# Opposition Brief — May v. Shuttle, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1382%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1998
- **Citation:** 524 U.S. 927

## Text

or : :
Supreme Court, U. >.
RIL E D

>

wae 24 996
No. 97-1674 i ice :
IN THE
Supreme Court of the Untied States
OcTOBER TERM, 1997

JAMES May, et ai.,

= Petitioners,

SHUTTLE, INC., et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the D.C. Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT
INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS
AND AEROSPACE WORKERS, AFL-CIO
IN OPPOSITION

JOHN A. EDMOND
(Counsel of Record)

JEFFREY A. BARTOS

ANNA L. FRANCIS

GUERRIERI, EDMOND &
CLAYMAN, P.C.

1331 F Street, N.W.

Suite 400

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 624-7400

Counsel for Respondent
International Association of

Machinists and Aerospace
Workers, AFL-CIO

~~~ |

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co.. INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

® ca a)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the court below properly concluded, in
accordance with Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967),
that petitioners’ state-law fraud claim, challenging con-
duct by a union in its capacity as collective bargaining
representative, is preempted by the federal duty of fair
representation when the same conduct was also the basis
for a fair representation claim?

2. Whether the court below properly concluded that
petitioners could not prevail on their Age Discrimination
in Employment Act claim against their former union
because they had failed to adduce any evidence demon-
Strating that the union was involved with the decision to
terminate petitioners’ employment?

3. Whether the court below properly concluded that
the National Mediation Board acted within its jurisdiction
when it made a representational determination pursuant
to a petition filed by a carrier and subsequently joined
by a union?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED 9noooi.5o..-..cccocccccccececcccece cesses i
oe ce oc tl TE I NS TOI SE Te TS SAE 1
StATEMans OF THE CASE... 1
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT... 4
Ss pecpetatiee totes cog SE O E ESIEON SLT So 7

(ili)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Allied Chem. and Alkali Workers of Am., Local
Union No. 1 v. Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co., 404
Cis RUE RIPE RD icin aisioneneisnincneue ace adc eae

BIW Deceived v. Local S6, Indus. Union of Marine
and Shipbuilding Workers of Am., 182 F.3d 824
CE Se We Ei sisceentannscac aia aieaoe

Carter v. Smith Food King, 765 F.2d 916 (9th Cir.
RE iri hoo cipcccecen semanas ce tuwicbalccdececeaaaaeuaa tue

Hawaiian Airlines, Inc. v. Norris, 512 U.S. 246
IE sired citi vacaciones una et Cree

Johnson v. Int’l Union Local No. 23, 828 F.2d 961
CUE Be ED eisai eeerickasecaccgasuchbon cbauececeomubceemae

Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S.
BL tele RR NUR tai iat rive On Pee ev

Maynard v. Revere Cooper Prods., Inc., 773 F.2d
ee TE Ry BID cricideecienssieisn Sdnadiins eclebbuaeanae

Nellis v. Air Line Pilots Ass’n, 15 F.3d 50 (4th
Cs I ohitciatete cmcecence pena guslincneouksk oediboame cues

Richardson v. United Steelworkers of Am., 864
Pie RE UE Eee SED sick

Vaca v. Sipes, $86 U.S. 171 (1967) ...........................

STATUTES
Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151-188 0000000.

Page

In THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-1674

JAMES May, et al.,
. Petitioners,
SHUTTLE, INC., et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the D.C. Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT
INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF MACHINISTS
AND AEROSPACE WORKERS, AFL-CIO
IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States District Court for the
District of Columbia granting summary judgment in favor
of respondents is unreported. Appendix to Petition for
Writ of Certiorari (“Pet. App.”) 4a-34a. The United
States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia
Circuit adopted the district court’s opinion and published
the opinion as if it was an opinion of the Court of Ap-
peals. That opinion is reported at 129 F.3d 165.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises from petitioners’ loss of union repre-
sentation following an election in 1992 and their subse-

2

quent loss of employment in 1993, when petitioners were
not represented by any union.

Until 1993, petitioners were employed as “fleet service
employees” on a succession of airlines operating a shuttle t
service between Washington, D.C., New York City, and
Boston. Most recently, petitioners were employed by
Shuttle, Inc., a corporation managed by USAir, Inc., and
doing business as the “USAir Shuttle”. For most of that
period, until August 1992, petitioners were represented
for collective bargaining purposes by the International
Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers, AFL-
CIO (“IAM”). Pet. App. Sa-6a.

At the time USAir assumed management responsibili-
ties for Shuttle, it petitioned the National Mediation Board
