# Opposition Brief — Bannon v. School District

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0607%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 546 U.S. 811

## Text

No. 04-1207

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

+

SHELDA HARRIS BANNON,
as parent and natural guardian of her daughters
Sharah Harris and Brittni Harris,
Petitioner,

4 iP

SCHOOL DISTRICT OF PALM BEACH COUNTY,
a body corporate, and ED HARRIS, individually
and in his capacity as principal of
Boca Raton Community High School,
Respondents.

¢

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit

+

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

RANDALL D. BURKS

Office of the Chief Counsel

The School Board of Palm Beach County
3318 Forest Hill Boulevard, Suite C-302
West Palm Beach, FL 33406-5813

(561) 434-8500

Counsel for Respondents

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

As shown in this brief, the Court should deny the
Petition as to all questions presented. Respondents
additionally object to the content of Petitioner’s questions
because they impliedly mischaracterize the Eleventh
Circuit’s holding and they ignore important facts. Respon-
dents submit the following replacement question, includ-
ing relevant unique facts:

Did the Eleventh Circuit correctly decide that the
Constitution, as interpreted in Hazelwood School District
v. Kuhlmeier, 484 U.S. 260 (1988), permits a public high
school principal to restore order to the school’s disrupted
learning environment by requiring minor edits to
religious speech that a student had painted on large
murals (upon semi-permanent construction-barrier panels
owned by the school) near the main office and other high-
traffic walkways for constant viewing by a captive audi-
ence of students for up to four years during reconstruction
(as part of a school-sponsored beautification project
coordinated by the student government/leadership class,
approved by school administration, advertised by the
school, regulated by the principal, and supervised by a
teacher), when the religious speech was suggested or
encouraged by two faculty members to be included
without advance notice to the principal or supervising
teacher, and these murals became the only ones to include
verbal messages, when the project was intended for
decoration sather than a forum for viewpoints; and
disruption arose due to Establishment Clause concerns
about the proselytizing sectarian religious speech bearing
the imprimatur of the school?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTION PREGIITTED osiscccsisisscssesnssasitensreseansinsediinsatainsinsasts i
TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ........ssssssssssssesssesssecssecssecen iv |
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO WRIT OF CERTIORARI ............0000+ 1 |
PACTUAL FRACTIGIUIID a inciccissenscakussnsshamandimbidapebaniaindasnions 1
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ..............csecceseeseeeeees 7
I. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY APPLIED
THIS COURT’S DECISION IN HAZELWOOD .........00..00++ 7
A. The Project Was a Scholastic Nonpublic
PORWR ..n0asinscikssinnesncigubeeibatbandasmiascmasdenenediadaedetsd 8
B. The Murals Were School-Sponsored Speech
Bearing the Imprimatur of the School ............ 10

C. The Mural Project Was a Curricular Activity.. 11

D. Bannon Is Consistent with the Viewpoint
Doctrines of Lamb’s Chapel, Good News

Cissd, ata TOI vcisiinasisinsindcinasbeivbinsennecces 13
E. The Editorial Control Was Based on
Legitimate Pedagogical Concerns .................. 17

F. Bannon Clearly Supports and Requires
Viewpoint Neutrality ....ccccsccsesccsorossovcscsscnscosecse 19

G. This Court Recently Denied Certiorari in @
Similar Case, Even Though It Expressly
Allowed Viewpoint Discrimination................... 21

II. No “SPLIT” EXISTS WHEN THE CIRCUITS HAVE
UNANIMOUSLY REACHED THE SAME RESULTS
UNDER HAZELWOOD AND THIS COURT HAS
DENIED ANY PETITIONS FOR CERTIORARI ............+. 22

RR NE eae

IiI. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT COURT COULD HAVE

AFFIRMED ON SEVERAL OTHER GROUNDS .............. 24
A. Disruption and Interference .......................006+5 25
Ti GADWNMNOINE TIBOEIR ocscccsscrrensscsncccsscosescesscsessces 26
C. Establishment Clause Neutrality .................... 26
I TE I aos catsendinannendammannondnnns 29
E. The School Board’s Non-Liability .................... 29
IV. THIS CASE IS UNIQUE AND COMPLEX, NOT
CONDUCIVE TO CERTIORARI REVIEW ..............000000 29
I an aa aliad cs ceinanelianaDnagiccaenehnnnieiabnaine 30

lv

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

CASES

American Jewish Congress v. City of Chicago,

Re ae Sa FN) ED vsitnceticsiantiindntinsaseiamamsins 28
Bannon v. School District of Palm Beach County,

387 F.3d 1208 (11th Cir. 2004) ............ eee passim
Bethel School District No. 403 v. Fraser,

Ee siisnskbchabbihscntastiscncbedaainadncdliiaaceonsens 17

Capitol Square Review and Advisory Board v.
Pinette,

Fe es PE IE iistaiciiccnkicinkccacicncinsandshschscneciiientacais 28
C.H.ex rel. Z.H. v. Oliva,

NE ee re EE tances hsceancedbiecsipecenenss 23
Chandler v. James,

Re eee Br Ua We CI, BO inns cccssccernetacircsenains 17
Cole v. Oroville Union High School District,

SOB Fe BOGE GOT GAR, BOD cicecccnicccescsccncaccsnescrsscesns 27

Cornelius v. NAACP Legal Defense and Educational
Fund, Inc.,

473 U.S. 788 (1985) ...... sieiacebetilatls Mice Sibieaiilea anette 9, 17, 25
County of Allegheny v. ACLU Greater Pittsburgh

Chapter,

ee Re incites cbiainiencca innstieniniccdetoneiatinis 27, 28
Denno v. School Board of Volusia County, Florida,

yi' 9 Pe Bl ~ fet Te | RR tenuenennUnmrnNenenrE 29

DiLoreto v. Downey Unified School District Board of
Education,
196 F.3d 958 (9th Cir. 1999) ............... 13, 15-16, 17, 23

Downs v. Los Angeles Unified School District,
ee ee Be Ce Gs BOO inecicciicscsninn ssetorcssniacindes 26

East High Gay/ Straight Alliance v. Board of
Education of Salt Lake City School District,

81 F. Supp. 2d 1199 (D.Utah 1999) ........... eee 20
Edwards v. Aguillard,

I TE: DH IED vatnnscttesinccbubintiiennana 27
Engel v. Vitale,

SPO CE Os (IG iii ccc ccneneeinnne 27
Epperson v. Arkansas,

BG TE Oe CAD icctsccscncanscrcscinnceppeenaneaien 26-27
Fleming v. Jefferson County School District R-1,

298 F.3d 918 (10th Cir. 2002) ........ ee. sessseesDASSIM
Gernetzke v. Kenosha Unified School District No. 1,

B74 FBG OBE CT els Cle, BOA) hin ssisiccesirniiasssncsvinvlaiicrvnes 18
Good News Club v. Milford Central School, e

BBD EEE, DB COED: eckiiccssesscanessnasspiseiehion 13, 14, 16, 18, 28
Good News/Good Sports Club v. School District of

City of Ladue,

DE FBG BGG) CORR Cie, LODE) ais sc cicncsaccscscrccsisiicvessanicns 28
Grattan v. Board of School Commissioners of

Baltimore City,

OT Ee RM CI Ca Fe vee letiesccscnicestaccencnscctnceess 8
Hazelwood School District v. Kuhlmeier,

ARTI. Fer CE i ctissdbcccienscnmuedsandiann passim

Hills v. Scottsdale Unified School District No. 48,
329 F.3d 1044 (9th Cir. 2003) ................cccccssssssees 18, 28

vi
Illinois ex rel. McCollum v. Board of Education of

School District No. 71,
SBS UB. BUS CEDGG) ..ccsnenceessserccscesencssnnsssnseonssiatpnesasens 25

