# Petitioners Brief — Graham & Foster v. Goodcell

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0456%3A35

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petitioners Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1931
- **Citation:** 282 U.S. 409

## Text

- Office Suprema Court, U. S.
FTLns Dp

_ FILE COPY cor 14m

ith

IN THE

| Supreme Court of the United States.

OctoserR TERM, 1930.

No. 105 ‘

TAFT WOOLEN COMPANY, Petitioner,
v.
THE UNITED STATES.

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER.

Pde J. ALBUS,

Attorney for Petitioner.
F Tamopore B. BEnson,

E Gon BarBer,“ yA
| Wruas MeyerHorr, “©
TER F. WILLIAMS, (A
Rcy A. MATTHEWS, > -

G. Fiscqer, “)jy
Of Counsel.

Page
I. Opinion of the Court of Claims SS ee a 1
INNO 9 PS Sate by Sieg it, iy ba dane *Be ee 1
» Questiona Presented . 2... et eee 2
IV. AssignmentofErros ....--.-+,-+:-+: 2
FEY, StetementoftheCase . 2... - wee st: 3
~ ‘VI. Statutes involved: Sec. 250(d) Rev. Act.of 1921; Secs.
--.. 607 and 611 Rev. Act 1928; R. S., Sec. 3226. 5
NNR S Pes ee Ee. ea ae 6-22
1. (a) Sections 607 and 611 of the Revenue Act of —
1928 are administrative provisions @pplying

only to the Commissioner of Internal Reve-
‘ " nue and do not apply to a case where suit is
broughtintheCourts .......... 6
a (b) Section 611 of the Revenue Aet of 1928 did.
_-. ° ~ not withdraw the consentof the UnitedStates
: to be sued in cases where money was coliect-
od sp taxes alter the statetaty parted forest,
lectiomhadexpired ........:. 10
2. (a) If it be held that Congress intended by the
enactment of Section 611 of the Revenue Act
___. = Of 1928 to deprive the petitioner of its‘right é!
i to recover the sum collected after the statu-
tory period for collection had expired, then it
is contended that such attempt is unconati-
tutional and-void in that it deprives the peti-
tioner of its property. t due process of

—— =) Upon the of the time limitation
at Sasauika tat ty thx Soteinen ca tannin
gan tioner acquired a vested propertyright .. 16
~ ____ () If Section 611 is so coustrued as to deprive =
“ae | petitioner of its property and its vested right
_ of action of recovery, it would be contrary to
the Fifth Amendment of the Constitution . 17

(d) Congress was without power to extend the
statutory bar, in petitioner’s case, after it.
had fallen and petitioner had acquired a
_ vested property right
( 3.\\ The legal principles established by the cases
of United States v. Heinszen, 206 U. S. 370;
Rafferty v. Smith, Bell & Company, 257 U. 8.
226; and Campbell v. Holt, 115 U. 8. 620, do
not apply to the case of this petitioner. . .

TABLE OF CASES.

Atchison, Topeka & Santa ae Railway Co. v. O’Conner,
223 U.8.280 .
Bashara v. Hopkins, 290 Fed. 592; affirmed 295 Fed. 319;
Certiorari denied, 265 U.S.584;448.Ct.459. . . . 14, 2%
Bessemer Coal & Coke Co. ». Heiner, 39 F. (2d)492 ... 2
Blodgett v. Holden, 275 U.S. 142 ,
Botany Worsted Mills v. U. S., 278 U. S. 282; 498. Ct. 129 21
Bowers v. N. Y. & Albany Lighterage Co. et als., 273 U. S. 3
346 7, 8, 13, 21, 22
Calder v. Bull, 3 Dall. 385 at p.388;1L.Ed.648 .... 17
Caminetti v. U. 8., 242 U.S. 470-485; 37 S. Ct. 192;61L.
Ed. 442; L. R. A. 1917F, 502 Ann. Cas. 1917B,1168 .. 12
Campbell ». Holt, 15 U.8. 628 68. Ct. 209; 29 L. Ed. =
23, 24
Paw “Vermont Railway Co. » White, 238 U. Sat
p. 611 13,
Chapman, Adelaide F. ». U.S., 63 Ct. Cls. 424; reversed
498. Ct. 7;278 U.S. 660 . ; Pamers: * 8, 9%. 0
“Chelentis ». Luckenback 8. S. Co., 247 U. S. 384 CE:
Christie Street Commission Co. ». U. S., 136 Fed. 326; 69
eens Se eS ay SS
County of Meracen 2. Marentie Trt Co, 4 Ky. 314;
18. W. 585~ . :

~

1
Danzer & Co. ». Gulf & Ship Island Ry. Co., 268 @. 8.

ey ce goa se te 14, 21, 24
Dartmouth College v. Woodward,4 Wheat.518 .... BB
De Lima v. Bidwell, 182U.S.199 .......2.2.. 20
Diamond Alkali Co. v. Heiner, 39 F. (2d),643.. ... . . . — Oa
Teale oe. U. B., 398 U8 SRB ES 10
Eberhert ». U S., 204 Fed.890-891 ......... 14, 24
Ellay Co. »v. Bowers, 25 F. (2d), 687; panel Ged, 488.

