# Opposition Brief — Cohen v. World Omni Financial Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1079%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 933

## Text

6

On September 29, 2004, Cohen filed a Petition for
Writ of Certiorari in the Florida Fourth District Court of
Appeal arguing that the Circuit Court, sitting in its
appellate capacity, departed from the essential require-
ments of law in failing to apply settled precedents and in
affirming the County Court’s decision, which Cohen
contended was based upon an inapplicable statute (i.e.,
Fla. Stat. § 212.06(8)(a)). [App. 138-160]. Once again,
Cohen argued not that the operative statute was unconsti-
tutional, but that the courts’ construction of the statute
was erroneous.

On February 15, 2005, the Fourth District Court of
Appeal denied Cohen's Petition for Writ of Certiorari
without opinion. {[App. 151-162]. Cohen then filed a Motion
for Rehearing seeking yet a third review of the decisions
below. Cohen also filed a Request Certifying that a Federal
Question had been raised and decided for the purpose of
establishing entitlement to certiorari review by the United
States Supreme Court. (App. 163-165]. The Fourth District
Court of Appeals denied both motions. |App. 166-167].
Cohen has now petitioned this Court for the issuance of a
writ of certiorari.

de
v

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

This Court should deny the Petition for Writ of Certio-
rari for the following reasons: (1) the issue presented by
Petitioner was not properly raised and decided by the
courts below; (2) the decisions below rested on adequate
and independent state grounds; and (3) there are no issues
worthy of this Court’s review. As to the last point, there is
no division of authority among the appellate courts, nor is

there any other justification for review. Furthermore, the
courts below clearly followed established precedent and
reached the correct result.

A. THE ISSUE PRESENTED IN THIS PETITION
WAS NOT PROPERLY RAISED OR DECIDED
BY THE COURTS BELOW

It is axiomatic that with “very rare exceptions”, the
United States Supreme Court will not review a state court
decision unless a federal question has been raised and
decided by the state court. 28 U.S.C. § 1257. See Adams v.
Robertson, 520 U.S. 83, 86 (1997). Where it is unclear
whether a state court has ruled on a federal issue, the
Supreme Court will assume that the federal question was
not decided and will deny the writ of certiorari unless the
petitioner can demonstrate that the federal question was
indeed presented to the state court and ruled upon. See
Board of Dir. of Rotary International v. Rotary Club of
Duarte, 481 U.S. 537, 549-550 (1987). In other words, the
Supreme Court will attribute the state court’s decision to
an interpretation of state law, unless another reasonable
basis is apparent. Here, the record reveals that the deci-
sions below were based on independent and adequate state
grounds, and not on federal law.

The question presented by Cohen in this Petition is
whether Florida’s refusal to grant a tax credit for sales tax
previously paid on the entire stream of lease payments to
the State of New York violates the dormant Commerce
Clause. Cohen argues that Fla. Stat. § 212.06(7) and (8)(a)
must be construed in a way which would save the statute’s
constitutionality. To do so, Cohen argues that he must be
provided with a credit for sale taxes previously paid to
New York on the leased vehicle. See Cohen’s Petition for

8

Writ of Certiorari, p. 22. In framing the issue as such, it is
unclear whether Coher. now contends that the operative
statute is itself unconstitutional or whether he simply
contends that the cour:s below erred in interpreting the
statute because their rulings necessarily subject Cohen to
cumulative and discriminatory sales and use tax in viola-
tion the Commerce Clause. Irrespective, Cohen’s Petition
either presents a question that was not properly raised
and considered below, or one which is not reviewable by
this Court.

In Cohen's Answer and Affirmative Defenses |App. 26-
36], he alleged, among other things, that World Omni
breached the Lease by charging Florida Sales and Use Tax
or, in the alternative, by failing to provide Cohen with a
refund for the portion of New York sales tax already paid.
For purposes of this Petition, this allegation does not
challenge the constitutionality of the statute.’ [App. 2].

In response to Worid Omni’s Motion for Final Sum-
mary Judgment on Cohen’s Counterclaim [App. 45-63],

* Had Cohen wished to challenge the constitutionality of the operative
statute, as a matter of law, he should have filed an action aguinst the
Department of Revenue or filed a petition under the applicable provisions
of Chapter 120, Florida Statutes. See Department of Revenue v. Kuhnilein,
646 So. 2d 717 (Fla. 1994) (Florida residents brought an action against the
Department of Revenue challenging the constitutionality of impact fees
which were imposed on cars purchased or titled in other states but
subsequently registered in-state); Sharper Image Corp. v. Department of
Revenue of State, 704 So. 2d 657 (Fla. lst DCA 1997) (retailer filed suit
against Department of Revenue challenging the assessment of use tax
pursuant to Fla. Stat. § 212.06 on its distribution of catalogs in Florida), see
also, Barringer v. Griffes, 1 F.3d 1331 (2d Cir. 1993) (plaintiff filed suit
against the Vermont Motor Vehicle Commissioner on the ground that
Vermont's failure to grant a tax credit violated the commerce clause).
Notably, the Supreme Court denied plaintiffs petition for writ of certiorari.
Griffes v. Barringer, 510 U.S. 1072 (1994).

9

Cohen did not challenge the constitutionality of the
operative statute, but instead argued that the exemption
contained in Fla. Stat. § 212.06(8)a) was inapplicable to
the facts of this case and that the statutory construction
proposed by World Omni would subject him to cumulative
and discriminatory sales and use tax in violation of the
Commerce Clause. Curiously, Cohen went on to advise the
lower court that it “need not reach the statutory and consti-
tutional issues in order to determine the case.” [App. 59].
Indeed, the lower court did not reach the federal question
when it granted World Omni’s Motion for Summary Judg-
ment on Cohen’s Counterclaim. There was no need to
consider the issue as: (1) there were independent bases for
summary judgment based on Cohen’s failure to repair the
Vehicle and make the final two monthly lease payments;
and (2) Fla. Stat. § 212.06(8)(a) clearly “required World
Omni to collect the sales and use tax on the leased vehicle
when Cohen moved to Florida ... [Accordingly, Cohen was
not] entitled to a credit for the payment of the New York
sales tax...” [App. 65].

On appeal, Cohen argued that the lower court erred in
interpreting the statute. Specifically, Cohen argued that
the lower court’s finding that he was not entitled to a
credit against the Florida Sales and Use Tax was necessar-
ily erroneous because it resulted in a statutory interpreta-
tion which violated the Commerce Clause. Cohen concedes
that the Circuit Court never considered the federal ques-
tion presented in this Petition when it affirmed the lower
court’s decision.

On September 29, 2004, Cohen filed a Petition for
Writ of Certiorari to the Fourth District Court of Appeal.
[App. 138-160]. Once again, Cohen argued that the County
and Circuit Courts’ construction of the statute was errone-
ous (i.e., they misapplied the law and failed to follow

10

binding p:~cedents), which resulted in the discriminatory
treatment « out-of-state leases in violation of the Com-
merce Clause. [App. 147-148, 151]. A court’s erroneous
application of a statute undeniably does not violate the
Constitution. See Hohn v. U.S., 524 U.S. 236 (1998).
Accordingly, the Fourth District Court of Appeal denied
Cohen’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari. [App. 161-162].
While no opinion was published, it is clear that the Fourth
District never considered the federal question presented
herein. Furthermore, the Fourth District denied Cohen’s
motion for a certificate that a federal question was raised
and decided. {App. 163-165, 166-167].

In order to grant certiorari review, the constitutional-
ity of a state statute must be presented and decided by the
state court; it is legally insufficient to merely attack the
tax levied or to show that the imposition of the tax was
considered. See Wilson v. Cook, 327 U.S. 474 (1946). “The
purpose of this requirement is to make certain that no
judgment of a state court will be reviewed on appeal by
this Court unless the highest court of the state has first
been apprised that the state statute is being assailed as
invalid on federal grounds.” Id. at 479. “This jurisdictional
requirement is satisfied only if the record shows that the
question of the validity under federal law of the state
statute, as construed and applied, has either been pre-
sented for decision to the highest court of the state or has
in fact been decided by it, and that its decision was neces-
sary to the judgment.” /d. (citations omitted). It cannot
reasonably be disputed that the record in this case fails to
reveal that the federal question was presented and decided
upon by any of the courts below.

* Even if the federal question had been properly raised and
decided, Cohen's Petition seeks mere error correction. It is well
(Continued on following page)

1i

World Omni respectfully submits that there is nothing
about this case that would justify a departure from this
Court’s practice of requiring that a federal issue be raised
and ruled upon before reviewing a state court judgment.
To this point, in “cases coming here from state courts in
which a state statute is assailed as unconstitutional, there
are reasons of peculiar force which should lead us to
refrain from deciding questions not presented or decided
in the highest court of the state whose judicial action we
are called upon to review ... Apart from the reluctance
with which every court should proceed to set aside legisla-
tion as unconstitutional on grounds not properly pre-
sented, due regard for the appropriate relationship of this
Court to state courts requires us to decline to consider and
decide questions affecting the validity of state statutes not
urged or considered there.” McGoldrick v. Compagnie
Generale, 309 U.S. 430, 435-436 (1940). See also, Miami-
Dade County v. Omnipoint Holdings, Inc., 863 So. 2d 195,
199 (Fla. 2003) (“a petition seeking certiorari review is not
the proper procedural vehicle to challenge the constitu-
tionality of a statute. ...” Such challenge must be deter-
mined in original proceedings). It is for these reasons that
this Court has consistently refused to consider any
grounds of attack not raised or decided in the state court.
See Howell v. Mississippi, 125 S.Ct. 856 (2005) (claim not
presented in the lower court may not be raised for the first
time in the Supreme Court). Based on the foregoing, World

established that certiorari is not the appropriate mechanism for
correcting perceived errors by the lower court. See Rogers v. Missourn
PR. Co., 352 U.S. 500, 531 (1957) (Frankfurter, J. dissenting); Ivey v.
Allstate Ins. Co., 774 So. 2d 679, 682 (Fla. 2000); see also, Supreme
Court Rule 10 (“A petition for a writ of certiorari is rarely granted when
the asserted error consists of erroneous factual findings or the misap-
plication of a properly stated rule of law.”).

12

Omni submits that the Petition for Writ of Certiorari
should be denied.

B. THE DECISIONS BELOW WERE DECIDED
ON ADEQUATE AND INDEPENDENT STATE
GROUNDS AND, THEREFORE, ARE NOT SUB-
JECT TO THIS COURT’S REVIEW.

The Supreme Court has long adhered to the principle
that “it will not review judgments of state courts that rest
on adequate and independent state grounds.” Herb v.
Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117, 125 (1945); see also Coleman v.
Thompson, 501 U.S. 722, 729 (1991) (“in the context of
direct review of a state court judgment, the independent
and adequate state ground doctrine is jurisdictional”). In
other words, the Supreme Court will not review a state
court decision if state grounds are sufficient to sustain the
judgment. See Lynch v. People of New York, 293 U.S. 52
(1934), Lambrix v. Singletary, 520 U.S. 518, 522-523
(1997). “(T]he duty of this Court is to decide actual contro-
versies by a judgment which can be carried into effect, and
not to give opinions upon moot questions or abstract
propositions, or to declare principles or rules of law which
cannot affect the matter in issue in the case before it.”
Local No. 8-6, Oil, Chem. & Atomic Workers Int'l Union v.
Missouri, 361 U.S. 363, 367 (1960) (citations omitted). As
explained by the Court in Pitcairn, “|the Supreme Court's}
only power over state judgments is to correct them to the
extent that they incorrectly adjudge federal rights.” Id.,
324 U.S. at 125-126 (emphasis added). “A decision made
according to the form of the law and the rules prescribed
for rendering it, although it may be erroneous in its
conclusion as applied to the facts, is not an illegal or
irregular act or proceed:ng remedial by certiorari.” Ivey v.

13

Allstate Ins. Co., 774 So. 2d 679, 682 (Fla. 2000). See also,
Wait v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259, 265, n.5 (1981) (“certiorari
jurisdiction is designed to serve purposes broader than the
correction of errors in particular cases”).

As discussed above, the federal question raised in this
Petition was not considered by the courts below because it
was not properly raised, and even if it had been properly
raised, there were independent and adequate state
grounds to support the lower court’s decisions, thus mak-
ing consideration of the federal question presented herein
unnecessary. The record confirms that Cohen defaulted
under the Lease based on three independent bases; (1) his
failure to pay the Florida Sales and Use Tax;’ (2) his
failure make the final two (2) monthly payments under
section 12(a) of the Lease. [R. 2817-2821]; and (3) based on
his destruction of the Vehicle and failure to authorize
mechanical and collision repairs as required by sections 12
and 17 of the Lease. [App. 4-19]. Remarkably, up until he
testified at trial, Cohen steadfastly maintained that he had
no obligation to return the Vehicle in working order. Thus,
regardless of whether Cohen defaulted under the Lease
be .ed on his failure to pay the additional Florida Sales and
Use Tax,’ there were at least two other independent and

” Pursuant to Section 26 of the Lease, Cohen had a contractual
obligation to pay “all excise, use, personal property, gross receipts and
other taxes incurred during the term of the Lease ... The taxes you
must pay will be included in the Amount Due when Lease is Signed (see
Paragraph 1) or your Monthly Payment (see Paragraph 3) or separately
billed to you by Lessor. Lessor may change your Monthly Payment for
increases and decreases in taxes. (Emphasis added). |App. 15).

* Even assuming that Cohen's failure to pay the Florida Sales and
Use Tax was the sole ground for default, certiorari review is not
warranted here because this finding did not involve a determination of

(Continued on following page)

14

adequate state grounds to support the lower court’s
decisions. See Firestone v. Firestone, 263 So. 2d 223, 225
(Fla. 1972) (final judgment may be affirmed on appeal if
the record as a whole discloses any ground upon which the
Order can be supported).

In sum, the Supreme Court should not grant certiorari
to review decisions of a state court where the basis of a
state court’s decision makes consideration of the federal
question unnecessary. In the case at bar, if this Court were
to entertain the question presented herein, it would be
rendering a ruling without any effectual relief as there
were independent and adequate state grounds to support
the decisions below. This is particularly true in light of the
fact that the operative statute has since been amended to
provide a credit where a taxpayer can document the use of
his/her vehicle outside the State of Florida and that a
sales tax is being paid in another state. See Fla. Stat.
§ 212.05(1)(c)2. See also, TAA 00A-060. (Fla. Dept. Rev.
October 26, 2000). Accordingly, the question presented by
Cohen in this Petition will have no impact beyond this
dispute and, therefore, certiorari review should be denied.

C. THE COURTS BELOW CORRECTLY INTER-
PRETED AND APPLIED FLA. STAT. § 212.06.

Even if it were appropriate for this Court to take the
extraordinary step of granting certiorari to review a claim
of error in the application of settled law, simply stated,
Cohen’s claims of error are wrong. Cohen contends that he
had no obligation to pay Florida Sales and Use Tax under

federal law. Accordingly, review of this finding would not decide the
issue raised in this Petition.

