# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Klein v. Grievance Committee for the Ninth Judicial District

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1486%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 524 U.S. 953

## Text

° Bupreme Court, U.S.
FILED

: 97 1785 Mar 15 998

No.
OFFIGOE OF THE CLENK

In Tire
Supreme Court of the United States

In the Matter of SHMUEL B. KLEIN,
an attorney and counselor-at-law

SHMUEL B. KLEIN,
Petitioner,
-against-

GRIEVANCE COMMITTEE FOR THE
NINTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT,
Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
tc the Court of Appeals of the
State of New York

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

Shmuel B. Klein, Petitioner, pro se
268 West Route 59

Spring Valley, NY 10977
914-425-2682

Counsel, pro se for Petitioner

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

Questions Presented for Review

I. (a) The questions presented for review are as
follows:

(1) Whether an attorney disciplinary charge may
be based upon a court order found to violate due
process?

(ii) Whether an attorney disciplinary charge
may be based upon an order which violated the free
exercise clause of the United States Constitution?

(iii) Whether a 5 year suspension from the

practice of law is violative of equal protection?

(b) A list of all parties to the proceeding in the
court whose judgment is sought to be reviewed is as
follows:

For the Petitioner:

Shmuel B. Klein, Petitioner, pro se

268 West Route 59, Spring Valley, NY 10977
914-425-2682

For the Respondent:

Grievance Committee for the ninth judicial district of
the State of New York, by Gloria A. Bunze,

399 Knollwood Road, Suite 200, White Plains, NY
10603

(c) See attached

(d) Citations of the official and unofficial
reports of the opinions and orders entered in the case
by courts or administrative agencies:

None as of this filing.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Table of Authorities

Statement of the basis for
jurisdiction in this Court
Constitutional provisions, treaties,
Statutes, ordinances, and regulations

involved in the case

Statement of the case setting
out the facts material to consideration

Argument amplifying the reasons relied on
for allowance of the writ

Conclusion

Page

(

19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Abington School Dist. v. Schempp,
374 U.S. 203, 305 (1963)
Angel v. Bullington, 330 U.S. 183 (1947)
Brown-Forman Co. v. Kentucky,
217 U.S. 563, 573 (1910)
ix Parte Burr, 22 U.S.(9 Wheat.) 529, 530
6 L.Ed. 152 (1824)
Chicago, B. & Q. R.R. v. Chicago
166 U.S. 226 (1897)
French v. Barber Asphalt Paving Co.,
181 U.S. 324, 328 (1901)
F.S. Royster Guano Co. v. Virginia,
253 U.S. 412, 415 (1920)
Ex parte Garland, 71 U.S. 333, 378-79 (1866)
Gilbert v. Minnesota,
254 U.S. 325, 343 (1920)
Hialeah, 508 U.S. at 533-34, 542
Jordan v. Massachusetts,
225 U.S. 167, 176 (1912)
Kovacs v. Cooper, 336 U.S. 77, 95 (1949)
Marsh v. Chambers, 463 US 783, 812
Mayflower Farms v. Ten Eyck,
297 U.S. 266 (1936)
NAACP v Button, 371 US 415, 438
Palko v. Connecticut,

302 U.S. 319, 325 (1937)

Solesbee v. Balkcom,
339 U.S. 9, 16 (1950)
Sherbert v Verner,
374 US 398, 403
Smith, 494 U.S. at 878-79, 879-81, 881-82

Snyder v. Massachusetts,
29! U.S.97, 105 (1934)
In re Snyder, 472 U.S. 634 (1985);
Solesbee v. Balkcom, 339 U.S. 9, 16 (1950)
Stewart Dry Goods Co. v. Lewis,
294 U.S. 550 (1935)
In re Summers,
325 U.S. 561, 568, 65 S.Ct. 1307, 1312
89 L.Ed. 1795 (1945)
In re Summers, 325 U.S. at 566-67,
65 S.Ct. at 131] (1945)
Theard v. United States, 354 U.S. 278 (1957)
Ex parte Virginia, 100 U.S. 339, 346-47 (1880)
West v. Louisiana, 194 U.S. 258, 263 (1904)

USCCAN

139 CONG. REC. 514350-01, 514364

(daily ed. Oct. 26,1993)

S. REP. No. 111, 103rd Cong.,

Ist Sess., at 9 & n.22 (1993), reprinted in 1993
ULS.CLCLALN. 189

12
11

15

IS

(e) A concise statement of the basis for
jurisdiction in this Court, is as follows:

(i) The date of the judgment or order sought
to be reviewed is December 22, 1997.

The New York Court of Appeals which is the
court of last resort in New York State decided
important constitutional questio”:s in a way that
conflicts with the Due Process Clause, the First
Amendment and Equal Protection Clause of the
United States Constitution. The first decision deciding
that there was no right to appeal was dated September
23, 1997. The decision denying a motion for
reargument is dated December 22, 1997.

