# Opposition Brief — Bass v. National Super Markets, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1253%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 517 U.S. 1208

## Text

-

TF Suprem Co
e ty U.S.
No. 95-1505 wer
APR 19 1996
In The
Supreme Court of the Ts es
*

October Term, 1995

LOUISE BASS, Surviving Spouse of KENNETH BASS,
Deceased, MAURICE BASS and CHRISTOPHER BASS,

Petitioners,
vs.

NATIONAL SUPER MARKETS, INC.,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the
Supreme Court of Missouri

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

RONALD C. WILLENBROCK
Counsel of Record
AMELUNG, WULFF
& WILLENBROCK, P.C.
Attorneys for Respondent
515 Olive Street
Suite 1700
St. Louis, Missouri 63101
(314) 436-6757

‘gee (800) 3 APPEAL + (800) 5 APPEAL + (800) BRIEF 21
inc.

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

The following questions, rather than the questions
identified by the petitioners, would be presented for review in
this case:

1. Whether this Court is without jurisdiction to review
petitioners’ petition for writ of certiorari in that the two (2)
questions presented for review in the petition were never
presented to the Missouri courts. These questions were first
raised in petitioners’ Motion for Rehearing to the Missouri
Supreme Court after its opinion.

2. Whether there is a true federal question raised by the
Missouri Supreme Court’s opinion in question (Appendix D to
the petition) for it does not state any “new law”.

3. Whether the Missouri Supreme Court improperly
deprived the petitioners of their right to a jury trial.

4. Whether the Missouri Supreme Court should have given
its decision prospective-only application.

ii
LIST OF INTERESTED PARTIES

The petitioners are Louise Bass, Surviving Spouse of
Kenneth Bass, Deceased, Maurice Bass and Christopher Bass.

The respondent is correctly identified in the caption except
that National Super Markets, Inc. is now in voluntary liquidation
And its parent company is National Tea Company, Inc.

iii
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Questions Presented forReview ................... i
RUMP IPUOUNIND co. cece c cc ccccccocccece.. ii
ESE a ae es Fa ee ee iii
EE Oe nS ee iv
Statement of Jurisdiction ......................... ]
a l
A. Course of Proceedings and Disposition Below . l
B. Corrections of Misstatements in the Petition ... 3
Reasons for Denyingthe Writ ..................... 12
I. The Missouri Supreme Court did not improperly
deprive the petitioners of their righttoa jury trial.
OE ee 14
II. The Missouri Supreme Court should not and could
not give its decision prospective-only application
for to do so would have deprived the respondent of
its procedural due process, since its opinion does
not establish a “new principal oflaw.” ........ 15

ASE SSSR a 17

iv

Contents
Page
TABLE OF CITATIONS
Cases Cited:
Beck v. Washington, 369 U.S.541 (1962) ............ 12,14
Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S.97,92S. Ct. 349, 30L.
el, LE UOED coc vicbadecuseetnsebebevuwn«s 16
Herndon v. Georgia, 295 U.S. 441 (1935) ............ 12,14

Kemper v. Glick, 39 S.W. 2d 330 (Mo. banc 1934), cert.
denied, 52 S.Ct. 29, 284 U.S. 649, 76L.Ed.551 .... 15

Killian v. J & J Installers, Inc., 802 S.W. 2d (Mo. banc

is SURE EP OPPO TEP r e re Por r ee E rore 15
Leahy v. Leahy, 858 S.W. 2d 221 (Mo. banc 1993) ..... 14
McGuire v. Tenneco, 756 S.W. 2d 532 (Mo. banc 1988) . 17
Summers v. Summers, 707 S.W. 2d 720 (Mo. banc 1985) a
Thurston v. Ballinger, 884S.W.2d (Mo. App. 1994) ... 16
Yee v. City of Escondido, 503 U.S.519(1992) ........ 12,14

Statutes Cited:

SOWA EEET ns acctb ear iesasesntune wens aud 12,14

eee

v

Contents

Page
MSs NE ik thin se pee cout ka ck dha ]
R.S. Mo. § 287.010, DN +. si badtadbiecé be dane l
Pe ME ib kee crak bigs as pide ddec.c..: 1
PCP MIS hii i cnn ncckuiccexions cdsecns 16
ee 17
United States Constitution Cited:
PII 56 coos ois vi dooce 13

FourteenthAmendment ..................0...... 13

1

Respondent requests that the Court deny the petition for writ
of certiorari seeking review of an opinion of the Missouri
Supreme Court. The opinion of the Missouri Supreme Court is
reported at 911 S.W.2d 617 (Mo. banc, petition for rehearing
denied, December 18, 1995). (For the convenience of the Court,
all citations to the opinion will be to the opinion attached as
Appendix D to the petition.)