BUONO: S52 oc 6 a Finis Rea ek ee eee 8
Ettor v. Takoma, 228 U.S. at pp. 155, 1h6and158 ... 18
Fidelity & Columbia Trust Co. v. Lucas, 7 F. (2d), 146 os
Forbes Boat Line Co. v. Commissioners, 258 U.8.338 .. 23
Gladney v.Syndor,172Mo.318 ........... 16
Graham v. duPont, 262U.S.234 ....... 1 ee
Graham & Foster v. Gdodcell, 36 October Term,1930 .. 12
Kent Commentaries, Vol.4,p.202 ......:.... 16
King (The) v. Commissioners, 5 A. & E.804,816 .... 12
A A Me OM Oe dee a ew bi pes 20
Memphis ».U.8.,97U.8.298 ....... SE ae 19
Nichols v. Coolidge, 274 U.S:531;52A.L.R.1081 . .. 17
Pearsall ». Ry. Co., 161 U.S.646 ............ 16
Prichard v. Norton, 106U.S.182 ........... 19
Rafferty v. Smith Bell & Co.,257U.8.226 ...... 22, 23
Rock Island Ry. Co. ». U.S. 254U.S8.,atp.148 ..... 18
Russell et al. v. U. S.,49 S. Ct. 121 123; 278 U.S. 181 . 14, 15,22
Smallwood v. Gallardo, 275 U.S.56;488.Ct.238 .... 18
Toxaway Mills v. U. S., 61 Ct. Cls. 363; reversed on con-

fession of error, 273 U.S. 781 ES reer, fi
U. 8. ». John Barth Co., 27 F. (2d) 782, 784 (reversed on |

: another ground, 279 U. ES cS Sk ee ee 14
U. 8. ». Emery Byrd Thayer Realty Co., 198 Fed. 242;

ed OE OO gc ek gS ew ek 10, 18

U.S. , Hartwell, 6 Wall. p.396;18L.Ed.830 ..... 12

U.S. ». Heinszen & Co.,206U.S.270 ...... . . 22,23

- U.8.0. Henrich, 12F.(2d)940 ....... pioaaina 295" cs 19
Uv. 8. ». Lexington Mill Co., 232 U. S. 399; 34 S. Ct. 337; 58

z L.Ed. 658; 2 SF ME, SRM enn 12

=e

iy
U.S. v. Magnolia Petroleum Co., 276 U. S. 160; 48 8. Ct.

U.S. et al. v. Mo. Pac. R. R. Co., 498. Ct. 133; 278 U.S. Shee

Unterntyer v. Anderson, 276 U.S. 440; 488. Ct.353 —
Wagner ». Baitimore, 239 U. 8. 207, 216, 217 fe <5.

~
: MISCELLANEOUS. )
LT.2382C.B.VI-2-108 gg,
Vol.4, Eney. U.8.8. Ct. Repe, 228 Cte ek ee ate
%
ie >
* ~~ x

| form oe eid Sts,

Ocrossr TERM,

No. 105,

TAFT WOOLEN COMPANY, prerrrionse,
v.
THE UNITED STATES.

tt

BRIEF FOR THE PETITIQNER.

-

| ;
a _ OPINION OF THE COURT BELOW.

Tue Opinion of the Court below was sendevstt iy. the Court :
Claims on March 3, 1980, in the case of thia petitioner againet .
the United States, No. J-61 on the records of that court. The
opinion has been reported in 38 } Di Mirae neat te

a (R. a

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

Upon the limited basis under which the petition for oer
‘tiorari was granted in the case, the questions presented are,
whether Section 611.of the Revenue Act of 1928 (45 Stat. 791,
875), is to be so construed as to deprive the petitioner of its.
title to and right to possesgion and enjoyment of the money
illegally collected from it as a tax after the statutory period for
collection had expired, and to deprive it of a vested right of
action, which it otherwise would have to its recovery; and, if
so construed, does the section violate the Fifth Amendment of
the Constitution.

IV.
ASSIGNMENT OF ERRORS.
gl: The Court of Clnine eriod in holding that Seotion O18

aa
of the Revenue Act of 1928 was more than an administrative.
and that it was s withdrawal of the consent of the

>» 3

ehusetts, with its principal place of business at Caryville, town
of Bellingham, State of Massachusetts. (R. 16 and 17.)

On June 14, 1919, the pétitioner filed its statutory income
and excess profits tax return for the calendar year 1918, showing
a total tax liability of $429,616.20. This amount, plus interest
of $89.55, was all paid to the Collector of Internal Revenue by
December 13, 1919. (R. 17 and 18.)

On July 29, 1921, petitioner paid an additional income and
excess profits tax for the year 1918 in the amount of $3,262.18,
making a total payment for the year of $432,967.93. (R. 18.)

On December 8, 1921, petitioner filed its claim for refund of
taxes erroneously assessed and collected, the basis of said claim
being an application for assessment under the provisions of
Sections 327 and 328 of the Revenue Act of 1918. (R. 18)

On or about October 7, 1922, the Commissioner of Internal
Revenue in consequence of the aforesaid application and claim
caused. plaintiff’s tax liability to be recomputed under the relief
provisions of said Act and as a result thereof found that the
plaintiff had been overassessed the sum of $92,443, which
| _ mount was duly refunded to the petitioner. (R. 18.)

Qn or about March 25, ee

‘evenue sdviced plaintiff that a of its applica-
en

"

4

in abatement and advised the petitioner that the comparatives
used in the redetermination ‘‘are in the aggregate fairly repre.
sentative in all the material particulars specified in i Act.” _
(R. 19 and 20.)

On June 1, 1925, the petitioner, under protest, sal to the
Collector of Internal Revenue at Boston the sum of $45,398.73
and interest demanded thereon in the amount of $1,800.81,
(R. 20.) |

On or about May 9, 1927, plaintiff filed with the Collector of
Internal Revenue its claim for refund of taxes illegally collected
for the. year 1918 in the amount of $47,199.54, wherein it
alleged that the refund should be made for the reason that the
collection of the said $47,199.54 was made more than five years
after the return of the plaintiff for the year 1918 had been filed.

