# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Fellers v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0912%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 933

## Text

Supieme Court, y.
/ FILED re

: 041552 MAY 16 2005

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

JOHN J. FELLERS,

Petitioner,
Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

NOAH A. LEVINE SETH P. WAXMAN
WILMER CUTLER PICKERING Counsel of Record
HALE AND DORR LLP PAUL R.Q. WOLFSON
399 Park Avenue WILMER CUTLER PICKERING
New York, NY 10022 HALE AND DORR LLP

2445 M Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20037
(202) 663-6000

|

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

This Court previously held that police officers violated
petitioner’s Sixth Amendment right to counsel when the of-
ficers deliberately elicited an incriminating statement from
petitioner, who at the time was under indictment and was
entitled to the assistance of counsel in his defense. See Fell-
ers v. United States, 540 U.S. 519, 524-525 (2004). Within
only one half-hour of the Sixth Amendment violation identi-
fied by this Court, the same officers took petitioner to jail,
administered Miranda warnings, and again confronted peti-
tioner outside the presence of counsel, obtaining a related
incriminating statement. The court of appeals ruled that
petitioners’ second statement was properly admitted at trial
under the rationale of Oregon v. Elstad, 470 U.S. 298 (1985),
without regard to whether the second statement was de-
rived from the prior Sixth Amendment violation.

The questions presented are:

1. Whether the court of appeals erred in declining to
analyze the admissibility of the second incriminating state-
ment under the traditional derivative-evidence rule and in-
stead holding that the statement was properly admitted at
petitioner’s trial under the rationale of Oregon v. Elstad, 470
U.S. 298 (1985). (This Court previously granted certiorari to
decide this question, but did not resolve it.)

2. Whether the court of appeals erred in holding, in the
alternative, that the admission of the second incriminating
statement was harmless error, based on the sufficiency of
other evidence purportedly supporting petitioner’s convic-
tion.

! (i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED..............cccscscssssrsssscessssssesscssseescees i
TABLE, OF AUTHOR Gti icissceccecnicnnsnnsnsnissnassssnniesoscsasiaiatne iv
re ee ance neta ithtennnnstasiccincsencntncniatannnestaienbaiionie 1
FUT a ION intnesnscse-eccnsicenntininisinnannttiniaaianccssoonendanmninssasnenentine 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED ................ 2
STATEMENT OF THE CABG cscsccercesercosssssssincsnessnassnnsatvnrsnense 2
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION... 11

1. This Court Should Grant Review To Clarify

That Oregon v. Elstad Does Not Apply To Vio-
lations Of The Sixth Amendment, And That
Such Cases Are Instead Governed By The
Traditional Derivative-Evidence Rule ..............ccseeseeeee 11

II. The Court Of Appeals’ Harmless-Error Hold-
ing Warrants Review Because It Contravenes
Well-Established Precedent Of This Court ............c00 23

CONCLUSION ciseincccciccnccscsensonsnsnsnsacsascsastotsisesassasvenssnesannsnsnatianes 27

(iii)

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Page(s)
Arizona v. Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279 (1991) w.....ececeeeees 26
Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590 (1975) ......cceeseeeneee passim
Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967).......10, 23, 25
Chavez v. Martinez, 588 U.S. 760 (2008) ..........eeeeeees 12, 15

Dickerson v. United States, 530 U.S. 428
BID as sccassissiisnenictadatalactsaieemaasiaaeaaeainaas 9, 14, 15, 28
Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200 (1979) wo. eee 21
Fellers v. United States, 538 U.S. 905 (2008).........cccceeee 8
Fellers v. United States, 540 U.S. 519 (2004)................ i, 1
Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S. 441 (1972).............. 12
Kaupp v. Texas, 538 U.S. 626 (2008)... cece 20, 21, 22
Kotteakos v. United States, 328 U.S. 750 (1946)............ 24
Maine v. Moulton, 474 U.S. 159 (1985)... eccccsssoseeseee 17
Massiah v. United States, 377 U.S. 201 (1964).......... 8, 12
Michigan v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433 (1974)... cceeceeseeeseees 14
Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966) .........ceeeceeeeee 13
Missouri v. Seibert, 1248. Ct. 2601 (2004)............... 10, 16
Nardone v. United States, 308 U.S. 388 (1939).............. 19
Neder v. United States, 527 U.S. 1 (1999) wc. eeeeeeees 23
Nix v. Williams, 467 U.S. 431 (1984)... 12, 13, 16
Oregon v. Elstad, 470 U.S. 298 (1985).......cceseeeees passim
Patterson v. Illinois, 487 U.S. 285 (1988)..........0. 9, 18, 23
Satterwhite v. Texas, 486 U.S. 249 (1988)........cceceseeeeees 25
Taylor v. Alabama, 457 U.S. 687 (1982)......cccceeeeee 20, 21

United States v. Aguayo-Delgado, 220 F.3d 926
(BEN Cap. Ba iiiiccccconisesicitainia etnias eee ance 10

United States v. Aguilar-Portillo, 334 F.8d 744
(Beda Char, DOB isissiccscccscchsaniasnieiciiae ne aiacelaeans 10, 11, 24
United States v. Ash, 413 U.S. 300 (1973) wee 17, 19
United States v. Booker, 125 8S. Ct. 738 (2005)... ll

United States v. Ceccolini, 485 U.S. 268 (1978)............. 20

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHOR? TIES—Continued

Page(s)
United States v. Cunningham, 145 F.3d 1385

lait ae acalsidaetiadens 25
United States v. Faulkingham, 295 F.3d 85 (1st

Sine ITTITTTiiissidicubiciipesisteiticabiebaaniebcbiebesstaiddiasieiodeseniciianindaianicae 13
United States v. Hands, 184 F.3d 1322, cor-

rected in other respects by 194 F.3d 1186 .

ae eR 25
United States v. Kimball, 884 F.2d 1274 (9th

ni INUIT ai ttsilibeaasdentanssdcieainiunahienidabadaniasbninsabibinaideniielantenins 13
United States v. Mitcheltree, 940 F.2d 1329

I aici 13
United States v. Noti, 731 F.2d 610 (9th Cir.

SITE Eisieiileslsebasastisasenihindbecihelacsbsdiiaitatesicaineholapatianiipanensanians 26
United States v. Patane, 124 S. Ct. 2620

RR een ee ae 13, 15, 16
United States v. Tedford, 875 F.2d 446 (5th Cir.

SICA taeda adic fia abahnlbialenig eaxanbdionaaiieaetaniianies 13
United States v. Terzado-Madruga, 897 F.2d

REE On Cra aE IE 13
United States v. Tome, 61 F.3d 1446 (10th Cir.

Sar Niisicdhdlichceiclad ss eesieniipneieigdlbasinciaehasaiaiinadieemundansiannneaaniine 25
United States v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218 (1967) 0.0.0.0... 12
Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963).....12, 20

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
eT acess sas haphahoeieinarainiaateiacaiaptin 2
| LE RT EN eT TRE are 3

I TIT TE ccctatesnsidionniipmsihinseicnsendeibnsiiaiinobaionsnbien 2

IN THE

Suprenw Court of the United States

No. 04-

JOHN J. FELLERS,

Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner John J. Fellers respectfully petitions for a
writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the court of ap-
peals in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. 1a-15a) is re-
ported at 397 F.3d 1090. The opinion of this Court (App.
17a-22a) is reported at 540 U.S. 519. The first opinion of the
court of appeals (App. 23a-30a), which was reversed and re-
manded by this Court, is reported at 285 F.3d 721. The or-
der of the district court (App. 31a-36a), the order of the mag-
istrate judge (App. 37a-38a), and the transcript of the oral
ruling of the magistrate judge on petitioner’s motion to sup-
press (App. 39a-43a) are not reported.

