# Amicus Curiae Brief — Midland Central Appraisal District v. BP America Production Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0818%3A7

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 2011
- **Citation:** 563 U.S. 936

## Text

o. 10-890 FEB 10 201

0) Supreme Court, U.S
\EN FILED
N

In The
Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

MIDLAND CENTRAL APPRAISAL DISTRICT,

Petitioner,

V.

BP AMERICA PRODUCTION CO., ET AL.,

Respondents.

$$ 9

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The Texas Court Of Appeals,
Eleventh Appellate District

®

BRIEF OF AMICI CURIAE
TEXAS ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOL BOARDS
LEGAL ASSISTANCE FUND
AND THE TEXAS MUNICIPAL LEAGUE
IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER

¢

DON CRUSE*
LAW OFFICE OF DON CRUSE
1108 Lavaca Street,

Suite 110-436
Austin, Texas 78701
don@doncruse.com
(512) 853-9100

*Counsel of Record

Counsel for Amici Curiae

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225-6964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

How does the “substantial nexus” prong of Complete
Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274 (1977), apply
to tangible personal property involved in commerce

that is assessed a non-discriminatory ad valorem

property tax:

Is nexus, as the court below held, evaluated
based on older “continuity of transit” cases
exempting goods in the flow of commerce
from paying their own way?

Does nexus, as the court below held, also
require a taxing authority to prove in
personam “activity” by the taxpayer beyond

the presence of the taxable res in the taxing
jurisdiction?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented

Tae Oe CS ooo. iccsvcrcecsssatn cue

Summary of the Argument
y g

Argument

I.

There Is an Entrenched Split About How
the Complete Auto Framework Applies To
Goods in Transit, Including Gas and Oil

A. A split between Texas and Oklahoma
that affects energy has broad im-
TG asic crsccveckanccnenenneeeneeanaueereeeeniea

The split is firm and will not resolve

Using older cases to inform the nexus
analysis distorts the Complete Auto
framework and warrants certiorari ....

These Decisions Reflect an Untenable
View of Complete Auto

A. The “in transit” authorities presup-
pose immunity from taxation in
which interstate commerce does not
pay its own way

1. “In transit” does not fit Complete

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued
Page
2. “In transit” unduly penalizes com-

peting intrastate commerce and
would distort the market................

B. For ad valorem property taxes, nexus
should be measured against the
goods, not the taxpayer

Both Petitions Warrant Attention

A. The petitions offer contrasting facts
that could yield a more satisfying

At a minimum, this petition should
be held for an eventual GVR

1. A GVR would ensure that the
court of appeals applies the correct

There is little doubt that the Court
has jurisdiction

Conclusion

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES

Allied-Signal, Inc. v. Director, Div. of Taxation,
Fre PG TD vcancdscskadadcesteavictnisinicdetanecsnsen 14

Appraisal Review Bd. v. Tex-Air Helicopters,
Ine., 970 S.W.2d SSO CLOR. UFGB).0sccciccccrnscsessnsessenns 19

Carson Petroleum Co. v. Vial, 279 U.S. 95
(1929)

Champlain Realty Co. v. Town of Brattleboro,
260 U.S. 366 (1922)

Coe v. Errol, 116 U.S. 517 (1886)

Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S.
274 (1977) passim

Davenport v. Garcia, 834 S.W.2d 4 (Tex. 1992) .........19

Eureka Pipe Line Co. v. Hallanan, 257 U.S. 265
(1921)

Harrison Cent. Appraisal Dist. v. Peoples Gas,
Light & Coke Co., 270 S.W.3d 208 (Tex. App.
— Texarkana 2008, pet. denied) passim

Hughes Bros. Timber Co. v. Minnesota, 272
U.S. 469 (1926)

In re Assessment of Personal Prop. Taxes
Against Mo. Gas Energy, 234 P.2d 938 (Okla.
DEE wksasiinsiseusarsedseitior ida pam oainane 6, 7

Indep. Warehouses v. Scheele, 331 U.S. 70
ENS Biss Avcurcuscscecieso weer eet aaa eed eon 11

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983)..........-.-. 18, 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page

Michigan-Wisconsin Pipe Line Co. v. Calvert,
er ee 9 I y tevssiidonte tsar iecicncn 9, 11

Midland Cent. Appraisal Dist. v. BP Am. Prod.
Co., 282 S.W.3d 215 (Tex. App. — Eastland,
pet. denied) , passim

