# Opposition Brief — Veranda Beach, LLC v. RLI Insurance

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0689%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 545 U.S. 1139

## Text

No. 04-1297

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

VERANDA BEACH, LLC,

Petitioner,

RLI INSURANCE CO.,

Respondent.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES CourT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

RussEL_ S. GILL

Counsel of Record
Russe. S. Gitt, PLLC
638 Howard Avenue
Of Counsel: Biloxi, MS 39530
MariLyn H. Davip (228) 432-0007

Attorneys for Respondent

194590 g

COUNSEL PRESS
(800) 274-3321 * (800) 359-6859

i
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Respondent RLI Insurance Company’s only parent
corporation is RLI Corporation. There is no publicly held
company that owns 10% or more of the corporation’s stock.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT .....

TABLE OF CONTENTS ........-.-eeeeeeeees

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ..........-.

TABLE OF APPENDICES ...........----+00::

OPINIONS BELOW ...........---eeeeeeeeeees

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........-------

Proceedings Below ..........--+-+++0eeee5:

Factual Misstatements by Veranda .........-...

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ....

I.

Il.

RLI oBJECTS TO VERANDA’S FIRST QUESTION
PRESENTED BECAUSE IT IS NOT GROUNDED IN THE
FACTS OF THIS CAME... naa cudeucceteeesee

RLI oBJECTS TO VERANDA’S SECOND QUESTION
PRESENTED BECAUSE THERE IS NO REAL CONFLICT
BETWEEN THE FIFTHAND EIGHTH CIRCUITS ...

A. The Fifth Circuit has not rendered an
opinion on allegedly conflicting judicial
dispute resolution and arbitration
provisions, as did the Eighth Circuit. ..

Page

vill

II.

IV.

VI.

ili

Contents

B. Subsequent Eighth Circuit cases appear
to adopt use of equitable estoppel to
compel arbitration similar to the Fifth
SR a ik aoe aw acs oboe eens

Tuts COURT SHOULD NOT REVIEW THE ISOLATED
DISTRICT COURT OPINION BELOW. ............

VERANDA’S ALLEGED GROUNDS FOR CERTIORARI
ARE MERELY COMPLAINTS ABOUT A DISTRICT
COURT ’S APPLICATION OF A PROPERLY STATED RULE
DP /Ons 060 C4 0060606460080 6600860006

A. Veranda complains about use of equitable
estoppel and incorporation by reference.

B. The circuits have already correctly
addressed when to use state-court contract
formation principles and when to use
federal doctrines like equitable estoppel
in an arbitration context.............

C. Use of equitable estoppel is the district
court’s discretionary call. ...........

VERANDA MISLEADS THE COURT BY ASSERTING THE
DISTRICT COURT’S HOLDING IN THIS CASE
“REWRITES” STANDARD AIA FORMS USED
EL has Saas ual bus esc ae.e baw ws

THE DISTRICT COURT’S HOLDING DID NOT DEPRIVE
VERANDA OF ITS CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS

Page

11

15

15

15

16

18

18

21

iv

Contents

Page

VII. EVEN IF THERE WERE A CONFLICT BETWEEN THE

CIRCUIT COURTS OR A FEDERAL QUESTION, THIS IS
NOT THE CASE TO RESOLVE IT. ............. 22

A. This case can be decided on alternative
CS ad hoc bse eensesskenes ass 22

B. Deciding for petitioner will not reverse
Pe Ou e oe had sear ae wake 23

C. Veranda should not be allowed to avoid
arbitration by suing only the surety. ... 24

ee PFT TT ee ee er eae er ree 25

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:
AgGrow Oils v. National Union Fire Ins. Co., 242

Fie et? Ce Gk BE 3 oak re ck passim
Bridas SAPIC v. Gov. of Turkmenistan, 345 F.3d 347

PG Bee. sa ccitieeeel ae 18
Brockett re Spokane Arcade, 472 U.S. 491 (1985) ... 22
Dominium Austin Partners, LLC v. MJ Emerson, 248

ee Fg & re bi, 12, 13, 17, 18
E.I. DuPont de Nemours v. Rhone Poulenc Fiber, 269

Fae Be? Ge” Ge Me 8 cs Sade eek eee 12
Fidelity & Deposit Co. v Parsons & Whittemore

Contractors Corp., 48 N.Y .2d 127, 397 N.E.2d 380

GE. Rg SIRE cin heh ae 5, 19, 20
Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474 (1988) .......... 16
Gloucester City Board of Education v. American

Arbitration Association, 333 N.J. Super. 511, 755

A.2d 1256, 126 Ed. Law Rep. 310 (Sup. Ct. N.J.

POD . 6 s.neveedsuvadassnas eee ee a.
Grigson v. Creative Artists Agency, LLC, 210 F.3d 524

CO” Gy. BONN oko ckkivkdanscsa ce eee passim

Hill v. GE Power Systems, Inc., 282 F.3d 343 (5" Cir.
WOOO fic oes canscas cece ee. 18

vi

Cited Authorities

Page
International Paper Co. v. Schwabedissen Maschinen
& Anlagene GMBH, 206 F.3d 411 (4" Cir. 2000)
oc cccsasunvestcsubésduueseesaksaaanae 17
J.S.&H. Construction Co. v. Richmond County Hosp.
Auth., 473 F.2d 212 (S® Cir. 1973) ........... 11, 16
McBro Planning & Development Co. v. Triangle
Electrical Construction Co., Inc., 741 F.2d 342
tiek* S.. MPeEPprrrrryrT rr rey Pe 12
MS Dealer Serv. Corp. v. Franklin, 177 F.3d 942
(hit * BPP rrr rr rr re 10, 12
Prima Paint Corp. v. Flood & Conklin Mfg. Co., 388
US. SRS CIGD 6 cvacccctdsiessissueeee 16
Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetary, 349 U.S.
70, 75 S. Ct. 614, 99 L. Ed. 897 (1955) ....... 14, 21
Taylor Ridge Estates, Inc. v. Statewide Insurance Co.,
No. Civ. 4-01-DV-90058, 2001 WL 1678745
GD. lowe Gat, 6, BOGE) sdansseccecncs 13, 14, 17, 18
Thomson-CSF, SA v. American Arbitration Assoc., 64
P.36 773 COB UR. BORED cncsccssessabavcavasa 13, 17
Warwick v. Gautiee Utility District, 738 So.2d 212
Glas. ISGP) 2.00 ccciodsekseubesuauennaeree 20

vii

Cited Authorities

Page
United States Constitution:
Wage ME Fis Sl ga Rd es kad aS ccke 21
Seventh Amendment ......... Ohabdestssesoves 21
Statute:
Pena OO coe becca tna ch ctu onsen 3
Rules:
EE 6 cd as ad ddkokdaneuseancann cas 4
I OR iW hur dtes Seah coined pale eu | 15, 16
Other Authorities:
Biack’s Law Dictionary (5" ed. 1979) .......... 6

Bonp Derautt MANuaL (Duncan L. Clore ed., 2d ed.,
Tort & Insurance Practice Section, American
fe eer ae Ue 7-8

vili
TABLE OF APPENDICES
Page

Appendix A — Memorandum Opinion And Order Of
The United States District Court For The Southern
District Of Mississippi, Southern Division Filed
Rae FE, BD a nk se sci seacdsnscesnsceases la

Appendix B — Arbitrators’ Decision ............ 14a

|

Respondent, RLI Insurance Company (“RLI’), opposes
Veranda Beach, LLC’s (“Veranda”) petition for a
writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered in this matter on
December 9, 2004.

OPINIONS BELOW

Veranda included the opinion of the Fifth Circuit that
affirmed the district court at Appendix | of its petition. However,
Veranda failed to include the final district court opinion that the
Fifth Circuit affirmed. Therefore, the final opinion is included
as Appendix A to this opposition brief. (Veranda included as its
Appendix 2 the district court’s earlier order compelling
arbitration. )

RLI has included as Appendix B to this opposition brief
the arbitrators’ decision, the written findings and final award of
which the district court opinion incorporated by reference.
(District Court Opinion, Apr. 30, 2004, Res. App. 3a.)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Facts

In May 2000, Veranda and a general contractor signed a
construction contract containing a mandatory arbitration
agreement. The contractor was to build a condominium complex
owned by Veranda in Biloxi, Mississippi. (Res. App. 1a.)

In June 2000, the contractor bought a performance bond
from RLI, a surety. (Res. App. 2a.) The bond incorporated by
reference the construction contract. The bond stated at
paragraph 1:

The Contractor and the Surety, jointly and severally,
bind themselves, their heirs, executors,
administrators, successors and assigns to the Owner

2

for the performance of the Construction Contract,
which is incorporated herein by reference.

(Performance Bond, R. 14', Pet. App. 8a.)

Only the contractor and RLI signed the performance bond,
which bound the contractor and RLI to Veranda for performance
of the construction contract. In the event of default by the
contractor, the bond obligated RLI for, inter alia, correction of
defective work (as measured by the construction contract) and
for completion of the construction contract. The bond provided
that any lawsuit against RLI be brought in a court of competent
jurisdiction where the work was located. (Order, Pet. App. 3a.)
(This is the provision Veranda refers to as “the judicial dispute
resolution provision.” (Pet. Br. at 2, 6.))

The contractor defaulted on the project in May 2001.
(Res. App. 2a.) In June 2001, the contractor, Veranda, and RLI
entered a Memorandum of Understanding (“MOU”), or takeover
agreement (Res. App. 2a), providing that RLI would take over
the project and arrange for the defaulted cuntractor to complete
the work according to the terms of the construction contract,
and that Veranda would agree to pay to RLI the balance of the
contract price ir accordance with the terms of the construction
contract. (MOU, R.102, paras. 1-3, 6; SRE 2.) The bond’s
paragraph 3 stated that RLI’s obligations under the bond did
not arise until the owner made this agreement. (Bond, R. 14,
para. 3; RE 6.)