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

This Court cannot properly exercise jurisdiction over this
case pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a). The two (2) questions
presented for review in the petition were never presented to the
Missouri courts. These questions were first raised in petitioners’
motion for rehearing to the Missouri Supreme Court after its
opinion. There is no true federal question raised, nor did the
Missouri Supreme Court’s opinion in question (Appendix D to
the petition) state any “new law”.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent respectfully opposes the petition for writ of
certiorari. The facts of this case together with the Missouri
Supreme Court’s interpretation of Missouri R.S. § 287.040
(1994) (Missouri Workers’ Compensation Act) raises no
constitutional questions not already answered.

A. Course of Proceedings and Disposition of the Case Below

Petitioners filed their wrongful death action against the
respondent and others in 1988, after petitioners had filed a
Workers’ compensation claim pursuant to the Missouri Workers’
Compensation Act, § 287.010 et seg. Respondent, from the
outset contended that the petitioners’ sole remedy was the
benefits payable under the Missouri Workers’ Compensation
Act, since the decedent as a “Statutory Employee” of respondent

2

pursuant to the Missouri Workers’ Compensation Act. The initial
pleading filed by the respondent was its motion to dismiss for
failure to state aclaim. This was overruled by the Circuit Court.

Later, after the petitioners had received the benefits due
them under the Missouri Workers’ Compensation Act, and
discovery completed, the respondent filed its Motion for
Summary Judgment citing the petitioners’ sole remedy under
Missouri law was the benefits payable under the Missouri
Workers’ Compensation Act. This was overruled by the circuit
court (after it had sustained an identical Motion for Summary
Judgment as to an identical claim by the widow of the security
guard who also was killed during the robbery).

The case proceeded to trial. At the conclusion of the
petitioners’ case, respondent filed its Motion for a Directed
Verdict, among other items the motion stated that the petitioners’
claim was barred by the Missouri Workers’ Compensation Act.
This Motion fora Directed Verdict at the close of the petitioners’
case was denied. Respondent then presented its case and at the
conclusion of all the evidence the respondent filed its Motion for
a Directed Verdict at the close of all the evidence, among other
items the motion stated that the petitioners’ claim was barred by
the Missouri Workers’ Compensation Act. This motion also, was
denied.

The jury returned a verdict against the respondent. Within
the time allowed by the Missouri Rules of Civil Procedure,
respondent file its Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the
Verdict (hereinafter referred to as “JNOV”). This motion was
sustained. The trial court found that the petitioners’ cause of
action was barred because of the Missouri Workers’
Compensation Act, the decedent was a “Statutory Employee” of
the respondent’s and therefore petitioners’ sole remedy was the

3

benefits already paid to the petitioners under the Missouri
Workers’ Compensation Act.

Petitioners appealed the trial court’s granting of the JNOV
to the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District (see Appendix
E to the petition). Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District
Division Three, set aside the trial court’s granting of the JNOV
to respondent, and reinstated the jury’s verdict in favor of the
petitioners. Respondent, before the Missouri Court of Appeals,
Eastern District, sought a rehearing or transfer to the Missouri
Supreme Court, the Missouri Court of Appeals, Eastern District,
denied rehearing or to transfer to the Missouri Supreme Court.
Respondent requested the Missouri Supreme Court to accept
transfer, which they did. The Missouri Supreme Court, (en banc)
handed down their opinion (see Appendix D to the petition) on
November 21, 1995 sustaining the trial court’s granting of the
JNOV to respondent.

Petitioners filed their Motion for Rehearing before the
Missouri Supreme Court, December 6, 1995, (See Appendix
“B”) which motion was denied December 19, 1995. (See
Appendix A to petition).