(iv) The statutory provision believed to confer

on this Court jurisdiction to review on a writ of

certiorari the judgment or order in question is Rule 10
of this Court in that the New York Court of Appeals
decided an important constitutional question in a way
that conflicts with the Due Process Clause, First
Amendment and Equal Protection Clause of the
United States Constitution and so far departed from
the acceptable and usual course of judicial proceedings
as to call for an exercise of this Court’s supervisory
powers and that the state court of last resort decided
an important federal question in a way that conflicts
with relevant decisions of this Court.

(v) Notifications required by Rule 29.4(b) are

not applicable as there is no statute in question.

f) The constitutional provisions, treaties,

statutes, ordinances, and regulations involved in the

case are as follows:

(i) First Amendment of the United States
Constitution: Congress shall make no law respecting
an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free
exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech,
or of the press: or the right of the people peaceably to
assemble, and to petition the government for a redress
of grievances.

(i1) Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the
United States Constitution guaranteeing due process
and Equal Protection;

(iii) The Fourteenth Amendment clause of the
United States Constitution as it binds the States and
has been held to contain implicitly not only the
standards of fairness and justice found within the Fifth
Amendment's clause but also to contain many
guarantees that are expressly set out in the Bill of

Rights. See also French v. Barber Asphalt Paving Co.,

I81 U.S. 324, 328 (1901).

(g) A concise statement of the case setting out
the facts material to consideration of the questions
presented ts as follows:

This Petition for a Writ of Certiorari seeks
review of a state-court judgment which denied a right
to appeal of the New York Court of Appeals, the
court of last resort in New York, from the Appellate
Division, Second Department, the Court of first

impression, notwithstanding the fact that the order

underlying the suspension was vacated by the United
States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, as it
was found to have been in violation of the Due

Process clause. See page 13 of the appendix.

The stage in the proceedings, both in the court

of first instance and in the appellate »urts, is

6

completed as the motions were denied. See page |

and 3 of the appendix.

Federal Constitutional questions sought to be
reviewed were raised initially by motions to dismiss in
the court of first impression (the New York Supreme
Court Appellate Division) and then as a motion for
Leave to Appeal in the Court of last resort in New
York State, the New York Court of Appeals. Both
motions were denied. See pages 1, 3 and 13 of the
appendix.

(h) A direct and concise argument amplifying
the reasons relied on for allowance of the writ is as
follows:

No attorney disciplinary charge can be based
upon orders that violate due process, or the First
Amendment and Equal Protection.

Your petitioner was suspended from the

practice of law based upon an order found to violate
due process. See page 13 of the appendix.

After the suspension order was cnicred, the
United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
reversed an order upon which the Suspension order
was based, because that underlying order violated "due
process". It is therefore urged that this Court grant
this petition as no attorney suspension order can be
based on any order actually found to violate due
process.

‘[T]he profession of an attorney is of ‘
great importance to an individual, and the prosperity

of his whole life may depend on its exercise". Ex

Parte Burr, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 529, 530, 6 L.Ed. 152

(1824).
Discipline or disbarment of an attorney

presents a case or controversy within the meaning of

Article III of the Constitution, because it has concrete
adverse effects on the attorney that can be rectified by
further judicial action. This Court has adjudicated

numerous attorney disciplinary matters. E.g., In_re

Snyder, 472 U.S. 634 (1985); Theard v. United States,

354 U.S. 278 (1957); Ex parte Garland, 71 U.S. 333,

378-79 (1866).

This Court explicitly has held that state court
bar admissions and bar disciplinary decisions present
"cases or controversies” under Article IIL. In In re
Summers, 325 U.S. 561, 568, 65 S.Ct. 1307, 1312, 89
L.Ed. 1795 (1945), the Supreme Court held that it had
jurisdiction to review a state supreme court's denial of
admission to that state bar because that denial
involved a case or controversy. The Court stated:
"Where relief is thus sought in a state court against

the action of a committee, appointed to advise the

court, and the court takes cognizance of the complaint
without requiring the appearance of the committee or
its members, we think the censideration of the petition
by the Supreme Court, the body which has authority
itself by its own act to give the relief sought, makes
the proceeding adversary in the sense of a true case or
controversy." Id. at 567-68, 65 S.Ct. at 13] 1-12. The
Court emphasized that ‘[t]he form of the proceeding is
not significant. It is the nature and effect which is
controlling.” Id at 567. 65 S.Ct. at 13] I.

Bar disciplinary actions, and disbarments are
-ssentially judicial in nature and thus present a case or
ontroversy under Article III. See Summers, 325 U.S.

t 566-67, 65 S.Ct. at 1311 (1945) ("A case arises
ithin the meaning of the Constitution, when any

uestion respecting the Constitution, treatise or laws

P the United States has assumed “such a form threat

the judicial power is capable of acting on it.”").
Although a State “is free to regulate procedure
of its courts in accordance with it own conception of
policy and fairness unless in so doing it offends some
principle of justice so rooted in the traditions and
conscience of our people as to be ranked as

fundamental.” Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291 U.S. 97,

105 (1934); West v. Louisiana, 194 U.S. 258, 263

(1904): Chicago, B. & Q. R.R. v. Chicago, 166 U.S.

226 (1897): Jordan v. Massachusetts, 225 U.S. 167, 176

(1912).