The MOU required arbitration of disputes between any of
the three parties. The MOU stated: “Upon full completion of

the project, the parties will discuss and negotiate any claims

1. “R” denotes the Record before the Fifth Circuit.

2. “SRE” denotes Supplemental Record Excerpts submitted to the
Fifth Circuit.

3. “RE” denotes Record Excerpts submitted to the Fifth Circuit.

3

between the parties including but not limited to, liquidated
damages, change orders, time extensions, claims by
sub-contractors for extra work, etc. .. . All unreconciled disputes
between the owner, the contractor and the surety will be resolved
as provided by the [construction] Contract.” (Order, Pet.
App. 4a.) The construction contract in turn required arbitration.

RLI arranged for completion of the project. The city
issued a Certificate of Occupancy on December 17, 2001.
(Res. App. 2a.) (During the later arbitration of this case, the
arbitrators found the project was substantially complete as of
that date. (Res. App. 16a.))

Proceedings Below

On March 19, 2002, Veranda sued RLI, but not the
contractor, in federal district court, making claims including
defective, late, and incomplete work as measured against the
‘terms of the construction contract. Veranda also made allegations ©

of substantially interdependent and concerted misconduct by
both RLI and the contractor. (Res. App. 2a.)

Upon RLi’s motion, the court on November 5, 2002,
compelled arbitration under the Federal Arbitration Act,
9 US.C.A. §§ 1 - 14. Under the doctrines of equitable estoppel
and incorporation by reference, the court found RLI could move
to enforce the construction contract’s arbitration clause signed
by Veranda and the contractor, even though RLI had not signed
the construction contract. (Order, Nov. 5, 2002, Pet. App. 8a.)

After nine months of pre-trial preparation and litigating
numerous motions, a five-day arbitration trial was held
beginning June 9, 2003. (Res. App. 3a.) The three arbitrators,
who were experts in the industry and/or construction law,
ordered Veranda to pay RLI $237,154.71 and to pay 75% of the
arbitration fees, costs, and expenses. (Arbitrators’ Decision,
Res. App. 21a-22a.)

4

Veranda moved to vacate the arbitration award, and RLI
moved to affirm the award. In its motion to vacate, Veranda
challenged, inter alia, the November 2062 order compelling
arbitration. The district court found Veranda’s challenge was a
motion to alter or amend a prior order under Rule 60 of the
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and that Veranda had not met
its burden of proof for such a motion. (Opinion, Res. App. 4a-
5a.) The district court upheld the arbitration award on April 30,
2004. (Opinion, Res. App. 11a; Final Order & Judgment, Res.
App. 12a-13a.)

Veranda appealed to the Fifth Circuit, claiming arbitrator
bias in reaching a decision and arbitrator “misbehavior” in
rulings on discovery motions. (Appellant’s Original Brief before
the Fifth Circuit, at 42-51, 57; Res. App. Sa-9a.) Veranda also
challenged the bases for the order compelling arbitration,
asked for a vacation of the arbitration order, and demanded a
jury trial. (Appellant’s Original Brief before the Fifth Circuit, ©
at 13, 57; Res. App. 4a.)

After oral argument, the Fifth Circuit affirmed without

written opinion the district court’s decision to uphold the
arbitration award. (Pet. App. Ia.)

Factual Misstatements by Veranda

First, in its Statement of the Case, Veranda speculates that,
because the construction contract and the performance bond
are both forms from the American Institute of Architects
(“AIA”), they set up a “regime” for dispute resolution. (Pet. Br.
at 4.) Veranda claims this regime requires disputes between an
owner and a contractor to be arbitrated, and disputes between
an owner and a surety to be litigated in court. (Pet. Br. at 4.)
Veranda states that, in accordance with this regime,
RLI and Veranda “agreed to resolve disputes in court.” (Pet. Br.
at 7.)

5

These claims are wrong, as has been recognized by the
courts. See discussion at Reason V, infra, regarding Gloucester
City Board of Education v. American Arbitration Association,
333 N.J. Super. 511, 522, 755 A.2d 1256, 1262, 126 Ed. Law
Rep. 310 (Sup. Ct. N.J. 2000), and Fidelity & Deposit Co. v
Parsons & Whittemore Contractors Corp., 48 N.Y .2d 127, 421,
397 N.E.2d 380 (N.Y. App. 1979).

Second, in its Statement of the Case, Veranda incorrectly
claims the “district court’s order recognized problems in the
formation and interpretation of the alleged arbitration provision
in the Memorandum of Understanding and implicitly rejected
it as a basis for arbitration.” (Pet. Br. at 4.) However, under its
findings, the court stated:

RLI and Veranda Beach executed a
memorandum of understanding on May 25, 2001,
which provided in part as follows: “... All
unreconciled disputes between the owner, the
contractor, and the surety will be resolved as
provided by the contract.” (Order, Pet. App. 4a.)

The court went on to describe the arguments of the parties
with regard to the MOU. (Order, Pet. App. 5a-6a.) The court
made no “recognition” of “problems in the formation and
interpretation” of the MOU’s arbitration agreement.

Third, in its Statement of the case, Veranda incorrectly
claims the district court’s order “overrode the judicial dispute
resolution provision” in the performance bond. (Pet. Br. at 6.)
However, the district court made no holding “overriding” the
judicial dispute resolution provision. The district court made
its decision on only two independent bases: equitable estoppel
and incorporation by reference, neither of which required or
addressed “overriding” the judicial dispute resolution provision.

Fourth, Veranda goes on in its Statement of the Case to
mischaracterize the district court’s order. Veranda claims the

6

district court gave no explanation “why the arbitration provision
in the Construction Contract was construed to create an
arbitration agreement between Veranda and RLI.” (Pet. Br.
at 6.) However, Veranda claims the performance bond was a
contract between Veranda and RLI, and the district court was
clear in its finding that the performance bond incorporated by
reference the construction contract and its arbitration clause.
(Order, Pet. App. 8a-9a.)

Fifth, Veranda implies that RLI’s role in this case is that of
an insurer. (Pet. Br. at ii, 13.) Veranda claims that state law
requires the performance bond and any ambiguities therein to
be strictly construed against RLI, as it would be against an
insurer. (Pet. Br. at 13.) Veranda is wrong.

This case is not about insurance, but about a surety bond. A
division of RLI that operates as a surety, not as an insurance
company, issued and sold to the contractor the performance bond
at issue.

A surety undertakes to pay money or do any other act in the
event its principal fails to perform. A surety is bound with its
principal for performance of some duty or promise and is entitled
to be indemnified by the one that ought to have performed.
Biack’s Law Dictionary 1293 (5 ed. 1979). A surety bond
involves three parties: surety (in this case, RLI), obligor or
principal (in this case, the contractor), and obligee (in this case, -
Veranda). When a surety issues a performance bond on a
construction contract, the surety agrees to “stand in the shoes”
of the contractor with regard to contract obligations. Gloucester,
755 A.2d at 1262.

On the other hand, an insurer engages in the business of
providing contracts by which the company (the insurer), for a
valuable consideration, known as a premium, assumes a risk of
loss or liability that rests upon the other party (the insured),
pursuant to a plan for distribution of such risk. BLAcK’s Law
DICTIONARY, supra, at 725, 295.

7

Another difference between an insurance company and a
surety is that a surety is liable only in accordance with the strict
terms of the surety bond, while, in contrast, all ambiguities in
an insurance contract are construed against an insurer:

In most jurisdictions, sureties are liable only in
accordance with the strict terms of their
undertaking. . . . See, e.g., United States v. Seaboard
Sur. Co., 817 F.2d 956, 963 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,
484 U.S. 855 (1987); Monmouth Lumber Co. v.
Indemnity Ins. Co. of N. America, 21 N.J. 439, 452,
122 A.2d 604, 611 (N.J. 1956) and Mendel-Mesick-
Cohen-Architects v. Peerless Ins. Co., 426 N.Y.S.2d
124, 126 (N.Y. App. Div. 1980). ... As one court
has declared:

[T]he obligation of a surety is measured
by the contract of surety. The surety’s
obligation cannot be extended by
implication or enlarged by construction
beyond the terms of the suretyship
agreement.... State of Florida ex rel.
Westhinghouse Elec. Supply Co. v. Wesley
Constr. Co., 316 F. Supp. 490, 497 (S.D.
Fla. 1970), aff'd by 453 F.2d 1366 (5" Cir
1972). ...

This doctrine of interpretation is substantially
different from that applicable to insurance
policies where, generally, all ambiguities are
construed against the carrier. This is one of the
reasons it is important to emphasize to claimants as
well as judges and adversaries that the surety, even
if also an insurance company, is acting in its
capacity as a surety.

8

BonpD DEFAULT MANUAL 3 (Duncan L. Clore ed., 2d ed., Tort &
Insurance Practice Section, American Bar Assoc. 1995)
(emphasis added).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. RLI oBsects To VERANDA’S FIRST QUESTION PRESENTED
BECAUSE IT IS NOTGROUNDED IN THE FACTS OF THIS CASE.

RLI objects to the first question Veranda presents, which
is, in effect, whether the Federal Arbitration Act prevents a
federal district court from “overriding” a judicial disputes
resolution provision in an AIA performance bond. (Pet. Br. at
i.) However, there is no language in the district court’s opinion
in this case about overriding the judicial disputes resolution
provision in the performance bond. The district court based its
decision upon the two independent grounds of equitable estoppel
and incorporation by reference. The district court did not reach
any question conceming the “overriding” of a judicial dispute
resolution provision.

