# Petitioners Brief — Graham & Foster v. Goodcell

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0456%3A42

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1931
- **Citation:** 282 U.S. 409

## Text

mee

ext

a

‘

"a INDEX.

Page
Opinion of the Court of Claims ................ 1
EERO. 0.456. s-b soe 6 can eee oueee e 2
gS gC eae 2
Peer ere re 3
mpeetMention of Errore uc. cscccsvcenssoecced 4
eer DOE... hanssdseessaveneee eee 5
TEETER OO ST 5
The provisions of Section 611 of the Revenue
Act of 1928 do not apply ...............4.. 6

1. The 1918 overpayment sought to be eg
covered was not covered by a claim fér,
ORE ooo i nsenscesttvabaloueee 6

2. Section 611 does not apply to a ‘‘credit’’
made after the expiration of the statu-
tory period of limitations ............. 6

3. The collection of no part of the tax for
1917 was ‘‘stayed’’ by a claim for abate-

geek on SEROROEES os 6scs iki aeawnees 9
Section 611, if construed to be applied, would
i SS . ig 5 ko dbs bee bee eenees 10

REE POR nce Sma et eed a ere Oe 10
Taste OF CasEs.
Bowers v. New York & ‘Albany Lighterage Co.,

(273 U. S. ED ctput cokedse scape anaboeves 6
Early v. Doe Ex Dem Homans, (16 How. 610) .. 7
= Free: 8: | Sererreery trees tT

Peerless Paper Box Manufacturing Co. v. Rout-
sahn, (22 Fed. (2) 459) ..............000. 7

ii Index Continued.

Page
Platt v. Union Pacific Railroad Company, (99
BR OPE a Boas Coed eee aw in ins Keck 7
Russell v. United States, (278 U. S. 181) ...... 6
United States v. Lexington Mill Elevator Co.,
CU Ss Se MR ete ee aS Sees 7
Wiborg v. United States, (163 U. S. 632) ...... 7
Wilmot v. Mudge, (103 U. S. 217) ............ 7
STATUTES
Section 3(b) of the Act of February 13,1925... 2
Section 145 of the Judicial Code ..............:. 2
seth 227(a) (2) of the Revenue Act of 1924... 6
Section 3226 of the Revised Statutes ........... 2

Section 607 of the Revenue Act of 1928 . .3-4-7-8-9-10
Section 609(a) ofthe Revenue Act of 1928 :
3-4-7-8-9-10
Section 611 of the Revenue. Act of 1928 ...3-4-5-6-8-9

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1930.

No. 337.

Boston Pressep Merat Co., Petitioner,

/
v. ;

Tue Unrrep States, Respondent.

-

ee
¥

BRIEF ON BEHALF OF PETITIONER.

=
OPINION OF THE COURT BELOW.

The opinion of the Court of Claims has not been
officially reported. It was rendered by the Court be-
low on June 2, 1930, and will be found printed in the
record at pages 8 and 9.

2

I. -
_JURISDICTION.

The jurisdiction of this court is invoked under Sec-
tion 3(b) of the Act of February 13, 1925 (43 Stat.
926).

The final judgment of the Court of Claims was en-
tered on June 2, 1930 (R. 10). Application for writ
was presented August 8, 1930 (R. 1), and granted on
October 20, 1930.

The suit brought in the Court of Claims is for the
recovery of an overassessment of corporation income
and profit taxes eollected for the year 1918, illegally
retained by the defendant, jurisdiction of which is
conferred upon the Court of Claims by Section 145
of the Judicial Code and Section 3226 of the Revised
Statutes.

Ii.
SBATEMENT OF THE CASE.

The petitioner, a corporation, filed its Federal in-
come “tax return for the year 1918 and paid taxes
. Showh thereon in the amount of $30,532.77. In 1921
an additional tax of $13,299.65 was assessed against
“it. This assessment was not paid. On August 27,
1924 the Coxhmissioner of Internal Revenue allowed
anvoverasséssment to the petitioner for the year 1918.
in the amount of $22,530.M of which $13,299.65 was
applied as an abatement of, the prior assessment in
- the same amount, $5,938.11 4was credited against an
' additional tax for the year ‘1920 and the balance,
$3,844.94, the amount involved fe this proceeding, was
credited against a tax claimed to be due from the
vetitioner for the year 1917.

s

3

The return for 1917 was filed on March 30, 1918.
On January 7, 1921 the Commissioner of” Internal
Revenue made an additional assessment for the year
1917. On February 24, 1921 the petitioner filed a
claim for abatement covering this additional assess-
ment and also the additional assessment of $13,299.62,
for 1918. The 1918 assessment was later abated in
full.

The balance of the overassessment of $3,844.94 for
the year 1918 was an overpayment and was credited
against the outstanding assessment for the year 1917,
above referred to, on January 7, 1925, a date more
than five years after the filing of the return for 1917.