The power of a State to determine the limits of
the jurisdiction of its courts and the character of the
controversies which shall be heard in them and to
deny access to its courts is also subject to restrictions
imposed by the contract, full faith and credit, and

privileges and immunitics clauses of the Constitution.

11

Angel y. Bullington, 330 U.S. {83 (1947).

No agency of the State, or of the Officers o,
agents by whom its powers are exerted, shal] deny to
any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection
of the laws. Whoever, by virtue of public position
under a State government, deprives another of
Property, life, or liberty, without due Process of law, or
denies or takes away the equal protection of the laws,
violates the constitutional] inhibition; and as he acts in
the name and for the State, and is clothed with the
State’s power, his act is that of the State.” Ex parte
Virginia, 100 U.S. 339, 346-47 (1880).

It is now the settled doctrine of this Court that
the Due Process Clause embodies 4 system of rights
based on moral Principles so deeply imbedded in the

traditions and feelings of our people as to be

deemed fundamental to a civilized Society as conceived

by our whole history. Due Process is that
which comports with the deepest notions of what is

fair and right and just.” Solesbee v. Balkcom, 339 U.S.

9, 16 (1950) (Justice Frankfurter dissenting). Due
process is violated if a practice or rule ’offends some
principle of justice so rooted in the traditions

and conscience of our people as to be ranked as

fundamental.” Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291 U.S.

97, 105 (1934).

The suspension of my license to practice law,
based upon an order found to have violated the "due

process clause" should be reviewed by this Court.

Your petitioner was also suspended based upon an
order which sanctioned him for insisting on his First

Amendment Right to practice his religion by bringing

13

a motion to arbitrate before a Rabbinical] Court.

In Sherbert v Verner (374 US 398, 403) this

Court stated that an lacidental burden on the right to
free exercise of religion may be justified by a
“compelling state interest in the regulation of a subject
within the State’s constitutional power to regulate’ "

(citing NAACP y Button, 37] US 415, 438). The

compelling state interest js dispute resolution. Seeking
arbitration before a Rabbinical Court cann>t be a
basis to Suspend an attorney, especially when the
matter was submitted to arbitration before the
Rabbinical Court.

In Marsh v. Chambers, 463 US 783, 812 "even

when the government is not compelled to do so, by
the free exercise clause, it nay to some extent, act to

facilitate the Opportunity of individuals to practice

their religion.” | should not be suspended for insisting

upon my First Amendment rights to arbitrate before a
Rabbinical Court.

Religion is not only among fundamental rights,

bat is a “preferred” right of the "highest order." See
139 CONG. REC. 514350-01, 514364 (daily ed. Oct.
26,1993) (statement of Sen. Hatch) ("religious liberty
... is the most fundamental liberty any human being
can claim ... Even the most scorned in our society,
prison inmates, have a legitimate interest in religious
liberty.") ; S. REP. No. 111, 103rd Cong. , Ist Sess., at
9 & n.22 (1993), reprinted in 1993 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1892

(citing cases) see also Gilbert v. Minnesota, 254 U.S.

325, 343 (1920) (Brandeis, J., dissenting) (Fourteenth
Amendment guarantees more than the liberty to

acquire and enjoy property); Palko v. Connecticut, 302

U.S. 319, 325 (1937) (per Cardozo, J.) (Bill of Rights

made applicable to the states to preserve principles of

15

justice "so rooted in the traditions and conscience of
Our people as to be ranked as fundamental"); Kovacs
Vv. Cooper, 336 U.S. 17, 9S (1949) (Frankfurter, J.,
concurring) (fundamental liberties are those “of the
individual which history has attested as indispensable

conditions of an open as against a closed society’)

Abington School Dist. v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203, 305

(1963) (Goldberg, J., concurring) ("The First
Amendment's guarantees, as applied to the States
through the Fourteenth Amendment are to be read
logether . . . to promote and assure the fullest possible
scope of religious liberty and tolerance for all and to
nurture the conditions which secure the best hope of
attainnient of that end.").

The most "exacting scrutiny" of government

actions in four instances - when government

regulation: (1) is not neutral, Le. tarpets religious

‘ed See ee?

conduct or believers either facially or as applied in |
particular instances, Hialeah, 508 U.S. at 533-34,
Smith, 494 U.S. at 878.79; (2) is not generally
, ay =.
applicable, te., selectively burdens religious exercise,
* =
Hialeah, 508 U.S. at 542; Smith, 494 U.S. at 879-81;
(3) creates system of individualized government
assessment of the reasons for the relevant conduct,

following individualized exemptions from a general

requirement, Hialeah, 508 U.S. 537; Smith, 494 U.S. at

884; or (4) burdens religious freedom in conjunction
with other constitutional rights, Le., a
hybrid situation, Smith, 494 U.S. at 881-82.

In each of these four instances, the government

action “is invalid unless it is justified by a compelling

interest is narrowly tailored to advance that interest."

Hialeah, 508 U.S. at 533 (citing Smith, 494 U.S. at

878-79).