The Fifth Circuit in this case affirmed without opinion, so
it is not discernible what grounds the Fifth Circuit based its
decision upon. As explained more at Reason VII. A, infra, RLI
presented the Fifth Circuit with several alternative grounds for
upholding the district court’s judgment. Therefore, the facts of
this case do not give mise to this question.

II. RLI oBseEcts To VERANDA’S SECOND QUESTION PRESENTED
BECAUSE THERE IS NO REAL CONFLICT BETWEEN THE Firta
AND EicuTH CIRCUITS.

A. The Fifth Circuit has not rendered an opinion on
allegedly conflicting judicial dispute resolution and
arbitration provisions, as did the Eighth Circuit.

RLI objects to the second question Veranda presents, which
is, in effect, whether the Court should resolve an alleged conflict
between the Fifth and Eighth Circuits over “conflicting judicial

9

dispute resolution and arbitration provisions” in an AIA
performance bond and an AIA construction contract. (Pet. Br.
at 1.) The Eighth Circuit rendered an opinion in AgGrow Oils v.
Nationai Union Fire Ins. Co., 242 F.3d 777 (8" Cir. 2001), that
addressed this issue.

Again, the Fifth Circuit in the case below affirmed without
opinion, so it is not discernible what grounds the Fifth Circuit
based its decision upon, or whether the Fifth Circuit in the case
at hand conflicts with the Eighth Circuit.

In addition, the allegedly conflicting Fifth Circuit opinion
cited by Veranda (Pet. Br. at 14), Grigson v. Creative Artists
Agency, LLC, 210 F.3d 524 (5" Cir. 2000), does not address
any conflict between dispute resolution provisions in a
performance bond and a construction contract, or in any
standard-form contracts; it addresses only the application of
equitable estoppel to compel arbitration in a non-construction-
industry context, i.e., it involved a distribution agreement in
the entertainment industry. Even Veranda attempts to distinguish
the Grigson facts from those in AgGrow, by Claiming there was
no contract between the parties as there was in AgGrow.
(Pet. Br. at 14.)

In applying equitable estoppel, Grigson correctly held that
a signatory cannot

“have it both ways”: it cannot, on the one hand, seek
to hold the nonsignatory liable pursuant to duties
imposed by the agreement, which contains an
arbitration provision, but, on the other hand, deny _
arbitration’s applicability because the defendant is
a nonsignatory. ... [T]o allow such inconsistent
positions would be inequitable, to say the least.

Grigson, 210 F.3d at 528.

Grigson further held that a nonsignatory can compel a
signatory to arbitration under either of two circumstances, known

10

as the “intertwined claims” test: (1) equitable estoppel applies
when the signatory (e.g., Veranda) to a written agreement
containing an arbitration clause must rely on the terms of the
written agreement in asserting its claims against the nonsignatory
(e.g., RLI), or (2) equitable estoppel applies when the signatory
(e.g., Veranda) to the contract containing the arbitration clause
raises allegations of substantially interdependent and concerted
misconduct by both the nonsignatory (e.g., RLI) and a signatory
(e.g., the contractor). As the Eleventh Circuit stated, ““Otherwise
the arbitration proceedings between the two signatories would
be rendered meaningless and the federal policy in favor of
arbitration effectively thwarted.”” MS Dealer Serv. Corp. v.
Franklin, 177 F.3d 942, 947 (11 Cir. 1999), quoted in Grigson,
210 F.3d at 527.

The district court below based one independent ground for
its decision on Grigson’s equitable estoppel analysis. The district
court found that “the dispute regarding liability for the alleged
default in the construction contract is precisely why the
performance bond was procured. Accordingly, the Court further
finds that RLI can move to enforce the arbitration clause even
though RLI did not sign the construction contract.” (Order, Pet.
App. 8a.) In essence, the district court held that an owner, who
is a signatory to a construction contract containing an arbitration
agreement, and whose claims against a nonsignatory-surety arise
from the terms of the construction contract, can be equitably
estopped from asserting that the surety’s being a nonsignatory
precludes arbitration. Thus, the court found the first of the two
Grigson conditions was met. *

4. In addition, the second of the two Grigson conditions was met.

The complaint in this case shows Veranda made many allegations of
substantially interdependent and concerted misconduct by both RLI and
the contractor, including failure to complete work in a timely manner,
abandoning the job site, installing defective work, damaging
condominiums under construction, misrepresenting claims for change
orders, overcharging, fraud, etc. (R. 4-9; Res. App. 2a.) These allegations
(Cont’d)

11

The district court based the other independent ground for
its decision on incorporation by reference, without discussing
any conflict between dispute resolution provisions. The district
court held the performance bond incorporated-by reference the
arbitration provision from the construction contract. (Pet. App.
8a.) The Fifth Circuit case relied upon by the district court for
this second ground was J.S.&H. Construction Co. v. Richmond
County Hosp. Auth., 473 F.2d 212 (5" Cir. 1973). J.S.&H. does
not address any conflict between dispute resolution provisions
in a performance bond and a construction contract, or in any
standard-form contracts; it addresses only incorporation by
reference of an arbitration provision into a subcontract.

It can be seen that neither the Fifth Circuit in Grigson and
J.S.&.H., nor the district court in its opinion below, addressed
the issue raised in AgGrow.

B. Subsequent E. ighth Circuit cases appear to adopt use
of equitable estoppel to compel arbitration similar to
the Fifth Circuit.

Veranda points to AgGrow as the Eighth Circuit case that
allegedly conflicts with the Fifth Circuit. AgGrow addressed an
alleged conflict between dispute resolution provisions in a
performance bond and a construction contract. The Eighth
Circuit looked to state-law contract interpretation principles to
find that the performance bond did not incorporate by reference
the arbitration provision from the construction contract. The
Eighth Circuit did not ascertain whether the facts of the case
raised the issue of equitable estoppel and thus did not apply
equitable estoppel to compel arbitration.

However, the Eighth Circuit since then has applied, in
Dominium Austin Partners, LLC v. MJ Emerson, 248 F.3d 720,

(Cont'd)

arose from the fact that, with Veranda’s agreement (R.101), RLI hired
the defaulted contractor to complete the work when RLI took over the
job. (Res. App. 2a.)

12

728 (8" Cir. 2001), the doctrine of equitable estoppel to compel
arbitration and even cited approvingly to cases that relied upon
the “intertwined claims” basis for equitable estoppel. The
“intertwined claims” basis was put forth by the Eleventh Circuit
to allow a nonsignatory to compel arbitration against a signatory
to an arbitration agreement, exactly the situation in the case at
hand. See MS Dealer Serv. Corp. v. Franklin, 177 F.3d 942,
947 (11 Cir. 1999); McBro Planning & Development Co. v.
Triangle Electrical Construction Co., Inc., 741 F.2d. 342
(11 Cir. 1984). These Eleventh Circuit cases were the ones the
Fifth Circuit in Grigson looked to when adopting the
“intertwined claims” test. Grigson, 210 F.3d at 527.
The “intertwined claims” test was relied upon by the district
court below to compel arbitration.

The Eighth Circuit decided Dominium in May 2001, two
months after it decided AgGrow in March 2001. Dominium held
that signatories to a partnership agreement containing an
arbitration clause could be compelled to arbitration against non-
signatories to the agreement. Mirroring the Fifth Circuit’s
reasoning in Grigson, the Eighth Circuit held: “It would be
inequitable to allow appellants [signatories] to claim that these
parties [non-signatories] are liable for failure to perform under
a contract and at the same time to deny that they are contractual
parties in order to avoid enforcement of the arbitration clause.”
Dominium, 248 F.3d at 728.

The Third Circuit in E.J. DuPont de Nemours v. Rhone
Poulenc Fiber, 269 F.3d 187, 202 (3™ Cir. 2001), noted the
Eighth Circuit’s holding in Dominium as one in a line of cases
where “the circuits have been willing to estop a signatory from
avoiding arbitration with a nonsignatory when the issues the
nonsignatory is seeking to resolve in arbitration are intertwined
with the agreement that the estopped party has signed.’”
(Emphasis in original.) The Second Circuit has noted that courts
have held that signatories were “estopped from avoiding
arbitration because they had catered into written arbitration

13

agreements, albeit with the affiliates of those parties
asserting the arbitration and not the parties themselves.”

Thomson-CSF, SA v. American Arbitration Assoc., 64 F.3d773, -

779 (2d Cir. 1995).

Based upon Dominium, the Fifth Circuit in Washington
Mutual Finance Group, LLC v. Bailey, 364 F.3d 260, 267 (5"
Cir. 2004), recognized the Eighth Circuit as one of the
“[njumerous federal circuit courts ... [that] have recognized
the operation of the doctrine of equitable estoppel on non-
signatories in an arbitration context.” The Fifth Circuit also
recognized the Fourth, Seventh, and Eleventh Circuits.

A district court in the Eighth Circuit declined to apply
AgGrow in a case similar to the one at hand, where a performance
bond incorporated by reference a construction contract
containing an arbitration provision: Taylor Ridge Estates, Inc.
v. Statewide Insurance Co., No. Civ. 4-01-DV-90058, 2001
WL 1678745 (S.D. lowa Oct. 1, 2001). Instead, the Taylor
court appeared to apply equitable estoppel and reconciled it
with AgGrow. The court agreed with the Eighth Circuit in
AgGrow that

the Surety cannot be made to arbitrate claims solely
based upon interpretation of the Performance Bond,
which contains no arbitration provision. But to the
extent that [the owner’s] claims are dependent upon
defining [the owner’s] duties or the Surety’s
secondary obligations under the Construction
Contract, the Surety is bound to arbitrate.