At the time of the filing of the suit by the petitioner in the
Court of Claims on February 21, 1928, more than six months
had expired since the filing of the claim for refund of May 9;
1927, and the Commissioner of Internal Revenue had rendered
no-desision: thereon st the’ time:of the filing of enid petition,
(R. 22.)

ein cecal ithe ae a siectolawernnccaa
nor fraudulent with intent to evade the tax, nor had plaintiff ©
signed any waiver in connection with said calendar year, nor
‘apy consent in writing with the Commissioner for a later
» Renn eee nd enlbection af the tan.

aes | eae
STATUTES INVOLVED . ie
"The statutes involved are Section 250(d) of the Revenue Act
GF 1021 (42 Stat. 227, 265, 266); Seotions 607 and 611 of the
f ‘Moreen beh of 908 08 Di 791, ty yin Fars? i

Z

5 of

salts mantel ant a

as quickly as practicable. Any tax or

then determined to be due shall

within ten days after notice and demand by the collector

as hereinafter provided, and in such cases no claim in

ae We of the amount so assessed shall be eee:
»)

Sections 607 and 611 of the Revenue Act of 1928 (45 Stat.
791, 874, 875) read as follows:

“Sec, 607. Effect: of Expiration of Period of Limitations

Against United States.

Any tax (or any interest, penalty, additional amount,

or addition to such tax) assessed or paid (whether before of

_ after the enaetment of this Act) after the expiration of te

period 0 itation properly applicable: thereto shall

considered an overpayment and shall be credited or re-

funded to the taxpayer if claim therefor is filed within the

period of limitation for filing such claim.” ,

“Sec, 611. Collections Stayed by Claim in Abatement.
“If any internal-revenue tax (or pense

r to June 2, 1924, and if a ok 2
Meith or wikadt Bead cnt the ?

cine crear

3 shall nos be considetcd as an ovectaamneae
Bee ee oe ecole OM, ons le

~~) et
eo oe

for the recovery of any internal-revenue tax alleged to
have beez erroneously or illegally assessed or collected,
or of any penalty claimed to have been collected without
authority, or of any sum alleged to have been. excessive or
in any manner wrongfully collected until a claim for refund
or credit has been duly filed with the Commissioner of
{Internal Revenue, according to the provisions of law in
that regard, and the regulations of the Secretary of the
Treasury established in pursuance thereof; but such suit
or proceeding may be ne whether or not such
tax, penalty, or sum has paid under protest or duress.
No such suit or p ing shall be begun before the ex-
piration of six morths f the date of filing such claim
(fol. 6)/unle&s the Commissioner renders a decision thereon —
within that time, nor after the expiration of five years
from the date of the payment of such tax, penalty, or sum,
‘unless such suit or proceeding is within two years
after the disallowance of the part of such claim to which
such suit or proceeding relates. The Commissioner shall
within 90 days after any guch disallowance notify the tax-
payer thereof by mail.” :

VI.
ARGUMENT.

1. (a) Sections 607 anp 611 or THe Revenve Act oF
1928 ARE ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS APPLYING ONLY
TO THE CoMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE AND DO
NOT APPLY 70 4 CASE WHERE SUIT IS BROUGHT IN THE _
COURTS. 7

Ristkes 1106(0) of the events Act of 1098 (C. 27, 44 Stat.
_ 9, 113) provides in part as follows: eae
“The bar of the statute of tesikationa naninis ticle
States in respect of any myer et rig ir
operate to bar the emedy but sal extinguish the
in

-

but no credit or scaseok of cath ax
slowed unless the taxpayer has overpaid the tax.”

It will be noted that Section 1106(a) provents« “credit

7

Commissioner of Internal Revenue is the only person authorized
to make a “‘credit” or a “refund,” it is quite apparent that
the limitation against such credits or tefunds in Section 1106(a)

had application to him alone: This conclusion is fully sus- -

tained by the final action taken in the case of Adelaide F. Chap-
many. United States, 63 Ct. Cis: 424, in which that Court. gon-

strued Section 1106(a) of the Revenue Act of 1926 as prevent-
ing the plaintiff in-a suit from recovering barred taxes unless
the taxpayer has actually overpaid the tax. Petition for
certiorari was filed by the taxpayer and in a brief submitted on
behalf of the United States, in which the Solicitor General
agreed that the writ should issue, it was said: =~

“ After we decision in Bowers v. New York and Albany
coee C me eg supra, was handed down and it was
discl that the Court of Claims was in error in holdi
that the claim of the United States had not been
and on March 31, 1927, the petitioner filed a motion for
new trial, which was overruled October 24, 1927. Section
1106(a) was brought to the attention of the Court of
Claims in connection with that motion, although the
record does not Yisclose it, and the action of the Court of
in ov the motion can only be explained on
the theory that it.held that Section 1106(a) "ppatated to
prevent petitioner’ obtaining a refund of the tax paid

notwithstanding Peon cet Fy Sin Ag s

eco ete
ern ‘but no t or in respect
otax shall be allowed unless the taxpa:

paid,
has o
| than a justly — cet regard to is of
ro “Such 8 construction leads to results whos |

i injunction
ed by the a apa
is’ barred by the statute of limitations,

7

case remanded to enter judgment for the taxpayer. October |
term, 1928, 49S. Ct. p. 7; 278 U. 8.660. (See also Fllay Co. v.
Bowers, 25 F(2d), 637; certiorari denied 48 S. Ct..601.)

inquiries are being received both from within
F tka Meee ante the action hich neice

should take in making refunds as a result of the decision

ried!
it st

ne shore een by Se Lee ae
to

the invitation of the Commissioner of Internal Revenue by — 7
enacting Sections 607 and 611 of the Revenue Act of’ 1928.