B. Corrections of Misstatements in the Petition

Respondent is dissatisfied with petitioner’s statement of the
case and therefore provides the Court with the following:

Petitioners’ Statement of the Case is divided into two parts.
The first part, “Failure to Provide Adequate Security” is
irrelevant to the issues raised in petitioners’ petition for writ of
certiorari. Accordingly, respondent will not address this section
of petitioners’ Statement of the Case. Respondent notes herein
that petitioners’ factual summary misstates several aspects of the
evidence at trial. Petitioners’ Statement of the Case factually

4

misstates the testimony that respondent “deviated from its
security procedure(s)” when they stated:

[O})n the night in question, Defendant
deviated from this [security] procedure.

A review of the testimony establishes that there was no
“deviation” in the “security procedure.”

The Deceased was a “Statutory Employee” of respondent.
(In addition to the $165,000 distributed to petitioners from co-
defendant Barrington Bryce Detective Agency as settlement,
petitioners also receive weekly workers’ compensation benefits
from Building Butlers, Inc.)

The second part of petitioners’ Statement of the Case deals
with the “The Statutory Employee Defense.” Petitioners assert
that Bass was employed to perform “specialized” polishing,
buffing, and stripping services at the Natural Bridge store.
Arthur Seise owned Building Butlers, the janitorial company
that provided services to the respondent's Natural Bridge Store.

Seise described the service as “nightly floor service, that is
we dust mopped the floor and scrubbed the floors with an
automatic scrubber” and buffed the floor with a high speed
propane buffer. BBI would “periodically” strip and wax the
floors. The “specialized” service to which petitioners cite is the
Pioneer Eclipse Program (“PEP”). Seise described the PEP as a
line of chemicals and waxes and a line of propane buffers that the
PEP company manufactures for supermarkets and sells to
the program National required BBI to utilize in the Natural
Bridge store. Seise was aware that, during the time BBI was
servicing the Natural Bridge National store, National used the
PEP in all its stores regardless as to whether National's

5

employees or acontractor performed the janitorial services. BBI
provided services to the Natural Bridge store from August, 1986
through the middle of 1988, including the date of this incident.

Seise used the PEP during the entire time Building Butlers
worked at the National store. PEP is just one kind of floor service
program that acompany or janitorial service can use to keep the
floors clean for the public.

5 The only item BBI provided to perform the janitorial service
was the propane buffer that was stored on National premises, and
BBI replaced the pads on the buffer and provide fuel. National
supplied everything else to BBI relative to BBI being able to
perform the job at the Natural Bridge store. National supplied all
of the PEP cleaning materials (i.e., neutral cleaner, wax,
finishing liquids), and all the cleaning utensils such as dust mops
and brooms. National owned the auto scrubber, which was a
machine utilized by Bass or others to clean the floors. The
propane buffer was stored at the Natural Bridge store.

On the night of the incident, Bass was not there for the
purposes of stripping the floor. Bass was there to do something
that National normally had BBI do each night which was to
sweep, mop and buff. In other words, Bass performed the
“regular or nightly maintenance.” Seise usually had one person
assigned to the Natural Bridge store. Bass was the one person
permanently assigned to the Natural Bridge store. During the
period surrounding the time of the incident, National would have
one of BBI’s personnel, in this instance Bass, come to the store
each night. No one from BBI supervised Bass.

Stripping and waxing was not something that is out of the
ordinary as far as floor maintenance is concerned. Based on
Seise’s experience, National would have its floors stripped and
waxed every six to nine months. BBI would strip the floor at

6

National’s request. When stripping, BBI had acrew of 4-5 people
over a 3-4 night period.

Once every 5-8 days National or BBI applied a “restorer” to
heavy traffic areas, and once every two weeks it waxed heavy
traffic areas.

National had the right to direct and replace Bass.

Seise testified that, somehow cleaning had to get done at the
24 hour stores. In 24 hour supermarkets like Price Chopper, since
cleaning activities need to be done to the store such as dust
mopping, wet mopping, and buffing, the cleaning is done at some
point during the 24 hours.

Seise testified that National employees cleaned the floors
during the day.

Seise’s training of his employees to do the job involved of
the lead man or supervisor working with the employees for a
couple of evenings to go through “the regular nightly
maintenance work” with the scrubber, using the product,
demonstrating how to hook up the buffer. Seise had nothing to do
with the training of National employees who performed Bass’
job at its other stores.