Taylor, supra, at *8. The Taylor court’ elaborated, “Given the

5. The Taylor court sought to distinguish AgGrow by stating:
“Unlike AgGrow, where one party resisted full incorporation, [the owner]
and the Surety both seek the benefits of fully incorporating the
Construction Contract into the Performance Bond — [the owner] for the
purpose enforcing the arbitration clause, and the Surety for purposes of

(Cont’d)

4

terms of the Construction Contract, the related incorporation of
that contract into the Performance Bond and the fact that the
Surety has relied upon other favorable provisions in the
Construction Contract, it is the belief of this Court that the Surety
is a proper participant in this arbitration.” /d.

Although Veranda claims there is uncertainty “in the
construction industry” regarding the meaning of the terms of
the performance bond and the construction contract (Pet. Br. at
16), the clarity of the Taylor holding shows there is not.

RLI has found no case that has followed AgGrow’s holding
when a signatory sues a nonsignatory on claims intertwined with
a contract containing an arbitration clause. It is arguable that
the AgGrow holding may be anomalous and limited to its facts.
This Court has in effect stated it will not grant certiorari to
address problems that are academic or episodic. Rice v. Sioux
City Memorial Park Cemetary, 349 U.S. 70, 74, 75 S. Ct. 614,
616, 99 L. Ed. 897 (1955). This Court should not do so in the
present case.

Based upon the reasons above, there appears to be no real
conflict among the circuits. Thus, neither the facts of this case
nor the circuit court decisions cited by Veranda give rise to
Veranda’s second question presented.

(Cont’d)

barring consequential damages.” Taylor, supra, at *8. In the case at hand,
both parties similarly are required to seek the benefits of relying upon
the construction contract in order to bring their claims. Veranda must
rely on the contract terms to establish any claims of defective, late, or
incomplete work. RLI also relied upon the contract terms to bring its
counterclaims (including those for delays) and to enforce the arbitration
clause against Veranda.

15

IfI. Tais Court SHOULD NOT REVIEW THE ISOLATED DISTRICT
COURT OPINION BELGW.

Because there is no Fifth Circuit opinion that addresses the
same issue as AgGrow (allegedly conflicting judicial dispute
resolution and arbitration provisions), Veranda tries to assert
that the opinion of the district court below does. (See REASON I,
supra, for why Veranda is incorrect.) Veranda in effect is asking
this Court to review the isolated district court opinion below.
This is not a proper ground for certiorari, as identified in
Rule 10.

IV. VERANDA’S ALLEGED GROUNDS FOR CERTIORARI ARE MERELY
COMPLAINTS ABOUT A DISTRICT COURT'S APPLICATION OF A
PROPERLY STATED RULE OF LAW.

A. Veranda complains about use of equitable estoppel
and incorporation by reference.

This Court’s Rule 10 states that a petition for a writ of
certiorari is rarely granted when the asserted error consists of
the misapplication of a properly stated rule of law. Yet, that is
all Veranda’s complaint amounts to.

Veranda identifies the complaint at the heart of its petition:
the district court “employed the doctrines of equitable estoppel
and incorporation by reference to compel arbitration .. .”
(Pet. Br. at 7.) Veranda complains that equitable estoppel should
not have been used in this case (Pet. Br. at 14), but that ordinary
state-law principles governing formation of contracts should
have been (Pet. Br. at 13). Veranda claims the district court
“contravened several of Mississippi’s fundamental rules for
contract interpretation.” (Pet. Br. at 13.) Veranda requests this
Court to instruct lower courts “not to ignore or misapply state
law ...” (Pet. Br. at 13.)

It is clear that Veranda is complaining about the application
of the doctrine of equitable estoppel, which the district court
properly stated from Grigson, supra, and the application of

16

incorporation by reference, which the district court properly
stated from J.S.&H., supra. (Order, Pet. App. 7a-8a.)
In accordance with Rule 10, this Court should not entertain this

complaint.

In addition, this Court rarely reviews a construction of state
law agreed upon by two lower courts. The Court believes that
the federal district and circuit courts are better schooled in, and
more able to interpret, the laws of their respective states.
Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474, 482 (1988). In analogy to this
reasoning, RLI believes this Court should defer to the district
court’s application and/or interpretation of Mississippi contract
law and deny certiorari.

B. The circuits have already correctly addressed when
to use State-court contract formation principles and
when to use federal doctrines like equitable estoppel
in an arbitration context.

In support of its argument against equitable estoppel,
Veranda quotes from this Court’s holding in Prima Paint Corp.
v. Flood & Conklin Mfg. Co., 388 U S. 395, 404 n.12 (1967):
“[{T]he purpose of Congress in 1925 was to make arbitration
agreements as enforceable as other contracts, but not more so.”
(Pet. Br. at 9.) Veranda argues that this means courts are only to
use state-law principles governing formation of contracts to
determine whether arbitration should be compelled. (Pet. Br.
at 13.) Veranda believes that is what the Eighth Circuit in
AgGrow did.

The circuits have already addressed the issue of when to
use state-court contract formation principles and when to use
federal doctrines like equitable estoppel. The Fifth Circuit in
Washington Mutual noted that “whether a court should apply
state law [as did the AgGrow court] or ‘the federal substantive
law of arbitrability’” (which includes the doctrine of equitable
estoppel outlined by the federal courts) is an issue in determining
whether a party should be compelled to arbitrate its claims

17

against another. Washington Mutual, 364 F.3d at 267, n. 6. The
court observed that nearly all federal circuit courts — including
the Eighth Circuit — faced with the question of whether a
nonsignatory can be bound to an arbitration provision have
applied the federal substantive law of arbitrability to resolve
the issue. /d.

The Fifth Circuit adopted the Fourth Circuit’s reasoning in
International Paper Co. v. Schwabedissen Maschinen &
Anlagene GMBH, 206 F.3d 411, 417-18 (4" Cir. 2000):
“{B]ecause the determination of whether a nonsignatory is
bound by an arbitration provision ‘presents no state law
question of contract formation or validity,’ a court should
‘look to the federal substantive law of arbitrability to resolve
this question.” Washington Mutual, 364 F.3d at 268, n.6
(emphasis added).° The federal substantive law of arbitrability
includes using the doctrine of equitable estoppel to compel
arbitration.

It is apparent that, without basis, Veranda disagrees with
the Fourth and Fifth Circuits that the determination of whether
a nonsignatory is bound by an arbitration provision “presents

6. The Fifth Circuit also cited to the Second Circuit’s analysis in
Thomson-CSF, 64 F.3d at 776, of when non-signatories may be bound
to arbitration agreements, regardless of state-law contract formation
principles:

As the Second Circuit has accurately noted, while
arbitration is contractual by nature:

It does not follow ... that under the [Federal
Arbitration] Act an obligation to arbitrate attaches
only to one who has personally signed the written
arbitration provision. [We have made] clear that a
nonsi;,natory party may be bouad to an arbitration
agree: sent if so dictated by the ordinary principles of
contract and agency.

Washington Mutual, 364 F.3d at 267 (alterations in original).

‘18

no state law question of contract formation or validity.” Despite
Veranda’s contentions, even the Eighth Circuit has acted
consistently with this pronouncement. Dominium, supra; Taylor,
supra, and applied equitable estoppel to compel arbitration.

At the end of the day, Veranda merely disagrees with the
district court’s application in this case of the properly stated
doctrines of equitable estoppel and incorporation by reference.

C. Use of equitable estoppel is the district court’s
discretionary call.

The Fifth Circuit held that whether to utilize equitable
estoppel to compel arbitration is within a district court’s
discretion; the federal circuits will review only to determine
whether that discretion has been abused. “To constitute an abuse
of discretion, the district court’s decision must be either premised
on an application of the law that is erroneous, or on an
assessment of the evidence that is clearly erroneous.” Grigson,
210 F.3d at 528; Hill v. GE Power Systems, Inc., 282 F.3d 343,
348 (S" Cir 2002); Bridas SAPIC v. Gov. of Turkmenistan,
345 F.3d 347, 360 (5 Cir. 2003).

As there has been no erroneous application of the law or
erroneous assessment of evidence, reviewing courts should defer
to the district court’s decision in the case at hand. As the Fifth
Circuit stated, “In sum, the district court is better equipped to
make the call than this court, and we do not lightly override
that discretion.” Hill, 282 F.3d at 349.

V. VERANDA MISLEADS THE COURT BY ASSERTING THE DISTRICT
COURT’S HOLDING IN THIS CASE “REWRITES” STANDARD AIA
FORMS USED INDUSTRY-WIDE.

In an attempt to manufacture an issue of public import,
Veranda incorrectly asserts that the district court’s holding
“potentially replaces the judicial dispute resolution provision
in all [AIA (American Institute of Architects) Form A312]

19

performance bonds with compulsory arbitration.” (Pet. Br. at
10.) Veranda questions why, as a matter of public policy, should
sureties be allowed to compel arbitration “whenever they prefer”
by using equitable estoppel, incorporation by reference, or any
other doctrine. (Pet. Br. at 11.) Veranda reiterates its speculation
that the performance bond and construction contract establish
an industry-wide regime that requires all disputes between an
owner and a surety to be judicially resoived and those between
an owner and a contractor to be arbitrated. (Pet. Br. at 11.)

