# Opinion — Burnrite Coal Briquette Co. v. Riggs

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0670%3A5

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opinion
- **Published:** January 1, 1927
- **Citation:** 274 U.S. 208

## Text

ime AR BA, Aleem oO Lad. oe di ie - WROTE nL

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES.

No. 227.—Ocroser Term, 1926.

Burnrite Coal Briquette Co., en On Certiorari to the United

! States Cireuit Court of

Appeals for the Third
Edward G. Riggs, et al. Cireuit.

Vs,

[May 2, 1927.]

Mr. Justice Branpets delivered the opinion of the Court.

This suit was brought in the federal court for New Jersey against
the Burnrite Coal Briquette Company, a Delaware corporation,
by Riggs, a stockholder. The bill charged gross misinanagement ;
prayed for the appointment of a receiver to conserve the assets; and
wked, that ‘‘if deemed advisable’’ the court ‘‘proceed under the
statutes of the State of New Jersey . . . and that the receiver
te given all the powers and be charged with all the duties imposed
upon such a receiver by the statutes.’’ Upon the filing of the bill,
receivers were appointed, action by the corporation was enjoined,
and an issue of receivers’ certificates was authorized, all er parte.
After an elaborate hearing upon an order to show cause, the re-
ceivers were continued until final hearing. Upon final hearing,
the charges of mismanagement were sustained and the receivership
was again ordered continued,

“with all the powers vested in them by previous orders by this
court made, and with all of the powers conferred upon receivers by
an act of the State of New Jersey, entitled ‘An act concerning cor-
porations,’ revision of 1896, its amendments and supplements
thereto, and that the receivers continue to operate the business of
said defendant corporation upon a re-organization or re-adjustment
of the affairs of said corporation or such disposition as may be
hereafter directed to be made of the affairs of said corporation by
this court.”’

The Court of Appeals reversed the decree entered upon the final
hearing and directed that the bill be dismissed for want of juris-
diction. The decision was not rested upon the ground that a State
cannot enlarge the remedial right to proceed in a federal court

Beerrerenseeier rem errareserm ere

2 Burnrite Coal Briquette Co, ys. Riggs et al.

Sitting in equity, see Pusey d& Jones Co. v. Hansen, 261 U.S. 491.
nor upon the ground that a State cannot modify the substantive
rights of a stockholder as against a foreign corporation merely he.
cause it happens to have property within the State. Compare Ma.
guire v. Mortgage Co., 203 Fed. 858. The reversal was placed solely
upon the ground that the corporation had been found by the Dis.
trict Court solvent at the time of the filing of the bill; that the
Statute of New Jersey, as interpreted by its courts, conferred no
power upon its own eourts to appoint receivers of foreign corpora-
tions unless they were insolvent : and that the jurisd ction of the
federal court was determined by that of the state courts, 291 Fed,
TOA.

After the coming down of the mandate. directing dismissal for
Want of jurisdiction. the District Court allowed the account of
the receivers who had been active during a Period of nearly two
years; directed payment by the corporation of the receivers’ ob.
ligations then outstanding, their expenses, the costs, and ¢om.
pensation for their own services and those of their counsel,
amounting in all to nearly $80,000: declared these amounts a
lien upon the corporation's property; and ordered that, in de.
fault of payment, the property be sold to satisfy the charges,
Upon a second appeal, that decree was affirmed by the Court of
Appeals. 6 F. (24) 226. The corporation contended that since
the District Court was held to be without jurisdiction, it had no
power to allow the account and order the payment out of the fund.
Lion Bonding and Surety Co. v. Karats, 262 U. S. 640, 642. This
Court granted 4 writ of certiorari. 269 U. 8. 547.