15

Fla. Stat. § 212.06(7) because he was already paying the
sales tax to the State of New York.’ In pertinent part, Fla.
Stat. § 212.06 provides as follows:

(7) The provisions of this chapter do not ap-
ply in respect to the use or consumption of
tangible personal property or services, or
distribution or storage of tangible personal
property for use or consumption in this
state, upon which a like tax equal to or
greater than the amount imposed by this
chapter has been lawfully imposed and
paid in another state, territory of the
United States, or the District of Columbia
... If the amount of tax paid in another
state, territory of the United States, or
the District of Columbia is not equal to or

greater than the amount of tax imposed
by this chapter, then the dealer shall pay
to the department an amount sufficient to
make the tax paid in the other state, ter-
ritory of the United States, or the District

* Curiously, it does not appear that Cohen has ever challenged New
York’s tax scheme, which imposes an up-front sales tax on multi-year
leases of vehicles, but does not permit a refund of sales tax paid even
where the lessor changes his/her residence. See N.Y. Tax Law § 1111(i);
see also In Matter of the Petition of Thomas Gallagher, 2003 WL
22466172 (N.Y. Tax App. Trib., DTA No. 819115, October 23, 2003)
(lessor was not entitled to a credit or refund of sales tax paid at the
inception of the lease when he moved to New Jersey and was also
required to pay New Jersey sales tax for the remaining thirty (30)
months on the lease) [App. 179-184]; Moerdler v. Tax Appeals Tribunal
of State of New York, 298 A.D. 2d 778, 750 N.Y.S.2d 329 (N.Y. A.D. 2002)
(the New York State Tax Appeals Tribunal affirmed the decision of the
Division of Tax Appeals and held that a taxpayer was not entitled to a
refund for sales tax that was paid in full when the lease was terminated
after three months because the vehicle was stolen).

16

of Columbia and this state equal to the
amount imposed by this chapter.

Use tax will apply and be due on tangible
personal property imported or caused to
be imported into this state for use, con-
sumption, distribution, or storage to be
used or consumed in this state; provided,
however, that, ... it shall be presumed
that tangible personal property used in an-
other state, territory of the United States,
or the District of Columbia for 6 months or
longer before being imported into this state
was not purchased for use in this state. The
rental or lease of tangible personal property
which is used or stored in this state shall be
taxable without regard to its prior use or tax
paid on purchases outside this state. (Em-
phasis added)

Similarly, Fla. Admin. Code R. 12A-1.7(14) provides as
follows:

(a) The rental or lease of an aircraft, boat, mo-
bile home, or motor vehicle, which is used or
stored in this state, shall be taxable without
regard to its prior use or tax paid on the
purchase outside this state.

Without any legal support, Cohen argues that the
courts below should have disregarded Fla. Stat. § 212.06(8Xa)
because he never requested an exemption. Cohen further
argues that § 212.06(8Xa) cannot be read in conjunction
with § 212.06(7) because it would produce an inconsistent
result. Cohen’s construction is illogical and is unsupported
by any legal authority. In fact, Cohen’s construction was
rejected by the Florida Department of Revenue in its Techni-
cal Assistance Advisements (“TAA”). See TAA 2001A-063,

17

2001 WL 1358013 (Fla. Dept. Rev. Oct. 4, 2001). [App. 168-
178]. Unbeknownst to World Omni or the lower court, on
August 29, 2001, Cohen requested a TAA on this very
issue." In response to Cohen’s Request, the Department of
Revenue held that indeed sections 212.06(7) and (8)(a)
must be read together; the “credits set forth in these
subsections extend to certain transactions, but not to the
rental and lease of tangible personal property which is
used or stored in this state.” Jd. at *5. The Department of
Revenue went on to hold that World Omni correctly
applied Florida sales tax to Cohen’s montnly lease pay-
ments irrespective of the fact that Cohen previously paid
sales tax to New York. Jd."' Likewise, the courts below
correctly held that Cohen had a statutory obligation to pay
Florida Sales and Use Tax.

=

CONCLUSION

Review of a writ of certiorari is not a right, but a
matter of discretion that will only be granted under
exceptional circumstances. Here, Cohen has offered no
compelling reason for this Court to exercise its discretion-
ary power, there is no conflict between the appellate courts

* As Cohen is a lawyer admitted to the Florida Bar in 1987, his
failure to disclose this TAA may well violate Rule 4-3.3(aX3) of the Rules
Regulating the Florida Bar.

" The Department of Revenue also noted that when the dealer in New
York remitted the sales tax for Cohen at the inception of the lease, it was to
be reimbursed by Cohen over the next thirty-six (36) months. The invoices
from June 1995 to June 1996, however, do not indicate an amount for sales
tax even though a separate column for sales/use tax was present. This
caused the monies paid for reimbursement to lose their identity as sales
tax and, therefore, the entire amount of the lease payment became subject
to Florida Sales and Use Tax. Jd. at *5. [App. 179-184].

18

presented, and the courts below correctly applied existing
law. For the foregoing reasons, Cohen’s request for a Writ
of Certiorari does not demonstrate the requisite excep-
tional circumstances and should be denied.

*

RESPONDENT’S REQUEST FOR
ATTORNEYS’ FEES AND COSTS AS DAMAGES

Pursuant to Rule 42(2) of the Supreme Court Rules.
when a petition for writ of certiorari is frivolous, the Court
may award the respondent damages and single or double
costs under Rule 43. In determining whether an appeal is
frivolous, the standard is one of objective reasonableness
under the circumstances. While Petitioner, Richard D.
Cohen (“Cohen”), signs pleadings indicating that he is
representing himself “Pro Se”, Cohen is actually an ex-
perienced attorney who has been a Member of the Florida
Bar since 1987. Incredulously, early in this case Cohen
advised the lower court that he was “just a lay consumer
who entered into a lease . . . {and that he] should not have
to deal with a ‘patchwork quilt’ of conflicting and/or
inconsistent State Sales Tax Law” [App. 4). Clearly, Cohen
should be held to the same objective standard as counsel
representing a third party. See Segarra v. Messina, 153
F.R.D. 22, 29 (N.D.N.Y. 1994); see also, Wesley v. Don Stein
Buick, Inc., 184 F.R.D. 376 (D. Kan. 1998) (Rule 11 sanc-
tions were appropriate egainst an attorney appearing pro
se, where he advanced frivolous claim).

Cohen's Petition for Writ of Certiorari is patently
frivolous as he misstates the facts, omits certain key facts,
and advances arguments without any legitimate basis in
law. Indeed, almost every pleading and motion filed by
Cohen in the lower court evidences unreasonable and

19

vexatious conduct. Not surprisingly, Cohen has a long
history of unsuccessful appeals in this case, including
three separate appeals and a Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the Fourth District Court of Appeal.”

Based on the foregoing, World Omni requests that the
Petition be denied and further, that the Court award
World Omni its reasonable attorney's fees and costs, and
such further relief as is just and proper.

Respectfully submitted,

ALLISON KAY GRANT, Esq.
Florida Bar No.: 858330
Counsel of Record for Respondent
RITTER, CHUSID, BIVONA &
COHEN, LLP
7000 Palmetto Park Road,
Suite 305
Boca Raton, Florida 33433
Telephone: (561) 394-2180
Facsimile: (561) 394-2583

" As mentioned above, Cohen has also filed two separate appeals
and two Writs of Prohibition regarding the award of attorney's fees and
costs to World Omni.

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Page
Complaint for Damages dated January 1, 2000....... App. 1
Cohen’s Answer, Affirmative Defenses and Coun-
terclaim dated February 2, 2000..............0....0... App. 26
World Omni’s Motion for Summary Judgment
GNOGE Mine By BOO aims sassitactnderssentrtsssioeliatrisintesys App. 37
Cohen’s Cross Motion for Summary Judgment and
Affidavit in Opposition to World Omni’s Motion
for Summary Judgment and Cohen’s Counter-
claim dated May 26, 2000 (without exhibits) ....... App. 45
Order Granting World Omni’s Motion for Summary
Judgment on Cohen’s Counterclaim dated July
Ay Pests si ccbagbiakatkcedurccanemcnaaataniet ae hdesagioioctrbeis App. 64
Cohen’s Motion to Amend Answer and Affirmative
Defenses dated January 29, 2001... App. 67
Order Denying Cohen’s Motion to Amend Answer
and Affirmative Defenses dated February 26,
SUPA cdi cick cacstavigactestladiccnaiadtaamcabenentn pigedietcems taken App. 84
Order Granting World Omni’s Motion for Final
Summary Judgment on Liability dated April 9,
BEE snicisipaenadadieepidllacssnipck bad niccpuianatigs enaieet inca tuetatadni App. 86
World Omni’s Opposition to Cohen’s Motion for
Summary Judgment dated August 12, 2002
CORN MINNIE oi cctitahactainicstdeicniuamctdercnbucaee App. 88
Cohen’s Notice of Appeal dated August 19, 2003......App. 97
Cohen’s Initial Appellate Brief dated November 26,
WOE isc ae acco sey cick asin a App. 103

RBar SOLD Cangas Ea STE ETE App. 134

TABLE OF APPENDICES - Continued

Cohen’s Motion for Rehearing and Request for
Written Opinion dated August 9, 2004 (without
exhibits)

Cohen’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari dated Sep-
tember 24, 2004

Order Denying Cohen’s Petition for Writ of Certio-
rari dated February 15, 2005

Request, In The Alternative, For Certificate Certi-
fying That A Federal Question Was Raised &
Indicated dated March 3, 2005

Order Denying Cohen’s Motion for Rehearing and
Request for Written Opinion dated March 29,

Technical Assistance Advisement, 2001A-063,
Florida Department of Revenue, dated October 4,

In Matter of the Petition of Thomas Gallagher, New
York Tax Appellate Tribunal, DTA No. 819115
dated October 23, 2003

Cohen's Letter to World Omni dated August 31,
1998 (Exhibit C to World Omni’s Opposition to
Cohen’s Motion for Summary Judgment dated
August 12, 2002)

Page

App. 1

WORLD OMNI FINANCIAL

CORP., IN THE COUNTY COURT,
IN AND FOR PALM

slevinstaid BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA

CASE NO. £°.00-124.RD
FLORID.A BAR #161836

vs
RICHARD D. COHEN,
DEFENDANT, —_ /

COMPLAINT
(Filed Jan. 4, 2000)

COMES NOW the Plaintiff, World Omni Financial
Corp., by and through its undersigned counsel] and sues
the Defendant(s), Richard D. Cohen, and states:

1. That this is an action in excess of $ 5,000.00 and

less than $ 15,000.00 and is within the jurisdictional
limits of this Court.

2. That the Plaintiff is a corporation authorized to do
business within the State of Florida with offices in Broward
County, Florida.

3. That this lease was assigned to World Omni
Financial Corp

4. That the Defendant(s) is(are) a castles of Palm
Beach County, Florida.

5. That payment was to be made in Broward County,
Florida

6. This communication, from a debt collector, is an
attempt to collect a debt and any information obtained will
be used for that purpose.

App. 2

7. That the Defendant(s) leased a certain 1995
Land Rover Discovery with Identification number
SALJY 1241SA151437 pursuant to a certain Vehicle Lease
Agreement Contract dated 5/13/95 a copy of which is
attached hereto as Plaintiff’s Exhibit “A”.

8. That the Defendant(s) has(have) defaulted by
failing to pay the monthly sum due under Plaintiff's
Exhibit “A” under the terms of the Vehicle Lease Agree-
ment beginning 1/13/98 and Plaintiff has elected to accel-
erate payments of the balance, and there remains unpaid
the sum of $ 11,980.10 together with interest since date of
default.

9. That the subject vehicle was repossessed on 3/5/98
and sold on 4/10/98 in a commercially reasonable manner
to the highest bidder, notice having been provided in
accordance with Plaintiff's attached Exhibit “B”, leaving a
balance due Plaintiff from Defendant(s). in the sum of
$ 11,980.10 as evidenced by Plaintiff’s Exhibit “C”.

10. Demand has been made upon Defendant(s) and
Plaintiff has fulfilled all conditions precedent to the
bringing of this action.

11. That Plaintiff should be awarded attorney’s fees
pursuant to the Vehicle Lease Agreement necessitated by
the filing of this action as included in the “Default Clause.”

App. 3

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff demands Judgment in the
sum of $11,980.10 together with interest, costs and
attorneys fees.

/s/ Dennis B. Freeman

DENNIS B. FREEMAN,
P.A.

Aventura Corporate Center

20801 Biscayne Boulevard,
Suite #304

Aventura, Florida 33180

(305) 682-8500

.- -- -

ie THIS LEASE HAS BEEN ASSIGNED T
¥ oe AMERICA ILLINOIS, AS cote an

’

Ore sossz6 Of aS ott

PURSUANT TO A PLEDGE AND SE i Financial Corp. --° *=+--
AGREEMENT CELOSED/ END ‘MDEOR VEHICLE LEASE AGREEMENT

WORD OMNI : FOR LAND ROVER VEHICLES

| 4

LESSEE (and CO-LESSEE, i any) Name and LESSOR: (Dealer Name and Address) hs

Address (include County and Zip Code) wae

RICHARD D. COHEN LAZARUS FRERES & CO. INGr, D/B/A RANGE RO!
12 POND VIEW CT 359 GLEN BEAD RD. co
JERICHO, NY 11753 GLEN HEAD, NY 11545 ou
NASSAU .

This is an agreement to lease (the “Lease") the vehicle described below (“Vehicle"). By signing this Lease you agree 10 ail terms and conditions on the trom and b

of this Lease. Be sure to read the entire Lease before you sign.

This is a lease and not a purchase agreement. Lessor owns the Vehicle throughout the term of the Lease.

Dealer is assigning this Lease and Vehicle to WORLD OMNI FINANCIAL CORP. (‘Assignee"), and you agrse to this assign =,
in this Lease, “you" and “your” refers to any person signing this Lease as Lessee or Co-Lessee. “Lessor, ‘we’, “us* and “our” refer to Dealer and any Assignee. =
consumer lease disclosures included in this Lease are made on behaif of Dealer, Assignee and (if Assignee isnot World Omni Financial Corp. ("WOFC")) ares ‘O
made on behalf of WOFC, who will administer the Lease. For purposes of the Federal Consumer Leasing Act only, WOFC shouid aiso be considered a Lessor. re
The address for Assignee and WOFC is 120 N.W. 12th Avenue, Deerfield Beach, FL 33442.

