# Opposition Brief — Arpaio v. Demery

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1311%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 545 U.S. 1139

## Text

No. 04-983
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
JOE ARPAIO,
Maricopa County Sheriff, in his official capacity,
Petitioner,
vi
JAMIE DEMERY, et al.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

ULISES A. FERRAGUT SCOTT AMBROSE
FERRAGUT & ASSOCIATES Counsel of Record
Suite 1615 AMBROSE LAW FIRM
111 West Monroe Suite 185

Phoenix, AZ 85003 11000 N. Scottsdale Rd.
(602) 324-5300 Scottsdale, AZ 85254

(480) 607-2822
BRIAN WOLFMAN
PUBLIC CITIZEN LITIGATION GROUP
1600 20th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20009
(202) 588-1000

Counsel for Respondents
May 27, 2005

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court of appeals properly upheld a
preliminary injunction barring a county sheriff from placing
video cameras in the non-public areas of a jail—including the
men’s bunk bed area, the women’s toilet, and the areas in which
pretrial detainees are subjected to patdown searches—and
broadcasting live images from those cameras through a
commercial Internet site 24 hours a day, because such a practice
likely violates the due process rights of pretrial detainees to be
free from punishment.

ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTION PRESENTED .6.c60 Sci cccivdevccccesces i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..........ccccveccscess iii
RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION ........... l
STATEMENT 2.0 cncesccsunededcaeeedeenseapeees 2
A. Factal BaGkgrOW: 3. oo5.o4 ods chwadeateuseauns 2
B. The Court of Appeals’ Decision ..............-. 5
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT .............-. 7

I. There Is No Conflict Over the Appropriate Legal
Standard for Conditions-of-Confinement Claims
by Pretrial EWE. sik ccacn venesaewaneees 7

Il. The Decision Below Does Not Conflict With
Cases Concerning Megan’s Laws or Perp
Welle. oo cktasiehicete ee eee 10

Ii. The Decision Below Does Not Conflict With
A ree ry yr tt es 13

IV. _ The Interlocutory Posture of the Case and the
Unique Nature of the Facts Make This Case
Particularly Unsuitable for Review. ............ 15

CONCLUBION ... .0css000¢kagned beueeeeweuneneees 17

ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Bell v. Wolfish,
a eee rrr 5, 6, 7-9
Benjamin v. Fraser,
Pe GU GA DOOD 6 66.66 ca nscdcccvswccs 8

*Caldarola v. County of Westchester,
343 F.3d 570 (2d Cir. 2003) ............ 10, 11-12

City of Revere v. Mass. General Hosp.,
SN MT CREED 6 eS pee soe edinenseuneesada 9

Covino v. Patrissi,
of & yet ok Dh . . rrr 8-9

E.B. v. Verniero,
119 F.3d 1077 (3d Cir. 1997)........... Oe

Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co.,
I ino WE wc a Kk Ore on 054s ue 6s 15

Hause v. Vaught,
eee ree ROOD CU Ge, BOGS) oc ccccccccncccees 8

Hope v. Pelzer,
ee PPT ee ee eer ee eereTee 15

Houchins v. KQED, Inc.,
as Cc abd6 ede beu sea dhee we 6

eee ee

IV

Lauro v. Charles,

ri, pm pote ie | Perrrerrrrrr rer 11
Paul v. Davis,

ee Gi CRT ox onc ce dvceducewenees 13-14
Sandin v. Conner,

pik Rts PPP ererer rrr rer errr 10
Slade v. Hampton Roads Regional Jail, --- F.3d ---,

2005 WL 1076559 (4th Cir. May 9, 2005) ..... 7-8
Smith v. Doe,

ge Os err errr e 10-11, 12-13, 15
Thornburgh v. Abbott,

Ae ek CUO 6 6 eo cs Rese he cee dceceeeiwe 8
Turner v. Safley,

gm Fo. rer rrr: To ee eT
Virginia Military Inst. v. United States,

ek et PP eer Tere rire eee 16
Wilson v. Layne,

ost) eli. | Pere eer rere rr Try . 6,10
MISCELLANEOUS

Anderson County, Tennessee Sheriff's Department Website,
http://www.tnacso.net/cont/jailcam.php (last visited
gg ee errr tert eer er ee 16

