# Opposition Brief — Newman v. Consolidation Coal Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1785%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 517 U.S. 1128

## Text

~ ie ei ee
YY fi
| i FEB 28 1996
No. 95-1219 bs CLERK
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
aos
October Term, 1995
GEORGE NEWMAN,
Petitioner,
vs.
CONSOLIDATION COAL COMPANY,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JAMES R. MILLER
Counsel of Record
DICKIE, MCCAMEY & CHILCOTE
Attorneys for Respondent
Two PPG Place, Suite 400
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222-5402
(412) 281-7272

os (800) 3 APPEAL + (800) 5 APPEAL « (800) BRIEF 21
ervices, inc.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

SHOULD THE THIRD CIRCUIT COURT OF
APPEALS HAVE ISSUED A PETITION FOR WRIT
OF MANDAMUS TO THE DISTRICT JUDGE
REQUIRING HIM TO GRANT THE
PETITIONER’S MOTION TO ADOPT THE
FINDINGS OF THE JURY AS THE FINDINGS OF
THE COURT WHERE SUCH ACTION WOULD
DICTATE THE RESOLUTION OF FACTUAL
FINDINGS COMMITTED TO THE DISTRICT
JUDGE AND BE IN CONTRAVENTION OF THIS
COURT'S PRIOR PRECEDENTS?

SHOULD THE THIRD CIRCUIT COURT OF
APPEALS HAVE ISSUED A WRIT OF
MANDAMUS TO THE DISTRICT JUDGE IN A
LIMITATION OF LIABILITY ACTION
DIRECTING HIM TO ADOPT THE JURY
FINDINGS OF NEGLIGENCE AND
UNSEAWORTHINESS FROM A_ SEPARATE
ACTION IN STATE COURT AGAINST THE
VESSEL OWNER AND IN FAVOR OF THE
PETITIONER, WHERE THE PETITIONER HAD
EXPRESSLY STIPULATED IN THE LIMITATION
PROCEEDING AND IN ACCORDANCE WITH
STANDARD ADMIRALTY PRACTICE THAT THE
VESSEL OWNER COULD LITIGATE ALL ISSUES
RELEVANT TO THAT PROCEEDING
NOTWITHSTANDING ANY FINDING OR
RULING IN THE STATE COURT ACTION?

RESPONDENT’S RULE 29.6 STATEMENT
There are no subsidiaries which are not wholly owned
by Consolidation Coal Company. The following are parent
companies of Consolidation Coal Company:
Rheinbraun US GmbH
Rheinbraun AG
RWE AG
DuPont Energy Company

E.I. du Pont de Nemours and Company

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented for Review .........-.+++++++:

Respondent’s Rule 29.6 Statement PTT TTS

ESE REE AS

I Oo cde wie ee aeaueaqece

ES ES SSE DENSE PO EEO TPE ET EEE EE

Reasons Why The Petition Should Be Denied ........

I.

Il.

The Petition Should Be Denied Because it
Requires Rulings on the Merits of this Case Which
Are Committed to the Province of the District
Judge as Fact Finder, Repudiation of Prior Rulings
of the Court, and a Matter That Was Discretionary
on the Part of the Third Circuit Court of Appeals.

‘6 owe 68 6h OS SO CASO TDeSEAaawecoeseseeceeooesee

The Third Circuit Court of Appeals Did Not Err In
Denying Petitioner’s Petition for Writ of
DEARGOMINS. 2... cc ccc ccc ccccccccccscesece

A. Petitioner cannot satisfy the extremely
stringent standard for the issuance of Writ of
EERE OES SEE TOT LE EE

B. Petitioner is bound by his Stipulation that all
issues relevant to exoneration or limitation
would be litigated in this action. .........

10

10

11

iv

Contents
C. Jury findings may not be used in resolving
limitation or exoneration issues. ........
1. Limitation of Liability..............
2. Exonerationfrom Liability .........
D. Petitioner waived any rights to having tue jury
findings employed for any aspect of

limitation proceeding. .........sesececs

E. Petitionerisnotentitledtoa jury trial de novo
in the limitation proceeding. ............

COMCINOME: » as 10 ik RISE Sse Sale FS OER k Oks

TABLE OF CITATIONS
Cases Cited:

Allied Chemical Corp. v. Daiflon, Inc., 449 U.S.33 (1980)

Beacon Theater, Inc. v. Westover, 359 U.S. 500(1959) .

Carter v. Sea Land Services, Inc., 816 F.2d 1018 (Sth Cir.
LOBED ic on ibeks cave chewed ncennn cee teeeena

Complaint of Great Lakes Dredge & Dock Company, 1995
WL318007 CLD. BL): 6.6 WTO ss

Page

17

17

22

24

28

30

9,10

arr sa: -~-~-—S~

Vv

Contents

Page
Complaint of Port Arthur Towing, 42 F.3d316 ........ 14
Coryell v. Phipps, 317 U.S.406(1943) .............. 18
Dimick v. Schiedt, 293 U.S. 474(1935) .............. 26
Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S.457 (1981) ............ 25
Ex Parte Green, 286 U.S. 437 (1932) ........... 8, 13,14,24
Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975) ........... 24

Fitzgerald v. United States Lines Co., 374 U.S. 16 (1963)
Sp RR REE a eT a Mears ORDO en Sa ML SE 17

Gorman v. Cerasia, 2 F.3d 519 (3d Cir. 1993) .........

52 elsebebG en clbubulaescnticeares 12, 13, 14, 16, 19, 28

In re Complaint of Dammers & Vanderheide & Sheepvaart

Maats Christina B.V., 836 F.2d 750 (2d Cir. 1988)
Be PET a a Sen, WO “FPR EE PD ne Remar ye eee 12, 17,28

In Re Matter of Texaco, Inc., 847 F. Supp. 457 (E.D. La.

1994), rev’don other grounds, Texaco, Inc. v. Williams,
BEE Pe a NO) ns eh 6 dwt esesenavcaee 22,23

In Re M/V Sunshine II, 808 F.2d 762 (11th Cir. 1987) ... 19
In Re Pasquariello, 16 F.3d 525 (3d Cir. 1994) ........ 10

Kerr v. United States District Court for the Northern
District of California, 426 U.S.394 (1976) ........ 8,9, 11

vi

Contents

Page

La Buy v. Howes Leather Company, 352 U.S. 249 (1957)
eked s mab bbe wed ticket a kas phan 9
Langnes v. Green, 282 U.S.531(1931) ............. 8,12, 13

Magnolia Marine Transport Company, Inc. v. LaPlace
Towing Corp., 964 F.2d 1571 (Sth Cir. 1992) ..... 12, 13,14

Odeco Oil & Gas Company v. Bonnette, 4F.3d 401 (5th Cir.
SEP epee ny ely ome ye tpy: y Mee ue pes sea Re eens 15

Port of Pascov. Pacific Inland Navigation Company, 324
Fe re re BOGS ais ec tk cit ei ciead ad 19, 20, 21
Schlagenhauf v. Holder, 379 U.S. 104 (1964) ......... 9
Schnecktoth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S.218 (1973) ...... 26

Traveler’s Int’l A.G. v. Robinson, 982 F.2d 96 (3d Cir.
PE bis ols die Chi ee AR GA ES 10
Waring v. Clarke, 46 U.S. (5 How.) 441 (1847) ........ 17
Will v. United States, 389 U.S. 90 (1967) ............. 10

Withrow v. Cornwell, 845 F. Supp. 784 (D. Kansas 1994)
Sok val ele Pa wdld be havea th Coens eee eee oaks 26

vii
Contents
Page

Statutes Cited:
PERE Sh oer kcsces neea nse cdstececieans 13
aes RAG MEIN: coves cap cen ctv Coes aise waren ates 2
MEME nooo odvas cog ecathenteseeeuaseceas 2
I at Seika ken py bd 0% 00s bao 0eek Kop 2
United States Constitution Cited:
aie sod sha bac see svaeeee 7, 16,26, 28
Other Authority Cited:
Grant Gilmore & Charles L. Black, Jr., The Law of

Admiralty § 10-19 (2ded.1975) .............005. 14

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Order of the United States District Court

for the Western District of Pennsylvania Dated July 20,

RE ae tk ou ckweaRRKO db RaW Rw ANA Re aceres ce la

Appendix B — Response to Claimants’ Motion to Vacate
or to-Dissolve Injunction and to Stay and Supporting
RO rer heey rr Pee 4a

sii

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondent, Consolidation Coal © Company
(“Consolidation”) respectfully requests that this Court deny
the Petition for Writ of Certiorari seeking review of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit’s denial
of Petitioner’s petition to that court for Writ of Mandamus
and dismissal of Petitioner’s appeal entered on November
29, 1995 (Pet. al-a2) at Nos. 95-3479 and 95-3491,
respectively, and the Third Circuit’s denial of Petitioner’s
Petition for Rehearing entered on December 27, 1995 at
those same numbers (Pet. a3).

2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner, filed an action against Consolidation in the
Court of Common Pleas of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania
at No. G.D. 90-00980 (“state court action”) in January
1990. In his Complaint, Petitioner sought recovery for
personal injuries that he allegedly sustained while in the
employ of Consolidation pursuant to the Jones Act, 46
U.S.C. § 688, and the doctrine of unseaworthiness under the
general maritime law.

