# Opposition Brief — Coastal Petroleum Co. v. Chiles

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1462%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 524 U.S. 953

## Text

| Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

MAY 27 1998

OFFICE OF THE CLARK

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-1760

COASTAL PETROLEUM COMPANY,

Petitiorer,
VS.

Hon. LAWTON CHILES, et al., as and constituting the
Board of Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund,
and as constituting the Executive Board of the Department of
Natural Resources of the State of Florida,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the District
Court of Appeal, First District of Florida

RESPONDENTS' BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR CERTIORARI

ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
Attorney General of Florida

JONATHAN A. GLOGAU*
CHARLES R. MCCOY
Assistant Attorneys General
*Counsel of Record for Respondents

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
The Capitol, PL-01
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1050

beet

2.5 Elaine ten onal So:

annie sic RAS EAE Nc

Fee has Wi neetine

ee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

[as framed by Petitioner]

1. Does the Takings Clause of the Fifth Amendment to the
Unites States Constitution protect petitioner's long-term oil and gas

royalty on sovereignty submerged lands from outright confiscation
by Florida?

2. Whether Florida impairs its own contractual obligations in
violation of Art. 1, §10 of the United States Constitution by
refusing to enter into leases on sovereignty lands thereby rendering
petitioner's royalty worthless?

3. Does Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994), require

Florida to establish "rough proportionality" between its absolute
restriction on drilling for oil and gas, and the environmental perils
it seeks to avert?

4. Has Florida denied petitioner its royalty without the due
process of law required under the Fourteenth Amendment to the
Constitution when it declared petitioner's royalty "speculative" and
therefore worthless, without allowing petitioner a fair opportunity
to introduce evidence of value?

Respondents will argue that none of the questions are fairly
presented, as all assume Petitioner's royalty is indeed property
under state law--a matter the decisions below resolved against
Petitioner. Also, Petitioner's third question was not raised or ruled
upon below, and is not preserved for review.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PREG 6s 5 ess ne cect acs i
FABLE OP CORTES os 58 RL ii
TABLE OF AUTHOREVURS «oo 50060 ke csessciaww iii
CP Be oo 56k eG ee
RIRTTIIC TION sn Sik A Hn Ba 2
STATEMENT OF THE CAGE... 5 iscsis in Soeids isan 2
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ...............4. 6

A. The Decision Below Is Highly Factual; And
Turns On A Question of State Law Only, That
Coastal's Royalty Interest Is Not "Property" .. 6

B. Prudential Concerns Weigh Strongly
Against Certiorari Review ........... 1]

C. The Remaining Questions Suggested
By Coastal Are Not Fairly Presented .. 15

1. Impairment of Contract ........... 15

2. Conflict with Dolan's "Rough
Propostiomehty” FOE ...cc essences 16

3. Opportunity to Present Evidence of
bc pega re Se ye 17

COIN AARIIUON os ss tv 6dnuss peusun peer eee 18

Cases Page(s)
Federal

ernst ¥, Fomenons, 503. 07.5; 593 (1992). cccciiscviicvcene 7
Brady v. Maryland, 83 S. Ct. 1194 (1963) ............... 11
Coastal Petroleum Co., v. International Minerals Corp.,

Pee PE TP TO, BD os os eee san ee see's 2
Coastal Petroleum Co. v. Sec. of the Army, case nos. 68-951-Civ-CA
& 69-699-Civ-CA [unpublished] (S.D. Fla. Feb. 5, 1971) ..... 9
Dolan vy. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994) ......... 1,16
illinois Central Railroad v. Illinois, 146 U.S. 387 (1892) ... 8
ee ET AOE dias ca basses 2a Vey oeeeeeeas 9,10
Marine One, Inc. v. Manatee County, 898 F.2d 1490
I a ee ke ge ede MA's s w'ccee seca s 17
Cts SULA PO CIPI E). cag vce ee evearses's 14
Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto, 467 U.S. 986 (1984) ....... 7,15
United States v. Johnson, 268 U.S. 220 (1925) ......... 11
State