»

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the court of appeals was issued on Feb-
ruary 15, 2005. This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.
§ 125401).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Sixth Amendment provides: “In all criminal prose-
cutions, the accused shall enjoy the right ... to have the As-
sistance of Counsel for his defence.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This Court previously granted a petition for certiorari
in this case to decide two questions: (1) whether police offi-
cers violated petitioner’s Sixth Amendment right to the as-
sistance of counsel by deliberately eliciting a _post-
indictment, incriminating statement from him in the absence
of counsel, and (2) if so, whether a second, related statement
elicited from petitioner approximately one half-hour later,
without any intervening consultation with counsel, but after
the administration of warnings pursuant to Miranda vy. Ari-
zona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966), should have been suppressed as
the fruit of the earlier Sixth Amendment violation. After
briefing and oral argument on both questions, this Court
unanimously agreed with petitioner on the first question,
but remanded the case for the court of appeals to decide “in
the first instance” whether petitioner’s second statement
was properly admitted under the rationale of Oregon v. El-
stad, 470 U.S. 298 (1985). Elstad, which involved statements
taken from a suspect who was not under indictment and was
therefore not covered by the Sixth Amendment’s Counsel
Clause, held that the failure to give Miranda warnings to a
suspect, when not amounting to a violation of the Constitu-
tion itself, does not require the suppression of a statement
obtained after a subsequent provision of full Miranda warn-
ings and the suspect’s knowing and voluntary waiver of his
Miranda rights. See id. at 303-309.

The court of appeals has now decided the question that
this Court requested it to consider, reaching the same result
that it reached prior to this Court’s certiorari grant. As it

3

had previously, the court of appeals held that the admissibil-
ity of petitioner’s second statement should be analyzed un-
der Elstad rather than under the derivative-evidence rule
(i.e., the fruits of the poisonous tree doctrine) normally ap-
plicable in cases of constitutional violations. With the court
of appeals’ ruling, the question whether a confession derived
from a Sixth Amendment violation can nonetheless be ad-
mitted under Elstad is now squarely presented for this
Court’s consideration. On remand, the court of appeals also
applied a harmless-error standard that is flatly inconsistent
with this Court’s precedents. Petitioner respectfully seeks
this Court’s review on both issues.

1. On February 23, 2000, a federal grand jury returned
an indictment charging petitioner with conspiracy to dis-
tribute methamphetamine and to possess methamphetamine
with intent to distribute it, in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 846.
One day later, Deputy Sheriff Jeff Bliemeister of the Lan-
caster County Sheriffs Office and Detective Sergeant Mi-
chael Garnett of the Lincoln Police Department went to pe-
titioner’s home in Lincoln, Nebraska to arrest him. App.
17a-18a. While in petitioner’s home, the police officers delib-
erately elicited incriminating information from petitioner,
“inform[ing] him that their purpose in coming was to discuss
his involvement in the distribution of methamphetamine and
his association with certain charged co-conspirators”—Kathi
Kuenning, Patrick Sardeson, Thomas Geffs, and Mark Far-
falla. App. 2la. Petitioner agreed to talk to the officers and
acknowledged that he had used methamphetamine at an ear-
lier time in his life, when he had associated with the four
named persons. App. 18a.

The officers then transported petitioner directly to the
Lancaster County jail, a trip that lasted approximately
twenty minutes, and placed petitioner in an interrogation
room. See Joint Appendix, Fellers v. United States, No. 02-
6320 (Fellers JA), at 21, 23-24, 49-50 (transcript of suppres-
sion hearing). After receiving Miranda warnings, petitioner
agreed to speak to the officers. Jd. at 24-27. Bliemeister
then questioned petitioner about the same four associates

4

discussed during the immediately preceding encounter at
petitioner’s home. /d. at-29-34, 51-52, 89. Bliemeister ac-
knowledged that in conducting the jailhouse interrogation,
he employed specific techniques for which he had received
training. In particular, Bliemeister attempted to elicit cer-
tain admissions from petitioner and then progressively
sought increasingly more detailed answers about those ad-
missions. See Trial Transcript (TT) 91-92, 177.

Armed with petitioner’s prior acknowledgement that he
had associated with the four individuals, Bliemeister initially
questioned petitioner about “his involvement with
Geffs.” Fellers JA at 29. Having already admitted, in the
previous encounter at his home, that he had associated with
Geffs, petitioner again acknowledged the same. /d. In re-
sponse to additional questioning by Bliemeister, however,
petitioner denied that he ever had obtained methampheta-
mine from Geffs. Jd. Bliemeister then moved his question-
ing to Sardeson, Kuenning, and Farfalla, similarly address-
ing petitioner’s relationship with each person one at a time.
Id. at 29-34. In each case, the officer asked petitioner
whether he knew the person in question, even though peti-
tioner had admitted his association with them just one half-
hour earlier. Jd. at 29-34, 51-52, 89. As this Court recog-
nized, “petitioner then reiterated the inculpatory statements
he had made earlier,” acknowledging his association with
each co-conspirator. App. 18a.

After reestablishing the fact of petitioner’s association
with Sardeson, Kuenning and Farfalla, Bliemeister asked
additional questions seeking details of petitioner’s relation-
ship with each. In response to that interrogation, petitioner
confessed that he had obtained methamphetamine from
Kuenning and Sardeson, lent money to Kuenning, shared
methamphetamine with Sardeson, and used methampheta-
mine with Farfalla. Fellers JA at 29-34, 37. Petitioner de-
nied, however, selling methamphetamine. Jd. at 37-38.
Bliemeister also asked petitioner about his involvement with
a few persons not broached previously at petitioner’s home.
Id. at 34-35, 37-38, 52. Finally, Detective Garnett asked pe-

ee ee

5

titioner questions about his methamphetamine use. /d. at
35-36, 79. Petitioner repeated his earlier admission, made
during the encounter at his home, that he had used metham-
phetamine. In response to further questioning, petitioner
also discussed various details of that use. Jd. at 33, 35-36.

2. a. Before tria!, petitioner moved to suppress the
statements he had made at his home and the jail. The mag-
istrate judge held a hearing at which Bliemeister and Gar-
nett testified. -Based on the testimony, the magistrate judge
found that the officers’ statements to petitioner at his home
were “designed to elicit a response,” that only one half-hour
elapsed between the time the officers left petitioner’s home
and the time they commenced interrogation at the jailhouse,
and that, notwithstanding the administration of Miranda
warnings at the jail, petitioner’s jailhouse statement was
tainted by the prior unlawful encounter at his home. App.
39a-42a. The magistrate judge recommended suppression of
petitioner’s statement at his home as well as his subsequent
jailhouse statement to the extent that the latter concerned
the persons discussed previously at petitioner’s home
(namely, Kuenning, Sardeson, Geffs, and Farfalla). App.
42a-43a.

