# Opposition Brief — Kelley v. Crosby

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0597%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 545 U.S. 1149

## Text

}
Case No. 04-1196 1 APR R -
2005

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
WILLIAM H. KELLEY,

Petitioner.

SECRETARY OF THE FLORIDA
DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT?’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES J. CRIST, JR.
ATTORNEY GENERAL

CAROL M. DITTMAR

Senior Assistant Attorney General
*Counsel of Record

Florida Bar No. 0503843

3507 E. Frontage Road, Suite 200
Tampa, Florida 33607-7013
Telephone: 813-287-7910
Facsimile: 813-281-5501

CAPITAL CASE
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether this Court should exercise certiorari
jurisdiction to review a fact-intensive decision by the Eleventh
Circuit Court of Appeals, reversing the granting of federal
habeas corpus relief, where the decision does not conflict with
any other court opinion or address any unsettled question of
federal constitutional law?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESEN ES? 4cssancoees ves ate deeb sa

TABLE OF ALY THIRRRI Sie 6 whee se leu cause ess iv
STATEMENT OF 'T0Re Ce noc ceed ee se ace k anges
REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED .. 10
QUESTION 23.5445 ee 12
1. Certiorari review should be denied because there is
no conflict between the circuit courts in applying
the materiality element of Brady. .............. 12
2. Certiorari review should be denied because the
Eleventh Circuit correctly resolved the fact-
CHIVES WME. ...i snc eee eee eee ao 18
3. Certiorari review should be denied because Kelley
seeks application of a new rule of constitutional law
in acollateral proceeding. ................... 22
QUESFION TW . ca ae eee 1
1. Certiorari should be denied because the Eleventh
Circuit properly determined Kelley's claim of
ineffective assistance of counsel had not been
exhausted in ete GUM -< 7 cases ene crates 24

|

‘ 2. Certiorari should be denied because the Eleventh
Circuit’ properly rejected Kelley's claim of
ineffective assistance of counsel based on the court's
inability to find, and the district court's failure to

identify, any prejudice....................... 26
oe, ll EI ERs a 34)
emer Ale OF SERVICE . 2... occ ccc ccnnccee 3)

ll

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Amadeo v. Zant,
480 U.S. 214 (1988)

> s+

oe a a oe wa Se oe oe i oe ae ee ee ee et he ee ee

Anderson v. Harless,
459 U.S. 4 (1982)

ee ee ee oe oe ee ee ee oe ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

Baldwin v. Reese,

i i oe ae ee a a ee te a ee ee oe er oe er a a Ok Ok ee ee eee a ee

541 U.S. 27 (2004)

Banks v. Dretke,
540 U.S. 668 (2004)

Bartlett v. Stephenson,
535 U.S. 1301 (2002)

Benn v. Lambert,
283 F.3d 1040 (9th Cir. 2002)

Bovette v. Lefevre.
246 F.3d 76 (2d Cir. 2001)

Brady v. Maryland,
373 U.S. 83 (1963)

Crivens v. Roth,
172 F.3d 991 (7th Cir. 1999)

East v. Johnson,
123 F.3d 235 (Sth Cir. 1997)

19

16

Giglio v. United States,

EP Ale ROR ATED oe re eae Ce ee ee 14

Keeney v. Tamayo-Reyes,
Pe Asics FUG ho eed ree ee Fe

Kelley v. Secretary of the Department of Corrections,
377 F. 3d 1317 (11th Cir. 2004) .... 10,18, 20, 21, 24, 25.
27

Kimmelman v. Morrison,
G77 EE. See ee ee oe xa eee 24-26, 29

Kyles v. Whitley,
SES US. SEO CI ook ck a cen pe ee 11, 13,23

Napue v. Illinois,
MGS. eC hk hs ee eee 13,14

Ortiz v. Stewart,
149 F 36 925 (9th Cir. 1998) . 2 kc ccc ccc cuuccdncnuce 16

Picard v. Connor,
GOS U.5. £PO IST s sac cbse eee 25

Purkett v. Elem,
SEO ULS. Peels 3 «koe eee eee 20

Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, Inc.,
SOP US. TOUIGSS) 3c hvcd cade ckdee ne 19

Rockford Life Insurance Co. v.
Illinois Department of Revenue.
SOe Uc Gee CUO « hc ceca kate teen 18

Routly v. Singletary,
33 F.3d 1279 (11th Cir. 1994)

Strickland v. Washington,
4060 U.S. 6068 (1984) .

[cague v. Lane,
489 U.S. 288 (1989)

Pexas v. Mead,
465 U.S. 1041 (1984)

United States v. Agurs,
4727 U.S. 97 (1976)

United States v. Amiel,
95 F.3d 135 (2d Cir. 1996)

United States v. Bagley.
473 U.S. 667 (1985)

United States v. Bowie,
198 F.3d 905 (D.C. Cir. 1999)

United States v. Cronic,

466 U.S. 648 (1984)

United States v. Derr,

990 F.2d 1330(D.C. Cir. 1993)

United States v. Johnston,

268 U.S. 220 (1925)

. 26,

29

29

19

Nm
Ww

16

. 29

United States v. O'Conner.
64 F.3d 355 (8th Cir. 1995) .... 22000000002. 13

United States v. Rosen,

94 Fed. Appx. 567 (9th Cir. 2004),

vacated, remanded in light of United States v. Booker.

S43. US. , 1258S. Ct. 738 (2005).

SP is Ae WEE CO av occ so bes 0.0 oe wok kd ke necks 14

United States v. Scheer.
168 F.3d 445 (11th Cir. 1999) ...................... 16

United States v. Seabolt.
958 F.2d 231 (8th Cir. 1992).
cert. denied, 507 U.S. 971 (1993) ................... 27

United States v. Smith,
77 F.3d 511 (D.C. Cir. 1996)... 0.00000... 12, 13, 15

United States v. Vgeri.
51 F.3d 876 (9th Cir. 1995) ........................ 16

Watt v. Alaska.
Pe Was BORNE Dac oon a oc cc ket mnkcwcin. uae OO

Wiggins v. Smith,

539 U.S. 510 (2003)

Wood v. Bartholomew.
Pee ae EE so Ba os oy oe Poe 28

STATE CASES

Jones v. State,
678 So.2d 309 (Fla. 1996),

cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1152 (1997)

Kelley v. State,
480 So.2d 578 (Fla.),
cert. denied, 479 U.S. 871 (1986)

Kelley v. State,
569 So. 2d 754 (Fla. 1990)

Voorhees v. State.
699 So.2d 602 (Fla. 1997)

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Antiterrorism and Effective

Death Penalty Act of 1996 ...............0..005.