Broward v. Mabry, 58 Fla. 298, 50 So. 826 (1909) ....... 8

EE Oy BE ak CEE 8 ee CREP EG ae eR ba ae 8

Conway Land, Inc. v. Terry, 542 So. 2d 362 (Fla. 1989) 10,11
Graham v. Estuary Properties, Inc., 399 So. 2d 1374

(Fla. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1083 (1981) ........ 14
Neel v. Rudman, 33 So. 2d 234 (Fla. 1948) ............. 7
State v, Black River Phosphate Co,, 32 Fla. 82,

ES Ts Ue CARs whch pie) cae ake HE owe eke viens 8
State v. Gerbing, 56 Fla. 603, 47 So. 353 (1908) ......... 8

Welles v. Berry, 434 So. 2d 962 (Fla. 2d DCA 1983) .. 8,15

Other Authority

PNR E aoe sy 2 GER regrieeteateae ap arg Nr payee aE Ey ise n Mi 2,11
PEE. oe a Fe xo eRe ee bw ONE ERR SES 8
Bo ties Pe les ge he heh ba bo Roe en bee es 15
ah a a NE ee a aS oe a 3,5

Stern & Gressman, Supreme Court Practice (7th ed. 1993) 11

TLL LONE NN EE eRe

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-1760

COASTAL PETROLEUM COMPANY,

Petitioner,
VS.

Hon. LAWTON CHILES, et al., as and constituting the Board
of Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund, and as
constituting the Executive Board of the Department of Natural
Resources of the State of Florida,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the District
Court of Appeal, First District of Florida

RESPONDENTS' BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

PINI BELOW

The opinion by the First District Court of Appeal (Pet. App. 1I-
12) is reported at 701 So.2d 619. The opinion of the trial court
(Pet. App. 13-33) is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The decision below was a final decision by the First District |
Court of Appeal of Florida on November 5, 1997. The Florida
Supreme Court declined discretionary review on January 28, 1998. |
The petition for writ of certiorari was docketed on April 28, 1998.

Petitioner has invoked this Court's jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.
§1257(a).

Respondents will urge the decision below was tantamount to a
determination that Coastal's royalty interest was not "property"
under Florida law. By petitioning for certiorari, Coastal seeks
reversal on the underlying issue of state law only. This Court does
not have jurisdiction to do so.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case addresses a matter of state law; that is, whether a
residual royalty interest in sovereign land--given the unusual facts
of this case--is a property interest under Florida law. Essentially,
Coastal seeks certiorari to reverse a decision of state law that no
property interest arose, in order to press its federal claim that a
1990 statute effected a taking of its royalty interest.

In 1941, Coastal's corporate predecessor leased a tremendous
swathe of land under Florida's Gulf waters. In 1976, Coastal
entered an agreement settling litigation with Respondents
("Florida" or the "State"), and relinquishing all but a royalty

interest in the nearshore portion of that land.’ Coastal Petroleum

'The map on page 55 of Coastal's appendix is helpful. It shows that
after the 1976 settlement Coastal's lease was reduced to two parallel
bands of land under the Gulf of Mexico. Each band is about 3 nautical
miles wide, roughly following the coastline, from Naples to
Apalachicola. The more landward band (aqua on the map) is subject
to Coastal's residual interest. For clarity, this band will be referred as
the "royalty area." It is the only area at issue in this litigation.

2

a icillleiiilaiieieiaiiaidiiiliialiall

Co., v. International Minerals Corp., 709 F.Supp. 1092, 1098 n.3
(N.D. Fla. 1988) By statute, the 1990 Legislature banned future

oil and gas drilling throughout Florida's Gulf waters, not just
near the shore. Ch. 90-72, Laws of Florida (1990), codified as
§253.61(1)(d) & §377.24(9), Florida Statutes (prohibiting oil and
gas leases and permits for most of Florida's territorial waters in
the Gulf and Atlantic).

