# Opposition Brief — Brosius v. Warden

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1095%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2002
- **Citation:** 537 U.S. 947

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.
| FILED
al JUN 27 2002
No. 01-1588

Jn the Supreme Court of the nited Stifes

MICHAEL TODD BROSIUS, PETITIONER

WARDEN, UNITED STATES PENITENTIARY,
LEWISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

THEODORE B. OLSON
Solicitor General
Counsel of Record
MICHAEL CHERTOFF
Assistant Attorney General
JOHN F. DE PUE
Attorney
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
(202) 514-2217

+

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether petitioner, who was convicted after
court-martial proceedings, is entitled to de novo review
of his challenges to his convictions in federal habeas
corpus proceedings.

2. Whether petitioner was subjected to interroga-
tion in violation of his rights under Miranda v. Arizona,
384 U.S. 436 (1966), and Article 31(b) of the Uniform
Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. 831(b).

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
UII acid crnasdhscsesescndcstishasondasinitichahinniecesshadtnasinehicieseii 1
ITT iotasbisitinssichiciiiddsciptadiisibidesdbanhsathitcaentaneansiadnoatanesisnimsinbinsaaities l
Ia i nhl dteclnaiteemineptabaninanmamnetonis 2
RR REE ERISA In oe DO ee Oe Ee 10
STII - accinssisdsticchessnasiacchetedesiasansiinsistnaihdapenslgnitgadapiaiinsadiapantintasiinddi 18
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Allen v. VanCantfort, 436 F.2d 625 (1st Cir.),

cert. denied, 402 U.S. 1008 (1971) oo... cece cccecereeeeees 12
Burns v. Wilson, 346 U.S. 137 (1953) .............. 7,10, 11, 12,13
Calley v. Callaway, 519 F.2d 184 (5th Cir. 1975),

Cant. Game, 4B UB. GET (1GTG) cncccanscccancsesccsscnenccececcasceseess 7,11
DeChamplain v. Lovelace, 516 F.2d 419 (8th Cir.

EP UUEET dkiddccaghaiennavicttneneittiines peneniecssddnictaspenshanbbenesgensennenmatenssannassees 13
Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981) oo... 9,16
Hatheway v. Secretary of the Army, 641 F.2d 1376

(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 864 (1981) 0... 12
Kauffmam v. Secretary of the Air Force, 415 F.2d

991 (D.C. Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 1013

2 Ee ne ce 13
Lips v. Commandant, 997 F.2d 808 (10th Cir. 1993),

cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1091 (1994) woo. ccceeeeceesees 11
McNeil v. Wisconsin, 501 U.S. 171 (1991) oo... eee 16
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) ......ccecccseeseeseeees ;
Oregon v. Elstad, 470 U.S. 298 (1985) ........cccccscccsssscesseseeee 1
Sisson v. United States, 814 F.2d 634 (Fed. Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 846 (1987) 0... 12
Weiss v. United States, 510 U.S. 163 (1994) .0..0..0..0....0.... 13

Statutes:

Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of
1996, Pub. L. No. 104-132, Tit. I, § 104, 110 Stat. 1218 ... 9

(IIT)

IV

Statutes—Continued:

Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. 801 et seg.:
i I MI nikenstinictesiessatictinsbiteieiesnicntinsianniaas
SEG, RR, OP SPs MRMID cccstnncnsnsinssnaisnsesssnsensnninrensnesion
Pe TP APs ED sicecseinninccestinintnasninnatintensansnants
ee I I iach snerisanenisinnatpinnstsbonnittoantciannion
Bs OE IAs STII sicishinsneciiacinisceieinicininahsteeindanhtaabiinasiinn

Ie allots coeienlicelitinaettaaabieiaiscabiiannieinain

Jn the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 01-1588

MICHAEL TODD BROSIUS, PETITIONER
Vv.