After arriving at the Natural Bridge store, Bass would do the
following on a daily basis: | ) sweep the entire sales floor; 2) dust
mop the store picking up labels or gum on the floor with a razor
blade; 3) place the floor soaps into the auto scrubber and scrub
the floor; 4) perhaps incidental spot mopping; and 5) run the
propane after the floor dried. Based upon Seise’s experience, this
daily process was accomplished at the Natural Bridge store when
the store is closed to the public.

7

At the time of the incident, the Natural Bridge store had
three “porters”, two during the day and one at night. The night
person was with the janitorial service. The day porter would dust
mop and wet mop the floor. The cleaning equipment for the
floors, stored at National, included mops, brooms, scrub
machines, and the cleaning supplies. Other than the buffer, the
day porters used all of the equipment.

Co-manager, Joe Lenoir would tell the janitors from BBI of
any special cleaning he wanted done other than the “norm.”

Dan Hughes, Vice President, Smith-Scharff, sold the PEP to
retailers such as National. The PEP floor care system consists of
five components-the floor finish, floor sealer, neutral cleaner,
restoration, and a floor stripper or floor finish remover. The
“program” consists of products and the steps to apply the
“program.” The only component considered to have Causticity is
the floor stripper. If used properly, there should be no exposure
to the product.

Hughes testified to the daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly
maintenance and reviewed the steps of each. The “yearly”
maintenance actually varied and 6-8 uses per year is normal in
the grocery industry because of the foot traffic. The daily
maintenance involves sweeping the floor, removing gum and
stickers, cleaning with the auto scrubber, and buffing. All the
steps of the daily maintenance are necessary to perform the
program and are “integral” to the process, including sweeping
and mopping.

National purchases ali of its cleaning products from Smith-
Scharff. Since 1984, National purchased from Smith-Scharff all
of the floor cleaning products and equipment for the PEP from
Smith-Scharff for all of its stores.

There are other companies that Smith-Scharff distributes
for that have similar floor care programs to the PEP. Hughes has
sold the PEP to National’s competitors like Schnuck’s and
Dierberg’s and Shop-N-Save. It is the custom in the supermarket
industry to do the four step daily maintenance when the store is
closed to the public, if possible, so as not to interfere with
customers. National uses the PEP products and equipment on the
floor during the day.

Schnucks and Dierberg’s used its own in-house employees
to apply the PEP. Hughes participated in the training of the
Schnuck’s and Dierberg’s employees as to how to apply the PEP.
Like National, Shop-N-Save used both its own in-house
employees and janitorial services and participated in the training
of the Shop-N-Save employees regarding how to apply the PEP.

National purchased an average of 5-8 auto scrubbers per
year at a cost of $6,000 to $6,500 per scrubber. National also
bought buffers from Smith-Scharff.

Anthony Summers was the Store Services Manager at
National from 1982 through at least the time of the incident.
Summers’ duties consisted of, among other things, hiring the
floor cleaning contractors and obtaining the chemicals and
products used for cleaning the stores’ floors. During that time,
Missouri regulations existed regarding cleaning the floors in the
stores in order to sell groceries in Missouri which National had
to follow. Summers identified Department of Health
Regulations governing sanitation of retail stores, which
included a section regarding sanitation of floors. It was
Summers’ job to make sure National followed those rules.
Summers also confirmed that National had to comply with the

Department of Health rules, paragraph 23, which provides:

9

Cleaning of floors, walls and ceilings shall be
done as often as necessary but preferably
during periods when the least amount of food
is exposed such as after business hours. Only
dustless methods of cleaning floors, walls
and ceiling shall be used such as vacuum
cleaning, wet cleaning, treated dust mops or
the use of dust arresting sweeping
compounds with brooms.

From 1982 through the date of the incident, representatives
of the State of Missouri inspected National's stores to see if
National complied with the regulations.

National also had tocomply with Section 7-301, page 44, of
the “Retail Food Stores Sanitation Code promulgated by United
States Department of Health and Human Services,” which
provides:

Cleaning of floors, walls and ceilings shall be
done as often...

