# Opinion — Robertson v. Railroad Labor Bd.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0289%3A6

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opinion
- **Published:** January 1, 1925
- **Citation:** 268 U.S. 619

## Text

- _ we wwe

ROBERTSON v. RAILROAD LABOR BOARD.

APPEAL FROM THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS,

No. 739. Argued March 17, 18, 1925.—Decided June 8, 1925.

1. Section 310, par. b, of the Transportation Act, 1920, which provides
that the Railroad Labor Board, in case of failure to comply with
its subpoena to testify, may invoke the aid of “ any United States
District Court,” and that such court may thereupon order the
witness to comply with the subpoena, etc., is to be construed con-
sistently with the general rule limiting jurisdiction of a district
court im personam (as distinguished from venue) to the district
of which the defendant is an inhabitant or in which he ean be

- found. P. 622.

_ 2. Hence a district court, in a suit brought by the Board to compel

attendance of a witness, does not acquire jurisdiction over his

F person by service of its process in another district even though

that of the witness’ residence. Jd.

33 Fed. (2d) 488, reversed.

:

=
a
¥

+.

620 OCTOBER TERM, 1924.
Opinion of the Court. 268 U.S.

JURISDICTIONAL APPEAL from a decree of the District
Court overruling a motion to quash service of original
process in a suit brought by the Railroad Labor Board to
require the defendant to appear before it as a witness,
and ordering him so to appear and to testify.

Mr. Donald R. Richberg, with whom Mr. David E.
Lilienthal was on the brief, for the appellant.

Mr. Robert N. Golding, Special Assistant to the At-
torney General, with whom the Solicitor General and Mr.
Weymouth Kirkland, Special Assistant to the Attorney
General, were on the brief, for the appellee.

Mr. Justice BRANDEIS delivered the opinion of the
Court.

Transportation Act, 1920, February 28, 1920, c. 91,
§ 310, par. a, 41 Stat. 456, 472, authorizes the Railroad
Labor Board, “for the efficient administration of the
functions vested in” it, to require by subpoena “the
attendance of any witness . . from any place in the
United States at any designated place of hearing, and
the taking of a deposition before any person having
power to administer oaths.” Paragraph ‘b’ provides:
“Tn case of failure to comply with any subpoena [to
testify] or in case of the conitumacy of any witness
appearing before the Labor Board, the Board may invoke
the aid of any United States district court. Such court
may thereupon order the witness to comply with the
requirements of such subpoena, or to give evidence touch-
ing the matter in question, as the case may be.”

Pursuant to paragraph ‘ a’, the Board issued a subpoena
to Robertson, a citizen and inhabitant of Cleveland, Ohio,
commanding him to appear at its offices in Chicago, Illi-
nois, on a day named, to testify concerning a dispute then
being enquired into. The subpoena was served upon

ROBERTSON v. LABOR BOARD. §21

619 Opinion of the Court,

Robertson at Cleveland by the United States marshal for
the Northern District of Ohio. Robertson did not per-
sonally attend as commanded. But on the day named
he appeared specially by his attorney, and challenging the
jurisdiction of the Board over him, declined to appear and
testify. Thereupon this suit was begun by the Board in
the federal court for northern Illinois, Eastern Division,
pursuant to paragraph ‘b’.

The bill prayed that Robertson, the sole defendant, be
ordered to appear before the Labor Board “at a time and
place to be fixed by” it and make “full answer to any
and all pertinent questions relating” to the matter under
investigation, and for any other proper relief. The court
issued, in the form customary in equity, a summons,
directing the defendant to appear and answer. This
summons was likewise served upon Robertson personally
at Cleveland by the United States marshal for the North-
ern District of Ohio. By his attorney he again appeared
specially and moved to quash the service on the ground
that, being an inhabitant of Ohio and served there, he
was not subject to the jurisdiction of the federal court for
Illinois. The motion was overruled; Robertson then
moved to dismiss the petition for lack of jurisdiction over
the subject-matter of the suit; this motion was also over-
ruled; Robertson declined to plead further; and a final
decree was entered directing him “to appear before the
Railroad Labor Board, upon due notice by said board,
at a time and place to be designated therein, there to
testify, to give evidence, and to give full, true and com-
plete answer and response to any and all pertinent and
relevant questions then and there propounded to him”
concerning the subject matter of the enquiry. 3 Fed.
(2d) 488. The case is here on appeal under § 238 of the
Judicial Code, the questions of jurisdiction having been
duly certified. Whether the court acquired jurisdiction
over Robertson is the only question requiring decision.