Section 1106(a) of the Revenue Act of 1926 had imposed
tho Comuninsosser and mada it posse or hin So masks rotunda

oe Section had no application to suits in Court since the Chapman
case, supra, clearly shows that the authority of the Court to
3 allow recovery had not been curtailed by Section 1106(a) of
~ . the Revenue Act of 1926.
-- Section 611 of the Revenue Act of 1928 is merely a limitation
on Section 607 and provides that in a case where an assessment
- was made prior to June 2, 1924, and if a claim in abatement
was filed, and if the collection of any part of the tax was stayed,
ss then the payment of such part was not to be considered an
qverpayment. under the provisions of Section 607. But since
Section 611 was merely a limitation- upon Section 607 and as
Section 607 had no reference to suits in Court it follows as a
matter of course that Section 611 likewise had no reference
to suits in Court. 3 rap: n0: bald tn Domend Alban Co, v.

= Heiner, 39 F. (2d) 648

» ~

(b) Secrion 611 oF THe Revenve Act or 1928 pm nor
WITHDRAW THE CONSENT OF THE UNITED SraTes TO Bp
SUED IN CASES WHERE MONEY WAS COLLECTED AS TAXES
AFTER THE STATUTORY PERIOD FOR COLLECTION HAD
EXPIRED.

The Government contends that by Section 611 of the Reve-
nue. Act of 1928 Congress has withdrawn the consent of the
United States to be sued in the Courts in cases falling within
the purview of that Section. As already pointed out Section
611 is merely a limitation upon Section 607. Section 607
was an enlargement of the power of the Commissioner of
Internal Revenue to make refunds or credits of amounts
collected after the statutory period for collection had expired.
The Chapman case, supra, showed that the Courgs did not
need the additional power which Section 607 gave to the Com-
missioner of Internal Revenue as they already had it. Since,
therefore, Sections 607 and 611 were merely the restoration of
authority in the one case and the limiting of that authority
under certain conditions in the other case, how can it be con-
tended that these Sections withdrew the consent of the United
States to be sued? The word “Court” does not appear in
Sections 607 and 611, and there is no statement in either of
these Sections to the effect that the right of the petitioner to
sue has been..curtailed. The jurisdiction of the Court of
Claims to entertain the suit of the petitioner was established
by the so-called Tucker Act, passed in 1883, which became
Section 145 of the Judicial Code and which now appears as.
Section 250 of Title 28 of the Code of Laws of the United States
of America. The question of the jurisdiction of the Court of
Claims in cases of this type is no longer in controversy. Dooley
v. United States, 182 U. S. 222; United States v. Emery, Bird,
Thayer Realty Company, 237 U.8.28. The petitioner acquired
ita right to bring the suit ixfeconnection with Section 3226 of
the Revised Statutes as. amended. Whenever Congress
intended to change or modify the provisions of Section 3226
of the Revised Statutes it specifically referred to that section
and set forth the particulars in which it was amended. See

11 ;

Revenue Act of 1921, Chap. 136, Sec. 1318, 42 Stat. 315;
Revenue Act of 1924, Chap. 234, Sec. 1014, 43 Stat. 343; Rev-
~ enue Act of 1926, Chap. 27, Sec. 1113, 44 Stat. 9. Certainly
if Congress by any provision of the Revenue Act of 1928 in-
tended to amend Section 3226 specific reference would have
been made to this section in the Revenue Act of 1928. Sections
3220, 3228, and 3176 of the revised statutes were amended by
the Revenue Act of 1928. See Section 619 of the Revenue
Act of 1928. It will be noted that specific reference is made
to these sections of the revised statutes and amendments
enacted in connection therewith. Certainly if Congress in-
tended to amend Section 3226 it would have appeared specifi-
cally as an amendment in the Revenue Act of 1928. |

Any Government ‘‘of the people, by the people, for the
people”’ will afford its citizens a proper judicial tribunal wherein
to fairly litigate wrongs committed by that Government
against its citizens, and when that consent has become a matter

~~ ~of settled law, certainly the courts will not by implication

determine such consent to have been withdrawn. Such a
conclusion should be reached only if the language employed
_ permits of no other construction. Sections 607 and 611. of
the Revenue Act of 1928 are not only devoid of any clear
language to show a withdrawal of the consent of the United
States to be sued but on the other hand they clearly indicate
an intent merely to apply to the powers of the Commissioner
of Internal Revenue. ..

a os of justice have no jurisdiction to make exceptj

Statute, nor to add to the exceptions which thé

. , as this would be legislating. Where the language :
od anh net in explicit, it is not for the court to change it by con- -
struction based upon some supposed legislative policy. It is
not for the court to say that it shall be so construed as to em-
brace other cases because no good reason can be assigned why
they were excluded from its provisions. If the meaning of the
legislature is plain, it must be obeyed.

Vol. 4, Ency. of U. S. S. Ct. Reps. p. 228.
United States, et al. Sie Pek: R. Co., 49 8. Ct.
133; 278 U. 8. 269. *

}

12

The rule was tersely stated in United States v. Hartwell, § :
Wall., 385, 396 (18 L. Ed. 830):

“Tf the language be clear it is conclusive. There can
be no construction where there is nothing to construe.”

