# petition for a writ of certiorari — Broad River Power Co. v. South Carolina Ex Rel. Daniel

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0436%3A03

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** petition for a writ of certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1930
- **Citation:** 282 U.S. 187

## Text

‘RAILWAY; GAS AND ELECTRIC COMPANY, ;
te a PD, CAMENELES Peseriowmms, 08) SY
“share or ‘souTH CAHOLINA ik Bee Sons's :
Dare, Acqoenty Ger See eee ee

>

’ A e F
r "
' t
pet q 4
’ 2
3 ;
;
; ts =
"SUPREME: COURT OF ? ovr GANOLNA. eh
r 7
; Of % 6 ate
a? . ‘e ’ Ne 1 "
/ 3 a 2: te 3:3, , ‘ 4
‘ 4 SS m

- , nm ty » . ’ a

pica "0. 2OWARD PAXSON, * te

Ler ease _ GEORGE M. LEPINE,

writ of certiorari : Page
1
5
18

wy statement of the matter involved..............
relied on for the allowance of the writ. .........

_ Works and Imp. Co. v. Public Service Commis
; City of Charleston, 92 U. B., OTT ieee e cence ese.
om Co, v. Railroad Commission, 261 U. 8., 393,
a eS emma saa ae ba trek ids ae ae
Railroad Commission, 264 U. 8., 513. hears’
id, ete., Co. v. Georgia, 92 U. S., O85.......... °
ale Of Palms Traction Co. v. Shealy, 226 Fed., 406. oe
ete., B. Co, v. Virginia, 94 U. S., 716, 718......-- 7
; y, etc., Co. y: Columbus, 249 U. 8., 390...... 10
& T. Co. v. Bourland, 267 U. S., 380......... 4,6, 10,12
Ina. Co. v, Home Water Supply Co., 226 ¥. 8.

oeeeer er eee

SPPSP RSLS SHS POSE RAH E DSHS LON ORES OD?

So 262 U. &., 482... cis. ccncessee
yy. Conness, 108 U. 8. Ps oi ov sais ga
Bank y. Doud, 105 Fed, 128.......0:.+.-+-.
t News & M. Valley Co, 13 ©. ©. A; 95; 81
GB Wed, 126... cc0+ 5 vsen cee cee ctenneee es 10 *
aes Rae ee ee

‘94 U. S., 113, 126; 24 L. Bé., TT, BAL cc cee se

a a a

ne Ne recn:
cjhakeea tet eee ‘

eau s

a ©

Savcnds eta linay saccg ites cenaseeuseusces®

| Oo; +. North Dekets, 296 TW. 8. 08--.---+- 8
cirie Service Co., 17 Pa. Corp. Rep., 246. ... 8 |
Oh. Ben Avon Boneh, 58.8.2. Be Se

meets > : °

Philadelphia & W. BR. Co. v. Maryland, 10 How., 374, 376...

Potter-Matlock Trust Co. v. Warren County, 182 Ky., 840; 207

s. WwW, PI ah we cow's Sass 6 Kecwundaids Gab aks uncicbAcnevicna

ke Prendergast v. New York Telephone Co., 262 U. S., 43........
: Texas v. Eastern Texas Railroad Co., 264:U. 8., 79. ..... 6, 7,9, i
Texas, eic., R. Co. v. Marshall, 136 U. S., 308...............,

The Delaware Railroad Tax, 18 Wall, 206............66.... 0% :

. Tomlinson v. Branch, 15 Wall, 460... ... 2... 00. .c0cccccseces
. Wolff Paeking Co. v, Court of Industrial Relations, 262 U.S,

622 SECS S EEE TER HTEHESES HEHEHE RHE HEHROH HHO EHD ESE EE OS
Taste or Starures -Crrep.

BROAD RIVER POWER COMPANY; COLU!
RAILWAY, GAS AND ELECTRIC. COMPANY,
anv F. D. CAMPBELL, Peririonsns,

vs.

