# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Davis v. Pringle

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0256%3A05

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1925
- **Citation:** 268 U.S. 315

## Text

Page
De a Ra I a ee ee ye Re Te eC yn eT 1
Acceptance of service_.....-.......-....--------------------- 2
IS TI. OU ad icine cn nmi ime ate anise winin nena on otamne am niece manatee t
eens DOP WEG ook ke ritncimn ce anat manne manneewanmann a 5
Brief in support of petition..............-.......-.....----- j1

1. The Court erred in holding that the U nited States was
not entitled to priority except for tares_.-._--------- 11

(a) Section 3466 R. S. was not repealed by the puas-
sage of the Bankruptcy Act of 1898__-------- 15

(b) The United States is a“ person” within the mean-
ing of Section 64(b)5 of the Bankruptcy Act--- 16

2. The questions involved are of such importance writ of
certiorari should be granted........................... 20

CASES CITED

Davis vy. Coyle, 260 U. 8. 721.........-..............-------- 18
Davis v. Miller Link Lumber Co., 296 Fed. 649_..------------- 20, 32
ele ©. Pollen, 277 P60, G00... nnnnccncewcunnncemesceconans 20, 32
Dupont v. Davis, 264 U. S. 456_------------------------------ 8
Forsyth v. Hammond, 166 U. S. 514_------------------------- 21

Guarantee Title & Trust Co, v.

Harford v. U.

Title Guaranty & Surety Co.,

224 U. S. " TS, he Ae Sa ere eee
, 8 Cranch 109

In re Atlantic r & P. Steamship Co., 289 Fed. 146
In re Hibuer Oil Co., 264 Fed. 667

16, 19, 28, 35

15

19, 32
17, 19, 31

In re Lau Ow Bew, 141 U. 8. 588..-...-.--...............--- 21
In re Tidewater Coal Exchange, 280 Fed. 648_.------- 8, 16, 17, 25, 31
In re Western Implement Co., 171 Fed. 80___.-------------- 8, 16,19
Lewis, Trustee, v. U. S., 92 U. 8. 618_..---------------------- 14,27
Lott vy. Saliebury, 287 Fed. 191.........-..-............--..---- 19
North American eye’ Co. V. eS: eh) | es 15
Sloan Shipyards vy. U. 8. Fleet eS 58 : S. 549__. 16, 18, 33
The Three Friends, pe Bt Ase cca bee exec neni dials ease abate 21
a Ww Beker: 2 COPANO BOG. cnc cncnnnnenccescnsmnntmananmes 15
U. S. vy, Gooding, 12 Wheaton 460...-..--.------------------- 15
U. S. v. National Surety Co., 254 U. 8S. 73.-------------- 16, 18, 20, 32
7, &. vy; Oklahoma, 261 U.S. 208.........-...-.-- eee =e 16, 19, 26, 82
U. 8S. v, State Bank of North Carolina, 6 Peters 29_----------- 14

22796——-24——_1

(1)

Inthe Supreme Court of the Wnited States

Ocroser TerM, 1924.

James C. Davis, Director GENERAL AND AGENT
(Seapoarp Arr Line RatLroap) PETITIONER,
v.

FE. H. Prrnare, as Truster tN BANKRUPTCY OF
THE Estate or Cuaries F. Boyp Company,
Inc., Bankrupt. RESPONDENT.

NOTICE

T. H. Prinewr, as Trustee in Bankruptcy of the
Estate of Charles F. Boyd, Inc., Bankrupt, or
MircHect AND Horipeck, AND WHALEY, Barn-
WELL & GrimBALL, his Attorneys of Record:
This is to notify you that the petitioner will,

on the 5th day of January, 1925, or as soon there-

after as counsel may be heard, present to the

Supreme Court of the United States, in its court

room at Washington, D. C., his motion for a writ

of certiorari upon his verified petition and a copy
of the entire record in this cause; and a copy of

said motion, said petition and brief accompanying
(1)

“rr : nd RE Ry RSE ENTREE ES FH LE

”
—

same are herewith delivered to you this 5th day

of December, 1924.
JAMES C, Davis,

Director General and Agent.
By AveustinE T. SMYTHE,
A. A. McLAUGHLIN,
ALEx KOopLIN,
LAMBERT MCALLISTER,
Counsel for Petitioner.
ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE
The foregoing notice, and delivery of copy
thereof and of motion and petition for writ of
certiorari and brief are hereby acknowledged this
5th day of December, 1924.
WHALEY, BARNWELL & GRIMBALL,
MITCHELL AND HOoRLBECK,
Attorneys for Respondent.

PEERED, NR PRN so st ma eran

In Tue Supreme Court or THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1924

James C. Davis, Direcror GENERAL AND AGENT
(Seapoarp AiR Lint RAtLroap), PETITIONER
v.

EK. H. Priveve, as Trustee tN BANKRUPTCY OF
Ture Estate oF CHartes F. Boyp Company,
Inc., Bankrupt, RESPONDENT

MOTION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH

CIRCUIT

Now comes James ©, Davis, Director General
and Agent, petitioner, by his counsel, and moves
this Honorable Court that it will by certiorari, or
other process, directed to the Honorable Judges of
the United States Cireuit Court of Appeals for
the Fourth Circuit, require said Court to certify

to this Court for its review and determination a

certain cause in said United States Cireuit Court

of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit lately pending,
wherein the petitioner, James C, Davis, Director

General and Agent, was appellant and E. H.