On July 20, 1990, Consolidation commenced the
within action in the United States District Court for the
Western District of Pennsylvania seeking exoneration from
or limitation of its liability with respect to Petitioner’s state
court action under the provisions of the Limitation of
Liability Act, 46 U.S.C. § 181 et seq. See Pet. al4, entries
1-5. At the time of filing its Complaint, Consolidation
deposited with the district court a bond in the amount of
$120,000, in accordance with 46 U.S.C. § 185, representing
the value of Consolidation’s interest in the M/V Elizabeth
and Barge No. MC 1029, the vessels on which Petitioner.
claimed to have been working at the time of his accident.

Upon filing of Consolidation’s Complaint and in order
to protect the district court’s admiralty jurisdiction over this
matter, said court, through the Honorable Alan N. Bloch,
entered an Order on July 20, 1990 (Appx. A) which, among
other things, ordered on page 3 that the

institution or further prosecution of any and all
suits, actions, or legal proceedings against
Consol or the M/V Elizabeth or Barge No. MC
1029, arising out of or connected with the

3

aforesaid accident of April 27, 1989, except in
this proceeding for exoneration from or
limitation of liability be and the same hereby
are stayed and enjoined.

By its application, Judge Bloch’s order specifically enjoined
any further prosecution of the state court action which
Petitioner had previously filed.

After the parties had proceeded with discovery in the
present action for approximately six months, Petitioner, on
January 18, 1991, filed with the district court a Motion to
Vacate or Dissolve Injunction and to Stay (Pet. a46),
requesting that the district court lift the stay that it had
ordered on July 20, 1990 so as to allow Petitioner to pursue
his Jones Act and unseaworthiness claims in the state court
action. In so requesting the lifting of the court’s stay,
Petitioner agreed to stipulate that (1) the district court had
sole and exclusive jurisdiction of all issues relating to
Consolidation’s attempt to limit its liability in the present
action; (2) that no state court judgment would be res judicata
as to any limitation fact or issue in the present proceeding;
and (3) that Petitioner’s action would be confined to the state
court proceeding. See Pet. a47, 7 8.

Citing established admiralty practice, Consolidation
opposed the sought lifting of the stay in the present action,
contending that the stipulations offered by Petitioner were
insufficient to protect Consolidation’s interests. See Appx.
B.

Agreeing with Consolidation’s opposition to
Petitioner’s Motion to Vacate, Judge Bloch ordered that the
requested lifting of the stay would only be granted if

4

Petitioner agreed to enter into stipulations which the district
court deemed would adequately protect Consolidation’s
interest in the present action. Pet. a8. On January 30,
1991, Petitioner acceded to the district court’s condition and
stipulated, inter alia, as follows:

1. The Claimants['} waive any claim of res
judicata based upon any judgment
obtained in the state court proceeding.

2. Consolidation Coal Company shall have
the right to litigate all issues relating to
its claims of limitation and exoneration
of liability in the present proceeding at
the above caption.

Pet. a50. On February 1, 1991, the district court lifted the
stay that it had imposed on July 20 of the previous year,
allowing Petitioner to pursue his Jones Act and
unseaworthiness claims in state court. However, Petitioner
was prevented from entering or enforcing judgment in the
state court action in view of the pending action for
exoneration from or limitation of liability.

Pet. al0.

In November 1991, the state court action proceeded to
trial and resulted in a jury verdict in favor of Petitioner in
the amount of $1,327,000. The jury found that
Consolidation was negligent under the Jones Act and that the

' Originally, Petitioner’s spouse had asserted claims in both the
present proceeding and the state court action. Said claims have since
been withdrawn.

5

vessel in question was unseaworthy. See Pet. a31. At the
same time, the jury found that Petitioner was 11.83 percent
contributorily negligent. After both parties’ cross-motions
for post-trial relief were denied, the trial court entered an
order molding the jury verdict to a damage award in favor
of Petitioner in the amount of $1,244,519.50.

Both parties took cross-appeals to the Pennsylvania
Superior Court where the Superior Court affirmed all
appealed issues except the trial court’s award of prejudgment
interest in favor of Petitioner. After the parties were denied
cross-applications for reargument before the Superior Court,
Cross-Petitions for allowance of appeal to the Pennsylvania
Court for Writ of Certiorari on the issues of prejudgment
interest and contributory negligence at No. 95-240, which
Petition was denied on October 10, 1995.

On June 15, 1995 Petitioner moved to have the
present action returned to active status in the district court so
that Consolidation’s claims for exoneration from or
limitation of liability may be litigated. He then filed a
Motion to Adopt the Findings of the Jury as the Findings of
the Court (Pet. a26) and Brief in Support urging that the
district court adopt what he perceives to be the findings of
the jury from the state court action. Consolidation filed a
response opposing said Motion (Pet. a20, entry 45), and on
August 4, 1995, Judge Bloch issued an order denying the
Motion (Pet. a4).

On or about September 2, 1995 Petitioner filed with
the Third Circuit Court of Appeals a Petition for Writ of
Mandamus, docketed at No. 95-3479, and what he claims
was a protective appeal with that same court on September

6

1, 1995, docketed at No. 95-3491, each challenging Judge
Bloch’s refusal to adopt the jury findings in the state court
action as binding determinations in the limitation case. In so
doing, Petitioner urged the Third Circuit to direct Judge
Bloch to act in contravention of conditions to which
Petitioner specifically stipulated and in disregard of
established admiralty practice. The Third Circuit denied
Petitioner’s Petition for Writ of Mandamus for failure of
“Petitioner to show a clear and indisputable right to the
Writ[,]” and dismissed his appeal for lack of jurisdiction, on
November 29, 1995. See Pet. p. al-a2. Petitioner’s Petition
for Rehearing before that same court was denied on
December 27, 1995.

7

REASONS WHY THE PETITION
SHOULD BE DENIED

I. The Petition Should Be Denied Because it
Requires Rulings on the Merits of this Case
Which Are Committed to the Province of the
District Judge as Fact Finder, Repudiation of
Prior Rulings of the Court, and a Matter
That Was Discretionary on the Part of the
Third Circuit Court of Appeals.

With his Petition, Petitioner seeks to have Judge Bloch
required to grant Petitioner’s Motion to Adopt the Findings
of the Jury as the Findings of the Court (Pet. a26). Such a
ruling, according to Petitioner, would result in Judge Bloch
taking the findings made by the jury in the state court action
that Consolidation was negligent and that the leaving line in
question or the vessel on which Petitioner worked was
unseaworthy, as binding determinations of fact in the
limitation action for the proposition that Consolidation had
privity or knowledge of the condition giving rise to
Petitioner’s injury and that Consolidation “unreasonably
failed to inspect the rope[.]” See Pet. a28, 4 6; a29, 4 18.
With Judge Bloch’s refusal to do so and the Third Circuit's
refusal to direct otherwise, Petitioner maintains that further
progression of the district court proceeding will result in a
reexamination of the jury’s findings in the state court action
and a denial of a jury trial in this suit, both purportedly in
violation of the Seventh Amendment to the United States
Constitution.

In making his claims in this regard, Petitioner argues
the merits of the exoneration and limitation proceeding’ and
in effect, presents his Motion to Adopt the Findings of the
Jury as the Findings of the Court, initially presented to Judge
Bloch, as if this Court is to decide the issue de novo. In
fact, with a Petition for Writ of Mandamus, the Appeals
Court is to review the action of the district court judge to
whom the requested writ is to be directed. On certiorari, if
granted, this Court is to review the decision of the Third
Circuit Court of Appeals. In addition, in his Petition to this
Court, Petitioner seeks to have firmly entrenched authority
of this Court as set forth in cases of Langnes v. Green, 282
U.S. 531 (1931) and Ex Parte Green, 286 U.S. 437 (1932)
“reexamined .. . and overruled.” Pet. 19.

The Writ of Mandamus has been used only “to
confine an inferior court to a lawful exercise of its
prescribed jurisdiction or to compel it to exercise its
authority when it is its duty to do so.” Kerr v. United States
District Court for the Northern District of California, 426
U.S. 394, 402 (1976). In requesting that this Court instruct
the Third Circuit Court of Appeals to grant his Petition for
Writ of Mandamus and thereby require Judge Bloch to grant
Petitioner’s Motion to Adopt the Findings of the Jury as the
Findings of the Court, Petitioner is seeking to impose a

? See e.g., Pet. 22 n.3, 27, 28. Petitioner’s Motion to Adopt the
Findings of the Jury as the Findings of the Court which serves as the
basis for his Petition for Writ of Mandamus expressly states this. See
Pet. a28 (“Consol’s privity and knowledge, actual or constructive, have
been found as facts by the jury at Consol’s own request.”); a29 (“The
jury’s finding that Consol unreasonably failed to imspect the rope
involved precludes a contrary finding. Therefore, that fact is established
for the purposes of this case.”)

9

decision on the factual merits of the limitation proceedings.
Such request is clearly beyond the appropriate use of
mandamus.

Moreover, a showing of error on the part of the
district court is not sufficient to justify the issuance of Writ
of Mandamus. See Allied Chemical Corp. v. Daiflon, Inc.,
449 U.S. 33, 35 (1980). Petitioner not only claims error on
the part of Judge Bloch, but also challenges the previous
authority of this Court, on which Petitioner admits Judge
Bloch’s decision was based. Based on this contention, there
is no Challenge to Judge Bloch’s “prescribed jurisdiction” or
“exercise . . . [of] authority” in denying Petitioner’s Motion.
Kerr, 426 at 402. Indeed, the relief sought by Petitioner is
not just a declaration of error on the part of Judge Bloch,
which in and of itself, is insufficient grounds for the issuance
of a Writ of Mandamus, Allied Chemical, 449 at 35; It is the
outright overturning of previous authority of this Court.
Such a request cannot be satisfied through the issuance of a
Writ of Mandamus.