- Dann, —— Guwmmat,

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Mo the Honorable the Chief Justice oa the detsainté
_ Justices of the Supreme Court of the Umted: States:

a petition of Broad River Power Company, Co.
ambi Railway, Gas and Electric Company, and F. D.”
el respectfully shows to this Honorable Court:

the State i in a mandamus proceeding instituted by

State court have not yet been officially reported. (Sse 4

_ for the obligations of the railway company, i
any obligation to operate the street-railway ster
"ye oat on amounting over thi

oO
“

a 3
2

of the — Court of South Carolina i in favo

compel them to operate a street-railway system : d 2
had been abandoned becanse of losses sustained in the:
operation thereof. (The judgment is contained in thy
opinion of the Court, R. 251.) The scat af the ju

rehearing was filed on July 18, 1929, ax as-dismii ~~
on September 25, 1929 (R. 272). The opinions oli he

R. 203, 251.)

petitioners herein to maintain and operate the sti oe ee
railway system inj the City of Columbia, 8. C., nd
vicinity, operation of which was sbandoned on March
11, 1927. The petitioner Columbia Railway, Gas and -
Electric. Company (hereinafter called the ‘rai

company) was the owner of the street-railway syste
F. D. Campbell was the manager of the company, a
Broad River Power Company (hereinafter called
power company) was the purchaser of the.gas and -
electric properties formerly belonging to the lw Bs
company and. was the owner of its common stock.
mae ib ad acne’ thes the prwer-comoeny aah al

| l defense set up in the p

>

>

ins to about 675,000, without any yin
giation or return on the investment: (BR. a

= sisined operation Renee dues the peniiaa
ein of their property without due process’ of law,
jn violation of the Fourteenth ee to ~~.

es in part due to jitney Sodapekitions the city’ avi
of jitneys in large numbers (BR. 522). Even’
“prior to this competition, however, losses had been
regularly incurred (R. 1129). The referee to. whom
~ the c case was referred found that the railway. had been,
“and could only in the future be, operated at, a loss, and
“that under the Fourteenth Amendment to the United
“tates Constitution operation could not be comipelled
3 195, 196). He recommended that the’ ‘proceedings
"he dismissed (R. 196). “The Supreme Court of South -
Garoling disapproved the conclusions of the referee
and rendered judgment that the writ ofmandamus
inane as prayed for (R. 203).. Cothran, J., dissented
4 fron oe decision of the Court (B. 251). 7

TL The Supreme Court of South Carolina based its

authority, and that. if the business as a hole vas
profitable, the abandonment of the street-railway serv.
ice. (without the abandonment of the other services)

Bourland, 297 U. S. 330, and similar cases involving
attempts to abandon part of a line of railway coven
by a single franchise (R. 218). _ °

(b) That the statute creating the street- -railway wll. :
pany constituted a contract with the State to operate
the street| railway, even though its operation could
only be had at a loss (R. 221). «

(c) That the ordinances of th€ City of Columbia
“granting the right to operate a street railway on the
streets of the city constituted a contract to operate the —
same, and that the fact that operation could not be had
except at a loss was no defense (R. 235, 237 ). oe

(d) That-certain contracts between ‘ia street-rail- |
way company. and land-devélopment corporations (B. ;
851, 885, 864, 1063), under which extensions were pe
to the railway lines, required operation of. the ¢
street-railway system, to the enforcement. of
loss was no defense, and created public dutjes wh
could be enforced i in these proceedings (R. 239, 241

(e) That right-of-way g grants made in considera ti
. Of ‘the advantage and benefit of the inter

lands’? constituted contracts for operation to the
foreément of which Joss was no defense, and crea

oe

5
public duties which cduld be enforeed in these pro-
ewedings (BR. 240, 241).

if That the evidence as to past losses did not con-
‘dusively show that with proper management the sys-
“gm could not be operated at a profit in the future (R.
* 950), and that great weight should be attached to the
finding of the railroad commission (made after the in-
ftitation of these proceedings) that if properly man-
‘aged the railway could be made to yield a fair return,
which conclusion was adopted by the court (BR. 243).