This is also the recognized rule of the English courts. In
one of the English decisions Lord Denman said the court was
bound to look to the language employed and construe it in its
natural and obvious sense, even though that was to give the
words of the act an effect probably never contemplated by
those who obtained the act and very probably not intended
by the Legislature which enacted it.

The King v. The Commissioners, 5 A. and E. 804, 816.
See also, United States v. Lexington Mill Co., 232 U. S.,
399, 34S. Ct. 337, 58 L. Ed., 658, L. R. A. 1915B, 774.
Caminetti v. United States, 242 U. S. 470, 485, 37 8. Ct.
192, 61 L. Ed. 442; L. R. A. 1917F, 502, Ann. Cas.
1917B, 1168.

The petitioner wishes to call the attention of this court to
the briefs Amici Curiae filed in the case of R. E. Graham and
E. E. Foster v. Rex. B. Goodcell, 36, October term, 1930, in
which the foregoing propositions are discussed in all their
detail.

2. (a) Ir rr BE HELD THAT CONGRESS INTENDED BY THE EN-
ACTMENT OF SeEcTION 611 or THE REvENUE AcT oF
1928 TO DEPRIVE THE PETITIONER OF ITS RIGHT TO RE-
COVER THE SUM COLLECTED AFTER THE STATUTORY PERIOD
FOR COLLECTION HAD EXPIRED, THEN IT IS CONTENDED
THAT SUCH ATTEMPT IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL AND°VOID IN
THAT If DEPRIVES THE PETITIONER OF ITS PROPERTY
WITHOUT DUE PROCESS OF LAW IN VIOLATION OF THE
FIFTH AMENDMENT OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED

Thess in &. edamented distinction. tetwesn limitation
statutes that merely bar the remedy and those which also
extinguish the liability. General limitation statutes are of

13

the former type and their expiration afford to the defendant a
mere remedy, namely, the setting up of the defense of the ~
statute of limitations. Since such. a statute of limitations
affects the remedy only and does not destroy the liability the
defendant acquires no constitutional rights of protection and
it is within the power of the legislature to alter, amend, or
even completely remove the bar of the Statute of Limitations.
However, the petitioner shall show that with respect to the
latter type of limitation statutes the expiration of the specified
time not only bars the remedy but extinguishes the liability
and gives to a citizen a vested property right which under the
Constitution of the United States is fully protected against
any subsequent legislation of Congress.

In support of the above contention the petitioner relies upon
no less authority than decisions of this court. In the case of
Tozaway Mills v. United States, 61 Ct. Cls. 363, decided by
the Court of Claims under date of December 7, 1925, that
Court applied the rule that the bar of the Statute of Limitations
found in Federal Tax Acts merely barred the remedy and did
not destroy the liability; consequently, the claimant could
not, as a plaintiff, sue to recover taxes alleged to have been
collected after the bar of the Statute of Limitations since this
matter could be raised only as a defense. This theory of the
Court of Claims was exploded by this Court in the cases of
Bowers v. New York & Albany Lighterage Company, 273 U. 8.

send Graham v. du Pont, 262 U. S. 284. The Solicitor
General of the United States thereupon confessed error in the
Toxaway Mills case and this Court remanded the case to the
Court of Claims with instructions to enter judgment in favor
of the plaintiff. 273 U. 8. 781. This case in itself shows a
distinction between general statutes of limitations and the
time limitations a. specified in the various revenue acts, since
if there is no distinction then the conclusion of the Court of
Claims to the effect that the bar of the statute can be raised
only as a defense was correct.

This Court recognized the distinction referred to above in
the case of Central Vermont Railway v. White, 238 U. S. at p.
511, when it said:

tied

14

;

And in the case of Eberhart v. United States, 204 Fed. Rep.
pp. 890-891, the Court stated in clear terms the very distinc-
tion for which the petitioner now contends. In the course of
the opinion the Court said:

**An act of Congress, which at the same time and in
itself authorizes or creates a new liability and prescribes
the limitations thereof and of its enforcement, makes those
limitations conditions of the liability itself. Such an act i is
not a statute of limitations, and a compliance with the
conditions which it prescribes is indispensable to the
enforcement of the liability it authorizes or creates, * * *
because such limitations are conditions of the liability
itself and not limitations of the remedy only.”

In this connection see also Bashara v. Hopkins, 290 Fed.
592; affirmed 295 Fed. 319; Certiorari denied, 265 U. S. 584;
44 S. Ct. 459; svemtachog v. Gulf & Ship Island R. R. Co.,
268 U. S. 633.

Similarly, i tei hate United States v. John Barth Company,
27 Fed. (2d) 782, 784 the Court said:

The statement of this Court in the case of Russell et al. v.
United States, 49 8. Ct. 121, 123; 278 U. 8. 181, shows that it
is in full accord with the principle of law announced in the
cases referred to above. This Court said:

15
“‘Manifestly, but for Section 278 (Revenue Act of 1924) ;

petitioners would be free from li pe oy Jive- year
limitation in the act of 1918, continued by the act of 1921. ©
If Sectiog278 refers only to assessments few’ after June

2, 1924, petitioners are not liable.

“Tf an assessment made before that date comes within
the ambit of Section 278, its effect would be retroactive ;
and certainly it would ‘produce radical change in the
existing status of the claim against the petitioners—
would extend for some five years a liability which had almost
expired. United States v. Magnolia a ro Nag ay
276 U. S. 160, 48 S. Ct. 236, 72 L. Ed
‘Statutes are not to be given retroactive page or construed
to change the status of claims fixed in accordance with
earlier provisions unless the legislative purpose so to do
plainly appears.’” (Itslics ours.)