Vevanda’s assertion that the district court’s holding replaces
the judicial dispute resolution provision in all AIA performance
bonds with compulsory arbitration is simply not true. Neither
is Veranda’s implication that sureties can arbitrarily compel
arbitration whenever they want and without basis. Grigson and
the other federal circuit cases applying equitable estoppel make
it clear that arbitration can only be compelled when the
“intertwined claims” test is satisfied. I.e., one of the following
conditions must be met: (1) the signatory raises allegations of
substantially interdependent and concerted misconduct by both
the nonsignatory and one or more of the signatories to the
contract, or (2) the signatory must rely on the terms of the written
agreement in asserting its claims against the nonsignatory.
Grigson, 210 F.3d at 527. (Order, Pet. App. 7a.) It is only when
these circumstances are present that fairness requires the
signatory be estopped from avoiding the written arbitration

agreement it signed.

Veranda’s speculation about an industry-wide regime is
ill-founded. If there is any such regime, it is what the courts in
Gloucester, 755 A.2d at 1262, and F; idelity, 397 N.E.2d at 380,
described. Those courts found that the performance bond’s
incorporation by reference of the construction contract meant
that the surety was required to arbitrate disputes relating to
performance of the construction contract, but not disputes arising
under the bond that were not related to performance of the
construction contract.

|
20

’

The court in Gloucester cited to a line of cases holding that

the intent of an arbitration clause in the underlying
contract is to require the submission to arbitration
of any dispute concerning the adequacy of the
contractor’s performance, and when a performance
bond incorporates the terms of contract by reference,
it constitutes an agreement by the surety to stand in
the shoes of the principal [contractor] in the event a
claim is made under the bond, and to arbitrate any
issue concerning the principal’s performance of the
contract.

The court held the surety was required to arbitrate any dispute
the contractor would have been required to arbitrate, but was
not required to arbitrate any disputes between the surety and
the owner not related to contract performance. As in the present
case, the bond in Gloucester had a judicial disputes resolution
provision. Gloucester, 755 A.2d at 1262, 1259, 1260, 1265.

In Fidelity, another court in a different state recognized there
is a distinction between requiring a surety that has executed a
bond for performance of 2 construction contract containing an
arbitration clause to arbitrate disputes concerning performance
of the contract, and requiring the surety to arbitrate disputes
conceming the enforceability of its performance bond. The court
held the surety was required to arbitrate disputes relating to
performance of the construction contract, but not disputes arising
under the bond that were not related to performance of the
construction contract. Fidelity, 397 N.E. 2d at 382.

‘A court should read a contract as a whole and interpret a
contract to give meaning and effect to all terms. Warwick v.
Gautiee Utility District, 738 So.2d 212, 215 (Miss. 1999). The
interpretations of the Gloucester and Fidelity courts give
meaning and effect to all terms of the performance bond and
construction contract at issue. Therefore, this Court should give
weight to the carefully considered interpretations of those courts,
especially over the unfounded speculations of Veranda.

21

Veranda is wrong about the industry-wide regime, and the
district court’s holding does not rewrite an industry-wide regime
as claimed by Veranda.

VI. THE DISTRICT COURT’S HOLDING DID NOT DEPRIVE VERANDA
OF ITS CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS.

Veranda claims the district court’s holding deprived it
without notice of its Fifth Amendment right to due process in a
court of law and its Seventh Amendment right to a jury tial.
(Pet. Br. at 12.) However, this Court has stated it has a duty to
avoid decision of constitutional issues unless avoidance becomes
evasion. Rice, 349 U.S. at 74. In addition, this Court does not
sit for the benefit of the particular litigants affected by the district
court opinion in this case. /d.

Veranda claims the performance bond gave it, as the obligee,
the right to institute “any proceeding, legal or equitable, under
this Bond .. . in atiy court of competent jurisdiction” where the
construction project was located. (Pet. Br. at 12.) However, there
is no language in the bond per se giving any party the right to
institute such a proceeding. The bond does establish rules for
forum-selection and timeliness of filing. Section 9 states:

Any proceeding, legal or equitable, under this Bond
may be instituted in any court of competent
Jurisdiction in the location in which the work or part
of the work is located and shall be instituted within
two years after Contractor Default or within two
years after the Contractor ceased working or within
two years after the Surety refuses or fails to perform
its obligations under this Bond, whichever occurs
first.

(R.14, RE 6; Pet. Br. at 2-3.)

In any event, as established above in REASON V, arbitration
could only be compelled because Veranda’s own actions
provided the basis for satisfying the “intertwined claims” test.

22

In addition, Veranda knew it was a signatory to the underlying
construction contract containing the arbitration clause, and
Veranda also knew it later signed a third document, the MOU,
that specifically provided that disputes between any of the three
parties (owner, contractor, or surety) would be resolved in
accordance with the procedures in the construction contract.
(Pet. App. 4a.) Although these facts show Veranda knowingly
waived any right to a jury trial, it is not necessary to decide any
constitutional issues raised by Veranda when this case can be
resolved by looking to the MOU. Brockett re Spokane Arcade,
472 U.S. 491, 501 (1985) (it is a cardinal rule governing federal
courts never to anticipate a question of constitutional law in
advance of the necessity of deciding it). This is elaborated more
in Reason VII, infra.

VII. EVEN IF THERE WERE A CONFLICT BETWEEN THE CIRCUIT
COURTS OR A FEDERAL QUESTION, THIS IS NOT THE CASE TO
RESOLVE IT.

Even if there were a conflict between the Fifth and Eighth
Circuits or a question involving the Federal Arbitration Act,
this case is not the one to resolve it, for the following reasons.

A. This case can be decided on alternative grounds.

- Before the district court and the Fifth Circuit, RLI offered
several grounds for affirming the decision to compel arbitration.
One was that Veranda, RLI, and the contractor signed an MOU,
or takeover agreement, that clearly incorporated the construction
contract’s disputes resolution provision. That provision included
a mandatory arbitration clause and made it applicable to all three
parties. (Order, Pet. App. 4a.) They signed the MOU after
Veranda and the contractor signed the construction contract, and
after RLI and the contractor signed the performance bond.
(Opinion, Res. App. 2a; Order, Pet. App. 4a.) RLI asked the
Fifth Circuit to find as a matter of law that the MOU clearly and
unambiguously incorporated the binding arbitration clause.

23

As the Fifn Circuit issued no written opinion in this case,
it is not discemible on what grounds the Fifth Circuit affirmed
the district court’s decision to compel arbitration. Based upon
the Fifth Circuit’s interest in the MOU issue during oral
argument, it could well have affirmed on that ground, and not
on the equitable estoppel and incorporation by reference grounds
relied upon by the district court and presented by Veranda in its
questions for certiorari.

This case can still be decided on the MOU issue, without
ever reaching the questions of whether equitable estoppel :and
incorporation by reference are appropriate in this case.

B. Deciding for petitioner will not reverse this case.

If the Court were to grant certiorari and ultimately agree
with Veranda that the district court should not have applied
equitable estoppel or incorporation by reference to compel
arbitration, the appropriate disposition would be to remand for
decision on whether the MOU as a matter of law required
arbitration.

RLI believes the MOU clearly and unambiguously
incorporates the construction contract’s arbitration clause.
However, if the lower court should decide it was not clear, then
the appropriate disposition would be to hold an evidentiary
hearing on the intent behind the disputes resolution language in
the MOU.

If the MOU were found not to require arbitration, then
Veranda has made clear it intends to demand a federal jury trial.
Veranda has already had one bite at the apple, where it fully
litigated all of its claims on the merits in a five-day arbitration.
The expensive arbitration took nine months of pretrial
preparation, including litigating several motions and conducting
many depositions. Three arbitrators, who were experts in the
industry and/or construction law, ordered Veranda to pay RLI
$237,154.71 and to pay 75% of the arbitration fees, costs, and

24

expenses. (Arbitrators’ Decision, Res. App. 21a-22a.) Veranda
is dissatisfied, and now wants a second bite at the apple.

Deciding for Veranda would only drag out a costly,
protracted litigation even further and retry issues that have
already been fully heard and fairly decided. This would not be
an efficient use of already-strained judicial resources.

C. Veranda should not be allowed to avoid arbitration
by suing only the surety.

As pointed out in footnote 4, supra, Veranda made many
allegations of substantially interdependent and concerted
misconduct by both RLI and the contractor, including failure to
complete work in a timely manner, abandoning the job site,
installing defective work, damaging condominiums under
construction, misrepresenting claims for change orders,
overcharging, fraud, etc. (R. 4-9; Res. App. 2a.) These allegations
arose from the fact that, with Veranda’s agreement (R.101), RLI
hired the defaulted contractor to complete the work when
RLI took over the job. (Res. App. 2a.)

It is worth note that Veranda did not name the contractor as
a defendant in this lawsuit. This Court should not let Veranda
avoid the arbitration clause in the construction contract it signed
by suing only the surety, and not the contractor who actually
performed the allegedly untimely and defective work, and
participated in the alleged misconduct.

When such interdependent allegations are made, as the Fifth
Circuit found, the signatory-contractor — even though not sued
— in essence becomes a party, with resulting loss of time and
money because of its required participation in the proceeding.
Concomitantly, detrimental reliance by the signatory-contractor
cannot be denied:

it and the signatory-plaintiff [in this case, Veranda]
had agreed to arbitration in lieu of litigation
(generally far more costly in terms of time and

25

expense); but, the plaintiff is seeking to avoid that
agreement by bringing the action against a
nonsignatory [in this case, RLI] charged with acting
in concert with that non-defendant signatory [in this
case, the contractor].

Grigson, 210 F.3d at 528.

