# Brief for the United States — Waite v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0470%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Brief for the United States
- **Published:** January 1, 1931
- **Citation:** 282 U.S. 508

## Text

ee

pipe

- a

i
Offices Sunreme Coun, U.
™ } cD

JAN 23 1931

C " =a
LLiciapine

FILE COPY

No. 103

— |

Inthe Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1930

Hakry F. WaAIrtre, PETITIONER
v.
THE Unirep STATES

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF CLAIMS

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

BEY SR Soe eee pei

-

INDEX

IE OE ois ioscan Gass ediotsar ec deoreeineienarmainw inate
SE RUIN cs care spe eects rah pi cocmet ns vicen eatee inc ek arenes aah ean ieanin adores
IRI SONI oo oases resis ghee snr een ans aaa
ND TRUE oo is ci pce screech aa ences ect eear ee eeenanne
IN a tai sce ccs or rtd ak Sees eh ea ice
PII cok ctr m car ues tet calm ds eesse ee neem acide et aticeodeaiaa apatenapmen as aia
Conclusion

CITATIONS
Cases:
Brooks-Scanion Corp. v. United States, 265 U. S. 106___-__-
Consolidated Rubber Tire Co. vy. Diamond Rubber Co., 226
PG. GG, GG: Bee SU Clin ncn mecvcncousenssinoseene
Crosby Steam Gage & Valve Co. v. Consolidated Safety
TOG Th Bee Ue ee Ren eke sence cutenensee
Cente Fi Bee Os 0. Bowe nsccnneneneaenma

Dallas Brass & Copper Co. vy. Faries Mfg. Co., 1 F. (2d)
Farmers’ Handy Wagon Co. v. Beaver Silo & Bor Mfg.

ei eee es aa ew ecestn ts be po aec t meetnaia alae eee
Goodrich Company, B. F., v. Consolidated Rubber Tire Co.,

ies trees ean ae een naa Mn einiede
Ignition Company, K. W., y. Tamco Electric Motor Co., 283

II Siete beacon excise viouesss tnesmercilcensgspideacgy tavdigttbeebdee daenidhebsapeetianiahitas dada
Illinois Central R. R. Co. v. Turrill, 110 U. S. 301_----_-__
Imperial Machine & Foundry Corp. vy. United States, 69 C.

INR, AP iv erispssinion’otdicp sara ins sien oan dls ap eccenidnadadabeneai cen inaaelde adaware eee
Liggett & Myers v. United States, 274 U. S. 215_-.-______
Merrell Soule Co. vy. Powdered Milk Co. of America, 7 F.

SR I sie ces nu es kavvalgnt ur ccas ces ecaceeiah tates cccencantsasrealis sia eaaictaehsesckeai
Metallic Rubber Tire Co. v. Hartford Rubber Works Co.,

Se es, Greet cake canta ee eae aaa
National Tube Co. v. Mark, 10 F. (2d) 4380
Pheios v. United Giates, 274 U. By Sb... son...
PR vy. TOO, TT TP. Cs vein t sense
OOe FT eT Oe Rind eae eae ee
Seaboard Air Line Ry. v. United States, 261 U. 8S. 299____
Tilghman v. Proctor, 125 U. S. 136

36214—31 (1)

a

°

a
AVIA 37

a

PS Ea re eae ——s

ot Break A a at ee

%

ry Re PI ee eh tae
OBO i ag UME AN Ss UDR

II

Statute: Page
Act of July 1, 1918, c. 114, 40 Stat. 704, 705, amending the
act of June 25, 1910, c. 423, 36 Stat. 851 (U.S. C., title

a Si i ee tei nce asangidaeeddacibcadeelaabpaiminnaninelinide 8-9
Miscellaneous:
Walker, Patents, 6th Ed., sec. 607 6

Authe Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBER TERM, 1930

No. 103
Harry F. WAITE, PETITIONER
v.
THE UNITED STATES

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF CLAIMS

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Claims (R. 22) hold-
ing that the petitioner’s patent had been infringed
is reported in 63 C, Cls. 438. The court’s memo-
randum as to damages (R. 31) is reported in 69 C.
Cls. 153, but its decision refusing to allow interest
(R. 33) is not yet reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment sought to be reviewed was entered
on February 10, 1930. (R. 33.) A motion for new
trial was overruled on April 7, 1930. (R. 30.)

(1)

IE PRET NEL DMI IIE STA APE ORR
ES

oe ad

Wh tah

3
a
3

AMA DIAL Oia he ere he 25h

tas sts caren Seater te i

9
2 ‘

The petition for certiorari was filed on Mav 7, 1930

(R. 33), and the writ was granted October 13, 1930

(R.35). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under Sectfon 3 (b) of the Act of February 13, 1925.

QUESTION PRESENTED

In determining ‘reasonable and entire compensa-
tion’’ recoverable under the Act of July 1, 1918,
e. 114, 40 Stat. 704, by a patent owner against the
United States for the use or manufacture by or for
the United States of his invention, must interest
be added to an allowance of profits which the patent
owner would have received if the infringing devices
had been purchased from him ?