Coastal's statement omits highly factual conclusions reached
by the state courts. The trial court found that from 1947 to 1968
twenty-two offshore wells were drilled, only one of which--not
in the royalty or offshore areas--discovered any oil or gas. There
were no third-party requests for leases in the royalty area during
the 15 years between the settlement and the instant litigation.
(Pet. App., p. 3, 14-16) These facts compelled the conclusion the
royalty area was not "prospective" for oil and gas in 1976, when
Coastal relinquished all but its royalty interest back to the

Trustees pursuant to the settlement agreement. (Pet. App. p. 5,
16)

The trial court found the 1976 agreement was silent as to
whether the State was to cooperate with potential future lessees,
and contained no provision requiring the royalty area to be leased
at all. (Pet. App., p. 16) The court also found, based on Florida
law, that the settlement agreement did not imply a condition that
the State would lease land within the royalty area. It concluded
that the settlement agreement did not give Coastal any right to
require the royalty area be leased to others. Therefore, Coastal's
royalty interest was "only a conditional right to profits that might
be derived form oil production in the future." (Pet. App., p. 18)

The most seaward band (dark blue on map) is subject to Coastal's
right to actively explore for oil and extract any commercial quantities
found. The two bands are separated by a third band (white on map),
in which Coastal relinquished all its interests.

3

Section 3, part 1.(D) of the settlement provided:

Coastal shall have no right to intervene in any
land use decisions within the areas leased
other than as to the outermost three miles
retained by Coastal. Coastal's only rights ...
shall be the specified residual royalty on oil,
gas, and other minerals. [e.s.]

See "Memorandum of Settlement" at §3, par. 1.(D) [Pet. App., p.
50].

ee REN ERE a

This language covers any land use decisions, not just those
made by the titleholder of the royalty area; that is, the Board of
Trustees of the Internal Improvement Trust Fund. The trial court
held that under §3, part 1.(D), Coastal "surrendered its rights to
the Trustees," including any right as to granting new leases--a
land use decision. (Pet. App., p. 20-21) Therefore, the court
concluded the royalty interest was "not a 'right’ that was taken by
the laws prohibiting exploration and production of oil in the
nearshore [royalty] area." (Pet. App., p. 21) Later, the court
added:

Under these circumstances, Coastal's reservation
of the royalty interest not only failed to create a
duty on the part of the State to lease, but fa-led to |
contain any reasonable expectation that the State |
would lease in the future.
* + &

Recovery of any profits form the reserved royalty

interest would be purely speculative. In fact,

there were many obstacles to a potential recovery

of profits even before the 1990 legislation. ....

Coastal's opportunity to recover a profit from oil

produced in the nearshore area depends [on] a

ae

series of possibilities, one stacked on another.

* * +
A more practical interpretation leads the court to
conclude that no property right was taken and
that no compensation can be due.

(Pet. App., p. 25-33)
The First District Court of Appeal agreed:

We concur in the sound reasoning of the trial
court in determining that [B]ecause of Coastal's
lack of a reasonable expectation that the State
would lease and its lack of ability to force the
State to lease, the State's action in protecting its'
[sic] sovereign submerged land by preventing
exploration and drilling does not constitute a
compensable taking of Coastal's reserved
property interest.

(Pet. App., p. 2) In reaching this conclusion, the First DCA
repeated several of the trial court's conclusions as to the royalty
area's prospects for containing commercial quantities of oil. It
then held Coastal's royalty interest did not rise to a "protectable
property interest under the law of inverse condemnation." (Pet.

