# Amicus Curiae Brief — McGuire v. Reilly

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1289%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 974

## Text

ea, = eS.
he e. r
5 |
s .

No. 04-939 OFFICE OF THE CLERK |

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

MARY ANNE MCGUIRE, RUTH SCHIAVONE,
AND JEAN B. ZARRELLA

Petitioners,
v.

THOMAS F. REILLY, ATTORNEY GENERAL
OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS, et al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

——
Se a

BRIEF OF AMICAE CURIAE DR. ALVEDA KING,
MARLYNDA AUGELLI, SUSANNA BRENNAN AND
NUMEROUS OTHER WOMEN TESTIFYING TO
THE IMPORTANCE OF FREE SPEECH
DURING THEIR ABORTION DECISIONS
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONERS

_— a Se
a — a

MARY ANN GLENDON LUKE STANTON

Of Counsel Counsel of Record
1575 Massachusetts Ave. 24 Lexington Street
Cambridge, MA 02138 Waltham, MA 02452
(617) 495-4769 (781) 736-9600

COLBE MAZZARELLA

265 Essex Street, Suite 202
Salem, MA 01970

(617) 569-5971

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC. BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

LIST OF AMICAE

Ms. Marlynda Augelli
Ms. Susanna Brennan
Ms. Cynthia Brown
Ms. Diane Doe*

Ms. Maria Doe*

Ms. Pilar Doe*

Ms. Rosemary Fedor
Dr. Gail Hayes

Dr. Alveda King

Ms. Bernadette Macy
Ms. Anita Manninen
Ms. Diane Penza

Ms. Esther Ripplinger
Ms. Amy Seltzer

Ms. Susan Swander
Ms. Molly White

Ms. Cindy Williamson

* Indicates amica wishing to remain anonymous.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SOMMERS OIE PAF NUMN EE secsicsasinccascsicsssaccsnvssccssnenenonaces il
INTEREST OF AMICAE PANINI dit phntadenssbasiaseiassnnsenscsnniess l
SUMMARY OF IE, Seiatilabics sapsisagncrtsaasrssinencsads l
I ee 2
I. WOMEN CONSIDERING ABORTION
WANT ACCESS TO THE PETITIONERS’
A locas eatin tic pas esdehashsacicéaies chau acess 2
A. Massachusetts Women Extol
Petitioners’ Speech as Invaluable To
Their Life-Altering Choice of
Forgoing An Abortion ....... Pi aienieataitictas 3
B. Post-Abortive Women Regret Their
Lack of Information During Their
I ees ee Nr, 7
Il. THE FIRST AMENDMENT PROTECTS
PRIVATE SPEECH THAT ENABLES
WOMEN TO MAKE INFORMED
Ry ANNI iin a aA I TAs takai tela sts tancnacsnate scsris 10
A. The First Amendment Protects the
Interests of Women In Having More
Information Rather Than Less
Especially on Fundamental Decisions ....... 1]
B. The First Amendment Protects the
Interests of Women In Hearing
Information From All Speakers
Regardless of Viewpoint .........0ccceceeseeseees 14
Oo, ok 1 SSR INPR roe NC ee eT ees NED 18
I a ech ek la

lk
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES:

44 Liquormart, Inc. v. Rhode Island,

SUT UE A Ce ieee aot earascibntncecnansansbonnn 13
Board of Educ. v. Pico, 457 U.S. 853 (19882) ....ccecceeeeeeees 14
Board of Educ. of Westside Cmty. Schs. (iDist. 66) v.

Mergens, G96 UB. ZO CAGE scsenisinnjercsnasetiscerscosssonssces 13
City of Ladue v. Gilleo, 512 U.S. 43 (1994) woe. 16-17
First Nat’l Bank v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765) (1978) ...........005 17
Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (11965) ........ceeeeeees 13
Hill v. Colorado, 530 U.S. 703 (2000) ............ 15, 16, 16n, 17
Hudgens v. N.L.R.B., 424 U.S. 507 (1976) woo. eeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 15
John Donnelly & Sons v. Campbell,

GSD F268 G Chak Ce, Te westarticeetes Atsstanineebnteabtcavnnes 13
Metromedia, Inc. v. City of San Diego,

433 U5. 460 (S80) o.nchaoueee abinsalasccabeaeiahianiviiens 13
Ohio v. Akron Ctr. for Reproductive Health

(Akron Ef), 49T UR. SOE CA ID ccvcescncctecessceccasesvccscnsess 1]
Peel v. Att’y Registration and Disciplinary

Comm'n of Illinois, 496 U.S. 91 (1990) wo. eeeeeeeeees 11
Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833 (1992) ......... 12

Planned Parenthood v. Danforth, 428 U.S. 52 (1976) .. 2, 12

Police Dep’t.of C ity of Chicago v. Mosley,
SB US. 92 COSTS) ccc cen asamaseseataadiniiatine 14

Rosenberger v. Rector, 515 U.S. 819 (1995) .........e. 14,15

Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe,
$30 U.S. 200 (QOD) sccsccrscersassanncrasns halataehstspneaapesiniattedastenic 13

ili
Turner Broad. Sys., Inc. v. FCC,
Be ns WE ROD iris teh crnssndnsclestentneinratnnsesatsecninealanal 15

Virginia State Board of Pharmacy vy. Virginia
Citizens Consumer Council, 425 U.S. 748 (1976)