Vv

Barry Graham, Star of Justice,
Harper’s, Apr. 30, 2001

Heather Haddon, Sneak Peek: ‘Jail Cam’ Raises Hackles and
a Lawsuit When Links to Porno Sites Are Discovered,
Village Voice, June 6-12, 2001 ................ 4

Joe Arpaio for Sheriff Website,
www .reelectjoe.com (last visited May 16, 2005) .. 3

Richard Lacayo, The Real Hard Cell,
Pa HE 4 TAS ion ea Srna eka eet ewes 2

Farhad Manjoo, The Sheriff Can't Beat the Rap,
Wired News, http://wired-vig.wired.com/news/culture/
0,1284,42872,00.html (last visited May 16, 2005)
PPT OCs ee ery eer eer re Teer 4,16

Maricopa County Sheriff’s Office Website,
http://www.mcso.org/submenu.asp? file=aboutmcso&

page=main (last visited May 16, 2005) .......... 2
Margo Schlanger, Jnmate Litigation,

116 Harv. L. Rev. 1555 (2003) .............00. 2
Stern and Gressman,

Supreme Court Practice (8th ed. 2002) ......... 16

l
RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

The district court’s order granting 2 preliminary
injunction in this case, which the decision below affirmed,
applied well-settled legal principles to an extremely unusual set
of facts. As far as respondents are aware, no other jailer in the
United States has done what petitioner has done here: place
video cameras in the non-public areas of a jail and continuously
broadcast live images of pretrial detainees as they are
fingerprinted, photographed, booked, and searched; as they
sleep; and even as they use the toilet. The unique nature of
these facts, standing alone, demonstrates that this case does not
present a recurring question worthy of this Court’s review. And
given the significance of a factual record in a case of this kind,
the interlocutory posture of the case provides an additional
reason to deny certiorari.

This Court should also decline review because the
conflicts claimed by the petition are illusory. The petition
argues that the decision below implicates a circuit split
concerning the correct legal standard to apply to conditions of
confinement claims by pretrial detainees, but the circuits -
uniformly apply the same standard. The petition also attempts
to manufacture a conflict with cases involving sex offender
notification laws and perp walks. Far from conflicting with the
decision below, however, these other cases support it: They
suggest that a policy of public humiliation that goes beyond the
dissemination of information is likely to be deemed punitive,
and that the government’s role in such matters must be carefully
circumscribed. Finally, the petition’s broad suggestion that any
governmental infliction of humiliation is insulated from
constitutional scrutiny is without support in this Court’s cases.

2

STATEMENT
A. Factual Background

Petitioner Joe Arpaio is the Sheriff of Maricopa County,
Arizona. Sheriff Arpaio has become widely known for his
unconventional correctional practices. Pretrial detainees in his
jails are forced to wear pink underwear, eat green bologna,
work on chain gangs, dig graves, and sleep in tents in the
Arizona desert. See Barry Graham, Star of Justice, Harper’s,
Apr. 30, 2001, at 59. Arpaio’s website boasts about the unique
nature of his practices. See Maricopa County Sheriff's Office
Website, http://www.mcso.org/submenu.asp? file=aboutmcso
&page=main (last visited May 16, 2005) (“No other detention
facility in the country . . . can boast of 1200 convicts in tents; no
other county or state facility can boast of a gleaning program
that results in costs of under 45 cents per meal per inmate; few
others can say they have women in tents or on chain gangs.”).
Arpaio has said of his jails: “I want to make this place so
unpleasant that they won’t even think about doing something
that could bring them back. . . . I want them to suffer.” Richard
Lacayo, The Real Hard Cell, Time, Sept. 4, 1995, at 31. One
commentator has observed that Arpaio “boasts of being
‘America’s toughest sheriff and has the litigation docket to
prove it.” Margo Schlanger, Inmate Litigation, 116 Harv. L.
Rev. 1555, 1581 n.82 (2003).