Pringle, as Trustee in Bankruptcy of the estate of

Charles F. Boyd, Ine., Bankrupt, was appellee;

(3)

er wy WENGER RIMES SD RI PU NIE TON ER MEH YET Od’ Tey SBMTL ALREADY

fa has tea tate

4

and to that end the petitioner now tenders here-
with his petition and brief with a certified copy of
the entire record in said cause in said United States
Cireuit Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

AveustTInE T. SMYTHE,

A. A. McLavuGuHLin,

ALEx. Kop.in,

LAMBERT MCALLISTER,

Counsel for Petitioner.

IN THE SUPREME CovurRT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1924
JAMES C. Davis, Director GENERAL AND AGENT
(SEABOARD AIR LINE RAILROAD), PETITIONER
v.
E. H. Prinetr, as TRusTEE IN BANKRUPTCY OF

THE Estate oF CHARLES F. Boyp Company,
Inc., BANKRUPT, RESPONDENT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH
CIRCUIT

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice and the
Associate Justices of the Supreme Court of the
United States:

The petition of James C. Davis, Director Gen-
eral and Agent, hereinafter called petitioner, res-
pectfully shows to this Honorable Court:

1, On January 15, 1924, Honorable H. A. M.
Smith, United States District Judge for the
Eastern District of South Carolina, in bank-
ruptey, affirmed the report of Lionel K. Legge,
Esq., Special Referee in the matter of Charles
F. Boyd, Inc., bankrupt, denying priority to a
claim filed in the bankruptey proceedings by

petitioner.
(5)

ERTS ee aye ek WP

6

The claim filed by petitioner for $2,207.43 duly
itemized covered freight, storage, and demurrage
earned and accruing on and after December 26,
1918, on a shipment to Charles F. Boyd & Com-
pany, Charleston, 8S. C.

These claims accrued in the operation during
the period of Federal control of railroads by the
Director General of Railroads of the properties
of the Seaboard Air Line Railroad.

No question was raised as to the amount due
by the bankrupt to petitioner. The sole question
raised on the record was whether the claims of
petitioner were entitled to priority in the distri-
bution of the assets of the bankrupt under the
provisions of Sections 3466 and 3467 of the Re-
vised Statutes of the United States and Section
64 (b) 5 of the Bankruptey Act of 1898 (30 Stat.
544). In the opinion confirming the Referee’s
order the District Court said:

The sole question is whether the claims
preferred by the petitioner, James C. Davis,
Federal Agent, are entitled to priority over
all other claims under the provisions of
Section 3466 of the Revised Statutes. In
the opinion of the Court the provisions of
Section 3466 do not apply to the claims of
the petitioner. That Statute contemplates
debts to the United States accruing to it
directly under any statutory or contractual
directions. The present claims do not fall
into those categories. They are claims
arising only incidentally to the temporary

LEST PLANS AE NT OL POISE MEN CET RIN ERNE SPIE NN ———————

7

operation by the Government of the plant
of a transportation corporation, operated
by the Government in like manner as it
would have been operated by the corpora-
tion itself had the Government not taken
possession. The very description of the
claims shows this. They are all for freight,
storage, and demurrage charges on mer-
chandise transported as shipped by private
parties. The Government in possession of
the Railway plant of a corporation under-
took the commercial transportation of ar-
ticles shipped by private persons in like
manner as the same were transported by
the corporation when in possession of the
Railway plant and lines. For all these
charges the Government Agent has a lien
upon the articles transported. It was the
duty of that Agent to have collected all
these charges before delivery of the articles
to the consignees. Having seen fit to waive
that lien and deliver the articles to the
consignee without collecting the charges
for which he had a lien, the Agent of the
Government under the circumstances of this
ease is not entitled to a prior lien upon the
general estate of the bankrupt consignee.

2. An appeal was taken from the order of the
District Court to the United States Cireuit Court
of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. Upon this ap-
peal on June 12, 1924, a hearing was had in the
United States Cireuit Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Cireuit, and on September 29, 1924, the

Court rendered an opinion affirming the decision
22796—24-—-—-2

8

of the District Court. Copies of this decision and
of the decision in case No. 2245 referred to therein
are hereto attached as Exhibit ‘‘A.”’

3. The Cireuit Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit in affirming the judgment of the lower
court held, under the decision of this Court in the
ease of DuPont v. Davis, 264 U.S. 456, that debts
due to petitioner were debts due to the United
States, but held that the United States was not
entitled to priority in the distribution of assets
of a bankrupt estate except for taxes, and there-
fore affirmed the decision of the District Court.

4. The opinion of the Cireuit Court of Appeals
states that its conclusion is in conflict with the
decision of the Cireuit Court of Appeals for the
Second Circuit in re Tidewater Coal Exchange,
280 Fed. 648, and of the Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Eighth Circuit in re Western Implement
Company, 171 Fed. 81.

5. Petitioner respectfully submits that the Cir-
euit Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit in
affirming the judgment of the District Court for
the Eastern District of South Carolina erred as a
matter of law in holding.

(a) that the United States was not a ‘‘ person ”’
within the meaning of Section 64 (b) 5 of the
Bankruptey Act of 1898, and

(b) that the United States was not entitled to
priority in bankruptcy except for taxes.

6. That the judgment of the Circuit Court of
Appeals in this case is a final judgment.

9

7. The judgment of the Circuit Court of Ap-
peals for the Fourth Cireuit being one arising
in bankruptey is final and is reviewable by this
Court only by certiorari under the provisions of
the Act of September 6, 1916 (C. 448, 39 Stat. 726).