Joki v. Board of Education of Schuylerville Central
School District,
745 F. Supp. 823 (N.D.N.Y. 1990) ..............ssccccccseseee 27

Kincaid v. Gibson,
191 F.3d 719 (Gti Cle. TGBG) nccccccssccesssosccassoscccsssosescecs 23
Lamb’s Chapel v. Center Moriches Union Free

School District,
508 U.S. 384 (1993) ..........ccccccccsereerereeeeeees 13, 15, 16, 28

Lemon v. Kurtzman,
GBB UE. GR AGT ED ccccccctsciittesdeistectsesssttieicseseiatiasaaiiies 27

May v. Evansville-Vanderburgh School Corporation,
TOT FBG 1IGS CPs COs, TIDE ccsccssenssssscnsoccsovesscccetents 28

Mesa v. White,
197 F.3d 1041 (10th Cir. 1999) .........cc.cccccccscsssssssessees 20

Monell v. Department of Social Services,
BOB UB; GED CRF cnsntncctaincintiailicepevitctniaciaaitiiialiiiies 29

Perry Education Association v. Perry Local Educators’
Association,
GBD CURR. SF CHGGED eciccscccsiasebnincttecestitaiaicudeinddeiaiinasii 18

Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada, Inc. v.
Clark County School District,
IRA Fug Ys S| pee 8, 23

Rosenberger v. Rector & Visitors of the University of
Virginia,
GAG WB, GRD CUBBIE cciciicscctcacersittnsnticightanes 1, 14, 15, 16, 20

Santa Fe Independent School District v. Doe,
GOD UR, Te CD ccdttnviednictnalnicbbcnaaktnitenadsiunstitignnit 27

ere ee

vii

Scott v. School Board of Alachua County,

$24 F.3d 1246 (11th Cir. 2008) .............00.......0..cccseees 26
Searcey v. Harris,

888 F.2d 1314 (11th Cir. 1989) ........................000 19, 24
Smith v. County of Albemarle, Va.,

OD FF ee ee Ce Ce Ba eccrcccncscscecscsaccccssanssecssonson 28

Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Community
School District,

Se SEs Ne GRD o ccseesssinssnsnnanccnessnsenninn 8, 9, 10, 25, 26
Walz v. Egg Harbor Township Board of Education,

G8 re eG Ge, BID crttcctciccsnsnnssnstictscncasnsnensions 16
Ward v. Hickey,

996 F.2d 448, 454 (1st Cir. 1993)...........................0000 22
Washegesic v. Bloomingdale Public Schools,

BS FAI SiO Ge CRE. BD ccccsccccntscresccsnnsccsvescnsetencones 27

STATUTES
CPi OIE, FINE, Fr ccsccnccsiiccccccctnnosntnscccnistcicencsances passim
Sa AD hkeientketcdncidncaitsiasctiininnisntdninséingentanneinion 30
es Oe EE taint scisiainhbhasbatiastbiinsdenteiininenneiabeitenienite 7,29
OTHER AUTHORITIES

School Board of Palm Beach County, Florida
a eee es GD cbbticctisithcantactnsccncsnsncsniccneioass 30

1

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Respondents, School District of Palm Beach
County, Florida, and Ed Harris, request that the Court
deny the petition for writ of certiorari seeking review of
the opinion entered by the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit in this case on October 12, 2004.

+

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Respondents object to Petitioner’s statement of the
case, as it ignores details that militate against
Petitioner’s claim that principal Ed Harris—who in his
private life was a Christian lay minister and Sunday
School teacher (PD 95)\—censored school-sponsored
proselytizing Christian messages based on his alleged
“individual . . . disapprov(al]” of their Christian point of
view. Pet. 13. In scholastic First Amendment cases the
“hard task of judging . . . requires courts to draw lines,
sometimes quite fine, based on the particular facts of each
case.” Rosenberger v. Rector & Visitors of the Univ. of Va.,
515 U.S. 819, 847 (1995) (O’Connor, J., concurring)
(emphasis added). The details are set forth here, consis-
tent with the statements of facts in the opinions below:

Disruption. — The principal of Boca Raton Com-
munity High School in Palm Beach County, Florida,
encountered disruption on his campus on the morning of
February 11, 2002. First he noticed a commotion involved
several students and teachers in a walkway. Addition-
ally, many phone calls were coming in to the principal.
The source of the disruption was featured on the news
that morning, with three television stations and the

1 The notation “PD” refers to the principal’s deposition in the record on
file with the Eleventh Circuit.

2

newspaper having sent reporters. (PD 80, 81, 97.) The
disruption took time away from “the productivity of the
school in itself and the . . . principal’s time, the assistant
principal’s time[, and] the student’s time away [from] the
main focus of the school... .” (PD 83.) There was much
student discussion about the source of the commotion; it
was distracting to the students and to the school’s mission
of educating the students. (PD 97-98.) Principal Harris
heard rumors of other concerns from the students, faculty,
and the public, and he took all of the debate as an
indication that there was a controversy that would be
disruptive to the school. (PD 48, 49, 51, 52, 83.)

Source of the Disruption. — There was substantial
concern about an apparent Establishment Clause
violation through bold proselytizing sectarian messages
that had been painted over the weekend on several
construction-divider panels in prominent locations near
the main office and other high-traffic areas of the school.

The school was undergoing a long-term recon-
struction project, and the contractors had erected about
sixty (60) 4-foot by 8-foot flat-white plywood construction-
divider panels in interior and exterior walkways
throughout the school. (PD 31, 39; SD Ex. 2.)? Feeling
that some colorful paintings would make the school more
aesthetically pleasing, (PD 31), the student govern-
ment/leadership class sponsored a beautification project,
inviting students and teachers to paint 8-foot by 8-foot
murals (each mural occupying two of the construction
panels owned by the school), and the project was also a
school fundraiser. (PD 40.) Petitioner described student
government as a leadership class that students join by
going “to the guidance counselor and ask[ing] for the
class.” (SD 9.)

2 The notation “SD” refers to Sharah Harris’ deposition in the record on
file with the Eleventh Circuit, and “Ex. 2” refers to Exhibit 2 of that
deposition.

3

To seek approval of the project concept, the
teacher/class sponsor Ms. Roberts first discussed it with
Principal Harris, who advised that the school must “be
careful what we do on the walls, because .. . you can’t
offend people by putting things on the wall” with anything
“like gang-related information,” or “discriminating
against someone.” (PD 31, 33, 41.) Ms. Roberts submitted
an activities pre-approval form, which was approved by
an assistant principal and Mr. Harris, and it was Ms.
Roberts’ responsibility to have the appropriate-content
guidelines announced to the students. (PD 31-32; SD 7.)

Petitioner saw school announcements about the
beautification project, inviting any student to assist the
leadership class in painting the panels. (SD 6.) She was a
member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes (“FCA”), a
student-initiated club that met before school once a week.
(SD 10, 62.) Petitioner apparently invited fellow FCA
members to participate with her. Petitioner personally
painted two of the murals on a Saturday, February 9,
2002, and some other FCA members painted also. (SD 29,
41-48.) The panels themselves remained school property,
under the ownership and dominion of the school before,
during, and after the painting. (SD 108, 112.)

The beautification project was simply intended to
supply artwork to decorate the plain white plywood
panels. (PD 31.) But unlike other students’ paintings, the
murals painted by Petitioner? included verbal messages.
(SD 78.) Petitioner conceded that her murals reflected
more than artwork; they also exhibited a religious verbal
message. (SD 139.) The FCA had devised this plan
without notifying the administration. (SD 17-23.)