-

Newor | Year Make & Body Vehicie Primary Use Mileage on
Used Model Type identification Number Odometer
LA/RO QO Penal, Family or Household
NEW 95 DISCOVERY | _4DSD__|__ SALJ¥.1.241SA151437_|©) Business or Agrcutural
including: Q Automate O Aijr Q Stereo OQ Crise O Power QO Power QO ABS QO Tit
Trans. Cond. Tape Control Windows Seats Wheel
Q Service Contract OQ) Extended Warranty OtherEquipmert: _
1. AMOUNT OUE WHEN LEASE 2 NUMBER OF
5. PAYMENT SCHEDULE
ISSIGNED §$ 1618. 28 tenmamennocinis Your first Monthly Payment i3 due when you sign this Lease.
36
These amounts make up Monthly Payments aredueonthe 13THa
Amount Due When anes Is Signed: sccm agua ? JHE 95 : :
a. Capitalized Cost Reduction $ N/h_
b. es Trade-in Allowance (not less than SO) s K/ 6. TOTAL ESTIMATED FEES AND TAXES PAYASLE DURING LEASE:
c. First Monthly Payment in Advance — $ 711.2 $ 2394.25
d. Refundable Security Deposit ees -
e. Title, License and Registration Fees + DOCS 149.9 make : -
!. Sales/Lease/Excise/Use/Ad Valorem Tax a —_—— ee -
a peace Neem ———— a Title, License and Registration Fees $ 149, 8¢
h. Other $ N/ (both initial and renewal)
——— b. Ad Valorem Taxes $ N/A
3. MONTHLY 4. TOTAL OF c. Sales/Lease/Usa/Other Taxes $__ 2255. 2°
PAYMENT MONTHLY PAYMENTS d. Other See
$ 711. 28 $ 25693. 26
‘ 7. LATE PAYMENT FEE: !f any paymentis not made in full within 1 Odays afte

t
These amounts make up the Monthly Payment: itis due, you will owe a late charge of 5% of the part of the payment that is late

a Bese Monty Pawar $_____71}. 28g ESTIMATED RESIDUAL VALUE OF VEHICLE at scheduled Lease end.
bd. Sales/Use/Lease/Other Tax” $ Nf
c. Other _ sete This value is used in Paragraphs 11 and 16.
a Other ¢ N/A 21517. 42
en ee 9a. EXCESS MILEAGE CHARGE: Mileage in excess 06
for the lease term (*Contract Mileage Allowance* ores ecok ee Sava iitr ™%

The Base Monthly Payment includes both depreciation and lease mileage figure is inserted in the preceding blank, your Contract Mileage Allowanc:
charges. The Total Lease Charge for the entire term of the Lease 's: shail be 1,250 miles per month for each month of the lease term (see Paragrap’
s 7878. 48 This value ts used in Paragraphs 11 and 16 2)), and unless you purchase the Vehicle (see Paragraph 16), you agree to pa

: us at the scheduled termination of the Lease $.12 per mile for each mile drive:

in excess of the Contract Mileage Allowance.

App. 5

9.b REFUND OF UNUSED MILEAGE ALLOWANCE
FOR LEASES OF 36 MONTHS OR LESS: The Stan-
dard Mileage Allowance for a lease with a term of 36
months or less is 1,250 miles per month for each month of
the lease term (see Paragraph 2). If the Contract Mileage
Allowance (see Paragraph 9a exceeds the Standard Mile-
age Allowance, you may be eligible for a refund on the
portion of the unused Contract Mileage Allowance which
exceeds the Standard Mileage Allowance. The refund will
be made at the scheduled termination of this Lease in the
amount of $.12 for each unused mile that the Contract
Mileage Allowance exceeds the Standard Mileage Allow-
ance, less any amounts you owe under this Lease. No
refund will be made for any unused Standard Mileage
Allowance. In addition, no refund will be made if: (i) your
scheduled lease term is more than 36 months; (ii) you
exercise any purchase option; (iH) you voluntarily early
terminate or are in default; or (iv) the refund amount is
less than $1.00.

10.. INSURANCE

Public Liability and Physical Damage Insurance;
Prior to delivery of the Vehicle, you must purchase Public
Liability and Physical Damage Insurance on the Vehicle
that covers both you and us. The coverage must be not less
than $100,000/$300,000 bodily injury, $50,000 property
damage and physical damage coverage with deductibles
not to exceed $500 for collision and $500 for comprehen-
sive. Named Driver Exclusions or other Named Driver or
other non-standard limiting endorsements are NOT
acceptable. NO OTHER TYPES OF INSURANCE ARE
REQUIRED BY US.

App. 6

Assignee must be named as “additional insured” and
“loss payee” on your insurance policy. Each policy must
provide that Assignee will be notified in writing at least 10
days before the insurance is cancelled or coverage altered
and that Assignee or its representative may have full
access to your insurer’s claim file in the event of an insur-
able loss. You have the option of furnishing the required
amount of insurance e.ther (i) through any existing poli-
cies owned or controlled by you and issued by a carrier
reasonably acceptable te us, or (ii) by purchasing the
required coverage separately through any insurer rea-
sonably acceptable to us. We will credit you with the
proceeds of any insurance that we receive for any loss. If
the proceeds of any insurance are not sufficient to pay the
amounts due under Paragraph 13 of this Lease, you agree
to pay the remaining balance due.

11. VOLUNTARY EARLY TERMINATION. Provided
you are not in default (see Paragraph 12), then, upon 15
days prior notice, you may terminate this Lease on the due
date of any Monthly Payment. If you do so, and if you do
not exercise your purchase option at that time (see Para-
graph 16), you will owe us an amount (the “Early Termina-
tion Charge”) determined by ADDING (a) the Base
Monthly Payment (see Paragraph 3 (a)) times the number
of monthly payments not vet made, PLUS (b) the “Esti-
mated Residual Value of Vehicle” (see Paragraph 8), PLUS
(c) a Disposition Fee of $250, MINUS (d) the “Realized
Value” (as specified below) of the Vehicle, MINUS (e) the
unearned lease charge calculated in accordance with an
Actuarial Method. Under this method of determining the
unearned lease charge, the monthly lease charges (includ-
ing those for the monzh in which the early termination
occurs) are earned in advance on the scheduled due dates

App. 7

of your Monthly Payments and your Monthly Payments
are deemed to have been received on their scheduled due
dates (see Paragraph 3 for Total Lease Charge).

The “Realized Value” of the Vehicle is the price we receive
at the time of disposition of the Vehicle minus the reason-
able costs of preparation and sale of the Vehicle. For this
purpose, we shall sell the Vehicle at wholesale or other-
wise determine its wholesale value in a commercially
reasonable manner. As an alternative, you may obtain (at
your expense) from a qualified independent appraiser
acceptable to us a written appraisal of the wholesale value
of the Vehicle that could be realized at sale. This appraised
value will be final and binding on you and us.

12. DEFAULT. You will be in default of this Lease if
any of the following occur:

a. You do not make a payment when it is due;

b. You or any of your property becomes the subject
of a proceeding (voluntary or involuntary) in
bankruptcy, receivership or insolvency, or you
make an assignment for the benefit of creditors;

c. You become incompetent or die (if a natural per-
son) or dissolve (if not a natural person);

d. You fail to comply with the insurance require-
ments of this Lease (see Paragraph 10);

e. You do not maintain or repair the Vehicle s re-
quired by this Lease;

f. Any information in your Lease Application (in-
cluding driver information) is materially false or
misleading;

App. 8

g. The Vehicle is stolen, lost, destroyed, seized or
confiscated or is otherwise rendered unavailable
or unsuitable for use;

h. You assign, transfer, sublease, rent or pledge this
Lease or the Vehicle without our permission or
otherwise violate Paragraph 20;

i. You allow the Vehicle to become subject to a lien;
or

j. You otherwise fail to comply with any other term,
provision or condition of this Lease or fail to keep
any other promise made to us.

13. WHAT YOU OWE UPON DEFAULT.

a. Early Termination Because of Theft or Total Loss.
If we terminate this Lease because of a total loss of the
Vehicle as a result of a fire, theft, collision or comprehen-
sive peril for which we have received an amount equal to
all insurance proceeds due under the insurance policy that
you purchased in accordance with Paragraph 10, plus
payment of any deductible, then, if you have complied with
all other provisions of this Lease, you will owe us nothing
more. If you have not so complied, you will owe us any
amounts otherwise due under this Lease as a result of
your breach.

b. Early Termination Because of Any Other Default.
If we terminate this Lease because of any other default,
then you agree that you will owe us (i) the Early Termina-
tion Charge (see Paragraph 11); (ii) payments accrued
under the Lease through the date of termination; (ili) all
collection, repossessior., storage expenses; (iv) attorneys’
fees and disbursements incurred after default and referral
to an attorney who is not our salaried employee, not to
exceed fifteen percent (15%) of the amount you owe us (or

App. 9

such lesser rate as may be required under applicable law)
and (v) simple interest at a rate of 15% per annum (or
such lesser rate as may be required under applicable law)
on all expenses incurred by us and all obligations that you
owe after termination, other than earned but unpaid lease
charges.

c. Continuation of Lease. In the event of theft or a
total loss of the Vehicle as described in Paragraph 13(a),
instead of declaring a default we may voluntarily elect to
continue the Lease by substituting a comparable replace-
ment vehicle reasonably acceptable to you and us.

14. OUR RIGHTS AND REMEDIES IF YOU DE-
FAULT. We will have all of the rights and remedies
provided by this Lease and by law. We also will have right
to sue you for damages and/or recovery of the Vehicle. We
also may take the Vehicle from you without demand
permitted by law (or, if demand is required by law, upon
compliance with such legal requirements). You agree that
we may enter your property or the property where the
Vehicle is stored in order to take it, so long as it is done
peaceably. If there is any personal property in the Vehicle
when we take the Vehicle from you, we may take the
personal property and store it for you. If we take the
Vehicle you will not be released from any obligation under
this Lease.

15. RETURN OF VEHICLE AT SCHEDULED TER-
MINATION DATE. This Lease is scheduled to end I
month after the last payment is due, unless you and we
agree to extend this Lease. If you and we extend this
Lease, the scheduled termination date will be the date
upon which you and we agree in writing. On the scheduled
termination date of this Lease, you may either purchase

App. 10

the Vehicle (see Paragraph 16) or return the Vehicle to a
reasonable location designated by us in good condition,
without damage, excessive wear or use (see Paragraph 18)
and without excessive mileage (see Paragraph 9a), and
you will pay any amount you owe under this Lease, plus
$250 Disposition Fee. You also agree to pay (a) the cost of
such repairs or replacements needed because of excessive
wear or use (see Paragraph 18) regardless of whether such
repairs or replacemenzs are made in order to put the
Vehicle in good working order and condition and (b) any
excess mileage charge (see Paragraph a). If you fail to
return the Vehicle on its scheduled termination date, you
agree to continue to pay the Monthly Payment shown in
Paragraph 3. Your continued payment of these amounts
does not permit you to keep the Vehicle beyond the sched-

uled termination date of this Lease, and you agree to pay
us for any damage we may suffer because you failed to
return the Vehicle at the end of the Lease.

16. OPTION TO PURCHASE. You have the option to
purchase the Vehicle “AS IS” at the scheduled termination
of this Lease, provided all sums due under this Lease have
been paid by you and you notify us 15 days prior to the
scheduled termination of this Lease. The price you will
pay us will be the Estimated Residual Value of Vehicle (see
Paragraph 8), PLUS a $250 Purchase Option Fee PLUS

any official fees and taxes applicable to the purchase of the
Vehicle.

Prior to the scheduled termination of this Lease and pro-
vided you are not in default (see Paragraph 12), then, upon
15 days prior notice, you have the option to purchase the
Vehicie “AS IS” for an amount determined by ADDING (a)
the Base Monthly Payment (see Paragraph 3(a)) times the
number of Monthly Payments not yet made, PLUS (b)

App. 11

the “Estimated Residual Value of Vehicle” (see Paragraph
8), PLUS (c) a Purchase Option Fee of $250, and then
SUBTRACTING from this sum the unearned Lease
charge calculated in accordance with an Actuarial Method.
Under this method of determining the unearned lease
charge, the monthly lease charges (including those for the
month in which the early termination occurs) are earned
in advance on the scheduled due dates of your Monthly
Payments and your Monthly Payments are deemed to
have been received on their scheduled due dates (see
Paragraph 3 for the Total Lease Charge). You will also owe
any official fees and taxes applicable to the purchase of the
Vehicle.

17. MAINTENANCE, REPAIRS AND OPERATING
EXPENSES. You are responsible for and agree to pay for
all maintenance and repairs to keep the Vehicle in good
working order and ‘condition and any other expenses
associated with operating the Vehicle. You will service the
Vehicle according to the manufacturer’s recommendations
as outlined in the Owner’s Manual and the Maintenance
Schedule folder or as requested by the manufacturer in
any recall campaign and you will complete all necessary
service records.

18. EXCESSIVE WEAR AND USE. Excessive wear
and use includes: (a) glass that is damaged or that you
have tinted; (b) damaged body, fenders, metal work, trim
or paint; (c) missing wheel covers, jack or wheel wrench;
(d) torn dash, floor covers, seats, headliners, upholstery or
interior work or trunk liners; (e) any tires (including care)
that are missing, not of comparable quality to the originals
or with less than 1/8 inch of tread remaining; (f) damage
from water, hail or sand; (g) any damage that makes the
Vehicle either unsafe or unlawful to operate; or (h) any

App. 12

other damage, whether or not covered by insurance that
would cost more than $50 to repair or replace.

19. WARRANTIES AND EXCLUSIONS OF WAR-
RANTIES. Except for a warranty of description of the
Vehicle and a warranty against interference with your
interest under this Lease, the only warranties covering the
Vehicle are the standard manufacturer’s express warran-
ties. You are authorized to receive the benefit of the
manufacturer's warranties on behalf of us. In the event
you become involved in any litigation, arbitration or other
dispute resolution proceeding regarding such manufac-
turer’s warranties, you will promptly notify Assignee in
writing of the proceeding in the manner provided in
Paragraph 32. You agree that Assignee is a necessary
party to any such proceeding. You will also have the
benefits of any extended warranty, or service contract
purchased in connection with this Lease. YOU UNDER-
STAND THAT LESSOR MAKES NO EXPRESS OR
IMPLIED WARRANTIES COVERING THE VEHI-
CLE. IN PARTICULAR, LESSOR MAKES NO EX-
PRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF VEHICLE
CONDITION, MERCHANTABILITY, DURABILITY
OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE OR
USE COVERING THE VEHICLE, AND LESSOR
EXPRESSLY DISCLAIMS ANY SUCH EXPRESS OR
IMPLIED WARRANTIES.

20. NO ASSIGNMENT BY YOU. YOU AGREE NOT
TO ASSIGN, TRANSFER, SUBLEASE, RENT OR
PLEDGE THIS LEASE OR THE VEHICLE WITHOUT
OUR EXPRESS WRITTEN CONSENT, NOR WILL
YOU DO ANYTHING TO INTERFERE WITH OUR
OWNERSHIP OF THE VEHICLE.