8. Certiorari should be granted in this case be-
cause the question involved is one of great public
importance since the effeet of the decision is to
deny to the United States priority in bankruptey
except for taxes.

9. The question involved is also one which
calls for a decision by the Court in order to settle
and harmonize the conflicting decisions of the
Circut Court of Appeals for the Second, Eighth,
and Fourth Circuits.

Wherefore, upon due consideration of this peti-
tion, of the annexed brief, and a certified copy of
the record of the United States Circuit Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit filed herewith,
petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of
certiorari be issued under the seal of this Court,
directed to the United States Cireuit Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, commanding that
Court to certify and send to this Court on a date
to be designated a full and complete transcript
of the record of al! proceedings had in this cause
to the end that the same may be reviewed and
determined by this Honorable Court under said
writ as provided by law. And petitioner prays
that upon the final consideration of this cause and
of said writ, the said judgment of the United

LOL P EOS LELT HEIL AT IS NIUE IBERIA AR RNAS OR

10

States Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit will be reversed by this Honorable Court
and judgment rendered in favor of the petitioner.

Petitioner further prays for such other equi-
table and general relief as may appertain to this
case and as may be competent for this Honorable

Court to grant.
AUGUSTINE T. SMYTHE,

A. A. McLAvGHLIn,
ALEX. KOoPLin,
LAMBERT MCALLISTER,
Counel for Petitioner.
A. A. McLAvGHLIn,
of Counsel.

District OF CoLUMBIA,
City of Washington, to wit:

Before me, the undersigned notary public, per-
sonally appeared A. A. McLaughlin, who being
duly sworn, deposes and says: That he is a
member of the bar of the Supreme Court of the
United States, and is of counsel for petitioner
herein; that he has read the foregoing application
for a writ of certiorari; and that all the facts
therein stated are true and correct to the best of
his knowledge and belief.

A. A. McLAvuaGHuin.

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 3rd day

of December, 1924.
W. B. Rosinson,

Notary Public, District of Columbia.
My commission expires March 23, 1925.

IN THE SupREME Court oF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1924

JAMES C, Davis, DiREcTOR GENERAL AND AGENT
(AtLtantic Coast LINE RatILroaD), PETITIONER
v.

E. H. Prineue, as TRUSTEE IN BANKRUPTCY OF
THE Estate oF CuHartEs F. Boyp Company,

Inc., BANKRUPT, RESPONDENT

BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF APPLICATION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI

I

THE COURT ERRED IN HOLDING THAT THE UNITED
STATES WAS NOT ENTITLED TO PRIORITY EXCEPT FOR

TAXES

The sole question involved in this case is
whether the United States is entitled to priority
in bankruptey for debts other than taxes.

It is admitted that prior to the passage of the
Bankruptey Act of 1898 (30 Stat. 544), the
United States was entitled to priority for all
debts. (Lewis, Trustee, v. U. S.,92 U. S. 618.)

The provisions of section 64 of the Bankruptey
Act of 1898, as amended, are as follows:

(a) The court shall order the trustee to
pay all taxes legally due and owing by the

bankrupt to the United States, State,
(11)

12

county, district, or municipality in advance
of the pavment of dividends to ereditors,
and upon filing the reeeipts of the proper
public officers for such payment he shall
be credited with the amount thereof, and
in case any question arises as to the amount
or legality of any such tax the same shall
be heard and determined by the court.

(b) The debts to have priority, except
as herein provided, and to be paid in full
out of the bankrupt estates, and the order
of payment shall be (1) the actual and
necessary cost of preserving the estate sub-
sequent to filing the petition; (2) the filing
fees paid by the creditors in involuntary
eases, and, where property of the bankrupt
transferred or concealed by him either be-
fore or after the filing of the petition, shall
have been recovered for the benefit of the
estate of the bankrupt by the efforts and
at the expense of one or more creditors,
the reasonable expenses of such recovery;
(3) the cost of administration, including
the fees and mileage payable to witnesses
as now or hereafter provided by the laws
of the United States, and one reasonable
attorney’s fee, for the professional services
actually rendered, irrespective of the
number of attorneys employed, to the pe-
titioning creditors in involuntary cases, to
the bankrupt in involuntary cases while
performing the duties herein prescribed,
and to the bankrupt in voluntary cases, as
the court may allow; (4) wages due to

—

13

workmen, clerks, traveling or city sales-
men,* or servants, which have been eared
within three months before the date of the
commencement of proceedings, not to ex-
eeed three hundred dollars to each claim-
ant; and (5) debts owing to any person
who by the laws of the States or the United
States is entitled to priority.

(c) In the event of the confirmation of
a composition being set aside, or a dis-
charge revoked, the property acquired by
the bankrupt in addition to his estate at
the time the composition was confirmed or
the adjudication was made shall be applied
to the payment in full of the claims of
creditors for property sold to him on
credit, in good faith, while such compo-
sition or discharge was in force, and the
residue, if any, shall be applied to the pay-
ment of the debts which were owing at the
time of the adjudication.

