# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ricoh Electronics, Inc. v. Haluck

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0568%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 2005
- **Citation:** 544 U.S. 1049

## Text

/
guicrame Cour, US. o O) | D) VW

gai 162 JAN 26 28R8

—- As THE CiEi w
OFFICE ir tithe © Eek

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

RICOH ELECTRONICS, INC.,
Petitioners,
V.
JAMES HALUCK and MICHAEL LITTON,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Court of Appeal, Fourth Appellate District, Division
Three, INTHE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Daniel J. Callahan
Konrad L. Trope
Counsel of Record
CALLAHAN & BLAINE, APLC
3 Hutton Centre Drive, Suite 900
Santa Ana, California 92707
(714) 241-4444
(714) 241-4445 (facsimile)

Counsel for Petitioner

No.

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

RICOH ELECTRONICS, INC.,
Petitioners,
Vv.

JAMES HALUCK and MICHAEL LITTON,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari
To The Court of Appeal, Fourth Appellate District, Division
Three, IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Daniel J. Callahan
Konrad L. Trope
Counsel of Record
CALLAHAN & BLAINE, APLC
3 Hutton Centre Drive, Suite 900
Santa Ana, California 92707
(714) 241-4444
(714) 241-4445 (facsimile)

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1.Whether the Superior Court for the State of California erred as a

matter of law, in denying Petitioner’s motion for summary judgment
whereby Petitioner, as a subsidiary of a foreign-based corporation,
sought to invoke the rights of its parent corporation provided for
under the U.S.-Japan Friendship, Commerce, and Navigation treaty
and thereby violate the Supremacy Clause of the United States
Constitution found at Article VI, Clause 2.
2.Whether the Superior Court for the State of California erred in
rejecting, as a matter of law, Petitioner’s defense to Respondent’s
claim for discrimination by rejecting Petitioner’s invocation of the
U.S.-Japan Friendship, Commerce, and Navigation Treaty and
thereby violate Article II, Section 2, Clause 2 of the United States
Constitution which provides that the President “shall have the
Power, by and with the Advice and Consent of the Senate to make
Treaties provided two thirds of the Senator’s present concur. . .”
3.Whether the Superior Court for the State of California erred as a
matter of law, in denying Petitioner’s motion for summary judgment

whereby Petitioner, as a subsidiary of a foreign-based corporation,

may invoke the rights of its parent corporation provided for under the
U.S.-Japan Friendship, Commerce, and Navigation treaty and
thereby violate Article I, Section 8, Clause 3 of the United States
Constitution which provides that the Congress shall have the power
to “regulate commerce with foreign nations, and among the several

states...”

tie

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING IN THE COURT BELOW

AND STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

ra

Ricoh Electronics, Inc., a California corporation,
(“Ricoh-USA”), a wholly-owned subsidiary of Ricoh
Company, Inc., a corporation organized and existing
under the laws of the State of New Jersey , and which ~
is a wholly- owned subsidiary of Ricoh Company,
Ltd. (“Ricoh-Japan”), a corporation organized and
existing under the laws of Japan;

Larry Vaught, a resident of the Siate of Georgia;
Houssam El Jurdi, a citizen of the United States;
Yoshihiro Nomura, a citizen of Japan;

Haruo Uesaka, a resident of the State of Georgia;

Yoji Ide, a citizen of Japan,

Yasuaki Muramatsu, a citizen of Japan,

Michael A. Litton (“Litton”), an individual residing in
California; and |

James Haluck, an individual residing in California.

-iii-

i |

TABLE OF CONTENTS
L CRENIOING BELOW occ cccccccccccccccccccecsccoesess 1
ME, FURRTBIIIC TION 0 occ cticcccccscvccesccesccasceccsece 2

Ii. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

NVOQUVED 6.0. chai eee 6

IV. STATEMENT OF THE CASE............2--.00000e0: 7
A. nile ciiwikinaiiwoeatinees 7

B. Facts and Procedural History ................. 11

V. REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ........... 16

A. There Is a Reasonable Probability That at Least
Four Members of this Court Would Conclude
That this Case Warrants Plenary Consideration .. 16
B. Petitioners Are Likely to Prevail on the Merits ... 17
1. Respondents’ Claims for Discrimination

are Barred by the U.S.-Japan FCN

2. The Alleged Discrimination Against
Respondent Is Ricoh-USA-Japan‘s

Temporary Assignment to Ricoh-USA

iv

of Japanese Citizens as Executives and

Technical Experts in Accordance with

the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty ............ 18
3. As a Subsidiary of Ricoh-Japan,

Ricoh-USA May Invoke the Rights of

its Parent Provided for Under the

U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty ...........-++. 22
4. Ricoh-USA Has Third Party Standing

to Invoke the Rights of Ricoh-Japan

Under the Treaty .......ccscccccccces 24

c Petitioner Will Suffer Irreparable Harm from the

Denial of Its Petition for Certiorari and the

Balance of the Equities Clearly Favors Issuance

D. In the Absence of a Writ of Certiorari Issuing
from U.S. Supreme Court, U.S-based Subsidiaries
of Japanese Corporations and U.S. Employees