+ It will be noted this Court stated that if it were not for —
Section 278 of the Revenue Act of 1924 the petitioners would
be free from liability under the five year limitation in the Act of
1918 continued by the act of 1921. The words “free from
liability” are not ambiguous. They can be cofistrued to mean
but ene thing, namely, upon the expiration of the five year
limitation period the liability of the petitioner would have been
completely extinguished. Furthermore, this Court said that
if Section 278 of the Revenue Act of 1924 were construed to
apply retroactively it would extend for some five years the
liability which had almost expired. The words ‘‘almost ex-
pired” means that the expiration of time had almost extin-
guished the liability. They could reasonably have no other

Other authorities could.be aited to the same effect. The
cases referred to seem to establish beyond any doubt that
the time limitation provisions found in the various Revenue
Acts not only bar the remedy at the expiration of the period
specified but that they also extinguish the liability.

(b) UpoN THE EXPIRATION OF THE TIME LIMITATION PRO-
VIDED FOR BY THE REVENUE ACTS, THE PETITIONER
ACQUIRED A VESTED PROPERTY RIGHT.

16 NG

mena Vol. 4, page 202, defines avoid Pa

“A vested right is an immediate right of present en-
eee of future enjoyment.” —

In the case of nidicanacds Railway Cini, 161 U. 8. 646,
“Rights are said to be vested, terol ES, sala

joyment, present or prospective, has become
of Lan hasncacntach ater senate haces ery

In the case of Gladney v. Syndor, 172 Mo. 318, the Court
said:

“Vested rights may be created either by the common
‘law, by statute, or by contract, and it makes,no difference
as to the method o their creation, they are entitled to the

is same protection.” (Italics supplied.)

.' When we consider the above definitions there appears to be
‘no doubt that when the passing of time under the various
Revenue Acts extinguished the liability of this petitioner with
' respect to its tax liability for the year 1918 it acquired a vested
right of present enjoyment in the realization that no further
liability remained for that year and this realization, upon the
expiration of the time limitation under the statute, was just as
effectual as though the petitioner had taken its money. to the
Collector of Internal Revenue before the expiration of the
period and removed the liability by a payment in cash. In
the latter case the liability would have been removed by pay-
ment in cash while in the fosmer case the liability was removed
by operation of law. The result in either case would be exactly
the same, namely, the extinguishment of the liability. It
seems fundamental that 4 taxpayer who paid his liability in
cash thereby acquired a vested right not to be called upon
again to satisfy the same liability. For the same reason the

whose liability is extinguished by operation of law
acquires a vested right of present enjoyment in knowing that

17

- the liability which had been extinguished is forever gone. The
petitioner shall show that such a right is fully protected under
the Fifth Amendment of the Constitution of the United States.

(c) lr Szcrion 611 18 SO CONSTRUED AS TO DEPRIVE PETITIONER
OF ITS PROPERTY AND ITS VESTED RIGHT OF ACTION OF
RECOVERY, IT WOULD BE CONTRARY TO THE FirrH AMEND-
MENT OF THE ConsTITUTION.

“Fy sil Comat deteominen Gat Conavenniiahanial ae Macias
611 to deprive petitioner of its property and also of its vested
right of action of recovery, this Section would be violative of
the Fifth Amendment, and void so far as petitioner’s case is
eoncerned. The decisions of this Court sustain the petitioner
in this contention.

Mr. Justice Chase, in the case of Calder y. Bull, 3 Dall. 385,
at p. 388 (1 L. Ed. 648), said:

_ uarane ous woah te Tasniee Sie

can not do, without _— on

crn et injure by po : we madlga Noe

-_ security for , OF pri ,
protection whereof the es oad

Peper pcg oehe sm “a Se eeeen

irony $a. She ena’, See rene te Jane

ean not be considered a rightful serie of opal

to intrust a with powers; and
erin to, inion 0. Kaionhans. a> oi Revers, tt

To apply Section 611 to petitioner’s caseonotwithstanding
_ Section 715, the Separability Clause of the Revenue Act of

1928, would render that section unconstitutional.
Nichols v, Coolidge, 274 U.S. 58;52 A, L. R. 1081.
"Blodgett v. Holden, 275 U. 8. 142,

Untermyer et al, v. Anderson, Coliector of Internal
Revenue, 276 U, 8. 440; 48 S, Ct. 353,

Justice demands that petitioner be permitted to assert its

legal and constitutional rights on reasonably equal terms with
the respondent before an impartial judicial tribunal. °

18

Atchison, Topeka & Sanita Fe Railway Company y, ~
O’Connor, 223 U. S. 280.

Christie-Street Commission Co. v. United States, 136 -
Fed. 326, 69 C. C. A. 464.

Emery, Bird, Thayer Reality: Co. v. United States, 198
Fed. 242 (affirmed 237 U. S. 28).

Fidelity & Columbia Trust Co. v. Lucas, 7 F. (2d), 146.

In the case of Rock Island Ry. Company v. United States, 254 .
U. S. at page 143, this Court said that men must turn square
corners when they deal with the Government. Should not the —
Government ‘also be required to turn square corners when it
deals with its citizens?

The distinction between rights and remedies is fundamental.
A right is a well founded or acknowledged claim; a remedy is
the means employed to enforce a right or redress an injury.
Chelentis v. Luckenback S. 8. Co., 247 U. 8. 384.