17

Basing a Suspensii upon an order which
violated your petitioner's First Amendment free
exercise of his religion cannot be a basis to Suspend
his license to Practice Law
Purther, the devree of the SUSPENSION Was a violation
of the Equal Protection Clause of the Constitution and
requires this Courts review.

The classification must be reasonable, not
arbitrary, and must rest upon some ground of
difference having a fair-and substantial relation to the
Object of the legislation, so that all persons similarly
circumstanced shall be treated alike.” FS. Royster
Guano Co. v. Virginia, 253 U.S. 412. 415 (1920). See
also Brown-Forman Co. v. Kentucky, 217 U.S. 563.
73 (1910). Use of the latter standard did in fact

result in some invalidations. E.g., FS. Royster Guano

Co. v. Virginia, 253 U.S. 412 (1920); Stewart Dry

—,

Goods Co. v. Lewis, 294 U.S. 550 (1935); Mayflower

Farms v. Ten Eyck, 297 U.S. 266 (1936).

No suspension of the length imposed upon your
petitioner can be found in any reporter for the
conduct alleged. The arbitrary length of the
suspension has no fair of substantial relation to the
object of discipline so that all persons are treated
alike.

CONCLUSION

WHEREFORE, it is respectfully submitted that
the within Petition be in all respects granted.
Dated: March 17, 1998 Respectfully,

Spring Valley, NY F
GO»
Shmuel Klein, pro se
268 Route 59 West
Spring Valley, NY 10950
(914) 425-2682

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

STATE OF NEW YORK )
COUNTY OF ROCKLAND)

I, Asmaa Sugqi, affirms under the penalties of
perjury pursuant that I am not a party to this action
and that I am over the age of 18 years old. I have an
Office at 268 Route 59, Spring Valley, New York
10977, and I served the within Petition for Writ of
Certiorari and Appendix on March 18, 1998, by
depositing a three copies thereof in a post-paid
wrapper, placing it in an official depository under the
exclusive care and custody of the United States Postal
Service within the State of New York, overnight mail,
addressed to:

Gloria A. Bunze

399 Knollwood Road
Suite 200

White Plains, NY 10603

"2 {)
jf

eo,
Asmhaa Suqi , 3

Affirmed and subscribed to before me 3/18/98

——. —PrsaslMQ
Notary

> SHIMUEL E. KLEIN ~
Notery Public, State of New York
0 244941210
Quolified in RekudCc unty
Commission Fxehve ? £25/19%

APPENDIX
TABLE OF CONTENTS

dated September 23, 1997

Order from the United MU gic a Se 5

Court of Appeals, Second Circuit
argued September 24, 1997

Order from the Supreme Court
of the State of New York,
Appellate Division: Second
Judicial Department, dated
June 30, 1997

eS RO Se See Se eS

State of New York

Court of Appeals
At a session of the Court, held at
Court of Appeals Hall in the City
of Albany on the twenty second-
second day of December 1997

Present, HON. JUDITH S. KAYE, Chief Judge,
presiding.

In the Matter of Shmuel B. Klein, Mo. No. 1395
an attorney and counselor-at-law.

Grievance Committee for the
Ninth Judicial District,
Respondent,
Shmuel B. Klein,
Appellant.

A motion for renewal and/or reargument to the

Court of Appeals in the above case having been

heretofore made upon the part of the appellant herein
and papers having been submitted thereon and due
deliberation thereupon had, it is

ORDERED, that the said motion be and the

same hereby is denied.

ABA OTE

Stuart M. Cohen
Clerk of the Court

State of New York
Court of Appeals
At a session of the Court, held at Court
of Appeals Hall in the City of Albany on
the twenty-third day of September 1997

Present, HON. JUDITH S. KAYE, Chief Judge,
presiding.

2-25. Mo. No. 1395
In the Matter of Shmuel B. Klein, |
an attorney and counselor-at-law. 2

Grievance Committee for the
Ninth Judicial District, |
Respondent,

Shmuel B. Klein,
Appellant. .

The appellant having filed notice of appeal and

a motion for leave to appeal and for a stay to the

Court of Appeals in the above cause, papers having

been submitted thereon and due deliberation having

been thereupon had, it is
ORDERED, on the Court’s own motion, that

the appeal be and the same hereby is dismissed,

3

without costs, upon the ground that no substantial
constitutional question is directly involved: and it is

ORDERED, that the said motion for leave to

appeal be and the same hereby is denied; and it is

ORDERED, that the Said motion for a Stay be

and the same hereby is dismissed as academic.

Stuart M. Cohen
Clerk of the Court

CORRECTED PER CURIAM OPINION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

No. 269 August Term, 1997
(Argued: September 24, 1997) (Decided: , 1997)

Docket No. 96-5133

IN RE: MOSES STEIN,
Plaintiff,

SHMUEL KLEIN, |
Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

ULSTER SAVINGS BANK,
Defendant-Appellee.

ee ee Re ee eR ee RR RRR See ee See

BEFORE: ALTIMARI, PARKER AND KEITH,[*]
Circuit Judges

Appeal from a judgment entered in the United States
District Court for the Southern District of New York
(Charles L. Brieant, J.) on October 29, 1996, affirming
sanctions imposed on appellant by the bankruptcy
court (Stuart Bernstein, U.S. Bankruptcy Judge) on
June 8, 1994. We hold that it was error for the
bankruptcy court to impose sanction without providing
appellant with notice or an opportunity to be heard.

