# Opposition Brief — Boulware v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0840%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 814

## Text

S

counsel could have rephrased the question or explained
to the district court that he was inquiring about the in-
Voices at Issue in this case. The district court therefore
did not unduly restriet petitioner's right to cross-exam-
ine Kushivama on that point. See ¢bid. Although peti-
tioner contends (Pet. 24-25) that the question was rele-
vant even if it did refer to invoices prepared for others,
petitioner did not present that argument to the district
court or to the court of appeals, and this Court should
not pass on that faet-bonnd claim in the first instance.
See Pennsylvania Dept of Corr v. Yeskey, 524 US. 206,
212-213 (1998).

3. Finally, petitioner contends (Pet. 28-29) that the
forfeiture of the entire $195,814.80 loan from GECC vio-
lates the Eighth Amendment's Excessive Fines Clause
as interpreted in United States v. Bajakajian, 524 US.
321 1998). In Bajakajian, this Court held that “a pu-
nitive forfeiture violates the Excessive Fines Clause if
it is grossly disproportional to the gravity of a defen-
dant’s offense.” /d. at 534. In applying that test, the
Court considered (1) whether the offense leading to for-
feiture was related to other illegal activities; (2) whether
the defendant fit into the class of persons for whom the
statute was designed: (3) the other possible penalties for
the offense; and (1) the harm caused by the offense. /d
at 336-540,

As petitioner notes, the Eighth Circuit has concluded
that under Bajakajian a forfeiture order may be exces-
sive ander the Eighth Amendment if it is not reduced
when a defendant has returned a portion of the illegally
obtained assets. See Cneted States v. Hawkey, VAS F.5d
920, 928 (1998). In this case, however, the court of ap-
peals did not address whether the forfeiture order vio-
lated the Eighth Amendment; the only argument that

9

petitioner made and that the court considered about
forfeiture was whether 18 U.S.C. 982(a)(2) entitled peti-
tioner to a credit. Pet. App. A384. The court of appeals’
decision therefore does not present a conflict warranting
this Court's review. Moreover, this Court should not
consider petitioner's Eighth Amendment claim in the
first instance. See Capital Cities Cable, Ince. ve Crisp,
467 U.S. 691, 697 (1984).
CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.
PAUL D. CLEMENT
Solicitor General
FILEEN J. O'CONNOR
Assistant Attorney General
ALAN HECHUTKOPF

KAREN M. QUESNEL
Attorneys

JULY 2005

Petitioner does not argue in this Court that he is entitled to a
credit under 1S UUS.C. 982(a)(2).

@ FILED 7
SEP 142005

NO. 04-1468} OFFICE OF THE CLERK
PREME COURT, U.S.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

MICHAEL BOULWARE, Petitioner,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The United
States Court of Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

REPLY BRIEF

ROBERT J. WATERS
~ Counsel of Record
2115 Main Street
Santa Monica, CA 90405
(310) 399-3259

DENNIS E. W. O’>CONNOR
Reinwald, O’Connor & Playdon, LLP
24" Floor, Makai Tower

733 Bishop Street
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
(808) 524-8350

Counsel for Petitioner
MICHAEL BOULWARE

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PDISOMEINE is oc'ccvnctevsacedctawese cent |

CAT ATSI en 'vn os aed athe owen eee 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases Page
Federal Cases

Capitol Cities Cable, Inc. v. Krisp, 467 U.S. 691
De: Peay ee Dene Pere ae ren ann Cena One 9

Carlson v. Green, 446 U.S. 14 (1980) ................ 8

Commissioner v. Estate of Bosch, 387 U.S. 456 (1967) ..1

Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S. 36 (2004) .......... s
Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308 (1974) ................ 8
Duignan vy. United States, 274 U.S. 195 (1927) ........ 8
Kyles v. Whitely, 514 U.S. 419 (1995) ................ 9

United States v. Boulware, 384 F.3d 794 (9" Cir. 2004) . . 2

United States v. Hawkey, 148 F.3d 920 (8" Cir. 1998) .. 10

United States v. Mendenhall, 446 U.S. 544 (1980) ...... 8
United States v. 3814 NW Thurman Street,

S60 OE TEST 0 CH TO sh ok a sea 10
Youakim v. Miller, 425 U.S. 231 (1976) ........... 8, 10

State Cases

Bremer v. Weeks, 104 Haw. 43, 85 P.3d 150 (2004) ..... 3

li

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner contends this Court should grant a writ of
certiorari to determine whether the government is precluded
from relitigating the ownership of property in a federal
criminal tax prosecution which was the subject of a bona fide
state adversary proceeding, resulting in a civil judgment that
determined the property interests among the litigants. This
question was left unresolved in Commissioner v. Estate of
Bosch, 387 U.S. 456 (1967) outside of the estate-tax context.