Petition.2r contends that under the provisions
of section 64 (b) 5, supra, the United States is en-
titled te priority for debts other than taxes since
a vebt to the United States is one which ‘* by the
iaws of * * * the United States is entitled
to priority.”’ Section 3466 of the Revised
Statutes is as follows:

Whenever any person indebted to the
United States is insolvent, or whenever the
estate of any deceased debtor, in the hands
of the executors or administrators, is in-
sufficient to pay all the debts due from the

14

deceased, the debts due to the United States
shall be first satisfied; and the priority
hereby established shall extend as well to
cases in which a debtor, not having suffi-
cient property to pay all his debts, makes a
voluntary assignment thereof, or in which
the estate and effects of an absconding, con-
cealed or absent debtor are attached by
process of law, as to cases in which an act of
bankruptey is committed.

It is well to bear in mind the rule of construc-
tion uniformly followed by this Court that Acts
granting priority being based on public policy are
to be construed liberally.

In United States v. State Bank of North Caro-
lina, 6 Peters 29, this Court said:

The right of priority of payment of debts
due to the Government, is a prerogative of
the crown well known to the common law.
It is founded not so much upon any per-
sonal advantage to the sovereign, as upon
motives of public policy, in order to secure
an adequate revenue to sustain the public
burdens and discharge the public debts.
The claim of the United States, however,
does not stand upon any sovereign preroga-
tive, but is exclusively founded upon the ae-
tual provisions of their own statutes. The
same policy, which governed in the case of
the royal prerogative, may be clearly traced
in these statutes; and as that policy has
mainly a reference to the public good, there
is no reason for giving to them a strict and

15

narrow interpretation. Like all other stat-
utes of this nature, they ought to receive a
fair and reasonable interpretation, accord-
ing to the just import of their terms.

See also U. S. v. Fisher, 2 Craneh, 358.

The terms of the Acts involved are clear and we
“must take the law as we find it.” (U. S. v.
Gooding, 12 Wheaton, 460-478.)

Section 64 (b) 5 contains the words “ debts
owing to any person who by the laws of * * +#
the United States is entitled to priority ’’ and
section 3466 contains the words “‘ debts due the
United States.’’ Petitioner, therefore, contends
that Revised Statutes 3466 created the priority
referred to in the above quoted provisions of sec-
tion 64 (b) 5 of the Act of 1898.

To sustain the position taken by the Circuit .
Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit this
Court must hold either (a) that section 3466 was
repealed by the passage of the Bankruptey Act of
1898, or (b) that the United States is not a “ per-
‘son ’’ within the meaning of section 64 (b) 5.

Section 3466, Revised Statutes, was not repealed by the
passage of the bankruptey act of 1898

It is elementary that a repeal will not be im-
plied unless there is an irreconcilable conflict
between the statutes (Harford v. U. S., 8 Cranch
109; North American Commercial Company v.
U. S., 171 U. S. 110, 129), and that this Court

22796—24——3

16

should so construe the statutes as to give effect
to both, if possible.

In fact this Court in the case of Guarantee
Title d& Trust Co. v. Title Guaranty & Surety Co.,
224 U. S. 152, held that section 3466 of the
Revised Statutes and the Bankruptcy Acts of 1867
and 1898 should be construed in pari materia and
that the Act of 1898 superseded Revised Statutes
3466, only in so far as the two statutes were in-
consistent.

That section 3466 Revised Statutes was not re-
pealed by the Bankruptcy Act of 1898 is clearly
indicated by the decisions of this Court in U. S.
v. National Surety Co., 254 U.S. 73; Sloan Ship-
yards v. U. S. Flect Corporation, 258 U. 8S. 549,
and U.S. v. Oklahoma, 261 U. S. 253.

There is no inconsistency in holding as this
Court did in the Guarantee case, supra, that ex-
cept as to taxes, debts due the United States were
deferred until certain other claims such as labor
had been paid, as that was clearly the intention
of Congress in passing the Act of 1898.

The United States is a “ person” within the meaning of
section 64 (b) 5 of the bankruptcy act

That the United States is a ‘‘ person ”’ within
the meaning of section 64 (b) 5 was decided by the
Circuit Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
in In re Tidewater Coal Exchange, 280 Fed. 648.
See also In re Western Implement Co., 171
Fed. 81.

17

The decision of the lower Court in this case
admits that the conclusion reached by it is in con-
flict with the decision of the Circuit Court of
Appeals for the Second Circuit in the case of
In re Tidewater Coal Exchange, 280 Fed. 648, in
which the same question was involved. In that
case the Court said:

The Circuit Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit, in In re E. H. Hibner Oil
Co., 264 Fed. 667, A. L. R. 629, declared
that unpaid freight charges for shipments
by railroad during the period of federal
control are the property of the United
States, and the claim therefore is entitled
to priority in bankruptcy under section 62
b of the Bankruptcy Act (Comp. St. see.
9648) and section 3466 of the Revised Stat-
utes (Comp. St. See. 6372). The Bank-
ruptcy Acts of 1800 (Act April 4, 1800, c. 19,
sec, 62 (2 Stat. 36)), of 1841 (Act August
19, 1841, c. 9, sec. 5 (5 Stat. 444)), and of
1867 (Act March 2, 1867, ¢. 176, see. 28 (14
Stat. 530)) expressly recognized the priority
of debts due the United States, thus pre-
serving in all its essential features the pro-
vision in the act of 1797, reproduced in sec-
tion 3466 of the Revised Statutes relating
to priorities. The Bankruptcy Act of 1898
contains no similar express provision; and,
if, under that act, priority is given, it must
be because of Clause 5, subd. (b), Sec. 64

18

(Comp. St. See. 9648), which reads as fol-
lows:

**(5) Debts owing to any person who by
the laws of the States or the United States
is entitled to priority.”’

We have no doubt that the United States
is to be regarded as a person within the
meaning of the clause cited, and can assert
its priority as given to it under section
3466 of the Revised Statutes (Comp. St.
Sec. 6372), which is reproduced in the
margin 1. The priority secured to the
United States is priority over all creditors.
The statutory provision referred to is
simply declaratory of the common-law rule
which entitles a sovereign to priority over
other creditors of an insolvent. United
States v. National Surety Co., 254 U. S.
73, 75, 41 Sup. Ct. 29, 65 L. Ed. 143.