Vacated and remanded.

Shmuel Klein, Spring Valley, NY,
for Plaintiff-Appellant.

(Anthony Carlini, Law Office of Howard C. St. John,
Kingston, NY, of counsel), for Defendant-Appellee.

Per Curiam:

I. BACKGROUND

On March 10, 1994, Ulster moved to have the
automatic stay lifted on the grounds that Stein had not
made any Post-petition payments on his mortgage. In
response to this motion, Klein produced

copies of three uncancelled checks as proof that Stein
had made the Post-petition mortgage payments,
Nonetheless, on March 15, 1994, Judge Bernstein
lifted the Stay, holding that the bank

had made a prima facie demonstration that post-
petition payments had not been made.

The district court found that on May 17, 1994, Stein
and Klein failed to appear at a section 34] meeting
with Bankruptcy Trustee Jeffrey Sapir and United

6

States Bankruptcy Judge Jeffrey Gallet.

Klein contends that they failed to appear because
Stein was ill and that they informed Trustee Sapir that
they would be unable to attend the meeting. Sapir
moved to have Stein’s Chapter 13 petition dismissed
for failure to prosecute and for failure to deposit funds
with the trustee.[1]

On March 31, 1994, Stein moved before Judge
Bernstein to reargue the lifting of the automatic stay.
Judge Bernstein granted this motion and heard
reargument on April 6, 1994. At no time did Klein
inform Judge Bernstein that a motion to dismiss the
petition was pending before Judge Gallet.

At reargument, Klein again produced copies of three
uncancelled checks as proof that the post-petition
mortgage payments had been made. This time, Ulster
conceded that it had received the checks, but
contended that it was not aware of this fact when it
made its original motion to lift the stay. Ulster
explained that when it received the checks, they were
contained in a sealed, self- addressed, stamped
envelope that was mixed among a pile of other
documents that Klein sent to Ulster. Judge Bernstein
stated that he would reimpose the automatic stay if
Stein paid Ulster all

post-petition payments due in full within one week.
The court also sanctioned Klein in the amount of $500
to compensate Ulster for its costs and attorney’s fees.

On April 7, 1996, Judge Gallet granted the motion to
dismiss. Klein did not appear in response to this
motion. He contends that his absence was due to

excessive traffic en route to the court.

On April 26, 1994, Klein filed a second Chapter 13
petition on behalf of Stein. This petition falsely
represented that Stein had

not filed a previous bankruptcy petition within six
years.

Ulster moved for relief from the automatic Stay or
alternatively for dismissal of the petition. On June 8,
1994, Judge Bernstein heard argument on this motion
and dismissed the second petition. Judge

Bernstein found that the second petition--filed just
eighteen days after the first petition was dismissed--
violated 11 U.S.C. § 109(g). 11 U.S.C. § 109(g)
provides:

Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, no
individual or family farmer may be a debtor under this
title who has been a debtor in a case pending under
this title at any time in the preceding 180 days if--(1)
the case was dismissed by the court for willful failure
of the debtor to abide by orders of the court, or to
appear before the court in proper prosecution of the
case.

filed the second petition with "personal knowledge that
the debtor was ineligible to file under Section
109(g)(1) and that the new petition was interposed to
-" Judge Bernstein characterized

Klein’s behavior as

"{making] a mockery of the prior proceedings and
orders which this court has issued." Judge Bernstein
then charged Klein with various acts of dishonesty and
malfeasance in connection with

Stein’s bankruptcy petitions, including: (1) placing the
mortgage payments in a sealed, self-addressed,
stamped envelope and burying the envelope within a
pile of papers; (2) lying about

whether the post-petition mortgage payments had
been made; (3) failing to appear at the section 341
meeting; (4) failing to inform Judge Bernstein, prior to
reargument of Ulster’s motion to lift the

automatic stay, that the trustee’s motion to dismiss the
petition was pending before Judge Gallet; (5) failing to
appear in response to the trustee’s motion to dismiss
before Judge Gallet; and (5) filing a

second petition in violation of § 109(g)(1). Based on
this conduct, and acting pursuant to Rule 9011 of the
Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure, Judge
Bernstein sanctioned Klein $2,500 for abuse of
process.[2]

Klein appealed the imposition of sanctions to the
district court. The district court agreed with Judge
Bernstein that Klein’s filing of the second bankruptcy
petition constituted an abuse of the bankruptcy
process. The court further concluded that Judge
Bernstein did not abuse his discretion in imposing
sanctions. Finally, the court held that it was not error
for the bankruptcy court to impose sanctions without a
hearing. It explained that while Congress expressly
amended Fed.R.Civ.P. 11 in 1993 to require notice
and an opportunity to be heard before the imposition
of sanctions, it did not amend Rule 9011 to include

9

such a requirement.

