation for calen-
dar year 1995 in which Petitioner scored 3.6 out of 5.0.
(Record 121: 134 ex. 11). As Firestone was Petitioner’s
immediate supervisor,’ this written review of job perform-
ance was but another instance of day-to-day personnel
management in an employment setting, not an “adverse
employment action.” The Annual Faculty Evaluation of
Petitioner was performed in accordance with the same
standards used to evaluate other School of Art faculty,
including “Professional Service and University Govern-
ance.” Respondent Firestone was merely fulfilling his
duties as Art School Director and not demonstrating any
retaliatory animus necessary to transform this routine
managerial function into-an adverse employment action.”

* Firestone’s initial scoring of Petitioner’s performance, including
the written comments, was made with input from a four-member
committee of three men and one woman. (Record 121: 134 ex. 11).

* Firestone testified, “[Petitioner’s] continued [ . . . ] questioning of
the faculty [hiring] process is alienating faculty. At that point, I never
heard anything about gender discrimination. All I heard was that the
best candidate by far had not been selected. ... I asked her to be aware _

(Continued on following page)

16

The fifth alleged retaliatory adverse employment
action was the 1996 vote of the senior faculty not to renew
Petitioner’s employment contract for the 1997-98 academic
year. This vote was reversed by a grievance committee of
the Faculty Senate, pursuant to Plaintiff’s formal griev-
ance, as provided for in the University policies and proce-
dures for the College of Arts and Sciences (Record 132 ex.
BB; see Pet. C.A. Br. 29), before the 1997-98 academic year
commenced. (Record 100: 101-02, 105-107). Petitioner’s
successful appeal of that decision does not transform the
faculty vote, reversed and remedied by Respondents’ own
procedures, into an adverse employment action. See
DeGuiseppe v. Palermo, 68 F.3d 187, 191 (7th Cir. 1995)
(holding exercise of plaintiff’s own volition in ending his
police career rendered termination not actionable).

Petitioner argues that the attorney’s fees expended to
appeal the nonrenewal of her employment contract for the
1997-98 academic year renders her successful appeal an
adverse employment action and “actionable retaliation.”
This argument transposes cause and effect, confuses a
damages issue with the more fundamental one of adverse
employment action, and introduces the employee’s own
volition into the standard of what constitutes “adverse
employment action.” See Speigla v. Hull, 371 F.3d 928,
941, n.6 (7th Cir. 2004) (rejecting the plaintiff’s contention
that the pay cut she received after voluntarily applying for
and being assigned to a new position is evidence of adverse
action, despite her feelings that she was “forced” to do it).

that her persistence [ ... ] was not responsive to a collegial process
arrived at by consensus. . . .” (Record 121: 140-141).

17

Even when viewed in the aggregate, the five employer
actions discussed in the Petition do not constitute adverse
employment action. The standard for adverse employment
action in the Second Circuit, as articulated in Phillips v.
Bowen, 276 F.3d 103, 109 (2d Cir. 2002), requires an
objective assessment of whether “the total circumstances
of an employee’s working environment changed to become
unreasonably inferior and adverse when compared to a
typical or normal, not ideal or model, work place.” Jd. With
objective consideration of even the cumulative impact on
Petitioner of Dr. Firestone’s memorandum to Tindall and
Petitioner of March 27, 1995, the “internal investigation,”
the “false accusations,” the performance evaluation for
1995, and the 1996 nonrenewal vote, in light of Peti-
tioner’s own exacerbation of the problems of her workplace
environment, the employer actions fail to meet the stan-
dard applied in Phillips.

Ill. Lowering the standard for what constitutes
adverse employment action would effectively
eviscerate the defense of qualified immunity,
as virtually all government decisions and ac-
tions could be adverse actions under “clearly
established” law.

Individual Respondents such as those in the instant
case, as government officials performing discretionary
functions, are generally granted qualified immunity and
thus “‘shielded from liability for civil damages insofar as
their conduct does not violate clearly established statutory
or constitutional rights of which a reasonable person
would have known.’ Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. [800,]
818 [1982].” Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S. 603, 615 (1999); see
Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 639 (1987) (citing

18

Harlow, 457 U.S. at 819); see also Graham v. Connor, 490
U.S. 386, 397 (1986). “The central purpose of qualified
immunity is to protect public officials ‘from undue inter-
ference with their duties and from potentially disabling
threats of liability.’ Elder v. Holloway, 510 U.S. 510, 514
[...] (1994) (quoting Harlow, 457 U.S. at 806).” Snyder v.
Nolen, 380 F.3d 279, 289 (7th Cir. 2004).

A determination of entitlement to qualified immunity
involves determining whether the facts alleged show that
Respondents violated a constitutional right, and whether
that right was clearly established at the time of the
violation. See Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194, 201 (2001)
The clearly established inquiry “must be undertaken in
light of the specific context of the case, not as a broad
general proposition.” Jd. ““‘The contours of the right must
be sufficiently clear that a reasonable official would
understand that what he is doing violates that right.’” Jd.
at 202 (quoting Anderson, 483 U.S. at 640).

Should the current fact-specific, flexible standard for
retaliatory adverse employment action under 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983 be lowered to include the employer actions dis-
cussed in the Petition, government actors would be hob-
bled, as exercise of virtually any aspect of their authority
and fulfillment of virtually any duty assigned them would
be an adverse action under “clearly established” law. “The
definition of adverse action is not static across contexts.”
Thaddeus-X v. Blatter, 175 F.3d at 398. Instead, it has the
capacity to accommodate, whether inclusively or exclu-
sively, the variety of fact patterns presented by public
employment. Petitioner’s position eviscerates the defense
of qualified immunity and has potential to expose govern-
ment employers to undue interference with their perform-
ance of their duties, threats of liability, as well as the

A rere

19

demands of litigation. See Snyder, 380 F.3d at 289 (cita-
tions omitted).

¢

CONCLUSION

The current standard for adverse employment action
in the analyses of § 1983 First Amendment claims and
Title VII retaliation claims, is very much workable, as
demonstrated by its application by all the judicial circuits.
For this and all foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of
certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

THURBERT BAKER 033887
Attorney General

DENNIS R. DUNN
Deputy Attorney General
Counsel of Record

Please serve:

DENNIS R. DUNN

Deputy Attorney General

40 Capitol Square, S.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30334-1300
(404) 656-5614

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1390%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