App., p. 11)

This is the context in which Coastal contends ch. 90-72, Laws
of Florida (Pet. App., p.56-9) effected a taking. That law, a land
use decision by the Florida Legislature, prohibited oil and gas
leasing in Florida's Gulf waters. It did, however, except leases
entered before its effective date; thereby not. .ecting Coastal's
active exploration and production rights in the outermost portion
of the original leasehold. Coastal seeks compensation for the
alleged taking through the statutory prohibition against leasing

the royalty area to others for oil and gas drilling.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

A. THE DECISION BELOW IS HIGHLY
FACTUAL AND TURNS ON A QUESTION
OF STATE LAW ONLY, THAT
COASTAL'S ROYALTY INTEREST IS NOT
PROPERTY

Coastal's petition fails to show why granting certiorari would
be appropriate under Rule 10(c). Under that rule, this Court may
grant review when a state court decides an important question of
federal law which has not been settled by this Court, but should
be; or has decided a federal question in a way conflicting with
relevant decisions of this Court.

The petition is deficient under either alternative in 10(c). The
opinions of the state trial and appellate courts rest on extensive
and unusual facts, and upon a decision of state law only; that the
particular interest allegedly taken was not "property" under
Florida law. Alternatively, the «pinions rest on the highly
factual conclusion that the royalty area was not "prospective" for
oil and gas, so that Coastal's expectation of a return on the
royalty was not reasonable; and thus did not rise to a property
interest which was protected.

Coastal concedes the state law nature of this crucial issue,
advancing the generality that "a royalty is a protected interest in
real property under Florida law." [e.s.] (pet., p. 7-8) This
unremarkable observation has nothing to do with the

determination here, that the particular royalty? at issue was not
"property"; or, if legally property, is factually so speculative that
it is not a reasonable investment backed expectation protected by
the Takings Clause.

Property interests arise under state law, not the U.S.
Constitution. Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto, 467 U.S. 986, 1001
(1984) ("[p]roperty interests ... are not created by the
Constitution. Rather, they are created and their dimensions are
defined by existing rules or understandings that stem from an
independent source such as state law." [internal quotation
omitted]). See also Barnhill v. Johnson, 503 U.S. 393, 398, 112
S.Ct. 1386, 1389, 118 L.Ed.2d 39 (1992) ("In the absence of any
controlling federal law, ‘property’ and ‘interests in property’ are
creatures of state law"). Under the unusual facts of this case, the
decisions of the state courts must be read as a determination that
Coastal's particular interest was not property under Florida law;
or, if property, not an interest protected by the U.S. Constitution.

The royalty area is sovereignty submerged land of the Gulf of
Mexico. As a matter of Florida law, it has long been subject to
the public trust doctrine:

The title to swamp and overflowed lands which
Florida received in the 1850s and thereafter was
vested in the Board of Trustees for the Internal
Improvement Fund of Florida by the legislature.
The title to sovereignty lands at this point
remained in the legislature as a public trust.

Florida has long recognized that a royalty interest in minerals is
different from the mineral interest itself. See Neel v. Rudman, 33
So.2d 234, 237 (Fla. 1948) (en banc) ("a conveyance of a royalty
interest and the conveyance of minerals in place are two entirely
different documents and convey entirely different interests").

7

Illinois Central Railroad v. Illinois, 146 U.S. 387,
13 S.Ct. 110, 36 L.Ed. 1018 (1892); Broward v.

Mabry, 58 Fla. 298, 50 So. 826 (1909); State v.
Black River Phosphate Co., 32 Fla. 82, 13 So.
640 (1893). These lands differ from other state
lands. Sovereignty lands are for public use, "not
for the purpose of sale-or conversion into other
values, or reduction into several or individual

ownership." State v. Gerbing, 56 Fla. 603, 608,
47 So. 353, 355 (1908).

Coastal Petroleum Co. v. American Cyanamid Co. 492 So.2d
339, 342 (Fla. 1986). See also, Art. X, §11, Fla. Const. (1970

amendment which declares sovereign lands held in trust for all
the people).