WARDEN, UNITED STATES PENITENTIARY,
LEWISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. la-17a)
is reported at 278 F.3d 239. The opinion of the district
court (Pet. App. 18a-45a) is reported at 125 F. Supp. 2d
681. The order of the Court of Military Appeals, now
the Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces (Pet. App.
65a), is reported at 39 M.J. 378. The opinion of the
Army Court of Military Review, now the Army Court
of Criminal Appeals (Pet. App. 46a-64a), is reported at
37 M.J. 652.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
January 23, 2002. The petition for a writ of certiorari
was filed on April 23, 2002. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

(1)

2

STATEMENT

Following trial by a general court-martial, petitioner
was convicted of unpremeditated murder, in violation of
10 U.S.C. 918 (Art. 118 of the Uniform Code of Military
Justice (UCMJ)). In addition, pursuant to his plea of
guilty, petitioner was convicted of communicating a
threat to kill a commissioned officer, in violation of 10
U.S.C. 934 (Art. 134, UCMJ). As approved by the con-
vening authority, his sentence included confinement for
75 years, a dishonorable discharge, forfeiture of all pay
and allowances, and reduction to the lowest enlisted
grade. The Army Court of Military Review and the
Court of Military Appeals affirmed. Pet. App. 64a, 65a.
Petitioner then filed a petition for a writ of habeas
corpus in the United States District Court for the
Middle District of Pennsylvania. That court denied the
motion, id. at 45a, and the Third Circuit affirmed, id. at
17a.

1. a. On the early morning of June 2, 1990, two
sergeants walking near the parking lot adjacent to an
enlisted barracks on Giebelstadt Kaserne, in Germany,
found Private First Class (PFC) Tammy Ivon, who was
seriously injured as the result of numerous knife
wounds. Her legs were protruding from beneath a
pickup truck. One of the sergeants asked PFC Sherad,
who was passing by, to assist them in rendering aid to
PFC Ivon. When Sherad crawled under the vehicle, he
noticed that Ivon had been bleeding extensively. As he
arose, he observed an individual, whom he subse-
quently identified as petitioner, staring at him from an
adjacent road. Ivon died of her wounds a short time
later. An autopsy revealed that she had been stabbed
four times in the chest, five times in the abdomen, and
one time near each eye. Army Criminal Investigation

Division (CID) investigators located her automobile
near where she was found. The back seat of her car
was covered with blood and a portion of her underpants
was on the floorboards. Pet. App. 2a, 47a-50a.

Evidence presented during a pretrial suppression
hearing showed that, as the investigation developed on
the day of the murder, June 2, 1990, CID investigators
initially focused their attention on two suspects, PFC
David Sparks, Ivon’s boyfriend, and Specialist Randy
Hestekin, Sparks’s roommate. Hestekin had returned
to the base early that morning with blood on his shirt
and had instructed another soldier who observed him
not to reveal what he had seen. Investigator Douglas
M. Allen took Sparks to the hospital for a sexual assault
determination. Pet. App. 20a.

During the late morning of June 2, petitioner awak-
ened his roommate by screaming that Sparks had killed
Ivon. Petitioner then repeated this accusation to his
company First Sergeant, but he acknowledged that he
had been with PFC Ivon on the night of the murder.
The First Sergeant subsequently asked Agent Allen
whether the investigators wished to speak with peti-
tioner. Allen replied, “Yes, if he’s in the area you can
send him down.” After the First Sergeant summoned
petitioner to meet with Allen, petitioner informed Allen
and another agent that PFC Ivon had driven him and
another soldier, whom he did not wish to identify,
back to the base from a local club the previous night.
According to Agent Allen, petitioner then requested
the presence of a lawyer, his First Sergeant, or some
other third party to witness his statements. Allen
responded that lawyers were available at CID
Headquarters, known as “the River Building,” and that
petitioner should go there if he wanted to speak with a
lawyer or someone else. Petitioner’s section sergeant

4

then drove him to the River Building. Pet. App. 3a,
20a-21a, 50a.

At the River Building, Agent Mark Nash questioned
petitioner without advising him of his rights under
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966), or under
Article 31(b) of the Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10
U.S.C. 831(b).’ Before beginning the interview, Agent
Nash informed petitioner that Sparks was the main
suspect and that, if petitioner was concerned about his
rights or began to say anything potentially incriminat-
ing, the agents would stop questioning him and advise
him of his rights. Nash added that Captain Harper
Ewing, a military attorney who was the prosecutor
assigned to the case, would be available to witness the
interview. “When Captain Ewing arrived, [petitioner]
recognized him as [the] attorney who had represented
him in an earlier civil matter.” Ewing made some
preliminary inquiries to ascertain whether that repre-
sentation would prevent him from prosecuting the case.
Although Ewing told petitioner that he now was
“working with the cops,” petitioner voiced no objection
to Ewing’s presence and did not ask Ewing questions or
seek his legal advice. Pet. App. 3a-4a.