The district court accepted the recommendation to sup-
press petitioner’s statement at his home, but rejected the
recommendation to suppress petitioner’s jailhouse state-
ment. App. 32a, 35a. According to the district court, peti-
tioner “made a knowing, intelligent, and voluntary waiver of
his Miranda rights” before making his jailhouse statement.
App. 35a. Based on that fact, but without making any addi-
tional findings regarding the extent of any attenuation of the
taint from petitioner’s first statement, the district court
found the jailhouse statement admissible under Elstad.
App. 33a-35a.

b. Bliemeister testified at petitioner’s trial, recounting
petitioner’s jailhouse statement for the jury. See TT 52-182.
Apart from the officer’s testimony, the government’s case
consisted entirely of testimony from witnesses with severe
credibility problems. Each of the witnesses was involved in

6

some manner in the alleged conspiracy, and each also had
numerous prior felony convictions (in addition to their recent
convictions arising out of this alleged conspiracy). See TT
259 (Kuenning: three other prior convictions); 336 (Geffs:
six); 394-396 (Sardeson: three); 480-431 (Abbott: five); 470
(Messersmith: two); 486 (Lawrence: two); 523-524 (Cotton:
eight). Three of the-government’s witnesses, including its
two primary witnesses (Kuenning and Cotton), had been
convicted of forgery and other crimes that involved dishon-
esty and therefore cast doubt on their veracity. See TT 189
(Kuenning: forgery); 430, 487-438 (Abbott: forgery, two for
false reporting to police officers); 523-524 (Cotton: theft by
deception, three for forgery). All of the witnesses testified
that they were long-time drug addicts. See TT 263-264, 344,
367-368, 441, 475, 512, 647-649. One of the government’s two
primary witnesses, Kuenning, testified that the govern-
ment’s other primary witness, Cotton, had a reputation for
being dishonest and a liar. See TT 672. Kuenning also dis-
puted the truth of important parts of Cotton’s testimony,
leading the government to take the unusual step of impeach-
ing Kuenning, on whom its case was built, with her admis-
sion that, due to drug addiction, her “memory is worthless.”
TT 271, 681.

Moreover, all of the witnesses admitted that they were
testifying pursuant to cooperative plea agreements. See TT
184, 261-262 (Kuenning); 303 (Geffs); 362 (Sardeson); 409
(Abbott); 446 (Messersmith); 484 (Lawrence); 519 (Cotton).
At the time of their testimony, six of the seven witnesses
were serving prison sentences for their recent controlled-
substances convictions (see TT 183, 362, 409, 446, 484, 519),
and the seventh witness (Geffs) avoided prison by entering
into his plea agreement and cooperating with the govern-
ment. See TT 303-307, 345-347. Kuenning, Sardeson, Ab-
bott, Messersmith, and Cotton admitted that they were tes-
tifying against petitioner with the hope that, pursuant to
their plea agreements, they would be rewarded with re-
duced sentences. See TT 186, 261-262, 365, 402, 434-435, 449-
450, 473-474, 521, 594-595. Lawrence testified that he was

7

cooperating to avoid prosecution in federal court for offenses
with longer prison sentences. See TT 511.

As a result, and in response to petitioner’s repeated
challenges to the credibility of the government’s witnesses
in cross-examination and closing argument, the government
placed important reliance on petitioner’s jailhouse state-
ment. In its closing argument, after conceding its witnesses’
shortcomings (see TT 728-729), the government attempted to
shore up the testimony of its witnesses by describing several
ways in which “[petitioner’s}] own statements corroborate
the testimony that has been presented by the other wit-
nesses who have been brought in for you.” TT 734; see also
TT 704, 732-734. The jury found petitioner guilty of a lesser-
included offense involving between 50 and 500 grams of
methamphetamine, thereby rejecting the charge of distrib-
uting more than 500 grams, for which the government had
sought conviction. See TT 710, 739.

ce. The court of appeals affirmed. The court rejected pe-
titioner’s Sixth Amendment challenge in a single sentence,
holding that “the officers did not interrogate Fellers at his
home.” App. 26a. The court further held that because peti-
tioner made his jailhouse statement after having received
Miranda warnings, that statement was admissible under
Elstad. App. 25a-26a. Judge Riley concurred. Although he
believed the officers did violate petitioner’s Sixth Amend-
ment right to the assistance of counsel, he agreed that the
jailhouse statement was admissible under the rationale of
Elstad. App. 30a.

d. Petitioner sought review in this Court, arguing that
(1) the court of appeals had applied an incorrect legal stan-
dard to the question whether his first statement was ob-
tained in violation of the Sixth Amendment, and (2) if his
first statement was obtained in violation of the Sixth
Amendment, then his second statement also should have
been suppressed as it was derived from the initial constitu-
tional violation, and that Elstad does not permit the admis-
sion of a statement that is derived from a violation of the
Sixth Amendment. See Pet. for Writ of Certiorari, Fellers v.

Renee ee ene nnmnmcecccceeeeceecccca cece eT —————E

8

United States, No. 02-6320. This Court granted review on
both questions. See 538 U.S. 905 (2003).

This Court reversed and remanded. Finding that the
police officers “ ‘deliberately elicited’ information from peti-
tioner” after his indictment and in the absence of counsel,
this Court ruled that “the Court of Appeals erred in holding
that the officers’ actions did net violate the Sixth Amend-
ment standards established in Massiah [v. United States,
377 U.S. 201 (1964)], and its progeny.” App. 2la. The Court
further held that, given this error, the court of appeals “im-
properly conducted its ‘fruits’ analysis under the Fifth
Amendment.” /d. The Court did not resolve the second
question on which it had granted certiorari concerning the
admissibility of petitioner’s second, jailhouse statement.
Rather, this Court remanded the case for the court of ap-
peals to decide “in the first instance” “whether the Elstad
rationale applies when a suspect makes incriminating state-
ments after a knowing and voluntary waiver of his right to
counsel notwithstanding earlier police questioning in viola-
tion of Sixth Amendment standards.” App. 21a-22a.

3. On remand, the court of appeals again affirmed peti-
tioner’s conviction. Addressing the precise question re-
manded to it by this Court, the court of appeals held that
Elstad does apply in cases involving Sixth Amendment vio-
lations. See App. 8a (“[T]he Elstad rule applies when a sus-
pect makes incriminating statements after a knowing and
voluntary waiver of his right to counsel, notwithstanding
earlier police questioning in violation of the Sixth Amend-
ment.”); see-generally App. 3a-10a.

In so holding, the court of appeals rejected petitioner’s
arguments that Elstad is inapplicable to cases in which
(1) an actual constitutional violation, rather than a mere
Miranda violation, is at issue, and (2) a Sixth Amendment,
rather than a Fifth Amendment, issue is presented. Re-
specting the first argument, the court of appeals recognized
that this Court has held that tie traditional derivative-
evidence rule applies when government officers violate the
Fourth, Fifth, or Sixth Amendment. See App. 4a. Indeed,

9

the court noted that Elstad itself states that “constitutional
violations mandate application of the fruits doctrine.” /d.
The court of appeals also acknowledged that Elstad’s “rejec-
tion of the [derivative-evidence] rule in the Miranda context
was premised on the fact that a violation of Miranda was
not, by itself, a violation of the Fifth Amendment and on the
fact that the protections afforded by the Miranda rule
sweep more broadly than the Fifth Amendment itself.” Jd.