3 For convenience, the term “Petitioner” in this brief is used to refer to
Sharah Harris (on whose behalf her mother Shelda Harris Bannon
sued) and, unless the context requires otherwise, the term also
encompasses some murals painted by other FCA members who joined
or assisted Sharah in painting religious messages.

4

Suggested and Encouraged by Faculty Members. —
Although the Petition characterizes the religious
messages as student-initiated expression, such claim is
vitiated by the fact that two faculty members had been
involved with the selection of the religious messages; the
FCA faculty sponsors had discussed the religious-message
plans with Petitioner, and later the plan was presented to
the FCA club, (SD 56), where one of the faculty sponsors
encouraged them to carry out the plan with the intent of
painting the religious messages on several murals in
different areas in order to “have them all the way around
the school.” (SD 14, 17, 21.)

Further, Petitioner selected some of the messages
from a document received from a faculty member at
school. (SD 49-54.) A faculty member handed the list of
suggested religious messages to Petitioner in the school
hallway, suggesting she might find some of them useful
for her mural. (SD 54.) The messages on the list named
God, and Petitioner also added a suggestion using the
name “Jesus.” (SD 59.) The other FCA sponsor knew
exactly what Petitioner was planning to paint and
encouraged her to do so. (SD 17.)

Proselytizing Sectarian Messages. — Petitioner’s
first mural stated, “Because He loved, He Gave,”
paraphrasing John 3:16. The background had a cross in
the middle, and the word “loved” was represented by a
heart plus the letters “-ed.” (SD 30.) Petitioner’s second
painting boldly proclaimed, “Jesus has time for you; do
you have time for Him?” (SD 31.) Paintings by other FCA
members (also referred to here as Petitioner’s murals)
included overt religious messages such as “God Loves
You. What Part of Thou Shalt Not Didn’t You
Understand? God,” selected from the Petitioner’s list. (SD
42-44.) In all, Petitioner’s large murals used about eight
instances of the word “God;” one instance of the name
“Jesus,” and three crosses, (SD 114); but none of the other
murals in the project used any verbal messages.

5

Immediate Establishment Clause Concerns. — Ms.
Roberts, the teacher who supervised the mural painting
project, immediately became concerned about the appro-
priateness of Petitioner’s unexpected content, apparently
because of Establishment Clause concerns about the
proselytizing religious messages, Pet. App. A-27, and she
reported the issue to the principal that evening. (PL ‘“—
45.) Ms. Roberts felt that an FCA faculty sponsor |. d
“sort of pushed the issue” of including religious messages
on the murals. (PD 88.) In response, the principal
suggested that they review the appropriateness of the
murals together on Monday (the next school day). (PD 45.)
That is when the principal discovered the disruption.

Effects of Disruption. — With all the controversy
and commotion, less academic work got done that day
than usual. (PD 85.) For example, in Petitioner’s third-
period math class, a substantial discussion ensued. “[I]t
took a few [minutes] — ’cause some like wanted to say
what they believe, and then a few other [students] wanted
to say what they believed, and then [it] just kind of went
on from there.” When students posed questions to the
teacher, “maybe he would try to answer it, and then he
would come back to me... and have me answer it,”
Petitioner revealed. (SD 88-90.)

The principal recalled, “Every time I walked down
the halls I had kids and teachers and all [saying], ‘What’s
going on here,’ you know... . It was related to the panels
....” (PD 96.) The principal clearly was concerned about
the order and educational mission of the school if he had
allowed the murals to remain unedited. He did not mind
the messages personally, but “when it affects the entire
school, . . . the institution that I am working in and have a
responsibility for, I must uphold the rights of that
institution” to a conducive learning environment. (PD 99.)

After a morning of commotion, the principal finally
visited the student’s fourth (last) period class to confer

6

discreetly with the teacher, Ms. Roberts, who had
supervised the painting project. Although Principal
Harris—as a devout Christian—had no personal distaste
for the sectarian proselytizing religious messages, he was
concerned about an apparent Establishment Clause
violation; he mentioned to Ms. Roberts the requirement of
“separation of church and school” (PD 68) and left it up to
Ms. Roberts, as the project sponsor, to determine precisely
which parts should be painted over. (PD 56-57.)

Reasonable, Least-Restrictive Editorial Control. —
After Mr. Harris left, Ms. Roberts asked Petitioner to step
outside for a moment, where Ms. Roberts explained the
need to paint over the overt religious words and sectarian
symbol (“Jesus,” “God,” and the cross) because of Estab-
lishment Clause concerns; but the remainder of the mural
content (non-sectarian, non-proselytizing portions and
pictures) was appropriately allowed to remain. (SD 92-
93.) Ms. Roberts suggested reasonable, minor alterations
to Petitioner, such as altering “Jesus has time for you; do
you have time for Him” to the non-sectarian, “He has time
for you; do you have time for Him.” (SD 93.)

Petitioner performed the re-painting after school.
(SD 129.) The re-painting apparently involved mostly
other FCA-member students’ murals; Petitioner was
asked to do the repainting on them because she had been
the FCA painting coordinator. (SD 41-48; 131.) (Notably,
the principal had also directed the removal of several
gang symbols, some satanic symbols, and some after-
added profanity that had been painted on murals, (PD
47).) Although Petitioner was initially upset about having
to modify a few portions of the murals, she admitted she
was glad the principal had directed other students’
satanic symbols to be removed, and she would be in favor
of removing anything like drug-related speech, hate
symbols, and gang symbols. (SD 80, 101.) Petitioner
conceded the principal had no invidious motive in
removing any of the religious expression. (SD 101-104.)

7

Before the summary judgment hearing in the
district court, Petitioner had already graduated from high
school and her claims for injunctive and declaratory relief
were moot. The parties stipulated at the hearing that her
remaining claims were limited to money damages under
42 U.S.C. § 1983. Pet. App. A-28 n. 10. The district court
granted summary judgment for Respondents, finding that
Hazelwood School District v. Kuhlmeier, 484 U.S. 260,
271-73 (1988) allows schools to exercise editorial control
over school-sponsored religious speech, with the “legiti-
mate goal of preventing disruptive religious debate in the
school corridors” and disassociating the school from a
position other than neutrality on matters of religion. (Pet.
App. A-31, 32.)

The Eleventh Circuit affirmed, finding the murals
were curricular school-sponsored speech bearing the im-
primatur of the school, over which substantial viewpoint-
neutral content-based editorial control is allowed when
reasonably related to legitimate pedagogical concerns
under Hazelwood. The court recognized one of the
legitimate pedagogical concerns was ending “the
disruption to the school’s learning environment caused by
[Petitioner’s] murals,” and the editorial control was
reasonably related to that goal “because it ended the
disruption.” Bannon v. Sch. Dist. of Palm Beach County,
387 F.3d 1208, 1217 (11th Cir. 2004).

+
REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY APPLIED
THIS COURT’S DECISION IN HAZELWOOD

Contradicting the courts below, Petitioner asserts
that the beautification project was not school-sponsored
speech under Hazelwood School District v. Kuhlmeier, 484

8

U.S. 260, 271 (1988). This assertion rests upon three
erroneous arguments: 1) that the project was a public
forum for unfettered expression of viewpoints; 2) that the
Tinker disruption/interference standard should apply; and
3) that the beautification project was not “curricular.”
However, Hazelwood is the correct standard.