Respondents are pretrial detainees at the Madison Street
Jail who sued both Arpaio and the County, challenging Arpaio’s
practice of installing video cameras, known as “webcams,” in
four locations within the jail and broadcasting live images of
the detainees over the Internet. The petition repeatedly
describes the location of the cameras as the “public area of [the]
jail.” Pet. i. This description is inaccurate. As the court of

3

appeals explained, “(t]he four webcams were placed within
areas of the jail that were not open to the public except through
prearranged tours.” App. 2a. The cameras were installed in four
locations: the men’s holding cell, including the men’s bunk bed
area; the area in which detainees are photographed,
fingerprinted and booked; the area in which detainees are
subjected to patdown searches; and the toilet and surrounding
area in the women’s holding cell. Jd. at 2a-3a. The camera in
the latter location was eventually moved to a hallway in
response to this lawsuit. /d. at 3a.

After the capacity of his web servers became
overwhelmed by viewers from around the world, Arpaio entered
into an arrangement with a commercial website known as
Crime.com to broadcast the webcam images on a 24-hour basis.
Id. Crime.com presented the images as a form of entertainment,
offering visitors the opportunity to see detainees “booked,
searched and locked-up,” and “[w]atch as SWAT teams raid
male and female inmate holding cells in search of smuggled
drugs and crude weapons.” Jd. at 4a. A link labeled “Meet
Sheriff Joe” allowed visitors to “[s]pend a day in the life of
Sheriff Joe Arpaio on his own turf, where inmates wear pink
underwear, eat green bologna, and work on chain gangs.” Jd.
In addition to broadcasting the video footage, the site also sold
merchandise associated with Arpaio, including a videotape of
“A Day With Sheriff Joe,” which was described as a
documentary film about the Sheriffs “unconventional”
methods, and a souvenir version of the pink underwear worn by
Maricopa County detainees, which was emblazoned with a gold
star insignia, Arpaio’s personal signature, and the slogan “Go
Joe.” See Complaint, Exh. B; Joe Arpaio for Sheriff Website,
www.reelectjoe.com (last visited May 16, 2005) (describing
“commercial” version of pink underwear).

4

The webcam broadcasts attracted “3 million to 10
million hits daily.” Heather Haddon, Sneak Peek: ‘Jail Cam’
Raises Hackles and a Lawsuit When Links to Porno Sites Are
Discovered, Village Voice, June 6-12, 2001. Among the
millions of visitors to the site were those directed “from
hundreds of hardcore pornography sites.” Jd.; see also Ninth
Circuit Excerpts of Record (“EOR”) Tab 71 at 13-15. For
reasons that are not disclosed in the record, the Crime.com site
ceased operation after this suit was filed.

Arpaio gave numerous interviews to the media
concerning the webcam broadcasts. He bragged that the
broadcasts drew “people from Sweden, Britain, and Germany
to watch officers snap on rubber gloves and frisk incoming
arrestees” and chuckled over the broadcasts’ ability to
“embarrass the inmates.” Haddon, supra. Asked whether he
expected other jails or prisons to adopt his webcam policy,
Arpaio said that he did not: “I don’t think anybody’s going to
do it. I’ve done a lot of controversial things. Nobody’s copied
it, but I don’t care.” See Farhad Manjoo, The Sheriff Can’t Beat
the Rap, Wired News http://wired-vig.wired.com/news/culture/
0,1284,42872,00.html (last visited May 16, 2005).

The detainees filed this suit in Arizona state court and
the defendants removed the case to federal court. After
determining that there was a live controversy because Arpaio
was seeking a new host for the webcam images, the district
court preliminarily enjoined Arpaio from broadcasting the
webcam images on the ground that doing so subjected the
detainees to punishment in violation of the Fourteenth
Amendment. Arpaio appealed. Maricopa County did not

appeal.

5

B. The Court of Appeals’ Decision

Although neither party raised the issue on appeal, the
court of appeals began by assuring itself that the appeal was not
moot because Arpaio intended to, and likely would, find
another host for the website, and because, although the
plaintiffs had been released from the jail, the controversy fell
within the capable-of-repetition-but-evading-review exception
to the mootness doctrine. App. 5a-9a.