622 OCTOBER TERM, 1924.
Opinion of the Court. 268 U.S.

Robertson contends that by the term “any United
States district court” Congress meant any such court
-“of competent jurisdiction” ; and that, under the appli-
cable law, no district court is of competent jurisdiction to
compel a defendant to obey its decree except that of the
district of which he is an inhabitant or of one in which he
is found. The Board contends that Congress intended by
the phrase to confer not only liberty to invoke the aid of
the court for any district, but power to compel the person
named as defendant to litigate in the district selected by
the Board, although he is not a citizen or inhabitant of it
and is not found therein. The question presented is one
of statutory construction. Congress clearly has the power
to authorize a suit under a federal law to be brought in
any inferior federal court. Congress has power, likewise,
to provide that the process of every district court shall
run into every part of the United States. Toland v.
Sprague, 12 Pet. 300, 328; United States v. Union Pacific
R. R. Co., 98 U. S. 569, 604. But it has not done so
either by any general law or in terms by § 310 of Trans-
portation Act, 1920. The precise question is whether it
has impliedly done so by that provision.

In a civil suit in personam jurisdiction over the defend-
ant, as distinguished from venue, implies, among other
things, either voluntary appearance by him or service of
process upon him at a place where the officer serving it has
authority to execute a writ of summons. Under the gen-
eral provisions of law, a United States district court can-
not issue process beyond the limits of the district, Hark-
ness v. Hyde, 98 U. S. 476; Ex parte Graham, 3 Wash.
456; and a defendant in a civil suit can be subjected to its
jurisdiction in personam only by service within the dis-
trict. Toland v. Sprague, 12 Pet. 300, 330. Such was
the general rule established by the Judiciary Act of Sep-
tember 24, 1789, c. 20, § 11, 1 Stat. 73, 79, in accordance
with the practice at the common law. Piquet v. Swan,

ROBERTSON v. LABOR BOARD. 623

619 Opinion of the Court,

5 Mason 35, 39 et seg. And such has been the general rule
ever since. Munter v. Weil Corset Co., 261 U.S. 276, 279.
No distinction has been drawn between the case where
the plaintiff is the Government and where he is a private
citizen."

Section 51 of the Judicial Code is a general provision
regulating venue. The part pertinent here is that, with
certain inapplicable exceptions, “no civil suit shall be
brought in any district court against any person by any
original process or proceeding in any other district than
that whereof he is an inhabitant.” * It is obvious that
jurisdiction, in the sense of personal service within a dis-
trict where suit has been brought, does not dispense with
the necessity of proper venue. It is equally obvious that
proper venue does not eliminate the requisite of personal
jurisdiction over the defendant. The general provision
as to venue contained in Judicial Code, § 51, has been de-
parted from in various specific provisions which allow
the plaintiff, in actions not local in their nature, some
liberty in the selection of venue.’ Unrestricted choice was
conferred upon the Labor Board by the section of Trans-

1 United States v. Union Pacific R. R. Co., 98 U. S. 569, 601;
United States v. Crawford, 47 Fed. 561.

2See Galveston, etc. Ry. Co. v. Gonzales, 151 U. S. 496; Macon
Grocery Co. v. Atlantic Coast Line R. R. Co., 215 U.S. 501; Male v.
Atchison, etc. Ry. Co., 240 U. 8. 97. Compare In re Hohorst, 150
U. S. 653; Stone v. United States, 167 U.S. 178, 182; Barrow S. S.
Co. v. Kane, 170 U. S. 100. The rule applies even where it may
result in barring the jurisdiction of every federal court because all
the defendants are indispensable parties. Shields v. Barrow, 17 How.
130, 140-142; Barney v. Baltimore City, 6 Wall. 280; Swan Land &
Cattle Co. v. Frank, 148 U. 8. 603. Compare Clearwater v. Meredith,
21 How. 489; Camp v. Gress, 250 U. 8. 308, 311, 314. Judicial Code,
§§ 50, 52.

’ See, for example, Judicial Code, §§ 43, 44, 45, 48; Acts of March
4, 1909, c. 320, § 35, 35 Stat. 1075, 1084; October 15, 1914, c. 323,
§ 12, 38 Stat. 730, 736; June 5, 1920, c. 250, § 33, 41 Stat. 988, 1007;
September 7, 1916, c. 451, § 31, 39 Stat. 728, 738.