Face Eminent and Irreparable Injury ........... 28

HK, COINCITIIN ccc ccccccsccccssecsesscescescasecss 30

Cases

nnett v. Total Minatom

138 F. 3d 1053 (5 Cir. 1998) .............05. 15, 20,

x Br in v.
420 U.S. 469 (1975)

m n Vv. lle Con

n

Fee a GREED Shh ib ce cbccdcesccsrcess

rv. im
290 U.S. 276 (1933)

Fortino v. ar

950 F.2d 389, 392 (7th Cir. 1991) ......... 10, 14, 21,

odyear, Atomi Vv,

ller

486 U.S. 174, 178-180 (1988) ..........ceeceeeeecees

e v. Riggs

133 U.S. 258 (1890)

Jordon v. Tashiro,
278 U.S. 123 (1928)

ons

|

fee ee eee eee ewe eee eee eeewneeeeanenee

Ki v. Hotel Ni

ite Fae |e EP E rrr or Te 14
Kolovret v. Oregon,
366 UB. 167 CISGA) occ ccc c casccctaervosvsccoenes 29

MacNamara vy. Korean Airlines

863 F. 2d 1135, 1144-45 (3d Cir. 1988).. 10, 12, 14, 20, 21

Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians v. Minnesota,
864 F. Supp. 102, 105 (1994) ....... cece eee e ee eeee 27

Nielsen v. Johnson,

Papaila v. Uniden America Corp.

S17, 36 SA, S35." Cee, 1999) oan c ec ccconas 15, 21,23,24

Republic Natural Gas Co. v. Oklahoma,
FORTIS, Ge, GEA occ bn tcccccasaseacisesaneeane 3

Singleton v. Wulff,
MISUSE. TOG, LES CISIS) once ccc ccccvccsavasecsess 25

Spiess v. C. Itoh imple Co.

643 F. 2d 353, 358-361 & N.2 (5"cir. 1979) ....... ae

vii

Sumitomo Shoji America, Inc. v. Avagliano,
457 U.S. 176, 189, 102 S.Ct. 2374 (1982) ... 16, 19, 22, 23

United States v. Michigan,
508 F. Supp. 480, 491(D. Mich. 1980) ............... 26

Wickes v. Olympic Airways,

745 F. 2d 363, 367-368 (6" Cir. 1984) ............... 20
tatute

California Code of Civil Procedure § 437(c)(g) .........446. ye
California Government Code § 12940 ....... ccc cece eee tou
Cr LA GO BOTS nhc hie cdn eens idan desad bakes 7
Ek ie | | SPPeePePer ory ere e eres ree rite. 20
Be rn BF AMPIO 6 ih ce sawp ne ene as kee eeae see seuee 2
Se i a Ie 5 ei 89 es 549 1584 4-5
Other Authority
rtiene TT, Chae 2, UB COMM. kn cn cnccsaccvevssin sos ee
Article Ill, Section 2, Clause 3, U.S. Const. .......0.ce eevee +
Article VI, Clause 2, Supremacy Clause, U.S. Const. ........... 5
Art. IT, U.S.-France FCN Treaty, 11 U.S.T 2398 (1959) ........ 17

Vili

Article I of the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty, 4 U.S.T. 2063 (1953) ... 17

Article VIII(1) of U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty .....+++++2e0eees 19
Art II, U.S.-Korea FCN Treaty, 8 U.S.T 2217 (1956) ....++++++: 20
Treaty of Friendship, Commerce and Navigation, April 2, 1953,

U.S.-Japan, 4 U.S.T. 2063, T.LA.S. No. 2863 ......--e seers 18
US Gam Ch. B. IOGG) 2 occ cc cncdacencassscusscecscteces 16
U.S. Sup. Ct. R. 14.1) 2. ccc ccccnsccncccvccscscncccecees 7

ix

I. OPINIONS BELOW

The November 4, 2004 opinion/decision of the Supreme
Court of California denying review of the Petition filed by Petitioner
Ricoh-USA, is not reported, but is attached hereto as Exhibit“‘l” to
the Appendices filed concurrently herewith.

~ The October 21, 2004 opinion/decision of the California
Court of Appeals, 4" Appellate District, Division 3, rejecting
Petitioner’s Petition for Writ of Mandate is not reported, but is
reproduced and attached hereto as Exhibit “2” to the Appendencies
filed concurrently herewith.

The order / opinion of Superior Court of the State of
California for the County of Orange, denying, as a matter of law,
Petitioner’s motion for summary adjudication invoking the
protections of the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty, is not reported, but exists
in three forms. The trial court on September 28, 2004, issued a
tentative opinion and posted said opinion/decision on the court’s
website, which can be found as Exhibit “3” in the Appendices filed

_concurrently herewith. The trial court also issued a more detailed

tentative ruling on September 29, 2004, which can be found at

aha

Exhibit “4” in the Appendices filed concurrently herewith. Lastly, in
accordance with California Code of Civil Procedure § 437(c)(g), the
trial court issued a formal ruling/opinion on November 8, 2004,
which can be found at Exhibit “5”, in the Appendencies filed
concurrently herewith. None of the foregoing opinions are
published.
Ii. JURISDICTION

This Court has jurisdiction to review by writ of certiorari any
“tflinal judgments or decrees rendered by the highest court of a State
in which a decision could be had . . . where the validity of a statute of
any State is drawn in question on the ground of its being repugnant
to the Constitution . . . or laws of the United States, or where any
title, right, privilege, or immunity is specially set up or claimed under
the Constitution . . . or statutes of . . . the United States.” 28 U.S.C. §
1257(a).