_ The court next concluded that the district court had
correctly analyzed plaintiffs’ claims under the test set forth in
Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520 (1979). App. 10a-12a. In Bell,
the Court held that “under the Due Process Clause, a detainee
may not be punished prior to an adjudication of guilt in
accordance with due process of law.” 441 U.S. at 535. The Bell
test asks whether a particular condition of confinement
constitutes punishment or “whether an alternative purpose to
which [the restriction] may rationally be connected is assignable
for it, and whether it appears excessive in relation” to that
purpose. Jd. at 538. The court of appeals concluded that the
four-part “rational relation” test for Eighth Amendment claims
set forth in Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987), was
inapplicable because Turner dealt with convicted prisoners
rather than pretrial detainees and because Turner involved a
claim of cruel and unusual punishment under the Eighth
Amendment rather than a substantive due process claim. App.
Ila.

Having found that Arpaio had “failed to demonstrate
that the district court applied an erroneous legal standard,” the
court of appeals next turned to Arpaio’s arguments concerning
“the district court’s application of Bell to the facts of this case.”
Id. at 12a. These arguments, the court concluded, ignored the

6

standard for review of a preliminary injunction, under which
“fa]s long as the district court got the law right, it will not be
reversed simply because the appellate court would have arrived
at a different result if it had applied the law to the facts of the
case.” Id.

“Additionally,” the court “agree[d] with the district
court’s application of the law to the facts.” Jd. Arpaio’s actions
constituted punishment because the humiliation ofhaving one’s
daily activities in jail broadcast over the Internet would be
regarded by anyone as profoundly undesirable and because the
harm caused significantly exceeded, and was independent of,
the ordinary discomfort involved in being jailed. Jd. at 13a. The
practice could not be justified based on an interest in deterrence
alone because “[rJetribution and deterrence are not legitimate
nonpunitive governmental objectives.” Bell, 441 U.S. at 539
n.20. Moreoever, the court explained, Arpaio’s practices could
not be justified based on the otherwise valid interest in ensuring
accountability and public scrutiny because none of the purposes
of pretrial detention was served by the broad exposure involved
in the Internet broadcasts. App. 15a-17a (citing Houchins v.
KQED, Inc., 438 U.S. 1, 5 n.2 (1978) (plurality) (“Inmates are
not like animals in a zoo to be filmed and photographed at will
by the public or by media reporters, however ‘educational’ the
process may be for others.”); Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S. 603
(1999)).

Finally, the court rejected Arpaio’s argument that the
injunction violated his First Amendment rights because, as the
district court put it, “the Bill of Rights protect the individual
from the government, not the other way around.” Jd. at 18a.

Judge Bea dissented, explaining that he would have
reversed on mootness grounds. Jd. at 20a-23a. He also

7

expressed his disagreement on the merits, reasoning in part that
the Internet broadcasts would not have been historically
regarded as punishment because they “are too new to have a
historical characterization,” id. at 27a, and suggesting that
public shaming is punitive only when “characterized by face-to-
face confrontation or banishment.” Jd. at 29a n.7.

Arpaio filed a petition for rehearing en banc. No judge
of the court of appeals requested a vote on the petition, and the
petition was denied.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. There Is No Conflict Over the Appropriate Legal
Standard for Conditions-of-Confinement Claims by
Pretrial Detainees.

The petition asserts that the “circuit courts are split on
whether the correct test to apply to detainees’ conditions-of-
confinement claims is the Bell ‘punishment’ test or the Turner
‘rational relation to legitimate penological interests’ test.” Pet.
12. There is no such split. Every federal circuit holds that Bell
supplies the correct test for conditions-of-confinement claims
by pretrial detainees. .