These are conditions ripe for the application of equitabl:
estoppel.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court should deny the petition
for certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

RusseELt S. Git
Counsel of Record
RusseE._ S. Gitt, PLLC
638 Howard Avenue
Of Counsel: Biloxi, MS 39530
MariLyn H. Davip (228) 432-0007

Attorneys for Respondent

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — MEMORANDUM OPINION AND

ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF MISSISSIPPI,
SOUTHERN DIVISION FILED APRIL 30, 2004

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF MISSISSIPPI
SOUTHERN DIVISION
CIVIL ACTION NO. 1:02CV110SR
VERANDA BEACH, L.L.C.
PLAINTIFF
V.

RLI INSURANCE COMPANY
DEFENDANT

MEMORANDUM OPINION
This action arises from a dispute concerning the
performance of a construction contract. The case is before

the Court for review of the decision of an arbitration panel.

Facts

Plaintiff Veranda Beach, L.L.C. (Veranda), a Mississippi
limited liability company, is the owner of and developer of
the Magnolia Shores Condominium project in Biloxi,
Mississippi. In May 2000, Veranda hired United Contractors
(United) to build these condominiums. The construction

2a
Appendix A

contract contained an arbitration clause. In June 2000,
Defendant RLI Insurance Company (RLI) issued a
performance bond covering this project. The performance
bond did not contain an arbitration clause.

The project did not go smoothly. There were substantial
delays. Veranda ultimately declared United to be in default
under the construction contract and called upon RLI to
complete the project. In May 2001, Veranda and RLI
circulated a “Memorandum of Understanding.” Although this
agreement was signed by representatives of both RLI, United,
and Veranda, there is a dispute whether the parties ever agreed
to a single set of terms. RLI took over the project, and, with
the consent of Veranda, RLI re-hired United to complete
construction of this project. On December 17, 2001, the City
of Biloxi issued its certificate of occupancy.

Veranda has never considered the construction of this
project complete. Veranda contends that RLI and United
abandoned the project. Veranda withheld a large portion of
the contract price, and this litigation ensued.

Proceedings in this Court

Veranda filed its complaint against RLI in March 2002.
Veranda sought damages for cost overruns, delay damages,
and punitive damages based on allegations of fraud. RLI
moved to compel arbitration. On November 5, 2002, the
Court granted RLI’s motion to compel arbitration. While
RLI’s motion to compel arbitration was pending, both
Veranda and RLI commenced state court proceedings related

3a
Appendix A

to RLI’s construction lien on the project. The state court
actions were stayed, by agreement, pending the outcome of
arbitration.

The Arbitration

Arbitration was conducted June 9-13, 2003. In July 2003,
the arbitrators rendered their decision, awarding the unpaid
contract balance and compensation for certain change orders
to RLI, less certain credits for Veranda Beach. The arbitrators
found mutual fault for the construction delays and declined
to award delay damages to either party. The arbitrators made
a net award to RLI of approximately $237,000. The
Arbitrator’s written findings and final award are incorporated
into this opinion by reference.

Issues Now Before the Court
The primary issue now before the Court is whether the
arbitrators’ award should be confirmed or set aside. Veranda
seeks to have the arbitrators’ award set aside, and RLI asks

that the award be confirmed.

Veranda presents three grounds in support of its motion
to set aside the arbitrators’ award. Veranda contends that:

1. The Court erred in ordering that this matter be
submitted for arbitration;

2. The arbitrators were biased in favor of RLI; and

3. The arbitrators erred in failing to award delay
damages.

4a

Appendix A

Standard of Review

A court considering the validity of an arbitration award
applies a deferentia! standard of review. Glover v. IBP, Inc.,
344 F.3d 471 (5" Cir. 2003). The party moving to vacate an
award has the burden of proof. Spector v. Torenberg,
852 F.Supp. 201, 206 (S.D.N.Y. 1994). Review is limited to
a determination of fundamental fairness in the arbitration

proceeding. Williams v. Cigna Financial Advisors, Inc.,
197 F.3d 752 (5" Cir. 1999).

The Federal Arbitration Act (FAA) provides that an
arbitration award may be vacated only if: (1) the award was
procured by corruption, fraud, or undue means; (2) there is
evidence of partiality or corruption among the arbitrators;
(3) the arbitrators were guilty of misconduct that prejudiced
the rights of one of the parties; or (4) the arbitrators exceeded
their powers. 9 U.S.C. § 10(a). An additional non-statutory
ground for vacating an arbitration award is that the arbitrators
acted with “manifest disregard of the law.” This additional
ground, not found in the FAA, is extremely narrow, and
implies a gross departure from clearly established legal
principles. Prestige Ford v. Ford Dealers Computer Services,
Inc., 324 F.3d 391 (5 Cir. 2003).

Order Granting RLI Motion To Require Arbitration

Veranda contends that this Court’s November 5, 2002,
order granting RLI’s motion to require arbitration was
erroneous. Although this order was entered by Judge Gex,
who was presiding in this case at that time, it is nevertheless
the order of this District Court. This Court’s authority to alter

Sa

Appendix A

or amend a prior order is governed by Rule 6° »f the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure. Veranda does not ast any of the
six grounds for relief set out in Rule 60. Veranda d-es not
allege that the order requiring arbitration was the result of
“mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or excusable neglect”; it
presents no new evidence; it does uot allege “fraud .. .
misrepresentation or other misconduct” by RLI; it does not
allege that the order is void; it does not allege that the order
has been released or discharged by RLI; and it does not assert
any other reason or grounds for the relief it is seeking that
was aot presented in opposition to RLI’s original motion.

In essence, Veranda is asking this Court to sit as an
appellate court and review the validity of the order entered
on November 5, 2002. This is an invitation I will decline. I
am of the opinion that there were good grounds in fact and
law for Judge Gex’s decision to require that this matter be
submitted to arbitration, and I do not believe that Veranda
has met its burden of proof under Rule 60. Accordingly,
considering the first grounds for relief asserted by Veranda
as a motion for relief from the Court’s November 5, 2002,
order under Rule 60, that motion will be denied.

Bias of Arbitrators

Veranda has asserted that the arbitrators in this case were
partial to RLI. Most of Veranda’s contentions on this point
relate to the Chairman of the arbitration panel, Pat Scanlon
(Scanlon), but Veranda also alleges that there are grounds to
question the impartiality of the other two arbitrators,
John H. Allgood, III, (Allgood) and Craig Kaster (Kaster).
If Veranda can prove this contention, it would have grounds

6a
Appendix A

for relief under § 10(a) of the FAA. Evidence of partiality
among the arbitrators is a specific statutory ground for relief
under the act.

Veranda’s contentions concerning Scanlon are based
upon what it perceives to be a web of relationships among
Scanlon, RLI, Bottrell Insurance Agency (Bottrell), and
Trustmark Bank (Trustmark). Veranda contends that these
relationships were not disclosed prior to the mediation, in
violation of the rules of the American Arbitration Association.

Bottrell was the agent for the sale of the RLI completion
bond that covered the condominium construction project at
issue. Trustmark now owns Bottrell. Pat Scanlon now works
for a law firm (Watkins & Eager) that represents Trustmark.

During the arbitration hearings, RLI produced a copy of
the construction contract that had been faxed to Bottrell
during contract negotiations, and by using the fax date stamp
on this document, RLI was able to impeach one of Veranda’s
witnesses concerning a key date. Veranda has not shown that
the document was procured by illegitimate means or that it
could not have procured this same document from Bottrell
during the discovery phase of the arbitration proceeding.
Neither Trustmark nor Bottrell was a party or a witness in
the arbitration proceeding. Bottrell came into possession of
this document in its capacity as the agent for the sale of the
RLI performance bond.

At the end of the arbitration hearing, which was
conducted in Biloxi, Mississippi, Pat Scanlon acceded to a
request by counsel for RLI that-he return certain original

. - Poneman meron sane ra eutts mae ese Sr IE RES I EER areca
SEIS LINE EE RRND te ROE TR ee Ate TRY PEN Sach ey Set ne kee a e ak " lit ttl aS a = i r "

7a
Appendix A

documents that had been part of the arbitration proceedings
to Bottrell. Bottrell is headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi,
where Scanlon lives. Veranda contends that this is evidence
of an improper relationship between RLI and Scanlon.

Before the arbitration, Scanlon disclosed that he was
representing a client who was negotiating a construction bond
with RLI. Veranda did not make any objection to Scanlon’s
participation in the arbitration based upon the disclosures he
made prior to the arbitration proceedings.

At the time he was appointed an arbitrator in this case,
Scanlon was a member of the law firm Scanlon, Sessums,
Parker, & Dallas. At some point before the arbitration was
completed, Scanlon joined the law firm of Watkins & Eager.
Watkins & Eager maintains a relationship with Trustmark.
Veranda contends that Scanlon’s partiality to RLI arises from
his law firm’s (Watkins & Eager) representatior. of Trustmark
Bank, which owns Bottrell.

Neither Trustmark nor Bottrell was identified by Veranda
or by RLI as interested parties at the time the arbitration
proceedings commenced. Since neither party identified
Trustmark or Bottrell as interested parties, it is difficult to
see how Scanlon or either of the other arbitrators could have
had any duty to disclose their relationships, if any, with these
businesses. Indeed, it appears to me that neither Trustmark
nor Bottrell has any interest in the outcome of this
controversy.