The main question for decision js whether, in view of the Court
of Appeals’ direction to dismiss the bill for want of Jurisdiction,
it was error to allow thereafter the receivers” account and direct
the payment. There Was an objection to the jurisdiction. which,
if it had heen Seasonably taken, must have prevailed. Camp v.
Gress, 250 U.S. 308. The plaintiff was a citizen of New York:
the defendant a Delaware corporation; the federal jurisdiction
rested wholly on diversity of citizenship; and neither party was a
citizen of New Jersey. Thus, there was a sound objection to
the venue. If that objection had been duly made, and had
been insisted upon, an error of the lower court in overruling it
could not justify charging the corporation now with payment of
any charge on account of the receivership. But that objection to

%
a
¢

lod

a
iT the jurisdiction, being to the venue, could be waived. Central Trust

Oe Ce SL

— ae

¥
:
'
;
'

Burnrite Coal Briquette Co, vs. Riggs et al. 3

(o.¥. McGeorge, 151 U.S. 129; Kreigh y. Westinghouse & Co., 214
U. 8. 249, 252-253. And, before it was taken by the answer, it
had been waived by a general appearance and other action. This
was conceded.

The reversal with direction to dismiss for want of jurisdiction,
ordered on the first appeal, was put upon an entirely different
ground. The Court of Appeals held that there was lack of juris-
diction of the subject matter. It assumed that the jurisdiction of
the federal court was dependent upon the state statute. This
was error. A federal district court may, under its general equity
powers independently of any state statute, entertain a bill of a
stockholder against the corporation for the appointment of at least
atemporary receiver in order to prevent threatened diversion or
loss of assets through gross fraud and mismanagement of its of-
frers.' There were allegations in the bill adequate to support a suit
of that character: and there was nothing in the bill inconsistent
with its being entertained as such. The only reference in the bill
o the state statute was in one of its eleven prayers. After the
waiver of the objection to the venue, there was federal jurisdiction
wer the parties and of the subject matter; and there was equity
jurisdiction,

The fact that a bil} seeking appointment of a receiver of a cor.
pration is brought in a State other than that of the incorporation
may lead the court to decline to interfere 4s a matter of comity
for want of equity; or it may require the court to limit the
ope of the relief granted.” But the fact of incorporation under
the laws of another State does not preclude jurisdiction.° If

ISee Dodge t. Woolsey, IX How. 331, 341 O44; Zeekendorf vr. Steinfeld, 225
U. 8 445, 459: Citizens’ Savings & Trust Co. vr. TH. Cent. R. R, Co., 205
C84; Clark ¢. National Linseed Oil Co., 105 Fed. 787; New Albany
Waterworks Co. r. Louisville Banking Co., 122 Fed, 776; Collins vt. William-
“0, 229 Fed, 59,

See Leary y, Columbia River Nay, Co., 82 Fed. 775; Sidway v. Missouri
Land Co., 101 Fed, 481; Parks r. Bankers’ Corporation, 140 Fed, 160; Pearce
- Sutherland, 164 Fed, 609; Maguire ry, Mortgage Co,, 203 Fed, S58,

Compare Central Trust Co, tr MeGeorge, 15] U.S. 129: Lewis r. Ameri-
(aa Naya] Stores, 119 Fed. 391; Seattergood rv, Ameriean Pipe Co., 249 Fed,
3; Ward ¢, Foulkrod, 264 Fed. 627; Kynerd ". MeCarthy, 3 FP, (2d) 32;
Se & Depew, Ine. Fisheries Products Co., 9 F, (2d) 235, Compare also
North American Land Co, ¢, Watkins, 109 Fed. 101,