The judgment below is plainly final for purposes of this
Court’s certiorari jurisdiction. As this Court has long recognized,
“t]here have been instances where the Court has entertained an

appeal of an order that otherwise might be deemed interlocutory,

—

2.

because the controversy had proceeded to a point where a losing
party would be irreparably injured if review were unavailing.”
Republic Natural Gas Co. v. Oklahoma, 334 U.S. 62, 68 (1948). As
discussed below, absent an immediate stay from this Court,
Petitioners face irreparable harm from the order of summary
adjudication and the commencement of trial on December 6, 2004,
where Petitioner’s protection under the U.S. Japan FCN Treaty has
been declared null and void. Trial is still in progress.

Moreover, in Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469
(1975), this Court identified four categories of cases in which a
judgment is sufficiently final to justify this Court’s review even
though further proceedings remain to be held in the state courts. The
fourth such category permits review even in “those situations where ~
the federal issue has been finally decided in the state courts with
further proceedings pending...” and “reversal of the state court on the
federal issue would be preclusive of any further litigation on the
relevant cause of action rather than merely controlling the nature and
character of, or determining the admissibility of evidence in, the state

proceedings still to come.” Jd. at 482-483.

<™

The fourth Cox Broadcasting category is plainly applicable
here. The federal questions presented by this case have been finally
decided by the courts below. The Superior Court for the State of
California, supported by the California Court of Appeals and the
California Supreme Court, squarely rejected Petitioners’ arguments
that the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty protected Ricoh-USA from the
employment discrimination claims of Respondents. Accordingly, a
federal issue has been conclusively resolved, and there is no need for
further state court proceedings to finalize or crystallize the lower
court’s disposition of the federal questions involving the Treaty with
Japan, a Treaty that had been negotiated by the President “with the
Advice and Consent of the Senate.” Article III, Section 2, Clause 3,
United States Constitution.

Moreover, reversal of the court below on any of the federal
questions presented in this case “would be preclusive of any further
litigation on the relevant cause of action.” 420 U.S. at 482-83.

Finally, it is readily apparent that “the California Supreme
Court decision seriously erodes federal policy. See 420 U.S. at 483.

In the instant case, the federal policy that is being seriously eroded by

-4-

the erroneous California Supreme Court decision is more than just
policy: it is the Supreme Law of the Land. The President and the
Senate are charged with the negotiation and execution and approval
of treaties with foreign governments. See Article II, Clause 2, U.S.
Const. For the California courts to directly and unequivocally
disregard such constitutional mandates clearly interferes with the
conduct of foreign relations and commerce with other nations
delegated to the Congress and the President. /d.; Article I, Section 8,
U.S. Const.

Moreover, those treaties are assured a status equal with other
constitutional provisions. See Supremacy Clause, Art. VI, Clause 2,
U.S. Const. Accordingly, Cox and related cases warrant review of
“the federal issue, which itself has been finally determined by the
state courts for purposes of the state litigation.” 420 U.S. at 482-83;
accord Goodyear Atomic Corp., 486 U.S. at 178-79 (applying this
exception where “the unreviewed decision of the Ohio Supreme
Court might seriously erode federal policy in the area of nuclear

production”).

Ill. CONS ONAL PROVISIONS AND STA1
INVOLVED
Article I, Section 8, Clause 3 of the Constitution of the
United States of America provides in pertinent part:
“(That Congress shall have Power] to
regulate Commerce with foreign
Nations, and-among the several States

and among the Indian tribes.”

Article Il, Section 2, Clause 2 of the Constitution of the
United States of America provides in pertinent part:
“(The President] shall have Power, by
and with the Advice and Consent of
the Senate to make Treaties, provide
2/3 of the Senators present concur. . .”
Article VI, Clause 3 of the Constitution of the United State of
America provides in pertinent part:
“This Constitution and the Laws of the United States

which shall be made in Pursuance thereof; and all

6-

Treaties made or which shall be made, under the
Authority of the United States shall be the Supreme
Law of the Land; and Judges in every State shall be
bound thereby, any Thing in the Constitution or Laws

of any State to the Contrary notwithstanding.”

Pursuant to this Court’s Rule 14.1(f), the provisions of
California law involved in this case, including California Code of
Civil Procedure § 43 7c; California Labor Code § 970; and
California Government Code § 12940, as well as all other pertinent
provisions of the Constitution of the United States of America, the
United States Code, and various Treaties to which the United States
is a party are reproduced at Exhibits “6” - “13” of the Appendices
filed concurrently herewith.

IV. STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. Introduction

By its decision on December 3, 2004, the California Supreme

Court openly declared its repugnance to fundamental federal treaty

rights protected by the Supremacy Clause of the United States

x, %

Constitution. California Supreme Court’s decision affirmed a state
trial court, where the trial judge explicitly declared his refusal to
honor treaty rights and U.S. Supreme Court case law interpreting
such treaty rights. Denial of fundamental constitutional rights
concerning a federal treaty protected by the Supremacy Clause is
presumed to be irreparable harm and a Writ of Certiorari from this
Honorable Court to the California Supreme Court is absolutely
essential as a matter of course.