App. 13

21. ASSIGNMENT BY US. You agree that Assignee
and any future assignee of this Lease may pledge or
reassign this Lease and ownership of the Vehicle and any
of its benefits or burdens except as otherwise provided by
applicable law. You agree that neither the Assignee nor
WOFC (if it is not the Assignee) shall have to make repairs
to the Vehicle, maintain the Vehicle, obtain any insurance
or perform any other service the Dealer has agreed to
perform under this Lease; you will look directly to the
Dealer for these services.

22. NOTICE OF ACCIDENTS AND COOPERATION.
You agree to cooperate fully with us and any insurance
company in the investigation and defense of any and all
claims arising from possession and use of the Vehicle. You
will make a complete report to Assignee within 48 hours
after any accident, theft or loss involving the Vehicle. You
will provide Assignee with all information available
regarding the time, place and the nature of the accident,
theft or loss, the persons involved and any resulting
injuries or damage. You will promptly deliver to Assignee
all papers and documents received by you or by any
operator of the Vehicle in connection with any claim begun
or threatened against us, you or any operator of the
Vehicle. You will provide us or our representative reason-
able time and opportunity to examine the damaged Vehi-
cle. You will comply with all laws and regulations
requiring the reporting of accidents, thefts or loss involv-
ing the Vehicle.

23. LIMITATION OF LIABILITY. We shall not be
liable for any loss of profits or other indirect or consequen-
tial damages or inconveniences which may result to you
from any damages to, or defect in, the Vehicle or for the
time needed to repair or service the Vehicle. Monthly

App. 14

Payments shall continue and not be reduced or delayed
during this time.

24. SECURITY DEPOSIT. You agree to pay a refund-
able security deposit as indicated in Paragraph l(d). We
will deduct from such deposit any charges you may have
under this Lease. We may retain the security deposit until
all amounts you owe under this Lease are paid. We will
refund to you any part of the security deposit that is left.
No interest will accrue on the security deposit- while held
by us.

25. USE. You agree that:

a. Only authorized licensed drivers will operate the
Vehicle;

Neither you nor any other person will operate the
Vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, illegal
narcotics or prescription or non-prescription drugs
if the instructions prohibit operating a motor ve-

hicle;

You will keep the Vehicle free of all fines, liens
and encumbrances and will pay such fines or re-
move any such liens and encumbrances immedi-
ately Gf you do not, we may do so, and any
amounts paid by us shall be an additional
amount owed by you under this Lease);

You will not use the Vehicle illegally, improperly
or for hire;

You will not use the Vehicle to pull trailers if rec-
ommended against by the manufacturer;

You will not remove the Vehicle from the conti-
nental United States; and

App. 15

g. You will not alter, mark or install equipment in
the Vehicle without our consent.

26. LICENSE, REGISTRATION, TAXES AND IN-
SPECTION. You agree to pay for titling, registration and
licensing and for all inspections of the Vehicle required by
any government authority during the term of this Lease.
You will also pay all excise, use, personal property, gross
receipts and other taxes incurred during the term of this
Lease with respect to the use and operation of the Vehicle
except those levied on our net income. The taxes you must
pay will be included in the Amount Due When Lease Is
Signed (see Paragraph 1) or your Monthly Payment (see
Paragraph 3) or separately billed to you by Lessor. Lessor
may change your Monthly Payment increases or decreases
in taxes.

27. ODOMETER DISCLOSURE. Federal law requires
you to disclose the Vehicle’s mileage and certain related
information to the Lessor at the end of the Lease and at
other times in connection with the transfer of ownership of
the Vehicle. You may be fined and/or imprisoned if you fail
to complete the disclosure requested or if you make a false
statement.

28. INSPECTION. You agree to allow us to inspect the
Vehicle at any reasonable time and place. [Illegible]
injuries, claims, demands and expenses arising out of the
[illegible] maintenance, use or operation of the Vehicle.

30. SEVERABILITY AND CHOICE OF LAW. If any
part of this Lease is not valid according to any applicable.
law, all other parts nevertheless will remain enforceable.
The law at the place where you signed this Lease will
govern this Lease.

App. 16

31. HEIRS AND REPRESENTATIVES. This Lease
will bind and benefit you, your heirs, representatives and
successors and will also bind and benefit us and our
successors and assigns.

32. NOTICES. All notices to you will be made to the
last address provided to us in writing. All notices to us
made in accordance with the provisions of this Lease must
be made in writing to the respective addresses set forth
above or to such other address as we provide in accordance
with this Paragraph 32.

33. NO WAIVER. Our excuse of a default does not
mean that a later occurrence of that or any other default
will be excused. Any failure or delay by us in exercising
any of our rights or remedies under this Lease will not

cause us to lose them, and we may exercise them at any
later time.

34. LIABILITY. (a) If there are more than one of
you, each of you shall be liable, separately and together,
for all Monthly Payments (see Paragraph 3) and all other
amounts that may at any time be due and owing to us
under this Lease. (b) _F YOU ARE A CORPORATION,
THE PERSON SIGNING THIS LEASE ON YOUR BE-
HALF REPRESENTS AND WARRANTS THAT HE OR
SHE HAS FULL AUTHORITY TO SIGN THIS LEASE
ON YOUR BEHALF.

35. DELIVERY RECEIPT. By signing this Lease,
you agree that (a) you received and examined the Vehicle
described in this Lease. (b) the Vehicle is as described in
this Lease, and (c) the Vehicle is in good working order and
condition.

App. 17

36. AUTHORITY OF DEALER. THE DEALER
IS AN INDEPENDENT CONTRACTOR AND IS NOT
AFFILIATED WITH WOFC OR ASSIGNEE (IF NOT
WOFC AS AN AGENT, PARTNER OR JOINT VEN-
TURE. NEITHER THE DEALER NOR ANY OF ITS
EMPLOYEES IS AUTHORIZED TO MAKE ANY
ORAL OR WRITTEN PROMISE, AFFIRMATION,
REPRESENTATION OR WARRANTY TO YOU ON
BEHALF OF WOFC OR ASSIGNEE (IF NOT WOFC).

THIS LEASE CONTAINS THE ENTIRE AGREE-
MENT BETWEEN YOU AND US. There are no other
agreements between you and us except those included in
writing in this Lease. No change of this Lease, no course of
performance and no other agreement between you and us
will be binding unless in writing and signed by you and us.

Lessee (and Co-Lessee) initials. [/s/ illegible]

NOTICE: BY SIGNING BELOW, YOU AGREE TO
ALL THE PROVISIONS ON BOTH SIDES OF THIS
LEASE: (1) YOU UNDERSTAND THAT EARLY TER-
MINATION OR DEFAULT MAY SUBJECT YOU TO A
SUBSTANTIAL CHARGE. (2) IF THIS LEASE CON-
TAINS ANY BLANK SPACES, HAVE THEM FILLED
IN. (3) YOU ARE ENTITLED TO A COMPLETELY
FILLED-IN COPY OF THIS LEASE AND OF ANY
OTHER AGREEMENTS, POLICIES OR CERTIFI-
CATES THAT YOU SIGNED OR AGREED TO PUR-
CHASE. :

BY SIGNING BELOW, YOU ACCEPT THE TERMS
AND CONDITIONS OF THIS LEASE.

YOU SIGNED THIS LEASE AND RECEIVED A COPY AT:
GLEN HEAD (CITY) NY (STATE) on 5 (Mo.) 13 (Day) 95
(Yr.)

App. 18

CAUTION: IT IS IMPORTANT THAT YOU THOR-
OUGHLY READ THE CONTRACT BEFORE YOU
SIGN IT.

LESSEE: RICHARD D. COHEN CO-LESSEE:
BY: /s/ Richard Cohen BY:

Dealer accepts this Lease and hereby assigns all of its
right, title and interes: in and to this Lease and in the
| Vehicle described herein to assignee under the terms of
the WOFC Customer Lease Plan Dealer Agreement.

Dealer/Lessor: LAZARUS FRERES & CO. INC. D/B/A
RANGE ROVER LAND

BY: Kathleen {Illegible]

GUARANTY

TO CAUSE THE DEALER TO LEASE THE VEHICLE TO
THE LESSEE, WHOEVER SIGNS BELOW AS THE
“GUARANTOR” JOINTLY AND SEVERALLY UNCONDI-
TIONALLY GUARANTEES PAYMENT (AND NOT ME-
RELY COLLECTION) OF ALL SUMS OWING UNDER
THIS LEASE. THIS MEANS THAT IF THE LESSEE FAILS
TO PAY WHEN DUE ANY MONEY THAT IS OWED ON
THIS LEASE. THE GUARANTOR WILL PAY IT WHEN
ASKED. EACH GUARANTOR ALSO AGREES TO BE
BOUND EVEN IF ONE OR MORE OTHER PERSONS
GUARANTEE PAYMENT OF THIS LEASE. EACH
GUARANTOR ALSO AGREES TO BE BOUND EVEN IF
WE DO ONE OR MORE OF THE FOLLOWING: (A) GIVE
THE LESSEE MORE TIME TO PAY ONE OR MORE
PAYMENTS, (B) GIVE A RELEASE IN FULL OR IN
PART TO THE LESSEE OR ANY OF THE OTHER
GUARANTORS, (C) ACCELERATE ANY PAYMENT DUE

App. 19

FROM THE LESSEE IN ACCORDANCE WITH THIS
' LEASE, (D) RENEW, EXTEND, ASSIGN, REASSIGN OR
PLEDGE THIS LEASE, (E) RELEASE OR EXCHANGE
ANY SECURITY OR (F) PROCEED DIRECTLY AGAINST
THE GUARANTOR (OR ANY OF THEM) WITHOUT
FIRST PROCEEDING AGAINST ANY LESSEE OR SEEK-
ING TO COLLECT ANY SECURITY. EACH GUARANTOR
ACKNOWLEDGES SIGNING THIS GUARANTY ON THE
SAME DATE AS LESSEE SIGNED THE LEASE AND
RECEIVING A COMPLETED COPY OF THIS LEASE
AND THIS GUARANTY AT THE TIME OF SIGNING.
THIS GUARANTY MAY NOT BE TERMINATED SO
LONG AS ANY LESSEE HAS ANY OBLIGATIONS
REMAINING UNDER THIS LEASE.

GUARANTOR: (SEAL) ADDRESS:
GUARANTOR: (SEAL) ADDRESS:

App. 20

World Omni Financial Corp. [LOGO]
P.O. Box 991817

Mobile, AL 36691-1817

(800) 553-2650

March 02, 1998

RICHARD D. COHEN
12582 TORBAY DR
BOCA RATON FL 33428

1. NOTICE OF REPOSSESSION AND RIGHT TO
REDEEM/REINSTATE

Date of Repossession: 02/27/98

Date of Contract: 05/13/95

Account Number: 01-12-0320-01173-01173
Vehicle Description: 95 LAND ROV DISCOVER

Vehicle Identification Number SALJY1241SA151437

We have repossessed the vehicle described above. It will
not be sold until 10 days after the date of this notice at the
earliest. After that you can still get it back any time before
it is actually sold.

As of the date of this Notice, you must pay $25,218.99
which does NOT include expenses to get the vehicle back.

The longer you wait, the more you may have to pay to get
the vehicle back. If the vehicle is sold and the sale price is

less than the total amount you owe, you may be responsi-
ble for the difference.

Please contact us to get the vehicle back.

Collection Department

App. 21

2. NOTICE OF SALE

&) PRIVATE SALE: The (UO PUBLIC SALE: The prop-
property described above erty described above will be
will be sold at a private offered for sale at public
sale at any time after 10 auction to the highest bidder
days from the Date of on the date and at the place
Notice shown above, unless and iime indicated below,
redeemed by you prior to unless redeemed by you prior
such sale. to such sale.

DATE OF SALE:
TIME OF SALE:
PLACE OF SALE:

App. 23

World Omni Financial Corp.
P.O. Box 991817

Mobile, AL 36691-1817

(800) 553-2650

July 24, 1998

RICHARD D COHEN
12582 TORBAY DR
BOCA RATON FL 33428

RE: Account Number: 01-12-0320-01173-01173
Vehicle Description: 95 LAND ROV DISCOVER
Vehicle Identification Number: SALJY1241SA151437
Date of Sale: 04/19/98
Method of Sale: Private Sale
Selling Price: $11,600.00

Dear Customer:

The vehicle described above which was repossessed from
you has been sold. This statement outlines the manner in
which we applied the sale proceeds.

REPOSSESSION ACCOUNTING STATEMENT
(Computation of Deficiency or Surplus Balance)

Unpaid Balance on your Contract $ 23,796.22
ADD: ;
Accrued Interest Charges $ 142.76
Disposition Fee 250.00
Late Charges 75.38

DEDUCT:
Security Deposit 750.00
Unearned Lease Charges 296.68

BALANCE OWED PRIOR TO SALE:
SALE PROCEEDS:

DEDUCT:
Expenses of Sale
Expenses of Retaking & Storage
Collection Expenses

AMOUNT APPLIED TO CONTRACT 11,237.58
DEFICIENCY BALANCE $ 11,980.10
(Amecunt you owe)

Please send your check in the amount stated, within 30
days from today’s date. If you have any questions, please
call our office at the number listed above.

World Omni Financial Corp.

a ae Tia | SUG 74¢- E800

ease () Pi Amount Requested $ CAP Cost $_____ MSRP $ * ——,
STANDARD CREDIT APPLICATION Application Mypagey Noa
“Sea een ee ee (Check appropriais bos) , One BD rt IE & Y —
p you af® sDplying for Ndrndual Credii and retying on your Own sasets and income please comptete Sec a SME Neth
ees Sie ee See et Seen Dae NOE, ctuld support, oy in sdiean a Ueda at anamee eee te ae eel a sore ae,
Su rou are martiod and ive in @ community property state. 2 please complete Sections & and B Phone No 7 -\ Se ia
If nie is @ joint Gredet app . Please wWiete Aang 6 Stockh ¢ i} ss Aw
PRINT —~FmSt last A SIRTF ;
PULL ‘ ¢
se Conen SSIS'SIS INBA aes Me 92 76S

— 1a fndvieu Cou rt me " ~— : ly De eB.

Prev GS. Ses = SS AS Soh wort Saat» (4 SS nee =
ane S35 Se ES SOE

es ; wn SS SS 4
N, RADE OR OF a Sms SALARY O ae a »

~ MAME OF PRE
SF TS Asi: > SES
Al child J or ee je Maintenance inc: n not ” : 5 p
as, Pe Bok ctak ome Need be roupate — to eidered es 2 beals for how wie enimation.

