# Reply Brief — Mata v. Federal Bureau of Investigation

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1233%3A4

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 517 U.S. 1234

## Text

No. 95-1482

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1995

FERNANDO E. MATA,
Petitioner.

FEDERAL BUREAU OF INVESTIGATION, ET AL.,
Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit

REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION

STEPHEN D. RABER’
DANIEL F. KATZ
WILLIAMS & CONNOLLY
725 12th St., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20005
(202) 434-5000

Attorneys for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

ie ot cotton! Peet mm ..
Sai

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Brazil v. Department of Navy, 66 F.3d. 193
(9th Cir. 1995), cert denied, 116 S. Ct.
SRee CE Se ee khew es

Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367 (1983) .........
Chappell v. Wallace, 462 U.S. 296 (1983) .....

Chevron, U.S.A. v. Natural Resources Defense
Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984)

Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228 (1979) ......

Department of Navy v. Egan, 484 U.S. 518

SU ee ee ys eae sk Gk wk eK A

Furnco Constr. Corp. v. Waters, 438 U.S. 567

I gee th ees ae oP a

Guillot v. Garrett, 970 F.2d 1320 (4th Cir.

i) ear eg a ee ee eee

Hallstrom v. Tillamook County, 493 U.S. 20

Res rR a a 2 aging ao,

Hampton v. Mow Sun Wong, 426 U.S. 88 (1976)
McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S.

SE eo ee
Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 423 (1988) ....

South Dakota v. Bourland, 113 S. Ct. 2309

ing ghee Ste Serre on

United States Postal Serv. Bd. of Governors

v. Aikens, 460 U.S. 711 (1983) ..........
Webster v. Doe, 486 U.S. 592 (1988) ........

Statutes:

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(g) ..............0-..
42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16(a) .................

Miscellaneous:

EEOC: Policy Statement on National Security
Defense to Bias Charges, 8 Lab. Rel. Rep

(BNA) 405:6625 (May 1, 1989) ..........

Page

a)

i]

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1995

No. 95-1482

FERNANDO E. MATA,
Petitioner.

FEDERAL BUREAU OF INVESTIGATION, ET AL.,
Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit

REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF THE PETITION

I.

The government concedes that the Fifth Circuit’s
construction of Title VII eliminates the third stage of the
McDonnell Douglas framework for proving Title VII claims.
Br. Opp. 8-9. See McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411
U.S. 792, 802-04 (1973). The government argues that this

result is compelled by a non-Title VII case, Department of

Navy v. Egan, 484 U.S. 518 (1988), and the "unanimous"
conclusion of two courts of appeals, including the Fifth
Circuit here. Br. Opp. 9-10.

The two decisions create an irreconcilable -- and
unnecessary -- conflict between Egan and McDonnell
Douglas. First, under McDonnell Douglas, a Title VII
“plaintiff must be given the opportunity to introduce evidence

4
ee

that the proffered justification [for the employment action] is
merely a pretext." Furnco Constr. Corp. v. Waters, 438 U.S.
567, 578 (1978) (emphasis added); see also United States
Postal Serv. Bd. of Governors v. Aikens, 460 U.S. 711, 716
n.5 (1983). The government does nothing to reconcile this
fundamental conflict.

Second, the conflict is unnecessary given the plain,
unambiguous language of Title VII. Title VII states: "All
personnel actions affecting employees . . . in executive
agencies . . . shall be made free from any discrimination
based on race, color, religion, sex, or national origin." 42
U.S.C. § 2000e-16(a). From this all-inclusive coverage of
Title VII, Congress carved out an affirmative defense based
on "national security." 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(g). Using Egan,
the government attempts to add yet another exception based
on national security -- an implicit ouster of all jurisdiction.
However, this Court does not permit the judiciary to create
exceptions to the plain language of statutes where Congress
has not done so. Hallstrom v. Tillamook County, 493 U.S.
20, 26 (1993).

Notwithstanding Title VII’s unambiguous language and
statutory structure, the government argues that Congress has
not expressly provided for review of security clearance
decisions. Br. Opp. 10. However, the government offers no
explanation as to how Congress could have made its intent
any clearer. See South Dakota v. Bourland, 113 S. Ct. 2309,
2315-16 (1993) ("When Congress used the term ‘all claims,
rights, and demands’ of the Tribe . . . it meant a// claims,

' Another case cited by the government, Guillot v. Garrett,
970 F.2d 1320 (4th Cir. 1992), is not even a Title VII case. The
plaintiff there alleged that the Navy violated section 501 of the
Rehabilitation Act of 1973 "by terminating him because of his
alleged handicap of alcoholism and cocaine addiction." Jd. at
1323.