The absence of any conflict is made clear by recent
decisions of the Fourth and Second Circuits—the two circuits
that the petition identifies as following a different rule—both of
which have reaffirmed their use of the Bell test for claims of
pretrial detainees. See Slade v. Hampton Roads Regional Jail,
--- F.3d ---, 2005 WL 1076559 (4th Cir. May 9, 2005), at * 7
(The federal circuits’ decisions “reviewing conditions of pretrial
detention and confinement still rely exclusively on Bell.
Accordingly, absent an explicit indication to the contrary from

8

the Supreme Court, we will continue to apply Bell . . . to claims
by pretrial detainees that certain conditions of confinement
amount to punishment.”) (citations omitted); Benjamin v.
Fraser, 343 F.3d 35, 49-50 (2d Cir. 2003) (holding that Bell
supplies the correct test for claims by pretrial detainees).
Indeed, the Fourth Circuit’s opinion in Slade specifically cites
the decision below as reflecting the circuits’ uniform approach.
2005 WL 1076559, at *7.

The petition creates its “split” only by distorting Hause
v. Vaught, 993 F.2d 1079 (4th Cir. 1993), and Covino v.
Patrissi, 967 F.2d 73 (2d Cir. 1992)—the only two decisions it
describes as having applied Turner to claims by pretrial -
detainees. Pet. 23. Although both decisions refer to Eighth
Amendment jurisprudence, neither rejects Bell in favor of
Turner as the appropriate framework. On the contrary, Hause
cites Bell as the appropriate standard to evaluate restrictions
placed on the receipt of outside publications by pretrial
detainees and merely seeks guidance from Thornburgh v.
Abbott, 490 U.S. 401, 404 (1989), which analyzed similar
restrictions in the prison context under Turner. Hause, 993 F.2d
at 1082. The court notes that, “[a]lthough Thornburgh did not
involve pretrial detainees,” the security concerns at issue were
essentially the same and thus followed Thornburgh’s analysis
“with due regard for the particular circumstances of pretrial
detainment.” /d. (citing Bell, 441 U.S. at 546 n. 28).

Similarly, in Covino, the Second Circuit found Turner
“instructive” on the issue of whether prison officials were
justified in intruding on the Fourth Amendment rights of a pre-
trial detainee who was housed in a prison alongside convicted
criminals and who challenged the prison’s search policy. Jd. at
78. But Covino expressly declined to consider whether the
plaintiff's “status as a pre-trial detainee entitled him to more

9

extensive fourth amendment protection with respect to visual
body-cavity searches than a convicted, incarcerated inmate”
because, as to both pre-trial detainees and convicted inmates,
the proper inquiry was whether the searches were reasonable.
Id. at 78 n.4 (citing Bell, 441 U.S. at 558).

That courts make reference to this Court’s Eighth
Amendment precedents in the context of claims by pretrial
detainees does not mean that there is a conflict concerning the
appropriate legal standard. It is not surprising that courts seek
guidance from Eighth Amendment jurisprudence, particularly
in cases where this Court has already addressed the
constitutionality of the type of restriction at issue in the prison
context. Because the Court has made clear that the protections
afforded by the Due Process Clause are “at least as great as the
Eighth Amendment protections available to a convicted
prisoner,” City of Revere v. Mass. General Hosp., 463 U.S. 239,
244 (1983), the Eighth Amendment provides a minimum
standard for determining the constitutional rights of pretrial
detainees.'

'The petition studiously avoids stating a position on whether the
court of appeals should have applied Turner instead of Bell—or
whether it would even make any difference on the facts of this case.
Indeed, petitioner’s briefing in the court below analyzed the due
process claim only under Bell and recognized that the Turner test is
“incompatible” with the right of pretrial detainees to be free from
punishment. Def’s Opening Br. at 15 n.9 (“Sheriff Arpaio does not
include any discussion of the four-part Turner test because it is
inherently incompatible with the nature of the constitutional right
relied on by the District [Court]—a detainee’s freedom from
‘punishment.””). In any event, the suggestion in the petition that
Turner may have somehow displaced Bell or eliminated the
important distinction between the rights of pretrial detainees and the

10

Because there is no conflict concerning the appropriate
legal standard, the petition should be denied.