Rvthomn gg NTS ey SO ees CSS ge
SAARI Nan, Cohan Re Dor eg SAWN SAS Sa SS
‘

« :
NO AOGOUNT |! SS ~\

-A-

YOUR PERSONAL CREDIT HISTORY

gz ‘ddy

WALANGE DUE FRATING IN
OR DATE PAID THiS CAR? ves Pramas
ave
COVERAGE (. COEOCOU Ww Lonny Ome | | 6OTHER
BAL ANCE

i.
STATE [OPERATOR'S LICENSE NO AG ty
°
ANY OF 3 ATV EVER BEEN REPO ARE eae
ANT

°
1. ves are (SUITS PENDING) AGAINST U

ves
wave. cous @ECN PERSONALLY y+"? IN & BANKRUPTCY MuITARY STATUS
Ay Te@ LAST 10 YEARS ON ANY OTHER LOAN OR CONTRACT?
iy — ACTIVE OUTY i. RESERVE INACTIVE
Puan : Bocr 4 vast aA A OME PHONE
NAME an ae gm ‘ ’
PRESENT NUMBER AND STREET city COUNTY STATE awe LIVED THERE
ADORESS YEARS , MONTHS
# NEY MO LANDLORD OR MORTGAGE HOLDER NAME
— ' MO PAYMENT OR RENT §
PREVIOUS +OME NUMBEH an ST 7 ITY county State ae oF
g ae coe. mas . } veaee” "SSfrwe
THAN 5 Yes oA.
v v ha a STREET city TATE BUS PHONE NO
| op fo @ NAME BUSINESS ADOACSS NUMBER ANO e s | veut errs | ‘
o aivias ‘
* + od TRADE OR OCCUPATION | GROSS SALARY OF WAGES MAME OF PRE .OUS EMPLOVER AQOAESS ~ 1 $F ARS
&S a SE
F 4 Alimony, child support, of separate mainienance income heed not be revesied # you do not wish to neve |t considered ss & "as & Desie tor repaying this obligetion.
«* TYPE OF OTHER INCOME SOuRce GROSS MONTHLY
2! AMOUNT
5 HANK ACCOUNT RAaME OF BANK —“"SRANCH NAME AND Cit CHECKING CHECKING ACCOUNT NO
SAVINGS
¥ NO ACCOUNT !
_ vou “a S urce nO STATE

PET MEFERENCES OF INGTALL MENT COMLIGATIONS INCLUDE FIAANCE COMPARES, BANKS. CREDIT CARDS.
& CLUDE NAMES) OF PPL CANT in which CREDIT CAN BE ans Be VEPITIED. Led see tr OTNeR IMAM gNOwN BOVE.
NAME OF CREDITOR aDOnmess .

1%) Cash Prce onc! tar wie +g ‘eos! s th .- > iT) ~Yewe Balance (5 & 6) S ”
12) Oown Payment Cesr 5. - oe 18) Payable te . Mo instalments of Sacce am an
BY Peper s _ ome ! annus Perceniege Ase .. —.% Uted Cer Maes __ « ~—
z Net trege 8 _ a ™ a2 | New Car trvowce Cost 8 ink? teams een ‘as
3 (Trace tow 8B LU «= Owed or Trear 5 am \
wry 3 (2) Unpaw Balence of Case Pret! 2 "eee a | tire, | Your ner ee: Soay Stye
5 wo 144 Ower Crerges te z = - oa tos —re a ae
as (Soecity) 5 " 5 S su 1 a acl ghee’ wens SNeete yeL ESI ONOUAL Th PAR NERS — CORFORATIO

crse 20:

: SELLER'S cop D ODOMETER Bt RE STATEMENT -
— CUPS URE RATE MoL
vas Rilihead

Vaanoees ot RE om ri Bist

VEHICLE’ SOLD. ert LIGHT
"30038 = 8014648 2014848 | baa re eR “cRoaTig = "GALI HR teAss1437
WORLD OMNI FINANCIAL Comm... haere
120 NW 2TH: AVE’, - ‘

DERRF TEUD REACH BL. ‘going a — ‘obtener siete inh artr fone.
R°: Tie eee 160219096120 | ; eyes ar ee ee oe —
305-4021 ~7177 - ‘VE'7988 are

ae bed 2s 3 = (1) } nerwby centity to the best of my lnowteds 3 tere ati ce tw amount
Sonregeennes nani non sommes __ Mileage in excess of ie mechanical Bika tts
MUCHO MGA im memmnaneenas are ce " | (2) Una cary tat te odometer reading

; SOR TEOr Lia AUCTION | ant |

NOT te actual eine i
ff )
on

Count III - Libel

Cohen realleges paragraphs 18-38 as
though fully set forth herein.

World Omn:’s statements about Cohen to
the credit bureaus, although false, accuse
Cohen of immoral, unprofessional and un-
ethical conduct and of conduct incompatible
with the proper exercise of his business and
personal affairs, and constitute libel per se.

As a direct and proximate result of World
Omni's statements, Cohen’s reputation and
credit has been severely damaged.

World Omni’s conduct as alleged in this
Counterclaim was willful and wanton.

WHEREFORE, Cohen demands judgment in his favor
against World Omni for compensatory damages, in an
amount in excess of $15,000 plus costs of suit.

App. 36

DEMAND FOR JURY TRIAL

Cohen pursuant to Florida Rule of Civil Procedure
1.430 hereby demands a jury trial on all issues so triable
in the above captioned matter.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of
the foregoing Anwer, Affirmative Defenses, Counterclaim
and Demand for Jury Trial has been furnished via U.S.
Mail to: Dennis B. Freeman, P.A., Aventura Corporate
Center, 20801 Biscayne Blvd., Suite 304, Aventura,
Florida 33180 on the 2nd day of February, 2000.

RICHARD D. COHEN
Defendant Pro Se

21870 Cartagena Drive
Boca Raton, Florida 33428
(561) 883-6227

By: /s/ Richard D. Cohen
Richard D. Cohen

App. 37

IN THE COUNTY COURT IN AND FOR
PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA

CASE NO.: SC 00-124.RD
WORLD OMNI FINANCIAL CORP,
Plaintiff,
vs.
RICHARD D. COHEN,

Defendant.
/

PLAINTIFF’S MOTION FOR FINAL SUMMARY
JUDGMENT ON DEFENDANT’S COUNTERCLAIM
WITH SUPPORTING MEMORANDUM OF LAW

Plaintiff/Counter-Defendant, WORLD OMNI FINAN-

CIAL CORP. “WORLD OMNI”), by and through its
undersigned attorneys, pursuant to Florida Rule of Civil
Procedure 1.510, submits this motion for an order granting
it final summary judgment against Defendant/Counter-
Plaintiff, RICHARD D. COHEN (“COHEN”) on his Coun-

terclaim. In support of its motion, WORLD OMNI states
as follows:

1. This is an action arising out of a March 13, 1995
Closed-End Vehicle Lease Agreement between COHEN
and Lazarus Freres & Co. d/b/a Range Rover (the “Lease
Agreement”) (the “Dealer”). Pursuant to the terms of the
Lease Agreement, a copy of which is annexed as Exhibit
“A,” COHEN leased a 1995 Land Rover Discovery (the
“vehicle”) for a period of 36 months. The Lease Agreement
was assigned by the Dealer to WORLD OMNI.

2. COHEN defaulted under the Lease Agreement by
failing to make full monthly lease payments to WORLD

App. 38

OMNI beginning January 13, 1998. As a result of
COHEN ’s default under the Lease Agreement, WORLD
OMNI repossessed the vehicle on March 5, 1998 and sold
it at auction in a commercially reasonable manner on April

10, 1998.

3. WORLD OMNI initiated this action against
COHEN by service of a Complaint, a copy of which is
annexed as Exhibit “B,” seeking to recover the deficiency
balance in the sum of $11,980.10 which resulted from the
sale of the vehicle.

4. On or about February 2, 2000, COHEN filed his
Answer to the Complaint with Affirmative Defenses and
Counterclaim against WORLD OMNI, a copy of which is
annexed as Exhibit “C.”

5. In the Counterclaim, COHEN alleges that he
entered into the Lease Agreement with the Dealer in
Glenhead, New York. As required by New York law,
COHEN paid the Sales and Use Tax for the entire Lease
Agreement at the then prevailing rate of 8.5%. His
monthly lease payment was $711.20 under the Lease
Agreement. (Counterclaim, 423).

6. In June of 1996, COHEN moved from New York to
Florida. As demonstrated below, Florida law required
WORLD OMNI to then collect for Florida Sales and Use
Tax. Beginning in July of 1996, WORLD OMNI raised
COHEN’s monthly lease payment to $753.87, which
consisted of the $711.20 monthly lease payment and
$42.67 in Sales and Use Tax (6% as required by Florida
law). (Counterclaim, 425).

App. 39

7. COHEN alleges that he did not notice the “double
billing” for some 15 months until October of 1997. (Coun-
terclaim, 426).

8. COHEN admits that he did not pay WORLD
OMNI the entire monthly payment of $753.87 beginning
in October of 1997. Rather, he unilaterally took a “set-off”
in the amount of $643.05 (15 months x $42.67 which was
the Florida Sales and Use Tax). (Counterclaim, 126).

9. COHEN acknowledges that he only paid $711.20
to WORLD OMNI uader the Lease Agreement through
February, 1998. (Counterclaim, 429). This amount did not
include the $42.60 for Sales and Use Tax required under
Florida law. (Counterclaim, 429). Based on COHEN’s
failure to make the required lease payments of $753.87,
the vehicle was repossessed by WORLD OMNI.

10. The Counterclaim against WORLD OMNI
purports to allege three causes of action including two
counts for breach of contract (the Lease Agreement) and
one count for libel premised upon WORLD OMNI’s charg-
ing COHEN Florida Sales and Use Tax when he moved to
Florida in June of 1996.

11. For purposes of this motion, the record evidence
in this case demonstrates that the State of Florida re-
quired WORLD OMNI to collect for Sales and Use Tax on
the vehicle when he rioved to Florida. See, Florida Statute
Section 212.06(8a), Section 12A-1.007, FA.C.; and
Technical Assistant Advisement No. 98A-037, Flomda
Department of Revenue. In short, COHEN’s misconstrued
interpretation of the State of Florida’s taxation on lease
payments on vehicles originally leased in another state
and moved, to Florida is unsupported by law or eviden-
tiary facts. Thus, there are no genuine material issues of

App. 40

fact presented. WORLD OMN! is entitled to final sum-
mary judgment on COHEN’s Counterclaim as a matter of
law.

WHEREFORE, WORLD OMNI respectfully requests
that the Court grant final summary judgment in its favor
and against COHEN on his Counterclaim, together with
such other and further relief as the Court may deem just
and proper.

MEMORANDUM OF LAW

WORLD OMNIS MOTION FOR FINAL SUMMARY
JUDGMENT SHOULD BE GRANTED

It is hornbook law that summary judgment is appro-
priate where there are no genuine issues and material fact
and the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.
See, Andre v. Pomeroy, 35 N.Y. 2d 361, 362 N.Y.S. 2d 131,
133 (1974); §3212 of the New York Civil Practice Law &
Rules (McKinney’s 1997); Noris v. Silver, 701 So. 2d 1238
(Fla. 3d DCA 1997); Wills v. Sears Roebuck & Co., 351 So.
2d 29 (Fla. 1977). For the reasons which follow, there are
no genuine issues of material fact presented that WORLD
OMNI was required to collect for Florida Sales and Use
Tax when COHEN moved to Florida in June of 1996.
Therefore, WORLD OMNI is entitled to final summary
judgment as to COHEN’s Counterclaim as a matter of law.

In spite of COHEN’s allegations, the State of Florida
required WORLD OMNI to collect for Sales and Use Tax
on a leased vehicle without regard to its prior use or tax
paid on purchases outside the state. To this point, Florida
Statute Section 212.06 entitled Sales, Storage, Use Tax;
Collectible from Dealer; “Dealer” defined; Dealers to

App. 41

Collect from Purchasers; Legislative Intent as to
scope of tax, provides as follows:

(8a)... the rental or lease of tangible per-
sonal property which is used or stored in this
state shall be taxable without regard to its prior
use or tax paid on purchase outside this state.
(Emphasis added).

Further, 12A-1.007(14), FAC, provides in relevant part
as follows:

(a) The rental or lease of an aircraft, boat, mo-
bile home, or motor vehicle, which is used or
stored in this state, shall be taxable without re-
gard to its prior use or tax paid on the purchase
outside this state. See also, Technical Assistance
Advisement No. 98A-037, Florida Department of

+“

Revenue (the
Exhibit “D”).

vevenue Opinion”) (Annexed as

In discussing the taxability on leases of a motor
vehicle in Florida, the Revenue Opinion notes as follows:

The lease of a motor vehicle in Florida was sub-
ject to sales and use tax even though the vehicle
had been used and was taxed on tits purchase tn
another state prior to being moved to and regis-
tered in Florida. The rental or lease of tangible
personal property used or stored in Florida is
taxable regardless of whether the property was
used or taxed in another state. See 212.06(8),
FS.; Rule 12A-1.007(14), FA.C. (Emphasis
added).

The underlying facts addressed in the Revenue
Opinion are strikingiy similar to the facts in the case at
bar. In the Revenue Opinion, a 1997 Toyota Avalon was
leased under a New York Motor Vehicle Lease Agreement

App. 42

dated December 12, 1996. The lessee paid the Sales and
Use Tax of $1,211.81 to the State of New York concurrent
with the signing of the lease agreement. The wife (the
driver of the leased vehicle since inception) and two sons
relocated to the State of Florida in November of 1997
requiring that the vehicle be garaged and registered in
Florida. The lessor then assessed an additional 6% tax on
the monthly lease payment representing Florida Sales and
Use Tax. The lessor indicated that the additional tax was
pursuant to Florida Statute Section 212.06(8)(a).

Here, as in Revenue Opinion, the additional Florida
Sales and Use Tax assessment was disputed by the lessee.

In relying upon Florida Statute Section 212.06(8)(a)
and Rule 12A-1.007(14), F-.A.C., The Florida Department
of Revenue stated as follows:

It is the department’s position that the statute is
clear in providing that a lease or rental of tangi-
ble personal property used or stored in Florida is
taxable irrespective of its prior use or prior tax-
able status in another state. Therefore, your lessor
ls correct in charging you tax on your automobile
lease. (Emphasis added).

Contemplating a relocation of the lessee, the Lease
Agreement allows WORLD OMNI to increase or decrease
taxes which may change the monthly payment. Paragraph
26 of the Lease Agreement provides as follows:

26. LICENSE, REGISTRATION, TAXES
AND INSPECTION. ... Lessor may or change
your Monthly Payment for increases and de-
creases in taxes. (Emphasis added).

Given the foregoing, WORLD OMNI had no choice but
to charge COHEN for Florida Sales and Use Tax when he

App. 43

moved to Florida. COHEN’s misconstrued interpretation
of “double billing” is legally and factually untenable.
COHEN cannot legitimately dispute that under control-
ling statutes WORLD OMNI was required to charge him
for Florida Sales and Use Tax under the Lease Agreement
when he moved to Ficrida. Accordingly, WORLD OMNI is
entitled to final summary judgment on COHEN’s Counter-
claim premised on the contrary.