(9) That the power company, as the purchaser of
the electric and gas properties of the railway company,
took the same burdened with the obligations of the
railway franchises retained by the railway company,
both by virtue of.the provisions of the act authorizing
the sale (R. 806) and because, under the evidence show-
ing that the power company owned the stock of/the
‘railway company and controlled it, the companies must
be treated as one entity (R. 205).

: ‘Reasons Reliod on for the Allowance of the Writ.

ak The. question. involved in this case is one of na-
tional importance in view of the precarious financial
‘tondition: of- street-railway systems — throughout the
Un States (which isa matter of common knowledge)
“and is one which vitally affects the right of those’who
‘have invested large sums in such enterprises to salvage
“* portion oftheir investment. It is also a question

- a, ®

%

a eT

i

be
“aes
he

&

which, wrongly decided, will seriously impede the ex.
pansion of the electric industry, many electric prop.
erties being now, or having been at some time in the
past, connected with a street-railway system.

II. The judgment of the State court requiring your
petitioners to operate the railway system in question
deprives them of their property without due process:
of law, in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment to
the United States Constitution, which was specifically
set up and pleaded, and such judgment and decision is
in direct conflict with the decisions of this Court in
the following cases: - |

Brooks-Scamlon Co. v. Railroad Commission,
251 U. 8. 393; :

Bullock v. Florida Railroad Commission, %4
U. 8. 513; .

Texas v. Eastern Texas Railroad Company, 264
U.S. 79; ‘oe

Wolff Packing Co. v. Court of Industrial Rela-
tions, 262 U. S. 522; :

Ft. Smith L. é T. Co. v. Bourland, 267 U. 8. 330,

‘Apart from statute or express contract —
people who have put their money into a railroad _
are not bound to go on with it at a loss if there
is no reasonableyprospect of profitable opera.
tion in the future. Brooks-Scanlon Co. v. Rai

road Commission, 251 U. 8. 396, 64 L. ed. 323,
P. U. B. 1920 C, 579, 40 Sup. Ct. Rep. 183, No.
implied contract that they will do so can be.
elicited from the mere fact that they have ae
cepted a charter from the State, and have been

SEs

7

allowed to exercise the power of eminent
domain.’’ Bullock v. Florida Railroad Com-
mission, 254 U. 8. 513, 520, 521. sg

TIL In a case of this character this Court has de-
cided that it will determine for itself whether any con-
tract exists which can sustain what would otherwise
amount to a confiscation, and that it is not concluded
by the decision of the State court. Georgia Ry. é P.
Co. v. Decatur, 262 U. S. 432; Texas & Eastern Texas
R. Co., 264 U.S. 79.

IV. The decision of the State court that the act
under which the railway company was incorporated
constituted a grant of a combined franchise for street-
“yailway, electric and gas service (R. 218), based on |
extracts from other statutes interpolated by the court
into the Consolidation Act (R. 215) which are not in
the act itself (R. 809), is in direct conflict with the
decisions of this Court in Philadelphia & W. R. Co. v.
Maryland, 10 How. 374; Tomlinson v. Branch, 15 Wall.
460; The Delaware Railroad Taz, 18 Wall. 206; Cen-
tral Railroad, etc., Co. v. Georgia, 92 U. 8. 665; Branch
», City of Charleston, 92 U. S. 677; Greene County v.
Conness, 109 U. S. 104; New Orleans Gas Co. v.
Louisiana Light Co., 115 U. S. 650; Chesapeake, etc.,
BR. Co. v. Virginia, 94_U. 8. 718, which hold that in
‘such a case the franchises of the constituent companies
continue as separate franchises in the consolidated
company. In Greene County v. Conness, 109 U.S. 104, -
a court said:

“Tf only a sale of the Peed to another com-
pany had been authorized and made, then it

8 ~

might very plausibly have been contended
the purchasing company took and held it der
its own charter only, without the franchises and

privileges connected with it in the hands of the
vendor company ; but ‘consolidation’ is not
and when two companies are authorized to com
solidate their roads, it is to be presumed that
the franchises and privileges of each continue.

to exist in respect to the several roads so con
solidated.’’