> AER NE NE NET a ER Ea PEE Ap Re NOR ALC Sree cae 13, 14
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES:
I alae passim
Py Is es UR, NG, BI PR accactnecacccnnccassoctnovensarsenies 3, 16

ARTICLES & BOOKS:

Benshoof, Janet, The Chastity Act: Government
Manipulation of Abortion Information and The
First Amendment, 101 Harv. L. Rev. 1916 (1988) ...... 15

Fried, Charles, Saying What the Law Is: The
Constitution in the Supreme Court (2004) .......c:cccc0000 14

Glendon, Mary Ann, A Beau Mentir Qui Vient De Loin:
The 1988 Canadian Abortion Decision in Comparative
Perspective, 83 Nw. U. L. Rev. 569 (1989) ........c. 12

Langan, Irene, “A Tale of Twins: Two Living Miracles
of Free Speech,” Mass. Citizens for Life News,

Eg I I ion ia hatch sec ucantchiedbidininaisonntanbionaiaas 6
Redish, Martin H., Freedom of Expression:
Ae er EE PIE CL UITED crnccniccnenccticketscddacencicadcanabcincns 1]

Sandor, Judit, From Ministry Orders Towards
Constitutional Debate: Lesson Drawn from
the Past 50 Years of Abortion Laws in Hungary,

es Ee Sav EE A AUD coscnichinbinnstenniseciedsasbdeaauaadioneecns 12
—— Kathleen M. & Gunther, Gerald,

Constitutional Law (14th ed. 2001) 0... eseeeees 14, 16n

INTEREST OF AMICAE CURIAE |

Amicae, who are listed on the inside cover and described
in the Appendix, are women who attest to the importance of
free speech in their abortion decisions. They include (i)
women from Massachusetts who believe that the speech of
the petitioners and pro-life counselors was invaluable to their
life-altering choice of forgoing abortion, and (ii) post-
abortive women who regret their lack of information during
their decisions. All of these women believe that women
contemplating abortion have the right to an uninhibited flow
of information for their decisions. Amicae believe that laws
like the one at issue here selectively and unconstitutionally
restrict this flow of information to them and similarly
situated women.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Women who have been in the position of patients at
abortion clinics attest to the importance of free speech during
their abortion decisions. These women understand from
firsthand experience that the choice of whether or not to
abort is one of the most difficult decisions that a woman
must make. Yet all of these women agree on the vital
importance of the petitioners’ speech. Regardless of whether
they are pro-choice or pro-life, they each personally testify to
the fact that, at such an important and life-altering moment,
women want as much information about their choice as
possible and do not want the government selectively limiting
how they can be provided that information in the public
forum.

' Counsel for both parties have consented to the filing of this amicus brief.
Theif joint notice of consent is on file with the Clerk of the Court. No
counsel for a party authored this brief in whole or in part. The Pro-Life
Legal Defense Fund, Inc. contributed the printing costs associated with the |
preparation and submission of this brief. Unless otherwise noted, all
statements made by amicae are on file with counsel for amicae curiae.

2

Indeed, this Court has emphasized that the First
Amendment favors more information rather than less,
especially on fundamental and deeply personal decisions.
Women contemplating abortion thus have the right to an
uninhibited flow of information. Moreover, this Court has
consistently held that the First Amendment ensures that the
state may not favor one speaker over another. Women thus
have the right to hear information from all viewpoints—
information about alternatives to abortion, as well as pro-
clinic speech. As a result, the First Circuit’s decision
upholding the Massachusetts “buffer zone” law, which
restricts the overall amount of speech and favors one
viewpoint over another, not only deviates from this Court’s
First Amendment jurisprudence but, in so _ doing,
significantly impairs the ability of women to make fully
informed decisions.

ARGUMENT

I. WOMEN CONSIDERING ABORTION WANT
ACCESS TO THE PETITIONERS’ SPEECH.

All of the amicae attest to the importance of free speech
in their lives and in their decisions. This speech performs
the vital function of providing information for women
contemplating abortion. As this Court has recognized, while
the choice of whether or not to abort is among the most
difficult decisions, women have a right to as much
information as possible about their choice. See Planned
Parenthood v. Danforth, 428 U.S. 52, 67 (1976) (“The
decision to abort, indeed, is an important, and often a
stressful one, and it is desirable and imperative that it be
made with full knowledge of its nature and consequences.
The woman is the one primarily concerned.”).

3

A. Massachusetts Women Extol Petitioners’
Speech as Invaluable to Their Life-Altering
Choice of Forgoing An Abortion.

Many women in Massachusetts attest that the speech of
the petitioners and pro-life counselors was indispensable to
their abortion decisions. These include women whom the
petitioners approached but would have been restricted from
_ approaching if the buffer zone had been in effect at the time.
For example, Maria Doe, Pilar Doe, and Kathleen Richard
are all women from Massachusetts who were considering
abortion before talking to and receiving information from the
petitioners and pro-life counselors. These women believe
that this speech was indispensable to their life-altering
choices to forgo abortion.