CONCLUSION

WORLD OMNI requests that the Court enter an
Order granting final summary judgment in its favor and
against COHEN on his Counterclaim, together with such
other and further relief as the Court may deem just and
proper.

RITTER CHUSID BIVONA
& COHEN, LLP
Attorneys for World Omni
Financial Corp.
7000 West Palmetto Park Road
Suite 400
Boca Raton, Florida 33433
(561) 394-2180
(561) 394-2582 (fax)

By: /s/ Mitchel Chusid
MITCHEL CHUSID
FLA. BAR NO.: 879282

—_—_—_——__———

App. 44

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

WE HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy
of the foregoing was served by U.S. Mail on this 2nd day of
May, 2000 to: Richard D. Cohen, 21870 Cartagena
Drive, Boca Raton, Florida 33428.

RITTER CHUSID BIVONA
& COHEN, LLP
Attorneys for World Omni
Financial Corp.
7000 West Palmetto Park Road
Suite 400
Boca Raton, Florida 33433
(561) 394-2180
(561) 394-2582 (fax)

By: /s/ Mitchel Chusid

MITCHEL CHUSID
FLA. BAR NO.: 879282

App. 45

IN THE COUNTY COURT,
IN AND FOR PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA

WORLD OMNI FINANCIAL : Case No:.:
CORP., : Case No. SC 00-124 RD
Plaintiff,
VS.
RICHARD D. COHEN,
Defendant

DEFENDANT’S CROSS-MOTION FOR SUMMARY
JUDGMENT DISMISSING THE COMPLAINT

Defendant/Counter-Plaintiff, RICHARD D. COHEN
(“COHEN”), pursuant to Florida Rule of Civil Procedure
1.510, submits this cross-motion for an order granting
final summary judgment against the Plaintiff/Counter-
Defendant, WORLD OMNI FINANCIAL CORP. (“WOFC”)
dismissing the Complaint in it’s entirety. In support of it’s
cross-motion, COHEN hereby incorporates the attached
Affidavit of Richard D. Cohen, sworn to the __ day of
May, 2000, together with the supporting exhibits attached
thereto.

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and complete copy of
the forgoing has been furnished by U.S. Mail and facsimile
on this ____ day of May, 2000 to: Ritter, Chusid, Binova &
Cohen, LLP, 7000 West Palmetto Park Rd:, Suite 400,
Boca Raton, Florida 33433.

RICHARD D. COHEN
Defendant Pro Se

21870 Cartagena Drive
Boca Raton, Florida 33428
(561) 883-6227

App. 46

By: /s/ Richard D. Cohen
Richard D. Cohen

App. 47

IN THE COUNTY COURT,
IN AND FOR ?ALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA

WORLD OMNI : Case No.:
FINANCIAL CORP., : Case No. SC 00-124.RD

Plaintiff. © AFFIDAVIT IN OPPOSI-
' TION TO PLAINTIFF'S
' MOTION FOR SUMMARY
RICHARD D. COHEN, ~ JUDGMENT ON DEFEN-
., . DANT’S COUNTERCLAIM
Defendaazt ’ AND IN SUPPORT OF
' DEFENDANT'S CROSS.-
' MOTION FOR SUMMARY
' JUDGMENT DISMISSING
' THE COMPLAINT.

VS.

STATE OF FLORIDA
COUNTY OF PALM BEACH

BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority personally
appeared Richard D. Cohen, who being first duly sworn,
deposes and says:

1. Iam over the age of eighteen and I am resident
of Palm Beach County, Florida. I am the Defen-
dant in the within action.

I make this affidavit (i) in opposition to the
Plaintiff's Motion for Final Summary Judgment
on Defendart’s Counterclaim, and (ii) in support
of the Defendant's Cross-Motion for Final Sum-
mary Judgment dismissing the Complaint.

The Defendant's arguments, each of which is dis-
cussed at length hereinbelow, can be summarized
as follows: .1) the statutory section cited by the
plaintiff in support of it’s motion is inapplicable to
the case at bar (the properly applicable statutory

App. 48

section and related Tax Information Publication
is cited herein and/or attached hereto); (2) the
“Revenue Opinion” relied upon by the plaintiff is
self-serving, constitutionally flawed, erroneous,
non-binding and amply distinguishable from the
case at bar; (3) even assuming arguendo that the
transaction is subject to Florida Sales Tax, the
plaintiff can offer no explanation for it’s attempt
to levy Florida Sales Tax not only upon the base
amount but also upon the New York Sales Tax al-
ready included in the monthly payment thereby
resulting in a “tax upon a tax”; (4) the plaintiff is
under formal investigation by the Florida De-
partment of Revenue for it’s double billing of
sales tax; (5) although the plaintiff argues that
the transaction is subject to Florida Sales Tax for
the period of time during which the leased vehi-
cle was located in Florida, it notably fails to ad-
dress the entitlement to a credit or refund from
New York for the unearned portion of the New
York Sales Tax previously paid; (6) multiple taxa-
tion of the same goods and services (which the
plaintiff seeks to impose upon the defendant) vio-
lates the Commerce Clause of the Federal Con-
stitution. (7) the lease between the parties
unambiguously provides for an “all inclusive
monthly payment” and further provides that the
defendant is entitled to receive the benefit of a
decrease in sales taxes, which was occasioned by
the defendant’s relocation from New York to Flor-
ida; and (8) upon the inception of the lease, the
defendant deposited with plaintiff a security de-
posit in the sum of Seven Hundred and Fifty Dol-
lars ($750) which provided more than adequate
protection to the plaintiff for the default claimed
by it, i.e. the non-payment of the disputed sales
taxes; therefore, the plaintiff’s repossession and

App. 49

sale of the vehicle was overreaching and wrong-
ful.

Before proceeding with the legal arguments, I
would like to make a visceral appeal to the
Court. I am ust a lay consumer who entered into
a lease to pay an all-inclusive $711.20 per month
and should be given the benefit of his bargain.
I should not have to deal with a “patchwork
quilt” of conflicting and/or inconsistent State
Sales Tax Laws. It is not for me to determine
whether the New York Sales Tax Law is perhaps
overreaching by attempting to capture tax for the
entire term of a lease upon lease irrespective of
whether of rot the vehicle is in New York for the
entire term, or whether Florida Sales Tax Law is
possibly deficient by failing to provide for a credit
of Sales Taxes previously paid to another State.

Florida Statute Section 212.06 8(a) cited to by
plaintiff in support of it’s motion provides that
“the rental cr lease of tangible personal property
which is used or stored in this state shall be tax-
able without. regard to it’s prior use or tax paid
on the purchase outside this state” {emphasis
supplied]. Because the defendant herein is not
claiming that he is entitled to a credit as a result
of any tax paid as a result of a purchase outside
the state, this section is wholly inapplicable and
without relevance to the case at bar. The appro-
priate statutory section, to which the plaintiff
conspicuously omits any reference, is Section
212.6, subsection 7, which provides, in pertinent
part, as follows:

“The provisions of this chapter do not apply
in respect to use or consumption of tangible
personal property or services... upon which
a like tax equal to or greater than the

App. 50

amount imposed by this chapter has been
lawfully imposed or paid in another state,
territory of the United States, or the District
of Columbia.”

Attached hereto as Exhibit “A” is a true and com-
plete copy of the State of Florida Department of
Revenue Tax Information Publication (TIP)
#98(A) 117 which provides in pertinent part as
follows:

“Section 212.06(7), F.S.. allows a credit to be
given on tangible personal property brought
into the State of Florida where a like tax has
been lawfully imposed and paid in another
state. If the amount of the tax paid is equal
to or greater than the amount imposed by
Florida, no additional tax is due” |em-
phasis supplied].

“It is the position of the Department that
credit shall be given for a like tax paid in
another state whether the tax has been paid
to the state, or a county of city (local taxes)
within the other state provided that the like
tax is related to the transaction”.

The defendant respectfully requests that the
Court take judicial notice of the fact that the ap-
plicable sales tax rate in Nassau County, New
York (where the sales tax for the entire lease
term was previously paid) is and was 8.5% and
that the applicable sales tax rate in Palm Beach
County, Florida is and was 6% at all relevant
times herein. The defendant further requests
that the Court also take judicial notice of the
mathematical axiom that the number 8.5 is
greater than the number 6. Since 8.5 is greater

App. 51

than 6, then pursuant to FS. Section 212.06(7),
no additional tax is due.

In order to fully illustrate for the Court why the
Revenue Opinion cited by plaintiff in support of
it’s motion is clearly erroneous as a matter of
law, [ would first like provide the Court with a
brief survey of U.S. Supreme Court decisional
law dealing with Federal Constitutional limita-
tions on State taxes. The case of Complete Auto
Transit, Ine. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274 (1977) es-
tablished a four prong test for determining the
validity of state taxes against a Commerce
Clause challenge. A tax is constitutional under
the Commerce Clause so long as the tax 1) is ap-
plied to an activity with a substantial nexus with
the taxing state; 2) is fairly apportioned; 3: does
not discriminate against interstate commerce;
and 4) is fairly related to the services provided by
the state. 430 U.S. at 279. Conceding that the
first prong that both New York and Florida each
have a substantial nexus, we now reach the sec-
ond prong of Complete Auto’s test. To determine
whether a tax is fairly and properly apportioned,
the tax must be both “internally consistent” and
“externally consistent”. Goldberg v. Sweet, 488
U.S. 252, at 261 (1989); Container Corp. v.
Franchise Tax Board, 463 U.S. 159, at 169
(1983). Internal consistency is preserved when
the imposit:on of a tax identical to the one in
question by every other State would add no bur-
den to interstate commerce that intrastate com-
merce would not also bear. This test asks nothing
about the degree of economic reality reflected by
the tax, but simply looks to the structure of the
tax at issue to see whether its identical application
by another State in the Union would place inter-
state commerce at a disadvantage as compared

App. 52

with intrastate commerce. A failure of internal
consistency shows as a matter of law that a State
is attempting to take more than its fair share of
taxes. If every State were to impose a tax identi-
cal to New York’s, that is, a sales tax calculated
upon the payments accruing under an entire
lease term, every lease would be subject to more
than one State’s tax for the entire lease term.
Therefore, the tax acceleration clause violates
the principle of internal consistency. External
consistency, on the other hand, looks to the eco-
nomic justification for the State’s claim upon the
value taxed, to ascertain whether a State’s tax
reaches beyond that portion of value that it fairly
attributable to economic activity within the tax-
ing State. Since a use tax is generally levied to
compensate the taxing State for it’s incapacity to
reach the corresponding sale, it is commonly
paired with a sales tax, being applicable only
when no sales tax has been paid or subject to a
credit for any such tax paid. Since any use tax
would have to comply with Commerce Clause re-
quirements, the tax scheme could not apply dif-
ferently to goods and services purchased out of
state from those purchased domestically. It would
not apply when another State’s sales tax had
previously been paid or would apply subject to a
credit for such payment. Oklahoma Tax Com-
mission v. Jefferson Lines, 514 U.S. 175
(1995). Indeed, the District of Columbia and forty
four of the forty five States that impose sales and
use taxes permit such a credit or exemption for
similar taxes paid to other States. See 2 Heller-
stein & Hellerstein 718.08, p. 18.48; 1 All States
Tax Guide 1256 (1994). As one state court sum-
marized the provisions in force:

App. 53

“These credit provisions create a national
system under which the first state of pur-
chase or use imposes the tax. Thereafter, no-
other state taxes the transaction unless
there has been no prior tax imposed . .. or if
the tax rate of the prior taxing state is less,
in which case the subsequent taxing state
imposes a tax measured only by the differ-
ential rate.” KSS Transportation Corp. v.
Baldwin, 9 N.J. Tax 273, 285 (1987).

Turning to the third prong of the Complete Auto
test, a State may not “impose a tax which dis-
criminates against interstate commerce by pro-
viding a direct commercial advantage to local
business”. A sales tax imposed by a State which
is levied in addition to a sales tax already im-
posed by another State (without credit for the
sales tax previously imposed by the first State)
clearly discriminates against interstate com-
merce by providing a direct commercial advan-
tage to local business in the second State since
the only wav to avoid imposition of multiple sales
taxes would be to purchase (or lease) the item in
the second State in the first instance. The fourth
prong of the Complete Auto test demands a fair
relation between a tax and the benefits conferred
upon the taxpayer by the State; that the measure
of the tax be reasonably related to the taxpayer’s
presence or activities in the State. One could eas-
ily argue that New York in seeking to impose it’s
sales tax upon the lease payments accruing dur-
ing an entire lease term regardless of whether or
not (or to what extent) the property is located in
the State for the entire lease term unfairly over-
reaches. Based upon the foregoing, it is clear that
the Commerce Clause of the United States Con-
stitution and prevailing United States Supreme

App. 54

Court precedents protect a taxpayer from being
subjected to the same tax in multiple States
unless credit is given for the tax previously paid
in the first State.

It is a fundamental maxim of statutory construc-
tion that a statute is to be construed in a way
that would save it’s constitutionality. In fact,
most statutes incorporate within their frame-
work a so-called “savings clause” rescuing the
balance of a statute from a declaration of uncon-
stitutionality if one or more clauses or parts are
invalidated. Dade County v. Wiseheart, F'.
App., 198 So.2d. 94, 97. Since an adoption of the
construction of the statute proffered by plaintiff,
i.e. that the defendant is subject to Florida Sales
Tax without regard to or credit for the amount of
Sales Tax previously paid in New York, would re-
sult in a declaration of unconstitutionality, the
statute must be construed in a way which would
save it’s constitutiunality, i.e. to provide the de-
fendant with a credit for taxes previously paid
based upon the same transaction in another ju-
risdiction. It is for this reason that the Revenue
Opinion relied upon and cited by plaintiff is con-
stitutionally flawed. It should also be noted that
the Revenue Opinion has no binding effect upon
this Court since it is neither a judicial pro-
nouncement nor the product of an adversarial
process but merely the clearly biased, self-
serving opinion of an agency construing a statu-
tory ambiguity in a way that serves it’s own in-
terest in maximizing tax revenues. Regardless of
whether one agrees or disagrees with the result
of the Revenue Opinion, the fact that a Revenue
Opinion had to be sought on the issue at all ar-
gues well for the proposition that statute is in-
herently ambiguous and not as “clear cut” and

App. 55

unambiguous as either the plaintiff or the defen-
dant urge. It is also interesting to note that the
Revenue Opinion was not rendered until May 15,
1998, well efter the conclusion of the events at
issue in this lawsuit. Therefore, it is impossible
for the plairtiff to claim reliance upon the Reve-
nue Opinion in it’s declaration of default against
the defendant. Equally interesting is the fact
that the Revenue Opinion does not address the
entitlement of the person seeking the opinion to
a refund of the unearned potion of the New York
Sales Tax. Moreover, the case at bar is distin-
guishable from the case described in the Revenue
Opinion in that the person seeking the Revenue
Opinion paid the New York sales tax out of
pocket whereas in the case at bar, the New York
sales tax wes advanced by the plaintiff to be re-
paid by defendant in equal monthly installments,
which installments were included as a compo-
nent of the monthly lease payments, resulting in |
the imposition of Florida sales tax not only upon
the base lezse payment but also upon the New
York sales tax included in the monthly payment
amount thereby “taxing the tax”.