Vill

rere eer re 27

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

/ The Statement of the Case included at pages 2-13 of the
Petition is misleading and argumentative. Although
Respondent acknowledges its obligation to correct any
perceived misstatement of fact or law in the Petition, many
errors are insignificant and unrelated to the question of
certiorari; therefore, Respondent will identify the more
troubling misstatements, but will otherwise rely on the facts as
found and extensively related by the Eleventh Circuit opinion
rendered below. '

Respondent disagrees with Petitioner's assertion that the
Court of Appeals reversed the grant of habeas relief, "despite
substantial evidence that the convicted defendant was entirely
the wrong man" (Petition, p. 2). Respondent also disagrees
with the comment that the Eleventh Circuit "broke ranks" with
other circuit courts in the application of Brady v. Maryland, 373
U.S. 83 (1963), to the facts of this case (Petition, p. 3), as well
as the legal analysis which follows. Respondent disagrees with
the statement that, "What Brady and its progeny demand in
these latter circumstances is the subject of disagreement among
the circuits," and cannot understand why an argument that the
circuit courts are in conflict over applying Brady is even
discussed in the "Statement of the Case" section, which is
typically offered to summarize the factual and procedural
history of the actual case in controversy rather than provide
legal argument. This argument is particularly out of place in
this petition, as the claim of a circuit split was never even
Suggested to the Eleventh Circuit and can in no way be

‘The Eleventh Circuit, for the most part, reincorporated
the factual findings which had been made in state court
following the postconviction evidentiary hearing but which
were disregarded by the district judge in granting habeas relief.

l

considered to be part of the history of this case.
The facts underlying Petitioner Kelley's murder

conviction and resultant sentence of death are outlined in the
Florida Supreme Court opinion in Kelley's direct appeal, Kelley
v. State, 486 So.2d 578 (Fla.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 871

(1986):

Appellant's conviction represented — the
resolution of a highly unusual case, raising some
unusual issues. Appellant was indicted in December
of 1981 for the Maxcy murder, committed in October
of 1966. An explanation of this delay in prosecution
requires an examination of the figures involved and
the evidence adduced at appellant's trial.

John Sweet, involved in an illicit love affair
with Irene, the victim's wife, planned the murder so
that he and she could live together on Maxcy's
inheritance. Towards this end, Sweet contacted a
Walter Bennett in Massachusetts and made the
necessary arrangements. A price was set, and 1n early
October of 1966 appellant Kelley and one Von Etter
carried out the sinister task.

Because prosecutors found the evidence
insufficient to proceed against appellant and Von
Etter, and because Irene Maxcy received immunity in
return for her testimony in the case, only Sweet was
originally tried. His first trial resulted in a mistrial,
and the conviction resulting from his second trial was
reversed on apyeal. Sweet v. State, 235 So.2d 40 (Fla.
2d DCA), cert. denied, 239 So.2d 267 (Fla. 1970).

At that point, the state felt unable to proceed
against Sweet due to the lapse of time and the loss of
certain witnesses’ testimony. Thus, the case lay
dormant for over ten years. This standstill was broken

Nm

only after Sweet, in 1981, became involved in a
criminal situation he found threatening and
approached law enforcement authorities in order to
seek some protection by receiving immunity in return
for his testimony as to a wide variety of crimes.

It was this testimony upon which appellant's
indictment and prosecution in this case were centrally
based. Sweet testified as to the details of the planning
and execution of the murder, as well as to a purported
conversation with appellant several years after the
murder in which appellant allegedly said "Boy,
[Maxcy] was a powerful guy. I stabbed him three or
four times and he kept coming after us, so I had to
shoot him in the head." The other central testimonial
evidence presented in appellant's trial below was that
of one Abe Namia, a private detective originally hired
after the murder by Sweet's defense counsel. Namia
testified as to some purported statements of Sweet's
made in 1967 incriminating appellant. The statements
were admitted to rebut an inference of recent
fabrication established by the rigorous
cross-examination of Sweet as to his extensive
immunity and possible motives to fabricate.

486 So.2d at 579-580.

Although the facts of the crime itself are not

- complicated, the procedural history is considerable and
fact-intensive. As noted, the State initially prosecuted John
Sweet for Maxcy's murder. According to the Petition, Sweet
named two hitmen in his trial, and the State had named hitmen
as well, but all of these individuals were deceased by the time
Sweet agreed to provide information about the murder years
later (Petition, p. 7). In fact, Sweet testified at his trials that he

had nothing to do with the murder; he did not identify any
actual hitmen. Furthermore, the State had identified William
Kelley as being one of the killers, and presented testimony to
establish Kelley's participation in the murder at that time.

Specifically, at Sweet's trial in 1968, the State presented
evidence that two men from Boston, William Kelley and
Andrew Von Etter, had killed Maxcy. Testimony placed Kelley
and Von Etter together in Daytona in October, 1966. Two
witnesses, Kay Meyer [aka Kaye Carter] and Kelley's wife,
Jeanne Kelley [aka Jennie Adams] identified Kelley as the man
with Von Etter in Daytona, and testified that Kelley and Von
Etter went off together during the day on October 3, 1966,
returning about 8:30 that evening.

Sweet returned to Massachusetts after his successful
appeal. In 1981, he approached authorities regarding criminal
activity taking place in that state. Sweet was involved in a
number of criminal activities, including gambling, drug
trafficking, and prostitution. The Massachusetts authorities
agreed to arrange a deal for protection in return for information.
Sweet was asked whether he knew about any murders, and
answered "Just the one in Florida,” and identified Kelley as one
of the killers hired to murder Maxcy. The FBI and Florida
prosecutors were notified, and Sweet ultimately secured
separate immunity agreements from Massachusetts and Florida
authorities for a number of different crimes.

After securing Sweet's cooperation, Florida officials
obtained an indictment against Kelley for first degree murder on
Dec. 16, 1981. At that time, Kelley was "on the run" from the
law and sought as a fugitive. Kelley was apprehended in
Tampa, Florida, on June 16, 1983. Numerous pretrial motions
were filed and Ittigated, discovery was pursued, and potential
defense witnesses were identified. Kelley was initially tried in
January, 1984, but the jury was unable to agree on a verdict,
and a mistrial was declared.

Kelley's retrial occurred in March, 1984. The principal
witness against Kelley was John Sweet, who identified Kelley
as one of two men that he hired to kill Maxcy. According to
Sweet, the men stayed at a hotel in Daytona, and t him ata
shopping center in Sebring. Sweet drove the men Maxcy's
home in their car and dropped them off, telling them the front
door was unlocked and Maxcy would be home shortly. Sweet
observed that Kelley was carrying a satchel, which he opened
to show Sweet several knives and guns, and that Kelley was
wearing a glove. He left their car ina shopping center parking
lot, picked up his own car, and drove around for awhile until he
saw Maxcy's car parked at the shopping center.