Miller Bros. v. Maryland, 347 U.S. 340 (1954)
Minnesota v. Blasius, 290 U.S. 1 (1933)

Mississippi River Transmission Corp. v. Simon-
ton, 442 So. 2d 764 (La. Ct. App. 1983).............0...... D

Oklahoma Tax Comm’n v. Jefferson Lines, Inc.,

ae GA Oe © I och ices iether etaenanes 9

Spector Motor Serv. v. O'Connor, 340 U.S. 602
(1951)

Three Affiliated Tribes of Fort Berthold Reser-
vation v. Wold Eng’g, P-C., 467 U.S. 138
(1984)

Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Broad. Co., 433
ie Bk oy) Spree Ba Pi te Ne Oe OME OAD 20

STATUTES

28 U.S.C. §1341

TEx. ConstT. art. VIII, §1(b)
Trex. TAX CODE §21.02(a)(1)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Amicus Brief of American Gas Association,
Missouri Gas v. Schmidt (No. 08-1458)

“Interstate Natural Gas Supply Dependency, 2007,”
http:/Avww.eia.doe.gov/pub/oil_gas/natural_gas/
analysis_publications/ngpipeline/dependstates_
map.html (visited Feb. 6, 2010)

“Intrastate Natural Gas Segment,” http://www.
eia.doe.gov/pub/oil_gas/natural_gas/analysis_
publications/ngpipeline/intrastate.html (vis-
ited Feb. 8, 2010)

INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE

The Texas Association of School Boards Legal
Assistance Fund is an association of public school
districts that plays a role in litigation likely to have a
broad impact on its member districts.’

Those school districts have a particularly acute
interest in the federal constitutional questions raised
in this petition because the Texas school-funding
system — like many local government entities across
the country — depends on a local ad valorem property-
tax system.

The brief is joined by The Texas Municipal
League, which is a non-profit association of over 1090
incorporated cities that provides legislative, legal,
and educational services to its members.

Continued uncertainty over how ad valorem
taxes fit into the Commerce Clause framework makes
it more difficult to shape the local tax policy that
supports critical services.

‘ No counsel for any party has authored this brief in whole
or in part, nor has any entity other than the named amici curiae
made a monetary contmbution to the preparation or submission
of the brief. See Sup. Ct. R. 37 5. Timely notice was given to all
parties, and each gave written consent. See Sup. Ct R 37.2(a).

2

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT’

There is now a split between two key states in
the energy industry, Oklahoma and Texas, about
what constitutional test applies to measure the
taxability of oil and gas reserves under local ad
valorem taxes.

Last Term, the Court had before it a petition
challenging Oklahoma’s side of the split. The Court
called for the views of the Solicitor General, who
expressed the view that Oklahoma had the better
side of the argument and that, in any event, the
Texas courts had not yet spoken with finality. Now
they have, and there is no reason to delay this Court’s
review. A split between sister states about the federal

° ° ° ° 3
law governing goods in transit deserves attention.

The court of appeals embraced a “continuity of
transit” test dating from a time when this Court had
held that interstate commerce was by its nature
exempt from state taxes. That test does not shed light
on the modern Complete Auto framework, and import-
ing it into the nexus prong threatens significant

* This amicus bref is being submitted in support of this
petition and in support of Harrison Central Appraisal District v.
Peoples Gas, Light and Coke Co., No. 10-896, both of which raise
the same constitutional issues. When necessary for clarity, the
present petition is referenced as the “Midland case” in contrast
to the “Harrison case.”

* Federal circuits generally do not hear challenges to state
ad valorem taxes because of the Tax Injunction Act. 28 U.S.C.
§1341.

damage to ad valorem property tax rolls, shifting the

burden onto domestic taxpayers and, in effect, dis-
criminating against intrastate commerce.

Further, the court of appeals adopted a legally
incorrect view of how nexus should be tested for ad
valorem property taxes. The court held that substan-
tial nexus under Complete Auto requires a showing of
in personam (“activity”) contacts by the taxpayer
rather than contact with the taxable res.

These petitions frame the problem well, end their
contrasting facts offer a good vehicle to test the rule.
Until this Court resolves these foundational ques-
tions under Complete Auto, both industry and taxing
authorities will be wandering in the fog of Nineteenth
Century “continuity of transit” case law that ill fits
the modern economy and results in sharply disparate
treatment of different industries based on features
unrelated to the constitutional principles underpin-
ning the Commerce Clause.