Attached hereto as Exhibit “B” is a true and com-
plete copy cf the “Lease Calculations” prepared
by the plaintiff which was produced in response
to the Defendant's First Request for the Produc-
tion of Documents served herein. As the Court
can see, the “Base Rent” is $651.52. However, the
Base Monthly Payment under the Lease, at-
tached to the plaintiff's moving papers as Ex-
hibit “A”, is $711.20. The $59.68 difference is the
New York Sales Tax (together with the Money
Factor applicable thereto). In other words, the
New York sales tax is already included in the
Monthly Lease Payment reserved under the

App. 56

Lease. When the defendant relocated to Florida
in June, 1996, the plaintiff began charging the
defendant Florida Sales Tax not only upon the
$651.52 “Base Rent” amount but also upon the
$59.68 New York Sales Tax also included as part
of the $711.20 “Base Monthly Payment” reserved
in the Lease thereby “taxing the tax”. One need
not be a multi-state tax law expert or a constitu-
tional law scholar to know that there is some-
thing very wrong with this. While the plaintiff
may be able to possibly justify it’s attempt to col-
lect Florida Sales Tax based upon the $651.52
“Base Rent” amount, it’s attempt to collect Flor-
ida Sales Tax based upon the $59.68 New York
Sales Tax is absolutely indefensible and war-
rants no further discussion.

Perhaps understandably, the plaintiff also con-
spicuously neglected to bring to the attention of
this Honorable Court the fact that the plaintiff is
the subject of an active investigation undertaken
by the Florida Department of Revenue specifi-
cally concerning it’s “double billing of Florida
sales and use tax to its lease customers who relo-
cate to Florida from other states”. In support of
the foregoing, attached hereto as Exhibit “C” is a
letter dated April 18, 2000 from the Florida De-
partment of Revenue confirming the aforesaid.

. While the plaintiff argues that the lease pay-
ments are subject to Florida Sales Tax for the pe-
riod of time during which the leased vehicle was
located in Florida, it conveniently avoids any dis-
cussion of the efforts it might have undertaken to
obtain a refund from the York State Department
of Taxation and Finance of the unearned portion
of the New York Sales Tax previously paid. The
discovery materials adduced by the plaintiff in
response to the Defendant’s First Request for

App. 57

Production of Documents demonstrate that the
plaintiff made absolutely no effort whatsoever to
obtain such a refund despite the fact that New
York has established systems and procedures for
Applications for Credits and Refunds of Sales or
Use Tax. In support of the foregoing, attached
hereto as Exhibit “D” is an Application for Credit
or Refund of Sales of Use Tax, published by the
New York State Department of Taxation and
Finance. As an aside, because, as far as New
York State is concerned, the defendant was nei-
ther the taxoayer nor the title holder of the vehi-
cle, the defendant had no standing to make such
an application for refund. In addition, New York
Courts, recognizing that the tax acceleration fea-
ture inherent in the New York Statute is a fic-
tion, have been very sympathetic to claimants
seeking refunds for “unearned taxes”. Attached
hereto as Exhibit “E” is a State of New York, Di-
vision of Tax Appeals case entitled In the Mat-
ter of the Petition of Jennier A. Miehle for a
Revision of a Determination or for a Refund
of Sales and Use Taxes under Article 28 and
29 of the Tax Law for the Period September
1, 1994 through November 30, 1994 (DTA No.
816201). The Court’s attention is specifically di-
rected to Paragraph “G” thereof which provides
in pertinent part as follows:

“Prior to the enactment of Tax Law
$1111 4A) [the tax acceleration clause] in
1990, sales tax was paid on lease payments
as made. If a lease payment was not made,
sales tax was not collected. Allowing a re-
fund of sales tax that will not, if fact, be
made is in harmony with the statutory lan-
guage at issue while also avoiding an unrea-
sonable and unfair result (see, Le

App. 58

Drugstore Etats Unis v. New York State
Board of Pharmacy, 33 NY2d. 298, 352
NYS 1888; McKinney’s Cons Laws of NY,
Book 1, Statutes §143; 56 NY Jur, Statutes
§211. Moreover, deeming facts is a legal fic-
tion which “should be sparing employed” (In
Re Morris Estate, 175 Misc. 773, 25
NYS2d 48, affd 261 App Div 950, 27 NYS2d
188, affd 287 NY 624). The addition of sub-
division (i) to Tax Law §1111 in 1990, which
deemed all car lease payments to have been
paid as of the date of first payment under
the car lease, was a fiction of law resorted to
by the legislature solely to accelerate the
payment of sales tax and should not be in-
terpreted as transforming something unreal
into real so as to bar an appropriate refund
of sales tax...”

Based on the foregoing, there is ample reason to
believe that if the plaintiff bothered to apply for
a refund of the unearned sales tax from New
York, it would have been successful in it’s appli-
cation. While there is admittedly nothing in the
lease that affirmatively requires the plaintiff to
make such a refund application, it is respectfully
submitted that the implied covenants of good
faith and fair dealing inherent in all contracts
dictate, at a minimum, that the plaintiff at least
make some token effort. Moreover, to the extent
that it can be said that the plaintiff is a fiduciary
with respect to the sales taxes collected from the
defendant and remitted to New York, a fiduciary
duty on the part of the plaintiff arises thereby
“raising the bar” on the amount of effort required
to be expended by the plaintiff in pursuing a re-
fund application. By preferring it’s own economic
interests to those of the defendant in not initiating

13.

App. 59

a refund application, the plaintiff breached
whatever fiduciary duty it might be said to owe
to the defendant.

While the statutory and constitutional issues
presented herein make for interesting legal dis-
cussion, the Court does not have to reach any of
the statutory or constitutional issues in order to
determine this case. That is because the contract
between the parties — in this case, the Lease — is
controlling. Although the defendant firmly be-
lieves that the terms of the lease unambiguously
support the defendant’s position, to the extent
that the Court finds that there is some ambigu-
ity, in keeping with one of the most fundamental
tenets of contract construction, it should be noted
that since the plaintiff was the draftsman of the
lease, any ambiguities should be construed
against the plaintiff. Turning to the Lease, the
Court’s attention is respectfully directed to Sec-
tion 3 which provides that the Monthly Payment
is $711.20, and further provides that. “(t]hese
amounts make up the Monthly Payment: (a)
Base Monthly Payment — $711.20, (b) Sales/Use/
Lease/Other Tax* ~ N/A”. The asterisk references
a footnote that reads “Estimated based on cur-
rent tax rate”. Request is hereby made that the
Court take judicial notice of the fact that the ab-
breviation “N/A” means “Not Applicable”. Similar
reference is made to Section 1 which provides for
a “First Monthly Payment in Advance” of $711.20
and another N/A designation assoociated with
the Sales Tax line item. Permit me to direct the
Court's attention to Section 6 which provides
that the “Tctal Estimated Fees and Taxes Pay-
able During the Lease” is $2304.25 which is
comprised of “(a) Title, License, and Registration
Fees” in the sum of $149.00 and “(c) Sales/Lease/

App. 60

Use/Other Taxes” in the sum of $2155.25. At-
tached hereto as Composite Exhibit “K” “F” are
true and complete copies of thirteen (13) monthly
lease invoices which were rendered by the plain-
tiff for the period beginning June, 1995 and con-
tinuing through June, 1996 in the amount of
$711.20 each, consistent with the Lease. Permit
me to further direct the Court’s attention to Sec-
tion 26 of the Lease which provides as follows:

“26. LICENSE, REGISTRATION, TAXES
AND INSPECTION. You [referring to De-
fendant] agree to pay for titling, registration
and licensing and for all inspections of the
Vehicle required by any government author-
ity during the term of this Lease. You will
also pay all excise, use, personal property,
gross receipts and other taxes incurred dur-
ing the term of this Lease with respect to
the use and operation of the Vehicle except
those levied upon our net income. The taxes
_you must pay will be included in the Amount
Due When the Lease is Signed (see Para-
graph 1), or your Monthly Payment (see
Paragraph 3) or separately billed to you by
Lessor. Lessor may change your Monthly
Payment for increases or decreases in
taxes [emphasis supplied].”

The only conclusion which can be drawn from the
foregoing is that the $711.20 Monthly Payment
reserved in the Lease was intended to be an all-
inclusive amount. It should be noted that al-
though the term “sales tax” is specifically utilized
in Sections 1, 3 and 4 of the Lease, it is notably
absent in Section 26. Applying the legal maxim of
inclusio unius est exclusio alterius (inclusion of
one excludes the other) which means that if you
specify something but not everything of the same

App. 61

category, the reader may infer that unspecified
terms have been deliberately omitted, to the case
at bar leads to the conclusion that the term
“sales tax” was deliberately omitted from Section
26. Moreover, sales tax would not fall under the
penumbra of “other taxes incurred during the
term of this Lease with respect to the use and
operation of the Vehicle except those levied upon
our net income” since a sales tax obligation does
not arise by virtue of the use or operation of the
vehicle, but is instead the result of a sale or lease
of the vehicle. However, if one were to adopt the
position thet sales tax is included within the
scope of Article 26, the defendant would be enti-
tled to a credit against the Monthly Payment by
virtue of the fact that the change in the sales tax
rate from the 8.5% rate charged in Nassau
County, New York, to the 6% rate charged in
Palm Beach County, Florida, represents a de-
crease, and Article 26 requires that the “Lessor
may change the Monthly Payment for increases
or decreases in taxes.”

. As recited in Section 1(d) of the Lease, the plain-
tiff acknowledged receipt of a $750 security de-
posit that was paid by the defendant when the
Lease was signed. As will be shown by_the chart
below, at the time that the plaintiff repossessed
the Vehicle, the plaintiff had only $505.68 in pos-
sible economic loss, which loss was adequately
protected by the $750.00 security deposit. As evi-
denced by the affidavit of Chris Slader sworn to
the llth day of May, 2000, submitted by the
plaintiff in support of it’s motion, and the accom-
panying exhibit, the plaintiff only remitted sales
tax to Florida based upon the actual amount re-
ceived by the piaintiff from the defendant. For
example, ir October, 1997, when the defendant,

App. 62

having discovered the double billing of sales tax,
took an offset against his Monthly Payment for
the aggregate of the Florida Sales Tax previously
paid in error for the previous fourteen (14)
months as well as the current month, remitting
to the plaintiff the net sum of $68.15, the plain-
tiff treated this payment as a gross payment, in-
clusive of Florida Sales Tax, remitting $3.85 of
this amount to the Florida, and retaining the
$64.30 balance for itself.

The following table sets forth the shortfall/surplus
amounts relative to the $651.52 Base Rent reflected on the
Lease Calculations (Ex. “B”) for the period in question and
reflects the plaintiff's economic loss:

Month

Amount
Paid by
Defendant

Amount
Retained
by Plaintiff

Shortfall/Surplus
Relative to
Base Rent

October, 1997

$68.15

$64.30

$583.37

$646.90
$670.95
$694.98
$670.94
$2748.07

$4.62
-$19.43
-$43.46
-$19.42
$505.68

ovember, 1997)
December, 1997,
January, 1998
February, 1998

TOTAL

$711.20
$711.20
$711.20
$711.20
$2912.95

Regardless of all of the other issues and defenses
presented herein, because the $750.00 security
deposit more than adequately protected the
plaintiff against the economic loss sustained by
it, the plaintiff’s repossession and sale of the Ve-
hicle was overreaching and wrongful.

App. 63

15. Based on the foregoing, it is respectfully re-
quested that: (i) the Plaintiff's Motion for Sum-
mary Judgment on Defendant's Counterclaim be
denied in it’s entirety; and (ii) the Defendant's
Cross-Motioa for Summary Judgment dismissing
the Complaint be granted in all respects, to-
gether with such other, further and different re-
lief that this Court may deem just proper and
equitable.

FURTHER AFFIANT SAYETH NAUGHT.

/s/ Richard D. Cohen
Richard D. Cohen

STATE OF FLORIDA)
COUNTY OF PALM BEACH)

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before
me this 26th day of May, 2000 by Richard D. Cohen, who is
personally known to me and who did take an oath. In the
County of Palm Beach, Florida.

/s/ Sheppard Parr
NOTARY PUBLIC

SHEPPARD PARR
Notary Public - State of Florida
Mv Commission Expires Feb. 9, 2004
Commission # CC909307

App. 64

IN THE COUNTY COURT
IN AND FOR PALM BEACH
COUNTY, FLORIDA

WORLD OMNI CIVIL DIVISION

FINANCIAL CORP., CASE NO. SC 00 124 RD
Plaintiff,

VS.

RICHARD D. COHEN,
Defendant, /

ORDER GRANTING
FINAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT

THIS case came before the court for hearing on
Plaintiff’s Motion For Summary Judgment On Defen-
dant’s Counterclaim. Counsel for Plaintiff/Counter Defen-
dant, World Omni Financial Corp. (“World Omni”), and
defendant/counter plaintiff, Richard Cohen (“Cohen”),
appeared. The court, having considered the pleadings,
affidavits, statutes, administrative codes, and other
documents in the court record, finds as follows:

FACTS

Cohen’s Counterclaim is based upon his allegation
that he made the monthly payments under the terms of
the Closed End Motor Vehicle Lease Agreement For Land
Rover Vehicles (“Lease” Exhibit A, attached to the Com-
plaint) and that World Omni wrongfully repossessed his
vehicle. Count 1, Breach Of The Lease, alleges that Cohen
made all payments under the Lease; Count 2, Breach Of
The Lease, alleges that Cohen was entitled to a tax refund
for a portion of the New York State sales tax that was
included in the monthly payments; Count 3, alleges that

App. 65

World Omni committed liable by notifying third parties of
the default and repossession.

There is no genuine issue as to any material fact. It is
uncontradicted that Cohen failed to pay the entire
monthly lease payments when World Omni increased the
lease payments to include a 6% sales and use tax imposed
by Florida law. World Omni repossessed and sold the
vehicle. Cohen alleges either that he was not required to
pay the Florida sales and use tax on the Lease or that he
was entitled to a refund on a portion of the New York sales
tax which was paid at ~he inception of the lease.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The Lease permits World Omni to change the monthly
payments for increases or decreases in taxes (paragraph
26). The State of Florida required World Omni to collect
the sales and use tax on the leased vehicle when Cohen
moved to Florida. Section 212.06(8a), Fla. Stat., states
“The rental or lease of tangible personal property which is
used or stored in this state shall be taxable without regard
to its prior use or tax paid on purchase outside this state.”;
See also Section 12 A — 1.000 (14), FAC. Payment of the
New York Lease was due at the inception of the lease on
the total amount of the base payments for the entire term
of the lease. State — Reg., NY Tax RPTR (Doc. 11); In the
matter of Petition on of Jennifer Miehle, State of New
York, Division of Tax Appeals, attached to Defendant’s
Cross Motion For Summary Judgment Dismissing The
Complaint. Cohen has presented no authority to support
his claim that he was entitled to a credit for the payment
of the New York sales tax which was paid by World Omni
and then prorated in his monthly payments.