Kelley's theory of defense was that Sweet was lying. To
that end, as noted in the Florida Supreme Court opinion, Sweet
was subjected to "rigorous cross-examination ... as to his
extensive immunity." Kelley, 486 So.2d at 580. On direct
examination, Sweet acknowledged having secured immunity in
Massachusetts for hijacking and loan sharking, among other
things. Sweet also testified that he had been given immunity in
Florida for Maxcy's murder and for perjury he committed in
testifying in his own trials and denying his complicity. He
admitted that he had testified at both of his trials, and that he
had lied repeatedly, many times, every time he was asked about
knowing Kelley or Von Etter or anything about the Maxcy
murder.

On cross examination, the defense elicited Sweet's
admissions to having received immunity for everything he
talked about, including first degree murder and perjury in
Florida, and loan sharking, breaking and entering, hijacking,
prostitution, larceny, narcotics violations, bribery, making false
police reports, arson, bookmaking, and ownership of counterfeit
plates in Massachusetts. When Sweet could not recall details
of the offenses or particular immunity deals, detense counsel
used 1) transcripts of Sweet's testimony before a Massachusetts

grand jury on March 18, 1981, in the Kodak theft case; 2)
Sweet's testimony in a 1982 Massachusetts trial of a defendant
Evans; and 3) a letter from Massachusetts prosecutor Kane
revealing immunity promises that had beer. made to Sweet, to
remind Sweet of the details. Sweet admitted that Florida
officials had traveled to Massachusetts to meet with him and his
attorney; that he had seven cases of immunity in Massachusetts,
but not all of the prosecutor's promises were part of his formal
immunity; that one incident of prostitution involved a fourteen
year old girl; that he had been married for 49 years and had
children and grandchildren, but lived in the federal witness
protection program with his 24-year-old friend, Lisa Miller.
Sweet acknowledged over and over that he had lied at his prior
trials and when he denied that he knew Kelley; he had lied
under oath so many times that he couldn't guess. He was
impeached with his testimony from Kelley's first trial, and
denied that he ever confessed his involvement to Abe Namia.
Kelley claims that, "Apart from Sweet's testimony that
Kelley was the murderer, the only arguably significant evidence
of Kelley's involvement," was a motel registration showing a
"William Kelley" had registered there at the relevant time
(Petition, p. 8). While the Respondent acknowledges that
Sweet was a key witness, there was other incriminating
testimony related. Specifically, Kaye Carter [Meyer] testified
at Kelley's trial about meeting Kelley, Kelley's wife, and the
Von Etter family in Daytona in October, 1966. She noted that
Kelley and Von Etter were gone together during the day of
October 3, arriving back in Daytona later that evening.
Testimony was also presented corroborating Sweet's
testimony as to the time and circumstances of Maxcy's murder;
bank records and telephone calls connecting Sweet with
Maxcy's estate and with Walter Bennett and Andrew Von Etter;
hotel and car rental records putting Sweet in Daytona at the
same time as Donald Evans and Von Etter; and hotel records

6

showing that a "Mr. and Mrs. William Kelley," with a
Dorchester, Massachusetts address and driving a Chevrolet with
a Massachusetts tag number G-990077 were registered at the
Daytona Inn at the time of the murder. Former Massachusetts
state police officer John Kulik testified that he knew Kelley to
frequent Walter Bennett's establishments and to drive Jennie
Adams' car, which was the one registered at the Daytona Inn
motel. Other testimony included FBI Special Agent Ross
Davis, who noted incriminating statements Kelley made upon
his arrest in Tampa in 1984, and private investigator Abe
Namia, who testified that he had worked with John Sweet's trial
defense team and that Sweet had made prior consistent
statements implicating Kelley in the late 1960's. There was
_ testimony that Kelley's appearance had changed in the
seventeen years between the time of the murder and the time of
his trial. A deputy testified that fingerprints were lifted from
the crime scene and from Maxcy's car, but that, to his
knowledge, the prints were never identified.

In his closing argument, defense counsel Kunstler
described Sweet as an evil man that had received immunity for
numerous serious offenses. He tied all of Sweet's benefits
squarely back to Kelley: "He had to give them somebody, and
this is the man he had to give. This is the only one alive that he
knew. He had to give them Mr. Kelley to get all this." The
prosecutor's closing argument acknowledged that Sweet had
received immunity, but challenged defense counsel's assertion
that Sweet "had to give them Kelley," stating that "John Sweet
did not have to give the police Kelley in order to get immunity.
John Sweet got immunity from Massachusetts on a long list of
things. It has nothing to do with the Maxcy case or giving them
Kelley on the Florida cases." Defense counsel Edmund had the
final closing argument, and reminded jurors that Sweet "walked
away free," with immunity from everything except the perjury
he had committed against Kelley. Edmund listed the numerous

offenses, effectively pairing them up) with the Ten
Commandments.

Kelley's direct appeal and request for certiorari review
were denied. Kelley v. State, 486 So.2d 578 (Fla.), cert. denied,
479 U.S. 871 (1986). State postconviction proceedings were
initiated by the filing a motion to vacate on November 20,
1987. The Honorable Randolph E. Bentley, Circuit Court
Judge, granted an evidentiary hearing which was conducted July
18-19, 1988. The witnesses Kelley presented at that hearing
were: defense trial attorney William Kunstler; Florida attorneys
Donald Ferguson and Barry Haight and Massachusetts attorney
Robert Jubinville (testifying to Kelley's contacts with them in
1981 or 1982, concerned whether an indictment had been filed
against him); Boston newspaper reporter James Harrington;
Massachusetts private investigator and former police detective
William Stuart; FDLE investigator Roma Trulock; and Mark
Nezer, a private investigator that worked for Kelley's
postconviction attorneys. The State presented FDLE Special
Agent Joseph Mitchell and defense trial co-counsel Jack
Edmund.

Following the evidentiary hearing, Judge Bentley denied
relief and, on appeal, the Florida Supreme Court affirmed his
ruling in all respects. Kelley v. State, 569 So.2d 754 (Fla.
1990). Judge Bentley's factual findings were adopted and
incorporated into the appellate opinion. Judge Bentley
expressly found that Sweet's Massachusetts immunity was not
contingent upon providing information incriminating Kelley,
and that there was no support for the suggestion that Kelley had
read the Boston news articles about his indictment in 1981.
Kelley, 569 So.2d at 758-760. He concluded:

The fingerprint report, the transcript of John Sweet's
first trial, and the original 1967 police report were the
only items of evidence which the defense did not

possess or have access to. The results of the
fingerprint report were known to the defense and
utilized at trial. The alleged items of exculpatory
testimony presented at Sweet's first trial were either
known to defense counsel, admitted by Sweet at the
defendant's trial, or irrelevant as not involving Sweet,
and Kaye Carter's questionable identification of the
defendant in 1967 was immaterial.

