# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Village of Depew v. Gummo

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1217%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1996
- **Citation:** 517 U.S. 1190

## Text

Supreme Oourt, USB.
FIRED

@S 146'5 mar 1 319%
SUPE EGRa

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1995

VILLAGE OF DEPEW, NEW YORK,
Petitioner,

vs.

WILLIAM M. GUMMO,
Respondent.

On PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
CourT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PAUL D. WEISS, ESQ.
Counsel of Record

WEISS & STEIN
Attorneys for Petitioner
1716 Liberty Building
Buffalo, New York 14202
Telephone: (716) 855-1777

TIMES APPELLATE PRINTING, INC.—Telephone (716) 344-2000

i
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit in conflict with the rules regarding the
retroactive application of statutes as set forth by this Court
in Rivers v. Roadway Express, Inc., __ U.S.__, 114 §.Ct.
1510 (1994) and Landgraf v. USI Film Products,
U.S.___, 114 S.Ct. 1483 (1994)?

2. Does Section 431 1(b) of the Uniformed Armed Services
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act, 38 U.S.C.
$4301 et seq. apply to cases that were pending when the Act
was passed?

3. Did the United States Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit err in vacating summary judgment for the petitioner,
where there was no evidence before the court that the
plaintiff's membership in the Air Force Reserves was a
determinative factor in the decision to terminate his

employment?

LIST OF PARTIES

The caption of the case contains the names of all parties.

iil
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED .................

se hows ke es we oe

I. The Factual Background.................
II. Proceedings in the Courts Below............
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........

I. The Second Circuit’s Retroactive
Application of USERRA Conflicts
with the "Clear Statement" Rule
Recently Reaffirmed by this Court
in Rivers v. Roadway Express, Inc.
and Landgraf v. USI Film Products ........

II. The Issues Decided by the Panel are of
National Importance, Inasmuch as They
Involve The Interpretation of Recent
Amendments to Federal Veteran and
Military Reservist Rights Legislation ......

I Bg ys bk ee ee we

1V
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:

Blackmon v. Observer Transportation Co.,
102 Lab.Cas. (CCH) ¢ 11,450

Eke Rae er ee ree 22
Britt v. Georgia Power and Light,

677 F.Supp. 1169 (N.D.Ga. 1987) .......... 9, 22
Burkart v. Post-Browning, Inc.,

Go ©.a8 bee Gee Gal. BOONE as Se we 0 9, 21
Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986)... 10, 20

Clayton v. Blachowske Truck Lines,
640 F.Supp. 172 (D.Minn. 1986),
Gia, S19 Fae Tae CC TSR) i ee ee 9

Henry v. Anderson,
522 F.Supp. 1112 (E.D. Tenn. N.D. 1981) ...... 33

Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp. v. Bonjorno,
Se UB. BET Ce i ee ew 14

Landgraf v. USI Film Products,
__—«xULS.. _ SIO SAE. ASI CI) wc passim

McCormick v. Carnett-Partsnett Systems, Iic.,
396 F.Supp. 251 (M.D.Fla. 1975) ........... 22

Monroe v. Standard Oil Co.,
452 U.S. 549 (1981) .. 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 18

Cases:
Murray v. Gibson, 15 How. 421 (1854) ........ 14

Patterson v. McLean Credit Union,

SPt E50. te Lie 6 Oe alee ee i, iz,
Rivers v. Roadway Express, Inc.,

__U.S.__, 114 S.Ct. 1510 (1994) ....... passim
Sawyer v. Swift & Company,

$36 F.2¢ 1257 (10th Cir. 1968)... ......2.. £3
Schwab v. Doyle, 258 U. S. 529 (1922) .......... 14
United States v. Heth, 3 Cranch 399 (1806) ...... 14
Statutes:

Veterans’ Reemployment Rights Act of 1968
58 U.S.C. GAME OO £6. tS Oe ie i, OR

Uniformed Services Employment and
Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 ["USERRA"]
38 U.S.C. §4311(b), 108 Stat. 3153 5. ww... passim

USERRA Pub.L.No. 103-353,
OR Sk: Dare Wee es eves Se SG 2, 3; 16

USERRA Pub.L.No. 103-353,
Mie Mt. SE7S GO) ee be ae 4a, im 13, 6

vi
Statues:

The Civil Rights Act of 1991,

Pub.L.No. 102-166, 105 Stat. 1071 §102 ..... 11, 12
N.Y.S. Civil Service Law $75 .......... 4,6, 19
N.Y.S. Civil Practice Law and Rules §7804(g) .... 6

Legislative History:

H.R.Rep.No. 65, 103d Cong., 2d Sess. 18,
reprinted in 1994 USCCAN at 2449 ........ 11, 12

Joint Explanatory Statement on H.R. 995,
140 Cong.Rec.H. 9155 (daily ed. Sept. 13, 1994),
reprinted in 1994 USCCAN 2493, 2515) ..... 12, 15

Appendices:

A. Opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit, January 19, 1996 Al

B. Memorandum and Order of the United
States District Court for the
Western District of New York, April 28, 1995 . A33

C. Judgment of the United States District
Court for the Western District of New York,
cmpered On NERY Z, IOee 6c icc cee wees es A40

Petitioner the Village of Depew, New York respectfully
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the decision
and order of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

The Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Second Circuit was issued on January 19, 1996. The
Opinion has not been reported, and is reprinted in the
Appendix at Al.

The Memorandum and Order of the United States
District Court for the Western District of New York was
issued on April 28, 1995. The Memorandum and Order is
not reported, and is reprinted in the Appendix at A33.
Judgment was entered on May 2, 1995, and is reprinted in
the Appendix at A40.

JURISDICTION

Subject matter jurisdiction in the United States District
Court for the Western District of New York was predicated
on the Veterans’ Reemployment Rights Act, 28 U.S.C.
§2022. The United States Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit entered its Opinion vacating the judgment of the
District Court and remanding for further proceedings on
January 19, 1996.

The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of the United
States is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1), and in
accordance with Rule 10 of the Rules of this Court.

2

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the Veterans’ Reemployment
Rights Act of 1968, 38 U.S.C. §2021 et seg. The specific
provision at issue in this case is 38 U.S.C. §2021(b)(3),
which was renumbered §4301(b)(3) pursuant to Pub.L.No.
102-568, §506 (1992). The provision reads as follows:

(3) Any person who seeks or holds a position
described in clause (A) or (B) of subsection (a) of
this section shall not be denied hiring, retention in
employment, or any promotions or other incident or
advantage of employment because of any obligation
as a member of a Reserve component of the Armed
Forces.

The case also involves the Uniformed Services
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994, 38
U.S.C. §4301, et seg. The specific provisions at issue are
38 U.S.C. §4311(b), Pub.L.No. 103-353, 108 Stat. 3153 §2;
Pub.L.No. 103-353, 108 Stat. 3175 §8(b); and Pub.L.No.
103-353, 108 Stat. 3175 §8(a).

38 U.S.C. §4311(b) provides:

(b) An employer shall be considered to have denied
a person initial employment, reemployment,
retention in employment, promotion, or a benefit of
employment in violation of this section if the
person’s membership, application for membership,
service, application for service, or obligation for
service in the uniformed services is a motivating
factor in the employer’s action, unless the employer

itn, inks ts

A MiB ds Ca

ee la Cat ls ra a!

3

can prove that the action would have been taken in
the absence of such membership, application for
membership, performance of service, application for
service, or obligation.

Pub.L.No. 103-353, 108 Stat. 3175 §8(b) provides:

(b) DISCRIMINATION.- The provisions of section
4311 of title 38, United States Code, as provided in
the amendments made by this Act, and the
provisions of subchapter III of chapter 43 of such
title, as provided in the amendments made by this
Act, that are necessary for the implementation of
such section 4311 shall become effective on the date
of enactment of this Act.

Pub.L.No. 103-353, 108 Stat. 3175 §8(a) provides in
pertinent part:

(a) REEMPLOYMENT.

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this Act, the
amendments made by this Act shall be effective with
respect to reemploymenis initiated on or after the
first day after the 60-day period beginning on the
date of enactment of this Act.

(2) The provisions of chapter 43 of title 38, United
States Code, in effect on the day before such date of
enactment, shall continue to apply to reemployments
initiated befr-e the end of such 60-day period.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. The Factual Background

William M. Gummo ["Gummo"] commenced his
employment with the Village of Depew Police Department
[the "Department"} on August 2, 1977 as a police officer.
On December 12, 1986, Gummo enlisted in the United States
Air Force Reserves. During substantially the entire time of
Gummo’s employment, the Department’s policy required
police officers to provide advance notice and authorization
for time off from scheduled duty, including the prior
submission of military orders which necessitated military
leave. (A. 3-4, 34).

Gummo’s failure to submit military orders for his 1989
tour of duty resulted in a confrontation between Gummo and
Police Chief John T. Maccarone on January 4, 1989.
Gummo yelled and screamed at the Chief, walked out of the
Chief’s office without being dismissed, and said in the
presence of other Department employees that "somebody
should choke" the Chief. (A. 4-5, 35).

Following this confrontation, Gummo was charged
pursuant to New York State Civil Service Law ("CSL") §75
with conduct unbecoming an officer of the Department,
disobedience of an order, and insubordination toward a
superior officer. The Village Board held a hearing pursuant
CSL §75 and found Gummo guilty of misconduct and
insubordination. Gummo received a thirty (30) day
suspension without pay, which was not appealed. (A. 5, 35).

ye eeeneeeaenmmmmmmmam

The second disciplinary action taken by the Village
resulted in Gummo’s termination, and relates to his conduct
on June 8 and 27, 1989.

On June 8, 1989, Chief Maccarone denied a request
made by Gummo on the previous day to have the June 8th
night shift off for military leave, because Gummo had not
submitted a military order to verify the need for such leave,
as required by the Department’s longstanding policy. The
Chief advised Gummo on the morning of June 8th that he
could either obtain such an order or switch shifts with
another officer. (A. 5, 35-36).

Later on June 8, 1989, Gummo advised Chief Maccarone
that the military had informed him that the requested notice
was in the mail. Based on this representation, Chief
Maccarone departed from the written military order
requirement and told Officer Gummo that he did not have to
report for duty at 11:00 p.m. that night. (A. 5-6, 36).

Chief Maccarone never received official orders or any
other document from the United States Air Force
substantiating Gummo’s claim he needed to have the June
8th, 1989 shift off. When Gummo returned to duty
following his two week military leave, the Chief met with
him on June 27, 1989 to ascertain why the military orders
had not been forwarded. Gummo acknowledged that neither
a letter nor military orders referencing the need for leave on
June 8th, 1989 had been sent to the Chief. Gummo then
repeatedly refused to answer questions put to him by his
commanding officer. With Gummo’s knowledge, this
meeting was tape recorded. (A. 6-7, 36).

As a result of the events of June 8th and June 27,
disciplinary charges were preferred against Gummo relating
to his false statements to his commanding officer and his
insubordination. Pursuant to CSL §75, the Village Board of
Trustees adopted a resolution appointing an impartial Hearing
Officer to adjudicate the charges preferred against Gummo.
During the two day hearing, both parties were represented by
counsel and were given a full opportunity to offer evidence,
including the testimony of sworn witnesses, and to cross-
examine witnesses. A complete transcript of the hearing was
made. (A. 7, 32, 37-38).

The Hearing Officer sustained three of the four charges
against Gummo, finding Gummo guilty of making two false
statements to the Chief on June 8, 1989, and of disobeying
lawful directives from his commanding officer when he
refused to answer questions on June 27, 1989. Observing
that Gummo had been disciplined for violating the
Department’s rules on several prior occasions, the Hearing
Officer recommended that he should be discharged. On
January 31, 1990, the Village Board unanimously voted to
adopt the Hearing Officer’s Recommendations and terminated
Gummo. (A. 7, 31-32, 37).