The government’s brief in opposition argues that this
question is not presented in this case, noting that the United
States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit (“Ninth
Circuit”) held that, even assuming that a state court’s
determination of ownership was binding in subsequent tax
cases, the Hawaii judgment did not resolve whether the
money belonged to Hawaiian Isles Enterprises, Inc. (“HIE”)
or petitioner because that determination was not at issue in
the lawsuit. Therefore, the significance of Bosch outside the
estate-tax context is not at issue in this case. Opp. Br. 6-7.

While recognizing that “(t]he state court did find that the
money in question belonged to HIE and that Lee had been
and was holding it in ‘constructive trust’ for HIE,” the Ninth
Circuit nevertheless erroneously concluded that “the
ownership of the money as between Boulware and HIE does
not appear to have been subject to adversarial testing.” Pet.
App. A1l6. The Ninth Circuit overlooked the fact that in the
state action, the litigants were Jin Sook Lee, HIE and
petitioner, each represented by separate counsel, and the heart
of the controversy was the ownership of the monies and
properties at issue.

The Hawaii judgment resulted from an shvemnéea
proceeding initiated by Lee, prior to petitioner’s indictment.

The Finding of Facts and Conclusions of Law from the
Hawaii judgment specifically found there was an agreement’
between Boulware, HIE, and Lee that the funds belonged at
all times to HIE, not Boulware. The jury’s answer to
question 10 on the special verdict form” established that the
funds belonged to HIE, not Boulware:

Question No. 10. Jin Sook Lee claims the cash and
checks delivered to her, during the period from
March, 1987 to May, 1994, by Michael Boulware and
Hawaiian Isles Enterprises were gifts. Michael
Boulware and Hawaiian Isles Enterprises claim the
monies were not gifts but were to be held by Jin Sook
Lee and to be returned when requested. State your
findings below:

The monies were gifts

to Jin Sook Lee Yes No_ v7
The monies belong

to Hawaiian

Isle Enterprises Yes of No

~ “3. There was a binding agreement between Plaintiff, Boulware
ae HIE to hold monies belonging to HIE to pay Mal Sun
Boulware for her marital interest in HIE. Pursuant to that
agreement, monies belonging to HIE were entrusted to Plaintiff
until such time the monies were needed to pay Mal Sun for her
interest in HIE. ER 86.

2 Reproduced in United States v. Boulware, 384 F.3d 794, 802
(9" Cir. 2004); Pet. App. A9-A10. Supp. ER 12-13.

2

If the jury had determined instead that the funds belonged
to Boulware, not HIE, its answer to whether the monies
belonged to HIE would have been “no,” not “yes.” The jury
also distinguished between Boulware and HIE with regard to
the $1,200,000 promissary note, in Final Finding 3.” ER 74-
75. Contrary to the Ninth Circuit’s conclusion, when the
totality of the findings in the judgment are viewed together,
the ownership of the money as between Boulware and HIE
was clearly the subject of adversarial testing. Boulware was
bound” by the state court judgment and could not thereafter
assert any property interest in the monies and properties.
Hence, the Ninth Circuit should have concluded that the state
court judgment’s determination of property interests was
adversarial and binding on the government in petitioner’s

7 “As to Count III, judgment in favor of
Defendant/Counterclaimant HA WAIIAN ISLES ENTERPRISES,
INC. and against Plaintiff on Plaintiff's claim on the August, 1993
promissory note in the amount of $1,200,000 and Plaintiff shall
take nothing on said claim against Defendant HAWAIIAN ISLES
ENTERPRISES, INC. Furthermore, as to Count III, judgment in
favor of Plaintiff and against Defendant/Counterclaimant
MICHAEL BOULWARE in the amount of $250,000 on Plaintiff's
claim on the August, 1993 promissory note in the amount of
$1,200,000[.]”

4

~ Under Hawaii law claim preclusion prohibits a party from
relitigating a previously adjudicated cause of action as weil as all
grounds of claim and defense which might have been properly
litigated in the first action but were not litigated or decided.
Bremer v. Weeks, 104 Haw. 43, 53, 85 P.3d 150, 160 (Haw. 2004).
Since petitioner, as a party to the action, is precluded as a matter of
state law from asserting any interest in the properties determined to
belong to HIE by the Hawaii judgment, the judgment determined
Boulware’s interest in the monies and properties at issue.

3

federal criminal prosecution.”

2. Although acquitted of the substantive false statement
counts, petitioner was convicted of conspiring with Lorin
Kushiyama to submit false invoices to General Electric Credit
Company (“GECC’”) to divert monies from HIE to petitioner
to avoid reporting those monies on his tax return.
Kushiyama’s intent in submitting the false invoices to GECC
was critical in determining whether a conspiracy existed.