But most important, this court, as trial court, observed
the actions and conduct of both defense attorneys in
the course of the two trials, and found their
representation of the defendant to be capable and
effective. The court does recognize that Mr. Edmund
and Mr. Kunstler disagreed at the hearing in regard to
which attorney acted as lead counsel at trial and other
.catters. Mr. Kunstler has strong feelings against the
death penalty. Apparently those feelings have affected
his perception of the attorneys’ actions at the trial.
However, he conveniently finds the greatest fault to be
with co-counsel, not himself. He remained silent at
trial and for four years thereafter. A large part of his
testimony is not credible. Based on demeanor, and the
court's own observations in the courtroom, the court
accepts Mr. Edmund's version insofar as any conflict
exists.

Kelley, 569 So.2d at 758, 761.

Following the state court rejection of his claims, Kelley
filed a petition for writ of habeas corpus in the United States
District Court, Southern District of Florida. The petition was
filed in October, 1992, and on August 31, 2000, the Honorable
Norman Roettger denied three claims. Thereafter, Judge

Roettger granted an evidentiary hearing on the remaining three
claims, which commenced in Boston, Massachusetts, in April,
2001.

The district court issued an Order granting habeas relief
pursuant to Brady on September 19, 2001, followed by an Order
of December 30, 2001, finding that Kelley's trial attorneys
provided ineffective assistance of counsel by relying on Harvey
Brower for the pretrial investigation. On appeal, the Eleventh
Circuit rendered an extensive opinion reversing the grant of
habeas relief. Kelley v. Secretary of the Department of
Corrections, 377 F. 3d 1317 (11th Cir. 2004). The instant
Petition seeks review of that opinion.

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED

Rule 10 of this Court's rules governs the appropriate
considerations in determining the propriety of certiorari review:

Review ona writ of certiorari is not a matter of
right, but of judicial discretion. A petition for a writ
of certiorari will be granted only for compelling
reasons. The following, although neither controlling
nor fully measuring the Court's discretion, indicate the
character of the reasons the Court considers:

(a) a United States court of appeals has entered
a decision in conflict with the decision of another
United States court of appeals on the same important
matter; has decided an important federal question in a
way that conflicts with a decision by a state court of
last resort; or has so far departed from the accepted
and usual course of judicial proceedings, or sanctioned
such a departure by a lower court, as to call for an
exercise of this Court's supervisory power;

10

(b) a state court of last resort has decided an
important federal question in a way that conflicts with
the decision of another state court of last resort or of
a United States court of appeals:

(c) a state court or a United States court of
appeals has decided an important question of federal
law that has not been, but should be, settled by this
Court, or has decided an important federal question in
a way that conflicts with relevant decisions of this
Court.

Petitioner Kelley has offered two questions relating to
the opinion entered by the Eleventh Circuit below. First, he
asserts that his petition should be granted due to an alleged
conflict among United States Courts of Appeals regarding the
proper scope of "materiality" for purposes of assessing
disclosure requirements under Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83
(1963), when the undisclosed information relates to the
credibility of a key witness that was impeached at trial. See
generally, Banks v. Dretke, 540 U.S. 668 (2004): Kyles v.
Whitley, 514 U.S. 419 (1995); United States v. Bagley, 473
U.S. 667 (1985). His second question claims that the Eleventh
Circuit did not properly apply this Court's exhaustion doctrine
or Sixth Amendment precedent in reversing the district court's
finding of ineffective assistance of counsel. As will be seen,
these issues are unworthy of this Court's certiorari jurisdiction
for anumber of reasons, and this Court should deny the petition
for review.

11

QUESTION ONE

1. Certiorari review should be denied because there is
no conflict between the circuit courts in applying the
materiality element of Brady.

Kelley initially asserts that this case meets this Court's
standards for extraordinary review due to an a.Jeged conflict
between the circuit courts in the application of this Court's
directives on assessing the materiality of impeachment
information withheld by the prosecution prior to a criminal trial.
However, a review of the relevant caselaw establishes that no
such conflict exists. Kelley has merely established that
different cases present different facts which compel different
results. Contrary to Kelley's claim for certiorari, the decision
below, reversing the granting of federal habeas relief, was fully
consistent with this Court's precedents and all applicable federal
law

Kelley asserts that in this case the Eleventh Circuit
applied Brady in a manner inconsistent with precedent from the
Ninth and District of Columbia circuits. Specifically, Kelley
contends that the Eleventh Circuit contradicted "the rule"
imposed by the Ninth and District of Columbia circuits in
assessing the materiality element of a Brady claim involving
impeachment information related to a key witness. He attempts
to create “conflict” among circuit courts by contrasting the
language used below with that of other circuit decisions
reaching different results in different cases.

Kelley claims that the District of Columbia circuit
adopted a bright-line rule in United States v. Smith, 77 F.3d
511,515 (D.C. Cir. 1996),° when that court rejected the state's

‘According to the petition, Smith repudiated a contrary
rule from United States v. Derr, 990 F.2d 1330, 1336(D.C. Cir.

| ,

argument that the Brady information was immaterial because it
would only provide cumulative impeachment evidence. The
relevant language, "the fact that other impeachment evidence
was available to defense counsel does not render additional
impeachment evidence immaterial,” is offered as a quote from
United States v. O'Conner, 64 F.3d 355, 359 (8th Cir. 1995),
citing Napue v. Illinois, 360 U.S. 264, 270 (1959)). The court
then instructs that the proper inquiry looks "not to the ways
defense counsel was able to impeach ..., but to the ways in

which the witness’ testimony was allowed to stand
unchallenged,” to determine materiality in accordance with
Bagley.

According to the petition, this analysis is contrary to the
Eleventh C'rcuit's interpretation of Bagley in the opinion
rendered below. Kelley asserts that a conflicting rule is applied
in the Eleventh Circuit, joined by the First, Fifth, and Seventh
Circuits, which have all rejected Brady claims upon finding that
the withheld information was immaterial where it provided only
cumulative impeachment evidence. Kelley traces the beginning
of this alleged rule to United States v. Amiel, 95 F.3d 135, 145
(2d Cir. 1996), which held that, "suppressed evidence is not
material when it merely furnishes an additional basis on which
to impeach a witness whose credibility has already been shown

to be questionable."

1993). The Smith court addressed Derr in a2 footnote, but did
not characterize tts holding as overruling any prior rule. Rather,
the court distinguished Derr factually, as well as noting that
decision predated Kyles v. Whitley, 514 U.S. 419 (1995). See
Smith, 77 F.3d at 515, n.2.