I do not perceive in this record any substantial evidence
of bias or partiality on the part of Pat Scanlon. Since neither

8a
Appendix A

Trustmark nor Bottrell was in any way interested in the merits
of the matter under arbitration, i.e. in the performance of the
RLI bond and the underlying construction contract or in the
conflicting claims and counterclaims for damages for
breaches of these undertakings, I do not believe there is any
reasonable basis to question Pat Scanlon’s impartiality based
on his relationship with the firm that represents Trustmark
Bank. Likewise, I do not believe that Scanlon’s agreeing to
return a file to Bottrell as a courtesy to one of RLI’s attorneys
is evidence of bias or partiality on his part. As to the facts
disclosed by Scanlon prior to the arbitration, Veranda has
waived any objection it may have had by its failure to raise
its objection in a timely manner.

As to Allgood, Veranda points out that his (Allgood’s)
construction company was doing business with RLI by
completing a construction project under an RLI performance
bond. Allgood disclosed this before the arbitration
proceeding, and Veranda raised no objection. If Veranda had
an objection on the grounds of this disclosure, it has, in -my
opinion, waived that objection.

As to Kaster, Veranda points out that he attended West
Point Military Academy with E.B. Williams, RLI’s Director
of Bond Claims, who was one of the witnesses at the
arbitration proceedings. Kaster disclosed that at the time
Kaster was called to testify, and Veranda raised no objection.
If Veranda had an objection on the grounds of this disclosure,
it has, in my opinion, waived that objection.

A he Bn iar” ely 4S me: Sau atl oi’ | F qeausQna gr: ren

9a
Appendix A

The Refusal To Award Delay Damages

The arbitrators made a specific finding that the delays
in this construction contract were the result of fault on the
part of four parties: Veranda, its architect, United, and RLI.
In these circumstances, the arbitrators found that neither of
the parties should be awarded delay damages. If this
determination is not a “manifest disregard of the law,” the

decision must be upheld. Prestige Ford v. Ford Dealers
Computer Services Inc., 324 F.3d 391 (5" Cir. 2003).

The Mississippi authorities I have examined establish
the right of an aggrieved party to recover delay damages when
there is proof that the damages are attributable to the fault of
the other party to the construction contract. See Mississippi
Transp. Comm'n v. SCI, Inc., 717 So.2d 332 (Miss. 1998);
Mississippi Transp. Comm’s v. Ronald Adams Contractor,
Inc., 753 So.2d 1077 (Miss. 2000). Authorities from other
jurisdictions establish the fundamental and sound rule that
the party seeking to collect damages for delay must bear the
burden of proving causation, i.e. the party seeking to establish —___
a right to recover damages for construction delays must
satisfy the finder of fact that the delays were attributable to
the action or inaction of the adverse party. See Fieldcrest
Builders, Inc. v. Antonucci, 724 N.E.2d 49 (Ill. App. 1999).

Both Veranda and RLI sought an award of delay damages.
The arbitrators found, as a fact, that the delays in this project
were jointly attributable to Veranda, its architects, United,
and RLI. Based on this finding, the arbitrators declined to
award damages to either party. While this approach may not
be the only reasonable way this issue could have been

10a
Appendix A

resolved, this Court’s review of the arbitrators’ decision is
limited to a determination whether the arbitrators “ignored
the existence of any clearly governing [legal] principle in
reaching its award.” Prestige Ford v. Ford Dealer Computer
Services, Inc., 324 F.3d 391 at 396 (5 Cir. 2003). In my
opinion the arbitrators acted within their authority in making
the factual determination that neither party had proved its
claims for delay damages, and | find that there has been no
manifest error of law in this aspect of the arbitration.

Conclusion

For the reasons set out above, I find that Veranda has
not proved any of the statutory grounds that would justify
setting aside the award of the arbitrators under 9 U.S.C.
§ 10(a), and I find that there has been no manifest error of
law committed by the arbitrators in making their award. There
is no substantial evidence in this record to support an
inference of bias or partiality on the part of any of the
arbitrators. There are no grounds for relief from the
November 5, 2002, order requiring that this matter be
submitted to arbitration. The award of the arbitrators will
therefore be confirmed.

Accordingly, it is

ORDERED

That the motion of Veranda Beach, L.L.C., for a hearing
on its motions [21-1] is hereby DENIED AS MOOT 1 light
of the hearing conducted on March 9, 2004;

ANDRAS POR LOE

lla
Appendix A

That the motion of Veranda Beach, L.L.C., to vacate the
arbitration order [27-1] is hereby DENIED;

That the motion of RLI to submit additional exhibits
[39-1] is hereby GRANTED;

That the motion of RLI for leave to file supplemental
affidavit [41-2] is hereby GRANTED.

That motion of RLI to strike [41-1] is hereby DENIED.

That the motion of RLI to reinstate this case to the active
docket for the purpose of confirming arbitration award and
issuance of judgment [21-1] is hereby GRANTED;

That the award of the arbitrators is hereby
CONFIRMED; and

That a separate judgment will be entered upon the award
of the arbitrators.

SO ORDERED this 29th day of April, 2004.

s/ L.T. Senter, Jr.
L.T. Senter, Jr.
Senior Judge

12a
Appendix A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF MISSISSIPPI
SOUTHERN DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION NO. 1:02CVI10SR
VERANDA BEACH, L.L.C.
PLAINTIFF
A
RLI INSURANCE COMPANY
DEFENDANT

ORDER AND JUDGMENT CONFIRMING
ARBITRATION AWARD

This matter was referred to arbitration by Order of this
Court on November 5, 2002. An arbitration hearing was
conducted on June 9-13, 2003, and the arbitration panel
rendered its award on July 11, 2003. The arbitrators’ award
has been filed of record in this cause by Defendant RLI
Insurance Co. in support of its motion to confirm the
arbitration award. For the reasons set out in the Memorandum
Opinion entered today in this matter, the Court has granted
Defendant RLI Insurance Co.’s motion to confirm the
arbitrators’ award pursuant to 9 U.S.C. §9.

l3a

Appendix A

Accordingly, it is
ORDERED and ADJUDGED

That the award of the arbitrators in this matter is hereby
CONFIRMED;

That Defendant RLI Insurance Co., shall have of and
recover from Veranda Beach, L.L.C., the principal sum of
$237,154.71, plus all taxable costs of Court, as set forth in
the award of the arbitrators dated July 11, 2003, and
incorporated into this judgment by reference; and

That interest at the rate of 1.7% per annum shall accrue
on the principal sum from the date of entry of this order until
the judgment is paid.

SO ORDERED this 29th day of April, 2004.

s/ L. T. Senter, Jr.
L. T. Senter, Jr.
Senior Judge

l4a

APPENDIX B — ARBITRATORS’ DECISION

AMERICAN ARBITRATION ASSOCIATION
CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY ARBITRATION
TRIBUNAL

In the Matter of the Arbitration between

Re: 69 Y 110 00348 02
Veranda Beach, LLC
vs.

RLI Insurance Company

ADMINISTRATOR: Heather Presley
ARBITRATORS: Craig L. Kaster, Patrick H. Scanlon, and
John Hill Allgood, Ul

WE, THE UNDERSIGNED ARBITRATORS, having been
designated in accordance with the arbitration agreement
entered into by the parties, and having been duly sworn and
having duly heard the proofs and allegations of the parties
hereby, AWARD, as follows: -

This matter came up at the hearing in Biloxi, MS starting
June 9" and was concluded June 13". The hearing was closed
on June 13 and the arbitrators met thereafter for deliberation.

Based on the evidence presented through testimony and
exhibits, this project was doomed from the outset. The owner
and contractor chose to start work prior to obtaining a final
set of plans and with very limited specifications. To make
matters worse, the plans that were used were not complete.

15a
Appendix B

Furthermore, the architect did not provide complete
administrative services and the contractors work force as well
as supervision was poor for the first six months. Neither party
should have signed the contract based on the woefully
inadequate specifications and the incomplete plans. They
undertook substantial risk by signing a contract without
proper plans and specifications which led to a great deal of
confusion and ultimately substantial disputes.

The owner and contractor often made very important
decisions without adequately consulting the permitted
drawings and without input from the architect. This led to
rework and ultimately numerous code violations.

Both parties have made substantial delay claims. However,
they jointly share in the concurrent delays resulting in the
failure to complete this project in a timely fashion. The
defendants exhibited bate stamp 100271 is an October 12,
2001 letter from Mr. Gentle to Mr. Hopkins regarding a stop
work notice from the city of Biloxi. It sets forth the code
violations which resulted in a project being stopped by the
city. On October 19, 2001, the city issued its memorandum
of code violations.

Based on the evidence, a couple of out of state buyers went
to the permit office and in reviewing the project plans on
file, found code violations which were reported to the city.
This resulted in the city’s code enforcement manager shutting
the project down. If two third parties could review and find
code violations, then certainly the owner, through its architect
and the contractor as well as the surety could and should
have found these problems long before October of 2001. As

16a
Appendix B

a result of the joint failure of the owner/architect and
contractor/surety to properly monitor the work and be sure it
complied with the code requirements, the parties are jointly
responsible for the concurrent delays and neither party is
entitled to delayed damages.

The owner argues that the project is still not substantially
complete. However, the city issued a Certificate of
Occupancy on December 17, 2000 (Exhibit G1987). This
allowed units to be sold. The owner did start closing on sales
and the architect did issue a punch list (Exhibit P257). Based
on the evidence the arbitrators find the project was
substantially complete as of December 17, 2001, even though
the parties did not sign a Certificate of Substantial
Completion.

A large amount of time was taken up in the arbitration with
regard to the allegations of fraud and claim for punitive
damages brought by Veranda Beach, LLC, Claimant. Fraud
must be proven by clear and convincing evidence. In this
hearing, evidence was introduced on the issue of fraud. There
was evidence relating to changes to the “outlined
specifications” Ms. Sherry gave expert testimony on this
issue. However, her testimony was of no assistance in
determining who, when or why changes were made to the
“outlined specifications”. Counsel for Veranda Beach, LLC
questioned nearly every witness on this issue and it is still
unclear as to who, when or why these “outlined
specifications” were altered.