The Superior Court for the State of California (trial court) on
September 29, 2004 (with a:formal written decision issued on
November 8, 2004), held and declared as a matter of law that
Petitioner Ricoh Electronics, Inc. (“Ricoh-USA” or “Petitioner”’), a
wholly-owned subsidiary of a Ricoh Company, Ltd. (“Ricoh-Japan”),
a Japanese corporation, could not invoke the protections of the US.-
Japan Treaty of Friendship, Commerce and Navigation in a lawsuit
alleging employment discrimination by Respondents.

In seeking appellate review, both the California Court of
Appeal and the California Supreme Court affirmed the trial court’s

refusal to recognize fundamental constitutional interests: (1) the

-8-

Supremacy Clause, (2) Article I, and (3) Article II of the United
States Constitution. Thus Petitioner has been summarily denied relief
by these State Court Appellate bodies on November 4, 2004, and
December 3, 2004, respectively. Consequently, Petitioner now faces
a trial which commenced on December 6, 2004, and then abruptly
recessed until January 3, 2005. In this trial, the sole Federal question
has been adjudicated with finality. Petitioner Ricoh-USA is barred
as a matter of law from raising or enjoying the protections
afforded under the FCN Treaty.

Requiring Ricoh-USA even to stand trial to defend itself
against claims of discrimination is an affront to the guarantees of the
U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty. The FCN Treaty expressly recognizes the
rights of companies of the signatories (that is, both the United States
and Japan) to retain certain classes of employees, such as executives,
attorneys or technical experts, “of their choice.” 4 U.S.T. 2063,
T.LA.S. No. 2863, Article VIII(1).

The FCN Treaty promises “to foreign investors the freedom
to place their own citizens in key management positions, thus

facilitating their operational success in the host country.”

-9.

MacNamara v. Korean Airlines, 863 F. 2d 1135, 1144-45 (3d Cir.
1988) (emphasis added) [construing Article VIII(1) of the Korean
FCN Treaty, which is nearly identical to that of the U.S.-Japan FCN
Treaty]. Thus, “discrimination in favor of foreign executives given a
special status by virtue of a treaty and its implementing regulations
is not equivalent to discrimination on the basis of national origin or
race.” Fortino v. Quasar Co., 950 F.2d 389, 392 (7th Cir. 1991)
(emphasis added).

Ricoh-Japan’s and Ricoh-USA’s freedom to place key
Japanese personnel without fear of discrimination complaints, as
guaranteed by the FCN Treaty, is a matter of international
sovereignty. Interference with this protected right threatens to
undermine the Supreme Law of the United States. Review by this
Honorable Court of the summary denial of Ricoh-USA’s invocation
of the FCN Treaty is essential to settle the issue of whether domestic
subsidiaries of foreign corporations enjoy the same protections that
their parents do, when their parents place _ personnel with the

domestic subsidiary.

-10-

B. Facts and Procedural History
In 1973, Ricoh-USA, was organized as a wholly-owned

subsidiary corporation of Ricoh Company, Ltd., a Japanese
corporation organized and operating under the laws of Japan.’

Based in Tustin, California, and Lawrenceville, Georgia, Ricoh-USA
is Ricoh-USA-Japan’s manufacturing subsidiary in the U.S.
responsible for the production of toner and thermal media,
plain-paper copier, and printed circuit board technology.

At Ricoh-USA, in particular, the rotation of Japanese
“expatriate” executives into the corporate hierarchy permits Ricoh-
USA to utilize and capitalize upon the unique knowledge and
experience these individuals from Ricoh-Japan have with newly

developed technology (i.e., the engineering and production of a new

; Ricoh-USA was subsequently reorganized as a wholly
owned (100%) subsidiary of Ricoh Corporation (“Ricoh-New Jersey”),
organized and operating in the State of New Jersey, which in turn is a
wholly owned subsidiary (100%) of Ricoh Company, Ltd. (“Ricoh-
Japan”). Ricoh-New Jersey was incorporated as the sales component of
Ricoh-Japan’s U.S. business, while Ricoh-USA was incorporated as
Ricoh-Japan’s manufacturing arm. Ricoh-USA represents a small part of
the worldwide operation of Ricoh-Japan, which consists of 376
subsidiaries and 28 affiliates that develop, produce, market, sell, and
recycle office equipment, including copiers and printers, information
equipment, optical devices. Nomura Decl. § 2-3.