Summers was responsible for National starting to use the
Pioneer Eclipse Program throughout its stores. The means of
application of the PEP was the same as compared to what
National was using with its own people before the changeover.
Between 1982 and 1984, National essentially used the same
program as PEP to clean its floors, including the type of
chemicals and methods of application. The company through
which it purchased the chemicals/products was Dart Research.
Prior to using PEP, National's employees used a propane buffer
in some of its stores, and National's employees used auto
scrubbers, dust mops, and wet mops to clean the floors of its
stores. National did not have to make a change in the purchasing
of any equipment it already had to use for the Dart Research

10

chemicals when it adopted and switched to the PEP. Summers
identified the form the store managers used to order the floor
cleaning supplies and products on the date of the incident, and
explained the procedure the managers used to order said items
directly from Smith-Scharff. In 1987, no difference existed
between the supplies, products, and equipment National
supplied to the Natural Bridge store as compared to the other
stores, and no difference existed (other than brand name)
between the supplies, products and equipment National ordered
in 1987 as compared to when using Dart Research. National
provided to all the stores cleaning items, such as brooms, mop
buckets, wringers for the mop buckets, rayon and cotton mops
with handles, various pads for the auto scrubber, edging tools,
doodle bugs or octopus pads and handles, and the PEP neutral
cleaner, stripper, floor finish or restoration to all stores. In 1987,
National owned auto scrubbers that were stored on the stores’
premises. In the eleven stores in which National employees
cleaned the floors overnight the National employees used
buffers owned by National.

During the day, National’s porters would sweep, dust mop
and wet mop any spills or breakages. With respect to cleaning the
floors during the day, the procedure at the Natural Bridge store
was the same as in all other National stores.

Summers is the National representative that contracted with
BBI to clean the floors of the Natural Bridge store overnight.
National required BBI to use the PEP. BBI could not have
decided on its own to use another program. National provided
everything necessary, except the buffer, the pads and fuel for the
buffer, and maintenance of the buffer. Any managerial employee
of National had the authority to instruct the BBI employees, and
request that BBI replace an employee.

Harold Meyer was manager of the Natural Bridge store and

Se

11

was on duty at the time of the incident. BBI was the cleaning
service that performed work at the Natural Bridge store after
store the store was closed to the public. BBI would call the
manager to tell him if a different employee was arriving to the
Natural Bridge store to perform the services. The usual custom
was to have one night man from BBI. The one “night man” from
BBI, at the Natural Bridge store, was Bass on the date of the
incident.

The stock clerks would also work at the Natural Bridge store
overnight, and three stock clerks were working the night of the
incident. Immediately before the incident occurred, Bass was
pushing a broom down the dairy aisle. There was no one else
present at the store from BBI. Bass was there to clean the floor.
Meyer described the procedure Bass followed for the daily
maintenance. This was the procedure Bass was to follow every
time he was at the Natural Bridge store. If Meyer saw an area that
was being neglected, Meyer informed Art Seise. Everyday,
Meyer knew what was going on with the floor. It was common for
Meyer to instruct the BBI person regarding certain tasks Meyer
wanted done, i.e., cleaning areas of the floor where an item had
spilled that would stain the floor, pointing out floor corners that
were dirty, Meyer testified he “was always on them pointing out
certain areas for cleaning.” Meyer did not give Bass any
instructions that evening regarding the floor cleaning.

Before this incident, Meyer had the right to tell a BBI
employee to the leave the store. Meyer had an occasion to tell a
BBI employee to leave. Meyer would tell Art Seise if he did not
want a certain person from BBI returning to the store.

Pursuant to the contract with BBI, BBI was toclean the floor
of the store on a “regular daily basis.” BBI normally sent one
person to the Natural Bridge store. National owned an auto
scrubber that it kept on the premises.

12

Meyer kept dust mops, brooms, wet mops, and other forms
of cleaning materials stored on the premises of the Natural
Bridge store. National’s employees on duty during the day would
sweep, dust mop and wet mop the floor of the Natural Bridge
store “all the time.”