.

ARGUMENT

There Is an Entrenched Split About How
the Complete Auto Framework Applies To
Goods in Transit, Including Gas and Oil.

A. A split between Texas and Oklahoma
that affects energy has broad im-
portance.

Texas and Oklahoma have split on a question of

constitutional law that creates uncertainty for the
energy industry and local governments alike. The
affected states are central to the national energy
industry both in geography and geology.*

As things stand, when oil or gas flows through
pipelines that cross the Red River, it leaves one view
of federal law (Texas’ more expansive one that shields
the goods from taxes) and encounters a polar opposite
view of federal law (which permits nondiscriminatory
local taxes).

* In arguing for certioram in Missour: Gas, the American
Gas Association pointed to a helpful Department of Energy map
showing the web of gas pipelines across the lower 48 states See
Amicus Brief of American Gas Association, Missour: Gas v.
Schmidt (No. 08-1458), at 17 & 3a (map). That map remains
the most current on the Department’s website. See “Interstate
Natural Gas Supply Dependency, 2007,” http://www.eia.doe.
gov/pub/oil_gas/natural_gas/analysis_publications/ngpipeline/
dependstates_map.html (visited Feb 6, 2010). In addition to the
network of interstate pipelines, it highlights 30 states that “are
at least 85% dependent” on the network for natural gas from
producing states such as Texas and Oklahoma. /d.

Consider, for example, the newly tapped Barnett
Shale, which is centered just below the Red River on
the Texas side of the border. Should any of this gas be
sent to a storage facility north of the Red River, it can
be taxed; on the south side of the Red River, it is
given complete federal immunity from taxation.

The split also touches neighboring states on the

interstate pipeline system.’ For example, Louisiana

courts continue to apply the older “continuity of
transit” analysis when determining whether goods
can be assessed an ad valorem tax.’ Formally, they
apply state enactments made when “in transit” was
prevailing federal law. But with the present split of
authority and without guidance from this Court,
Louisiana policymakers do not know what latitude
they have to loosen those restrictions over local ad

valorem taxation.

For one example of how pipelines cut across these neigh-
boring states, look at the pipeline in Missour: Gas. One of its
two branches begins in Texas and runs through Oklahoma to
Kansas, where it has a storage facility before reaching its
endpoint Missouri: Gas, 234 P3d at 944 The other begins in
Oklahoma, where it has a storage facility, and then merges
together with the endpoint in Kansas. /d.

° Eg., Mississipp: River Transmission Corp v. Simonton,
442 So 2d 764, 770 (La Ct. App 1983).
Id at 770.

B. The split is firm and will not resolve
itself.

The petitions now before the Court attack two

Texas decisions that, serendipitously, came down as

bookends around the Oklahoma Supreme Court's

decision in Missouri Gas, one before and one after.
Both states were aware of the split and further

entrenched their conflicting positions.

The Oklahoma court noted the first Texas deci
sion in conflict with its holding. Jn re Assessment of
Personal Prop. Taxes Against Mo. Gas Energy, 234
P.2d 938, 959-60 (Okla. 2008). And it expressed its

disagreement in no uncertain terms:

[W]e remain unpersuaded by that court’s
reasoning. The Texas court first scrutinizes
Harrison County’s ad valorem tax using the
traditional continuity of transit analysis, a
test we reject today as having been su-
perseded by the Supreme Court’s decision
in Complete Auto Transit v. Brady... .

In addition, we decline to follow the Tex-
as court’s reasoning in concluding that the
ad valorem taxation of storage of gas fails to
meet the first and fourth prongs of the Brady
test. ...

We are convinced that the Texas court’s
focus on the parties’ activities and their
in personam types of contacts with the
taxing state is mistaken. The tax at issue
is an ad valorem property tax, a tax on

property where it is located, not on the tax
payer's activities.

Id. at 959-60 n.84 (emphasis added) (discussing
Harrison Cent. Appraisal Dist. v. Peoples Gas,
Light & Coke Co., 270 S.W.3d 208 (Tex. App. — Texar
kana 2008, pet. denied)). With only one justice dis
senting, Oklahoma’s position is firm.