Nevertheless, the court of appeals ruled that the tradi-
tional derivative-evidence rule should not be applied in this
case. The court of appeals determined that this Court un-
dercut the original rationale for its E/stad ruling when it
subsequently decided Dickerson v. United States, 530 U.S.
428 (2000). In the court of appeals’ view, Dickerson reinter-
preted Elstad as resting not on the absence of a constitu-
tional violation but instead “on the fact that unreasonable
searches under the Fourth Amendment are different from
unwarned interrogation under the Fifth Amendment.” App.
Aa.

The court of appeals also rejected any distinction be-
tween the Fifth Amendment context of E/stad and the Sixth
Amendment context of petitioner’s case. Relying on Patter-
son v. Illinois, 487 U.S. 285 (1988), a case that did not ad-
dress any derivative-evidence issues, the court concluded
that the applications of the Fifth and Sixth Amendments to
pretrial interrogation are sufficiently similar to justify the
extension of Elstad to cases in which officers violate a de-
fendant’s Sixth Amendment rights by deliberately eliciting
an uncounseled, post-indictment statement. App. 8a-10a.
The court thus held that “[iJn the case of warned confessions
that follow unwarned, uncounseled statements, ... the sus-
pect’s knowing, intelligent, and voluntary choice to waive his
right to counsel constitutes an intervening act of free will
that breaks the causal link between the prior uncounseled
statements ... and the suksequent statements.” App. 8a.

Having decided that Elstad governs, and having re-
jected application of the derivative-evidence rule, the court
of appeals also applied the test articulated by the plurality in

10

Missouri v. Seibert, 124 S. Ct. 2601, 2612 (2004), for cases
involving Miranda violations. See App. lla-12a. Under that
test, designed to determine the efficacy of Miranda warn-
ings in ensuring a suspect’s comprehension of his Fifth
Amendment right to remain silent after having made an ini-
tial unwarned statement, the court held that the officers’
conduct had not “vitiate[d] the effectiveness of the Miranda
warnings given to [petitioner].” App. lla. The court also
found that petitioner’s statement could be admitted under
the separate test, again designed for cases involving
Miranda violations, set forth in Justice Kennedy’s concur-
ring opinion in Seibert. See App. 12a.

Finally, the court of appeals determined that any error
in admitting petitioner’s jailhouse statement was harmless.
See App. 12a-14a. The court acknowledged that “each of the
government witnesses had numerous past convictions, had
used illegal drugs extensively for a number of years, and
were testifying pursuant to plea bargains in hopes of a re-
duced sentence.” App. 13a. Yet, relying on a decision adju-
dicating a conceptually distinct sufficiency-of-the-evidence
challenge, the court dismissed the relevance of the wit-
nesses’ backgrounds here, holding that “their credibility was
for the jury to decide.” Jd. (citing United States v. Aguayo-
Delgado, 220 F.3d 926, 935 (8th Cir. 2000)). The court did
not inquire whether the admission of petitioner’s jailhouse
statement contributed to the jury’s partial crediting of the
government witnesses’ testimony, and thus to the resulting
verdict. Cf Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 24 (1967)
(“the beneficiary of a constitutional error [must] prove be-
yond a reasonable doubt that the error complained of did not
contribute to the verdict obtained”). Rather, the court of
appeals simply excised petitioner’s jailhouse confession from
the government’s case and concluded that the remaining
evidence was sufficient to support his conviction. Quoting
another sufficiency-of-the-evidence case, the court reasoned
that “[aJlthough a reasonable mind could entertain concerns
about the reliability and consistency of [the government
witnesses’] accounts given the witnesses’ plea bargains,

ee

11

criminal histories, and past drug use, the evidence presented
by the government in this case is swfficient to prove the [pe-
titioner] conspired to possess methamphetamine with intent
to distribute.” App. 13a-14a (internal quotation marks omit-
ted, emphasis added) (quoting United States v. Aguilar-
Portillo, 334 F.3d 744, 747 (8th Cir. 2003)).”

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION
I THis Court SHOULD GRANT REVIEW TO CLARIFY THAT
OREGON V. ELSTAD DOES NoT APPLY TO VIOLATIONS OF
THE SIXTH AMENDMENT, AND THAT SUCH CASES ARE IN-
STEAD GOVERNED By THE TRADITIONAL DERIVATIVE-
EVIDENCE RULE

This Court previously granted certiorari in petitioner’s
case to review the applicability of Oregon v. Elstad, 470 US.
298 (1985), to the admission of a suspect’s statement that
was derived from a Sixth Amendment violation. See 538
U.S. 905 (2003); Pet. for Writ of Certiorari, Fellers v. United
States, No. 02-6320, at 17-23. Because the court of appeals’
earlier decision had erroneously failed to find a Sixth
Amendment violation, this Court, after correcting that er-
ror, remanded the case for the court of appeals to pass on
the Elstad question first. The court of appeals has now done
so, reaching the same result that this Court originally de-
termined to review.

The court of appeals’ decision, applying Elstad rather
than the traditional derivative-evidence rule, is unprece-
dented and erroneous. Moreover, the decision poses a dis-
tinct danger to the Sixth Amendment right to counsel, for it
provides the police with a road map to eviscerate the right of
criminal defendants to legal assistance at a point where they
are most vulnerable. Accordingly, this Court should grant

"On a separate issue, the court of appeals held that petitioner was
entitled to a new sentencing hearing based on this Court’s decision in
United States v. Booker, 125 S. Ct. 738 (2005). App. 14a-15a. The district
court held that hearing on May 2, 2005, reducing petitioner’s sentence to a
term of 102 months’ imprisonment.

| NN EN

12

review and make clear that Elstad does not permit the ad-
mission of the fruits of a Sixth Amendment violation.

1. This Court has consistently ruled that evidence ob-
tained by or derived from unconstitutional conduct must be
excluded from a defendant’s criminal trial. See, e.g., Wong
Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471, 484-485 (1963) (Fourth
Amendment); Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590, 597-600 (1975)
(same); Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S. 441, 453-454, 461-
462 (1972) (Fifth Amendment); Chavez v. Martinez, 538 U.S.
760, 768-770 (2003) (plurality opinion) (same); United States
v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218, 239-241 (1967) (Sixth Amendment);
Nix v. Williams, 467 U.S. 431, 441-443 (1984) (same). The
last two cited decisions confirm that the derivative-evidence
rule is fully applicable to the fruits of Sixth Amendment vio-
lations. For example, in Wade, which involved a violation of
the respondent’s Sixth Amendment right to the assistance of
counsel at a pretrial identification lineup, the Court held that
the admissibility of the subsequent courtroom identification
was governed by the derivative-evidence rule of Wong Sun.
See Wade, 388 U.S. at 239-241. The Court explained that
“{a] rule limited solely to the exclusion of testimony concern-
ing identification at the lineup itself, without regard to ad-
missibility of the courtroom identification, would render the
right to counsel an empty one.” Jd. at 240.