The petitioner filed suit in the Court of Claims
asking judgment for $3,844.94, the overpayment found
and allowed by the Commissioner of Internal Revenue
for the year 1918 on the ground that the ¢redit of
that amount against the alleged tax for the year 1917
was void because it was made after the expiration of
the statute of limitations on collection of taxes for
the year 1917.

The Court held that although the credit was made
after the statute of limitations had expired with ref-
erence to the taxes for 1917, no recovery would be
allowed because of the provisions of Section 611 of
the Revenue Act of 1928.

IV.
. STATUTES INVOLVED.

The pertinent provisions of law are Sections 607,
609(a) and 611 of ‘the Revenue Act of 1928 reading
as follows:

4

**Sec. . Any tax (or any interest, penalty,
additional amount, or addition to such tax) as-
sessed or paid (whether before or after the enact-
ment of this Act) after the expiration of the

iod of limitation properly applicable thereto
shajl be considered an overpayment and shall be
credited or refunded to the taxpayer if claim
therefor is filed within the period of limitation
for filing such claim.’’

**Sec. 609(a). Any credit against a liability in
respect of any taxable year shall be void if any
payment in respect of such liability would be con-
sidered an overpayment under Section 607.’’

**Sec. 611. If any internal-revenue tax (or any
interest, penalty, additional amoum, or addition
to such tax) w — the period of limitation
properly applicable thereto, assessed prior to
June 2, 1924, and if a claim in abatement was
filed, with or without bond, and if the collection
of any part thereof was stayed, then the payment
of such part (made before or within one year
after the enactment of this Act) shall not be con-
sidered as an overpayment under the provisions
of Section 607, relating to payments made after
the expiration ‘of the period of limitations on as-
sessment and collection.’’

vs
SPECIFICATION OF ERRORS TO BE URGED.

The errors which the petitioner urges as grounds
for the reversal of the decision of the Court of Claims
are:

1. The Court below erred in finding and holding
that Section 611 of the Revenue Act of 1928 is ap-
plicable to this case.

2. The Court below erred in holding that the col-

-Jeetion of tax was ‘‘stayed’’ within the iinile of
the Section 611 of the Revenue Act of 1928.

3. The Court below erred in failing to find and hold
that the application of Section 611 to this case will
render that Section unconstitutional.

THE ARGUMENT.

Summary of Argument.
A. The provisions of Section 611 of the Revenue

Act of 1928 do not apply to this case for the follow-
ing reasons:

covered was not coveied by a claim for abatement.
2. They are not applicable to credits. .
3. The collection of no part of the tax for 1917
was ‘‘stayed’’ by a claim for abatement or other-
wise. .

1. The 1918 waren. sought to be re-

B. The application of Section 611 of the Revenue
Act of 1928 to this case would render it unconstitu-
tional for the following reasons:

1. The power conferred on Congress “ the
Sixteenth Amendment is limited to 'the laying and
collecting of taxes on income. ‘

_ 2. The petitioner would be deprived of ite

property without due process of law and without
just compensation in violation of the Fifth —
Amendment.

~ \

6

VI.
THE ARGUMENT.
The Provisions of Section 611 of the Revenue Act of
a" 1928 do not Apply to This Case.

1. The 1918 overpayment sought to be recovered
was not covered by a claim for abatement.

The petitioner brought suit in the Court of Claims
to recéver an overpayment in the amount of $3,844.94
allowed by the Commissioner of Internal Revenue
for the year 1918. There was no claim for abatement
filed for the year 1918 which was applicable to the
amount of this overpayment. As there was no claim »
for abatement filed covering the tax sought to be re-
covered, Section 611 of the Revenue Act of 1928 can
have no effect* By its express words it relates only to
cases in which ‘‘a claim for abatement was filed
* @ @ 99

2. Section 611 does not apply to a ‘‘credit”’ made
after the expiration of the statutory period of limita-
tions.

The overpayment allowed the petitioner for the
year 1918 was not refunded to it, but was credited
against an assessment made for the year 1917. At
the time the credit was made it was too late to collect

the assessment for the year 1917 because of the provi-
sions of Section-277 (a) (2) of the Revenue Act of
19 Bowers v. New York & Albany Lighterage Co.,
(273 U. S. 346) ; Russell v. United States, (278 U. S.,
181).

The offsetting of the allowable overpayment for
-1918 against the barred assessment for 1917 did not ~
give the Government the right to retain the amount
all6wed as an overpayment. The taxpayer should be
permitted to recover the overpayment already al-

® ss
(
lowed. Peerless Paper Box Mfg. Co. v. Routzahn,
(22 Fed. (2d) 459).
In L. O. 1095 (1-I C. B. 313) the Solicitor of In-
ternal Revenue stated: -

‘‘The Government itself insists on the benefit
of the statute of limitations and holds that a re-
fund due a taxpayer cannot be applied on a later
tax when the amount refundable is barred by the
statute. It is believed both in good conscience
and by legal right the same rule must apply when
it works to the advantage of the taxpayer.’’