Nor has Texas budged. At the time of the Okla
homa decision, the Harrison opinion it so harshly
criticized was pending rehearing in the court of
appeals, After supplemental briefing by both sides,

that court left intact its opinion, cementing the split.”

And when the Midland opinion was issued, it
even more explicitly rejected the core holding of the
Oklahoma case — that the old “in transit” line of cases
had been superseded by Complete Auto. Instead, it
rested its decision on that very quicksand — reliance
on the old continuity of transit analysis and looking
for in personam contacts to support an ad valorem
property tax.’ Midland Cent. Appraisal Dist. v. BP

* The Harrison opinion was issued on September 24, 2008
The Oklahoma opinion was issued on October 21, 2008. A letter
brief was filed with the Harrison court on November 3, 2008,
and a response was filed a few weeks later The Harrison court
denied rehearing on December 9, 2008. (Docket information for
this case is available at the court website, http //www.6thcoa
courts.state.tx us, using the “Case Search” feature and the
docket number “06-07-00103-CV” )

* Indeed, when the Midland court sought to distinguish the
facts from the Oklahoma case, it invoked the “in transit” reason
ing that the Oklahoma court had rejected Midland, 282 S W 3d

(Continued on following page)

8

Am. Prod. Co., 282 S.W.3d 215, 221-23 (Tex. App.
Eastland, pet. denied) (analyzing continuity of trans-
it); id. at 223-24 (using “in transit” to substitute for a
nexus analysis); id. at 224 (looking for in personam
contacts by the owner while discounting the proper-
ty’s connection to the taxing jurisdiction).

Through borrowing rigid, formalistic “in transit”
precedents, Harrison and Midland have rejected the
pragmatic approach to the Dormant Commerce
Clause recognized in Complete Auto. The Texas
Supreme Court’s denial of review in these two peti-
tions confirms that the split will not resolve itself.

C. Using older cases to inform the nexus
analysis distorts the Complete Auto
framework and warrants certiorari.

The Complete Auto test is this Court’s general
framework for analyzing taxes under the Dormant
Commerce Clause. Complete Auto closed a schism
between older cases presuming that states inherently
lacked authority over interstate commerce and others
holding that interstate commerce could be made to
“pay its way.” Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady,
430 U.S. 274, 284 (1977). It reaffirmed that there was

at 224 (“The crude oil in the present case was not in storage but,
rather, was 1n transit in the stream of interstate commerce.”);
cf. Missourt Gas, 234 P.3d at 955 (“Were the court making the
old ‘in transit’ or ‘at rest’ determination, this record would make
that determination very difficult.”).

9

no “free trade” immunity from taxes on interstate
commerce, id. at 278-79, and instead that taxes were
permitted if they met the four requirements later
termed the Complete Auto test, id. at 279.

Since 1977, that framework has been applied to
many state and local taxes and regulations. The
Court has developed a sophisticated set of tools for
measuring discriminatory effect.

But the Court has given little guidance about
how to interpret the first prong of Complete Auto —
the “substantial nexus” prong. As a result, the lower
courts are floundering. The Harrison and Midland
courts’ approach of using older cases to inform this

analysis subverts Complete Auto by carving out an
antique, Nineteenth Century “free trade’ immunity
for commerce. Just as anachronistically, these “in
transit” cases embed into their analysis assumptions
about what discrimination is or is not permissible —
creating tension with the more evolved modern
versions of the second and third prong of Complete
Auto.”

'* For example, Midland justifies its adherence to the “in
transit” test by noting that, otherwise, multiple states might
have jurisdiction over the goods at some point in their journey
Midland, 282 S W.3d at 224 (citing Michigan-Wisconsin Pipe
Line Co. v. Calvert, 347 U.S 157, 170 (1954)). But under Com-
plete Auto, the second and third prongs address any multiple-
taxation concern directly, there 1s no need to overload the first
prong, which is simply the wrong tool E.g., Oklahoma Tax
Comm'n v Jefferson Lines, Inc ,514U S 175, 184 (1995).

10

This tension between the framework used in the

older cases such as Minnesota v. Blasius, 290 U.S. 1,
9-10 (1933) (goods in the flow of interstate commerce
have “immunity ... from state taxation”), and the
Complete Auto framework goes back to first princi-
ples. The continuity-of-transit cases are looking for a

hook to divest states of jurisdiction — movement in
commerce — by elevating the goods into a special
realm of federal immunity. If that hook is imported
into the nexus prong of Complete Auto, it would sap
all the flexibility and nuance from the modern test.

