# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Davis v. LL Cohen & Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0292%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1925
- **Citation:** 268 U.S. 638

## Text

anid?

: we
note
At

gS

4 ae ig ~ of /
ey RE 4 EAS HR >

INDEX.

NoTIcE
PETITION
BRIEF
A. Authority for the issuance of the writ
RB The state court erred in holding that the
respondent could recover
(1) The substitution of the petitioner as
party defendant was the beginning of a
new cause of action
(2) The running of the limitation in the bill
of lading was not arrested as to the peti-
tioner
(3) There is no authority in Federal law
for the substitution

TABLE OF CASES CITED.

Alexander v. Pendleton, 8 Craneh, 462

Atlantic Coast Line Railroad Company v. Bur-
nette, 289 U.S. 199

Missouri Pacific Railroad Company v. Ault, 256
U.S. 554

Rock Island, Arkansas & Louisiana Railroad
Company v. United States, 254 U.S. 141

Seaboard Air Line Railway v. Renn, 241 U.S. 290

Sieard v. Davis, 6 Peters, 124

Union Pacifie Railroad Company v. Wyler, 154
U.S. 285

United States v. Daleour, 208 U.S. 408

United States v. MeCord, 233 U.S. 157

13

13

46

wo to

12,13

13, 14

Supreme Court of the United States.

OcroBer Term, 1923.

No. 899.
JAMES C. DAVIS,
PETITIONER,
v.

L. L. COHEN & COMPANY, INC.,
RESPONDENT,

NOTICE.
To Louis Swic, Esquire,
Counsel for Respondent.

Sir: Please take notice that on Monday, the 28th
day of April, 1924, upon the opening of the Court, or
as soon thereafter as counsel can be heard, the fore-
going petition ana briet, together with a certified copy
of the entire transcript of the record of the ease, will
he presented and submitted to the Supreme Court of
the United States, in its court room in the Capitol at
Washington, D.C., in pursuance of its rules, in such
cases made and provided.

Dated this 22d day of March, 1924.

ARTHUR W. BLACKMAN,
Counsel for Petitioner.

| a Spa

*)

—

Due service of the foregoing notice, together with a
copy of the petition for a writ of certiorari, and brief
in support thereof, is hereby acknowledged.

LOUIS SWIG,
Counsel for Respondent.

Taunton, Mass., March 25, 1924.

Supreme Court of the United States.

a
)

Ocrosper Term, 1923.

No. 899.
JAMES ¢. DAVIS, Acer.
PETITIONER,
v.
L. L. COHEN & COMPANY, INC...
RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE SUPERIOR COURT OF MASSACHUSETTS.
To the Honorable the Chief Justice and Associate Jus-

tices of the Supreme Court of the United States:

Your petitioner, James (. Davis, Agent, respectfully
presents to this Court this his petition for a writ of
certiorari addressed to the Superior Court of the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts, commanding such
Court and the clerk thereof to certify to this Court the
record and proceedings of the case in said Court,
wherein your petitioner was defendant and the respon-
dent, L. L. Cohen & Company, Ine., a corporation of
the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, was plaintiff,
together with the opinion therein of the Supreme Ju-
dicial Court for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts,
for the review and determination of said cause by this
Court.

4

In this behalf, your petitioner states the following
faets:

This action was brought by the respondent in’ satd
Superior Court for the County of Bristol to recover
for damage to a carload of scrap iron shipped in inter
state commerce by the respondent in December, 1918.
Your petitioner was, on March 28, 1921, appointed by
the President of the United States the agent under
the Transportation Act.

The respondent began its action by writ dated Jan-
uary 9, 1920, against The New York, New [laven and
Hartford Railroad Company, a Massachusetts corpo-
ration and a carrier in interstate commerce, whose rail-
road was taken over and operated by the Federal
Government in accordance with the Proclamation of
the President of the United States dated December 26,
1917.

On September 21, 1922, the respondent herein moved
that it be allowed to substitute as party defendant,
in place of The New York, New Haven and Hartford
Railroad Company, your petitioner as alleged agent,
which motion was allowed. Thereafter, on October 7,
1922, an order of notice was issued from said) Court
directing the plaintiff below, respondent herein, to give
notice to your petitioner of the pendency of said action
and requiring vour petitioner to appear and answer
on the first Monday of November, 1922. Said order
of notice was served upon a division superintendent
of said The New York, New Haven and Hartford Rail-
road Company on October 16, 1922. Service upon said
division superintendent would have been a good ser.
vice in an action against said The New York, New
Haven and Hartford Railroad Company.