The government maintains that the Ninth Circuit correctly
concluded that the district court did not impermissibly
prevent petitioner from asking Kushiyama whether he
“intended to submit false invoices to GECC.” Opp. Br. 7.
The government argues that the district court concluded that
petitioner’s question was irrelevant, because it understood
petitioner’s question, like the questions preceding it, to refer
to invoices prepared for third parties. Since petitioner’s
counsel could have rephrased the question or explained to the
district court that he was inquiring about the invoices at issue,
the government contends that the district court did not unduly
restrict petitioner’s right to cross-examine Kushiyama on that
point. Opp. Br. 7-8.

This argument should not be accepted. First, it is unclear
why the district court sustained the objection, as no “legal
ground” was articulated for the objection. 3 RT 59.° Second,

? As noted in petitioner’s Ninth Circuit reply/answering brief and
petition for panel rehearing, the government had actual notice of
and, as a creditor, had the opportunity to but did not object to the
Hawaii judgment serving as the basis for the settlement of Lee’s
bankruptcy proceeding prior to petitioner’s criminal prosecution.
* “Q. As far as these invoices, you are not the -- intending to
submit fake invoices to anyone, were you?

Mr. Osbome: Objection, your Honor.

The Court: Sustained. The objection is sustained.”

4

. although the district court was emphatic in sustaining this
objection, it did not articulate its reason for sustaining the
unspecified objection. Jd. While the government now
speculates that the objection was sustained on relevancy
grounds because the district court assumed the question was
directed to Kushiyama’s appraisals for others, neither the
government nor the district court articulated those grounds at
trial, although the government clearly knew how to do so. 3
RT 56, 57.7 Given that the question from defense counsel’s
point of view clearly referred to the Exhibits at trial and how
emphatic the court was in sustaining the objection, it is .
difficult to imagine that defense counsel would have been
given the opportunity to rephrase the question. Third, the
question was highly relevant even if defense counsel! had
intended to refer to invoices prepared by Kushiyama for
others. :

It is undisputed that Kushiyama’s specific intent to submit
false invoices was a critical element of the conspiracy to
submit false documentation to GECC. Kushiyama, however,
testified he had provided appraisals for Boulware, verifying
there was sufficient collateral listed in each appraisal
(invoice) to cover the amount of money financed by GECC.
When defense counsel attempted to question Kushiyama
about whether he intended to submit false invoices to GECC,
the trial court refused to permit this question. 3 RT 59. This
inquiry was critical because petitioner could not be guilty of
the conspiracy unless Kushiyama intended to deceive GECC.

The government’s reliance on the Ninth Circuit’s
explanation of the district court’s ruling is misplaced.
Although the Ninth Circuit correctly observed that

Y “ Prosecutor]: Objection to the relevance of other parties...

Objection to the relevance of what he did --”

5

Kushiyama had been asked about preparing invoices or
appraisals for other individuals, and objections had generally
been sustained to these questions, that observation was
irrelevant to the question posed to Kushiyama, challenged
here, referring to these invoices. 3 RT 59; footnote 6, supra.

During direct examination, the prosecution admitted into
evidence packages of invoices marked as Exhibits 36 and 45.
3 RT 37, 47-48. When defense counsel started cross
examining Kushiyama, he referred to these Exhibits, the
alleged false invoices, as “these invoices.” 3 RT 54, 55, 56,
and 58. While counsel asked Kushiyama about appraisals he
had prepared for other people, it was clear that counsel’s
reference to “these invoices” referred to the invoices admitted
into evidence and the question asked about submitting fake
invoices referred to those Exhibits.

The government mischaracterizes Kushiyama’s cross
examination. Opp. Br. 7. Most of the questions preceding
the question regarding Kushiyama’s intent refer to the
appraisal he gave for HIE’s equipment and whether he used
other forms to provide appraisals of equipment. 3 RT 57-58.

Kushiyama responded that he used the same types of
invoices as in this case and by using these invoices, it did not
mean that he was selling equipment to someone. 3 RT 59.
The district court sustained the government’s objection when
Kushiyama was asked if he had ever been asked to do
appraisals for anyone else other than HIE. When he was then
asked “[a]s far as these invoices,” if he intended “to submit
fake invoices to anyone,” the district court sustained the
government’s objection. 3RT 59. The questions immediately
following asked Kushiyama about the financing between HIE
and GECC and whether anyone called from GECC regarding

“these invoices.” 3 RT 59-60."

The government claims that petitioner’s argument that the
question at issue was relevant even if it was interpreted by the
district court as referring to invoices prepared for third
parties, was not presented to the district court or the court of
appeals and this Court should not pass on this claim in the
first instance. Opp. Br. 8. The argument, however, could not
have been presented to the district court during trial because
no explanation was given for the ruling. Once the Ninth
Circuit issued its opinion and stated that it was not completely
clear whether “these invoices,” referred to those prepared for
Boulware or to ones prepared for other customers, the
relevancy of invoices prepared for other parties was
addressed by petitioner in his petition for panel rehearing.