V. The decision of the State court that the fact that’
the electric and gas business was being conducted by
the power company at a profit precluded an abandon-
ment of street-railway service by the railway com-
pany on account of losses, which should be met out of
the gas and electric earnings (R. 218), is in direct con-
flict with the decision of this Court in Brooks-Scanlon
Co. v. Railroad Commission, 251 U. S. 396; Northern
Pac. R. Co. v. North Dakota, 236 U. S. 585; Norfolk &
W. R., Co. v. Conley, 236 U. S. 605, as well as with the
decisions of other courts in well reasoned opinions.

Northern Ill. L. & T. Co. v. Illinois Commerce
Com., 302 Til. 11;
Mt. Carmel Public Utilities & Service Co. v.

Public Utilities Com., 297 Tl. 303; :
Illinois Trust & Sav. Bank v. Doud, 105 Fed.

123; a
Re Northwestern Electric Service Co., 17 Pa.

Corp. Rep. 246. =

In Brooks-Scanlon Co. v. Railroad VOenneerne
U. 8. 396, this court said:

9»

‘‘The plaintiff may be making money from its
saw mill and lumber business, but it no more
can be compelled to spend that than it can be
compelled to spend any other money to main-
tain a railroad for the benefit of others who do
not care to pay for it. If the plaintiff be taken

to have granted to the public an interest in the
use of the railroad, it may withdraw its grant
by discontinuing the use when that use can be
kept up only at a loss. Munn v. Illinois, 94 U.S.
113, 126, 24 L. ed., 77, 84. The principle is
* illustrated by the many cases in which the con-
stitutionality of a rate is shown to depend upon
whether it yields to the parties concerned a fair
return.”’ :

VL. The decision of the State court that the charter
of the railway company constituted a contract with the
State which required operation at a loss (R. 221) is
in direct conflict with the decisions of this Court in
Brooks-Scanlon Co. v. Railroad Commission, 251 U. S.
396; Texas v. Eastern Texas R. Co., 264 U. 8S. 79;
Bullock v. Flogjda Railroad Commission, 254 U. 8S. 513.

‘‘The usual permissive charter of a railroad
company doés not give rise to any obligation on
the part of the company to operate its road at a
loss. No contract that it will do so can be
elicited from the ac@eptance of the charter or

from putting the road“in operation.”’
Texas v. Eastern Texas R. Co., 264 U. 8S.

79, 85: -

_ VIL. The decision of the State courts that the ordi-
ances of Columbia (BR. 833 et seq.) constituted con-
_ ‘acts which required operation of the street railway
ata loss (R. 235, 237) is in direct conflict with the

10°

decisions of this Court in Brooks-Scanlon v. Raiiro
Commission, 251 U. 8. 396; Texas v. Eastern Texas
Co., 264 U. S. 79; Bullock v. Florida Railroad Co
mission, 254 U. 8. 513; Ft. Smith L. é T. Co. v. Bour-
land, 267 U. S. 330, and is not supported by Colwmbug
Railway, etc., Co. v. Columbus, 249 U. 8. 399, whi
_ involved an ordinance for a fixed term, at a fixed
of fare, an acceptance, and an absence of total opera-
tion at a loss, none of which factors exist in this =
The decision of the State court also conflicts with the
decisions of other courts in well-reasoned opinions,
Potter-Matlock Trust Co. v. Wonvay: Count
182 Ky. 840;
Mt. Carmel Public Utilities & Service Co. o
Public Utilities Com., 297 Ill. 303.
Northern Ill. L. & T. Co. v. IMinois Commeutl
Com., 302. Ill. 11; 2
Charleston-Isle of Palms Traction Co. v. Shey fe
266 Fed. 406.