\
Il. The Decision Below Does Not Conflict With Cases
Concerning Megan’s Laws or Perp Walks.

The petition also contends that the decision below
conflicts with decisions “holding that enhancing transparency
of the criminal justice system and deterring the viewing public
are legitimate governmental objectives.” Pet. 11. That assertion
is belied by the court of appeals’ specific recognition that the
government does have a “legitimate interest in ‘informing the
public about the administration of criminal justice.”” App. 17a
(quoting Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S. 603 (1999)). Far from
rejecting that principle, the decision below held that, based on
the particular facts in this case, the plaintiffs would likely
succeed in establishing that, under Bell, the practice of
broadcasting live images of pretrial detainees in their cells over
the Internet could not be justified by the “otherwise valid
governmental interest in assuring accountability and public
scrutiny.” Jd.

In an effort to manufacture a conflict on this point, the
petition cites cases in which courts have upheld sex offender
notification laws and perp walks as reasonably related to
legitimate state interests. Pet. 11 (citing Caldarola v. County of
Westchester, 343 F.3d 570 (2d Cir. 2003); Smith v. Doe, 538

rights of convicted prisoners (Pet. 5, 22-24) is wrong. See, e.g.,
Sandin v. Conner, 515 U.S. 472, 484 (1995) (post-7urner decision
stating that “Bell correctly noted that a detainee ‘may not be
punished prior to an adjudication of guilt in accordance with due
process of law.’ ... The punishment of incarcerated prisoners, on the
other hand, serves different aims than those found invalid in Bell.”).

11

U.S. 84 (2002); E.B. v. Vernerio, 119 F.3d 1077 (3d Cir.
1997)). These cases involve not only very different facts, but
entirely different constitutional provisions—the Double
Jeopardy Clause, the Ex Post Facto Clause, and the Fourth
Amendment.

More importantly, not one of these decisions holds that
any practice that happens to disseminate truthful arrest or
conviction information is a/ways reasonably related to a
legitimate state interest. On the contrary, these cases suggest
that the government’s role in such matters must be carefully
circumscribed, that constitutional analysis must take into
account all of the relevant facts and circumstances, and that
public shaming that goes beyond the dissemination of
information will likely be deemed punitive.

In Caldarola, for example, the question was whether a
perp walk—in which a public officer arrested on corruption
charges was videotaped as he was escorted across the parking
lot of a government building to a police car—was an
unreasonable search or seizure under the Fourth Amendment.
Only after engaging in “a contextualized reasonableness
analysis that seeks to balance the intrusion on privacy caused by
law enforcement against the justification asserted for it by the
state,” 343 F.3d at 576, and taking into account-all of the
circumstances, including the officer’s “minimal expectation in
privacy in the parking lot,” did the court conclude that there was
no Fourth Amendment violation, id. at 577; compare Lauro v.
Charles, 219 F.3d 202 (2d Cir. 2000) (perp walk staged for the
benefit of videotaping was unconstitutional). Most importantly,
in a passage that appears particularly prescient here, the court
stressed that its decision did “not suggest that government
actors have free reign to use videotape or other potentially
overly intrusive means to achieve the government purposes” of

i ii

12

informing the public, enhancing the transparency of the criminal
justice system, or deterring others from attempting similar
crimes. 343 F.3d at 577.

Cases involving sex offender notification laws, also
known as Megan’s Laws, provide even less support for the
petition’s claims of conflict. In Smith v. Doe, this Court held
that Alaska’s Megan’s Law did not violate the Ex Post Facto
Clause because the law was rationally related to the nonpunitive
purpose of protecting the public by alerting citizens to the risk
of sex offenders in the community, and because the law was not
excessive in relation to that purpose. Smith, 538 U.S. at 102-3;
accord Verniero, 119 F.3d at 1098. No similar governmental
interest is even remotely implicated in this case, and neither
Smith nor Verniero held that transparency or deterrence
concerns alone could justify the Alaska or New Jersey laws
under review.