Gummo appealed his discharge through a New York
State Civil Practice Law and Rules Article 78 petition
brought before New york State Supreme Court. The Article
78 petition was transferred to the Appellate Division, Fourth
Department, pursuant to Civil Practice Law Rules §7804(g).
However, Gummo thereafter abandoned the appeal. (A. 7).

7

II. Proceedings in the Courts Below

Gummo commenced the instant suit by Complaint dated
March 8, 1993, alleging that his two suspensions and the
termination of his employment violated the Veterans’
Reemployment Rights Act, 38 U.S.C. §2021 er seq., with
subject matter jurisdiction predicated upon 38 U.S.C. §2022.
After a period of discovery, petitioner moved for summary
judgment dismissing the complaint on October 4, 1993.
Gummo cross-moved for partial summary judgment on
October 22, 1993. The motions were submitted for
disposition by the District Court on November 5, 1993.

By Memorandum and Order dated April 28, 1995, the
District Court granted the petitioner’s summary judgment
motion to dismiss the complaint and denied respondent's
cross-motion for partial summary judgment, both pursuant to
the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 56. (A. 33).

Plaintiff appealed from the decision to the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit. The majority of
the three member panel vacated the judgment of the District
Court, remanding for further proceedings.

The majority quoted this Court’s interpretation of the
language of the relevant statutory provision, 38 U.S.C.
§2021(b)(3), as having "the significant but limited purpose of
protecting the employee-reservist against discriminations like
discharge and demotions, motivated solely by reserve status."
(A. 14, quoting, Monroe v. Standard Oil Co., 452 U.S. 549,
559 (1981)). However, the majority expressly rejected the
Monroe sole-motivation test, and instead retroactively applied
the "but-for" mixed-motive and burden shifting language
enacted in the Uniformed Services Employment and

8

Reemployment Rights Act of 1994, ["USERRA"], 38 U.S.C.
§4311(b). (A. 17-18).

Senior District Judge Milton Pollack, sitting by
designation, dissented in an opinion which extensively cited
this Court’s decision in Rivers v. Roadway Express, Inc. , 14
S.Ct. 1510, 1519 (1994). Criticizing the majority’s decision,
Judge Pollack noted this Court’s requirement that the text of
a Statute contain a "clear expression of congressional intent
to reach cases that arose before its enactment" in order to
permit retroactive application. (A. 30, citing, Rivers, 114
S.Ct. at 1516).

Accordingly, Judge Pollack concluded that this Court’s
"sole motivation" test, as set forth in Monroe v. Standard Oil
Co., 452 U.S. at 559, remains the applicable standard for
causes of action accruing prior to the enactment of USERRA:

Congress’s failure unequivocally to state that
USERRA applies to cases brought before the law’s
effective date signifies that a "sole motivation" test
should be applied to cases, such as the present one,
which were brought prior to October 13, 1994. (A.
30).

By Order dated February 13, 1996 the Second Circuit
granted petitioner’s motion to stay issuance of mandate
pending the filing of the instant writ.

9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Second Circuit’s Retroactive
Application of USERRA Conflicts
with the "Clear Statement" Rule
Recently Reaffirmed by this Court
in Rivers y. Roadway Express, Inc.
and Landgraf v. USI Film Products.

This Court has held that the Statutory authority under
which Gummo sought relief, 38 U.S.C. §2021, ef Sé€q., was
enacted "for the significant but limited Purpose of protecting
the employee-reservist against discriminations like discharge
and demotions, motivated solely by reserve status." Monroe
v. Standard Oil Company, 452 U.S. 549, 558 (1981).

Following Monroe, the federal courts have uniformly
applied the "sole-motivation" Standard in holding that
summary judgment is an appropriate means of resolving a
Suit brought under the Act. The courts have held that even
if the employee’s military status has played some role in the
adverse employment decision, summary judgment in favor of
the employer is warranted where the employer can point to
a sufficient, non-pretextual reason for discharge irrelevant to
the employee’s military status. !

See, e.g., Burkart v. Post-Browning, Inc., 859 F.2d 1245 (6th Cir.
1988); Clayton v. Blachowske Truck Lines, 640 F.Supp. 172 (D.Minn.
1986), aff'd, 815 F.2d 1203 (8th Cir. 1987): Sawyer v. Swift &
Company, 836 F.2d 1257 (10th Cir. 1988); Brizt v. Georgia Power
and Light, 677 F.Supp. 1169 (N.D.Ga. 1987).

10

Therefore, to satisfy the Monroe test, police officer
Gummo was required to point to evidence that would have
permitted the court below to find that his discharge was not
motivated by his insubordination, acting in a manner which
was unbecoming an officer, and lying to the police
department’s commanding officer, but rather was solely
because he was a reservist. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477
U.S. 317, 322-323 (1986).

Applying the Monroe sole-motivation standard, the
District Court granted summary judgment in favor of the
petitioner, finding the record was "replete" with evidence of
Gummo’s refusal to obey orders, insubordination, and failure
to comply with Department policies. (A. 38).

The Second Circuit vacated and remanded, concluding
that the District Court "should not have employed the sole
motivation test employed by Monroe and its progeny." The
Second Circuit held the District Court should have instead
applied the "existing language" of the Uniformed Services
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act [hereinafter
"USERRA"], which became effective on October 13, 1994,
long after this case arose. Relying on the 1994 legislative
history of USERRA, the Second Circuit held the so-called
"pbut-for" test should govern with respect to whether
Gummo’s 1989 discharge was unlawfully discriminatory. (A.
19).

The question of the retroactive application of an
employment discrimination statute which was amended in
response to a U.S. Supreme Court decision was precisely the
issue resolved by the Supreme Court in the recent cases of
Rivers v. Roadway Express, Inc., _ U.S. ___, 115 S.Ct.

——

11

1510 (1994) and Landgraf v. USI Film Products,
__ US. _, 114 S.Ct. 1483 (1994).

In Rivers, the district court dismissed the plaintiffs’
discriminatory discharge claims, relying upon the U.S.
Supreme Court’s holding in Patterson v. McLean Credit
Union, 491 U.S. 164, 171 (1989). While the appeal in
Rivers was pending, the Civil Rights Act of 1991 became
law. The Sixth Circuit ruled that 42 U.S.C. §1981 as
interpreted in Patterson, not as amended by §101 of the Civil
Rights Act of 1991, governed the case. This Court affirmed,
ruling that §101 does not apply to a case that arose before it
was enacted. Rivers, 115 S.Ct. at 1514.

The Court held in Rivers that in order to defeat the
customary presumption against retroactive application of a
Statute, the "clear expression" of congressional intent to
reach cases that arose before the act’s enactment must appear
in the statute. Rivers, 114 S.Ct. at 1516, 1519.

In the instant case, the Second Circuit did not rely upon
any Clear expression of congressional intent in the text of
USERRA in ruling that the "but-for" test should govern with
respect to whether Gummo’s 1989 discharge was unlawfully
discriminatory. Rather, the Second Circuit adopted the
argument that the 1994 legislative history of USERRA
suffices to indicate that Congress was merely enacting the
new language of §4311(b) as a "reaffirmation" of the original
intent of Congress in 1968.”

As quoted by the Second Circuit, the legislative history

> Appendix at pp. 17-18, quoting, H.R.Rep.No. 65, 103d Cong., 2d
Sess. 18, 24, reprinted in 1994 USCCAN at 2449, 2457.

12

of USERRA states that the courts which have followed the
Monroe standard rather than the "but-for" standard "have
misinterpreted the original legislative intent and history of 38
U.S.C. 2021(b)(3) and are rejected on that basis."’

The Second Circuit acknowledged that the text of the
1994 Act provides that amendments made by the Act "that
are necessary for the imp!ementation of such section 4311
shall become effective on the date of enactment of this Act."
(A. 18, quoting, Pub.L.No. 103-353 §8(b)). However,
relying upon legislative history indicating that §4311(b) is
merely a "codification" of existing law, the Second Circuit
held that the "but-for" test introduced in the 1994 Act is
applicable to cases arising prior to the enactment date.‘

In Rivers, this Court considered and rejected the same
rationale adopted here by the Second Circuit. The Rivers
petitioners contended that the legislative history of the Civil
Rights Act of 1991 indicated that Congress specifically
intended to retroactively "restore" prior law which this Court
had misinterpreted. The Rivers petitioners contended there
is a presumption in favor of the retroactive application of
such restorative statutes, and pointed to evidence in the

> Appendix at p. 16, quoting, H.R.Rep.No.65, 103d Cong., 2d Sess.
at 24, 1994 USCCAN at 2457. Petitioner’s research indicates that
every court which has acknowledged the U.S. Supreme Court’s
Monroe v. Standard Oil decision has adhered to the “sole motivation”
test. Monroe has been cited in almost 200 opinions, and no court
considering Monroe has ever questioned its holding that the adverse
employment action taken against an employee must be “solely
motivated” by reservist status to warrant redress under the Act.

: Appendix at p. 18, quoting, Joint Explanatory Statement on H.R. 995,
140 Cong.Rec.H. 9136 (daily ed. Sept. 13, 1994), reprinted in 1994
USCCAN 2493, 2515.

——

13

legislative history of the Civil Rights Act of 1991 as
indicating the legislators’ view that a "previously established
understanding" of 42 U.S.C §1981 had been narrowed by
this Court’s decision in Patterson v. McLean Credit Union,
supra. Rivers, 114 S.Ct. at 1515-16.

However, this Court made it clear in Rivers that there is no
presumption in favor of retroactive application of restorative
Statutes. Holding that "clear evidence" of Congress’s
retroactive intent is required to impose even a genuinely
restorative statute retroactively, the Court observed that
"Section 101, and the statute of which it is a part, does not
contain such evidence." 114 S.Ct. at 1518. Further, the
petitioners’ reliance on legislative history was unavailing:

We may assume, as petitioners argue, that §101
reflects congressional disapproval of Patterson’s
interpretation of §1981. We may even assume that
many or even most legislators believed that
Patterson was not only incorrectly decided but also
represented a departure from the previously
prevailing understanding of the reach of §1981.
Those assumptions would readily explain why
Congress might have wanted to legislate
retroactively, thereby providing relief for the persons
it believed had been wrongfully denied a §1981
remedy. Even on those assumptions, however, we
cannot find in the 1991 Act any clear expression of
congressional intent to reach cases that arose before
its enactment... . [T]he text of the Act does not
support the argument that §101 of the 1991 Act was
intended to "restore" prior understandings of §1981
as to cases arising before the 1991 Act’s passage.
Rivers, 114 S.Ct. at 1516 (emphasis added).

14

The petitioner herein submits that the majority of the
Second Circuit panel in the instant case erred in its reliance
upon the expressions of retroactive intent in the 1994
congressional committee reports, since Congress failed to
clearly manifest any intent to retroactively overturn Monroe
within the statute. As Justice Scalia noted in his concurrence
in Landgraf v. USI Film Products and Rivers v. Roadway
Express, __ U.S. ___, 114 S.Ct. 1522 (1994), Congress
must provide a "clear statement” in the text of the statute
sufficient to defeat the presumption against retroactivity:

No legislative history can do that, of course, but
only the text of the statute itself. That has been the
meaning of the "clear statement” retroactivity rule
from the earliest times. 114 S.Ct. at 1522, citing,
United States v. Heth, 3 Cranch 399, 408, 414
(1806); Murray v. Gibson, 15 How. 421, 423
(1854) Schwab v. Doyle, 258 U.S. 529, 537 (1922);
Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp. v. Bonjorno,
494 U.S. 827, 842-844 (1990) (concurring opinion)
(collecting cases applying the clear statement test).

Simply stated, the text of USERRA does not support the
argument that §4311(b) should be granted retroactive
application to cases pending on appeal at the time of the
USERRA’s enactment.