«#1.

product line or technology developed in Japan). Thus, Ricoh-Japan
will temporarily assign its uniquely qualified personnel to fill those
needs. The appropriate individuals at Ricoh-Japan evaluate the
identified needs and determine who, from among its managerial or
technical staff in Japan, might appropriately fill the void at Ricoh-
USA. Because virtually all of Ricoh-Japan’s managerial and
technical staff are Japanese nationals, the uniquely qualified
personnel that Ricoh-Japan assigns to Ricoh-USA have been
Japanese. Because they are assigned to Ricoh-USA on a temporary
basis,? and remain employees of Ricoh-Japan, the Japanese

expatriates are evaluated by individuals at Ricoh-Japan in accordance

. The particular need as identified by Ricoh-USA dictates
what type of visa application Ricoh-USA makes to the Bureau of
Citizenship and Immigration Services (“BCIS”). Some expatriates have
entered the U.S. on E-2, or treaty investor, visas, which provide non- ~
immigrant status for a national of any country with which an appropriate
treaty of navigation and commerce exists. See Immigration and
Nationality Act (“INA”), 8 U.S.C. § 1101(a)(15)(E). Other individuals
have entered the U.S. for assignment at Ricoh-USA on L-1A or L-1B
visas, which provide non-immigrant status for multi-national executives
and managers or employees with specialized knowledge of the company’s
products, processes, or procedures. See INA, 8 U.S.C. § 1101 (a)(15)(L).
The government’s decision to grant entry of an individual pursuant to one
of these visa categories is strong evidence of that individual’s executive,
managerial, or specialized knowledge status for purposes of Article
VIII(1). MacNamara v. Korean Airlines, 863 F. 2d 1135, 1141-1142 (3d.
Cir. 1988).

2.

with the system in place at the parent company, although individuals
at Ricoh-USA may provide input into the overall evaluation.

On August 12, 2003, Plaintiff Haluck and Litton (“Plaintiffs
and/or Respondents”’) filed a lawsuit against Ricoh-USA, and a
number of executives and managers of the company, including
LARRY VAUGHN (“Vaughn”), HARUO UESAKA (“Uesaka”),
YOJI IDE (“Ide”), YOSHIHIRO NOMURA (“Nomura”),
HOUSSAM EL JURDI (“El Jurdi”), and YASUAKI
MURAMATSU (“Muramatsu”). Rnapendente allege that Ricoh- .
USA intentionally discriminated against them on the basis of
“national origin and race” in violation of the Fair Employment and
Housing Act (““FEHA”) (California Government Code § 12940),
when Ricoh-Japan placed Japanese nationals on a temporary basis in

key management and technical positions at Ricoh-USA.’

’ Respondents further allege that when they complained
about the purported discrimination, Petitioners retaliated against them by
failing to consider them for promotions and corresponding raises in pay,
failing to prevent discrimination, perpetrating adverse employment
actions against them in violation of public policy, breaching an implied
employment contract in bad faith, and thereby causing them emotional
distress. Litton further alleges Petitioner misrepresented the nature of his
employment with Petitioner, upon which he relied to relocate to
California, and ultimately terminated him in retaliation for his complaints.

-13-.

pe ene ee

On May 28, 2004, Ricoh-USA moved for summary
adjudication of several of Plaintiffs’ claims for discrimination on
grounds that, inter alia, these Sincsianinalienn charges were barred by
the Treaty of Friendship, Commerce and Navigation between the |
United States and Japan. See Article VIII(1) of U.S.-Japan FCN
Treaty attached hereto as Exhibit 13 of the Appendices filed
concurrently herewith. On September 29, 2004, the California
Superior Court denied Ricoh-USA’s motion for summary
adjudication as to Respondent’s claims for discrimination on the
basis of race and national origin.

Nevertheless, the California (Trial) Superior Court
specifically stated that it disagreed with the federal case law and any
interpretation of the Treaty so far as Petitioner Ricoh-USA was

concerned. See Exhibit “14" at pages 5-6. See, also, Exhibit “S" at

page 2, in which the court declared that the case of Kirmse v. Hotel
Nikko, 51 Cal 4" 311, 321 (1996), as a statement of California law,
controlled and supported the trial court’s denial of Petitioner Ricoh-
USA’s invocation of the U.S.-Japan Treaty. Indeed, the court

specifically ignored the holdings of MacNamara v. Korean Airlines,

Bre

863 F. 2d 1135, 1144-45 (3% Cir. 1988); Bennett v. Total Minatome
Corp., 138 F. 3d 1053 (5" Cir. 1998); Papaila v. Uniden America
Corp., 51 F. 3d 54, 55 (5" Cir. 1995); and Fortino v. Quasar Co. 950
F. 2d 389, 392 (7" Cir. 1991).

A Petition for Writ of Mandate was timely presented to the
California Court of Appeal and summarily denie.? on November 4,
2004. In addition, a Petition for Review to the California Supreme
Court, following the issuance of a decision shen the California Court
of Appeal was also summarily rejected on December 4, 2004.

Having exhausted its appellate remedies within the State of
California, and facing the continuing binds of Ricoh-USA’s
constitutional rights as well as the constitutional rights of its parent
company, Ricoh-Japan, Petitioner filed an Application for
Emergency Stay of Trial Court Proceedings with Justice O’Connor
on December 3, 2004. Notwithstanding trial commencing on
December 6, 2004, Justice O’Connor denied Petitioner’s Application
for Emergency Stay of Trial Court Proceedings on December 3,

2004.

ie.

Vv. RE ASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION
A. There Is a Reasonable Probability That at Least Four
Members of this Court Would Conclude That this Case
Warrants Plenary Consideration

There is a reasonable probability that four or more Members
of this Court would vote to grant certiorari.

1. This Court previously granted certiorari to review a
closely related case arising out of a similar dispute. See Sumitomo
Shoji America, Inc. v. Avagliano, 457 U.S. 176, 102 S. Ct. 2374, 72
L.Ed.2d 765 (1982). This iristant case presents Constitutional issues
not addressed by the Sumitomo decision. See 457 U.S. at 189. The
instant Petition for a Writ of Certiorari presents related questions
under Articles I and II of the United States Constitution and the
Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution.