App. 66

Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that plaintiff’s Motion
For Judgment on the Counterclaim is granted.

DONE AND ORDERED in Delray Beach, Palm Beach
County, Florida this 11th day of July, 2000.

/s/ Susan Lubitz
SUSAN LUBITZ
COUNTY COURT JUDGE

Copies furnished:

Michael Chusid, Esq.
7000 West Palmetto Park Road, Ste. 400
Boca Raton, Fl 33433

Richard D. Cohen
21870 Cartagena Drive
Boca Raton, Fl] 33428

App. 67

IN THE COUNTY COURT, IN AND FOR
PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA

WORLD OMNI FINANCIAL CORP., : Case No.: Case No.

Plaintiff, SC 00-124.RD
vs.
RICHARD D. COHEN,
Defendant

DEFENDANT’S MOTION FOR LEAVE TO SERVE
AND FILE AND AMENDED ANSWER AND
COUNTERCLAIM

Defendant/Counter-Plaintiff, RICHARD D. COHEN
(“COHEN”), pursuant to Florida Rule of Civil Procedure
1.190, submits this mction for leave to serve and file and
Amended Answer anc Counterclaim. In support of it’s
motion, COHEN states as follows:

1. This action was commenced by service of a
summons and complaint on or about January
19, 2000. A true and complete copy of the
summons and complaint is annexed hereto as
Exhibit “A”.

2. The issue was joined by service of an Answer
and Counterclaim, a true and complete copy
of which is annexed hereto as Exhibit “B”, on
February 2, 2000.

3. At the time of the service and filing of the
original Answer and Counterclaim, Cohen
overlooked various affirmative defenses and
counterclaims. for which leave is herein
sought for inclusion in the Amended Answer
and Counterclaim, a true and complete copy
of which is annexed hereto as Exhibit “C”.

App. 68

4. No obvious prejudice would accrue to World
Omni by permitting the amendment for
which leave is herein sought since no discov-
ery has been conducted by the World Omni.

5. The differences between the original Answer
and Counterclaim, on the one hand, and the
proposed Amended Answer and Counter-
claim, on the other, are as follows:

i) Paragraph 28 was changed to reflect the
fact that the correct rate of Sales Tax in
Palm Beach County, Florida is 6% (not
6.5% as stated in the original Answer).

ii) The addition of a “Fourth Affirmative
Defense — Unconstitutionality” (Para.
45-46.).

iii) The addition of a “Fifth Affirmative De-
fense ~ No Economic Loss” (Para. 47-48).

iv) The addition of a “Sixth Affirmative De-
fense — Bad Faith Repossession” (Para.
49-53).

v) Paragraph 59 was similarly changed to
reflect the correct rate of sales tax in
Palm Beach County, Florida.

vi) The addition of an additional Counter-
claim denominated as “Count IV -—
Breach of Fiduciary Duty” (Para. 65-67).

vii) The addition of an additional Counter-
claim denominated as “Count V -
Breach of Implied Covenants of Good
Faith and Fair Dealing” (Para. 68-70).

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and complete copy of

the forgoing has been furnished by U.S. Mail on this 25th

~ App. 69

day of January, 2001 to: Ritter, Chusid, Binova & Cohen,
LLP, 7000 West Palme:to Park Rd., Suite 400, Boca Raton,
Florida 33433.

RICHARD D. COHEN
Defendant Pro Se

21870 Cartagena Drive
Boca Raton, Florida 33428
(561) 883-6227

By: /s/ Richard D. Cohen
Richard D. Cohen

App. 70

IN THE COUNTY COURT, IN AND FOR
PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA

WORLD OMNI : Case No.: Case No.
FINANCIAL CORP., : $C 00-124.RD

Plaintiff, © ° DEFENDANT’S AMENDED

* ANSWER, AFFIRMATIVE

‘ DEFENSES AND COUNTER-
RICHARD D. COHEN, * CLAIM AND DEMAND FOR
* JURY TRIAL

vs.

Defendant

Defendant Richard D. Cohen (“Cohen”), appearing pro se,
hereby answers the Complaint and says that each and
every allegation not specifically admitted below is hereby
denied and as to each number paragraph states:

1. Admitted for jurisdictional purposes only.

2. Cohen is without sufficient knowledge to
admit or deny the allegations in this para-
graph and those allegations are therefore
denied. Cohen demands strict proof thereof.

Cohen is without sufficient knowledge to
admit or deny the allegations in this para-
graph and those allegations are therefore
denied. Cohen demands strict proof thereof.

Admitted.
Deny.

Cohen is without sufficient knowledge to
admit or deny the allegations in this para-
graph and those allegations are therefore
denied. Cohen demands strict proof thereof.

Admitted.

AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSES AND COUNTERCLAIMS

Counter-Plaintiff Richard D. Cohen (“Cohen”) file —
their Counterclaim against Plaintiff/Counter-Defendant
World Omni Financia: Corp. (World Omni”) and allege as

follows:

12.

13.

14.

16.

17.

App. 71

Deny.
Deny.
Deny.

Deny.

This is an action for damages in excess of
$15,000 exclusive of interest, costs and at-
torneys fees.

This Court has subject matter jurisdiction
over this case pursuant to Article V, Section
5 of the Florida Constitution and pursuant
to Florida common law.

At all material times World Omni was and is
qualified to do business in Palm Beach
County, Florida.

. Venue is appropriate in Palm Beach County,

Florida because the causes of action accrued
in Palm Beach County.

This Court has personal jurisdiction over
World Omni because they invoked the
Court's jurisdiction by bringing the Com-
plaint.

All conditions precedent to the filing of these
counterclaims have occurred or have been
waived.

App. 72

Factual Background

18. On May 13, 1995, Cohen, as Lessee, entered
into a Closed End Motor Vehicle Lease
Agreement for Land Rover Vehicles (the
“Lease”) with Lazarus Freres & Co. d/b/a
Range Rover (“Lazarus”), as Lessor, covering a
1995 Land Rover Discovery bearing Vehicle
Identification Number SALJY124SA151437
for a term of thrity six (36) months com-
mencing on May 13, 1995 and continuing
through May 14, 1998.

. Concurrently therewith, Lazarus assigned
all of it’s right, title and interest in the
Lease to World Omni.

. Upon information and belief, World Omni
thereafter further assigned all of it’s right,
title and interest in the Lease to Bank of
America, Illinois, as Collateral Agent, pur-
suant to a Pledge and Security Agreement.

. The Lee-e was entered into in Glen Head,
New York.

. Paragraph 30 of the Lease provides that
“(t]he law of the place where you signed this
Lease will govern this Lease”.

. Sales tax computed in accordance with the
then prevailing sales tax rate of 8.5% was
incorporated into the monthly lease pay-
ments of $711.20 required under the Lease.
This is evidenced by the fact that the term
“N/A” appears as the entry for “Sales/Use/
Lease/Other Tax” in Paragraph 3b of the
Lease, and is further evidenced by the fact
that for the period beginning in June, 1995
and for each month thereafter through and

App. 73

including June, 1996, World Omni invoiced
Cohen for $711.20 with no provision for
sales tax.

24. In June, 1996, Cohen moved from New York

25.

26.

g

to Florida and notified World Omni of his
change of address.

Beginning with the July, 1996 lease invoice,
World Omni began invoicing Cohen for
$753.87, which consisted of the $711.20
monthly lease payment reserved in the Lease
(which already included the New York sales
tax as aforesaid) plus $42.67 in Sales Uses
Tax, presumably computed at the applicable
Florida rate.

Cohen did not notice the double billing of
sales tax until October, 1997 and erroneously
paid duplicate sales tax for the fifteen (15:
month period commencing July, 1996 and
continuing through and including September.
1997, resulting in an aggregate of $643.05 in
mistaken sales tax payments to World Omni.
In October, 1997, Cohen took a setoff and de-
duction in the sum of $643.05 against the
$711.20 monthly lease payment, and remit-
ted to World Omni his check for the $68.15
difference along with his cover letter dated
October 6, 1997 explaining the basis for the
setoff.

World Omni wrongfully refused to accept the
setoff and wrongfully continued to invoice
Cohen for the setoff amount, late charges on
the setoff amount, Florida sales tax, and late
charges on the unpaid Florida sales tax for
the balance o* the lease term.

App. 74

28. In an attempt to resolve the matter, Cohen

29.

30.

initiated several telephone calls to World
Omni, most notably one to a Mr. Schmidt,
wherein Cohen explained that he would be
only too happy to pay Florida Sales Tax at a
rate of 6.0% provided that they credit the
monthly lease payment for the 8.5% New
York Sales Tax already included in the
$711.20 monthly payment. Schmidt re-
sponded by saying that New York will not
refund to World Omni the sales tax previ-
ously paid to them. Cohen replied by stating
that (1) he had no standing to apply to New
York for a refund since he was neither the
titleholder nor the registrant of the vehicle
nor the remitter of the sales tax as far as
New York was concerned; (2) to the extent
that New York was unwilling to refund the
unearned portion of the sales tax, this was
World Omni’s problem and responsibility;
and (3) the terms of the Lea: and the prior
course of dealing and course of performance
between the parties uneqv vocally estab-
lished that 8.5% New York sales tax was al-
ready incorporated in the $711.20 monthly
payment reserved in the Lease.

Cohen fully and timely paid the $711.20
monthly lease payment reserved under the
Lease each and every month throughout the
lease term through and including the Feb-
ruary, 1998 payment (which covered the
charges accruing through March, 13, 1998).

In February, 1998, the vehicle which was the
subject of the Lease was “rear-ended” by an-
other car, damaging the rear bumper of the
leased vehicle. The driver of the other car,
not wanting to put the matter through her

App. 75

insurance company, offered to pay for the
necessary repairs to the leased vehicle and
called in her credit card number to North
Dade Range Rover where the vehicle was
taken for repair, and authorized them to
charge the repairs to her credit card.

. On or about February 27, 1998, netwith-
standing the unassailable fact that Cohen
fully and timely paid and performed all of
his obligations under the Lease in strict ac-
cordance with the terms of the Lease, World
Omni purported to repossess the vehicle
from the premises of North Dade Ranger
Rover, before North Dade had the opportu-
nity to perform the repairs that had been
authorized. On March 2, 1998, World Omni
sent Cohen a Notice of Repossession.

. On March 13, 1998, World Omni sent Cohen

a monthly lease invoice thereby superceding
and negating the previous Notice of Repos-
session.

Notwithstanding the foregoing, Cohen was
notified by letters from World Omni dated
May 28, 1998 that the leased vehicle was
sold, and claiming a deficiency balance of
$11,837.34.

. World Omni “alsely and maliciously reported
and continues to report to various credit re-
porting bureaus, including but not limited to
Equifax, TransUnion and Transamerica,
that Cohen was deliquent in payment of his
obligations under the Lease (when in fact he
was not) and that the vehicle had been re-
possessed (even though such repossession
was wrongful and in blatant violation of the

App. 76

terms, of the Lease), creating the false im-
pression that Cohen is a deadbeat.

. Cohen relies upon the availability of credit
for the conduct of his business and personal
affairs.

. Cohen’s prospective creditors rely upon
statements made by Cohen’s past and exist-
ing creditors contained in credit reports is-
sued by the various credit bureaus in
making their decisions as to whether or not
(or to what extent) to grant credit to Cohen
and on what terms.

. World Omni’s false and defamatory state-
ments to the credit reporting agencies have
severely impaired and at times completely
precluded Cohen’s ability to obtain credit
and/or have resulted in Cohen not being able
to obtain credit on the most competitive
terms which would have been otherwise
available to Cohen absent World Omni's
false and defamatory statements.

. As a direct result of the foregoing, Cohen
has incurred credit costs, in the form of
higher interest rates, higher down payment
requirements, higher origination fees, addi-
tional collateral requirements, etc., that
would not have had to have been incurred
absent World Omni’s false and defamatory
statements. In addition, Cohen has lost and
forfeited valuable business opportunities be-
cause of his inability to obtain credit on com-
petitive terms which would otherwise been
available to him absent World Omnis false
and defamatory statements.

39.

40.

App. 77

First Affirmative Defense - Estoppel

Cohen realleges paragraphs 18-38 as if fully
set forth herein.

As a result of World Omni's failure and/or
refusal to permit North Dade Ranger “over
to effectuate the repairs to the vehicle that
were author.zed, World Omni should be es-
topped from recovering damages that could
and would have been mitigated as a result of
such repairs.

Second Affirmative Defense - Lack of Standing

41.

42.

43.

44.

Cohen realieges paragraphs 18-38 as if fully
set forth herein.

As a result of World Omnis assignment of
the Lease, to Bank of America, Illinois,
World Omni lacks the requisite standing to
prosecute th:s action.

Third Affirmative Defense - Wrongful

Repossession and Sale.

Cohen realleges paragraphs 18-38 as if fully
set forth herein.

Because Cohen was not in default of the
payment or performance of his obligations
under the Lease, there was no basis for
World Omni's repossession and sale of the
vehicle and World Omni should be barred
from seeking the recovery of any deficiency
occasioned in connection with such sale.

App. 78

Fourth Affirmative Defense - Unconstitutionality

45. Cohen realleges paragraphs 18-38 as if fully
set forth herein.

46. World Omni’s attempt to collect Florida Sales
Tax on lease payments which have already
been subjected to Sales Tax by the State of
New York violates limitations on State taxa-
tion imposed by the Commerce Clause of the
United States Constitution, as interpreted by
the United States Supreme Court. |

Fifth Affirmative Defense - No Economic Loss

47. Cohen realleges paragraphs 18-38 as if fully
set forth herein.

48. World Omni incurred no monetary damages
as a result of the Cohen’s failure and refusal
to pay the Florida Sales Tax since it only
remitted to Florida, Sales tax based upon
the actual amount received from the defen-
dant.

Sixth Affirmative Defense - Bad Faith Repossession

49. Cohen realleges paragraphs 18-38 as if fully
set forth herein.

50. Because the value of the vehicle at the time
of sale at auction (as evidenced by the auc-
tion sales price) was substantially less than
the Estimated Residual Value of the vehicle
set forth in the Lease, World Omni was im-
properly motivated to repossess the vehicle
so that it couid charge Cohen with the defi-
ciency between the sales price and Esti-
mated Residual Value.

App. 79

. Upon information and belief, the nat

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_1079%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