Thd Court below held that the ex parte withhold-
ing of an overpayment should be considered the same
as a voluntary payment by the petitioner. There is
much difference between an ex parte withholding by
the collector and a voluntary payment by the tax-
payer and the Revenue Act of 1928 treats with them
separately and differently.. If Congress hud intended
a void credit to constitute a payment as the Court
below held, there was no necessity for Section 609(a).
If the void credit was a payment it would already
have been under the express language of Section 607,
and Section 609(a) would be meaningless. Conse-
quently, to adopt the interpretation of the Court be-
low would be to impute to Congress the use of super-
* fluous language. This the Courts will not do. -

sie v. Union Pacific Railroad Co., (99 U. S.

United States v. Lexington Mill Elevator Co.,
(232 U. S. 399).

Wiborg v. United States, (163 U. S. 632).

Every word of a statute is to be given effect. Wil-
mot vy. Mudge, (103, U. S., 217); Early v. Doe ex Dem
Homans, (16 How., 610).

8

If Congress had intended void credits to have been
modified by Section 611, it would have either used the
word ‘‘credited’’ in Section 607 and omitted Section
609(a) entirely, or it would have inserted in Section
609 a qualification referring to and incorporating
therein the substance of Section 611—for example by
the use of the clause ‘‘except as provided in Section
611’’. The failure of Congress to follow either one
of these two courses is highly persuasive that the
form of the statute in this connection was deliberate
and that it was intended that Section 609(a) should
be given its literal effect and should not be modified
in any manner by Section 611. Added force is given
to this conclusion from the circumstances that Section
611 follows in order both Section 607 and Section 609.

That Congress intended to distinguish between ac-
‘tual payments by the taxpayer (covered by Sections
607 and 611) and mere ez parte credits by the Com-
missioner (covered by Section 607 and 609(a) ) may
be the more easily accepted because, it is submitted,
Congress ought to have intended this distinction. The
situation of a taxpayer who voluntarily pays a tax,
is entirely different from the situation of a taxpayer
whose money, in the hands of the Commissioner and
representing an acknowledged overpayment for one
year, is summarily applied by the Commissioner
agaimst an alleged tax liability of another year. In
the former case the taxpayer has his opportunity to
contest the correctness of the tax by an ajipeal to the
Board of Tax Appeals before paynfgnt. In the later
case the taxpayer is absolutely helpless, being without
even the opportunity to argue his case to the Commis-
sioner or to point out the illegality of the proposed
action to the Board of Tax Appeals.

9

It should be noted that the respondent must
rely not upon any express statutory provision but
upon an implication. To sustain the Court below it
must be argued that the express provision of Section
609(a) carries the implication that a credit against
a liability, payment of which would be an over-
payment under Section 607, shall not be void
and that the phrase ‘‘under Section 607’’ should
be construed as ‘‘under Section 607 as limited by
Section 611.’’ In other words, the respondent’s case
requires that the court should imply a negative provi-
sion where the statute merely expresses a positive
provision.

If Congress had intended a void eredit to fall under
the terms of Section 611 it would have done one of
two things—either added to Section 609(a) ‘‘except
as provided in Section 611’’ or have inserted the word
‘‘credited’’ in Section 607 and omitted Section 609(a)
from the law. It has done neither and we submit
that this shows a clear intent to differentiate between
payments and credits.

3. The collection of no part of the tax for 1917 was
‘‘stayed”’ by a claim for abatement or otherwise.

There was no ‘‘stay’’ of the collection of the tax
sought to be recovered. The Court below did not find
that the collection of the tax for 1918 was ‘‘stayed’’,
and erroneously considered this case as if it were a
suit to recover the 1917 tax against which the credit
was applied, but even on that theory Section 611
could have no application in this case for, while there
was a claim for abatement filed for the year 1917,
there is no finding nor any facts from which the court
could have found that ‘‘the collection of any part
thereof (1917 tax) was stayed’’. “ge

>)
’

&

10

Assuming (for the sake of argument only) Section
611 could be considered as modifying Section 609, on
the facts in this case Section 611 can not be applied
because there is neither a finding nor facts to show
that collection of -the 1917 tax was ‘‘stayed’’ by a
claim for abatement or otherwise.

SECTION 611, IF CONSTRUED TO APPLY,
WOULD BE UNCONSTITUTIONAL.

This case has been assigned to follow other cases
involved related questions, including that of the ap-
plication and constitutionality of Section 611 of the
Revenue Act of 1928. As those questions have been
comprehensively briefed in the other cases counsel
begs leave to refer to those briefs in lieu of repeating
arguments already made to this Honorable Court.

CONCLUSION.

In conclusion, it is respectfully submitted that the
decision of the Court of Claims should be reversed.

Harry FriepMaN,
Attorney for Petitioner.
Munsey Building,
Washington, D. C.

TEL Oe FOE CAPT PG, Pera Nee

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0456%3A42. Public record. Not legal advice.