a

SUA Pee Re~ ema

PIM mo

seni cieen teat ore Gite Sh adie soniins ntti: aera

4 Burnrite Coal Briquette Co. vs. Riggs et al.

jurisdiction of the cause, based the order of payment solely on a
Supposed exception to the rule which denies to a court lacking
jurisdiction the power to allow receivers’ charges, According to
the supposed exception, a party who has acquiesced and has
thereby joined in misleading the Court into an erroneous eXer-
cise of jurisdiction. may not complain when he is, thereafter,
saddled with the charges. And he will be held to have acquiesced,
despite a challenge of the jurisdiction, if his challenge was placed
wholly upon an untenable ground: for, by objecting only on the
untenable ground, he may have misled the court as much as if he
had not objected at all. The trial court rested its finding of
acquiescence on the fact that, while vigorously Opposing continu-
ance of the receivership on other grounds, the corporation did not
intimate a lack of jurisdiction unti] months after the appointment :
that, aside from failing to object to the venue, it failed to appeal
from the decree continuing the appointment of the receivers, when
the case was heard upon the order to show cause; and that it
stood by in silence while the receivers were borrowing and spending
money upon its property, thus taking the benefit of their action.
The assumption of the District Court in matter of law and its
finding of fact were affirmed by the Court of Appeals.

We have no occasion to determine whether a federal district
court which appoints a receiver in a ease in which it necessarily

be aequired by acquiescence, may nevertheless impose upon the
corporation, because of acquiescence, the usual charges incident

that where a receiver is appointed in a stockholders’ suit by a
federal court having jurisdiction, and the appointment is held on
review to have been wrongly made, the Court may, in the exercise

sie

Burnrite Coal Briquette Co. vs. Riggs et al. 5

ifits judicial discretion, require that the receivers’ charges be paid
ther by the corporation or by the unsuccessful plaintiff. See
Palmer v. Texas, 212 U. S. 118, 132; Lion Bonding and Surety Co.
,Karatz, 262 U. 8. 640, 642. Compare Atlantic Trust. Co. v. Chap-
nan, 208 U. S. 360. And where a court. in the exercise of juris-
diction, has erroneously appointed a receiver, the acquiescence of
the defendant may influence the court. in its discretion, to make
the receivership expenses a charge upon the fund.? It was well
rithin the discretion of the District Court to charge the fund in
the case at bar.

We have no occasion to consider the contention, made as to a part
of the charges, that they were incurred after the acquiescence had
ceased and, hence, do not fall within the supposed exception above
referred to. For the waiver of the objection to venue conferred
you the Distriet Court complete jurisdiction of the cause, and
the power to impose upon the corporation payment of the receivers’
charges does not rest on acquiescence. There is no serious con-
tation that any particular charge allowed was, in its nature or
in amount, improper, or that in allowing it as a charge against
the fund there was an abuse of discretion.

The contention that the first decision of the Circuit Court of
Appeals directing dismissal of the bill for want of jurisdiction
had become ‘‘the law of the case’’ and that, therefore, this Court
uust assume that the dismissal of the bill directed was properly
i dismissal for want of jurisdiction. is groundless. Messenger y.
Anderson, 225 U. S. 436, 444: Diaz vy. Patterson, 263 U. S. 399,
2; Davis v. O'Hara, 266 U. S. 314, 321.

Affirmed.

See Ferguson v. Dent, 46 Fed. 88, 96-99; Clark v. Brown, 119 Fed, 130;
Beach v. Macon Grocery Co., 125 Fed. 513; In re Lacov, 142 Fed. 960; In re
1. E. Hill Co., 159 Fed. 73; In re Aschenbach Co., 183 Fed. 305; In re Went-
worth Lunch Co., 191 Fed. 821; In re Wilkes-Barre Light Co., 235 Fed. 807;
In re Independent Machine Corp., 251 Fed. 484.

‘See Clark v. Brown, 119 Fed. 130; In re Wilkes-Barre Light Co., 235
Fed. 807; In re Independent Machine Corp., 251 Fed. 484, Compare Dilling-
tam v. Moran, 81 Fed. 759 3 101 Fed. 933; Pennsylvania Steel Co. v. New
York City Ry. Co., 198 Fed. 721, 725-734.

IR) ft

te OTIENI OS core

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0670%3A5. Public record. Not legal advice.