624 OCTOBER TERM, 1924.
Opinion of the Court. 268 U.S.

portation Act, 1920, here involved (§ 310). So far as
venue is concerned, there is no ambiguity in the words
“any United States district court.”

Congress has also made a few clearly expressed and
carefully guarded exceptions to the general rule of juris-
diction in personam stated above. In one instance, the
Credit Mobilier Act, March 3, 1873, c. 226, § 4, 17 Stat.
485, 509, it was provided that writs of subpoena to bring
in parties defendant should run into any district. This
broad power was to be exercised at the instance of the
Attorney General in a single case in which, in order to
give complete relief, it was necessary to join in one suit
defendants living in different States. United States v.
Union Pacific Railroad, 98 U. 8. 569. Under similar
circumstances, but only for the period of three years,
authority was granted generally by Act of September 19,
1922, c. 345, 42 Stat. 849, to institute a civil suit by, or on
behalf of, the United States, either in the district of the
residence of one of the necessary defendants or in that in
which the cause of action arose; and to serve the process
upon a defendant in any district. The Sherman Act, July
2, 1890, c. 647, § 5, 26 Stat. 209, 210, provides that when
“it shall appear to the court” in which a proceeding to
restrain violations of the Act is pending “ that the ends
of justice require that other parties should be brought be-
fore the court ” it may cause them to be summoned al-
though they reside in some other district. The Clayton
Act, October 15, 1914, ec. 323, § 15, 38 Stat. 730, 737, con-
tains a like provision. But no act has come to our atten-
tion in which such power has been conferred in a proceed-
ing in a circuit or district court * where a private citizen is

4 Even the jurisdiction of the bankruptcy court is subject to the
territorial limitation. Lathrop v. Drake, 91 U.S. 516, 517. Although
the adjudication in one district brings the property of the bankrupt
wherever situated into custodia legis (Lazarus v. Prentice, 234 U. S.
263), that court cannot issue an order upon a person in another

ROBERTSON v. LABOR BOARD. 625
619 Opinion of the Court,

the sole defendant and where the plaintiff is at liberty to
commence the suit in the district of which the defendant is
an inhabitant or in which he can be found.®

As the Railroad Labor Board is charged generally with
the adjustment of disputes between carriers and their
employees, it may prove desirable to hold hearings at any
place within the United States; and power to do so was
expressly conferred. The Board may demand answers or
the production of documentary evidence from one who
attends such a hearing. The contumacy of a witness

district, not a party to the proceeding, to deliver it up. See Acme
Harvester Co. v. Beekman Lumber Co., 222 U. 8. 300, 311-312; In re
Geller, 216 Fed. 558; Progressive Building & Loan Co. v. Hall, 220
Fed. 45; In re United States Chrysotile Asbestos Co., 253 Fed. 294.
Ancillary proceedings are brought in the other district. Babbit v.
Dutcher, 216 U.S. 102. Resort is likewise had to ancillary proceed-
ings to secure the evidence of a person living in another district.
Elkus, Petitioner, 216 U. S. 115.

The Commerce Court created by Act of June 18, 1910, ¢. 309, 36
Stat. 539, could issue process through the United States. P. 541.
Upon its repeal by Act of October 22, 1913, c. 32, 38 Stat. 208, 219,
220, it was provided that the process of the applicable district court
might “run, be served, and be returnable anywhere in the United
States”; but the venue of suits in the district courts was narrowly
limited. See Illinois Central R. R. Co. v. Public Utilities Comm.,
245 U.S. 493; Skinner & Eddy Corp. v. United States, 249 U. S. 557,
563; Peoria & Pekin Union Ry. Co. v. United States, 263 U. S. 528,
535. Compare Vicksburg, etc. Ry. Co. v. Anderson-Tully Co., 236
U.S. 408; Graustein v. Rutland R. Co., 256 Fed. 409.

-> Under the Materialmen’s Act, August 13, 1894, c. 280, 28 Stat.
278, as amended February 24, 1905, c. 778, 33 Stat. 811, the action
on the bond in the name of the United States must be brought in
the district in which the contract was to be performed. This Court
has held that jurisdiction of the persons of the defendants may be
secured by service of process upon them in whatever district they
may be found. United States v. Congress Construction Co., 222
U.S. 199, 203. Compare suits by a national bank against the Comp-
troller of the Currency. Judicial Code, § 49; First National Bank v.
Williams, 252 U. 8. 504, 509.