5)

Thereafter in due course your petitioner appeared
specially by counsel and filed a motion to disiniss, alleg-
ing that the Court had no Jurisdiction over your peti-
tioner. Your petitioner’s motion to dismiss set forth
that the Court was without Jurisdiction to entertain
the action against your petitioner, the defendant. be-
low; that the issuance and service of the writ were
null and void beeause in violation of and in contlict
with section 206 of the Act of Congress of February
28, 1920, known as the Transportation Act; that the
proceeding against your petitioner was not instituted
within the time preseribed in said Transportation Act;
that said proceeding was not instituted in the manner
provided by said Transportation Act; that no service
had been made upon your petitioner as required by the
Transportation Act; that Massachusetts laws, under
the authority of which your petitioner was summoned
in as party defendant in this action, if held to authorize
such proceedings, were repugnant to the provisions of
the Transportation Aet, and, therefore, null and void:
and prayed that the service of the writ be set aside and
the action as against your petitioner be dismissed,

Your petitioner’s said motion to disiniss was, on
January 2, 1923, overruled, and said action of the
Court thereon became the subject of vour petitioner’s
bill of exceptions to the Supreme Judicial Court for
the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

After your petitioner’s motion to dismiss was over-
ruled, vour petitioner was required to answer, and in
due course did so, again objecting to the jurisdiction
of the Court over him, and among other defenses
alleging that the plaintiff’s alleged cause of action
arose in connection with a shipment of freight in inter-

trees meron RK Cn oe

6

state commerce in December, 1918; that a reasonable
time for delivery of said shipment was not later than
two months thereafter; that said shipment of freight
was made under and in pursuance with the terms and
conditions of a bill of lading, one of the conditions of
which required that suits for loss, damage, or delay
must be brought not later than two years and one day
after the lapse of a reasonable time for delivery; and
that the plaintiff’s proceeding against your petitioner
was not begun within the time so prescribed by the
terms of the bill of ladise:.

The action was subsequently tried upon the merits,
and at the close of the evidence the trial court directed
a verdict for your petitioner, the defendant therein,
and reported the case on request of the parties to the
Supreme Judicial Court for the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts. Said report of the case was argued
before the said Court together with your petitioner’s
exceptions raising the question of jurisdiction. The
said Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts re-
versed the decision of the trial court on the merits,
sustained the order of the trial court overruling your
petitioner’s motion to dismiss, and directed the Su-
perior Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts
to enter judgment for the plaintiff below, the respon-
dent herein.

The reasons relied on for the issuance of said writ
and upon which your petitioner believes the writ ought
to be issued are as follows:

I.

The Supreme Judicial Court for Massachusetts, in
holding that the representative of the Federal Rail-

prope tatiana

7

road Administration can be made a party by substi-
tution in any case where the ac’ originally was
wrongly brought against the rs) «1 corporation,
is permitting a course of procedure contrary to the
terms of General Order 50 and General Order 50-A of
the United States Railroad Administration.

II.

The Supreme Judicial Ceurt for Massachusetts, in
permitting the representative of the Government to
he made a party by substitution in an action originally
wrongly brought against the railroad corporation, was
deciding a matter of substance and not of nrocedure,
and was applying the particular 7 ces the Com-
monwealth of Massachusetts in relation to a Federal
question. This is contrary to the policy of Congress as
expressed in the Transportation Act.

II.

In holding that, in an action reiuast the Govern-
ment, the representative of the Geverument may be
made a party by substitution wh: *he action origi-
nally was wrongly brought against + railroad corpo.
ration the decision reads into the eo. ut given to sue
the Government a permission to proceea ina way not
authorized by the consent given.

IV.

The decision holds that substitution me~ jot only be
had, but that it may be had later tua.. .» Years after
the end of Government control. This is in conflict
with the Transportation Act.

:
i
a
2
é
ya

es + ecrermaatr ye ene
*

ne

8
¥.

The decision holds that substitution may be had at
a time more than two years and one day after a reason-
able time for delivery of the property had elapsed.
This holding is in conflict with the uniform bill of lad-
ing authorized by the Interstate Commerce Commis-
sion and used by the carriers, and is, therefore, in
conflict with the Act to Regulate Commerce.

VI.