Similarly, in Nix—which involved a violation of the
same “deliberate elicitation” standard of Massiah v. United
States, 377 U.S. 201 (1964), that is at issue here—the Court
stated that “the ‘fruit of the poisonous tree’ doctrine has not
been limited to cases in which there has been a Fourth
Amendment violation. The Court has applied the doctrine
where the violations were of the Sixth Amendment as well
as of the Fifth Amendment.” Nix, 467 U.S. at 442 (citing,
e.g., Wade, 388 U.S. 218). At issue in Nix was whether evi-
dence pertaining to the discovery and condition of a murder
victim’s body was properly admitted at the defendant’s trial,
given that the police had discovered the body after deliber-
ately eliciting incriminating statements from the defendant
in the absence of counsel. See id. at 434. The Court held

13

that the derivative evidence was properly admitted because
the government inevitably would have discovered it. See id.
at 448-450. That holding confirms the applicability of the
derivative-evidence rule in the Sixth Amendment context.
Were the rule not applicable, there would have been no need
for the Court even to address whether a new inevitable-
discovery exception should be recognized.

Just last Term, in another Elstad-related case, the plu-
rality in United States v. Patane confirmed that the tradi-
tional derivative-evidence rule governs in cases of Sixth
Amendment violations. The Patane plurality specifically
cited Nix as an application of the “fruit of the poisonous
tree” doctrine “in the Sixth Amendment context” and noted
that the doctrine “applies to illegally obtained evidence and
other incriminating evidence derived from it.” 124 S. Ct.
2620, 2629 (2004) (internal quotation marks, alterations, and
emphasis omitted). The courts of appeals have followed this
Court’s lead, similarly holding that the derivative-evidence
rule governs the admissibility of fruits of Sixth Amendment
violations. See United States v. Faulkingham, 295 F.3d 85,
91, 94 (1st Cir. 2002); United States v. Mitcheltree, 940 F.2d
1329, 1343 (10th Cir. 1991); United States v. Terzado-
Madruga, 897 F.2d 1099, 1113 (11th Cir. 1990); United States
v. Kimball, 884 F.2d 1274, 1278 (9th Cir. 1989); United States
v. Tedford, 875 F.2d 446, 450 (5th Cir. 1989).

In Oregon v. Elstad, 470 U.S. 298 (1985), this Court con-
cluded that the traditional derivative-evidence rule should
not apply when the only government misconduct at issue
was an inadvertent failure to give the full warnings required
by Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966). See Elstad, 470
U.S. at 304. The Court held that in those circumstances, a
defendant’s subsequent confession may be admitted so long
as it was preceded by Miranda warnings and was knowingly
and voluntarily made. See id. at 309. This Court has not ex-
tended Elstad beyond its narrow Miranda context, nor has
the Court announced any similar exception to the derivative-
evidence ruie in circumstances where the government has
violated a defendant’s Sixth Amendment right to the assis-

14

tance of counsel. And, to petitioner’s knowledge, apart from
the court of appeals’ decision here, no court of appeals has
extended Elstad to cases of Sixth Amendment violations.
The court of appeals’ decision in this case thus stands alone.

2. The court of appeals’ decision is erroneous in two
fundamental respects.

a. First, as the court of appeals itself acknowledged,
this Court consistently has applied the derivative-evidence
rule in cases involving constitutional violations. The Court
recognized only a limited exception in Elstad due to the ab-
sence of any constitutional violation in that case. As the
Court explained there, “[rJespondent’s contention that his
confession was tainted by the earlier failure of the police to
provide Miranda warnings and must be excluded as ‘fruit of
the poisonous tree’ assumes the existence of a constitutional
violation.” 470 U.S. at 305. But, “(t]he Miranda exclusion-
ary rule... sweeps more broadly than the Fifth Amendment
itself [and] may be triggered even in the absence of a Fifth
Amendment violation.” Jd. at 306. “[{A] simple failure to
administer Miranda warnings is not in itself a violation of
the Fifth Amendment.” Jd. at 306 n.1. Thus, the Court re-
jected the respondent’s argument there at its very root, con-
cluding that the derivative-evidence rule does not apply with
its normal breadth where the primary misconduct violates
no constitutional standards itself. See also id. at 308 (“Since
there was no actual infringement of the suspect’s constitu-
tional rights [in Michigan v. Tucker, 417 U.S. 433 (1974)],
the case was not controlled by the doctrine expressed in
Wong Sun that fruits of a constitutional violation must be
suppressed.”). In contrast, the Court noted, official miscon-
duct of constitutional magnitude “traditionally mandate[s] a
broad application of the ‘fruits’ doctrine.” 470 U.S. at 306.

The court of appeals acknowledged all of the above, but
then refused to follow Elstad’s teachings based on the court
of appeals’ conclusion that Elstad should now be reinter-
preted in the light of Dickerson v. United States, 530 U.S.
428 (2000). The court of appeals seized on this Court’s
statement in Dickerson that Elstad “refus[ed] to apply the

RP ee ee

15

traditional ‘fruits’ doctrine developed in Fourth Amendment
cases” based on “the fact that unreasonable searches under
the Fourth Amendment are different from wnrwarned inter-
rogation under the Fifth Amendment.” 530 U.S. at 441 (em-
phasis added). Nothing in that sentence, however, suggests
‘ that this Court has abandoned its previous view in Elstad
that mere “unwarned interrogation” does not amount to a
violation of the Constitution and for that reason does not
trigger the traditional derivative-evidence rule. -Rather,
Dickerson confirms Elstad’s premise—that unwarned inter-
rogation, standing alone, should not “breed[] the same con-
sequences as police infringement of a constitutional right.”
470 USS. at 304.

The court of appeals reached a contrary conclusion here
only by ignoring this Court’s subsequent cases. Since
Dickerson, this Court has twice confirmed that an inadver-
tent Miranda violation alone—the illegality at issue in El-
stad—does not constitute a violation of the Fifth Amend-
ment. In Chavez v. Martinez, 538 U.S. 760 (2003), the plural-
ity specifically quoted Elstad for the proposition that “ ‘(t]he
Miranda exclusionary rule ... serves the Fifth Amendment
and sweeps more broadly than the Fifth Amendment it-
self, ” id. at 770 (plurality) (citation omitted), and Justice
Kennedy agreed that a Miranda violation does not itself vio-
late the Constitution, see id. at 789 (Kennedy, J., concurring
in part, dissenting in part). In Patane, 124 S. Ct. at 2628, the
plurality reiterated that “a mere failure to give Miranda
warnings does not, by itself, violate a suspect’s constitutional
rights or even the Miranda rule. So much was evident in
many of our pre-Dickerson cases, and we have adhered to
this view since Dickerson.” Moreover, the Patane plurality
opinion confirmed the very point that the court of appeals
wrongly believed was undercut by Dickerson—that Elstad’s
refusal to apply the traditional derivative-evidence rule
there was premised squarely on the absence of a constitu-
tional violation. See Patane, 124 S. Ct. at 2626. Indeed, for
purposes of determining the derivative-evidence rule’s ap-
plicability, the Patane plurality contrasted the unwarned

16

interrogation at issue in Elstad with actual violations of the
Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendments. See id. at 2629 (cit-
ing Nix, 467 U.S. at 441).