Finally, notwithstanding the potential existence of the
elements necessary for the issuance of a Writ of Mandamus,
whether or not to issue the Writ was committed to the sound
discretion of the Third Circuit Court of Appeals. La Buy v.
Howes Leather Company, 352 U.S. 249, 260 (1957);
Schlagenhauf v. Holder, 379 U.S. 104, 111 n. 8 (1964).

Because Petitioner’s Petition for Certiorari involved
rulings on the merits in the instant proceeding, which are
committed to the authority of the district judge, because
Petitioners sought relief asks for this Court to repudiate its
prior rulings, and because the issuance of the Writ of
Mandamus was discretionary on the part of the Third Circuit

10

Court of Appeals in the first instance, the Petition should be
denied.

Il. The Third Circuit Court of Appeals Did Not
Err In Denying Petitioner’s Petition for Writ
of Mandamus.

A. Petitioner cannot satisfy the
extremely stringent standard for the
issuance of Writ of Manamus, _

It is well-settled that a writ of mandamus is reserved
for the most extraordinary situations and the use of this
“drastic” remedy is carefully circumscribed. Allied
Chemical, 449 U.S. at 34. An essential condition for the
granting of such a relief exists where the petitioner’s right to
the issuance of a writ is “clear and indisputable.” Will v.
United States, 389 U.S. 90, 96 (1967). While this Court has
held that the right to a jury trial where equitable claims are
asserted simultaneously with legal claims may justify a writ
of mandamus, see Beacon Theater, Inc. v. Westover, 359
U.S. 500 (1959), appellate courts have repeatedly held that
the “clear and indisputable” criterion is still essential to the
granting of a petition for writ of mandamus where denial of
the right to a jury trial is asserted. See Traveler's Int’l A.G.
v. Robinson, 982 F.2d 96, (3d. Cir. 1992); see also, In Re:
Pasquariello, 16 F.3d 525 (3d Cir. 1994). Moreover, where
there exists ambiguity as to whether the petitioner is entitled
to a jury trial, and such ambiguity must be resolved in favor
of the petitioner to award the request for relief, the Third
Circuit has held that the petitioner has not shown a clear and
indisputable right and therefore a writ of mandamus should
not issue. Pasquariello, 16 F.3d at 531. Even where a
claim for the writ of mandamus is colorable, it is within the

11

discretion of the Appeals Court to determine whether the
writ should issue. Kerr, 426 U.S. at 403.

As set forth below, there is entirely no legal basis
supporting Petitioner’s claim that the Third Circuit should
have issued a writ of mandamus directed to Judge Bloch.
However, irrespective of whether this Court should conclude
that Petitioner’s arguments are meritorious, which is denied,
there can be no conclusion that in view of the following that
Petitioner’s right to the relief that he seeks is “clear and
indisputable.” Accordingly, the Petition should be denied.

B. Petitioner is bound by his Stipulation
that all issues relevant to exoneration
or limitation would be litigated in

this action,

Petitioner expressly stipulated that the district court
would have exclusive jurisdiction for determining all issues
related to Consolidation’s Complaint for Exoneration From
or Limitation of Liability and that no fact found by a jury in
the state court action would serve as res judicata in the
present case. Pet. a50. Apparently mindful of the
Stipulation that he entered into, Petitioner attempted to
circumvent the conditions therein by denominating his
Motion presented to Judge Bloch as to one to “Adopt the
Findings of the Jury as the Findings of the Court.”
However, Petitioner’s use of this specious terminology in
order to assert res judicata was recognized by Judge Bloch
as being patently transparent and in complete contravention
of the stipulation.

Petitioner seeks to cavalierly jettison his stipulation on
which Judge Bloch and Consolidation relied in allowing and

12

agreeing to have the state court action proceed. The
stipulation arises from established admiralty practice and
cannot be so lightly regarded. First, that the district court,
as a federal court sitting in admiralty in an exoneration/
limitation action, has jurisdiction in the present action cannot
be gainsaid. It is not coincidence or serendipity which
creates jurisdiction in the district court. Instead, it is the fact
that Consolidation filed a Complaint for Exoneration from or
Limitation of Liability which can be filed only in a federal
court and can be heard only pursuant to said court’s
admiralty jurisdiction. See Langnes, 282 U.S. at 540.

Appeals courts have consistently held that such in
proceedings “the district court, sitting in admiralty without
a_ jury, determines ‘whether there was negligence; if there
was negligence, whether it was without privity or knowledge
of the owner; and if limitation is granted, how the
[limitation] fund should be distributed.’” Gorman v. Cerasia,
2 F.3d 519, 524 (3d Cir. 1993), quoting In re Complaint of
Dammers & Vanderheide & Sheepvaart Maats Christina
B.V., 836 F.2d 750, 755 (2d Cir. 1988) (emphasis added).

Petitioner’s stipulation was required by well-
established admiralty practice and not the result of a mere
whim of the parties. Specifically, courts sitting in admiralty
had historically struggled with reconciling the interests
underlying such claims as Jones Act negligence which, by
statute, may be tried before a jury, and protecting the
interests of the vessel owner who has filed a complaint for
exoneration from or limitation of liability. See Gorman 2
F.3d at 523-24 (3d Cir. 1993). Indeed, in the latter
situation, “[tJhe court’s primary concern is to protect the
shipowner’s absolute right to claim the [Limitation] Act’s
liability cap and to reserve the adjudication of that right in
the federal forum.” Magnolia Marine Transport Company,

13

Inc. v. LaPlace Towing Corp., 964 F.2d 1571, 1575 (Sth
Cir. 1992) citing Langnes, 282 U.S. at 543.

In order to reconcile the conflicts in the interests
between a party’s right to pursue his claims in the forum of
his choice pursuant to this “saving to suitors” clause of 28
U.S.C. § 1333 which preserves the right to a trial by jury
for certain claims, as against the admiralty court’s exclusive
jurisdiction over exoneration and limitation claims and
responsibility of insuring the vessel owner’s protection under
that statute, courts, beginning with this Court, have ruled
that in cases such as the present action,

when a single claimant brings an action against
each shipowner seeking damages in excess of
the value of the vessel [, . . .] the district court
must lift this stay provided that the claimant
stipulates that the admiralty court has exclusive
jurisdiction to determine all issues concerning
the owner’s limitation of liability under the
[Limitation] Act.

Gorman, 2 F.3d at 524, citing, inter alia, Ex Parte Green,
286 U.S. at 438-40 (1932) and Langnes, 282 at 540-44.

In implementing these procedures admiralty courts for
the past 60 years have developed--and required claimants to
enter into--stipulations which protect the vessel owner’s
rights and thus permit the admiralty court to lift the stay
created with the limitation proceeding. Such stipulations
include the waiver of any claim of res judicata relevant to
the issue of limited liability based on any judgment obtained
in the state court, and concession of the shipowner’s right to
litigate all issues relating to limitation in the federal

14

limitation proceeding. Gorman, 2 F.3d at 524-25 citing
Grant Gilmore & Charles L. Black, Jr., The Law of
Admiralty § 10-19, at 871 (2d ed. 1975).

The stipulation on which Petitioner now seeks to
renege was entered into voluntarily and arose effectively at
his request. Specifically, Petitioner sought to have the July
20, 1990 injunction imposed by the district court lifted so
that he could pursue the state court action. (Pet. a46). The
district court was, at that point, duty-bound to effectuate its
“primary concern” of preserving Consolidation’s right to the
incidents of the Limitation Act. See Magnolia Marine, 964
F.2d at 1575. Failure of the district court to impose
sufficiently restrictive conditions preserving Consolidation’s
rights would have constituted an abuse of discretion. See
Gorman, 2 F.3d at 523. At the same time, had Petitioner
not entered into a stipulation sufficient to protect
Consolidation’s rights, the district court would have been
bound to continue enjoining the state court action and try the
entire case without a jury. See, Ex Parte Green, 286 U.S.
at 440; see also, Complaint of Port Arthur Towing, 42 F.3d
at 316-317.

Accordingly, in order to pursue his state court action,
admiralty practice required Petitioner to agree to have
disregarded the findings of the jury in the state court action
for purposes of the issues in the present case. While
Petitioner bemoans the fact the issues of the present action
must be litigated ab initio, he stipulated to this result and
undoubtedly recognized the consequences of his request to
have the stay in this case lifted. As noted by the Fifth
Circuit Court of Appeals:

federal _limitati ting — thi
hard put to deny them. We must accede to this
choice if it is accompanied by stipulations fully
protecting Odeco’s [the vessels owner’s] right
to limit liability and agreeing to abide by an
admiralty court determination of the right to
limit.

Odeco Oil & Gas Company v. Bonnette, 4 F.3d 401, 404-
405 (Sth Cir. 1993) (emphasis added in part).