3

rights, and demands") (emphasis in original) (citation
omitted). Interpreting Title VII in accordance with its plain
language avoids any conflict between Egan and McDonnell
Douglas.’

II.

The Fifth Circuit’s interpretation of Title VII also
presents the "serious constitutional question" whether a
federal statute may be "construed to deny any judicial forum
for a colorable constitutional claim." Webster v. Doe, 486
U.S. 592, 603 (1988). Petitioner cannot bring a Bivens
action, argues the government, because Title VII is a kind of
statutory mirage: it exists to provide Petitioner his "exclusive
judicial remedy"; but it vanishes when Petitioner actually tries
to employ it, depriving all courts of all jurisdiction to remedy
violations of the Constitution. Br. Opp. 13-14.

The sweep of the Fifth Circuit’s holding is without
precedent in this Court. We are unaware of any case from
this Court, and the government cites none, holding that

> The government also does not dispute that Chevron
requires deference to the EEOC’s construction of Title VII. See
Chevron, U.S.A. v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467
U.S. 837 (1984). Even after Egan, courts are "not precluded
from determining whether the grant, denial or revocation of
security clearances is conducted in a nondiscriminatory manner."
EEOC: Policy Statement on National Security Defense to Bias
Charges, 8 Lab. Rel. Rep. (BNA) 405:6625, 405:6626 (May |,
1989). "Employers cannot, merely by invoking national security,
exempt themselves from coverage of the nondiscrimination
provisions of [Title VII].". /d. The EEOC cases cited by the
government, Br. Opp. 12 n.3, are consistent with this policy
Statement.

a a a a LLL LLL IOLA
—

4

Congress can deny any judicial forum for a violation of
fundamental constitutional rights.’

This Court always has required that some meaningful
relief be afforded those whose fundamental constitutional
rights have been violated. Thus, Title VII does not pre-empt
a Bivens action when the plaintiff is "unprotected by the
statute." Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228, 247 (1979). This
Court accorded a non-Title VII judicial remedy for a claim of
federal employment discrimination to an alien who was not
protected by Title VII, Hampton v. Mow Sun Wong, 426 U.S.
88, 96 (1976), and provided a judicial remedy for a
homosexual who was not covered by Title VII,
notwithstanding the CIA’s argument that judicial review
would "entail extensive ‘rummaging around’ in the Agency’s
affairs to the detriment of national security." Webster, 486
U.S. at 604.

The government fails to distinguish Petitioner’s case
from Davis or Webster. First, the government claims that,
"unlike Petitioner,” the plaintiff in Davis was “excluded
entirely from the protection of Title VII and had no statutory
remedy at all." Br. Opp. 14. The government nowhere
explains how Petitioner is "protected" by Title VII when that

* Congress surely has the power to narrow the remedies
afforded a plaintiff for violations of constitutional rights. See,
e.g., Chappell v. Wallace, 462 U.S. 296, 302-03, 305 n.2 (1983)
(refusing to allow Bivens actions by military personnel against
military superiors but noting the availability of statutory
provisions for redress); Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367, 368, 387
(1983) (refusing Bivens action where statute provides
"meaningful remedies against the United States," including a
"trial-type hearing"); Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 423 (1988).

But Congress cannot eliminate them altogether.

Ww

statute provides him no remedy; and the government does not
identify any other statutory remedy available to Petitioner.’

Second, the government distinguishes Webster on the
sole basis that the equitable relief sought in that case,
"reinstatement," is different from the damages and equitable
relief sought in this one. Br. Opp. 14-15. That trivial
distinction actually undermines the government’s argument,
because the remedies sought by Petitioner are far less
intrusive on the government than the reinstatement remedy
sought by the Webster plaintiff. More importantly, the
relevant question is whether the Constitution allows Congress
to eliminate a// judicial remedies for the government’s
violation of a person’s rights under the First and Fifth
Amendments. Webster and Davis hold that it does not, even
when the interests at stake (sexual orientation and gender) fall
on the periphery of constitutional rights. The violations here
-- retaliation and racial discrimination -- go to the core of our
constitutional rights, and require some meaningful judicial!
remedy.”