During the eight years Meyer was manager of the O’Fallon
National store, and during the time Meyer was manager of the
Natural Bridge National store, Meyer had National employees
who cleaned and swept the floors. During the time Meyer was
manager, CO-manager or assistant manager at various National
stores, Meyer had locations in which, after closing but before
opening the store to the public, the floors would be waxed,
stripped, cleaned every night, and mopped by National
employees. The employees would also use the scrubbers. At
other times at other stores, the overnight floor cleaning was
contracted out to a janitorial service. From the time Meyer
became Assistant Manager to the date of the incident, over eight
years, the floors at the various National stores Meyer worked at
were always cleaned the same way whether a National employee
oracontract janitorial service preformed the cleaning, including
the procedures and types of materials utilized.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

This Court refuses to review judgments rendered by the
highest court of a state unless a federal question has been both
raised and decided in the state court below. Yee v. City of
Escondido, 503 U.S. 519, 523-33 (1992) (in reviewing
judgments of the state courts under 28 U.S.C § 1257, the Court
will refuse to consider claims that were not raised or addressed
below). See also Beck v. Washington, 369 U.S. 541, 549-53
(1962) (because petitioner failed to argue equal protection in
state court, question was not before this Court); Herndon v.
Georgia, 295 U.S. 441, 443 (1935) (failure to follow appellate
channels provided by state court is fatal).

13

Missouri law is consistent with federal law: arguments not
presented to the trial court cannot be presented in the court of
appeals or before the Missouri Supreme Court.

In this Court, for the first time, petitioners argue that they
have been denied their Seventh Amendment right to trial by jury
and Fourteenth Amendment right of due process. Petitioners
never cited the Seventh Amendment nor the Fourteenth
Amendment to the trial court, the Missouri court of appeals nor
to the Missouri Supreme Court. Their only cite, to the above
amendments, was in their December 6, 1995 motion for
rehearing to the Missouri Supreme Court, after its final (en banc)
decision of November 21, 1995.

Petitioners’ petition for writ of certiorari to this Court
attempts to set out two (2) reasons this Court should grant its writ
of certiorari:

(1) THE UNITED STATES SUPREME
COURT IS VIGILANT TO EXERCISE ITS
POWERS OF REVIEW IN ANY CASE
WHERE IT APPEARS THAT THE
LITIGANTS HAVE BEEN IMPROPERLY
DEPRIVED OF THEIR RIGHT TOAJURY
DETERMINATION AND SUBSTANTIVE
AND PROCEDURAL DUE PROCESS.

(2) THE MISSOURI SUPREME COURT
SHOULD HAVE GIVEN ITS DECISION
PROSPECTIVE-ONLY APPLICATION TO
AVERT INJUSTICE, AND PROCEDURAL
DUE PROCESS; AND ITS OPINION IS IN
CONFLICT WITH THIS COURT'S
THREE-FACTOR TEST ANNOUNCED IN
CHEVRON OILCO. V. HUDSON...

14
I,

THE MISSOURI SUPREME COURT DID NOT
IMPROPERLY DEPRIVE THE PETITIONERS OF THEIR
RIGHT TOAJURY TRIAL.

Petitioners first point “THE UNITED STATES
SUPREME COURT IS VIGILANT TO EXERCISE I7TS
POWERS OF REVIEW IN ANY CASE WHERE IT
APPEARS THAT THE LITIGANTS HAVE BEEN
IMPROPERLY DEPRIVED OF THEIR RIGHT TO A
JURY DETERMINATION AND SUBSTANTIVE AND
PROCEDURAL DUE PROCESS.” This is a misplaced “last
gasp” attempt to raise a “red herring” issue to “postpone the
inevitable.”

No constitutional issue is preserved for appeal unless it is
raised at the earliest possible time. Yee v. City of Escondido, 503
U.S. 519, 523-33 (1992) (in reviewing judgments of the state
courts under 28 U.S.C § 1257, the Court will refuse to consider
claims that were not raised or addressed below). See also Beck v.
Washington, 369 U.S. 541, 549-53 (1962) (because petitioner
failed to argue equal protection in state court, question was not
before this Court); Herndon v. Georgia, 295 U.S. 441, 443
(1935) (failure to follow appellate channels provided by state
court is fatal); Leahy v. Leahy, 858 S.W.2d 221 (Mo. banc 1993)

Petitioners’ “earliest possible time” to have raised any
constitutional issues would have been at the time they filed their
notice of appeal from the trial judge’s granting of the JNOV.