The established procedure with regard to exoneration
or limitation proceedings and related state court actions
recognizes the potential for identical issues to be raised in
both forums and seeks to insure that, to the extent those
questions are addressed in any state court proceeding, the
complainant in the exoneration or limitation action has the
express right to litigate the relevant issues raised in the
admiralty court. The Third Circuit Court of Appeals
recently reaffirmed this notion:

We agree with these courts that the potential
overlap between the factual questions raised in
the limitation proceeding (whether the maritime
mishap occurred “without privity or
knowledge” of the shipowner) and those to be
litigated in the state tort action (whether the
shipowner acted unreasonably) requires that a

16

claimant seeking to vacate the stay concede
both the district court’s exclusive jurisdiction to
decide all limitation issues and expressly agree
to waive any “claim of res judicata relevant to
the issue of limited liability based on any
judgment obtained in the state court.”
[Gilmore & Black, The Law of Admiralty,
§ 10-19, at 871.] It is clear that the relevant
waiver discussed is that of issue preclusion,
notwithstanding the reference in the cases to
“res judicata” .

Gorman, 2 F.3d at 528-29.

Petitioner devoted considerable discussion in his
arguments to the district court and Third Circuit, and does
so now in his Petition, to his contention that the factual
findings of the jury in the state court action preclude any
success in the limitation proceeding and suggests that should
the district court not be required to adopt those jury findings
as its own, then any factual findings of the district court in
the limitation action, presumably in favor of Consolidation,
would be inconsistent with that of the state court jury, and
therefore prohibited by the Seventh Amendment to the
United States Constitution. In this regard, Petitioner is
incorrect both legally and factually in his contentions. First,
state court action would not serve as res judicata in the
limitation case, and that Consolidation retained all rights to
have the district court decide issues in the limitation
proceeding (see Pet. a50), the factual findings of a jury may,
under no circumstances, be utilized by an admiralty court in
an exoneration and limitation proceeding.

17

Although Petitioner urges contrariwise, the cases that
he cites in support involve either maintenance and cure
claims appended to other maritime claims which may be
heard by a jury, or single cases in which equitable and legal
issues are raised; in all such cases the court had the jury and
non-jury issues before it. See Pet. 16, 19. Significantly,
Petitioner cites no authority in which the factual findings of
a jury in a state court action were utilized in determining
relevant factual issues in an exoneration or limitation
proceeding. Indeed, “[t]here is no right to a jury in actions
instituted in admiralty[.]” Dammers & Vanderheide, 836
F.2d at 754, citing Waring v. Clarke, 46 U.S. (5 How.) 441,
458-60 (1847).

Controlling rules of admiralty law are left primarily
for the United States Supreme Court. Fitzgerald v. United
States Lines Co., 374 U.S. 16, 20 (1963). In the
development of those rules with regard to exoneration and
limitation proceedings, this Court has not authorized the
application of jury findings in an exoneration or limitation
proceeding. Accordingly, the district court should not be
required to utilize the factual findings of the jury in the state
court action with regard to the present case.

ol Jury findings may not be used in
resolving limitation or exoneration
issues.

1. _—_ Limitation of Liability.

Under the guise of claiming denial of a jury trial,
Petitioner seeks to have the findings of negligence and
unseaworthiness made by the jury in the state court action
adopted by the District Court which Petitioner claims would

18

be dispositive of the “privity or knowledge” issue in the
limitation proceeding. See Pet. a26. With regard to the
limitation aspect of the present action, the findings of the
jury in the state court action have no bearing on the
determination of whether Consolidation had “privity or
knowledge” of the condition giving rise to Petitioner’s
injuries. As noted in the special interrogatories returned by
the jury in the state court proceeding (Pet. a31),
Consolidation was found to be negligent under the Jones Act
and was found-to have provided an unseaworthy vessel or
vessels which proximately caused Petitioner’s injuries. Such
findings, however, are prerequisites to the focal issue in a
limitation action; i.e., whether a managing officer of the
vessel owner had privity or knowledge of the condition
which caused the claimant’s injuries. See Coryell v. Phipps,
317 U.S. 406, 410-412 (1943). In fact, no such finding was
made by the jury in the state court action.

Petitioner’s argument that Consolidation should be
bound in the limitation proceeding by the finding of the jury
because it submitted issues with regard to its knowledge to
the jury is non sequitur. First, a vessel owner’s knowledge
for purposes of a determination of Jones Act negligence, as
contrasted with privity or knowledge of managing officers of
the vessel owner for purposes of limitation of liability, are
two completely separate determinations, the latter of which
to be made only by the admiralty court in the limitation case.
While Petitioner contends that the finding of negligence in a
State court action automatically translates to privity or

19

knowledge with regard to the limitation proceeding, such is
not the case.’

Assuming, arguendo, that the factual findings of the
district court may potentially conflict with those of the jury
in the state court action, the district court should nevertheless
be permitted to undertake its own review of the evidence
presented in this case. By way of example, in the Ninth
Circuit decision in Port of Pasco v. Pacific Inland
Navigation Company, 324 F.2d 593 (9th Cir. 1963),
following an explosion which damaged the dock of the
Claimant, the claimant initiated an action in state court in the
State of Washington. Thereafter, the owner of the vessel on
which the explosion occurred filed an action for limitation of
liability in the United States District Court for the Eastern
District of Washington. As in the present action, the parties

? In support of his position, Petitioner cites Gorman v. Cerasia, for
the proposition that “the factual findings of the state court jury would
apply in the ensuing limitation case in federal court....” Pet. p.25. In
fact, the Third Circuit did not state that the issue of privity or knowledge
should not be litigated in the admiralty court and decided de novo
therein.

The existence of Jones Act negligence and whether the vessel
owner had privity or knowledge of the condition which caused
Petitioner’s injuries are two completely different issues. Most
importantly, the Third Circuit’s comment was made in an action
involving a small pleasure craft owned and operated by the same
individual, and was based on the holding in Jn Re M/V Sunshine II, 808
F.2d 762, 765 (11th Cir. Tia tties ctecaten 0
situation not present here with an industrial barge and tugboat owned by
a large corporation with many layers of employees, supervisors and
managers. The alleged negligence of one or more of these classifications
of employees for purposes of limitations privity or knowledge can not be
equated with the acts of an owner/operator of a pleasure craft.

20

stipuiated that the stay issued by the admiralty court with
regard to the state court action would be lifted, and the
claimant could pursue the state court action; however, the
parties reserved to the admiralty court the right to adjudicate
the complainant’s right to limit its liability.

In the state court proceeding, the Superior Court of
the State of Washington found that the management of the
defendant vessel owner was negligent and knew or should
have known of the conditions and omissions which caused
the explosion. Jd. at 596-97 U.S.

Despite this specific finding implicating the privity or
knowledge of the complainant vessel owner, the admiralty
court, affirmed by the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, found
in direct contravention of the holding of the state court, thus
permitting the vessel owner to limit its liability. The Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeals countenanced this inconsistency
based on admiralty practice and the role of the admiralty
court in the limitation proceeding:

[T]he question of limitation of liability was
reserved for determination by the district court.

21

Id. at 598 (emphasis added). While the parties had
stipulated that the finding of the state court would be binding
upon them for purposes of liability and damages,‘ the Court
held that such a stipulation did not extend to the limitation
proceeding. Jd. at 599.

Petitioner contends that any finding of fact made by
the admiralty court in the present action inconsistent with a
finding by the jury in the state court proceeding would
contravene the Seventh Amendment to the United States
Constitution. However, to the extent inconsistent findings
would result (which is not necessarily the case) they would
be found in the context of separate issues, i.e., negligence/
unseaworthiness versus privity or knowledge of a vessel
owner. More importantly, Petitioner expressly stipulated
that the admiralty court would have exclusive jurisdiction to
determine the issues relating to exoneration from or
limitation of liability in this case irrespective of the factual

findings in the state court proceeding. See Pet. a50. As
noted in the Port of Pasco decision, inconsistencies in a state

court and admiralty action are inherent in the admiralty
procedure providing for a state court action to go forward
independently of the limitation proceeding. See Port of
Pasco, 324 F.2d at 599; see also, Complaint of Great
Lakes Dredge & Dock Company, 1995 WL318807 (N.D.III.)
*4. (“The potential for non-uniform results arising from
separate proceedings is an inherent part of admiralty practice
and is specifically contemplated under the Limitation Act.”)

* A similar stipulation was not made in the present action.

22
2. Exoneration from Liability.

The foregoing considerations are significant not only
for the limitation component of this action, but also by virtue
of the fact that Consolidation, in the present action, has
claimed the right to exonerate itself completely from
liability, as well as its right to limit its liability to the value
of the vessels involved in the Petitioner’s accident. As such,
Consolidation may litigate not only whether it had privity or
knowledge of the condition which caused Petitioner's
injuries, but also whether it has any liability for Petitioner’s
injuries:

[I]n a suit seeking exoneration from, and
al ively limitation of, lisbili ate
exoneration from liability inasmuch as, in the
event no liability is found, there is nothing to
limit.

In Re Matter of Texaco, Inc., 847 F.Supp. 457, 459
(E.D.La. 1994), rev’d on other grounds, Texaco, Inc. v.
Williams, 47 F.3d 765 (Sth Cir. 1995).

In Texaco, Inc. v. Williams, the United States District
Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana denied the claim-
ants’ motion to have the stay imposed on their state court
damage claims despite the claimants’ proffered stipulation to
have issues regarding limitation of liability litigated in the
admiralty court on the basis that the vessel owner had sought
both exoneration from and limitation of liability in that
court. In recognizing the denial of the claimants’ right to
jury trials in those state court actions, the district court noted
the preference that must be given to the vessel owner in the

23

exoneration and limitation action and that stipulations
providing that the admiralty court could litigate issues with
regard to limitation were insufficient to adequately protect
the vessel owner’s interests. See generally, In Re Matter of
Texaco , Inc., 847 F.Supp. at 459-462. Although the district
court was reversed on appeal, the Fifth Circuit did so only
after the claimants had stipulated that the admiralty court
would not be “bound by any decisions by other courts on
issues relating to limitation and exoneration.” Texaco, Inc..,
47 F.3d at 769 (emphasis in original).