Il. These Decisions Reflect an Untenable View
of Complete Auto.

The Texas courts have made two related mis-
takes about a single prong of the Complete Auto test:
(1) looking to whether the oil or gas was “in transit”
as a measure for substantial nexus with the state and
(2) framing nexus as whether the taxpayer had other
“activity” in the state beyond ownership of the taxa-

ble res.

A. The “in transit” authorities presup-
pose immunity from taxation in which
interstate commerce does not pay its
own way.

The Texas courts focused extensively on whether
the gas or oil would be considered “in transit” — and
did so by invoking cases built on the pre-Complete
Auto idea that interstate commerce was immune from

Ll

taxation. See Harrison, 270 S.W.3d at 215-17 (in
holding the gas was “in transit,” relying on Supreme
Court constitutional cases from 1886, 1922, 1926,
1929, 1933, 1947, and 1954); Midland, 282 S.W.3d at
221-23 (adding a case from 1921)."

Those cases presuppose an absolute immunity
of interstate commerce from state taxing authority.
E.g., Blasius, 290 U.S. at 9-10 (continuous movement
creates “immunity of the property from state taxa-
tion”); Champlain Realty, 260 U.S. at 276 (discussing
“the immunity from state taxation [of] things actual-
ly in interstate commerce”).

And that stands in tension with Complete Auto,
which acknowledged a shift away from the constitu-
tional understanding within which those _pre-
Complete Auto cases were decided. For that reason,
they do not meaningfully inform a proper evaluation
of “substantial nexus” under the modern Complete
Auto test.

"“ Michigan-Wisconsin Pipe Line Co v. Calvert, 347 U.S.
157 (1954); Indep. Warehouses v. Scheele, 331 U.S 70 (1947);
Minnesota v Blasius, 290 U.S. 1 (1933); Carson Petroleum Co. v.
Vial, 279 U.S. 95 (1929); Hughes Bros. Timber Co. v Minnesota,
272 U.S. 469 (1926); Champlain Realty Co v. Town of Brattle-
boro, 260 U.S. 366 (1922); Eureka Pipe Line Co. v. Hallanan, 257
U.S. 265 (1921); Coe v Errol, 116 U.S. 517 (1886).

12

1. “In transit” does not fit Complete
Auto.

The historical understanding of “in transit”
cannot be imported wholesale into Complete Auto’s
nexus prong without displacing the rest of the test.
The Court stated its goal to have a “standard of
permissibility of state taxation based upon its actual
effect rather than its legal terminology.” Complete
Auto, 430 U.S. at 281. Areturn to “in transit” is a step
backwards and would serve “only to distract the
courts and parties from their inquiry into whether
the challenged tax produced results forbidden by the
Commerce Clause.” Jd. at 285.

Reviving the “in transit” test also brings back the
Spector philosophy that “interstate commerce should

enjoy a sort of ‘free trade’ immunity from state taxa-
tion.” Complete Auto, 430 U.S. at 278 (discussing
Spector Motor Serv. v. O'Connor, 340 U.S. 602 (1951)).
Complete Auto should have dispelled those ghosts of
constitutional history. Under its four-prong test,
“interstate commerce may be made to pay its way.”
Complete Auto, 430 U.S. at 284-85.

2. “In transit” unduly penalizes com-
peting intrastate commerce and
would distort the market.

Natural gas, to use the example provided by the
Harrison case, is a market where the “in transit” test
would put a thumb on the free-market balance be-
tween local (intrastate) and distant (interstate)

13

options.” If storage facilities along interstate pipelines
have a federal immunity to local tax, they will have a
pricing advantage over nearby sources of gas.

The Dormant Commerce Clause should level the
field for interstate commerce, not award it an un-
earned edge in the marketplace. The market distor-
tion caused by this holding strongly suggests that the
formalistic “in transit” rule has broken with the
reality of the modern economy.

B. For ad valorem property taxes, nexus
should be measured against the goods,
not the taxpayer.

The court of appeals based its nexus holding on a

wrongly framed legal test. Instead of asking whether
the goods themselves had a sufficient nexus with
Texas to support a nondiscriminatory tax, it instead
asked whether the taxpayer had some other in
personam contacts beyond ownership of the goods.