2. This Court’s review of the California Supreme
Court’s decision is warranted because the California Supreme Court
“decided an important federal question that conflicts with relevant
decisions of this Court,” U.S. Sup. Ct. R. 10(c). As discussed in

greater detail below, this case presents important questions regarding

“Yo

the Supremacy of the U. S. Constitution, Treaties and federal court
cases. |

3. There is a profound national interest in ensuring the
stable and consistent conduct of foreign affairs and conduct of

foreign commerce. This national interest also includes the

promotion of investments by foreign companies in the U.S. economy
as stated in these FCN Treaties. See Art. I of the U.S.-Japan FCN
Treaty, 4 U.S.T. 2063 (1953); Art. IT, U.S. - France FCN Treaty, 11
U.S.T 2398 (1959); Art IT, U.S. Korea FCN Treaty, 8 U.S.T 2217
(1956).
B. Petitioners Are Likely to Prevail on the Merits

There is at least a “fair prospect” that Petitioner will prevail

on the merits in this case.

i Respondents’ Claims for Discrimination
are Barred by the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty

Respondents allege Ricoh-USA discriminated against them
on the basis of their “national origin and race” in violation of the
Fair Employment and Housing Act (“FEHA”). (Cal. Govt. Code §

12940). The discrimination as alleged by Respondents, however, is

ees

in reality Ricoh-Japan’s placement of Japanese nationals — employed
by Ricoh-Japan — on a temporary basis in key management and
technical positions at Ricoh-USA - permitted by the Treaty of
Friendship, Commerce and Navigation between Japan and the United
States (“U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty”). See, Commerce and Navigation,
April 2, 1953, U.S.-Japan, 4 US.T. 2063, T.LA.S. No. 2863. Thus,
Respondents’ claims that this placement of Japanese citizens at
Ricoh-USA discriminated against them on account of their national
origin and race in violation of the FEHA simply cannot stand in the
face of the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty.

2. The Alleged Discrimination Against

Respondent Is Ricoh-J apan‘s Temporary

Assignment to Ricoh-USA of Japanese

Citizens as Executives and Technical

Experts in Accordance with the U.S.-Japan

FCN Trea

In 1953, the United States and Japan signed the Treaty and
Protocol Between the United States of America and Japan Regarding

Friendship, Commerce and Navigation (“U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty”).

-18-

4US.T. 2063, T.LA.S. No. 2863. Originally intended to encourage
‘USS. investments abroad in Japan as it recovered from World War*
the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty also promotes direct investment by Japan
in the United States. Jd. |
To facilitate seamless management of Japanese companies
operating within U.S. boundaries, the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty‘
recognizes the right of these companies to retain certain classes of
employees, such as executives, attorneys or technical experts “of
their choice.” See U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty, art. VIII. Specifically,
Article VII(1) of the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty provides:
“Nationals and companies of either
Party shall be permitted to engage,
within the territories of the other Party,

accountants and other technical

After the Second World War, the United States
negotiated Friendship, Commerce and Navigation (“FCN”) treaties with
over forty-eight nations to promote overseas investments by U.S.
companies in countries recovering from World War II. The treaties
guaranteed certain legal protections for U.S. investors abroad and, in
return, guaranteed protection to foreign businesses operating in the United
States. Sumitomo Shoji America, Inc. v. Avagliano, 457 U.S. 176, 182
(1982) [citing Herman Walker, Jr., ‘Treaties for the Encouragement and
Protection of Foreign Investment: Present United States Practice, 5 Am. J.
Comp. L. 229-232 (1956)].

-19-

experts, executive personnel, attorneys,

agents and other specialists of their

choice.”
4 U.S.C. 2063, 2070 [emphasis added].

The provision outlined in Article VIII of the U.S.-Japan FCN

Treaty was included among the treaty provisions “for the limited
purpose of securing to foreign investors the freedom to place their
own citizens in key management positions, thus facilitating their
operational success in the host country.” MacNamara v. Korean
Airlines, 863 F.2d 1135, 1144-45 (3d. Cir. 1988) [construing Article
VIII(1) of the Korean FCN Treaty, which is nearly identical to that of
the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty].° Courts generally agree that Article
VIII necessarily affords each such company the right to prefer its
own citizens to those possessing U.S. citizenship. Bennett v. Total

Minatome Corp., 138 F. 3d 1053 (5th Cir. 1998) [construing Article

A Nevertheless, despite its limited purpose, both parties to
the treaty deemed the provision, and its concomitant right to place the
signatories’ own nationals in managerial, technical, and confidential
capacities, “to be critical.” Wickes v. Olympic Airways, 745 F. 2d 363,
367-368 (6" Cir. 1984) (construing Article XII(4) of the Greek FCN
Treaty, which contains language similar to that of the Japanese FCN
Treaty).