It bears emphasis that as its only statutory basis for its
retroactive application of 38 U.S.C. §4311(b), the majority
quoted Pub.L.No. 103-353 §8(b), lending emphasis as
follows:

The provisions of section 4311 of title 38, United
States Code, as provided in the amendments made

—"

15

by this Act... that are necessary for the
implementation of such section 4311 shall become
effective on the date of enactment of this Act.

Conceding that "this provision is perhaps susceptible to
differing interpretations," the panel majority relied upon
legislative reports in concluding that Congress must not have
regarded the "linguistic change" it enacted in 38 U.S.C.
§4311(b) as an amendment that is "necessary for the
implementation of such section 4311." Thus, according to
the majority, the "but-for" standard introduced in §4311 is
not an addition to the Act, but a "codification of existing
law." (A. 18, quoting, Joint Explanatory Statement on H.R.
995, supra).

As the panel’s majority recognized, its interpretation of
Pub.L.No. 103-353 §8(b) is vulnerable on a number of
grounds. As a threshold matter, it can hardly be maintained
that a statutory "codification" which establishes a new
standard of conduct is not an amendment which is necessary
for the implementation of the Act. Obviously, the Act could
not even arguably reach the instant case and provide redress
unless the new "but for" standard set forth in §4311(b) is
implemented rather than the “sole motivation" standard
established by this Court in Monroe.

This Court’s decisions in Rivers and Landgraf make it
amply clear that since §4311(b) establishes a "new standard
of conduct," the important new legal obligations the
provision imposes "bring it within the class of laws that are
presumptively prospective." Rivers, 114 S.Ct. at 1515,
citing, Landgraf. See, Landgraf, 114 S.Ct. at 1505.

16

As cogently explained by panel member Judge Pollack in
his dissenting opinion, the statutory language relied upon by
the panel majority certainly does not provide any clear
indication of intended retroactive application, as required by
this Court in Rivers. (A. 28). The majority makes the
insupportable assumption that since Pub.L.No. 103-353 §8(b)
can be construed to exclude the new "“but-for" test set forth
in §4311(b) as an amendment "necessary ffor the
implementation" of §4311, the "“but-for" test must be
effective not on the date of enactment, but at some earlier
date. Such statutory construction by "negative inference"
ignores this Court’s admonition that "prospectivity remains
the appropriate default rule." Landgraf, 114 S.Ct. at 1501.°

. As pointed out by Judge Pollack, the only other direct reference
to the effective date of USERRA contained in the statute confirms that
prospective application of USERRA was intended by the Congress.
(A. 28-29, FN 3). Section 8 of Pub.L.No. 103-353, entitled
“Transition Rules and Effective Dates" provides under subsection (a)
in pertinent part as follows:

(2) The provisions of chapter 43 of title 38, United States
Code, in effect on the day before such date of enactment,
shall continue to apply to reemployments initiated before the
end of such 60-day period [beginning on the date of
enactment}.

See, Pub.L.No. 103-353, §8(a). This section, ignored by the panel
majority, belies the panel's “negative inference” construction. The
majority implicitly assumes that since the “but-for” test was not
specifically made effective on the Act’s enactment date by Pub.L.No.
103-353 §(8)(b), the “but-for” test must be effective at some earlier
date. However, the Transition Rules and Effective Dates quoted
above clearly provide that the former statute will continue to govern
reemployments until a specified future date. Compare, Rivers, 114
S.Ct. at 1514; Landgraf, 114 S.Ct. at 1493-95) (rejecting “negative
inference” arguments invoked under canon of expressio unius est
exclusio alterus as sufficient to decide retroactivity issue).

17

Further, as discussed by Judge Pollack in his dissent, even
the legislative history relied upon by the majority is
ambiguous, inasmuch as it fails to indicate whether the new
standard applies to cases "brought" under "this section" in
the future, or also to cases which "have been brought" in the
past. The reference to "this section" is also unclear, since
the prior version of §4311 contained significantly different
language. (A. 28-29).

The Second Circuit’s ruling entirely relies on the
foregoing ambiguous legislative history and one provision of
the statute which the majority concedes is "susceptible to
differing interpretations." (A. 18). In absence of any clear
statement of retroactive intent in the Act, the Second Circuit
has retroactively applied a new "“but-for" standard which
imposes significant new liabilities and legal obligations. The
conclusion of this Court’s opinion in Rivers leaves no doubt
that the Second Circuit’s ruling is directly contrary to the
"clear statement” rule:

A judicial construction of a statute is an authoritative
statement of what the statute meant before as well as
after the decision of the case giving rise to that

construction . . . . Congress, of course, has the
power to amend a statute that it believes we have
misconstrued . . . . No such change, however, has

the force of law unless it is implemented through
legislation. Even when Congress intends to
supersede a rule of law embodied in one of our
decisions with what it views as a better rule
established in earlier decisions, its intent to reach
conduct preceding the "corrective" amendment must
clearly appear. Rivers, 115 S.Ct. 1519.

18

Inasmuch as the Supreme Court provided the
authoritative construction of 38 U.S.C. §2021 in Monroe v.
Standard Oil, supra, Congress could only have retroactively
superseded the Supreme Court’s ruling through clear
legislation sufficient to defeat the presumption against the
retroactive application of the statute. Accordingly, the writ
should be granted since the Second Circuit’s retroactive
application of USERRA is in stark conflict with the
applicable decisions of this Court.

Ii. The Issues Decided by the Panel are of National
Importance, Inasmuch as They Involve The
Interpretation of Recent Amendments to Federal
Veteran and Military Reservist Rights Legislation

In deciding the standard and burden of proof applicable
under §4311(b), the Second Circuit decided an important
question of federal law which has not been, but should be,
decided by this Court.

The Second Circuit held that proper analysis of a
summary judgment motion under §4311(b) requirés a
determination of the following two factors:

(a) whether there was sufficient evidence from
which a rational jury could infer that [the plaintiff's]
status or conduct as a reservist was a substantial or
motivating factor in his dismissal; and

19

(b) if there was such evidence, whether it could be
said as a matter of law that the [employer] would
have discharged him even if he had not been a
reservist. (A. 19).

In the instant case, the Second Circuit has decided that
even where an employer offers uncontroverted proof that the
employee would have been discharged due to misconduct
even if he had not been a reservist, the employee’s claim
under §4311(b) is insulated from summary dismissal so long
as the misconduct was even remotely related to his reservist
obligations.

Here, Gummo claims that after twelve years of
employment with the Village of Depew Police Department,
he was discharged on January 31, 1990 because of his Air
Force Reserve status. The record, however, conclusively
establishes that Gummo was not discharged until he was
found guilty by an impartial Hearing Officer of committing
various acts of misconduct, including insubordination and
lying to his commanding officer. At the two day hearing,
conducted pursuant to New York Civil Service Law Article
75, Gummo was represented by counsel and was afforded a
full opportunity to offer evidence, including the testimony of
sworn witnesses, and to cross-examine petitioner’s sworn
witnesses.

Gummo has himself testified that he yelled at his
commanding officer, walked out of the meeting with the
Chief without being dismissed, and said in the presence of
other Department employees that somebody should "choke"
the Chief. The charges against Gummo for lying to the
Chief and for insubordination were fully and conclusively
adjudicated in the CSL §75 hearing. There is no genuine

20

issue of fact regarding Gummo’s misconduct. Further, there
is a complete absence of any evidence that the impartial
Hearing Officer who recommended the penalty of discharge
and the Village Board which adopted that recommendation
were motivated by Gummo’s reservist status in any respect
whatsoever. (A. 38).

Petitioner submits that since the Village has pointed to an
absence of evidence necessary to support the nonmoving
party’s claim that his reservist status was a motivating factor
in the Village’s decision to discharge him, summary
judgment was entirely appropriate in the instant case. See,
e.g., Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, supra, 477 U.S. at 322-23.

Rather than dispute the factual findings of the Hearing
Officer, Gummo claims his acts did not constitute misconduct
because they were related to his reservist activities. (A. 38).
According to Gummo’s sworn testimony, reproduced in the
record below, the charge that he was insubordinate when he
refused to answer the Chief’s questions about his prior
conduct discriminates against him as a reservist "[p]robably
because the events were related to reserves, it was reserve
activity." Regarding the charge that he falsely represented
that orders were being forwarded, Gummo supported his
claim that he was discriminated against because of his
reservist status "[b]ecause [lying to the Chiet] never could
have been charged if I wasn’t in the military because it’s
based around my reserve commitment with the military."

This claim is deficient on its face because it overlooks
the fact that being a reservist did not in any way require that
Officer Gummo be verbally abusive and refuse to respond to
direct questions from his commanding officer, nor did
reservist status exempt Gummo from longstanding

21

Department policy forbidding absence from duty without
proper authorization, irrespective of reason.

The immaterial defenses asserted by Gummo do not
contravene the salient and uncontroverted fact that Gummo’s
discharge was for sufficient cause, upon the recommendation
of an impartial Hearing Officer. Accordingly, petitioner
submits there is an absence of evidence to support an
essential element which should be required in order to state
a prima facie case under the Act: Gummo cannot show that
he was discharged because of his military reservist status,
whether as the sole cause or merely a contributing cause,
since Gummo indisputably would have been discharged for
the acts of insubordination and lying to his commanding
officer even if he had not been a reservist.

Case after case has held that the employee is not
insulated from discharge merely because the conduct was
"related" or "based around" reservist status, to use the words
chosen by Gummo. For example, in Burkart v. Post-
Browning, Inc., 859 F.2d 1246 (6th Cir. 1988), the Sixth
Circuit dismissed the employee’s theory that he was insulated
from discharge because his dereliction was occasioned by his
association with the National Guard:

[I]t is not the employee’s ties with the armed
services which led to his discharge. Rather,
the cause of the employee’s discharge is his
Own intentional failure to act responsibly in
reporting and informing the employer of his
future obligations, regardless of whether these
obligations were related to military duty or
some other personal need.

ae

Burkart v. Post-Browning, Inc., supra, 859 F.2d at 1248.
As veterans’ and reservists’ rights legislation has historically
been understood, the fact that an employee’s discharge for
cause is tangentially related to his military obligation does
not preclude judgment as a matter of law for the employer.°

Thus, the Second Circuit’s interpretation of the burden
and standard under the 1994 Act is a critical decision on an
important issue of federal law. The standard as interpreted
by the Second Circuit precludes summary judgment to the
employer on the ground that the employee’s misconduct is
merely related to reservist status, rather than because the
employee has pointed to some colorable evidence which
indicates that his reservist membership or obligation was a
motivating factor in the employer’s decision to discharge
him.

Petitioner maintains the District Court properly held that
Gummo’s status as a military reservist, without more, is not

See, Britt v. Georgia Power and Light, 677 F.Supp. 1169, 1172
(N.D.Ga. 1987) (Even assuming truth of allegations that employee
expected harassment and therefore refused to attend a meeting with
management to discuss his complaints about the company’s failure to
accommodate his reservist obligations, employee’s “decision to dety
the direct orders of his superiors was an independent and significant
reason for discharge"); Henry v. Anderson, 522 F.Supp. 1112, 1115
(E.D. Tenn. N.D. 1981) (reservists’ rights legislation does not require
court to disregard those aspects of employment relationship which
would make continued employment unreasonable); McCormick v.
Carnett-Partsnett Systems, Inc., 396 F.Supp. 251, 256 (M.D.Fia.
1975) (criticizing plaintiff's apparent assumption that his armed forces
Status was "a guarantee that any behavior on the job must be
tolerated"); Blackmon v. Observer Transportation Co., 102 Lab.Cas.
(CCH) { 11, 450 at 23,913 (W.D.N.C., Oct. 28, 1982) (employee
was discharged “not because of military service obligations, but
because of his failure to request a leave of absence from his
employer”).

a

23

sufficient to defeat defendant’s motion for summary
judgment.’