The court described this as a search for some
other “activity” by the nominal owner of the oil within
the borders of the state. Midland, 282 S.W.3d at 224.

'* Texas, for example, has a substantial network of purely
intrastate natural-gas pipelines. See “Intrastate Natural Gas
Segment,” http//www eia.doe.gov/pub/oil_gas/natural_gas/analysis_
publications/ngpipelineAntrastate html (visited Feb. 8, 2010)
(“Intrastate pipelines in Texas account for 45,000 of the 58,600
mules of natural gas pipelines in the state.”)

14

In a functionally similar test, Harrison looked for
whether the taxpayer had some “personal presence”
within the state beyond the presence of the natural
gas. Harrison, 270 S.W.3d at 218. These formulations
became central to each court’s holding under the

13
nexus prong.

In one of the Court’s few statements on the nexus
prong of Complete Auto, it borrowed a due-process
formulation saying that a tax requires substantial
nexus “between a state and the person, property, or
transaction it seeks to tax.” Allied-Signal, Inc. v.
Director, Div. of Taxation, 504 U.S. 768, 777 (1992)
(quoting Miller Bros. v. Maryland, 347 U.S. 340, 344-
45 (1954)). Before Complete Auto, the Court had
stated how local ad valorem taxes can be imposed on
local property: “Of course, the situs of property may
tax it regardless of the citizenship, domicile, or resi-
dence of the owner.” Miller Bros., 347 U.S. at 345.

But the Court has not yet spoken so plainly about
how the Commerce Clause gauges nexus over these
same ad valorem taxes after Complete Auto.

In the absence of specific guidance, the lower
courts now disagree about what test to use for nexus.
Oklahoma looks for nexus with the property.

'* The court of appeals acknowledged, “the oil itself had a
substantial nexus with this state.” 282 S.W3d at 224. And
Harrison noted that “[ilf one were to look strictly at the generic
act of storing gas___.. it mght appear that such an activity would
have a substantial nexus with the State.” 270 S W 3d at 218.

15

Missouri Gas, 234 P.3d at 955 (looking to the presence
of the gas, not the taxpayer, within the state). But the
Texas courts have looked for nexus with some “activi-
ty” of the out-of-state owner of the property being
taxed. Midland, 282 S.W.3d at 224; Harrison, 270
S.W.3d at 218.

Looking to nexus with the owner’s “activities”
would lead to bizarre results for local governments
who depend on ad valorem property tax. For these
local taxing jurisdictions, marshaling such proof may
be a challenge. Nor does distinguishing between
taxable property based on whether its owner happens
to have other activities or property nearby further the
constitutional values underpinning the Commerce
Clause. The Court should clearly state that nexus
for ad valorem property taxes should be measured
against the property being taxed, not its owner.

Ill. Both Petitions Warrant Attention.

With Harrison and Midland, the Court can
choose between two petitions raising the same consti-
tutional issue. In the Texas Supreme Court, these two
cases were briefed in parallel and treated by the

parties as intertwined.

The Court should consider taking the petitions as
a pair. Failing that, it should grant a lead petition
and, ultimately, vacate and remand the other.

16

A. The petitions offer contrasting facts
that could yield a more satisfying rule
than either alone.

Although both petitions involve products of the
energy industry, the fact patterns differ in ways that
bear on the older “in transit” analysis. As a pair, they
may offer a more satisfying way to announce a rule
than any single, later petition is likely to do:

(1) The Harrison CAD v. Peoples Gas petition
presents a classic case of natural gas storage facili-
ties, akin to a warehouse for goods. This should have
passed muster even under the old “in transit” cases
because the gas was stored for business reasons, such
as shifting supply to meet seasonal variations in
market demand.

(2) The Midland CAD v. BP America petition
presents something more akin to a cross-dock for
goods, where some oil barely pauses and other oil is
subjected to “batching,” “blending,” and “staging” for
different purposes and lasting different periods of
time." Although the better holding is that taxing this
property satisfies Complete Auto, this is a closer case.

By taking this set of petitions, the Court can
announce a rule that deals both with goods arguably

“ Even under a strict “in transit” analysis, some of these
operations might interrupt the continuity of transit. For exam-
ple, “blending” combines fuel with different characteristics to
make a more marketable product than its original components.

17

“in transit” under pre-Complete Auto jurisprudence
(such as oil in the Midland tank farm) and goods that
are plainly “in storage” under that view (such as the
gas in Harrison). Addressing both at once is the
surest way to remove the confusion over how, if at all,
these concepts fit under Complete Auto.