-20-

VI of the U.S.-French FCN Treaty, which is similar to Article VII of
the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty]; Papaila v. Uniden America Corp., 51
F. 3d 54, 55 (Sth Cir. 1995) [construing Article VII(1) of the
U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty]; MacNamara, 863 F. 2d at 1144. This is
true even if the company does so as replacement for or saateni of
existing company personnel. MacNamara, 863 F. 2d at 1144. As
such, “discrimination in favor of foreign executives given a special
status by virtue of a treaty and its implementing regulations is not
equivalent to discrimination on the basis of national origin or race.”
Fortino v. Quasar Co., 950 F. 2d 389, 392 (7th Cir. 1991)
[construing Article VII(1) of the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty].

In reliance on Article VIII(1) of the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty,
Ricoh-Japan assigns on a temporary basis several of its own
managers and technical experts to work at Ricoh-USA so as to
implement rapidly evolving technological developments from the
parent to Ricoh-USA and ensure the quality and consistency of the
products that, as such, when the need for highly specialized technical

skills arises, Ricoh-USA relies on its parent to temporarily transfer

individuals from Japan to the United States, which Ricoh-Japan

-21-

properly does pursuant to non-immigrant visas specifically designed
for such purposes.

Consequently, to the extent Respondents, Litton and Haluck
claim that Ricoh-USA-Japan’s placement of Japanese citizens in
positions at Ricoh-USA constitutes discrimination on the basis of
national origin or race, such claims vowe cannot stand given the
provisions of the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty and Ricoh-USA-Japan and

Ricoh-USA’s reliance thereon. Fortino, 950 F.2d at 392.

3. As a Subsidiary of Ricoh-Japan, Ricoh-

USA May Invoke the Rights of its Parent Provided

for Under the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty

There has been much debate about what entities may properly
rely upon the provision outlined in Article VIII as relates to their
choice of executives and technical personnel. Indeed, according to
the U.S. Supreme Court, once a Japanese corporation incorporated a
U.S. domestic subsidiary, the subsidiary was technically an
American corporation and thus unable to sabe rights under the
U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty in their own right. Sumitomo Shoji America.

Inc. v. Avagliano, 457 U.S. 176, 189 (1982). The Sumitomo Court

9%

nevertheless expressed “no view as to whether [a U.S. subsidiary]
may assert any Article VIII(1) rights of its parent”, and thus left open
the question. Sumitomo Shoji America. Inc. v. Avagliano, 457 U.S.
176, 189, 190 n.19 (1982) [construing U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty, art.
XXIi(3)].

In the ensuing two decades since Sumitomo was decided,
numerous federal Courts of Appeal have relied on the Sumitomo
Court’s decision, and Footnote 19 in particular, 457 U.S. at 190 n.
19, and determined that, in furtherance of the spirit and purpose of
the FCN treaties, domestic subsidiaries must be per. .itted to assert
the treaty rights of their parent. Fortino, 950 F. 2d at 393. See also,
Bennett, 138 F. 3d 1053; Papaila, 51 F. 3d 54; MacNamara, 863 F.
2d 1135.

According to Fortino and its progeny, by distinguishing the
Sumitomo Court’s decision on the basis that, in that case, “there was
no contention that the parent had dictated the subsidiary’s
discriminatory conduct, the Supreme Court left open the question
whether the subsidiary might in such a case assert any of its parent’s

treaty rights.” Indeed, these subsequent Court of Appeals cases

23.

deemed the subsidiary’s reliance on the treaty necessary so as “to
prevent the treaty from being set at naught.” Fortino, 950 F.2d at
393. See also, Papaila, 51 F.3d at 55. In addition, as all of these
cases recognized, there is a vast difference between, on the one hand,
a corporation esscrting rights afforded under a federal treaty and
thereby exerting a preference for one’s own citizens so as to ensure
protection of its business interests and, on the other hand, a corporate
entity illegally discriminating on the basis of national origin and race.

Id.

Invoke the Rights of Ricoh-J Und
the Treaty

Based on the U.S. Supreme Court’s opinion in Edmonson, a
litigant “may raise a claim on behalf of a third party if the litigant can
demonstrate that he or she has suffered a concrete, redressable injury,
that he or she has a close relation with the third party, and that there
exists sie hindrance to the third party’s ability to protect his or her
own interests.” Edmonson, 500 U.S. at 629. It is clear from the facts

of this case that Ricoh-USA has third party standing to invoke the

-24-

rights of Ricoh-Japan under the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty.

First, Ricoh-Japan has suffered, a concrete, redressable
injury-in-fact sufficient to have a substantial stake in the outcome of
this litigation. Edmonson, 500 U.S. at 629; Powers v. Ohio, 499
U.S. 399 (1991). Indeed, Ricoh-Japan’s future rights to conduct
business pursuant to the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty are inextricably tied
to the way in which Ricoh-USA conducts its daily business,
especially should such conduct be found to be proscribed by or in
conflict with the anti-discrimination statutes as alleged by
Plaintiffs/Respondents. Thus, Ricoh-Japan clearly has a stake in the
outcome of this case. Id. See also, Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106,
113 (1976) [where party indicates it has performed in the past, and
intends to perform in the future, in a way proscribed by the statute or
law at issue creates controversy between the two parties at bar].

Second, as has been clearly demonstrated, supra, Ricoh-USA
has a close relation with the third party, Ricoh-Japan, sufficient to
permit Ricoh-USA to raise Ricoh-J apan’s rights under the
U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty. Edmonson, 500 US. at 629.