In holding that the representative of the Govern-
ment can be made a party by substitution in an action
originally brought against the railroad company at a
time more than two years after a reasonable time for
delivery of the property and at a time more than two
years after the passage of the Transportation Act, the
Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts holds that
such substitution is not the commencement of a new
action. This is in conflict with the Transportation Act
and also with principles of law enunciated by this
Court.

VIL.

In holding that substitution may be had later than
two years after the end of Government control, the
Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts holds that
section 206 (a) of the Transportation Act purports to
deal only with the time within which actions may be
commenced where the cause of action thereof arose
during Federal control and no action whatever was
brought during that period. This is in conflict with
the Transportation Act, which applies to any and all
proceedings instituted thereafter against the Govern.
ment,

|

9

Vill.

In deciding that the representative of the Govern-
ment can be made a party by substitution at a time
later than two years after the end of Federal control,
the Supreme Judicial Court holds that the service as
made was lawful and valid. This ix in conflict with
the Transportation Act.

IX.

The decision of the Supreme Judicial Court of
Massachusetts is in conflict with other decisions of
State Courts and with decisions of the lower Federal
Courts and is believed to be in conflict with recent
decisions of this Court. This case is a test case, the
determination of which hy this Court will govern the
conduct of parties in many other cases pending in the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts and elsewhere.

ARTHUR W. BLACKMAN.
Counsel for James (. Davis, Agent.

STATE or Massacuuserts, Couxry or Briston, ss.

Artruve W. Biackmax, being first duly sworn, on
oath deposes and says that he ix the counsel for peti-
tioner, James C. Davis, Agent: that he has read the
foregoing annexed petition and knows well the contents
thereof; that he has also carefully read and studied a
duly certified copy of the transeript of reeord which
accompanies the petition herein, being the transeript
of record in the case at bar: that the matters in said
petition are in the judgment of this affiant duly sup-
ported in and by said transcript of record, and that he
knows of the above proceedings had, and that the acts

1 parang:

eens

SENSED ERLE TES PE Ee

ACEI PUL pak

aS kes

2.
>
Fi
Po
&
ae
i
a
ef a
3

ee Re oi eee ee eee

10

in said petition herein stated are true to the best of his
knowledge and belief.
Subscribed and sworn to before me this 28th day of
March, 1924.
EDWARD C. BARKER,
| seal | Notary Public in and for
the State of Massachusetts.
My commission expires January 19, 1928.

I do hereby certify that I have carefully examined
the foregoing petition for a writ of certiorari, and that
the allegations thereof are true, as I verily believe, and
in my opinion the petition is well founded and the case
is one in which the prayer of the petition should be
granted by this Court.

ARTHUR W. BLACKMAN,
Counsel for Petitioner.

Supreme Court of the United States.

Ocroser Term, 1923.

No. 899.
JAMES C. DAVIS, Acenr,
PETITIONER,
v.
L. L. COHEN & COMPANY, INC.,
RESPONDEN’,

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR WRIT
OF CERTIORARI.

The petition for a writ of certiorari accompanies a
writ of error in the case of James C. Davis, Agent,
Plaintiff in Error, y. L. L. Cohen & Company, Inc.,
Defendant in Error, and is filed for the purpose of
obtaining a review in the event that this Court should
hold that the case was not properly before the Court
on the writ of error.

A.
AUTHORITY For THE IssUANCE oF THE Wait.

A Federal question is presented because this case
involves the right of the respondent, plaintiff helow,
to recover for damage to an interstate shipment,
which moved during the period of Federal control of
carriers. The petitioner’s motion to dismiss objected
to the Court’s jurisdiction over him because the pro-
ceedings were in violation of the Act of Congress,
February 28, 1920, known as the Transportation Act,

i
i
&
ba
A
:

BBacc ve pO Goa ne

12

and the petitioner’s answer thereafter filed, in addi-
tion pleaded in bar to the action the requirement in the
bill of lading that suit should be brought within two
years and one day from delivery of the shipment.

If this Court should hold that the cause is not prop-
erly before the Court on the writ of error, then a re-
view may be had on a writ of certiorari on the ground
that the decision of the State Court was against the
Federal rights claimed by the petitioner under the
Interstate Commerce Act and under the Transporta-
tion Act, and the petition may be allowed under sec-
tion 237 of the Judicial Code.

B.

Tue Strate Courr Errep 1x Hoipine ruat THE Respon-
DENT COULD REcOvER.

(1) The substitution of the petitioner as party de-
fendant was the beginning of a new cause of action.

The so-called amendment in the proceedings below
was not a mere expansion or amplification of what was
alleged in support of the cause of action already
asserted, nor did it relate back to the commencement
of the action.