As the case law discussed in American Cyanamid observes,

the public trust doctrine long preceded the 1941 lease to
Coastal's predecessor; the leasehold as acquired by Coastal in
1947; and the 1976 settlement agreement. The 1990 law
prohibiting offshore drilling was but a legislative exercise of the
duty imposed by that doctrine. It was an exercise of proprietary,
not regulatory, power. Both courts recognized this. Therefore,
Welles v. Berry, 434 So.2d 982 (Fla. 2d DCA 1983), did not
create an implied duty in the State to lease the royalty area to
others. Subject to the public trust doctrine, the State was not
obligated to seek the maximum economic return from sovereign
land. This, too, is a matter of state law only. (See Pet. App., p.
8-10, 18-26.)

The 1990 law simply made explicit what the public trust
doctrine had long implied--that the use of sovereign, submerged
land was restricted in ways not applicable to private land, and
private use of sovereign land must yield to the best interest of the
public as a whole. Consequently, the public trust doctrine, as

manifested in the 1990 law, was an existing rule or
understanding--it was an implied condition or reservation in the
leases from their inception in 1941.> With respect to Coastal's
leases, the Uctrine was, an implied reservation Application or
exercise of the doctrine does not require just compensation under

the Takings Clause. See Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal
Council, 112 S.Ct. 2886, 2901 (1992):

In light of our traditional resort to "existing rules
or understandings that stem from an independent
source such as state law" to define the range of
interests that qualify for protection as "property"
under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments ...
this recognition that the Takings Clause does not
require compensation when an owner is barred
from putting land to a use that is proscribed by
those "existing rules or understandings" is surely
unexceptional. When, however, a regulation that
declares "off-limits" all economically productive
or beneficial uses of land goes beyond what the
relevant background principles would dictate,
compensation must be paid to sustain it.
[citations omitted]

The public trust doctrine is an existing rule or understanding
which was found, in litigation involving Coastal and the State,

*See Coastal Petroleum Co. v. Sec. of the Army, case nos. 68-95 1-
Civ-CA & 69-699-Civ-CA [unpublished] (S.D. Fla. Feb. 5,-1971)

("The relationship of the Trustees to Coastal is not as tenants in
common or joint tenants but rather as grantor and grantee with the
grantor holding a reservation clause. The reservation clause, of
course, is the trust doctrine mentioned in footnote | above."). [Note:
these consolidated cases are in the record below at Plaintiff's Ex. 1, R
4616-24.].

to be a specific reservation in favor of the State in the leases.
Exercise of the duty, imposed by the public trust doctrine, to
protect sovereignty submerged land cannot be the basis of
Coastal's taking claim.‘

The courts below found Coastal had no contractual right,
founded upon the 1976 settlement, to require Florida to pursue
other leases in the royalty area. Those courts also found, as a
matter of fact, the royalty area had no prospect of containing oil
in commercial quantities. They found, as a matter of fact and
state law, Coastal had no right to require or even expect that the
royalty area be leased to anyone in the future. They held
Coastal's interest was not "property" under Florida law; or, if
property, was not a protected interest since Coastal had no
reasonable expectation of a return on the royalty. Thus, the
factual and state-law character of the decisions is paramount.

Coastal correctly cites to Conway Land, Inc. v. Terry, 542
So.2d 362 (Fla. 1989) for the general proposition that a

perpetual, non-participatory royalty interest in oil and gas is an
interest in real property. Of course, Coastal fails to mention that
its interest arises through a lease of sovereign land always
subject to the public trust doctrine; its lease was voluntarily
amended through the 1976 settlement agreement to relinquish,
in the nearshore area, all but the passive royalty interest; the
royalty interest was not perpetual, but limited to 40 years; and
that evidence adduced at trial showed the nearshore area was not
prospective for commercial quantities of oil, thereby raising no
reasonable expectation of future leasing. None of this was

‘Coastal's reliance on Lucas is also unavailing because the 1990 law
did not restrict all economically productive or beneficial uses of the
royalty. To the extent there was value there, Coastal retains that value
through the possibility of recovery of oil by slant drilling into the
royalty area. (Pet. App., p. 28-9)

10

present in Conway.