B. At a minimum, this petition should be
held for an eventual GVR.

1. AGVR would ensure that the court
of appeals applies the correct rule.

The Midland opinion directly discussed Harrison,
concluding that the facts in its own case “present[ ]
an even stronger case for a Commerce Clause viola-

tion than did the circumstances in [Harrison].” 282
S.W.3d at 223-24.

The reason? Its reading of pre-Complete Auto
cases about whether goods are “in transit.” Jd. at 221-
22 (citing no federal cases from after 1933); td. at 224
(citing “in transit” as key to nexus). If the Court
grants review in Harrison and ultimately (and cor-
rectly) reverses, then a vacatur and remand of Mid-
land would permit it to apply the modern test.

2. There is little doubt that the Court
has jurisdiction.

The Midland opinion discusses a provision of
Texas law that asks if the property being taxed was

18

present “for more than a temporary period.” TEx. TAx
CODE §21.02(a)(1); Midland, 282 S.W.3d at 224.
Without referencing any state case law — and without
even offering a construction of the statutory text — the
opinion pointed back to its much more extensive
discussion of federal law (“[a]s discussed above”) to
explain how it applied state law. Id. at 224-25.

As a threshold matter, a state-law ground only
affects this Court’s jurisdiction if its independence is
“clear from the face of the opinion.” Michigan v. Long,
463 U.S. 1032, 1040 (1983). Nowhere does the opinion
state that this was an independent question of state
law. Nor does it say that the scope of the Texas stat-
ute (“more than a temporary period”) in any way
departs from federal constitutional constraints.
Instead of an independent state-law analysis, the

opinion cross-referenced its federal holding. Midland,
282 S.W.3d at 224.

Second, the Court has jurisdiction whenever “a
state court’s interpretation of state law has been
influenced by an accompanying interpretation of
federal law.” Three Affiliated Tribes of Fort Berthold
Reservation v. Wold Eng’g, P.C., 467 U.S. 138, 152
(1984). Federal law, including an extensive discussion
of whether the oil was “in transit” under pre-
Complete Auto precedents, 282 S.W.3d 221-22, drove
the outcome here.

Third, although the presumptions of Michigan v.
Long make further inquiry unnecessary, this area of

1S

Texas law is in fact deeply “interwoven” with federal
law. Id. at 1040.

That’s because Texas pushes its taxing jurisdic-
tion over tangible personal property to the constitu-
tional limit; only those exemptions spelled out in the
state constitution or required by conflicting federal
law are permitted; mere state statutes cannot author-
ize exemptions.” Appraisal Review Bd. v. Tex-Air
Helicopters, Inc., 970 S.W.2d 530, 534 (Tex. 1998)
(holding that another portion of this statute was
permissible as “an attempt to comply with United

e ° 9 16
States constitutional mandates”).

When a state has bound itself to an unduly

limiting view of federal constraints — when driven by

“what it understood to be federal constitutional

considerations to construe and apply its own law in

' Tex. Constr. art. VIII, §1(b) (“All real and personal
property in this State, unless exempt as required or permitted
by this Constitution .. shall be taxed in proportion to its
value”) No party has argued that these goods are exempt under
any state constitutional provision. The only possible source of
exemption is federal law

'° In cases involving state constitutional rights, Texas
courts have been instructed to make clear whenever they rely on
a presumed deviation between state and federal law. Davenport
v. Garcia, 834 S.W2d 4, 20 (Tex. 1992) (an opinion should, if
appropriate, “provide a ‘plain statement’ that it is relying on
independent and adequate state law”). The Midland court did
not There is no state constitutional exemption at issue here;
only federal exemptions could apply

20

the manner it did,” Zacchinit v. Scripps-Howard
Broad. Co., 433 U.S. 562, 568 (1977) — this Court is in

a unique position to protect the balance of federalism

by granting review

CONCLUSION

The petition should be granted.
Respectfully submitted,

DON CRUSE”
LAW OFFICE OF DON CRUSE
1108 Lavaca Street,

Suite 110-436
Austin, Texas 78701
don@doncruse.com
(512) 853-9100

‘Counsel of Record Counsel for Amict Curta

Dated: February 10, 201]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0818%3A7. Public record. Not legal advice.