A. The Project Was a Scholastic Nonpublic
Forum

The Eleventh Circuit analyzed the three kinds of
government property and systematically rejected two of
the three possibilities for the school’s mural project:
schools do not possess the qualities of traditional public
fora; and the school had not intentionally opened a
designated or limited public forum for indiscriminate
discourse. Bannon, 387 F.3d at 1212-13, citing Hazel-
wood, 484 U.S. at 267, 270. The forum was therefore a
nonpublic forum, consistent with the general rule that
schools are nonpublic fora unless they have intentionally
designated a public forum. See, e.g., Grattan v. Bd. of Sch.
Com’rs of Baltimore City, 805 F.2d 1160, 1162-63 (4th
Cir. 1986) (even a public school parking lot, after hours, is
a nonpublic forum in which schools can regulate content).

The courts have interpreted Hazelwood as “con-
strain[ing] the [forum] analysis by requiring that courts
focus on unique attributes of the school environment and
recognize broadly articulated purposes for which high
school facilities may properly be reserved.” Planned
Parenthood of Southern Nevada, Inc. v. Clark County Sch.
Dist., 941 F.2d 817, 825 (9th Cir. 1991) (citing Hazelwood,
484 U.S. at 270-73). The analysis must consider the
school’s “pedagogical concerns, such as . . . disassociating
itself from speech inconsistent with its educational
mission and avoiding the appearance of endorsing views,
no matter who the speaker is.” Planned Parenthood, 941
F.2d at 827 (emphasis added).

9

Nonpublic fora are not transformed into limited
public fora when expressive activity simply happens to
occur therein. Cornelius v. NAACP Legal Defense and
Educational Fund, Inc., 473 U.S. 788, 805 (1985). Nor do
school-sponsored projects become limited public fora
simply “by permitting limited discourse, but only by
intentionally opening a nonpublic forum for public
discourse.” Hazelwood, 484 U.S. at 267 (emphasis added).

Here, the school’s mural project—planned by the
student government/leadership class, approved and regu-
lated by principal, advertised by the school, and super-
vised by a teacher—was intended to benefit the school by
raising funds and making the construction panels
bearable. There was no “clear intent to create a [limited]
public forum” by “open[ing] the [panels] . . . to indis-
criminate use... by the student body. . . . Instead, they
reserved the [nonpublic] forum for its intended purpose”
by seeking colorful art, by providing guidelines, and by
supervising the project. See Hazelwood, 484 U.S. at 270
(citations a..ji internal quotations omitted). As the
Bannon court pointed out, the principal had never “said
the murals were a forum for expressing [students]
political or religious views.” 387 F.3d at 1213. Out of the
many murals in the project, only Petitioner’s used the
opportunity to proclaim verbal messages. Such incidental
expression did not transform the school-sponsored art
project into a limited public forum. Cf. Cornelius, 473 U.S.
at 805. The school’s beautification project remained a
scholastic nonpublic forum.

Of the several kinds of expression that may occur
in a scholastic nonpublic forum, it is important to
distinguish between two kinds for this case: school-
sponsored speech versus pure student expression.
Petitioner argues that the pure-student-expression
standard should apply under Tinker v. Des Moines
Independent Community School District, 393 U.S. 503
(1969). This Court, however, has explained the difference:

10

The question whether the First Amendment
requires a school to tolerate particular
student speech—the question that we
addressed in Tinker—is different from the
question whether the First Amendment
requires a school affirmatively to promote
particular student speech [the Hazelwood
school-sponsored speech standard]. The
former question [in Tinker] addresses
educators’ ability to silence a student’s
personal expression that happens to occur
on the school premises [and may cause
disruption, interference, or disorder]. The
latter question [in Hazelwood] concerns
educators’ authority over school-sponsored
publications, theatrical productions, and
other expressive activities that students,
parents, and members of the public might
reasonably perceive to bear the imprimatur
of the school.

Hazelwood, 484 U.S. at 270—71 (emphasis added).

Here, the school-sponsored mural project plainly
was not merely personal, private expression that just
happened to occur on campus like a slogan on a student’s
shirt or a conversation between two students over lunch,
subject to the Tinker standards. Rather, the school had
organized, regulated, and supervised the project resulting
in murals that would be part of the school for years.

B. The Murals Were School-Sponsored Speech
Bearing the Imprimatur of the School

In spite of causing disruption like that which can be
quelled even under the heightened Tinker standard as
discussed in Fart III.A below, the murals actually fit
squarely within the Hazelwood framework of school-
sponsored speech bearing the imprimatur of the school.

an! PN Ben, it

11

[T]here is no question students, parents,
and other members of the public might
reasonably believe [Petitioner’s] murals
bear the imprimatur of the school. The
murals appear in prominent locations in the
school . . . [and] a reasonable observer
would likely perceive that the school had a
role in setting guidelines for, and ultimately
approving, the [murals] it allowed to
become a part of the school itself. . . .

Bannon, 387 F.3d at 1214 (citation and internal quotes
omitted).

C. The Mural Project Was a Curricular
Activity

As relates to the curricular application of
Hazelwood, two interpretations would appear valid: either
school-sponsored speech includes any expression impli-
cating pedagogical concerns and bearing the imprimatur
of the school, or the term refers to a broadly-defined
gamut of curricular activities.

The Tenth Circuit has held that “school-sponsored”
speech . .. mean|s] [any] activities that might reasonably
be perceived to bear the imprimatur of the school and that
involve pedagogical concerns.” Fleming, 298 F.3d at 924.
Hazelwood spoke of activities that “may fairly be
characterized as part of the school curriculum.” 484 U.S.
at 271. Hazelwood emphasizes controlling “expressive
activities that students, parents, and members of the
public might reasonably perceive to bear the imprimatur
of the school” or other “vehicle of student expression,” so
that “views of the individual speaker are not erroneously
attributed to the school.” 484 U.S. at 271, 273. “Further,
the environment in which learning takes place, such as
the school’s hallways, can be a pedagogical concern, as it
affects the learning process.” Fleming, 298 F.3d at 931

12

(emphasis added). The Tenth Circuit interprets
Hazelwood’s_ curricular language (“designed to impart
particular knowledge or skills to student participants and
audiences”) to mean any “activities that affect learning, or
in other words, affect pedagogical concerns,” such as “the
school district’s desire to avoid controversy within a school
environment.” Id. 298 F.3d at 925-26 (emphasis added;
citations omitted).

The Eleventh Circuit has taken a conservative
approach, holding that school-sponsored speech refers to
curricular activities, which are to be broadly de.ined.
Bannon, 387 F.3d at 1214. Under either approach, the
results are generally the same: the activity in question
will often be subject to control under Hazelwood,
regardless of whether it occurs in a classroom. Having
taken the conservative view, the Bannon court explained:

To be considered curricular, expressive
activities need not occur in a “traditional
classroom setting.” Hazelwood, 484 U.S. at
271. Instead, expressive activities are cur-
ricular so long as they are merely (1)
“supervised by faculty members,” and (2)
“designed to impart particular knowledge or
skills to student participants and
audiences.” Jd. In contrast to Appellant’s
position, Hazelwood never defined curricu-
lar activity in terms of whether student
participation was required, earned grades
or credit, occurred during regular school
hours, or did not require a fee.

Bannon, 387 F.3d at 1214. Petitioner's expression

certainly occurred in the context of a curricular activity:
The first prong is met because Principal
Harris and Ms. Roberts were faculty

members who supervised the beautification
project. Likewise, the second prong is

i ee

|
a re

13

satisfied because the beautification project
was designed to impart particular
knowledge and skills to student
participants and audiences; it allowed
student participants to express themselves
artistically [similar to skills in art classes},
allowed student audiences to appreciate
their fellow students’ artwork, and promoted
school spirit, among other things.

Bannon, 387 F.3d at 1214-15 (emphasis added).