The important premise of Elstad—that the traditional
derivative-evidence rule should not apply when the govern-
ment misconduct at issue does not violate the Constitution
itself—is absent in cases like the present one, where a court
finds an actual violation of the Constitution. As this Court
confirmed in its earlier decision, the officers violated the
Sixth Amendment when they deliberately elicited a post-
indictment, uncounseled statement from ‘petitioner at his
home. See App. 2la. Thus, like the Sixth Amendment viola-
tions in Wade and Nix, the primary illegality here mandates
application of the derivative-evidence rule.

b. Second, and separately, the court of appeals also
wrongly extended Elstad beyond its limited Fifth Amend-
ment context. This Court has noted that each derivative-
evidence inquiry should reflect “the distinct policies and in-
terests” of the particular constitutionai right at issue.
Brown v. Illinois, 422 U.S. 590, 602 (1975). The Elstad rule
for the admission of evidence derived from a Miranda viola-
tion was designed only to “satisfly]” “the Fifth Amendment
proscription against use of compelled testimony.” 470 U.S.
at 318. In that limited context, the rule is sensible. When
officers elicit an initial voluntary confession from a suspect
(even if they fail to comply in all respects with Miranda), the
subsequent administration of Miranda warnings generally
ensures that a confession given thereafter is also voluntary,
and thereby addresses the central concern of the Fifth
Amendment. See id. at 310-311. Thus, the Court held in El-
stad that while an initial failure to administer the Miranda
warnings warrants a presumption that any confession
gained thereby was compelled, administration of the
Miranda warnings prior to a second confession “ordinarily
should suffice to remove the conditions” that warranted the
presumption of compulsion with regard to the first confes-
sion. /d. at 314; see also Missouri v. Seibert, 124 S. Ct. 2601,
2612 (2004) (plurality) (noting that the Miranda warnings in

nn ent atl pclae

ee er ee et ee ee Se et ee

the 8 A Re ln i i ois Te

17

Elstad were understood to “present[{] a genuine choice
whether to follow up on the earlier admission”).

Compulsion is not the focus of the Sixth Amendment.
Rather, the principal purpose of the Sixth Amendment is to
ensure that a person formally charged with a criminal of-
fense has access to expert legal assistance at every critical
stage of a criminal prosecution, thereby ensuring that he is
not unfairly disadvantaged by an imbalance of skill and re-
sources between himself and the prosecution. See, ¢.g.,
Maine v. Moulton, 474 U.S. 159, 169 (1985); United States v.
Ash, 413 U.S. 300, 309 (1973).

When officers deliberately elicit a post-indictment con-
fession from an uncounseled defendant, subsequent Miranda
warnings from the same officers are not sufficient alone to
ensure that the central concerns of the Sixth Amendment
are vindicated, especially when (as in this case) virtually no
time has passed since the initial confession was illegally ob-
tained. The warnings by themselves do not afford the de-
fendant “ ‘the professional legal skill’” necessary to under-
stand the situation into which the government’s misconduct
has thrust him. Moulton, 474 U.S. at 169. They do not in-
form the defendant, as counsel would, of the legal rules con-
cerning the admissibility of the prior, deliberately elicited
statement. Nor do the Miranda warnings provide the de-
fendant legal advice regarding the true consequences of
making an additional statement in these circumstances.
There is accordingly a heightened danger that the defendant
will decide to make a second statement based upon a lack of
familiarity with his legal rights. In short, while the admini-
stration of Miranda warnings normally may remove the
Fifth Amendment taint from a prior Miranda violation by
adequately ensuring that a defendant understands he has a
choice whether to speak further, Miranda warnings do not
alleviate the distinct Sixth Amendment taint from the elici-
tation of a prior uncounseled statement by providing ade-
quate legal advice to a defendant respecting whether he
should exercise that choice to speak further under the cir-

cumstances.

ee nical

18

The court of appeals elided this important distinction
through a misplaced reliance on Patterson v. Illinois, 487
U.S. 285 (1988). This Court held in Patterson that a criminal
defendant’s waiver of his Miranda rights, made after a full
provision of Miranda warnings, will suffice to waive the de-
fendant’s Sixth Amendment right to the assistance of coun-
sel during pretrial questioning. See id. at 292-297. Accord-
ingly, in such cases, post-waiver questioning ordinarily will
not itself violate the Sixth Amendment. The question in this
case, however, is not whether the police officers violated pe-
titioner’s Sixth Amendment right to counsel when they
eventually furnished him with Miranda warnings and then
interrogated him at the jailhouse. The police had already
violated the Sixth Amendment, when they questioned peti- |
tioner at his home. |

Rather, the question in this case is whether petitioner’s |
jailhouse statement should be suppressed as the fruit of that
prior Sixth Amendment violation at his home. Patterson did
not announce any test for the admission of such derivative
evidence, nor did it address the more specific question
whether a Miranda warning is sufficient, standing alone, to
secure the admissibility of evidence derived from a prior
Sixth Amendment violation. Indeed, there was no govern-
ment misconduct (and more particularly, no Sixth Amend-
ment violation) preceding the waiver in Patterson,-so the
decision lacks the defining element of a derivative-evidence
case like petitioner’s. See 487 U.S. at 287-289. This Court
simply had no occasion to establish a standard for admission
of derivative evidence in circumstances where officers first
unconstitutionally elicit an uncounseled, post-indictment
statement.

oe eee

os Lindale Gite nth n Loe ii hiidobe » 0 Salhi 7 Sab

When such government misconduct has already oc-
curred, there is an important reason to distinguish between
the Fifth and Sixth Amendments in analyzing the admissibil-
ity of derivative evidence. Counsel serves distinct purposes
under the two Amendments when government officers have
unlawfully elicited a first incriminating statement. For pur-
poses of the Fifth Amendment, the assistance of counsel can

—

19

ensure that a defendant does not wrongly believe that he is
compelled to speak further to the government. But, as this
Court explained in Elstad, when the primary illegality at
issue is an inadvertent Miranda violation alone, the subse-
quent administration of Miranda warnings prior to a second
confession adequately ensures the voluntariness of that
statement. See 470 U.S. at 310-311, 314. For purposes of the ~
Sixth Amendment, however, the assistance of counsel en-
sures “equality in [the] adversary confrontation” by protect-
ing the accused from his own “lack of familiarity with the
law.” Ash, 413 U.S. at 317. Counsel is important not simply
to advise a defendant that he is not compelled to speak, but
also to advise the defendant whether it is in his best interest,
in light of the charges against him, to speak or remain silent.
Thus, regardless whether counsel serves a similar role under
the Fifth and Sixth Amendments at ordinary pretrial inter-
rogations, as the court of appeals found based on Patterson
(App. 8a-9a), counsel serves a broader Sixth Amendment
interest in those circumstances where government officers
have previously and unlawfully elicited incriminating infor-
mation from a defendant. Elstad’s conclusion that Miranda
warnings themselves can adequately safeguard the values
protected by the Fifth Amendment does not translate to the
Sixth Amendment context.

3. Having extended Elstad to petitioner’s case, the
court of appeals did not apply the traditional derivative-
evidence rule. That failure had'an important effect. As peti-
tioner argued previously to this Court, his jailhouse confes-
sion should have been suppressed under that rule. See, e.g.,
Brief for Pet., Fellers v. United States, No. 02-6320, at 26-30,
37-41.