Maria Doe chose to forego an abortion after talking with
Mary Anne McGuire outside of an abortion clinic in New
Bedford, Massachusetts. Mary Anne McGuire was only able
to speak with Maria within six feet because, at the time, the
New Bedford clinic had not painted the eighteen-foot lines
that are statutorily required to activate the “buffer zone.”
Mass. Gen. L. ch. 266, § 120E%4(c). Pilar Doe chose to
forego an abortion after talking with pro-life counselors
outside of an abortion clinic in Brookline, Massachusetts. A
speech-related approach within six feet of Pilar was only
able to occur because this clinic also had not demarcated the
buffer zone at that time. Kathleen Richard, who was
deposed earlier in this case, chose to forego an abortion after
talking with pro-life counselors for several hours. The
approach and conversation with Kathleen Richard occurred
within six feet and thus would have been prohibited, but the
buffer-zone statute had not yet been enacted. All of these
women believe that the approach and speech of the
petitioners and pro-life counselors were invaluable to their
life-altering choices of forgoing abortion. However, now
that that “vuffer zone” is in effect, similarly situated women
are restricted from receiving this same valuable information.

4

First, Maria Doe did not want to have an abortion but
believed that she had no other choice before meeting Mary
Anne McGuire. See Statement of Maria Doe (“I was 20
years old and I had lost my job in a factory. I didn’t speak
any English. People told me that it cost $8000 to have a
baby . . . I did not want to have an abortion, but I thought I
had to.”). Maria arrived by taxicab at WomanCare, an
abortion clinic in New Bedford, Massachusetts. Mary Anne
McGuire was only able to approach and speak to Maria
because WomanCare had never painted the statutorily-
required lines to demarcate the buffer zone. If the buffer
zone had been in effect, Mary Anne would have had to
receive the consent of the taxi driver (since the taxi was
parked within the eighteen-foot buffer zone) and then
attempt to receive Maria’s consent to approach in Spanish—
which Mary Anne does not speak. Either of these bizarre
requirements might have alarmed Maria before Mary Anne
could hand her a pro-life booklet in Spanish.

Instead, because there was no, buffer zone restricting
Mary Anne’s approach and speech, she was able to walk
toward Maria and the taxi. Mary Anne handed Maria the
booklet that contained information about abortion and
possible alternatives. See Statement of Maria Doe (“[T]he
booklet . . . showed me what an abortion really is. I didn’t
know that’s what they did in the clinic.”). Maria and Mary
Anne had a long conversation, and, after having an
ultrasound, Maria decided that she did not want an abortion.
See Statement of Maria Doe (“Because of Mary Anne I did
not make the mistake of having the abortion.’’); id. (“She
said she would help my baby to be adopted, but I told her I
wanted to keep my baby.”). Maria and Mary Anne have now
become friends, and Maria is grateful for the information
that Mary Anne was able to give her. See id. (“The way
Mary Anne talked to me was the right way because she gave
me all the information about the abortion.”’).

Joi its inne thaths Bree:

Peres

5

Second, like Maria Doe, Ms. Pilar Doe also decided to
forego abortion after speaking with pro-life counselors. Pilar
Doe explains that the pro-life counselors “became like part
of our family” but that “[i]f the people had to stay six feet
away it would be different” because “[n]o one is going to
listen to them.” Pilar Doe explains that she found out that
she was pregnant in late 2003. She was unemployed, had
recently moved to Massachusetts from Haiti, and she and her
husband were struggling financially. Although believing
that abortion is wrong, Pilar felt that she had to have an
abortion because she did not have any help. She went to an
abortion clinic in Brookline, Massachusetts, but, after talking
with several pro-life counselors, she eventually decided not
to have the abortion. See Statement of Pilar Doe (“‘At first I
didn’t want to listen, but when they’re close to you and they
talk to you, you feel great.”); id. (“We came home and
_ thanked God for these people with tears in our eyes.”).

Pilar contrasts the information that she was given by the
pro-life counselors with the lack of information from her
doctor and nurse. Compare Statement of Pilar Doe (“[The
pro-life counselors’] information changed my life
completely.”) with id. (“Our own doctor didn’t give me any
advice [and] [t]he nurse just gave me a paper with one
address, not two choices, not ‘here’s a place to go for
counseling and they will help you with money.””). Since her
choice Pilar and the pro-life counselors have remained good
friends. See id. (“People go for abortions because they don’t
know where to go to get help,” but the pro-life counselors
“not only give advice, they treat you like family.’’).

Third, like Maria Doe and Pilar Doe, Ms. Kathleen
Richard of Massachusetts has been in the position of an
incoming patient and chose not to abort after talking with
pro-life counselors. In her deposition on behalf of Mary
Anne McGuire and the pro-life petitioners earlier in this
case, Kathleen Richard concludes: “[I]f they had been across
the street, I would never have heard them say ‘We will

6

help.”” Deposition of Kathleen Richard, McGuire v. Reilly,
C.A. # 00-CV-12279-EFH, at *7 (D. Mass. Mar. 20, 2002).
Kathleen Richard describes her own experience of walking
into the clinic before her eventual choice not to abort:

I had to walk by the protesters. . . . I heard
one of them say, ‘Please just talk to us. We
are here for you. Whatever you need we’ll
help you.’ I looked at [my friend] Marie and
tears started streaming down my face. This is
what I wanted more than anything: someone
to talk to, someone who would support me in
all I was going though.

Irene Langan, “A Tale of Twins: Two Living Miracles of
Free Speech,” Mass. Citizens for Life News, Vol. 21, No. 2
(1999) (Interview with Kathleen Richard) (emphasis added);
see also id. (“If those people [the pro-life counselors] hadn’t
been there, what would have happened to me? ...1 didn’t -
want to go through with the abortion, but I felt I had no
choice in the situation I was in. I had no one to turn to. [The
pro-life] volunteers gave me a choice.”’).