Additionally, the mural project was initiated and
coordinated by a class (the student government/leadership
class) and directly affected the learning environment.
This project was one of Hazelwood’s “other expressive
activities that students, parents, and members of the
public might reasonably perceive to bear the imprimatur
of the school.” See 484 U.S. at 271. It certainly was not
merely extracurricular speech like discourse at a baseball
game. Yet, Hazelwood has even been applied to a ball
field fence. DiLoreto v. Downey Unified Sch. Dist. Bd. of
Educ., 196 F.3d 958, 968 (9th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 529
U.S. 1067 (2000). Hazelwood plainly said such activities
need not occur in a classroom setting. 484 U.S. at 271.
There can be no doubt that “curricular activities” must be
construed broadly under Hazelwood.

D. Bannon Is Consistent with the Viewpoint
Doctrines of Lamb’s Chapel, Good News
Club, and Rosenberger

Contrary to Petitioner’s claim that the Eleventh
Circuit “did not even consider” Good News Club v. Milford
Central School, 533 U.S. 98 (2001), that decision was
discussed in the district court’s opinion and was briefed
for the Eleventh Circuit by both parties. In both Good
News Club and Lamb’s Chapel v. Center Moriches Union
Free School Dist., 508 U.S. 384 (1993), the schools had

14

intentionally opened a limited public forum for
temporary, after-school private use of meeting facilities by
outside groups or extracurricular student clubs, which
were not initated or coordinated by the school. In contrast
to the private, temporary, extracurricular, after-school
use of meeting facilities in Good News Club, the murals in
Bannon were school-sponsored and became a semi-
permanent part of the fabric of the building, to be seen
daily by a captive audience during school hours. The Good
News Club sought “to address a subject otherwise
permitted under the rule, the teaching of morals and
character, from a religious standpoint.” 533 U.S. at 109.
By contrast, the school in Bannon did not open a public
forum for any viewpoints and had not made any topics
includable; the project was for aesthetic beautification.

Bannon is also fully consistent with Rosenberger v.
University of Virginia, 515 U.S. 819 (1995), which
involved a “limited public forum .. . of [the university’s]
own creation,” id. at 829, in which the university
expressly solicited the views of a diversity of students in
an extracurricular program that was separate and
independent from the university, id. at 824, “to encourage
a diversity of views from private speakers.” Id. at 834.
The university had intended to “open a forum for speech
and to support various student enterprises, including the
publication of newspapers, in recognition of the diversity

. of student life,” id. at 840. Thus, the University’s
extracurricular student activity fund should have pro-
vided newspaper printing funds from the extracurricular
student activity-fees fund on a “religion-blind basis.” Id.
at 845. By contrast, the beautification project in Bannon
was school-sponsored speech in a nonpublic forum, and
the school had not solicited student’s viewpoints. The
project was simply intended to decorate the plain
construction-barrier panels; and none of the murals
included verbal messages, religious or otherwise, besides
the few panels painted by Petitioner.

ee et Ee eet

15

The Rosenberger Court, at page 830, directly based
its reasoning on Lamb’s Chapel, 508 U.S. at 393, which
held that schools that open a limited public forum by
allowing private community groups to use school facilities
after hours should provide the facilities (for private, extra-
curricular, after-school use) without regard to the group’s
religious perspective on permissible topics; it would be
viewpoint discrimination to allow “all views about family
issues and childrearing except those dealing with [that]
subject matter from a religious standpoint” (emphasis
added). By contrast, in Bannon there were no permissible
topics to be discussed from a religious standpoint; the
murals were simply intended for beautification of the
panels, and Petitioner’s murals were the only ones that
included viewpoints. Bannon, 387 F.3d at 1211.

The Petition mischaracterizes Rosenberger as
treating any exclusion of religious speech as viewpoint
discrimination. However, Rosenberger itself recognized
that “[t]he necessities of confining a forum to the limited
and legitimate purposes for which it was created may
justify . . . reserving it for . . . certain topics.” 515 U.S. at
829. Rosenberger plainly distinguished between subject-
based restrictions and viewpoint discrimination:

When the government targets not subject
matter, but particular views taken by
speakers on a subject, the violation of the
First Amendment is all the more blatant.
Viewpoint discrimination is thus an
egregious form of content discrimination.
The government must abstain from regu-
lating speech when the specific motivating
ideology or the opinion or perspective of the
speaker is the rationale for the restriction.

Id. at 829 (emphasis added). Thus, Rosenberger “merely
held that refusing to fund only religious viewpoints on
otherwise-permissible subjects (i.e. pregnancy or homo-
sexuality) was viewpoint discrimination.” DiLoreto v.

eaneeneneaaneeneteneeetieeeeememmianeneaanmnnanemenmtnnneneneemen

16

Downey Unified Sch. Dist. Bd. of Educ., 196 F.3d 958, 970
(9th Cir. 1999) cert. denied, 529 U.S. 1067 (2000). The
rationale for the restriction in Bannon was not to
suppress any “specific motivating ideology.” The principal
only desired to restore order to the learning environment,
avoid further disruptive controversy, and avoid an Estab-
lishment Clause vivlation.

In sum, the Good News Club Court specifically
found a club was discussing the permissible (secular)
subjects of “morals and character development... from a
particular [religious] viewpoint.” 533 U.S. at 111-12. The
Court went on to emphasize that its holding in that case
and in Lamb’s Chapel and Rosenberger were all the same:
that “speech discussing otherwise permissible subjects
cannot be excluded from a limited public forum on the
ground that the subject is discussed from a religious
viewpoint.” Good News Club, 533 U.S. at 111-12
(emphasis added). Bannon is consistent with those cases
because all three of those decisions clearly distinguished
between permissible subject-matter restrictions as
opposed to invidious viewpoint-based discrimination
against certain perspectives on an allowable subject.

Bannon is also wholly distinguishable from those
cases, however, because they involved an intentional
public forum (and extracurricular activities), rather than
Bannon’s curricular, scholastic nonpublic forum. Because
the beautification project was not intended to be a forum
for expression or debate of various viewpoints, Petitioner’s
painting proselytizing verbal messages amounted to
“controvert[ing] the rules of a structured [school] activity
with the intention of promoting an unsolicited message,” |
cf. Walz v. Egg Harbor Tp. Bd. of Educ., 342 F.3d 271, 280 |
(3d Cir. 2003), cert. denied, 541 U.S. 936 (2004) (as a
means of sharing her faith—a conclusion supported by
statements in the deposition. (SD 14, 17, 21, 64-65, 72-
73, and 81-83.)) However, “a student’s right to express
fher] personal religious beliefs does not extend to using

erential ia ial

rena,

17

the machinery of the state as a vehicle for converting [the]
audience.” Chandler v. James, 180 F.3d 1254, 1265 (11th
Cir. 1999), cert. granted and j. vacated, 530 U.S. 1256
(2000), op. reinstated, 230 F.3d 1313, cert. deniex, 533
U.S. 916 (2001). :

E. The Editorial Control Was Based on
Legitimate Pedagogical Concerns

This Court has held that “control over access to a
nonpublic forum can be based on subject matter . . . so long
as the distinctions drawn are reasonable in light of the
purpose served by the forum and are viewpoint neutral.”
Cornelius v. NAACP Legal Defense & Ed. Fund, Inc., 473
U.S. 788, 806, (1985). “Permissible content-based
restrictions exclude speech based on tcpic, such as politics
or religion, regardless of the particular stand the speaker
takes on the topic.” DiLoreto v. Downey Unified School
Dist. Bd. of Educ., 196 F.3d 958, 969 (9th Cir. 1999), cert.
denied, 529 U.S. 1067 (2000). The principal in Bannon
responded to an objective realization that the large, overt
religious verbal messages and cross were of doubtful
constitutional validity on a public school’s walls and were
causing a palpable disruption in the learning envi-
ronment. Changing a few items (the words “God” and
“Jesus” and the cross), was a narrowly-tailored way to
render the religious messages non-sectarian and non-
divisive. For example, “He has time for you” does not
carry the sectarian impact of “Jesus has time for you.”