It is respectfully submitted that the Second Circuit’s
decision on the important federal question of the standard and
burden which shall apply in USERRA cases improperly
disregards the clear requirement of discriminatory motivation
set forth in the Act. Gummo was discharged by the Village
Board, upon the recommendation of the impartial Hearing
Officer, because he was found guilty of insubordination and
lying te the Chief of Police. That the Board and the Hearing
Officer acted without discriminatory motivation against
military reservists has never been in dispute. (A. 38).

Since this case presents the clear issue of whether
USERRA should be construed to insulate reservists from
disciplinary action where reserve membership is not a
determinative factor in the employer’s action, certiorari
should be granted to so that this Court may decide this
important question of federal law.

Notably, every other police officer in the Department who elected to
serve in the Guard and Reserves managed to do so without
encountering discrimination, as was attested to in the sworn affidavits
of police officers Gorski, Moore, and Ziemba in the record below.
All three officers received their appointments to the Department while
members of the National Guard and Reserves. Chief Maccarone
promoted Moore three times, and promoted Gorski from patrolman to
lieutenant, during the period of Gummo’s employment and while both
Gorski and Moore were reservists. Even Gummo has stated he cannot
recall and does not know of any discriminatory treatment encountered
by these officers. See, e.g., Sawyer v. Swift & Company, 836 F.2d
1257, 1262 (10th Cir. 1988) (reversing grant of summary judgment to
employee who claimed his discharge was due to his absence due to
reserve obligations, where other employee-reservists were given time
off with no problems).

24

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, a writ of certiorari should
issue to review the order and opinion of the Second Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

PAUL D. WEISS*

WEISS & STEIN

1716 Liberty Building
Buffalo, New York 14202
(716) 855-1777

Attorney for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

Al

APPENDIX A

Decision of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit,
Decided January 19, 1996.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

No. 578—August Term, 1995

(Argued: November 9, 1995
Decided: January 19, 1996)

Docket No. 95-7551

WILLIAM M. GUMMO,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
—_—V.—
VILLAGE OF DEPEW, NEW YORK,
Defendant-Appellee.

Before:

KEARSE and WINTER, Circuit Judges,
and POLLACK, District Judge.*

* — Honorable Milton Pollack, of the United States District Court for the
Southern District of New York, sitting by designation.

1143

A2

Appeal from judgment of the United States District
Court for the Western District of New York, John T.
Elfvin, Judge, summarily dismissing complaint alleging
discrimination on the basis of membership in United
States military reserves, see 38 U.S.C. § 2021 et seq.
(1988); id. § 4301 et seq. (1994).

Vacated and remanded.

Judge Pollack dissents in a separate opinion.

GLENN EDWARD MURRAY, Buffalo, New
York (Murray & Coleman, Buffalo, New
York, on the brief), for Plaintiff-Appel-
lant.

PAUL D. WEISS, Buffalo, New York (Weiss
& Stein, Buffalo, New York, on the
brief), for Defendant-Appellee.

KEARSE, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff William M. Gummo, a member of the United
States Air Force Reserves formerly employed by the
Police Department of defendant Village of Depew, New
York (“Village”), appeals from a judgment of the United
States District Court for the Western District of New
York, John T. Elfvin, Judge, dismissing his complaint
alleging that the Village terminated his employment in
violation of the Veterans’ Reemployment Rights Act, 38
U.S.C. § 2021 et seq. (1988) (current version at 38

1144

A3

U.S.C. § 4301 et seq. (1994)) (the “Act” or “VRR Act”).
The district court granted the Village’s motion for sum-
mary judgment on the ground that Gummo could not
show that his termination was motivated solely by, or
had any causal relationship to, his reserve status. On
appeal, Gummo contends principally that summary judg-
ment dismissing his complaint was improper because the
district court erred in applying the sole-motivation test
and because there were genuine issues to be tried with
respect to causation. He also contends that he was enti-
tled to a partial summary judgment in his favor ruling
that the Department’s policy of refusing to grant military
leave without the submission of written official orders
violated § 2024(d) of the Act. For the reasons that fol-
low, we agree that the district court erred in granting
summary judgment, and we therefore vacate the judg-
ment and remand for further proceedings.

I. BACKGROUND

Except to the extent indicated, most of the background
events do not appear to be in dispute.

A. Gummo's Employment With the Police Department

From 1977 until his discharge in January 1990,
Gummo was employed as a police officer by the Depew
Police Department. In December 1986, he enlisted in the
United States Air Force Reserves (“Reserves”) and was
assigned to military duties at the Air Force base in Nia-
gara Falls, New York, some 30 miles from Depew.
Gummo’s military obligations required him to partic-
ipate in training sessions one weekend each month at the
Air Force base and to attend a two-week tour of training
each year (“annual tour”) at a site designated by the Air

1145

A4

Force. As a municipal employee, Gummo was entitled
under state law to be paid his salary during any less-
than-30-day absence for military training. See N.Y. Mil-
itary Law § 242(5) (McKinney 1990).

The Depew Police Department’s policy was to grant
requests for paid military leave when reservists pre-
sented to the Department their official written orders
specifying the dates of their military training. Until
October 1988, Gummo complied with that policy. In that
month, Gummo submitted a handwritten note indicating
his weekend military training dates for November and
December 1988. Police Captain James A. Brennan
instructed Gummo to submit his official written military
orders for all of fiscal 1988-1989. Gummo promptly
complied in part, submitting orders for his weekend
tours but not for his annual tour. On December 25, he
notified Brennan that his next annual tour was scheduled
for June 10-24, 1989, but he did not submit official writ-
ten military orders at that time.

In January 1989, Gummo was instructed to meet with
Police Chief John T. Maccarone to discuss Gummo’s
failure to provide the Department with the official orders
for his annual tour. The parties have different views as to
what occurred at the meeting. Gummo asserts that Mac-
carone questioned him about his military leave and that
Maccarone cursed at him, called him a liar, a sneak, and
a disgrace to the uniform, and twice threatened to “get”
him. The Village asserts that at the meeting, Gummo
yelled and screamed at Maccarone without restraint and
became threatening. In any event, there appears to be no
dispute that the meeting was rancorous, that Gummo left
the meeting peremptorily without having been dis-
missed, and that as he was leaving he said, in the pres-
ence of other Police Department employees, “Somebody

1146

—————

A5

should choke that man.” As a result of this incident,
Gummo was charged with several counts of misconduct,
including conduct unbecoming a police officer, disobe-
dience of an order, and insubordination to a ‘superior
officer. He was found guilty on most counts and was
suspended for 30 days without pay.

In May 1989, Gummo notified Captain Brennan in
writing that the start of his annual tour had been
rescheduled from June 10 to June 9. Gummo attached his
official written military orders, which authorized him to
receive 16 days of leave for military duty (June 9-24), as
well as one day of leave for travel to the Air Force base.
The orders stated that he was to report at the Air Force
base on June 9 at 7:30 a.m.

Gummo was scheduled, however, to work the night
shift on June 8, starting at 11:00 p.m. and ending at 7:00
a.m. on June 9 (the “June 8-9 night-shift”), i.e., a shift
ending 30 minutes before the start of his annual tour at
the Air Force base. On June 7, 1989, he submitted to
Captain Brennan a written request for military leave
from that shift in order to have time to prepare for and
travel to the annual training session. The request was
initially denied by Maccarone on the ground Gummo had
not submitted military orders with his request.

On June 8, Gummo renewed his request to be relieved
of the June 8-9 night-shift assignment; Maccarone
advised Gummo that he could either trade shifts with
another officer or obtain official written military orders
indicating that he should be relieved of his assignment to
the June 8-9 night-shift. On the afternoon of June 8,
Gummo informed Maccarone that official notice from
the Air Force concerning his military leave for that
evening would be mailed to the Police Department. The

1147

A6

Village states that Gummo said the official “orders”
would be sent; Gummo asserts that he said a “letter”
would be sent. Based on his June 8 conversation with
Gummo, Maccarone instructed Captain Brennan to
remove Gummo’s name from the June 8 duty roster and
informed Gummo that he would be granted the addi-
tional day of military leave.

Gummo asserts that sometime after 7:00 p.m. on June
8, he learned that the letter he had expected from the Air
Force, authorizing military leave for that night’s shift,
would not be forthcoming. Gummo therefore reported
for work at the Department at 11:00 p.m. on June 8. He
worked until 3:00 a.m. on June 9, and was then driven
home by the police lieutenant on duty. He went to the
Air Force base at Niagara Falls to begin his annual tour
of military duty a few hours later.

When Gummo returned to work following the com-
pletion of his annual tour, Maccarone summoned him to
discuss the Department’s nonreceipt of the written
authorization Gummo had promised with respect to
Gummo’s June 8 military leave. When asked about his
statement that written “orders” supporting the June 8
military leave had been mailed to the Department,
Gummo stated that he had said a “letter” would be sent
to the Police Department, having been told by an Air
Force base secretary, whom he identified by her first
name, that a letter would be sent. Gummo refused to
reveal the name of the person who had thereafter
informed him that ne such letter would be sent on June
8, despite being ordered by Maccarone to do so, insist-
ing that that information was irrelevant. Several times
during the meeting, Gummo asked to be allowed to have
counsel or a nearby union representative present to assist
him before answering further questions, but Maccarone

1148

A7

denied his requests. After responding to a series of ques-
tions about his eventual decision to report for work on
June 8, Gummo declined to make any further statements
unless he was permitted to have someone there to assist
him.

Following that meeting, Gummo was charged with
four counts of violating Police Department regulations,
and in July 1989 he was suspended from the Department
pending the resolution of the disciplinary charges. The
Village appointed an impartial hearing officer to conduct
an administrative proceeding. After a two-day hearing,
the officer dismissed one of the charges, but found
Gummo guilty of the other three, to wit, falsely advising
the police chief that military orders were in the mail;
disobeying a lawful order by refusing to answer ques-
tions relating to the events of June 8, 1989; and falsely
stating to Maccarone that he had never claimed that mil-
itary “orders” were being sent to the Department. In
light of the finding of guilt and of Gummo’s prior dis-
ciplinary record, the hearing officer recommended that
Gummo be dismissed from the Police Department.

The Village accepted the recommendation and, in Jan-
uary 1990, terminated Gummo’s employment with the
Department. Gummo initiated a state-court challenge to
his discharge but did not perfect that challenge.

B. The Proceedings in the District Court

Gummo commenced the present suit in March 1993,
alleging that his two suspensions and the termination of
his employment violated the VRR Act because those
actions were motivated by his “status and duty as a
member of the armed forces.” (Complaint 4 23.) He prin-
cipally sought reinstatement and compensation for lost

1149

A8

wages and other lost benefits. After a period of discov-
ery, the Village moved for summary judgment dismiss-
ing the complaint. In support of its motion, the Village
submitted, inter alia, the affidavit of Maccarone, the
depositions of Maccarone and Gummo, and affidavits of
three other Depew police officers who were or had been
reservists and who stated that they had never been sub-
jected to discrimination by the Department on that basis.
The Village took the position that it had terminated
Gummo’s employment only because of his insubordi-
nation and other misconduct and not because of his
reserve status.

Gummo opposed summary judgment. In Maccarone’s
deposition, Gummo had elicited testimony as to Mac-
carone’s views with regard to the statutory benefits
accorded to reservists. For example, Gummo brought out
that some years earlier David Gorski, one of the police-
officer reservists who submitted an affidavit in the pre-
sent case stating that he had never been discriminated
against on the basis of his reserve status, had once com-
plained to the United States Department of Labor about
the Police Department’s treatment of him as a reservist:

Q. Did you. . . ever complain to the Department
of Labor about any reservists or laws that govern
reservists?

A. I didn’t complain to the Department of Labor.
Lieutenant Gorski complained to the Department of
Labor and as a result, they did an investigation.