Women such as Kathleen Richard, as well as Maria Doe
and Pilar Doe, who have directly benefited from the speech
of the petitioners and pro-life counselors worry about the
effect of the buffer-zone statute on similarly situated women
searching for information. See id. (“There are other people
like me, who feel they have no choice, and no support. What
will happen to them if the pro-lifers aren’t there? I needed
them because I had no one else to turn to. They saved me
that day, and they saved two other lives. If the Buffer Zone
passes, women, children and families will suffer, and I
needed to say that.”); see also Statement of Maria Doe (“A
law like [the buffer-zone statute] would make it difficult for
a person lilxe me who didn’t know anything about abortion.
It would be very, very sad if a person like me could not get
this information.”).

Thus, Maria, Pilar, and Kathleen all attest to the fact that
free speech was both indispensable to their abortion decisions
and one of the best things that ever happened to them. These
Massachusetts women believe that similarly situated women
also want access to this information and do not want the
government selectively limiting the information that they are
allowed to receive.

B. Numerous Post-Abortive Women Express
Regret Over Their Lack of Information
During Their Decisions.

Women who have undergone abortions often express
regret over not receiving information during _ their
decisionmaking process. These post-abortive women state
that, in the pressure and confusion of their decisions, they
wanted to have some information on alternatives, wished to
hear a pro-life voice, or just wanted someone with whom
they could have taiked. These women provide firsthand
accounts about (i) their lack of information, especially on
alternatives to abortion, (ii) the limited viewpoint of the
clinic and its employees, (iii) the internal confusion and
external pressures they experienced, (iv) the unexpected
negative effects of their abortions, and (v) how their
decisions would have differed with more information.

First, these post-abortive women describe how they
wanted more information at the time of their choices. See,
e.g., Statement of Susan Swander (“I had absolutely NO
information prior to any of my 3 abortions. If I had gotten
some—any—TI may not have gone through with them”);
Statement of Cynthia Brown (“Being an engineer, I feel that
the more information and data in front of me the better, so
that I may make an educated decision on my own .. . I did
not receive any information.”); Statement of Esther
Ripplinger (“I am a woman who had an abortion because I

8

did not receive life-affirming information when I asked for
it.””).

Second, the women describe the clinic’s unwillingness to
provide any information on alternatives to abortion. See,
e.g., Statement of Bernadette Macy (“[T]Jhe Planned
Parenthood Clinic . . . gave me absolutely no supportive
alternatives to having an abortion.”); Statement of Amy
Seltzer (“I had the abortion because I was not told of any
alternatives. . . . This would have changed everything.”);
Statement of Esther Ripplinger (“At the clinic, | hoped they
would give compassionate advice. . . . 1 was not made aware
of the many community services available for pregnant
women.”); Statement of Molly White (“I did not know any
information . . . about abortion alternatives or crisis
pregnancy centers where I could go for information and help.
If I would have had this information I would have made a
more informed decision and would not have chosen
abortion.”).

In addition, many women feel that, in addition to the
clinic providing them with no alternatives, the clinic
personnel either stonewalled or actively misled them. See,
e.g., Statement of Molly White (“The abortion clinic workers
did not give me any factual information when I asked for it.
... 1 based a life taking, life altering decision on the lack of
factual information.”); Statement of Rosemary Fedor
(“[B]Jefore going to the abortion clinic they had advised me,
over the phone, not to look at or take anything from people
outside the clinic.”); Statement of Bernadette Macy
(“Planned Parenthood didn’t give me a clue about how
wonderful being a mother is and I believe they are in the
business of making money from abortion.’’); Statement of
Susanna Brennan (“I remember the counselor, in a
condescending, authoritative way, telling us in no way could
we afford a baby. . . . There was no other information given
to us at all—nothing about getting financial and other
assistance, what the actual act of abortion was, or what the

/

9

after effects would do to us. She presented it in a way that
there was no other choice. Period.”).

Third, these post-abortive women testify that they would
have benefited from more information because other
psychological, familial, and sometimes even physical
pressures were impairing their ability to choose. See, e.g.,
Statement of Anita Manninen (“I had an abortion when I was
15 years old, scared and stupid.”); Statement of Rosemary
Fedor (“At that time I was a very scared and confused girl.”’);
Statement of Esther Ripplinger (“I was a scared 19 year old
who wanted to please people. My boyfriend and his family
told me to get an abortion. I did what I was told.”);
Statement of Diane Doe (“The young man who was four
years older than me pressured me to seek an abortion.’’);
Statement of Dr. Alveda King (“There was adverse pressure
and threat of violence from the baby’s father.”).

Fourth, these women also regret that they did not receive
any information on abortion’s possible side effects in their
lives. See, e.g., Statement of Susan Swander (“I was never
informed of what I might experience after the abortions. My
consent was not informed.”); Statement of Amy Seltzer (“I
was not told of the risks to me. . .. This would have changed
everything.”); Statement of Cynthia Brown (“I did not
receive any information regarding the . . . physical,
psychological or emotional effects after an abortion from the
abortion clinic.”); Statement of Anita Manninen (“Our
marriage, my life and my heart were torn apart and ruined
because, a. I was not given the correct information, b. nor
was I ever told that there could be a better way instead of

aborting.’’). |
Fifth, these women describe how their decision would

have been different with more information. See, e.g.,
Statement of Susanna Brennan (“I believe if someone had
approached us outside of the clinic, I would be a proud
parent today.”); Statement of Marlynda Augelli (“If given

10

the choice again I would today have a thirty one year old
child.”); Statement of Bernadette Macy (“Now that I am
better informed, know my legal rights, and the support
systems that are nationwide, I would have never stepped into
that horrible clinic.”); Statement of Molly White (“If
someone was there to talk to me and give me this
information I would have decided against abortion.’’);
Statement of Dr. Alveda King (“I truly wish that I had
received more information about abortion prior to my
decision. .. . I would never have had an abortion.”).