The murals’ potential for litigation and controversy
was a valid concern justifying a response by the principal,
especially given that the “constitutional rights of students
in public school are not automatically coextensive with
the rights of adults in other settings.” Bethel School Dist.
No. 403 v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 675, 682 (1986). In a case
strikingly similar to Bannon, a school invited student
clubs to paint murals in school hallways, but the principal

|

s

18

rejected certain designs, including a Latin cross and a
swastika. The Seventh Circuit upheld the restrictions,
noting that the principal’s “reaction to the swastika, and
to the naming of the brand of beer, in proposed secular
murals shows that he was discriminating not against
religion but merely against displays, religious or secular,
that lead to litigation or disorder” or “might also require
him to approve murals of a Satanic or neo-Nazi character,
which would cause an uproar.” Gernetzke v. Kenosha
Unified Sch. Dist. No. 1, 274 F.3d 464, 466 (7th Cir. 2001),
cert. denied, 535 U.S. 1017 (2002) (emphasis added).

Likewise, in Bannon the principal removed
several kinds of symbols, both secular and religious,
indicating that the principal was not discriminating
against a Christian viewpoint, but rather against
“displays . . . that lead to litigation and disorder.” See
Gernetzke, 274 F.3d at 466. Both the Satanic and
Christian symbols were instances of the subject-content
known as “proselytizing speech,” which can be regulated
more than other types of religious speech. See Good News
Club v. Milford Central School, 533 U.S. 98, 130-34
(2001) (Stevens, J., dissenting); Hills v. Scottsdale Unified
Sch. Dist., 329 F.3d 1044, 1053 (9th Cir. 2003), cert.
denied, 540 U.S. 1149 (2004).

Moreover, the project never was intended as a
forum for expression or debate of various viewpoints
about anything, much less politics or religion.

Implicit in the concept of the nonpublic
forum is the right to make distinctions in
access on the basis of subject matter... .
The touchstone for evaluating these
distinctions is whether they are reasonable
in light of the purpose which the forum at
issue serves.

Perry Educ. Ass’n v. Perry Local Educators’ Ass’n, 460
U.S. 37, 49 (1983) (emphasis added). In light of the

a SSSSStS:C~CS

19

purpose of the project (artistic beautification in a
nonpublic forum), the principal’s concern with restoring
the learning environment and avoiding an Establishment
Clause violation was consistent with a reasonable and
permissible content/subject-matter distinction.

F. Bannon Clearly Supports and Requires
Viewpoint Neutrality

Petitioner's claim of conflict rests upon the
unfounded factual argument that the principal engaged in
invidious viewpoint discrimination against Petitioner’s
religious speech—a contention plainly rejected by the
court below. See Bannon, 387 F.3d at 1216-17. Moreover,
Petitioner mischaracterizes the holding of Bannon by
claiming that “the Court of Appeals . . . h[eld] that this
viewpoint discrimination was justified,” and that the
decision will be used “as justification for further acts of
viewpoint discrimination.” Pet. 19. Petitioner claims
certiorari is needed to “make plain that viewpoint
discrimination is prohibited .. . .” Pet. 11.

Yet, the Bannon decision itself expressly prohibits
viewpoint discrimination: “. .. Hazelwood does not allow a
school to censor school-sponsored speech based on
viewpoint.” Id. at 1215. This decision is consistent with
the earlier holding in Searcey v. Harris, 888 F.2d 1314,
1325 (11th Cir. 1989) (“Although Hazelwood provides
reasons for allowing a school official to discriminate based
on content, we do not believe it offers any justification for
allowing educators to discriminate based on viewpoint.”).
Petitioner is patently wrong in claiming that “censor[ship]
. . . because [of] the noint of view . . . of [which] .. .
individual officials disapprove” was “precisely th[e] kind
of censorship that occurred in this case.” Pet. 13. This
allegation contradicts the evidence and the courts below.

Where, as here, a _ defendant asserts a
content/subject-matter viewpoint-neutral basis for its

20

decision, the burden rests with the plaintiff to
demonstrate that the asserted basis is a pretext for
viewpoint discrimination. See Mesa v. White, 197 F.3d
1041, 1047-48 (10th Cir. 1999). However, Petitioner
conceded that the principal had no invidious motive in
removing any of the symbols or messages deemed
offensive. (SD 101-104.) The Eleventh Circuit implicitly
recognized that the record provides no evidence of pretext,
correctly finding that the editorial control was validly
subject-matter/content-based. Pet. App. A-31 (finding a
“permissible exercise of control”); Bannon, 387 F.3d at
1216-17 (the school “restricted speech on basis of the
content, not viewpoint,” in order to cure the “disruption to
the school’s learning environment caused by [Petitioner’s]
murals” (and, the district court found, in order to avoid
“endorsement of religious views.” Pet. App. A-31.)).

Petitioner's bare assertions of discriminatory
motive “do[ ] not suffice to allege impermissible viewpoint
discrimination. Plaintiffs must identify the particular
subject matter as to which expression is permissible .
but as to which plaintiffs’ viewpoint has been wrongfully
excluded.” East High Gay/Straight Alliance v. Board of
Educ. of Salt Lake City School Dist., 81 F.Supp.2d 1199,
1202 (D.Utah 1999). There is no record evidence to
support the claim that the “rationale for the restriction”
was “targetling] not subject matter, but particular views
taken by speakers on a subject,” based on “the specific
motivating ideology or the opinion or perspective of the
speaker [on that subject].” See Rosenberger v. Rector and
Visitors of University of Virginia, 515 U.S. 819, 829 (1995)
(citations omitted). Nor is there any evidence that the
murals were intended for expression of viewpoints on any
subject, much less potentially-divisive subjects such as
politics or religion, which Petitioner admitted can be
controversial. (SD 139-140).

The project’s faculty sponsor, Mrs. Roberts,
apparently had immediate concerns about the legality of

21

the paintings under the Establishment Clause, which she
brought to the principal’s attention the very evening of
the painting; record evidence shows the principal and
Mrs. Roberts were not personally opposed to the
perspective of the messages; additionally, profanity, gang
symbols, and all the overt religious speech—including
Satanism—was removed, not only messages from a
Christian perspective; and the principal had substantial
pedagogical concerns about the disruption that had
already begun to occur in the hallways and in the
classrooms. The principal’s editorial control was plainly
viewpoint-neutral, as Bannon expressly requires.

G. This Court Recently Denied Certiorari in
a Similar Case, Even Though It Expressly
Allowed Viewpoint Discrimination

The Tenth Circuit recently decided a case similar
to Bannon. See Fleming v. Jefferson County Sch. Dist. R-
1, 298 F.3d 918 (10th Cir. 2002), cert. denied, 537 US.
1110 (2003). Although the facts and results were similar,
the rationale was different. Bannon plainly prohibits
viewpoint-based discrimination against school-sponsored
expression under Hazelwood, whereas Fleming expressly
decided that Hazelwood allows viewpoint discrimination,
based on language in Hazelwood:

“A school must... retain... neutrality on
matters of political controversy.” Hazelwood,
484 U.S. at 272. No doubt the school could
promote student speech advocating against
drug use, without being obligated to
sponsor speech with the opposing view-
point. Hazelwood entrusts to educators
these decisions that require judgments
based on viewpoint.