The attention of this Court is directed to the
fact that an application for certiorari in the last
cited case was denied (Davis v. Coyle, 260 U. S.
721), and that on the application respondent sug-
gested to this Court that in view of the dissent
in the case of Sloan Shipyards v. U. S. Fleet
Corporation, 258 U. S. 549, the writ of certiorari
should be granted.

Petitioner submits that the decision of the
lower Court in this ease is not only in conflict
with the decision of the Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit in the Tidewater case,
supra, but is also in conflict with the decision of
this Court in the case of U. S. v. National Surety

19

Company, 254 U. S. 73; U. S. v. Oklahoma, 261
U. S. 253, and with the decisions of the Circuit
Court of Appeals for the Seventh and Eighth
Circuits in the cases of In re Hibner Oil Co., 264
Fed. 667, and In re Western Implement Co., 171
Fed. 81, as well as with the decision of Judge Rose
of the Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fourth
Circuit in the case of In re Atlantic G. & P.
Steamship Co., 289 Fed. 146.

Petitioner also suggests that the decision in this
ease is in actual conflict with the decision of the
lower Court in the ease of Lott v. Salisbury, 237
Fed. 191, in which that Court said, page 203:

The case most strongly relied upon is
Guarantee Title & Trust Co. v. Title Guar-
antee & Trust Co., 224 U. S. 152, 32 Sup.
Ct. 457, 56 L. Ed. 706. That case holds that
the United States, except for taxes due, had
not in the enactment of the bankruptcy law
exercised its sovereign right of providing a
preference for its own claims against the
bankrupt. It is conceded that the Govern-
ment has such a right and frequently exer-
cises it. In the case just referred to the
Court held that the Government had, except
as to taxes, put itself in the plight of an
ordinary unsecured creditor, and under
section 64b was postponed till certain
claims, wages among others, were paid.

The attention of this Court is directed to the
fact that the Cireuit Courts of Appeal for the
First and Fifth Cireuits have held that the Direc-

20

tor General is entitled to priority in receivership
proceedings. (Davis v. Pullen, 277 Fed. 650; Davis
v. Willer Link Lumber Co., 296 Fed. 649.)

Petitioner respectfully submits that this Court
in the Guarantee case, supra, merely held that
claims of the United States except for taxes were
subordinated to labor claims by the Act of 1898,
and that the dissent in the Sloan case, supra, ean
not be considered as controlling in this ease.

If the position of the Circuit Court of Appeals
for the Pourth Circuit in this case is correct then
it was not necessary for the majority of this Court
to base its decision in the Sloan case, supra, on the
ground that a debt due the Fleet Corporation was
not a debt due the United States; nor was it neces-
sary for this Court to pass on the question in-
volved in U. S. v. National Surety Co., 254 U.S.
73, since a finding by the Court that the United
States was not entitled to priority except for taxes
would have disposed of these cases.

It is respectfully submitted, therefore, that the
Cireuit Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit
erred in its conclusion in the instant case and that
this Court should grant the petition for certiorari
in order that the error may be corrected.

It

The questions involved are of such importance writ of
certiorari should be granted

It is submitted that the writ herein should be
granted since the question involved in this case is

21

one of great publie interest, of gravity and im-

portance (Re Law Ow Bew, 141 U. S. 583), and

that the writ should be granted in order that the

conflict in the decisions of the various courts may

he corrected. (Forsythe v. Hammond, 166 U. 8.

514, and The Three Friends, 166 U. 8. 49.)

Respectfully submitted.

AveusTInE T. SMYTHE,

A. A. McLAUGHLIN,

ALEx. KOoPLIN,

LAMBERT MCALLISTER,
Counsel for Petitioner.

EXHIBIT A

Unitep States Circuit Court or APPEALS
FOURTH CIRCUIT
No. 2246

JAMES ©. Davis, FEDERAL AGENT FOR CLaIMs Dut
IN OPERATION OF SEABOARD AIR LINE RatLway
Company, APPELLANT

versus

E. H. Prineie as TRUSTEE IN BANKRUPTCY OF THI
Estate oF CHaRLES F. Boyp Company, INc.
Bankrupt, APPELLEE

Appeal from the District Court of the United
States for the Eastern District of South Caro-
lina, at Charleston. In Bankruptcy

(Argued June 12, 1924. Decided Sept. 29, 1924)

Before Woops and WappiLL, Circuit Judges, and
Wess, District Judge

ALEX. Kopuin, General Attorney for U. S. Rail-
road Administration, and AUGUSTINE T. SMYTHE
(LAMBERT McALLIsTER on brief) for Appellant,
and N. B. Barnwett (F. H. Hor_pecx;
WHALEY, BARNWELL & GRIMBALL and MITCHELL
& HoriBeck on brief) for Appellee, Woops.
Circuit Judge:

‘This appeal involves the claim of the Director

General to priority of the debt due by the bank-
(22)

23

rupt, acruing on the line of the Seaboard Air
Line Railway Company during Federal control.
The questions made are discussed and decided in
the opinion filed this day in No. 2245, Davis,
Federal Agent, vs. E. H. Pringle, Trustee. For —
the reasons therein stated the decree of the Dis-

trict Court must be
Affirmed.