* Petitioner had no opportunity to examine documents, call
witnesses, cross-examine witnesses, or participate in an
evidentiary hearing. His fate was left in the hands of those who
were found to have discriminated against him. Accordingly, the
government cannot legitimately claim that Petitioner "had the
benefit of" any meaningful remedy. Br. Opp. 15.

> The government also seeks to avoid this issue by arguing
that, although a Bivens action was expressly alleged in the
Second Amended Complaint, R. 57, Petitioner failed properly to
plead one. Br. Opp. 12. The government made the same
argument in both the District Court and the Court of Appeals,
and both courts rejected the argument and addressed the Bivens
issue. Pet. App. 4a, 8a-9a. This Court should do the same.

ee

6

ill.

Finally, the government tries to redefine Petitioner’s
claim as "a review of a security clearance" so that the FBI
can hide behind the protection of Egan. However,
Petitioner’s claim is about retaliation, not the revocation of
a security clearance.°

For fifteen years Petitioner had a spotless record at the
FBI. Nothing happened to him until he joined the Perez class
action. After that he was berated in front of his fellow
agents, threatened in connection with his testimony, made the
subject of an investigation, and fired. Pet. at 4-7.

The FBI’s investigation found that Petitioner had not
violated any laws, or any internal rules, regulations, policies
or procedures of the FBI or DOJ. See Pet. 5-6. Thus, in its
own internal memorandum, the FBI concluded that “all
logical investigation has been completed in an attempt to
verify these allegations [against Petitioner], without result."
R. 273 (emphasis added); see Pet. S.

Nevertheless, instead of dropping the matter, the FBI
continued its retaliation. Contrary to the government’s
assertions, the court need not scrutinize the merits of the
revocation decision to conclude that the FBI’s decision to go
forward was merely a pretext. The court could find that the
FBI continued its investigation of Petitioner -- after all /ogical
investigation had been completed, and after the FBI had
admitted that Petitioner had done nothing wrong -- only
because Petitioner dared to join the Hispanic agents in their
successful Title VII suit against the FBI.

* The government distorts the record in an attempt to portray
Petitioner as someone who, after a distinguished career, suddenly
and inexplicably went on a binge of unauthorized disclosures.
Contrary to the government’s assertions, see Br. Op. 3-4,
Petitioner did not "admit" the FBI’s allegations of wrongdoing;
in fact, he has consistently denied them. See R. 174-77, 203.

7

Citing Brazil v. Department of Navy, 66 F.3d 193 (9th
Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 1317 (1996), the
government argues that there is no reason for the Court to
review this case. Br. Opp. 7. Far from it. The undisputed
retaliation against Petitioner distinguishes this case from
Brazil. In Brazil, no actionable events had occurred before
the revocation to show that it was a pretext. The court would
have had to evaluate the merits of the revocation decision
because that decision was the only action challenged by the
plaintiff. /d. at 197. In other words, had the Navy chosen
not to revoke the plaintiff's security clearance, he would have
had no claim.

Here, by contrast, Petitioner obtained a judgment against
the FBI for racial discrimination. The FBI retaliated against
him for having done so, and the revocation came merely as
a finishing touch to a course of retaliatory conduct. Had the
FBI decided not to revoke Petitioner’s security clearance, the
court would have had jurisdiction over Petitioner’s claims
based on the earlier retaliation. The subsequent revocation of
Petitioner's security clearance does not -- like a magic wand -
- make the court’s jurisdiction disappear. The government
offers no reason why Petitioner should have no remedy for
the actionable retaliation that occurred before, and
independent of, the revocation decision.

Moreover, based on the FBI’s own documents, the court
can determine that the FBI never could have gotten to the
point of even considering Petitioner’s security clearance,
unless it had a retaliatory motive. Thus, irrespective of the
proffered reasons for the revocation decision, Petitioner can
show pretext based on the FBI’s tr» »ment of him before he
joined Perez, the FBI’s reaction to his participation in Perez,
the timing of the FBI’s actions, the FBI’s conduct against
other persons who, after investigation, have been found to
have done nothing wrong, and the FBI’s general policy and

8

practice with respect to minorities. See McDonnell Douglas,
411 U.S. at 804-05 (1973).
CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated, certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,
STEPHEN D. RABER*
DANIEL F. KATZ
WILLIAMS & CONNOLLY
725 12th STREET, N.W.
WASHINGTON, D.C. 20005
(202) 434-5000

Attorneys for Petitioner

May 22, 1996

* Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1233%3A4. Public record. Not legal advice.