Consequently, the petition for certiorari unavoidably seeks
review of fact and state-law* questions already resolved
adversely to Coastal. This Court lacks jurisdiction. See 28
U.S.C. §1257 (establishing certiorari jurisdiction to review
decisions by the highest state court in which a decision could be
had, when a state statute is questioned as being repugnant to the
Constitution, etc.; but not establishing jurisdiction to entertain
questions of state law only).

B. PRUDENTIAL CONCERNS WEIGH
STRONGLY AGAINST CERTIORARI
REVIEW

Two courts have concurred in this highly fact-specific case,
that Coastal had no. protected property interest in the royalty
area. Such concurrence turns upon the proven lack of oil and gas
in the royalty area, and upon interpretation of the 1976
settlement agreement--a separate contract from the original lease.

In the 1976 agreement, Coastal voluntarily relinquished all
rights but the passive royalty in the nearshore area. Coastal also
agreed not to intervene in state land use decisions, such as the
1990 Florida law which Coastal now contends effected the
taking. Certiorari is highly inappropriate. See United States v.
Johnson, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925) ("We do not grant a certiorari
[petition] to review evidence and discuss specific facts."). See

also Stern & Gressman, Supreme Court Practice (7th ed. 1993)

“This Court is bound by the Florida courts’ interpretation of state
law. Brady v. Maryland, 83 S.Ct. 1194, 1198 (1963) ("We usually
walk on treacherous ground when we explore state law, for state
courts, state agencies, and state legislatures are its final expositors
under our federal regime." [footnote omitted]).

11

§4.14 ("The Supreme Court will usually deny certiorari when
review is sought of a lower court decision which turns solely
upon an analysis of the particular facts involved, or upon the
construction of particular contracts or written instruments.”).

These highly unusual facts would make this case readily
distinguishable as a precedent. Again, certiorari review is not
justified.

In addition to sharing the flaw of Part A, Part B of Coastal's
petition (p. 8-9) exhibits flaws of its own. Part B again assumes
the royalty interest is "property." It also assumes a compensable
taking must be found, when the factual record shows the royalty
interest--if assumed to be property under Florida law--has such
speculative value that Coastal's expectation of a monetary return
is not reasonable.*®

This is where Coastal tries to bootstrap itself into a federal
question. It assumes that evidence of the dollar value of the
royalty goes only to valuation of taken property. It fails to
comprehend that the inability to show any reasonably measurable
value also goes to whether the expectation of receiving a royalty
payment is "property"; and, if so, whether such property is
protected by the Takings Clause. Nothing in this Court's
jurisprudence makes the Takings Clause an insurance policy to

‘In its second footnote, Coastal faults the State for urging there is no
oil to be found in the royalty area, while simultaneously requiring a
bond of up to $4.25 billion for clean up costs of a hypothetical million
barrel [oil] spill. Coastal fails to inform this Court that the subject
bond was for a proposed exploratory well nine miles into the Gulf
(Pet. App., p. 73 at par. 8); that is, far outside the royalty area, which
extends only 4.36 miles into the Gulf. (Pet. App., p. 4, 15) There is
no evidence that any commercial oil deposits 9 miles offshore would
also lie within the royalty area.

12

ee

preserve the speculator's dreams of riches against proper
governmental action.

Coastal would evade its erroneous assumptions by baldly
asserting the 1990 law deprived it of the only "viable" economic
use of its property. Viability is not the issue; reasonableness is.
Coastal never asks whether its royalty interest is an investment
backed-expectation that is reasonable. Recall the lucid
observations by the trial court:

Recovery of any profits from the reserved royalty
interest would be purely speculative. In fact,
there were many obstacles to a potential recovery
of profits even before the 1990 legislation. First,
there would have to be an operator willing to
advance the coasts of exploring for oil in the
nearshore area. Second, the operator would have
to reach a reasonable agreement to lease the land
from the state. Third, it would have to be
economically feasable [sic] for the operator to
produce the oil without violating land regulations
in existence at the time of the lease. Fourth the
operator would have to actually strike oil. ...
Furthermore, the fact that there has been no oil
produced in the nearshore area at any time during
the history of Coastal's relationship with the
Trustees is another good indicator that Coastal
had no reasonable expectation of obtaining a
profit from the royalty interest.