II. DISCUSSION

be heard before imposing any kind of sanctions" 76
F.3d at 70. In Ames Dep't Stores, Inc., the district

CaS€ even approached a notice and
Opportunity to be heard before the district court
ordered a denial of Skadden’s requested fee." Id.
Although the district court in Ames Dep't Stores, Inc.
did not expressly state that it was sanctioning Skadden,
Arps pursuant to Rule 901 1,[3] we clearly stated in
that opinion that notice and an

Opportunity to respond is necessary prior to the
imposition of "any kind of sanctions." Id. (emphasis
added); see Rounseville y. Zahl, 13 F.3d 625, 632 (2d
Cir. 1994) (Rule 11); Schoenberg vy.

Shapolsky Publishers, Inc., 971 F.2d 926, 936 (2d Cir.

Opportunity to respond--must be afforded before any
Sanction is imposed.").

10

We now expressly extend this holding to cover
sanctions imposed pursuant to Rule 9011. Therefore,
because Klein had no notice or opportunity to be
heard before the bankruptcy court imposed sanctions,
we direct the district court to remand this matter to
the bankruptcy court to give Klein an opportunity to
respond to Judge Bernstein’s charges. A full
evidentiary hearing, however, is

not required. See International Ore & Fertilizer Corp.
v. SGS Control Servs., Inc., 38 F.3d 1279 (2d Cir.
1994) (finding no due process violation where attorney
threatened with Rule 11 sanctions

received no hearing but had notice and opportunity to
respond); see also Big Rapids Mall Assocs. v. Mutual
Trust Life Ins. Co., 98 F.3d 926, 929 (6th Cir. 1996)
(upholding imposition of Rule 9011

sanctions where attorney had notice and an
opportunity to respond by brief and oral argument);
Childs v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 29 F.3d
1018, 1027 (Sth Cir. 1994) ("Simply giving the
individual accused of a Rule 11 violation a chance to
respond through the submission of a brief is usually all
that due process requires."); cf. Jensen v. hederal Land
Bank, 882 F.2d 340, 342 (8th

Cir. 1989) (remanding case ‘or a hearing where
attorney was not given nc... 2 and an opportunity to
respond before Rule 9011 sanctions were imposed).

Because we are vacating the sanctions order, we need
not reach Klein’s argument that the bankruptcy court’s
imposition of a $2,500 sanction constituted an abuse of
discretion.

Vacated and remanded. {

[*] The | lonorable Damon J. Keith of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, Sitting by
designation,

[1] The portion of this finding regarding Bankruptcy

Judge Gallet’s presence at this section 34] meeting is

[2] Judge Bernstein also imposed other fines to cover
Ulster’s expenses in responding to the second
bankruptcy petition. These fines are not at issue in this
appeal,

[3] The case was remanded in part to allow the
bankruptcy court to specify the source of its authority
to impose sanctions. See Ames Dep't Stores, Inc., 76

12

7_-

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW
YORK

APPELLATE DIVISION: SECOND JUDICIAL
DEPARTMENT

8272Z
S/hu
AD2d
GUY JAMES MANGANO, P.J.
LAWRENCE J. BRACKEN
ALBERT M. ROSENBLATT
SONDRA MILLER
WILLIAM C. THOMPSON, JJ.

95-09901

In the Matter of Shmuel B. Klein,
an attorney and counselor-at-law,

Grievance Committee for the Ninth
Judicial District, petitioner,
Shmuel B. Klein, respondent.

DISCIPLINARY proceeding instituted by the
Grievance Committee for the Ninth Judicial District.
The respondent was admitted to the practice of law by

this court on June 29, 1988, under the name Shmue!]

Berel Klein. By order of this court dated January 3,

13

E'S

: 1996, the issues raised in the petition and in the

answer were referred to the Honorable Lawrence

Martin, as Special Referee. to hear and report.
Gary L. Casella, White Plains, N.Y. (Gloria A.
Bunze of counsel), for petitioner.
Shmuel Klein. Spring Valley, N.Y., respondent
pro se
PER CURIAM. The petition contains three
charges of professional misconduct against the
respondent. After a hearing, the Special Referee
Sustained all three charges. The Grievance Committee
How MOves to confirm, and the respondent CrOSss
Moves to disaffirm, the report of the Special Referee.
Charge One alleged that the respondent
engaged in conduct involving dishonesty, fraud, deceit,
or misrepresentation, in violation of Code of

Professional Responsibility DR 1-102(A)(4) (22

14

NYCRR 1200.3{a][4]), conduct that adversely reflects

on his fitness to practice law, in violation of Code of
Professional Responsibility DR 1-102(A)(8) (22
NYCRR 1200.3{a}[8]), and conduct that is prejudicial
to the administration of justice, in violation of Code of
Professional Responsibility DR 1-102(A)(8) (22

NYCRR 1200.3{a][8]), in connection with his handling

of a bankruptcy matter in the United States
Bankruptcy Court entitled In Re Moses Stein, Debtor.
The facts underlying Charge One are as follows:
i. In an “Extract of Bench Ruling
Dismissing Chapter 13 Case and Imposing
Sanctions on the Debtor's Attorney"
(hereinafter bench ruling ) dated June 9, 1994,
the Honorable Stuart M. Bernstein, United

States Bankruptcy Judge, found that the

respondent, the debtor’s attorney, engaged in

improper conduct.