\

Overall, as these post-abortive women attest from their
firsthand experiences, women who have undergone abortions
often regret their lack of information during | their
decisionmaking process. The Massachusetts buffer-zone
statute, by differentially restricting information in general
and speech on alternatives in particular, does a disservice to
all women who are searching for essential information about
their choices.

Il. THE FIRST AMENDMENT PROTECTS
PRIVATE SPEECH THAT ENABLES WOMEN
TO MAKE INFORMED CHOICES.

As demonstrated above, women considering abortion
have a vital interest in information about their choices.
These women do not want the government selectively
limiting how they can be provided that information in the
public forum. The First Amendment prevents the
government from doing just that by protecting all private
speech—regardless of viewpoint—in order to facilitate
informed decisionmaking.

Two fundamental principles of this Court’s First
Amendment jurisprudence protect the free speech nghts of
the petitioners and the corresponding interests of women.
First, the First Amendment favors more information rather
than less information, especially on fundamental and deeply

1]

personal decisions. Women contemplating abortion have a
direct interest in the uninhibited flow of information.
Second, the First Amendment ensures that the state does not
favor one speaker over another. Women have the right to
hear information from all viewpoints—information on
alternatives to abortion, as well as pro-clinic speech. The
First Amendment thereby protects the interests of women in
making fully informed decisions.

A. Women Have the Right To More
Information Rather Than Less Especially
On Fundamental Decisions.

Women considering abortion have the right to an
uninhibited flow of information about their choice, and the
First Amendment prevents the government from limiting
private speech that assists this informed decisionmaking.
Indeed, this Court has emphasized the vital importance of
having unrestricted access to information for individual
decisionmaking. See Peel vy. Att'y Registration and
Disciplinary Comm'n of Illinois, 496 U.S. 91, 108 (1990)
(“The [government’s] authority is necessarily constrained by
the First Amendment to the Federal Constitution, and
specifically by the principle that disclosure of truthful,
relevant information is more likely to make a positive
contribution to decisionmaking than is concealment of such
information.”); see also Martin H. Redish, Freedom of
Expression: A Critical Analysis 22 (1984) (noting that
“[f]ree speech aids all life-affecting decisionmaking, no
matter how personally limited, in much the same manner in
which it aids the political process.”).

This Court has been particularly cognizant of the
importance of information for decisionmaking in the context
of abortion. See Ohio v. Akron Ctr. for Reproductive Health
(Akron II), 497 U.S. 502, 520 (1990) (emphasizing the
importance of information for “the profound philosophic

Ee

12

choices confronted by a woman who is considering whether
to seek an abortion” because “[h]er decision will embrace
her own destiny and personal dignity, and the origins of the
other human life that lie within the embryo”); Danforth, 428
U.S. at 67 (“The decision to abort, indeed, is an important,
and often a stressful one, and it is desirable and imperative
that it be made with full knowledge of its nature and
consequences.”).

This Court’s recognition of the benefits of more
information in the context of abortion can be contrasted with
the experience of other countries—such as Hungary—that in _
the past have been far less concerned about the opportunity
for women to make fully informed decisions. See Judit
Sandor, From Ministry Orders Towards Constitutional
Debate: Lessons Drawn from the Past 50 Years of Abortion
Laws in Hungary, 18 Med. & L. 389, 396 (1999) (“Women
did not receive sufficient medical information before
obtaining abortions; potential disadvantages of the
procedure, and alternatives to it, were not explained to them
adequately. Most women believed that it carried no risk.
Concern for reproductive health was totally missing from the
health care system, in no small part because the
gynaecologists and obstetricians in Hungary are almost
exclusively men.”’).

In contrast to the information-restrictive Hungarian
regime, “France and other countries require [that each]
pregnant woman must be given information about
alternatives to abortion, opportunities for counseling, and
material assistance should she decide to continue the
pregnancy.” Mary Anne Glendon, A Beau Mentir Qui Vient
De Loin: The 1988 Canadian Abortion Decision In
Comparative Perspective, 83 Nw. U. L. Rev. 569, 583
(1989). While this Court’s jurisprudence has similarly
allowed some governmental speech to assist women in their
decisions, see Planned Parenthood v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833,
878, 882-883 (1992), the Court has been even more

, — . —— — — re

13

concerned with assisting women by preventing governmental
restrictions on private speech concerning fundamental
choices. See Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 482
(1965) (“[T]he State may not, consistently with the spirit of
the First Amendment, contract the spectrum of available
knowledge.”); cf: Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 530 U.S.
290, 302 (2000) (“[T]here is a crucial difference between
government speech endorsing religion, which the
Establishment Clause forbids, and private speech endorsing
religion, which the Free Speech and Free Exercise Clauses
protect.”) (quoting Board of Educ. of Westside Cmty. Schs.
(Dist. 66) v. Mergens, 496 U.S. 226, 250 (1990) (opinion of
O’Connor, J.)).