Following his interviews, at approximately 10 p.m. on
June 2, petitioner signed a statement acknowledging
that PFC Ivon had given him and another male soldier
a ride back to the base from a club and that he last saw
her at approximately 2:55 a.m. that morning. He also

1 The obligation to provide Miranda warnings applies to
custodial interrogations. Article 31(b) applies in broader circum-
stances, requiring that any person suspected of an offense and
subject to the UCMJ be advised that he need not make a state-
ment and that any statement may be used against him in a trial by
court-martial. See 10 U.S.C. 831(b).

eT TS Te TN ae
Fes ee

stated that Ivon had a troubled relationship with
Sparks. Following the interview, petitioner returned to
his unit. Before he left, the investigators took peti-
tioner’s clothing because it was the same clothing he
had worn to the club the previous evening. Pet. App.
4a, 24a, 50a-5la.

According to Agent Nash, petitioner became a sus-
pect the next morning, June 3, when CID investigators
met about the case and realized that, although
petitioner had stated that there were three persons in
Ivon’s car when it returned to the base in the early
morning of June 2, the gate guard logs reflected that
only two persons were in the vehicle. Nash testified in
the suppression hearing that he knew of the
discrepancy when he interviewed petitioner on June 2
but assumed that the gate guard had made a mistake.
Since then, other evidence had come to light that
implicated petitioner, and Hestekin’s alibis had been
verified. Pet. App. 24a-25a.

Petitioner returned for further questioning on June 4
and 5. On both days, he was advised of his rights under
Miranda and Article 31, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. 831, but
waived his rights and agreed to answer questions. On
June 4, petitioner reiterated his earlier version of
events. On the following day, however, he admitted
that he had killed PFC Ivon and retracted his earlier
statement that there was a third person in her car when
they returned to the base. Petitioner stated that he
had sexual intercourse with Ivon in the back seat of her
car upon returning to the base but attempted to stop
because she was “like a sister” to him. He further
stated that, when Ivon failed to terminate their en-
counter, he stabbed her approximately nine times in the
chest and stomach and also stabbed her across the eyes

6

so she would stop looking at him. Pet. App. 4a-5a, 51a-
52a.

b. Before trial, petitioner moved to suppress his
statements to the investigators. He argued that the
statements made on June 2 were inadmissible because
they were not preceded by warnings under Miranda
and Article 31, UCMJ, and were taken after he had re-
quested the presence of counsel, and that the state-
ments made on June 4 and 5 were tainted by the denial
of his rights on June 2.

The military judge denied the motion. The judge
found that petitioner was not entitled to warnings
under Article 31, UCMJ, because the interviewing
agents neither believed nor reasonably should have
believed that petitioner was a suspect when he was
interviewed on June 2. The judge also determined that
petitioner’s request for a lawyer was not for the pur-
pose of obtaining legal representation or advice but was
a request for an impartial observer. The judge made a
factual finding that petitioner understood that Captain
Ewing was not his lawyer, rejecting petitioner’s con-
tention that he was led to believe that Captain Ewing
was his attorney. Pet. App. 27a-29a.

2. a. The Army Court of Military Review, which is
authorized to make findings of fact as well as rulings of
law, see 10 U.S.C. 866(c), affirmed petitioner’s convic-
tions. Pet. App. 46a-64a. The court rejected peti-
tioner’s argument that his statements on June 2 were
taken in violation of his rights, finding that he “was
neither in custody nor reasonably suspected of killing
PFC Ivon by the CID agents with whom he spoke on
that date.” Jd. at 59a. The court determined that peti-
tioner had voluntarily made the statements in order to
assist the investigation, and that his nervous demeanor
was understandable because he was a friend of the

7

victim and thus would have raised no suspicions in a
reasonable investigator. Jd. at 59a-60a. The court
added that, even if petitioner had been in custody, his
request for counsel was not unequivocal. Jd. at 60.

b. The Court of Military Appeals affirmed without
issuing an opinion. Pet. App. 65a.