Fleming, 298 F.3d at 928 (some citations and internal
quotes omitted, alteration and emphasis added). Fleming

22

also persuasively pointed out: “If the District were
required to be viewpoint neutral in this matter, the
District would be required to post tiles with inflammatory
and divisive statements, such as ‘God is Hate,’ once it
allows tiles that say ‘God is Love.” Id. at 934.

Given its authorization of viewpoint discrimi-
nation, Fleming was far more remarkable than Bannon.
Yet this Court found Fleming to be unworthy of certiorari
just two years ago; and it seems the Court should find
Bannon even less interesting.

II. No “SPLIT” EXISTS WHEN THE CIRCUITS HAVE
UNANIMOUSLY REACHED THE SAME RESULTS
UNDER HAZELWOOD AND THIS COURT HAS
DENIED ANY PETITIONS FOR CERTIORARI

In the course of holding that schools may exercise
substantial control over school-sponsored speech in a
nonpublic forum under Hazelwood, six circuits have
commented on whether viewpoint neutrality is required.
On both sides of that question, many of these circuits
have made their comments in dicta, nonessential to their
holding, and all have held that the speech in question was
properly restricted under Hazelwood.

First Circuit: Upheld a school’s restriction on a
teacher’s speech regarding abortion and noted that Hazel-
wood “did not require that school regulation of school-
sponsored speech be viewpoint neutral.” Ward v. Hickey,
996 F.2d 448, 454 (1st Cir. 1993) (citations omitted). Ward
reasoned that “public schools may limit classroom speech
to promote educational goals” due to the need, among
others, “for public school officials to assure . . . ‘that the
views of the individual speaker are not erroneously
attributed to the school” (quoting Hazelwood, 484 U.S. at
271 (1988)).

23

Third Circuit: Upheld a school’s right to limit a
student’s presentation of religious material in class and to
move a student’s poster with a religious theme, noting
that “Hazelwood clearly stands for the proposition that
educators may impose non-viewpoint neutral restrictions
on the content of student speech in school-sponsored
expressive activities so long as those restrictions are
reasonably related to legitimate pedagogical concerns.”
C.H. ex rel. Z.H. v. Oliva, 195 F.3d 167, 172-73 (3d Cir.
1999), affd on other grounds, 226 F.3d 198 (3d Cir. 2000)
(en banc), cert. denied, 533 U.S. 915 (2001).

Sixth Circuit: Upheld a university’s control of
student speech in yearbooks under Hazelwood, noting:

“{I]f the school did not intentionally create a public forum,
then the publication remains a nonpublic forum, and
school officials may impose any reasonable, non-
viewpoint-based restriction on student speech exhibited
therein.” Kincaid v. Gibson, 191 F.3d 719, 727 (6th Cir.
1999), rev'd en banc on other grounds, 236 F.3d 342 (6th
Cir. 2001).*

Ninth Circuit: Upheld a school’s refusal to publish
family-planning ads in school publications as a permis-
sible viewpoint-neutral subject-matter restriction under
Hazelwood. Planned Parenthood v. Clark County Sch.
Dist., 941 F.2d 817 (9th Cir. 1991). The Ninth Circuit also
upheld a school’s declining to display religious speech on
the ball field fence, allowing viewpoint-neutral content-
based restrictions which “exclude speech based on topic,
such as politics or religion, regardless of the particular
stand the speaker takes on the topic.” DiLoreto v. Downey
Unified Sch. Dist. Bd. of Educ., 196 F.3d 958, 969 (9th
Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 529 U.S. 1067 (2000).

* The en banc court vacated the panel’s decision and invalidated the
university's control over the yearbook speech after finding a limited
public forum instead of a nonpublic forum and deciding that
Hazelwood did not apply to this extracurricular college-level activity.

24

Tenth Circuit: Upheld a restriction on religious
speech on tiles to be affixed to the school walls, holding
that Hazelwood did not require viewpoint neutrality.
Fleming v. Jefferson County Sch. Dist., 298 F.3d 918, 928
(10th Cir. 2002), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 1110 (2003).

Eleventh Circuit: Allowed viewpoint-neutral
content-based restrictions on denigrative anti-military
political speech, noting: “Hazelwood involved a content
based distinction. . . . There was no indication that the
principal was motivated by a disagreement with the views
expressed in the articles.” Searcey v. Harris, 888 F.2d
1314, 1324-25 (llth Cir. 1989). However, “exhortative
and denigrative presentations by speakers for the purpose
of denouncing certain careers . . . may properly be
banned” as content-based restrictions. Jd. at 1326.

Where the various circuits have reached the same
result of permitting restrictions on school-sponsored
religious or political speech under Hazelwood, it matters
little that some have followed different rationales.
Further, in any of these cases in which a petition for
certiorari was filed, this Court has denied each petition.
There is no true “split” among the circuits when they
reach the same results and, in many instances, cite each
other for support.

Ill. THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT COURT COULD HAVE
AFFIRMED ON SEVERAL OTHER GROUNDS

The Eleventh Circuit affirmed the district court’s
judgment under Hazelwood because it was the most
obvious basis for a decision. Neither court had occasion to
reach the several other grounds upon which we believe
the Eleventh Circuit would also have affirmed. These
issues are summarized here to indicate the complications
of the case and the likelihood that the district court’s
judgment would be affirmed in any event.

25
A. Disruption and Interference

Had the semi-permanent murals been purely
private student speech that just happened to occur on
school grounds, the commotion and disruption
accompanying the displays should have justified the
school’s editorial control even under Tinker v. Des Moines
Independent Community School District, 393 U.S. 503
(1969) (allowing a school to ban silent wearing of black
armbands if administrators could reasonably forecast
substantial disruption of, or material interference with,
school activities or if there was any showing that
disturbances or disorder actually occurred).

As shown in the Factual Background section
above, in Bannon there was not only a reasonable forecast
of disruption, but alsu actual disturbance and material
interference with the learning environment. Although the
Eleventh Circuit mentioned the disruption and com-
motion, it did not need to focus extensively on the
disruption because the murals clearly were school-
sponsored speech under the Hazelwood standard (rather
than purely private speech just happening to occur on
school grounds under Tinker)—and Hazelwood does not
require a showing of substantial disruption; it only
requires legitimate pedagogical concerns.

Even so, the commotion and disruption intensified
the principal’s pedagogical concerns. “Although the avoid-
ance of controversy is not a valid ground for restricting
speech in a public forum, .~ . [t]he First Amendment does
not forbid a viewpoint-neutral exclusion of speakers who
would disrupt a nonpublic forum and hinder its
effectiveness for its intended purpose.” Cornelius, 473
U.S. at 788 (1985). “In no activity of the State is it more
vital to keep out divisive forces than in its schools... .”
Illinois ex rel. McCollum v. Board of Ed. of School Dist.
No. 71, 333 U.S. 203, 231 (1948) (Frankfurter, J.,
concurring). The Eleventh Circuit recognized that one of

26

the legitimate pedagogical goals was ending “the
disruption to the school’s learning environment caused by
[Petitioner’s}] murals,” and the editorial control was
reasonably related to that goal “because it ended the
disruption.” Bannon, 387 F.3d at 1217. Had the speech
been purely private expression just happening to occur on
school grounds, such disruption certainly would have
merited control under Tinker.®

B. Government Speech

The Eleventh Circuit could have affirmed on the
broader basis of government speech. Where speech is not
only school-sponsored but also becomes part of the
construction walls for up to four years, the expression can
properly be deemed government expression, over which
the school has the right of full control. See Downs v. Los
Angeles Unified Sch. Dist., 228 F.3d 1003 (9th Cir. 2000),
cert. denied, 532 U.S. 994 (2001) (upholding a school’s
refusal to post viewpoints contrary to speech on the
school’s bulletin board, which was government expression
to which viewpoint analysis is inapplicable).