2. In the bench ruling, the court found that
the respondent attempted to present an ex
parte order to show cause to the court on or
about March 28, 1994, which the court declined
tO entertain. The object of the order to show
Cause was to reimpose an automatic stay on the
foreclosure sale of the debtor’s home.

3. The court further found that, when the
respondent again Presented the order to show
Cause in the presence of the bank’s attorney on
or about March 30, 1994, he initially contended
that a foreclosure sale of the debtor’s home was
imminent, which was not the case since no sale
had been scheduled.

4. The respondent then represented that

the debtor’s confirmation hearing was

16

scheduled for April 7, 1994, and that it was
necessary to resOlve the stay issue before then.
Based on the respondent’s representations, the
court scheduled the hearing on the debtor’s

motion for April 6, 1994.

5. ‘The court found that the respondent
gave false testimony at the hearing on April 6,

1994, and that the respondent lied to cover his |

office’s mistake in sending three checks for past
due mortgage payments to the bank’s attorneys
rather than to the bank.

6. At the hearing on April 6, 1994, the
court sanctioned the respondent for the
aforementioned conduct, ordering him to pay
$500 to the bank. When the bench ruling was

reduced to writing, some nine weeks later, the

17

respondent still had not Paid the sanction.

7. The court further found that, throughout
the many Proceedings in the Stein bankruptcy
matter, the respondent failed to disclose that
the Chapter 13 trustee had moved before
another United States Bankruptcy Court Judge,
Judge Jeffrey Gallet, to dismiss or convert the
matter pursuant to 11 USC $1307(c)(1), (e)(4)
due the debtor’s failure to appear at a "section
341" hearing and to deposit necessary funds
with the trustee.

&. In the bench ruling the court noted that
the trustee’s motion was returnable on April 7,
1994, the date the respondent represented to
the court as the date of debtor’s confirmation
hearing. On that date, however, neither the

debtor nor the respondent appeared in

18

EEE

response to the trustee’s motion or at the
confirmation hearing. By an order dated April
7, 1994, Judge Gallet granted the trustee’s
motion and dismissed the case.

9. The court also noted that the foreclosure
sale was rescheduled for the end of April 1994.
On April 26, 1994, on the heels of the previous
dismissal and on the eve of the sale, the
agen: on behalf of the debtor, filed a
second bankruptcy petition.

10. The court found that the second
bankruptcy petition constituted an "abusive"
Chapter 13 filing that was not done in good
faith, but to frustrate the legitimate rights of
the bank. The court further found that the
second petition flouted a prior order of the

court granting conditional relief from the stay,

19

caused the bank unnecessary expenses, and
abused the bankruptcy process.

11. = The court also found the respondent
falsely certified, in response to a question on
the second bankruptcy petition, that the debtor

had not filed a bankruptcy petition during the

the second bankruptcy Petition since he had

filed a petition on the debtor’s behalf in

petition was interposed to delay the foreclosure.
12. Based on the aforementioned violations,
the court directed the respondent to Pay, within

30 days, Sanctions in the sum of $3,500; $2,500

20

to the Clerk of the United States Bankruptcy
Court and $1,000 to the bank as compensation
for its expenses, including attorney’s fees.
Charge Two alleged that the respondent
engaged in conduct that adversely reflects on his
fitness to practice law, in violation of Code of
Professional Responsibility DR 1-102(A)(8) (22
NYCRR 1200.3[a][8]), and conduct that is prejudicial
to the administration of justice, in violation of Code of |
Professional Responsibility DR 1-102(A)(5) (22
NYCRR 1200.3{a][5]), in connection with his handling
of a legal malpractice case entitled Eliezer Goldstock
and American Jewish Society for Distinguished Children,
Inc. v. Shmuel B. Klein. The facts underlying Charge

Two are as follows:

i In a decision and order of the Supreme

Court, Rockland County, dated October 6,

1994, the Honorable Anthony A. Scarpino, Jr.,
inter alia, dismissed 10 of the respondent’s
affirmative defenses in the above-entitled
action, finding that either they were not
defenses to the alleged claim or they were
wholly without merit. The court noted that,
despite the plaintiff's challenge, the respondent
failed to making any Showing of merit to the
dismissed defenses.

2. In the aforementioned decision and
order, the court warmed the respondent and
Opposing counsel "that the abusive nature of the
pleadings, correspondence, and conduct in this
action must Stop here. The hyperbole,
harassment, and histrionics will no longer be
tolerated. Failure to heed this warning will

result in sanctions and referral by the Court to

22

the Grievance Committee." The court also
stated that no further motions could be made
without prior court approval.

3. Upon information and belief, Justice
Scarpino was reassigned on or about January 1,
1995, and the matter was transferred to the
Honorable Kenneth W. Rudolph.