‘Petitioner does not cite O'Conner or allege that the
Eighth Circuit is involved in the purported split among the
circuits.

—
wd

Ihe cases cited by Kelley acknowledge the same
standard cited below, usually quoted directly as set forth in
Bagley, and merely apply that standard to the particular facts
present. None of the cases purport to establish a bright-line rule
one way or the other, as suggested by Kelley. Smith itself
demonstrates that the alleged rule 1s not a new rule at all, but
relates back to the observation in Napue that the taint of false
testimony ts not removed by the fact that the witness testifying
falsely was impeached. Similarly, a reading of Benn_v.
Lambert, 283 F.3d 1040, 1058 (9th Cir. 2002), establishes that
case was decided after a careful review of the record, rather
than a dispositive determination that a key witness had already
had his credibility called into question. The court in Benn even
acknowledged the proposition that undisclosed impeachment
evidence is immaterial and cumulative when the witness is
already sufficiently impeached, citing Ninth Circuit cases
rejecting relief under such circumstances. And following Benn,
the Ninth Circuit has continued to deny habeas relief when
undisclosed impeachment evidence does not undermine
confidence in the tnal. See United States v. Rosen, 94 Fed.
Appx. 567, 572 (9th Cir. 2004), vacated, remanded in light of
United States v. Booker, 543 U.S. _, 125 S. Ct. 738 (2005),
125 S. Ct. 1041 (2005).

‘It is noteworthy that Kelley’s asserted rule has its
genesis in Napue, which, like Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S.
150 (1972) and many of the cases in the petition, involved a due
process violation premised on the prosecutor’s knowing failure
to correct false testimony rather than a failure to disclose
impeachment evidence to the defense. The Napue/Giglio
materiality standard is different from Brady, and the defense has
never asserted in this case that Sweet’s testimony was false or
misleading, let alone that the prosecution knew and failed to
correct such testimony.

14

Benn ts easily factually distinguished from the instant
case. The court there concluded, "|t]he undisclosed benefits ...
added significantly to the benefits that were disclosed," but, in
the instant case, the revelation of the FDLE memorandum adds
nothing significant to what the jury heard at trial. It 1s not
surprising that the court would reach a contrary conclusion on
materiality. The degree of impeachment at trial will be a
significant factor in determining whether, and to what extent,
additional impeachment evidence will impact the jury and
affect the credibility of the witness. The immateriality in the
instant case is not premised merely on the fact that John Sweet
was impeached at trial; it is that the trial impeachment was so
substantial, and the withheld material provided so little, if any,
additional impeachment value, that the jury's verdict remains
worthy of confidence. The degree of trial impeachment, and
not just the fact of attempted impeachment, is a key distinction
setting this case apart from Benn. Furthermore, this same
critical distinction sets this apart from Banks, Smith, and other
cases that Kelley claims apply a different rule.

Whether or not impeachment evidence is material for
Brady purposes depends on the nature of the evidence itself,
and necessarily considers the extent to which the witness was
impeached, and the nature of that impeachment. The facts
determinative of the ultimate conclusion on materiality are
obviously going to be different in every case, which is one
reason a bright-line rule is not a prudent answer to the
materiality question. As is appropriate, all courts currently
perform a fact-intensive review of the nature and quality of the
impeachment evidence in light of the trial record, including the
extent to which the witness was previously impeached, the
extent the witness’ testimony is corroborated by other evidence,
and the strength of the case against the defendant independent
of the witness’ testimony.

Moreover, the suggestion of the existence of a hard and

15

fast rule is soundly refuted by other cases from the various
circuits which hold contrary to the "rule" Kelley would assign
their analyses. That is, the Ninth and District of Columbia
circuits have, in some cases, found immateriality based on
withheld cumulative impeachment evidence, just as the other
circuits have granted Brady relief based on withheld
impeachment evidence even where the credibility of the witness
had already been called into question at trial. See Boyette v.
Lefevre, 246 F.3d 76, 93 (2d Cir. 2001) (granting habeas relief,
rejecting State's argument that withheld impeachment evidence
was cumulative since witness was impeached); Cnvens v. Roth,
172 F.3d 991, 998-999 (7th Cir. 1999) (granting habeas relief,
finding withheld impeachment information could have affected
credibility of key witness); United States v. Scheer, 168 F.3d
445, 458 (11th Cir. 1999) (granting habeas relief for withheld
impeachment evidence on critically important witness whose
credibility had already been called into question); East_v.
Johnson, 123 F.3d 235, 239 (Sth Cir. 1997) (granting habeas
relief for undisclosed impeachment information on key witness,
noting critical factor was extent to which witness’ testimony had
been corroborated); United States v. Bowie, 198 F.3d 905 (D.C.
Cir. 1999) (rejecting Brady relief based on impeaching
evidence, noting question is "how effectively the evidence
could have been used in cross-examination,” and what effect it
would have had on the jury's assessment of credibility); Ortiz v.
Stewart, 149 F.3d 923, 936 (9th Cir. 1998) (undisclosed
impeachment evidence is immaterial and cumulative when the
witness is already sufficiently impeached); United States v.
Vgen, 51 F.3d 876, 880 (9th Cir. 1995) (same). These
decisions again confirm that no "rule" is necessary or even
prudential, and certainly none currently exists that is recognized
as such by any court.

Thus, an objective review of relevant case law
demonstrates that there is no conflict among the circuit courts

16

as to this issue. In fact, there are no cases recognizing the
"split" in authorities suggested by Kelley. The courts do not
apply different sets of rules, but caselaw reveals that the circuit
courts uniformly apply this Court's directives on assessing
materiality under the totality of circumstances as mandated in
Brady and the line of cases interpreting materiality.

Notably, Kelley's appellate brief to the Eleventh Circuit
never suggested to that Court that it should adopt a different
standard, or that its caselaw on this issue was inconsistent with
other circuits. In fact, Kelley did not even cite to any Ninth or
District of Columbia circuit decisions anywhere in his brief.
The opinion below cited to Routly v. Singletary, 33 F.3d 1279,
1286 (11th Cir. 1994), a decision cited in the State's brief and
not distinguished or even mentioned in Kelley's brief. In this
Court, Kelley has criticized the Eleventh Circuit for failing to
recognize that, as a matter of law, undisclosed information
relating to the credibility of a witness must be material if that
witness was impeached at trial. Yet Kelley's brief to that court
did not admonish it to do so; Kelley therein presented a
fact-specific argument to support the district judge's finding of
materiality. These facts reinforce the conclusion that Kelley's
claim of circuit conflict is an illusory afterthought created solely
to entice this- Court's review of this case rather than a
compelling basis for certiorari.