“Statutes concerning remedies are such as relate to
the course and mode of procedure to enforce or defend a
substantive right. Matters which belong to the remedy

are subject to changg ~~ : nes and even repeal,
provided the legislati¢n'doe: indoe: ot operate toimpair a contract
pectin. stem tagi-ty Svat weak right. If the changing
= i ~~ rat i" pet tharcggae ee ages
pated thority. Rights

ies shade one into the wiher'so that is ia sometimes
difficult to say that a particule act creates a right or merely
gives a remedy: So also & statute, under the form of
taking away or changingaps —_ eteaian att
an existing perty ri mpai tion of a
contract. * Be The right to compenss on was a vested
property right.” (Italics supplied.) ~

Ettor v. Tacoma, 228 U. 8. at pp. 155, 156 and 158. f

Smallwood v. Gallardo, 275 U. 8. 56; 48 8. Ct. 23.

In the early case of Dartmouth College v. Woodward, 4 Wheat,
518, this Court laid down the rule that where individuals have
acquired absolute or vested rights under a statute.a subsequent
repeal can not divest these rights. 4

‘
ha
oe

And in the case of Pritchard vy. Norton, 106 U. 8. 132, this
Court said: a :
B Regents t of action is property in the same sense
in which tangible things are property and is equally
tected against arbi interference. Whether it

from contract or from the principles of the common law it is
not competent for the legislature to take it away.”

“In the case of Memphis v. United States, 97 U: 8, p. 293, this
Court said:

“‘We do not deny that it is competent for a legislature
to repeal an Act which when it was passed was a mere
gratuity, if while it was in existence no vested righis have
been acquired under it or in virtue of it.’’ (Italica supplied.)

A similar conclusion was reached by the Court in United
States v. Henrich, 12 Fed.(2d) 940, viz:

‘*My eonclusion here is that Congress can not enact a
law that would destroy, impair or injuriously affect rights
‘that have vested under a former constitutional enactment, —
and that to enforce the Act of June 4, 1920, against the -
defendant and require him to pay for his property
would bein violation of constitutional guarantee
heretofore cited.’ (Fifth Amendment of the Constitution
of the United States.)

A law can be repealed by the lawgiver, but the rights which
have been acquired under it while it was in force do not thereby
cease. This was the rule of the civil law and has been strictly .
adhered to in England where there is no express restriction upon
legislative power. County of McCracken v. Mercantile Trust
Company, 84 Ky. 314; 1S. W. 585.

In the case of Crump v. Guyer, 157 Pac. 321; 2 A, L. R. 331,
the Court reached the same legal conclusion, and then said:

“To hold otherwise would leave us at sea and place it
in the power of the legislature at will to disturb, and even
destroy by subsequent legislation rights which hed accrued .
under existing laws.”

20

By what right does the United States retain this illegally
collected sum, or what statute creates and imposes any new
liability upon this petitioner, or precludes it from recovering
‘back the illegally collected sum of money, or what law or
statute of Congress could deprive petitioner of its property
and authorize the United States to keep and retain its property
in violation of the Fifth Amendment of the Constitution?
Certainly Section 611 did not confer such right and authority
in the respondent.

Thijs Court, in the case of De Lima v. Bidwell, 182 U. S. p.
199, speaking through Mr. Justice Brown, said:

“‘ As the action in this case was brought March 13, 1900,
eleven days before the act was passed, the right to recover
the money sued for could not be taken away by a subsequent
act of Congress.

“Plaintiffs sue in assumpsit for money which the Col-
lector has in his hands, justly and equitably belonging to
them. To say that Congress could by a subsequent act
deprive them of the right to prosecute this action, Would
be beyond its power. In any event, it should ‘not be
interpreted so as to make it retroactive.”

To the same effect is Lincoln v. United States, 202 U.S. p.
485. In this connection we invite the Court’s attention to the
arguments presented by the appellants and the United States
in this latter case, at pp. 485-495, for the reason that many of
the questions-there discussed are similar, if not identical, to
most of the questions involved in the instant case.

(d) CONGRESS WAS WITHOUT POWER TO EXTEND THE
! STATUTORY BAR, IN PETITIONER’S CASE, AFTER IT HAD
FALLEN AND PETITIONER HAD ACQUIRED A VESTED
PROPERTY RIGHT.

A claim for abatement, by no stretch of the imagination, can
be construed so as to extend the statute of limitations, except,
of course, such claims for abatement as came within the scope
of Sections 214 and 234 of the 1918 and 1921 Revenue Acts.

As claims for abatement were recognized prior to the enact-
ment of Section 250(d) of the Revenue Act of 1921 and have

21

been directly legislated on in that Section, that Act, for the
first time, specifically provided that taxes should be determined
and assessed within five years after the return was filed, unless
both the Commissioner and the taxpayer consent in writing to a
later determination, assessment, and collection of the tax. Bowers,
etc. v. New York & Albany Lighterage Company, et als., 273 U.S.
346, at p. 351; 47.S. Ct. 389, at pp. 390-391). This Court held
in the case of Botany Worsted Mills v. United States, 278 U.S.
282; 49 S. Ct. 129:

‘When a statute limits a thing to be done in a particular
mode, it includes the negative of any other mode.”

Moreover, if a claim for abatement in all cases “‘stayed”’ the
running of the statute, the enactment of Section 611, of the
Revenue Act of 1928, would be of no significance whatsoever.
(Danzer & Co. v. Gulf & Ship Island R. R. Co., supra; and
Bessemer Coal & Coke Co. v. Heiner, 39 F. (2d), 492.)

Under Section 250(d) of the Revenue Act of 1921, as con-
strued by this Court in the case of Bowers, etc. v. New York and
Albany Lighterage Company, et al., 273 U. S. 346, the claim of
the United States for the alleged additional tax against this
petitioner was barred by the operation of the limitation statute
prior to the time when it was collected and any collection by
means of distraint proceedings instituted after the five year.
period was unlawful.