4. On or about March 16, 1995, Justice
Rudolph sent the respondent and opposing
counsel a letter in which he stated that the
"stern warning" issued by Justice Scarpino, Jr.,
in his decision and order dated October 6,
1994, had "been ignored and had gone
unheeded".

» Justice Rudolph’s letter also stated that,

despite Justice Scarpino’s order that no further

motions be made without prior court approval,

23

counsel continued the behavior described by
Justice Scarpino as if the prior order never
existed.

6. Justice Rudolph’s letter advised counsel]
that ‘ hearing would be held on March ai,
1995 to determine whether sanctions would be
imposed against them for dilatory and
oppressive conduct in violation of the prior
orders of the court.

fg In a decision and order dated March 29,
1995, Justice Rudolph, inter alia, found that,
"[i}n complete contravention of the prior order
of this Court and in violation of the preliminary
conference order to serve his answer to the
amended complaint the [respondent] has made

an Omnibus Motion to compel arbitration, to

Tenew previous motions to strike, to dismiss

24

plaintiffs’ complaint to the dismiss the action as
to the individual plaintiff, Eliezer M.
Goldstock".

8. In the March 29, 1995, order the court

also found that the omnibus motion included
the respondent’s third motion to compel
arbitration, the two prior applications having
been denied by the same court. Morevover, the
respondent admitted to the court that he had
no legal basis for making such application and
that his request for arbitration was based on
religious laws.

9. The court further found that, when
opposing counsel agreed to a discontinuance of
the action of behalf of the individual plaintiff

pursuant to the respondent's motion (see

subparagraph 7 above), the respondent said, "I

changed my mind, I want him in the action,"
and the respondent did not want that portion of
the relief Tequested. The court Stated, "[T]his
contemptuous response clearly demonstrates
[the respondent’s] intent to harass his adversary
and grind this litigation to a halt in a sea of
frivolous motions."

10. The court further stated that the
respondent’s attempt to revisit the previous
decisions of the court was equally Cgregious.
Despite the court’s admonitions, the respondent
displayed what appeared to be a complete lack
of understanding of the serious Nature of the
Proceedings by submitting a further affirmation
‘nN support of his omnibus motion on March 24,
1995. three days after a hearing ON sanctions

was completed by the court.

26

11. Based on the aforesaid conduct, the

court imposed sanctions of $1,000 against the
respondent, ordering him to pay that sum to
the Lawyers’ Fund of Client Protection of the
State of New York within 20 days and to file
proof of payment with the Clerk of the
Supreme Court, Rockland County, within 10
days thereafter.

12. On or about May 4, 1995, Justice
Rudolph sent the respondent a letter in which
he stated that opposing counsel had been given
permission to file a motion for summary
judgment in response to which the respondent

interposed affirmative defenses previously

dismissed by a prior order of the court. The |
letter further stated that the respondent’s |

correspondence indicated the respondent’s

27

awareness that he Was not to revisit the

Previously dismissed defenses.
7 Charge Three alleged that respondent engaged
in conduct involving dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or
misrepresentation, in violation of Code of Professional

Responsibility DR 1-102(A)(4) (22 NYCRR

misleading Statement in his answer to a complaint of
Professional misconduct. The facts underlying Charge
Three are as follows:

l. On or about March 14. 1995, the

Grievance Committee received a complaint of

misrepresentations regarding his malpractice
insurance or in the course of defending the
aforementioned legal malpractice.

2. In his written answer to the complaint,
dated March 21, 1995, the respondent stated, "I
have never had a malpractice claim and try very
hard not [sic] to avoid them."

3. The respondent, in fact, has had at lease

one additional malpractice claim filed against
him as a third-party defendant in an action
entitled Thanlenberg v. Rosenfeld and
Charles/Charles v. Klein. The third-part
summons and verified complaint were refiled
on or about April 27, 1994, in the Supreme
Court, Rockland County.

At the rehearing conference the respondent

made the following admissions: With regard to

29

Thus, the petitioney’s

Motion to confirm the Special Referee’s report in
Sranted, and the fespondent’s croggs motion to

disaffirm the Special Referee’s report is denied

mitigating factors proffered by the respondent with
regard to Charge Two, including the nature of the
relationship between him and Mr. Goldstock and the
fact the underlying actions was ultimately discontinued
with prejudice.

Under the totality of the circumstances, the

respondent is suspended from the practice of law for a

period of five years.

MANGANO, P.J., BRACKEN, RONSENBLATT,
MILLER and THOMPSON, JJ., concur.

ORDERED that the petitioner’s motion to
confirm the report of the Special Referee is granted;
and it is further,

ORDERED that the respondent’s cross motion
to disaffirm the report of the Special Referee is

denied; and it is further,

ORDERED that the respondent, Shmuel B.

31

es oe

and refrain from (1) Practicing law

in any form, either as principal or agent, clerk or
employee of another, (2) appearing as an attorney or
counselor-at-law before any court, Judge, Justice,
board, commission or other public authority, (3) giving
to another an opinion as to the law or its application
or any advice in relation thereto, and (4) holding
himself out in any way as an attorney and counselor-
at-law.

ENTER

Martin H. Brownstein

Clerk

33

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1486%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