Furthermore, there has been no evidence as to the use of the
altered “outlined specifications”. During the hearing, some

17a
Appendix B

witnesses for both parties gave testimony that was
inconsistent with written documents or other tesamony. This
may have an impact as to their credibility, but does not meet
the legal requirements amounting to fraud.

There were change orders submitted to the owner related to
disputed issues, and in fact, RLI Insurance Company filed a
lien including money for disputed change orders.
Mr. Williams testified that the lien was filed to protect RLI’s
rights because of possible foreclosure on the property. Neither
the submission of disputed change orders nor the filing of
the lien was fraudulent.

Much of the case presented by Veranda Beach has been an
attempt to prove fraud on the part of RLI and persons related
to the Surety. The arbitrators listened carefully to the
testimony and reviewed the exhibits on this issue. It is the
unanimous finding the panel there has been absolutely no
evidence produced amounting to fraudulent conduct on the
part of RLI Insurance Company, Robert Gentle, Russell Gill,
Ms. David, Christopher Gilley, or Edgar Williams.
Accordingly, all claims for punitive damages by Veranda
Beach, LLC are dismissed with prejudice. Since a large
portion of the time in arbitration was spent on this issue,
Veranda Beach is ordered to pay one-half of the arbitrator
expenses, fees and costs associated with this proceeding since
it was not able to prove these allegations.

There was a great deal of conflict in testimony as to what
plans and specifications were included as part of the contract
documents. After much deliberation, it is the finding of
the arbitration panel that the contract included the March 2,

18a

Appendix B

Credit 6 inch sewer

Backflow preventor

Curb and gutters

Credit for Brick Ledge
at Handicap Ramp

Credit Walks

Credit Front Balconies/
Store Rooms

Credit Interior Trim Panels

e/c Doors

Credit Trim at Door Frames

Credit Window Seals

Fix and Adjust Windows

Add Parking Bumpers

Correct 8 Pane Window

Clear A/C Drain

Brick at Back Stairs

Rework Soffit at Rear
Balconies

Coping at Pool

Replace Elevator Room
Roof

Replace Pool house Roof

Gutters/DP Rear Building

Tub Surrounds

$
$
$

$
$
$
$
$
$
$
$
$
$
$

AF

FiwHH SH

2,100.00
2,800.00
480.00

140.00
4,190.00

14,634.00

1,080.00
1,500.00
500.00
50.00
500.00
500.00
150.00
150.00

1,500.00
1,200.00

960.00
384.00
636.00
2,800.00

2000 plans set forth in Defendant’s Exhibit 3B Gilley Volume
II, and the type written specifications with the handwritten
notes (Plaintiff Exhibit A-3).

The following is awarded to Veranda Beach for the cost to
complete, incomplete or defective work and work omitted:

=

19a

Appendix B

Replace Dryer Vents $ 240.00
Replace Washer Drains $ 240.00
Credit Wire Mold at FA Wire $ 720.00
Microwave Outlets $ 1,500.00
Mold Remediation for one

unit $ 3,400.00
Total $ 42,354.00

All other claims of Veranda Beach, LLC are denied.

RLI has made claims for change order work. It is the finding
of the arbitration panel that change orders 1-4 were agreed
to by the parties through the Memorandum of Understanding.
However, while the change order procedure set forth in the
contract documents were not followed, there was change
order work performed by the contractor with the knowledge
and consent of Veranda Beach and therefore RLI is entitled
to recover with regard to those change order, but since the
change order procedure was not followed, the recovery is
limited to a quantum meruit basis. The following is awarded
to RLI, in addition to change orders 1-4:

No. 5: Modify Roof
Trusses for New Roof

Design $ 5,446.00
No. 7: Add Knee Walling

Behind Cabinets $ 3,255.00
No. 8: Ductwork Removed

and Relocated $ 2,500.00

No. 11: Additional Fire
Caulk $ 465.00

20a

Appendix B

No. 14: 5/8” Drywall at
Separation Walls

No. 16: Pool Elevation
Change

No. 17: Add Sidewalk to
East Wall

No. 24: Upgrade Counter-
tops in Bathroom

No. 26: Add Bartops

No. 27: AC Pads

No. 28: Construction Loan
Payment

No. 30: Replace Handicap
Ramp

No. 31: Sprinkler Pipe
Enclosure

No. 32: Iron Gate, Metal
Fencing (Front)

No. 33: Further Upgrades
Per Sales Agreement

No. 34: Mechanical Room
Modifications

No. 36: Add Vanity Lights

No. 37: Add Gates at Rear
Balconies

No. 41: Pre-wire Security/
Alarm Systems

Total

$ 3,487.50
$ 6,855.28
$ 1,046.25
$ 2,053.00
$ 826.50
$ 1,924.00
$ 6,500.00
$ 4,966.00
$ 6,159.00
$ 16,305.00
$ 2,381.00
$ 7,595.51
$ 872.29
$ 1,400.00
$2,471.38
$ 76,508.71

All other claims by RLI Insurance Couuipany are denied.

21a
Appendix B

The following is a summary of the award:

Unpaid Contract Balance $ 186,190.00
Change Orders 1-4 $ 16,810.00
Additional Change Orders
on Quanium Meruit
Subtotal

76,508.71
279,508.71

AAA

Less Credits to Veranda -

Beach $ 42,354.00
Balance to be paid by

Veranda Beach, LLC to

RLI Insurance Company $ 237,154.71

It is the finding of the arbitration panel that Veranda Beach,
LLC is to pay RLI Insurance Company $237,154.71. The
funds on deposit in escrow are to be released to RLI Insurance
Company as part of this payment. Once Veranda Beach, LLC
has paid the full $237,154.71, the lien filed by RLI Insurance
Company is to be canceled.

Since a portion of the contract claims for both parties was
granted a portion denied, the parties are equally obligated to
pay the remaining arbitration cost, fees and expenses.

22a

Appendix B

Accordingly, Veranda Beach, LLC is obligated to pay 75%
of the arbitration fees, costs and expenses, and RLI Insurance
Company is obligated to pay the remaining 25% of the
arbitration fees, costs and expenses. Any amounts not paid
to RLI Insurance Company within 30 days will bear legal
interest in accordance with Mississippi law.

The administrative fees and expenses of the American
Arbitration Association (“the Association”) totaling
$16,500.00 and the compensation and expenses of the
arbitrators totaling $34,800.05 shall be both 75% by Veranda
Beach, LLC and the 25% by RLI Insurance Company.
Therefore, Veranda Beach, LLC shall pay to RLI Insurance
Company the sum of $10,466.89 representing its share of
deposits previously advanced the Association.

The shove meee Se
date of this Award.

This Award is in full settlement of all claims and
counterclaims submitted to this Association. All claims not
expressly granted herein are, hereby denied.

This Award may be executed in any number of counterparts,
each of which shall be deemed an original, and all of which
shall constitute together one and the same instrument.

SIGNED: Pat H. Scanlon DATED: 7/11/03
Patrick H. Scanlon, Arbitrator

23a
Appendix B

Accordingly, Veranda Beach, LLC is obligated to pay 75%
of the arbitration fees, costs and expenses, and RLI Insurance
Company is obligated to pay the remaining 25% of the
arbitration fees, costs and expenses. Any amounts not paid
to RLI Insurance Company within 30 days will bear legal
interest in accordance with Mississippi law.

The administrative fees and expenses of the American
Arbitration Association (“the Association”) totaling
$16,500.00 and the compensation and expenses of the
arbitrators totaling $34,800.05 shall be both 75% by Veranda
Beach, LLC and the 25% by RLI Insurance Company.
Therefore, Veranda Beach, LLC shall pay to RLI Insurance
Company the sum of $10,466.89 representing its share of
deposits previously advanced the Association.

The above sums are to be paid on or before 30 days from the
date of this Award.

This Award is in full settlement of all claims and
counterclaims submitted to this Association. All claims not
expressly granted herein are, hereby denied.

This Award may be executed in any number of counterparts,
each of which shall be deemed an original, and all of which
shall constitute together one and the same instrument.

SIGNED: John Hill Allgood, III DATED: 7/11/03
John Hill Allgood, III, Arbitrator

24a
Appendix B

Accordingly, Veranda Beach, LLC is obligated to pay 75%
of the arbitration fees, costs and expenses, and RLI Insurance
Company is obligated to pay the remaining 25% of the
arbitration fees, costs and expenses. Any amounts not paid
to RLI Insurance Company within 30 days will bear legal
interest in accordance with Mississippi law.

The administrative fees and expenses of the American
Arbitration Association (“the Association”) totaling
$16,500.00 and the compensation and expenses of the
arbitrators totaling $34,800.05 shall be both 75% by Veranda
Beach, LLC and the 25% by RLI Insurance Company.
Therefore, Veranda Beach, LLC shall pay to RLI Insurance
Company the sum of $10,466.89 representing its share of
deposits previously advanced the Association.

The above sums are to be paid on or before 30 days from the
date of this Award.

This Award is in full setthement of all claims and
counterclaims submitted to this Association. All claims not
expressly granted herein are, hereby denied.

This Award may be executed in any number of counterparts,
each of which shall be deemed an original, and all of which
shall constitute together one and the same instrument.

SIGNED: Craig L. Kaster DATED: 7/11/03
Craig L. Kaster, Arbitrator

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0689%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