(Deposition of John T. Maccarone (“Maccarone Dep.”)
at 36.) Maccarone testified that in the wake of Gorski’s
complaint, a Department of Labor official, Frank Curry,

1150

soho Bn eet ath we ol te rat

A9

had come to see him and that the gist of their conversa-
tion was as follows:

I’m quoting him. “You can’t touch [Gorski]. They
can do what they want. They can tell you. They
don’t have to give you a written order on anything.
If they want the day off before, they can do it. If
they want the day off after, they can take it, you
have to accept it.” I said, “You’re out of your
mind.”
(Maccarone Dep. at 39.) The Department of Labor, as a
result of its investigation, found that, with the exception
of one conceded misdeed, Gorski had done “absolutely
nothing wrong” with regard to his reservist status and
requests. (Id. at 36.) Maccarone apparently disagreed:

Q. Were you—did you agree with the—did you
agree with the outcome of the Department of Labor
investigation?

A. No, I did not.
Q. Why?

A. It was obvious from the minute that Mr. Frank
Curry walked in my office that he was not an impar-
tial investigator, that his sole purpose in life was to
protect the reservist.

Q. And that bothered you?
A. Tremendously.

Q. And did you express any unhappiness toward
Mr. Curry?

A. L ordered him out of my office.
(Maccarone Dep. at 37-38.)

1151

Al0

Maccarone testified that he generally believed that,
though most municipalities could afford the expense,
reservists should not receive their full municipal salaries
while they were on paid reserve duty. (Jd. at 33.) He had
sent a municipal official a letter (id. at 32), which was
quoted in a local newspaper, seeking legislation against
what he had referred to as “ ‘double dipping in its most
flagrant form.’ ” The Depew Lancaster Metro Commu-
nity News at 3D (Jan. 22, 1989) (quoting Maccarone
letter).

With respect to the events at issue in the present
action, Maccarone indicated that Gummo had been
denied a promotion, and Maccarone stated his view that
Gummo was attempting to force the Department to
adhere to “the military law right by the letter of the law”
as a means of retaliation for the denial: |

A. . . .. Mr. Gummo was not a problem with his
reserve status from the day he signed up until the
day he discovered he was not going to be
successful lieutenant candidate. Then he started a
course of action that turned him completely around.

Q. What is it—what kind of—after that day for-
ward, did Mr. Gummo abuse his rights as a
reservist?

THE WITNESS: I don’t know if you’d call it his
abuse of his rights, his reservist status. I would call
it an abuse of the departmental status. What he was
doing was he was attempting to use his official mil-
itary status as a weapon to retaliate and get even
with myself and the department.

1152

All

Q. . . .. And how was it —

A. And he was doing things like writing—do
these things like writing [a certain] letter to the
editor.

Q. But the letter had nothing to do with his mil-
itary status?

A. That’s right. But these are the things he
Started doing. And then he started doing things with
his schedule. He wouldn’t be up front as he was in
the past about producing his weekend schedule. He
wouldn’t be up front about producing his two-week
tour schedule. He was just being everything—doing
everything to be obstinate to show that he didn’t
have to cooperate. And he started calling the mili-
tary law right by the letter of the law. “I don’t have
to give you this and I don’t have to give you that.”

(Maccarone Dep. at 74-76.) Maccarone stated that this
“bother[ed]” him because “I’m his employer. He has
another obligation through his employment. . . .” (Jd.
at 76.)

In his own deposition, Gummo had testified to his ver-
sion of the January 1989 meeting with Maccarone, stat-
ing that Maccarone had accused him of lying about his
military leave and had promised to “get” him, which
Gummo interpreted as meaning that Maccarone meant to
retaliate for Gummo’s insistence on his rights under the
VRR Act. (Gummo Dep. at 187-89.) Thus, in opposition
to summary judgment, Gummo contended that the Vil-
lage’s decision to terminate his employment was based
on his status as a reservist and that summary judgment
could not properly be granted against him. He also cross-

1153

Al2

moved for partial summary judgment in his favor, con-
tending that the Department’s policy of refusing to grant
reservists leave without receiving written military orders
was unlawful.

In a Memorandum and Order dated April 28, 1995
(“Opinion”), the district court denied Gummo’s motion
and granted that of the Village. Stating that the purpose
of the Act “is to prohibit employment discrimination
against Reservists ‘motivated solely by reserve status,’ ”
Opinion at 7 (quoting Monroe v. Standard Oil Co., 452
U.S. 549, 559 (1981)), the court concluded that the Act
is inapplicable where “a Reservists’s employment is ter-
minated for reasons other than his status,” Opinion at 7.
The court noted that:

[t]he record is replete with evidence of Gummo’s
refusal to obey orders, insubordination and failure
to comply with the Department’s policies. He does
not controvert most of this evidence but disputes the
characterization of such as “misconduct.” Regard-
less of how these uncontroverted facts are charac-
terized, it was found during the [administrative]
proceeding that Gummo was guilty of misconduct
such as to constitute good cause for discharge.

Id. Finding that Gummo was collaterally estopped from
challenging these administrative findings in a proceed-
ing in federal court, the district court ruled that the Vil-
lage was entitled to summary judgment because “[a]s a
matter of law. . ., Gummo’s Reserve status was not the
sole reason for his discharge.” Jd. at 8.

The district court further reasoned that even if Gummo
could relitigate the findings of misconduct, he had
offered no evidence indicating that he had been sus-
pended or discharged because of his reserve activities.

1154

hs aBioers

Si Ns MAW a oa Beat Red atic Ad aE a A

Al3

Rather, it found, Gummo’s “entire argument rest[ed] on
his allegation that the defendant’s requirement that writ-
ten orders be submitted prior to being granted military
leave is ‘unlawful’. . . . [and] that but for the defen-
dant’s policy, he would never have gotten into the argu-
ments with Maccarone that resulted in his discharge.” Jd.
The court concluded that Gummo had failed to provide
any authority to support his assertion that the Depart-
ment’s policy violated the Act, and that “in the absence
of any allegation that the policy was designed to hinder
Reservists from participating in their military duties,”
id., his arguments were insufficient to raise a question of
material fact as to the Village’s motive for discharging
him. Judgment was entered dismissing the action as a
matter of law, and this appeal followed.

II. DISCUSSION

On appeal, Gummo contends principally that the sole-
motivation test should not have been applied and that
there was sufficient evidence to permit a reasonable
juror to find a causal link between his membership in the
Reserves and his discharge. We agree.

A. The Motivation Requirement Under the VRR Act

The VRR Act was enacted in 1968. One of its pur-
poses was to encourage noncareer service in the uni-
formed services by minimizing the disadvantages to
civilian careers and employment that could result from
such service. See S. Rep. No. 1477, 90th Cong., 2d Sess.
(1968), reprinted in 1968 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.
News (“USCCAN”) 3421, 3421-22. It provided, inter
alia, that an employee “shall upon request be granted a
leave of absence by such person’s employer for the

1155

Al4

period required to perform. . . inactive duty training.”
38 U.S.C. § 2024(d) (1988). Prior to 1994, § 2021 of the
Act (which was renumbered § 4301 in 1992, and rele-
vant parts of which were renumbered § 4311 in 1994)
provided, in pertinent part, that

[a]Jny person who [is employed by the state or a
political subdivision thereof] shall not be denied
hiring, retention in employment, or any promotion
or other incident or advantage of employment
because of any obligation as a member of a Reserve
component of the Armed Forces.

38 U.S.C. § 2021(b)(3) (1988) (renumbered § 4301(b)(3)
pursuant to Pub. L. No. 102-568, § 506 (1992); renum-
bered § 4311 in Pub. L. No. 103-353, § 2 (1994)). In
1981, the “because of any obligation” language of
§ 2021(b)(3) was interpreted by the Supreme Court as
having “the significant but limited purpose of protecting
the employee-reservist against discriminations like dis-
charge and demotion, motivated solely by reserve sta-
tus.” Monroe v. Standard Oil Co., 452 U.S. at 559. In so
Stating, the Court relied on the legislative history of that
section, including a House of Representatives Commit-
tee report which stated that the section

amplifies existing law to make clear that reservists
not on active duty, who have a remaining Reserve
obligation, whether acquired voluntarily or invol-
untarily, will nonetheless not be discriminated
against by their employees [sic] soley [sic] because
of such Reserve affiliation.

Id. at 558 (quoting H.R. Rep. No. 1303, 90th Cong., 2d
Sess. 3 (1968) (brackets in Monroe)). In Monroe, the
Supreme Court had ruled that the VRR Act did not
require employers to make work-scheduling accommo-

1156

ios lace cereal ela

NG SRA Aafia IK POE RAM

tk a das RAN Re IR 2 RO te

Al5

dations for reservists that were not made for other
employees, i.e., to provide a reservist with “a special
work-scheduling preference.” 452 U.S. at 561. Follow-
ing Monroe, other courts interpreted § 2021(b)(3) as per-
mitting the exoneration of an employer who could point
to a nonpretextual reason for an adverse employment
decision that was irrelevant to the employee’s military
status, even if that status played some role in the deci-
sion. See, e.g., Burkart v. Post-Browning, Inc., 859 F.2d
1245, 1247 (6th Cir. 1988); Sawyer v. Swift & Co., 836
F.2d 1257, 1262 (10th Cir. 1988); Clayton v. Blachowske
Truck Lines, Inc., 640 F. Supp. 172, 174 (D.Minn. 1986),
aff’d, 815 F.2d 1203 (8th Cir. 1987).

In 1994, Congress enacted the Uniformed Services
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act
(“USERRA”) to replace the VRR Act in order to “clar-
ify, simplify, and, where necessary, strengthen the exist-
ing veterans’ employment and reemployment rights
provisions.” H.R. Rep. No. 65, 103d Cong., 2d Sess. 18
(1994) (“House Report” or “Report”), reprinted in 1994
USCCAN at 2449, 2451. USERRA was designed to
“[cJontinue to prohibit discrimination or acts of reprisal
against anemployee. . . because of a past, current, or
future military obligation,” House Report at 17, 1994
USCCAN at 2450, but it eliminated the “because of”
language of § 2021(b)(3), and Congress disavowed the
sole-motivation requirement inferred by Monroe and its
progeny. The language was modified to state that an
employer violates the Act if an employee’s “membership

. . or obligation for service in the uniformed services
is a motivating factor in the employer’s action, unless
the employer can prove that the action would have been
taken in the absence of such membership. . . or obli-
gation.” 38 U.S.C. § 4311(b) (emphasis added).

1157

Al6

The Village argues that the district court properly
applied the Monroe sole-motivation test in the present
case in preference to the existing language of § 4311(b)
because USERRA, which became effective on October
13, 1994, long after the events involving Gummo, did
not expressly overrule Monroe. Given Congress’s power
to amend a statute to clarify its original intention when
the courts have misperceived that intention, and to make
such clarifications applicable to cases begun before pas-
sage of the clarifying statute, see generally Rivers v.
Roadway Express, Inc., 114 S. Ct. 1510, 1519 (1994);
Mrs. W. v. Tirozzi, 832 F.2d 748, 755 (2d Cir. 1987), and
given the congressional descriptions of § 4311(b) dis-
cussed below, we disagree.

The report of the House of Representatives Commit-
tee on Veterans’ Affairs accompanying the House bill
that eventually became USERRA stated that “the origi-
nal intent of Congress when it enacted current section
2021(b)(3) of title 38, in 1968” was not the imposition
of a sole-motivation test, House Report at 24, 1994
USCCAN at 2457, and that the cases applying the “sole
factor” test suggested by Monroe had misinterpreted
Congress’s intent:

To the extent that courts have relied on dicta from
the Supreme Court’s decision in Monroe v. Standard
Oil Co., 452 U.S. 549, 559 (1981), that a violation
of this section can occur only if the military obli-
gation is the sole factor (see Sawyer v. Swift & Co.,
836 F.2d 1257, 1261 (10th Cir. 1988)), those deci-
sions have misinterpreted the original legislative
intent and history of 38 U.S.C. § 2021(b)(3) and are
rejected on that basis.