Petitioners briefed this matter in the Missouri Court of
Appeals, Eastern District and did not raise any constitutional
issues.

oa wT, —- ee al

15

Petitioners, after transfer was granted to the Missouri
Supreme Court, rebriefed this matter and raised no
constitutional issues.

The first time petitioners raised any constitutional issues
was in their Motion for Rehearing after the Missouri Supreme
Court’s opinion was handed down. Clearly, petitioners have
waived any constitutional questions. Killian v. J & J Installers,
Inc., 802 S.W.2d 158 (Mo. banc 1991).

These constitutional issues, however, have already been
decided. The Missouri Supreme Court was faced with the
constitutional issues petitioners now wish to “revisit.” In
Kemper v. Glick, 39 S.W.2d 330, (Mo. banc 1934), cert. denied,
52S. Ct. 29,284 U.S. 649, 76 L. Ed. 551, the Missouri Supreme
Court held that the constitutional question(s) whether the
Missouri Workers’ Compensation Act takes away common-law
rights of action and defenses can only arise where there were
constitutional guarantees of such rights and would be violated by
their infringement.

Il.

THE MISSOURI SUPREME COURT SHOULD NOT
AND COULD NOT GIVE ITS_ DECISION
PROSPECTIVE-ONLY APPLICATION FOR TO DO SO
WOULD HAVE DEPRIVED THE RESPONDENT OF ITS
PROCEDURAL DUE PROCESS, SINCE ITS OPINION
DOES NOT ESTABLISH A “NEW PRINCIPAL OF LAW.”

Petitioners’ second point, “THE MISSOURI SUPREME
COURT SHOULD HAVE GIVEN ITS DECISION
PROSPECTIVE-ONLY APPLICATION TO INVERT
INJUSTICE, AND PROCEDURAL DUE PROCESS;.. .”, is
without merit. The Missouri Supreme Court's ruling (1) does not

16

establish a new principal of law by overruling clear past
precedent; (2) the purpose and effect of the Missouri Supreme
Court’s decision would not be retarded by its retroactive
application; and (3) there are no interests that must be balanced
since there is nochange in the law. Petitioners citing Sumners v.
Sumners, 701 S.W. 2d 720, 722-23 (Mo. banc 1985) has no
application to this case. Sumners, supra, sets forth the test to
determine whether an overruling decision is to have
retrospective effect. “At the threshold, however, before the
retrospective application of the decision becomes an issue, it
must be determined that it ‘establish[es] a new principle of law
... by overruling clear past precedent.’ ” Jd. at 724, quoting
Chevron Oil Co. v. Huson, 404 U.S. 97, 106,92 S. Ct. 349, 355,
30 L. Ed. 2d 296 (1971); Thurston v. Ballinger, 884 S.W. 2d 22,
25 (Mo. App. 1994).

Not to diminish the magnitude of or to take anything away
from the Missouri Supreme Court’s opinion in this case, itcannot
be said to “establish[es] anew principle of law. . . by overruling
clear past precedent.”

The opinion cites a number of Missouri court decisions,
both of the Missouri Supreme Court as well as opinions of the
Missouri court of appeals, which have arrived at the same
conclusion as to what is “usual business” and “usual course of
business” as used in Missouri R.S. § 287.040.1 (1994). (See II, C
pp. 6 to 9 of the opinion, petitioners’ Appendix D).

17
CONCLUSION

The writ of certiorari should be denied. The Missouri
Supreme Court’s opinion correctly interpreted Missouri law, as
set forth in Missouri R.S. § 287.040.1, et seg. (1994) and as set
forth in earlier opinions by that court, as well as by the various
decisions of the Missouri court of appeals, e.g., McGuire v.
Tenneco, 756S.W.2d 532 (Mo. banc 1988), and properly applied
that law to the facts of the case at hand. The decision “made no
new law.” The opinion did not deprive the petitioners of any
guaranteed constitutional rights under the United States
Constitution or the Constitution of the State of Missouri.

Respectfully submitted,

RONALD C. WILLENBROCK
Counsel of Record
AMELUNG, WULFF

& WILLENBROCK, P.C.
Attorneys for Respondent

515 Olive Street

Suite 1700

St. Louis, Missouri 63101

(314) 436-6757

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1253%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