(“NMB”) for a determination that USAir and Shuttle
were a “single carrier” for labor-relations purposes. On
May 12, 1992, the IAM invoked the NMB’s jurisdiction
in support of USAir’s “single carrier” petition. At that
time, the fleet service employees at Shuttle, represented by
the IAM, numbered approximately 135. The fleet service
employees at USAir, who were not represented by any
union, numbered approximately 8,000. Pet. App. 7a.

Both the IAM and the United Steelworkers of America
petitioned the NMB for an election among the USAir
fleet service employees. The successful union, if any,
would represent the combined USAir and Shuttle fleet
service employees. On August 10, 1992, the NMB
granted the “single carrier” petition, holding that USAir
and Shuttle would be treated as a single carrier. The
election votes of the combined fleet service employees
were then counted in the representation election. Less
than a majority of the employees voted for union repre-
sentation and the NMB ruled that no union would be
certified to represent these employees. Pet. App. 7a-8a.

On August 31, 1992, the IAM advised each Shuttle
fleet service employee, by letter, that they were no longer

races aed ie eR GA ee ne a

3

represented by a union. Petitioners stopped paying union
dues and were generally treated by the USAir Shuttle as
unrepresented employees. Pet. App. 8a.

In March 1993, Shuttle unilaterally furloughed thirty
fleet service employees, including ten of the petitioners.
Thereafter, in November 1993, Shuttle furloughed, or
provided voluntary retirement in lieu of furlough to,
eighty-eight fleet service employees, including the remain-
ing petitioners. Pet. App. 8a, 8a n.2.

Petitioners filed suit in May 1994. Against the IAM,
petitioners claimed a breach of the duty of fair represen-
tation, state-law fraud, and vioiation of the Age Discrim-
ination in Employment Act (“ADEA”). Petitioners al-
leged that the IAM breached its duty of fair representa-
tion by seeking a “single carrier” finding, by not warning
petitioners of the consequences of the NMB proceeding,
and by failing to protect petitioners after losing the elec-
tion. Petitioners also brought 2 state-law fraud claim
against the IAM, based on the same pre-election conduct
challenged in the fair representation claim, as well as a
claim pursuant to the ADEA, alleging that the IAM had
caused petitioners’ loss of employment.

The IAM moved for summary judgment on all of these
claims and the district court ruled in favor of the IAM
on each claim. With respect to the fair representation
claim, the district court held that petitioners’ claim was
barred by the statute of limitations. The district court
further held that petitioners’ state-law fraud claim, based
on the same conduct as the fair representation claim, was
preempted. Concerning the ADEA claim, the district
court found that petitioners had not identified any evi-
dence that the IAM was involved in or caused petitioners’
loss of work. Pet. App. 28a-33a. As to the “single car-
rier” proceeding, the district court found that the NMB’s
decision was jurisdictionally valid because the IAM and
the United Steelworkers of America had invoked the

4

NMB’s jurisdiction seeking a “single carrier” finding. Pet.
App. 24a.

Petitioners appealed the district court’s decision to the |
Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.
The Court of Appeals affirmed the district court’s deci- |
sion and adopted its unpublished decision.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

With regard to the IAM, the court below properly
held that petitioners’ duty of fair representation claim
preempted their identical state-law fraud claim. Peti-
tioners have not identified any reason for granting a writ
of certiorari on this count. Nor have petitioners offered
a basis to reject the lower court’s findings that petitioners
had failed to adduce any evidence to support an age
discrimination claim against the IAM. Finally, the lower
court’s decision concerning the NMB’s representational
determination was proper.’

1. Petitioners appear to challenge the holding below
that the duty of fair representation preempts petitioners’
state-law fraud claim. Petition for Writ of Certiorari
(“Pet.”) 18-20. This argument lacks merit. Petitioners’
fraud claim hinged on their assertion that the IAM, when
it was their collective bargaining representative, made
misrepresentations to them concerning matters integral to
that representation. Pet. App. 32a. This conduct was
also the basis for petitioners’ claim of a breach of the
duty of fair representation. 7d. As this Court clearly held
in Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967), however, fed-
eral law governs a union’s duty of fair representation, a
duty which may not be subjected to potentially incon- |

sistent obligations derived from state law. Vaca, 386 U.S.
at 188-93.

1 Petitioners do not challenge the Court of Appeals’ decision that
petitioners’ duty of fair representation claim is barred by the
statute of limitations.

LL RENT NT RET ee Nr MAE SSO TOS SR

5

Following Vaca, the courts of appeals invariably have