1158

Al7

House Report at 24, 1994 USCCAN at 2457. The Report
stated that the new language of § 4311(b) was “simply a
reaffirmation of the original intent of Congress,” House
Report at 24, 1994 USCCAN at 2457, “that the standard
of proof in a discrimination or retaliation case is the so-
called ‘but-for’ test and that the burden of proof is on
the employer, once a prima facie case is established,” id.
The report of the Senate Committee on Veterans’ Affairs
likewise stated that § 4311’s explicit mixed-motive and
burden-shifting language simply reflected Congress’s
| original intent:

New section 4311(b) would provide, consistent
with current law, that the employer would be con-
sidered to have committed a prohibited act of dis-
crimination under the VRR law if the claimant’s
covered connection with service was a motivating
factor in the employer’s action, unless the employer
showed that the action complained of would have
been taken in the absence of service connection.
This provision is a reaffirmation of the original
intent of Congress when it enacted current section
4301(b)(3) of title 38 in 1968. The Committee
intends. . . that the burden of proof with respect to
this affirmative defense would be on the employer.

S. Rep. No. 158, 103d Cong., 2d Sess. 45 (1994) (“Sen-
ate Report”) (emphasis added).

Explicitly rejecting Monroe, both congressional
reports stated that courts applying § 4311(b) should
instead use the scheme of burden-of-proof allocations
approved by the Supreme Court in NLRB v. Trans-
portation Management Corp., 462 U.S. 393, 401 (1983),
for actions under the National Labor Relations Act.
: House Report at 24, 1994 USCCAN at 2457; Senate

1159

Al8

Report at 45. Under that scheme, a claimant carries his
burden of proving a prima facie case of discrimination
by showing, by a preponderance of the evidence, that his
protected status was “a substantial or motivating factor
in the adverse [employment] action”; but the employer
may nonetheless escape liability by showing, as an affir-
mative defense, that it would have made the same deci-
sion without regard to the employee’s protected status.
Transportation Management, 462 U.S. at 401.

We reject the Village’s contention that this analytical
scheme was not meant to apply to preexisting cases such
as the present case. With respect to § 4311, USERRA
states as follows:

The provisions of section 4311 of title 38, United
States Code, as provided in the amendments made
by this Act,. . . that are necessary for the imple-
mentation of such section 4311 shall become effec-
tive on the date of enactment of this Act.

Pub. L. No. 103-353, § 8(b) (emphasis added). Though
this provision is perhaps susceptible to differing inter-
pretations, the legislative history statements, describing
§ 4311 as simply a reaffirmation of Congress’s original
intent in enacting § 2021(b)(3), strongly indicate that
Congress did not regard the linguistic change as an
amendment that is “necessary for the implementation of
such section 4311.” This was made more plain by a
bicameral report with respect to the effective dates on
which USERRA’s various provisions were to become
effective: it was agreed that “the standard and burden of
proof set forth in section 4311(b) are not additions to the
Act but are a codification of existing law.” Joint
Explanatory Statement on H.R. 995, 140 Cong. Rec. H
9136 (daily ed. Sept. 13, 1994), reprinted in 1994

1160

i ir a ane

4
;
3
*
H
€
4
4

sui PbS eA AIRES SSG RP aarti 2 lhe RI RE

Al9

USCCAN 2493, 2515. Accordingly, the House Report
Stated expressly that the Transportation Management

standard and burden of proof is [sic] applicable to
all cases brought under this section regardless of the
date of accrual of the cause of action.

House Report at 24, 1994 USCCAN at 2457 (emphasis
added).

Given Congress’s clear statements as to its original
intent in enacting the VRR and its wish to have the
courts apply § 4311(b) in accordance with that intent to
all cases regardless of their vintage, we conclude that the
district court should not have employed the sole-moti-
vation analysis adopted by Monroe and its progeny.
Proper analysis, in connection with the Village’s sum-
mary judgment motion, required a determination of (a)
whether there was sufficient evidence from which a
rational jury could infer that Gummo’s status or conduct
as a reservist was a substantial or motivating factor in
his dismissal; and (b) if there was such evidence,
whether it could be said as a matter of law that the Vil-
lage would have discharged him even if he had not been
a reservist.

B. The Record in the Present Case

A party moving for summary judgment bears the bur-
den of establishing that there exists no genuine issue of
material fact warranting a trial, see, e.g., Adickes v. S.H.
Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 157 (1970), and that the affi-
davits and depositions, etc., “show that. . . the moving
party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law,” Fed.
R. Civ. P. 56(c). In moving for summary judgment
against a party who will bear the ultimate burden of
proof at trial, the movant may satisfy this burden by

1161

A20

pointing to an absence of evidence to support an essen-
tial element of the nonmoving party’s claim. See, e.g.,
Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-23 (1986).
In ruling on such a motion, the district court must view
the evidence in the light most favorable to the party
opposing summary judgment and must draw all permis-
sible inferences from the submitted affidavits, exhibits,
interrogatory answers, and depositions in favor of that
party. See, e.g., Anderson v. Liberty Lobby Inc., 477 U.S.
242, 255 (1986); United States v. Diebold, Inc., 369 U.S.
654, 655 (1962) (per curiam). If, as to the issue on which
summary judgment is sought, there is any evidence in
the record from which a reasonable inference could be
drawn in favor of the opposing party, summary judgment
is improper. See, e.g., Chambers v. TRM Copy Centers
Corp., 43 F.3d 29, 37 (2d Cir. 1994); Brady v. Town of
Colchester, 863 F.2d 205, 210-11 (2d Cir. 1988). In
determining whether the nonmoving party has presented
evidence sufficient to defeat the motion for summary
judgment, we review the record de novo, drawing all fac-
tual inferences and resolving all ambiguities in favor of
the nonmoving party. See, e.g., Goenaga v. March of
Dimes Defects Foundation, 51 F.3d 14, 18-19 (2d Cir.
1995); Healy v. Rich Products Corp., 981 F.2d 68, 72 (2d
Cir. 1992); Bryant v. Maffucci, 923 F.2d 979, 982 (2d
Cir.), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 849 (1991).

The record in the present case, taken in the light most
favorable to Gummo, sufficed to require denial of the
Village’s motion for summary judgment. First, the evi-
dence permits an inference of hostility on the part of the
Department toward reservists qua reservists. For exam-
ple, the Department had previously dealt with another
reservist’s requests in such a way as to cause the officer
to complain to the United States Department of Labor;

1162

A21

and when a representative of that federal agency
informed Maccarone that the reservist was entitled to
enforce the law, Maccarone told the federal official,
“*You’re out of your mind’ ” (Maccarone Dep. at 39),
and ordered the official out of Maccarone’s office. In
addition, at his deposition, Maccarone stated that the
Department could not afford to have more than two or
three reservists on its staff (id. at 33); that he was
“bother[ed]” by Gummo’s insistence that the Department
obey “the letter of the law” (id. at 76); and that he was
“not going to let [Gummo] ruin the law enforcement in
the Village of Depew by not having enough people on
duty” (id.). In the same month in which he initially
rebuked Gummo with respect to his requests for
Reserves leave, and, according to Gummo, threatened to
“get” Gummo, Maccarone proceeded to complain to a
local official about the special treatment accorded to
reservists, requesting legislation to end what Maccarone
called “double dipping in its most flagrant form.”
Though requesting legislation is of course valid conduct,
the making and the tone of that request nonetheless con-
firmed Maccarone’s antipathy toward the statutory ben-
efits to which reservists were then entitled. A jury could
easily infer from this record an anti-reservist animus on
the part of the Department.

Further, with respect to the Department’s denial of
Gummo’s June 7 and June 8 requests that he be relieved
of his June 8-9 night-shift assignment, which precipi-
tated the chain of events that led directly to his dis-
missal, a jury could reasonably question the bona fides
of the Village’s stated rationale for the denial, i.e., that
Gummo’s requests were not accompanied by his written
orders. Gummo had submitted those written orders to the
Department in May. The written orders, which are in the

1163

A22

record, stated that Gummo was to report to the Air Force
base at 7:30 a.m. on June 9; they authorized him to
receive 16 days of leave for military duty (June 9-24);
and they authorized him to receive, in addition, one day
of leave for travel to the Air Force base. Since the
Department had already received the written orders, the
denial of Gummo’s June 7 and June 8 requests on the
ground ‘hat he did not submit written orders seems, at
best, peculiar.

At oral argument of this appeal, the panel inquired
why the previously submitted orders did not meet the
requirement imposed by the Department’s policy. No sat-
isfactory response was forthcoming. Counsel for the Vil-
lage repeatedly responded that the orders set a starting
date of June 9 and that Gummo’s shift was for June 8.
This explanation too seems peculiar in light of the facts
that that June 8-9 night-shift was scheduled to end at
7:00 a.m. on June 9, and that the written orders already
submitted to the Department stated that Gummo’s annual
tour was to commence at 7:30 a.m. on June 9 and that he
was to be allowed a day of leave for travel.

From the fact that Gummo had already submitted the
written orders that the Department continued to demand,
from the absence of any plausible explanation as to why
that submission did not suffice to satisfy the Depart-
ment’s policy, from the Village’s seemingly irrational
position that the Department could not fathom that a
shift ending at 7:00 a.m. on June 9 did not give Gummo
a day for travel to an assignment that was to begin 30
minutes later, and from the many manifestations of the
Department’s antipathy toward reservists’ enforcement
of their statutory rights, a jury could reasonably infer
that the Department’s denial of Gummo’s leave request
on the ground that it was not accompanied by the written

1164

preteen

A23

orders was pretextual, and that that stance and Mac-
carone’s confrontations with Gummo were intended,
because of Gummo’s insistence on his rights as a
reservist, to lead to the termination of his employment.

In sum, we conclude that the evidence in the record,
taken in the light most favorable to Gummo, sufficed to
establish a prima facie case under § 4311(b) and to pre-
clude a ruling as a matter of law that the Village would
have discharged him even if he had not been a reservist.
Accordingly, summary judgment dismissing the com-
plaint was inappropriate. We of course express no view
as to the likely outcome of the case after a trial.

C. Gummo’s Cross-Motion for Partial Summary
Judgment in his Favor

Gummo also pursues on appeal his contention that he
is entitled to partial summary judgment declaring that
the Department’s policy of not granting leave without
the reservist’s presentation of written orders violated the
VRR Act. In support of this contention, he points to a
provision in a United States Department of Labor Hand-
book. We are not persuaded.

The paragraph on which Gummo relies states as
follows:

The request for leave does not have to be in writ-
ing or in any particular form, although a written
request may facilitate proof of eligibility and pre-
vent possible misunderstandings. Furnishing the
employer with a copy of the schedule of training
drills in advance could facilitate the employer's own
work scheduling, but this is not always possible and
is not required by law. The law does not specify
when the request shall be made, nor does it set any

1165

A24

limit on the time that may elapse between leaving
the position and actually commencing the training
duty. At a minimum, the employer must allow the
employee sufficient time to arrive at his training
site, even if it means leaving work early. Misun-
derstandings may be prevented if the employer is
given sufficient advance notice to plan work sched-
ules so as to minimize any inconvenience resulting
from the reservist’s absence.