Indeed, even in the traditionally less-protected area of
commercial speech, the Court has stressed, “[i]n case after
case following Virginia Bd. of Pharmacy,” the important
connection between speech and individual decisionmaking
by emphasizing the “importance of free dissemination of
information,” “the antipaternalistic premises of the First
| Amendment,” and the “impropriety of manipulating
| consumer choices or public opinion through the suppression
| of... information.” 44 Liguormart, Inc. v. Rhode Island,

517 U.S. 484, 520 (1996) (Thomas, J., concurring) (citing
Virginia State Bd. of Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizens
Consumer Council, 425 U.S. 748 (1976) and subsequent
opinions by Justices Blackmun, Brennan, Kennedy,
Marshall, Powell, Rehnquist, Stevens, and White). It follows
a fortiori that the First Amendment protects non-commercial
speech—such as the speech of the petitioners—that concerns
individual decisionmaking on fundamental choices such as
abortion. See Metromedia, Inc. v. City of San Diego, 453
U.S. 490, 513 n.18 (1981) (noting that a statutory scheme
that “impacts more heavily on ideological than on
commercial speech” is “a peculiar inversion of First
Amendment values”) (quoting John Donnelly & Sons vy.
Campbell, 639 F.2d 6, 15-16 (1st Cir. 1980)).

14

The First Amendment thus safeguards the individual
decisionmaking power of women by protecting their interests
as listeners and prevents the government from selectively
limiting information. See Board of Educ. v. Pico, 457 US.
853, 867 (1982) (“{T]he right to receive ideas follows
ineluctably from the sender’s First Amendment right to send
them”); Virginia State Board of Pharmacy, 425 U.S. at 756
(“[T]Jhe protection afforded is to the communication, to its
source and to its recipient both.”); see also Charles Fried,
Saying What the Law Is: The Constitution in the Supreme
Court 80 (2004) (“[T]he First Amendment protects the
interests of both speakers and listeners, so that the nght of
people to annoy others with messages they would rather not
hear—as for instance in the case of protesters swarming
about the entrances to abortion clinics, or religious or
political solicitors ringing doorbells—is just as protected
from government interference as the night to read a book or
watch a film. . . . So the free speech right protects two
distinct rights: my right to expression and your right to be the
target of my expression. It protects communication.”’).

B. Women Have the Right To Hear
Information From All Speakers Regardless
of Viewpoint.

Women contemplating abortion have a constitutionally
protected interest in hearing speech from all viewpoints—
from the viewpoint of the petitioners as well as the viewpoint
of the clinic’s personnel. It is axiomatic that the First
Amendment prohibits the government from favoring one
speaker over another. See Rosenberger v. Rector, 515 U.S.
819, 828 (1995); Police Dep’t of City of Chicago v. Mosley,
408 U.S. 92, 97 (1972); see also Kathleen M. Sullivan &
Gerald Gunther, Constitutional Law 1155 (14th ed. 2001)
(“restriction of the expression of a particular point of view
[is] the paradigm violation of the First Amendment.”).

| |

15

“Discrimination against speech because of its message is
presumed to be unconstitutional.” Rosenberger, 515 U.S. at
828-829 (citing Turner Broad. Sys., Inc. v. FCC, 512 USS.
622, 642 (1994) (“Our precedents thus apply the most
exacting scrutiny to regulations that suppress, disadvantage,
or impose differential burdens on speech because of its
content”)); see also Hudgens vy. N.L.R.B., 424 U.S. 507, 520
(1976) (“Above all else, the First Amendment means that
government has no power to restrict expression because of
its message, its ideas, its subject matter, or its content.”).

Viewpoint-neutrality is particularly important for
women’s decisionmaking in the context of abortion because
the “First Amendment values of self-governance and
personal decision-making are undermined by the government
taking a side on the abortion issue and seeking to
indoctrinate the public with its viewpoint.” Janet Benshoof,
The Chastity Act: Government Manipulation of Abortion
Information and The First Amendment, 101 Harv. L. Rev.
1916, 1933-1334 (1988) (concluding that “neutrality
promotes women’s equality interests and furthers both
freedom of conscience and political decisionmaking.”).

Indeed, in Hill itself the Court emphasized that
viewpoint-neutrality was a necessary prerequisite for
maintaining the constitutionality of any buffer-zone statute:

[T]he relevant First Amendment point is that
the statute would prevent both [pro-abortion
and anti-abortion] speakers, unless welcome,
from entering the 8-foot zone. The statute is
not limited to those who oppose abortion. . . .
It applies to all ‘protest,’ to all ‘counseling,’
and to all demonstrators[,] . . . whether they
oppose or support . . . [the] abortion decision.
That is the level of neutrality that the
Constitution demands.

16

Hill v. Colorado, 530 U.S. 703, 725 (2000) (emphasis
added); see also id. at 719 (relying on “the State Supreme
Court’s unequivocal holding that the statute’s ‘restrictions
apply equally to all demonstrators, regardless of
viewpoint”).?

The Massachusetts buffer-zone statute, by contrast,
clearly does not satisfy this necessary prerequisite of
viewpoint-neutrality. Both on its face and as applied, the
Massachusetts statute permits pro-clinic speech while
proscribing pro-life speech.