C. Establishment Clause Neutrality

The Establishment Clause requires the school to

be neutral toward religion, between the various religions,
and between religion and nonreligion. See Epperson v.

5 Additionally, the principal's editorial control would have been
justified under Scott v. School Bd. of Alachua County, 324 F.3d 1246,
1247 (11th Cir. 2003), cert. denied, 540 U.S. 824 (2003) (upholding a
ban on displaying the confederate flag, without reference to a forum
analysis). School administrators “must have the flexibility to control
the tenor and contours of student speech within school walls or on
school property, even if such speech does not result in a reasonable fear
of immediate wenn aag oo Id. at 1247-48 (internal quotations omitted;
emphasis added). Proselytizing sectarian speech—no less than
controversial political symbols—can spur divisiveness and controversy
that hinders the school’s educational mission.

27

Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97, 193-04 (1968); Engel v. Vitale, 370
U.S. 421, 430-31 (1962).

Families entrust public schools with the
education of their children, but condition
their trust on the understanding that the
[school] will not purposely be used to
advance religious views that may conflict
with the private beliefs of the student and
his or her family.
Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 584 (1987).

Proselytizing speech affixed to the divider walls
would be perceived by a captive audience as endorsed by
the school. “No viewer could reasonably think that it
occupies this location without the support and approval of
the government.” See County of Allegheny v. ACLU
Greater Pittsburgh Chapter, 492 U.S. 573, 599-600
(1989). See also Santa Fe Independent School Dist. v. Doe,
530 U.S. 290 (2000) (a school’s policy of permitting prayer
at football games was unconstitutional where the activity
took place during a school-sponsored event, which was not
a public forum); Cole v. Oroville Union High School Dist.,
228 F.3d 1092 (9th Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 532 U.S. 905
(2001) (a school district’s refusal to allow students to
deliver a sectarian prayer or a sectarian and proselytizing
valedictory speech as part of a graduation ceremony was
necessary to avoid violating the Establishment Clause);
Washegesic v. Bloomingdale Public Schools, 33 F.3d 679,
683-84 (6th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1095 (1995)
(a portrait of Christ, donated to the school, in a hallway
near the school office, had a proselytizing effect and failed
the test in Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971)); Joki
v. Board of Educ. of Schuylerville Cent. School Dist., 745
F.Supp. 823 (N.D.N.Y. 1990) (display of student’s mural
secured to the wall of the school auditorium as part of
school decoration project, had the effect of conveying a
message of government endorsement of Christianity and
was prohibited by the Establishment Clause).

28

The school had a compelling governmental interest
in avoiding violation of the Establishment Clause,
justifying the minor content-based restriction on religious
speech. “There is no doubt that compliance with the
Establishment Clause is a state interest sufficiently
compelling to justify content-based restrictions on speech”
even in a traditional public forum. Capitol Square Review
and Advisory Bd. v. Pinette, 515 U.S. 753, 761-62 (1995)
(emphasis added). Accord Good News Club v. Milford
Cent. Sch., 533 U.S. 98, 151 (2001).6

Incidentally, disclaimer signs could not sufficiently
neutralize the captive student audience’s perception of
school endorsement; “no sign can disclaim an over-
whelming message of endorsement.” County of Allegheny,
492 U.S. at 619. Accord Smith v. County of Albemarle,
Va., 895 F.2d 953, 958 (4th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 498
U. S. 823 (1990) (“It remains to be seen whether any
disclaimer can eliminate the patent aura of government
endorsement of religion.”); American Jewish Congress v.
City of Chicago, 827 F.2d 120, 128 (7th Cir. 1987) (“[A]
disclaimer of the obvious is of no significant effect.”)
(citation and internal quotations omitted). Further, where
two faculty members had actually suggested or
encouraged the proselytizing religious speech, a dis-

claimer of school involvement or endorsement could
appear disingenuous.

6 Even a viewpoint-based restriction would have been justified by a
compelling interest in avoiding violation of the Establishment Clause.
“To discriminate ‘against a particular point of view .. . would. . . flunk
the test . . . [of] Cornelius, [but only] provided that the defendants have
no defense based on the establishment clause.” Lamb’s Chapel v.
Center Moriches Union Free School Dist., 508 U.S. 384, 394 (1993)
(quoting, with approval, May v. Evansville-Vanderburgh Sch. Corp.,
787 F.2d 1105, 1114 (7th Cir. 1986) (emphasis added)). Accord Good
News/Good Sports Club v. School Dist. of City of Ladue, 28 F.3d 1501,
1508 n.13 (8th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 515 U.S. 1173 (1995); Hills v.
Scottsdale Unified School Dist. No. 48, 329 F.3d 1044, 1053 n.7 (9th
Cir. 2003), cert. denied, 540 U.S. 1149 (2004).

WOOP othe
€

29
D. Qualified Immunity

As shown in detail in the Respondents’ brief in the
Eleventh Circuit, the legal landscape predating February,
2002, would have informed a reasonable principal that
the editorial control was lawful. Moreover, the Eleventh
Circuit’s ruling in this case is an indication that a —
reasonable principal should have seen Hazelwood as
authorizing the editorial control, pecause a principal
cannot be held to a higher standard of understanding
than the courts. Denno v. Sch. Bd. of Volusia County, Fla.,
218 F.3d 1267, 1274 (11th Cir. 2000). Thus, the principal
would be entitled to qualified immunity and there would
be no liability even if, merely arguendo, the editorial
control had been unconstitutional.

E. The School Board’s Non-Liability

An alternative basis for affirmance by the
Eleventh Circuit would be that, under the circumstances
of this case, the School Board could not be liable for
money damages under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, even assuming
unconstitutional actions by the principal. See Monell v.
Department of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658, 694 (1978);
Denno v. School Bd. of Volusia County, Fla., 218 F.3d
1267, 1276 and 1278 (11th Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 531
U.S. 958 (2000) (Monell allows entity liability for a school
board “only if [the] constitutional torts result from an
official government policy, the actions of an official fairly
deemed to represent government policy, or a custom or
practice so pervasive and well-settled that it assumes the
force of law”—conditions inapplicable in Bannon...

IV. THIs CASE Is UNIQUE AND COMPLEX, NOT
CONDUCIVE TO CERTIORARI REVIEW

There are several factual and legal complications
that would impede straightforward review. For instance:

30

the allegedly “student-initiated” expression on Petitioner’s
murals was suggested and/or encouraged by two faculty
members (apparently not in compliance with School
Board Policy 2.122, which requires employees to exhibit
neutrality toward religion, nor with the Equal Access Act,
which prohibits faculty monitors from participating in the
club activities, 20 U.S.C. §§ 4071(c\2)-4071(c)(5)); the
supervising teacher and principal immediately and
correctly became concerned that the semi-permanent,
strategically-placed 8-foot by 8-foot murals, to be in place
up to four years, would violate the Establishment Clause;
the school required only minor changes to the messages;
the principal clearly had no invidious discriminatory
motive; and only Petitioner's murals contained verbal
messages, while the other murals simply met the
expectation of colorful artwork to beautify the drab
construction panels; there was commotion and disruption
of the learning environment, but the disruption ceased
after the messages were edited. Accordingly, this case
would be less than conducive to certiorari review.

CONCLUSION

The Eleventh Circuit thoughtfully reached the
correct result in Bannon, consistent with decisions of this
Court and the results in similar cases in other circuits.
The petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

RANDALL D. BURKS, PH.D.

Office of the Chief Counsel

The School Board of Palm Beach County
3318 Forest Hill Boulevard, Suite C-302
West Palm Beach, FL 33406-5813

(561) 434-8500

Counsel for Respondents

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0607%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