Department of Labor, Veterans’ Reemployment Rights
Handbook, 18-2 to 18-3 (1988) (emphasis added). The
Handbook, which itself acknowledges that it does not
have the force of law, see id. at 1, appears principally to
interpret the requirements imposed by the Act. The state-
ment that furnishing the employer with written orders “is
not required by law” is not the equivalent of a statement
that such a requirement by the employer violates the law.
The Act provided that the reservist must be given a leave
of absence to perform such inactive-training duty as was
“required.” 38 U.S.C. § 2024(d) (1988). To the extent
that it is possible for an employee to furnish his written
orders, the employer’s requirement that he do so would
appear to seek a reasonable form of proof that is not pro-
hibited by the Act and that is consistent with the tenor of
the Handbook. If furnishing such orders were impossi-
ble, insistence on compliance with such a requirement
could be unreasonable. But the present case is not one in
which it was impossible for the reservist to furnish his
written orders; indeed, as discussed above, those orders
had been furnished. We conclude that Gummo’s cross-
motion for summary judgment was properly denied.

1166

A25
CONCLUSION

We have considered all of the Village’s arguments in
support of summary judgment in its favor and have
found them to be without merit. The judgment of the dis-
trict court is vacated, and the case is remanded for fur-
ther proceedings not inconsistent with this opinion.

Costs of the appeal to plaintiff.

MILTON POLLACK, Senior District Judge, dissenting.
I respectfully dissent.

This case involves the discharge for insubordination,
lying and obstreperous conduct of a Village policeman
(“appellant”), who was also a Reservist in the United
States Air Force. The discharge was based on the rec-
ommendation of an impartial Hearing Officer who, after
a two day hearing, found the policeman guilty of three
current violations of the Department’s Rules of Conduct
and a history of improprieties as a police officer, involv-
ing reprimands and a suspension for misc~nduct. The
Hearing Officer found that (i) the policeman had been
disciplined for violations of the Department’s rules on
several prior occasions’; (ii) rehabilitation was no longer
a reasonable prospect and (iii) the policeman had
demonstrated an unwillingness and inability to work
under the authority of his superior officer. The Village

| Within the two years preceding his discharge, the police officer had
received reprimands for misconduct towards his Shift Lieutenant and for
disseminating information to the public without proper authorization. He
had also been found guilty of seven counts of misconduct and suspended
for 30 days following an argument with his superior officer.

1167

A26

Board thereupon unanimously voted to adopt the Hear-
ing Officer’s recommendation and terminated the plain-
tiff. There is no evidence that the parties who authorized
the discharge, the Hearing Officer and the Village Board,
harbored or acted upon any animus with respect to the
policeman’s status as a Reservist.

Following his discharge, the appellant instituted a suit
for state court relief. That challenge was not perfected
and was then abandoned. Three years later, in 1993, he
commenced this suit alleging herein that his disciplinary
history, suspensions and departmental altercations were
motivated by his “status and duty as a member of the
armed forces”. He principally sought reinstatement and
compensation for lost wages and other lost benefits.

The Village responded that it had terminated his
employment only because of his insubordination and
demonstrated repetitive misconduct as a police officer.

Appellant sued herein under the Veterans’ Reem-
ployment Rights Act, 38 U.S.C. § 2021, et seq., a statute
enacted in 1968 which the Supreme Court interpreted in
Monroe v. Standard Oil Company, 452 U.S. 549 (1981),
to require that the plaintiff prove he was discriminitorily
discharged by an employer “motivated solely by [his]
Reserve status”. Jd. at 559. This interpretation, accord-
ing to the 1994 Reports of the Congressional Veterans’
Committees, misconstrued the intent of the 1968
Congress in enacting the law.? Citing these Reports, the
majority opinion of this Court concludes that the Mon-
roe test does not apply to this case and substitutes in its
place the new and supposedly retroactive “but for” stan-
dard enunciated in the Uniformed Services Employment

2 The “mistaken” interpretation of the applicable statute by the
Supreme Court was followed by identical interpretations by the 6th, 8th
and 10th Circuits.

1168

I aaniieaieieiiaiiiiecamanaiimaaiiediidiliel

A27

and Reemployment Rights Act (“USERRA”) [38 U.S.C.
§ 4301, et seq. (1994)]. This “but for” standard means
that it is for the employer to establish that the discharge
would have occurred even if the employee were not a
member of the Reserves.

In support of the theory of a “mistaken” interpretation,
the majority’s Opinion cites the Report of the 1994
House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs accompanying
the 1994 House Bill that eventually became USERRA.
In this Report, the House Committee contended that the
Original intent of the 1968 Congress was not the impo-
sition of a sole motivation test to be established prima
facie by the veteran. The majority Opinion further cites
the Report of the 1994 Senate Committee on Veterans’
Affairs, which included a statement, contrary to Monroe,
that the 1994 version was merely a “reaffirmation” of
the original intent of the 1968 Congress (not so
expressed by the then Veterans’ Committees or included
in the statute itself) placing the burden of proof with
respect to the affirmative defense on the employer.

In order for the 1994 revised statute to have been
made applicable to pending cases such as this, the new
statute would have to have said so; a congressional com-
mittee’s expression of intent in these reports does not
suffice to add what does not appear in the enactment:

A judicial construction of a statute is an authori-
tative statement of what the statute meant before as
well as after the decision of the case giving rise to

that construction. . . Congress, of course, has the
power to amend a statute that it believes we have
misconstrued. . . . No such change, however, has

the force of law unless it is implemented through
legislation. Even when Congress intends to super-

1169

A28

sede a rule of law embodied in one of our decisions
with what it views as a better rule established in
earlier decisions, its intent to reach conduct pre-
ceding the “corrective” amendment must clearly
appear.

Rivers and Davison v. Roadway Express, Inc., 14 S.Ct.
1510, 1519 (1994). No such implementation is clearly
apparent within the text of USERRA. In fact, the only
relevant language in the statute indicates an intent that
the provisions of the new statute become effective on
October 13, 1994 and makes no mention of retroactivity:

The provisions of section 4311 of title 38, United
States Code, as provided in the amendments made
by this Act,. . . that are necessary for the imple-
mentation of such section 4311 shall become effec-
tive on the date of enactment of this Act.

Pub. L. No. 103-353, § 8(b). The majority asserts that
“this provision is perhaps susceptible to differing inter-
pretations” and offers its own interpretation: that the
“codification” of the “but for” test was not one of the
provisions necessary for the implementation of § 4311
and that this provision is therefore not effective on the
date of enactment of the Act but at some earlier date.
Although this interpretation may allow the majority nar-
rowly to escape from the presumption that the new
statute applies only from its enactment date, it certainly
does not provide any clear indication of intended
retroactive application.

3 In fact, the only other discussion of an effective date in the statute
confirms that no retroactive application was intended:

(a) Reemployment—{1). . . the amendments made by this Act shall
be effective with respect to employments initiated on or after the first
day after the 60-day period beginning on the date of enactment of this

Act (Oct. 13, 1994}.
(footnote continued)

1170

A2z9

Furthermore, the legislative history cited by the
majority does not indicate clearly that the “but for” test
applies retroactively:

[this] standard and burden of proof is [sic] appli-
cable to all cases brought under this section regard-
less of the date of accrual of the cause of action.

H.R. Rep. No. 65, 103d Cong., 2d Sess. 18 (1994). It is
not specified whether the phrase “brought under this sec-
tion” applies to cases “brought” in the future or also to
cases that “have been brought” in the past. Nor is it clear
that this language has any relevance to a prior version of
“this section,” which included significantly different lan-
guage.

The existence of these questions indicates that
although the 1994 Congressional Committees may have
intended to overturn Monroe and to make the conse-
quences of this change retroactive, Congress failed
clearly to manifest any Such intent within the statute. In
Rivers, the United States Supreme Court concluded that
a similar failure was fatal to the cause of retroactivity
under § 101 of the Civil Rights Act of 1991:

We may assume, as petitioners argue, that § 101
reflects congressional disapproval of Patterson's
interpretation of § 1981. We may even assume that
many or even most legislators believed that Pat-
terson was not only incorrectly decided but also
represented a departure from the previously pre-
vailing understanding of the reach of § 1981. Those

(2) The provisions of chapter 43 of title 38, United States Code, in
effect on the day before such date of enactment, shall continue to
apply to reemployments initiated before the end of such 60-day
period.
See Historical and Statutory Notes, 43 U.S.C. § 4301 (citing § 8 of
Pub.L. 103-353) (emphasis added) (citations omitted).

1171

A30

assumptions would readily explain why Congress
might have wanted to legislative retroactively,
thereby providing relief for the persons it believed
had been wrongfully denied a § 1981 remedy. Even
on those assumptions, however, we cannot find in
the 199] Act any clear expression of congressional
intent to reach cases that arose before its enactment
. . . . The text of the Act does not support the argu-
ment that § 101 of the 1991 Act was intended to
“restore” prior understandings of § 1981 as to cases
arising before the 1991 Act’s passage.

Rivers, 14 S.Ct. at 1516 (emphasis added). Thus,
Congress’s failure unequivocally to state that USERRA
applies to cases brought before the law’s effective date
signifies that a “sole motivation” test should be applied
to cases, such as the present one, which were brought
prior to October 13, 1994.

Under this “sole motivation” test, it is the plaintiff
who is required to provide sufficient admissible, relevant
evidence permitting the court below to conclude that his
discharge was not motivated by insubordination or dis-
honesty, but instead solely because he was a Reservist.
See Clayton v. Blachowske Truck Lines, Inc., 640 F.
Supp. 172, 174 (D. Minn. 1986), aff’d, 815 F.2d 1203
(8th Cir. 1987) (to avoid summary judgment, plaintiff
must provide “evidence which raises an inference that
his reserve status was the sole motivation behind his ter-
mination”).

Summary judgment is appropriate in this case because
there is no evidence before the Court that the plaintiff’s
Reservist status was a determinative factor in the deci-
sion to terminate his employment, much less the sole
factor. See Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-

1172

Se a ted be

A31

23, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2553 (1986). In the majority’s
unavailing search for such evidence, the majority con-
tends that the Department provided no satisfactory
response as to why the policeman’s previously submitted
military orders did not meet the requirements of the
Department’s notification policy. However, the dispute
over orders, which directly preceded the discharge, was
based not only on the officer’s failure to submit an order
permitting the travel day, but also on the officer’s delay
in actually requesting the travel day:

[e]ven though Gummo had waited until the very last
moment to ask for the day off, the Chief did nor
deny his request and, according to Zolnowski, when
Gummo advised the Chief, the afternoon of June
8th, that he had contacted the base that morning to
arrange for a letter granting him the day off but he
didn’t know when it would arrive, the Chief replied
that he would abide by it and accept it even if it
came in after Officer Gummo had left (T. 253), cer-
tainly not the reaction one would expect of someone
who was out to “get” the officer. I cannot find one
instance during the events which transpired in [sic]
regard to the instant situation, in which the Chief
could be viewed as provoking Officer Gummo.‘

(Hearing Officer’s Recommendation at 52; A. 77)
(emphasis added). Furthermore, the Department’s
request for additional proof of the necessity of a travel
day does not excuse the officer’s subsequent intemper-

4 The lengthy analysis in the majozity opinion indirectly impugning the
bona fides of the Village’s stated rationale for the so-called “denial” of
requests that Gummo be relieved of submitting an order permitting the
travel day is at odds with the explicit finding of the report of the Hear-
ing Officer. Counsel’s responses to questions regarding this “denial” at
our oral hearing appear to have overlooked the content of the adminis-
trative record.

1173

A32

ate insubordination and lack of honesty. The police offi-
cer’s unprofessional response was certainly sufficient
“straw to break the camel’s back”, given the officer’s
past record of insubordination and his earlier undisputed
violation of the Department’s leave policy, for which he
was suspended thirty days.