The petition, however, quotes isolated language from
Smith and Verniero discussing the virtue of transparency in the
criminal justice system and attempts to extract from that
language a blanket approval for government policies executed
in the name of transparency. Pet. 15, 21 (asserting that “federal
courts uniformly hold that disseminating accurate public
information regarding criminal history does not constitute
punishment”). A quick glance at these decisions demonstrates
that the petition has taken this language out of context and
twisted its meaning. If anything, this Court’s decision in Smith
lends considerable support to the decision below. Smith’s
comments on transparency in the criminal justice system are
found in a passage in which this Court expressly distinguished
Alaska’s Megan’s Law from colonial punishments “that were
meant to inflict public disgrace,” “such as public shaming” and
“humiliation,” which, like the webcam broadcasts at issue here,

13

“involved more than the dissemination of information.” 538
U.S. at 97-98; accord Verniero, 119 F.3d at 1100
(distinguishing New Jersey’s Megan’s Law from “the stocks,
cages and scarlet letters”). “By contrast,” the Court noted, “the
stigma of Alaska’s Megan’s Law results not from the public
display for ridicule and shaming but from the dissemination of
accurate information about a criminal record, most of which is
already public.” 538 U.S. at 98; accord Verniero, 119 F.3d at
1099 (“The ‘sting’ of Megan’s Law for [sex offenders] results
not from their being publicly displayed for ridicule and shaming
but rather from the dissemination of accurate public record
information about their past criminal activities. . . . This
distinction makes a substantial difference when one looks for
the relevant historical understanding of our society.”’”). Arpaio
cannot draw the same distinction in this case.

III. The Decision Below Does Not Conflict With Paul v.
Davis

The petition argues, without much elaboration, that the
decision below conflicts with this Court’s decision in Paul v.
Davis, 424 U.S. 693 (1976). Pet. 11,20. There, aman who had
been arrested for shoplifting sued the police, who had
disseminated a flyer including his name and photograph under
the heading “Active Shoplifters.” The Court held that the
man’s interest in his reputation, standing alone, did not
implicate any “liberty” or “property” interests sufficient to
invoke the procedural protections of due process. 424 U.S. at
710-12. To hold otherwise, the Court reasoned, would result in
the wide-ranging constitutionalization of ordinary defamation.
The plaintiff in Paul also alleged a violation of a “right to
privacy guaranteed by the First, Fourth, Fifth, Ninth, and
Fourteenth Amendments.” Jd. at 712. Because the plaintiffs
claim was “based, not upon any challenge to the State’s ability

14

to restrict his freedom of action in a sphere contended to be
‘private,’ but instead on a claim that the State may not publicize
a record of an official act such as an arrest,” the Court rejected
this claim as too “far afield” of its substantive privacy
jurisprudence. Jd.

In this case, the court of appeals itself succinctly
explained why its decision is fully consistent with Paul. First,
Paul involved procedural due process and substantive privacy
claims. It did not involve the substantive due process right of
pretrial detainees to be free from punishment, and the release of
the information was not a condition of detention. App. 17a n.6.
Second, “there is stark difference between releasing an arrest
record and thereby publicizing only ‘the fact of [a detainee’s]
arrest,’ and streaming live images of a pretrial detainee’s every
movement across the Internet.” Jd. (quoting Paul, 424 U.S. at
713). Third, “[nJothing in Bell requires that, to be punishment,
a harm must be independently cognizable as a separate
constitutional violation.” Jd. 13a. Thus, the holding here that
particular conditions of pretrial detention involving humiliation
can constitute punishment does not suggest that reputational
harm alone may otherwise give rise to an independent
constitutional tort.

Stretching to invent a conflict on this point, the petition
suggests that Paul stands for a categorical rule that
“{rjeputational harm is not an injury that is constitutionally
redressible,” (Pet. 19), and asserts that “every federal circuit has
recognized that reputational harm is not constitutionally
redressable,” (Pet. 20), but the petition cites not a single case in
support of that bold proposition. Under the petition’s novel and
expansive reading of Paul, any governmental practice that
involves the infliction of humiliation or stigma—including the
colonial shaming punishments discussed by this Court in Smith

15

v. Doe—would be immune from constitutional scrutiny, even
if inflicted on citizens who have not been convicted of a crime.
But see Smith, 538 U.S. at 99 (Megan’s Law, “[i]n contrast to
the colonial shaming punishments,” “does not make publicity
and the resulting stigma an integral part” of its scheme); Hope
v. Pelzer, 536 U.S. 730, 738 (2002) (recognizing the “risk of
particular discomfort and humiliation” as a component of an
“obvious” Eighth Amendment violation). Nothing in this
Court’s decisions or American constitutional jurisprudence
supports such a theory.