The Eleventh Circuit opinion below acknowledged the
proper materiality standard, quoting Bagley, and extensively
analyzed the possible impact of the withheld information on
Kelley's prosecution. The court then concluded:

Whether or not the five items the district court
identified should have been disclosed to defense
counsel, their effect taken individually and
cumulatively could not have been legally significant to
the outcome of Kelley's trial. As explained at length

17

above, defense counsel effectively capitalized--in one
way or another--on every potentially valuable
argument the five items support, even though the
items themselves were unavailable to counsel at the
time of trial. It follows in this instance that the pretrial
disclosure of the items would not have created a
"reasonable probability that . . . the result of the
proceeding would have been different.” Bagley, 473
U.S. at 682, 105 S. Ct. at 3383. Thus, although the
State ultimately prevailed in a factually challenging :
case, Kelley's due process nights were not offended.

Kelley, 377 F.3d at 1369 (Pet. App. 99a). Kelley has failed to
demonstrate that this conclusion warrants any further
consideration by this Court.

Thus, this issue involves neither conflict nor unsettled
federal law. Although the failure to meet any of the Rule 10
considerations is not controlling, this Court has noted that cases
which have not divided the federal or state courts or presented |
important, unsettled questions of federal law do not usually
merit certiorari review. Rockford Life Insurance Co. v. Illinois
Department of Revenue, 482 U.S. 182, 184, n. 3 (1987).

Because Kelley has failed to demonstrate conflict
among courts, an unsettled question of federal law, or any other
reasonable basis for review, his request for certiorari review of
the rejection of his Brady claim must be denied.

2. Certiorari review should be denied because the
Eleventh Circuit correctly resolved the fact-intensive
issue.

In order to decide the specific issue of whether Kelley
is entitled to a new trial, it would be necessary for this Court to
engage in a fact-intensive review of the evidence in this case.

—_——_—-

18

Such 1s inappropriate for certiorari review.

The law is well-settled that this Court does not grant a
certiorari "to review evidence and discuss specific facts.”
United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925): Texas v.

Mead, 465 U.S. 1041 (1984). Nor does this Court sit to correct
alleged mistakes committed by other tribunals. Watt v. Alaska,
451 U.S. 259, 275 (1981) (Stevens, J., concurring). Rather, this
Court is "consistent in not granting the certiorari except in cases
involving principles, the settlement of which is of importance
to the public as distinguished from that of the parties." Rice v.
Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, Inc., 349 U.S. 70 (1955).
See Bartlett v. Stephenson, 535 U.S. 1301, 1304 (2002) (issues
with few, if any, ramifications beyond the presenting case do
not satisfy any of the criteria for exercise of certiorari
jurisdiction). The instant case is a particularly poor vehicle for
certiorari, since the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty
Act of 1996 (AEDPA) has changed the standard for habeas
—review of constitutional claims on state court judgments; federal
courts are no longer to conduct their own Brady analyses, but
must defer to reasonable legal holdings by the state courts. The
reduction in the scope of review under AEDPA narrows any
impact this case could have, and further diminishes any
arguable basis for certiorari.

An extensive factual review would only confirm that
relief has been properly denied in this case. The district court
held that two documents, a "Contract for Immunity,” between
John Sweet and the State of Massachusetts dated March 13,
1981, and a memorandum by Florida Agent Joe Mitchell
describing meetings between John Sweet, Sweet's attorney, and
Florida and Massachusetts officials, both should have been
disclosed to the defense prior to trial. Although defense
attorneys Kunstler and Edmund testified in state court that they
had not seen these particular documents prior to trial, the trial
record demonstrates that the defense had extensive information

19

about Sweet's rmmunity deals. The state courts found:

The fact that John Sweet received immunity in
both Florida and Massachusetts was well known by
defense counsel. Sweet was extensively
cross-examined by Mr. Edmund concerning the crimes
for which he received immunity in Massachusetts.
The court finds no evidence to support the inference
that Sweet's Massachusetts immunity was contingent
upon his testimony in the defendant's Florida trial.

The fingerprint report, the transcript of John Sweet's
first trial, and the original 1967 police report were the
only items of evidence which the defense did not
possess or have access to.
Kelley, 569 So.2d at 758. The finding that Sweet's immunity
was fully disclosed is a finding of historical fact, and the district
court committed clear error in disregarding the state courts and
determining that Sweet's immunity had been suppressed.
Purkett v. Elem, 514 U.S. 765, 769 (1995) (state court findings
may be set aside, absent procedural error, only if unsupported).
Moreover, as the court below found and Kelley did not
contest, the Massachusetts Order of Immunity "cannot
constitute Brady material because there is no indication in the
record that the State possessed the order, nor is there any
indication that the order was more accessible to the State than
it was to Kelley's defense team;" in fact, the court below found
this Order was a public document equally accessible to the
defense. Kelley, 377 F.3d at 1356, n. 39 (Pet. App. 71a). In
addition, Kelley's claim of materiality was premised on his
assertion that the timing of the Massachusetts Order, in
conjunction with the undisclosed FDLE report, established that
Sweet's Massachusetts immunity was contingent on Sweet

20

providing information about Kelley's involvement in Maxcy's
murder. The defense had argued such contingency to the jury,
which the State disputed, and this factual contest has continued
ever since. The state trial judge reviewed the documents and
heard testimony about Sweet's immunity in a full and fair
postconviction evidentiary hearing in state court, concluding
thereafter that the Massachusetts immunity was independent of
Sweet's cooperation with Florida authorities. The federal
district court ignored this conclusion, and, without identifying
any deficiency in the state fact-finding procedure or even
acknowledging that the finding had been made, reviewed the
documents, entertained testimony, and concluded Sweet would
not have received immunity in Massachusetts without
cooperating with Florida authorities. The Eleventh Circuit
extensively reviewed the documents and explained why the
state court conclusion was supported by the evidence, finding
it "obvious" that the district court judge had confused the
Massachusetts immunity with Sweet's desire for immunity in
Florida, and determining the evidence, "leads inexorably to the
fact that Pickard [the prosecutor] told the truth" in his closing
argument to the jury. Kelley, 377 F.3d at 1359 (Pet. App. 77a).

Kelley asserts that the Eleventh Circuit rejected his
Brady claim by holding "that the jury was not ‘entitled to know
of" the withheld impeachment evidence (Petition, p. 14-15). In
fact, what the Eleventh Circuit determined was that the jury
already knew all necessary information about Sweet's
Massachusetts immunity. Additionally, the withheld FDLE
report does not even mention the Massachusetts immunity. A
conclusion of immateriality is clearly compelled on these facts.