Under the derivative-evidence rule, the government
bears the burden of proving that “the connection between
the lawless conduct of the police and the discovery of the
challenged evidence ha[d] ‘become so attenuated as to dissi-
pate the taint’” of the prior constitutional violation. Wong
Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471, 487 (1963) (quoting Nar-
done v. United States, 308 U.S. 338, 341 (1939)); see also, e.g.,

20

Kaupp v. Texas, 5388 U.S. 626, 632-633 (2003) (per curiam).
When the derivative evidence is a defendant’s incriminating
statement, this Court has framed the inquiry as whether
that statement was “ ‘sufficiently an act of free will to purge
the primary taint.’” Brown, 422 U.S. at 602 (quoting Wong
Sun, 371 U.S. at 486).

“Free will,” as used in the Court’s derivative-evidence
cases, means more than simply constitutional voluntariness
(.e., absence of government coercion). It means a true break
in the chain of causation establishing’ that the unconstitu-
tional conduct did not influence the defendant to give the
statement in question. A reviewing court must be convinced
that the prior constitutional violation did “not play any
meaningful part in the witness’ willingness” to make an in-
culpatory statement. United States v. Ceccolini, 435 US.
268, 277 (1978).

This Court has recognized that Miranda warnings by
themselves may well be insufficient to break the chain of
causation from a constitutional violation. For example, when
the government obtains a confession from a defendant fol-
lowing an illegal arrest, this Court’s cases “firmly establish{]
that the fact that the confession may be ‘voluntary’ for pur-
poses of the Fifth Amendment, in the sense that Miranda
warnings were given and understood, is not by itself suffi-
cient to purge the taint of an illegal arrest.” Taylor v. Ala-
bama, 457 U.S. 687, 690 (1982); see also Brown, 422 U.S. at
602 (“In order for the causal chain, between the illegal arrest
and the statements made subsequent thereto, to be broken,
Wong Sun requires not merely that the statement meet the
Fifth Amendment standard of voluntariness but that it be
‘sufficiently an act of free will to purge the primary taint.’ ”
(quoting Wong Sun, 371 U.S. at 486)).

To determine whether the chain of causation from a
constitutional violation has been broken, this Court has ap-
plied a multifactor attenuation test. Courts must consider,
in addition to the presence of any Miranda warnings, the
temporal proximity between the constitutional violation and
the defendant’s incriminating statement, the presence or

21

absence of intervening circumstances, and, particularly, the
purpose and flagrancy of the violation. See Kaupp, 538 U.S.
at 633; Taylor, 457 U.S. at 690; Dunaway v. New York, 442
U.S. 200, 218 (1979); Brown, 422 U.S. at 603-604. Given the
clear force of the evidence in petitioner’s case, the govern-
ment cannot satisfy its burden to prove taint attenuation.

First, only a half-hour passed between the deliberate
elicitation of the first statement from petitioner at his home
and his subsequent confession at the jail. During this entire
period, petitioner remained in the custody of the police offi-
cers. The exceedingly brief time period in petitioner’s case
is shorter than cases where the Court has found the tempo-
ral factor to favor exclusion of a subsequent confession. See,
e.g., Taylor, 457 U.S. at 691 (1982) (six hours); Brown, 422
U.S. at 604 (under two hours).

Second, no meaningful intervening event took place be-
tween the officers’ confrontation of petitioner at his home
and the subsequent interrogation at the jailhouse. Of par-
ticular importance here, given the Sixth Amendment con-
text, is the fact that petitioner never consulted with counsel
between the making of the two statements. Petitioner thus
remained ignorant of his legal rights (including his right to
suppress the first confession). There also was no other in-
tervening circumstance (e.g., an arraignment before a judge
at which counsel was appointed) that “could possibly have
contributed to [petitioner’s] ability to consider carefully and
objectively his options and to exercise his free will.” Taylor,
457 U.S. at 691; cf Brown, 422 U.S. at 611 (Powell, J., con-
curring in part) (“some demonstrably effective break ...,
such as actual consultation with counsel or ... presentation
before a magistrate,” should be required to attenuate taint
of official conduct that is flagrantly abusive of constitutional
rights).

Third, the flagrancy of the official misconduct is impor-
tant. In Massiah and subsequent cases, this Court has set
forth a clear and easily understood Sixth Amendment stan-
dard. As this Court earlier held in a unanimous decision,
Deputy Bliemeister plainly violated that Sixth Amendment

22

standard, telling petitioner that he and his partner wanted
to discuss with petitioner the controlled substances charges
on which he had been indicted the previous day. See App.
21a.

The only factor supporting the government here is the
police officers’ administration of Miranda warnings prior to
the jailhouse interrogation. In this respect, the case is simi-
lar to the Court’s per curiam decision in Kaupp, where the
Court explained: “The record before us shows that only one
of these considerations, the giving of Miranda warnings,
supports the state, and we held in Brown that ‘Miranda
warnings, alone and per se, cannot always ... break, for
Fourth Amendment purposes, the causal connection be-
tween the illegality and the confession.’” 5388 U.S. at 633
(quoting Brown, 422 U.S. at 603). Indeed, in Brown,
Dunaway, and Taylor too, the Court held that confessions
were inadmissible despite the administration of Miranda
warnings. There is no reason that the provision of the warn-
ings here, especially considering the ineffectiveness of such
warnings in addressing the central concerns of the Sixth
Amendment, should take petitioner’s case outside the ra-
tionale of these decisions.

4. As the above analysis shows, application of the tradi-
tional derivative-evidence rule would require the suppres-
sion of petitioner’s second statement. The court of appeals’
error in departing from that traditional rule in favor of reli-
ance on the inapposite decision in Elstad is a serious one
that warrants review by this Court. If provision of Miranda
warnings following a clear Sixth Amendment violation, such
as occurred in this case, will be sufficient to eliminate any
taint from that violation, then engaging in such violations
will essentially become cost-free to the police.

As the Court has recognized in the Fourth Amendment
context, a blanket rule that Miranda warnings are sufficient
to break the link between unconstitutional conduct and a
subsequent confession “eviscerate[s]” any incentive for gov-
ernment officers to avoid the improper conduct in the first
instance, “making the warnings, in effect, a ‘cure-all.’”

23

Brown, 422 U.S. at 602. That conclusion is even more apt
with respect to the Sixth Amendment. To admit a deliber-
ately elicited, uncounseled, post-indictment statement
against the defendant at trial in cases involving no preceding
Sixth Amendment violation, the prosecution already must
show that a defendant waived his right to counsel and made
his statement voluntarily. See, e.g., Patterson, 487 U.S. at
292 (waiver); Dickerson, 530 U.S. at 434 (voluntariness).
Under the court of appeals’ ruling, however, the very same
showing would be sufficient to establish the admissibility of
a confession derived from an earlier Sixth Amendment viola-
tion. In the court of appeals’ view, therefore, nothing at all
is changed by the fact that the government has violated the
Constitution. That approach is insufficient to protect the
important interests safeguarded by the Sixth Amendment.

Il. THE Court OF APPEALS’ HARMLESS-ERROR HOLDING WAR-
RANTS REVIEW BECAUSE IT CONTRAVENES'’ WELL-
ESTABLISHED PRECEDENT OF THIS COURT

The court of appeals held in the alternative that any er-
ror in petitioner’s case was harmless. That ruling also war-
rants review by this Court. This Court’s cases make clear
the proper standard for harmless-error review. More than
35 years ago, this Court held in Chapman v. California, 386
U.S. 18, 24 (1967), that a constitutional error in a criminal
case may be treated as harmless only where it can be said
“beyond a reasonable doubt that the error complained of did
not contribute to the verdict obtained.” The Court continues
to apply the same Chapman standard today for direct re-
view of constitutional errors. See, e.g., Neder v. United
States, 527 U.S. 1, 15 (1999) (“In Chapman v. California, we
set forth the test for determining whether a constitutional
error is harmless. That test, we said, is whether it appears
‘beyond a reasonable doubt that the error complained of did
not contribute to the verdict obtained.’ ” (citation omitted)).