Ill. The Interlocutory Posture of This Case and Its
Unique Facts Make This Case Particularly
Unsuitable for Review.

Finally, even apart from the absence of any conflicts
implicated by the decision below, certiorari should be denied
because the procedural posture of the case and the unusual
nature of the facts make this case particularly unsuitable for
review.

This case comes to the Court in an interlocutory posture,
which “of itself alone furnishe[s] sufficient ground for the
denial” of the petition. Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros.
& Co., 240 U.S. 251, 258 (1916). Although the district court
found that plaintiffs had demonstrated a sufficient likelihood of
success on their substantive due process claim to warrant
preliminary injunctive relief, proceedings on the merits have not
yet begun. Moreover, the district court made no formal factual
findings, there is only a barebones record, and the court below
exercised only the “limited review” appropriate to an appeal
from a district court’s order granting a preliminary injunction.
App. 9a. Because the parties have not yet taken discovery,
many potentially important factual issues remain unexamined,

16

including the nature of Arpaio’s contract with the Crime.com
website, if any; whether Arpaio was paid for the webcam
broadcasts or the sales of merchandise on the website; and the
circumstances surrounding the placement of a camera in the
women’s toilet area. Indeed, factual issues prevent the parties
from even agreeing on how the issue in this case should
properly be framed: Arpaio maintains that the webcams
broadcast images of the “public area” of the jail, while the
plaintiffs insist that the relevant areas are non-public. See App.
3a. Obstacles of this sort are among the reasons that, even
when an important threshold question has been decided by a
court of appeals, this Court will “generally await final judgment
in the lower courts before exercising [its] certiorari
jurisdiction.” Virginia Military Inst. v. United States, 508 U.S.
946 (1993) (Scalia, J., respecting the denial of certiorari); see
Stern and Gressman, Supreme Court Practice § 4.18 (8th ed.
2002). That customary practice is well-suited for the
interlocutory petition in this case. |

The unusual, indeed unique, nature of the facts here also
counsels against review. Unlike the Megan’s Laws and perp
walks at issue in the cases cited in the petition, there is no
indication that Arpaio’s webcam broadcasting is any more
likely to become widespread among correctional agencies than
his other unusual practices.’ As noted at the outset, Arpaio has
publicly stated that he does not expect other jails to imitate his
webcam policy. See Manjoo, supra. There is therefore no

Respondents are aware of only one other jail or prison in the
nation that has installed a webcam. See Anderson County, Tennessee
Sheriff's Department Website, http://www.tnacso.net/cont/jailcam
.php (last visited May 16, 2005). This single camera appears to show
only the front desk of the jail.

17.
reason to believe that the question presented will recur. Absent

any indication that this case presents recurring issues of national
importance, this Court should decline review.

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,
ULISES A. FERRAGUT SCOTT AMBROSE
FERRAGUT & ASSOCIATES Counsel of Record
Suite 1615 AMBROSE LAW FIRM
111 West Monroe Suite 185
Phoenix, AZ 85003 11000 N. Scottsdale Rd.
(602) 324-5300 Scottsdale, AZ 85254
BRIAN WOLFMAN
PUBLIC CITIZEN LITIGATION GROUP
1600 20th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20009
(202) 588-1000

Counsel for Respondents*

May 27, 2005 .

Counsel acknowledge the work of Deepak Gupta, a graduate of
Georgetown University Law Center and Alan Morrison Supreme
Court Assistance Project Fellow at Public Citizen Litigation Group,
who took a lead role in preparing this opposition.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1311%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