Similar considerations underlie the Petitioner’s stipula-
tion in the present action. While Petitioner initially offered
to stipulate that the admiralty court would have “exclusive
jurisdiction of any and all issues relating to Consolidation’s
attempt to limit its liability . . . [and] that no state court
judgment will be res judicata as to any limitation fact or
issue in the limitation proceeding[,]” (Pet. 246-a47, { 8)
(emphasis added), Consolidation opposed the Petitioner's
Motion to Lift the Stay on the state court proceeding on the
basis that the proffered stipulation inadequately protected
Consolidation’s interests with regard to its claims for
exoneration. See Appx. B. pp. 10a-12a. Based on this
dispute, the district court ordered that it would lift the stay
prohibiting the prosecution of the state court action only if
Petitioner stipulated that Consolidation would “have the right
to litigate all issues relating to its claims of limitation and
exoneration of liability in the present proceeding[.]” (Pet
a9) (emphasis added).

Three days following the entry of this order,
Petitioner acceded to the requirements for the Stay to be
lifted, without objection or opposition. Specifically,
Petitioner stipulated that “Consolidation Coal Company shall

24

have the right to litigate all issues relating to its claims of
limitation and exoneration of liability in the present
proceeding at the above caption.” (Pet. a50) (emphasis
added). Based on this Stipulation, Judge Bloch lifted the -
Stay and permitted Petitioner to pursue the’ state court action.
(Pet. al0).

Had Petitioner not entered into the forgoing
Stipulation, his claims necessarily would have been litigated
in the present action. See Ex Parte Green, 286 U.S. at 440.
By virtue of the Stipulation, however, Consolidation retained
its right to litigate all issues with regard to exoneration or
limitation, without Petitioner raising any factual issue
decided in the state court action as res judicata in this case.
Again, despite Petitioner’s urging this Court to direct that
Judge Bloch adopt the findings of the jury in the state court
action, the clear effect of this request is to impose res
judicata and collateral estoppel against Consolidation, both
of which Petitioner stipulated not to do, and which settled
admiralty practice prohibits.

D. Petitioner waived any rights to

having the jury findings employed
for any aspect of limitation

proceeding.

Assuming, arguendo, that violation of Petitioner’s
Seventh Amendment rights are an issue, by entering into the
Stipulation of January 30, 1991, Petitioner waived any
protection which would otherwise be afforded by the Seventh
Amendment. It is well established that constitutional rights
may be waived if the waiver is voluntary, knowing, and
intelligent. Faretia v. California, 422 U.S. 806, 835 (1975).
Whether the waiver was voluntary, knowing, and intelligent

25

is to be determined from the facts and circumstances of a
particular case. Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 457, 482
(1981). It cannot be doubted that Petitioner’s Stipulation of
January 30, 1991 constituted a sufficient and binding waiver
of any right that he may have had against a court’s
reexamination of jury findings. Specifically, it was
Petitioner who moved in the district court to have the stay of
the state court proceeding lifted, and who stipulated that he
would waive any claim of res judicata in the state court
proceeding, and that Consolidation would have the right to
litigate “all issues” i e limitation < ;

The issue of the necessity for and content of
stipulations required for the admiralty court to lift the stay
on the state court action was specifically presented and
disputed in detail before the district court, prior to Petitioner
entering into the Stipulation. See Pet. a46, Appx. B, Pet.
a8, a50 and al0. Significantly, Petitioner never raised any
Seventh Amendment issue, did not challenge the stipulation
that the district court deemed necessary to permit the state
court action to. proceed, and voluntarily entered into that

stipulation.

Had Petitioner felt the stipulation required by the court
was objectionable, he certainly should have challenged it
then.’ Significantly, however, Petitioner raised no objection

* Petitioner is obviously well familiar with the opportunities for
appealing an interlocutory order—witness Petitioner’s appeal to the Third
Circuit at Docket No. 92-3734 concerning the district court’s November
20, 1992 order prohibiting execution on the judgment in the state court
action (Pet. al8, entries “w/35" and 37). In particular, Petitioner is
obviously familiar with the mechanism to seek appellate relief for the

26

at that time. It is only now, after he has been awarded a
jury verdict on his claims of unseaworthiness and Jones Act
negligence in the state court action that Petitioner seeks to
renege on his Stipulation and asks this Court to direct what
he was expressly forbidden to do, and what he expressly
agreed not to do. Petitioner’s assertion of Seventh
Amendment issues, after having previously waived them,
cannot now be asserted simply because it suits his fancy.
See Carter v. Sea Land Services, Inc., 816 F.2d 1018, 1021
(Sth Cir. 1987) citing Schnecktoth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S.
218 (1973) (“Once a right, even a fundamental right, is
knowingly and voluntarily waived, a party has no
constitutional right to recant at will.”)®

Petitioner appears to equate the district court’s
intention to preside over a bench trial on all issues relating
to Consolidation’s Complaint for Exoneration From Or
Limitation of Liability as a deprivation of his jury trial rights
under the Seventh Amendment to the Constitution. To cure
this purported deprivation, Petitioner wishes to have the
district court ordered to adopt findings of the jury in the
state court action. However, not only is the procedure that
the district court intends to follow accepted in admiralty

purported denial of rights to a jury trial. See Petition for Writ of
Mandamus and Petitioner’s appeal of September 1, 1995 from the district
court’s August 4, 1995 order.

* Similarly, by entering into the January 30, 1990 Stipulation,
Petitioner consented to having any jury findings within the state court
action which may be relevant in the within proceeding “reexamined” .
See Withrow v. Cornwell, 845 F.Supp. 784, 785 (D.Kansas 1994), citing
Dimick v. Schiedt, 293 U.S. 474 (1935) (Additur imposed by court, with
consent of both parties, does not violate Seventh Amendment proscription
on reexamination of jury findings).

27

practice, but Petitioner expressly agreed to it through his
stipulation of February 1, 1991 (Pet. a50). Swiftly
backpedaling from his stipulation, Petitioner now states that
he did not agree to have the district court make factual
findings relevant to issues of exoneration and limitation in
the limitation proceeding notwithstanding the fact that they
may be inconsistent with findings of the jury in the state
court action. Pet. 22-23.

The stipulation could not be more clear. When
Petitioner stated that he would “waive any claim of res
judicata based upon any judgment obtained in the state court
proceeding[,]” Pet. a50 (emphasis added), what was
Petitioner waiving other than the potential claim that certain
facts which may be relevant in the exoneration or limitation
proceeding already been adjudicated in the state court action
by a jury and were thus binding in the present action?

When Petitioner agreed in his stipulation that
Consolidation would “have the right to litigate all issues
relating to its claims of limitation or exoneration of liability”
in the limitation proceeding (Pet. 29a) (emphasis added),
what else was he agreeing to but to be subject to a bench
trial on the merits of Consolidation’s exoneration and
limitation claims? The court, in permitting the state court
action to proceed, and Consolidation, in not opposing that
ruling, relied on Petitioner’s stipulation in these regards.” It

” As stated by the district court in its August 4, 1995 order:

Claimant’s attempt to have this Court adopt the state
court jury’s findings for purposes of the limitation
proceeding is directly contrary to his own stipulation.
In addition, in light of the stipulation, the claimant

28

is significant that Judge Bloch--who required the stipulation,
presided over the parties’ dispute over its wording, and lifted
the stay on the state court action, so interprets the effect of
the stipulation.

Accordingly, Petitioner’s contentions concerning
violations of the Seventh Amendment, to the extent any such
issues are implicated, have been voluntarily waived.

E. Petitioner is not entitled to a jury
trial de novo in the limitation

proceeding.

Petitioner lastly urges that should this Court not
instruct Judge Bloch to adopt the findings of the jury in the
state court proceeding, that it nonetheless direct that the
district court order a jury trial de novo. Petitioner
completely disregards the fact that complaints for
exoneration from and/or limitation of liability do not give
rise to a jury trial. Gorman, 2 F.3d at 524; Dammers &
Vanderheide, 836 F.2d at 755.

Petitioner attempts to contort the limitation
proceeding, and thus deprive the incidents that Consolidation
is entitled to under it by incorporating a jury into the
procedure so as to make factual determinations. As noted
previously, there is no such provision in the admiralty

cannot argue that the complainant waived its right to
litigate the limitation issues by proceeding in state
court; the complainant undoubtedly relied on the
claimant’s stipulation when it agreed to litigate in a
different forum. [Pet. a7.]

29

procedure to do such. Significantly, Petitioner cites no
authority for a jury to decide factual issues in a limitation

proceeding, where as here, the district court did not have an
independent jurisdictional basis for the claims of the
Petitioner.

Since Consolidation brought this action as a limitation
proceeding, Petitioner is not entitled to a jury trial, and
therefore, Petitioner’s request that this Court order such
should be denied. |

30

CONCLUSION

Accepted admiralty practice vindicates Judge Bloch’s
refusal to adopt the findings of the jury in the state court
proceeding for purposes of the issues in this limitation
action. Petitioner voluntarily agreed not to do what he is
asking this Court to do presently. In reliance on that
stipulation, the district court and Consolidation agreed to
allow the state court action to proceed. To the extent any
rights of Petitioner’s will be denied by the limitation action
proceeding, Petitioner has expressly waived those rights.