55627°—25——40

626 OCTOBER TERM, 1924.
Opinion of the Court 268 U.S.

appearing before the Board in any designated place of
hearing was thus one contingency for which it was neces-
sary to make provision. Congress also granted to the
Labor Board in explicit language the broad power of
compelling a person to come from any place in the United
States to any designated place of hearing to furnish evi-
dence. The refusal of such person, who might be in any
district in the United States, to comply with such a sub-
poena was obviously a second contingency to be provided
for. Unrestricted liberty of venue in invoking the aid
of a district court, referred to before, was clearly essential
to the complete exercise of the Board’s powers and the
effective performance of its functions. Moreover, this
unrestricted choice cannot subject to undue hardship any
defendant actually found within the district in which the
suit is brought. But no reason is suggested why Congress
should have wished to compel every person summoned
either to obey the Board’s administrative order without
question, or to litigate his right to refuse to do so in such
district, however remote from his home or temporary
residence, as the Board might select. The Interstate
Commerce Commission which, throughout thirty-eight
years, has dealt in many different ways with most of the
railroads of the United States has never exercised, or
asserted, or sought to secure for itself, such broad powers.

® Compare Act of March 2, 1793, c. 22, § 6, 1 Stat. 333, 335; Rev.
Stat. § 876, as amended by Act of September 19, 1922, c. 344, 42
Stat. 848: also Acts of February 10, 1891, c. 128, 26 Stat. 743; July
15, 1913, c. 6, § 5, 38 Stat. 103, 106; September 26, 1914, c. 311, § 9,
38 Stat. 717, 722; October 15, 1914, c. 323, § 13, 38 Stat. 730, 736;
September 8, 1916, c. 463, § 706, 39 Stat. 756, 797; February 5, 1917,
c. 29, § 16, 39 Stat. 874, 886; October 6, 1917, c. 105, 40 Stat. 398,
399; October 22, 1919, c. 80, § 105, 41 Stat. 297, 300; June 10, 1920,
c. 285, § 4(g), 41 Stat. 1063, 1067; November 23, 1921, c. 136, § 1308,
42 Stat. 227, 310; September 21, 1922, c. 389, § 6 (b), 42 Stat. 998,
1002; June 2, 1924, c. 234, § 1004, 43 Stat. 258, 340; June 7, 1924,
c. 320, § 8, 43 Stat. 607, 609.

ROBERTSON v. LABOR BOARD. 627
619 Opinion of the Court,

We are of opinion that by the phrase “any District
Court of the United States” Congress meant any such
court “of competent jurisdiction.” The phrase “any
court” is frequently used in the federal statutes and has
been interpreted under similar circumstances as meaning
“any court of competent jurisdiction.”* By the general
rule the jurisdiction of a district court in personam has
been limited to the district of which the defendant is an
inhabitant or in which he can be found. It would be an
extraordinary thing if, while guarding so carefully all
departure from the general rule, Congress had conferred
the exceptional power here invoked upon a board whose
functions are purely advisory (Pennsylvania R. R. Co. v.
Labor Board, 261 U. S. 72; Pennsylvania R. R. System
Federation No. 99 v. Pennsylvania R. R. Co., 267 U. S.
203) and which enters the district court, not to enforce
a substantive right, but in an auxiliary proceeding to
secure evidence from one who may be a stranger to the
matter with which the Board is dealing. We think it has
made no such extension by § 310 of Transportation Act,
1920. It is not lightly to be assumed that Congress in-
tended to depart from a long established policy. Panama
Railroad Co. v. Johnson, 264 U. S. 375, 384; In re East
River Towing Co., 266 U. 8. 355, 367.

Reversed.

T Rev. Stat. § 4284; Ex parte Slayton, 105 U. S. 451; In re Louis-
ville & Cincinnati Packet Co., 223 Fed. 185; Rev. Stat. § 2103;
United States v. Crawford, 47 Fed. 561. Compare Rev. Stat. § 1042;
United States v. Mills, 11 App. D. C. 500, 504-507. The phrase has
been used in other statutes in conferring the right to invoke judicial
aid in compelling attendance as a witness. See statutes in note 6,

supra,

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0289%3A6. Public record. Not legal advice.