3. Petitioner subsequently filed a petition for habeas
relief under 28 U.S.C. 2241. Addressing the standard of
review, the district court observed that, under Burns v.
Wilson, 346 U.S. 137 (1953), “a civilian court may only
review decisions of military courts to determine if the
latter gave the petitioner’s claims full and fair con-
sideration.” Pet. App. 3la. Noting that the test had
been “channeled somewhat” by a four-factor analysis
adopted in Calley v. Callaway, 519 F.2d 184 (5th Cir.
1975) (en bance), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 911 (1976), the
district court stated that it would “not disturb the
military courts’ underlying findings of narrative or
historical facts” but would “review certain mixed
questions of law and fact, such as whether petitioner
was in custody.” Pet. App. 33a.

The court first rejected petitioner’s claim that he was
a suspect when questioned on June 2 and therefore was
entitled to warnings under Article 31, UCMJ. The
court explained that Agent Allen was not yet aware of
the discrepancy between petitioner’s statement and the
gate guard’s logs on whether a third person accompa-
nied petitioner and PFC Ivon back to the base, and that
Agent Nash believed the gate guard had made a mis-
take. Also, the court observed, two valid suspects were
already in custody, and Allen met petitioner while
interviewing a number of soldiers. At that time, Allen
anticipated that petitioner would supply incriminating
evidence against Sparks. As for petitioner’s reliance on
the seizure of his clothing at the end of the interview,

ee

8

the court determined that the argument had been given
full and fair consideration by the Court of Military
Appeals and did not alone constitute a basis for disturb-
ing the conviction. Pet. App. 36a-37a.

The district court also rejected petitioner’s con-
tention that he was “in custody” for Miranda purposes
when questioned on June 2. The court noted that peti-
tioner was cooperative with the investigators at all
times and never asked to leave. Moreover, the court
observed, the Army Court of Military Review had
made a factual finding that petitioner appeared before
the agents voluntarily as a friend of PFC Ivon to assist
in apprehending her killer. Pet. App. 40a-41a.

Finally, the court rejected petitioner’s claim that he
was denied his right to counsel in violation of Miranda.
The court found that petitioner’s initial request for
counsel was ambiguous, and explained that petitioner
was not entitled to Miranda warnings in any event
because he was not in custody when he requested
counsel. Pet. App. 42a-48a.

4. The court of appeals affirmed. Pet. App. la-17a.
The court observed that, in Burns, this Court “applied
a deferential standard of review to the claims that, on
the undisputed facts, the habeas petitioners’ consti-
tutional rights were violated.” Jd. at 8a. Without
attempting a complete elucidation of Burns, the court
concluded that, “at least absent a challenge to the
constitutionality of the statute under which the de-
fendant was convicted, * * * our inquiry in a military
habeas case may not go further than our inquiry in a
state habeas case.” Jd. at 9a. Thus, the court assumed,
“but solely for the sake of argument,” that it could
“review determinations made by the military courts in
this case as if they were determinations made by state
courts.” Ibid. (emphasis omitted). Applying that

9

assumption, the court looked to the habeas standards
set forth in 28 U.S.C. 2254(d), which, pursuant to the
Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996
(AEDPA), Pub. L. No. 104-132, Tit. I, § 104, 110 Stat.
1218-1219, condition habeas relief on a showing that the
prior adjudication of the claim “resulted in a decision
that was contrary to, or involved an unreasonable appli-
cation of, clearly established Federal law, as deter-
mined by the Supreme Court,” or “resulted in a decision
that was based on an unreasonable determination of the
facts in light of the evidence presented.”

The court first addressed petitioner’s claim that he
should have been given Miranda warnings when
interviewed on June 2. After reviewing petitioner’s
_testimony and the testimony of the agents in the
suppression hearing, the court found “no basis for over-
turning the Army Court of Military Review’s deter-
mination that [petitioner] appeared before the CID
agents voluntarily.” Pet. App. lla. As a result, the
court determined, petitioner was not in custody when
he gave his statements on June 2.

The court next addressed petitioner’s claim that he
was a suspect on June 2 and so was entitled to warnings
under Article 31, UCMJ. The court found it unneces-
sary to determine whether petitioner was a suspect,
concluding that any failure to suppress petitioner’s
statements on June 2 was harmless error because those
statements added nothing to the statements he sub-
sequently gave on June 4 and 5. Under Oregon v.
Elstad, 470 U.S. 298 (1985), the court explained, the
subsequent confessions were admissible because they
were preceded by Miranda warnings, which “suffice[d]
to remove the conditions that precluded admission of
the earlier statement.” Pet. App. 16a (quoting Elstad,
470 U.S. at 314).