On its face, the plain text of the buffer-zone statute
specifically exempts all “employees or agents of [the clinic]
acting within the scope of their employment” and all persons
“entering or leaving” the clinic. Mass. Gen. L. ch. 266,
§120E'(b)(1)-(2), (4). The first exemption—the “scope of
employment” exemption—ensures that any privileged
speech will necessarily express the clinic’s view. The
second exemption—the “entering or leaving” exemption—
similarly distinguishes speakers based on viewpoint because
those entering or leaving the clinic will be doing so on the
clinic’s business or with its permission. These two
exemptions, which allow pro-clinic speech while restricting
pro-life speech, make the Massachusetts _ statute
unconstitutional on its face because, as this Court has
consistently recognized, “an exemption from an otherwise
permissible regulation of speech [that] ‘attempt[s] to give
one side of a debatable public question an advantage in
expressing its views to the people’” is unconstitutional. City

> Many commentators have questioned whether the buffer-zone statute in
Hill actually met this stringent standard of neutrality. See, e.g., Kathleen M.
Sullivan & Gerald Gunther, Constitutional Law 1220 (14th ed. 2001)
(questioning whether “the law in Hill, by requiring listeners affirmatively to
consent to speech, ha[s] the likely effect of discriminating in favor of popular
or widely accepted messages and against those that are unorthodox or
unpopular, where the speaker must initiate contact because the listener will
not”); see also Pet. p. 24 n.8.

17

of Ladue v. Gilleo, 512 U.S. 43, 51 (1994) (quoting First
Nat'l Bank v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 785-786 (1978)).

As applied, the statute also permits pro-clinic speech
while restricting pro-life speech. To take just one simple
example of the overt disparity in the statute’s application,
clinic employees and their agents are entirely free to (and
frequently do) approach women without consent to say,
“You don’t have to listen to them,” while the petitioners
cannot approach women without consent to say, “You don’t
have to listen to them”—the exact same words. See, e.g.,
C.A. App. 479-480 (escorts “pretty regularly tell them they
don’t have to listen to us”); id. at 497-501 (noting regular
escort statements such as “You don’t have to pay attention to
these people,” “Stay away from them,” and “You don’t have
to listen to this B-I-T-C-H.”); see also Pet. p. 8-9 (citing a
plethora of examples from the record in which pro-life
speech is suppressed while pro-clinic speech is allowed).

Thus, the Massachusetts buffer-zone statute, both on its
face and in its application, clearly does not satisfy “the level
of neutrality that the Constitution demands.” Hill, 530 U.S.
at 725. By upholding the statute, the First Circuit Court of
Appeals not only deviated from this Court’s First
Amendment jurisprudence but, in so doing, significantly
impaired the ability of women to receive information
beneficial for making informed decisions. In respectfully
submitting this brief in support of the petitioners’ First
Amendment claim, amicae express their desire that the Court
protect their rights, and the rights of women similarly
situated, to receive information equally from all sources
without selective government interference.

18

CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of
certiorartshould be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

MARY ANN GLENDON LUKE STANTON

Of Counsel Counsel of Record
1575 Massachusetts Ave. 24 Lexington Street
Cambridge, MA 02138 Waltham, MA 02452
(617) 495-4769 (781) 736-9600

COLBE MAZZARELLA

265 Essex Street, Suite 202
Salem, MA 01970

(617) 569-5971

March 14, 2005

APPENDIX
DESCRIPTIONS OF AMICAE

Dr. Alveda King, the daughter of civil mghts activist
Rev. A.D. King and the niece of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.,
had one involuntary and one voluntary abortion in the
1970’s. Her first abortion was performed by her private
physician without her consent; she “did not ask for and did
not want an abortion.” Her second abortion was “voluntary”
but undergone as a result of “adverse pressure” and the
“threat of violence” from the father; she explains that the
clinic personnel also misled her by making false assurances.
She now believes that every woman has “a right to know the
serious consequences and repercussions of making a decision
to abort her child” because “when women have information,
they can make informed and wise choices.”

Ms. Marlynda Augelli had an abortion in 1974 and
regrets that she had “no information” about the life of the
child. She indicates that she wishes that she had been “told
the truth” because, if she had known anything about the life
of the unborn child or if she had more information about
childbirth and being a mother, she “would have never made
the choice to end the life of [her] first child.”

Ms. Susanna Brennan had an abortion in 1975 in
Brighton, Massachusetts. She recalls “the counselor, in a
condescending, authoritative way, telling us in no way could
we afford a baby. . . . There was no other information given
to us at all—nothing about getting financial and other
assistance, what the actual act of abortion was, or what the
after effects would do to us. She presented it in a way that
there was no other choice. Period.” Ms. Brennan explains
that her abortion caused her and her husband to “individually
self-destruct” and eventually separate. She believes that “if
someone had approached us outside of the clinic, I would be

a proud parent today and perhaps even married to my
husband.”

2a
\

Ms. Cynthia Brown had an abortion in 1990. As an
engineer, she believes that “the more information and data in
front of me the better, so that I may make an educated
decision on my own.” However, she did not receive any
information regarding her baby’s stage of development or
the physical, psychological, or emotional effects after an
abortion. In counseling other women, she now conveys the
importance of taking time to think through the crisis,
obtaining reliable information, talking with someone
trustworthy, and praying before making a decision that will
affect the rest of one’s life.

Ms. Diane Doe* had abortions in 1972 and 1973 and
considers herself among those “not given the facts prior” to
her abortions. At the time, she says that she was “scared,
uneducated about how an; abortion was performed, and had
not read any books on pregnancy or talked to anyone about
it.” She “had no understanding of what the word 2nd
trimester meant when a Planned Parenthood person told [her]
that ‘time was of the essence.’” She believes that she was
“misled” and that it was an “injustice that we were not fully
informed prior to making a life and death decision of such
great magnitude.”