Given the substantial evidence supporting the exis-
tence of a non-pretextual reason for discharge, the entire
absence of any evidence that the Village Board and the
impartial Hearing Officer were motivated by hostility
towards Reservists, qua Reservists, and the absence of
evidence indicating Reservist discrimination at any time,
we ought not interfere with the right of the Village to
discipline its police officers for personal misconduct.
The Village openly gave the appellant an unbiased inde-
pendent review of all of his official conduct before an
impartial Hearing Officer who conducted the adminis-
trative proceeding. Due process was all that was
required. It is indisputable on this record that appellant’s
Reservist status was not the cause of his discharge,
whichever statute applies. Neither statute permits an
employee to exploit his status as a Reservist in order to
shield himself from the consequences of his misconduct.
See Britt v. Georgia Power and Light, 677 F. Supp. 1169
(N.D. Ga. 1987); McCormick v. Carnett-Partsnett Sys-
tems, Inc., 396 F. Supp. 251, 256 (M.D. Fla. 1975).

I would affirm.

1174

|

A33

APPENDIX B

Memorandum and Order of the United States
District Court for the Western District
of New York, Dated April 28, 19965.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

93-CV-0221E(M)

WILLIAM M. GUMMO,
Plaintiff,

-vVs-

VILLAGE OF DEPEW, NEW YORK,
Defendant.

MEMORANDUM and ORDER

Plaintiff Gummo, a former police officer with the
Village of Depew Police Department (“the Department”’),
brought this employment discrimination action pursuant
to the Veterans’ Reemployment Rights Act (“the Act’’),
38 U.S.C. §§4301-4307,' alleging that the defendant had
fired him because of his status as a Staff Sergeant in the
United States Air Force Reserve. Before this Court are
the cross-motions of the parties for summary judgment
pursuant to FRCvP’ 56. The defendant’s motion will be
granted and the plaintiff's denied.

' Before the Act was amended in 1992, these provisions were found
under sections 2021-2027.
* Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

A34

The undisputed facts are as follows.’ Gummo was a
police officer with the Department from 1977 until his
termination January 31, 1990. On December 12, 1986 he
enlisted in the United States Air Force Reserves, which
necessitated his spending one weekend of each month in
military training and attending a two-week summer
training session annually (‘‘the annual tour”). During
substantially the entire time of his employment, the
Department’s policy required police officers who were in
the Reserves to provide advance notice—including
submission of official military orders—of the need for
time off from their scheduled duty. Gummo was
informed of this policy by the Department’s Police Chief
Maccarone following his enlistment in the Reserves and
he complied with such until October 1988 when, instead
of submitting military orders he submitted a handwritten
note indicating his weekend training dates for October
through December. A Capt. Brennan instructed Gummo
by letter dated October 20th to submit instead his
military orders, and for all of the fiscal year which ended
at some point in 1989. Gummo partially complied with
this request, submitting on October 23rd his military
orders, but only for his weekend training sessions and
not those for his annual tour. Later (December 23rd) he
apprised Brennan that his annual tour was scheduled for
June 10 through 24, 1°89 but he did not submit military
orders therefor.

discussed, ‘“‘accepted’’ and not controverted the
statement—see Plaintiff's Statement of Disputed Material Facts
Pursuant to Local Rule 25—the facts set forth therein are deemed
admitted. See Local Rule of Civil Procedure 56.

— ee

A35

Maccarone, Gummo’s “chief superior’ officer, met
with Gummo January 4, 1989 to discuss Gummo’s
failure to provide the orders. An argument ensued during
which Gummo yelled and screamed at Maccarone and
refused to obey Maccarone’s orders that he restrain
himself. (Gummo contends but Maccarone does not
admit that Maccarone during this meeting called him a
“liar, an “ignorant fuck,’’ a “disgrace to the uniform”
and a ‘‘sneak.”) Gummo walked out of the meeting
without being dismissed and said, while leaving and in
the presence of others of the Department’s employees,
that ‘somebody should choke that man.” See Deposition
of William M. Gummo, at 186, attached as Exh. A to
Affidavit of Nicholas J. Sargent, Esq. (sworn to October
1, 1993).

Pursuant to Section 75 of New York’s Civil Service
Law (“CSL’’), Gummo was charged with misconduct
(e.g., conduct unbecoming a police officer, disobedience of
an order and insubordination) and made the subject of a
disciplinary hearing held February 13th and 15th by the
Village of Depew’s Board of Trustees. He was found
guilty of seven of the rine charges and received a 30-day
suspension without pay. Such sentence was not appealed.

Gummo notified Brennan May 3rd that his annual
tour had been rescheduled to June 9th through June
24th and submitted orders to substantiate such. On June
7th Gummo requested, by placing a ‘‘Request for a Day
Off’ form under Brennan’s door, that he have military
leave for the work shifts for June 8th and 9th (11:00 pm
until 7:00 am). Maccarone, to whom the request was
referred, refused such request because it was not
accompanied by militery orders. Gummo personally
asked Maccarone on t.. morning of June 8th for
permission not to work that night but Maccarone replied
that he could have off only if he produced the military

A36

orders or switched shifts with another police officer.
Later that afternoon Gummo told Maccarone either that
his military orders or that a letter from his military unit
was in the mail (Gummo claims he said letter, Maccarone
that he said military orders), and Maccarone thereupon
granted the request. Gummo contends that while at work
later that night he notified ‘‘the defendant’’—he does not
specify an individual—that he would be working the shift
because he had learned that the letter he had requested
was not forthcoming. The defendant denies that it was
ever notified. Without explanation or notice to his shift
supervisor, Brennan or Maccarone, Gummo reported for
work the night of June 8th, signing off duty after he had
completed half (four hours) of the shift.

Maccarone never received official orders or any
document from the United States Air Force re Gummo’s
need to have the June 8th shift off; he met with Gummo
to discuss such June 27th, after Gummo had returned
from the annual tour. With Gummo’s knowledge, this
meeting was taped. (A transcript [‘Tr.’’] of such is
attached as Exhibit B to the Defendant’s Notice of
Motion for Summary Judgment.) It was at this meeting
that Gummo told Maccarone that he had promised a
letter—not military orders— but Gummo acknowledged
that neither had been sent. He further stated that he had
reported to work on the 8th because he had learned from
a “party” at his military unit that the letter might not
be coming. Tr. at 5. When Maccarone inquired as to the
identity of such party, Gummo refused to give the name
and stated that he did not want to answer any more
questions. Maccarone then ordered Gummo to identify
the person but Gummo again refused, stating that he
would not answer any more questions unless either his
attorney or a union representative was present. Such
order and refusal were repeated several times.

A37

As a result of Gummo’s conduct at this meeting, he
was, on June 8th, charged with misconduct and
insubordination. The Board of Trustees, pursuant to CSL
$75, appointed a hearing officer who, after conducting a
two-day hearing, found Gummo guilty of misconduct and
recommended that he be discharged. Gummo did not

appeal this determination. By resolution adopted
January 31, 1990 the Board of Trustees accepted this
recommendation and terminated Gummo.

Summary judgment is appropriate when there is no
genuine issue as to any material fact and the moving
party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law. See
FRCvP 56(c). In making such determination, a court
must view the facts in the light most favorable to the
non-movant and any doubts as to the existence of a
genuine issue for trial should be resolved against the
moving party. Brady v. Town of Colchester, 863 F.2d
205, 210 (2d Cir. 1988). The moving party bears the
initial burden of establishing that no genuine issue exists
as to material fact. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S.
317, 323 (1986). If, as here, the non-movant bears the
burden of proof at trial, the moving party may satisfy its
burden by demonstrating an absence of evidence to
support an essential element of the non-movant’s claim.
Id. at 325. Once the moving party has established its
initial burden, the non-movant must set forth specific
facts showing that there is a genuine and material issue
of fact for trial. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477
U.S. 242, 250 (1986). Such a showing must consist of
more than a “‘scintilla of evidence;’’ the non-movant
must show that there is evidence on the basis of which a
reasonable juror could return a verdict in his favor. Id. at
252. Thus, if the non-movant fails to make such a
showing re any essential element of a claim, summary

a

te

A38

judgment on that claim is appropriate. Given the instant
cross-motions for summary judgment, each will be
evaluated under the foregoing standards.

Section 4301(b\(3) of the Act provides that “any
person who [is employed by a political subdivision of a
state] shall not be denied hiring, retention in
employment, or any promotion or other incident or
advantage of employment because of any obligation as a
member of a Reserve component of the Armed Forces.”
(Emphasis added). The purpose of this section is to
prohibit employment discrimination against Reservists
“motivated solely by reserve status.” Monroe v.
Standard Oil Co., 452 U.S. 549, 559 (1981). Thus, if a
Reservist’s employment is terminated for reasons other
than his status, the section is inapplicable. Kitsakos v.
Brown, 848 F.Supp. 459, 462 (S.D.N.Y. 1994).

The record is replete with evidence of Gummo’s
refusal to obey orders, insubordination and failure to
comply with the Department’s policies. He does not
controvert most of this evidence but disputes the
characterization of such as “misconduct.’’ Regardless of
how these uncontroverted facts are characterized, it was
found during the CSL §75 proceeding that Gummo was
guilty of misconduct and insubordination such as to
constitute good cause for discharge. Because Gummo
does not controvert the identity of the factual issues
involved in the instant case and in the section 75
proceeding, or that he had a full and fair opportunity to
contest them in such proceeding, he is collaterally
estopped under New York law from disputing the
findings of fact made therein—see Town of Huntington
v. New York State Division of Human Rights, 181
A.D.2d 827, 581 N.Y.S.2d 381 (2d Dept. 1992)—and thus
also under federal law. Romano v. Thunder Projects, Inc.,

A39

696 F.Supp. 831, 833 (N.D.N.Y. 1988). As a matter of
law then, Gummo’s Reserve status was not the sole
reason for his discharge and the defendant is entitled to

summary judgment.

Assuming arguendo that Gummo was not
collaterally estopped from contesting these issues,
summary judgment would still be warranted because
Gummo has offered no affirmative proof that even hints
that he was discriminated because of his Reserve status.
For example, no proof is offered suggesting any possible
motive for the defendant’s alleged discrimination.
Instead, Gummo’s entire argument rests on his
allegation that the defendant’s requirement that written
orders be submitted prior to being granted military leave
is “‘unlawful.”” Gummo then reasons that his misconduct
resulted from this allegedly unlawful requirement, which
in turn led to his discharge because he was “provoked’’
by this unlawful conduct. In other words, Gummo seems
to be arguing that but for the defendant’s policy, he
would never have gotten into the arguments with
Maccarone that resulted in his discharge. Beyond the
fact that Gummo cites no authority that the defendant’s
policy was unlawful, this argument—in the absence of
any allegation that the policy was designed to hinder
Reservists from participating in their military duties—is
not probative of and has no logical connection to whether
the defendant discriminated against him because of his
Reserve status. It therefore is unavailing.

Accordingly, it is hereby ORDERED that the
plaintiff's motion for summary judgment is denied, that
the defendant’s motion for summary judgment is
granted and that this case is dismissed with prejudice.

DATED: Buffalo, N.Y.

_— /s) JOHN T. ELFVIN
U.S.D.J.

A40

APPENDIX C

Judgment of the United States District Court
for the Western District of New York,
Dated May 2, 1995.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
WESTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

93-cv-0221-E(M)

WILLIAM M. GUMMO,
Plaintiff,

Vv.

VILLAGE OF DEPEW, NEW YORK,
Defendant.

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

[ ] Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for
a trial by jury. The issues have been tried and the jury
has rendered its verdict.

[x] Decision by Court. This action came +e—trial or
hearing before the Court. The issues have been +ried—or
heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that plaintiff's
motion for summary judgment is denied, defendant's
motion for summary judgment is granted and the case is
dismissed with prejudice.

May 2, 1995 RODNEY C. EARLY
Date Clerk
FILED
95 MAY—2 AM 9:49 /s) JANE M. DENNIS
U.S. DISTRICT COURT (By) Deputy Clerk

W.D.N.Y.—BUFFALO

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_1217%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