10

Finally, the court rejected petitioner’s contention
that, under Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981),
the investigators should have suspended their question-
ing when petitioner requested counsel. The court ex-
plained that petitioner could not rely on Edwards
because he was not in custody when he requested
counsel. Pet. App. 17a.

ARGUMENT

Petitioner contends (Pet. 10-19) that the courts of
appeals disagree on the standard of review that
governs habeas claims arising out of court-martial pro-
ceedings. According to petitioner, the court below
should have followed other courts of appeals by ap-
plying a de novo standard of review to his claims. That
contention lacks merit and does not warrant review.

1. In Burns v. Wilson, 346 U.S. 1387 (1953), this
Court addressed the scope of federal habeas review of
military court-martial proceedings. Four Justices
stated in a plurality opinion that,

“(ijn military habeas corpus cases, even more than
in state habeas corpus cases, it would be in dis-
regard of the statutory scheme if the federal civil
courts failed to take account of the prior proceedings
—of the fair determinations of the military tribunals
after all military remedies have been exhausted.”

Id. at 142. Accordingly, the plurality explained, “when
a military decision has dealt fully and fairly with an
allegation raised in [an] application [for habeas corpus],
it is not open to a federal civil court to grant the writ
simply to re-evaluate the evidence.” Jbid. Instead, it
“Is the limited function of the civil courts to determine
whether the military have given fair consideration to
each of these claims.” Jd. at 144. The petitioners

11

therefore could not attempt “to prove de novo * * *
precisely the case which they failed to prove in the
military courts.” Jd. at 146. Justice Minton concurred
in the judgment because, in his view, the proper role of
a federal habeas court in reviewing a court-martial
conviction was limited to determining whether the
court-martial possessed jurisdiction. /d. at 147.

While Burns has not produced a completely clear
standard, see Pet. App. 7a-8a, there is no conflict over
the application of Burns that warrants this Court’s
review in this case. As the court of appeals observed
(id. at 7a), habeas review of court-martial convictions is
most often conducted by the Tenth Circuit because the
United States Disciplinary Barracks is located in Fort
Leavenworth, Kansas. That court reads Burns to
permit habeas review of a military conviction only if,
inter alia, the claim involves a substantial consti-
tutional question and raises an issue of law rather than
fact, and the “military courts failed to give adequate
consideration to the issues involved or failed to apply
proper legal standards.” Lips v. Commandant, 997
F.2d 808, 811 (10th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S.
1091 (1994); see Calley v. Callaway, 519 F.2d 184, 199-
203 (5th Cir. 1975) (en banc) (adopting same stan-
dards), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 911 (1976). Petitioner
could not prevail under that approach, because he does
not argue that the military courts “failed to apply
proper legal standards” or “failed to give adequate
consideration” to his claims. Instead, he seeks de novo
review of the military courts’ application of settled legal
standards to the facts of this case. Pet. 17-18. Accord-
ingly, the district court properly determined that peti-
tioner was not entitled to relief under the Tenth
Circuit’s approach. Pet. App. 32a-33a.

12

Petitioner asserts (Pet. 11-12) that three courts of
appeals have adopted a de novo standard when ad-
dressing habeas challenges to court-martial convictions.
The decisions of two of the three courts of appeals did
not involve a habeas petition, however, but instead
arose in the context of civil proceedings seeking back
pay, reinstatement, and other comparable relief from
sentences imposed by courts-martial. See Hatheway v.
Secretary of the Army, 641 F.2d 1376 (9th Cir.) (federal
question and mandamus claim seeking back pay,
honorable discharge, and lost benefits), cert. denied, 454
U.S. 864 (1981); Sisson v. United States, 814 F.2d 634
(Fed. Cir.) (Tucker Act claim seeking repayment of
forfeited compensation), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 846
(1987). Neither decision purports to adopt or has been
construed by those courts as establishing a de novo
standard for habeas actions.”