Kelley also argues that the Eleventh Circuit's reversal of
the district court finding on this particular issue provides an
independent basis for summary reversal of the opinion below,
claiming the Eleventh Circuit violated Amadeo v. Zant, 486
U.S. 214 (1988), by improperly substituting its appellate

21

_

fact-finding rather than deferring to the district court (Petition,
p. 22-23). Kelley's claim is not well taken. In Amadeo, there
were no relevant state court factual findings, and after the
Eleventh Circuit had remanded the case for a federal
evidentiary hearing, it improperly rejected the facts as found by
the district judge. The instant case is clearly distinguishable as
the district judge should have acknowledged the relevant state
court factual finding, and had no basis for accepting and
considering additional evidence before concluding contrary, to
all of the evidence, that Brady relief was warranted.

Kelley has no viable Brady claim, as there was no
significant information which the jury did not hear at trial.
Because the Eleventh Circuit properly resolved this
fact-intensive claim, certiorari review must be denied.

Se Certiorari review should be denied because Kelley
seeks application of a new rule of constitutional law
in a collateral proceeding.

Finally, this Court should decline to exercise its
certiorari jurisdiction because Kelley is seeking a change in law
which would not be subject to retroactive application to his
conviction and sentence, which have been final since 1986. In
Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288, 316 (1989), this Court
announced the principle that "habeas corpus cannot be used as
a vehicle to create new constitutional rules of criminal
procedure” unless the rule would meet the standards for
retroactivity adopted in Teague.

In this case, Kelley's attempt to have this Court adopt a
bright-line rule for assessing the materiality of withheld
impeachment information seeks a clear break with the totality
of the circumstances review currently mandated by this Court's
precedents. This break constitutes such a significant change in
the due process analysis that it amounts to a new rule under

22

Fae ee eee

Teague; 1.¢., it is not dictated by this Court's current line of
Brady decisions. Teague, 489 U.S. at 301. The proposed rule
cannot meet either exception for retroactivity. It does not place
private conduct beyond the power of lawmakers’ ability to
proscribe, and is not a bedrock procedure, implicit in the
concept of ordered liberty. Teague, 489 U.S. at 310-311.
Kelley is not asking this Court to simply reinforce and
apply the materiality standard as it has been developed in the
Brady line of cases; he is seeking rejection of Brady's directive
to reach a conclusion on materiality based on the totality of the
circumstances. Currently, a materiality analysis requires a court
to evaluate the undisclosed evidence "in the context of the
entire record.” United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97, 112
(1976). A defendant must show that the undisclosed
information, “could reasonably be taken to put the whole case
in such a different light as to undermine confidence in the
verdict;” and that "a reasonable probability of a different result"
exists if the information had been disclosed. Kyles, 514 U.S. at
434-435. The pivotal question for a reviewing court is whether
its confidence in the jury verdict has been undermined. Bagley,
473 U.S. at 678. Kelley would abandon this standard and
require a rule that information is material as a matter of law if
it provides impeachment evidence relating to_a key witness
whose credibility was called into question at trial. Because this
would amount to a new rule of constitutional law, it is not
available in a habeas proceeding, and certiorari must be denied.

QUESTION TWO

1. Certiorari should be denied because the Eleventh
Circuit properly determined Kelley's claim of
ineffective assistance of counsel had not been
exhausted in state court.

Petitioner Kelley also asserts that certiorari review is
compelled by the Eleventh Circuit's reversal of the district
court's finding that a new trial was warranted due to ineffective
assistance of trial counsel. According to the petition, the
Eleventh Circuit circumvented this Court's decisions in
Kimmelman v. Morrison, 477 U.S. 365 (1986), and Wiggins v.
Smith, 539 U.S. 510 (2003), because Kelley's trial attorneys
allegedly did nothing at all to prepare for trial,’ yet the Eleventh
Circuit denied that a Sixth Amendment violation occurred.
However, a review of the history of this claim establishes that
the Eleventh Circuit ruling below is entirely consistent with this
Court's precedents, and no basis for certiorari review has been
demonstrated.

Kelley focuses his argument initially on an attorney's
constitutional obligation to meaningfully investigate and
prepare for trial. He relies on Kimmelman and Wiggins to
assert that his attorneys’ performance fell below the standard of

*Kelley repeatedly suggests that his assertion of trial
counsel’s failure to conduct any pretrial investigation
whatsoever is unrebutted, undisputed, and conceded (Petition,
p. 25-26). It is not. In fact, the record reflects that Kelley was
represented by several attorneys and a reasonable pretrial
investigation took place. The Eleventh Circuit noted the
“oddity” of the district court’s criticism of trial counsel, given
the record of pretrial motions filed in this case. Kelley, 377
F.3d at 1347, n.30 Pet. App. 53a-54a).

24

ii sits Po oe

reasonableness, and indignantly demands that this Court
summarily reverse the Eleventh Circuit for failing to uphold
habeas relief on this issue.

The first difficulty with Kelley's argument is that the
Eleventh Circuit did not even purport to apply Kimmelman or
Wiggins in the case at hand. The stated basis for the Eleventh
Circuit's rejection of Kelley's ineffective assistance claim was
the holding that the specific issue upon which the district court
granted relief -- counsel's failure to prepare generally and
reliance on Harvey Brower specifically -- had not been
exhausted in state court. Kelley does not offer any persuasive
analysis as to how the Eleventh Circuit is mistaken in this
ruling, he simply disagrees with the conclusion of the court
below. Kelley believes that his presentation of a general claim
of lack of preparation should be cognizable in federal court as
long as the specific allegations of deficient performance in state
court related to a general lack of preparation.

The Eleventh Circuit painstakingly analyzed Kelley's
state and federal pleadings in order to determine whether the
state courts had reasonable notice of the particular allegations
of ineffective assistance of counsel on which Kelley ultimately
prevailed in the district court. Kelley, 377 F.3d at 1345-1350
(Pet. App. 49a-60a). The court concluded that the claim as
presented in federal court was radically different than that
litigated in state court and held that the district judge should
have dismissed this allegation as unexhausted. The fact that the
specific deficiency upon which the district court granted relief
shares a common umbrella of "lack of pretrial investigation"
with other specific deficiencies which were exhausted does not
demonstrate exhaustion where, as here, the deficiency upon
which relief was granted was never presented to the state court.
See generally, Baldwin v. Reese, 541 U.S. 27 (2004); Keeney
v. Tamayo-Reyes, 504 U.S. 1, 10(1992); Picard v. Connor, 404
U.S. 270 (1971); Anderson v. Harless, 459 U.S. 4, 6 (1982). No

25

certiorari review is compelled.