(Pet. App., p. 31)

As a matter of fact, the royalty interest had no economic
value which Coastal could reasonably expect to realize. None of
the cases cited by it stand for the proposition that the government

must pay just compensation anytime it takes property

constituting an unreasonable economic expectation. See Olson
v. US., 292 U.S. 246, 257 (1934):

Elements affecting value that depend upon events
or combinations of occurrences which, while
within the realm of possibility, are not fairly
shown to be reasonably probable should be
excluded from consideration for that would be to
allow mere speculation and conjecture to become
a guide for the ascertainment of value ....

The logic of this observation is not limited to the valuation of
taken property. It is equally applicable to the determination of
whether an economic expectation rises to a protected property
interest.

Coastal is no different from the landowner who
unsuccessfully challenged development restrictions in Graham
v. Estuary Properties, Inc., 399 So.2d 1374, 1383 (Fla. 1981),
cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1083 (1981) ("Estuary, on the other hand,
had only its own subjective expectation that the land could be
developed in the manner it now proposes."). Coastal maintained
only a subjective expectation that it might, some day, receive a
royalty if someone discovered and produced commercial
quantities of oil in the royalty area. However, based on the trial
court's factual findings--most prominently that the royalty area
was not prospective for oil and gas when the 1976 settlement
was reached--Coastal's subjective expectation was not
reasonable. The Takings Clause simply does not protect
Coastal's unreasonable expectation against later exercise of the
government's proprietary right to control the use of sovereign
land.

14

i NE a

The instant petition wrongly assumes Coastal's royalty
interest is property under Florida law. It then raises an abstract,
almost rhetorical question: If the government takes property
shown to create only an unreasonable expectation of monetary
return, has the government taken property for which the U.S.
Constitution requires just compensation? The question answers
itself, and the answer is "no."

C. THE REMAINING QUESTIONS
SUGGESTED BY COASTAL ARE NOT
FAIRLY PRESENTED

1. Impairment of Contract {Coastal's second question]

Both state courts found there was no contractual or statutory
obligation upon Florida to lease the royalty area for oil and gas
drilling. (Pet. App., p. 7-10, 19-21) The discussion by both
courts focused on the meaning of §253.52, Florida Statutes; the
meaning of §3, part 1.(D) of the 1976 settlement agreement; and
the applicability of Welles v. Berry, 434 So.2d 962 (Fla. 2d DCA
1983). All three items are matters of fact and state law only. In
its impairment of contract argument, Coastal simply asks this
Court to re-weigh the evidence, and to ‘e-interpret state law.
(See pet. at p. 10-12, arguing that the state courts erred as a
matter of Florida law.)

For the purpose of a taking under the U.S. Constitution,
"property" must be created by an independent source.
Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto. Coastal's unavoidable problem is that
under the 1976 settlement, it had no right to compel Florida to
lease the royalty area at all. As interpreted by the state courts,
§253.52, Florida Statutes, did not require the State to lease the
royalty area and did not imply a contractual right between
Coastal and the State. Therefore, Coastal had no express or
implied contractual right which could be impaired by the 1990

15

law. Its impairment of contract claim has no factual or legal
basis justifying review.

2. Conflict with Dolan's "Rough Proportionality" Test

[Coastal's third question]

Parsing Dolan v. City of Tigard, 512 U.S. 374 (1994),

Coastal urges that certiorari should be granted to ascertain
whether there is "rough proportionality" between the "ends it
[Florida] seeks and the restrictions it imposes" (pet., p. 14). This
question is not properly before the Court.