Even if Petitioner’s arguments to this Court are
accepted, Petitioner has not established a clear and
indisputable right to relief. At best there is ambiguity as to
whether Petitioner is entitled to invoke the jury findings of
the state court proceeding or whether Petitioner is entitled to
a jury trial in the present action, which ambiguity precludes
the establishment of a clear and indisputable right to have the
writ of mandamus issued.

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for Writ of
Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,
James R. Miller

DICKIE, McCAMEY & CHILCOTE, P.C.
Two PPG Place, Suite 400

Pittsburgh, PA 15222-5402

Telephone: 412/281-7272

Counsel for Respondent

la

APPENDIX A — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT
OF PENNSYLVANIA DATED JULY 20, 1990

Civil Action No. 90-1206

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

COMPLAINT OF CONSOLIDATION COAL COMPANY, as
Owner of the MOTOR VESSEL ELIZABETH and as Charterer
of BARGE NUMBER MC 1029, FOR EXONERATION FROM
OR LIMITATION OF LIABILITY

ORDER

AND NOW, this 20th day of July , 1990, upon consideration
of Consolidation Coal Company’s (“Consol”) Motion for
Approval of Limitation Bond and Stipulation for Costs and for an
Order Directing Issuance of the Required Notice and for
Issuance of an Injunction with respect to any and all losses,
damages, or injuries occasioned or incurred by any person or
resulting from an alleged accident involving George Newman,
which occurred on or about April 27, 1989 while he was
employed by Consol, and referred to in Consol’s Complaint for
Exoneration From or Limitation of Liability filed herein, and it
appearing to the Court that (1) the combined value of Consol’s
interest in the towboat M/V Elizabeth and Barge No. MC 1029
and their freight then pending was approximately $120,000.00,
(2) the claims which have been or may be asserted against Consol
may exceed the value of its interest in said towboat and barge and
the freight then pending, and (3) Consol filed a Limitation Bond
in the amount of $120,000.00 plus interest and has further filed
a Stipulation for Costs in the amount of $250.00, ITIS HEREBY
ORDERED that the Limitation Bond is approved; however, such

2a

Appendix A

approval is without prejudice to the due appraisal of Consol’s
interest in said towboat M/V Elizabeth and Barge No. MC 1029
and their freight then pending, if so Ordered, and that in the
meantime, any party may apply to have the amount of the
Limitation Bond increased or diminished as the Court may
direct.

IT IS FURTHER HEREBY ORDERED that a notice in the
form attached hereto as Exhibit “A” shall issue out of and under
the seal of this Court, citing all persons, firms, and corporations
who have or allege to have claims for any and all losses,
damages, or injuries occasioned or arising out of the alleged
accident involving George Newman which occurred on or about
April 27, 1989, to file their respective claims with the Clerk of
this Court or be forever barred, and to serve copies of said claims
on Consol’s attorneys, Thomas A. Smock, Esquire and Leonard
Fornella, Esquire, on or before September 15, 1990, and to make
due proof of their claims as this Court may hereafter direct,
subject to the right of any such persons or concerns tocontrovert
or question said claims, with liberty also to such claimants who
have duly filed claims to answer the Complaint filed herein by
filing an Answer with the Clerk of this Court on or before
September 15, 1990.

IT IS FURTHER HEREBY ORDERED that pursuant to
Local Admiralty Rule (g)(3), the aforesaid public notice shall be
given by publication thereof in the Pittsburgh Press, published in
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and that such notice shall be published
once a week for four successive weeks prior to the date fixed
herein for filing claims.

IT IS FURTHER HEREBY ORDERED that not later than
the date of the second publication, Consol shall mail or cause

3a

Appendix A

copies of said notice to be mailed to every person or concern
known to have made any claim against them or against the
towboat M/V Elizabeth or Barge No. MC 1029, arising out of or
connected with the aforesaid accident which allegedly occurred
on on or about April 27, 1989.

IT IS FURTHER HEREBY ORDERED that the institution
or further prosecution of any and all suits, actions, or legal
proceedings against Consol or the towboat M/V Elizabeth or
Barge No. MC 1029, arising out of or connected with the
aforesaid accident of April 27, 1989, except in this proceeding
for exoneration from or limitation of liability, be and the same
hereby are stayed and enjoined.

IT IS FURTHER HEREBY ORDERED that service of this
Order shall be made by Consol or its designee.

s/ Alan N. Bloch
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

4a

APPENDIX B — RESPONSE TO CLAIMANTS’ MOTION
TO VACATE OR TO DISSOLVE INJUNCTION AND TO
STAY AND SUPPORTING MEMORANDUM OF LAW

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE
WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Civil Action No. 90-1206

COMPLAINT OF CONSOLIDATION COAL COMPANY, as
OWNER of the MOTOR VESSEL ELIZABETH and as
Charterer of BARGE NUMBER MC _ 1029, FOR
EXONERATION FROM OR LIMITATION OF LIABILITY.

RESPONSE TO CLAIMANTS’ MOTION TO VACATE OR
TO DISSOLVE INJUNCTION AND TO STAY AND
SUPPORTING MEMORANDUM OF LAW

AND NOW comes Complainant, Consolidation Coal
Company (hereinafter “Consol”) by and through its undersigned
counsel, and hereby responds to the motion of Claimants,
George Newman and Suzanne M. Newman, to vacate or dissolve
injunction and to stay this proceeding, averring as follows:

RESPONSE TO MOTION

1. With respect to the averments contained in paragraph 1
of Claimants’ motion, it is admitted that Claimants have filed a
Complaint against Consol in the Court of Common Pleas of
Allegheny County, Pennsylvania (hereinafter “state court suit”),
seeking to recover damages under the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C.
Section 688, and also alleging the unseaworthiness of vessels. It
is also admitted that Claimants have also filed a formal claim in
this proceeding on the same bases. However, it is denied that
Claimants have asserted any affirmative claim for recovery

Sa

Appendix B

based on negligence under Section 5(b) of the Longshoremen
and Harborworker’s Compensation Act, 33 U.S.C. 905(b) in
their the state court suit, although such a formal claim has
ostensibly been made by Claimants in this proceeding.

2. With respect to the averments contained in paragraph 2
of Claimants’ motion, it is admitted that Mr. Newman was
involved in an accident on or about April 27, 1989 while
employed by Consol. The remaining averments contained in
paragraph 2 of Claimants’ motion are denied as stated.

3. With respect to the averments contained in paragraph 3
of Claimants’ motion, itis admitted that Claimants have filed suit
against Consol in the Court of Common Pleas of Allegheny
County, Pennsylvania at No. GD 90-00980, which was served
upon Consol on January 26, 1990. Consol is without knowledge
or information sufficient to form a belief as to the truth of
Claimants’ averment as to the date on which said suit was filed,
and thus said averment is denied.

4. The averments contained in paragraph 4 of Claimants’
motion are denied as stated. On July 20, 1990, Consol filed the
instant action seeking both exoneration from or limitation of
liability. It is admitted that on July 20, 1990, this Court entered
an Order in this action. However, the terms of that Order speak
for themselves, and thus no response to required.

5. With respect to the averments contained in paragraph 5
of Claimants’ motion, Consol avers that the terms of this Court’s
Order of July 20, 1990 speak for themselves, and thus no
response to Claimants’ attempt to paraphrase said Order is
required.

6a
Appendix B

6. With respect to the averments contained in paragraph 6
of Claimants’ motion, it is admitted that Consol duly and timely
published, served and/or filed all advertisements, notices, proofs
and other documents or pleadings required by the statutes,
orders, rules and/or regulations applicable to this action.

7. The averments contained in paragraph 7 of Claimants’
motion are admitted in part and denied in part. It is admitted that
no claimants other than the Newmans have filed formal claims in
this action. However, it is denied that Mrs. Newman has any
legally cognizable claim for derivative consortium rights.

8. Consol avers that no response is required to the
averments contained in paragraph 8 of Claimants’ motion.

9. Consol avers that no response is required to the
averments contained in paragraph 9 of Claimants’ motion. In the
event a response is deemed to be required, then Consol avers that
it will be prejudiced by the granting of this motion if all required
stipulations are not made by Claimants. Consol further denies
that, if Claimants win a judgment in their state court suit less than
the limitation fund, this Court will not be required to take any
further action, since Consol’s action herein is not only for
limitation but also for exoneration from liability, and further
action may be necessary on the exoneration claim.

10. Consol avers that no response is required to the
averments contained in paragraph 10 of Claimants’ motion.

11. Theaverments contained in paragraph 11 of Claimants’
motion are denied as stated.

Ta

Appendix B

MEMORANDUM OF LAW IN RESPONSE TO
CLAIMANTS’ MOTION

Claimants’ motion to vacate or dissolve injunction and to
stay is actually two motions, and Consol will hereinafter discuss
the relative merits of these motions separately.

Claimants filed an action against Consol in the Court of
Common Pleas of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania at No. GD
90-00980 (state court suit), which was served on Consol on
January 26, 1990. Claimants allege in their state court suit that
George Newman was a seaman and that he was injured after
being involved in an accident on or about April 27, 1989 while
employed by Consol.

On July 20, 1990, Consol filed the instant action seeking
exoneration from or limitation of liability with respect to Mr.
Newman’s accident of April 27, 1989, pursuant to the provisions
of 46 U.S.C. Sections 181, et seq. At that time, Consol also filed
an appropriate Limitation Bond in the amount of $120,000.00,
representing the aggregate value of Consol’s interests in the
M/V Elizabeth and Barge No. MC 1029, the vessels on which Mr.
Newman claims to have been working at the time of his accident.