Upon its payment under protest and duress when barred it
became a tax illegally collected, and the petitioner was entitled
to its refund and to maintain a suit to recover the amount paid.

Under the decision in Graham v. du Pont, 262 U. S. 234, the
petitioner could not have maintained an action to restrain
collection of the tax on the ground that it was barred by the
Statute of Limitations. It was compelled to pay the additional
tax with the right then to demand a refund.

After its claim for refund was made, the petitioner filed its
suit in the Court of Claims, and while its suit was pending
Section 611 of the Revenue Act of 1928 was enacted.

Section 611 should not be interpreted to be retrospective in
tion so as to destroy a right to recovery in a case where a
suit’was properly filed and was pending at the time of the
passage of the Revenue Act of 1928 because, if so construed,
the result would be to discriminate between the petitioner,
whose case had not proceeded to final judgment, and those
taxpayers. whose cases had proceeded to judgment as in the
cases of Bowers v. New York & Albany Lighterage Company et
al. supra, and Russell v. United States, supra. Furthermore
such construction would deprive the petitioner of a vested
property right to recover by judgment the amount of money
sued for which would be in violation of the Fifth Amendment.
It is further contended that a subsequent Congress does not
have the power to declare that money which a former Con-
gress, and this Court, have said belongs to a taxpayer because
unlawfully and illegally collected by duress, shall be retained
by the Treasury Department.

3. THE LEGAL: PRINCIPLES ESTABLISHED BY THE CASES OF
Unrrep Sratas v. Hernszen, 206 U.S. 370; Rarrerty
v. Smira, Bert & Company, 257 U. S. 226; ann
CamPBELL v. Hort, 115 U. S. 620, po Not APPLY TO
THE CASE OF THIS PETITIONER.

The lower Courts that have decided in favor of the Govern-
ment on the issue found in the case of this petitioner relied
principally upon the three cases cited in the above heading. It
is submitted that the principles annougced in these cases have
no application to the case of this petitioner. The cases of
United States v. Heinszen and Rafferty v. Smith, Bell & Com-
pony, terely raised the question of the right of Congréss to
pass an act legalizing and ratifying the imposition and collection
of duties by the authorities of the United States in the Philip- _
. pine Islands prior to the passage of the Act. The only question
of constitutional law involved in this issue was whether or not
Congress could pass a law imposing a tax or a duty retroactive-
ly. There is no doubt but that Congress has such power.

However, the application of Section 611 of the Revenue Act

23 .

of 1928, if it be held to be an attempt to deprive this petitioner
from recovering, presents an entirely different question of con-
gtitutional law. The act under consideration in the Heinszen
case, created an original liability retroactively. On the basis
of the argument of the Government, Section 611 would not
’ result in the creation of an original liability but would be an
attempt to recreate a liability that had been created by a
prior Revenue Act, which liability had been completely ex-
tinguished by operation of law upon the expiration of the period
specified in the statute.

This distinction is clearly shown by this Court j in the case of
Forbes Boat Line v. Commissioners, etc.; 258 U. S. 338, 339.
When speaking through Justice Holmes the Court said:

“Stripped of conciliatory phrases the question is
whether a state legislature can take away from a private
party a right to recover money that is due when the act
is passed. The argument that prevailed below was based
on the supposed analogy of United States v. Heinszen & Co.,
206 U. S. 370; (Rafferty v. Smith, Bell & Company, 257
U._S. 226), which held that Congress could ratify the
collection of a tax that had been made without authority
of law. That Snalogy, however, f fails.\ A tax may be
imposed in respect of past benefits, so that if instead of
calling it a ratification Congress had purported to impose
the tax for the first time the enactment would have been
within its power. Wagner v. Baltimore, 239 U. 8. 207,
216, 217. But generally ratification of an act is not good
if attempted at a time when the ratifying —w could
not lawfully do the act.”

The case of Campbell v. Holt, supra, involved the breach of a
common law liability on a tontract. This Court held that
the expiration of the bar of limitations applied to the remedy
only, and did not extinguish the liability. Consequently,
subsequent legislation affecting the remedy did not deprive
the citizen of his property without due process of law. It is
quite apparent that the principle in the case of Campbell v.
Holt does not apply to the case of this petitioner. The Court

4

recognized the distinction in the case of Eberhart v. t
States, supra, when it said (page 511):

“They (statutes of time litnitation that not only bar.
remedy but extinguish the liability) are exce from
rule announced in Campbell v. Holt, 115 U. 3. 628; 6 Sup.

a just personal debt for a common law liability, in that case
for a conversion of the plaintifi’s money, is not a vested
right, which the legislature may not overthrow at pleasure.
by extending the time for collecting it.” :

See also Danzar and Bashara cases, supra.

It is submitted, therefore, that the principles of law found —
in the three cases relied upon by the lower Courts have no *”
application to the case of this petitioner and are not authorities |
to defeat its vested property rights. 2

CONCLUSION.

In conclusion the petitioner contends that Sections 607 and —
611 of the Revenue Act. of 1928 are administrative provisions
affecting only the Commissioner of Internal Revenue; that —
they in no sense can be construed as a withdrawal by the —
United States of its consent to be sued; that upon the expira-
tion of the time specified in the statute the petitioner acquired —
vested property rights, subject to the protection of the Fifth
Amendment of the Constitution of the United States, and that
itis beyond the power of Congress to affect those rights by any —
subsequent legislation. 4

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0456%3A35. Public record. Not legal advice.