STATUTE INVOLVED

The Act of July 1, 1918, ec. 114, 40 Stat. 704, 705,
is set forth in the Appendix, infra, pp. 8-9.

STATEMENT

In 1920 letters patent were issued to the peti-
tioner upon a transformer for the production of
suitable currents for the operation gf a Coolidge
X-ray tube. (R. 10, 29.) In ser Bnd 1918 the
petitioner’s company had sold to the United States
transformers of two different grades on which it
had realized an average profit of $59.42 per trans-
former. (R. 29, 30.) In 1921 and 1922 the Wap-
pler Electric Company, at the request of the United
States, manufactured and sold 101 similar trans-
formers to the Government. (R. 28.) In a de-
cision rendered May 2, 1927, the Court of Claims

3

held that the use of these transformers by the
United States was an infringement of the peti-
tioner’s patents. (R. 22.) After further submis-
sion of the case as to the amount recoverable, the
Court of Claims gave judgment for the petitioner
for $6,001.42, representing the estimated profits of
$59.42 per transformer lost by the petitioner be-
cause of the use by the United States of the Wap-
pler transformers. (R. 32.) On February 25,
1930, the plaintiff filed a motion for a new trial
contending that the court erred in not allowing
interest from the date of the commencement of the
use. (R. 33.) On April 7, 1930, the Court of
Claims entered an order overruling the motion and
refusing to award interest. (R. 33.)
The findings of fact do not show the existence of
a fixed royalty or the determination of a reasonable
royalty. There was a finding as to the actual
profit realized by the contractor (R. 29), but this
was not used as the measure of plaintiff’s loss (R.
32). The court was of the opinion that the plain-
tiff would have been in a position to make sales to
the Government if the infringement had not taken
place (R. 32), and it accordingly based its judg-
ment on an estimate of the profits lost by the plain-
tiff as a result of the infringement (R. 30).

ARGUMENT
The petitioner’s claim for interest is predicated

on the theory that by reason of the Act of July 1,
1918, ec. 114, 40 Stat. 704, 705 (infra, pp. 8-9), the

aS as as TH

SEI GS

RITE URE GMD Raat SNS me 8 MEI PC a acne

eer eee eae

BP siete

* fly Saryhins pitad RAB

4

infringement of his patent rights amounted to an
appropriation of private property for public use
as in eminent domain (Crozier v. Krupp, 224 U.S.
290) and that under various decisions of this Court,
of which Seaboard Air Line Ry. v. United States,
261 U.S. 299, is a typical example, just compensa-
tion includes interest on the value of the property
from the date of the taking.

In its memorandum acquiescing in the petition
for certiorari, the Government said (p. 3):

If the phrase ‘‘reasonable and entire com-
pensation,’’ as used in the Act of 1918, has
the same meaning as the phrase ‘‘just com-
pensation,’’ as used in the Fifth Amendment
of the Constitution, it would seem that the
court should have allowed interest.

This statement was based on the prior decisions
of this Court holding that interest was recover-
able as part of the compensation required by the
Fifth Amendment.

The applicability of this rule to cases involving
infringement of patent rights by the United States
has not been passed upon by this Court and it may
well be that in patent cases interest should be al-
lowed or disallowed in accordance with the rules
governing recovery between private litigants. In
order that the plaintiff be fully compensated, it is
necessary that he recover at least the equivalent of
what would be recoverable at law or in equity in a
suit for infringement pursuant to R. S. 4921 or
R. S. 4919. |

-

ov

In equity recovery may be had of the infringer’s
profits. Such profits are not liquidated until the
court, or a master appointed by the court, has com-
puted them. Illinois Central R. R. Co. v. Turrill,
110 U. 8. 301; Tilghman v. Proctor, 125 U.S. 136;
Crosby Steam Gage & Value Co. Vv. Consolidated
Safety Valve Co., 141 U. 8, 441. Accordingly, in-
terest is not added unless it appears that the in-
fringement was deliberate and wanton. See Me-
tallic Rubber Tire Co. v. Hartford Rubber Works |
Co., 275 Ked. 315 (C. C. A. 2d).

Damages for infringement, recoverable either at
law or in equity, are compensatory and have no re-
lation to the defendant’s gain. If such damages
are computed on the basis of a fixed royalty for the
use of the invention, interest from the date when
the royalty was due is recoverable. K. W. Ignition
Company v. Temco Electric Motor Co., 283 Fed.
873 (C. C. A. 6th).