7654 Certified Copy
Unitep Sratres Circuit Court OF APPEALS

FOURTH CIRCUIT
No. 2245

James C. Davis, FeperaL AGENT FoR CLarms DUE
IN OPERATION oF AtrLaANTIC Coast LINE RalIt-
ROAD COMPANY, APPELLANT

versus

E. H. Prinete as TRUSTEE IN BANKRUPTCY OF
THE ESTATE OF CHARLES F. Boyp Company, INC.,
BaNkKRuPT, APPELLEE

Appeal from the District Court of the United
States for the Eastern District of South Caro-
lina, at Charleston. In Bankruptcy

(Argued June 12, 1924. Decided Sept. 29, 1924)
Before Woods and Waddill, Circuit Judges, and
Webb, District Judge

Atex Kopuin, General Attorney for U. S. Rail-
road Administration (StmEon Hype; LAMBERT
McAtuisteR and RutLepGeE, Hype, Mann &
Fiaa on brief), for Appellant, and N. B.

—
24

Barnweuu (F. H. Horipeck; WHALEY, Bary-
weEiL & GrimMBALL, and MircHEtt & HorBecK
on brief for Appellee

Woops, Circuit Judge:

Charles F. Boyd Company, Inc., was adjudged
bankrupt on August 20, 1920. The Director Gen-
eral on February 3, 1921, filed claims amounting
to $2,213.70 for freight, storage, and demurrage
accruing to the Atlantic Coast Line Railroad
Company during Federal control. Afterwards,
on February 27, 1922, the Director General by
petition claimed priority over general creditors in
the distribution of the assets. No point seems
to have been made before the Referee or the Dis-
trict Court that the claim for priority was not
properly set up.

If demurrage, freight, and storage charges in
favor of the Director General are debts due to
the United States, and as such are entitled to
priority, the priority was inherent in the debts
and required recognition by the court when called
to its attention at any time before distribution of
the assets.

The Referee reported against the claim of pri-
ority and the District Judge confirmed his report.

We are unable to agree with the Referee and
the District Judge that the debts due to the Di-
rector General were not debts due to the United
States of the character given priority by Section
3466 of the Revised Statutes. The Supreme
Court has decided otherwise. In DuPont vs.
Davis, April 7, 1924, the Court says: ‘‘ In taking
over and operating the railroad systems of the

25

country the United States did so in its sovereign
capacity, as a war measure, ‘ under a right in the
nature of eminent domain.’ North Carolina R.
R. Co. vs. Lee, 260 U. S. 16; Missouri Pacific R.
R. Co. vs. Ault, 256 U. S. 554; Northern Pacific
R. R. Co. vs. North Dakota, 250 U. 8. 135; In re
Tidewater Coal Exchange, 280 Fed. 648, 649; and
it may not be held to have waived any sovereign
right or privilege unless plainly so provided.
Moneys and other property derived from the oper-
ation of the carriers during Federal control, as we
have seen, are the property of the United States,
See. 12, 40 Stat. 457. An action by the Director
General to recover upon a liability arising out of
such eontrol is an action on behalf of the United
States in its governmental capacity. Ches. & Del.
Canal Co. vs. United States, 250 U. 8. 123; In re
Tidewater Coal Exchange, 280 Fed. 648.’’ Davis
vs. Corona Coal Co., decided by the Supreme Court
May 26, 1924.

The question of priority of debts, other than
taxes, owing to the United States in the distribu-
tion of bankrupt estates is one of difficulty. It is
not to be decided on the general doctrine of prior-
ity of debts due the sovereign, for the Congress
has undertaken to cover the whole subject by stat-
utes. The Act of 1797, R. S. 3466, provides:

‘‘ Whenever any person indebted to the United
States is insolvent, or whenever the estate of any
deceased debtor, in the hands of the executors or
administrators, is insufficient to pay all the debts
due from the deceased, the debts due to the United
States shall be first satisfied; and the priority
hereby established shall extend as well to cases

~

26

in which a debtor, not having sufficient property
to pay all his debts, makes a voluntary assign-
ment thereof, or in which the estate and effects
of an absconding, concealed, or absent debtor are
attached by process of law, as to cases in which
an act of bankruptcy is committed.’’

By virtue of this statute the United States had
a preference in the payment of its debts under
any of the conditions mentioned in the statute—
but not in a distribution which for any reason
did not come within the statute. United States
vs. Oklahoma, 261 U. S. 253. In that ease the
State setting up a claim in behalf of the depos-
itors of a bank under authority of a State statute |
was held to have priority over debts due the
United States, on the express ground that the
bank assets in the hands of a State commission | 7
did not present a condition under which the stat-
ute gave the United States priority.

The Bankruptcy Statute of 1867, R. S. 5101,
provided the following order of priorities:

‘*In the order for a dividend, the following
shall be entitled to priority, and the first paid
in full in the following order:

‘¢ First. The fees, costs, and expenses of suits,
and of the several proceedings in bankruptcy
under this Title and for the custody of property,
as herein provided.

‘¢ Second. All debts due to the United States,
and all taxes and assessments under the laws
thereof.