VIII. The decision of the State court that the
tracts with land-development corporations (one of
which had been extinguished by a deed, R. 1066)
existing agreements which required continued opera- —
tion, even at a loss, and created public duties wh i
could be enforced in these proceedings (R. 239, 21
is contrary to the decisions of this Court in Tezas, d
R. Co. v. Marshall, 136 U. S. 393; German Allian
Ins. Co. v. Home Water Co., U. S. 220, and w.
the decision in Jones v. Newport News € M. Val
Co., 65 Fed. 736 (opinion per Taft, J.), as well: as w
the previous decision of the edtrt in Ancrum
Camden Water, etc., Co., 828. ( Cc. deco :

ee = whee

Hn?
ae
A :

11

d right-of-way agreements which required con-
operation at a loss (R. 240, 241) is without any
7 to sustain the same.

-X. The decision of the State: cannot be sus-
isd on the theory that privaté chytracts were en- ©
- forced i in favor of private corporations and individuals,
~ jnvolving no constitutional question, for the reason
that the judgment of that court gfants to the attorney
_ general and all interveners the relief ‘‘as prayed for’’
(R. p. 251, fol. 287), and the rélief- prayed for by the
- attorney general was that the respondents be directed
“to furnish and maintain adequate and satisfactory
‘street-car service thereon in the city of Columbia and
its environs permanently in accordance with the pro-
visions of their charters, contracts, and provisions of
_ law applicable thereto’’ (R. p. 8, fol. 11), and this is
the prayer which is joined in by the interveners.. (See,
@ g., B. p. 47, fol. 62.) In other words, ‘adequate
and satisfactory street-car service * * * in the city
‘of Columbia’’ could not have been adjudicated under
_ alleged contracts ‘having reference only to detached
_ portions of the system and not providing for **ade-
a and satisfactory sarvice.’”

- XL The decision of the State court that ptiaeidiey
"lect shouldbe given the finding of the Railroad Com
- Mae which is = legislative body, that the railway
COL if properly managed, be operated in the future
“® profit (RB. 243), which finding was made after
commencement of these proceedings, in which the
Tuilroed Commission later joined ass party, is in

49:

Valley Water Co. v. Ben Avon Borough; 253 U. 8. 28

Prendergast v..N. Y. Tel. Co., 262 U. S.: 43; Oklahos
Operating Co. v. Love, 252 U. 8. 331;: Bluefield Wai
Works and Imp. Co, v. Public Service Comm ssi
262 U. S. 679; and was without evidence to support it,
as the evidence before the Railroad: Commission, whic, —
is a part of the record (R. 884 et seg.), was uncom, —
tradicted and was to the effect that losses had bee
and must be incurred in such operation.

XII. The decision of the State court that the power
company could be. compelled to operate the railw :
system of the railway company, even though such a
operation must be carried on at a loss (R. 205), is”
violative of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution and in direct conflict with the
cisions of this Court in Brooks-Scanlon Co. v. Railroad:
Commission, 251 U. 8. 396; Bullock v. Florida Rai
road Commission, 254. U. 8. 513; Texas v. Eastern
Teaas Railroad Co., 264 U.S F195 Wolff Packing Co. ».
Court of Industrial eiations: 262:U. S. 522; Ft.
L. & T. Co, v. Bourland, 267 U. 8. 330; eS

| i apr apes onten’ undet
ag ‘of the Uni ta 8 ‘the siaion

“| Waenerore your petitioners respectfully pray that

om of South Carolina, "commanding that Set ;
i and to send to ‘this Court for its review and

te of via Carolina ex Relatione J in M. Daniel,
ttorney General, Petitioner, against’ Broad River
| Power Company, Columbia Railway, Gas and Electric

~ Company, and F. D. Campbell, Respondents, and that
the said judgment of the Supreme Court: of South
~ Garolina may be reversed by this Honorable Court,
and that your petitioners may have such other and
"further relief in the premises as to this Honorable
Court may seem meet and just; and your petitioners
wil ever pray.
eee BROAD RIVER POWER COMPANY,
ag COLUMBIA RAILWAY, GAS AND

3 _ ELECTRIC_COMPANY, —

F. D. CAMPBELL, |
By WILLIAM MARSHALL BULLITT,
| Counsel for Petitioners.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386007_0436%3A03. Public record. Not legal advice.