The Ninth Circuit observed that the district court was
under the “impression” that “these invoices” referred to
invoices for other parties and defense counsel did nothing to
disabuse him of this impression. Pet. App. A32. Therefore,
the Ninth Circuit reasoned that the limitation on the cross
examination of Kushiyama was not so severe as to amount to
a violation of petitioner’s Confrontation Clause rights. /bid.
But there was no specific finding by the Ninth Circuit with
respect to the precise meaning of the question put to
Kushiyama regarding any fraudulent intent on his part in
preparing the invoices.

After the Ninth Circuit offered some explanation for the
district court’s ruling, petitioner immediately pointed out the
relevancy of the question and its propriety with respect to

¥ Petitioner in his Petition for Certiorari incorrectly stated
Kushiyama never spoke to representatives of GECC. Pet. 26. In
fact, Kushiyama testified he was called by GECC when an error in
value was detected on these invoices. 3 RT 60

7

third parties as a proper subject of cross examination in his
petition for rehearing. Hence, the relevancy of the question
with respect to third parties and the district court’s limitation
of cross examination regarding Kushiyama’s fraudulent intent
in preparing the invoices for other parties is properly before
this Court.”

Whether Kushiyama used the forms labeled “invoice” to
submit “fake” appraisals or “invoices” for other individuals
was highly relevant. If he intentionally submitted fake
documents for others, this would support the inference he
intended to do so with the invoices admitted into evidence.
However, if he never submitted “fake” invoices or appraisals
for others, this was circumstantial evidence that he did not
intend to do so here. Clearly, petitioner was entitled to cross-
examine Kushiyama on this subject. Davis v. Alaska, 415
U.S. 308, 318 (1974); cf Crawford v. Washington, 541 U.S.
36, 614% (2004). The failure to allow this cross-examination,
whether or not the district court correctly understood the
question, denied petitioner his Sixth Amendment right to
cross examine Kushiyama because, under either interpretation

2 While Kushiyama’s intent with respect to third parties was
impliedly addressed when the petition for panel rehearing was
denied, this Court may, in any event, consider petitioner’s
Confrontation Clause claim in the first instance as an exceptional
case coming from the federal courts. United States v. Mendenhall,
446 U.S. 544, 551-552, n.5 (1980); Carlson v. Green, 446 U.S. 14,
17, n.2 (1980); Youakim v. Miller, 425 U.S. 231, 234 (1976) (per
curium); Duignan v. United States, 274 U.S. 195, 200 (1927).

1 “To be sure, the Clause's ultimate goal is to ensure reliability of
evidence, but it is a procedural rather than a substantive guarantee.
It commands, not that evidence be reliable, but that reliability be
assessed in a particular manner: by testing in the crucible of cross-
examination. The Clause thus reflects a judgment, not only about
the desirability of reliable evidence (a point on which there could
be little dissent), but about how reltability can best be determined.”

8

of the question, the cross examination was highly relevant and
critical to the charge and petitioner’s defense.

This is particularly true here where Kushiyama was never
asked by the prosecutor if he intended to defraud GECC or if
he agreed with Boulware to attempt to defraud GECC. Thus,
the jury could only rely on speculation to conclude that he
had conspired with Boulware. Petitioner was entitled by the
Confrontation Clause to expose this “speculation” as the
prosecution’s wishful thinking. 1 RT 108. The prohibited
questioning would have revealed that Kushiyama had no
intent to defraud anyone with the trial Exhibits, thereby
requiring petitioner’s acquittal on the conspiracy.

When the prejudicial spill over from the district court’s
failure to give binding effect to the state court judgment and
the unconstitutional restriction on cross-examination are
considered cumulatively, Kyles v. Whitely, 514 U.S. 419, 421-
422 (1995), it is clear that the conviction on Count 10 must be
reversed. When the conviction for Count 10 is reversed, this
requires the forfeiture in Count 15 to be vacated, because
there is no longer a predicate conviction for the forfeiture.

3. Count 15 sought forfeiture of $495,814.80, the amount
of money involved in the allegations regarding GECC, even
though that sum, with interest, had been repaid by HIE, and
HIE repaid by petitioner prior to June 1993. The government
argues that the Ninth Circuit did not address the issue whether
the forfeiture order violated the Eighth Amendment and the
Ninth Circuit’s decision does not present a conflict warranting
this Court’s review. Opp. Br. 8-9. Although the violation of
the Eight Amendment’s excessive fines clause was not
addressed by the Ninth Circuit, this Court may consider
petitioner’s Eighth Amendment claim in the first instance as
an exceptional case coming from the federal courts. Capitol
Cities Cable, Inc. v. Krisp, 467 U.S. 691, 697 (1984);

9

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0840%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