‘‘ Third. All debts due to the State in which
the proceedings in bankruptcy are pending, and
all taxes and assessments made under the laws
thereof.

an

_—

‘‘ Fourth. Wages due to any operative, clerk or
house servant, to an amount not exceeding fifty
dollars, for labor performed within six months
next preceding the first publication of the notice
of proceedings in bankruptcy.

‘“ Fifth. All debts due to any person, who, by
the laws of the United States, are, or may be, en-
titled to a priority, in like manner as if the pro-
visions of this Title had not been adopted. But
nothing contained in this Title shall interfere with
the assessment and collection of taxes by the
authority of the United States or any State.”’

Thus not only taxes but all debts due the United
States were given priority over all other liabilities,
except costs and expenses of bankruptcy proceed-
ings. In other words, the priority given all debts
due to the United States by R. 8. 3466 was sanc-
tioned and re-enacted by the Bankruptcy Statute
of 1867. As the court said in Lewis, Trustee, vs. <
United States, 92 U. S. 618, the statute contained
no qualification of priority of the United States,
and the court could not interpolate one.

What limitation, if any, in the distribution of
bankrupt assets did the subsequent Bankruptey
Act of 1898 put upon the general priority given the
United States under the previous statutes? The
Act of 1898 was intended to cover completely all
matters of adjudication, administration, discharge,
priorities, and distribution of assets. The Statute
and rules made under it supplanted and annulled
all previous inconsistent statutes and rules of the
courts of common law and equity. United States
Fidelity d} Guaranty Company vs. Bray, 225 U.S.
205, 217. ‘* The Act takes into consideration, we

27

——

28

think, the whole range of indebtedness of the bank-
rupt, national, State and individual, and assigns
the order of payment.’’ Guarantee Company vs.
Title Guaranty Company, 224 U. S. 152, 160.

The Statute provides the following order of
priority :

(a) The court shall order the trustee to pay all
taxes legally due to the United States, State,
county, district, or municipality in advance of the
payment of dividends to creditors.

(b) Debts to have priority, except as herein
provided, and to be paid in full, * * * and the
order of payment shall be: (4) wages due to work-
men, clerks, traveling or city salesmen, or servants,
which have been earned within three months be-
fore the date of the commencement of the pro-
ceedings; and (5) debts owing to any person who
by the laws of the States or the United States is
entitled to priority.

The Congress thus took from debts due the
United States, other than taxes, the priority
given such debts along with taxes by the Act of
1867 by leaving out of the Act of 1898 other
debts in providing for priority of taxes. This
seems too clear for discussion; and so the court
decided in Guaranty Company vs. Title Guar-
anty Company, supra. There it was held that
the Act of 1797, R. S. 3466, the Bankruptcy
Statute of 1867, R. S. 5101, and the Bankruptcy
Statute of 1898 must be considered in pari
materia; and that in bankruptcy proceedings the
Act of 1895 superceded Section 3466, R. S., so
far as the two statutes were inconsistent.

It is argued, however, that priority is given
the United States next in order to debts for

ees

29

wages, by Sec. 64-b (5), “‘Debts owing to any
person who by the laws of the States or the United
States is entitled to priority."" This grade of
priority is not given to the United States by
virtue of R. S. 3466 unless the United States
falls under the designation of ‘“tany person.”
The Statute itself gives this definition: ‘‘(19)
‘persons’ shall include corporations except where
otherwise specified, and officers, partnerships, and
women, and when used with reference to the com-
mission of acts which are herein ferbidden shall
include persons who are participants in the for-
bidden acts, and the agents, offices, and mem-
bers of the board of directors or trustees, or
other similar controlling bodies of eorporations.’’
See. 1, el. (19), Bankruptey Act of 1898.

The failure to include the United States and
the States in the definition could aot have been
inadvertant. The United States and the several
States of the Union are not persons and are not
commonly thought of as persons, and if it had
been intended that ‘‘persons’’ should have such a
comprehensive and unusual meaning as to include
them, the framers of the definitioa would have
said so.

Again, when the Congress had already dealt
with claims of the United States under the name
of the United States and had deliberately limited
its priority to taxes, it is hardly reasonable to at-
tribute to the Congress an intention to deal again
with the claims of the United States and include
them in provision relating to debts of ‘‘ any per-
son. *’

It will be noticed further that the language of
(5) Seetion 64-b of the Act of 1898 is taken al-

i,

30

most literally from the corresponding sub-division
of the Bankruptey Act of 1867, and in the absence
of the expression of a contrary intention the lan-
guage should be held to have the same meaning
in the latter statute as in the former from which
it was taken. In the Act of 1867 ‘‘ persons ”’ in
sub-division (5), R. 8. 5101, could not have been
intended to include the United States because all
the debts due to the United States had been pro-
vided for and given priority over all other debts
of any kind by sub-division (2) of the same See-
tion.

The record of the passage of the Bankruptey
Act of 1898 is significant. The bill as passed by
the Senate contained the following priorities:

‘* See. 9. That the following debts shall have
preference in the order named, over other debts in
the distribution of the estate of the bankrupt, to-
wit:

‘* First. Debts due to servants or laborers em-
ployed by the bankrupt * * *

‘* Second. Taxes or revenues due the United
State.

‘* Third. Taxes due any State or Territory or
the District of Columbia.

‘* Fourth. Taxes due any County,

‘‘But none of such debts shall be recognized
or paid unless duly proved and allowed as pre-
seribed in reference to other debts and claims
against the bankrupt.”’