Upon the filing of Consol’s Complaint herein, and in order
to properly protect this Court’s admiralty jurisdiction over this
matter, this Court entered an Order on July 20, 1990 which,
among other things, ordered on page 3 that the

institution or further prosecution of any and
all suits, actions, or legal proceedings against
Consol or the M/V Elizabeth or Barge No.
MC 1029, arising out of or connected with the

Appendix B

aforesaid accident of April 27, 1989, except
in this proceeding for exoneration from or
limitation of liability, be and the same hereby
are stayed and enjoined.

Thus, this Court’s Order of July 20, 1990 effectively enjoined
any further prosecution of the state court suit which Claimants
had filed previously.

Consol subsequently published all required notices and
advertisements, and filed all required pleadings and proofs in
accordance with the applicable statutes, orders, rules and
regulations governing actions for exoneration from or limitation
of liability. Thereafter, the only claim filed in this proceeding
was one filed on behalf of the Newmans, Claimants herein.
Claimants now move this Court to vacate or dissolve the stay of
July 20, 1990 so that they may proceed with the prosecution of
their state court suit. Claimants have also asked this Court to
enter a stay as to all further proceedings in the instant action
wherein Consol seeks exoneration from or limitation of liability,
pending final resolution of the state court suit.

I. Claimants’ Motion to Vacate or Dissolve Injunction

In Langnes v. Green, 282 U.S. 531,51 S.Ct. 243, 75 L.Ed.
520 (1931) and in Ex Parte Green, 286 U.S. 437,52S.Ct. 602, 76
L.Ed. 1212 (1932), the Supreme Court announced that when a
petition for exoneration from or limitation of liability was
pending within the admiralty jurisdiction of a federal court, and
where the only claim in the limitation proceeding was filed by a
party who had previously filed a suit in a state court, then the
federal district court should dissolve its stay or injunction as to
the state court proceeding, but only if certain requirements were
first met.

9a

Appendix B

Subsequent to the Green decisions, various federal courts
attempted to define precisely the factors which aclaimant must
first meet before the stay or injunction as to the state court
proceeding could be lifted. The result of those decisions was the
development of a rule requiring a claimant to file a series of
stipulations when seeking to lift a stay. These stipulations were
summarized by Professor Gilmere and Black in The Law of
Admiralty, Second Edition (1975), at pages 87 1-872, as follows:

The procedure which has been worked out
under the Green cases is as follows: a single
claim plaintiff who wishes to prosecute a
common law action after the shipowner has
filed a petition for limitation must

a) file his claim limitation
proceedings

b) where a stipulation for value has
been filed in lieu of the transfer of the
ship to a trustee, concede the
sufficiency in amount of the
stipulation;

c) consent to waive any claim of res
judicata relevant to the issue of
limited liability based on any
judgment obtained in the state court;

d) concede petitioner shipowners
right to litigate all issues relating to
limitation in the limitation
proceeding.

10a
Appendix B

(Citations omitted). See also, Complaint of Businelle Towing
Corp., 539 F.Supp. 609, 611 (M.D. La. 1982); S & E Shipping
Corp. v. Chesapeake and Ohio Railway Company, 678 F.2d 636,
643 (6th Cir. 1982); Newton v. Shipman, 718 F.2d 959, 962 (9th
Cir. 1983); Jefferson Barracks Marine Service v. Casey, 763 F.2d
1007, 1010 (8th Cir. 1985); Valley Line Company v. Ryan, 771
F.2d 366, 373 (8th Cir. 1985).

All of the courts which have addressed this issue are in
uniform agreement that stipulations a), b), and d), above, are
absolutely necessary before a stay of other proceedings may be
lifted. Admittedly, however, there is a question as to the
necessity of requirement b), that being that a claimant concede
the sufficiency of the amount placed in the limitation fund. The
split of authority with regard to this factor will be discussed more
fully below, after Consol discusses whether the stipulations
which have been made by Claimants herein at least satisfy the
other three requirements.

Requirement (a) — File a Claim in the Limitation Proceeding

Consol concedes that Claimants have filed a formal claim in
this action with respect to Consol’s Complaint seeking
exoneration from or limitation of liability, and therefore
Claimants have met this requirement.

Requirement (c) — Consent to Waive any Claim of Res
Judicata Relevant to the Issue of Limited Liability Based on
any Judgment Obtained in the State Court

In paragraph 8 of their motion, Claimants and their counsel
have agreed to “stipulate that no State Court judgment will be res
judicata as to any limitation fact or issue in the limitation

lla

Appendix B

proceeding.” Although this stipulation may seem to satisfy the
required res judicata waiver on first blush, Consol submits that
acloserreading suggests that the stipulation, as worded, does not
satisfy the requirement.

In the above regard, Claimant’s stipulation only concedes
that no state court judgment will be asserted as res judicata as to
any “limitation fact or issue” in the limitation proceeding.
However, the applicable decisions on this issue generally
require that aclaimant stipulate that “no res judicata arguments
will be made based upon any state court judgment.” Complaint
of Midland Enterprises, Inc., 886 F.2d 812, 814 (6th Cir. 1989)
(emphasis added). See also, In Re Red Star Barge Line, Inc., 160
F.2d 436, 438 (2d Cir. 1947) where the court required the
claimant to waive any claim of res judicata relevant to the issue
of limited liability and based on any judgment obtained in the
state court action.

Consol is not uncertain as to what Claimants mean or intend
when they limit their res judicata waiver to any “limitation fact
or issue.” While not intending to engage in semantical
gymnastics, Consol nevertheless would suggest that Claimants’
attempt to restrict their stipulation regarding res judicata only to
“limitation facts or issues” is too narrow in the face of the
decisional authorities which require a waiver of any claim of res
judicata with respect to any issue relevant to the proceeding.
Furthermore, Consol has sought both an exoneration from ora
limitation of its liability in this action. To the extent Claimants’
stipulation only applies to “limitation facts or issues”, but not to
issues relative to exoneration, then it does not properly protect
this Court’s admiralty jurisdiction over all issues in this
proceeding.

12a
Appendix B

Thus, to the extent that Claimants’ stipulation is an attempt
to waive res judicata, but only as to certain issues which may
arise in this proceeding, then the stipulation is unduly narrow,
and does not comport with the required language necessary to lift
the stay as to Claimants’ state court suit.

Requirement (d) — Concede Consol’s Right to Litigate all
Issues Relating to Limitation in the Limitation Proceeding

Claimants have stipulated in paragraph 8 of their motion
that this Court “has sole and exclusive jurisdiction of any and all
issues relating to Consol’s attempt to limit its liability arising
from Mr. Newman’ a aforesaid injuries. Generally speaking, this
stipulation would appear to satisfy the requirement necessary to
protect this Court’s admiralty jurisdiction to decide any and all
issues in this proceeding. However, the stipulation does not
specifically concede that Consol will have the continuing right
to litigate any and all issues relative to this proceeding; but
merely that this Court will have sole and exclusive jurisdiction
over those issues. Additionally, the stipulation does not
recognize that Ccnsol seeks herein both an exoneration from or
a limitation of its liability. If this Court were to formally and
affirmatively interpret Claimants’ stipulation as conceding that
Consol will continue to have the right, following the lifting of the
stay, to litigate any and all issues relative to exoneration or
limitation solely and exclusively within this Court, then this
particular requirement could be satisfied.

Requirement (b) — Concede the Sufficiency in
Amount of the Stipulation

Commensurate with the filing of its Complaint herein,
Consol filed an Affidavit of Value and a Limitation Bond
securing the value of the M/V Elizabeth and Barge No. MC 1029

13a
Appendix B

as an alternative to tendering the vessels themselves. The
limitation fund as to those vessels has been offered at the
combined aggregate value of $120,000.00. Part (b) of the
generally quoted four part test set forth in Gilmore and Black,
above, would therefore require Claimants herein to concede that
the $120,000.00 value of the vessels in the limitation fund is
sufficient and proper. Claimants have not made any such
stipulation or concession in their motion.

Consol candidly admits, however, that various district and
circuit courts are split in their determination of whether this
concession is absolutely required before a stay of a state court
action may be lifted. In that regard, certain courts addressing this
issue have cited generally the four part test set forth in Gilmore
and Black as being required in its entirety. See e.g., S & E
Shipping Corp. v. Chesapeake and Ohio Railway Company,
supra; Jefferson Barracks Marine Service v. Casey, supra;
Valley Line Company v. Ryan, supra; and In Re Red Star Barge
Line, Inc., supra. More specifically, in Complaint of Tropigas
Carriers, Inc., 603 F. Supp. 940 (S.D. Fla. 1985), the district
court, when lifting its stay, specifically ordered the claimant to
file a statement conceding the sufficiency and amount of the
stipulation for value filed by the shipowner in the limitation
action. Thus, a literal reading of the above decisions would
indicate that Claimants’ stipulation herein lacks the necessary
concession regarding the sufficiency of the value of the
limitation fund herein, and would therefore not support their
request to lift the stay.

On the other hand, there are number of decisions which
discuss in depth this particular requirement, and have rejected
the reasoning that a claimant must stipulate to the value of the
limitation fund before a stay may be lified. See, e.g, Complaint

l4a

Appendix B

of Midland Enterprises, Inc., supra.; In Re Mr. Wayne, 729
F.Supp 1124 (E.D. La. 1989); Kattelman v. Otis Engineering
Corp., 701 F.Supp. 560 (E.D. La. 1988); Complaint of North
Lubec Manufacturing and Canning Company, 647 F.Supp. 1132
(D. Me. 1986).