First, Coastal did not raise it the state courts, thereby
depriving them of the onportunity to pass upon it. Second, it
ignores the profound differences between this case and Dolan.

In Dolan, a landowner was required by the city of Tigard
(Oregon) to dedicate part of her land for flood control and traffic
improvements in return for approval of a building permit. At no
time was the existence of a property interest questioned; at no
time was the existence of property value questioned. The city
exercised its police power only, and applied that power to control
the use of privately owned land.

Here, Coastal voluntarily relinquished all rights in the royalty
area beyond the passive royalty itself, as part of a lawsuit
settlement. Absolutely nothing required it to do so. It was free
to pursue the litigation. Coastal had no property interest, only a
distant hope--refuted by experience--that someone, someday
might find oil in commercial quantities which could be produced
profitably in light of unchallenged environmental regulations.
Because Coastal has no right to require or even expect Florida
would lease the royalty area in the future, Coastal's hope of a
return on the royalty is so speculative that it is not a reasonable
expectation.

16

a

Pe CP ae

Unlike Dolan, there was no exaction here. The 1990 law was
not just an exercise of the police power. It was an exercise of the
right of ownership by the Florida Legislature as trustee of
sovereign land. See i , 898
F.2d 1490, 1491 (11th Cir. 1990) (holding, under Florida law,
revocation of permits for private upland owners to build docks
on sovereign, submerged land was not a taking; and rejecting
analogy to cases in which a city's application of its zoning laws
to owners of private property was determined to constitute a
taking). There is no factual support for the analogy to the "rough
proportionality" test in Dolan. To the contrary, the analogy is so
rough and disproportionate that it is meaningless, and not a basis
for certiorari review.

3. Opportunity to Present Evidence of Value [Coastal's

fourth question]

Coastal begins its final point by urging the decision below
“cannot be supported on the audacious ground that the royalty
has been shown to be worthless." (pet., p. 16-17) This point
ignores the procedural history of this case.

Originally, the trial court entered summary judgment for the
State. (Pet. App., p. 38-45) That judgment was reversed, as
material facts were still disputed. Among those facts were the
“expectation of the parties at the time [of] the settlement." (Pet.

App., p. 37)

Upon remand to the trial court, Coastal had ample
Opportunity to adduce competent evidence’ of the value of the

"Coastal urges it is useful to mention some of the evidence of value
it "could" introduce. (pet. , p. 18-19) Such evidence appears either
inadmissible or incompetent. Some of it is self-serving reliance on
reports by the "Oil & Gas Journal" about Coastal's beliefs. The rest

17

residual interest in the royalty area--not to show "value" for the
sake of proving damages, but to show the royalty interest created
a_ reasonable expectation of return; and thus was a protected
property interest. Coastal failed to do so. Instead it adduced
expert testimony--which the trial court chose not to believe--that
the royalty area was indeed prospective for oil and gas at the
time of the settlement. In contrast, the State proved, through
evidence of the absence of third-party lease requests and the
historic failure of all drilling on the leases, that the royalty area
was not prospective. Therefore, Coastal's residual royalty did
not create a reasonable expectation of return, and was not
protected by the U.S. Constitution.

Coastal simply failed to adduce persuasive evidence of value,
as part of its effort to show the royalty, under the 1976 settlement
agreement, created a reasonable expectation of return; thereby
becoming a protected property interest. Coastal's fourth question
is no more than an attempt to undo its earlier failure.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
Attorney General

JONATHAN A. GLOGAU*
CHARLES R. MCCOY
Assistant Attorneys General

has to do with purchase of leases by the U.S. government, for land far
removed from the royalty area.

18

May 27, 1998

*Counsel of Record for Respondents

Office of the Attorney General
The Capitol, Suite PL-01
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1050
(850) 414-3300

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1462%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