Finally, Ricoh-Japan has not been named in this action and,

-25-

as such, is unable to assert its own rights under the U.S.-Japan FCN
Treaty. Hence, the parent corporation’s absence requires Ricoh-USA
to protect Ricoh-Japan’s interests in this Court.

Therefore, the relationship between Ricoh-USA and Ricoh-
Japan is such that Ricoh-USA is the only effective and recognizable

proponent of Ricoh-J apan’s rights under the Treaty. Singleton, 428

U.S. at 116.
_ Petitioner Will Suffer Irreparable Harm from the Denial

of Its Petition for Certiorari and the Balance of the
Equities Clearly Favors Issuance of a Stay.

Petitioner will suffer irreparable injury unless a Writ of
Certiorari issues in this case. The decision of the Superior Court for
the State of California, and the refusal of both the California Court of
Appeal and the California Supreme Court to stay the trial court’s
proceedings in the face of an assault on the Supremacy Clause of the
Constitution of the United States imperils and abrogates a federal
treaty right protected by the Supremacy Clause. See United States v.
Michigan, 508 F. Supp. 480, 491(D. Mich. 1980). “Where denial of

fundamental interest such as constitutional rights are involved,

-26-

damage is presumed to be irreparable and a writ should issue as a
matter of course.” Jd. Indeed, where a court decision prevents a
party from exercising proper treaty rights, irreparable harm is
presumed. /d.; Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians v. Minnesota,
864 F. Supp. 102, 105 (1994), citing with approval, Muckleshoot
Indian Tribe v. Hall, 698 F. Supp. 1504, 1506 (W.D. Wash. 1988).
In the instant case, the California trial court has declared as a
matter of law that neither Ricoh-USA or its parent corporation,
Ricoh-Japan, may invoke protection under the U.S. -Japan FCN
Treaty in response to violations of California State Law concerning
employment discrimination. Resolution of whether Ricoh-USA, a
Japanese subsidiary based in the U.S. may be barred from exercising
constitutional rights set forth in Fortino, Bennett, Papaila and
MacNamara, as well as Articles I, II and VI of the United States
Constitution must be immediate. This issue cannot be deferred to
final resolution through a lengthy trial and appellate process that
could literally take years and hundreds of thousands if not millions of
dollars in costs, expenditures and consequential expenditures that

have yet to be calculated.

a.

D. In the Absence of a Writ of Certiorari Issuing from U.S.
Supreme Court, U.S-based Subsidiaries of Japanese
Corporations and U.S. Employees Face Eminent and

Irreparable Injury.

As typically detailed in Article I or Article II of a FCN
Treaty, the United States has a vital interest in encouraging foreign
companies to invest in the United States economy by establishing
subsidiary operations within the United States. Such investments of
capital stimulate and promote jobs, economic development and
economic growth of various state, local and ultimately the national
economy.

Indeed, the concern of Japanese parent corporations
concerning the interpretation of the U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty dates
back to the briefing accepted by this very Honorable Court in the
Sumitomo decision. See Amicus briefs of Japanese Government,
East Asiatic Company, Inc., and C. Itoh & Simple Co., Ltd. In
essence, the concern of all Japanese-based parent corporations with
U.S. subsidiaries was articulated in the case of Spiess v. C. Itoh &

Simple Co., 643 F. 2d 353, 358-361 & n.2 (5" Cir. 1979). In Spiess,

-28.

the court declared:

“Considerinig the Treaty as a whole, the only

reasonable interpretation is thai Article VIII (1) means

exactly what it says: Companies have a right to decide

which executives and technicians will manage their
investment in the host country, without regard to host
country laws.”

Therefore, to allow the trial court decision to stand with
respect to Petitioner, violates a fundamental principal of Treaty
interpretation in that a Treaty is to be liberally construed to
accomplish its overriding purpose. See, e.g., Factor v.
Laubenheimer, 290 U.S. 276 (1933); Nielsen v. Johnson, 279 U.S.
47 (1929); Jeofrey v. Riggs, 133 U.S. 258 (1890).

Indeed, the court has traditionally construed commercial
treaties in an expansive manner, both in determining the parties
entitled to claim treaty protection in the means by which those
parties exercise their treaty rights. Kolovret v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 187
(1961); Jordon v. Tashiro, 278 U.S. 123 (1928).

_ If Japanese corporations cannot control their investments in

-29.

U.S. based subsidiaries based upon their reasonable expectations
derived from a plain reading of he U.S.-Japan FCN Treaty, then the

entire economic relationship between United States and Japan may
become unequivocally altered and disrupted.
X. CONCLUSION

Under these circumstances, the effect of a failure to issue of
Writ of Certiorari could well disrupt the economic infrastructure of
the United States and potentially create a diplomatic crisis between
the United States and Japan. Thus a Review by this Honorable Court
is justified by the extraordinary importance of the outcome of this
case and the extremely time sensitive nature of relief.

Respectfully submitted,
DATED:February

KONRAD L. TROPE
CALLAHAN & BLAINE,
APLC

3 Hutton Centre Drive, Suite
900

Santa Ana, CA 92707
Telephone: (714) 241-4444
Facsimile: (714) 241-4445

-30-

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0568%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