Kelley's strongest argument to protest the application of
the exhaustion doctrine asserts that the State waived any
defense based on lack of exhaustion by failing to assert such
while the case was still in state court. Kelley does not explain
why the State would offer a federal habeas defense while in
state court; the problem is not that Kelley changed his claim
between the state trial and appellate courts, the problem, as
pointedly explained by the Eleventh Circuit, is that the claim
changed between state and federal court. As the court below
noted, the Respondent pled the lack of exhaustion at the first
appropriate opportunity, in the initial response to the petition
for writ of habeas corpus, and it was reasserted repeatedly
throughout the district court proceedings. On such facts,
Kelley's attempt to avoid application of the exhaustion doctrine
must be rejected.

2. Certiorari should be denied because the Eleventh
Circuit properly rejected Kelley's claim of
ineffective assistance of counsel based on the court's
inability to find, and the district court's failure to
identify, any prejudice.

Even if there were an avenue by which this Court could
review the unexhausted claim of ineffective assistance upon
which the district court granted relief, no reasonable basis for
certiorari has been offered. By focusing on Kimmelman and
Wiggins rather than Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668
(1984), it appears Kelley is most concerned about the deficient
performance prong, since those decisions are concerned with
counsel's performance rather than prejudice. This is curious
since the court below did not discuss the reasonableness of
counsel's performance, focusing rather on the fact that the
district judge had failed entirely to identify any prejudice, and

26

noting that such prejudice would be “difficult, if not
impossible" to find on the facts of this case. Kelley, 377 F.3d
at 1352 (Pet. App. 64a).

Finally, the assertion of prejudice in Kelley's petition ts
weak and unpersuasive. Kelley claims that, had counsel
investigated as constitutionally required, he would have
discovered and presented two witnesses, Hobart Willis and
Charles Busias, that would have convinced the jury that Kelley
was innocent because the real hired killer was Steven Busias.
Both witnesses testified at the federal evidentiary hearing.°
Willis testified via videotaped deposition that sometime around
1968, Steven Busias told Willis that he had committed a murder
down in Florida. Willis stated that he knew Busias was talking
about the Maxcy murder because Willis had previously been
solicited to commit this murder himself.

This testimony would be hearsay, and inadmissible
under Florida law. Assuming the defense would have offered
the testimony under the "statements against interest" exception
to the hearsay rule, Florida law restricts this exception to
statements which bear sufficient independent indicia of
trustworthiness to be reliable. Voorhees v. State, 699 So.2d
602 (Fla. 1997); see United States v. Seabolt, 958 F.2d 231, 233
(8th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 507 U.S. 971 (1993) (concluding
that "a statement by one criminal to another criminal ... is more
apt to be jailhouse braggadocio than a statement against his
criminal interest"). In Florida, the defendant has the burden of
presenting the corroborating circumstances to demonstrate
trustworthiness of the hearsay statements. Jones v. State, 678
So.2d 30S, 314 (Fla. 1996), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1152 (1997).
However, Kelley has never identified a predicate which could

*That these witnesses were never presented or even
mentioned in state court confirms the lack of exhaustion on this
issue.

27

be used to establish the admissibility of this testimony.
According to Willis, Busias made the alleged confession in the
course of a general social conversation; as Willis put it,
"gangster talk - who was getting paid, who was killing who."
Busias offered absolutely no details of his alleged actions,
stating only that he had "taken care of that contract that [ Willis}
refused a few years ago." The absence of any details or
corroborating circumstances to Willis’ testimony would
preclude its admission under Florida law. Compare, Wood v.
Bartholomew, 516 U.S. 1 (1995) (reversing grant of habeas
relief because Ninth Circuit misapplied materiality element in
finding Brady violation based on information not admissible at
trial).

The other witness to implicate Steven Busias was
Charles Busias, Steven's son. According to Charles, sometime
around 1966 his father took a trip to Florida, and after the trip,
their financial situation improved dramatically. Charles
testified that his father purchased a car and a lounge after this
and had multiple stacks of hundred dollar bills in cash on hand.
This testimony in no way establishes that Steve Busias killed
Maxcy. In fact, Hobart Willis’ testified that Busias admitted to
him that he had acquired a club and taken over the
establishment after killing the owner; this provides another
reasonable explanation for Charles’ memories. Furthermore,
given the trial testimony that Von Etter's partner was only paid
a total of $5,000 for the murder, and trial testimony that several
different individuals from Massachusetts had come to Florida
to explore Sweet's offer to pay for Maxcy's murder, there are
other convincing explanations for Charles Busias' testimony.
Kelley has never demonstrated how his attorneys knew or
should have known about Charles Busias; even if they could
have discovered him, however, given the limited value of this
testimony, they cannot be deemed ineffective for failing to
present it.

28

Against this backdrop, the Eleventh Circuit credits the
testimony of Kelley's trial attorneys relating their reluctance to
present evidence and lose the right to offer the final closing
summation to the jury. The court also noted that the defense
investigation had continued after a mistrial was declared in the
first trial, and that the defense had the unique advantage of a
full record of the state's case. Given all of tne relevant facis, the
court below was at a loss to explain how the district court could
have found the prejudice necessary to grant relief on a claim of
ineffective assistance of counsel. In light of the lack of
prejudice, certiorari review of Kelley's Sixth Amendment claim
must be denied.

To the extent the petition may be read to suggest that no
prejudicial showing is necessary if a sufficient case of deficient
performance under Kimmelman or Wiggins is established, it is
mistaken. Wiggins confirmed rather than eliminating the
element of prejudice necessary for the finding of a Sixth
Amendment violation. The notion that a poor enough job of
lawyering will give rise to a new tnal without regard to any
prejudicial effect is protected in United States v. Cronic, 466
U.S. 648 (1984), and needs no embellishment, particularly from
a case where no deficient performance has reasonably been
shown. In addition, if this Court were to eliminate the prejudice
prong from an ineffective assistance analysis, this would create
a new standard and constitute such a departure from Strickland
that it would amount to a new rule of constitutional law,
unavailable in the habeas context under Teague, 489 US. at
316, as noted previously.

With this issue, Kelley has not even attempted to show
any conflict or unsettled federal law, worthy of this Court's
certiorari review. He has offered no special or important
reasons compelling certiorari review of his case. Accordingly,
this Court must deny the instant petition.

CONCLUSION

Wherefore, based upon the foregoing arguments and
authorities, the Respondent, Secretary for the Florida
Department of Corrections, respectfully requests that this
Honorable Court DENY the petition for writ of certiorari filed
herein.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES J. CRIST, JR.
ATTORNEY GENERAL

CAROL M. DITTMAR

Senior Assistant Attorney General
*Counsel of Record

Florida Bar No. 0503843
Concourse Center 4

3507 E. Frontage Road, Suite 200
Tampa, Florida 33607-7013
Telephone: (813) 287-7910
Facsimile: (813) 281-5501

30

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0597%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