The court of appeals did not apply the Chapman stan-
dard. On appeal, petitioner argued that the admission of his
jailhouse confession could not have been harmless given the
substantial reliance the government placed on petitioner’s

24

statement to corroborate and support the testimony of its
severely credibility-challenged witnesses. See Supp. Br. of
Def.-Appellant at 21-24. The court of appeals did not dis-
agree that petitioner’s statement had such a corroborative
effect. indeed, the court described the same effect itself.
See App. 13a. Nevertheless, the court did not once conduct
the inquiry prescribed by Chapman and make a determina-
tion whether the admission of petitioner’s jailhouse confes-
sion (and the particular manner in which the government
put it to use) contributed to the jury verdict by providing
important corroborative support to the government’s oth-
erwise weak case.

Rather, relying on prior cases adjudicating defendants’
challenges to the sufficiency of the evidence supporting their
convictions, the court of appeals replaced the Chapman
standard with the different and more government-favorable
evidence-sufficiency standard:

Although “a reasonable mind could entertain con-
cerns about the ‘reliability and consistency of [the
government witnesses’] accounts’” given the wit-
nesses’ plea bargains, criminal histories, and past
drug use, the evidence presented by the government
in this case is sufficient to prove that [petitioner]
conspired to possess methamphetamine with intent
to distribute. Accordingly, any error in admitting
[petitioner's] jailhouse statements was harmless.

App. 18a-14a (emphasis added) (quoting United States v.
Aguilar-Portillo, 334 F.3d 744, 747 (8th Cir. 2003)).

This analysis was legally erroneous. Long ago, in Kot-
teakos v. United States, this Court explained that the harm-
less-error “inquiry cannot be merely whether there was
enough to support the result, apart from the phase affected
by the error. It is rather, even so, whether the error itself
had substantial influence.” 328 U.S. 750, 765 (1946); see also
id. at 767 (“The Government’s theory seems to be ... that
the error ... is insubstantial and harmless, if the evidence
offered specifically and properly to convict each defendant
would be sufficient to sustain his conviction, if submitted in a

25

separate trial. For reasons we have stated and in view of
the authorities cited, this is not and cannot be the test under
[the federal harmless error statute].”). More recently, in
Satterwhite v. Texas, 486 U.S. 249, 258-259 (1988), the Court
distinguished constitutional harmless-error review from suf-
ficiency-of-the-evidence review in clear and certain terms:
“The question, however, is not whether the legally admitted
evidence was sufficient to support the death sentence, which
we assume it was, but rather, whether the State has proved
‘beyond a reasonable doubt that the error complained of did
not contribute to the verdict obtained.’ ” (quoting Chapman,
386 U.S. at 24).

In contrast to the decision below, other courts of ap-
peals have followed this Court’s clear instructions that
harmless-error review is not equivalent to sufficiency-of-the
evidence review. See, e.g., United States v. Hands, 184 F.3d
1322, 1329 (“An error may substantially influence an out-
come and thus warrant reversal even if the evidence, had no
error occurred, would have been sufficient to support the
conviction.”), corrected in other respects by 194 F.3d 1186
(11th Cir. 1999); United States v. Cunningham, 145 F.3d
1385, 1394 (D.C. Cir. 1998) (“[H]armless error review calls
for an inquiry as to whether the Government has shown be-
yond a reasonable doubt that the error at issue did not have
an effect on the verdict, not merely whether, absent the er-
ror, a reasonable jury could nevertheless have reached a
guilty verdict.”); United States v. Tome, 61 F.3d 1446, 1455
(10th Cir. 1995) (“The question is not whether, omitting the
inadmissible statements, the record contains sufficient evi-
dence for a jury to convict the defendant.”).

Had the court of appeals applied the correct Chapman
standard, it could not have found the admission of peti-
tioner’s jailhouse confession to be harmless. As noted (sw-
pra, at pp. 5-7), the government’s witnesses had severe
credibility problems. Contrary to the court of appeals’ erro-
neous observation that the government witnesses’ testimony
“went largely unchallenged” (App. 13a), petitioner’s counsel
seized on the witnesses’ lack of credibility in cross-

ST

26

examining each witness. Petitioner’s counsel also focused
his closing argument on the credibility issue, contending that
the government witnesses’ testimony should be disbelieved
in its entirety. See TT 711-727. In response, in its closing
argument, the government specifically relied on petitioner’s
jailhouse confession to support its witnesses, describing how
“[petitioner’s] own statements corroborate the testimony
that has been presented by the other witnesses who have
been brought in for you.” TT 734; see also TT 704, 732-734.
Yet, even with the erroneous admission of petitioner’s jail-
house confession and the government’s corroboration argu-
ment, petitioner’s credibility argument clearly had an effect
on the jury, which chose not to fully credit the government’s
witnesses. Although the government argued that the testi-
mony of its witnesses made petitioner responsible for be-
tween 691 to 815 grams of methamphetamine (see TT 710),
the jury found only between 50 and 500 grams involved in
petitioner’s offense (see TT 739).

In these circumstances, it is impossible to say that the
admission of petitioner’s jailhouse confession was harmless.
As this Court has noted, “[a] confession is like no other evi-
dence. The defendant’s own confession is probably the most
probative and damaging evidence that can be admitted
against him.” Arizona v. Fulminante, 499 U.S. 279, 296
(1991) (internal quotation marks omitted). Absent peti-
tioner’s confession and its corroborative effect on the gov-
ernment witnesses’ testimony, the jury might have discred-
ited the government witnesses entirely. In similar circum-
stances in Fulminante, this Court found that the erroneous
admission of the respondent’s coerced confession could not
have been harmless when the jury might have credited
other evidence due to the improperly admitted confession.
See id. au 1258-1259; see also United States v. Noti, 731 F.2d
610, 615-616 (9th Cir. 1984) (holding error not harmless
where credibility of government witness was in dispute, yet
jury likely credited witness in part due to corroboration by
defendant’s erroneously admitted statements). Moreover,
petitioner’s jailhouse statement was particularly damaging,

27

given that the government had charged him with conspiracy
to possess with intent to distribute and petitioner admitted
both his association with the alleged co-conspirators and
having purchased methamphetamine from them.

The decision below reflects a basic misunderstanding
about the nature of harmless-error review. That misunder-
standing had a direct real impact on the outcome of the case.
Accordingly, this Court should grant review to make clear
that harmless-error review and sufficiency-of-the-evidence
review are distinct and must remain so.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of cer-
tiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.
NOAH A. LEVINE ‘SETH P. WAXMAN
WILMER CUTLER PICKERING Counsel of Record
HALE AND DORR LLP PAUL R.Q. WOLFSON
399 Park Avenue WILMER CUTLER PICKERING
New York, NY 10022 HALE AND DORR LLP

2445 M Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20037
(202) 663-6000

MAY 2005

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0912%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