Interest is also included as a part of the damages,
either as a matter of right or in the discretion of
the court when damages are computed on the basis
of a reasonable royalty. B. F. Goodrich Company
v. Consolidated Rubber Tire Co., 251 Fed. 617 (C.
C. A. 7th); Consolidated Rubber Tire Co. v. Dia
mond Rubber Co., 226 Fed. 455 (S. D. N. Y.),
aff’d, 232 Fed. 475 (C. C. A. 2d) ; Merrell Soule Co.
v. Powdered Milk Co. of America, T F. (2d) 297

(C. C. A. 2d); National Tube Co. Vv. Mark, 10 F.
(2d) 430 (C. C. A. 6th).

.
FS A Pa eee
Cis eg

FSS i hag ———
v2 my TSAR AAP: 5 Beams! Senn ae seny — ;

Eerste

per cece temp yee

B tins Sora.

6

In the case at bar recovery was measured by ‘‘the
sum of the profits which the patentee would have
derived from the sales which tlie infringer’s course
prevented the patentee from making.’’ JWalker,
Patents, 6th Ed., Sec. 607; Dallas Brass & Copper
Co.v. Faries Mfg. Co., 1 F. (2d) 930 (C. C. A. Tth) ;
see Philp vy. Nock, 17 Wall. 460; Farmers’ Handy
Wagon Co.v. Beaver Silo & Bow Mfg. Co., 259 Fed.
270, 271 (C. C. A. 7th).

We have found but two cases involving the com-
putation of damages on this basis in which the ques-
tion of interest was raised. In Rose y. [irsh, 94
Fed. 177 (C. C. A. 38d), and in Imperial Machine &
Foundry Corp. v. United States, 69 C. Cls. 667,.the
rule in Tilghman v. Proctor, supra, was followed
in computing damages upon the basis of profits lost
to the owner of the patent, and interest was allowed
only from the date of the filing of the master’s re-
port. There was no discussion of the question in
either of these cases. Profits lost by the patent
owner are in quite a different category from profits
gained by the infringer. Tilghman v. Proctor,
supra, merely holds that the infringer’s profits are
unliquidated until judicially determined, and ac-
cordingly interest runs only from the date of the
master’s report. Where there is a recovery of
damages on the basis of profits lost by the owner of
the patent, there would seem to be quite as much
reason for an allowance of interest as when such
damages are computed upon the basis of an esti-
mated reasonable royalty. There is, indeed, less

7

certainty in determining reasonable royalties than
in computing lost profits, when, as in this case, com-
putation is based upon actual costs and established
selling prices of similar machines. Accordingly,
we believe that Rose v. Hirsh, supra, and Imperial
Machine & Foundry Corp. v. United States, supra,
ave of doubtful authority, and that in this case
interest should have been allowed upon profits lost
to the patent owner. Sucha result will accord with
the decisions of this Court in Seaboard Air Line
Ry. v. United States, 261 U. S, 299, Brooks-Scanlon
Corp. v. United States, 265 U. S. 106, Liggett &
Myers v. United States, 274 U.S. 215, and Phelps
vy, United States, 274 U.S. 341.

CONCLUSION

We believe that the court below erred in failing
to allow interest.
Respectfully submitted.
/THomaS D. THACHER,
Solicitor General.
J CHaRLEs B. Rvae,
Assistant Attorney Geyeral.
* H. Brian froeate, ©
Attorney.
JANUARY, 1931.

Qreeeeeree seceeneenersnecraesererononasomgsemeeen
, Pe III ET SS MAST NT

il “|

APPENDIX

The Act of July 1, 1918, ¢. 114, 40 Stat. 704, 705,
amending the Act of June 25, 1910, ¢. 423, 36 Stat.
851 (U.S. C., Title 35, See. 68) provides in part as
follows:

' The Act entitled ‘‘An Act to provide ad-
ditional protection for the owners of patents
of the United States, and for other pur-
poses,’ approved June twenty-fifth, nine-
teen hundred and ten, shall be, and the same
is hereby, amended to read as_ follows,
namely :

‘*That whenever an invention described in
and covered by a patent of the United States
shall hereafter be used or manufactured by
or for the United States without license of
the owner thereof or lawful right to use or
manufacture the same, such owner’s remedy
shall be by suit against the United States in
the Court of Clatins for the recovery of his
reasonable and entire compensation for such
use and manufacture: Provided, however,
That said Court of Claims shall not entertain
a suit or award compensation under the pro-
visions of this Act where the claim for com-
pensation I&based on the use or manufacture
by or for the United States or any article
heretofore owned, leased, used by, or in the
possession of the United States: Provided
further, That in any such suit the United
States may avail itself of any end all de-
fenses, general or special, that might be
pleaded by a defendant in an action for in-
fringement as set forth in Titie Sixty of the

(8)

9

Revised Statutes, or otherwise: And pro-
vided further, That the benefits of this Act
shall not inure to any patentee who, when he
makes such claim, is in the employment or
service of the Government of the United
States, or the assignee of any such patentee ;
nor shall this Act apply to any device dis-
covered or invented by such employee during
the time of his employment or service.”’

we

U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 193!

Qpiteseri ee PARED EUSA Str tan eee atesane a mms

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0470%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