Ms. Maria Doe* chose to forego an abortion after
talking with Mary Anne McGuire outside of an abortion
clinic in New Bedford, Massachusetts. She was only able to
speak with Mary Anne McGuire within six feet because, at
the time, the New Bedford clinic had not painted the
eighteen-foot lines that are statutorily required to activate the
“buffer zone.” She concludes that “[t]he way Mary Anne
talked to me was the right way because she gave me all the
information about the abortion. A law like [the buffer-zone
statute] would make it difficult for a person like me who
didn’t know anything about abortion. It would be very, very
sad if a person like me could not get this information.”

Ms. Pilar Doe* chose to forego an abortion after talking
with pro-life counselors outside of an abortion clinic in
Brookline, Massachusetts. The pro-life counselors would

3a

not have been able to speak to her within six feet except that
the Brookline clinic had not demarcated the buffer zone lines
at that time. She explains that the counselors “became like
part of our family” but that “[i]f the people had to stay six
feet away it would be different” because “[n]o one is going
to listen to them.” She indicates that “[t]heir information
changed my life completely because it made me think
differently. Now we have a better life because of them.”

Ms. Rosemary Fedor had an abortion in 1997 and “did
not receive any pro-life literature,” even though this “could
have possibly changed my mind.” The abortion clinic had
advised her not to look at or take anything from the sidewalk
counselors outside the clinic. She says that “[l]ooking back I
wish I would have known; they were there to help me not
hurt me.”

Dr. Gail Hayes had abortions in 1977 and 1978 and did
not receive any pro-life information. She explains she might
have changed her mind if she knew that there were other
options, but that she only received information from the
clinic’s personnel. At the time, she wanted to know what
actually happens during the abortion. After suffering
physical and emotional pain as a result of her abortions, her
goal now is to help others “discover the truth about abortion
and its aftermath.”

Ms. Bernadette Macy had an abortion in 1993 and
recalls that Planned Parenthood “gave me absolutely no
supportive alternatives to having an abortion.” She felt that
she was “in such a vulnerable position” that she would have
been open to “any hopeful, encouraging, positive word” to
have the child. She regrets that “there is no warning to
young women about . . . what Planned Parenthood actually
does.”

Ms. Anita Manninen had an abortion when she was
fifteen and, in her words, “scared and stupid.” She believes
that her later problems with drugs, drinking, promiscuity,
and eventually divorce were directly attributable to her
abortion. She concludes that her marriage, her life, and her

ee nem

4a

heart were “torn apart and ruined” because she was “not
given the correct information [and] [n]ever told that there
could be a better way instead of aborting.”

Ms. Diane Penza had an abortion in 1980 and “did not
receive any pro-life information before [she] went into the
clinic.” She wishes that she would have had “someone to
talk to” because she explains that her only reason for having
the abortion was that her husband at the time was on heroin
and it seemed like the best thing to do.

Ms. Esther Ripplinger had an abortion at the age of
nineteen because she “did not receive life-affirming
information when [she] asked for it.” She hoped that the
clinic would give compassionate advice. However, she
explains how she was not made aware of the many
community services available for pregnant women. Instead,
she was “sold” abortion as a “quick-and-painless, routine
procedure” and was erroneously told that “beyond this point”
(viz., the laminaria procedure) “you must not change your
mind.”

Ms. Amy Seltzer says that she had an abortion in 1995
because she was not told of any alternatives. She explains
that if she would have been told of the risks to herself or
what would be done to her child, this would have “changed
everything.” She notes that, while there were pro-life people
outside the clinic, “they were seperated [sic] by a wall and
several yards away so they could not come into contact with
me.”

Ms. Susan Swander says that she had “absolutely NO
information” prior to any of her three abortions in 1968,
1974 and 1991. She states that “[m]y consent was not
informed,” and believes that, if she had gotten some
information, she may not have gone through with the
abortions. While formerly an “ardent pro-choice advocate”
for over thirty-six years, one of her current goals is to try to
get more information to parents who may be considering
abortion. She states that, because “I was never informed of
what I might experience after the abortions,” “I will do my

Sa

part to make sure that a// information is provided to women
who are considering an abortion.”

Ms. Molly White had abortions in 1981 and 1985 but
says that, if someone was there to talk to her and give her
more information, she would have made an “informed
decision” and “would not have chosen abortion.” She lacked
any information on fetal development, abortion procedures,
and the risks of abortion, as well as any information about
alternatives or crisis pregnancy centers. She recalls that
“(t]he abortion clinic workers did not give me factual
information when I asked for it.” Instead, she says that she
based a “life taking, life altering decision on the lack of
factual information,” and concludes that “[t]hey deceived
me and I fell for it.” She believes that her children would be
alive today if there had been sidewalk counselors in front of
the clinics where she went to have her abortions.

Ms. Cindy Williamson had an abortion at the age of
twenty-one but, after the abortion, turned to a life of
“destructive behavior.” Her addiction to drugs and alcohol
resulted in the loss of her job, loss of custody of her
daughter, and an overall feeling of not caring about anything.
She says that, while her daughter was the most important
thing in her life before she had the abortion, afterward she
felt as if she did not deserve to be a mother. For two years,
she has now been a volunteer at a pregnancy care center to
help counsel women who come in for a pregnancy test.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1289%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