All that followed the enacting clause of the
Senate bill was struck out by the Committee of
the House, and the House bill with about eighty
amendments was substituted. The original House

* 5 * 9)

Be ob et er

31

bill as introduced and referred to the Committee
contained the following as to priorities:

‘‘See. 64. Debts which have priority: (a)
Debts owing to the United States, a State, a
county, a parish, or a municipality, after being
proved and allowed, shall have priority only in
the event and to the extent that they constitute
a lien upon the property of the estate.’

The Committee changed this Section to the form
in which it was enacted in the Act of 1898.

Thus it appears that after consideration of
the question the Congress struck out a provision
for priorities of all lien debts owing to the
United States, the States and municipalities, and
substituted for it a provision in the Act of 1898
limiting the priority of the United States, the
States and municipalities to taxes.

As it seems to us, the analysis of the statutes
and the record of the passage of the Act of 1898
require the holding that the law making power
of the United States has limited its priority in
bankruptey to its claim for taxes.

This conclusion is opposed to the high authority
of the Cireuit Court of Appeals of the Second
Cireuit: In re Tidewater Coal Exchange, 280
Fed. 648, 650; and of the Eigbth Cireuit; Jn re
Western Implement Company, 171 Fed. 81. In
the view of these courts the United States and
States are persons within the meaning of sub-
division (5) of Section 64-b of the Bankruptcy
Act of 1898, and, therefore, entitled to priority
under R. 8S. 3466 over general creditors after pay-
ment of wages. In the Tidewater case the court
cited as authority for the holding In re Hibner Oil

32 2

Company, 264 Fed. 667. But the Circuit Court of
Appeals of the Seventh Cireuit in the latter case
was called on to discuss and decide only the ques-
tion whether a debt due to the Director General
was a debt due to the United Stites; the court did
not discuss the priority of a debt due to the United
States, for in the opinion it is stated the priority
of such a debt was conceded. Judge Rose in the
District Court of Maryland expressed assent to
these authorities Zn re Atlantic, G. d& P. S. 8.
Company, 289 Fed. 146, but as the court held there
was no debt to the United States the point was not
really involved. The State of Minnesota was held
to be ** a person *’ within the meaning of Section
64-) of the Bankruptey Act of 1898 by Judge
Purdy in the District Court for that State, Jn re
Western Implement Company, 166 Fed. 578; and
the judgment was affirmed by the Circuit Court
of Appeals of the Eighth Cireuit for the reasons
stated by the District Judge, 171 Fed. 81. The
United States v. National Surety Company, 254
U. S. 73, does not decide the question. There
the priority of debts due the United States over
general creditors seems to have been conceded by
the parties, for the court is careful to say that the
sole question presented was whether in the dis-
tribution of a bankrupt estate the United States
has priority over a surety company claiming sub-
rogation to the rights of the United States. Mar-
shall, Receiver, vs. The People, 254 U. 8S. 380;
United States vs. Oklahoma, 261 U. S. 253; Davis,
Director General, vs. Pullen (First Circuit), 277
Fed. 650, and Davis, Director General, vs. Miller-
Link Lumber Company (Fifth Circuit), 296 Fed.
649, are not authorities for either side, for the

—

question of the right to priority arose in receiver-
ship proceedings, and, therefore, did not involve
the meaning of the provisions of Section 64 of the
Bankruptey Act of 1898 fixing priority.

We find no binding authority opposed to the
conclusion that the United States has no priority
in bankruptey except for taxes. On the contrary
we venture to think it is supported by the reason-
ing and conclusion of the court in Guarantee
Company vs. Title Guaranty Company, 224 U. S.
152. In Sloan Shipyards vs. United States Flect
Corporation, 258 U. 8. 549, the majority of the
court denied priority in a bankruptcy proceeding
set up by the Emergency Fleet Corporation on
the ground that even if the United States would

| be entitled to priority, the Emergency Fleet
Corporation was a separate entity and its claim
for priority could not be sustained. The majority
intimated no opinion on the question whether a
debt to the United States other than for taxes
would have been entitled to priority. The Chief
Justice and Justices Van Devanter and Clark
dissented from the reasoning of the majority,
but as to the claim to priority concurred in the
result in this language used by the Chief Justice:
‘‘And to the preference claimed against a bank-
rupt in No. 526 by the Fleet Corporation, I con-
eur in the conclusion of the court that it can not
be allowed under the statute as to preferences in
bankruptcy, because I do not think it extends to
claims of the United States except those for
| tues.”
For the reasons stated, and on the authority
of Guarantee Company vs. Title Guaranty Com-
pany, supra, and the views expressed by the Chief

30

34

Justice and Justices Van Devanter and Clark
above quoted, we hold that in bankruptcy, debts
due to the United States other than for taxes
have no priority over general creditors.
No sound principle of public policy can be
invoked in support of preference to the Federal
Government and to the States over citizens in
the collection of ordinary debts. On the contrary,
the contractual operations of the Federal Govern-
ment and of the States have become so extensive
and so involved with the business of private
citizens that priority to the Federal Government
and to the States except for taxes would operate
as an oppressive hardship on other creditors of
bankrupts.
Affirmed.
True copy,

Teste:
[SEAL | CLAUDE *M. DEAN,

Clerk, U. S. Circuit Court of Appeals, 4th Ct.

Deputy Clerk.
O

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40386006_0256%3A05. Public record. Not legal advice.