The third decision relied on by petitioner, Allen v.
VanCantfort, 436 F.2d 625 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 402
U.S. 1008 (1971), held that, “[wJith respect to consti-
tutional issues, the scope of review in habeas corpus
challenges to military convictions is more limited than
in comparable civilian cases.” Jd. at 629. The court’s
subsequent observation that it would “review briefly
petitioner’s claims on the merits,” id. at 630, does not
establish precedent for a de novo standard, and should
not be so interpreted in light of Burns’ rejection of such
a standard for review of claims, similar to those here,
that confessions had been coerced. 346 U.S. at 145-146

2 In Hatheway, the court could not assess whether the
“constitutional arguments received full and fair consideration” in
the military courts “because none of the military courts articulated
its analysis of them.” 641 F.2d at 1380 n.4.

——_

13

(plurality opinion); id. at 147 (Minton, J., concurring).
See also Pet. App. 8a.

Petitioner also observes (Pet. 10-11, 13) that, while
two courts of appeals apply the same standards of re-
view to habeas challenges to court-martial proceedings
and habeas challenges to state court proceedings, those
courts, unlike the court below, have not applied post-
AEDPA habeas standards in the military context. See
Pet. 10 (citing DeChamplain v. Lovelace, 510 F.2d 419
(8th Cir. 1975), and Kauffman v. Secretary of the Air
Force, 415 F.2d 991 (D.C. Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 396
U.S. 1013 (1970)). There is no conflict on the question,
however, because those cases were decided before
enactment of the AEDPA, and those courts have not
considered the issue since the AEDPA’s enactment.
Moreover, the court of appeals here did not definitively
decide that the AEDPA standards apply to habeas
review of military convictions, but simply held that no
more favorable standards should apply in that context
than the standards that apply to habeas review of state
court convictions. Pet. App. 9a. Petitioner offers no
convincing basis for concluding that habeas review of
court-martial convictions should be less deferential than
habeas review of state court convictions, and he
therefore provides no theory under which he might be
entitled to more favorable collateral review than he
received in this case.°

3 Petitioner suggests (Pet. 17-19) that de novo review is
appropriate because civilian courts are competent to protect mili-
tary members’ legal rights. But petitioner overlooks that military
defendants have recourse to the Court of Appeals for the Armed
Forces, whose judges are civilians, see Weiss v. United States, 510
U.S. 163, 169 (1994), with certiorari review available in this Court,
28 U.S.C. 1259. After the completion of that review, finality con-
siderations that are fundamental to habeas review argue strongly

14

2. In any event, even if, as petitioner maintains (Pet.
17-19), a de novo standard of review should be applied
to his claims, petitioner still would not be entitled to
relief.

a. Petitioner contends (Pet. 21-24) that he was “sus-
pected of an offense” under Article 31(b), UCMJ, when
questioned on June 2, and therefore should have been
advised of his right to remain silent. 10 U.S.C. 831(b).
He asserts that, while the district court emphasized the
subjective belief of the investigators that petitioner
was not a suspect, their subjective belief was not objec-
tively reasonable. That fact-bound contention lacks
merit.

The military judge found that neither of the agents
who questioned petitioner “believed, nor reasonably
believed, nor should they have reasonably believed that
[petitioner] was a suspect on 2 June 1990,” and that “no
ground existed for them to believe that the accused was
a suspect.” Pet. App. 28a (emphasis added). The Army
Court of Military Review likewise found that petitioner
was not “reasonably suspected of killing PFC Ivon by
the CID agents with whom he spoke on [June 2].” Jd. at
59a (emphasis added). And the district court, after
determining that the military judge’s findings “support
an honest belief on the part of the investigators that
[petitioner] was not a suspect,” added that “there was
objective evidence in the record to support the agents’
personal belief.” Jd. at 37a. Both the military courts
and the district court thus concluded that the investi-
gators’ belief that petitioner was not a suspect was
objectively reasonable in view of the available evidence.

against applying a de novo standard, particularly in the military
setting.