However, it is important to not that even in those decisions
holding that a claimant need not stipulate to the value of the
limitation fund, nevertheless, those courts have generally
required that the other stipulations which the claimant did make
include a concession, generally or specifically, that the
valuation issue remained exclusively an admiralty question and
was reserved fot determination by the federal court in the
limitation proceeding. See, e.g., Complaint of Midland
Enterprises, Inc., supra. at 817, where the court accepted the
claimant’s contention that she need not stipulate to the value of
the limitation fund itself, but must concede the exclusive right of
the district court to determine value. See also, Complaint of
Businelle Towing Corp., 539 F.Supp 609, 612 (M.D. La. 1982)
(“the determination of the amount of the fund to which [liability]
will be limited are hereby specifically reserved to this Court”);
Complaint of Cannon, 487 F.Supp 26, 28 (S.D. Fla. 1980) (“the
value of the vessel can be finally determined when, and if, this
Court is presented with the limitation of liability issue”).

In the instant action, Claimants have not conceded the
sufficiency of the value of the limitation fund offered by Consol.
Therefore, if this Court accepts the reasoning of those decisions
which require Claimant to specifically make such a concession
before the stay will be lifted, then obviously Claimants herein
have notcomplied with their requirement and the stay cannot be
lifted. -

15a
Appendix B

Alternatively, in the event this Court should, after review of
the applicable authorities, favor the reasoning of those decisions
which have not required a stipulation as to the value of the
limitation fund before lifting the stay, then Claimants herein
must nevertheless concede, in the stipulations which they do
make, that the exclusive right to determine the sufficient and
proper value of the limitations fund lies exclusively with this
Court.' Claimants herein have not specifically conceded that any
and all issues regarding the proper valuation of the limitation
fund or of the the M/V Elizabeth and Barge No. MC 1029 are
reserved exclusively for determination by this Court has sole
and exclusive jurisdiction over any and all issues relating to
Consol’s attempt to limit its liability. If this Court were to
formally and affirmatively construe that stipulation in broad
fashion so as to include a concession by Claimants that all
valuation issues are also reserved for exclusive determination by
this Court, the proferred stipulation may be sufficient.

Response to Claimants’ Third Stipulation
The third stipulation which Claimants and their counsel

make in paragraph 8 of their motion is that they “stipulate that
they will confine the Newmans’ action to the case pending in the

1. As this Honorable Court may recall, Claimants herein previously
challenged the value of the limitation fund insofar as the number of vessels to be
included was concerned. A hearing on Claimants’ motion in that regard was held
before this Court on December 21, 1990, after which Claimants’ motion to
increase the value of the fund by including the values of other barges in Consol’ s
empty fleet was denied. However, it is to be noted that under Rule F(7) of the
Supplemental Rules for Certain Admiralty and Maritime Claims, Claimants
may still challenge the aggregate $120,000.00 value which has been placed on
the M/V Elizabeth and Barge No. MC 1029, by requesting an appraisal of those
two vessels.

ee

:

16a

Appendix B

Court of Common Pleas of Allegheny County, Pennsylvania.
Consol is currently not certain as to the exact meaning or intent
of this particular stipulation, since, on its face, it does not appear
to relate to any of the stipulations required by the authorities
discussed above. However, if this stipulation is an offer by
Claimants that they will not institute or pursue any other
proceedings against Consol in any other court or forum, then the
offer would be proper, since this Court’s stay should only be
lifted, if at all, to allow Claimants to pursue their previously filed
state court suit, but not to allow for the filing of or processing of
any other claims or actions.

On the other hand, in the event this stipulation is an attempt
to suggest that Claimants are only agreeing to proceed with their
state court suit, but are contesting whether they have any further
obligation to continue to proceed in the instant exoneration or
limitation of liability action, then Consol would suggest that this
stipulation is an improper attempt to restrict or confine these
proceedings. As the Court will note from a review of the various
decisions discussed above, the lifting of this Court’s stay against
Claimants’ state court suit does not in any manner act as a
dismissal of the instant action or otherwise moot this action. This
exoneration from or limitation of liability action will still remain
viable and must eventually be resolved and decided.

Even if This Court Should Vacate or Dissolve its
Stay, lt Should Only do so in Limited Fashion

In the event this Court should decide, upon proper
stipulation from Claimants, that the stay as to Claimants’ state
court suit should be vacated, dissolved or lifted, the blanket stay
may not be lifted in ita entirety. In that regard, the stay Order of
July 20, 1990 applies to any and all suits, actions or legal

17a

Appendix B

proceedings against Consol or the involved vessels arising out of
or connected with Mr. Newman’s alleged accident of April 27,
1989. This Court’s authority to lift its stay only extends to
allowing a single claim Claimant to pursue a previously filed
State court action involving the same incident. It does not,
however, allow for the lifting of the stay in order to permit the
filing or processing of any other claims by aclaimant or any other
person. Therefore, in the event this Court should decide to lift its
stay herein, its Order should be crafted only for the limited
purpose of allowing Claimants’ state court suit to proceed.

Secondly, even as to the lifting of the stay to allow
Claimants’ state court suit to proceed, this Court should allow the
Stay to continue in effect against the entry of any judgment
against Consol in Claimants’ state court suit, and as to any
consequent enforcement of any such judgment, pending the
outcome of this proceeding for exoneration from or limitation of
liability. See, e.g., In Re Mr. Wayne, supra, at 1130, where the
court ordered the stay lifted to allow the prosecution of the
claimant’s state court action, but continued the stay in effect
against entry of judgment and consequent enforcement of
recovery pending the outcome of the limitation proceeding. See
also, Complaint of Dammers & Vanderheide, 660 F.Supp. 153,
160 (S.D. N.Y. 1987), aff'd, 836 F.2d 750 (2d Cir. 1988). The
reason for continuing the stay against the entry and enforcement
of any judgment against Consol in the state court suit is to protect
this Court’s sole and exclusive admiralty jurisdiction over any
and all issues relevant to exoneration from or limitation of
liability.”

2. This Court may allow the entry of a defense judgment against
Claimants and in favor of Consol .n the state court suit.

18a
Appendix B

II. Claimant’s Motion to Stay the Instant Proceeding

As indicated above, Claimants have not only moved to lift
the stay against their pending state court action, but have also
moved this Court to stay the instant proceeding until after the
termination of their state court suit.

Gilmore and Black suggest, at page 872, that where a federal
court lifts its stay as to a state court suit, “the admiralty court
dissolves or modifies its Section 185 injunction to allow the civil
action to proceed, meanwhile holding the limitation proceeding
in abeyance until the result of the civil action is known. Some
district courts, when lifting their injunctions against state court
actions, have temporarily closed their limitation of liability files,
without prejudice, pending a request to re-open following the
conclusion of the state court proceeding, or have otherwise held
in abeyance any outstanding motions and pretrial matters
pending resolution of the state court proceedings. See,
Kattelman v. Otis Engineering, Corp., supra; In Re Mr. Wayne,
supra; Complaint of Tropigas Carriers, Inc., supra.

Nevertheless, Consol is not aware of any authority which
affirmatively requires this Court to stay the instant action if this
Court should allow Claimants to proceed in state court. In that
regard, it is to be noted that, in Complaint of Cannon, supra, at
29, the court lifted its injunction as to the state court proceeding
and stayed its own limitation action. However, that court also
ordered that, in the interim, the court “may take action on those
matters that are not subject to determination by the state court.”

Consol would respectfully submit that, ultimately, the
decision as to whether to impose a stay on all further proceedings
in the instant action rests solely within the discretion of this

19a

Appendix B

Court. The general rule is that the pendency of an action ina state
court is no bar to proceedings concerning the same or a similar
matter in a federal court having jurisdiction. Nevertheless, many
courts follow the rule that a federal district court has discretion
to stay proceedings on its own docket pending the outcome of a
similar suit instituted in a state court. The Supreme Court
recognizes this discretion; however, has indicated that its
exercise is justified only in exceptional circumstances. See,
discussion at Federal Procedure, L.Ed., Volume 1, Section
1:558. Factors affecting the decision to grant or deny a stay
include, among others, the order in which jurisdiction was
obtained, the similarities of the parties, the similarity of issues,
avoidance of piecemeal litigation and the convenience of the
forums. See generally, Federal Procedure, supra, at Sections
1:559-1:564.

Itis to be noted herein that, while the parties are the same and
the issues may appear to be similar on their face, the legal
theories and burdens of proof are different in this action as
opposed to those in Claimants’ state court suit. It should also be
noted that, although it is true that in the event Consol is
ultimately successful in obtaining a defense verdict in the state
court suit, no further action in this proceeding would be
necessary; nevertheless, in the event of a jury award in favor of
Claimants in state court, the parties would still return to this
Court for a determination of whether Consol should be
exonerated from and/or limited with respect to its liability.
Under these circumstances, this Court may wish tocontinue with
this proceeding presently, rather than waiting to proceed in the
future.

20a
Appendix B

Respectfully submitted,
POLITO & SMOCK, P.C.

By s/ Leonard Fornella
Leonard Fornella

Suite 400

Four Gateway Center
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
(412) 392-3500

Attorneys for Complainant,
Consolidation Coal Company

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1785%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