Atlantic Coast Line Railroad Company v.
Burnette, 239 U.S. 199, 201.

Seaboard Air Line Railway v. Renn, 241
U.S. 290, 293.

Union Pacific Railroad Company v. Wyler,
154 U.S. 285.

As respondent’s right to sue was given by Act of
Congress, and the amendment brought in a new party,
the amendment in the Court below was both a depar-

13

ture from law to law and the assertion of a new cause
of action.
Union Pacific Railroad Company vy. Wyler,
154 U.S. 285.

United States v. Mc¢ ‘ord, 233 U.S. 157.

(2) The running of the limitation in the bill of lad-
ing was not arrested as to the petitioner,

As the petitioner did not become a defendant before
October, 1922, and as the petitioner represents the
Federal Government and not the original corporate
defendant, the petitioner may set up the bill-of-lading
provision requiring suit to be brought within two years
and one day after delivery of the property.

Union Pacific Railroad Company vy. Wyler,
154 U.S. 285.

Alexander y. Pendleton, 8 Cranch, 462.

Sicard vy. Davis, 6 Peters, 124.

United States y. Dalecour, 203 U.S. 408.

(3) There is no authority in Federal law for the
substitution.

General Order 50 of the Director General, dated Oc-
tober 28, 1918 (U.S. R.R. Administration Bulletin No.
4, p. 334), was in effect at the time the respondent’s
action was begun, and was mandatory. The respon-
dent’s original proceeding was therefore improperly
brought and could avail it nothing,

&
#
4
&
e
é
i
i,
a:
‘
NM
5
x
é
E
&
s
w
e
*
&
t
4
x.
c
®
e

Missouri Pacific Railroad Com pany v. Ault,
256 U.S. 554.

The bringing in of the petitioner by amendment to
an action erroneously brought was not permissible
Where the right to maintain the action against the

14

Federal Government is a right granted by the sover-
eign.
Rock Island, Arkansas & Lowisiana Rail-
road Company v. United States, 254 U.S.
141, 148.
United States v. McCord, 233 U.S. 157.

In the latter case, which involved the statute giving
creditors of a contractor for the United States the
right to sue in the name of the United States upon the
contractor’s bond, and authorized the intervention of
other creditors, this Court said:

‘«These rights to intervene and to file a claim,
conferred by the statute, presuppose an action
duly brought under its terms. In this case the
cause of action had not accrued to the creditors
who undertook to bring the suit originally. The
intervention could not cure this vice in the original
suit. Nor do we think that the intervention could
be treated as an original suit.’’

Not only is there no authority in the Transportation
Act for the substitution of the agent in cases erro-
neously brought, but also the amendment to the Trans-
portation Act, passed March 3, 1923, known as the
Winslow Act, expressly authorized substitution of the
Agent or Director General only in actions properly
commenced. This failure of Congress to authorize
substitution in cases erroneously brought shows that
all along it has been the intent of Congress not to
permit substitution in such situations.

Respectfully submitted,
ARTHUR W. BLACKMAN,
Counsel for
James C. Davis, AcEntT, Petitioner.

CN SR at

On ra ne tn

Gitte eter: Rom

14

Federal Government is a right granted by the sover-
eign.
Rock Island, Arkansas & Lowsiana Rail-
road Company v. United States, 254 U.8.

141, 143.
United States v. McCord, 233 U.S. 157.

In the latter case, which involved the statute giving
creditors of a contractor for the United States the
right to sue in the name of the United States upon the
contractor’s bond, and authorized the intervention of
other creditors, this Court said:

‘«These rights to intervene and to file a claim,
conferred by the statute, presuppose an action
duly brought under its terms. In this case the
eause of action had not accrued to the creditors
who undertook to bring the suit originally. The
intervention could not cure this vice in the original
suit. Nor do we think that the intervention could
be treated as an original suit.’’

Not only is there no authority in the Transportation
Act for the substitution of the agent in cases erro-
neously brought, but also the amendment to the Trans-
portation Act, passed March 3, 1923, known as the
Winslow Act, expressly authorized substitution of the
Agent or Director General only in actions properly
commenced. This failure of Congress to authorize
substitution in cases erroneously brought shows that
all along it has been the intent of Congress not to
permit substitution in such situations.

Respectfully submitted,
ARTHUR W. BLACKMAN,
Counsel for
James C. Davis, AGENT, Petitioner.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0292%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