15

There is ample support for that conclusion in the
record. By the time the agents interviewed petitioner,
both Hestekin and Sparks had been taken into custody
and had been identified as the principal suspects. Pet.
App. 37a. The agents believed that petitioner had ap-
proached them voluntarily to assist them in the investi-
gation. Id. at 59a. They also assumed that petitioner
would supply incriminating evidence against Sparks,
and petitioner did so by describing Sparks’s troubled
relationship with Ivon. Id. at 3a, 37a. While petitioner
might have appeared nervous or agitated, his condition
was reasonably attributable to the fact that his friend
had been murdered. Jd. at 37a. And although peti-
tioner’s statement that a third person had been in
Ivon’s car was not consistent with the gate entry log,
the discrepancy was unknown to one of the agents and
the other agent assumed that the gate entry log was in
error. Ibid. The record indicates that additional evi-
dence implicating petitioner had been uncovered by the
time he became a suspect, and Hestekin’s alibis had
been verified. Id. at 24a-25a.*

b. Petitioner also contends (Pet. 25-28) that he was
in custody on June 2 and thus was entitled to be advised
of his rights pursuant to Miranda v. Arizona, 384 US.
436 (1966). Petitioner bases his argument on the asser-
tion that he was ordered by the First Sergeant to meet
with the investigators and was later escorted under

4 Petitioner relies (Pet. 22) on the fact that the agents took his
clothing at the termination of the June 2 interview. As the district
court found, however, that argument alone does not warrant
granting habeas relief. Pet. App. 37a. Also, petitioner did not
raise the argument in either of the military courts with factfinding
authority, but instead raised it for the first time in the Court of
Military Appeals.

16

guard to the River Building for further questioning.
That fact-bound claim is without merit.

As the court of appeals correctly determined after
reviewing the testimony in the suppression hearing,
there is no basis for overturning the finding of the
Army Court of Military Review that petitioner ap-
peared before the agents voluntarily. Pet. App. 1la-
13a. Although the First Sergeant had directed peti-
tioner to meet with the agents after asking them
whether they would like to see him, that happened only
because petitioner had stated that he was with PFC
Ivon before her murder and wished to inform the
agents about it. Jd. at lla-12a. As for petitioner’s
suggestion that he was in custody because he was
escorted to the River Building, petitioner simply was
provided transportation to the River Building after he
voluntarily decided to go there to continue his inter-
view. Jd. at 13a-l14a. In fact, petitioner “himself does
not appear to have testified that he felt compelled to go
to the River Building.” Jd. at 14a.

c. Finally, petitioner claims (Pet. 19-21) that the
investigators violated his rights under Miranda by
continuing to question him after he requested counsel.
As the court of appeals explained (Pet. App. 17a), how-
ever, the obligation to cease questioning on a request
for counsel only arises if the subject is in custody. See,
e.g., McNeil v. Wisconsin, 501 U.S. 171, 178 (1991)
(Miranda “requires * * * some statement that can
reasonably be construed to be an expression of desire
for the assistance of an attorney in dealing with
custodial interrogation.”); Edwards v. Arizona, 451
U.S. 477, 482 (1981) (“Miranda * * * declared that an
accused has a Fifth * * * Amendment right to have
counsel present during custodial interrogation.”).

17

Petitioner, as explained above, was not in custody when
questioned on June 2.

d. For the reasons explained by the court of appeals
(Pet. App. 14a-16a), any error concerning the admissi-
bility of petitioner’s statements on June 2 was harm-
less. Petitioner’s statements simply acknowledged that
PFC Ivon drove him and another soldier back to the
base early that morning, and that he had last seen her
at about 2:55 a.m. Those statements were no different
from statements he made to other witnesses who testi-
fied at trial. Jd. at 15a. On June 4 and 5, after being
advised of his rights and waiving them, petitioner
acknowledged that there was no third person in Ivon’s
car and admitted that he had stabbed Ivon to death
while having sexual relations with her. Jd. at 4a-5a.

Any violation of petitioner’s rights in connection with
his statements on June 2 would not affect the admissi-
bility of the subsequent confessions. As this Court has
explained,

“absent deliberately coercive or improper tactics in
obtaining the initial statement, the mere fact that a
subject has made an unwarned admission does not
warrant a presumption of compulsion. A subse-
quent administration of Miranda warnings to a
suspect who has given a voluntary but unwarned
statement ordinarily should suffice to remove the
conditions that precluded admission of the earlier
statement.”

Oregon v. Eistad, 470 U.S. 298, 314 (1985).

18

CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

THEODORE B. OLSON
Solicitor General

MICHAEL CHERTOFF
Assistant Attorney General

JOHN F. DE PUE
Attorney

JUNE 2002

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1095%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