held that state claims identical to fair representation
claims and relating only to a union’s conduct as the col-
lective bargaining representative are preempted by the
federal duty of fair representation. See BIW Deceived
v. Local S6, Indus. Union of Marine and Shipbuilding
Workers of Am., 132 F.3d 824, 830 (1st Cir. 1997);
Nellis v. Air Line Pilots Ass’n, 15 F.3d 50, 51 (4th Cir.
1994); Richardson v. United Steelworkers of Am., 864
F.2d 1162, 1166-67 (Sth Cir. 1989); Johnson v. Int'l
Union Local No. 23, 828 F.2d 961, 967 (3rd Cir.
1987); Carter v. Smith Food King, 765 F.2d 916, 921
(9th Cir. 1985); Maynard v. Revere Cooper Prods., Inc.,
773 F.2d 733, 735-36 (6th Cir. 1985). The decision of
the Court of Appeals below to deny petitioners’ state-law
claim on this ground is in conformity with these appellate
decisions and with this Court’s directive in Vaca.

Petitioners sidestep this line of precedent and instead
argue that this Court’s decision in Hawaiian Airlines, Inc.
v. Norris, 512 U.S. 246 (1994) saves their claims. Pet.
19-20. But there is no conflict between the decision
below and that case. In Hawaiian Airlines, this Court
held only that state-law claims involving rights and obli-
gations that arise separately from collective bargaining
agreements are not “minor disputes” under the Railway
Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151-188. 512 U.S. at 256-62.
This Court did not hold, as petitioners suggest, that all
state-law claims which are not “minor disputes” may be
maintained in the face of other federal law. Indeed, this
Court has recognized that federal labor law preempts
state law in a variety of contexts not addressed by Ha-
waiian Airlines. See generally, Lingle v. Norge Div. of
Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S. 399, 409 n.8 (1988).

Here, no party claims, and no court has held, that the
conduct alleged in petitioners’ state-law claim constitutes
a “minor dispute” subject to mandatory arbitration. Here,

———

6

pursuant to Vaca, the federal duty of fair representation
preempts petitioners’ state-law fraud claim as it challenges
the IAM’s conduct in its capacity as collective bargaining
representative.

Nineteen of the petitioners further argue, for the first |
time in this proceeding, that their state-law claim against
the IAM cannot be preempted by the duty of fair repre-
sentation because they have retired from Shuttle and are
no longer covered by the Railway Labor Act. Pet. 20.
These petitioners rely upon Allied Chemical and Alkali
Workers of America, Local Union No. 1 v. Pittsburgh
Plate Glass Co., 404 U.S. 157 (1971), in which this
Court held that retirees are not “employees” as defined
by the National Labor Relations Act and are not part of
a bargaining unit for the purposes of collective bargaining.

Of course, the current retirement status of the nineteen
petitioners alters neither the duty of fair representation
that the IAM owed to them during their employment nor
the fact that the fraud claim is derived from the IAM’s
conduct prior to their retirement. As with the other peti-
tioners, the misconduct alleged under state law could im- |
plicate the duty of fair representation under federal law. |
In fact, these nineteen petitioners expressly sought recov- |
ery pursuant to the federal duty of fair representation |
for the alleged misrepresentations made by the IAM.

These petitioners cannot now claim they were not owed
a duty of fair representation due to their status as retirees
and seek recovery pursuant to state law.

2. Petitioners also argue that the court below failed
to apply the appropriate standard of proof to their claims
under the ADEA and instead imposed a heightened bur-
den on them. Pet. 22-25. With regard to the ADEA
claim raised against the IAM, however, the lower court
found “no evidence of record that IAM had anything to
do with plaintiffs’ furloughs ... .” Pet. App. 33a. Pe-
titioners do not now point to any evidence demonstrating

7

that the IAM participated in or was involved with the
decision to furlough petitioners. It is clear that peti-
tioners’ ADEA claim against the IAM failed not due to an
erroneous standard of proof, but due to a lack of any
evidence to support their claim.

3. Petitioners also challenge the NMB’s jurisdiction
in the single-carrier proceeding, as well as the NMB’s
conduct of the representation election. To the extent these
charges are pertinent to petitioners’ claims against the
IAM, the IAM incorporates by reference the Brief For
Respondents USAir, Inc. And Shuttle, Inc. In Opposition.

CONCLUSION

Respondent IAM respectfully requests that the petition
for writ of certiorari be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN A. EDMOND
(Counsel of Record)

JEFFREY A. BARTOS

ANNA L, FRANCIS

GUERRIERI, EDMOND &
CLAYMAN, P.C.

1331 F Street, N.W.

Suite 400

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 624-7400

Counsel for Respondent
International Association of

Machinists and Aerospace
Workers, AFL-CIO

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1382%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
